Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (10)
Great Beer (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was good. However food very salty. I would not return. The food was much better last time I visited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent, creative food in a stylish environment. Fabulous cocktails. Not cheap, but not overpriced for the quality. Service was a little slow (40 minutes from being seated to getting our first course), but we'll be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food.
Tiny.
Loud.
Poorly trained FOH staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. We shared two large plates and two small plates. My favorite was the rice bowl. Really interesting menu. My only negative was that our service was not that great. I understand that wait staff can get super busy/in the weeds but no diner should have to flag down their server to request something. They should be casually scanning their tables any time they are in the vicinity. Basic waiting tables 101. She also had attitude going that was not enjoyed by these customers. I can go to Mamma Zu's for that! Nevertheless, we will absolutely go back because the food is the star!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Saison was excellent. Knowledgable staff describes the food beautifully. Great cocktails with many fun choices. The food was delicious and creative. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Small restaurant so was noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Cheap pours. Skimped on every glass ordered. Wine, beer and old granddad? WT? OGD- they should give that away for free! Server could NOT take a joke and hated the world. It was awkward every time he came to the table. Food was average at best. Way over priced. We will never go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We absolutely LOVED the meal, ambiance, and the wonderful service!! Top marks!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was my third visit and each time it has been delicious!!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Get the Panna Cotta. For $7 you won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best chicken wings ever. Although I'm not a connosseiur, I liked them quite a lot. The other food was very good but not spectacular. Would go back but not my favorite. Also was bothered that this was in Jackson Ward and only white faces to be seen for customers and staff. Some diversity please.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2017

this neighborhood gem is worth the drive from any part of the city...a very creative drink and food menu as well as expectional service were the highlights....go and enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is delicious. For the beet and cocktails lovers this is your spot but if you like wine. This not the place. The wine list is average. I rather drink water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food and cocktails were extraordinary. Has well curated and interesting wine and beer selections. Kitchen Service was a bit slow but worth the wait

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Craftsmanship in the kitchen, creative selections on draught, and a staff that made it all look easy. A definite winner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food was wonderful. The ambience is very simple yet it was a wonderful experience.

All of our meals were Of excellent quality and extremely tasty. I highly recommend the hanger steak. It was one of the best things I have ever eaten.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lots of fresh seasonal vegetables. Must try the oxtail sopes! Extensive cocktail list with intriguing flavors. Wine list is not long but has great value by featuring unique offerings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were really impressed with Saison's food selection, and thought the meal was excellent. However, the service left a bit to be desired. Additionally, it's a rather small spot, that is packed in, which made the lack of service that much more disappointing.

Our drink order was prepared well, and tasted delicious, I had a Manhattan that was great. We then placed our entire order, starting our course with a skillet cornbread, and I ordered the pork chop. The cornbread came out after 20-30 minutes of waiting (was it forgotten? not sure). Nonetheless, the cornbread was delicious. Pieces of corn made whomever took a bite know it was authentic, and a side of honeybutter topped off the dish, and gave the bread some character. The only change to this dish would be the added "fun" of serving it in it's skillet, topping of it's authenticity.

Immediately after the cornbread was delivered, our waitress brought our main course, which had to sit while we enjoyed the cornbread, of course this is not how we had planned it. The pork chop, which I will review, was perfectly cooked, and tasted heavenly. Quite moist as well, making me pick at each piece of meat off of the bone. It was served with a watermelon salad, which is not what I expected, but delicious. Melonballs of watermelon surrounded the porkchop, giving the plate some well deserved color that didn't disapoint the eye. The watermelon did have a heavy balsalmic taste, which could get old on it's own after the sixth or seventh bite, but paired quite nicely with the pork. The meal was excellent, and I think we all left satisfied.

