About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
13 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Scenic View
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Contemporary American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (65)
Scenic View (64)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (7)
Waterfront (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal. Will definitely be back. N ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal. Will definitely be back. Noise level made it difficult to have a conversation without having them repeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and im ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and impeccable service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, friendly service, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, friendly service, great atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever had. From appetizers through main course, it was excellent! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in the area, will definitely go back.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the Chefs Adventure and it was an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We did the Chefs Adventure and it was an amazing experience. The pairings were outstanding and each course was unique and creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This night was what Salt is all about! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

This night was what Salt is all about! Wonderful service with Matt and associates, attentiveness to special requests, and delicious food. My friend commented it was 'the best meal of my life.'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The occasion was my wifes 60th B-Day. Ev ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The occasion was my wifes 60th B-Day. Everything that I asked for & then Some was met. The waiter was amazing. The scenery was exceptional with an awesome table location & setting. My wife enjoyed this restaurant beyond all expectations. I highly recommend this experience to everyone. I hope to return next spring with a group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the blind chef's tasting and it w ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had the blind chef's tasting and it was absolutely an experience to remember. The creativity kept improving through the 4 courses. The wine pairing is a must as well. Come hungry, the tasting was 3 full sized dishes and a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined here many times and have not ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We've dined here many times and have not had one minute of less than perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were as close to perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food and service were as close to perfect as it gets! Worth every cent !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service. Be ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service. Best on the island we have ever had

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing! Dinner was delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place was amazing! Dinner was delicious and the restaurant is very accommodating to gluten free dining which seems to be rare unfortunately.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, innovative, tailored to ind ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding, innovative, tailored to individuals needs

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

83rd visit (no , we have no affiliation ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

83rd visit (no , we have no affiliation with the restaurant or the Ritz); we just truly enjoy Salt). Chef Rick Laughlin continues his innovative and delightful presentations. Put yourself in Rick's hands and choose the tasting menu. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If I were to be in prison and had to cho ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

If I were to be in prison and had to choose my last meal...this place would be it! Everything was amazing. The food was the best I have ever had. If you haven't eaten here, you MUST try it. The chef's tasting menu is totally worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazin. Chef Rick does an amazin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always amazin. Chef Rick does an amazing job. Shannon is the best. Love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, ambiance & food. My wife ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service, ambiance & food. My wife ordered the surf & turf and it was superb. I had the yellowfin tuna with a coconut curry/lemongrass broth. Next time I'd order the chefs tasting menu, but you'll enjoy either way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an excellent restaurant. Not you ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant. Not your average high end foodery. The chef is creative and the service is impeccable. Interesting to learn how they custom manufacture various salts. We opted for seafood during our visit but meat options are excellent. Save room for soufflés available for dessert. Wonderfully delicious. We will be back

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Second tim ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food and service were great. Second time I have been there and it was really top notch. I travel and dine all over and this place is as good as it gets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant experience. Come her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The best restaurant experience. Come here every time we're at Amelia Island. Absolutely perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Salt several times when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We've dined at Salt several times when we have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton, and as our stay this time included our 30th wedding anniversary we did not hesitate to dine there to celebrate. As has been the case in the past, everything about the entire experience was exceptional and we truly enjoyed the whole evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special night We had an amazing ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

A very special night

We had an amazing meal in a beautiful setting. The staff was friendly and responsive, and the food was outstanding. Definitely try the steak and eggs, it's an experience! We also enjoyed shrimp and grits and ceviche for appetizers, the asian tuna (perfectly seared in a very tasty curry-style sauce) and shared the 3 mini-souffles for dessert. I suspect there is not a bad choice on the menu.

