About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

A French heaven in this hospitable south, Saint Jacques serves authentic and traditional French cuisine, discreet and polished service, and elegant atmosphere. Fine dining at its best."Voted one of the top 100 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - since 2009" "Voted one of the top 100 in service in the U.S. by Open Table Diners -since 2009", "Voted one of the top 50 restaurants in the U.S. by Open Table Diners - 2009", Voted "Best overall restaurant in Triangle by Open Table Diners - 2008" "Voted best French Restaurant in the triangle - Citysearch 2006". "Voted best French Restaurant 2007 & 2008- Metro Magazine".
**Because of the calm and serene environment we at Saint Jacques are proud to promote and offer our guest, we may not be a suitable venue for children under the age of 8**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Executive Chef:
Serge Falcoz-Vigne

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 919.862.2770 for reservations for special events.

Restaurant Photos

Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Charlotte Saint Jaques - Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Crispy Sweetbreads - Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC
Wine Tasting Dinner Place Setting - Saint Jacques French Cuisine, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
8 More
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (67)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (53)
See All
Quiet Conversation (41)
Authentic (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Worth the Drive (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, impressive but not in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, impressive but not intimidating menu, French classics and modern twists, nice ambiance, a great special occasion or impress-your-clients- or boss setting

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the real deal for French cuisine ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the real deal for French cuisine. The service was excellent and so was the food. Would definitely impress your date. Even though its in a strip mall, they do a good job of making you forget that once your inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saint Jacques has a new chef, Serge Falc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Saint Jacques has a new chef, Serge Falcoz-Vigne and some new items on the menu as well as traditional French bistro fare. We tried the Escargots de Bourgogne au beurre d'ail, an excellent example of this traditional appetizer in a six cup tray. The Coquille Saint Jacques included surprise Pamlico Sound shrimp and was served in three scallop shells. The Saumon Roti a la croute de basilic, vinaigrette a l'orange was generous and the sourdough crust and diced ratatouille were nice touches. The Filet mignon de boeuf, a la Rossini was topped with food gras and served with black truffle sauce, delicious and rich, with the steak cooked perfectly. The Mousse au chocolate maison was a great finish. The service was excellent, informed, and attentive. An excellent evening and a great choice for a special occasion or a night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time at St. Jacques, the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time at St. Jacques, the French food was superb, the wine list was outstanding, the staff was great, and the cook actually spent some time talking to us during diner and as we left. What could be better? I would highly recommend this quite and amazing place for superb food and quite atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saint Jacques is perfect for a special o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Saint Jacques is perfect for a special occasion. Truly excellent food and warm, attentive service. The back of the smaller side room is perfect for a quiet, romantic meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for the first time and I'll b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dined here for the first time and I'll be back. Service and food was excellent. My only vice was the entree arrived slightly on the cool side, instead of warm-hot. I tried their "special of the evening" which changes regularly.

The dining room was packed, so whatever you do, make an advance reservation, as I think a walk-in is virtually impossible.

They do not have a full-service bar, but offer a nice selection of cocktails, wine, etc. which can be ordered at your table.

For fine French cuisine, this is where you want to eat!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last Saturday night was my first visit t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Last Saturday night was my first visit to the restaurant. I chose it as a place to celebrate my anniversary because I not been to a French restaurant in the Triangle since I moved here more than 12 years ago. I was most impressed with the entire experience. They seemed to have a large staff and everyone worked together to deliver really wonderful service. The food was wonderful, the chef visited our table - (and he was French!) and as in any really nice French restaurant you get all the little extras - the little "foo-foo" plates, sorbet, the bread roving bread basket, etc. The food was wonderful, the portions size just right - honestly could not have been more delighted. The female manager (owner?) was gracious and attentive and made the point to thank us and make sure we had enjoyed our dinner. Also - although this restaurant is in a strip mall, it is decorated in such a manner that you really think you are in ..well.. if not in France - at least not in a strip mall! I highly recommend and plan to return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service excellent. Extremely overpriced ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service excellent. Extremely overpriced for the food quality and taste. I tasted my wife's salmon and we get it much better at home and way much better at the cafeteria at work. Maybe is just they way we are use to eating it but such an expensive meal ($185.05 for two, included 3 glasses of wine and desert) is expected to surpass, by far, anything you can get at home or work.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