Saison is a cool little spot, and has solid RVA character. It's a bit loud, so if you're looking for something quiet, I can't recommend Saison. We did not try the small plates, but I'm sure they are amazing. There's no reason Saison wouldn't be a 5 in my book, aside from the service. They get that down, it's gold, and a gem of the city. We'll be back, as I truly enjoyed the food and drink.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall the food and service were very good. It's a small intimate restaurant however very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A great surprise! Last minute decision after checking out the menu and very happy with the choice. We shared a seasonal tomato salad and skillet corn bread and I had the steelhead trout which was wonderful! My dining companions had the pork chop with citrus watermelon and scallops with roasted corn. We'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Has a neighborhood feel but the quality of the experience is much more. Nice selection of beers (not too many to choose).
Delicious appetizers. The tomato salad is great right now. Great corn bread
The Steelhead trout was excellent. Attractive presentation with greens matched by the rich flavor.
Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I drive over an hour to try Saison after reading about their burger in Food Network, and seeing Katie Dupree's segment on WRIC. We had reservations for 6pm on a Saturday evening. The waitstaff was very attentive without being overbearing. I had the Hangar Steak (OMG - SO GOOD!) and my husband had the Burger (Also SO GOOD!). We also shared an order of the Corn bread - YUM! Everything was prepared perfectly, and cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We left after 1 hour and a bottle of wine with no food or waitress coming to the table to say anything. When we got up to complain she was nasty. We informed the manager about the concern and left. We have had a great experience there in the past. We will give it 6mths and consider returning when It is quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was excellent! Best meal I've had out in a while. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was wonderful and the wine and beer list was extensive.
My only complaint is the noise level. My wife and I had to basically yell at each other to have a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Perfect appetizers and cocktails before catching a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious food, fun menu and great service! We had the oxtail and the fried green tomato starters and loved both!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and drinks, service was a little slow, but friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was well prepared with great flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Unfortunately I did not have a good experience at Saison and will not be returning. Our dinner when we finally received it was good but we waited over an hour after our appetizers were cleared before the entrees arrived. Our server informed us (after we asked) that there was a back up in the kitchen but everyone around us had been served. Her lack of apology or concern was aggravating. By the time the evening was over, I had a splitting headache from the noise and I was extremely uncomfortable from sitting so long on chairs that had little cushion. We did not linger over the usual coffee and dessert because all we wanted to do was get out of there. If you go, I do not recommend the fried green tomatoes - they were bland and dry. I would recommend the cornbread and trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was spot on and food was phenomenal. My date and I enjoyed 1) oxtail 2) food gras and 3) lamb chop special to start and for our mains 1) killer scallop dish with spicy carrot purée and 2) an amazing steak, sirloin maybe? All around awesome. Small but sufficient dining room feels lively and cozy at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was good, but overpriced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great time with friends over lovely dinner, excellent drinks and wine, friendly service. Good vibe, have gone several times before and it's always a special meal. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Lovely restaurant with a beautiful ambiance and stellar food. One member of our party was vegetarian and unfortunately left unsatisfied. Couldn't have asked for better service and quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Decent food...but not great. The noise level made it difficult to engage with other guests at my table. Wait staff/service was slow---it took an hour for our food to arrive. With all the great options in Richmond, I would skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Enjoyed a glass of the Vranec red wine (excellent) with my Lamb rack, prepared rare, perfect with vegetables also not over cooked, a treat since rack of lamb rarely on the menu in RVA. I was intimidated by the cocktail menu, did not recognize most of the listed ingredients, but it read as a creative piece. My young companion was more adventurous and enjoyed a Truth Serum. Her entree the Rundown pleased her too We shared the asparagus appetizer and loves it. Also enjoyed the chocolate torte for dessert, not as great as the rest of the meal but I don't do dessert. I will definitely be back for the excellent food, wish I'd remembered to photograph it, the place itself is not a lovely special occasion place but with food this good it beats a few that have better ambience and similar or higher prices. Went on a Thursday, no need to dress up then anyway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

this is one of my favorite restaurants. been there about 10 times never left with a negative comment...ever. love the whole personality of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Small, cozy gastropub in downtown Richmond. Great, innovative cocktails. Friendly service. Decent wine list. Outstanding roast veg.....especially carrots and asparagus. Burgers were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had heard glowing reports but our first visit to this restaurant was disappointing. Parking is on-street only and was complicated by VCU graduation. Immediately got impression it was more bar than restaurant--four pages of drinks and only one-half page of entrees. Seating was cramped. Diners who came in after us were advised of daily specials that we had not been offered. Crispy rice was good only if one can tolerate very spicy foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was a group of 5, the creative cocktails were fun and tasty. Everyone ordered from the menu and all the dishes came out as expected. We all shared bites with each other. The food had nice rich flavors. We all would certainly come back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.