Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Saison was borne from co-owners Jay Bayer & Adam Hall's travels & heritage where we found harmony in the honest & delicious food of the American South, Central America, and the Caribbean. With amazing cocktail, beer, & wine lists, our Historic Jackson Ward space melds modern & global elements in a cozy & casual space . We source locally whenever feasible & are proud of the connections we have made with our producers/suppliers. We hope to see y'all soon!

23 W. Marshall Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:


Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Bar service open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Adams St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 269-3689

Website:
http://www.saisonrva.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Adam Hall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Fun (9)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great Beer (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tapas (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good, but different from what I ususally eat. The chicken wings were tasty - much better than usual wing fare. I liked my Bibb Salad, but it was unusual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday nights are made for fried chicken at Saison!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious, creative food offered with excellent suggestions to match dietary needs. We felt as though we were welcomed to the neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was delicious, and Jack provided amazing service. Their dessert menu was a very pleasant surprise.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I came here with 6 of my coworkers as we were traveling to Richmond and were in search of a great place for dinner. The food was amazing. The waiter was wonderful and attentive. We had the most amazing take on an old fashioned... order the Violent Delight. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've ever eaten in Richmond. The dinner menu was traditional with a twist! The flavors were spectacular. The pickled egg and the oxtail.. so yummy! And their cocktail menu was spectacular. Son of a Nutcracker was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Inconsistent food quality knocked them down on this visit. Service was very good, but not outstanding as it has been in the past. That said, it was still a fun meal. and we'll return again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I recommend allowing some additional time to park. This is a small, small resturante that is well known for its bar. I parked a few blocks away in a parking garage and walked. The drink choices all look awesome. I will need a few more trips to cover the drink, and dining menue. Enjoy. Met my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This restaurant is very popular, but the service is excellent, you are in and out in no time. Great food and potent drinks, lol. Pack your patience when it comes to parking or take an uber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Saison was outstanding. Great staff and great food. We didn't get alcohol, but their drinks sounded and looked really good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Saison has an energized, youthful vibe without being raucous in any way. Very good food (nice mix of small and large plates), much of it with a spicy edge, and the best service we've experienced since our Michelin one-, two-, and three-sate experiences in Spain last summer (ask for Jack!). All at very reasonable prices. We'll be back, often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Intimate space, great neighborhood dining. Saison is a great spot for before theater dinning or just a nice casual dinner out. The space is small making for an intimate experience. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the menu and bar drinks. The drinks are outstanding and some change seasonally. The menu is fresh with something for everyone. Everything we ordered was prepared perfectly and served hot. While we did not have dessert, the offerings looked great. I will definitely return!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was eating alone so I really enjoyed my corner table. The reviews had said everything was great so I did have a hard time choosing but in the end everything from my food to my drink and all the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Wine was a fantastic feature. Only drawback was that they sold the wine in their market place for nearly 1/2 what they charged in the restaurant.
Made the value proposition a bit preposterous.
Definitely will be a place to visit often.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything here is crafted, from the artisanal drinks to the original menu items. The service and personnel match the vibe of the menu and vibe of the establishment. Add it all up and I feel as though there is intentioned and authentic identity at Saison. The small cozy locale creates a snug and lively environment. If you want quiet and serene there are other better fits. If you want cool, this is the jewel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overall a good experience. Food was good and served hot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our meal was amazing and innovative! One must order the pastrami ribs! I was able to have a civil conversation (well, it wasn't civil exactly b/c we were talking about the state of our democracy) because it was so quiet (which is so rare). The prices were amazing (I live in DC, so I was pleasantly surprised). Everything was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of the best dinners I've had in Richmond. I kept reading about it so decided to try for myself. We had the cornbread, so soft and perfect with the spicy butter. Also had the Rundown (they had great names for everything) which was seasonal seafood in a coconut habenero broth. I died. My dinner partner had the burger and declared that it was the best he's ever had. To drink we had the Matador, Starman Stormy Sky, and The Upside Down. I will say I was not a fan, I know they are supposed to have some of the best cocktails, and if you like bitters and bourbon/whisky flavors you will probably love them. My only other minor complaint was that we had a reservation but they were a little late getting us seated. I understand though, it is a small space and it was packed. Packed as it was though it felt intimate and our conversation felt private. The servers were on point the whole evening. Fantastic, highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous. Will definitely be back. The hand crafted cocktails outstanding and the small plates for s fabulous way to order several and share for a very broad variety. Dessert to die for

