Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown

3.8
72 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Salsa a la Salsa Uptown is a casual restaurant that specializes in both traditional and contemporary Mexican cuisines. It is also popular for its exotic range of margaritas. The interior of the restaurant features several traditional Mexican art pieces and handcrafted accessories. The restaurant's atmosphere is warm and family-friendly. Outdoor seating is also available at Salsa a la Salsa.

Begin the meal with burritos available with several filler options including shredded beef, grilled steak, chicken, chorizo, fish and fresh vegetables. Try a taco dish served with Spanish rice and choice of beans. Next, enjoy a chimichanga. This is a deep fried burrito filled with beans, rice, corn salsa, onions, ranchero sauce and topped with melted cheese. For the main course, pick from options like Chile Relleno topped with ranchero sauce and salmon tatemado with tomatillo sauce. The enchilada is also a recommended dish at Salsa a la Salsa.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday through Thursday: 11:30am-10pm
Friday: 11:30am-11pm (kitchen) 1am (bar)
Saturday: 10am- 11pm (kitchen) 1am (bar)
Sunday: 10am- 10pm

Happy Hour: 3-6pm daily
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 455-6688
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Salsa a la Salsa is where Southern Hospitality and Minnesota Nice blend to create a warm atmosphere and wonderful food. In our from-scratch kitchen we hold true to old Southern cooking while embracing modern inspirations.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sales Manager: (612) 462-4194
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hennepin and Lagoon
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private lot available
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Uptown Transit Station is next door!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 72 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on July 9, 2016

Good service, food, and drinks. For some reason, there was hardly anyone there on a Saturday night. It seems like a pretty good place to go get some food and drinks. It's a little expensive so maybe that is what's keeping people away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent margaritas, on a pleasant patio and very tasty food. Some of the best Mexican food in Minneapolis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

I have my 30th Birthday Dinner there and they were so accommodating and everyone that worked there was extremely nice and made the party that much better! They were there whenever we needed them! I had about 20 people there and we all fit no problem! We didn't feel crowded at all! I can't wait to go there again! I am so appreciative of them and it was the best birthday thus far!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, uncrowded and great outdoor seating. Plus, a fantastic deal for lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2016

Okay guac, but not fantastic. Tacos and margaritas were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2016

I was coming from Florida to spend time with my boyfriend & he mentioned this restaurant, I right took his word & decided to come with him to enjoy some delicious food . The food there is amazing , the portion provided was perfect & the setting of the area was relaxing and very artsy in my opinion . Customer service was amazing , had multiple different associates coming to our table to refil our drinks , clean up empty plates , bring us nachos & more . Very respectful & helpful with ordering your food & describing the menu for someone's who unsure .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been here a few times, always enjoyed whatever I've ordered. My favorite is the chimichanga. The drinks are all fabulous.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2016

This is one of my new favorites for a really good margarita, good food and a place in Uptown where it's easy to park. The service has been inconsistent - sometimes very good and sometimes inattentive. There is a large outdoor dining area which is great. The food is good - but the real draw for me - is the margarita. I will go anywhere for a fresh, simply made margarita with great tequila. So..... I'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Great happy hour and/or dinner spot. Love the free chips and salsa.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2016

It was Cinco de Mayo so I understand that it would be busy however our server was very inattentive, the menu was extremely limited, and the wait for the food was very long. I could stand for wait had the server attended more to us (I.E fill our drinks, check in, get our order correct).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2016

I went with four other friends to Salsa a la Salsa on Cinco de Mayo. We had a reservation but still waited upwards of 20 minutes to be seated. We were all extremely hungry, so we ordered food and drinks as soon as our server came to our table (which was probably 10 minutes after we actually got seated). The server returned a total of two times to get us more rounds. Over an hour and a half passed and we still didn't have our food. When our server finally came back, we asked about how much longer our food would be, to which he replied that he forgot to put it in. He didn't even apologize. So we went to Uptown specifically to eat at this restaurant and didn't get any food. It was overall a poor experience just because we were so hungry when we came and we left just as hungry. The drinks were good though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Made reservations but wasn't seated until 30-40 minutes later. There were many parties that were complaining about having to wait even though they had a reservation. I understood that it was busy, but isn't that the point for reservations? Not to mention that when i made the reservations, their website never said anything about a limited/special menu. Brought friends there for the first time and they only had 5 options to choose from. We probably won't come back to this place- just not worth the wait or price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was good. Service was good. We would like to visit again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Good night out with group of friends. Food was hot and tasty. Service was very fast. Me and my friend really enjoy our meal and a few drinks afterwards

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2016

The Midtown location has much better food / service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2016

I've been to Salsa a la Salsa a few times prior to celebrating my birthday and have had great experiences. This time we were not so lucky. The biggest complaint I have is the service. I had a group of ten and as friends arrived I sent them to the bar to get their beverages because our server would disappear for long periods of time. I understand that our server had another large group, however, this is something he needs to bring to the managers attention and ask for help. Even after the other large party had left and the restaurant was basically empty we found ourselves waiting for our server to show up. It came to the point where guests in my party didn't want to tip him but we all did.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2016

First, I want to say that I reached out to the restaurant directly in hopes that I could avoid writing this review. I truly did want to share my concerns directly, but here goes.

We sat outside. It was very busy, and there appeared to be only 2 wait staff. Our first round of margaritas was truly delicious, and both of us commented on how great they were. Then we ordered another round, and these were truly the nastiest drinks we had ever tasted. We flagged down a busser to find the server. The drinks were remade, and were equally nasty--they did not taste anything like margaritas. The table next to us also sent their drinks back.

