About Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort

480 South Collier Blvd
Marco Island, FL 34145
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Sale e Pepe® dining room offers gourmet Italian cuisine and authentic ambiance that are simply sublime. The dining experience transports you to romantic Italy with surroundings of aged stone, marble floors, arabesque walls and hand-painted frescoes. Chef Giuliano Matarese and his culinary team create, from scratch daily, a menu straight from his Southern Italian homeland, and pair it with wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Daily: Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 393-1600

Website:
http://www.sale-e-pepe.com/

Catering:
Parties up to 150 people.

Parking Details:
Valet parking only.

Executive Chef:
Giuliano Matarese

Private Party Facilities:
Chef Special Menu paired by wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Private Party Contact:
Ivo Nedelchev: (239) 393-1610

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (29)
Scenic View (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was thoroughly disappointed with all f ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I was thoroughly disappointed with all facets of my experience. The service was subpar at best. The meal was no better than average. The only selling point was the view. I won't be going back nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Menu is being revised and available dish ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Menu is being revised and available dishes do not match paper menu. This means you must make your selections mentally from server's descriptions. Not easy with a complex menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful view very nice "happy hour" it ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful view very nice "happy hour" items

Excellent service and pasta . This was an excellent choice for our friend's birthday! We will return

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Things have changed at (what used to be) ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Things have changed at (what used to be) our favorite restaurant. We have been regulars at this restaurant for the last five years or so. The food has always been absolutely delicious. In fact, we visit Italy quite often and I would say this place serves dishes to challenge some of the best meals we've had in Italy. On top of that, the table service was always impeccable....until this fall. There was a major shakeup in the management and the entire wait staff has changed. The food is still great-if you don't mind devoting two hours to a salad and plate of pasta. The service is horrible and very slow. We've been four times since the fall and have yet to have even a half decent experience. With the amount of money you pay for this "experience" (A LOT), things really need to improve. My advice? Bring back the old management team because they really understood the fine dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

A very bad experience!! Couldn't eat ou ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A very bad experience!! Couldn't eat outside because of the bugs. Moved in and service was poor although they were not busy. Waited 1 1/2 hours for dinner! Served sherbet but no spoons! Waiter tried but problem must have been in the kitchen. Will probably not return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We spend 3 months a year near Marco Isla ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We spend 3 months a year near Marco Island and always make it a point to have dinner at least 3-4 times while we're here. Great food and always something different to try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a table outside and was plac ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

I asked for a table outside and was placed inside near the bar (at 5:30 pm). They said they didn't have a table available outside, but there were 4 tables outside that no one sat at the entire time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The setting for this restaurant is breat ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

The setting for this restaurant is breathtaking. The food was outstanding. The servers also outstanding. I heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Naples Marco Island area

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the elegance of Sale e Pepe. The ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I love the elegance of Sale e Pepe. The marble columns and paintings transports one to Europe, especially France and Italy. I started at the bar, so that I could taste the best "Cosmopolitan" I have ever had, mixed by Marko. Then proceeded outside to dine beneath the stars. It was too dark to see the Gulf of Mexico, but the beach gleamed white in the full-moon light. The food was superb! I would even say it was one of the best meals I have ever had. The staff was friendly and efficient. Service was excellent. Overall, it was a magical evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and outstanding service ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding food and outstanding service. Pasta is a MUST!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Sale e Pepe many times. W ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

I have been to Sale e Pepe many times. With mixed results over the years. We'd love to love it because of the atmosphere. But the food is very inconsistent. Also they keep getting rid of the good old staff that people like. On this most recent occasion we went with another couple for our anniversary. The two ladies had the short ribs Bolognese which they both enjoyed very much. Both the men had different variations of a veal chop. I had the veal melanaise which came out with the breading sloughing off. My friend's was a special offering that was supposed to be served on a port wine reduction and he ordered it medium temperature. It came out very well done and with no sauce. I would have sent it back but he tried to eat it anyway and ultimately gave up and told the server. His meal was comped, but ultimately very disappointing.

It will be sometime before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was for the occasion of a SPECIAL b ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was for the occasion of a SPECIAL birthday for my wife. We had, as requested and outdoor table next to the Gulf. Our server, Teresa was exceptional. PERFECT evening and perfect food!

We will be back soon!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Why rush y ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service and food. Why rush your meal, the view here is one of the best on Marco Island. They give you your space to relax and enjoy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bar, service and atmosphere Love ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great bar, service and atmosphere

Loved the decor and food. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our evening was spoilt by very poor serv ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our evening was spoilt by very poor service at the table. Our choice of starters and main meals never arrived at the right time, our guests were left sitting with empty plates, whilst my husband never even got his main dish! A very disappointing and embarrassing evening which should not be the case considering the costs involved. The restaurant needs to train its staff to pay attention to detail and to listen to the requests of its patrons. I will not be recommending this restaurant to friends or family and would suggest that if they need to take in the delights of a Marco Island sunset, they just use the beach, it's free and God given!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent service and great menu.

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent service and great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was so bad for the prices ex ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was so bad for the prices expect so much better. Waitress was inexperienced and rude, this was a regular places for us. Probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We tried to have a cocktail and appetize ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We tried to have a cocktail and appetizers to share. Despite having a reservation and the terrace being completely empty, us saying we would leave by 6pm the just refused giving us one of the table on the edge of the terrace overlooking the ocean front. By the time we left more than half of the tables that were allegedly booked from 5pm were still empty.

The appetizers we were recommended for sharing were really expensive ($20) and not even enough for two people to share. One plate of parmigiano e prosciutto had exactly one half of a slice of prosciutto on it!

