Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today
Special offers available. See details

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks

4.6
962 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
When perfection is paramount, Salacia offers a dining experience for those with discerning tastes and seeking the highest in quality. Honored with distinctions such as Virginia Beach's Only oceanfront AAA Four-Diamond Steakhouse, recipient of the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence, Salacia has been recognized for its culinary delights and extraordinary service time and time again. Please note that our veranda seating is very limited and that reservations for outdoor tables are on a first come, first served basis and are not guaranteed. Requests will be happily noted, but reservations only guarantee a table, not a specific location. Dress is business casual for gentlemen, collar shirts required, no distressed jeans, athletic attire or beachwear permitted, ladies and children over eight years of age are required to dress accordingly. Due to the intimacy of the dining room, we do not permit high chairs or children under eight years of age.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open for dinner:
Sunday through Thursday 5:00-9:00
Friday and Saturday 5:00-10:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 213-3473
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dan Elinan
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Due to the limited number of seats, private parties and large reservations are accepted on an individual bases, pending availability and business demands.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Don Paul: (757) 213-3473
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
31st Street & Atlantic Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary Valet Service along with self parking in the hotel's parking garage.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Proper attire is business casual. To preserve the elegant setting, beach and athletic sportswear are not permitted. While denim and shorts are permitted, please note, no torn or frayed jeans. Collared shirts are required for Men and sports jackets are recommended - most Salacia guests dress for the occasion
Additional
Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

What 962 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 17 hours ago

Steak was wonderful, could cut like butter. Great wine list with many to accompany meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

special occasion, fantastic meal. we eat out quite a bit, wife thought it was the best overall meal she has had in the last 4 years.
steak
lobster
scallops
asparagus
bleu cheese potatoes augratin

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Good overall experience with one exception... piped in music should be turned off when there is a band plying in the gazebo. Two music streams was a cacaphony.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Our server, Michael, was excellent! Food amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The best steak in the area ! The the service was 1st class !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Awesome... Outdoor verandah cushion booth, CJ the manager and Jason the waiter were Totally VIP friendly. Food was excellent and atmosphere the best. We always dine there when at the beach. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

we went out to dinner with friends
The entrance to the restaurant was strange we had to walk through the front of another restaurants prep area and the floor was slippery.
My wife and shared the Rib eye for 2 it came out very rare at 1st and the cut was extremely fatty (huge chunks)and it should not have been served. Rib eye is my favorite and so this was a disappointment but the meat was tender and tasty.
the steak was very mildly seasoned but lacked the good NY steakhouse finish.
the other couple had a strip steak requested at medium well came out medium, and she had scallops and she said they were good but looked the size of a quarter.
We also had the smoked mushroom side and they were bland.
The asparagus and mac and cheese , Parmesan mini potatoes were great.
The seafood tower was a little bare with shrimp and the mussels were large and tough.
the oysters were perfect.
The BLT wedge salad was great.
the wait staff was great, and the ambiance and the view, the noise level was low so conversation was easy.
For and expensive meal the food was not as good as it shroud have been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great steaks and excellent service.
Wine list is extensive and using a tablet is helpful for reviewing the wine information.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Pretty nice, good food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

My wife and I went here as a special dinner a few days after we got married. I told the staff this and they made a point to seat us in their private dinner area right on the water. The waiter was awesome and gave us absolutely amazing service. The food was cooked perfectly and the portion sizes were incredibly generous. We will absolutely come back for special occasions if we find ourselves in the area. 5 stars.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Ok. Not as good as advertised. Scallops were overdone and steak grade wasn’t what I expected. Also, not clear on water selections. Was not offered tap water, took flat, and had a $7 surprise.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our food wait was quite a while and steaks were cooked incorrectly very over cooked, dry and tough. They did recook our order but we ended up having to take it to go as by the time we waited we were not hungry enough to enjoy it. Was disappointed as we have been here 2 other times and has always been our favorite place to come.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Exceptional dining in one of the outdoor private booth/cabanas. Michael is the waiter among waiters. Food wonderful and enough variety to make all happy. Save room for dessert(s). See you again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This is a beautiful restaurant with top notch service and delicious food. It is a bit pricey for the average person, but so worth it! If you need a special place to celebrate, go to Salacia. Also, make sure to make a reservation and ask to sit outside. They have done a beautiful job with the outside seating. The truffle mac and cheese with Gruyere cheese is delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Tremendous. Excellent service, and the food, from salad to main course to sides was excellent. The steak in particular was fantastic. Well worth the cost. I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Salacia is noted for their steaks. Each of us ordered steaks at different temps and they were served perfectly prepared. The service throughout our experience was impeccable. The new menu retains and improves the beef options and many of the great sides. The wine selection was outstanding and we enjoyed a Pinot Noir. We finished the meal with various deserts and a a desert wine. We dined outside which was quite enjoyable especially with the ocean nd boardwalk just steps away. Highly recommend this to anyone seeking the perfect steak. PS the other couple had not been to Salacia before and were wowed by the totql experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great evening and terrific service for our 32nd anniversary. Salads were spectacular -- my wife loved her beet salad; my wedge may have been the best I've ever had -- and our steaks were cooked to perfection. The patio was perfect for enjoying a May evening, watching folks stroll down the Boardwalk. Only one small gripe: the table wobbled noticeably every time we cut into our steaks, or even rested our arm; I'd ask the staff to reinforce the patio tables and fix the one detractor from the evening. Still, we'd happily return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

The our waiter was excellent and attentive and the food superb.
My husband had the steak; very flavorful.
I had the scallops and they were excellent.

