Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.62mi
  2. Distance: 8.23mi
  3. Distance: 10.00mi
  4. Distance: 10.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.62mi
  2. Distance: 8.23mi
  3. Distance: 10.00mi
  4. Distance: 10.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.62mi
  2. Distance: 8.23mi
  3. Distance: 10.00mi
  4. Distance: 10.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.62mi
  2. Distance: 8.23mi
  3. Distance: 10.00mi
  4. Distance: 10.25mi

About Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel

The new Sage Steakhouse provides its guests with the quality and attention you deserve. Our Executive Chef sources only the top 3% of Certified Angus Beef offering our guests an uncompromising dedication to quality. Our culinary team provides a menu combining contemporary plating with mouth watering naturally great tasting beef, sides and the freshest seafood around. To season to perfection we use Himalayan Primordial Ocean Salt milled to naturally entice the flavors of our menu.

794 Lucky Eagle Drive
Eagle Pass, TX 78852
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Thursday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
El Indio Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 752-4838

Website:
http://www.luckyeagletexas.com/dining/sage-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
With 24-hour gaming excitement in a first-class facility, it’s all within easy reach of both the Rio Grande Valley and San Antonio.



Experience our exciting gaming action with over 1,800 electronic gaming machines, the anticipation of fast-paced Texas Hold ’Em poker, live bingo and much more!

Parking Details:
Public lot and valet parking available through the Casino Hotel.

Public Transit:
Casino offers trolley service for Casino guests.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Nackers

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Quiet

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was excellent our waiter was top notch! I cannot say the same thing for food, I bought a $32 dollar steak and maybe I had high expectations but they fell short. Also my date ordered a chkn., mushroom pasta and chicken had a funky taste to it, it almost tasted like it was reheated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service and lovely place but the food was horrible. I understand the menu was extremely limited because of Valentine's Day but the flavor of the food was really bad. I also asked for a Medium tenderloin and I got a well done meat, dry as bread.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

There was a hair in my salad.
I told the waiter and they brought me another. We found ANOTHER smaller hair like an eyelash on another plate. I told the waiter. He apologized but the manager never came over. I didn't Expect a free meal but something should have been done. And the entree was only so so. I've ordered the braised short ribs Twice before and they were much better in the past. Also service was slow.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not worth the money. The wait staff was fantastic. The food sucked. I'll not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had dinner at Sage for the first time and not a great experience. I ordered a filet mingon medium well (which was $34 for the steak by itself) and also the creamed corn. The steak arrived and it was still bloody and completely pink on the inside - told the waitress, she wanted to put it back on the grill...I said no. I preferred to just order another entree. She took my steak AND the creamed corn which was a separate item and had nothing to do with the steak - I had no issue with it. We tried to let her know, she kept going. I ordered a pasta dish, it was okay but not really much flavor - definitely not worth the $18 they charged. For the price, it's definitely not worth it....we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff was friendly. The good was excellent. Fine dining for sure! We even asked to take a picture with the chef. He was very friendly. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time there. Nice ambiance. For the price of the steaks, both of our steaks were not cooked how we requested. Side item was luke warm. Waiter was polite , but restaurant was not busy and again, for the price paid, would have expected service/server to be more on top of it.
Waited way too long for drink refills, etc...

I would not recommend restaurant to people for steak or upscale option. Experience was lacking.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Gone many times never disappointed, filet is always perfect

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 23, 2017

It was our first visit. I have Celiac Disease and the waiter was very understanding and knowledgeable regarding gluten in foods. He was very helpful as well as careful giving me information about entrees, etc. Although there was not much to choose from for me, what i had was very good and my husband really enjoyed his meal. We would recommend to anyone we know visiting the area. Eating out for someone with Celiac is difficult to say the least but Sage was very helpful to make sure I was served gluten free. I would do 5 stars but they do not offer Gluten Free menu, so I was very limited in selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time at Sage, and will certainly be back! We were celebrating a birthday at Lucky Eagle, and decided we wanted a special meal. We started with the Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer as well as a Caesar Salad. They were both delicious, the stand out with the shrimp was the fried avocado, it was warm and tender but held up with such a sweet and crispy batter. The salad was simple, but plenty of parmesan cheese and tangy dressing. For entrees we both ordered filet mignons with asparagus and mushrooms for sides. My steak was perfectly cooked at medium, but my husbands was a little overdone (closer to well.) The end of the meal was followed by a slice of peanut butter cheesecake. If I had realized how good desert was going to be, I might have just ordered that first!
Another stand out of our meal was the excellent service. I was a little nervous reading others' reviews, but I think we were treated exceptionally well. Nothing over the top, but we had an attentive server who would check back in with us, answer questions, and make recommendations.
My last note is on the "value" - by my view it is a good value. The check was reasonable for the amount and quality of all the food we ordered, and it is a much needed change of pace from other options you will find at Lucky Eagle.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

food was great,since the apetizers to the entrees,service is very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

