About Saison

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
Neighborhood Gem
Richmond
2 More
Vibrant Bar Scene
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
 (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time much much more memorable tha ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Second time much much more memorable than the first. Cocktails were inventive and fresh. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Small plates easily served two. And so glad we split the hangar steak main dish. Large portion of perfectly seasoned and cooked hangar steak served with sides that complemented it well. Not crazy about the dessert, probably worth noting in their menu that the lemon meringue pie is "deconstructed". The crust was very gritty and unpleasant. But, maybe it was the world telling me I shouldn't be eating dessert!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit overpriced for what you g ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced for what you get and some of the combinations were unusual(and not in a particularly good way i.e dessert & salad). Had 1 good entree and one so-so entre. Not sure I'd go back unless someone really said they wanted to try it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left m ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Meh. Mediocre at best. Service left much to be desired. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I really don't know what to recommend it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I really don't know what to recommend it for - food was pretty good, they have a good cook - but it's very small and crowded and the noise! - makes a refugee camp sound like Sunday church/ you have to yell LOUD to exchange a few words/ waitress was flighty and I could not hear what she said - got OUT of there, will most likely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our d ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner celebrating our daughter's recent move to Richmond and her new job. From the great cocktails to the outstanding desserts, everything was spot on. Great wait staff, too. Highly recommended, also Saison Market store next door!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never eaten here before, and it s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had never eaten here before, and it surpassed all expectations. Great, great meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little place with interesting menu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice little place with interesting menu and well prepared food. All our dishes were very good including sausage, poussin and corn bread . Good beer and cocktail list. Friendly staff. On a Saturday night it was really loud to the point of being uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

10/10 would recommend, food was amazing- ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

10/10 would recommend, food was amazing--charred baby octopus is a must. Seafood is on point. The chocolate coconut mound for dessert will blow your mind. Drinks were okay--food is the star here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best drink from their summer m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I had the best drink from their summer menu and Justin was amazing

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I popped in for some drinks ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My wife and I popped in for some drinks and appetizers as a quick date on our anniversary. We went early, and it was quiet. We just wanted a chance to talk and enjoy the afternoon. The staff was friendly, and the drinks were excellent. We didn't order anything exotic. They have a whole unique drinks menu, however. We had the corn nuts to start, and then the cornbread with foie gras butter and the grilled octopus. We enjoyed everything we ordered. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal start to finish. Server ( ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful meal start to finish. Server (I think it was Jeff) was very knowledgable about the menu, dishes, preparation. Very creative, fresh cocktails. Had to try the oxtail which did not disappoint. The Nashville-style spicy fried chicken over watermelon/cuke was out of this world. We shared the lemon merengue pie; clever "deconstructed" creation. Saison was a great find; so glad we went. Noise level did rise to unpleasant levels at time....we'll never understand how/why some diners think it's ok to be at "full-shout" in a small restaurant. When the loudest nearby table left, it was much better. Not much the restaurant can do about this; maybe an acoustical engineering consultant ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing! Sunday's they have ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is amazing! Sunday's they have a special fried chicken deal, and not only was the chicken great, but so were the sides. Not only was the food great, but Saison has a lengthy cocktail list. Super attentive staff- Definetly will be going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time at Saison. Each t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my third time at Saison. Each time had great food, great service, great atmosphere. Happened in by chance first time in Richmond. Now make sure to get to Saison when here. Love the vegan chocolate coconut ball dessert!! Don't eat dairy and can't usually have dessert when out, so a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dinner, all four of us were extre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Superb dinner, all four of us were extremely happy with our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I will give them that they had unexpecte ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I will give them that they had unexpected large tables, but everything from the food to the wine list were VERY AVERAGE. Our table had two descriptors- salty and over cooked.

Instead of the wait staff being excited they may make money on a Monday, they acted like we ruined their night. If they can't handle large tables, they should not accept reservations for them on open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Because Saison provides fresh local offe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Because Saison provides fresh local offerings, there's always something slightly new to try. The tomato salad had a variety of freshly sliced tomatoes with cheese which was delicious. The hangar steak is a consistent winner as was the fresh fish. Seasonal wine pours allow you to try new wines. Make a reservation, because it's always busy, even during the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a hot evening and the restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a hot evening and the restaurant was hot. We got the special, the fried chicken. It was ok. The sides and the salad were great. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Food is always fantastic. Best cocktails ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food is always fantastic. Best cocktails in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ox tail was good. Plantains were bland. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ox tail was good. Plantains were bland. Seafood and sausage dinners were okay. We liked the wait staff. The restaurant is not in the same league as the better ones in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish was amazing, especially the p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every dish was amazing, especially the papaya salad. Also the cocktail menu is one of the best I have seen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Saison at least 6 times ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to Saison at least 6 times since moving to the area 7 months ago. It stays at the top of our list for one of the best dining experiences in RVA. It's simply fantastic in all ways!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually the service is perfect- new girl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Usually the service is perfect- new girl this time. You will forever be changed and compare all food to Saison after you go. Also the cocktails actually taste like all the fanciness they claim to have