We think this is one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We think this is one of the best restaurants in Wake County

Joseph Puglielli

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every mouthful was a joy. The portion s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Every mouthful was a joy. The portion sizes are just right. I cannot wait till I can afford to go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very authentic French restaurant with al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very authentic French restaurant with all the familiar favorites. We went for lunch because dinner menu is soooo expensive. Food is wonderful, service very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service are always outstand ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service are always outstanding. Great wine list, too.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was for a date nite with my spouse, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was for a date nite with my spouse, no special occasion but simply to have a good meal. The entire experience was excellent. If anything, the portions were slightly too generous (as we left pleasantly full without getting dessert) but the food was outstanding. Although the location (a strip mall) is unimpressive, the interior is exactly on target to transport you to a small restaurant in France.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Jacques is always a pleasure! The f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

St. Jacques is always a pleasure! The food and service are impeccable, and we love Serge!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Superior Quality F ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding service! Superior Quality Food! Nice ambience! Chef is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is magnificent. The chef and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place is magnificent. The chef and his staff were cordial and professional. We look forward to having dinner there again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was superb, staff was incredible ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was superb, staff was incredible, food was outstanding. Thank you for an absolutely wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service good wine list authent ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service good wine list authentic French cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our second anniversary and I was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was our second anniversary and I was looking for somewhere special and different. I located Saint Jacques and made reservations. We arrived a few minutes early but were immediately greeted by staff and seated. Our service was outstanding the the atmosphere for our special night was perfect. We were nervous a bit since this was our first time there but every staff member we had contact with made us feel at home. The chef even came to our table to check on us and see how our evening was. The atmosphere was romantic and quiet. Very classy place. Every thing we had to eat was absolutely perfect and could not have been better. The salads were the freshest ever and the cheese platter was a great choice. We (we couldn't help but share our entrees with each other) enjoyed the salmon and the filet, and the cream spinach was sooo good. We will definitely be back. Such a wonderful place for a special romantic evening. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with another couple to celebrate ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went with another couple to celebrate the birthdays of our wives. We were seated promptly at a table in the center of the room. Our waiter was prompt in welcoming us and announcing the specials. Our friends were a bit late in arriving; however, we never felt pressured to get started. Throughout the evening, the waiter seemed to know when we were in conversation and didn't interrupt. We never felt rushed, even though we were there for over 2 hours.

Each of us ordered a different entree, including the scallops, rack of lamb, filet and the fish of the day. We shared a bottle of red and a bottle of white wine. Two of us ordered the ice cream and sorbet of the day.

Our entire party enjoyed the food and the experience. The food, presentation and service were excellent. Equally important was the quiet atmosphere that made for enjoyable conversation and a fun evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the team at Saint Jacques neve ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always the team at Saint Jacques never disappoints!! Serge was very energetic with us describing each course perfectly. Service was impeccable and not intrusive at all. Looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have had during ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One of the best meals I have had during my time so far in the Triangle. The food was excellent and the service was as impressive. The personal touch of the chef talking to each guest and talking about the dishes greatly enhanced the experience. The servers were very kind and friendly and always there when needed. It was a wonderful way to spend an anniversary and I look forward to dining here again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally got the opportunity to dine at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Finally got the opportunity to dine at Saint Jacques! Did not disappoint... Great service, chef made multiple rounds greeting guests, food was well prepared and delicious, loved their attention to detail in presentation.

Great dining experience, highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. Ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Excellent ambience. The dining room is cozy, with low lighting, carpeting and quiet music in the background, so you can comfortably have a conversation with people at your table. The servers we had all spoke French in a very friendly, inviting manner. They seemed like people who really enjoy working there. The chef obviously enjoys making his rounds with dinner guests and also had a very gracious and friendly demeanor. The website advises against bringing very young children, which is understandable to maintain the ambience. This is the second time we brought our 8 year-old son, who is well behaved, and the servers and the chef were all very engaged in making sure everyone including my son were having a good time. The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience, would definitely r ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic experience, would definitely recommend and will be visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding! Will definitel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was outstanding! Will definitely will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word, outstanding! Excellent food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

