HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Salt Tasting Room

4.2
797 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Top Tags:
  • Tasting Menu (19)
  • Good for a Date (16)
  • Tapas (15)
Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 633-1912
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Salt Tasting Room offers fine catering for parties from 5 to 500. We offer a range of options using the artisanal products we serve at the restaurant.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Abbott or Carrall
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The entrance to Salt Tasting Room is in Blood Alley between Abbott and Carrall streets. There is ample street parking around Blood Alley (on Abbott, Carrall, Cordova or Water Streets). Alternatively, there is a large EasyPark Lot located between Cambie and Carrall Street on Cordova. Note: you must have a commercial permit to park in Blood Alley.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 797 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

Average. Fairly inexpensive and something different than the usual options in Vancouver. Be aware that they have a communal table which you can end up at with reservations which I am not a fan of especially when you’re just a couple. Lots of by the glass wines which is nice for a quick dinner, but limited mainly to B.C. options. Service was slow to start and then too quick after as the table space is super tight.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

It was our anniversary night, my wife and I had a below average experience last night. We’ve had better experience(s) in the past at Salt Tasting Room. We were served complimentary glasses of champagne due to our special occasion which was great, but it went downhill from there. The table next to us had completely intoxicated guests when we walked in; they were extremely loud and completely impossible to be around and I was shocked we were seated next to them to begin with. The even bigger surprise was that they were served another bottle of wine when it was obvious to everybody on the upper floor they needed to be sent home. Any other night we definitely would’ve walked out of there.

The server was great, you could tell he was new, but he took his time to explain the menu and offered great suggestions.

Report
Helpful
DAAC 
3.0  Dined 7 days ago

Had to stop at Tacofina after because I was still hungry.

Report
Helpful
KyanC 
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Went to celebrate a birthday and everything was absolutely delicious. We were little out of our element with all the choices so we got the set menu and let them choose the wine pairings for our flights. It's a pretty reasonably price for what feels like a fancy date.

Report
Helpful
Carlos 
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

The cheeses were some of the best I've had in Vancouver, and the wine was very good as well. I had a Cabernet, but there were many other good wine options. I might come back just for the Camembert though!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was good experience, lots of choices. Nice wine.

Report
Helpful
Vancouverglen (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

We had a table for two. We ordered 1 butcher plate, 1 cheese plate and 2 wine flight. When everything came, we hardly had any space to put our plates on the table. The table was way too small! Uncomfortable! We almost knocked over our wine glasses. Also the place is very noisy.

Report
Helpful
Kclaros (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Every time I have guests from Brazil that like wine, I bring to Salt. This time, I was quite disappointed. We arrived at 7:30 (I made reservation beforehand), we were quickly seated; however, it took more than 15 minutes to have someone to take our order! never happened before. In addition, it also took a long time to have our wines and food. My guests were clearly upset. I don't know if that happened because it was a Tuesday, but i believe that the quality of services has to stand regardless of the day.

Report
Helpful
Ludwig (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Don't necessairly come here for a large meal, but come to enjoy some great wine, mead, meat & cheese with the company of some friends or with that special someone. If you are overwhelmed by their menu just let your server know what you like and let them decide!

Report
Helpful
JoJoP (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

For the high price point and small size of the wine flights and cheese plate I expected more education/participation from the servers in explaining the flavours and pairings. The way they were dropped off and left with little to no explanation left me feeling underwhelmed. Eg. where are the cheeses from? What would be good condiments/why?

The service was really prompt, friendly and professional but for a “tasting room” and the price I expected more.

Definitely a fun experience and will maybe try it again on a slower night to see if they can deliver a more interactive experience.

Report
Helpful
JackieF (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Had fun trying new things!! Food was really tasty and the wine pairing was spot on!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Great wine, great snack pairings and helpful staff. Sort of cold feel to the room tho that night, was dark and rainy outside but there doesn’t seem a place to hang your jackets.. so put them on the floor? As mentioned the staff were helpful with making pairings for you but they were not particularly friendly or welcoming, maybe once you were on the way out. Overall would go again, hopefully the couple arguing loudly behind us won’t be there!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Client dinner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

A great spot to go for a nice outing with coworkers after work. Also a lovely restaurant for dates. Loved that the waitress knew all about the offerings and was able to guide my boyfriend and me through the selections to pick items we would really enjoy.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
1.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Very slow service. Good food. But slow.

Report
Helpful
London22june (Montreal)
4.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

The concept is great and fun, but we found that the Portions were too small for the price and We were both hungry afterwards
However the food is very good quality and they offer a wide range of local products as well as local wines

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

We had an amazing experience at Salt. The service was amazing and the food tasted great! Staff are very knowledgeable on food and wine pairings, so can comfortably leave it all up to them. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Always a treat! Have been going here for years now. Think our first time was almost 8 or 9 years ago now. We were able to introduce some colleagues to the experience on Salt. Every one of them enjoyed their experience and took away some additional knowledge of food pairing/wine pairing etc. Definitely recommend Salt to anyone looking for a great culinary experience!

Thank you,

Clint Letain

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

I booked a reservation for 4 on open table 2 days in advance. Restaurant called to confirm my reservation on the day of.

When I arrived at the restaurant with my party, I was informed that were seating us at the bar.

In what universe does a restaurant put a party of 4 on bar stools? Seems there were multiple opportunities for the restaurant to communicate this info in advance.

When I asked the host if seating group reservations at the bar was a common practice for their restaurant, he stated that they were very busy and implied that my rediculous seats were my fault for reserving "so late on open table" and not specifying that I did not want to sit at the bar.

We decided to find a table around the corner at Six Acres. I don't think anyone at Salt cared that we left.

Report
Helpful
vipHappydiner (Calgary)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

This was my first time dining at Salt and it was a great experience! I booked a table for 7 for my best friend's birthday and we all had fun trying different wines and tasting plates. It's a fun concept for those who like charcuteries. I would recommend eating a light meal before as you don't get very full from a tasting plate and tapas. Looking forward to coming back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40