About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

A French heaven in this hospitable south, Saint Jacques serves authentic and traditional French cuisine, discreet and polished service, and elegant atmosphere. Fine dining at its best."Voted one of the top 100 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - since 2009" "Voted one of the top 100 in service in the U.S. by Open Table Diners -since 2009", "Voted one of the top 50 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - 2009", Voted "Best overall restaurant in Triangle by Open Table Diners - 2008" "Voted best French Restaurant in the triangle - Citysearch 2006". "Voted best French Restaurant 2007 & 2008- Metro Magazine".
**Because of the calm and serene environment we at Saint Jacques are proud to promote and offer our guest, we may not be a suitable venue for children under the age of 8**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Charlotte Saint Jaques
Crispy Sweetbreads
Wine Tasting Dinner Place Setting

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
12 More
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the 2nd time we have had lunch h ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have had lunch here and it was as wonderful this time as the first. We especially appreciated the chef accommodating a special request for a dish that was on the dinner menu but not on the lunch menu. And most especially the entire wait staff was exceptionally pleasant, engaging and patient letting us spend 2 hours having lunch and enjoying the company of our guests whom we hadn't seen in a number of years. It was most appreciated as they are in town supporting their daughter who is in a critical health situation and this was a much needed respite for them. I can't thank you all enough!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine! The French Onion Soup did not di ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Divine! The French Onion Soup did not disappoint. Rack of Lamb and Filet of Duck both cooked to perfection. Unexpected winners of the evening were the potatoes "gratin dauphinois" and the lavender cranberry wheat bread. Wine recommendations by the staff paired well. The arancini amuse-bouche and sorbet palate cleanser were both nice little luxuries. Perfect for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The occasion was a friend's birthday. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The occasion was a friend's birthday. The meal was superb from start to finish, including a special birthday dessert treat for our friend. The service was flawless. It is always a pleasure to dine at Saint Jacques, no matter what the occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter took me here for my ____ bir ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My daughter took me here for my ____ birthday. We are both great fans of French cuisine and we both agreed St. Jacques is one of the best we have experienced. I have eaten in many French restaurants both domestic and in Europe over the last 35 years and, for me, this was one of the top 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and impeccable service. We ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food and impeccable service. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Jacques is absolutely fabulous. If ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

St. Jacques is absolutely fabulous. If you want first class cuisine and absolute attention to detail and service this is the place. Best in Raleigh.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to see the chef come out and talk w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice to see the chef come out and talk with the guests. He happened to stop by when we got our appetizer and explained the dish in detail. Best meal we have had in the triangle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new chef-owner at Saint Jacques Fren ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The new chef-owner at Saint Jacques French Cuisine picks up where Lil Lacasagna left off. It's authentic French cuisine with a very welcoming but French "formal" atmosphere deserving of at least one Michelin star. If you want an authentic French atmosphere with authentic French food, this is THE place to go in the Triangle. There are even some French-speaking waiters.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch at St. Jacques. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at St. Jacques. The mussel appetizer was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. It was a large enough portion for two people. Their dessert menu is unique. The goat cheese with passion fruit puree and blackberries was great. Again, large enough to share. The service was impeccable. Well worth the price for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Serge, the new French chef, was very per ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Serge, the new French chef, was very personable & the meal was delicious. Highly recommend St. Jacques for any special occasion. Well worth the value!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The service was ver ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was great. The service was very attentive. And the hospitality was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

St Jaques never fails to impress. The s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

St Jaques never fails to impress. The service is outstanding and the food was excellent. I had the filet mignon cooked to perfection with fingerling potatoes and my husband had their special...trout with spinach and potatoes...just the right amount. Dessert was a a scrumptious lemon cake specially presented for my husband's birthday. The cappuccino was the best I have tasted in a long time.

