Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About SALT

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Casual (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tapas (6)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing staff and delicious food. Really enjoyed my night out at Salt.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome dinner as usual! Jeffery our waiter was excellent, very attentive & knowledgeable about the menu. Food was delicious & drinks were refreshing! Only drawback was the noise - loud restaurant but it can't be helped.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We sat at the Chef's table and the service was great. The only complaint is that it was pretty home at there. The filet was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Eat here every time I'm in town and every single time I fall more in love with this place. Sat at the chef bar this round and the guys were awesome this might be one of my favorite spots in all the places I travel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was disappointed that I requested the Chef's bar in advance and there was not a place reserved despite the fact that there were seats available there and given to other diners in my place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The ambience, food and service were very good. The quality of the meals was par with the other upscale restaurants of the area. There is not enough parking but there is no issue finding a spot out on the street, though it may mean walking a few more steps. The wine selection was not very large but the picks were good. If a blemish must be found, the waiter kept trying to push the most expensive dishes and that made me feel uncomfortable but otherwise the evening was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have eaten at SALT once before and loved it. This time was no different. My wife said that her scallops were some of the best she has ever had and she has traveled literally, around the world. Both times there i had the pork chop which was delicious. As i saw plates passing by, next time I'm going to try the beef. We are from Brownsville, so it's an hour drive both ways, however, great service, great food, great time.

Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service and food - I had the salad and fried chicken; it was superb. The only off thing about this experience was the temperature of the dinning room - it was quite hot throughout dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Mini- Marine reunion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

AWESOME as always!! We love it!! It's always special when we go!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My 3rd time here and every time I'm in McAllen I will stop and eat here. Such a well put together Restaurant and the Service is always above and Beyond.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

my meal was excellent in taste and presentation. the specialty drinks were very original and fresh. the wines by the glass represented a great selection.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing. Such a delightful place. Great service & food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

good cocktails-very unique.
great wines if a bit pricey per glass cost.
grilled peach salad was best dish of our evening.
burrata heirloom tomatoes were under or over ripe.
Pork shank-outstanding.
Fish tacos-outstanding.
We couldn't do dessert, drank more wine instead!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Make sure you try the kitchen bar during one of your visits. Great view of the cooks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Awesome time at the chef's counter. Great food, banter with chefs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and service. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Love love this restaurant!!! I go with my girlfriends or hubby ..it's the best time every time!

Tags: Waterfront, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had been there a couple of times before and have to say they are great at what they do! Food is excellent & atmosphere is trendy but real. Keep it up !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 31, 2017

A great find. The atmosphere, food, selection and quality of the staff was outstanding. Amazingly you would not expect a fine restaurant like this in South Texas. A true Gem. Deserving of 5 Star.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was a very good experience. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious.
We will definitely going back in the near future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great experience and would go again. Love the quail knots and of course the Paloma drink. Thank you, JRodz

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Salt is BY FAR my very favorite restaurant in McAllen and all the surrounding areas! We have NEVER had an average meal as it's always been amazingly wonderful! I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND this restaurant to any and everyone! This comes from a big foodie who's spouse is an amazing fine dining chef!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

An amazing dinner with a great wine list! Second visit and just as good as the first!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The chips with gorgonzola cream was really good. I wish there was a bit more cream sauce so each chip had a splash. I got the quail knots and they were a bit dry/over cooked. The grits could have had more seasoning. My friends got the scallop meal and they loved it. Cooked to perfection. They ate everything. They also got the greens and truly enjoyed this. For dessert we ordered the crème bruelle. It was a citrus flavor. I only got one bite because my friends scarfed it down. Really delicious. One of my fellow diners asked for a jalapeno margarita, which they did not have, but they made it and it was well received. The bartender sure knows his/her stuff. All is all the meal was really good. We will definitely go back. Super glad we made reservations via Open Table. The place was packed on a Monday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Salt never disappoints! The food and service are some of the best in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service, great place and great food! See you soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and had the best Squid Ink Bucatini ever. Always a pleasure coming here. Will return whenever in McAllen again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. The chefs treated us with a little extra and our server was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food is usually great here. It seems they're having difficulties in the kitchen. New Chef, perhaps?
Anyway, they ruined the first preparation for my wife. While preparing it again, my meat was overcooked, dry as a sole.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A friend recommended that we go to Salt while we were in town for a wedding, and I am so glad we did! We sat at the Chef's Bar and were able to watch all the food prep. The Chef were friendly and provided us with samplings of some of the dishes on the menu. Everything we had to eat was outstanding, especially the Rabbit! The cocktails were also delicious. I don't know when we will be in Mcallen again, but this place makes me want to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was amazing, the food and drinks were even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing as always.. This Spring Brunch was out of this world!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was fresh, and served at the perfect time after preparation. Creative presentation and nice quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Loved the chef bar! Great experience! Great food! Staff was amazing and the samples of food were delish!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Thought prices were to high, and not to fond of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is an awesome restaurant that we love to visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The new additions to the menu were a pleasant --and delicious-- surprise, but the best part of the evening was to see Anna, hostess extraordinaire, back like in the good old times.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Friendly and informative staff. Never had a glass go dry, and food was plentiful and delicious. Kind of on the loud side due to the guests at the moment and the sound carried. No complaints

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.