Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Salt Tasting Room

Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.

45 Blood Alley
Vancouver, BC V6B 0C4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close.

Cross Street:
Abbott or Carrall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 633-1912

Website:
http://www.salttastingroom.com/

Catering:
Salt Tasting Room offers fine catering for parties from 5 to 500. We offer a range of options using the artisanal products we serve at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
The entrance to Salt Tasting Room is in Blood Alley between Abbott and Carrall streets. There is ample street parking around Blood Alley (on Abbott, Carrall, Cordova or Water Streets). Alternatively, there is a large EasyPark Lot located between Cambie and Carrall Street on Cordova. Note: you must have a commercial permit to park in Blood Alley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (9)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a group of 7 girls and it was a bit chaotic. I believe it works much better for smaller groups. Chocolate pudding for dessert was a major disappointment. Overall I love this place for an intimate get together. The wine selection is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

We were not welcomed in the same way as in previous visits.
Staff seemed grumpy and keen for us to leave.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent service and fabulous food and wine!! Would definitely recommend and return.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

A simple concept done perfectly -- pairings of meats, cheese, condiments and wine. A lot of the menu is locally sourced, with wines and cheese that you can only get in the region. The general manager and staff are fabulous guides, making excellent recommendations for pairings. I haven't had that much fun at a restaurant in a long while!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Highly recommended by a Rocky Mountaineer manager who used to do culinary tours. She was right! You will never accidentally stumble upon this place; you have to seek it out, but it's well worth it. Charcuterie extraordinaire! Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable and adorable sever, Eddie, guided both of us to labeled and paired flights of 3 meats, cheeses, condiments and wines plus a beautiful salad. Sharing made for double the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been to this restaurant off and on for over 5 years now and never been disappointed by the experience Kama food and the ambience.

Mixing and matching meat, cheese, condiments and wine what could possibly be wrong,

This place is incredible for a date or just with a group of friends the way the food is served the fact that you can share everything leads to a leisurely pace and great conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Salt is GREAT! amazing selection of food and wine. wonderful service. We were in the basement and it got a little bit loud... but we enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely charcuterie restaurant! Really enjoyed the Canada menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The best food experience I had so far in vancouver. I'll definitely come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Server (not sure his name) was awesome, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Cheese and meats were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Second time here with my girlfriend and we love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Interesting concept for this restaurant. Was very quiet on the mid week evening that I went between 6 and 7pm with only one other table occupied. Staff helpful and friendly. I was a little surprised about how long it took for my tables' order to arrive bearing in mind the restaurant was quiet and that cold cuts and cheeses need little preparation.

Good selection of both local and not local meats and cheeses, good wine and beer selections.

Worth checking out and I hope they are busier normally.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Organized a last minute large birthday party. Staff and owner were extremely helpful. Our main waiter was a patient and helpful human being who also made great suggestions to guide us through the menu.

Food and wine was excellent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Organic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

First time to the Salt Room and it was great. We went for some pre dinner drinks and the wine meat n cheese was perfect. Our server was fantastic and very knowledgeable and helpful. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful concept tapas/tasting room using locally and internationally sourced cheeses and meats. The quality was unsurpassed, the ambiance ubër cool, in this tiny tucked away space. Patient service as the tasting menu was explained and recommendations for wine passed on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Wonderful selections of meats, cheeses, condiments and wines, most of it local. Server did most of the pairings and selections for us, which was wonderful. It was a lovely, relaxed, drawn out evening that passed enjoyably. We all want to do that again.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful place, great food, local ingredients. The room is made up of all hard surfaces with nothing to absorb the sound, so things get a little loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was very disappointed to be sat in the basement. I had made a resveration to take friends and we where sat alone in the basement, it smelled and felt like a dungeon.
I made the most of it but would have liked on the beautiful night we chose to be sat in the nearly empty upstairs room. I actually wondered if we where sat there because I had used open table app to book.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

7 of us out for a friend's bday. Service was terrible, our first server finished her shift then a second server tagged in. Second server more concerned with side duties then serving our table. Very disappointing, none of us plan to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

