About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

A French heaven in this hospitable south, Saint Jacques serves authentic and traditional French cuisine, discreet and polished service, and elegant atmosphere. Fine dining at its best."Voted one of the top 100 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - since 2009" "Voted one of the top 100 in service in the U.S. by Open Table Diners -since 2009", "Voted one of the top 50 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - 2009", Voted "Best overall restaurant in Triangle by Open Table Diners - 2008" "Voted best French Restaurant in the triangle - Citysearch 2006". "Voted best French Restaurant 2007 & 2008- Metro Magazine".
**Because of the calm and serene environment we at Saint Jacques are proud to promote and offer our guest, we may not be a suitable venue for children under the age of 8**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Charlotte Saint Jaques
Crispy Sweetbreads
Wine Tasting Dinner Place Setting

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
14 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (80)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Romantic (67)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All around, a great experience! The meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

All around, a great experience! The meal was excellent and service is the best in Raleigh. The chef spends a lot of time visiting patrons in the dining room. He is a sweet and charming man, a little difficult to understand at times, due to his French accented English. I recommend St. Jacques for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time back at this res ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first time back at this restaurant since Serge took over as executive chef and general manager. We enjoyed our dinner very much and plan to return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine list and service.It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food, wine list and service.It was our first visit - we'll be back. Where else can you find authentic french cuisine in the Raleigh area? We were very impressed with the whole evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food but ambience could be bette ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food but ambience could be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

now that he's free from the restrictions ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

now that he's free from the restrictions of the previous store at 518 W, i can see why serge is an amazin' chef! i consider st jacques to be a boutique restaurant - one that i feel caters to an affluent guest who is more interested in food quality, the experience and service than price. to that end, it's great for all who want to shock their palette with a delight i've not experienced anywhere on the planet!

the service is even a step up from the barn who in my view is premiere esp when u consider the number of ppl they serve on a regular basis. i will add that margaux's is another with superb service but st jacques takes it to a new level!

for me, this is the restaurant in the triangle. yes, there are fancier, as in cosmetics, stores that do well but this store is one that MUST be experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have always considered this one of ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have always considered this one of our top restaurants. this time my duck had a lot of gristle and was a little tough. the rest of the meal was exceptional as always. the creme brulee is always near the top of our favorite list and I appreciated the chef making a special pre appetizer for me when I could not eat the scallops one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly one of the top restaurants in th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Clearly one of the top restaurants in the Triangle. Excellent food and impeccable service. A great value. It is definitely worth the drive to north Raleigh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, incredible service, enviab ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome food, incredible service, enviable wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time. Dinner was excelent. The che ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time. Dinner was excelent. The chef hindelf came to our Table. Food, drinks and Wine was great!

We Will definettelly come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our out-of-town guests were first-time v ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our out-of-town guests were first-time visitors to Saint Jacques, and they loved it. As always, everything about our meal from start to finish was outstanding. Whether for lunch or dinner, St Jacques is the perfect place to go for a wonderful meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An outstanding restaurant. We had not be ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

An outstanding restaurant. We had not been there for a while,it was as great as we remembered it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was everything one could expect ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was everything one could expect for French fair. The attention to detail and creative preparation made for a truly memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent for special occasions, otherwi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent for special occasions, otherwise at the top of my budget! The food was quite authentic according to one of my quests who often works in France.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars is not enough!! Seven, at le ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Five stars is not enough!! Seven, at least!! Pricy? Yes. Worth it? YES! If you're like us, occasionally spending a lot on a special occasion is nice. And fun. As long as we feel that the experience was worth the cost. Spending a bucket-load of money on a ho-hum meal leaves one feeling angry on wasting the money. Spending a large sum of money and getting MORE than you ever expected... WORTH IT! All in the perspective.

St. Jacques staff will pamper you. The chef will send out an "amuse bouche" to stimulate your taste buds. And he will come to visit you at your table to be sure you're happy.

