About Saison

178 Townsend St.
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Sourcing each item from the surrounding land, Saison highlights the abundant resources of the San Francisco Bay Area. Each morning a new menu is crafted based on the finest offerings from our network of small farms, ranches, and fisheries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French, French / Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday-Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm

Please note that reservations at 7:30pm are located at the bar, NOT in the dining room

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 828-7990

Website:
http://www.saisonsf.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Skenes

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for Private Dining/Party Information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Contemporary American
San Francisco Bay Area
6 More
Best Overall
San Francisco
Best Food
San Francisco
Best Service
San Francisco
Best Ambiance
San Francisco
Notable Wine List
San Francisco
Contemporary American
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

special occasion (28)
fit for foodies (24)
notable wine list (23)
See All
romantic (16)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service, especially from the bar. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, especially from the bar. Effort to tailor the meal to you preferences. Some very memorable dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Imaginative presentations of top-quality ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Imaginative presentations of top-quality ingredients - each course is a like an exhibit of tasty, edible gems. The staff are omnipresent, yet unobtrusive, and genuinely friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!!! Special occasion for sure.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing!!!!! Special occasion for sure.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from start to finish...

Dined on April 30, 2016

... food delicious and innovative..great services, fabulous ambiance !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional dining experience - food, se ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Exceptional dining experience - food, service ambience.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Went in with high expectations and two experienced palates. While several of the courses were lovely, a few were very disappointing. There wasn't a discernible flow to the courses either, at least none that we could find. The biggest let down was the portions. By the 6th and 7th course, it felt more like a Tasting Menu we needed to "survive", not savor. By the last course, we were so full it was no longer enjoyable. The space and service were outstanding, but I've had better meals at restaurants with fewer Michelin stars. Just reinforced my tendency to roll my eyes at the 3-star universe.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special place to experience. The fo ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Very special place to experience. The food is highly creative, the service exceptional, and the atmosphere is awesome. Expensive yes, but you certainly get a top notch dining experience that is tough to say you could get elsewhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Over rated

Dined on March 23, 2016

This restaurant is pretentious / arrogant. The cooking has no soul as the atmosphere of the restaurant that is clinical.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service

Dined on March 17, 2016

The waiters actually make you feel as a guest (which is the word Saison uses to refer to its clients) The food was delicious and the wine menu outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

birthday at Saison

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This was an incredible evening with outstanding food, a great wine selected by the sommelier, and incredible service provided by the many servers. They were wonderful to my wife and I for her birthday dinner. It is a meal of many courses and all were delicious and unique. The reason I gave it 3 stars for value is because the dinner with a $100 bottle of wine came to $1300. This is a very experience restaurant that provides wonderful food and service, but at a pretty steep premium.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Every dish was excellent -- creative, fr ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Every dish was excellent -- creative, fresh, unique. The sea urchin, lobster, and liver mousse are especially noteworthy. Menu is very well put together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow. Experience + food = impressive

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Make no mistake, this is the most expensive meal you may ever have. But we travel the world and try to go to the best of the best when we can. Saison is at the top of that list, which includes three Michelin 3-star restaurants we have been to. The food was about 14 courses and our experience is that restaurants with that many courses will fill you up near the end so much that it may actually detract from the experience. Not so with Saison. A brilliantly crafted menu and portion size made it the perfect amount of food. And the food was amazing. The first course, caviar on a bed of sautéed leeks , was perhaps the best individual dish we have seen and started the evening with a bang. The food is wonderful and I can't do it justice with writing. But what made it a true 'experience' was the kitchen. Our table had a full view of the active precision of the saison kitchen which was a marvel. This made the dinner a truly engaging experience from start to finish. Seeing your dishes prepared and finished and then served. Awesome. If you have a special occasion, saison will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey But Somehow Still Worth It

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

So no one ever said 3-star Michelin dining was cheap. The cost alone makes this a once-in-a-while destination only. But if $398/person could ever be considered well worth it, this certainly was. The service was absolute perfection. The wine service (though again not inexpensive) was actually quite generous, with the waiter topping off each pour. And the food, course after course after course, was amazing. Usually multiple course meals have a few unimpressive entries. But at Saison, EVERYTHING was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best culinary experience ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Hands down the best culinary experience of my life.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've ever had.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday. We've been to French Laundry, Per Se, Manresa. This was by far our favorite dinner! The food was amazing. The service was impeccable. It was an entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing at every level

