Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks

When perfection is paramount, Salacia offers a dining experience for those with discerning tastes and seeking the highest in quality. Honored with distinctions such as Virginia Beach's Only AAA Four-Diamond Steakhouse, recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 8 years in a row, Salacia has been recognized for its culinary delights and extraordinary service time and time again. Please note that our veranda seating is very limited and that reservations for outdoor tables are on a first come, first served basis. Requests will be happily noted, but reservations only guarantee a table, not a specific location. Dress is business casual for gentlemen, collar shirts required, no distressed jeans or baseball caps permitted, ladies and children over eight years of age are required to dress accordingly. Due to the intimacy of the dining room, we do not permit high chairs or children under eight years of age.

3001 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner:
Sunday through Thursday 5:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
31st Street & Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 213-3473

Website:
http://www.salaciavb.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Service along with self parking in the hotel's parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Dan Elinan

Private Party Facilities:
Due to the limited number of seats, private parties and large reservations are accepted on an individual bases, pending availability and business demands.

Private Party Contact:
Don Paul: (757) 213-3473

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Romantic (20)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Waterfront (12)
Scenic View (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Private Room (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fireplace (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Went way out of their way to please us at every aspect of our meal

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Got our order wrong twice...food was bland, could use some salt. One of our steaks was under cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. We couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fine dining at its best. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was great. This restaurant is a private dining room in another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had been wanting to try Salacia for some time and found it lived up to all the raves written about it. The atmosphere and the service were very good, but what I will return for is the excellence of the beef. The salad was good and the veggies were "OK." But what sets this restaurant apart for me was the heavenly, perfectly cooked and very well-presented beef. The many claims of being "pricey" are right on. If price was not an object for me, I would dine there at least twice a week (if not every night). While the limits of my wallet won't make it a weekly or even monthly event, I will definitely return for a special occasion and when I want to experience what is likely the best steak in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was a romantic place to eat especially for a cozy special occasion. I loved the decor and the ambiance was amazing. Place settings were gorgeous as well as the entire scene, the food was awesome and the virtual ipad drink menu added a very modern flair. My only complaint was that the staff, although amazing, were a little slow making us wait for our check as we waited a good while after eating just sitting around to pay. Otherwise this place gets five stars from me.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome food and great experience. Wish we were not sitting so close to adjacent table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Other than waiting for our table past our reservation time it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Awesome great service atmosphere and food would greatly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I was very happy with the meal I chose from the Restaurant week menu except maybe the dessert . The cobbler was dry and nothing special about the rice pudding. Unfortunately my husband wasn't thrilled with his meal. He said he will stick to Steak next time.
I love the excellent service and the friendliness of the waiters. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Salacia has always been very good...maybe because it was a Monday they were off, way off.
The desert ordered was incredibly bad! Not sure what happened, someone forgot something...maybe sugar? if they had tried it it would not have been served.
The filet as always was the best and the potatoes were also amazing!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very classy, excellent service. I went here for a date and I will return.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was nice layout. It was just a little noisy to me. Other that my steak was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was disappointed in my visit. The restaurant was loud, too many waiters coming to the table to remove items. Very disruptive. I wanted potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and no flexibility to change. It was my birthday and I lose my appetite. Potatoes over seasoned as well as the crab cakes. The mood was totally ruined. Not to mention the language barrier we experienced with the waiter. I heard great things about the restaurant but enjoyed the ambience at the bar and the energy more so than the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Salacia has never let us down. The meal is pricey, but worth every penny. The wait staff is attentive and the food is absolutely delicious! This is the best place for food on the beach.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place. The only not so thrilling part was the hostess the worked February 15, 2017 at 6:10 pm did not greet (no hi, hello ill be with you in a second, nothing)us until she placed two phone calls, then she said reservation, follow me..overall great evening maitre d and server was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My main course was ruined so it ruined my valentines. Beef Wellington was not made right. Burned dough which shoul've been lightly brown puff pantry. There was no filling in it. Sent that back to receive the worse cut of meat, it was all fat and hard to cut. Also it was raw. Needless to say, I didn't eat it. I did call the manager who apologized. Said he'll take care of me if I come back but don't think I will.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service and the food was excellent! We were celebrating our Marine's marriage. It was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was fantastic! The waiter extremely friendly,helpful and knowledgeable!!
I will definitely be back and I highly recommend Salacia!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have lived in Virginia Beach for 30 years and we decided to treat ourselves like tourists! Wonderful service and top notch food. The wine list is extensive with bottles in every price range!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I took my date here for their Birthday. It was very private and quiet. Finding a place with fine dining that is worth the price is hard to come by and salacia surely met my expectations and then some. Our service was impeccable and our food was outstanding. Everything was prepared and served perfectly. I have zero complaints and I would surely recommend this restaurant to a friend. Thank you for the amazing experience.

