Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, we experienced terrific service, delicious beverages program and food, and a great overall vibe. Richmond offers a number of fantastic restaurants and Saison continues to deliver a top-tier experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Tried 3 different wines. All were bad. Other tables were sending back also. Please learn how to store an open bottle of wine. Food was good. Service was good. Space was really tight. Really loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The best mussels ever, with sausage and chili. Amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food but cold and uninviting wait staff. Thankfully the food is so good you seem to forget about the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! Great food, great service and great ambiance. Oh and forgot to mention-great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent restaurant - very imaginative menu, greatly prepared food, nice size portions, fantastic desserts - good cocktails - a bit noisy

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 13, 2018

One of the best meals we've had! Ever! Great flavors with some creative twists, and everything was cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2018

I have a meetup group called " Lets Dine Out RVA"....I loved the food, particularly the Moraccan carrots and the cornbread. The service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Probably one of my favorite Richmond restaurants. Best wings in town; have yet to have a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The appetizers (escabeche, lamb tartare, corn bread) and main dishes (duck breast + rock fish) were all done pretty well overall. However, the chef seems to have taken too much of a big liking to SOURness and pickled vegetables. the escabeche was way too sour, could taste the fish at all except the burnt or charred flavor on the skin. The mains ought to be served with simpler seasons greens rather than a mass of various veggies that were either overcooked or inappropriate (charred pickled vegetables??). Keeping things simple and true to their original flavors is best when highlighting what is fresh, seasonal and local. The one thing that truly turns us off is the noise. It's not "ENERGETIC" as Yelp puts it, it's too loud for any conversation. Smooth wood floors, smooth wood table tops, smooth wood ceiling. Intolerable. With plates and glasses knocking on tables, people talking over each other to be heard, no meal can be truly enjoyed in such a dining atmosphere.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2018

This place was LOUD. Even before the room filled up, the music was cranking and made it awkward to talk -- even when sitting at a small table. Once the tables filled with chatty folks, we shouted at each other for an hour. Needs to work on damping the volume with some acoustic tiles or something. The FOOD was quite good, but nothing I'll remember a month from now. Kudos for all the GF and Vegetarian options being clearly listed on menu. Everything was fresh and presented well. The room is intimate without being claustrophobic. I might go back. Maybe.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2018

The food was delicious and well priced and the presentation was beautiful.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Food and cocktails were great. It is a small seasonal food restaurant with a pleasant staff. We will be back to try out different menus during different seasons!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2018

The food was awesome!!! Highly recommend coming here for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Delicious food! Lamb tartare (appetizer) was excellent. Unobtrusive and knowledgeable service. Would return the next time I am in Richmond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We enjoyed the food very much and the ambiance was cool, though that latter quality seemed to occupy more of our server's attention than being clear about what was going on with our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The food was delicious! The kitchen was a little slow, but all the food was worth the wait. I would definitely go back. We ordered chicken wings for the table and had to order a second round they were so good. I had duck breast and it was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2018

I'd been saving our first trip to Saison for my wife's birthday. Positive reviews ( online and from friends) preceeded and we were not disappointed. Service, craft drinks, menu and food were absolutely (having trouble thinking of a superlative)...well, superlative. We are looking forward to our next visit. It was a truly exceptional restaurant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Nice atmosphere. The cocktails are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Great food and service. It took a little time to get the food, but the vibe is relaxed, so we did the same. Good spot for a date.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2018

We were a party of 7. Reservations were at 6 and we arrived promtly. They had 1 other table when we arrived. It took forever for our appetisers to arrive and even longer for our food! 2 of us had to send it back to heat up. 2 others wanted to but were feerful they would overcook the duck so they ate it room temp. It was 9pm when we left. Others came and went and were served before us! Unfortunately would not reccomend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great dinner, delicious food, nice service - all around fun night out. Service was a little slow but we had a big party - would not recommend for a party bigger than 6. perfect spot for a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Phenomenal food. We had such a good time and can not recommend this place highly enough. I have raved about it to everyone I’ve seen since we were there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Whoa nelly that’s personal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2017

This was the choice restaurant for an annual Christmas Dinner, and we were all very pleased with the Open Table find. Reservation was easy (and recommended, the place is small), and we were seated at arrival. Menus are small, with a good amount of choices. The cocktails were really good, appetizers great (get the oxtail & mussels!), and our dinners were all generous portions. Service missed a few details, and we all felt we were looked down on when asking questions about items on the cocktail menu that we didn't know. Overall, it is a restaurant that creates delicious food, and has a good wine list and cocktail menu. Should be on your 2018 To Do list for RIC restaurants!

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious - great, creative flavors. The cocktails were very good too and the wait staff gave great recommendations on wines and pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Great food! Excellent Hanger Steak Meatloaf. Service a bit slow, but satisfactory.

Only feedback, I asked for my left overs to be boxed up. This was request was not fulfilled.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Very good food. There were eight people in our group, but the service didn’t suffer at all. We ordered several small plates and entrees and everyone was pleased with their meal. The craft cocktails are spectacular as well. Very solid meal and experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2017

There is no better burger in town, the bartenders are fantastic, and it’s a cozy spot for a chilly winter evening. A perfect Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2017

wonderful..great vibe..delicious food and our waiter was a delight..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Appetizers were all superb. Mains excellent as well. Great cocktails. And just a terrific waitstaff

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The food was wonderful and the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Very intimate space- staff was friendly- food was tasty and the cocktails were delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I recently went here for a birthday dinner. This is a great spot for cocktails! All of our drinks were fantastic. The food was really delicious with options for everyone in the group.
They were not able to accommodate one additional chair to our table for an unexpected arrival, which was totally understandable because it's a small space. But I will say that the waitress was not so polite about it, so that was quite off-putting. I wouldn't say service is the best here, but everything else was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Dinner was really delicious except for dessert. Dessert was terrible. We tried 2 different items. No one at the table liked the dessert. The sweet potato pie was especially awful...it was deconstructed and not good at all. The pieces of sweet potato were hard as if they hadn't been cooked. If they would work on their dessert choices, this place could become one of my go to places.
Drinks were good. Make sure they give you happy hour prices if you order before 7:00 on a week night. Our waitress seemed a little perturbed that we asked her to correct the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Waitress was a little short, but the food was outstanding. Cool little spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Oxtail sopes are excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I can’t even begin to describe our wonderful meal. Upon arriving I had shared with our waitress that I had just had gall bladder surgery and was on a restricted diet. Not only did she research it on her iPad, our waitress and the chef made me the most delicious meal ever. The chef made sure everything we used to create my delicious meal was safe for me to digest. Who goes above and beyond like they did? I can’t tell you how much it meant to be able to dine with our party and know what I was eating would not affect my health issue. I will be returning to this fine establishment and forever will be grateful for making sure our son’s 30 birthday was a smashing success. Touché to the outstanding staff you all have employed. Thank you from the bottom on my heart.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Cozy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Family dinner over Thanksgiving weekend. All meals ordered were delicious. Cocktails, beer and wine choices were very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Loved everything we ordered! Draft list includes a couple of ciders. Our reservation was for 7 but we got there almost an hour early and they still were able to seat us. I thought this place was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.