Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts

The Sage Student Bistro operates as a customer-focused classroom providing our students an opportunity to refine their culinary, bakery, service and supervisory skills in a setting where the element of time is as important as the food and service. Because this is a class, the Bistro is open when the students are in session. A standard menu is offered, as well as weekly, student designed prix fixe specials during dinner.

5730 North 30th street Building 22
Omaha, NE 68111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

We are open concurrently with the school quarter. Check our website for dates of operation! Reservations are required for dinner, Monday - Thursday, with available seating times from 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. Lunch reservations for parties of six or more. Lunch reservations are not required for parties smaller than six.

Cross Street:
Sorenson Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(531) 622-2328

Website:
http://mccneb.edu/Bistro/

Executive Chef:
Oystein Solberg

Additional:
BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sage Student Bistro - Institute for the Culinary Arts Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.9

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort by
S
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Sage is a jewel in Omaha. The food was amazing and the servers were proud to serve it! What a fabulous event!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

The food was spectacular. Our server was very nice. The room was a bit nipply . Could have turned up the heat a couple degrees. We were envious of the people that got seated next to the fireplace. We will visit again next spring and I will tell friends. You might want to add some tables?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Pea soup was cold and way, way too little - three of us had it and incorrectly thought when the soup was poured into the bowls that it was a garnish! Good start would have been to prewarm soup bowls.
Multigrain bread was amazing as one the beef.
Waitress was pleasant but seemed to be absent minded and forgot things.

Looking forward to returning

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Excellent experience! Ben was great! Will definitely come again 👍

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Big review left on Yelp, but will say that it is a definite go back to place. These students work so hard and present beautiful tasty plates. Service was excellent. Limited wine list but excellent options at reasonable prices. Francesca D'Angelo and Katy Jetter developed a wonderful menu and made the most pillowy soft gnocchi I've ever tasted. Definite to back to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

I love the location of this dining venue. The restaurant has a lovely welcoming ambiance. A summer walk around the restaurant reveals many locally grown herbs and vegetables. Dining here entails crisp white tablecloths, table linens and soft music. The greeters are warm and professional. Although our server cared and tried, he used to soft of a voice and often ended his detail of the dish in "broad, uneducated, non- descript adjectives." For example, the cookie at the end was called a "Pecan cookie ish thing." I still will come back. Having the students cover all the jobs, is part of the experience. Seeing them try is worth the cost and experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great fine dining experience without paying the cost you would at a regular restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Sage Bistro is run entirely by students from the Metro Community College Culinary Arts program. The food was wonderful. The Prix Fixe menu was creative. The servers were very attentive. We received little surprises of tasting bites throughout. Great experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 18, 2017

The students do an amazing job. Our server was friendly and shared he own student experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Just fantastic. The food. The service. The ambiance. All perfect

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

To me the sage bistro is a hidden treasure in the heart of Omaha. The value proposal is greater than any fine dining place in Omaha that I know off. The food the ambiance and the students interaction is a unique experience.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

We enjoy the students very much!
We admire the students serving guests, even if it's hard

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Wonderful people. Our waitress was attentive, knowledgeable, and sweet. The food was yummy. Thanks for a special time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Was really impressive. Great service by a student and incredible food cooked by students too. I just wish there had been a vegan entree (had beef, pork, chicken and salmon) although there were several vegan appetizers. We all commented that finally we had found a restaurant where you could hear each other. Loved that we never felt rushed at all. A lovely evening with great friends, incredible food and wonderful wine. We plan to go back later this fall or early January.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We have been to Sage many times, even before they moved to the new venue, lunch, brunch (when it was offered) and dinner of course. We understand the teaching, training aspect and enjoy working with the staff. Thursday night, was an exception. We loved the meal but had a server who was clearly out of their element and no one saved this person. We usually get the full experience, explanation of entrees, apps, butter, bread types, etc. Not that night. I have tried to contact someone at Sage and will pursue a conversation. I don’t think that it was fair to us or our guests to be subjected to a very awkward dining experience. I love the place and we will return but hopefully they will recognize someone struggling that needs help and help them.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We love this place! On occasion, because it is a place of education, you will end up with a server who is completely out of his or her element. This happened to us during this visit. It was not a problem, but our server really struggled, and it did detract a bit from the amazing meal we had. The only thing with respect to this situation that would have made it better if his instructor (one of the managers) would have intervened (refilled our wines, told the server not to stand next to our table pen and pad in hand waiting for us to order even though we just told him we were not ready, explained the menu options . . .) to assist the server. In any case, we will go back. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with the level of this establishment. It was a beautiful 5 course meal, delicious with every bite. What a thoughtful surprise at dinners end when the 4 piece "thank you" sweets were presented. Food was amazing and beautifully presented. We'll certainly be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent, attentive service and innovative, delicious food. Perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. The presentations were beautiful. It is a nice comfortable atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We brought out-of-town guest here and they were impressed with the creative selections. This is our "go-to" place for guests whenever possible. The prices are reasonable for the food quality, originality, presentation...and of course, taste! It would've been helpful if the wait staff had been a little more knowledgeable about the menu. Several ingredients we weren't familiar with, and the staff didn't know either, although she made a good effort to find out. We always think of Sage Bistro as a delightful dining adventure. This trip certainly fit the bill. We had appetizers, entrees and desserts and everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

