About Saison

178 Townsend St.
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Sourcing each item from the surrounding land, Saison highlights the abundant resources of the San Francisco Bay Area. Each morning a new menu is crafted based on the finest offerings from our network of small farms, ranches, and fisheries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday-Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm

Please note that reservations at 7:30pm are located at the bar, NOT in the dining room

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 828-7990

Website:
http://www.saisonsf.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef / Owner: Joshua Skenes

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for Private Dining/Party Information.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Saison
Lemon And Green Tea Souffle

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best resturant !!! I will be back so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The best resturant !!! I will be back soon when i visit Sf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good and expensive , the Food is g ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good and expensive , the Food is great. The only thing i dont eat sweets I ask for fruits , They said ok and They have forget the fruits , They bring me the sorbet

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality of food, good service, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent quality of food, good service, somewhat innovative dishes but at times it gets a bit noisy in there as they blast classic rock from the open kitchen (which btw is beautiful). I know they are having fun and that's all good, but just a bit too loud here and there throughout our 3 hr dinner at the restaurant. It reminded me of a bit upscaled version of 42 grams Chicago.

Now, I do think they're over priced for the ingredients that they served us that night. Yes, dollop of caviars was good, but no truffles, no foie gras, no Japanese wagyu nor their uni's from Hokkaido and it came out to almost 1500 with one wine pairing for 2. We had a fish that was line caught by the sou chef (which's cool but def not pricey) and pork (which was cooked to perfection and deliciously done but again, not a priced main dish). Not to mention their wine pairing was just subpar compared to other 3 Michelin places in the states, not to mention any where in the world. We'd have gladly ordered a bottle of nice wine instead.

With all that considered, it was good to try once just to experience Saison, but we won't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our meal was a spectacular event. The fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our meal was a spectacular event. The food was outstanding and the service was beyond great. Watching the staff prepare the meal was an important part of my dining experience. The attention to detail was phenominal. I was astounded when our server Max noticed that my husband was left handed and put the utensils within his reach. A meal I will never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saison was AMAZING! Everything about it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Saison was AMAZING! Everything about it was perfect. We were treated so special that we felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant. The food/presentation and service was excellent, loved the music. My wife has food allergies and they catered to her every need. The place is phenomenal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well all the food was great apart from t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Well all the food was great apart from the Japanese style rice and side dish course. As I am raised in Asian culture I find that particular dish to be questionable (It lacks beauty and flavor). Also I hated pork rib stew. That type of dish doesn't fit with fine dining. It felt like I was eating in street food in Korea with motorcycles running around.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Exquisite! Everything was perfect!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Exquisite! Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only Luis has treat us warmly, all the o ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Only Luis has treat us warmly, all the other personell didn't beleive we were there and their treat was to much unpersonell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great but expensive for expensives sake. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great but expensive for expensives sake. In other words: ridiculously overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I'll defiantly come back. A new favorite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I'll defiantly come back. A new favorite!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shortened the tasting menu to only 8 or ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Shortened the tasting menu to only 8 or 9 courses without modifying the prices. Pricey and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Too expensive and too pretentious

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Too expensive and too pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My experience at Saison validated the ma ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My experience at Saison validated the many negatives from other reviews.

- Overpriced to the quality of overall food and experience

- Three of nine courses great, albeit the lobster "piece" was one bite at best

- Three courses hard to explain, .e.g, radish in hot water and... (?)

- Ribeye came with some leaves and scissors (roll your own seasoning?) and yes the waiters barely mumbled an explanation of what to do with the "Cooking components"

- $112 for three glasses of wine, none of which came close to value

- Was our anniversary dinner; bought us two small gold plated chocolate bars at end, with "happy anniversary" message from waiter: Nice until we noticed all other patrons received same bars. And yes this move made my wife feel a little small .

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was just fantastic, well thought ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was just fantastic, well thought out and amazing presentation. I expected nothing less for the price charged.

Wine list is well thought out, there is a healthy selection of blowout products to match the level of the menu, but there's also really good product that is accessibly priced, $48 a bottle and up from memory.

Service is attentive and unobtrusive. I purposely asked product related questions of many staff and every single one of them was well informed and able to answer.

This is a serious special occasion joint and yes it's expensive but I felt it was well worth it. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was pleasantly surprised with the atmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere at Saison. Typically, 3 star Michelin restaurants have a "certain type of air" but, Saison had the most enjoyable, vibrant atmosphere you hardly ever find. Service was stellar, you really got the opportunity to connect and be friendly with the staff and chefs. Food was obviously spectacular; one dish was mediocre but, we let them know and they offered another dish of our liking. I would absolutely recommend to sea food lovers and anyone who wants to enjoy a 3 star Michelin in a more upbeat, trendy atmosphere. Music was on point - 80's jams totally set the tone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacualr Food and service. Wine pairi ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Spectacualr Food and service. Wine pairing was asome. Last time was 16 courses. Now only ten. Much more expensive though. A great experience for my three children !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From start to finish our meals and cockt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

