Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Waterfront (39)
Scenic View (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Live Music (6)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

The entire evening was perfect ! The table location was perfect ! Our waiter was the best we have ever had.....Ryan. A gentleman, knowledgeable , did an excellent job. Very special evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We did the chef choice with the wine pairing. Everything was amazing and our wait staff all said happy birthday to my mom and made it a very special day.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very pricing, but a unique experience with excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at Salt many times and are never disappointed. It is truly a 5 star restaurant in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and superb service. I would certainly go there again. Portions are generous which surprised me.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

No major complaints, my wife and I had a great evening. Matt Murphy

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoy any opportunity to go to Salt. Chef Rick, and his team, are culinary artist. Besides the many great items on the menu, including signature dishes, the adventure menu is an excellent choice. Whatever your preferences may be, the Somalia will expertly pair wine with your meal. Salt is a definite must for foodies.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect with a couple minor exceptions. The appitizers were great. I had the pink key west prawns on grits. Very well done. My wife had the white asparagus chilled soup also excellent. She had the Fl red snapper very good. I had the seafood and homemade pasta. It was good but not great. It didn't have that fantastic flavor everything else had. But still good. The only other slight problem was we shared our server with a table of about 8 people so although service was good we've had better. Especially at a 5 star Resturant. Bottom line we will go again. Very well done. Just needs a few minor improvements.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. Took my fiance here for a little engagement celebration and we loved every second of it. Food was fantastic and the staff was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Ritz did a great job of recognizing our anniversary and trying to make our evening special. However it was terrible because of the incredible noise in the restaurant and lobby bar! The management can't help the actions of the other patrons but it was impossible to hear my wife or even our wait person from across the table. I guess the weekends are probably not the time to expect a quiet, romantic, enjoyable dinner at Salt! We will either go somewhere else or schedule our dinners during the week if we want a quiet evening!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of the best tastings we have ever had at Salt! The entire staff is exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

From the ambiance to the meal, everything was perfect. We had a fabulous waiter who tended to our every need and added in some yummy extras as well. The drinks were perfectly made. The salt tasting was fun and different. I can't say enough about the quality of the food, definitely well worth the price. I highly recommend Salt and would happily return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Quite a special place! Take your time to enjoy everything from the salts, to desserts and great wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant not disappoints. Impeccable service, delicious meals, stunning views.

