About Salt Tasting Room

45 Blood Alley
Vancouver, BC V6B 0C4
View Larger Map

Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Organic, European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close.

Cross Street:
Abbott or Carrall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 633-1912

Website:
http://www.salttastingroom.com/

Catering:
Salt Tasting Room offers fine catering for parties from 5 to 500. We offer a range of options using the artisanal products we serve at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
The entrance to Salt Tasting Room is in Blood Alley between Abbott and Carrall streets. There is ample street parking around Blood Alley (on Abbott, Carrall, Cordova or Water Streets). Alternatively, there is a large EasyPark Lot located between Cambie and Carrall Street on Cordova. Note: you must have a commercial permit to park in Blood Alley.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

A 50 seat cellar space that can accommodate stand up or sit down functions. Get in touch with us to arrange a function uniquely suited to you.

Salt Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Gastown ›

notable wine list (35)
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (23)
See All
romantic (20)
special occasion (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (11)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great time. It would've been ni ...

Dined 7 days ago

It was a great time. It would've been nice if there was some more "substantial" food on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the same...

Dined 7 days ago

Been here two other times and really had a nice time. This time our server wasn't interested in helping us make selections off of the current menu selections. The vibe in the place wasn't very happening, and we left with a meh feeling. We won't be back...we were really disappointed.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

We chose this place because my husband and I love cheese and meats. The selection was great. It was difficult to only pick three of each. We also chose the wine flights. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about pairing wines with our selected items. I was worried that it would not be enough to eat but we were surprisingly fuller than expected when we finished. It was a fun experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While the venue is not romantic in itsel ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

While the venue is not romantic in itself, it is perfect as a place to meet-up and introduce yourselves. I went there to bond with my niece, who I hadn't seen for many years, and was visiting Vancouver for the first time and into wines. No time for the Okanagan, so this was a great bonding, fun wine tasting experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I met here for our first date 5 years ago. We celebrated our dating anniversaries here, and now we celebrate our wedding anniversary here. The quality of the food and wines is top-notch with an exceptional rotating selection. The knowledge of the service staff is second to none. From pairings with food to offering suggestions based on personal preference, they are always spot on.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Salt is a Blood Alley Gem

Dined on April 24, 2016

Salt is a great little place for a light meal. The cheese and meat platters paired with condiments are very good. I also love the wine pairings. But the best part , in my opinion is the knowledge of the staff, especially regarding their wine selection. They are fantastic, friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Tiny but Tasty!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I took my partner to The Salt Tasting Room for a date night and, although it was a pricey one, it was an experience that I would recommend. The flights of mead and wine were exquisite and the morsels of cheese, meats and condiments from their menu board were divine. The date was not a "meal date," so the amount of food was not really an issue. And the quality and flavours that they provided more than made up for the tiny samplings. As a regular haunt, Salt would unfortunately be out of my price range; but as a unique dining and dating experience, it was worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Overpriced

Dined on April 17, 2016

It's a shame. I love their concept and the item consumed were delicious but the portions provided, both wine and food, were tiny. Plus, out table was completely ignored when an athlete celebrity and his table of six walked in the door. And, I get it, you want to make a good impression on him but they didn't need to complexly ignore everyone else.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing service, great spot for drinks and nibbles

Dined on April 9, 2016

The pros - everyone who works there knows their stuff! Wine, meats and cheeses - what could go wrong?! Everything was delicious and the wine was great. We were out for a girls night which was perfect, but this is also a great date spot. The cons - not a cheap night out! And if you're wanting a big meal, this is not the place to be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Vancouver food experience not to be missed.

Dined on April 9, 2016

OMG! A unique food experience not to be missed - great local meats, cheeses, and condiments paired to perfection with awesome local wines. Select from the board pairings or create your own. Definitely not a place to go if you are expecting a hearty meal. Perfect for those wanting lighter fare or tapas type food. Great service with knowledgeable staff who know their fare. Sleek, modern feel in an old brick building literally located in an alley in the Gastown area of Vancouver. Not sure we would have found it on our own, but our cabbie knew where we wanted to go when we said “Blood Alley” and dropped us off right at the door. Sitting in the window we were able to watch all the local alley activity which was “colorful” to say the least. Would be a great place to host a party or business event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local find

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, which is located off an alley in Gastown. Salt Tasting Room specialized in charcuterie and wine pairings. There were plenty of cheese and meat options accompanied by fresh bread and crackers. We'd definitely make a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I went with a friend for bubbly and appe ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I went with a friend for bubbly and appetizers, it was perfect start to our night. The 8th Generation Champagne was perfect.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Not a good place for food enthusiasts.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The salad was really disappointing. For 9$ getting just arugula and a slice of orange and beets was not reasonable, specially just put together. Food was really mediocre too. We got olives, cheese, fig jam as our condiments. Everything seemed really salty, plain and basic. Not coming again. Although, service and wine were exceptional.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My friends and I had a great time here! The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and was great with pairings!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a great experience. The food is o ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

It was a great experience. The food is on the pricey side but delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very light fare. Do not go hungry. Val ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Very light fare. Do not go hungry. Value for quantity not great, there are other places that do great charcuterie with better portions and more accompaniments. The charcuterie itself was tasty, but the soup for the starter was watery and the Mousse had more of the consistency of pudding. I liked the wide selection of wines and of local items. Also very long wait times between courses, but that is somewhat to be expected during Dine Out. I would maybe visit again for a light appy, but not for a full meal.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great overall, BUT...