To top off our night, at the end of our meal they invited us to visit the kitchen and meet the chef and all of the specialty chefs who prepared our meal. It was such a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique, relaxing environment with outsta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Unique, relaxing environment with outstanding service. Doesn't get any better than the Ritz. We loved it so much we had dinner there 2 evenings during our 3 day stay. A must try. The salts for the table enhanced every item. My favorite was the salt block cooking a steak and lobster myself on the block. The chocolate truffles, Carmel candies and expresso martinis OMG!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience is always ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food, service and ambience is always on point. This is our third dining experience with Salt and we will continue to come back for special occasions. It's just a little too pricey for us to be regulars, unfortunately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my life! Superb ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of the best meals of my life! Superb in every way. This was our second visit to Salt; on the first visit we had the chef's tasting menu, which was very good. We ordered from the menu this time and our meal was GREAT; prawns and salad starters; Chilean sea bass and seafood pasta; and trio of souffles. The prawn appetizer and souffle desserts are particularly outstanding, and the service is impeccable. We had a delightful seat by the window with a lovely ocean view. Salt is now my favorite restaurant in Florida, and maybe anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and there was a l ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was wonderful and there was a lovely guitarist playing live music which was a special bonus! This is definitely a special occasion restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service, wonderful food, a true ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous service, wonderful food, a true dining experience! We have celebrated our anniversary here for the past 4 yrs and every time, the staff and the food at Salt are impeccable!! The atmosphere is very inviting. A must try is the Chocolate Souffle

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but extraordinary. Everythin ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Expensive, but extraordinary. Everything from the salad to the entree to the souffle was memorably extraordinarily good. The nights we were there they had a phenomenal guitarist. I normally eat too fast but my Papardelle was so good I savored every bite. The salts were interesting to play with and the bread was good, but the food was just extraordinary. Wait staff was quite attentive and pleasant. A couple of little treats complimented the meal, a cherry with fois gras and cress, then a sorbet to cleanse the palate. At the end of the meal they brought a tray of homemade cookies and chocolate and caramels and then a goodie bag with our favorite salts to take home. We did not drink so I cannot comment on the wine, but feel certain it would be excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thus was our 3rd visit to Salt. Our ser ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thus was our 3rd visit to Salt. Our server, although pleasant at first, poured the entire bottle of wine at the first pour among three of us and we didn't see her again until after dessert to bring the check. She seemed overwhelmed and in a hurry. Disappointing, especially when your bill is over $400.

Food was delicious, so we will likely return but resume at another server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Outstanding experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second visit here and left just as happy ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Second visit here and left just as happy as the first time. Amazing food, incredible staff. Dining experience and food is top notch. Prices are high end as expected but the food and experience leave you blown away nonetheless. Although this restaurant is high class, the service and experience are very approachable and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal...knowledgable staff...ve ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful meal...knowledgable staff...very special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable...memorable. We still talk a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Impeccable...memorable. We still talk about our meal at Salt! It's a tradition when we come to Amelia, we have to dine at Salt. The wait staff is attentive and friendly. They make us feel very special. This is an experience I would recommend to anyone looking for a special occasion dining spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you look up 'perfectly cooked steak' ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If you look up 'perfectly cooked steak' in the dictionary the definition is Salt!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fabulous dinning experience the signatur ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fabulous dinning experience the signature steak cooked on a salt block was the highlight of the evening

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a gift to my son and new daught ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was a gift to my son and new daughter in law on their honeymoon. They LOVED it. The setting is spectacular and the food exceptional. It was an unforgettable experience for their honeymoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really great and the fri ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was really great and the friendliness of the staff was awesome. The food is just ok. I guess I was expecting way too much thus the disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food presentation is incredible. The mo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food presentation is incredible. The most creative garden salad I've ever had, a true work of art. My elk chop was delicious, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed Salt so much that we went tw ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed Salt so much that we went twice in a week. Food as an art form and wonderful service makes Salt a winner.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New favorite when we visit Amelia Island ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

New favorite when we visit Amelia Island again. Our dinner was phenomenal. We chose not to do the tasting menu, however loved that the chef was willing to still come out of the box and create a fantastic meal based on tastes and preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.