Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel

4.4
130 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Fit for Foodies
The new Sage Steakhouse provides its guests with the quality and attention you deserve. Our Executive Chef sources only the top 3% of Certified Angus Beef offering our guests an uncompromising dedication to quality. Our culinary team provides a menu combining contemporary plating with mouth watering naturally great tasting beef, sides and the freshest seafood around. To season to perfection we use Himalayan Primordial Ocean Salt milled to naturally entice the flavors of our menu.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Wednesday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Thursday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(830) 752-4838
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ryan Nackers
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
El Indio Highway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public lot and valet parking available through the Casino Hotel.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Casino offers trolley service for Casino guests.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
With 24-hour gaming excitement in a first-class facility, it’s all within easy reach of both the Rio Grande Valley and San Antonio.



Experience our exciting gaming action with over 1,800 electronic gaming machines, the anticipation of fast-paced Texas Hold ’Em poker, live bingo and much more!
Additional
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 130 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Prime Rib was very good. Great food at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Always great food, excellent service and a smooth atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 22, 2017

It was horrible. We made a reservation and we were never told that the regular menu was not going to be available. They only had two dishes... pasta and pasta. "All you can eat". It was just was disgusting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was excellent service was mediocre. When you spend that kind if money on an antree you expect 5 star service. Our waiter did not know anything about the wines and did not recamend anything to us. He was also very slow considering he only had three tables. We sat for about 5 min before anyone aproched us. The restaurant sits right off of the casino and is very noise. Not the romantic environment we anticipated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 3, 2017

It was not bad but it was not great. A bit overpriced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Had a very good experience, we had two birthdays, Grandfather's and a douthers birthday. Food was also very good and pastry was very delicious. We all enjoy the food and the exelent customer service. Thank you for making sure that our dinner was a unic experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Delicious food! Fries are really good! Pasta fantastic! Steak tasty and tender!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 13, 2017

We went on a Wednesday to try out the prime rib special. I was disappointed with the salad. It was rather wilted. We asked for medium rare and got a medium well cut. Service was not like on weekends. The server even reached across me to serve the wine to the person next to me. I do not believe you should lower standards because you are offering a special price. This is an opportunity to show the customers that do not go on weekends how good The Sage is.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

One of the best steaks I've ever had. Our server was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall, Sage was a great restaurant. The only negative thing I have to say is that the restaurant does not accomodate large parties. We were a party of 12 and we were only able to sit 4 per table. I would go again of course because the food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2017

Jorge was an excellent waiter and the food was very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. We each ordered a steak (ribeye & fillet). They were cooked to perfection - melted in your mouth. The blue wedge salad was a perfect complement to the steak.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2017

It's Eagle Pass TX folks! Don't get your hopes up, but come hungry. Large portions. Quality food. The short ribs over mashed potato are great and enough for two!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2017

Each time we go to Lucky Eagle we make a reservation for the Sage Steakhouse. We have never had a bad meal. Staff is friendly and professional. Ambiance is very nice. If I lived closer I would eat here at once a week. There is something for everyone on the menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the third time my husband and I have gone. First time, fantastic. Second time, food salty. Third time, cold food. The waiter was great. The food is just not good. I had salmon with risotto, but the risotto was not creamy. It was just smeared on the plate and not good. The salmon was ok. But you expect the food to be excellent when you go to a place like that. Probably will not go a fourth time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

The people have always been great! The place is awesome. They are always accommodating. The food is excellent. Thanks for the great good and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday and everything was outstanding! The chefs even made her a special dessert that had a golden sparkler and happy birthday written on it. I ordered a ribeye and it was lights out!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome service. Good was delish and more than ample servings. Get the short ribs!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Really yummy food

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Not impressed at all. Steak was tasteless and garlic potatoes thrown in glob on plate. Waiter was very hyper and would fly by table without even stopping-- restaurant was not busy but I felt like we were a nuisance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was excellent our waiter was top notch! I cannot say the same thing for food, I bought a $32 dollar steak and maybe I had high expectations but they fell short. Also my date ordered a chkn., mushroom pasta and chicken had a funky taste to it, it almost tasted like it was reheated.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and lovely place but the food was horrible. I understand the menu was extremely limited because of Valentine's Day but the flavor of the food was really bad. I also asked for a Medium tenderloin and I got a well done meat, dry as bread.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 11, 2017