All good on the food side, straight off the new summer menu. I'm always amazed at the creativity and quality of dishes.
The service was rougher than normal but overall a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was such a fun experience! We loved the food and also getting to interact with the chef. Such a good way to spend an evening! The only surprise was that we didn't realize what the corkage fee was and would have opted not to bring our own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A very elegant dining experience! Our waitress was so friendly and attentive and the food was just amazing. I loved all the little extras that came before and during the meal-fun!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I felt The fingerling potato appetizer could have had two more potatoes on the plate. The one potato wasn't so much an appetizer as a taste. The carpaccio was good. The small bits of sea bass or corvina that was on the pri fixe menu was overwhelmed by the onion.
From the time that we ordered 4 desserts until the time they were served was about 30 minutes which seemed too long.
Overall, we had a great time and will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

There were 11 of us and we all had a great time. The dishes were creative and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The evening menu is composed of fine dining. It was attractively served and tastes delicious. It takes a while to prepare so you must be prepared to be patient. The waitress was informative and attentive. We enjoyed a tour after our meal. Impressive facility.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went with friends who had heard about the Culinary School and Sage Bistro and they wanted to go. We had an excellent time from top to bottom and will return soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always tasty and an opportunity to try something different. The student chefs are very creative and experiment with lots of different ingredients. Our Server did an excellent job of explaining everything on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Delightful evening with great ambience and excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with some very interesting menu items.

Kelly was our waitress and was WONDERFUL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The experience at Sage was amazing! The atmosphere, food, and service exceeded all expectations. If you have the chance, don't miss dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. The students were very enthusiastic and professional. The food was cooked well and prepared beautifully.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonder atmosphere with very attentive and knowledgeable students who made our dining experience such a delight! The courses were delicious, hot, and beautifully presented!

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience as always. You guys are the BEST !!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Once again, the students at the Sage Bistro provided us with an outstanding Dinner with a more-than-fair price. Each course was beautiful to look at and a delight to the taste. We also enjoy the enthusiasm of the staff and students.

The only (minor) downside was the long wait between courses. Our dining experience was about 3 hours long! This was the 1st time in our several visits this has happened. It's my guess that the long wait was because this was the 1st night on a new prix fixe menu. As the Sage is essentially a classroom, one would expect a minor bump in the road here and there.

I look forward to our next visit to the Sage. If you go, take some time to fill out the comments card (the students and instructors really want your input).

MCC is a wonderful and valuble asset to our community!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Lovely ambiance, special attention to properly prepared food with excellent selection and taste.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had wanted to go there for over a year and finnally did it. It was very good! We had food we would not have ever had at the restaurants we normally frequent. We were troopers and tried everything they put in front of us. It's good to get out of your comfort zone. Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had an excellent experience at Sage tonight. This is a student run restaurant, but the food and service was a rival to the grey plume for their dinner menu. Lunch is more casual.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was good. The students did a good job. We had a good waiter. We had to wait a very long time between two of the courses, but we weren't in a rush.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The Sage Student Bistro continues to be our favorite spot for fine dining. The students always do an outstanding job in the preparation and service. The quality of the meals is on par with the area's finest dining establishments - at 1/3 the cost. The students are enthusiastic and it's always fun to talk with them. PLUS the dining room is very nice and there's plenty of free parking. I'm going to make a reservation now for another dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.