Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About SALT

SALT-New American Table, brought to you by the owners of McAllen’s house.wine & bistro., Chef Larry Delgado and his lovely wife Jessica Delgado. The chef driven menu features local, organic and sustainable products, and a full service bar that boast beautiful, boutique wines, craft beers, and high end spirits!

210 N. Main St.
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Beech & Cedar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 627-6304

Website:
http://www.saltnewamericantable.com/

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SALT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 19, 2017

First time to visit Salt and it was everything & more, mentioned by friends and business colleagues.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was great as always and the food and presentation was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

A little loud for a first date, but great food. Service was excellent. It was my dates choice to go, great decision.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely incredible restaurant! Would recommend to everyone!!! If I could give a million stars I would!!! #i❤️Chefsbar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Dinner tonight was exceptional as usual. The scallops were amazing and fried chicken moist and tasty . Larry made dining so enjoyable and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great Atmosphere, great food, great hospitality and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love SALT. This is our weekly date night venue. Great food and great service. The entire menu is delish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Extraordinary
We got seats at the chefs bar and got to see all the action.
We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Although normally my favorite restaurant, our last visit was not so great. The room temperature was so hot that I couldn't even enjoy my food. Service is usually top notch, but our server cut his finger while opening our bottle of wine and didn't seem to know to go wash his immediately after. He did, however, get us a new bottle. I hope the temperature issue gets fixed soon because Salt has been my favorite restaurant for awhile.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We always enjoy our meals at Salt. It's a must stop when I am in Mcallen on business. Fabulous food. Great drinks. Amazing staff. Thanks for a great experience, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Restaurant!!!! Great Food!!!!! Great Service!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

nice place, little pricey overall it's worth it

some plates are little salty..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of our favorite dining spots in McAllen. Organic cuisine, upscale but casual dining. Friendly staff. We recommend asking for the chef's table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and the service was terrific. The Chef's table is highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent service and interesting drinks ! Love it ! Definitely come back for nxt time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The entire team at SALT made my girlfriend's birthday dinner a very memorable experience from beginning to end. Chef Nadia and her crew are the absolute best at accommodating vegans at the table. We can't wait dine with them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

As usual we were very impressed with the drinks, food and service... While we don't dine out regularly at this price level we have never been disappointed with Salt...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing staff and delicious food. Really enjoyed my night out at Salt.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Awesome dinner as usual! Jeffery our waiter was excellent, very attentive & knowledgeable about the menu. Food was delicious & drinks were refreshing! Only drawback was the noise - loud restaurant but it can't be helped.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We sat at the Chef's table and the service was great. The only complaint is that it was pretty home at there. The filet was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Eat here every time I'm in town and every single time I fall more in love with this place. Sat at the chef bar this round and the guys were awesome this might be one of my favorite spots in all the places I travel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was disappointed that I requested the Chef's bar in advance and there was not a place reserved despite the fact that there were seats available there and given to other diners in my place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The ambience, food and service were very good. The quality of the meals was par with the other upscale restaurants of the area. There is not enough parking but there is no issue finding a spot out on the street, though it may mean walking a few more steps. The wine selection was not very large but the picks were good. If a blemish must be found, the waiter kept trying to push the most expensive dishes and that made me feel uncomfortable but otherwise the evening was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have eaten at SALT once before and loved it. This time was no different. My wife said that her scallops were some of the best she has ever had and she has traveled literally, around the world. Both times there i had the pork chop which was delicious. As i saw plates passing by, next time I'm going to try the beef. We are from Brownsville, so it's an hour drive both ways, however, great service, great food, great time.

Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service and food - I had the salad and fried chicken; it was superb. The only off thing about this experience was the temperature of the dinning room - it was quite hot throughout dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Mini- Marine reunion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

AWESOME as always!! We love it!! It's always special when we go!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My 3rd time here and every time I'm in McAllen I will stop and eat here. Such a well put together Restaurant and the Service is always above and Beyond.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

my meal was excellent in taste and presentation. the specialty drinks were very original and fresh. the wines by the glass represented a great selection.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing. Such a delightful place. Great service & food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

good cocktails-very unique.
great wines if a bit pricey per glass cost.
grilled peach salad was best dish of our evening.
burrata heirloom tomatoes were under or over ripe.
Pork shank-outstanding.
Fish tacos-outstanding.
We couldn't do dessert, drank more wine instead!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Make sure you try the kitchen bar during one of your visits. Great view of the cooks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Awesome time at the chef's counter. Great food, banter with chefs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and service. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Love love this restaurant!!! I go with my girlfriends or hubby ..it's the best time every time!

Tags: Waterfront, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had been there a couple of times before and have to say they are great at what they do! Food is excellent & atmosphere is trendy but real. Keep it up !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 31, 2017

A great find. The atmosphere, food, selection and quality of the staff was outstanding. Amazingly you would not expect a fine restaurant like this in South Texas. A true Gem. Deserving of 5 Star.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was a very good experience. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious.
We will definitely going back in the near future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.