This is a very special restaurant well worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, adult conversation ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, adult conversation, no cellphones, etc. The waitstaff was very attentive, recommended a great bottle of wine to go with my duck and my wife's NC trout. They even made a special order aperitif, Dubonnet, Gin and a lemon in honor of Queen Elizabeth for me. It was a pleasant and delicious two hour vacation from modern life. We'll be back one day for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food quality is quite good but consi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food quality is quite good but considering its location, in a strip shopping center, prices are what I would expect to pay in downtown Raleigh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Saint Jacques was a pleasant find in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Saint Jacques was a pleasant find in the Triangle area; an area lacking in quality French cuisine. Not since eating in France have I found an authentic French restaurant. Saint Jacques is unapologetically French and doesn't try to have any other types of cuisine. It's worth every single penny and the chef even came to speak to us throughout the meal. Maris (Marisa) was a wonderful server and took excellent care of us. I couldn't decide which dessert I should get and told her to surprise me. She did a wonderful job and brought the Reve en Chocolat - highly recommended!

There's no question that I will return time and time again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for date night and it is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went here for date night and it is always the most pleasant experience. The chef always comes out to talk about the food and its preparation. The filet could be cut with a butter knife and the sauces prepared for it were perfect! Dan was right on with the selection of wine to pair with the filet. The service is impeccable (thanks Dan!). Saint Jacques is our favorite restaurant in the triangle. We live in Cary and it is definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Jacques once more proved itself one ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

St. Jacques once more proved itself one of the top restaurants in the area. I took my husband there for his birthday. He had the escargots, the beef bourguignon, and a chocolate dessert. I had the Coquilles St. Jacques, the shrimp salad, and the cheese assortment for dessert. All six dishes were marvelous. The service was, as always, perfect. This is one of our very favorite special occasion restaurants. We plan to return next month for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. We am not k ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience. We am not keen on dinner, and our search is for fine dining restaurants that can serve "dinner" for a late lunch. Saint Jacques did just that. From the service, to the food, to the un-rushed meal....it could not have been better!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around, a great experience! The meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

All around, a great experience! The meal was excellent and service is the best in Raleigh. The chef spends a lot of time visiting patrons in the dining room. He is a sweet and charming man, a little difficult to understand at times, due to his French accented English. I recommend St. Jacques for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time back at this res ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first time back at this restaurant since Serge took over as executive chef and general manager. We enjoyed our dinner very much and plan to return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine list and service.It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food, wine list and service.It was our first visit - we'll be back. Where else can you find authentic french cuisine in the Raleigh area? We were very impressed with the whole evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food but ambience could be bette ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food but ambience could be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

now that he's free from the restrictions ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

now that he's free from the restrictions of the previous store at 518 W, i can see why serge is an amazin' chef! i consider st jacques to be a boutique restaurant - one that i feel caters to an affluent guest who is more interested in food quality, the experience and service than price. to that end, it's great for all who want to shock their palette with a delight i've not experienced anywhere on the planet!

the service is even a step up from the barn who in my view is premiere esp when u consider the number of ppl they serve on a regular basis. i will add that margaux's is another with superb service but st jacques takes it to a new level!

for me, this is the restaurant in the triangle. yes, there are fancier, as in cosmetics, stores that do well but this store is one that MUST be experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have always considered this one of ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have always considered this one of our top restaurants. this time my duck had a lot of gristle and was a little tough. the rest of the meal was exceptional as always. the creme brulee is always near the top of our favorite list and I appreciated the chef making a special pre appetizer for me when I could not eat the scallops one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly one of the top restaurants in th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Clearly one of the top restaurants in the Triangle. Excellent food and impeccable service. A great value. It is definitely worth the drive to north Raleigh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, incredible service, enviab ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome food, incredible service, enviable wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time. Dinner was excelent. The che ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great time. Dinner was excelent. The chef hindelf came to our Table. Food, drinks and Wine was great!

We Will definettelly come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our out-of-town guests were first-time v ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our out-of-town guests were first-time visitors to Saint Jacques, and they loved it. As always, everything about our meal from start to finish was outstanding. Whether for lunch or dinner, St Jacques is the perfect place to go for a wonderful meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An outstanding restaurant. We had not be ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

An outstanding restaurant. We had not been there for a while,it was as great as we remembered it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was everything one could expect ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was everything one could expect for French fair. The attention to detail and creative preparation made for a truly memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent for special occasions, otherwi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent for special occasions, otherwise at the top of my budget! The food was quite authentic according to one of my quests who often works in France.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars is not enough!! Seven, at le ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Five stars is not enough!! Seven, at least!! Pricy? Yes. Worth it? YES! If you're like us, occasionally spending a lot on a special occasion is nice. And fun. As long as we feel that the experience was worth the cost. Spending a bucket-load of money on a ho-hum meal leaves one feeling angry on wasting the money. Spending a large sum of money and getting MORE than you ever expected... WORTH IT! All in the perspective.

