About Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort

480 South Collier Blvd
Marco Island, FL 34145
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Sale e Pepe® dining room offers gourmet Italian cuisine and authentic ambiance that are simply sublime. The dining experience transports you to romantic Italy with surroundings of aged stone, marble floors, arabesque walls and hand-painted frescoes. Chef Giuliano Matarese and his culinary team create, from scratch daily, a menu straight from his Southern Italian homeland, and pair it with wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Daily: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 393-1600

Website:
http://www.sale-e-pepe.com/

Catering:
Parties up to 150 people.

Parking Details:
Valet parking only.

Executive Chef:
Giuliano Matarese

Private Party Facilities:
Chef Special Menu paired by wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Private Party Contact:
Ivo Nedelchev: 2393931610x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Father's Day with Sale e Pepe!

Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Notable Wine List
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
3 More
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
Italian
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Marco Island
Best Restaurants in Marco Island ›

scenic view (131)
great for outdoor dining (126)
special occasion (125)
See All
romantic (113)
fit for foodies (81)
notable wine list (62)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff made our evening a wonderful e ...

Dined 5 days ago

The staff made our evening a wonderful experience. From our first contact, we were asked about any food allergies or concerns. Our server made excellent recommendations on the menu. The food presentation and flavors were fantastic. The surprise anniversary wish was a special treat. We were made to feel welcome and important. We look forward to returning on our next trip to Marco Island.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Saw the reviews on Trip Advisor so we de ...

Dined 6 days ago

Saw the reviews on Trip Advisor so we decided to give it a try. We have been to much better restaurants for the prices they charge. This would not be a do over for us.

food3
ambience5
service5

I've dined there a few times & had excel ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I've dined there a few times & had excellent dinners & drinks but this time our apps where half cold. Mine was replaced immediately but my fiancee didn't say anything as he thought maybe there just having an off night but he paid for that thinking in the middle of the night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL RESTURANT! WE ARE LOCA ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL RESTURANT! WE ARE LOCALS THAT LOVE FINE DINNING! WE HOPE TO BE BACK SOON!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were in Marco Island I wanted a special night for my wife's birthday and they did not disappoint. The view from where we were dining of the sunset was beautiful. The food was amazing and the service was nothing short of outstanding. A must see if you are on Marco.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food service and view!!!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Always great food service and view!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and service was g ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was delicious and service was great. Unfortunately there was a private party outside and we didn't get to go or sit outside. Overall would recommend. Reminded us of a good New Jersey Italian restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice but...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Beautiful setting, good food but not outstanding, they need to control families with misbehaving children and get better music. Marco Island seems to have blaring music every where, not sure what the deal is. Guess that's what all the Yankees like, lol

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

dining with sunsets

Dined on April 26, 2016

A great place for delicious food in a wonderful setting. The sunset can be spectacular and the service prompt and enjoyable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Low quality food

Dined on April 25, 2016

We ordered pasta with sausage on top. Pasta was uncooked and sausage was hard. Not tasty. Also my daughter ordered steak and it was too dry. Overall we pay too much money and we did not receive outstanding food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite of ours when visiting Marco I ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

A favorite of ours when visiting Marco Island. Love their fish dishes! Staff is very professional and service is top notch. Watching the sun set while dining there is such a nice experience.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Atmosphere

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a beautiful spot to dine. I wish we had looked at the menu in advance. We are not picky eaters but found it difficult to find a dish we really wanted (especially for an Italian restaurant). Many of the dishes had pork in them which I do not eat. Even when I thought I found a safe pasta dish I discovered it had tuna eggs in the dish. I ended up with the Chicken Marsala which was good and we shared an eggplant parm appetizer that was excellent (wish I could've had that as a meal). I like to have more choices so therefore would probably not return. The atmosphere and service was impeccable therefore we would absolutely recommend this restaurant to others but highly encourage them to peruse the menu first. This restaurant was a little pricey but not outrageous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great View. Good Food.

Dined on April 22, 2016

This restaurant had a great view and good food. We thought it was a bit pricey, but the service and view were obviously what you paid for. The food was good, but nothing to write home about.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location on the water

Dined on April 22, 2016

We were there for lunch, intrigued by their dinner menu and were a little disappointed in the selection on the lunch menu, not very Italian. The food was great though, we both had the lobster roll that was reasonably priced and had large pieces of lobster. The restaurant itself overlooks the Gulf and the gorgeous water, the place was very elegant. We will try dinner next time were are on Marco Island.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service, great view, wonderful f ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Awesome service, great view, wonderful food. A must for Marco visitors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

from the minute we arrived we knew we we ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

from the minute we arrived we knew we were in a special place on Marco Island. all was great from beginning to end

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic. Beautiful views of the su ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Very romantic. Beautiful views of the sunset, and the food was outstanding!!!!!!

