About Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort

480 South Collier Blvd
Marco Island, FL 34145
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Sale e Pepe® dining room offers gourmet Italian cuisine and authentic ambiance that are simply sublime. The dining experience transports you to romantic Italy with surroundings of aged stone, marble floors, arabesque walls and hand-painted frescoes. Chef Giuliano Matarese and his culinary team create, from scratch daily, a menu straight from his Southern Italian homeland, and pair it with wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Daily: Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 393-1600

Website:
http://www.sale-e-pepe.com/

Catering:
Parties up to 150 people.

Parking Details:
Valet parking only.

Executive Chef:
Giuliano Matarese

Private Party Facilities:
Chef Special Menu paired by wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Private Party Contact:
Ivo Nedelchev: 2393931610x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
3 More
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
Italian
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Marco Island
Best Restaurants in Marco Island ›

Scenic View (32)
Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Waterfront (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the BEST Italian RESTAURANT in t ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is the BEST Italian RESTAURANT in the Naples area! Service a 10, atmosphere a 10 , food a 10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Young experienced chef leads the kitchen ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Young experienced chef leads the kitchen creating classic as well as nouveau Italian food with a twist like a layered egg plant appetizer like lasagna. Portions are not nouveau-tiny either, but satisfaying in size. Many folks prefer to dine on the terrace overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, often enjoying a lovely sunset along with a fantastic dinner. The wine list is not too shabby either as it has long been awarded a top rating by the Wine Spectator for its broad selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent. Service is NOT GOOD. ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food is excellent. Service is NOT GOOD. Servers are not friendly, attentive, or accommodating. They always seem to disappear for long stretches of time after dessert. One always has to flag down another server to give us our bill. This happens here consistently. We eat here at least once a month. Sale e Pepe, please hire new people with personalities.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Our second trip to Marco and we've dined ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our second trip to Marco and we've dined at Sale e Pepe each time. Food was exceptionally good this second time. Place is wonderful for a special meal with special person. Cocktails at bar before dinner is a must. Bartender and hostess/manager were very nice and friendly as they were last year. Excellent wine selection. Sunset dinner an added bonus to a great meal. Great service also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE GIVE THIS PLACE 5 STARS FOR BEAUTY, L ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

WE GIVE THIS PLACE 5 STARS FOR BEAUTY, LUXURY, SCENIC VIEW OF OCEAN SUNSET, AND QUALITY OF FOOD . THE SERVICE WAS PERFECT AND WELL EXPLAINED, THE PRICEY CHOICES WERE LIMITED BUT WITH STYLE AND GREAT FLAVOR. WELL WORTH THE VISIT FOR A KING AND QUEEN OCCASION. A HIDDEN TREASURE TO CELEBRATE, OR GET ROMANTIC. THE STAFF EVEN LIKES TO HELP TAKE PHOTOS WHICH YOU PROBABLY WILL ASK.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was too loud in the bar where we were ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was too loud in the bar where we were seated then moved to the dining room. Menu too eclectic for me - just wanted fabulous more main-stream Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wait person was very sweet, but misunder ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wait person was very sweet, but misunderstood wine and then forgot to bring cappuccinos. She charged us for them but did not offer to reimburse us. Maybe just a tad more training for staff. She was trying and maybe had too many tables

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

A truly unique and wonderful dining expe ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

A truly unique and wonderful dining experience.

Our server was knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations with food and wine.

We will definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant excellent in all ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We found the restaurant excellent in all categories as well as beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and the staff was so n ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful service and the staff was so nice. It was my bday celebration and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Wine list is first ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent. Wine list is first class. Outdoor dining is lovely with a nice view of the Gulf. You can't go wrong with Sale e Pepe.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a wonderful visit to Sale Pepe - the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a wonderful visit to Sale Pepe - the food was delicious and the service was even better. And the sunset viewing was spectacular. I would recommend this place to all who visit Marco Island.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was good until alarge group cam ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was good until alarge group came in Dirty dishes were left for along time We had to ask for them to be removed which never should happen

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

$9.00 for a portion of pasta to accompan ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

$9.00 for a portion of pasta to accompany my veal is excessive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic gourmet food and excellent ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic gourmet food and excellent service . Family friendly but also elegant and romantic . Summer tasting menu was a great value .

