About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Scenic View (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Cozy (12)
Waterfront (11)
Live Music (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Fireplace (6)
Business Meals (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dining experience . The food ,preparation and presentation was great. I would highly recommend to impress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

good food, but they forgot my request for my husband's bday desert with candle and surprise. cocktails were overpriced and not made very well. the squash soup was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was impeccable. The food was amazing! I highly recommend & would return.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best service and food. Bucket list must. Favorite place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing 4 course meal experience. A bit on the pricier side so reserved for special occasions but amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

If you want perfection this is your place. In my opinion this restaurant is up with the best of them. I mean just look where it is located and that should tell you something. I'm not even going to suggest what to get because that's what they have extremely well trained wait staff for. These guys n gals are experts in every way and I couldn't say enough good things about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Probably the best steak and seafood we had a long time. Highly recommended. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dined at Salt on Valentine's day - rather a limited choice on the fixed 4 course menu for $150, a la carte was not an option, but the food was good and the service was excellent reflecting the high standards that the Ritz upholds.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We did the Chef's Adventure which never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I went Saturday to celebrate Valentine's Day a little early! It was outstanding!! The quality of the food was spot on, all the flavors were great! The service is wonderful, so many people paying attention to you, makes you feel special!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took the wife for an early valentines dinner.

Everything was wonderful.

And the view of the moon rising up over the ocean was amazing.

Definitely the place to celebrate

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Phenomenal meal and experience all around!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We live on the Island but had not gotten to Salt since the move. It was our anniversary so we made another reservation, and kept it this time. The did a wonderful job acknowledging our special occasion. The foie gras & roasted veg salad were lovely. I had the Pappardelle with seafood (I rarely eat pasta) and my hub had the rib eye. Pasta was yummy, the rib eye went back, it was tough. They immediately took care of it & the next steak was delicious. Dessert was good my fav was cinnamon apple & salted caramel gelato. Ryan was a great server. The girls assisting not so much, they need more training. We will go back. Had a fun evening after all I had the best company in the joint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

If you want to hve a night to remember, then this is the plce. EPIC!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is excellent- sometimes beautiful and creative presentations look better than they taste- not here. The thoughtfulness and creativity reveal top notch cooking. More variety of seafood selections would be wonderful, but better to have fewer choices prepared exquisitely.

Service is friendly with some servers more professional than others ( who are maybe too intrusive constantly inquiring to see how things are).

The wine list is well thought out providing good choices at prices one expects at this level of restaurant. There is no dedicated, highly knowledgeable wine person. Too bad.

The view at sunset is lovely- gorgeous backdrop to wonderful dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and great service, this is the best restaurant on Amilia Island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner this past Saturday night. We were able to talk without a loud environment and the service was impecable and always someone there at every move. The food was phenomenal and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I appreciate the waiter asking about allergies as I do have mushroom and beef allergies and did not know one of my dishes contained mushrooms. The advanced notice on the souffle for dessert was terrific and my son and his girlfriend were delighted to eat it. It was a memorable evening

Tags: Live Music, Fireplace, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

A very unique experience. I was worried about the name. Didn't even know such huge variety of salt exists.

Staff was very helpful courteous and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Exquisite food and attentive service. Wonderful ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The second time we've been to Salt. It is a wonderful restaurant, the one we choose for very special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

invisible table service, quiet atmosphere, superb food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely awesome!

Impeccable service and food!

I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a memorable experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service! Wonderful food. Wish guitar player had stayed longer. He was fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We eat out almost daily, around the world! SALT, without a doubt, is one of the finest dining experiences we have ever enjoyed. It's a pity it's across the country from us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first experience at Salt and it was fabulous and so delicious. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good good and excellent service. Though expensive, we would go again.

Redecorating the restaurant added a lot to the ambience,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

