Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About SALT

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (34)
CreativeCuisine (32)
LocalIngredients (25)
See All
Foodies (24)
SpecialOccasions (21)
HandcraftedCocktails (21)
Anniversaries (17)
Romance (17)
WorthTheDrive (17)
OpenKitchen (16)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
BusinessMeals (15)
Authentic (14)
TastingMenu (13)
Cozy (13)
Birthdays (13)
BarSeating (13)
HappyHour (11)
HotSpot (10)
Casual (10)
NotableWineList (10)
Healthy (9)
ModernDecor (9)
Fun (9)
Organic (8)
Groups (8)
QuietConversation (7)
ComfortFood (7)
PrePostTheatre (7)
PeopleWatching (6)
Tapas (6)
Brunch (6)
GreatBeer (6)
OutdoorDining (6)
LateNightFind (4)
Lunch (4)
VegetarianOptions (3)
OutstandingValue (3)
QuickBite (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
ScenicView (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
SundayLunch (2)
VibrantBarScene (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Historic (1)
LiveMusic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

good cocktails-very unique.
great wines if a bit pricey per glass cost.
grilled peach salad was best dish of our evening.
burrata heirloom tomatoes were under or over ripe.
Pork shank-outstanding.
Fish tacos-outstanding.
We couldn't do dessert, drank more wine instead!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Awesome time at the chef's counter. Great food, banter with chefs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food and service. A little pricey but worth it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Love love this restaurant!!! I go with my girlfriends or hubby ..it's the best time every time!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 31, 2017

A great find. The atmosphere, food, selection and quality of the staff was outstanding. Amazingly you would not expect a fine restaurant like this in South Texas. A true Gem. Deserving of 5 Star.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was a very good experience. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious.
We will definitely going back in the near future.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had a great experience and would go again. Love the quail knots and of course the Paloma drink. Thank you, JRodz

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Salt is BY FAR my very favorite restaurant in McAllen and all the surrounding areas! We have NEVER had an average meal as it's always been amazingly wonderful! I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND this restaurant to any and everyone! This comes from a big foodie who's spouse is an amazing fine dining chef!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

An amazing dinner with a great wine list! Second visit and just as good as the first!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The chips with gorgonzola cream was really good. I wish there was a bit more cream sauce so each chip had a splash. I got the quail knots and they were a bit dry/over cooked. The grits could have had more seasoning. My friends got the scallop meal and they loved it. Cooked to perfection. They ate everything. They also got the greens and truly enjoyed this. For dessert we ordered the crème bruelle. It was a citrus flavor. I only got one bite because my friends scarfed it down. Really delicious. One of my fellow diners asked for a jalapeno margarita, which they did not have, but they made it and it was well received. The bartender sure knows his/her stuff. All is all the meal was really good. We will definitely go back. Super glad we made reservations via Open Table. The place was packed on a Monday night.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Salt never disappoints! The food and service are some of the best in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, great place and great food! See you soon!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and had the best Squid Ink Bucatini ever. Always a pleasure coming here. Will return whenever in McAllen again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. The chefs treated us with a little extra and our server was very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food is usually great here. It seems they're having difficulties in the kitchen. New Chef, perhaps?
Anyway, they ruined the first preparation for my wife. While preparing it again, my meat was overcooked, dry as a sole.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A friend recommended that we go to Salt while we were in town for a wedding, and I am so glad we did! We sat at the Chef's Bar and were able to watch all the food prep. The Chef were friendly and provided us with samplings of some of the dishes on the menu. Everything we had to eat was outstanding, especially the Rabbit! The cocktails were also delicious. I don't know when we will be in Mcallen again, but this place makes me want to go back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was amazing, the food and drinks were even better!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Organic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing as always.. This Spring Brunch was out of this world!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was fresh, and served at the perfect time after preparation. Creative presentation and nice quality.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved the chef bar! Great experience! Great food! Staff was amazing and the samples of food were delish!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Thought prices were to high, and not to fond of the food

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is an awesome restaurant that we love to visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The new additions to the menu were a pleasant --and delicious-- surprise, but the best part of the evening was to see Anna, hostess extraordinaire, back like in the good old times.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Friendly and informative staff. Never had a glass go dry, and food was plentiful and delicious. Kind of on the loud side due to the guests at the moment and the sound carried. No complaints

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very friendly and Excellent service... team work by waiters..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with friends who were visiting us from Indiana. The service was outstanding, as was the food and wine. It was a very enjoyable evening. Our only concern was the noise level.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 10, 2017

It was me and my husband first time at this restaurant, let me just say the food was phenomenal! Everything in the menu sounded delicious but to actually be able to see the food getting cooked before ur eyes, makes more breathe taking. Me and my husband enjoyed every minute of it. We work a lot that we hardly get to have date nights so this was just a wonderful experience. Thank you to your wonderful staff and kitchen staff for making our night memorable. Your staff were so attentive and making sure we were taken care of. We will certainly return and recommend this restaurant to our fellow colleagues. Once again Thank you!!! 🤗

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and great service! Second time and we've enjoyed everytime

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service and food, tasty and interesting combinations both in drinks and meals!!!

Great location, fit for a fun night out

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The piedmontese ribeye and the pork chop were amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Salt understands the subtle art of good food. Local ingredients shine with inventive simplicity. We ate tapas style and had the cheese board, brussel sprouts, shishitos, sweetbreads, and pork belly wraps. The desserts were amazing! I can't remember the specific name of either but one had a homemade marshmellow and was such a perfect blend of flavors. The other was a tart with lemon sorbet - so light and refreshing. Also has a great view of the old hotel downtown.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food and wine. Very casual and relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

What a gem! Salt is an extraordinary place composing excellent food, ambiance and beverages!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The BEST place in McAllen. Its a culinary experience if you sit at the Chef's Bar! Greg and Milton were spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious food, impeccable service, and a great ambience. Always impressed with the quality of the food. The drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic are always a hit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I am from San Antonio, however, I have to make monthly business trips to McAllen. I enjoy this restaurant for a number of reasons, but most importantly the food and service. This last visit, I had my family join me for dinner and thy equally enjoyed this place. We are certainly returning customers and have recommended this place to our San Antonio friends.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One on one environment. Excellent food and quality of food. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything was good. Great service and great food!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is delicious and unique. Great experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.