About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

A French heaven in this hospitable south, Saint Jacques serves authentic and traditional French cuisine, discreet and polished service, and elegant atmosphere. Fine dining at its best."Voted one of the top 100 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - since 2009" "Voted one of the top 100 in service in the U.S. by Open Table Diners -since 2009", "Voted one of the top 50 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - 2009", Voted "Best overall restaurant in Triangle by Open Table Diners - 2008" "Voted best French Restaurant in the triangle - Citysearch 2006". "Voted best French Restaurant 2007 & 2008- Metro Magazine".
**Because of the calm and serene environment we at Saint Jacques are proud to promote and offer our guest, we may not be a suitable venue for children under the age of 8**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Charlotte Saint Jaques
Crispy Sweetbreads
Wine Tasting Dinner Place Setting

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
11 More
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (89)
fit for foodies (79)
romantic (77)
See All
notable wine list (50)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (6)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass ...

Dined a day ago

Delicious food. Good wine by the glass. I had the mussels and snapper. My husband had the foie gras and duck. Both were very good. We will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary lunch and we ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went for our anniversary lunch and were thoroughly impressed - the food and service were great. Somehow in nearly 30 years of living in North Raleigh we'd never been to Saint Jacques - a mistake we've rectified and won't repeat. Have told several couples we play tennis with about it who have likewise heard of the restaurant but never been, and they're eager to try it. I would definitely recommend Saint Jacques - outstanding food, service, and atmosphere for a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

St. Jacques is one of the few French res ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

St. Jacques is one of the few French restaurants in the Raleigh/Durham area and they do a very good job with the quality and presentment of their food. It's been a few years since my last visit and it did not disappoint. The chef had visited our table twice and is a very friendly and gracious host. Now, this is not the equivalent of a Michelin Star restaurant in Paris, but it is very good. With 3 bottles of wine and apps and entree's for 4 people, our bill came to about $500 before gratuity.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food don't let the location or out ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food don't let the location or outside fool you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday. We loved experiencing authentic foods. The food was wonderful! I especially loved the between palate cleansers!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant has been one of our favorites for intimate dinners. When Chef Lil left, I was concerned that it would be the end of a special spot, but my fears were allayed by a lovely dining experience. The food was thoughtfully and carefully prepared, the staff was attentive, and we enjoyed a relaxing, unhurried meal. It remains a favorite.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Exquisite cuisine,great service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best French Restaurant in Raleigh

Dined on June 10, 2016

This French restaurant is our best in Raleigh so far. They need to have more reservation spot open for booking. We love the service and foods there. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A delightful meal of classic French offe ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

A delightful meal of classic French offerings simply prepared (including a very special choux fleurs amuse bouche), a friendly young chef from Grenoble, agreeably discreet service and an appealing wine list though generally on the young side.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding all the way around...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience from strait to finish. Service, drinks, food were all exceptional!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Eight year patron and never disappointed

Dined on June 4, 2016

We searched the computer in 2008 to find a restaurant for our son's college graduation celebration. We struck Gold! The restaurant is small and unassuming. It is located in a strip shopping center. We had our doubts going in. We were greeted graciously and seated in a small side room (8 people in the group). The food was outstanding from the main course to dessert. The wine list was extensive and, fortunately, the owner very helpful with his recommendations. We enjoyed an unhurried two hour meal and celebration. Over the years, my wife and I have returned on several occasions to celebrate special occasions with family and friends. We have never been disappointed. (We live in Charlotte.)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great French Restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

