About Saison

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
Neighborhood Gem
Richmond
1 More
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (59)
neighborhood gem (50)
vibrant bar scene (21)
See All
special occasion (20)
romantic (19)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (4)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Very impressed from start to finish. Our ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very impressed from start to finish. Our waitress was very helpful and gave us insightful suggestions and highlighted elements of her favorite dishes, which definitely helped in our choosing. The food was harmoniously earthy and decadent. For my main dish I ordered the House Sausage, which seemed to be a modern take on sausage and cheese grits with greens, and it was amazing. I wish I could have tasted everything on the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent drink menu. Unique and refined ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent drink menu. Unique and refined. Cozy restaurant with great servers and mouth watering dishes. I had the lamb. It was cooked to perfection.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and cocktails. The Ox Ta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and cocktails. The Ox Tail appetizer is amazing! Also the Carolina Gold Rice entree is something everyone MUST have (along with an egg and ox tail)! Take the time to get to know the wait staff and bartenders, they are trending and very interesting people.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at the bar and Justin was amazing ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate at the bar and Justin was amazing...his drinks were spot on an the food was amazing as akways

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The good: Excellent food and great servi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The good: Excellent food and great service. Very tasty! To be improved: Draft beer was not nearly cold enough, we're not in europe, so nix the room temperature drafts, or at least chill 50deg f or so. Very loud inside, mostly due to patrons, but small space could use some noise damping.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service and fair price ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food, great service and fair prices

food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I arrived 30 minutes e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My girlfriend and I arrived 30 minutes early. We addressed the host and he immediately acknowledged our reservation. We were able to take a seat at the bar and enjoyed drinks and an appetizer while waiting for our table. Greeted by great service throughout and had a fun environment with delicious daily specials. We both highly recommend Saison.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison is always great! The cocktails ar ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Saison is always great! The cocktails are always the best. I have only been there a handful of times to eat and I have usually gotten the small plates. I got the fried chicken this time and it was amazing! I should go back every Sunday just to get the fried chicken special! Great atmosphere, friendly staff, and everyone seemed to be pretty knowledgeable. One of my favorite spots for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very creative food, excellently prepared

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is fit for foodies, very creative and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jackson Ward gem

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This restaurant is a sure fire way to have a great meal. The food is always fresh and nicely presented. We have been here several times and look forward to going back again soon. A top 20 restaurant in Richmond.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The market fish dish was out-of-this-wor ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

The market fish dish was out-of-this-world delicious, as was the oxtail sopes starter. They made it easy for a group of old friends to sit and catch up when another place might have hurried us along. What a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ...a real favorite

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was spectacular. The home made sausage was the treat of the night. Our drinks were so great and the bar staff made outstanding suggestions...and the server was top shelf.....I would tell everyone to come eat and drink ....one of my favorites anywhere

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been to Saison a couple of times and have always enjoyed our meal. Last weekend, our NYC foodie friends in town and so we got a chance to show off a little of RVA! They loved the meal. Everything was delicious and we really enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison is one of our favorites but th ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Saison is one of our favorites but this time they went above and beyond. My wife is the family foodie but for health reasons is has a severely limited diet. The wait staff, bar tender and the chef were so gracious and accommodating. They took charge and made a special cocktail and innovated a fabulous entree. Rather than being put out they actually seemed to embrace challenge. Oh, and the rest of us also enjoyed a fabulous meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great overall experience at Saison & Saison market

Dined on May 1, 2016

Started our Saturday evening with a fantastic wine tasting event at Saison Market. Very knowledgeable staff and love the individual attention while pouring the wines. Followed up the wine tasting with a great dinner at Saison. Both the appetizers and the entrees were creative, delicious and very well prepared. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Cocktails were good, but overpriced and ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Cocktails were good, but overpriced and very small. Wouldn't order again--or if so, would ask for it "up", so as not to have most of my glass filled by a gigantic ice cube. Apps were awesome--oxtail sopes and salad. Entrees were also good--my husbands sausage with Manchego grits was the best. I ordered lamb chops, which were cooked perfectly, but the sauces left a bit to be desired. Too much of the less tasty pea purée and not nearly enough of the very tasty pistachio dukkah. Overall we were happy, and would definitely eat there again.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food/Drinks was excellent