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Branzino with Coconut grits was SPEC ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The Branzino with Coconut grits was SPECTACULAR. The only failure was their wine selection - at least for my tastes. They served me a Pinot Gris that had turned peach color from oxidation - YUCK! But the food was great and it was an easy walk to our venue at the Virginia Rep Theater on Broad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful interesting food. Cocktails we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful interesting food. Cocktails were outstanding especially for diners who normally don't order them. Really enjoyed the pairing of the dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a tight schedule to make it to a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a tight schedule to make it to a play. The service was impeccable-they could not have been more on the ball. And the food...YUM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places in Richmond. ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of our favorite places in Richmond. Consistently friendly staff. Consistently delicious food. This place makes you smile. Love it a little more every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressed from start to finish. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very impressed from start to finish. Our waitress was very helpful and gave us insightful suggestions and highlighted elements of her favorite dishes, which definitely helped in our choosing.

The food was harmoniously earthy and decadent. For my main dish I ordered the House Sausage, which seemed to be a modern take on sausage and cheese grits with greens, and it was amazing. I wish I could have tasted everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent drink menu. Unique and refined ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent drink menu. Unique and refined.

Cozy restaurant with great servers and mouth watering dishes. I had the lamb. It was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and cocktails. The Ox Ta ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and cocktails. The Ox Tail appetizer is amazing! Also the Carolina Gold Rice entree is something everyone MUST have (along with an egg and ox tail)! Take the time to get to know the wait staff and bartenders, they are trending and very interesting people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We ate at the bar and Justin was amazing ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate at the bar and Justin was amazing...his drinks were spot on an the food was amazing as akways

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good: Excellent food and great servi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The good: Excellent food and great service. Very tasty!

To be improved: Draft beer was not nearly cold enough, we're not in europe, so nix the room temperature drafts, or at least chill 50deg f or so. Very loud inside, mostly due to patrons, but small space could use some noise damping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great service and fair price ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food, great service and fair prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My girlfriend and I arrived 30 minutes e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My girlfriend and I arrived 30 minutes early. We addressed the host and he immediately acknowledged our reservation. We were able to take a seat at the bar and enjoyed drinks and an appetizer while waiting for our table. Greeted by great service throughout and had a fun environment with delicious daily specials. We both highly recommend Saison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saison is always great! The cocktails ar ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Saison is always great! The cocktails are always the best. I have only been there a handful of times to eat and I have usually gotten the small plates. I got the fried chicken this time and it was amazing! I should go back every Sunday just to get the fried chicken special! Great atmosphere, friendly staff, and everyone seemed to be pretty knowledgeable. One of my favorite spots for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative food, excellently prepared

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is fit for foodies, very creative and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jackson Ward gem

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This restaurant is a sure fire way to have a great meal.

The food is always fresh and nicely presented.

We have been here several times and look forward to going back again soon.

A top 20 restaurant in Richmond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The market fish dish was out-of-this-wor ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The market fish dish was out-of-this-world delicious, as was the oxtail sopes starter. They made it easy for a group of old friends to sit and catch up when another place might have hurried us along. What a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing ...a real favorite

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was spectacular. The home made sausage was the treat of the night. Our drinks were so great and the bar staff made outstanding suggestions...and the server was top shelf.....I would tell everyone to come eat and drink ....one of my favorites anywhere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been to Saison a couple of times and have always enjoyed our meal. Last weekend, our NYC foodie friends in town and so we got a chance to show off a little of RVA! They loved the meal. Everything was delicious and we really enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Saison is one of our favorites but th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Saison is one of our favorites but this time they went above and beyond. My wife is the family foodie but for health reasons is has a severely limited diet. The wait staff, bar tender and the chef were so gracious and accommodating. They took charge and made a special cocktail and innovated a fabulous entree. Rather than being put out they actually seemed to embrace challenge. Oh, and the rest of us also enjoyed a fabulous meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.