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing at every level

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A feat of the senses

Dined on February 12, 2016

Taste of course but also vision (great presentation and really interesting to see the kitchen), sound (surprising music but fit nicely with with the great energy coming from the kitchen) even touch for one course (eating with your fingers is sometimes amazingly enjoyable and possibly helped to make this course the best one of the night (sea urchin, liquid toast)), all the senses were satisfied. Really a great, fun and interesting experience, will come back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!! Phenomenal meal!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Awesome!! Phenomenal meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experienc ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience & the staff did an excellent job in making necessary amendments to the menu to suit my friend who had various dietary requirements. All staff were super friendly & made us feel very welcome. The only issue we had was being cold, however, again the staff provided us with furry blankets & turned the heating up. I was 100% recommended this restaurant to degustation foodies & hope to see it climb higher on The San Pelligrino Worlds Top Restaurant list as it will be well deserved.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience ever.

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Quality form the moment we arrived, we were wowed with great food, great ingredients and it just keep coming. Thoroughly fantastic...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had. Having ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

One of the best meals I've had. Having eaten at a dozen or so 3* restaurants, the Saison experience is definitely one of the best. Just enough artistry and drama, incredibly flavorful food, and an impressive array of ingredients, textures and flavors, across the 14 or so courses we enjoyed. Loved the caviar course, the salmon and roe, the uni on dense brown bread, the raw turbot, and the duck were among my favorite courses. Staff are fun and uniformly knowledgable and engaged. Deep wine list with lots of special wines and vintages with sufficient age. Altogether, a perfect evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable and the Chef ...

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

The service was impeccable and the Chef could not have been more attentive and personable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Saison is a Foodie's dream come true - at a price

Dined on January 27, 2016

My evening at Saison this week was one I will remember for a long time. As a long time foodie with a lot of Michelin stars under my belt, Saison ranks at the very top - perhaps as the top - restaurant I have ever eaten at. While some top fine dining restaurants focus on highly exotic presentation (e.g., Atelier Crenn), and others on truly white glove service, Saison was really about fantasic food - each something that presents an incredibly unique flavor. Presentation is beautiful of course, and service is outstanding, but the food is what is memorable here. Food wise, its a 15 course tasting menu, with a strong focus on smoked dishes, particularly fishes and vegetables grown in their own farm. One dish was a beet that had been smoked and ultimately dehydrated, only to later be rehydrated with concentrated beet juice. The resulting beet had an incredible texture - different entirely from what you'd think of from a beet - yet an intense taste. A different course consisted of duck liver combined with caramelized white chocolate and coffee, covered in a beer foam, and served in a glass cup. This seemingly odd combination came together perfectly to create this amazing elegant dessert-like taste that was just amazing. Other courses included an amazing smoked duck with duck innards wrapped in leaf; an amazing salad consisting of different types of leaf and preparations - smoked, dried, pickled - all in one salad; a simple duck consumme which was so intense I was craving it for days afterwards. The wines were fantastic. Though - confusingly - when we first arrived, they said they no longer do wine pairings and instead its sort of customized. In the end we named a price and they paired based on that target. All of this however is not cheap, even for 3 star dining experiences. With pairings, it was $750/person. However, for that price, you will have a meal you will remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding cooking using excellent ingredients

Dined on January 16, 2016

Love the layout of the restaurants where you can see the kitchen section which has a calm and zen-like feel to it. The set menu was not revealed at the start of dinner, so there's an anticipation of each dish as the dining drama unfolded during the evening. Some of the dishes were literally assembled at the table, and it's interesting to see how different ingredients combined together to make a great dish. Some brilliant cooking techniques to take the flavour of some of the ingredients to the next level.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food and wine

Dined on January 14, 2016

The provenance of the food, the skillfull and innovative cooking and the encyclopedic wine list with exceptional service can only be found in a handful of restaurants in the world. The pricing makes thus a special event restayrant but the value is good even though food on the night cost $398 per head and it took me 15 min to find two bottles of wine that were below $500 and still an exciting drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time coming to a Miche ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