There was a hair in my salad.
I told the waiter and they brought me another. We found ANOTHER smaller hair like an eyelash on another plate. I told the waiter. He apologized but the manager never came over. I didn't Expect a free meal but something should have been done. And the entree was only so so. I've ordered the braised short ribs Twice before and they were much better in the past. Also service was slow.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Not worth the money. The wait staff was fantastic. The food sucked. I'll not be going back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Had dinner at Sage for the first time and not a great experience. I ordered a filet mingon medium well (which was $34 for the steak by itself) and also the creamed corn. The steak arrived and it was still bloody and completely pink on the inside - told the waitress, she wanted to put it back on the grill...I said no. I preferred to just order another entree. She took my steak AND the creamed corn which was a separate item and had nothing to do with the steak - I had no issue with it. We tried to let her know, she kept going. I ordered a pasta dish, it was okay but not really much flavor - definitely not worth the $18 they charged. For the price, it's definitely not worth it....we will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

The staff was friendly. The good was excellent. Fine dining for sure! We even asked to take a picture with the chef. He was very friendly. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2017

First time there. Nice ambiance. For the price of the steaks, both of our steaks were not cooked how we requested. Side item was luke warm. Waiter was polite , but restaurant was not busy and again, for the price paid, would have expected service/server to be more on top of it.
Waited way too long for drink refills, etc...

I would not recommend restaurant to people for steak or upscale option. Experience was lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

Gone many times never disappointed, filet is always perfect

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2017

It was our first visit. I have Celiac Disease and the waiter was very understanding and knowledgeable regarding gluten in foods. He was very helpful as well as careful giving me information about entrees, etc. Although there was not much to choose from for me, what i had was very good and my husband really enjoyed his meal. We would recommend to anyone we know visiting the area. Eating out for someone with Celiac is difficult to say the least but Sage was very helpful to make sure I was served gluten free. I would do 5 stars but they do not offer Gluten Free menu, so I was very limited in selections.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2017

First time at Sage, and will certainly be back! We were celebrating a birthday at Lucky Eagle, and decided we wanted a special meal. We started with the Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer as well as a Caesar Salad. They were both delicious, the stand out with the shrimp was the fried avocado, it was warm and tender but held up with such a sweet and crispy batter. The salad was simple, but plenty of parmesan cheese and tangy dressing. For entrees we both ordered filet mignons with asparagus and mushrooms for sides. My steak was perfectly cooked at medium, but my husbands was a little overdone (closer to well.) The end of the meal was followed by a slice of peanut butter cheesecake. If I had realized how good desert was going to be, I might have just ordered that first!
Another stand out of our meal was the excellent service. I was a little nervous reading others' reviews, but I think we were treated exceptionally well. Nothing over the top, but we had an attentive server who would check back in with us, answer questions, and make recommendations.
My last note is on the "value" - by my view it is a good value. The check was reasonable for the amount and quality of all the food we ordered, and it is a much needed change of pace from other options you will find at Lucky Eagle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

food was great,since the apetizers to the entrees,service is very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

When we go to Lucky Eagle we always eat at the Sage Steakhouse and the service and food is always excellent. If we live closer we would eat here frequently.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

Really good food! Portion sizes are generous; you could dine happily on the Kobe sliders, which come three to the order (with shoestring fries) for under $10. Also a winner is the shrimp/chorizo appetizer with tempura avocado. Great steaks, and the sides are very good and, when ordered a la carte, more than enough to share.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love the steaks! Every time we dine in the food is amazing! Always enjoy ourselves!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 15, 2016

The steak had good taste but was almost well done, we ordered medium rare. The prawns were like rubber, I ate less than 1. The cease salad was fine except the croutons were loaded with sage which I don't like, I should have read the menu better I would have had them omitted. The bread brought out before the meal was horrible along with the butters. We won't come back. The temperature was so cold that we couldn't wait to get out, pur hands were numb.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 4, 2016

All was great until the manager came and asked us to leave because their next reservation was in and needed our table. When 5 other tables where empty in the restaurant. We felt humiliated and embarrassed. This never has happened to us in any other restaurant. Food, service and ambience was great except for that detail. We were not walk-ins, we had a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and nice ambiance for a quiet dinner for a special occasion

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel