About SALT

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always grear dinning experience at Salt! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Always grear dinning experience at Salt! Everything was delicious

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is always good to come back after a l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It is always good to come back after a long hiatus and enjoy the excellent cuisine but, above all, see the genuinely friendly and welcoming staff of "old times". My wife and I will continue being regulars at Salt. Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time sitting at the c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our first time sitting at the chef's bar and it did not disappoint. My kids loved the pork chop, filet mignon and the house chips. All the food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and portion was more ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was excellent and portion was more than plenty. Service was amazing. We never felt ignored.

Very pleasant Experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve. Had Crispy Shank. Exc ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve. Had Crispy Shank. Excellent. Mac and Cheese is a must !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent but ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the restaurant was so loud that it was very difficult to talk. I dont think I would take another group there until something is done about the noise level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Muy rico. Excelente comida gourmet. Cu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Muy rico. Excelente comida gourmet. Cualquier platillo qye pidas esta super rico.

Recomiendo mucho los tacos de pescado. El vino tinto etc

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, immaculate food, kitchen wa ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great staff, immaculate food, kitchen was a very well fine tuned machine, everybody working in unison. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy Buena Comida exelente, el servicios ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Muy Buena Comida exelente, el servicios tambien excelente de vinos el menu de vinos esta muy limitado y recomiendo poner tambien vinos mexicanos hay exelentes vinos mexicanos mejores que los que hay en el menu actual.

Saludos

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at salt and I'm totall ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time eating at salt and I'm totally satisfied. Awesome food and exceptional customer service by staff. Cocktails were lovely too. Will come back and recommend others.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Organic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, , Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out with the girls! Our food ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great night out with the girls! Our food was on point. Jr & the entire wait staff were extremely helpful, fun & attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gregg aka Craig was a great part of our ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Gregg aka Craig was a great part of our evening. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and made it a point to make us feel like family at the Chef's table. Staff is great, food is phenomenal and the atmosphere is cozy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and very good pre ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was excellent and very good presentation. The service is perfect. The staff is well trained and attentive. I would highly recommend Salt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner, food as always was ver ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyable dinner, food as always was very good; only problem was the air conditioning. It was a cool night outside and air was on inside Salt. Had to move tables twice and wait staff thought we were a pain. Geez, for a $300 dinner I don't want to shiver from the cold. I'll go back with a coat next time. Overall best in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the atmosphere! Loved the Food! L ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved the atmosphere! Loved the Food! Loved the service!

Thank you for a wonderful and delicious evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Appetizer; entree; bottle of ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Delicious! Appetizer; entree; bottle of wine and dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu could be a little larger, but quali ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Menu could be a little larger, but quality might suffer. I've always had excellent food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love, love, love going to Salt. We alway ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love, love, love going to Salt. We always sit at the Chef's Table and they are always so much fun to watch and converse with. This was our first time for brunch and it was absolutely amazing. The entire city of McAllen should take note of the high set of standards the staff is held to here. The food is always wonderful and the staff is always so friendly. A must if you're looking for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, amazing cocktails. Service s ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, amazing cocktails. Service seemed a little overwhelmed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I go to Salt for every speci ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I go to Salt for every special occasion and will continue to do so. We have toddler triplets and don't take many chances on having a bad dining experience because we do not get out very much. The food and service are exceptional. We always leave happy.

Only gripe is it is VERY loud and small. You must scream to hear the person sitting next to you and we had our table or chairs bumped by waiters 5 times.

Salt is our "go to" restaurant. We always look forward to our next dining experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I realize the staff has no control over ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I realize the staff has no control over the noise level coming from their customers, but it was EXTREMELY loud on the night we dined in. It was so loud, we decided after the appetizer to leave. I realize everyone who attends the restaurant is entitled to having a great time, but the group of 6 we were seated next to, was so uncourteous, they acted like they were the only ones in the restaurants.

