About Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts

5730 North 30th street Building 22
Omaha, NE 68111
View Larger Map

The Sage Student Bistro operates as a customer-focused classroom providing our students an opportunity to refine their culinary, bakery, service and supervisory skills in a setting where the element of time is as important as the food and service. Because this is a class, the Bistro is open when the students are in session. A standard menu is offered, as well as weekly, student designed prix fixe specials during dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

We are open concurrently with the school quarter. Check our website for dates of operation! Reservations are required for dinner, Monday - Thursday, with available seating times from 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. Lunch reservations for parties of six or more. Lunch reservations are not required for parties smaller than six.

Cross Street:
Sorenson Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(531) 622-2328

Website:
http://mccneb.edu/Bistro/

Executive Chef:
Oystein Solberg

Additional:
BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance was quite lovely and the pl ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The ambiance was quite lovely and the plating was both visually appealing and delshious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2 gliches, one entree on menu offered wa ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 8, 2016

2 gliches, one entree on menu offered was out, but not informed until after order hit the kitchen. Then the computer sent the orders for dessert items for the whole restaurant not to the kitchen, greatly delaying our evening by the time it was figured out. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Six of us had a wonderful time. The food ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Six of us had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. We can't wait to come again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was great and looked nice.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was great and looked nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable and very nice to have the stud ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyable and very nice to have the students practice with a real restaurant environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It is the Fall semester at Sage Bistro ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 4, 2016

It is the Fall semester at Sage Bistro which is the culinary schools little gem. As always it's nice to meet the students and to follow their progress As always it is a delightful dining experience and the food superb.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I were looking for something ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My wife and I were looking for something different and we decided to try out open table. We were not disappointed, but so very pleased. We haven't found a better place to dine. Highly recommended if you genuinely appreciate food and want to find out to what heights cooking and presentation can bring it to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing price for the quality of food. L ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Amazing price for the quality of food. Loved also being part of the students learning experience. 5 stars across the board. James are server was great! We will be returning quite frequently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit was exceptional so upscal ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 27, 2016

My first visit was exceptional so upscale with the perfect ambiance. My second visit not as good as the first. However, it was summer and I believe had more freshman. Was not informed the appetizer was raw scallops not cooked and did not say on menu. The salmon however was perfect it was the dish and cooked. I would suggest for the optimal experience go during regular school semesters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great way to see how newer chefs are tak ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great way to see how newer chefs are taking menus and branching out with new experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

IhadanexcellentTimeatthebistrothegoodwas ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2016

IhadanexcellentTimeatthebistrothegoodwasexcellent andI willreturn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and good time, Been there a c ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and good time, Been there a couple of times ,this day was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious and ev ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and everyone in our party of 16 loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Went to special prix fixe dinner and the food was pretty to look at, tasted wonderful, we had attentive service and all was at a great price. I will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An warm environment for new foodies

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 18, 2016

If you're looking to start trying a more upscale form of food I give the Sage Student Bistro my highest recommendation. It has complex dishes with affordable pricing and staff who are more than willing to answer your questions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful!

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2016

I celebrated my birthday at Sage and couldn't have had a better experience. The food was to die for. I've never ate so well before and for the price, you cannot beat it. We chose the prix fixe option and I'm so glad we did. Going to Sage, you must have an open mind and be willing to try things. Otherwise this isn't the place for you. Also, if you're someone who is a typical salad and main course person, this isn't the place for you either. We were able to bring our own wine with a $10 corkage fee, which I thought was very reasonable and a nice option. One other thing- make sure you allot a couple of hours for your visit. Because there are several plates, the experience does take some time. Overall, I cannot wait until we visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fine Dining at a Bargain!

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2016

My wife and I has a superb multi-course dining experience created by students Sharon Crawley, Madeline Sorrell and Quinn Stuart. Each course was a treat for the eyes and palette. Plus excellent service by a very friendly (and knowledgable) student named Jar.

The added bonus: the whole meal probably cost about half of what a similar experience would cost at one of Omaha's fine-dining restaurants.

This is a great spot for foodies! We plan to return again soon.

