About Salt at The Ritz-Carlton

4750 Amelia Island Parkway
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Salt, a AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant features simple ingredients from the earth and the sea, properly seasoned and artfully prepared. With more than 400 available wines and an innovative menu showcasing the bounty of the season, Salt offers a dining experience that is a rare combination of the relaxed and refined. As a tribute to the contemporary coastal setting, more than 40 varieties of salt, harvested from every corner of the world, are available to enhance the flavor and appearance of each exquisite dish.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 277-1087

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/AmeliaIsland/Dining/SaltTheGrillattheRitz-Carlton/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Rick Laughlin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Salt at The Ritz-Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
13 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Scenic View
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Contemporary American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

Special Occasion (29)
Scenic View (24)
Romantic (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fireplace (6)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Truly wonderful cuisine!! Articulate and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Truly wonderful cuisine!! Articulate and knowledgeable staff who exceed the already raised bar standard which is the Ritz Carlton only added to our dining experience. I highly recommend the prawn appetizer and the filet with quail eggs cooked on a salt slab entre - extraordinary!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shawna was an amazing server. Very info ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Shawna was an amazing server. Very informative of the menu and asked great questions of likes and dislikes. We will ABSOLUTELY be back. Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful place for an elegant dinner. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

A beautiful place for an elegant dinner. Royal ambiance without feeling stuffy!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is the best fine dining experience ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Salt is the best fine dining experience on Amelia Island. The recent redecorating and enlarging of the Salt space has finally brought the room up to the level of the food. Truly an exceptional dining experience as you would expect at the Ritz.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way over priced for Thanksgiving dining. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Way over priced for Thanksgiving dining. Four course dinner good but not worth price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I got food poisoning at Salt. It's supe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I got food poisoning at Salt. It's super expensive and you'll probably leave feeling like you got ripped off. Get the prawns (plural makes you think multiple but it's literally one shrimp) appetizer. It's good. Enjoy the views and the furniture, the servers are pretty nice. Despite the fact that they let people in with jeans and mullets, if you try to wear dressy shorts, even if you're having your wedding at the hotel and it's your mom's birthday, they won't let you sit in the restaurant. They'll let you sit and order in the lobby though. Same prices. Go with lowest of expectations and if you leave happy, then that's a bonus.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service. Fabulous food. Magnifice ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service. Fabulous food. Magnificent Souffle Trio

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I MADE RESERVATIONS AT SALT, AND ASKED F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I MADE RESERVATIONS AT SALT, AND ASKED FOR SPECIAL ACCOMODATIONS TO HELP MAKE OUR EVENING SPECIAL AND THE STAFF, AND GUEST CONCIERGE WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE US FEEL COMFORTABLE. MARIO COORDINATED THE EVENING PER MY REQUEST. THE FOOD AND STAFF WAS AMAZING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son (10) and I had a special evening ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My son (10) and I had a special evening at Salt, and the service was exceptional. They knew this was a very special event for us, and they went out of their way to make it memorable. I had the 5 course chef's tasting, and every serving was incredible. The food at Salt is like what you would see winning competitions on high end Food Network shows. Each serving was a piece of art, and displayed incredible techniques. For example, the butternut squash soup included a cranberry foam, and was served on toasted aromatic spices. This was absolutely incredible, and I will never forget the flavor!! We were able to try different salts with the different servings, and that also made for a unique experience. After our meal, we were invited to tour the kitchen and meet the chefs. I was so grateful that the staff offered this tour and allowed us to speak to the chefs and see the different foods used as ingredients. This was a very special, educational experience for my son. He even received a chef's hat!! We were provided sweets and a sample of one of the salts to take home. I will never forget our time at Salt, and I am most grateful for the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is the best restaurant on Amelia Is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Salt is the best restaurant on Amelia Island. The service is tops. The food is always good. In spite of the almost always crowded, but the noise level is below the volume for this sized restaurant. This was the first visit for one of our guests and she was, like us, an instant fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, inventive cuisine. Service is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent, inventive cuisine. Service is friendly, competent and efficient. Salt is perfect for special occasion dining ... or everyday if money is no object!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Good food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Salt. Anoth ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This was our second time at Salt. Another terrific experience! Definitely pre-order the souffle for dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salt was an outstanding dining experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Salt was an outstanding dining experience for me. The food was very delicious and the service was excellent. One of the best places I have eaten.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most expensive, but most amazing meal we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Most expensive, but most amazing meal we've ever had the pleasure to enjoy! Wow, just wow!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food delivered with excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful food delivered with excellent service. A truly outstanding experience

