About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (15)
Scenic View (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Waterfront (9)
Cozy (9)
Live Music (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

invisible table service, quiet atmospher ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

invisible table service, quiet atmosphere, superb food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely awesome! Impeccable service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely awesome!

Impeccable service and food!

I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a memorable experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Wonderful food. Wish gu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service! Wonderful food. Wish guitar player had stayed longer. He was fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat out almost daily, around the worl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We eat out almost daily, around the world! SALT, without a doubt, is one of the finest dining experiences we have ever enjoyed. It's a pity it's across the country from us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Salt and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first experience at Salt and it was fabulous and so delicious. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good good and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good good and excellent service. Though expensive, we would go again.

Redecorating the restaurant added a lot to the ambience,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For a special holiday dinner, this is th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

For a special holiday dinner, this is the place to go! Wonderful food, drink, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. A little too much time i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent food. A little too much time in between courses. Be aware The regular menu is not available during holidays. A more expensive menu is offered. We were looking forward to having steak but it was not offered on the menu. Our waiter was reallly accommodating and had a steak meal made for us. It was awesome. Very tender and great mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was a memorable experience for our Christmas meal. We highly recommend Salt!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We are frequent patrons of this restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We are frequent patrons of this restaurant. We were extremely disappointed that the menu published on the website was not the menu being offered. We were having dual celebrations so had made reservations for both nights only to learn it was the same menu. This is not the Ritz Carlton way we have know for so many years. We understand the need to make a profit but there is much being placed at risk. Too bad. It has been one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was ok or over all-average (small men ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was ok or over all-average (small menu). Nothing memorable, but nothing unacceptable. A typical hotel restaurant and atmosphere. Not close to a Ritz Carlton experience like "BLUE" in Grand Cayman. Prices were fine, wine list ok, but note the sides were extremely tiny. The only alert: Watch for the host or greeter (with major a attitude) who eventually , had us shown our table, as he is above approach. Even with a reservation and half empty restaurant, he decides when you are granted approval to finally be seated, for "the best experience". Fine, (rolling our eyes), as he banished us to the empty lounge to wait.... with anticipation. Just wished with all the Provado, it lead to a great evening. We took it all with a gran of SALT. We had the opportunity to return for Christmas eve or Christmas day, but passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We had an amazing time at Salt. Service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an amazing time at Salt. Service was excellent as expected. Main entrees were delicious but must try the souffle trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, presentation and atmosph ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent meal, presentation and atmosphere. It is very high-end which is reflected in the price, but we felt it was well worth it. It was our holiday "present" to each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living in Daytona Beach, Salt has been a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Living in Daytona Beach, Salt has been a place my husband has wanted to take me for a few years now. On our Christmas drive to Ohio, we decided this was our chance. An over-nighter at The Ritz and dinner at Salt. Dinner at Salt was one of the nicest dinners we have had at a fine restaurant. The service was excellent, the food was excellent and our experience was one we would like to share with others. We will be highly recommending your restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I both had filets, they were ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I both had filets, they were tender, juicy and cooked to perfection. We had both the romaine and green salads, absolutely fantastic. I was not awed by the mashed potato side, it was ok. The wine we selected, Meiomi Pinot, set well with the steak the only draw back was the $60 plus price for an $18 bottle of wine.