From start to finish our meals and cocktails were stellar! The Saison staff are at the top of our list for their professionalism and innovative, delicious food. Saison is all that in a beautiful setting where you don't have to dress up, suffer from over-crowded tables or stuffy staff! If visiting San Francisco, I recommend that you save Saison for last or, like us, will find yourselves disappointed by all dining experiences to follow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall experience. Brought o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Brought our own wine (corkage $50 is a little steep) but would consider the extensive wine list next time. Food was eclectic and interactive with high quality ingredients. Great choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly, after having dinners at 10+ th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Honestly, after having dinners at 10+ three star restaurants around the world. Saison have the least memorable food so far. I can appreciate the deconstructive approach, but serving food as discrete flavoured as the tasting menu at Saison was is not 3 star quality. Sorry, but the only thing really remerable was the extra ordinary drinks served from the all over charming bartender. I cannot recommend Saison, judged from my experince. Hopefully this was a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Unless you are really open to eating any ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Unless you are really open to eating anything without knowing what the menu will be, this is not the restaurant for you. I personally made reservations without paying attention to the fact that the menu is secret so when we got there we found ourselves stuck...the service is really outstanding and the staff do ask you if there are things that you don't eat, but we did not really say much and did not think of making a list. Turns out the meal was mostly raw seafood and I don't really eat raw seafood... I tried everything anyway and some of the dishes were outstanding, but I felt like I was eating something with my stomac rejecting it as it would not have been my first choice. The wine list is huge and the waiters kept on pushing us to purchase white wine, which we do not really fancy that much; we ended getting red wine because the sommelier saved us and helped us with a red wine instead. The bill was very high as well, and to be honest not worth it... I have eaten at so many expensive and fancy restaurants all over the world and San Francisco and did not really like the idea of paying for a secret menu. We gave it a try: seen it, done that, never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

The food was pretentious and poorly crea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was pretentious and poorly created. Most of it was not worth eating. For the price it was an absurd ripoff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

2 persons at $1580 :(( may be its bad ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

2 persons at $1580 :(( may be its bad timing for us with that day manu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

What an amazing dining experience. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

What an amazing dining experience. The food was perfection and the service was warm, knowledgable and precise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service were both very good ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service were both very good. However, neither the food nor the service can justify the exorbitant price. For $400 before drinks, service charge, or tax, I should be using dramatic hyperbolic adjectives, but instead, it's just very good.

noma only has two Michelin stars. Saison has three. I’ve lost faith in the Michelin guide as a result. Both the food and service at noma are superior - so if you're looking for a destination restaurant, head to Copenhagen. No wonder the reservations at noma were significantly more difficult to secure.

It's not that I didn't enjoy the meal at Saison, it's that I've had markedly better meals elsewhere, and Saison was markedly more expensive.

Let's assume money's no object. In that case, it's a restaurant to visit once.

A prime example of a good, not great, dish was the rice and pickled vegetables smorgasbord. Individually, the components were tasty, but we were instructed to 'mix-and-match' and found the result to be muddled, over-salted, and most importantly, disjointed.

Disjointed is a good word for the whole experience. The dress code is 'come as you are' but the waiters are dressed to the nines and thirty year old pop music plays in the background. There were many interesting elements, but this is one case where the sum is not greater than the parts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely terrible. Not worth the mone ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Absolutely terrible. Not worth the money or the visit. I can not believe how awful the food was. The restaurant should be embarrassed by the food, the taste and the price. I mean a piece of lettuce with some raw intestine in it is hardly something that should be served or if it is, let's at least add some seasoning. The cup of beef water with a floating sage leaf shouldn't be considered a "course". Disgusting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Outstanding food and excellent wine pair ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding food and excellent wine pairing marred by less than satisfying service. Wait staff explain food being served while mumbling away during placement of the dishes for each guest. Guests across from the table could not hear or make out what is being said without requesting that the server repeats him/herself. The servers also did not speak with conviction and behaved as if they were there because it was just a job- no enthusiasm/interest for the food being served. This drawback significantly impacted on enjoyment of the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

The food is innovative and creative, the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is innovative and creative, the service is superb. The wine pairing was excellent. An absolutely wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely worth exploring. Would be in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely worth exploring. Would be in my Top 10. The breads and pastries used in some dishes are the best I have ever experienced at a restaurant. The seafood soup, abalone and lobster dishes were all 11 out of 10. Other dishes ranged from 7-9 but nothing was off the mark. Great ambiance if you can get a spot near the kitchen watching the action. Wine pairing didn't do it for me but my wife liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and experience. Amazing ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Awesome food and experience. Amazing service with a perfect view of the kitchen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we have ever, eaten in 40 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The best meal we have ever, eaten in 40 years, and we have eaten at all the 4 stars in SF except one. "Fired ice cream" was equal to being in heaven, twice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The inside of the restaurant was totally ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The inside of the restaurant was totally different from what you expect from outside. It felt like we were invited to a cooking show. Seafood lover must like their creative preparation. The service was very comfortable and a serving staff accommodated to our need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, especially from the bar. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, especially from the bar. Effort to tailor the meal to you preferences. Some very memorable dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Imaginative presentations of top-quality ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Imaginative presentations of top-quality ingredients - each course is a like an exhibit of tasty, edible gems. The staff are omnipresent, yet unobtrusive, and genuinely friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing!!!!! Special occasion for sure.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing!!!!!

Special occasion for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous from start to finish...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

... food delicious and innovative..great services, fabulous ambiance !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience - food, se ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Exceptional dining experience - food, service ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Went in with high expectations and two experienced palates. While several of the courses were lovely, a few were very disappointing. There wasn't a discernible flow to the courses either, at least none that we could find. The biggest let down was the portions. By the 6th and 7th course, it felt more like a Tasting Menu we needed to "survive", not savor. By the last course, we were so full it was no longer enjoyable. The space and service were outstanding, but I've had better meals at restaurants with fewer Michelin stars. Just reinforced my tendency to roll my eyes at the 3-star universe.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Very special place to experience. The fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Very special place to experience. The food is highly creative, the service exceptional, and the atmosphere is awesome. Expensive yes, but you certainly get a top notch dining experience that is tough to say you could get elsewhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over rated

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

This restaurant is pretentious / arrogant. The cooking has no soul as the atmosphere of the restaurant that is clinical.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.