About Saison

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (9)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great Beer (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Organic (5)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to this restaurant last night aft ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

I went to this restaurant last night after hearing much high praise. Sometimes that can throw off the whole deal, but it for sure did not disappoint. Everything we got was delicious and we were jealous of everything we didn't order as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, the dishes were innovative an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

As always, the dishes were innovative and delicious. Our server also went above and beyond for a few special requests. I would definitely recommend Saison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic- best drinks in RVA but ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always fantastic- best drinks in RVA but cold by the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live outside of Richmond and don't go ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live outside of Richmond and don't go out to eat a lot. But when we do, we want great food. Saison did not disappoint. We had a short wait for our table when we arrived for our 8:15 reservation. All tables were occupied, as was the bar area, so we took advantage of the time to peruse the menu. The cocktails we perfectly prepared. I selected a Brussels sprout appetizer/small plate which included creamy goat cheese. It was so delicious, I tried to copy it at home the next night. The pork chop was perfectly prepared - tender and succulent. My date had the wahoo special - again perfectly prepared. The waiter was knowledgeable and helpful with a wine recommendation. Overall, we loved it, and will definitely return

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a surprise nestled on a City corner ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a surprise nestled on a City corner-Saison's dinner menu at first glance looked sparse with 6 or so small plates and 8 dinner entries listed. BUT when each of these plates were explained, we realized this was a power packed menu. We tried three of the large plates- rice bowl with pickled veggies and mushrooms, rockfish over rice, and a fish stew. All of the Food, without exception, was exemplary, impeccably seasoned and cooked to perfection! We also tried the fried Brussel sprouts- not what you would expect as southern fried. They were pan fried with pistachios, shallots and other ingredients. Unbelievably good!! Service was outstanding!

Although we chose wine and beer for dinner, a variety of novel cocktails are offered. Can't wait to try Saison again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome spot - make your reservation ear ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome spot - make your reservation early - This is a great place in Richmond - new just behind Maxes on Broad - good food - great drinks -

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, lovely service. Definitely a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great meal, lovely service. Definitely a. Keeper. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative drink menu, ample small plate ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Innovative drink menu, ample small plates, delicious entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. The service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was less so. Our server was borderline rude and we waited about an hour for our main course. No apology, no checking in to let us know it would almost be ready, no checking in after we got our food. My husband meat was delicious but sat on top of cold mashed potatoes. The food makes it worth the trip but just expect snooty servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great special cocktails and entrees. Had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great special cocktails and entrees. Had the rockfish and the scallops and both were excellent. Skillet cornbread is a must have as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed. Been there before a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I was disappointed. Been there before and delighted. But this time service was slow. Multiple wave downs to get attention. My hanger steak was poor cut, tough. Spent over $100 and did not get delighted. This experience will make it a long time before I return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Oxtail Sopes we unreal! Smores and pumpk ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Oxtail Sopes we unreal! Smores and pumpkin praline desserts were well portioned and delicious. The corn bread was sweet with a great crust. Hanger steak, fried chicken and burger were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is typical of a trendy re ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The restaurant is typical of a trendy restaurant for Richmond. The service was poor; or perhaps it was just our waitress because it was Monday. The appetizers are outstanding (especially the pastrami ribs and the ox tail dish), the entrees are pretty good. Avoid any dish with the bravas potatoes because they're obnoxiously greasy. The cocktails are very good, but I've had better at other Richmond restaurants. I would tell you that if you have a choice between choosing The Roosevelt or another similar restaurant, and Saison... go to the other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The oxtail sopes and the fried chicken w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The oxtail sopes and the fried chicken were killer. Ordered a large number of dishes off the menu, and nothing disappointed... ordered a second helping of the cornbread.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Never got the chance to come here when I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never got the chance to come here when I lived in Richmond, but glad I finally got to visit. The food was amazing (I had the hanger steak and it was perfectly cooked), the cocktail, beer, and wine lists were great, and the service was perfect. We had reservations for 8pm and were promptly seated, even though we were 15 minutes early.

