Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks

When perfection is paramount, Salacia offers a dining experience for those with discerning tastes and seeking the highest in quality. Honored with distinctions such as Virginia Beach's Only oceanfront AAA Four-Diamond Steakhouse, recipient of the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence, Salacia has been recognized for its culinary delights and extraordinary service time and time again. Please note that our veranda seating is very limited and that reservations for outdoor tables are on a first come, first served basis and are not guaranteed. Requests will be happily noted, but reservations only guarantee a table, not a specific location. Dress is business casual for gentlemen, collar shirts required, no distressed jeans, athletic attire or beachwear permitted, ladies and children over eight years of age are required to dress accordingly. Due to the intimacy of the dining room, we do not permit high chairs or children under eight years of age.

3001 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner:
Sunday through Thursday 5:00-9:00
Friday and Saturday 5:00-10:00

Cross Street:
31st Street & Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 213-3473

Website:
http://www.salaciavb.com/

Entertainment:
Proper attire is business casual. To preserve the elegant setting, beach and athletic sportswear are not permitted. While denim and shorts are permitted, please note, no torn or frayed jeans. Collared shirts are required for Men and sports jackets are recommended - most Salacia guests dress for the occasion

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Service along with self parking in the hotel's parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Dan Elinan

Private Party Facilities:
Due to the limited number of seats, private parties and large reservations are accepted on an individual bases, pending availability and business demands.

Private Party Contact:
Don Paul: (757) 213-3473

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (38)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Waterfront (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Scenic View (22)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

I had no idea a dress code was in place requiring a collared shirt for men. My son, visiting from CT, did not have a collared shirt on. After a brief discussion with the hostess and then the manager, we were allowed in as an exception. I greatly appreciated that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for an anniversary and ordered cocktails wine and food. All of the food and drinks were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I loved thiis restaurant until 2 days sago. I treated my friend and was shocked and disappointed. Why??? Noisy children on both sides of us (children aren't supposed to be there.). Got our order wrong. Long long long waits between seeing our waiter. We actually had to track down the waiter for our check. Terrible service. Waffle House has better service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is one of the BEST in the area! I really enjoyed my time there. Was seated at one of the outside booths with a view of the boardwalk, water etc. Had a Miami Beach resort feel, that was both romantic and comfortable! The food was excellent and will definitely return!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing quality food! Great clean environment and very friendly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall we enjoyed our meal. I would recommend the red snapper and lamb chops. The broccoli wasn't soft enough nor seasoned well. We sent the grits back after only taking one bit because they lacked seasoning and were rather hard. The weather was pleasant, so we enjoyed sitting outside and watching people on the boardwalk, but beware of the flies! We spent half the meal swatting flies away from our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Lamb superb, crab cake notso. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I consider myself a pretty decent cook for steaks and was dissapointed in the beef quality and tenderness. The steak was prepared with way too much salt it was overpowering and the steak flavor was lacking. The waiter was excellent and so was his service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We absolutely loved this restaurant! We had the lobster tempura, the surf and turf, and the scallops and each was absolutely magnificent. Paired with one of the Malbec wines, it was the perfect anniversary place. There may have been a few things that aren't normally considered "fine dining," but honestly it didn't matter because everything from the service, the outdoor seating, the delicious food, and the dessert was just lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The night started out frustrating. We waited 25 min for outside seating which we reserved on Open Table. The manager came out to explain that the party was taking longer than expected (I would too. You should enjoy your food and company you're with). Because we were hungry, we were not happy. We decided to sit inside and the manager gave us a window table for four (that was nice). My wife and then began to have the best dining experience we have had outside of NYC!! The waiter was knowledge, attentive and responsive. The food was delicious! The tempura lobster appetizer had a hint of sauce that was sweet & tangy and had me wanting more lobster. Our steaks melted in our mouths!! It was cooked a perfect medium rare and came out sizzling hot! (They learned Ruth's Chris secret!) The dessert was beignets. They were tasty. They could have been a little lighter in texture.
I saved the best for last, the wine! This is were our waiter won all of his points. He recommended a 2008 Evening Land "Summum" Seven Springs Vineyard!!! This made my wife smile all night!! It was delicious and light.
I will be coming back here soon! (And I love 4 hours away).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent way to spend our 30th wedding anniversary!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Incredible experience. Dining outside with a gorgeous ocean view. Superb meal, very high quality staff. Jason & Jalena made this a must-do every time we visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Salicia was a remarkable experience - after a week on the Eastern seaboard expecting to be wowed by fresh seafood offerings - Salicia finally came through. The seafood was magnificantly fresh and perfectly cooked and the presentation the essence of creative summer dining. The only thing that could be improved is the wine list (especially since we were in Virginia with the magnificence of Jefferson wines missing on the menu)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food was AMAZING!! Beautiful setting! Open air overlooking beach walk right on Virginia Beach. Romantic and yummy. And my husband and I could actually talk and hear eachother without all the ambient noise. The Hamachi tuna appetizer was just unreal. Served thinly sliced on an ice cold piece of slate with a delicious Asian slaw on top. It was crazy good. My husband and I both had steaks that were above perfection. LOVED this restaurant. Staff very attentive. And just perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everytime my wife and I walk the boardwalk we say we are going to eat at Salacia's for dinner one night and sit outside. Well we finally did and were completely blown away. Our new favorite restaurant now.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was excellent. The desserts were a let down though, especially the brownie banana split.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wanted to try your outdoor dining, having observed it from the boardwalk for years. The seating and and atmosphere was perfect. But, this is not "fine" dining as advertised. Enjoyed it, but you are missing the mark you are advertising as having. Most people wouldn't notice. For instance, have both white and black napkins, and pay attention to what your patrons are wearing. Have your wait staff pay more attention to timing. We waited a very, very long time for the entree to appear after the salad. Medium rare ordered beef was prepared between medium and medium well. The baked potato was a day old (yes, I know the difference). When the meal was finished, we waited too long again to look at desert (which we had). Bottom line? For $320, all in dinner for 2, I've had better for $200. But, again, the environment was excellent. Would only recommend this place, in season, for someone that would appreciate the outdoor seating. Would never use the indoor seating of Salacia....what a dark, small room. Nothing special about it at all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our third time going to Salacia. Service has been excellent every time. Food is always superb. Will always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We have eaten here several times before. The food, service, and ambiance are top notch. Outstanding in every way. The best in Virginia Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had our 17th Anniversary dinner here. Very romantic. Excellent service and food. Great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my second visit, and was in honor of my brother's recent wedding reception held at the hotel the day before. The food is always great, and the service is good, though a little slow.

