Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 20 times today

Saison

4.5
442 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(804) 269-3689
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Adam Hall
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Adams St.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 442 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 13 hours ago

Been numerous times in the past and always recommend people to come here. The server was un-informed of the menu and barely attentive. The food really lacked flavor. The soft shell crab dish was atrocious with way too much vinegar. It was unedible and the server never noticed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

Wow. This was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had to endure. Thankfully the company made up for the mean customer service, weeeiiiirrrddd food, and horrible drinks. If you enjoy being assaulted by hipster losers, then this is the place for you. Also, the BMW emblem was pried off of our car while we were at dinner. This is a dangerous neighborhood with bad restaurants. Go anywhere else but Saison

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The saison burger is my absolute favorite! And the oxtail sopes are a savory treat that will surprise you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent meal with inventive beverages. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great little restaurant with an eclectic menu.
Food and drinks were delicious.
We'll definitely be back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The Sunday fried chicken was amazing and the summer salad, an exquisite work of art.

No flexibility on substitutions so those with food restrictions may have limited options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our friends have always raved about Saison but for some reason hadn't made it there yet. Now that we've been it will definitely be on the regular rotation of go-to restaurants. Food was great, beer and cocktail selection was awesome. Thanks to everyone at Saison for a great meal!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Only complaint was too noisy (noise level on survey was not appropriate). Otherwise, wonderful experience all around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

It was a good restaurant and we enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The food was good and the server was very nice. However, I asked for a martini and was presented a cocktail with a saline solution. I came to find out after I ordered my drink that the restaurant does not even have olives. I really wish the server just said they don't have olives from the beginning. I would have just ordered something else, but instead I just drank some salty expensive gin.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

when we are in Richmond we always try and have a bite at this wonderful restaurant, with changing menu items and local ingredients. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great vegan options!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fun cocktails and great for date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Although the only reservation available was at 5:00 PM, we were the only people in Saison til very close to 6:00 PM. Nevertheless, we had some great cocktails and good conversation...which is at a premium once it gets going on a Friday night...it gets loud!! (but not in a bad way...more of a "this place is hoppin'" sort of way")

Service was very good. Menu was great. Food was fantastic. The lamb chops were really outstanding. Most of the meals I have had here are very, very, good.

Big plus: we went around the corner to Saison market after dinner and had good drinks to continue the conversation...that is a nice option, especially in that part of town.

Great night!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This restaurant is trying way too hard to be cool, when it should be trying to provide good service to diners.

The atmosphere is standard RVA generic hipster with upscale prices on food and cocktails. The menu for both is interesting, but the service is just awful.

My wife and I waited 20 minutes past our scheduled reservation time and, once seated, waited another 10 minutes to get our drinks. Throughout our meal, we were ignored and had to flag down servers for water refills (we gave up on cocktails after the first round) and eventually just begged for the check so we could get the heck out of there.

It's too bad, because the food and the cocktails were quite tasty. If this place had the same level of quality for customer service and experience, they might have a real gem on their hands. Until then, though, avoid this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent, well prepared meals!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had an amazing dinner, but we did not care for waiting 30 minutes to get a drink and two other tables that were seated after us got service first.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Restaurant Week

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great food, better service. Drink selection was incredible; beer, wine, cocktails... unbelievable

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Very very loud but cute place and great service. Difficult to find parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great little restaurant and the food was very unique. I liked the options of special drinks and the atmosphere was very local.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Very loud, but we got used to it. The food was very good and so were the cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The cocktail menu is full of variety and great drinks, the servers are friendly and attentive, and the food is delicious. I can’t recommend the lamb tartare enough, it is one of the best things I’ve eaten in Richmond.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Overall, a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Favorite restaurant in all of Richmond, hands down.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

All the men got burgers and pronounced them to be best burger in town. Server helpful and attentive, good beverage choices, and the ladies enjoyed the seafood. Prices fair enough husband didn't complain

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants in town. The food is always incredible and the drink menu alone is a reason to visit. Friendly, excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Everything was perfectly thought out and perfectly executed. That’s super rare but the servers were so great, sweet, and helpful on top of it. Well definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Birthday. Awesome. Delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Only issue we had was initially being placed at a table next to door and inch from other table. It was uncomfortable and awkward. That spot should only seat 2 max and never 4. We asked to move and all was fine after that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The service was excellent and the food was really yummy! It was an interesting menu, and we had fun ordering. I loved the cheese beignets! I could have eaten 3 order of those~

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

First time visiting Saison. Everything was delicious! Will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Fantastic! I recommend the hanger steak. A little noisy though. I’m going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I made a reservation at Saison to celebrate my friends' recent engagement to each other. I mentioned this to the host when I made the reservation, and when we arrived the menus all had "Congratulations (blank) and (blank)!" It was a thoughtful addition. The food and the service were both great. It was a memorable night and everyone had good time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As usual, we experienced terrific service, delicious beverages program and food, and a great overall vibe. Richmond offers a number of fantastic restaurants and Saison continues to deliver a top-tier experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Tried 3 different wines. All were bad. Other tables were sending back also. Please learn how to store an open bottle of wine. Food was good. Service was good. Space was really tight. Really loud

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The best mussels ever, with sausage and chili. Amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Amazing food but cold and uninviting wait staff. Thankfully the food is so good you seem to forget about the staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Love this place! Great food, great service and great ambiance. Oh and forgot to mention-great cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent restaurant - very imaginative menu, greatly prepared food, nice size portions, fantastic desserts - good cocktails - a bit noisy

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Saison