About SALT

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

special occasion (36)
fit for foodies (29)
romantic (19)
See All
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (14)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved it! Absolutely fabulous meal and service. I can hardly wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent. I would ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent. I would highly recommend Salt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food and great service from the hosts and waiters! Their positive energy and knowledge of food made all the difference. The sriracha shrimp, heirloom and the duck was delicious and different than the typical food around town. The farm to market table concept is apparent in every bite. Delicious! I look forward to visiting SALT again, especially on another special occasion. Well worth dining here again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Too noisy even with room only 50% full a ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Too noisy even with room only 50% full and with regular diners - no special parties. The noise overshadowed the quality of the food.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took wife out for Anniversary Dinner, great experience overall...good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for great food and wine!

Dined on May 31, 2016

This is one of the few places in the entire Valley where they know what service is all about. The food was excellent and the wine was outstanding. I highly recommend Larry and Jessica's place in downtown McAllen. You won't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dining

Dined on May 28, 2016

Love this place! My new favorite! We enjoyed the view from the chef's table. It was fun watching the chefs prepare the food in front of us. I ordered the boneless fried chicken. It was so moist and delicious. I see why it's one of their popular entrees. My friend loved her chicken and spinach ravioli; the tomato curry sauce made this dish. Cocktails can be cutomize for you. The service is great. Our server, Milton, was very attentive and entertaining. We enjoyed his personal stories. I would recommend Salt to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

my wife and I had a very enjoyable eveni ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

my wife and I had a very enjoyable evening and had a wonderful waitress named Rachel. She was very knowledgeable about all the spirits and also the menu. we deathly have a great time and will be back thank you salt

food1
ambience2
service5

While the plating is excellent the food ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

While the plating is excellent the food is bland and flavorless Very disappointed

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love SALT and recommend it to many pe ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love SALT and recommend it to many people. It has become our go-to date night spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite

Dined on May 12, 2016

Hands down my favorite. Great food, great service & great atmosphere. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Uhhhh-mazing food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricey, but well worth it. Great food, service, wine and the Alaskan ice cream dessert was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is amazing

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything is amazing

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous Food

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is wonderfully prepared and presented, and delicious!!! Service is very good. The cocktails are inventive and very refreshing. We especially love the sriracha shrimp appetizer and the scallop entree. The shishito peppers are wonderful as is the Tobacco Creme Brulee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

SALT did not disappoint. Everything was ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

SALT did not disappoint. Everything was delicious. We tried a couple of their craft beers, which were cold & crisp. The cucumber cocktail and the grapefruit cocktail were nice & refreshing. We tried the SALT Chips, the shrimp, the quail knots, and the fried Duroc pork - all were delicious! The SALT chips were my favorite; the quail was a tad overdone, though. For dinner, the Mac and cheese is a must - yummy stuff!! The rabbit was tender and tasty. The fried chicken was moist and flavorful. Everything was wonderful! J.R. was very attentive and very knowledgeable of the menus. Excellent service!!! Everyone was friendly and helpful...just a very nice dining experience! We'll definitely go back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kitchen-bar seating!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Being able to sit at the kitchen-bar was amazing. My wife and I were able to talk with the chef and kitchen staff shared all kinds of info on their many menu items. We were even treated to a couple of samples! Menu is upscale, yet simple. Local produce means fresh produce! I had the beef short rib (serious comfort food I could cut with my fork!). My wife enjoyed the duck breast - juiciest ever! Be adventurous and try the beef sweetbreads - delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

This review is not related to the 4/1/16 ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

This review is not related to the 4/1/16 visit to Salt. It is with respect to the disappointment experienced on June 24, 2016. My wife an I have been frequent diners at Salt since its opening, we used to go there every other Friday -now, I would say every three weeks- and the staff was friendly and courteous. We also entertain clients and friends there. Lately, there has been a great deal of rotation. Last night, Friday, June 24, we made a reservation for 7:30. When we arrived the hostess (of course, a new one different from three weeks ago) offered us the least desirable table (right next to the entry way, where everyone entering or leaving the place walks by), there was another empty table at the far right corner of the restaurant, I asked her to sit us there. Her response was "I am sorry but we are full with reservations", when I refused to sit at the table she wanted to give us, I said to her that we would rather leave. Immediately she said she was sorry and suggested us to go to House Wine, their sister restaurant -where we, by the way, are also regulars. Of course we refused to patronize the "sister" establishment of the place where we were given the cold shoulder. Salt has been a hit for some time now, but I do not foresee much continued success if they persist treating regular customers like they did last night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

One. Word. Excellent.

Dined on March 27, 2016

One. Word. Excellent.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Times

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was top of the line. Started out with the delicious bacon wrapped sweet breads. For the main course we had the fried chicken and the pork chop. The pork chop is worth every Pennie it costs . The fried chicken was amazing too. For sides we had the Mac and cheese. This ain't your mama's Mac and cheese. All topped off with the Alaskan for dessert. We left stuffed. But the only thing I'd like to see is an option for quieter dinning and a little more elbow room. But I'd still go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salt dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

The pork chop is what my husband comes for every time. I tried the short ribs, very good but a bit on the salty side. The lavender margarita is fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Good, better, best!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Nice ambiance. Acoustics are loud! Great, friendly staff. Portions are a little small. Menu has some the most original dishes, anywhere. Sea bass was amazing! Duck flavor was on point, however was disappointed with lack of crispness on skin. Wine list was nice. But the star of the show was the white chocolate gonash cake! Amazing! Beet ice cream was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay, but nothing special

Dined on March 17, 2016

My friends and I went there on a Wednesday evening. The staff was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed some very good appetizers. It pays off that they source their vegetables locally. The entrees were only okay, because the cooks used the restaurant's name in excess on the scallops and the steak. However, the Mero that is currently on the menu was divine. The atmosphere is rather irritating due to the noise level. It is not a good place for a relaxing dinner. In the end, I left the restaurant feeling that I could have spend my money better elsewhere.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not outstanding this time

Dined on March 11, 2016

Ordered an appetizer to kick off the night which was hot and very tasty. Unfortunately, our main course meals were lukewarm and sides were a bit cold. I can only guess they were not brought out as they were made. A bit disappointed on our anniversary dinner...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service by Mike.

