About Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks

3001 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When perfection is paramount, Salacia offers a dining experience for those with discerning tastes and seeking the highest in quality. Honored with distinctions such as Virginia's Only AAA Four-Diamond Steakhouse, recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 8 years in a row, Platinum Plate awards and home of the "Best Restaurant in Hampton Roads" in 2012, Salacia has been recognized for its culinary delights and extraordinary service time and time again. Salacia is the perfect choice for any special occasion offering attention to detail and an intimately luxurious atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner:
Sun - Thurs 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st Street & Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 213-3473

Website:
http://www.salaciavb.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Service along with self parking in the hotel's parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brad Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
Due to the limited number of seats, private parties and large reservations are accepted on an individual bases, pending availability and business demands.

Private Party Contact:
Nikolay Dimitrov: 7572133473x

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
3 More
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (41)
romantic (33)
scenic view (24)
See All
notable wine list (21)
fit for foodies (20)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (3)
good for groups (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was very good. Waiter gave us 2012 ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good. Waiter gave us 2012 wine vs the 2008 which was requested and on the wine list that we paid for. They were "out of" the two entrees we ordered, not telling us until after we finished our first course- not impressed as this was our first time in VA beach and spent over $200 on this meal. Only good part of the experience was the neat ambiance. Very loud when we were there 8pm on Thursday night.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good in Virginia Beach

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Found Salacia on Open Table and after a long drive decided we needed to splurge - and we did. We were somewhat surprised to pass by a complete restaurant full of people and be presented to a private dining area that had only a handful of tables occupied. Was fancier than we expected. The food was great and perfectly done. But for being as empty as it was the service was slow and the waiters did not come back to check on us enough. Was a bit pricey - but very good. Might probably look elsewhere for good food unless it was a very special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Salacia. It IS pricey, for our b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love Salacia. It IS pricey, for our budget, but a great place for special occasions. The food is great, especially the steaks. The service is always exemplary! This small place, tucked away on the south end of Catch 31, never fails to impress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the moment you walk in, you are treated like royalty. From the walk past the commoners packed into the regular bar/restaurant to the door marked "private" you enter a lovely, quiet dining room with a beautiful view of the sea. The service excellent, the food excellent. Overall one of the best dining experiences ever. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High End Restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

Salacia is an high-end boutique style restaurant that me and my husband go to for a special occasions. It is a great place, delicious food, excellent service. Our waiter is usually EROL, and he always makes our dining experience even more enjoyable. It is expensive but worth it. I would recommend it for a dressed up/ special events.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 16, 2016

Didn't enjoy this experience. Felt like we were sitting on top of the other tables . Food was overcooked. The table beside us had overcooked food also.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

*High level of attention. *Tables for tw ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

*High level of attention. *Tables for two are a bit to close. *Food was well prepared and presented. *Wine list on tablet works well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and food

Dined on April 15, 2016

My best friend and I went to Salacia for a belated birthday dinner and she was extremely impressed with the food, ambiance and wine. I had eaten there before with my husband, on the patio with a great view of the water. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and informative about the specials and menu items I wish he would have gotten into a bit more detail about the seafood entrees though. If I would have known that Salmon was on the menu, I might have ordered that rather than the Crab Cakes (although they were delicious!) My friend had the ahi tuna and caeser salad. For dessert, I had the creme brulee and she had sorbet. Everything tasted mouth wateringly delicious. I will definitely come back in the warmer months of the spring/summer to enjoy the outside dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great! Awesome experience!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server John, was very efficient, attentive and accommodating. The food was superb. We both enjoyed the steaks . Best steak I have ever enjoyed at a restaurant. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good eats, good value, great date spot

Dined on March 31, 2016

everything was great highly highly recommend! very good price and a great serviced. not rushed at all very friendly. great date spot

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Get a Second Trust to dine here

Dined on March 31, 2016

This place is very nice. Waiters were very nice and knowledgeable of the selections. The order came fairly rapidly. The setting was subdued and classy even though people were dressed in everything. Valet service available. Food was pretty good. Wife had Swordfish and I had a Delmonico steak with a lobster tail. It was all very outstanding and ample. My only comment is that 2 people had an appetizer, a main course with no desert one glass of wine and the bill was 279 bucks. This is a place where you should go to treat your wife to a special romantic setting but bring your wallet and several other people's wallets as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spring Break 2016

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Seated in the private dining area by our server Erol. Fantastic service and the food was phenomenal! Interior is gorgeous with a fantastic view of the ocean! Crab cakes were considerably more crab than cake; a rarity!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu steak was incredible

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The Wagyu steak was incredible. It melted in your mouth and had wonderful flavor. Our entire dining experience was wonderful. The oceanfront location was very nice. We will definitely eat here again the next time we are in Virginia Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