When we go to Lucky Eagle we always eat at the Sage Steakhouse and the service and food is always excellent. If we live closer we would eat here frequently.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Really good food! Portion sizes are generous; you could dine happily on the Kobe sliders, which come three to the order (with shoestring fries) for under $10. Also a winner is the shrimp/chorizo appetizer with tempura avocado. Great steaks, and the sides are very good and, when ordered a la carte, more than enough to share.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love the steaks! Every time we dine in the food is amazing! Always enjoy ourselves!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The steak had good taste but was almost well done, we ordered medium rare. The prawns were like rubber, I ate less than 1. The cease salad was fine except the croutons were loaded with sage which I don't like, I should have read the menu better I would have had them omitted. The bread brought out before the meal was horrible along with the butters. We won't come back. The temperature was so cold that we couldn't wait to get out, pur hands were numb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 5, 2016

All was great until the manager came and asked us to leave because their next reservation was in and needed our table. When 5 other tables where empty in the restaurant. We felt humiliated and embarrassed. This never has happened to us in any other restaurant. Food, service and ambience was great except for that detail. We were not walk-ins, we had a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and nice ambiance for a quiet dinner for a special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 28th Anniversary. We decided to make the reservation at Sage for the first time. From our arrival time we were welcomed and treated with up most respect, our food was outstanding and tasteful. Our waitress Mayra was so attentive and also surprised us with an anniversary dessert at the end of our dinner. We must say our night was fulfilled.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Demi glaze sauce was a not as advertised: prepared with glams of flour -- ick. Chef needs lesson on what is a Demi-glaze. Onion soup was way too sweet. Better recipe needed. Otherwise, rest of the meal was quite acceptable.

Wine list should have some lower price offerings and "by-the-glass" selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have been there many times, I would recommend expanding their menu or having more meal of the day choices. Also there are no desserts on their menu

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have dined at the Sage the last three stays at Kickapoo and the food has been excellent which keeps bringing us back. The service was good and we like Kevin as our waiter. He is quick and pleasant with a positive attitude. Also, we believe Sage's menu items are priced at a reasonable rate.
Please KEEP your Chef there- he is wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is fantastic, but the staff are amazing, everyone from the hostess, waitstaff, bus persons were simply awesome, they are all the best I have found in this part of Texas, Great Job Guys!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Sage! ❤️❤️❤️The jalapeño potatoes are so yummy and the steaks were cooked exactly how we ordered them!! My only complaint is that it was really cold in the restaurant and I didn't bring a sweater.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Steak and entire meal was delicious and waiter was attentive and informative. Unexpected service and food at Eagle Pass hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's so happened that we've eaten there twice for my birthday, and we love it! The food is so good. And the staff always courteous and nice. We now make it point to eat here when we come to the casino. Such a wonderful experience that everyone should eat here at least once. We've made it a point to tell all our family and friends about this GEM of a restaurant. We've take a couple of our family members and they agree as well. Thank you for an awesome meal! We'll be back with the good Lord's help!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. All entire meal was great. Will go back every time I visit Eagle Pass. A total gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgable about the menu and chefs special, she made all the difference in our dinning experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved it, steak great, short ribs huge and tender, Mac and cheese light,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

After a 5 hour drive home I asked whether I should grill or whether we would go out and eat....the consensus was to visit Sage. I figured I'd spend a hundred dollars. Both meals were cooked just right. Beer was cold and they had the alcohol my fiancé drinks. They really need to provide a steak knife though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Waitress serve us water, took our order, and we didnt saw him again. We were waiting for him to ask us for something to drink but never came back. The chef assistant came with our food and ask him about the waitress...Our waitress came back until we ask for the check to another waitress.

We didnt realize they had desserts because he didnt offer that menu ,until we talk to other people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food delicious and Michael always provides excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The scallops were cooked to perfection and the seasoning was done great as well. Not sure if it is hit or miss as some of the reviews said they were not good. The ribeye was good and the seasoning was ok as well. Nothing to complain about, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

If you're at the Kickapoo Casino and you're in the mood for fine dining, try the Sage Steakhouse. This was our third visit and we will return at every casino visit. Start with the shrimp appetizers. The regular shrimp cocktail -- 6 HUGE shrimp accompanied by a tasty sauce. The other shrimp cocktail has 6 (again HUGE) shrimp served with an extremely generous helping of chorizo and and an entire fried avocado. I recommend splitting one of the appetizers.
The ribeye is very flavorful and I'd order it again. All steaks can be fancified with rubs, etc. All steaks are accompanied by sides. The frites are good (but wish they were served in a cone) and the garlic brocolinni is a generous portion.
Good house wines are local out of Fredricksburg TX.
Attentive and correct service that was well-paced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We had the scallops and they were great! The Mahi Mahi was terrible...it was so hard and rubbery it couldn't be chewed and you wouldn't want too. The wine list was very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Best steaks we've in a long time! I had the filet mignon and it was amazing, I cut it with my fork. My husband had a ribeye and it was prepared perfectly! We will definitely be dining in again very soon!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant has a nice selection of entrees. I had the filet mignon which was excellent. The other two people in my party had scallops which were not to their liking. The management took care of the issue.

Very nice atmosphere and terrific service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It is a really nice restaurant , but did not live up to my standards of what a fine dine should be, will probably not return! My husband's steak was over cooked, which was sent back, my steak was really dry, the service was fair! I give it 2 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.