Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:


Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (14)
Seasonal (13)
Great Beer (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Has a neighborhood feel but the quality of the experience is much more. Nice selection of beers (not too many to choose).
Delicious appetizers. The tomato salad is great right now. Great corn bread
The Steelhead trout was excellent. Attractive presentation with greens matched by the rich flavor.
Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I drive over an hour to try Saison after reading about their burger in Food Network, and seeing Katie Dupree's segment on WRIC. We had reservations for 6pm on a Saturday evening. The waitstaff was very attentive without being overbearing. I had the Hangar Steak (OMG - SO GOOD!) and my husband had the Burger (Also SO GOOD!). We also shared an order of the Corn bread - YUM! Everything was prepared perfectly, and cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We left after 1 hour and a bottle of wine with no food or waitress coming to the table to say anything. When we got up to complain she was nasty. We informed the manager about the concern and left. We have had a great experience there in the past. We will give it 6mths and consider returning when It is quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was excellent! Best meal I've had out in a while. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was wonderful and the wine and beer list was extensive.
My only complaint is the noise level. My wife and I had to basically yell at each other to have a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Perfect appetizers and cocktails before catching a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious food, fun menu and great service! We had the oxtail and the fried green tomato starters and loved both!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and drinks, service was a little slow, but friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was well prepared with great flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Unfortunately I did not have a good experience at Saison and will not be returning. Our dinner when we finally received it was good but we waited over an hour after our appetizers were cleared before the entrees arrived. Our server informed us (after we asked) that there was a back up in the kitchen but everyone around us had been served. Her lack of apology or concern was aggravating. By the time the evening was over, I had a splitting headache from the noise and I was extremely uncomfortable from sitting so long on chairs that had little cushion. We did not linger over the usual coffee and dessert because all we wanted to do was get out of there. If you go, I do not recommend the fried green tomatoes - they were bland and dry. I would recommend the cornbread and trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was spot on and food was phenomenal. My date and I enjoyed 1) oxtail 2) food gras and 3) lamb chop special to start and for our mains 1) killer scallop dish with spicy carrot purée and 2) an amazing steak, sirloin maybe? All around awesome. Small but sufficient dining room feels lively and cozy at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was good, but overpriced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great time with friends over lovely dinner, excellent drinks and wine, friendly service. Good vibe, have gone several times before and it's always a special meal. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Lovely restaurant with a beautiful ambiance and stellar food. One member of our party was vegetarian and unfortunately left unsatisfied. Couldn't have asked for better service and quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Decent food...but not great. The noise level made it difficult to engage with other guests at my table. Wait staff/service was slow---it took an hour for our food to arrive. With all the great options in Richmond, I would skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Enjoyed a glass of the Vranec red wine (excellent) with my Lamb rack, prepared rare, perfect with vegetables also not over cooked, a treat since rack of lamb rarely on the menu in RVA. I was intimidated by the cocktail menu, did not recognize most of the listed ingredients, but it read as a creative piece. My young companion was more adventurous and enjoyed a Truth Serum. Her entree the Rundown pleased her too We shared the asparagus appetizer and loves it. Also enjoyed the chocolate torte for dessert, not as great as the rest of the meal but I don't do dessert. I will definitely be back for the excellent food, wish I'd remembered to photograph it, the place itself is not a lovely special occasion place but with food this good it beats a few that have better ambience and similar or higher prices. Went on a Thursday, no need to dress up then anyway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Small, cozy gastropub in downtown Richmond. Great, innovative cocktails. Friendly service. Decent wine list. Outstanding roast veg.....especially carrots and asparagus. Burgers were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had heard glowing reports but our first visit to this restaurant was disappointing. Parking is on-street only and was complicated by VCU graduation. Immediately got impression it was more bar than restaurant--four pages of drinks and only one-half page of entrees. Seating was cramped. Diners who came in after us were advised of daily specials that we had not been offered. Crispy rice was good only if one can tolerate very spicy foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was a group of 5, the creative cocktails were fun and tasty. Everyone ordered from the menu and all the dishes came out as expected. We all shared bites with each other. The food had nice rich flavors. We all would certainly come back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I don't eat a lot of red meat, so when I do, I want it to be great. The hamburger and the hanger steak were a master class in med rare. Our service was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A good restaurant picks itself up after a setback. I used to live in RVA and used to celebrate a lot of especial occasions here. After putting a lot of thought in where to take my boyfriend, the one weekend we were going to be back in town, I made up my mind on this gem. Drinks are awesome and the seasonal menu is always worth it. At the time of our arrival we were informed it was restaurant week, which honestly can be a good deal for locals, but when coming in for the MENU, being limited is a very upsetting thing. The end product, we decided to share a menu, and taste a bit of some plates, and boy were we impressed, the hanger steak was comparable to any 5 star steakhouse, and the sides were just perfect. On top of that, a mysterious "friend", decided to cover our dinner, and made the entire experience so much more memorable. Thanks Saison for being full of surprises, and helping me make new memories every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If you are looking for the total experience in a casual package, then Saison blows challenges the status quo. If you consider yourself a foodie, then this is the place to go. The wait staff work in concert to provide the best dining experience possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was our first time there and we were very impressed by everything, especially the potatoes which were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a delicious night. Service was great, cocktails were seasonal and delish. Such a treat.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We are here for restaurant week and loved every course! we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Saison is consistently great! Both meats and seafood are flavorably seasoned. The wine selection recently changed, so we got to try some new varietals which came from various countries and vineyards. The server allowed us to taste them and when they didn't know about a particular wine, they got another server who did so that all our questions were answered. The only sad part about the meal was that it was restaurant week, so the ox tails weren't on the menu! They're well worth another visit!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The BEST cocktails! Also, great restaurant week menu this year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We went for Restaurant week. The choices were well varied, and appealing. We each got a special cocktail and they were different and delicious. The food was presented well and very tasty. The service was great - especially given how busy they were.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Thanks to our waiter, Jack, we were well taken care of for the evening of friends chatter! We were there for Restaurant Week and the menu was innovative and delicious. Beautiful fresh bib lettuce salad with pickled egg, just-right-spicy crispy rice with kimchi and homemade spicy sauce, and marvelous dulce deleche ice cream over chocolate ginger cake crumble. Husbands both had a large portion of skate (not as flavorful as they like.) Jack was very knowledgeable about the beer list, too! Great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved this place so much. Will be back next time in Richmond. Jack was so friendly and accommodating; thank you so much for everything. The dry-rubbed wings are to-die-for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