New Menu

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Salacia many times and the new menu was not an improvement to us. The service was excellent as always. The manhattans tasted great. My wife enjoyed the Oysters on the half shell and I devoured the Braised Pork cheek, should have had more as my main. My wife enjoyed her Caesar salad. My wife had the Ribeye chop and I had the dry aged Delmonico. Normally the steaks are the stars of the show but tonight they did not meet expectations. We had the Silver Oak Alexander Valley as our wine and enjoyed it. It was still a reasonable evening and when the menu changes we will return.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for restaurant week. Food was de ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went for restaurant week. Food was delicious and had a really nice affordable wine to go with it. Quite a nice ambience with dim lights and intimate room..one of our friends was hoping for more lighting but I enjoyed the adult night without kids!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful !!!!

Dined on February 26, 2016

We have been to Salacia many times and it never disappoints. Our server, Erol, is a true professional and we , highly , recommend requesting him. His knowledge of the menu is superb and he always takes great care of us. This is the first time we dined during Restaurant Week and we were so pleased. Everything, the seafood chowder, the pan seared Rainbow Trout and the key lime crème brulee was spectacular and the value cannot be beat. Until next time, thank you for another wonderful dining experience !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5

Veggies weren't freshly cooked, sirloin ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Veggies weren't freshly cooked, sirloin was just ok...but not worthy of a 3 diamond, more like eating food at a chain like outback.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing dinner, service a little slow.

Dined on February 23, 2016

Our meal was prepared to perfection and the wine pairing was amazing. The only thing I noticed out of place was that our server seemed almost too busy to provide the service that we are normally accustomed to at Salacia. I'm guessing they were just short-handed at that moment though because service is always stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special Evening

Dined on February 23, 2016

Service was over-the-top remarkable! Grand while being understated. My oyster appetizer was overdone in addition to being tiny oysters. Fried flounder was not as tasty as it might have been. Not an especially good food evening, but overall, it was a lovely experience. Wait staff is unmatched locally save perhaps at Terrapin.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive

Dined on February 21, 2016

Took my husband there for a special occasion. Food and service was good, not stellar but very good. My husband was disappointed in the size of his steak, mine was fine. I knew it was going to be expensive. If you aren't be prepared to open your wallet (everything is a la carte).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not a good place to eat

Dined on February 14, 2016

For the money you spend here, you can get an excellent meal somewhere else. I would not recommend this place to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice date night

Dined on February 7, 2016

THis was our second time here. The food was very good and the portions generous. Our primary waiter was great but the secondary waiters seemed to rush out with stuff and served our appetizer without the proper silverware and promised us bread but did not bring until we asked a third time and never brought bread to the next table. However, it was a very pleasant evening and as I said the meal was quite tasty

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

High end prices but not quite the atmosphere.

Dined on January 30, 2016

The place is a little confusing being set essentially within another restaurant, but it is set in a secluded little section. They have some very expensive dishes, and everything we got was excellent, the service was amazing. Biggest problems were they made a big deal about dress code but didn't seem as strict based on some of the other patrons we saw, and that the small space made it very loud and difficult to hold a conversation quietly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time thank you!

Dined on January 16, 2016

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday... We sat next to the fire place it was very romantic. The service was amazing. Thank you to all who served us and helped make it a very special night to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time dining here and ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

This was my second time dining here and it didn't disappoint. My wife and I had an amazing experience the first time so we wanted to celebrate a special occasion with one of our sons while he was visiting us. Mind you we live in Baltimore. We had another amazing experience. I say 'experience' because it was the whole package - meal, service and ambiance. Everything we ate and drank was superb on both occasions. We had two different waiters and both were amazing. One of my favorite restaurants ever. Period.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

awesome experience

Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I had an unbelievable experience. The food was amazing, the service was stellar, and the dining room was beautiful. The food is a bit expensive but perfect for one or twice a year for special events. The other tables around us were very loud though and made the experience not as enjoyable. Overall I definitely will come back, and hopefully less rude tables around us. Thanks for the great time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Erol is the best

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

We have eaten hear several times now and our waiter each time (so far) is simply the best. Food and ambience are all great, though menu focuses on meat and seafood. A bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing dinning experience. "Except"

Dined on December 26, 2015

The food, service, and atmosphere once we got into the Salacia part of the Hotel was amazing. This is the first time in 20 years we were able to get away from kids during a Holiday Weekend. I have to say sides should be included in meal and at appropriate size. My wife and I ordered 2 sides each with our steaks at $8.00 a pop "32.00" Little did we know the sides alone could have feed 4 people. That was the first time we experienced anything like this. Why not include 2 sides "single serving" with meal? We were expecting normal serving size but when they came out we finally understood why they alone were 8.00 a piece just because of the size alone. What a waste of food. In no way were we going to eat all that. Again please include single serving sides with meal food wont be wasted. We can't believe we spent 32.00 on sides alone. We learned a lesson for sure but believe you would better serve your customers with our suggestion. I wanted this night to be special for my Wife and I and wasn't going to let the huge over-sized, overpriced sides ruin that. That being said the experience was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary Date