The service is leisurely, neither rushed or overly prolonged. The wine list has something for everyone.

I could describe the items we ordered from the menu, but really... whatever you order will be great! Of course, you have to understand French cuisine. The portions are not huge, but they're not skimpy, either. We had the amuse bouche (which is really just about two bites); we shared 3 appetizers (because we couldn't decide); and bread, of course (awesome); then a sorbet "palate cleanser"; our main course; coffee and dessert. We were pleasantly sated, neither hungry or over-stuffed.

And you know the best part? We cannot wait to get back there!! Really!! Perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 4 enjoyed the lunch meal gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our party of 4 enjoyed the lunch meal greatly. We had the watermelon gazpacho and salad. The main courses were very tasty and appropriately light for lunch (quiche, crepe St Jacques, salmon). The chocolate and sabayon desserts were super.

Chef Serge was very friendly!

The main problem was that it was very quiet during the midweek lunch hour - great for a friends' get-together, but somewhat lacking in ambience.

I hope that the great food overcomes what should be a temporary 'low' season at lunchtimes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Third visit over several years; I knew m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Third visit over several years; I knew my wife liked it as she'd mentioned it a few times. It's in a shopping center but don't let that fool you. Silver lining: plenty of parking spaces, but then it was a Wednesday night. Interior is not overly formal but is well done in quiet and subdued themes. As much as we usually have to slow the staff down in most restaurants using various strategies, we were pleasantly surprised when we found that even we were moving just a little bit too fast. Please do not come to this restaurant if you are in a hurry. Or cannot find a babysitter. This is not an inexpensive restaurant except for the wine list. Of course there were expensive bottles but there was an expansive range of reasonably priced bottles. Small but very good selection by the glass. The cheese plate appetizer is a good choice to share if you just want something to nibble on. The night's special was trout which was incredible. Served on mixed greens with a vinegarette dressing and a side of a kind of casserole with squash and cheese. The other main dish tried were the scallops from the menu (see online). Incredible. Perfect Creme Brulee. For a special occasion, let the staff know when you make the reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is superb and all the food revi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is superb and all the food reviews are on point under the oversight of a new chef. Alert - this is a first world problem review. The front management and servers are not comparable to the food. It must be improved if the ratings are to remain high. We had a server who was clearly over her head, in part due to lack of oversight and training by the front house manager. Who, upon the conclusion of expression of concern and why the evening was spoiled by the service failure, stated "Thank you for your input." Really? Disappointing to say the least...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Impeccable! The food was world class, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Impeccable!

The food was world class, the setting intimate and beautiful, and the staff friendly and attentive. I wish I could dine their every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made every effort to take care ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The staff made every effort to take care of our every need. We were invited to taste the wine selections that were recommended. I was pleasantly surprised to find plenty of gluten-free options. The chief chef came to our table to figure out a way to make my meal interesting and satisfying. The shredded duck distributed generously throughout a delicious polenta was outstanding. The tuna special with mushrooms, strawberries and risotto was also a hit. The chair I sat on was too hard to sit on for the duration of a leisurely meal, but other than that we were pleased with our dining experience and would definitely return on another occasion. We appreciated the excellent service. The chef even came by our table to thank us for coming and wish us a good evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are regular patrons, and this visit e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We are regular patrons, and this visit exceeded our already high expectations. The cuisine continues to be superb, as are the wines and the service. We are firmly convinced that Saint Jacques is the best restaurant in the Triangle area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best dining experience we ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is the best dining experience we have had in the greater Raleigh area. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our 31st anniversary! E ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went here for our 31st anniversary! Everything was perfect! Been wanting to dine here for some time now. Made our anniversary special! Can't wait to go back again! Telling all our friends what a special place this truly is! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time. The food was great the s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful time. The food was great the staff was attentive and friendly. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is without any doubt one of the bes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is without any doubt one of the best restaurants we have visited in the US. We have been to Saint Jacques on numerous occasions and the quality of food and service have always been top notch. The new Executive Chef Serge Falcoz-Vigne is very visible and enjoys interacting with his clientele. A very big plus (and in line with old school European tradition)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We haven't been to this restaurant in ab ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We haven't been to this restaurant in about 5 years -- and I am happy to say that little has changed. It is like going to France -- except without the jet lag and having to exchange currencies. The chef is from Grenoble - and the food is very authentic. One of the few quiet restaurants left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass. I had the mussels and snapper. My husband had the foie gras and duck. Both were very good. We will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table of three had salads, escargot, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our table of three had salads, escargot, rack of lamb, scallops x 2 and dessert. Everything except the dessert was excellent. The waitstaff was very good and the chef took time to meet each of the patrons. It's pricey, so for me is only fit for a special occasion. The only disappointment was one of the desserts -- it was chocolate mousse -- very small portion, nothing special, $11.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We liked this place a lot. The staff wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We liked this place a lot. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary lunch and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We went for our anniversary lunch and were thoroughly impressed - the food and service were great. Somehow in nearly 30 years of living in North Raleigh we'd never been to Saint Jacques - a mistake we've rectified and won't repeat. Have told several couples we play tennis with about it who have likewise heard of the restaurant but never been, and they're eager to try it.

