Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (49)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Scenic View (31)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Waterfront (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Live Music (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant was freezing. They supplied shawls for the women which was a nice touch, but why not turn the A/C up? Also we were interrupted too many times by our server...very annoying. The restaurant was less than half full, so they were not in a hurry.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and excellent server, Shanna. Our dinner was a culinary delight

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

84th visit and one of the best ever. Four innovative seafood courses, beautifully presented with a half dozen different elements in each plate. From chilled lobster bisque with truffle oil to tuna tartare with red and yellow watermelon to swordfish with zucchini carpaccio and fava beans and fresh corn to seared snapper with smoked and grilled octopus in curry broth, Chef Rick Laughlin has truly raised his game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This dining experience far exceeded my lofty expectations... well worth the 60+ minute drive. We are already planning our next trip back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Nice atmosphere as expected as a Ritz Carlton (frequent guest in Montreal, New York, Washington, Atlanta, San Francisco). Atmosphere is quiet elegance. Menu is short on options with 4 types of beef, one chicken and 4 fish with only one being local. Most all the entrees were roasted by some means with few sauces or creative entrees. Also, on the beef side, there were no side dishes; all sides were a la carte. The menu presented had different items than the one of their website. Service was almost overpowering; two waiters, a bread person, a water person and so on. It felt a little overwhelming with so many staff members hovering with more bread, more water, asking if we wanted/needed anything and so on. I would return for a special occassion but the price is a little steep ($225) for two having dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My wife and I went to Salt for my wife's birthday and although very expensive, it was well worth it for the quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the exceptional service. We opted for the chef's tasting menu (4 courses) with wine pairings. You are not told what will be served, but they do give you the opportunity to tell them of any food allergies or strong dislikes; needless to say, this is not the way to go if you are a picky eater, but there are menu options that would fit anyone. The only thing we told them was 'no bananas (allergy) or organ meat'. The server asked about foie gras, which I like, but my wife does not care for; he indicated that for the first course my wife and I would have different items. I cannot even begin to properly describe each of the courses we received as they were so unique and inventive, and beautifully presented. I did have foie gras and my wife had beef tartare for the first course; second were amazing scallops; third was lamb chops; fourth was strawberry mousse. The wine pairings were great, and the service was impeccable. I highly recommend Salt, especially for a special occasion, just know ahead of time that it will be expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We dined at Salt with our family for our 40th wedding anniversary. The evening was perfect. Jim, our waiter, made us feel right at home and made fabulous suggestions. Our meals were scrumptious and the experience was one we will remember forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great thought and care was obviously applied to each and every dish. This is cuisine at its highest level. Art in edible form.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dining at Salt is an exceptional experience. Every member of the staff is courteous and knowledgeable, the ambiance and decor are inviting, and the food... THE FOOD! I'd highly recommend the halibut and the chocolate soufflé for dessert. Honestly I don't believe a bad choice is to be made once you've decided to dine at Salt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Everything within the control of the restaurant was wonderful for our anniversary dinner. The service was top notch, attentive without being invasive. The food was delicious. We booked the table weeks in advance in the hopes of getting a window table though we didn't actually request one. We were put by a windowed door and did have a fairly nice view of the dunes. Our next table neighbors included a vey rumbunchcious and loud baby. The host warned us about that when we got to the restaurant and I suspect we could have asked for a different table though we chose not to. Our waiter helped the family finish dessert and pay the bill quickly so we were not bothered for long. The impression we were left with was that the employees have the comfort and enjoyment of their guests in mind at all times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had! Attentive and knowledgeable staff and excellent food. Very much worth every penny.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food and service was amazing. It was our 50th wedding anniversary and I was hoping for something very special, the staff went above and beyond to meet our expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 28, 2017

food was great and the service was outstanding they took care of us even tho we were an hour early for our reservation

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Exceptional Chef's Table Experience at the Salt. Eight courses ... wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food! Great service! The Ritz must change their policy on kids in this restaurant ! It is a waste of money and energy on the staffs part until the do! It is not a five star experience with screaming kids throughout the restaurant . It is not worth the price! We will not be back until it is a five star ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Salt was fantastic as usual. Our favorite restaurant in the WORLD!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic dishes, creatively prepared. House made pastas compliment the seafood and sauces. Fun to experiment with the different salts on the house made bread and fresh churned butter. An excellent fine dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Service was outstanding as it always is. Food was awesome and presentation was beautiful. Our wait staff (Scott and Jim) was extremely attentive and we have never been rushed to eat and leave. It was a beautiful evening and a gorgeous ocean view. We love eating at Salt whenever we are in Amelia Island. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were there on a Babymoon visiting the hotel and ate dinner at Salt. The restaurant exceeded our expectations. We loved the different salt options they provided, and personalizing our dessert was very special. All the food dishes were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Salt is always amazing. Mason did an amazing job on the salmon and the bison tenderloin

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had impeccable service. Jim was our main server and was incredible. The food was amazing (as usual!) but the service made the experience even better. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The ambience was beautiful and a view of the ocean can be seen from every table. The waiter was extremely experienced and anticipated our every need. The steak and Lobster was superb! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing a must try. Food was wonderful and everyone that came to our table was very friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We have eaten at Salt a few times in the past and always had exceptional food and service. The food was great but the service was lacking. Very disappointing since we were there for my husband's birthday. Very long delays between courses, we ordered drinks that were never delivered. Hope these issues are resolved before our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Spectacular service and presentation of food. Although pricey, you are paying for the impeccable service. The prawn and grits appetizer was delectable! Very accommodating for gluten free options. Waitstaff, not at all pretentious, suggested a great bottle of wine for our price range. Filet, extremely tender with a delicious wine reduction, was grilled to the perfect temperature.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was nothing short of divine. Our waiter, Brandon, was so knowledgeable. He took the time to engage in conversation between courses. He really was the best.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I really don't know what to say except for that the place is special... we didn't stay at the Ritz so the whole experience of driving up and going in was a special experience. I don't want to give anything away about how they make it special... but they really do. It really seems to be the best restaurant in all of Amelia Island

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Our server was excellent (Ryan?). Ambiance was wonderful and the service was exceptional! Would highly recommend for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere & outstanding food. The service is exceptional! We book Salt every time we are in the area. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and great service as expected from a 5 diamond

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Celebrated wedding anniversary here - food and service were spectacular - was a little louder than we expected which was welcomed, didn't feel stuffy despite the classy vibe. Leave time before or after to grab a smoked old fashioned from the lobby bar at the hotel. Outstanding all around!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our 49th anniversary, and the restaurant was perfect for the occasion. Service was super, food was outstanding and ambiance was just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

What a phenomenal restaurant! The food, service and view cannot be beat on the island! Highly recommend you not miss when visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have been to. Everything about this restaurant was fantastic.
We made reservations well in advance and requested a table with view and had a wonderful table. The server was amazing. The food incredible. I could go on and on .
Just spend the little bit extra and go to Salt. My only regret is we did not go there every night for the 3 nights we were on the Island.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The surf and turf was just ok. Lobster very chewy and filet lacked flavor. Way over priced for the quality of food. Prawn appetizer was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was over the top. Great food! Great service! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Engagement

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.