About Salt Tasting Room

45 Blood Alley
Vancouver, BC V6B 0C4
View Larger Map

Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close.

Cross Street:
Abbott or Carrall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 633-1912

Website:
http://www.salttastingroom.com/

Catering:
Salt Tasting Room offers fine catering for parties from 5 to 500. We offer a range of options using the artisanal products we serve at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
The entrance to Salt Tasting Room is in Blood Alley between Abbott and Carrall streets. There is ample street parking around Blood Alley (on Abbott, Carrall, Cordova or Water Streets). Alternatively, there is a large EasyPark Lot located between Cambie and Carrall Street on Cordova. Note: you must have a commercial permit to park in Blood Alley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Mixed Meats & Cheese - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Wine Flight - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Cheese and Meat Plate - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
3 Cheese & 3 Meat Platter - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Cheese And Meat Plates And Wine Flights - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Cheese Tasting Plate - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Cheese Plate - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
flourless chocolate cake - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Best Of Bc Plate - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Roasted Beet Salad - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Candied Ginger & Apricot Rice Pudding - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Ham Hock Terrine - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Tasting Plate - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Bread Basket - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Chocolate Terrine & Pear Compote Paired With Canadian "portt" - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Citrus Steam Cake - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC
Red and White Pairing Flights - Salt Tasting Room, Vancouver, BC

Private Dining

A 50 seat cellar space that can accommodate stand up or sit down functions. Get in touch with us to arrange a function uniquely suited to you.

Salt Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (14)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tapas (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the wines and bubbly were good, but the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the wines and bubbly were good, but the portions were tiny at best. I recognize it was meant to be a tasting room, but we all came out starving and went to get some pub grub afterwards.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I always make it a point to visit Salt w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I always make it a point to visit Salt when visiting from the U.S. I was able to bring a friend with me this time, and she fell in love with it just as I have. Thank you for never disappointing!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great little gem. Amazing wine se ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Really great little gem. Amazing wine selection, a little bit pricey. Also, it's in a random alley way with no address or sign. Great for a date to share a meat/cheese plate and have great wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We never miss Salt when we are in Vancou ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We never miss Salt when we are in Vancouver. It is a really fun place and creative, interesting menu. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the selections. Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place on Blood Alley. Overall, Sa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place on Blood Alley.

Overall, Salt Tasting Room was a great experience.

Personally, I'm not a huge fan on wine but still was nice.

Will definitely go again with someone more educated in wine, cheese and nice meats.

Overall, great night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Server was great. Food was quite good an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Server was great. Food was quite good and surprisingly filling. Although would have been nicer to have a non-shared table for a date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is very knowledgeable about th ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The staff is very knowledgeable about the wines and was very helpful with regards to pairing. A fun experience!

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to meet some friends from out of to ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went to meet some friends from out of town and we all loved it. Only complaint is the location. It's in a back alley in a not -so-good part of the neighbourhood and I didn't like walking down the alley alone to meet my friends. But if you're in a group, you'll be ok and worth the walk.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of our entire 2 week trip around the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Out of our entire 2 week trip around the North West, Salt was the one dining experience we thought back to as our favorite!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love this restaurant.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love, love, love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The service wa ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was a bit slow to start, but got going once we had placed some orders. I will be back, it was a great night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service was excellent!! It was perfe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was excellent!! It was perfect for a girls night out! It's my second time back and I will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A cute little spot with awesome cheese a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

A cute little spot with awesome cheese and meat plates and wine flights to pair. They have some really neat local cheeses and good wine selecting. A classy spot to celebrate something.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the the wine were very good ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and the the wine were very good, no question about that. Everything else? Not great. We had three different servers during the meal. The second course came before the first course had been cleared and there was not enough room for all the plates. There was confusion about which wines accompanied which dish because the server that brought it was not the one that took the order. Then there was a twenty-five minute gap before dessert showed up and another long wait for the bill. The individual servers were great, informative and friendly, but the place seemed very disorganized, topped off with an e-mail the next day wanting to know why we had missed our reservation, which of course we hadn't.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Love this place! Always amazing, the ser ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love this place! Always amazing, the server was amazing! Great time & super quiet when we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really chilled spot, even if you don't k ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Really chilled spot, even if you don't know much about wine all the work is done for you just sit back and enjoy. Food was really spot on!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice selection of meats and cheeses. Cut ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice selection of meats and cheeses. Cute atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We were there early at 4 so it was quit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were there early at 4 so it was quite. Good place to start evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Contemporary loft with high ceilings and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Contemporary loft with high ceilings and brick walls, which we love. Complete with European style meat and cheese platter and excellent wine selections. A bit loud when it fills up but you forgive it for all the other reasons this place is great. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. Service is leisurely but I believe meant to be part of the experience. Take your time, talk with friends, share some food, drink good wine share some more. Love it. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and wine list! Server w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great atmosphere and wine list! Server was well versed with the entire menu and very friendly. Would definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was good. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was good. The service was good. Portions were tiny for what we paid. Very helpful and friendly staff. The portions were something left to be desired, especially when we saw the huge bill. Pricey, and we left hungry. the meats tastes too similar, as do the cheeses, but maybe my taste buds arent dignified. After, we actually walked down to the pourhouse and had the burger with fried egg and fois gras. THAT was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Left hungry for a meal the portions need ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Left hungry for a meal the portions need to be larger otherwise it's just an app place shame as food is lovely

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for the 3 course menu for $29pp wit ...

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Went for the 3 course menu for $29pp with the wine pairing at $25pp. Really great value, and between two of us we were able to try lots of items, which have been specially paired with accompaniments, delicious! Our server was amazing and picked specific wines for each of us and our selected items, 5 glasses for $25, so good!