Whitney

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had an amazing meal and experience at Salacia. The service was outstanding and we were never left wanting anything...water glasses were kept full, we were checked on consistently, and our food came to our table hot and perfectly prepared. It was our first visit, but it won't be our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service is second to none. As always, the experience was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Drink was great. Food was great. Service was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent as was the wind list but the New Year's Meal left a lot to be desired and compared to the last time we ate there 3+ years ago--we were a bit disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service; Erol is a superb server. Had Branzino special, lobster tail, and oysters. 'Pumpkin Pie' dessert was both delicious and unusual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have enjoyed Salacia on several occasions and are amazed with every visit. If you like a great steak with excellent service looking out over the Atlantic, this is the place. Our meals were fabulous and service was impeccable for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Quiet, cozy, and romantic. Great food and service. Recommend this place for those special occasions with someone special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing food and service. Food quality is the best and the chef was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding dinning and romantic flair, service was impeccable and the epitome of the fine dinning experience (Thanks Errol!). I had the Japanese A5 Wagyu with lobster tail. I've had Kobe beef on a few occasions but the A5 Wagyu was a steak experience all it's own with my taste buds going into flavor overload as each slice literally melted on my tongue (Thanks Tyler!). It was our 32nd anniversary and all the Staff made us feel so welcomed, almost like royalty. Thank you all for a memorable time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Organic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great dinner. Oysters neptune must be on your appetizer list, very good. We tried the Kabocha, arugula and caesar salads, all very good. The whole snapper was a standout, excellent preparation, the filet was perfectly cooked and the scallops were good but would have been better if they were served hot instead of lukewarm, probably a kitchen timing error. The triple chocolate cake was also a hit. Overall a very good dinner, Our waiter Michael was very attentive. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent service, upscale setting with ocean views plus fireplace for a cozy ambience and the best steak we have ever had! The Wagyue rib eye is a unique experience and should be put on anyone's bucket list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Upscale and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his 65th birthday dining at Salacia. We were in VA Beach for a wedding. I started out with the tomato and cucumber salad. Salacia is situated behind Catch 31, in the Hilton Hotel. The atmosphere was like a private dining room away from the noise and bustle of Catch 31.

The salad I started with, was beautifully presented on the plate with the cucumber diced and the tomatoes quartered. The tomatoes were cold, which is not the way I serve them, but the temperature did not detract from the fine taste and freshness of the vegetables. I had crab cakes, which were delicious and made with jumbo crab meat. My husband had an 8oz waygu steak and he was very pleased. The meat was cooked to his specifications and was quite tasty and tender.

The wine list was quite good and diverse.

The desserts were grand. I had the pumpkin pie, which was rich and creamy tasting. My husband had the creme broule with pear. He enjoyed the creme broule, but tried to pawn the pear off on me. Oh well, it was his birthday...

The service was professional, unhurried, and friendly. We were dining during the "off season," so the restaurant was not fully seated and it was quiet. Salacia is perfect for two to four diners. The tables appeared to be two or four-tops. We had a great meal and experience and would love to go back. Thank you to the staff and servers at Salacia for a lovely evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The special occasionwas our 11 year anniversary and I couldn'thave picked a more elligant setting. The timing between appetizers and dinner were well timed, the waiters service was highly professional , his demeanor/attitude was upbeat and he excelled the mood. Our meals were cooked to perfection, the isn't any restaurant's in Virginia that can compete with how well you cook and prepare your stakes. This was a wonderful experience. Ten star out of a rating of five.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I visited Salacia this weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This is not our first time, and we had just as good a dining experience as our other visits. The food and drink were wonderful, and our server was exceptional. He took great care (even though he was quite busy) to make certain that we were enjoying our meal and had everything we needed. We will definitely plan another trip to Salacia in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The chowder was bland, the filet was OK, the snapper was way over cooked. Certainly not the worst meal I've ever had, but for the price, I wouldn't go back or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Salacia offers private dining on the oceanfront. The menu is phenomenal, as were our steaks. The lemon curd with homemade marshmallows was decadent. Sitting outside in a private alcove while watching the moon rise over the ocean was incredible. The prices are high but the service, food, and ambiance warrant the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive and professional. The food was medicore at best. The pureed baby food/squash under the coffee crusted steak was disgusting. I was very disappointed considering this was a 4 to 5 star restaurant. First time and last time. I would not recommend the restaurant for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went here for restaurant week with my friends. We had a great time laughed, drank great wine and had beautiful desert. The atmosphere was very calm, beautiful and wonderful. Will definitely go there again💞💞

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.