About SALT

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

special occasion (38)
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (20)
See All
hot spot (14)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
notable wine list (10)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is top notch from the appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food is top notch from the appetizer (shrimp), sides (unbelievable Mac n cheese), dessert (almond cake), and of course a flawlessly cooked NY strip. But what set this restaurant apart from any other and made it an unforgettable dining experience was the service. The wait staff is friendly and on top of their game. The real treat though is to sit at the Chef's bar and watch Chef Greg in action. He will even give you some tips and explain how's he making certain things. Do not miss out on this great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! The servers knew about the food ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Awesome! The servers knew about the food... Because I took a new person there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just outstanding, really enjoyed our lun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Just outstanding, really enjoyed our lunh, well trained staff. Try M Pasta dish

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly and professional st ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, friendly and professional staff, all is wonderful. Only draw back is that it is extremely loud.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious food. A little something diff ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious food. A little something different with flair. Little noisy when tables and chairs are moved around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SALT is probably the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

SALT is probably the best restaurant in McAllen. I live in Dallas and this place would beat most of the restaurants of the same class.

I'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great service , we had a wo ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food , great service , we had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I come here every time I work in the RGV ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I come here every time I work in the RGV. I've said it before, this is one of my favorite places in all of Texas. The food and service is amazing. This time I tried the pork chop for the first time. Amazing. I don't know what they do to it, but it is unlike any pork chop I've ever had. The quail knots and pork belly appetizers are outstanding as well. Great cocktails too. We came back again our second night in town just for some Salty Dogs and quail knots. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was really looking forward to trying thi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant for the first time. We went for a date night but literally had to yell so loud just to talk to one another. When the waitress came and had to yell to take our order we decided to leave before we even ordered. We also had a problem with the menu....mostly "unclean" things to eat...meaning no kosher. Probably 90% of the menu was off limits. Steak was outrageous at $60. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

There were three of us in the party and ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

There were three of us in the party and we were seated at a table to the side of the main room, where we could see everything but we were not in a direct travel path. Although we had one main server, we were served by several to keep the service flowing nicely. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu items and freely made suggestions upon our professed likes. Unlike some "upscale" restaurants that give you a morsel of food in the middle of a decorated plate, our portions were quite adequate and we even had some to "take home" in a "green" paper container, rather than styrofoam. We were pleased with the variety of items on the menu and that much was local or at least from Texas (meat from Broken Arrow Ranch up in Hill Country, which had been featured on Andrew Zimmern's show or wild-caught shrimp from the Gulf). There was a nice mixture of familiar and "exotic" menu items and, as we all ordered something different, we had the opportunity to sample a number of dishes. We were intrigued by the cocktail list, many made with freshly sqeezed juices which added a freshness to the taste. We were very pleased with the evening, our server(s), and the food which was wonderful and tastefully plated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we had a very special romantic dinner. My husband is a very picky eater and he was very pleased with the selection and I am a foodie and we both had a wonderful experience. Will return very soon, totally enjoyed our night at SALT.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful and staff made you fe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was wonderful and staff made you feel like family. Fantastic place. This will become a regular stop for me when I'm in town

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was beyond great! Brought my out of ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was beyond great! Brought my out of town sister to join me for my birthday and she was loving it. She wants to come back and pick another entree.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere paired with daring dish ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great atmosphere paired with daring dishes!! Love their menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and service. I can hardly wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food was excellent. I would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent. I would highly recommend Salt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food and great service from the hosts and waiters! Their positive energy and knowledge of food made all the difference.

The sriracha shrimp, heirloom and the duck was delicious and different than the typical food around town. The farm to market table concept is apparent in every bite. Delicious!

I look forward to visiting SALT again, especially on another special occasion. Well worth dining here again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy even with room only 50% full a ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Too noisy even with room only 50% full and with regular diners - no special parties. The noise overshadowed the quality of the food.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We really enjoyed

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Took wife out for Anniversary Dinner, great experience overall...good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for great food and wine!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This is one of the few places in the entire Valley where they know what service is all about. The food was excellent and the wine was outstanding. I highly recommend Larry and Jessica's place in downtown McAllen. You won't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine dining

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love this place! My new favorite! We enjoyed the view from the chef's table. It was fun watching the chefs prepare the food in front of us. I ordered the boneless fried chicken. It was so moist and delicious. I see why it's one of their popular entrees. My friend loved her chicken and spinach ravioli; the tomato curry sauce made this dish.

Cocktails can be cutomize for you.

