Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts

The Sage Student Bistro operates as a customer-focused classroom providing our students an opportunity to refine their culinary, bakery, service and supervisory skills in a setting where the element of time is as important as the food and service. Because this is a class, the Bistro is open when the students are in session. A standard menu is offered, as well as weekly, student designed prix fixe specials during dinner.

5730 North 30th street Building 22
Omaha, NE 68111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

We are open concurrently with the school quarter. Check our website for dates of operation! Reservations are required for dinner, Monday - Thursday, with available seating times from 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. Lunch reservations for parties of six or more. Lunch reservations are not required for parties smaller than six.

Cross Street:
Sorenson Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(531) 622-2328

Website:
http://mccneb.edu/Bistro/

Executive Chef:
Oystein Solberg

Additional:
BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent, attentive service and innovative, delicious food. Perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. The presentations were beautiful. It is a nice comfortable atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We brought out-of-town guest here and they were impressed with the creative selections. This is our "go-to" place for guests whenever possible. The prices are reasonable for the food quality, originality, presentation...and of course, taste! It would've been helpful if the wait staff had been a little more knowledgeable about the menu. Several ingredients we weren't familiar with, and the staff didn't know either, although she made a good effort to find out. We always think of Sage Bistro as a delightful dining adventure. This trip certainly fit the bill. We had appetizers, entrees and desserts and everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

All good on the food side, straight off the new summer menu. I'm always amazed at the creativity and quality of dishes.
The service was rougher than normal but overall a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was such a fun experience! We loved the food and also getting to interact with the chef. Such a good way to spend an evening! The only surprise was that we didn't realize what the corkage fee was and would have opted not to bring our own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I felt The fingerling potato appetizer could have had two more potatoes on the plate. The one potato wasn't so much an appetizer as a taste. The carpaccio was good. The small bits of sea bass or corvina that was on the pri fixe menu was overwhelmed by the onion.
From the time that we ordered 4 desserts until the time they were served was about 30 minutes which seemed too long.
Overall, we had a great time and will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A very elegant dining experience! Our waitress was so friendly and attentive and the food was just amazing. I loved all the little extras that came before and during the meal-fun!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

There were 11 of us and we all had a great time. The dishes were creative and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The evening menu is composed of fine dining. It was attractively served and tastes delicious. It takes a while to prepare so you must be prepared to be patient. The waitress was informative and attentive. We enjoyed a tour after our meal. Impressive facility.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went with friends who had heard about the Culinary School and Sage Bistro and they wanted to go. We had an excellent time from top to bottom and will return soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always tasty and an opportunity to try something different. The student chefs are very creative and experiment with lots of different ingredients. Our Server did an excellent job of explaining everything on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Delightful evening with great ambience and excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with some very interesting menu items.

Kelly was our waitress and was WONDERFUL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The experience at Sage was amazing! The atmosphere, food, and service exceeded all expectations. If you have the chance, don't miss dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. The students were very enthusiastic and professional. The food was cooked well and prepared beautifully.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonder atmosphere with very attentive and knowledgeable students who made our dining experience such a delight! The courses were delicious, hot, and beautifully presented!

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience as always. You guys are the BEST !!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Once again, the students at the Sage Bistro provided us with an outstanding Dinner with a more-than-fair price. Each course was beautiful to look at and a delight to the taste. We also enjoy the enthusiasm of the staff and students.

The only (minor) downside was the long wait between courses. Our dining experience was about 3 hours long! This was the 1st time in our several visits this has happened. It's my guess that the long wait was because this was the 1st night on a new prix fixe menu. As the Sage is essentially a classroom, one would expect a minor bump in the road here and there.

I look forward to our next visit to the Sage. If you go, take some time to fill out the comments card (the students and instructors really want your input).

MCC is a wonderful and valuble asset to our community!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Lovely ambiance, special attention to properly prepared food with excellent selection and taste.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had wanted to go there for over a year and finnally did it. It was very good! We had food we would not have ever had at the restaurants we normally frequent. We were troopers and tried everything they put in front of us. It's good to get out of your comfort zone. Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had an excellent experience at Sage tonight. This is a student run restaurant, but the food and service was a rival to the grey plume for their dinner menu. Lunch is more casual.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was good. The students did a good job. We had a good waiter. We had to wait a very long time between two of the courses, but we weren't in a rush.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The Sage Student Bistro continues to be our favorite spot for fine dining. The students always do an outstanding job in the preparation and service. The quality of the meals is on par with the area's finest dining establishments - at 1/3 the cost. The students are enthusiastic and it's always fun to talk with them. PLUS the dining room is very nice and there's plenty of free parking. I'm going to make a reservation now for another dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The ambiance was quite lovely and the plating was both visually appealing and delshious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 7, 2016

2 gliches, one entree on menu offered was out, but not informed until after order hit the kitchen. Then the computer sent the orders for dessert items for the whole restaurant not to the kitchen, greatly delaying our evening by the time it was figured out. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Six of us had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. We can't wait to come again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was great and looked nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyable and very nice to have the students practice with a real restaurant environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 4, 2016

It is the Fall semester at Sage Bistro which is the culinary schools little gem. As always it's nice to meet the students and to follow their progress As always it is a delightful dining experience and the food superb.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My wife and I were looking for something different and we decided to try out open table. We were not disappointed, but so very pleased. We haven't found a better place to dine. Highly recommended if you genuinely appreciate food and want to find out to what heights cooking and presentation can bring it to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Amazing price for the quality of food. Loved also being part of the students learning experience. 5 stars across the board. James are server was great! We will be returning quite frequently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 27, 2016

My first visit was exceptional so upscale with the perfect ambiance. My second visit not as good as the first. However, it was summer and I believe had more freshman. Was not informed the appetizer was raw scallops not cooked and did not say on menu. The salmon however was perfect it was the dish and cooked. I would suggest for the optimal experience go during regular school semesters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great way to see how newer chefs are taking menus and branching out with new experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2016

IhadanexcellentTimeatthebistrothegoodwasexcellent andI willreturn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and good time, Been there a couple of times ,this day was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and everyone in our party of 16 loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Went to special prix fixe dinner and the food was pretty to look at, tasted wonderful, we had attentive service and all was at a great price. I will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 18, 2016

If you're looking to start trying a more upscale form of food I give the Sage Student Bistro my highest recommendation. It has complex dishes with affordable pricing and staff who are more than willing to answer your questions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2016

I celebrated my birthday at Sage and couldn't have had a better experience. The food was to die for. I've never ate so well before and for the price, you cannot beat it. We chose the prix fixe option and I'm so glad we did. Going to Sage, you must have an open mind and be willing to try things. Otherwise this isn't the place for you. Also, if you're someone who is a typical salad and main course person, this isn't the place for you either. We were able to bring our own wine with a $10 corkage fee, which I thought was very reasonable and a nice option. One other thing- make sure you allot a couple of hours for your visit. Because there are several plates, the experience does take some time. Overall, I cannot wait until we visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I has a superb multi-course dining experience created by students Sharon Crawley, Madeline Sorrell and Quinn Stuart. Each course was a treat for the eyes and palette. Plus excellent service by a very friendly (and knowledgable) student named Jar.

The added bonus: the whole meal probably cost about half of what a similar experience would cost at one of Omaha's fine-dining restaurants.

This is a great spot for foodies! We plan to return again soon.

MCC has built a wonderful program here that does an excellent job preparing students who want to work in the culinary industry—It's a tremendous benefit to the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.