I started with the mussels in a cream sauce and they were superb. Wife had the seafood chowder and it was very good also. For a main, I had the rack of lamb while wife had the filet mignon. Both were cooked perfectly and were excellent. Finished with the profiteroles and wife had the rêve en chocolat. While the profiteroles were very good, I'll give the edge to the dark chocolate in warm puff pastry with crème Anglaise. Service is outstanding as everyone attends to you needs, not just your waiter. There are not many restaurants in Raleigh area that equal the food and service here. Kinda pricey, but well worth the splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The rack of lamb was perfectly cooked and delicious. We weren't sure which wine went best with the lamb and the Wine Sommelier was perfect with his selection for us after several questions regarding our tastes. Atmosphere was romantic and the service superb. We love this restaurant and it is consistently "the best" every time we go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Serge creates excellent French cuis ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Chef Serge creates excellent French cuisine right here in Raleigh!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Amazing lunch in surprise location. Chef is wonderful and visited our table to introduce the excellent cheese plate--loved his commitment to the cuisine and culture. Have already started recommending to friends and look forward to returning asap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

Dined on May 31, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner and had one of the finest meals we have ever had. Service and food were perfect and the dishes were exquisitely prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't quite up to par this time

Dined on May 29, 2016

Let me start by saying I really like this restaurant. But this visit was not quite up to par. We got there early and they were kind enough to seat us, which was appreciated . The appetizers were good. The duck was heavy and there was too much honey. My son said his salmon was "bland" and my husband's sea bass was somewhat 'fishy' tasting. The palate cleanser had a bit too much thyme. The amuse bouche was fantastic. And the desserts were wonderful. Still my favorite restaurant but I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than ever!!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been fans of this restaurant for many years.They have recently hired a new French chef and the food has improved remarkably--which is saying a lot as it was wonderful before this chef. We came for a birthday lunch and the chef came and spoke to us and asked if he could prepare any requests for us. My daughter requested sweetbreads from the dinner menu and he was happy to prepare it. They were marvelous! The offerings all now more authentic French dishes, taste exquisite and are beautifully presented. Service has always been a strong feature here and it remains stellar. Our waitperson was Aaron who is always attentive, knowledgeable and makes the meal even more of a pleasure. The wines are excellent and they also now offer cocktails as well. Do not let the location of this restaurant stop you from trying it. It is a gem and always make me feel I am back in France again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant for special celebra ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent restaurant for special celebrations. Chef is excellent and service is tremendous!

food5
ambience5
service5

My rack of lamb was fabulous and the gra ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My rack of lamb was fabulous and the gratin potatoes and broiled tomato completed the meal perfectly. My husband ordered the apple dessert which I would go back just to order for dessert!! Our server Aaron was incredible. Cudos to getting Serge as your new Chef/manager. (Hope I got that correct) We need to visit more often but be sure to get your reservation well ahead or you will be out of luck.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always. Fantastic. As a celiac, the ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

As always. Fantastic. As a celiac, they have always done their best to be helpful :) Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Truly Memorable Evening

Dined on May 19, 2016

The dinner was superb in every respect. The only difficulty was choosing what to have; everything on the menu sounded wonderful. Each member of our party had a different entree, and all were perfectly prepared. The service was outstanding, and the evening could not have been better in any respect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful, and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the ambiance was very nice. Our server did not know that my fish's delicious accompaniment was made from leeks (also delicious). I loved the fact that the napkins on the table were white, but when we sat down our waitress brought black napkins since we were wearing darker attire. Also, I think the beer that I ordered should have been poured for me and not served in the bottle (my husband ordered wine by the glass for himself). So just little details that could make this a five star overall for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the few restaurants to still have escargot, so of course we had them. They were great. The breads were incredible. The service was absolutely fantastic. Main course was a scallop pastry, soooo good. And dessert was so amazing. The choices were numerous and all sounded great. I finally decided on the sabayon ( i think that is how it is spelled). The entire evening was an A+, can't wait to go back. It is pricey, but very worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Unfortunately my da ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great. Unfortunately my date was mentally unstable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Francais Fix

Dined on May 11, 2016

We love St.Jacque! The entire staff is there to make your meal excellent. The chef, sommelier and waiter were checking in with us to make sure we were pleased with everything. It was such a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Surprise

Dined on May 8, 2016

After moving here from NYC we have not found many really good restaurants, so Saint Jacques was a nice surprise and we would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef did an outstanding job. Service wa ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Chef did an outstanding job. Service was wonderful. Every bite delicious. Will be back again soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6 stars!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I give the food and service 6 stars. Very nice! yes!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding: Par excellence!

Dined on April 30, 2016

A new chef from Paris worked his magic to produce a truly outstanding dining experience. Every aspect of our experience was superb. I would highly recommend the current iteration of St. Jaques. Although we went with some uncertainty after the departure of Lil and Lori (the former owners), our experience will bring us back often. Far exceeded my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Taste of Paris

Dined on April 27, 2016

I went to St. Jacques for lunch with a friend and had the best meal I've had in Raleigh, NC, while feeling that I was miles and miles away in Paris, France. We started with the most perfect fois gras that I have had since Paris. It was smooth and delicious with a marvelous apple-mango chutney, delicious warm bread, and a beautiful presentation. The Coquilles St. Jacques was so fresh and flavorful and served beautifully in a scallop shell with light breading and a smooth savory sauce. I had a fabulous vol-au-vent of creamy shrimp and lobster sauce. The pastry was done just right and it was served with a very tasty root vegetable side. Homemade peach ice cream and an extraordinary sorbet with grapefruit and thyme completed a most pleasant experience. The background music was lovely and so relaxing. I love the warmth and welcome feel of the restaurant once you are inside. French chef, Serge, is a delight and has made this a must go place for an exquisite dining adventure. Don't miss St. Jacques in Raleigh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Amazing

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was a little pricey but it is worth it for many many reasons. There are so many different flavors built into your meal. The taste does not get old. Every bite you take still has an exploding amount of flavor in your mouth. The homemade bread is also the same way. It is not noisy at all. Due to this being a fancy restaurant, no parents want to bring rowdy little children here to ruins other customers' experience. The whole staff is amazing. Even if a staff member isn't "your" waiter or waitress, they will still smile at you and make you feel welcomed. The look on your date's face after you leave is the best part about it too. When you pay for your meal, you aren't paying for tasty, fancy food. You pay for the experience of a lifetime. From the moment you step through the door to the moment you go to sleep that night, you will not regret that you chose this place to bring your date. If you want to have a night you won't forget, this is the go to restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply one of the best dining experience ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Simply one of the best dining experiences I've had in Raleigh that rivals anywhere I've been. Top notch from top to bottom. Absolutely delicious is every way and impeccable service while still being relaxed. Loved it. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my huaband there for his birthday.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Each course we ordered was amazing. Always a pleasure to dine at an establishment that caters to their guest. What a treat. We will be coming back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A surprising gem in an unlikely location

Dined on April 5, 2016

Always EXCELLENT food and service. Fun for lunch and GREAT for dinner -- but be sure to make a reservation for evenings!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Classic french dishes

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food; sommelier was friendly and helpful. They were full the evening we were there, so it could be our server was distracted; she was very friendly and could have been more attentive but our experience was positive overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience at Saint Jacques French Cuisine

Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I have been looking for a good French restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. I read a few reviews and picked Saint Jacques. We were skeptical of he location in a shopping center... but were not disappointed in the experience. The staff were welcoming and attentive without being over bearing. I especially liked that we were not hurried through our meal. We were able to take our time and relax between courses. The food was very good. My wife had the Scottish salmon and I had the short ribs as well as the muscles for the hot appetizer. both dishes were excellent and well prepared. We will definitely be back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food and service.

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

St. Jacques is an excellent French restaurant with superb food and service. From start to finish all five of us experienced a meal that was exceptional on every level. The wait staff deserve special mention. They are attentive without being intrusive, very pleasant and accommodating, and very professional. My guests and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was terrific and the food was spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on March 29, 2016

Had an excellent dining experience. Felt like we were in France. Very authentic. The staff was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.