Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Urban EateryUrban Eatery
(870)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 6 times today
CRAVE - GalleriaCRAVE - Galleria
(2270)
$$$$
American | Edina, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 23 times today
CRAVE - Mall of AmericaCRAVE - Mall of America
(1828)
$$$$
American | Bloomington, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 27 times today
CRAVE - West EndCRAVE - West End
(2239)
$$$$
American | St. Louis Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 22 times today
BLVD. Kitchen & BarBLVD. Kitchen & Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
CRAVE - LaSalle PlazaCRAVE - LaSalle Plaza
(2114)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 35 times today
Union Bar & GrillUnion Bar & Grill
(58)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 8 times today
UNION RooftopUNION Rooftop
(1546)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 23 times today
CRAVE - WoodburyCRAVE - Woodbury
(255)
$$$$
American | Woodbury, Twin Cities / Eastern Suburbs
Booked 20 times today
AvenidaAvenida
(212)
$$$$
Mexican | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 2 times today
CRAVE Eden PrairieCRAVE Eden Prairie
(26)
$$$$
American | Eden Prairie, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 38 times today
Lake & IrvingLake & Irving
(287)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 10 times today
BarbetteBarbette
(561)
$$$$
French | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 10 times today
LibertineLibertine
(400)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 17 times today
Lucia's Restaurant and Wine BarLucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar
(449)
$$$$
French American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 16 times today

About Permanently Closed - Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown

2841 Hennepin Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Salsa A La Salsa recipes come from the central part of Mexico, and have been in in the Salsa A La Salsa family for generations. Salsa A La Salsa uses the freshest and most traditional ingredients, from meat, chicken, and seafood, to vegetarian and gluten free, the Salsa A La Salsa menu features a wide variety of items that are sure to satisfy all tastes and dietary needs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 11:30am-10pm
Friday: 11:30am-11pm (kitchen) 1am (bar)
Saturday: 10am- 11pm (kitchen) 1am (bar)
Sunday: 10am- 10pm

Happy Hour: 3-6pm daily

Cross Street:
Hennepin and Lagoon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6688

Website:
http://salsauptown.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Public Transit:
Uptown Transit Station is next door!

Private Party Facilities:
Salsa a la Salsa is where Southern Hospitality and Minnesota Nice blend to create a warm atmosphere and wonderful food. In our from-scratch kitchen we hold true to old Southern cooking while embracing modern inspirations.

Private Party Contact:
Sales Manager: 6124624194x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN
Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown, Minneapolis, MN

Salsa a la Salsa - Uptown - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
100% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service, food, and drinks. For some ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good service, food, and drinks. For some reason, there was hardly anyone there on a Saturday night. It seems like a pretty good place to go get some food and drinks. It's a little expensive so maybe that is what's keeping people away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent margaritas, on a pleasant pati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent margaritas, on a pleasant patio and very tasty food. Some of the best Mexican food in Minneapolis.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I have my 30th Birthday Dinner there an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have my 30th Birthday Dinner there and they were so accommodating and everyone that worked there was extremely nice and made the party that much better! They were there whenever we needed them! I had about 20 people there and we all fit no problem! We didn't feel crowded at all! I can't wait to go there again! I am so appreciative of them and it was the best birthday thus far!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, uncrowded and great ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, uncrowded and great outdoor seating. Plus, a fantastic deal for lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Okay guac, but not fantastic. Tacos and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Okay guac, but not fantastic. Tacos and margaritas were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing !

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was coming from Florida to spend time with my boyfriend & he mentioned this restaurant, I right took his word & decided to come with him to enjoy some delicious food . The food there is amazing , the portion provided was perfect & the setting of the area was relaxing and very artsy in my opinion . Customer service was amazing , had multiple different associates coming to our table to refil our drinks , clean up empty plates , bring us nachos & more . Very respectful & helpful with ordering your food & describing the menu for someone's who unsure .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chimichanga

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been here a few times, always enjoyed whatever I've ordered. My favorite is the chimichanga. The drinks are all fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my new favorites for a re ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is one of my new favorites for a really good margarita, good food and a place in Uptown where it's easy to park. The service has been inconsistent - sometimes very good and sometimes inattentive. There is a large outdoor dining area which is great. The food is good - but the real draw for me - is the margarita. I will go anywhere for a fresh, simply made margarita with great tequila. So..... I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

On point

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great happy hour and/or dinner spot. Love the free chips and salsa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinco de Mayo experience