Dined on January 24, 2016

I heard a lot of good things about this place, so a friend & I made a reservation to celebrate a thing. I loved the beer list & the non-alcoholic flight option, & the cheese plate was absolutely fantastic. The only problem was the service. It was great until we got our meal, but no one said a word to us for 45 minutes after we got our plates (except the ol' "how is everything"). We had wanted to get more drinks & dessert, but after we realised half an hour had passed while we waited with empty glasses, we decided to just get the bill. I put my coat on & still waited 15 minutes for someone to ask if we wanted the bill. It was frustrating & definitely cut the night short on a sour note. The service was perfectly fine until that point, & as a former waitress I know that sometimes on a busy night you just drop the ball, so I would still like to try Salt one more time. I hope this was a one-time issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Overall great experience

Dined on January 23, 2016

I came to the restaurant with a couple friends for our first time at the salt tasting room. The reservation was made online and was super simple. Arriving/finding the restaurant was interesting, as I had no idea where it was, but needed up being in a pretty cool location. We had a great time. The decor was cool and the food was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, Good Wine

Dined on January 19, 2016

Being able to choose your own cheese/meat plates is pretty cool, but I hadn't heard of many of the cheeses and felt bad asking for too many explanations on them. Would be nice to see some short descriptions posted somewhere!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

disappointing

Dined on January 19, 2016

it started off well enough, but the soft drinks on the menu were not available - so I decided to drink water. it was the dine out Vancouver menu, which comes with desert. we waited over 20 minutes for this desert, with no known reason for the delay, also, I was offered tea, which I would have liked, when the waitress then returned to the table to state that they do not serve tea at the Salt tasting room - REALLY ?? who doesn't serve Tea ? I won't recommend it to others.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for a Romantic Date

Dined on January 18, 2016

I really like Salt Tasting Lounge. I had been there in the past with friends, and recently went back to celebrate a special occasion, and really enjoyed it. Yes, it is pricey (especially for the small portions), but the setting is very fun, the service was good, and the food and wine options are great! The main downside was that they don't own an espresso machine, so you literally can't order coffee with dessert, which I felt was a bad note to have after a great evening out. But aside from that, I'll definitely recommend it and I'll go back. The place is not for everyone, but if you like going to unique places and don't mind splurging a bit now and then, definitely check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on January 7, 2016

Our two servers were very knowledgable and explained all of the menu items to us. They helped us pair wine with our chacuterie and were very friendly. The food and wine were delicious. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Tasting

Dined on January 3, 2016

We loved our experience at Salt! Our server was great at making suggestions for us and I was pleased to see many of BC wines featured, as well as other BC products The staff even treated us to a glass of sparkling wine for our anniversary

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would go back

Dined on December 31, 2015

Unique dining experience with great service. Choose from a variety of meets, cheeses & condiments and good drink options. Don't go here if you prefer the chain restaurant experience, rather go if you're a bit adventurous and looking for something new like duck, strong aged cheese and yummy beers. It's tapas with atmosphere, not Earls.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first experience at Salt. Th ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

This was my first experience at Salt. The service, food & atmosphere lived up to my expectations. I would gladly return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience

Dined on December 6, 2015

- great food, wine and service. Loved the experience from when the taxi dropped us in 'blood alley' and we found the door wit the salt shaker to the awesome server who paired the cheeses, meats and wine for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Meh

Dined on November 29, 2015

Way too expensive, tiny portions, amateur service. Won't be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

A must when in Vancouver!

Dined on November 10, 2015

I come to Salt every time I'm in Vancouver, and am never disappointed. They always have a great selection of local BC and Canadian meats and cheeses, and a good international selection. Their staff are knowledgable about the available selections, and I've never been disappointed with my wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Good but wouldn't do it again

Dined on October 31, 2015

It was good but not great... I had read great reviews about it, so I guess I was a bit disappointed with the experience. The servers were great and always checking on us to make sure we were enjoying our food. I guess, the biggest disappointed for me was the tapas offered, which was a limited time offer that they were having (so not a regular part of the Salt tasting room experience!). The food was really bland, it tasted like it needed more salt (the irony...). For the wine, we had our server choose it for us but neither of us really liked the choices; they tasted like cheap $8 wines. Overall, a fun and different experience but I wouldn't do it again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

We did not feel welcomed here.

