Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About SALT

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 4 days ago

This is an awesome restaurant that we love to visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The new additions to the menu were a pleasant --and delicious-- surprise, but the best part of the evening was to see Anna, hostess extraordinaire, back like in the good old times.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Friendly and informative staff. Never had a glass go dry, and food was plentiful and delicious. Kind of on the loud side due to the guests at the moment and the sound carried. No complaints

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very friendly and Excellent service... team work by waiters..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with friends who were visiting us from Indiana. The service was outstanding, as was the food and wine. It was a very enjoyable evening. Our only concern was the noise level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 10, 2017

It was me and my husband first time at this restaurant, let me just say the food was phenomenal! Everything in the menu sounded delicious but to actually be able to see the food getting cooked before ur eyes, makes more breathe taking. Me and my husband enjoyed every minute of it. We work a lot that we hardly get to have date nights so this was just a wonderful experience. Thank you to your wonderful staff and kitchen staff for making our night memorable. Your staff were so attentive and making sure we were taken care of. We will certainly return and recommend this restaurant to our fellow colleagues. Once again Thank you!!! 🤗

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and great service! Second time and we've enjoyed everytime

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service and food, tasty and interesting combinations both in drinks and meals!!!

Great location, fit for a fun night out

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The piedmontese ribeye and the pork chop were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Salt understands the subtle art of good food. Local ingredients shine with inventive simplicity. We ate tapas style and had the cheese board, brussel sprouts, shishitos, sweetbreads, and pork belly wraps. The desserts were amazing! I can't remember the specific name of either but one had a homemade marshmellow and was such a perfect blend of flavors. The other was a tart with lemon sorbet - so light and refreshing. Also has a great view of the old hotel downtown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food and wine. Very casual and relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

What a gem! Salt is an extraordinary place composing excellent food, ambiance and beverages!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The BEST place in McAllen. Its a culinary experience if you sit at the Chef's Bar! Greg and Milton were spectacular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious food, impeccable service, and a great ambience. Always impressed with the quality of the food. The drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic are always a hit.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I am from San Antonio, however, I have to make monthly business trips to McAllen. I enjoy this restaurant for a number of reasons, but most importantly the food and service. This last visit, I had my family join me for dinner and thy equally enjoyed this place. We are certainly returning customers and have recommended this place to our San Antonio friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One on one environment. Excellent food and quality of food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything was good. Great service and great food!!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is delicious and unique. Great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is a must-visit whenever in town. Splitting several dishes among the group family style is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was delicious, creative and real and the staff was enthusiastic and inspired. The space had casual, friendly feel. We heard about this restaurant from a friend and have told other friends about our great experience at SALT.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Salt, it was our first time and we loved the atmosphere, delicious food and wonderful staff...our server Rachel was truly pleasant and attentive during the evening. Their salt board is delicious and I recommend it if you're into savory cheeses. We will definitely eat there again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. This was our second time at salt and we would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Salt was an absolutely outstanding restaurant, the food was outstanding our server was very knowledgeable. My wife and I had a great time

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outside ambient was perfect. Quiet and had a good relaxing romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere was really comfortable, all of staff were very friendly and the service had great teamwork and was excellent. Cocktails were really good and very unique. Food came out at a good pace and was extremely tasty from the appetizer to the dinner and the dessert. Highly recommend the Baked Alaska (fantastic). Overall a great experience. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best! Never disappoints. Mac n cheese is to die for. The best wine selection. Always superb service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing every time. The food and service is always incredible and we leave so pleased with our experience that we're already planning our next trip back before we get in the car.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The drinks are DELICIOUS! My favorite drink is the Lavender. The food is great as well. Attentive and fast service. It's a little more expensive than what we're used to in the area but, I hope to see more restaurants like this in The Valley.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Simply delicious. A treat for the taste buds and a visual treat with great ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was excellent and the staff relaxed, fun and very accommodating. They tailored our meal to so we could sample more of the culinary delights. We found all the food superb and thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had an amazing evening enjoying savory food and hand crafted cocktails!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Food was amazing and We really enjoyed sitting in the Grill area. The Cooks were very attentive and talkative and polite and informative about each and every plate on the menu. Outstanding service. Will visit again and will definitely recommend to all my friends!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great spot for a date. The service is amazing and always on top of everything. Not too noisy. Good atmosphere. They surprised my girlfriend with a birthday card, which she appreciated a lot. Servers now the menu well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always grear dinning experience at Salt! Everything was delicious

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It is always good to come back after a long hiatus and enjoy the excellent cuisine but, above all, see the genuinely friendly and welcoming staff of "old times". My wife and I will continue being regulars at Salt. Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our first time sitting at the chef's bar and it did not disappoint. My kids loved the pork chop, filet mignon and the house chips. All the food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was excellent and portion was more than plenty. Service was amazing. We never felt ignored.
Very pleasant Experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve. Had Crispy Shank. Excellent. Mac and Cheese is a must !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the restaurant was so loud that it was very difficult to talk. I dont think I would take another group there until something is done about the noise level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Me gusto mucho solo creo que deberían de servir algo más acompañando los platos fuertes por el precio que tienen, el lugar es muy ruidoso y las sillas demasiado incómodas, y esperaba algún detalle lindo en el postre por nuestro aniversario pero no hubo nada, aún así la pasamos bien.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.