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

I went with four other friends to Salsa a la Salsa on Cinco de Mayo. We had a reservation but still waited upwards of 20 minutes to be seated. We were all extremely hungry, so we ordered food and drinks as soon as our server came to our table (which was probably 10 minutes after we actually got seated). The server returned a total of two times to get us more rounds. Over an hour and a half passed and we still didn't have our food. When our server finally came back, we asked about how much longer our food would be, to which he replied that he forgot to put it in. He didn't even apologize. So we went to Uptown specifically to eat at this restaurant and didn't get any food. It was overall a poor experience just because we were so hungry when we came and we left just as hungry. The drinks were good though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

I normally love going to Salsa a la Salsa but...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

It was Cinco de Mayo so I understand that it would be busy however our server was very inattentive, the menu was extremely limited, and the wait for the food was very long. I could stand for wait had the server attended more to us (I.E fill our drinks, check in, get our order correct).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not prepared for Cinco de Mayo rush

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Made reservations but wasn't seated until 30-40 minutes later. There were many parties that were complaining about having to wait even though they had a reservation. I understood that it was busy, but isn't that the point for reservations? Not to mention that when i made the reservations, their website never said anything about a limited/special menu. Brought friends there for the first time and they only had 5 options to choose from. We probably won't come back to this place- just not worth the wait or price.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was good. Service was good. We wo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was good. Service was good. We would like to visit again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good night out with group of friends

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Good night out with group of friends. Food was hot and tasty. Service was very fast. Me and my friend really enjoy our meal and a few drinks afterwards

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Midtown location has much better foo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2016

The Midtown location has much better food / service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointed

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been to Salsa a la Salsa a few times prior to celebrating my birthday and have had great experiences. This time we were not so lucky. The biggest complaint I have is the service. I had a group of ten and as friends arrived I sent them to the bar to get their beverages because our server would disappear for long periods of time. I understand that our server had another large group, however, this is something he needs to bring to the managers attention and ask for help. Even after the other large party had left and the restaurant was basically empty we found ourselves waiting for our server to show up. It came to the point where guests in my party didn't want to tip him but we all did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Huge disappointment

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2016

First, I want to say that I reached out to the restaurant directly in hopes that I could avoid writing this review. I truly did want to share my concerns directly, but here goes.

We sat outside. It was very busy, and there appeared to be only 2 wait staff. Our first round of margaritas was truly delicious, and both of us commented on how great they were. Then we ordered another round, and these were truly the nastiest drinks we had ever tasted. We flagged down a busser to find the server. The drinks were remade, and were equally nasty--they did not taste anything like margaritas. The table next to us also sent their drinks back.

When the food finally arrived, it was cold. I had a chile relleno as part of my platter, and the cheese was literally hard inside. The enchilada was cold to the touch. We never saw the wait staff again, except when he hushed by to drop off the bill.

It's just terribly unfortunate that such a prime spot in Uptown would be so disappointing, but we will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had an awesome night enjoying their h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2016

We had an awesome night enjoying their happy hour menu on the patio! Our food and drinks were delicious and our server was fantastic! Looking forward to another visit :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Satisfied Customer

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2016

I have visited many times. Service is prompt and friendly, ambience is relaxed and fun, and price points represent good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2016

We had a group of 9 people. Had one waitress that was super at he beginning when we arrived and she asked up what we could like to drink and appetizer . She was great . We were waiting for two other people to arrive to order our dinner. By that time out waitress had changed. She took an long time to appear and our other two people had been sitting for more than 10 mins. and not drinks where offered or chips. I had to call her down from other side of dinning room to get her attention. Finally came took every ones order. All food came out mine was the last which was ok. I order the chicken ko ro ro . The chicken was great but the tortillas were cold. The waitress never came by to ask if we needed anything else and was no where to be found . The food over all was good. The place was nice and clean.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Portions weren't huge! Food was good! Lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Portions weren't huge! Food was good! Loved the cocktails and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was slow and then not very good. Sa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was slow and then not very good. Salad was small and expensive. Guac wasn't very tasty and cost like $9 for about a cup. I didn't get my sides until I was almost done eating. The margarita was good. The waitress tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Good food and reasonable prices. Happy ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food and reasonable prices. Happy hour is worthwhile. Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food good, service meh

