About Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort

480 South Collier Blvd
Marco Island, FL 34145
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Sale e Pepe® dining room offers gourmet Italian cuisine and authentic ambiance that are simply sublime. The dining experience transports you to romantic Italy with surroundings of aged stone, marble floors, arabesque walls and hand-painted frescoes. Chef Giuliano Matarese and his culinary team create, from scratch daily, a menu straight from his Southern Italian homeland, and pair it with wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Daily: Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 393-1600

Website:
http://www.sale-e-pepe.com/

Catering:
Parties up to 150 people.

Parking Details:
Valet parking only.

Executive Chef:
Giuliano Matarese

Private Party Facilities:
Chef Special Menu paired by wines from an extensive collection recognized by Wine Spectator magazine.

Private Party Contact:
Ivo Nedelchev: 2393931610x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy Feast of the Seven Fishes Christmas Eve with Sale e Pepe.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Enjoy a special Christmas Dinner at Sale e Pepe.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year with Sale e Pepe.

Sale e Pepe - Marco Beach Ocean Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Marco Island
Best Restaurants in Marco Island ›

Scenic View (27)
Waterfront (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have not been there for years and fra ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

We have not been there for years and frankly, it will be years before we come back. The food was expensive and is not anything like it was billed on the menu. the 'Veal Chop" was a thin piece of veal fried and in no way was what we were expecting. You are VERY expensive and the most you have going for you is your view. Good luck!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This was our 2nd visit and it's quickly ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our 2nd visit and it's quickly becoming a favorite place for my wife and I to have a special dining experience. The view, the decor, the staff and the drinks/food is awesome!! I'd highly recommend this for a special occasion or just to spoil yourself. I can't wait for our next visit!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for the portions but the gulf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Overpriced for the portions but the gulf makes a nice view.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We've enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Sal ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We've enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Sale Pepe in the past and was looking forward to another memorable meal. This year was not the case. Service was extremely slow, 2 1/2 hours for a set menu. Server was confused about menu items, was inattentive and not real astute about my wife's special dietary needs that had previously been confirmed with F&B Director.

Food was nicely prepared and overall delicious, but did not see the value based on the amount we were charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Once again a terrific meal. A Michelin 5 ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Once again a terrific meal. A Michelin 5 **!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Slow service. Outdoor woul ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food. Slow service.

Outdoor would be better if there was not a wedding going on with loud music and people smoking near the dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We went during an off time it appeared s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We went during an off time it appeared since the the restaurant was near empty, but that didn't stop the wait staff. They were great!

The food was great! My entree was missing an ingredient (shrimp), I didn't notice till halfway through so I didn't bring it up. Other than that, everything we had, I liked.

I loved the decor and the view!

They did oddly charge me 18% tip, even though we were a party of two, but I did give a higher tip because they by far deserved it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food service ambiance all very good rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

food service ambiance all very good restaurant does not need to do a mandatory % tip for a table of 2 even 4 I find that anoying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived by car and our experience at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived by car and our experience at Sale e Pepe did not start out very good. The valet parking people said that they wouldn't be responsible for anything left in our car, but we had laptops and iPads in our car, so I politely requested directions to self parking. This is when the rudeness began. They don't have self parking and after being directed to talk to other restaurant staff, we were told to park at a shopping center half a mile down the road. Outrageous! I was prepared to write a horrible review of this restaurant based on this alone, but the kind and welcoming staff inside the restaurant were wonderful. The food was fantastic! The view of the ocean was wonderful. And we left very pleased. We will definitely go back again. If this restaurant can resolve their parking problem, I'd give it a perfect rating!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't wait for our next visit to this fi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Can't wait for our next visit to this fine Italian restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was warned by a couple as we walked in ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I was warned by a couple as we walked in to turn around and not go in that it was terrible and it used to be great but they changed chefs. I took my chance and the food was very bland and tiny portions. I had a fish dish and my wife had a pasta dish. No flavor at all! I could have made something more flavorful for 1/10 of the price. I also ordered a zucchini soup special and it was the best thing we had. Not saying much at all! But when we received the bill it was $16 for a tiny bowl of soup. Needless to say I wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

The food and service was amazing... howe ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food and service was amazing... however when trying to enjoy our diner the bar crowd was allowed to stand all around us in shorts and flipflops, blocking our view of the sunset and being loud and somewhat obnoxious. Totally took away from the dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is outstanding and the view on ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food is outstanding and the view on a nice night is priceless