St. Jacques staff will pamper you. The chef will send out an "amuse bouche" to stimulate your taste buds. And he will come to visit you at your table to be sure you're happy.

The service is leisurely, neither rushed or overly prolonged. The wine list has something for everyone.

I could describe the items we ordered from the menu, but really... whatever you order will be great! Of course, you have to understand French cuisine. The portions are not huge, but they're not skimpy, either. We had the amuse bouche (which is really just about two bites); we shared 3 appetizers (because we couldn't decide); and bread, of course (awesome); then a sorbet "palate cleanser"; our main course; coffee and dessert. We were pleasantly sated, neither hungry or over-stuffed.

And you know the best part? We cannot wait to get back there!! Really!! Perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 4 enjoyed the lunch meal gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our party of 4 enjoyed the lunch meal greatly. We had the watermelon gazpacho and salad. The main courses were very tasty and appropriately light for lunch (quiche, crepe St Jacques, salmon). The chocolate and sabayon desserts were super.

Chef Serge was very friendly!

The main problem was that it was very quiet during the midweek lunch hour - great for a friends' get-together, but somewhat lacking in ambience.

I hope that the great food overcomes what should be a temporary 'low' season at lunchtimes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Third visit over several years; I knew m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Third visit over several years; I knew my wife liked it as she'd mentioned it a few times. It's in a shopping center but don't let that fool you. Silver lining: plenty of parking spaces, but then it was a Wednesday night. Interior is not overly formal but is well done in quiet and subdued themes. As much as we usually have to slow the staff down in most restaurants using various strategies, we were pleasantly surprised when we found that even we were moving just a little bit too fast. Please do not come to this restaurant if you are in a hurry. Or cannot find a babysitter. This is not an inexpensive restaurant except for the wine list. Of course there were expensive bottles but there was an expansive range of reasonably priced bottles. Small but very good selection by the glass. The cheese plate appetizer is a good choice to share if you just want something to nibble on. The night's special was trout which was incredible. Served on mixed greens with a vinegarette dressing and a side of a kind of casserole with squash and cheese. The other main dish tried were the scallops from the menu (see online). Incredible. Perfect Creme Brulee. For a special occasion, let the staff know when you make the reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is superb and all the food revi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is superb and all the food reviews are on point under the oversight of a new chef. Alert - this is a first world problem review. The front management and servers are not comparable to the food. It must be improved if the ratings are to remain high. We had a server who was clearly over her head, in part due to lack of oversight and training by the front house manager. Who, upon the conclusion of expression of concern and why the evening was spoiled by the service failure, stated "Thank you for your input." Really? Disappointing to say the least...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Impeccable! The food was world class, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Impeccable!

The food was world class, the setting intimate and beautiful, and the staff friendly and attentive. I wish I could dine their every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made every effort to take care ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The staff made every effort to take care of our every need. We were invited to taste the wine selections that were recommended. I was pleasantly surprised to find plenty of gluten-free options. The chief chef came to our table to figure out a way to make my meal interesting and satisfying. The shredded duck distributed generously throughout a delicious polenta was outstanding. The tuna special with mushrooms, strawberries and risotto was also a hit. The chair I sat on was too hard to sit on for the duration of a leisurely meal, but other than that we were pleased with our dining experience and would definitely return on another occasion. We appreciated the excellent service. The chef even came by our table to thank us for coming and wish us a good evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are regular patrons, and this visit e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We are regular patrons, and this visit exceeded our already high expectations. The cuisine continues to be superb, as are the wines and the service. We are firmly convinced that Saint Jacques is the best restaurant in the Triangle area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best dining experience we ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is the best dining experience we have had in the greater Raleigh area. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our 31st anniversary! E ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went here for our 31st anniversary! Everything was perfect! Been wanting to dine here for some time now. Made our anniversary special! Can't wait to go back again! Telling all our friends what a special place this truly is! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.