Dined on December 19, 2015

EXCELLENT DINING EXPERIENCE. LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT VISIT.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fancy Night Out

Dined on December 11, 2015

Salacia is an outstanding small venue restaurant tucked away on the far side of Catch 31. The limited table availability lends to its cozy, private feeling for a five star meal. The servers are top rate professionals who seamlessly move in and out during the dining experience with minimal interruption to the dining experience. Driven towards intimate, close settings, this venue is perfect for a small group or couples night out. Sharing Catch 31's full bar, the wine menu and selection of top shelf beverages are limitless. The menu reads much like other fine dining where sides are "family style" and large enough for one or two persons. The meat and seafood selections are fresh and top rate, prepared flawlessly and fit for any pallet. I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting to spend a night on the town with fine food, beverages and atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4

Did not live up to the buzz

Dined on November 26, 2015

Appetizers were excellent! The entrees did not live up to expectations, dry and under seasoned. The quality did not match the price. We have experienced much finer dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

WOW!

Dined on November 7, 2015

My girlfriend and I both were amazed at how well we were treated and how delicious the food was. We felt like royalty throughout the entire dinner and had an amazing night-view of the beach throughout our dining experience. Overall, the food was amazing, our waiter was awesome, but this luxurious night out comes at a hefty price. Prepare to pay $$$ but it was well worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice time . It was my 60t ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

We had a very nice time . It was my 60th birthday, and all went well. Our waiter was outstanding. Very attentive, patient. My wife's meal was lobster I believe and she really enjoyed it. My meal was the steak. It was really good but a little overpriced for the occasion. For a 59 dollar steak I expect the preparation , taste, and size to be point on. In this case the steak was just a few points shy of being perfect.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous seafood restaurant, near the ocean

Dined on November 1, 2015

This restaurant was suggested by my chef friend in Washington, DC. The ambiance was perfect. It was our 1-year wedding anniversary so we sat outside where we could hear the waves roll in (couldn't see too much because it was night time). Although it was about 50 degrees outside, their heaters made us comfortable. Great service and presentation. We will visit again next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4

Okay I guess

Dined on October 25, 2015

I thought the ambience was great but the food was not all that. It's a shame when people come to our city as a tourist that this is one of the best restaurants they have to choose from. The shrimp was overcooked the sauces were OK and the steak was just OK nothing special. It was a private and quiet setting which we enjoyed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable...but

Dined on October 23, 2015

My wife and I went to Salacia for our 20th anniversary. Food was great (Filet Oscar was incredible), service was great, ambiance was good except for the loud party of 3 next to us having a business-related dinner. The loud laughter and continuous loud talking was not appreciated and very distracting. Without this party sitting next to us I would give Salacia 5 stars across the board.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance. Hidden secret.

Dined on October 18, 2015

Was the perfect setting and dinner prior to proposing to my now Fiance. Food was excellent, as was the wine selection. Great service and pace of everything coming out to us. Would highly recommend Salacia to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic Steakhouse

Dined on October 16, 2015

The ambiance of the restaurant was what we expected, a few tables were a little loud & the noise carried. The food was good, Kobe steak was amazing & worth the money. Service was over the top attentive but not bothersome. This is a must at least once due to the 4 diamond rating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Romantic dinner celebration

Dined on October 16, 2015

This was our first time to dine in this place. The place was convenient to the hotel we were staying. It was actually just a walking distance. We dined there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. When we came in before our appointed time, there was nobody to greet us. I have to go around the other restaurant to find out that the hostess is not around yet since they do not open till 5:30pm. That was very discouraging. We would prefer to be informed and know where to sit and wait rather that just having to standi by the entrance. As soon as the receptionist arrived, we were seated immediately. The food was good and portions a bit too big for us. I ordered a crab bisque thinking it is only going to be a cup, and ended up a bowl. It was very good and light, but it filled me up that I did not get to eat all of my main entrée. They surprised us with dessert on a nicely script plate "happy Anniversary". that was nice. I guess we were pushing our wish for complementary coffee too . (ha,ha,ha). Our dinner was expensive- almost $200 for just the 2 of us, but once in while on happy celebration- it is ok. We would like to come back if it is not too pricy. Maria and Alex Luna

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I very much enjoyed our d ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed our dinner. It was romantic and perfect for our 1st anniversary. The service was spectacular and the ambiance was very cool. We will definitely return if ever back in Virginia Beach.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.