Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About SALT

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had dinner for our anniversary as we have for the last 3 years. Salt is one of our favorite places and it never disappoints. Fried chicken and Crispy Pork Shank were delicious. Great service!! Our menu was personalized and We were given a table by the front windows as requested. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Salt never disappoints -- the food is amazing and unlike any other menu in the RGV. The service is wonderful, the wine list is replete with great selections. Sit up at the chef's bar if you really want to have some fun. And once you've been there a couple of times, everyone will know your name. Best in the Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Be sure to sit at the chef's table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 16, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

My wife and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we were really impressed with everything Salt deliverered. From their friendly staff to their wonderful food, we felt this night was one we keep talking about. We will definitely be coming back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Always a wonderful place to go for a special meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Enjoyed our meal @ Salt. Service was excellent, food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The confirmed OpenTable reservation was invisible to your system. I was seated in the downstairs (an overflow area I think) which is short on ambiance. Not an A+ experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I was once again impressed with the quality and choice of the food at Salt.This was the Sunday Brunch,a time for me to celebrate my birthday with family.It is not a place for intimate conversations,but all else was just perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This restaurant is always amazing. I would come here every weekend if I could. The food is great, and they use seasonal & local vegetables which really adds to the flavors on the plate. The atmosphere is perfect for a date or couples evening, and the service is always incredible. I recommend SALT to everyone - whether for intimate occasions or business dinners, this location is the perfect mix of upscale dinning while maintaining a level of casual comfort. Can't wait to come again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have always had great service and food here; today the food was outstanding but the service was lacking. The waitress seemed nonchalant about getting our orders correct, the manager offered to make it right and we appreciated her offer. I will not let one instance keep me from coming back; we all can have a bad day. The place and food are outstanding!!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Sat at chef's bar with my wife and two kids and it was great. My kids both had the filet, my wife had the ribs and I had the pork shank. Everything was delicious and the chefs were great. My kids loved their delicious medium rare steak. I had the pork shank for the first time and will definitely have it again. The pan de campo that accompanied my shank was delicious as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Fabulous experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 19, 2017

First time to visit Salt and it was everything & more, mentioned by friends and business colleagues.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was great as always and the food and presentation was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

A little loud for a first date, but great food. Service was excellent. It was my dates choice to go, great decision.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely incredible restaurant! Would recommend to everyone!!! If I could give a million stars I would!!! #i❤️Chefsbar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Dinner tonight was exceptional as usual. The scallops were amazing and fried chicken moist and tasty . Larry made dining so enjoyable and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great Atmosphere, great food, great hospitality and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love SALT. This is our weekly date night venue. Great food and great service. The entire menu is delish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Extraordinary
We got seats at the chefs bar and got to see all the action.
We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Although normally my favorite restaurant, our last visit was not so great. The room temperature was so hot that I couldn't even enjoy my food. Service is usually top notch, but our server cut his finger while opening our bottle of wine and didn't seem to know to go wash his immediately after. He did, however, get us a new bottle. I hope the temperature issue gets fixed soon because Salt has been my favorite restaurant for awhile.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We always enjoy our meals at Salt. It's a must stop when I am in Mcallen on business. Fabulous food. Great drinks. Amazing staff. Thanks for a great experience, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Restaurant!!!! Great Food!!!!! Great Service!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

nice place, little pricey overall it's worth it

some plates are little salty..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of our favorite dining spots in McAllen. Organic cuisine, upscale but casual dining. Friendly staff. We recommend asking for the chef's table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and the service was terrific. The Chef's table is highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent service and interesting drinks ! Love it ! Definitely come back for nxt time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The entire team at SALT made my girlfriend's birthday dinner a very memorable experience from beginning to end. Chef Nadia and her crew are the absolute best at accommodating vegans at the table. We can't wait dine with them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

As usual we were very impressed with the drinks, food and service... While we don't dine out regularly at this price level we have never been disappointed with Salt...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing staff and delicious food. Really enjoyed my night out at Salt.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Awesome dinner as usual! Jeffery our waiter was excellent, very attentive & knowledgeable about the menu. Food was delicious & drinks were refreshing! Only drawback was the noise - loud restaurant but it can't be helped.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We sat at the Chef's table and the service was great. The only complaint is that it was pretty home at there. The filet was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Eat here every time I'm in town and every single time I fall more in love with this place. Sat at the chef bar this round and the guys were awesome this might be one of my favorite spots in all the places I travel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was disappointed that I requested the Chef's bar in advance and there was not a place reserved despite the fact that there were seats available there and given to other diners in my place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The ambience, food and service were very good. The quality of the meals was par with the other upscale restaurants of the area. There is not enough parking but there is no issue finding a spot out on the street, though it may mean walking a few more steps. The wine selection was not very large but the picks were good. If a blemish must be found, the waiter kept trying to push the most expensive dishes and that made me feel uncomfortable but otherwise the evening was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have eaten at SALT once before and loved it. This time was no different. My wife said that her scallops were some of the best she has ever had and she has traveled literally, around the world. Both times there i had the pork chop which was delicious. As i saw plates passing by, next time I'm going to try the beef. We are from Brownsville, so it's an hour drive both ways, however, great service, great food, great time.

Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service and food - I had the salad and fried chicken; it was superb. The only off thing about this experience was the temperature of the dinning room - it was quite hot throughout dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Mini- Marine reunion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.