About SALT

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Romantic (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine' ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Salt, it was our first time and we loved the atmosphere, delicious food and wonderful staff...our server Rachel was truly pleasant and attentive during the evening. Their salt board is delicious and I recommend it if you're into savory cheeses. We will definitely eat there again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, , Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. T ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. This was our second time at salt and we would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Salt was an absolutely outstanding resta ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 6 days ago

Salt was an absolutely outstanding restaurant, the food was outstanding our server was very knowledgeable. My wife and I had a great time

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outside ambient was perfect. Quiet and h ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outside ambient was perfect. Quiet and had a good relaxing romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was really comfortable, a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere was really comfortable, all of staff were very friendly and the service had great teamwork and was excellent. Cocktails were really good and very unique. Food came out at a good pace and was extremely tasty from the appetizer to the dinner and the dessert. Highly recommend the Baked Alaska (fantastic). Overall a great experience. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, , Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best! Never disappoints. Mac n chees ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best! Never disappoints. Mac n cheese is to die for. The best wine selection. Always superb service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing every time. The food and service ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing every time. The food and service is always incredible and we leave so pleased with our experience that we're already planning our next trip back before we get in the car.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks are DELICIOUS! My favorite dr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The drinks are DELICIOUS! My favorite drink is the Lavender. The food is great as well. Attentive and fast service. It's a little more expensive than what we're used to in the area but, I hope to see more restaurants like this in The Valley.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply delicious. A treat for the taste ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Simply delicious. A treat for the taste buds and a visual treat with great ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the staff ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was excellent and the staff relaxed, fun and very accommodating. They tailored our meal to so we could sample more of the culinary delights. We found all the food superb and thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing evening enjoying savory f ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had an amazing evening enjoying savory food and hand crafted cocktails!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food was amazing and We really enjoy ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Food was amazing and We really enjoyed sitting in the Grill area. The Cooks were very attentive and talkative and polite and informative about each and every plate on the menu. Outstanding service. Will visit again and will definitely recommend to all my friends!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a date. The service is am ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great spot for a date. The service is amazing and always on top of everything. Not too noisy. Good atmosphere. They surprised my girlfriend with a birthday card, which she appreciated a lot. Servers now the menu well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always grear dinning experience at Salt! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always grear dinning experience at Salt! Everything was delicious

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is always good to come back after a l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It is always good to come back after a long hiatus and enjoy the excellent cuisine but, above all, see the genuinely friendly and welcoming staff of "old times". My wife and I will continue being regulars at Salt. Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time sitting at the c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our first time sitting at the chef's bar and it did not disappoint. My kids loved the pork chop, filet mignon and the house chips. All the food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and portion was more ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was excellent and portion was more than plenty. Service was amazing. We never felt ignored.

Very pleasant Experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve. Had Crispy Shank. Exc ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve. Had Crispy Shank. Excellent. Mac and Cheese is a must !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent but ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the restaurant was so loud that it was very difficult to talk. I dont think I would take another group there until something is done about the noise level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Me gusto mucho solo creo que deberían de ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Me gusto mucho solo creo que deberían de servir algo más acompañando los platos fuertes por el precio que tienen, el lugar es muy ruidoso y las sillas demasiado incómodas, y esperaba algún detalle lindo en el postre por nuestro aniversario pero no hubo nada, aún así la pasamos bien.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Muy rico. Excelente comida gourmet. Cu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Muy rico. Excelente comida gourmet. Cualquier platillo qye pidas esta super rico.

Recomiendo mucho los tacos de pescado. El vino tinto etc

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, immaculate food, kitchen wa ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great staff, immaculate food, kitchen was a very well fine tuned machine, everybody working in unison. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy Buena Comida exelente, el servicios ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Muy Buena Comida exelente, el servicios tambien excelente de vinos el menu de vinos esta muy limitado y recomiendo poner tambien vinos mexicanos hay exelentes vinos mexicanos mejores que los que hay en el menu actual.

Saludos

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at salt and I'm totall ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time eating at salt and I'm totally satisfied. Awesome food and exceptional customer service by staff. Cocktails were lovely too. Will come back and recommend others.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Organic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, , Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out with the girls! Our food ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great night out with the girls! Our food was on point. Jr & the entire wait staff were extremely helpful, fun & attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gregg aka Craig was a great part of our ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Gregg aka Craig was a great part of our evening. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and made it a point to make us feel like family at the Chef's table. Staff is great, food is phenomenal and the atmosphere is cozy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and very good pre ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was excellent and very good presentation. The service is perfect. The staff is well trained and attentive. I would highly recommend Salt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner, food as always was ver ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyable dinner, food as always was very good; only problem was the air conditioning. It was a cool night outside and air was on inside Salt. Had to move tables twice and wait staff thought we were a pain. Geez, for a $300 dinner I don't want to shiver from the cold. I'll go back with a coat next time. Overall best in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the atmosphere! Loved the Food! L ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved the atmosphere! Loved the Food! Loved the service!

Thank you for a wonderful and delicious evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Appetizer; entree; bottle of ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Delicious! Appetizer; entree; bottle of wine and dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu could be a little larger, but quali ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Menu could be a little larger, but quality might suffer. I've always had excellent food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love, love, love going to Salt. We alway ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love, love, love going to Salt. We always sit at the Chef's Table and they are always so much fun to watch and converse with. This was our first time for brunch and it was absolutely amazing. The entire city of McAllen should take note of the high set of standards the staff is held to here. The food is always wonderful and the staff is always so friendly. A must if you're looking for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, amazing cocktails. Service s ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, amazing cocktails. Service seemed a little overwhelmed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I go to Salt for every speci ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I go to Salt for every special occasion and will continue to do so. We have toddler triplets and don't take many chances on having a bad dining experience because we do not get out very much. The food and service are exceptional. We always leave happy.

Only gripe is it is VERY loud and small. You must scream to hear the person sitting next to you and we had our table or chairs bumped by waiters 5 times.

Salt is our "go to" restaurant. We always look forward to our next dining experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I realize the staff has no control over ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I realize the staff has no control over the noise level coming from their customers, but it was EXTREMELY loud on the night we dined in. It was so loud, we decided after the appetizer to leave. I realize everyone who attends the restaurant is entitled to having a great time, but the group of 6 we were seated next to, was so uncourteous, they acted like they were the only ones in the restaurants.

After speaking to the manager and explaining why we were going to leave, he insisted we try sitting outside in the patio area. It was a beautiful and nice night, so everything turned out okay. The serves and food is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Salt is one of our favorite places! They ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Salt is one of our favorite places! They embody what is beautiful of the RGV and use local incredients, produce and meats! They support our community and shine a gorgeous light on what makes the RGV so amazing! The food is KILLER and the SERVICE is always on point! I love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a really great experience . F ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a really great experience .

Food was excellent, and the service even better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my second visit to Salt. I alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is my second visit to Salt. I always wonder if the subsequent visit will come close to the initial and it did. My filet was out of this world! The chef has a knack for putting together just the right sauces to compliment the meat. Absolutely great meal!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in McAllen, alwa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in McAllen, always a great experience. Food's delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had a very expensive steak th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My husband had a very expensive steak that was overcooked.

We ordered the sweetbread appetizer that was merely okay; my salad was wonderful; the dessert was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.