My only real complaint would be that you have to walk through the (very noisy) seafood restaurant to get there, and any time the door is opened, the noise sneaks in.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The experience was good nothing bad but nothing amazing either. The food was good do yourself a favor and ask to sit by the window it's a beautiful view! The seats in the back for 2 are too close together.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Secluded setting, dimley lite by candlelight. Great atmosphere for special occasions and intimate celebrations.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Delightful local ingredients, skillful preparation, inventive and flavorful takes on classic steakhouse fare, but a few details still lacking in this bold attempt at upscale seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Service and food was very good, would go back. They make you feel really special at this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food. Beautiful location for outdoor dining. Erol provided excellent service.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had an amazing time! Great food and service. Perfect for date night.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I had the best Kobe steak I ever had here! The service is impeccable, the food and wine was impeccable, and the ambiance and water front view-impeccable. Salcia's is "THE BEST" Hampton Roads Restaurant and I believe the best restaurant in Virginia!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A fabulous time!! My husband and I went to celebrate our courthouse wedding that day so it was perfect for a celebration! We were sat in private dining outside with a lovely view of the beach for awesome people watching. Food was delicious and service was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Service was amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure our dinner was special. The food was extraordinary. I had the surf and turf and the lobster was the best I've ever had in my life. Great selection of wine. Beautiful view, from the private dining room, of the oceanfront. My wife and I had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Really loved this place! Virginia Beach has a great array of local bar/casual dining places, but the high end places for special occasions are limited. Loved this option for something along the boardwalk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Expensive but excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

6 in our party...Steaks were great, fish was over cooked, Caesar salads- under- dressed, everything else was ok....waiter wasn't good- had to wave him down for almost everything. Not going back....was a bummer- considering we were there to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was lovely for our 2 year anniversary....I can't wait to come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food. Great service. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful anniversary dinner. The waiter was knowledgeable and efficient. The food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love to have dinner here when we are in town. We were married on the military beach Oct 4, 2013. We had our first dinner here as husband and wife. Tonight we had the same fabulous waiter we had on our wedding day. The service is the best I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Salacia never disappoints!!! This visit, for pre-Mother's Day dinner was no exception. My wife and I enjoyed the filet mignon; both steaks were absolutely perfectly cooked to our individual orders. The quality of the beef was exceptional. For an appetizer-for-2, we had the Grand Plateau of chilled seafood. It was incredible, and it's presentation was impressive as well. Side dishes here are generally enough to serve 4, so the overall meal was so filling that we had no room for dessert. My compliments to the chef and to our server, whose name (I believe) was Daniel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.