food3
ambience5
service3

My wife's entre came out cold. My cod wa ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife's entre came out cold. My cod was to be prepared without potatoes and extra onion rings...did not happen. Vessy worked hard to make it right but overall not as good an experience as the Saturday before.

food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening

Dined on April 12, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful sunset evening with a tasty dinner served professionally. There was however a noisy private cocktail part adjacent with our dining area that fortunately ended early into our dinner. It still remains a wonderful memory of a great evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu included a wide selection and t ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The menu included a wide selection and the food was excellent. The service was truly memorable. Our server was extremely knowledgable and provided perfect recommendations for both the food and wine selections. And there is nothing like the view at sunset. It was a perfect Anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

good news and bad news

Dined on April 9, 2016

So the good news...it is a great location with a lovely vyiew of the sunsets and the food is very good. The bad news ? While the server was very friendly and attentive the food service was incredibly slow. The hostess who took our reservation call was cold, impersonal and on the edge of being downright surly. We came close to cancelling our reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

View is amazing, but food was mixed.....

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Some plates were pretty good, but then others were just so so....but luckily the view and the ambiance out weighed that

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was absolutely beautiful ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

The restaurant was absolutely beautiful with the most amazing sunset view! Service and food were very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great place

Dined on April 2, 2016

The first time that we have found Italian Food. We had fish, both dishes were very good. And the dessert - Tiramisu was - excellent!!! Will be back soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu and wonderful meal. Such a be ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great menu and wonderful meal. Such a beautiful setting, good wine list and attentive service. Our meals were delicious. The pasta course of Spaghetti with Manila clams was particularly outstanding.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Service was excellent...food was just ok ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was excellent...food was just ok. Very small portions . Very hard to understand the waiter...most have very thick accents...the view is excellent...

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We just had our first truly fantastic meal on Marco Island. Although this restaurant is expensive, the food is delicious and the service is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and night

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great meal and night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect! That's all I have to say.

Dined on March 29, 2016

From the moment we walk in, it was a perfect experience. Great service and great food. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful romantic setting. Great servi ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Beautiful romantic setting. Great service and attention. Food was good. Found pasta dish that daughter had much better than the fish of the day which was pricy and "average not great. Nice desserts.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great place to go to ge ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Amazing food and great place to go to get out of Naples for the night

food5
ambience4
service3

A pretentious place, but the food was ex ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

A pretentious place, but the food was excellent. They were of no help when my daughter had an allergic reaction to something in the food, but if you don't have any allergies and want some pomp and circumstance, you might enjoy it! Very expensive, but also high quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FRIENDLY WAY

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had reserved 3 weeks before the Easter brunch and I had requested a place for 6 peoples on the terrace . I had done my reservation immediately at the advertisement of the menu for Easter brunch but it was not possible for the TERRACE, 3 WEEKS BEFORE THE EASTER. I had a reservation anywhere in the dinning room without sight of the Gulf . They took my reservation without considering my option.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Overwhelmed staff struggled to serve

Dined on March 26, 2016

Disappointing experience when compared to earlier visits. We spent much of our time searching for our servers, menu was very small and specials were non existent. Our server told us they may announce specials later in the evening? Our reservation was for 7:00! We had 2 great dining experiences here months earlier when they were not as busy as they were this week. Lesson learned!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Can improve value

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our third fourth dinner at S&P, the previous three were two years ago. The setting, decor, and service are excellent. The wine list offers a wide variety and range of prices. The food, while good and attractively presented, was not up to the prices being charged. My partners veal Milanese with potatoes and arugula was oddly conceived and rather ordinary. My agnolotti were tasty but had been sauced in such a way that they tended to adhere to the serving bowl. The food, not the location, should have been the star of the dinner.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on March 25, 2016

When we arrived we were seated in the area of the bar (perhaps because we did not specify any particular area. ) But it became very noisy in a short time and we asked to be moved to a quieter dining area. We were accommodated immediately without any issue at all. We were overwhelmed by the attention and service we received. We were unsure of any food or service because it was Easter Sunday. We were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food but 95% of menu contains mush ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Great food but 95% of menu contains mushrooms. Nice sunset view. Pricy.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Bartenders Marco and Edwardo are outstanding.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Bartenders Marco and Edwardo are excellent.. Please tell them...Gary & kKim

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful

Dined on March 20, 2016

it was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to take him some place special. It was excellent!!! The food, the service and the ambiance were wonderful. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not again.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Two of us ordered "ribeye." It was tough and had no flavor. Looked like a cheap cut of sirloin. Asked the manager. He said they were serving a special kind of ribeye. Maybe so but it looked and tasted to us like cheap sirloin. And it was Sunday night. Probably because they knew we were unhappy, they imposed an 18% gratuity on us. There were 5 of us and I'd never seen that for fewer than 6 in a party. I'd never take bad food out on the servers by cutting their tip. Unfortunately for the servers in this case, however, I usually leave more than 20%.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.