Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Salt Tasting Room

Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.

45 Blood Alley
Vancouver, BC V6B 0C4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close.

Cross Street:
Abbott or Carrall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 633-1912

Website:
http://www.salttastingroom.com/

Catering:
Salt Tasting Room offers fine catering for parties from 5 to 500. We offer a range of options using the artisanal products we serve at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
The entrance to Salt Tasting Room is in Blood Alley between Abbott and Carrall streets. There is ample street parking around Blood Alley (on Abbott, Carrall, Cordova or Water Streets). Alternatively, there is a large EasyPark Lot located between Cambie and Carrall Street on Cordova. Note: you must have a commercial permit to park in Blood Alley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A 50 seat cellar space that can accommodate stand up or sit down functions. Get in touch with us to arrange a function uniquely suited to you.

Salt Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (14)
Tapas (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Tasting Menu (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Didn't get to be seated as it was busy but they were nice about it. Granted we booked the day and evening of. next time we will book a day in advance.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Beautiful little gem in the heart of downtown Vancouver's blood alley. Tasting plates of different varieties of salami, cheese and condiments tastefully paired with the perfect wine.

Tags: Historic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great attention to our selections of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Salt was good, but not great. Enjoyed the wine and meat/cheese pairings but was a little underwhelmed with the overall vibe, portion sizes, and condiments offered.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to start off the night with appy style food. Atmosphere is simple but sophisticated. The plates are flavourful, however, for the amount you pay per plate the portions are quite small.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved finding this creative tasting room with different cured meats, cheese and wines. The flexibility of the menu was great and allowed us to try different things we hadn't experienced before.

We were a little lost at first because we weren't familiar with the styles/ flavours of some of the offerings but a server was able to guide us through.

Better to allow more time than less here so you can actually appreciate it!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed this place, the space was unique. We loved the idea of the flights and platters. The selection of meat and cheese was great. We felt the portions were very small. We intended to go here for dinner, but after ordering two platters we were still starving, so went somewhere for another meal. It was a fun and delicious starter, but definitely wouldn't go for a meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went here on a double date to celebrate Valentine's Day. The wine flights were nice, but the " tasting boards " were physically a taste. Looking online at the menu cheese and meat boards sounded more substantial, and delicious, however you get 2 slices of either meat or cheese and 1 slice of the other. So do not come here for a meal or an appetizer. Come here for a drink and a literal bite of cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Worst spinach salad ever. Wine, cheese, and meats were good. 2 out of 3 servers were great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to Salt on a cold, rainy Saturday evening after a concert. As the concert was going late I managed to contact the restaurant and change our reservation to a later time slot. Management thanked me for calling as they were in the process of closing down - the weather was miserable and there were few customers around. Once we arrived we managed to share some interesting cheeses, meats, and condiments, most of BC origin. This was accompanied by glasses of seldom-found BC wines. In spite of the late hour and sparseness of business the staff were very friendly and helpful - and the staff-made selections were superb! We'll definitely go again under less trying circumstances.
My only complaint would be about signage on the outside of the restaurant - situated in a poorly-lit alley it proved difficult to find for our first visit.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

For a good part of this evening it was an enjoyable experience, sharing with 4 other friends. Well chosen cheeses, meats, wine and beers. We all enjoyed our plates and drinks. We were also able to talk to each other quite comfortably until a group of about 20 extremely loud people were seated beside us in the downstairs room. The noise was intolerable. It actually hurt our ears. A couple of us mentioned the problem to the manager who more or less shrugged it off. I recognize that the staff was hard-working and somewhat stressed on a Saturday night, but the defensiveness and basic dismissal were unwarranted. If I return here (which is unlikely) it will be early and I will ask to be seated upstairs where the noise abatement seems better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time here, a little hard to find, but once inside the people are friendly and the food and wines were delicious. Most of the wines surpassed my expectations, a couple were just OK. Would visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic night! So many things to try! Our waitress was very helpful and made recommendations for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waitress was amazing and the ambiance was wonderful. The only disappointing thing that happened was that we made a reservation and were told upon arrival that the only seats that they had available were at the bar. We made it work, but it kind of took away from the experience, especially considering the fact that there was an empty table behind us for the majority of our stay. However, we would definitely return...and hopefully we'll get a table next time.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was very good though several small plate choices are not familiar to the average diner. I am a committed foodie so I think I could safely say even most choices are unfamiliar. It would be helpful if there was a sheet or something explaining the type of cheeses and meats. One of those table iPads like in airports could do a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the cheese and charcuterie and believe the restaurant is well-named as a tasting room. However, customers should know that it is really not a full meal though the price is very high. We left feeling quite hungry as if we had only whet our appetite for the next course...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic venue set back in an alleyway between the main roads. Seating is a mixture of individual tables and shared benches. While initially tentative to sit between two other couples the benches give you an opportunity to engage with your neighbour and get their take on the menu. Irrespective of their recommendations all the food was great (subject to individual palates), and the service was exceptional. Our waitress was on hand to provide recommendations for food and wine, matching food choices with their range of wines. Overall a great random pick and would recommend this restaurant to anyone fancying a drink with tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent atmosphere. Knowledgeable and kind staff. Great selection of wines and you can't beat a night out with wine meat and cheeses!!! Had the best time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Honestly, the portions are so miserly that it's quite difficult to award anything more than a passing grade, despite the quality of the food being reasonable. We actually thought for a second that the plate the server brought out was a sampler, and the "real" plate was to follow! Couldn't recommend going here as the value is non existent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall the experience at Salt was amazing. Our server was so knowledgeable about every single wine (including white, rose, red, mead, dessert wine, bubbles) that was on the menu. You can either choose from a pre-set wine and charcuterie board that has already been paired, or you can work through the menu with the server to pick your favourite wines and have them paired with what's on the board. The restaurant has a fun feel to it - not too big so it feels intimate without having music that's too loud or lights that are too dim. The only downside I would say is that it's a little pricey for the amount of food you get. Best to have dinner beforehand so you're not forced to order three cheese plates to make up for it.