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a little noisy and crowded seating, but they accommodated putting us in the most secluded part of the restaurant they could due to it being a special birthday date. The Apps/Drinks/Entrees were excellent and I would go back. The food portions aren't that big, but was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison... my favorite spot

Dined on April 23, 2016

What an amazing restaurant...AMAZING Cocktails - Superior service and Mouthwatering food

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, ok service and a little loud

Dined on April 22, 2016

We recently dined during the Friday of Restaurant Week. The food was excellent. All 6 dishes (2 apps, 2 mains and 2 dessert) were very tasty. The portions were from small-medium, but we did not leave hungry. The restaurant is very quaint, but very loud. I would return but not on a weekend night. The service was ok, just ok. Our waitress was not too attentive and not very friendly, but not rude, she was just fine. At the beginning, we asked to try the broth of one of the entrees because my friend can´t do too spicy. Well, the waitress did not oblige, saying that she couldn´t do it, the kitchen was too busy, it would be cold, etc. An excellent server would have made it possible. It is preferable to sending a dish back or not liking it (a reason no to return). I would give this restaurant a try.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Carolina gold rice bowl was AMAZING!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Carolina gold rice bowl was AMAZING!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our introduction to Saiso ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Really enjoyed our introduction to Saison - and will look forward to returning often especially before our season ticket nights at Virginia Rep:-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great for an after work cocktail ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Really great for an after work cocktail or a mildly dressy date night! Restaurant week spring 2016 was phenomenal!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant Week is never a great deal!

Dined on April 21, 2016

I went with my daughter to Saison for the first time during Restaurant week. The waiter was not engaging, or helpful. The food was just ok. I feel when you have limited options, every choice should be perfectly wonderful. I ordered the hanger steak, and it was seriously under cooked and chewy (and I like my beef medium rare and hanger steak), and there were maybe 4 very skinny asparagus, and maybe 5 very small little patatas bravas. My daughter ordered the carnita's, which was a much better choice, and more food. I can't say all that much about my choice on the 1st course, the brisket. All in all, just not that good, and the waiters lack of personality didn't help. The bottom line is, I still had a $98 check with wine and the set rate for the 3 course meal, so not cheap, and not all that happy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacularly Good Grub

Dined on April 19, 2016

Four of us went for Restaurant Week, 2016. Food, as usual was wonderful. I had the chicken liver pate and almost licked the jar.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Experience

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We were visiting Richmond for the first time last weekend and went to Saison on Saturday night. We had a great server. Really excellent cocktails. Succinct but super cool wine list. The chicken wings are life altering. The oxtail sopes were terrific. I had the "rundown" which was kind of a throw-it-in-the-pot seafood stew. I'm waaay over simplifying but that was the idea. Totally awesome. My partner had the burger. Which he loved. The server said the burger was top notch. Sometimes we feel bad ordering a burger at a foodie place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is amazing.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This is my third trip to Saison and the food just gets better and better. I had the burger, which was just incredible. Each one of us said our meals were among the best we had ever had, high praise among these foodies. The downside is that the restaurant is tiny, packed and very loud. We want to go back, but on a weekday when the noise level might be down. Also, it can be very cold in the winter by the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Presentation and service were great, food just ok

Dined on March 30, 2016

They had a nice craft drink menu, but the drinks were small for $12-15 a drink. The cheese platter was presented well, but only one kind of cheese. The salad was very nice, light with dressing, not drowning it. The sea bass was cooked perfectly, but the sides with it didn't really go well. Smokey sweet beans and Giardiniera were the sides.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is Jesus in the kitchen?