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a reservation but had to wait at least 5 - 7 min. for a table to be cleaned up for us even though there were plenty of open spots. Our waitress was super sweet and attentive at first, but we could not get her back to order another cocktail. Finally we flagged down another server and she found our waitress and told her. All in all, I liked the restaurant, but was a bit disappointed given the fact it did not look terribly busy. Perhaps they were short staffed?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

GMAN

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was very poor quality. I would of rather eat at Taco Bell...Seriously!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food, exceptional service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Went here for a pre-Valentines day dinner with my gal and really was impressed, we ended up getting a few appetizers and sides and a desert. The portions were so good we never had a main course. The value was excellent and also the beer list was fantastic with a bunch of local choices, including Brau Bros, which is not always easy to find. To top it off our server was excellent. She made great recommendations and stopped over just the right amount of times to offer great service without being intrusive . She even came out to the frozen parking lot when she thought my gal had dropped a scarf, but it was actually the table next to ours. Her service really set this place apart from others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Our Server was Sam. She was excellent! Attentive to our needs, efficient and friendly. The food was great and Sam was the icing on the top!! Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kickstart your Uptown experience!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2015

Spending the evening in Uptown?? Start out at Salsa a la Salsa!!! Its location is perfect as you work your way "upwards." The margaritas at Salsa a la Salsa are delicious and refreshing! Per my request, the bartender squeezed an abundance of lemon and lime juice and then topped it off with Grand Marnier before shaking it out and pouring it into that wonderful salty rimmed glass. I spent this early evening meetup with a couple of colleagues, who also enjoyed their margaritas (see the theme here??). We shared bowl after bowl of yummy tortilla chips with Salsa a la Salsa's signature "salsa" and guacamole. No one really wanted to leave, as we were having a delightful time getting caught up and talking about the coming holidays and the year ahead. As we had parked in Salsa a la Salsa's customer lot, we walked to Calhoun Square to finish up our shopping - hence, a PERFECT location for starting one's Uptown experience! Enjoy! SALUD!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a blast!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2015

I chose Salsa a la Salsa for my best friend's birthday party and welcome home celebration. We planned for a party of 11, but 9 showed up. Everyone was very happy with their food and drink selections, including the birthday girl. The staff got a little confused on a couple drink orders and didn't understand when I said that the birthday girl's order was to be included with my order. However, it was easily sorted, which was much appreciated. I will definitely visit Salsa a la Salsa again the next time I am in Minneapolis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lunch deal

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2015

My first visit to any Salsa a la Salsa location. Hubby and I came for the lunch special- an appetizer and an entree each. We both ate so much food, and the tab came out to about $20 for us both. Chips and salsa when we sat down were free- nice. Service was excellent. It was quiet as it was a weekday at lunch time, so I cannot say what it would be like for dinner. Food was flavorful and came out quickly. Would definitely go back for their great lunch deal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location, food, value and service. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Great location, food, value and service. I had the $8 lunch special early afternoon on a Tuesday. Why this restaurant was not jammed with diners is beyond me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salsa a la salsa

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2015

We held our book club here this month and it worked great. They were able to accommodate the variety of food allergies and are wheelchair accessible which are both important to our group. Service was excellent and the food great. We will go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing bad here, just didn't wow me at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2015

Nothing bad here, just didn't wow me at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Too Loud

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I found the service to be too slow, and that they charge you extra for chips and salsa is terrible. They give you a small handful for a table of four and then have the audacity to charge for another small basket.

The restaurant was way too loud. Could hardly have a conversation with anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good for groups and guacamoles!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Good atmosphere for a group setting. Delicious food but was a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Up charge for salsa?

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Highly disappointed in this experience, had to beg for more water and up charge for more salsa, when they give you a tiny little bowl for the group

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Salsa

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Till this eve we loved salsa and recommended it this time was bad it took a long time to be served our server was sweet the guy who brought our food was flippant and rude we have had him as a server and it was the same

The enchiladas were rock hard reheated obviously
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Our visit to Salsa a la Salsa Uptown was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Our visit to Salsa a la Salsa Uptown was very disappointing. We were seated at the time of our reservation. However, after 15 minutes we had to ask our hostess when we could expect service. After waiting 20 minutes our server came to take our order. Not once were we asked if we wanted another beverage or water. The food was not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Best Mexican in Uptown! Margaritas and ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Best Mexican in Uptown! Margaritas and basically anything on the menu are delish - daily specials, enchiladas, salads, fajitas, etc.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service is consistently spectacular.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2015

My only disappointment is their discontinuance of flan. Great Mexican meals must finish with flan for me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.