About Sal's by Victor

1242 Richmond Rd
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Sal’s by Victor is a family run restaurant specialized in both southern and northern Italian cuisine. We’ve been serving Williamsburg and the surrounding areas since 1974 and for the past 25 year we are using the best quality and natural ingredients.

Chef Vittorio Minichiello (Victor) was raised on a farm in Mirabella Eclano, in the Avellino region of Italy. He studied food arts at the Culinary Institute of Summonte Italia and has worked in some of the finest eateries in Europe, including La Cheminee in Paris, Giardino da Bruno in Rimini and Partenio in Naples. Today, he is a member of the Italian Chef’s Association and brings his world-class expertise to Williamsburg.

Our Most Famous Dish is “Cavatoni alla Capri” together with our famous “New York Style Pizza”. We have been voted as the Virginia Gazette’s “Best in Williamsburg” for Best Italian Restaurant since 1996.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Monticello Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 220-2641

Website:
http://www.salsbyvictor.com/

Catering:
For an informal catering we offer a "Family Feast". Each family meal serves 5 people and comes with an entrée, garden salad and two loaves of Italian bread (check our web site for the entree available and price).

We also offer full catering service with tailor-made menu based on the budget and specific need of the guest.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located inside the Williamsburg Shopping Center, so the parking is available.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop close in front of the shopping center.

Executive Chef:
Victor Minichiello

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

THEY ARE NO LONGER ON OPEN TABLE

vip
Dined on April 17, 2014

and therefore didn't have any of our reserations (we were there w/ 3 families who booked on open table)

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed dining at Sal's by

Dined on February 23, 2014

Enjoyed dining at Sal's by Victor. Wait staff was excellent. Pizza was the best. Loved it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Was in town for soccer tournament

Dined on February 22, 2014

Was in town for soccer tournament had a group of 8 and was seated immediately upon arrive. Food was very good and everyone seemed to enjoy the selection. Due to weather our game time and reservations changed a few times and open table reserve on line was great to quickly revise plans.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

T&C in Williamsburg

Dined on February 18, 2014

Great place to eat. We enjoyed the food and service was very quick.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Entre are heavy on the pasta.

Dined on February 16, 2014

Entre are heavy on the pasta. I had the shrimp marinara and it could have been a bit richer with maybe a little more zest. It was still good. On a Sunday dinner I would recommend reservations as this place was packed after 6PM.

food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our waitress, she

Dined on February 8, 2014

We loved our waitress, she had such a great sense of humor!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Neighborhood Italian Restaura

Dined on January 31, 2014

We had calamari and pizza. I love their calamari since they do not serve the tentacles which I don't like. The breading is light and the sauce is very tasty. The pizza is some of the best in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting from Holly Springs NC

Dined on January 19, 2014

Great meal! I would definitely bring by family back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Italian, family style place

Dined on January 17, 2014

A Williamsburg locals place that serves authentic, family style Italian food... Great wine list with many hidden gems as well as great house wines! Fantastic garlic bread knots, great salads, and tasty pizza.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Experience

Dined on January 11, 2014

I had reservations for a party of 15 on a Saturday night for my birthday. However, several people showed up who had not RSVPed; we ended up with group of 20. The waitress was pretty unhelpful, but then a manager (I'm guessing) came over and solved everything. She sat my friends who did not fit at the table at a very nearby table until the people next to us left so that we could move another table onto the end of ours. The manager was very pleasant. I felt bad that things were a little chaotic, but she told us to just relax and enjoy our party. After the seating was figured out, everything else went smoothly. The food was excellent. All my guests are still raving about my restaurant choice and how perfect it was for the whole group.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Pizza

Dined on January 4, 2014

This is an exceptional family-style Italian restaurant/pizzeria. I feel the pizza is the best in Williamsburg of those we have tried so far. The wine list is quite extensive for such a restaurant. Finally, they are located less than 10 minutes from the Regal New Town Cinemas 12.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

Good Italian Fare

Dined on January 1, 2014

Sal's by Victor was a surprise to us. We were looking for a romantic place for New Year's Eve, but Sal's by Victor was more family-friendly than romantic. The food was fine and our server was attentive. We would go again, but know ing what to expect next time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

great!

Dined on December 31, 2013

Food was wonderful and wait staff was awesome. Went there for our anniversary dinner and the waiter took our picture and also brought us out a dessert. Very sweet !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Italian Food

Dined on December 31, 2013

We were very happy to see our favorite restaurant in Williamsburg to be included in Open Table. We have been dining at Sal's since the late 70's while visiting Williamsburg and now that we live here we are there all of the time. The food is as authentic Italian that you will find and the ingredients are always fresh. The service is always great with the same staff for many years and the value that you get here is great. The wine selection is very extensive for an casual dining restaurant with some very good value priced wines as well. Be sure to ask about the daily specials and any special events that are being planned. All in all one of Williamsburg's finest for lunch or dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Local Place

Dined on December 29, 2013

Sals was what we expected. Busy, good food and friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sal's = Awesome!

Dined on December 8, 2013

Sal's has always been one of our favorites. Whether it be a function or dining with someone you care about - the food is extraordinary, the wine is superb and the service is without equal. Glad to see it is on Open Table.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2

great food victimized

vip
Dined on November 29, 2013

probably one of the best authentic italian meals around...especially in this part of the USA. Stuffed rigatoni, pizza, caprese, meatballs, everything was just AWESOME! Priced fantastically! it just took us 45 minutes of waiting to get the meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Surprise

Dined on November 22, 2013

Strip mall location , but seems to have grown over the years to encompass multiple rooms. This is a large restaurant. Staff was friendly and efficient. Atmosphere was informal, and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

Amazing food in a strip mall

vip
Dined on November 3, 2013

Amazing food in a strip mall with cute older Italian gentleman making sure you food is great! Going back tonight!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

A surprising find

Dined on October 20, 2013

We found it almost by accident. It is tucked in behind a part of the mall, so that you need to know it is there to find it. We knew it was there because we found it on Open Table. When we walked in, we were faced we a small dining room, but when we were led to our table, it was in a deep and large room. The food was authentically Italian and very good.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.