The service was first class and our server, Ryan, was one of the best I've ever met.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was creative and excellent. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was creative and excellent. The service was very good and the decor was attractive. They do need better acoustical deadening, as every table of six was very loud and made it harder for couples and smaller tables to have an intimate dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Impeccable. Far exceeded our expectatio ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Impeccable. Far exceeded our expectations for service, presentation and ambiance. All-around amazing dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time dining there. In the ritz C ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Second time dining there. In the ritz Carlton hotel nearby where we live and find it to be the best food by far. Wonderful seasonal offerings, food is excellent. Got pretty loud around 8pm on a Sunday but lead to good people watching. We don't drink and often get sub par service from waitstaff looking for larger tips, although we tip very well. Got a little of that vibe last time we were there. All depends on the server. Still five stars from us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb dinner at Salt. We were celebrati ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Superb dinner at Salt. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The servers went above and beyond to make us feel special. From the complimentary foie gras appetizer to the caramel macaroons that completed our meal. Everything was superb. Taylor, the guitar player, played songs ranging from Prince to Dave Matthews. All in all just a fantastic evening! Highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First tried the Chefs Adventure with win ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First tried the Chefs Adventure with wine pairing. It was fantastic - you can advise what you don't/can't eat but are totally blind to what will be served. Quite the "adventure"!! Perfect ambience. Fantastic guitar player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Everything!! Lovely decor, fa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful Everything!! Lovely decor, fantastic food, just perfect dining experience! The prawn appetizer was my favorite!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly wonderful cuisine!! Articulate and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Truly wonderful cuisine!! Articulate and knowledgeable staff who exceed the already raised bar standard which is the Ritz Carlton only added to our dining experience. I highly recommend the prawn appetizer and the filet with quail eggs cooked on a salt slab entre - extraordinary!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shawna was an amazing server. Very info ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Shawna was an amazing server. Very informative of the menu and asked great questions of likes and dislikes. We will ABSOLUTELY be back. Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful place for an elegant dinner. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A beautiful place for an elegant dinner. Royal ambiance without feeling stuffy!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is the best fine dining experience ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Salt is the best fine dining experience on Amelia Island. The recent redecorating and enlarging of the Salt space has finally brought the room up to the level of the food. Truly an exceptional dining experience as you would expect at the Ritz.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way over priced for Thanksgiving dining. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Way over priced for Thanksgiving dining. Four course dinner good but not worth price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I got food poisoning at Salt. It's supe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I got food poisoning at Salt. It's super expensive and you'll probably leave feeling like you got ripped off. Get the prawns (plural makes you think multiple but it's literally one shrimp) appetizer. It's good. Enjoy the views and the furniture, the servers are pretty nice. Despite the fact that they let people in with jeans and mullets, if you try to wear dressy shorts, even if you're having your wedding at the hotel and it's your mom's birthday, they won't let you sit in the restaurant. They'll let you sit and order in the lobby though. Same prices. Go with lowest of expectations and if you leave happy, then that's a bonus.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service. Fabulous food. Magnifice ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service. Fabulous food. Magnificent Souffle Trio

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I MADE RESERVATIONS AT SALT, AND ASKED F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I MADE RESERVATIONS AT SALT, AND ASKED FOR SPECIAL ACCOMODATIONS TO HELP MAKE OUR EVENING SPECIAL AND THE STAFF, AND GUEST CONCIERGE WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE US FEEL COMFORTABLE. MARIO COORDINATED THE EVENING PER MY REQUEST. THE FOOD AND STAFF WAS AMAZING.

Tags: Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son (10) and I had a special evening ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My son (10) and I had a special evening at Salt, and the service was exceptional. They knew this was a very special event for us, and they went out of their way to make it memorable. I had the 5 course chef's tasting, and every serving was incredible. The food at Salt is like what you would see winning competitions on high end Food Network shows. Each serving was a piece of art, and displayed incredible techniques. For example, the butternut squash soup included a cranberry foam, and was served on toasted aromatic spices. This was absolutely incredible, and I will never forget the flavor!! We were able to try different salts with the different servings, and that also made for a unique experience. After our meal, we were invited to tour the kitchen and meet the chefs. I was so grateful that the staff offered this tour and allowed us to speak to the chefs and see the different foods used as ingredients. This was a very special, educational experience for my son. He even received a chef's hat!! We were provided sweets and a sample of one of the salts to take home. I will never forget our time at Salt, and I am most grateful for the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is the best restaurant on Amelia Is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Salt is the best restaurant on Amelia Island. The service is tops. The food is always good. In spite of the almost always crowded, but the noise level is below the volume for this sized restaurant. This was the first visit for one of our guests and she was, like us, an instant fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, inventive cuisine. Service is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent, inventive cuisine. Service is friendly, competent and efficient. Salt is perfect for special occasion dining ... or everyday if money is no object!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Good food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Salt. Anoth ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This was our second time at Salt. Another terrific experience! Definitely pre-order the souffle for dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salt was an outstanding dining experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Salt was an outstanding dining experience for me. The food was very delicious and the service was excellent. One of the best places I have eaten.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most expensive, but most amazing meal we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Most expensive, but most amazing meal we've ever had the pleasure to enjoy! Wow, just wow!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food delivered with excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful food delivered with excellent service. A truly outstanding experience

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Will definitely be back. N ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great meal. Will definitely be back. Noise level made it difficult to have a conversation without having them repeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and im ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and impeccable service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, friendly service, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic food, friendly service, great atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.