An interesting concept that is perfect for diners who will share and like to talk about their food. Very knowledgeable wait staff. Portions are satisfyingly small; those with a generous appetite may need salad and dessert. The sherry tasting flight is a must. On my short list for return visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Definitely a good time and nice place to be able to talk to someone. Worth the experience and it's fun. Wouldn't say that's where you should go if your really hungry, But that's expected if you read the menu or the name lol

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Nice place and very friendly staff. Food and wine were delicious and well paired. Not the place to go if you're very hungry and looking to get filled up, however we would definitely come back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice place for ambiance and customer service. Great wine list. Tmhad a few cheese and meat platters. Very pricey for what you get. The meat was so thinly sliced you could barely taste it. Cheese taste was also underwhelming. Not from Van so don't know how it compares in taste with other venues.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a great time at Salt. Our server was very knowledgeable and helped us pick our meats, cheese, condiments and the wines to pair them with. It was definitely a unique experience and we would go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The restaurant was nearly empty, but we were seated beside the only other two people in the restaurant. The quality and quantity of the food for the price we paid was not good. We last went to Salt about 2 years ago and loved it ... the quality and value has gone down significantly. The tables were too small to enjoy charcuterie and a bottle of wine. Two stars overall is probably more generous than is deserved. We paid our bill, went down the street, and salvaged our date night at another restaurant. The staff were friendly and attentive, but we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very helpful staff. All of our wines were selected and paired with the menu. This made ordering very simple and enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Really enjoyed this, is unique and the server we had really knew her stuff and made excellent recommendations. I highly recommend this

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It was a fun place with great service! This is not a place to go for a full dinner though. The wines were good with nice pairings of meats and cheeses. Overall a great place for a fun evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lovely experience!! Thoughtfully dorm Tasting Room 👌🏼

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Didn't get to be seated as it was busy but they were nice about it. Granted we booked the day and evening of. next time we will book a day in advance.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful little gem in the heart of downtown Vancouver's blood alley. Tasting plates of different varieties of salami, cheese and condiments tastefully paired with the perfect wine.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great attention to our selections of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Salt was good, but not great. Enjoyed the wine and meat/cheese pairings but was a little underwhelmed with the overall vibe, portion sizes, and condiments offered.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to start off the night with appy style food. Atmosphere is simple but sophisticated. The plates are flavourful, however, for the amount you pay per plate the portions are quite small.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved finding this creative tasting room with different cured meats, cheese and wines. The flexibility of the menu was great and allowed us to try different things we hadn't experienced before.

We were a little lost at first because we weren't familiar with the styles/ flavours of some of the offerings but a server was able to guide us through.

Better to allow more time than less here so you can actually appreciate it!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We enjoyed this place, the space was unique. We loved the idea of the flights and platters. The selection of meat and cheese was great. We felt the portions were very small. We intended to go here for dinner, but after ordering two platters we were still starving, so went somewhere for another meal. It was a fun and delicious starter, but definitely wouldn't go for a meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here on a double date to celebrate Valentine's Day. The wine flights were nice, but the " tasting boards " were physically a taste. Looking online at the menu cheese and meat boards sounded more substantial, and delicious, however you get 2 slices of either meat or cheese and 1 slice of the other. So do not come here for a meal or an appetizer. Come here for a drink and a literal bite of cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Worst spinach salad ever. Wine, cheese, and meats were good. 2 out of 3 servers were great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to Salt on a cold, rainy Saturday evening after a concert. As the concert was going late I managed to contact the restaurant and change our reservation to a later time slot. Management thanked me for calling as they were in the process of closing down - the weather was miserable and there were few customers around. Once we arrived we managed to share some interesting cheeses, meats, and condiments, most of BC origin. This was accompanied by glasses of seldom-found BC wines. In spite of the late hour and sparseness of business the staff were very friendly and helpful - and the staff-made selections were superb! We'll definitely go again under less trying circumstances.
My only complaint would be about signage on the outside of the restaurant - situated in a poorly-lit alley it proved difficult to find for our first visit.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.