Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:


Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (21)
Casual (18)
Seasonal (16)
Great Beer (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (12)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Decent food...but not great. The noise level made it difficult to engage with other guests at my table. Wait staff/service was slow---it took an hour for our food to arrive. With all the great options in Richmond, I would skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Enjoyed a glass of the Vranec red wine (excellent) with my Lamb rack, prepared rare, perfect with vegetables also not over cooked, a treat since rack of lamb rarely on the menu in RVA. I was intimidated by the cocktail menu, did not recognize most of the listed ingredients, but it read as a creative piece. My young companion was more adventurous and enjoyed a Truth Serum. Her entree the Rundown pleased her too We shared the asparagus appetizer and loves it. Also enjoyed the chocolate torte for dessert, not as great as the rest of the meal but I don't do dessert. I will definitely be back for the excellent food, wish I'd remembered to photograph it, the place itself is not a lovely special occasion place but with food this good it beats a few that have better ambience and similar or higher prices. Went on a Thursday, no need to dress up then anyway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Small, cozy gastropub in downtown Richmond. Great, innovative cocktails. Friendly service. Decent wine list. Outstanding roast veg.....especially carrots and asparagus. Burgers were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had heard glowing reports but our first visit to this restaurant was disappointing. Parking is on-street only and was complicated by VCU graduation. Immediately got impression it was more bar than restaurant--four pages of drinks and only one-half page of entrees. Seating was cramped. Diners who came in after us were advised of daily specials that we had not been offered. Crispy rice was good only if one can tolerate very spicy foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was a group of 5, the creative cocktails were fun and tasty. Everyone ordered from the menu and all the dishes came out as expected. We all shared bites with each other. The food had nice rich flavors. We all would certainly come back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I don't eat a lot of red meat, so when I do, I want it to be great. The hamburger and the hanger steak were a master class in med rare. Our service was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A good restaurant picks itself up after a setback. I used to live in RVA and used to celebrate a lot of especial occasions here. After putting a lot of thought in where to take my boyfriend, the one weekend we were going to be back in town, I made up my mind on this gem. Drinks are awesome and the seasonal menu is always worth it. At the time of our arrival we were informed it was restaurant week, which honestly can be a good deal for locals, but when coming in for the MENU, being limited is a very upsetting thing. The end product, we decided to share a menu, and taste a bit of some plates, and boy were we impressed, the hanger steak was comparable to any 5 star steakhouse, and the sides were just perfect. On top of that, a mysterious "friend", decided to cover our dinner, and made the entire experience so much more memorable. Thanks Saison for being full of surprises, and helping me make new memories every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If you are looking for the total experience in a casual package, then Saison blows challenges the status quo. If you consider yourself a foodie, then this is the place to go. The wait staff work in concert to provide the best dining experience possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was our first time there and we were very impressed by everything, especially the potatoes which were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a delicious night. Service was great, cocktails were seasonal and delish. Such a treat.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We are here for restaurant week and loved every course! we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Saison is consistently great! Both meats and seafood are flavorably seasoned. The wine selection recently changed, so we got to try some new varietals which came from various countries and vineyards. The server allowed us to taste them and when they didn't know about a particular wine, they got another server who did so that all our questions were answered. The only sad part about the meal was that it was restaurant week, so the ox tails weren't on the menu! They're well worth another visit!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We went for Restaurant week. The choices were well varied, and appealing. We each got a special cocktail and they were different and delicious. The food was presented well and very tasty. The service was great - especially given how busy they were.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The BEST cocktails! Also, great restaurant week menu this year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Thanks to our waiter, Jack, we were well taken care of for the evening of friends chatter! We were there for Restaurant Week and the menu was innovative and delicious. Beautiful fresh bib lettuce salad with pickled egg, just-right-spicy crispy rice with kimchi and homemade spicy sauce, and marvelous dulce deleche ice cream over chocolate ginger cake crumble. Husbands both had a large portion of skate (not as flavorful as they like.) Jack was very knowledgeable about the beer list, too! Great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Loved this place so much. Will be back next time in Richmond. Jack was so friendly and accommodating; thank you so much for everything. The dry-rubbed wings are to-die-for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

