About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

A French heaven in this hospitable south, Saint Jacques serves authentic and traditional French cuisine, discreet and polished service, and elegant atmosphere. Fine dining at its best."Voted one of the top 100 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - since 2009" "Voted one of the top 100 in service in the U.S. by Open Table Diners -since 2009", "Voted one of the top 50 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - 2009", Voted "Best overall restaurant in Triangle by Open Table Diners - 2008" "Voted best French Restaurant in the triangle - Citysearch 2006". "Voted best French Restaurant 2007 & 2008- Metro Magazine".
**Because of the calm and serene environment we at Saint Jacques are proud to promote and offer our guest, we may not be a suitable venue for children under the age of 8**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Charlotte Saint Jaques
Crispy Sweetbreads
Wine Tasting Dinner Place Setting

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
15 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (75)
romantic (71)
See All
notable wine list (41)
neighborhood gem (36)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (7)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is superb and all the food revi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is superb and all the food reviews are on point under the oversight of a new chef. Alert - this is a first world problem review. The front management and servers are not comparable to the food. It must be improved if the ratings are to remain high. We had a server who was clearly over her head, in part due to lack of oversight and training by the front house manager. Who, upon the conclusion of expression of concern and why the evening was spoiled by the service failure, stated "Thank you for your input." Really? Disappointing to say the least...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Impeccable! The food was world class, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Impeccable!

The food was world class, the setting intimate and beautiful, and the staff friendly and attentive. I wish I could dine their every day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made every effort to take care ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The staff made every effort to take care of our every need. We were invited to taste the wine selections that were recommended. I was pleasantly surprised to find plenty of gluten-free options. The chief chef came to our table to figure out a way to make my meal interesting and satisfying. The shredded duck distributed generously throughout a delicious polenta was outstanding. The tuna special with mushrooms, strawberries and risotto was also a hit. The chair I sat on was too hard to sit on for the duration of a leisurely meal, but other than that we were pleased with our dining experience and would definitely return on another occasion. We appreciated the excellent service. The chef even came by our table to thank us for coming and wish us a good evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are regular patrons, and this visit e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We are regular patrons, and this visit exceeded our already high expectations. The cuisine continues to be superb, as are the wines and the service. We are firmly convinced that Saint Jacques is the best restaurant in the Triangle area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best dining experience we ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is the best dining experience we have had in the greater Raleigh area. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our 31st anniversary! E ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went here for our 31st anniversary! Everything was perfect! Been wanting to dine here for some time now. Made our anniversary special! Can't wait to go back again! Telling all our friends what a special place this truly is! Highly recommended!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time. The food was great the s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful time. The food was great the staff was attentive and friendly. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is without any doubt one of the bes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is without any doubt one of the best restaurants we have visited in the US. We have been to Saint Jacques on numerous occasions and the quality of food and service have always been top notch. The new Executive Chef Serge Falcoz-Vigne is very visible and enjoys interacting with his clientele. A very big plus (and in line with old school European tradition)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We haven't been to this restaurant in ab ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We haven't been to this restaurant in about 5 years -- and I am happy to say that little has changed. It is like going to France -- except without the jet lag and having to exchange currencies. The chef is from Grenoble - and the food is very authentic. One of the few quiet restaurants left.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass. I had the mussels and snapper. My husband had the foie gras and duck. Both were very good. We will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table of three had salads, escargot, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our table of three had salads, escargot, rack of lamb, scallops x 2 and dessert. Everything except the dessert was excellent. The waitstaff was very good and the chef took time to meet each of the patrons. It's pricey, so for me is only fit for a special occasion. The only disappointment was one of the desserts -- it was chocolate mousse -- very small portion, nothing special, $11.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We liked this place a lot. The staff wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We liked this place a lot. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary lunch and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We went for our anniversary lunch and were thoroughly impressed - the food and service were great. Somehow in nearly 30 years of living in North Raleigh we'd never been to Saint Jacques - a mistake we've rectified and won't repeat. Have told several couples we play tennis with about it who have likewise heard of the restaurant but never been, and they're eager to try it.

I would definitely recommend Saint Jacques - outstanding food, service, and atmosphere for a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate a special occasion, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate a special occasion, and it was perfect! We will be going back next month to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

St. Jacques is one of the few French res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

St. Jacques is one of the few French restaurants in the Raleigh/Durham area and they do a very good job with the quality and presentment of their food. It's been a few years since my last visit and it did not disappoint. The chef had visited our table twice and is a very friendly and gracious host. Now, this is not the equivalent of a Michelin Star restaurant in Paris, but it is very good. With 3 bottles of wine and apps and entree's for 4 people, our bill came to about $500 before gratuity.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food don't let the location or out ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food don't let the location or outside fool you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday. We loved experiencing authentic foods. The food was wonderful! I especially loved the between palate cleansers!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant has been one of our favorites for intimate dinners. When Chef Lil left, I was concerned that it would be the end of a special spot, but my fears were allayed by a lovely dining experience. The food was thoughtfully and carefully prepared, the staff was attentive, and we enjoyed a relaxing, unhurried meal. It remains a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best French Restaurant in Raleigh

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This French restaurant is our best in Raleigh so far.

They need to have more reservation spot open for booking.

We love the service and foods there.

Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A delightful meal of classic French offe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A delightful meal of classic French offerings simply prepared (including a very special choux fleurs amuse bouche), a friendly young chef from Grenoble, agreeably discreet service and an appealing wine list though generally on the young side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding all the way around...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience from strait to finish. Service, drinks, food were all exceptional!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eight year patron and never disappointed

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We searched the computer in 2008 to find a restaurant for our son's college graduation celebration. We struck Gold! The restaurant is small and unassuming. It is located in a strip shopping center. We had our doubts going in.

We were greeted graciously and seated in a small side room (8 people in the group). The food was outstanding from the main course to dessert. The wine list was extensive and, fortunately, the owner very helpful with his recommendations. We enjoyed an unhurried two hour meal and celebration.

Over the years, my wife and I have returned on several occasions to celebrate special occasions with family and friends. We have never been disappointed. (We live in Charlotte.)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great French Restaurant

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I started with the mussels in a cream sauce and they were superb. Wife had the seafood chowder and it was very good also. For a main, I had the rack of lamb while wife had the filet mignon. Both were cooked perfectly and were excellent. Finished with the profiteroles and wife had the rêve en chocolat. While the profiteroles were very good, I'll give the edge to the dark chocolate in warm puff pastry with crème Anglaise. Service is outstanding as everyone attends to you needs, not just your waiter. There are not many restaurants in Raleigh area that equal the food and service here. Kinda pricey, but well worth the splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The rack of lamb was perfectly cooked and delicious. We weren't sure which wine went best with the lamb and the Wine Sommelier was perfect with his selection for us after several questions regarding our tastes. Atmosphere was romantic and the service superb. We love this restaurant and it is consistently "the best" every time we go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Serge creates excellent French cuis ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Chef Serge creates excellent French cuisine right here in Raleigh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Amazing lunch in surprise location. Chef is wonderful and visited our table to introduce the excellent cheese plate--loved his commitment to the cuisine and culture. Have already started recommending to friends and look forward to returning asap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect evening

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner and had one of the finest meals we have ever had. Service and food were perfect and the dishes were exquisitely prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't quite up to par this time

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Let me start by saying I really like this restaurant. But this visit was not quite up to par. We got there early and they were kind enough to seat us, which was appreciated . The appetizers were good. The duck was heavy and there was too much honey. My son said his salmon was "bland" and my husband's sea bass was somewhat 'fishy' tasting. The palate cleanser had a bit too much thyme. The amuse bouche was fantastic. And the desserts were wonderful. Still my favorite restaurant but I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Better than ever!!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been fans of this restaurant for many years.They have recently hired a new French chef and the food has improved remarkably--which is saying a lot as it was wonderful before this chef.

We came for a birthday lunch and the chef came and spoke to us and asked if he could prepare any requests for us. My daughter requested sweetbreads from the dinner menu and he was happy to prepare it. They were marvelous!

The offerings all now more authentic French dishes, taste exquisite and are beautifully presented. Service has always been a strong feature here and it remains stellar. Our waitperson was Aaron who is always attentive, knowledgeable and makes the meal even more of a pleasure. The wines are excellent and they also now offer cocktails as well.

Do not let the location of this restaurant stop you from trying it. It is a gem and always make me feel I am back in France again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for special celebra ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent restaurant for special celebrations. Chef is excellent and service is tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My rack of lamb was fabulous and the gra ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My rack of lamb was fabulous and the gratin potatoes and broiled tomato completed the meal perfectly. My husband ordered the apple dessert which I would go back just to order for dessert!!

Our server Aaron was incredible. Cudos to getting Serge as your new Chef/manager. (Hope I got that correct)

We need to visit more often but be sure to get your reservation well ahead or you will be out of luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always. Fantastic. As a celiac, the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always. Fantastic. As a celiac, they have always done their best to be helpful :) Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Truly Memorable Evening

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The dinner was superb in every respect. The only difficulty was choosing what to have; everything on the menu sounded wonderful. Each member of our party had a different entree, and all were perfectly prepared. The service was outstanding, and the evening could not have been better in any respect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful, and the ambiance ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the ambiance was very nice. Our server did not know that my fish's delicious accompaniment was made from leeks (also delicious). I loved the fact that the napkins on the table were white, but when we sat down our waitress brought black napkins since we were wearing darker attire. Also, I think the beer that I ordered should have been poured for me and not served in the bottle (my husband ordered wine by the glass for himself). So just little details that could make this a five star overall for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the few restaurants to still have escargot, so of course we had them. They were great.

The breads were incredible. The service was absolutely fantastic. Main course was a scallop pastry, soooo good. And dessert was so amazing. The choices were numerous and all sounded great. I finally decided on the sabayon ( i think that is how it is spelled).

The entire evening was an A+, can't wait to go back. It is pricey, but very worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Unfortunately my da ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great. Unfortunately my date was mentally unstable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Francais Fix

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We love St.Jacque! The entire staff is there to make your meal excellent. The chef, sommelier and waiter were checking in with us to make sure we were pleased with everything. It was such a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Surprise

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

After moving here from NYC we have not found many really good restaurants, so Saint Jacques was a nice surprise and we would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef did an outstanding job. Service wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Chef did an outstanding job. Service was wonderful. Every bite delicious. Will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.