We were there on a Monday night so the atmosphere was pretty chill, but I'm sure on a busier night it would be much more upbeat and noisy.

All in all, a fantastic night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I loved the design and the ambiance of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I loved the design and the ambiance of the restaurant. The food was delicious and I really enjoyed the wine that was paired together with the platter.

The service was great. The lady was very polite and friendly. She wrote down the name of the wine I really liked.

The only thing was that I expected the server to explain more about the wine and the food we were having. I thought the Salt Tasting Room experience would entail the server telling us in detail about the wine and food, or any "stories" involved with the dish. I really wanted to know more, but the server just named the wines and walked away.

I didn't really know where the wine was from, or what it was best paired with. I was hoping the server would go into further details but she never did.

Overall I enjoyed it, but I would say I just had food and wine there, instead of I had a dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Being a lover of wine & charcuterie, I w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Being a lover of wine & charcuterie, I was so excited to try out the Salt Tasting Room and was really dissapointed with the experience we had. Once we sat down, it took between 10-15 minutes for a server to even come to our table to take an order and offer us a glass of water. We asked for wine/food pairings and the server was quite new, so he didn't have too much info, but we still went with his recommendations - the food & wine was awesome, but it took another 10 minutes to get the flight of wine & 15 minutes after that to get our food (so we really couldn't even do a wine/food pairing). We had finished our wine & food and I would have loved another glass of wine (some of the wines in the flight were so good!), but we never had another server come by again. Not even to ask how our food/beverages were. Other tables were served right beside us and no servers even acknowledged our empty glasses/plates until we asked for the bill.

I'd love to give this place another shot, but I think the service definitely needs to step it up - it wasn't too busy and there were quite a few servers standing behind the bar doing nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Trendy

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Trendy spot for wine and charcuterie - never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent service and knowledgable staff ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent service and knowledgable staff, great wine and pairings make the Salt Tasting Room a must try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Been here before, and always enjoy it. T ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Been here before, and always enjoy it. The pairings weren't as good as usual this time, and the service wasn't as attentive as normal, which was strange as it wasn't busy at all. We had a cheese pairing with wine flight, and a meat pairing as well. All the food was good and presented well; Salt has just set a very high standard the last few times I've been and the service let it down a bit this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It was a great time. It would've been ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a great time. It would've been nice if there was some more "substantial" food on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not the same...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Been here two other times and really had a nice time. This time our server wasn't interested in helping us make selections off of the current menu selections. The vibe in the place wasn't very happening, and we left with a meh feeling. We won't be back...we were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fun experience

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We chose this place because my husband and I love cheese and meats. The selection was great. It was difficult to only pick three of each. We also chose the wine flights. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about pairing wines with our selected items. I was worried that it would not be enough to eat but we were surprisingly fuller than expected when we finished. It was a fun experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

While the venue is not romantic in itsel ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2016

While the venue is not romantic in itself, it is perfect as a place to meet-up and introduce yourselves.

I went there to bond with my niece, who I hadn't seen for many years, and was visiting Vancouver for the first time and into wines. No time for the Okanagan, so this was a great bonding, fun wine tasting experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love this place!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I met here for our first date 5 years ago. We celebrated our dating anniversaries here, and now we celebrate our wedding anniversary here.

The quality of the food and wines is top-notch with an exceptional rotating selection. The knowledge of the service staff is second to none. From pairings with food to offering suggestions based on personal preference, they are always spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salt is a Blood Alley Gem

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Salt is a great little place for a light meal. The cheese and meat platters paired with condiments are very good. I also love the wine pairings. But the best part , in my opinion is the knowledge of the staff, especially regarding their wine selection. They are fantastic, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tiny but Tasty!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2016

I took my partner to The Salt Tasting Room for a date night and, although it was a pricey one, it was an experience that I would recommend.

The flights of mead and wine were exquisite and the morsels of cheese, meats and condiments from their menu board were divine.

The date was not a "meal date," so the amount of food was not really an issue. And the quality and flavours that they provided more than made up for the tiny samplings.

As a regular haunt, Salt would unfortunately be out of my price range; but as a unique dining and dating experience, it was worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overpriced

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2016

It's a shame. I love their concept and the item consumed were delicious but the portions provided, both wine and food, were tiny. Plus, out table was completely ignored when an athlete celebrity and his table of six walked in the door. And, I get it, you want to make a good impression on him but they didn't need to complexly ignore everyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Amazing service, great spot for drinks and nibbles

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The pros - everyone who works there knows their stuff! Wine, meats and cheeses - what could go wrong?! Everything was delicious and the wine was great. We were out for a girls night which was perfect, but this is also a great date spot.

The cons - not a cheap night out! And if you're wanting a big meal, this is not the place to be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A Vancouver food experience not to be missed.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2016

OMG! A unique food experience not to be missed - great local meats, cheeses, and condiments paired to perfection with awesome local wines. Select from the board pairings or create your own. Definitely not a place to go if you are expecting a hearty meal. Perfect for those wanting lighter fare or tapas type food. Great service with knowledgeable staff who know their fare.

Sleek, modern feel in an old brick building literally located in an alley in the Gastown area of Vancouver. Not sure we would have found it on our own, but our cabbie knew where we wanted to go when we said “Blood Alley” and dropped us off right at the door. Sitting in the window we were able to watch all the local alley activity which was “colorful” to say the least. Would be a great place to host a party or business event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local find

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, which is located off an alley in Gastown. Salt Tasting Room specialized in charcuterie and wine pairings. There were plenty of cheese and meat options accompanied by fresh bread and crackers. We'd definitely make a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went with a friend for bubbly and appe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I went with a friend for bubbly and appetizers, it was perfect start to our night. The 8th Generation Champagne was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.