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sale e Pepe as it was recommende ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Went to Sale e Pepe as it was recommended to us as "fine dining" and the food was indeed very good, the staff where knowledgable, pleasant and attentive, the noise level was quite high (as it usually is in American bars, but certainly the nearest thing to fine dining we have found in Marco. The bill at $130 a head was about right when you include the sunsets. Would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ambiance & atmosphere is superb. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Ambiance & atmosphere is superb. The food was excellent and our waiter was on point! My wife & I will definitely eat there again the next time we visit Marco Island.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was perfect. We really enjoyed our meal. The only problem was that the terrace was rented out for a wedding, and the music was very loud. We were hoping for a quiet evening, but the music stepped on the second half of our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our anniversary dinner was delicious. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was delicious. We had red snapper and bolognese and both dishes were superb. The service was tremendous and our lead server Ruby was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we will be visiting again very soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have a house on Marco. There are endl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have a house on Marco. There are endless great restaurants on Marco. But Sale e Pepe is superior. We never miss a night out in the classiest best place in town. The food is superior, the wait staff on top of every detail and Delroy is the best valet south of Macon ga. See you soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here several times and the se ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Have dined here several times and the service and food are always excellent. It is best for a leisurely meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sale e Pepe is a beautiful and elegant r ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Sale e Pepe is a beautiful and elegant restaurant and one of my favorite to show off to friends and visitors to SW Florida. It is worth the drive from Naples. The food is outstanding. I have never been disappointed when I have dined at Sale e Pepe.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

LOVE the food, but the service was disap ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

LOVE the food, but the service was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Exceptional meal - well served. My wif ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Exceptional meal - well served. My wife and I will go again for sure.

It was a little awkward arriving by car for the first time. The signage directs you to the hotel front where you are then directed where to drive to get back to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff. Beautiful restaurant. Bre ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great staff. Beautiful restaurant. Breathtaking views. Not enough food for the price. Value needs improvement

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Fine dining in a beachfront location - n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fine dining in a beachfront location - no better place anywhere in Marco

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valet parking was very offensive. Sent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Valet parking was very offensive. Sent my steak back. Was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service all around. Delicious and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great service all around. Delicious and authentic Italian cuisine in a beautiful indoor and outdoor setting overlooking the Gulf. Do try a pasta selection in addition to your main course as 1/2 portions are offered!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was great dinner portion was very s ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 6, 2016

View was great dinner portion was very small. Don't believe there was 4 fork full of pasta . There is no place worth $252 for 2 people with jus 2 drinks sorry not worth it st all!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The location of this restaurant is great ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The location of this restaurant is great - it is overlooking the ocean and the atmosphere was beautiful. The food was very good, but the service was a bit slow - granted, they did have a big party outside on their terrace

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

View of the Gulf of Mexico from the dini ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

View of the Gulf of Mexico from the dining terrace and the sunset is beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service as always but the food was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great Service as always but the food was average at best. We tried a number of different dishes and none were outstanding. Not sure what is going on with the kitchen???

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is the BEST Italian RESTAURANT in t ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is the BEST Italian RESTAURANT in the Naples area! Service a 10, atmosphere a 10 , food a 10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Young experienced chef leads the kitchen ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Young experienced chef leads the kitchen creating classic as well as nouveau Italian food with a twist like a layered egg plant appetizer like lasagna. Portions are not nouveau-tiny either, but satisfaying in size. Many folks prefer to dine on the terrace overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, often enjoying a lovely sunset along with a fantastic dinner. The wine list is not too shabby either as it has long been awarded a top rating by the Wine Spectator for its broad selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent. Service is NOT GOOD. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food is excellent. Service is NOT GOOD. Servers are not friendly, attentive, or accommodating. They always seem to disappear for long stretches of time after dessert. One always has to flag down another server to give us our bill. This happens here consistently. We eat here at least once a month. Sale e Pepe, please hire new people with personalities.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Our second trip to Marco and we've dined ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our second trip to Marco and we've dined at Sale e Pepe each time. Food was exceptionally good this second time. Place is wonderful for a special meal with special person. Cocktails at bar before dinner is a must. Bartender and hostess/manager were very nice and friendly as they were last year. Excellent wine selection. Sunset dinner an added bonus to a great meal. Great service also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE GIVE THIS PLACE 5 STARS FOR BEAUTY, L ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

WE GIVE THIS PLACE 5 STARS FOR BEAUTY, LUXURY, SCENIC VIEW OF OCEAN SUNSET, AND QUALITY OF FOOD . THE SERVICE WAS PERFECT AND WELL EXPLAINED, THE PRICEY CHOICES WERE LIMITED BUT WITH STYLE AND GREAT FLAVOR. WELL WORTH THE VISIT FOR A KING AND QUEEN OCCASION. A HIDDEN TREASURE TO CELEBRATE, OR GET ROMANTIC. THE STAFF EVEN LIKES TO HELP TAKE PHOTOS WHICH YOU PROBABLY WILL ASK.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was too loud in the bar where we were ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was too loud in the bar where we were seated then moved to the dining room. Menu too eclectic for me - just wanted fabulous more main-stream Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wait person was very sweet, but misunder ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wait person was very sweet, but misunderstood wine and then forgot to bring cappuccinos. She charged us for them but did not offer to reimburse us. Maybe just a tad more training for staff. She was trying and maybe had too many tables

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

A truly unique and wonderful dining expe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

A truly unique and wonderful dining experience.

Our server was knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations with food and wine.

We will definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant excellent in all ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We found the restaurant excellent in all categories as well as beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and the staff was so n ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful service and the staff was so nice. It was my bday celebration and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.