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Will definitely be back. N ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great meal. Will definitely be back. Noise level made it difficult to have a conversation without having them repeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and im ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

An absolute must. Amazing cuisine and impeccable service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, friendly service, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic food, friendly service, great atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. From appetizers through main course, it was excellent! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in the area, will definitely go back.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the Chefs Adventure and it was an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We did the Chefs Adventure and it was an amazing experience. The pairings were outstanding and each course was unique and creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This night was what Salt is all about! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This night was what Salt is all about! Wonderful service with Matt and associates, attentiveness to special requests, and delicious food. My friend commented it was 'the best meal of my life.'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The occasion was my wifes 60th B-Day. Ev ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The occasion was my wifes 60th B-Day. Everything that I asked for & then Some was met. The waiter was amazing. The scenery was exceptional with an awesome table location & setting. My wife enjoyed this restaurant beyond all expectations. I highly recommend this experience to everyone. I hope to return next spring with a group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the blind chef's tasting and it w ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had the blind chef's tasting and it was absolutely an experience to remember. The creativity kept improving through the 4 courses. The wine pairing is a must as well. Come hungry, the tasting was 3 full sized dishes and a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined here many times and have not ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We've dined here many times and have not had one minute of less than perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were as close to perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food and service were as close to perfect as it gets! Worth every cent !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service. Be ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service. Best on the island we have ever had

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing! Dinner was delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place was amazing! Dinner was delicious and the restaurant is very accommodating to gluten free dining which seems to be rare unfortunately.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, innovative, tailored to ind ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding, innovative, tailored to individuals needs

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

83rd visit (no , we have no affiliation ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

83rd visit (no , we have no affiliation with the restaurant or the Ritz); we just truly enjoy Salt). Chef Rick Laughlin continues his innovative and delightful presentations. Put yourself in Rick's hands and choose the tasting menu. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If I were to be in prison and had to cho ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

If I were to be in prison and had to choose my last meal...this place would be it! Everything was amazing. The food was the best I have ever had. If you haven't eaten here, you MUST try it. The chef's tasting menu is totally worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazin. Chef Rick does an amazin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always amazin. Chef Rick does an amazing job. Shannon is the best. Love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, ambiance & food. My wife ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service, ambiance & food. My wife ordered the surf & turf and it was superb. I had the yellowfin tuna with a coconut curry/lemongrass broth. Next time I'd order the chefs tasting menu, but you'll enjoy either way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an excellent restaurant. Not you ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant. Not your average high end foodery. The chef is creative and the service is impeccable. Interesting to learn how they custom manufacture various salts. We opted for seafood during our visit but meat options are excellent. Save room for soufflés available for dessert. Wonderfully delicious. We will be back

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Second tim ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food and service were great. Second time I have been there and it was really top notch. I travel and dine all over and this place is as good as it gets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant experience. Come her ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The best restaurant experience. Come here every time we're at Amelia Island. Absolutely perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Salt several times when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We've dined at Salt several times when we have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton, and as our stay this time included our 30th wedding anniversary we did not hesitate to dine there to celebrate. As has been the case in the past, everything about the entire experience was exceptional and we truly enjoyed the whole evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special night We had an amazing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

A very special night

We had an amazing meal in a beautiful setting. The staff was friendly and responsive, and the food was outstanding. Definitely try the steak and eggs, it's an experience! We also enjoyed shrimp and grits and ceviche for appetizers, the asian tuna (perfectly seared in a very tasty curry-style sauce) and shared the 3 mini-souffles for dessert. I suspect there is not a bad choice on the menu.

To top off our night, at the end of our meal they invited us to visit the kitchen and meet the chef and all of the specialty chefs who prepared our meal. It was such a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique, relaxing environment with outsta ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Unique, relaxing environment with outstanding service. Doesn't get any better than the Ritz. We loved it so much we had dinner there 2 evenings during our 3 day stay. A must try. The salts for the table enhanced every item. My favorite was the salt block cooking a steak and lobster myself on the block. The chocolate truffles, Carmel candies and expresso martinis OMG!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.