In a word, outstanding! Excellent food with lots of choices. Service was superb and Serge's personal attention provided that extra special touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always fantasti ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food and service are always fantastic. A very special place to dine with friends. Others advertise that they are French (and we have tried them) but this is only true French restaurant in Raleigh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was wonderful, from the hostes ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The staff was wonderful, from the hostess to the server to the Chef. Our server spent time to get to know us. The chef walked us outside and spoke to us about our experience. The food was incredible, yea a little pricey so don't go there to cheap spend the money for the good stuff, wow it was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was the best choice we did fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place was the best choice we did for celebrating our anniversary, the attention to us was caring, warm and unique. Our waitress was able to speak to us in three languages french, Spanish and English. The food was the right portion, tasteful and amazingly crafted. We loved the chef coming to our table and taking the time to explain to us our dishes and the process the have in the restaurant to open your appetite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed after the great reviews. Be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Disappointed after the great reviews. Been searching for excellent continental food with elegant service since we moved south 5 years ago - time to keep looking. Nothing like French restaurants in Manhattan. Started with the waitress telling us the dinner specials as soon as we were seated and then walking away without offering drinks. I had to ask to order a cocktail. We had to tell her we wanted to slow down a little and then she did. Food was very good but nothing all that "French" about it except adding pate to everything. Portions small and very expensive. Chef did come out to check on diners and I think he cares, but needs to school wait staff. Nothing really wrong with restaurant but nothing special either -no reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

This was the celebration of a special fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was the celebration of a special friend's birthday. The meal was special. The snails are wonderful. My dish was delightful...Flounder stuffed with mushrooms on a bed of butternut squash. My birthday friend had lamb chops with fillet bean. They were beautiful.

The chef visited us several times. I must complement him for his attentiveness. A delicious meal.

the coffee is outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible. We came for my birthday- our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Incredible. We came for my birthday- our first time here. Absolutely everything was done so very well. They paid attention to the details. There was a wine tasting as we ordered wine, the Chef brought out an amuse bouche and spoke with us, between courses they did a palette cleanse, our server even scraped for crumbs before dessert. All these little things turned a great meal into a dining experience. On top of which, the food we ordered was absolutely divine. Scallops done perfectly, Boeuf Bourguignon that melted in the mouth, and I can't even begin to talk about the desserts. The plating was stunning; they even customized my dessert plate for my birthday complete with name and candle! The staff were professional while also personable, attentive without being annoying; just lovely. We had an excellent evening, and I can't for an occasion to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was excellent choice for our annive ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was excellent choice for our anniversary. The food was excellent and each course presented by the chef who was genuinely excited about each dish as is was served. We will go again!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first dinner at this excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was our first dinner at this excellent restaurant and we are making reservations already for next week.

Excellent food, chef, service and very friendly staff make this one of the best dining experiences we have had since escaping NY five years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved that the chef came out to talk ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We loved that the chef came out to talk to us about our meal. We could tell that he really enjoyed what he was doing. The food was amazing, the service impeccable. I would definitely recommend Saint Jacques to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an unbelievable dinner at Saint J ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had an unbelievable dinner at Saint Jacques! The service was exemplary. The chef even came out to introduce himself prior to our appetizers. We had the cheese plate and the fois gras to start. Both were so good. I ordered the beef tenderloin as my entree and my husband had the duck. We loved our choices. For dessert, we split the apple tart. It's on the pricey side, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We returned to Saint Jacques this visit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We returned to Saint Jacques this visit to celebrate our anniversary. Every person we encountered made us feel special! The food exquisite. My Dijon crusted rack of lamb was so tender and cooked to a perfect medium/rare. The potatoes in a cream sauce was a delicious accompaniment. My husband's beef filet had the most unusual and incredibly rich sauce. We shared the apple tartlet for dessert. Their wine list is terrific and the servers are very knowledgeable. We appreciated a table-side visit by Chef Serge, and reflected with him his participation in the Fire in the Triangle Dining Competition a couple years ago. We were there....(and he won that night!) Thanks to the Chef and his fine staff for a memorable anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tasting, beautifully presented foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great tasting, beautifully presented food. A nice atmosphere without being stuffy. Service was very good, not hovering, but attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.