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent service by Mike.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! One of my favorite places in McAllen!

Dined on March 8, 2016

I love going to SALT! It is by far one of my most favorite places to dine and have drinks in McAllen. The staff is exceptional - so attentive, and the food is amazing. The fried chicken, macaroni & cheese, shrimp sriracha are some of my favorites and if you save room for dessert, the Baked Alaska is worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant birthday experiences!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The whole staff!!! I mean the entire staff was amazing!!!! I placed a reservation the day before online and received a phone call from the restaurant confirming which I thought was good. The day of the event I had an event all day and had relatives drop off the birthday cake and balloons and bag full of cute treats and decor for the table. Of course leave it up to the guests to confuse Salt with another known restaurant in the valley with the beginning same name. I panicked and called the restaurant to let them know we were running late but would be there, not only were they friendly and understanding but they asked if I would like for them to decorate the table with the goodies I had dropped off!!! Talk about great customer service!!! When we arrived the table was prefect my partners birthday was a total success!!! The food was beyond amazing to match their yummy drinks and our waiter was a delight!!!! Overall a total success!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Outstanding!

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

SALT is an incredible experience! You cannot go wrong with practically anything you select. From the appetizers, to the entrees and sides, and the decadent desserts, all of it is masterfully done by the chef and staff. And, the wait staff is knowledgeable and attentive, yet, not overbearing nor intrusive. The drink selections are equally above par, and pair quite well with the food. I recommend the duck, the steak, and the pork chop - you will not leave hungry!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I cannot say enough great things about t ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I cannot say enough great things about this place!! The food and service were FANTASTIC!! Get the the baked Alaska!! Look forward to going back!!

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was very good, Scallops, Rabbit ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was very good, Scallops, Rabbit and the soup was excellent. The noise level was more of a Bar type than a nice Restaurant. Not what I expected from previous reviews.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Everything was as we expe ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Great service. Everything was as we expected. Excellent appetizers and cocktails.

food5
ambience5
service4

Deliciously different decadent dishes

Dined on February 19, 2016

Deliciously different decadent dishes

food5
ambience4
service3

Wonderful meal! Best of all my visits. ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Wonderful meal! Best of all my visits. Unfortunately the wait staff were inattentive. A large party nearby decided to have a reunion in half the restaurant, which was not pleasant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for anniversary

Dined on February 16, 2016

I had my anniversary Dinner and it was really good, good food, service and beverages. A little bit costly but fair for the ocassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was amazing, & ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was amazing, service was amazing, & overall a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambiance were amazing!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The waiters were awesome - they make you feel like a team of them is at your service. The kitchen has a bar around it where you can watch the action in the kitchen. There is not one negative thing I could say about this place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Night to Remember

Dined on February 7, 2016

SALT New American Table is cuisine at it's finest. My fiance and I send kudos to the Chef. We also want to commend the knowledgeable and friendly waiter, Julius for his excellent service. I highly recommend this fine dining restaurant to my friends and business colleagues.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The filet was perfect. Also, the servi ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The filet was perfect. Also, the service was wonderful.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Quite SALTy!

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I wanted to try something new for our anniversary dinner and chose SALT over our traditional local special occasion choices (Papadeaux, Santa Fe, Rodizio Grill, etc.). We arrived on time, we seated promptly and were given the rundown on the menu by our server. The appetizers were excellent. We had the oysters and the pork belly wraps. For the entree we chose to try the Duck, the Pork Shank w/pan de campo and the Steak Filet with Asparagus. The duck and the steak were extremely salty - almost unbearable but both were cooked well despite. The pork also tasted good but seemed a little dry and overlooked for pork and the pan de campo, although also quite tasty (with the honey) was a little burnt. For desert, we shared the Baked Alaska as was recommended by our server over the truffles. The desert was delicious, especially the key lime sherbet, but the ice cream seemed to still be too frozen upon serving and was hard to cut with the our forks. We arrived at 7 and the noise level was moderate but as the dining area filled the noise level grew and grew. The lighting levels were romantically dim in the seating area and the Chef's Bar seemed to be well lit as expected for that function. Somewhat disappointed, however, we will go back and mention our SALTy experience to date to see how well they adjust.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night perfect

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food, great waiter, he was very knowledgeable about everything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

Arrived with a reservation, highly recommend. We wanted to sit at the Chef's Bar so we waited at the bar for about 15 minutes. Two excellent glasses of wine and the Yucca Chips for appetisers. We were seated at the Chef's Bar and ordered the Sriracha Shrimp and the Duck. The duck was perfectly cooked and phenomenal. The shrimp was awesome as well. We had the Mocha panicotta for dessert. The experience was excellent and if you have not tried Salt The New American Table you are a missing a McAllen Gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.