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Exceptional charcutterie, cheese and wines. Servers are very knowledgeable and can make the pairing for you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very small portions. Had run out of salad. Just average cheese and meats. Not served with even a cracker. Bread put on table. No butter. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Honestly, I wasn't really blown away with Salt. You pick 3 meats or cheese (i.e., 2 meats, 1 cheese or all meat or 1 cheese, 2 meat, etc) from the list along with 3 condiments (onions, olives, mustard, etc)

Myself and my partner each had a plate - I ordered 3 meats and he ordered 3 cheeses (plus condiments) and we essentially split everything. You get about 30g of the meats and cheeses each, so pretty small and you get even less with the condiments. Some of the meats and cheese were really good, but definitely not enough for a meal.

You should plan to go to Salt before or after other dinner plans - I didn't really realize this until we got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the wines and bubbly were good, but the portions were tiny at best. I recognize it was meant to be a tasting room, but we all came out starving and went to get some pub grub afterwards.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I always make it a point to visit Salt when visiting from the U.S. I was able to bring a friend with me this time, and she fell in love with it just as I have. Thank you for never disappointing!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Really great little gem. Amazing wine selection, a little bit pricey. Also, it's in a random alley way with no address or sign. Great for a date to share a meat/cheese plate and have great wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We never miss Salt when we are in Vancouver. It is a really fun place and creative, interesting menu. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the selections. Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place on Blood Alley.
Overall, Salt Tasting Room was a great experience.
Personally, I'm not a huge fan on wine but still was nice.
Will definitely go again with someone more educated in wine, cheese and nice meats.

Overall, great night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Server was great. Food was quite good and surprisingly filling. Although would have been nicer to have a non-shared table for a date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The staff is very knowledgeable about the wines and was very helpful with regards to pairing. A fun experience!

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went to meet some friends from out of town and we all loved it. Only complaint is the location. It's in a back alley in a not -so-good part of the neighbourhood and I didn't like walking down the alley alone to meet my friends. But if you're in a group, you'll be ok and worth the walk.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Out of our entire 2 week trip around the North West, Salt was the one dining experience we thought back to as our favorite!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love, love, love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was a bit slow to start, but got going once we had placed some orders. I will be back, it was a great night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was excellent!! It was perfect for a girls night out! It's my second time back and I will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

A cute little spot with awesome cheese and meat plates and wine flights to pair. They have some really neat local cheeses and good wine selecting. A classy spot to celebrate something.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and the the wine were very good, no question about that. Everything else? Not great. We had three different servers during the meal. The second course came before the first course had been cleared and there was not enough room for all the plates. There was confusion about which wines accompanied which dish because the server that brought it was not the one that took the order. Then there was a twenty-five minute gap before dessert showed up and another long wait for the bill. The individual servers were great, informative and friendly, but the place seemed very disorganized, topped off with an e-mail the next day wanting to know why we had missed our reservation, which of course we hadn't.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love this place! Always amazing, the server was amazing! Great time & super quiet when we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Really chilled spot, even if you don't know much about wine all the work is done for you just sit back and enjoy. Food was really spot on!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice selection of meats and cheeses. Cute atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.