MCC has built a wonderful program here that does an excellent job preparing students who want to work in the culinary industry—It's a tremendous benefit to the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mostly excelent

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Wife's salmon was undercooked. We were not offered coffee with desert. Rest of the meal was excellent. Service was a bit slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

The student menu our party tried was a f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 27, 2016

The student menu our party tried was a five course meal by Jeremiah. The menu was very well designed, and perfectly executed. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my husband there for his birthday.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2015

We had an awesome experience and will definitely be back to Sage. Our server, Ashley, was awesome and so personable. We enjoyed his suggestions of the food we should try, especially the desserts.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

2nd Annual

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 6, 2015

2nd visit and it was a lot if fun. Different experience each time. Different students and different foods. Always fun to try. Will return again. Make sure to check website for dates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love you !

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2015

There were 9 of us friends who dined and we all had a wonderful experience. Can't wait to come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sage Bistro

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2015

The Sage Bistro was a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Our waitress was excellent and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the prix frix and it was fun to experience fine dining. It was a great night. The fireplace set the stage for great ambiance. The room was cozy, food delicious, and we look forward to returning sometime soon. It was worth driving to Omaha for!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had nine go, our group is a club of 44yr ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Had nine go, our group is a club of 44yrs. Always looking for a great experience and food. Saga didn't disappoint any of us. Will be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We reserved the table at 1930. We werent ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2015

We reserved the table at 1930. We werent able to finish eating until 2130. The only comment I had was, some of us are still eating and trying to finish our desert and our plate was already taken. I understand that we are a group of 8, however I was enjoying my pot de creme and was only able to have 3 bites. It was a great gesture that they asked for condiments. We probably have to check in early maybe next time. Overall, the environment was very romantic, I had a great time with my family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Dining Experience.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2015

We enjoyed the diversity of the menu. Emily, our server, did an excellent job of describing the menu. Crab cakes were a pleasant surprise to start our taste buds. Appetizers were delicious. The only thing we were served that we think should be pulled from the menu was the carrots cooked with coffee beans. Main courses for the 6 of us were tasty and just the right size. We did not order dessert, but the finale assortment was a good variety. The chocolate was the very best (a real melt in your mouth).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5-Course Seafood Meal

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2015

The specialized attention & 5-courese meal was excellent. I will look forward to participating in future venues.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 19, 2015

Great ambiance. Fine dining at a affordable price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Our waiter made this a special evening.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2015

Jared was our server and he gave a wonderful description of each entree and also told us about our whole meal. He was so cheerful and this was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2015

Lovely place to have dinner!

The menus the students come up with are amazing and are prepared wonderfully.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great.

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2015

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very impressed! Going back!

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 13, 2015

We went to Sage to experience the student Prix Fixe menu, and it did not disappoint! Each course was more delicious than the last, and we walked out of there stuffed and amazed at the talent in the kitchen. You can't beat a $30, 5-course menu! We brought in our own wine ($10 corking fee) and had a lovely evening. Can't wait to go back with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

First time dinner

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2015

What a great place, my wife and I had a great lunch at a great price. We will be back for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

National Champs

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2015

Students who did the cooking just won a national championship and that shows any time I have ever eaten there. Omaha's best kept secret!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Instructor at MCC (RDLS and English)

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2015

A truly wonderful experience. The Asia choices were amazing. I have had many Asian meals and coming from San Francisco, I have had the opportunity to taste a variety of delicious Asian meals. I must admit that our culinary experience at MCC equaled if not surpassed all of my previous Asian dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Champagne Taste on a Beer Budget

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 10, 2015

Sage Bistro serves beautiful, fresh, innovative food in a modern, elegant setting with Impeccable service at an incredible price. My husband and I enjoyed an amazing seven course prix fixe menu, including desert, wine, and coffee for less than $100! Sage Bistro-in Building 22 on the MCC Fort Omaha campus-gives you a fine dining experience comparable to any "special occasion" establishment in town at a fraction of the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2015

Sage was a great place dine. The atmosphere and food were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2015

Everything was exceptional - food, service, atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mostly good

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2015

Scallop appetizer and salmon entree's were very good. Beef entrée was marginal at best. Service was "OK" this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Hidden gem

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 16, 2015

What a find - very good food - bargin for the price - good service- can't wait to go again - way to go Metro CC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.