For a special holiday dinner, this is the place to go! Wonderful food, drink, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent food. A little too much time in between courses. Be aware The regular menu is not available during holidays. A more expensive menu is offered. We were looking forward to having steak but it was not offered on the menu. Our waiter was reallly accommodating and had a steak meal made for us. It was awesome. Very tender and great mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was a memorable experience for our Christmas meal. We highly recommend Salt!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We are frequent patrons of this restaurant. We were extremely disappointed that the menu published on the website was not the menu being offered. We were having dual celebrations so had made reservations for both nights only to learn it was the same menu. This is not the Ritz Carlton way we have know for so many years. We understand the need to make a profit but there is much being placed at risk. Too bad. It has been one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was ok or over all-average (small menu). Nothing memorable, but nothing unacceptable. A typical hotel restaurant and atmosphere. Not close to a Ritz Carlton experience like "BLUE" in Grand Cayman. Prices were fine, wine list ok, but note the sides were extremely tiny. The only alert: Watch for the host or greeter (with major a attitude) who eventually , had us shown our table, as he is above approach. Even with a reservation and half empty restaurant, he decides when you are granted approval to finally be seated, for "the best experience". Fine, (rolling our eyes), as he banished us to the empty lounge to wait.... with anticipation. Just wished with all the Provado, it lead to a great evening. We took it all with a gran of SALT. We had the opportunity to return for Christmas eve or Christmas day, but passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an amazing time at Salt. Service was excellent as expected. Main entrees were delicious but must try the souffle trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent meal, presentation and atmosphere. It is very high-end which is reflected in the price, but we felt it was well worth it. It was our holiday "present" to each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Living in Daytona Beach, Salt has been a place my husband has wanted to take me for a few years now. On our Christmas drive to Ohio, we decided this was our chance. An over-nighter at The Ritz and dinner at Salt. Dinner at Salt was one of the nicest dinners we have had at a fine restaurant. The service was excellent, the food was excellent and our experience was one we would like to share with others. We will be highly recommending your restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I both had filets, they were tender, juicy and cooked to perfection. We had both the romaine and green salads, absolutely fantastic. I was not awed by the mashed potato side, it was ok. The wine we selected, Meiomi Pinot, set well with the steak the only draw back was the $60 plus price for an $18 bottle of wine.

The service was first class and our server, Ryan, was one of the best I've ever met.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was creative and excellent. The service was very good and the decor was attractive. They do need better acoustical deadening, as every table of six was very loud and made it harder for couples and smaller tables to have an intimate dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Impeccable. Far exceeded our expectations for service, presentation and ambiance. All-around amazing dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Second time dining there. In the ritz Carlton hotel nearby where we live and find it to be the best food by far. Wonderful seasonal offerings, food is excellent. Got pretty loud around 8pm on a Sunday but lead to good people watching. We don't drink and often get sub par service from waitstaff looking for larger tips, although we tip very well. Got a little of that vibe last time we were there. All depends on the server. Still five stars from us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Superb dinner at Salt. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The servers went above and beyond to make us feel special. From the complimentary foie gras appetizer to the caramel macaroons that completed our meal. Everything was superb. Taylor, the guitar player, played songs ranging from Prince to Dave Matthews. All in all just a fantastic evening! Highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First tried the Chefs Adventure with wine pairing. It was fantastic - you can advise what you don't/can't eat but are totally blind to what will be served. Quite the "adventure"!! Perfect ambience. Fantastic guitar player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful Everything!! Lovely decor, fantastic food, just perfect dining experience! The prawn appetizer was my favorite!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Truly wonderful cuisine!! Articulate and knowledgeable staff who exceed the already raised bar standard which is the Ritz Carlton only added to our dining experience. I highly recommend the prawn appetizer and the filet with quail eggs cooked on a salt slab entre - extraordinary!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Shawna was an amazing server. Very informative of the menu and asked great questions of likes and dislikes. We will ABSOLUTELY be back. Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A beautiful place for an elegant dinner. Royal ambiance without feeling stuffy!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Salt is the best fine dining experience on Amelia Island. The recent redecorating and enlarging of the Salt space has finally brought the room up to the level of the food. Truly an exceptional dining experience as you would expect at the Ritz.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Way over priced for Thanksgiving dining. Four course dinner good but not worth price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service. Fabulous food. Magnificent Souffle Trio

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I MADE RESERVATIONS AT SALT, AND ASKED FOR SPECIAL ACCOMODATIONS TO HELP MAKE OUR EVENING SPECIAL AND THE STAFF, AND GUEST CONCIERGE WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE US FEEL COMFORTABLE. MARIO COORDINATED THE EVENING PER MY REQUEST. THE FOOD AND STAFF WAS AMAZING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My son (10) and I had a special evening at Salt, and the service was exceptional. They knew this was a very special event for us, and they went out of their way to make it memorable. I had the 5 course chef's tasting, and every serving was incredible. The food at Salt is like what you would see winning competitions on high end Food Network shows. Each serving was a piece of art, and displayed incredible techniques. For example, the butternut squash soup included a cranberry foam, and was served on toasted aromatic spices. This was absolutely incredible, and I will never forget the flavor!! We were able to try different salts with the different servings, and that also made for a unique experience. After our meal, we were invited to tour the kitchen and meet the chefs. I was so grateful that the staff offered this tour and allowed us to speak to the chefs and see the different foods used as ingredients. This was a very special, educational experience for my son. He even received a chef's hat!! We were provided sweets and a sample of one of the salts to take home. I will never forget our time at Salt, and I am most grateful for the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Salt is the best restaurant on Amelia Island. The service is tops. The food is always good. In spite of the almost always crowded, but the noise level is below the volume for this sized restaurant. This was the first visit for one of our guests and she was, like us, an instant fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.