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Super attentive and well trai ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very nice. Super attentive and well trained staff. All well timed and delicious. We were there mid-week and scored a great outdoor table with an excellent view. Super convenient when staying at the adjoining hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to this restaurant si ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant since we came to FL over 10 years ago. We have gone through several excellent chefs and now egarley awaiting the new one. The menu needs a new look and I am sure the chef who comes from Puglia will shine through.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Presentation, view

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Presentation, view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service from Val as our waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service from Val as our waitress was outstanding!! She was knowledgable and attentive! Also very personable!! The other girl who refilled our water glasses and cleared our plates was also outstanding!! Can't remember her name, however she was a student from Romania working for the summer. Food was delicious. We had appetizers, salad, risotto and cavatelli dishes and desserts! We were pleased with every single bite!! My friend and I both have August birthdays and we could not have picked a better place to celebrate! We will return!! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a stunning view when ...

 
 (Northampton)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food with a stunning view when the sun sets. Would recommend for a romantic meal or special occasion. Certainly the best meal we had on Marco Island. Very attentive and friendly service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio at this restaurant is outstand ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The patio at this restaurant is outstanding as was the service provided by Andrea. The best white sangria I've ever had and I've had quite a few. The meal was beautifully presented and tasted good albeit a bit low on the salt but easily fixed. The chocolate mousse desert was incredible and watching the Florida west coast from our table was memorable indeed. I recommend Sale e Pepa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and a special dessert for ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very good food and a special dessert for our anniversary dinner was provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful dinner inside the res ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner inside the restaurant due to the heat. I enjoyed the musician playing during our meal. After dinner we moved outside to a table for dessert and to watch the sunset. Our waitress was very attentive. It was a memorable experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, very friendly, great food ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great service, very friendly, great food and environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best homemade pasta in SWFL. The outdoor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best homemade pasta in SWFL. The outdoor with a view of the beach is beautiful. You will have a great meal and service is on par with the food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 7:00 PM reservation so we could ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a 7:00 PM reservation so we could watch the sunset and it was great. Our food was very good. The crispy chicken Marsala was awesome. The spaghetti others got was "ok". The prosciutto was a nice appetizer if you like that sort of thing.

Overall we would rate this restaurant a 4.5. The service was top notch, the sunset was spectacular (but that can be seen from anywhere on the beach) and the food we had was a little above average.

The restaurant itself was decorated beautifully. Although being pricey it was an overall nice dinner and we enjoyed the restaurant. If you don't mind spending a bit on dinner, this is probably a good choice for one of your dinner nights.

If we return to Marco Island, we would probably eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very elegant restaurant with great foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A very elegant restaurant with great food and service. You can dine inside or outside depending on the weather. The view from outside is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Italian food in an elegant se ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious Italian food in an elegant setting with terrific view of the sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We all enjoyed ourselves. Great food an ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all enjoyed ourselves. Great food and great ambiance. Will do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant on Maco Island. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our favorite restaurant on Maco Island. Fantastic service by Pietro who had a fantastic knowledge of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything but was good, with the except ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything but was good, with the exception of catching the bartender cheating on on our 2 for one happy hr. And the over charge on our bill,along with his language. There was not one American working in that restaurant .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Consistently excellent food in a beautif ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently excellent food in a beautiful and elegant setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful romantic top end Marco dining- ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful romantic top end Marco dining- celebrate as the sun sets over the gulf

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and View Are Tops. New chef is ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service and View Are Tops. New chef is only just putting his mark on the menu. Former Chef Giuliano was the very best and there is no reason to believe that Chef Alesso (?) won't excel as well as the management has a reputation of seeking leaders for the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For a Special Occasion !!

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding!!!! Our only complaint was the noise level and how they sat everyone on top of one another instead of spreading the tables out. They were not sold out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very niceee

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Very niceee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! An incredible restaurant

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Fantastic! An incredible restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best place on Marco island, we enjoyed it so much that we went back for a second visit. Excellent service, a beautiful view and exceptional meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A splendid evening! Even finished off w ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

A splendid evening! Even finished off with a gulf thunderstorm for entertainment!!!

The food and service were outstanding as is the incredible view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sunset dining on Marco Island by far

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Classy restaurant with great views, great food, great wine list and great service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.