Overall very disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

One of my favorite restaurants in the wo ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years dinner

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were the only table seated, sun was d ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were the only table seated, sun was directly in our eyes and we had to raise a huge fuss to get reseated. No apologies, no accommodation, really disappointing given the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food and service was outstanding. Th ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. The atmosphere is amazing and even though there was a wedding going on right next to us it was a great experience. We love coming here every time we vacation in Marco Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Tiramisu I've ever had worldwide!

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best Tiramisu I've ever had worldwide!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I arrived at the restaurant ahead of tim ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

I arrived at the restaurant ahead of time and introduced myself and pointed that I am from Open table. In the middle of the dinner I got notification that my reservation was cancelled. I guess the hostess was spaced out and did not post my arrival . I am expecting a points credit.

The restaurant never fixed the problem. But the manager offered a free drink .

I would like this problem to be fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sale e Pepe experience what not what I e ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Sale e Pepe experience what not what I expected! I joked with my son that the first time our waitress said "welcome to your Sale e Pepe experience" that we would hear this at least 3 more times but little did I know that this time the experience was different. Apparently our waitress had too many tables to chase and her appearances were few and far between. On top of that, my wife ordered the Branzino fish and she said it was completely different from last times she had ordered and definitely not as good. I ordered a desert along with some others at our table that were delivered by runners, mine never came but when I was ultimately able to flag her down I just wanted to get the check and end our "experience" as we had been there for ages. She apologized and I don't blame her as she was hustling but definitely not impressed with the lack of restaurant support. Sale e Pepe's was a must on our visits to Marco and now it's a maybe. I'm hoping for better next time if there is a next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was delicious but service wasn't gr ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was delicious but service wasn't great. Our waitress never even checked on us after serving the main course. We wish we would have passed on this experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We have been dining here for years and l ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been dining here for years and love introducing new people as we did again Tuesday evening. As with all of our guests they then become frequent customers as well.

Thank you for another lovely evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a spectacular family dinner duri ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed a spectacular family dinner during our Christmas vacation. Food was amazing, service was outstanding, and outside dining under the stars was breathtaking. Fantastic evening!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really nice service

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really nice service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and table service were very goo ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food and table service were very good to excellent. The hostess service was not so good. We were first told our table would be ready at our appointed time and they would come and get us. 15 minutes after the appointed time I inquired and was told it would be ready shortly only to wait another 15 minutes with no one coming to get us. Up to this point I accepted the delay without complaint given it was a holiday but I began to question more what was going to happen and when. After a few more minutes and some insistence we were seated. On entry to the dinning room I was unpleasantly surprised to see multiple tables that were not bused. The hostess had no sense of urgency if she had she would not have waited for a report that a table was available she would have gone back to have someone bus the table or god forbid bussed it herself. Finally we were perhaps the last table seated for the night so it was not that we were among a whole crowd waiting for tables to open up. We were just a party of three trying to have a Christmas dinner at a restaurant that seems to be a little to sold on itself.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Most delicious Christmas dinner ever!!!! ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Most delicious Christmas dinner ever!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a bit of a disappointment for u ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was a bit of a disappointment for us on Christmas Day. With the build up their website made about the cuisine and reputation, we had hoped their Sunday breakfast service would reflect the hype. This was typical "hotel" food with the omelette station being the highlight of the buffet. Waffles were dried out and I wonder if they were made in house. The rest of the buffet was pretty standard and offered little excitement. Again, nothing like the advertising suggests. The terrace view is nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Christmas was awesome! The best dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas was awesome! The best dinner ever! So tasty, each selection. Dessert to die for. Staff so nice and pleasing! We will be back. Can't wait!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breathtaking atmosphere, as if you are i ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Breathtaking atmosphere, as if you are in Italy with a view of the ocean. The dishes are so tasty and presentation is fabulous. The staff love to please and are very attentive and nice. We feel like family and keep coming back. Try the eggplant. Best ever!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A physically beautiful restaurant withou ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

A physically beautiful restaurant without any polish. There was a sense of urgency on the part of the Waiter to have us order. We had never been to Sale e Pepe before so we perused the menu perhaps longer than others might have. My husband had asked to see a wine listing. Without going into more details, it was evident that the Waiter was losing his patience and wanted us to order. We ordered our food and asked him to come back when we had chosen a wine.

The ordered wine never arrived supposedly because the last bottle was sold by another waiter right before us! The invisible Sommelier sent a similar wine, from a different country for our approval. And in an awkward exchange the waiter told us it would cost $5.00 more and did we want it? We agreed to purchase it. The Sommelier, if there was one, should have been the one to explain the situation.

The Waiter was intrusive. He was annoyed when he found out that I replied with a negative to a question about the food by his assistant. I told the truth. I was not impressed!.

Very expensive for such variable quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent service, excellent food, immac ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food, immaculate dining. We dined at night, so couldn't see the view, but it is on the water, so we are sure it would have been great. Stars were super. I highly recommend this for a special occasion, it is a 5 star restaurant and it does have 5 star prices. Valet parking included, all personnel were professional and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Minor issues but for a fine dining resta ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Minor issues but for a fine dining restaurants it's the details that count. Did not being the correct bottle of champagne ordered, did not bring the correct drink ordered, the dinner entree came after a long wait at barely room temperature and the check took a while. The valet attendant did not open and close doors upon departure Overall love the restaurant. We have been before and will go again but it's the small details that make a difference at a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

By far most beautiful restaurant in Marc ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

By far most beautiful restaurant in Marco Island. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico! Food and service outstanding. A bit pricy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not anything to really do with the food ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not anything to really do with the food and service we were seated in a area with very few people but a table that was next to us was so loud and unfortunately whether we liked it or not we had a listen to their conversation the whole evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.