I would definitely recommend Saint Jacques - outstanding food, service, and atmosphere for a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate a special occasion, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate a special occasion, and it was perfect! We will be going back next month to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

St. Jacques is one of the few French res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

St. Jacques is one of the few French restaurants in the Raleigh/Durham area and they do a very good job with the quality and presentment of their food. It's been a few years since my last visit and it did not disappoint. The chef had visited our table twice and is a very friendly and gracious host. Now, this is not the equivalent of a Michelin Star restaurant in Paris, but it is very good. With 3 bottles of wine and apps and entree's for 4 people, our bill came to about $500 before gratuity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food don't let the location or out ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food don't let the location or outside fool you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday. We loved experiencing authentic foods. The food was wonderful! I especially loved the between palate cleansers!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant has been one of our favorites for intimate dinners. When Chef Lil left, I was concerned that it would be the end of a special spot, but my fears were allayed by a lovely dining experience. The food was thoughtfully and carefully prepared, the staff was attentive, and we enjoyed a relaxing, unhurried meal. It remains a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best French Restaurant in Raleigh

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This French restaurant is our best in Raleigh so far.

They need to have more reservation spot open for booking.

We love the service and foods there.

Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A delightful meal of classic French offe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A delightful meal of classic French offerings simply prepared (including a very special choux fleurs amuse bouche), a friendly young chef from Grenoble, agreeably discreet service and an appealing wine list though generally on the young side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding all the way around...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience from strait to finish. Service, drinks, food were all exceptional!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eight year patron and never disappointed

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We searched the computer in 2008 to find a restaurant for our son's college graduation celebration. We struck Gold! The restaurant is small and unassuming. It is located in a strip shopping center. We had our doubts going in.

We were greeted graciously and seated in a small side room (8 people in the group). The food was outstanding from the main course to dessert. The wine list was extensive and, fortunately, the owner very helpful with his recommendations. We enjoyed an unhurried two hour meal and celebration.

Over the years, my wife and I have returned on several occasions to celebrate special occasions with family and friends. We have never been disappointed. (We live in Charlotte.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great French Restaurant

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I started with the mussels in a cream sauce and they were superb. Wife had the seafood chowder and it was very good also. For a main, I had the rack of lamb while wife had the filet mignon. Both were cooked perfectly and were excellent. Finished with the profiteroles and wife had the rêve en chocolat. While the profiteroles were very good, I'll give the edge to the dark chocolate in warm puff pastry with crème Anglaise. Service is outstanding as everyone attends to you needs, not just your waiter. There are not many restaurants in Raleigh area that equal the food and service here. Kinda pricey, but well worth the splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.