After hearing so much about Saison, we hosted a group of 5 friends there for dinner on a Saturday night. Was not disappointing and very impressive! Outstanding cocktails as evidenced by our party's repeat orders of them. Our server was fun, informative, and attentive, without being overly. I'm the Paleo diet, and the kitchen was very accommodating in a starch substitution for my entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Another example of a Richmond dining gem. Small and cozy, but seemingly not crushed. Tables close together but arranged so that you don't feel that you are sharing the next table's meal. Very delicious and creative preparation. Only downside is that the large plate menu is relatively limited. As a result, we don't feel compelled to return soon, but will undoubtedly do so at some point in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Crispy Rice Bowl with the added oxtail and 5-minute egg is all you need to know in order to upgrade your life. Add in one of the killer mezcal cocktails and goodnight!

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was really good...some of the vegetables were almost too spicy for my taste, but good. However it was so loud, we could hardly have a conversation. ...that part tainted the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there for anniversary dinner and was very pleased. The menu is not huge, but creative and varied. Every dish was an work of art with a perfect combination of textures and flavors. The waitress was attentive and right on with her recommendations. I would highly recommend visiting this little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was great and good tasted amazing! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It's been a few days and I keep thinking back to the ribeye and veggies I had. Small plates were great too. The service was impressive, prices were fair. Get a cocktail. All the stars.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really good food and unique drinks. Everyone in our group was happy with the meals, service and overall experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Loved it ! Staff was as fabulous as the food! Highly recommend supporting a local establishment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The steak with maitake mushrooms was to die for. Our server was very helpful in selecting wines to pair with our meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.