After speaking to the manager and explaining why we were going to leave, he insisted we try sitting outside in the patio area. It was a beautiful and nice night, so everything turned out okay. The serves and food is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Salt is one of our favorite places! They ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Salt is one of our favorite places! They embody what is beautiful of the RGV and use local incredients, produce and meats! They support our community and shine a gorgeous light on what makes the RGV so amazing! The food is KILLER and the SERVICE is always on point! I love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a really great experience . F ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a really great experience .

Food was excellent, and the service even better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my second visit to Salt. I alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is my second visit to Salt. I always wonder if the subsequent visit will come close to the initial and it did. My filet was out of this world! The chef has a knack for putting together just the right sauces to compliment the meat. Absolutely great meal!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in McAllen, alwa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in McAllen, always a great experience. Food's delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had a very expensive steak th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My husband had a very expensive steak that was overcooked.

We ordered the sweetbread appetizer that was merely okay; my salad was wonderful; the dessert was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food is always outstanding, the staf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The food is always outstanding, the staff always helpful. Rachel, Mike, Louis, Martin, just some of my fav employees..............love love love to bring my dealership customers here, love to come in with just a coworker too.++

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, very good offeri ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food and service, very good offering for the McAllen area. It is a bit too loud though.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El mejor restaurant de mcallen. Fui 2 ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

El mejor restaurant de mcallen. Fui 2 dias seguidos a cenar. Todo exquisito comida de autor. La atencion super buena. Lo recomiendo mucho el precio es justo por lo qye recibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a reservation on line for 9:3 ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had made a reservation on line for 9:30pm on Saturday 10/1/16. My wife and I had some places to go before dinner. After we did what we had to do we were ready for dinner, but realized it was only 8:30; we still had an hour before our reservation. We went on to the restaurant thinking we were going to have to wait for an hour. When we got there we explained our situation to the hostess and explained that we were willing to wait. She was very courteous and said she would see what she could do. We sat at the bar and ordered a some drinks and appetizers and within 10 minutes we were being seated at our table. Great Service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoy the menu, the ambian ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My wife and I enjoy the menu, the ambiance, the service and the drinks. One of the best places in town for a special occasion or just a real nice night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great dinner! Excellent food an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was a great dinner! Excellent food and service. We sat on the open kitchen bar and it was a fantastic experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is too noisy, but other than that is ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 22, 2016

It is too noisy, but other than that is good food and the place is nice.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always have a wonderful experience. LOVE ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience. LOVE what the new chef has done with the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, knowledgable staff, and ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food, knowledgable staff, and a fantastic ambiance to wrap it all together.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, , Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McAllen's finest cuisine. Staff sims to ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 7, 2016

McAllen's finest cuisine. Staff sims to please in every way. Creative and varied menu contains something delicious for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOSO! DE PRIMERA CATEGORIA! LA C ...

 
 (México)·Dined on September 4, 2016

DELICIOSO! DE PRIMERA CATEGORIA!

LA COMIDA Y PRSENTACION,, EL SABOR Y ORIGINALIDAD DE LOS PLATOS EXCELENTES!

DEFINITIVAMENTE PARA REGRESAR CADA VEZ QUE VALLAS A MCALLEN.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Salt is one of our favorite restaurants in the McAllen area and we go fairly regularly. However this experience was a little under. We thought perhaps the big event the next day drained the energy/resources of the staff, but the next day was an important celebration for the restaurant. While the service was still attentive, it felt a little off--I really can't stay what it might have been but the feeling.

The New York Steak was great, we liked the ravoli, and the fried chicken was good. The Cioppino soup was muddy and not very good; the calamari was rubbery. I wouldn't recommend it. I have had great, bright cioppino in the past and this wasn't it. The sides were also good as were the drinks. We enjoyed the pork belly appetizer but didn't enjoy the quail knots with the risotto underneath--the quail was good, but the risotto didn't add to the dish.

But we will go again because we know this was just an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Way too warm and servic ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very good food. Way too warm and service was weak. For the price, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

My first time at SALT and I loved it!! F ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My first time at SALT and I loved it!! Food was creative,unique and delicious. Definitely going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.