About Saison

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Fun (9)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Spicy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (2)
 (1)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
 (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have yet to try something here that I ha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Have yet to try something here that I haven't thoroughly enjoyed. This has become our go-to place to special occasion dinners and date nights. The prices are a little high, but worth it in my opinion. Definitely give it try. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison always delivers! Interesting food ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Saison always delivers! Interesting food excellently prepared. The seasonally-changing menu offers things that are different and sometimes unfamiliar but - whatever you order - know that it will be awesome. Even if you are not feeling adventuresome, the hamburger is amazing. This is the BEST place for craft cocktails in the city.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small and very charming, with excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Small and very charming, with excellent beers on tap. Food was all delicious. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar service was sloooow..

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The bar service was sloooow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Our waiter was wonderful and energetic! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful and energetic! Food was tasty and unique. Atmosphere was pleasant. Great place for date night!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is worth putting up with the ti ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is worth putting up with the tight cramped space and the noise level. After all I was there for the food.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This used to be one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants and while the food remains adequate with a slightly too small menu, the wine list was too small and overpriced. They used to have a wider variety with a bigger range of prices. I believe we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Restaurant was smokey

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Restaurant was smokey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food and service were outstanding. W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good-- both service and food-- a fi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very good-- both service and food-- a first ever visit during restaurant week in Richmond. Quaint and cozy without the "packed-in" feeling normally experienced in relatively small rooms... food was outstanding although portioned on the smaller side and service friendly, amusing and recommendations spot on .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful setting for creative cocktail ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delightful setting for creative cocktails and outstanding food. Everything about the meal had us commenting on how great a restaurant Saison is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun spot for Girls' Night Out! The wait ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun spot for Girls' Night Out! The waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is great, service excellent, I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food is great, service excellent, I always love going here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite Restaurant in RVA. Saison is ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My Favorite Restaurant in RVA. Saison is always great for dates or a group of friends. Fantastic food, cocktails and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I eat here I'm blown away by ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Every time I eat here I'm blown away by their consistent ability to one-up the previous meal (which was already fantastic!) These guys kill it, from the front of the house to the back. Beverage selections are always well curated and expertly made, service is friendly and knowledgeable, and the kitchen is putting out some of the best food in Richmond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Spicy, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After asking a foodie friend for his top ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

After asking a foodie friend for his top pics to celebrate our 21st anniversary he highly recommend your restaurant saying that the food was delicious. It most certainly was! Had the PEI mussels, cornbread, catch of the day (halibut), and the pork chop. To top it off we shared the apple crisp a la mode, which was divine! Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were unique and delicious. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The cocktails were unique and delicious. The food options were also unique and very tasty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time much much more memorable tha ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Second time much much more memorable than the first. Cocktails were inventive and fresh. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Small plates easily served two. And so glad we split the hangar steak main dish. Large portion of perfectly seasoned and cooked hangar steak served with sides that complemented it well. Not crazy about the dessert, probably worth noting in their menu that the lemon meringue pie is "deconstructed". The crust was very gritty and unpleasant. But, maybe it was the world telling me I shouldn't be eating dessert!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit overpriced for what you g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced for what you get and some of the combinations were unusual(and not in a particularly good way i.e dessert & salad). Had 1 good entree and one so-so entre. Not sure I'd go back unless someone really said they wanted to try it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left much to be desired. Won't return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I really don't know what to recommend it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I really don't know what to recommend it for - food was pretty good, they have a good cook - but it's very small and crowded and the noise! - makes a refugee camp sound like Sunday church/ you have to yell LOUD to exchange a few words/ waitress was flighty and I could not hear what she said - got OUT of there, will most likely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our daughter's recent move to Richmond and her new job. From the great cocktails to the outstanding desserts, everything was spot on. Great wait staff, too. Highly recommended, also Saison Market store next door!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never eaten here before, and it s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had never eaten here before, and it surpassed all expectations. Great, great meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little place with interesting menu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice little place with interesting menu and well prepared food. All our dishes were very good including sausage, poussin and corn bread . Good beer and cocktail list. Friendly staff. On a Saturday night it was really loud to the point of being uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

10/10 would recommend, food was amazing- ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

10/10 would recommend, food was amazing--charred baby octopus is a must. Seafood is on point. The chocolate coconut mound for dessert will blow your mind. Drinks were okay--food is the star here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best drink from their summer m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I had the best drink from their summer menu and Justin was amazing

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I popped in for some drinks ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My wife and I popped in for some drinks and appetizers as a quick date on our anniversary. We went early, and it was quiet. We just wanted a chance to talk and enjoy the afternoon. The staff was friendly, and the drinks were excellent. We didn't order anything exotic. They have a whole unique drinks menu, however. We had the corn nuts to start, and then the cornbread with foie gras butter and the grilled octopus. We enjoyed everything we ordered. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and attentive staff !

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful meal and attentive staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal start to finish. Server ( ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful meal start to finish. Server (I think it was Jeff) was very knowledgable about the menu, dishes, preparation. Very creative, fresh cocktails. Had to try the oxtail which did not disappoint. The Nashville-style spicy fried chicken over watermelon/cuke was out of this world. We shared the lemon merengue pie; clever "deconstructed" creation. Saison was a great find; so glad we went. Noise level did rise to unpleasant levels at time....we'll never understand how/why some diners think it's ok to be at "full-shout" in a small restaurant. When the loudest nearby table left, it was much better. Not much the restaurant can do about this; maybe an acoustical engineering consultant ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing! Sunday's they have ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is amazing! Sunday's they have a special fried chicken deal, and not only was the chicken great, but so were the sides. Not only was the food great, but Saison has a lengthy cocktail list. Super attentive staff- Definetly will be going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time at Saison. Each t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my third time at Saison. Each time had great food, great service, great atmosphere. Happened in by chance first time in Richmond. Now make sure to get to Saison when here. Love the vegan chocolate coconut ball dessert!! Don't eat dairy and can't usually have dessert when out, so a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dinner, all four of us were extre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Superb dinner, all four of us were extremely happy with our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I will give them that they had unexpecte ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I will give them that they had unexpected large tables, but everything from the food to the wine list were VERY AVERAGE. Our table had two descriptors- salty and over cooked.

Instead of the wait staff being excited they may make money on a Monday, they acted like we ruined their night. If they can't handle large tables, they should not accept reservations for them on open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Because Saison provides fresh local offe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Because Saison provides fresh local offerings, there's always something slightly new to try. The tomato salad had a variety of freshly sliced tomatoes with cheese which was delicious. The hangar steak is a consistent winner as was the fresh fish. Seasonal wine pours allow you to try new wines. Make a reservation, because it's always busy, even during the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a hot evening and the restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a hot evening and the restaurant was hot. We got the special, the fried chicken. It was ok. The sides and the salad were great. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Food is always fantastic. Best cocktails ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food is always fantastic. Best cocktails in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ox tail was good. Plantains were bland. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ox tail was good. Plantains were bland. Seafood and sausage dinners were okay. We liked the wait staff. The restaurant is not in the same league as the better ones in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish was amazing, especially the p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every dish was amazing, especially the papaya salad. Also the cocktail menu is one of the best I have seen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Saison at least 6 times ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to Saison at least 6 times since moving to the area 7 months ago. It stays at the top of our list for one of the best dining experiences in RVA. It's simply fantastic in all ways!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually the service is perfect- new girl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Usually the service is perfect- new girl this time. You will forever be changed and compare all food to Saison after you go. Also the cocktails actually taste like all the fanciness they claim to have

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.