After hearing so much about Saison, we hosted a group of 5 friends there for dinner on a Saturday night. Was not disappointing and very impressive! Outstanding cocktails as evidenced by our party's repeat orders of them. Our server was fun, informative, and attentive, without being overly. I'm the Paleo diet, and the kitchen was very accommodating in a starch substitution for my entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Another example of a Richmond dining gem. Small and cozy, but seemingly not crushed. Tables close together but arranged so that you don't feel that you are sharing the next table's meal. Very delicious and creative preparation. Only downside is that the large plate menu is relatively limited. As a result, we don't feel compelled to return soon, but will undoubtedly do so at some point in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The Crispy Rice Bowl with the added oxtail and 5-minute egg is all you need to know in order to upgrade your life. Add in one of the killer mezcal cocktails and goodnight!

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was really good...some of the vegetables were almost too spicy for my taste, but good. However it was so loud, we could hardly have a conversation. ...that part tainted the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there for anniversary dinner and was very pleased. The menu is not huge, but creative and varied. Every dish was an work of art with a perfect combination of textures and flavors. The waitress was attentive and right on with her recommendations. I would highly recommend visiting this little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was great and good tasted amazing! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It's been a few days and I keep thinking back to the ribeye and veggies I had. Small plates were great too. The service was impressive, prices were fair. Get a cocktail. All the stars.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really good food and unique drinks. Everyone in our group was happy with the meals, service and overall experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Loved it ! Staff was as fabulous as the food! Highly recommend supporting a local establishment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The steak with maitake mushrooms was to die for. Our server was very helpful in selecting wines to pair with our meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

As always, the service, food and drinks were excellent. The cocktails all are intriguing and we never can taste more than one, but well worth a try. All three appetizers and entrees we had were great. The oxtail soaps are amazing. The rice bowl is surprisingly delicious. Desserts also are worth it if you can fit them in.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is excellent, interesting and thoughtful without being precious or overdone. It was super busy the night we were there (a Sunday) and either the kitchen or the wait staff were overwhelmed so service was sloooooow. I'll for sure go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was very disappointed after Saison had been recommended by a friend of a friend. I wanted to order the rockfish but have the pureed cauliflower as the side. When I asked the waitress, she said no without even checking with the chef. I decided to insist that she asked the chef and then they did let me get what I wanted to order. The rockfish was delicious. The side of pureed cauliflower was not nearly as good as Acacia Midtown. But the entire experience was very negative. Not customer friendly. I wouldn't go back with so many other great restaurants out there in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Go here if you want to eat food you can't find anywhere else in Richmond. Oh, also if you like good cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was good, but different from what I ususally eat. The chicken wings were tasty - much better than usual wing fare. I liked my Bibb Salad, but it was unusual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday nights are made for fried chicken at Saison!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious, creative food offered with excellent suggestions to match dietary needs. We felt as though we were welcomed to the neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was delicious, and Jack provided amazing service. Their dessert menu was a very pleasant surprise.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I came here with 6 of my coworkers as we were traveling to Richmond and were in search of a great place for dinner. The food was amazing. The waiter was wonderful and attentive. We had the most amazing take on an old fashioned... order the Violent Delight. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've ever eaten in Richmond. The dinner menu was traditional with a twist! The flavors were spectacular. The pickled egg and the oxtail.. so yummy! And their cocktail menu was spectacular. Son of a Nutcracker was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Inconsistent food quality knocked them down on this visit. Service was very good, but not outstanding as it has been in the past. That said, it was still a fun meal. and we'll return again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I recommend allowing some additional time to park. This is a small, small resturante that is well known for its bar. I parked a few blocks away in a parking garage and walked. The drink choices all look awesome. I will need a few more trips to cover the drink, and dining menue. Enjoy. Met my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This restaurant is very popular, but the service is excellent, you are in and out in no time. Great food and potent drinks, lol. Pack your patience when it comes to parking or take an uber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Saison was outstanding. Great staff and great food. We didn't get alcohol, but their drinks sounded and looked really good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.