Dined on October 26, 2015

Be sure to make a reservation. And when you make a reservation, show up at that time. Or else, be prepared to be reprimanded. We made a reservation. However, we could no longer make it. We were nearby and decided to peek in to see if they can accommodate us earlier. (We were also traveling internationally so we had no working cell phone to call.) Although there was a few seating options available, they were very unhappy to accommodate us. We felt like a big inconvenience. A simple no would've sufficed, and we could have rescheduled. In retrospect, we should've just left since they clearly didn't want our money or our business, but we sat down anyway. We were seated next to a large group, who had a reservation and were way more demanding and nitpicking at everything... yet we (party of 2 here) still felt unwelcomed as the evening went on despite being nothing but nice. The menu was a lot to take in and we didn't know what would be good pairings. In asking for recommendations, our waitress was somewhat helpful. You can tell she knew everything about the menu but was a bit snobby about it. We picked items with some of her input and felt we did a decent job for what it was. It was fun mixing and matching in part of our experimentation with pairings. The ingredients were high quality and so were the accompanying wine flights. The fig jam went with everything, including the cheeses and meats we picked out. Would I come back? Nah. Plenty of places closer to us in Napa wine country to indulge in without the degrading feeling.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, STR's San Sebastián experiment ...

Dined on October 26, 2015

Overall, STR's San Sebastián experiment was enjoyable because of the food. The ambience was simple but perhaps a bit of Spanish music would help convey the experience better? I also think the flights should also include international wines & not solely, BC wines. Otherwise, I would recommend it since STR is offering something quite unique to Vancouver.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place

Dined on October 26, 2015

This restaurant was by far my favourite place that I dined while visiting Vancouver. Friendly staff, amazing wine, amazing meat and cheese selection. Can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Very pretentious

Dined on October 18, 2015

Not at all what I had expected. Tables were painfully small maybe 15 inches in diameter wine glasses and dinner plates did not physically fit on the table together. Very over priced for the meal that we had. We paid $29 per person for 3 courses which amounted to 4 small pieces of cheese, a tiny container of honey, 6 cornichon, 4 olives, and a cube of Quince paste that was half the size of my baby finger nail. Oh and I forgot the small basket of bread that accompanied the meal. The cheese was tasty enough but we all left hungry. The wait staff was fine but very confusing in their description of the menu. We were supposed to have dessert included with the menu selection that we made but we were informed that they had run out so two of us opted for some non alcoholic drinks instead of dessert. A few minutes later our wait staff said that they would have a pumpkin pie ready by the time we were ready for dessert if we wanted it. But by this time we has already been served our drinks. One of our table opted for the pie and was disappointed when the pie arrived cold and was obviously store bought not in house made as we were led to believe. We would not consider returning or recommending to anyone.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5

A nice place to go for a charcuterie pla ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

A nice place to go for a charcuterie plate, but not a meal. Just a social place to pick at some nice meats and cheeses, but not much else.

food5
ambience4
service5

First visit

Dined on October 9, 2015

Great little spot. A bit hard to find but definitely worth it. We were afraid that the amount of food we got would be too little but the portions were bigger than expected and there was a special going on so we got four free tapas with our meals. Waiter was very helpful as well. Would recommend going.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very tasty, but you'll leave hungry.

Dined on October 7, 2015

The selection of cheese, meats, and condiments was good and their quality was great. The portions are very small, considering the high price. The staff is very knowledgeable and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4

Good flavors. Not so nice on the price.

Dined on October 6, 2015

We went to try the San Sebastian Experiment, on for a limited time only, where they offer free tapas when you order drinks. The flavors of all our drinks and tapas were wonderful, and they have very nice selection. We just find that it's way overpriced though for what it is. Especially if you go there on a regular day, when they are not running the San Sebastian Experiment. The portions of the tapas are really really small.

food4
ambience4
service2

If you're in a rush, don't go here. Grea ...

Dined on September 30, 2015

If you're in a rush, don't go here. Great menu, but service was very slow.

food4
ambience4
service4

and now for something completely different

Dined on September 18, 2015

Salt offers a dining experience for whe you want to do something a little different than just going out to dinner. Each diner chooses from a blackboard list of cured meats and cheeses to be paired with sweet and savory condiments (olives, fig jelly, honey, little pickles,mustards) A couple can share and combine many pairings. It is a delicious way to have a little fun with quality food. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for wine tasting

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

Loved this concept. Enjoyed all the BC wines. The cheeses were fantastic and the servings of the salamis were generous. And unlike most wine tastings you get neat condiments with your cheese and meat. The whole grain mustard was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.