HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts

4.5
373 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
The Sage Student Bistro operates as a customer-focused classroom providing our students an opportunity to refine their culinary, bakery, service and supervisory skills in a setting where the element of time is as important as the food and service. Because this is a class, the Bistro is open when the students are in session. A standard menu is offered, as well as weekly, student designed prix fixe specials during dinner.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

We are open concurrently with the school quarter. Check our website for dates of operation! Reservations are required for dinner, Monday - Thursday, with available seating times from 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. Lunch reservations for parties of six or more. Lunch reservations are not required for parties smaller than six.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(531) 622-2328
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Oystein Solberg
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sorenson Parkway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lot parking is available to our lunch guests.

Due to increased parking demands on the Fort Omaha campus, complimentary valet service is now available to all of our Sage Student Bistro evening guests. We ask that all evening patrons use the complimentary service as both a convenience for you and to assist us with campus parking demands. The vehicle drop-off point will be located in the southeast corner of the north ICA parking lot.
Additional
BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 373 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.7
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
win3luvr (Phoenix)
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately sage has changed over the last year or so, not sure if it the lack of instructional personal or just plain bad students, from our greeter to the waiter, and the food, a dismal experience. The list is to long to even begin writing it..
Sorry I can no longer recommend this once shining spot any longer.
I hope they get it straightened out.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Exquisite dining experience, went for a friend's prix fixe and her food was absolutely to die for.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

A great place to go for great (and affordable) food. Everything is prepared by students and served by students. They are VERY attentive and provide exceptional service. They encourage feedback so they can be better. Love the concept. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
Karmacorn (Omaha)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Once again The Sage exceeds all expectations. We opted for the special Prix Fixe menu created by students Sara Schnackel and Andrew Whitaker. Each course was a minor masterpiece in presentation and taste. Plus there were numerous surprise bites between courses to delight the palate. (And the lamb dish was cooked to absolute perfection! something the best restaurants seem to struggle with)

As always, the student servers and chefs were fun to talk with.

Finally, when the check comes, expect to pay about 1/3 of what any other fine dining establishment would charge.

If you love innovative cuisine and want to have a bit of fun, you can't go wrong at The Sage.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

This was lots of fun seeing what the culinary students produce. They are extremely talented and polite. Beautiful presentation with the food and unique flavors.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

This is a fun experience to see how great Metro's Culinary Institute is. The students do an EXCELLENT job of creating and serving very unique menu items. The prices are reasonable for such high-end food. The ambiance is nice as well. Limited, but adequate wine list. I would highly recommend this as a unique experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

What a great value and experience! Fun to see the students running it all.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

Sage Student Bistro serves excellent food, very beautifully presented.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

I lovely ambience. Food was delicious and well paired . Our group tasted all of the desserts and every single one was delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

Delightful. My friends and I have talked about Sage for quite some time, so we finally tried it tonight. We had a wonderful time. It was the first serving night of the quarter, so the staff was learning, but they did a grate job. Blake was our waiter. He was polite, and if he couldn't answer a question related to a menu item, he would find one for us. He was also a very interesting man. Retired from the Marines, (thanks for your service) he answered all of our questions related to the program, and how the kitchen works, and the curriculum, we were quite inquisitive. We really enjoyed the amuse buche, amuse-gueule, and the lagniappe, that's not the term they used, but it is mine. We are looking forward to our next visit. What a great opportunity for the students to practice their trade and for Omahans to experience a delicious fine service meal at a great price. We will be returning with a larger group soon. Thanks you Metro Tech Culinary Students!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

Sage is a jewel in Omaha. The food was amazing and the servers were proud to serve it! What a fabulous event!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

The food was spectacular. Our server was very nice. The room was a bit nipply . Could have turned up the heat a couple degrees. We were envious of the people that got seated next to the fireplace. We will visit again next spring and I will tell friends. You might want to add some tables?

Report
Helpful
JL2017 (Omaha)
3.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

The entire meal was 2.5 hours (since some of the items were slow in preparation) the server apologized for that.

Report
Helpful
OmahaBabyBob (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

Pea soup was cold and way, way too little - three of us had it and incorrectly thought when the soup was poured into the bowls that it was a garnish! Good start would have been to prewarm soup bowls.
Multigrain bread was amazing as one the beef.
Waitress was pleasant but seemed to be absent minded and forgot things.

Looking forward to returning

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on November 7, 2017

Excellent experience! Ben was great! Will definitely come again 👍

Report
Helpful
vipwinesnob (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on November 1, 2017

Big review left on Yelp, but will say that it is a definite go back to place. These students work so hard and present beautiful tasty plates. Service was excellent. Limited wine list but excellent options at reasonable prices. Francesca D'Angelo and Katy Jetter developed a wonderful menu and made the most pillowy soft gnocchi I've ever tasted. Definite to back to.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
3.0  Dined on October 26, 2017

I love the location of this dining venue. The restaurant has a lovely welcoming ambiance. A summer walk around the restaurant reveals many locally grown herbs and vegetables. Dining here entails crisp white tablecloths, table linens and soft music. The greeters are warm and professional. Although our server cared and tried, he used to soft of a voice and often ended his detail of the dish in "broad, uneducated, non- descript adjectives." For example, the cookie at the end was called a "Pecan cookie ish thing." I still will come back. Having the students cover all the jobs, is part of the experience. Seeing them try is worth the cost and experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on October 26, 2017

Great fine dining experience without paying the cost you would at a regular restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on October 23, 2017

Sage Bistro is run entirely by students from the Metro Community College Culinary Arts program. The food was wonderful. The Prix Fixe menu was creative. The servers were very attentive. We received little surprises of tasting bites throughout. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
omfoodie (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on October 18, 2017

The students do an amazing job. Our server was friendly and shared he own student experience

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19