When the food finally arrived, it was cold. I had a chile relleno as part of my platter, and the cheese was literally hard inside. The enchilada was cold to the touch. We never saw the wait staff again, except when he hushed by to drop off the bill.

It's just terribly unfortunate that such a prime spot in Uptown would be so disappointing, but we will not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2016

We had an awesome night enjoying their happy hour menu on the patio! Our food and drinks were delicious and our server was fantastic! Looking forward to another visit :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2016

I have visited many times. Service is prompt and friendly, ambience is relaxed and fun, and price points represent good value.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a group of 9 people. Had one waitress that was super at he beginning when we arrived and she asked up what we could like to drink and appetizer . She was great . We were waiting for two other people to arrive to order our dinner. By that time out waitress had changed. She took an long time to appear and our other two people had been sitting for more than 10 mins. and not drinks where offered or chips. I had to call her down from other side of dinning room to get her attention. Finally came took every ones order. All food came out mine was the last which was ok. I order the chicken ko ro ro . The chicken was great but the tortillas were cold. The waitress never came by to ask if we needed anything else and was no where to be found . The food over all was good. The place was nice and clean.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Portions weren't huge! Food was good! Loved the cocktails and atmosphere!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was slow and then not very good. Salad was small and expensive. Guac wasn't very tasty and cost like $9 for about a cup. I didn't get my sides until I was almost done eating. The margarita was good. The waitress tried.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food and reasonable prices. Happy hour is worthwhile. Good service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a reservation but had to wait at least 5 - 7 min. for a table to be cleaned up for us even though there were plenty of open spots. Our waitress was super sweet and attentive at first, but we could not get her back to order another cocktail. Finally we flagged down another server and she found our waitress and told her. All in all, I liked the restaurant, but was a bit disappointed given the fact it did not look terribly busy. Perhaps they were short staffed?

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was very poor quality. I would of rather eat at Taco Bell...Seriously!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2016

Went here for a pre-Valentines day dinner with my gal and really was impressed, we ended up getting a few appetizers and sides and a desert. The portions were so good we never had a main course. The value was excellent and also the beer list was fantastic with a bunch of local choices, including Brau Bros, which is not always easy to find. To top it off our server was excellent. She made great recommendations and stopped over just the right amount of times to offer great service without being intrusive . She even came out to the frozen parking lot when she thought my gal had dropped a scarf, but it was actually the table next to ours. Her service really set this place apart from others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2016

Our Server was Sam. She was excellent! Attentive to our needs, efficient and friendly. The food was great and Sam was the icing on the top!! Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2015

Good service and food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2015

Spending the evening in Uptown?? Start out at Salsa a la Salsa!!! Its location is perfect as you work your way "upwards." The margaritas at Salsa a la Salsa are delicious and refreshing! Per my request, the bartender squeezed an abundance of lemon and lime juice and then topped it off with Grand Marnier before shaking it out and pouring it into that wonderful salty rimmed glass. I spent this early evening meetup with a couple of colleagues, who also enjoyed their margaritas (see the theme here??). We shared bowl after bowl of yummy tortilla chips with Salsa a la Salsa's signature "salsa" and guacamole. No one really wanted to leave, as we were having a delightful time getting caught up and talking about the coming holidays and the year ahead. As we had parked in Salsa a la Salsa's customer lot, we walked to Calhoun Square to finish up our shopping - hence, a PERFECT location for starting one's Uptown experience! Enjoy! SALUD!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 18, 2015

I chose Salsa a la Salsa for my best friend's birthday party and welcome home celebration. We planned for a party of 11, but 9 showed up. Everyone was very happy with their food and drink selections, including the birthday girl. The staff got a little confused on a couple drink orders and didn't understand when I said that the birthday girl's order was to be included with my order. However, it was easily sorted, which was much appreciated. I will definitely visit Salsa a la Salsa again the next time I am in Minneapolis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2015

My first visit to any Salsa a la Salsa location. Hubby and I came for the lunch special- an appetizer and an entree each. We both ate so much food, and the tab came out to about $20 for us both. Chips and salsa when we sat down were free- nice. Service was excellent. It was quiet as it was a weekday at lunch time, so I cannot say what it would be like for dinner. Food was flavorful and came out quickly. Would definitely go back for their great lunch deal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2015

Great location, food, value and service. I had the $8 lunch special early afternoon on a Tuesday. Why this restaurant was not jammed with diners is beyond me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2015

We held our book club here this month and it worked great. They were able to accommodate the variety of food allergies and are wheelchair accessible which are both important to our group. Service was excellent and the food great. We will go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2015

Nothing bad here, just didn't wow me at all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2015

I found the service to be too slow, and that they charge you extra for chips and salsa is terrible. They give you a small handful for a table of four and then have the audacity to charge for another small basket.

The restaurant was way too loud. Could hardly have a conversation with anyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2015

Good atmosphere for a group setting. Delicious food but was a little pricey.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 22, 2015

Highly disappointed in this experience, had to beg for more water and up charge for more salsa, when they give you a tiny little bowl for the group

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 16, 2015

Till this eve we loved salsa and recommended it this time was bad it took a long time to be served our server was sweet the guy who brought our food was flippant and rude we have had him as a server and it was the same
The enchiladas were rock hard reheated obviously

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 2, 2015

Our visit to Salsa a la Salsa Uptown was very disappointing. We were seated at the time of our reservation. However, after 15 minutes we had to ask our hostess when we could expect service. After waiting 20 minutes our server came to take our order. Not once were we asked if we wanted another beverage or water. The food was not worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2015

Best Mexican in Uptown! Margaritas and basically anything on the menu are delish - daily specials, enchiladas, salads, fajitas, etc.!

Report
Helpful
1
2