This was my first time coming to a Michelin 3 Star restaurant so wasn't quite sure what to expect. Unlike some restaurants, I was seated right away even though I showed up about 10 minutes early. Once I was seated I was told by my server about the menu and asked if I had any allergies. I can't eat too much gluten and they did their best to cater it for me like giving me subs for the breads for example. The menu was predominantly seafood based, but there's some vegetables and meat thrown in. My favorites have to be : the lobster with the lobster shell sauce and salt, smoked trout, the black cod with Asian spices, the duck breast and the orange sorbet dessert. It is a 15 course meal so be prepared to be there awhile! Took me about 2.5 hours. If you're with company it'll be longer so keep it in mind.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth every penny

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

When you know you will spend $400+ per person for dinner, you have to hope reality lives up to the hype. I am happy to say it did with Saison. I was most impressed with virtually every element, including the tableware, glassware, and dinnerware. Each dish was lovingly described and presented by the wait staff. Each course was delicious and distinctive, from the first (golden oestra caviar with leeks) to the last (orange ice cream (served in an orange) and roasted persimmon in a 4 Roses bourbon sauce). Pacing of the courses and service were impeccable. We dined in the winter, and look forward to returning during the other three saisons!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!love the idea behind everything ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Amazing!love the idea behind everything and the service is def five star.

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular experience but prepare to br ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Spectacular experience but prepare to break the bank. Superb food, wine and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value1

The best restaurant in San Francisco

Dined on December 19, 2015

Wow..epic meal..with innovative cooking and quality local ingredients. Three Michelin stars well earned. The chef is a diva / introvert but who cares? The food does the talking. $398 per person without drinks...

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

So many amazing dishes.

Dined on December 9, 2015

So many amazing dishes.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic culinary experience!

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

Despite the background music that came straight out of my 80's-90's playlist and that I found a little odd a choice for this type of restaurant, the food was beautiful, flavorful, original and exquisitely presented. The quality of the service was also outstanding from the pace at which the 15 courses arrived to our table to the explanations provided for each dish and overall interactions with the staff. The price tag makes it a bit of a special occasion restaurant (this was my wife birthday dinner) but this was a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing

Dined on November 22, 2015

I took my wife to Saison and it was our first time there. Every aspect was worthy of a 3-star Michelin restaurant. We had 18 courses from the tasting menu (only option) and wine & cocktails. There was an open fire theme to the food as a portion of the dishes went through the wood-fire. The service was exquisite and the general manager took us on a private tour of the facilities which was a perfect way to end our visit. This is a 10/10 for anybody who appreciates good food. Save up for this one as we spent $1200 total.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice Dinner Experience

Dined on November 21, 2015

The ambience and attention to detail was excellent. The food courses came out at regular intervals. The food itself was good, but I've had better food at some of the other Michelin star restaurants I've eaten. However, the food was true to its roots and made for great eating experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible dining experience!

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

Watching the chef and his team prepare the meal which changes every day was interesting and fun. I had some dishes I would not have thought of ordering, glad they came out. Wine pairing was perfect. Some 15 courses in we were begging for mercy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The caviar service is amazing.

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

The caviar service is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

wow!!!

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

The food will blow you away !! .. Along w your wallet .. ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable Experience

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

My husband and I decided to go all out for our anniversary as we knew things would change when the baby arrives. Needless to say, it was perfect. The timing of the dishes was well paced but more importantly the food was excellent...like nothing I had ever tasted or experienced before. I was excited by every course that came to our table and loved having the chefs come to our table to present each dish. It was an amazing experience and my husband and I were talking about it days after. I had a hard time eating out after that meal as nothing could compare to that dinner. Thank you Saison for making our anniversary special and memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Expensive and not worth it

Dined on October 31, 2015

I wouldnt recommend Saison unless you dont know much about japanese fusion cuisines. No dishes and taste were a surprise to us. Service was ok they were friendly but i dont think they deserved $200 tips which wasnt an option. Maybe we were annoyed but the next table which had an exceptional attention by all the chef and waiters. Anyway I would rather go to restaurant at the meadowood.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.