Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks

When perfection is paramount, Salacia offers a dining experience for those with discerning tastes and seeking the highest in quality. Honored with distinctions such as Virginia Beach's Only oceanfront AAA Four-Diamond Steakhouse, recipient of the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence, Salacia has been recognized for its culinary delights and extraordinary service time and time again. Please note that our veranda seating is very limited and that reservations for outdoor tables are on a first come, first served basis and are not guaranteed. Requests will be happily noted, but reservations only guarantee a table, not a specific location. Dress is business casual for gentlemen, collar shirts required, no distressed jeans, athletic attire or beachwear permitted, ladies and children over eight years of age are required to dress accordingly. Due to the intimacy of the dining room, we do not permit high chairs or children under eight years of age.

3001 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner:
Sunday through Thursday 5:00-9:00
Friday and Saturday 5:00-10:00

Cross Street:
31st Street & Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 213-3473

Website:
http://www.salaciavb.com/

Entertainment:
Proper attire is business casual. To preserve the elegant setting, beach and athletic sportswear are not permitted. While denim and shorts are permitted, please note, no torn or frayed jeans. Collared shirts are required for Men and sports jackets are recommended - most Salacia guests dress for the occasion

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Service along with self parking in the hotel's parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Dan Elinan

Private Party Facilities:
Due to the limited number of seats, private parties and large reservations are accepted on an individual bases, pending availability and business demands.

Private Party Contact:
Don Paul: (757) 213-3473

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Scenic View (26)
Waterfront (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
People Watching (9)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent overall experience. Mike was amazing and we were treated like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed that our 7:30 reservation had somehow "been changed" to 8:15 - we didn't request a change. Eventually ended up seated, and dinner was worth the wait. We had the flash fried red snapper with asparagus as a side, and the fish was delicious. Attentive service as well made for an enjoyable evening, despite the delay.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Located in the Hilton Beachfront, Salacia is convenient to a parking garage and almost daily there is live entertainment right outside the main lobby. Salacia is a cut above restaurant for those looking for more than casual eats and wine. Salacia knows exactly how to set the mood for special occasions or fine dining. Dinner at Salacia was spectacular. Erol, our server, was a true professional in his field. He timed our appetizers, cocktails and entrees perfectly. Our dinner experience was no less five star dining. Salacia is a perfect location for diners who only want to experience a quiet, cozy or romantic dining experience with the right amount of background noise that will not interfere with your conversations. They offer a unique dining experience you don't find anywhere else in Virginia Beach. We enjoyed it and thanks to the management for keeping the Salacia brand from becoming just an average restaurant with all the bells and whistles.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We love it there. The Lobster Tempura was delicious. Our steaks we're cooked perfectly and tasted delicious also. The service was on the mark and the outside setting was perfect. A bit pricey but not unexpected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice place. More expensive than opentable or there website would have you expect. That said the food was great other than some over cooked octopus. The wine list was worth it. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful place, nice, quiet, excellent food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Apart from taking awhile to be seated, our overall expierence was great!
This is especially true concerning the Wait Staff. They along with the hostess were extremely attentive.
I must say a special word about Michael. We've eaten in number of 4&5 star restaurants but the professionalism of this young man was impeccable!
His familIrarity with the menu along with his attentiveness to our table.
I must also mention the complementary items from the Chef!
All of this truly made our 44th Wedding Anniversary special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. The outside dining area was spectacular.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went there for our anniversary and the service was outstanding. They had a very good wine list in the steaks were super tender and delicious. Very quiet and cozy atmosphere and the service was beyond expectations

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We chose Salacia for our 40th anniversary celebration. The food was great the ambience was just right the music in the background made us feel comfortable and the service was impeccable. We both loved it thank you very much

