About SALT

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Open Kitchen (8)
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fun (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I enjoy the menu, the ambian ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I enjoy the menu, the ambiance, the service and the drinks. One of the best places in town for a special occasion or just a real nice night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great dinner! Excellent food an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was a great dinner! Excellent food and service. We sat on the open kitchen bar and it was a fantastic experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is too noisy, but other than that is ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

It is too noisy, but other than that is good food and the place is nice.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always have a wonderful experience. LOVE ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience. LOVE what the new chef has done with the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, knowledgable staff, and ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food, knowledgable staff, and a fantastic ambiance to wrap it all together.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McAllen's finest cuisine. Staff sims to ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

McAllen's finest cuisine. Staff sims to please in every way. Creative and varied menu contains something delicious for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Salt is one of our favorite restaurants in the McAllen area and we go fairly regularly. However this experience was a little under. We thought perhaps the big event the next day drained the energy/resources of the staff, but the next day was an important celebration for the restaurant. While the service was still attentive, it felt a little off--I really can't stay what it might have been but the feeling.

The New York Steak was great, we liked the ravoli, and the fried chicken was good. The Cioppino soup was muddy and not very good; the calamari was rubbery. I wouldn't recommend it. I have had great, bright cioppino in the past and this wasn't it. The sides were also good as were the drinks. We enjoyed the pork belly appetizer but didn't enjoy the quail knots with the risotto underneath--the quail was good, but the risotto didn't add to the dish.

But we will go again because we know this was just an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Way too warm and servic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very good food. Way too warm and service was weak. For the price, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

My first time at SALT and I loved it!! F ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My first time at SALT and I loved it!! Food was creative,unique and delicious. Definitely going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They knocked their first brunch out of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

They knocked their first brunch out of the park. Food was innovative, nicely presented and tasted fresh and tasty. We appreciate that Chef Larry Delgado sources locally whenever possible. His approach to food and customer service has made us big fans of both of his restaurants. We look forward to the next brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service by the restaurant staf ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service by the restaurant staff. We have frequented the restaurant on numerous occasions and have yet to have a bad experience. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch... Courteous staff!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious brunch... Courteous staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Salt has a unique quality not only to th ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Salt has a unique quality not only to the name but the decor and menu. The servers are amazing and its great to see they all help each other out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious from appetizer to ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert. The attention of the charge of assigning the tables to get to the restaurant and waiter in its recommendations to ask what the menu. What there is to be careful with the noise in the environment inside because sometimes you do not listen very well to people who are on the table when you are making conversation. This is one of the resturantes I like McAllen, Texas. It is true that when you go to this restaurant guaranteed that you will eat exquisite, both food and drinks. For me it is one of the best resturants in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The temperature in the restaurant was re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The temperature in the restaurant was really warm and was miserable being in a business suite. At the end of dinner I asked the waiter and he said that's the number one compliant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Place with Great Food! Definitely ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great Place with Great Food! Definitely going back!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to impress!!!!

vip
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Never fails to impress!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. People were frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was excellent. People were friendly and offered recommendations. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are ever in town. Supports local community with the foods on their menus.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice wine list. Way too lou ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, nice wine list. Way too loud for romantic date. We had a reservation but had to wait 15 min for a table. Have been here before without a reservation with same wait time. No benefit found for reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great dinner and service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great dinner and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SALT New American Table is a fairly new ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

SALT New American Table is a fairly new upscale addition to McAllen's restaurant scene. Owned and operated by the owners of House.Wine. The thematic focus of SALT is locally sourced fresh organic ingredients. In addition, SALT's chef offers interesting menu items not available anywhere else in McAllen (perhaps in the Valley). During our recent visit, for example, we passed on blowfish tails in favor of shrimp. If you're looking for a lovely evening that's a change of pace, explore the online menu for SALT. We had an early reservation, but by the time we left at 8:30PM on a Friday, there were no open tables. It's a popular place. And it's our go-to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband, son (student at the Culinary ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My husband, son (student at the Culinary Institute of America), and I (food blogger, recipe developer) enjoyed our meal at Salt so much! The ingredients are so fresh, the menu is creative, and the service is outstanding and professional. We loved the selection of small plates as this is our favorite way to dine. I highly recommend Salt! It's probably not the best choice for a romantic dinner as it's got a pretty noisy vibe and very open seating with kitchen in view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable on the menu items. He was great. The food was amazing! Definitely making this one of our favorite places for special occasion dinners.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SALT never dissapoints. The food is phen ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