Can't recommend this place enough, whether it's dinner with friends or a special night out, you won't regret it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud to carry on any semblance of a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Too loud to carry on any semblance of a conversation . Go during the week if you have anything to say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Exceptional food and an amazing bartende ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Exceptional food and an amazing bartender. Excellent craft cocktail program, without the usual wait for such complex drinks. Best dining in Richmond.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have yet to try something here that I ha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Have yet to try something here that I haven't thoroughly enjoyed. This has become our go-to place to special occasion dinners and date nights. The prices are a little high, but worth it in my opinion. Definitely give it try. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison always delivers! Interesting food ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Saison always delivers! Interesting food excellently prepared. The seasonally-changing menu offers things that are different and sometimes unfamiliar but - whatever you order - know that it will be awesome. Even if you are not feeling adventuresome, the hamburger is amazing. This is the BEST place for craft cocktails in the city.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small and very charming, with excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Small and very charming, with excellent beers on tap. Food was all delicious. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar service was sloooow..

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The bar service was sloooow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Our waiter was wonderful and energetic! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful and energetic! Food was tasty and unique. Atmosphere was pleasant. Great place for date night!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is worth putting up with the ti ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is worth putting up with the tight cramped space and the noise level. After all I was there for the food.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely delicious. Small menu but a g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Small menu but a good amount of variety in dishes. Only downfall is size, no matter where you sit it feels like you're in someone's way. Cocktails are worth the hype though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This used to be one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants and while the food remains adequate with a slightly too small menu, the wine list was too small and overpriced. They used to have a wider variety with a bigger range of prices. I believe we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Restaurant was smokey

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Restaurant was smokey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food and service were outstanding. W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good-- both service and food-- a fi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very good-- both service and food-- a first ever visit during restaurant week in Richmond. Quaint and cozy without the "packed-in" feeling normally experienced in relatively small rooms... food was outstanding although portioned on the smaller side and service friendly, amusing and recommendations spot on .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful setting for creative cocktail ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delightful setting for creative cocktails and outstanding food. Everything about the meal had us commenting on how great a restaurant Saison is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun spot for Girls' Night Out! The wait ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun spot for Girls' Night Out! The waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is great, service excellent, I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food is great, service excellent, I always love going here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite Restaurant in RVA. Saison is ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My Favorite Restaurant in RVA. Saison is always great for dates or a group of friends. Fantastic food, cocktails and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I eat here I'm blown away by ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Every time I eat here I'm blown away by their consistent ability to one-up the previous meal (which was already fantastic!) These guys kill it, from the front of the house to the back. Beverage selections are always well curated and expertly made, service is friendly and knowledgeable, and the kitchen is putting out some of the best food in Richmond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Spicy, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After asking a foodie friend for his top ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

After asking a foodie friend for his top pics to celebrate our 21st anniversary he highly recommend your restaurant saying that the food was delicious. It most certainly was! Had the PEI mussels, cornbread, catch of the day (halibut), and the pork chop. To top it off we shared the apple crisp a la mode, which was divine! Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were unique and delicious. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The cocktails were unique and delicious. The food options were also unique and very tasty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time much much more memorable tha ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Second time much much more memorable than the first. Cocktails were inventive and fresh. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Small plates easily served two. And so glad we split the hangar steak main dish. Large portion of perfectly seasoned and cooked hangar steak served with sides that complemented it well. Not crazy about the dessert, probably worth noting in their menu that the lemon meringue pie is "deconstructed". The crust was very gritty and unpleasant. But, maybe it was the world telling me I shouldn't be eating dessert!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit overpriced for what you g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced for what you get and some of the combinations were unusual(and not in a particularly good way i.e dessert & salad). Had 1 good entree and one so-so entre. Not sure I'd go back unless someone really said they wanted to try it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left much to be desired. Won't return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I really don't know what to recommend it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I really don't know what to recommend it for - food was pretty good, they have a good cook - but it's very small and crowded and the noise! - makes a refugee camp sound like Sunday church/ you have to yell LOUD to exchange a few words/ waitress was flighty and I could not hear what she said - got OUT of there, will most likely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our daughter's recent move to Richmond and her new job. From the great cocktails to the outstanding desserts, everything was spot on. Great wait staff, too. Highly recommended, also Saison Market store next door!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.