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I went to this restaurant last night after hearing much high praise. Sometimes that can throw off the whole deal, but it for sure did not disappoint. Everything we got was delicious and we were jealous of everything we didn't order as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

As always, the dishes were innovative and delicious. Our server also went above and beyond for a few special requests. I would definitely recommend Saison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always fantastic- best drinks in RVA but cold by the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live outside of Richmond and don't go out to eat a lot. But when we do, we want great food. Saison did not disappoint. We had a short wait for our table when we arrived for our 8:15 reservation. All tables were occupied, as was the bar area, so we took advantage of the time to peruse the menu. The cocktails we perfectly prepared. I selected a Brussels sprout appetizer/small plate which included creamy goat cheese. It was so delicious, I tried to copy it at home the next night. The pork chop was perfectly prepared - tender and succulent. My date had the wahoo special - again perfectly prepared. The waiter was knowledgeable and helpful with a wine recommendation. Overall, we loved it, and will definitely return

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a surprise nestled on a City corner-Saison's dinner menu at first glance looked sparse with 6 or so small plates and 8 dinner entries listed. BUT when each of these plates were explained, we realized this was a power packed menu. We tried three of the large plates- rice bowl with pickled veggies and mushrooms, rockfish over rice, and a fish stew. All of the Food, without exception, was exemplary, impeccably seasoned and cooked to perfection! We also tried the fried Brussel sprouts- not what you would expect as southern fried. They were pan fried with pistachios, shallots and other ingredients. Unbelievably good!! Service was outstanding!

Although we chose wine and beer for dinner, a variety of novel cocktails are offered. Can't wait to try Saison again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome spot - make your reservation early - This is a great place in Richmond - new just behind Maxes on Broad - good food - great drinks -

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great meal, lovely service. Definitely a. Keeper. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Innovative drink menu, ample small plates, delicious entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was less so. Our server was borderline rude and we waited about an hour for our main course. No apology, no checking in to let us know it would almost be ready, no checking in after we got our food. My husband meat was delicious but sat on top of cold mashed potatoes. The food makes it worth the trip but just expect snooty servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great special cocktails and entrees. Had the rockfish and the scallops and both were excellent. Skillet cornbread is a must have as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I was disappointed. Been there before and delighted. But this time service was slow. Multiple wave downs to get attention. My hanger steak was poor cut, tough. Spent over $100 and did not get delighted. This experience will make it a long time before I return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Oxtail Sopes we unreal! Smores and pumpkin praline desserts were well portioned and delicious. The corn bread was sweet with a great crust. Hanger steak, fried chicken and burger were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The restaurant is typical of a trendy restaurant for Richmond. The service was poor; or perhaps it was just our waitress because it was Monday. The appetizers are outstanding (especially the pastrami ribs and the ox tail dish), the entrees are pretty good. Avoid any dish with the bravas potatoes because they're obnoxiously greasy. The cocktails are very good, but I've had better at other Richmond restaurants. I would tell you that if you have a choice between choosing The Roosevelt or another similar restaurant, and Saison... go to the other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The oxtail sopes and the fried chicken were killer. Ordered a large number of dishes off the menu, and nothing disappointed... ordered a second helping of the cornbread.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never got the chance to come here when I lived in Richmond, but glad I finally got to visit. The food was amazing (I had the hanger steak and it was perfectly cooked), the cocktail, beer, and wine lists were great, and the service was perfect. We had reservations for 8pm and were promptly seated, even though we were 15 minutes early.

Can't recommend this place enough, whether it's dinner with friends or a special night out, you won't regret it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Too loud to carry on any semblance of a conversation . Go during the week if you have anything to say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Exceptional food and an amazing bartender. Excellent craft cocktail program, without the usual wait for such complex drinks. Best dining in Richmond.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Have yet to try something here that I haven't thoroughly enjoyed. This has become our go-to place to special occasion dinners and date nights. The prices are a little high, but worth it in my opinion. Definitely give it try. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Saison always delivers! Interesting food excellently prepared. The seasonally-changing menu offers things that are different and sometimes unfamiliar but - whatever you order - know that it will be awesome. Even if you are not feeling adventuresome, the hamburger is amazing. This is the BEST place for craft cocktails in the city.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Small and very charming, with excellent beers on tap. Food was all delicious. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The bar service was sloooow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.