Dined on March 5, 2016

I'm fairly certain I had a religious experience at Saison. The fact that I can order a couple tall cans of Natty Boh along with a gourmet plate of delicious food speaks to my soul. This was my second time here and I ordered the steak which was perfectly cooked. My first time I ordered the Nashville hot chicken and had I not been in public I would have made love to that plate of food. Keep doing what you're doing Saison.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a great meal

Dined on March 2, 2016

I brought 2 friends from out of town. The meal was so good, one of them came back on their own the next night and had the other meal she was thinking about having the night before! The presentation and the mixture of flavors is excellent. The server also recommended a wine that went well with our dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been my go to spot in Richmond ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

This has been my go to spot in Richmond ever since I moved here, coincidentally a month or so after they opened. Excellent food, beer list and cocktail menu. Plus a cool staff, good music and a vinyl night on Tuesday nights. What else do you want?

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good, not great

Dined on February 27, 2016

We arrived about 30 minutes prior to our reservation so we sat down at the bar and ordered a drink. Not 15 minutes later, the server manning the front came up to us and said he'd reorganized a few things to get us a table sooner than our RSVP. Score! We ordered the foie gras appetizer and while it was buttery smooth and tasty, it was served cold, which we weren't expecting. Maybe that's how foie gras is normally served, but we had wanted something warm. However, it was very tasty and just the right amount. My wife ordered the Pork Chop and I got the flank steak special. Her pork chop was almost inedible due to the intense saltiness. It was way over the top and could have benefited from some honey or molasses being added to the brine. My flank steak was well cooked, mostly very tender and quite flavorful. I'd give my meal 4.5/5 stars, but hers was 2/5 stars. The service was good and just attentive enough. A bit pricey, with our total bill coming to $95 after 2 drinks apiece.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on February 27, 2016

I have eaten here three times for dinner. Each time has been excellent, as assessed by me and my companions. This time, my wife and I split the oxtail appetizer, she had the mixed seafood dish and I had the pork chop. All were terrific. My bourbon cocktail (cant remember the name) was exceptional. It is crowded on the weekends so you need a reservation unless you are going late. The service was almost too quick. Our entrees arrived as we put down our forks from the appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food, cocktails, and service were amazing!! Very small restaurant so it fills up really fast but it's definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Saison never fails to impress us. We went for a Friday night out and had a wonderful meal and fantastic drinks. They are always so friendly and enjoy serving you. The cocktails are the best in the city and have something for everyone. The pork chop was the best we've ever had. This is a great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

All in all a great meal. There are plenty of drink options. Small plates and entree options were adequate. Entrees were pleasantly presented and flavorful. The dessert was just OK but the rest of the meal carried the overall rating. In my opinion, one of the top 12 dining experiences in Richmond. Definitely will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little place

Dined on February 16, 2016

It was a monday snowy night, place was 3/4 full. It was wine night. Service was Superb ..Our sirloin and our grouper were perfectly cooked..our bourbon craft cocktail was very tasty the red wine was an excellent wine and a great value. Got the coffee cake dessert..a little dry that's the worst I'd have to say of the place. If you are reading this maybe grill it in a dark rum butter..we will be back either way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous food and craft cocktails is a l ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fabulous food and craft cocktails is a low key atmosphere. Pastrami Ribs are to die for !

food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food but needs work

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was delicious. There were lots of cocktails and beer which was great...but the cocktails all had the same tastes and flavors and the beers were warm! That was a let down.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food, very expensive for portion size.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food taste and quality was outstanding - I have zero complaints. My only complaint is with the very small portion size for the money. My wife and I had the same dish, and both left hungry even though we loved the food. I would not come here on a regular basis for this alone.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance in a cute setting

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

The etouffe was delicous. The patte was blended really smooth and so we lost the texture and then it was covered in a sweet topping so I think you might be better off with the mussels. The dessert choices were a bit dissappointing and non of them looked inviting. The ambiance was nice and the main courses all looked very good.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.