This is what dining should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

If the food was good I would say it was overpriced but the food was absolutely disgusting. do not waste your money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary at Salt. Absolutely amazing. Try the tasting menu accompanied by the wine pairings. Service was phenomenal too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was great and food followed the same pattern.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Gives the word Salt a whole new meaning! We thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Amazing atmosphere with fabulous food.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent as always. We went to celebrate our anniversary and this restaurant offers both amazing food and beautiful ocean views. We'll be back and this time we won't wait for a celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Overpriced and not 5 star in my opinion. Limited options in some areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went to Salt for my Birthday. They provided us with the best table in the house overlooking the ocean. Service by Matt & Nathan was superb. The food was amazing. It was one of the best birthdays I have celebrated in years.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Get the chef's tasting, you won't regret it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The staff were extremely accommodating and attentive. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We are in driving distance so we celebrate all our special occasions and go for no good reason as well!! Over the years we continue to be surprised at the creativity of the cuisine. Ever item is perfection and the waitstaff is unbelievably indulgent. It is an experience that is unforgettable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Salt makes dining a very special occasion. Creative, delicious cuisine with flawless, personable service. Expensive, but fabulous!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I enjoyed the restaurant, our server was great, the food was great, and the overall ambiance was great. When we were greated by the hostess a African American young lady (didn't get her name)I was told that I couldn't sit in the dining area, but instead the lounge, because I had on shorts, roughly 20 min later I seen a family who were all dressed down being seated in the dining room. I didn't see on any website that there was a dresscode, if I'd known I would've planned accordingly. Awful experience, not to take away anything from our server, his assistant or chef.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Once upon a time this was my favorite restaurant, I always left feeling completely blown away by the food. I have always done the chefs adventure menu with wine pairing. This menu has gone up by approximately $100 since 2009. It is now $120 for the food, and $55 or $95 additional for the wine pairing. We opted for the $95 premium wine, and all the wines were great.
Upon arrival we were seated promptly and given water. After that we waited 15 minutes before being interacted with again. The food had some parts that were really good, but not the extraordinary level of food I have come to know and love about Salt. Lackluster, for $385 not including tip. I wanted to stay in love, but sadly Salt did not put the effort forth to keep me coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was a very special evening from start to finish. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Our table was perfect in the back part of the restaurant which made it very nice and intimate. I know my husband was very impressed and felt like he was treated like royalty throughout the whole experience. The attention to detail was phenomenal as well as the perfectly prepared food. We will defiantly be back for more special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second time dining at Salt. And once again the food did not disappoint. However, we had the misfortune of being seated next to a large group and as the evening went on they became more unruly and it definitely detracted from our dining experience. Not only because they were loud and became hard to ignore, but if felt like the louder they became, the service we received decreased. To the point that after our dinner was cleared the server didn't offer us coffee, etc to go with our dessert. It was an odd oversight and by the time we had gotten his attention again, we were ready to go. Next time we dine at Salt, I will make a much bigger fuss about being moved to a different table if they try to seat us next to such a large group. It really detracted from what should have been a wonderful date night with by husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We have flown down from Nashville many times for three day weekends centered around eating at Salt. Last night was best ever. Possibly the most enjoyable dining experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was amazing. They even catered to my 7 year old, which was so sweet. Seafiod was exceptional. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Salt was amazing. It was our 2nd time visiting the Ritz, and even amongst the other outstanding features of the resort Salt is a stand out. They have a vegetarian menu which I was happy about. If a restaurant can make a plane vegetable taste like something special, you know the chef is talented. My mom loved the shrimp & grits and pea & lobster soup. Only 2 issues: 1. Mom's frois gras was way under cooked. 2. our waiter forgot to explain our salt to us (this is apparently a big deal to them and none of the other helpers will tell you). It's still a MUST do restaurant on Amelia Island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Salt was a fantastic experience. David and our service staff were remarkable and helped make this an anniversary to remember for years to come. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was good. We went years ago and it was amazing. My husband's appetizer and entre were great. The atmosphere is missing something and for the price there is better food on the island. Our waiter was very attentive, but he also didn't seem like he wanted to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Salt is phenomenal. Our experience from the hostess to our beverage waiter to our dinner waiter was outstanding. Everyone was very accommodating. We celebrated a friends birthday. The menu said Happy Birthday inside. It was a very sweet touch. The key west prawns for an appetizer was so tasty. All of our dinners were so tasty. We had the steak and eggs, the seafood pasta, and the chicken breast. 5 stars all around. I can see why they are a 5 diamond award winner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was amazing. Compliments to the chef. The service needs improvement. Our server had way too many other tables to attend to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Salt is absolutely the highlight of all of trips to Amelia Island. The food is literally art. The flavors are perfectly balanced. I highly recommend enjoying the chef's adventure menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I were staying at the Ritz Carlton and had heard about Salt from friends. We enjoyed our meal...we ordered two entrees to share - the beef tenderloin and snapper - and enjoyed the snapper over the tenderloin. The Caesar was very good, as were the sides.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

No complaints about food or service. Had a lovely table by the oceanfront window but couldn't enjoy. No one cleaned condensation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Elegant setting; very nice for our anniversary. Unique food choices. We thought it was a bit too pricey for what we got. Food from the Chef's Tasting Menu was good, but portions seemed small, as if they were sample sizes (but at $120/person). Food that the other guests ordered from the regular menu appeared more appealing and more substantial. If we return, we will select entrees from the regular menu instead. The waiter was attentive, and the live music was nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.