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We've been to Salacia before for our anniversary and our server remembered that it was our anniversary after I just mentioned that I thought he served us a couple years ago. Even with that in mind the service and food was outstanding. We shall return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, great service! Excellent filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The scallops were excellent. We've been there before. It's a treat when we go to Virginia Beach.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I took my boyfriend of three years to this restaurant for his birthday. The restaurant is really decked out with nice decor, clean, and is really just a nice restaurant to be in, so that was comforting. I really liked the free valet, as parking could become quite difficult down at the oceanfront. There aren't too many restaurants you can get dressed up for in the area.
Our waiter was kind and very attentive. He made sure that we had everything we needed at our table and more. The food, however, was OK. I ordered a filet mignon cooked medium and my boyfriend ordered a ribeye cooked medium as well. When the food was delivered to us, the surface of my steak was a little too crispy and over cooked while my boyfriend's steak came out almost rare. We're not ones to complain though, so we finished our meal and tried to enjoy the rest of our date.
Vince, a server from the catch 31 side of the restaurant and good friend of my boyfriend, was kind enough to pay for my boyfriend's birthday cake slice (which should've been included anyways considering what I paid for the food) Also, when we were given the option between tap water and flat water, we had no idea that 4 glasses of flat water would add another $20 on the bill (the waiter or server didn't state that the flat water was an extra fee).
Overall it was an OK experience. As I've said before, it's a nice place to get dressed up for and have a few drinks, but I don't think I will be dinner here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I made a reservation at 8pm on a Friday night for our fancy dinner date. There is a well-attended bar just outside with fairly loud music, but when you pass through the doors into Salacia you leave the noise and confusion behind, and enter a tranquil space full of good smells and high-class place settings. The wait staff is highly attentive (if you get Errol, lucky you) the wine list is superb, and every morsel is an experience engineered to delight you. While quite expensive, we found Salacia to be 100% worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was subpar, for the price I expected better service. I have been to several high end steakhouses and this wasn't my best experience, not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Met fully our expectations with exception that menu had no main entree of steamed - or other variation - shrimp, the only entree my spouse selects when dining out. Our service was excellent except that our head waiter's voice was too soft and low of amplitude for me to understand...a relay technique was employed by my spouse/guest.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent steaks. The service was outstanding. A hidden gem inside the Hilton Hotel on the Ocanfront.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Served salads before appetizer and finally brought appetizer after we had cancelled it and right before our meal arrived. This was after waiter had bragged about what great service they had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Classical steak restaurant without the attitude. Very professional staff, handled food allergies well. Made a point to make a special occasion a little more special. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I had no idea a dress code was in place requiring a collared shirt for men. My son, visiting from CT, did not have a collared shirt on. After a brief discussion with the hostess and then the manager, we were allowed in as an exception. I greatly appreciated that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went for an anniversary and ordered cocktails wine and food. All of the food and drinks were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I loved thiis restaurant until 2 days sago. I treated my friend and was shocked and disappointed. Why??? Noisy children on both sides of us (children aren't supposed to be there.). Got our order wrong. Long long long waits between seeing our waiter. We actually had to track down the waiter for our check. Terrible service. Waffle House has better service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This restaurant is one of the BEST in the area! I really enjoyed my time there. Was seated at one of the outside booths with a view of the boardwalk, water etc. Had a Miami Beach resort feel, that was both romantic and comfortable! The food was excellent and will definitely return!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing quality food! Great clean environment and very friendly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our meal. I would recommend the red snapper and lamb chops. The broccoli wasn't soft enough nor seasoned well. We sent the grits back after only taking one bit because they lacked seasoning and were rather hard. The weather was pleasant, so we enjoyed sitting outside and watching people on the boardwalk, but beware of the flies! We spent half the meal swatting flies away from our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Lamb superb, crab cake notso. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I consider myself a pretty decent cook for steaks and was dissapointed in the beef quality and tenderness. The steak was prepared with way too much salt it was overpowering and the steak flavor was lacking. The waiter was excellent and so was his service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We absolutely loved this restaurant! We had the lobster tempura, the surf and turf, and the scallops and each was absolutely magnificent. Paired with one of the Malbec wines, it was the perfect anniversary place. There may have been a few things that aren't normally considered "fine dining," but honestly it didn't matter because everything from the service, the outdoor seating, the delicious food, and the dessert was just lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The night started out frustrating. We waited 25 min for outside seating which we reserved on Open Table. The manager came out to explain that the party was taking longer than expected (I would too. You should enjoy your food and company you're with). Because we were hungry, we were not happy. We decided to sit inside and the manager gave us a window table for four (that was nice). My wife and then began to have the best dining experience we have had outside of NYC!! The waiter was knowledge, attentive and responsive. The food was delicious! The tempura lobster appetizer had a hint of sauce that was sweet & tangy and had me wanting more lobster. Our steaks melted in our mouths!! It was cooked a perfect medium rare and came out sizzling hot! (They learned Ruth's Chris secret!) The dessert was beignets. They were tasty. They could have been a little lighter in texture.
I saved the best for last, the wine! This is were our waiter won all of his points. He recommended a 2008 Evening Land "Summum" Seven Springs Vineyard!!! This made my wife smile all night!! It was delicious and light.
I will be coming back here soon! (And I love 4 hours away).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent way to spend our 30th wedding anniversary!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Incredible experience. Dining outside with a gorgeous ocean view. Superb meal, very high quality staff. Jason & Jalena made this a must-do every time we visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Salicia was a remarkable experience - after a week on the Eastern seaboard expecting to be wowed by fresh seafood offerings - Salicia finally came through. The seafood was magnificantly fresh and perfectly cooked and the presentation the essence of creative summer dining. The only thing that could be improved is the wine list (especially since we were in Virginia with the magnificence of Jefferson wines missing on the menu)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food was AMAZING!! Beautiful setting! Open air overlooking beach walk right on Virginia Beach. Romantic and yummy. And my husband and I could actually talk and hear eachother without all the ambient noise. The Hamachi tuna appetizer was just unreal. Served thinly sliced on an ice cold piece of slate with a delicious Asian slaw on top. It was crazy good. My husband and I both had steaks that were above perfection. LOVED this restaurant. Staff very attentive. And just perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everytime my wife and I walk the boardwalk we say we are going to eat at Salacia's for dinner one night and sit outside. Well we finally did and were completely blown away. Our new favorite restaurant now.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was excellent. The desserts were a let down though, especially the brownie banana split.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wanted to try your outdoor dining, having observed it from the boardwalk for years. The seating and and atmosphere was perfect. But, this is not "fine" dining as advertised. Enjoyed it, but you are missing the mark you are advertising as having. Most people wouldn't notice. For instance, have both white and black napkins, and pay attention to what your patrons are wearing. Have your wait staff pay more attention to timing. We waited a very, very long time for the entree to appear after the salad. Medium rare ordered beef was prepared between medium and medium well. The baked potato was a day old (yes, I know the difference). When the meal was finished, we waited too long again to look at desert (which we had). Bottom line? For $320, all in dinner for 2, I've had better for $200. But, again, the environment was excellent. Would only recommend this place, in season, for someone that would appreciate the outdoor seating. Would never use the indoor seating of Salacia....what a dark, small room. Nothing special about it at all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our third time going to Salacia. Service has been excellent every time. Food is always superb. Will always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We have eaten here several times before. The food, service, and ambiance are top notch. Outstanding in every way. The best in Virginia Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.