We loved how cozy the atmosphere and an wonderful place for conversation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Most amazing steak of my life!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had some guests from Canada. We wanted them to experience the ocean front . The weather has not been so nice recently, but we lucked out dining alfresco!
Wonderful outdoor seating on comfortable couches at tables with covered overhang.
The food was some of the best I have had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The service and food was EXCELLENT. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Our meal from start to finish was horrible. It started with cold stale bread, followed by Shrimp Tempura, which was okay, but soggy. My husband ordered Lobster Bisque soup which was watery, salty and tasted awful. We ordered a BLT salad which was probably the most acceptable thing we ate all night. The sirloin steak was tough and flavorless and the peppercorn sauce that we ordered to go with it was broken and tasted like lemon it was really bad. We also ordered the Blue cheese and bacon potatoes, which were inedible, under cooked and grainy. It was hard to imagine a worse meal. We did complain to the manager and he was very apologetic, and refunded about $25 of our over $200 meal. We will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The experience was just as great as I had imagined!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my mom here for mother's Day. At first we thought we walked into the wrong place but then the hostess took us to our table right away. It was actually a hidden part of the restaurant which made it so much cooler! Our drinks came out perfect and the food was amazing! It was a bit pricey but it was well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very sophisticated ambiance - perfect lighting, privacy with space in between tables knowledgeable service people - very enjoyable all the way around. We had the Wagu Filets which were a culinary experience

One suggestion the sound system had some bleeding from the bar adjacent to Salacia at times we could hear two different music selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went on May 12, 2018 the place was very beautiful inside however the table seating is very close to one another you can hear other peoples conversation also the food took so long to get to us our reservation was for 7:45 PM we waited almost an hour and 15 minutes for our main course not to mention our appetizer took 30 minutes to get to our table it definitely was not worth the money that I spent The waiter we had was very nice but I will not be eating at this restaurant again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

From the foie gras to the seared rack of lamb everything was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The service and food were exquisite!! The waitstass was extremely professional and polite, while the food was amazing and priced accordingly. The only recommendation we would make is to add just a touch more lighting. The ambient lighting was nice, however just a bit too dark. Other than that it was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Surprise experience in Virginia Beach. Appetizers were excellent and the ribeye for two was cooked perfectly and delicious. Combined with a nice bottle of wine and excellent service, it was a very nice evening. Well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Salacia is our go to restaurant for special occassions and they never disappoint. We always eat outside and the way the tables are arranged you feel like the only table out there. Very cozy and private, food and waitstaff are outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We were asked to change our reservation either 1/2 an hour earlier or 1/2 hour later. We accommodated the request but I regret it. Rather than thank us for this with good seating, which I asked for when I agreed to change reservation, we were seated at a table all the way in the back of the restaurant, farthest from ocean view & right next to fireplace which was burning. My man spent his birthday dinner sweating profusely because of the hat from the fireplace, but didn’t want to complain because this was my special gift to him. Servers & Service was wonderful. Food was a bit shy of 4 stars but still good, very good even, but not great and definitely not 5 star, although the prices are 5 star level. Overall it’s a very good dining experience but a bit over priced.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Outstanding service at table

Had to wait 5 minutes for host/hostess (station was not attended), finally chased down the hostess who admitted she was not where she was supposed to be

Received my drink in a dirty glass (some crusty substance on the outside)

Steak was ordered medium rare and arrived well done. Second steak was at correct temperature but not even chain steakhouse (fine dining steakhouse) quality

Side and salad were excellent.

Prices were reasonable but I would not return or recommend.

They did compensate with a drink and coffee after dinner but did not make up for the poor dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Excellent food service and atmosphere. Couldn’t ask for a nicer experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It was a great birthday meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

My wife and I were in Va. Beach for a few days, and lucked into this place. Amazing seafood, service, and location. Fine dining with a view! We have eaten in great restaurants all over the country, and this is our new favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Our servers were fantastic. The little complimentary taste of poke, steak, and gelato was a pleasant surprise. I took away one star because the red mashed potatoes were a little too cooled down, stiff, and bland. Also, I was expecting more with the cauliflower mash. I don’t know if it was that red streak across my plate or not.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Best restaurant In all of VA beach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Wonderful food, excellent service, and location is perfect for after dinner stroll on boardwalk. We were seated in the private dining area and not in the main room where there was a lot of energy...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25