The service is great. Our server, Milton, was very attentive and entertaining. We enjoyed his personal stories. I would recommend Salt to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

my wife and I had a very enjoyable eveni ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

my wife and I had a very enjoyable evening and had a wonderful waitress named Rachel. She was very knowledgeable about all the spirits and also the menu. we deathly have a great time and will be back thank you salt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

While the plating is excellent the food ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

While the plating is excellent the food is bland and flavorless

Very disappointed

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

We love SALT and recommend it to many pe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We love SALT and recommend it to many people. It has become our go-to date night spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Hands down my favorite. Great food, great service & great atmosphere. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Uhhhh-mazing food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricey, but well worth it. Great food, service, wine and the Alaskan ice cream dessert was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything is amazing

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is wonderfully prepared and presented, and delicious!!! Service is very good. The cocktails are inventive and very refreshing. We especially love the sriracha shrimp appetizer and the scallop entree. The shishito peppers are wonderful as is the Tobacco Creme Brulee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

SALT did not disappoint. Everything was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

SALT did not disappoint. Everything was delicious. We tried a couple of their craft beers, which were cold & crisp. The cucumber cocktail and the grapefruit cocktail were nice & refreshing. We tried the SALT Chips, the shrimp, the quail knots, and the fried Duroc pork - all were delicious! The SALT chips were my favorite; the quail was a tad overdone, though. For dinner, the Mac and cheese is a must - yummy stuff!! The rabbit was tender and tasty. The fried chicken was moist and flavorful. Everything was wonderful! J.R. was very attentive and very knowledgeable of the menus. Excellent service!!! Everyone was friendly and helpful...just a very nice dining experience! We'll definitely go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kitchen-bar seating!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Being able to sit at the kitchen-bar was amazing. My wife and I were able to talk with the chef and kitchen staff shared all kinds of info on their many menu items. We were even treated to a couple of samples! Menu is upscale, yet simple. Local produce means fresh produce! I had the beef short rib (serious comfort food I could cut with my fork!). My wife enjoyed the duck breast - juiciest ever! Be adventurous and try the beef sweetbreads - delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This review is not related to the 4/1/16 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This review is not related to the 4/1/16 visit to Salt. It is with respect to the disappointment experienced on June 24, 2016. My wife an I have been frequent diners at Salt since its opening, we used to go there every other Friday -now, I would say every three weeks- and the staff was friendly and courteous. We also entertain clients and friends there. Lately, there has been a great deal of rotation. Last night, Friday, June 24, we made a reservation for 7:30. When we arrived the hostess (of course, a new one different from three weeks ago) offered us the least desirable table (right next to the entry way, where everyone entering or leaving the place walks by), there was another empty table at the far right corner of the restaurant, I asked her to sit us there. Her response was "I am sorry but we are full with reservations", when I refused to sit at the table she wanted to give us, I said to her that we would rather leave. Immediately she said she was sorry and suggested us to go to House Wine, their sister restaurant -where we, by the way, are also regulars. Of course we refused to patronize the "sister" establishment of the place where we were given the cold shoulder. Salt has been a hit for some time now, but I do not foresee much continued success if they persist treating regular customers like they did last night.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

One. Word. Excellent.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

One. Word. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salt, I just want to say I love you. Kee ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Salt, I just want to say I love you. Keep up the good work, and please keep cranking out the Baked Alaskas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good Times

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was top of the line. Started out with the delicious bacon wrapped sweet breads. For the main course we had the fried chicken and the pork chop. The pork chop is worth every Pennie it costs . The fried chicken was amazing too. For sides we had the Mac and cheese. This ain't your mama's Mac and cheese. All topped off with the Alaskan for dessert. We left stuffed. But the only thing I'd like to see is an option for quieter dinning and a little more elbow room. But I'd still go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Salt dinner

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The pork chop is what my husband comes for every time. I tried the short ribs, very good but a bit on the salty side. The lavender margarita is fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, better, best!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Nice ambiance. Acoustics are loud! Great, friendly staff. Portions are a little small. Menu has some the most original dishes, anywhere. Sea bass was amazing! Duck flavor was on point, however was disappointed with lack of crispness on skin. Wine list was nice. But the star of the show was the white chocolate gonash cake! Amazing! Beet ice cream was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Okay, but nothing special

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

My friends and I went there on a Wednesday evening. The staff was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed some very good appetizers. It pays off that they source their vegetables locally. The entrees were only okay, because the cooks used the restaurant's name in excess on the scallops and the steak. However, the Mero that is currently on the menu was divine. The atmosphere is rather irritating due to the noise level. It is not a good place for a relaxing dinner. In the end, I left the restaurant feeling that I could have spend my money better elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not outstanding this time

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Ordered an appetizer to kick off the night which was hot and very tasty. Unfortunately, our main course meals were lukewarm and sides were a bit cold. I can only guess they were not brought out as they were made. A bit disappointed on our anniversary dinner...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service by Mike.

vip
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent service by Mike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! One of my favorite places in McAllen!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

I love going to SALT! It is by far one of my most favorite places to dine and have drinks in McAllen. The staff is exceptional - so attentive, and the food is amazing. The fried chicken, macaroni & cheese, shrimp sriracha are some of my favorites and if you save room for dessert, the Baked Alaska is worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.