SALT never dissapoints. The food is phenomenal and the service is excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is top notch from the appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food is top notch from the appetizer (shrimp), sides (unbelievable Mac n cheese), dessert (almond cake), and of course a flawlessly cooked NY strip. But what set this restaurant apart from any other and made it an unforgettable dining experience was the service. The wait staff is friendly and on top of their game. The real treat though is to sit at the Chef's bar and watch Chef Greg in action. He will even give you some tips and explain how's he making certain things. Do not miss out on this great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! The servers knew about the food ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Awesome! The servers knew about the food... Because I took a new person there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just outstanding, really enjoyed our lun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Just outstanding, really enjoyed our lunh, well trained staff. Try M Pasta dish

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly and professional st ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, friendly and professional staff, all is wonderful. Only draw back is that it is extremely loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious food. A little something diff ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious food. A little something different with flair. Little noisy when tables and chairs are moved around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SALT is probably the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

SALT is probably the best restaurant in McAllen. I live in Dallas and this place would beat most of the restaurants of the same class.

I'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great service , we had a wo ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food , great service , we had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I come here every time I work in the RGV ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I come here every time I work in the RGV. I've said it before, this is one of my favorite places in all of Texas. The food and service is amazing. This time I tried the pork chop for the first time. Amazing. I don't know what they do to it, but it is unlike any pork chop I've ever had. The quail knots and pork belly appetizers are outstanding as well. Great cocktails too. We came back again our second night in town just for some Salty Dogs and quail knots. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was really looking forward to trying thi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant for the first time. We went for a date night but literally had to yell so loud just to talk to one another. When the waitress came and had to yell to take our order we decided to leave before we even ordered. We also had a problem with the menu....mostly "unclean" things to eat...meaning no kosher. Probably 90% of the menu was off limits. Steak was outrageous at $60. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

There were three of us in the party and ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

There were three of us in the party and we were seated at a table to the side of the main room, where we could see everything but we were not in a direct travel path. Although we had one main server, we were served by several to keep the service flowing nicely. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu items and freely made suggestions upon our professed likes. Unlike some "upscale" restaurants that give you a morsel of food in the middle of a decorated plate, our portions were quite adequate and we even had some to "take home" in a "green" paper container, rather than styrofoam. We were pleased with the variety of items on the menu and that much was local or at least from Texas (meat from Broken Arrow Ranch up in Hill Country, which had been featured on Andrew Zimmern's show or wild-caught shrimp from the Gulf). There was a nice mixture of familiar and "exotic" menu items and, as we all ordered something different, we had the opportunity to sample a number of dishes. We were intrigued by the cocktail list, many made with freshly sqeezed juices which added a freshness to the taste. We were very pleased with the evening, our server(s), and the food which was wonderful and tastefully plated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we had a very special romantic dinner. My husband is a very picky eater and he was very pleased with the selection and I am a foodie and we both had a wonderful experience. Will return very soon, totally enjoyed our night at SALT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful and staff made you fe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was wonderful and staff made you feel like family. Fantastic place. This will become a regular stop for me when I'm in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was beyond great! Brought my out of ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was beyond great! Brought my out of town sister to join me for my birthday and she was loving it. She wants to come back and pick another entree.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere paired with daring dish ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great atmosphere paired with daring dishes!! Love their menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and service. I can hardly wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food was excellent. I would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent. I would highly recommend Salt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.