About Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel

794 Lucky Eagle Drive
Eagle Pass, TX 78852
View Larger Map

The new Sage Steakhouse provides its guests with the quality and attention you deserve. Our Executive Chef sources only the top 3% of Certified Angus Beef offering our guests an uncompromising dedication to quality. Our culinary team provides a menu combining contemporary plating with mouth watering naturally great tasting beef, sides and the freshest seafood around. To season to perfection we use Himalayan Primordial Ocean Salt milled to naturally entice the flavors of our menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Thursday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
El Indio Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 752-4838

Website:
http://www.luckyeagletexas.com/dining/sage-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
With 24-hour gaming excitement in a first-class facility, it’s all within easy reach of both the Rio Grande Valley and San Antonio.



Experience our exciting gaming action with over 1,800 electronic gaming machines, the anticipation of fast-paced Texas Hold ’Em poker, live bingo and much more!

Parking Details:
Public lot and valet parking available through the Casino Hotel.

Public Transit:
Casino offers trolley service for Casino guests.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Nackers

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Sage Steakhouse - Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Eagle Pass

Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (3)
See All
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and nice ambiance for a quiet ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and nice ambiance for a quiet dinner for a special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 28th Ann ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 28th Anniversary. We decided to make the reservation at Sage for the first time. From our arrival time we were welcomed and treated with up most respect, our food was outstanding and tasteful. Our waitress Mayra was so attentive and also surprised us with an anniversary dessert at the end of our dinner. We must say our night was fulfilled.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Demi glaze sauce was a not as advertised ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Demi glaze sauce was a not as advertised: prepared with glams of flour -- ick. Chef needs lesson on what is a Demi-glaze. Onion soup was way too sweet. Better recipe needed. Otherwise, rest of the meal was quite acceptable.

Wine list should have some lower price offerings and "by-the-glass" selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Have been there many times, I would reco ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have been there many times, I would recommend expanding their menu or having more meal of the day choices. Also there are no desserts on their menu

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined at the Sage the last three ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have dined at the Sage the last three stays at Kickapoo and the food has been excellent which keeps bringing us back. The service was good and we like Kevin as our waiter. He is quick and pleasant with a positive attitude. Also, we believe Sage's menu items are priced at a reasonable rate.

Please KEEP your Chef there- he is wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food is fantastic, but the staff are ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is fantastic, but the staff are amazing, everyone from the hostess, waitstaff, bus persons were simply awesome, they are all the best I have found in this part of Texas, Great Job Guys!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Sage! ❤️❤️❤️The jalapeño potatoes are so yummy and the steaks were cooked exactly how we ordered them!! My only complaint is that it was really cold in the restaurant and I didn't bring a sweater.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Steak and entire meal was delicious and waiter was attentive and informative. Unexpected service and food at Eagle Pass hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's so happened that we've eaten there twice for my birthday, and we love it! The food is so good. And the staff always courteous and nice. We now make it point to eat here when we come to the casino. Such a wonderful experience that everyone should eat here at least once. We've made it a point to tell all our family and friends about this GEM of a restaurant. We've take a couple of our family members and they agree as well. Thank you for an awesome meal! We'll be back with the good Lord's help!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice surprise

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. All entire meal was great. Will go back every time I visit Eagle Pass. A total gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice restaurant and great service.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgable about the menu and chefs special, she made all the difference in our dinning experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved it, steak great, short ribs huge and tender, Mac and cheese light,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grill or eat out.

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

After a 5 hour drive home I asked whether I should grill or whether we would go out and eat....the consensus was to visit Sage. I figured I'd spend a hundred dollars. Both meals were cooked just right. Beer was cold and they had the alcohol my fiancé drinks. They really need to provide a steak knife though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sad Experience

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Waitress serve us water, took our order, and we didnt saw him again. We were waiting for him to ask us for something to drink but never came back. The chef assistant came with our food and ask him about the waitress...Our waitress came back until we ask for the check to another waitress.

We didnt realize they had desserts because he didnt offer that menu ,until we talk to other people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

Very enjoyable!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food delicious and Michael always provides excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place with good food.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The scallops were cooked to perfection and the seasoning was done great as well. Not sure if it is hit or miss as some of the reviews said they were not good. The ribeye was good and the seasoning was ok as well. Nothing to complain about, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good steaks

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

If you're at the Kickapoo Casino and you're in the mood for fine dining, try the Sage Steakhouse. This was our third visit and we will return at every casino visit. Start with the shrimp appetizers. The regular shrimp cocktail -- 6 HUGE shrimp accompanied by a tasty sauce. The other shrimp cocktail has 6 (again HUGE) shrimp served with an extremely generous helping of chorizo and and an entire fried avocado. I recommend splitting one of the appetizers.

The ribeye is very flavorful and I'd order it again. All steaks can be fancified with rubs, etc. All steaks are accompanied by sides. The frites are good (but wish they were served in a cone) and the garlic brocolinni is a generous portion.

Good house wines are local out of Fredricksburg TX.

Attentive and correct service that was well-paced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hit and Miss

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We had the scallops and they were great! The Mahi Mahi was terrible...it was so hard and rubbery it couldn't be chewed and you wouldn't want too. The wine list was very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steaks!!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Best steaks we've in a long time! I had the filet mignon and it was amazing, I cut it with my fork. My husband had a ribeye and it was prepared perfectly! We will definitely be dining in again very soon!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice experience-the highlight of the casino!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant has a nice selection of entrees. I had the filet mignon which was excellent. The other two people in my party had scallops which were not to their liking. The management took care of the issue.

Very nice atmosphere and terrific service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I was very disappointed !

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It is a really nice restaurant , but did not live up to my standards of what a fine dine should be, will probably not return! My husband's steak was over cooked, which was sent back, my steak was really dry, the service was fair! I give it 2 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is the 3rd time we have had dinner at this restaurant. Always excellent. However this last time I listened to our waitress that we should order the ribeye medium well or it would have blood. I like it pink but no blood. Well it was well done, still good but disappointed that I did not go with past orders of the ribeye. Their potatoes are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dining in eagle pass

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The short ribs are to die for, the best I've ever had, I would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Problems

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

There were many problems with our order and taste of some dishes. I will tell you the Manager and his staff handled it very well but it is a strong strong disappointment to travel 4 Hours to a Restaurant you wanted to go to for New Years and go thru this. We have been to this place many times and have had very good times but this was an embarrassing visit. The Management team did handle the problems well and satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent dining experience!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The aroma emanating as we walked in was mouth watering! The porterhouse we ordered was grilled to perfection, juicy and flavorful, and the bread and spreads that started the meal were just like grandma would bake.

The atmosphere was romantic, or maybe it was just us. Very relaxed.

Our waiter was attentive and very pleasant to talk to. He gave excellent service.

We will definitely be returning to this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak House in South Texas

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Fantastic Rib Eye Steaks cooked just right. Served by an excellent wait staff. Steaks in the $30 range but this is meat you won't find anywhere else. You will enjoy this fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better Than Ever

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

The steaks and service here are just outstanding. The place seems better than ever since they have a new manager. You won't find a better steak anywhere. The shrimp cocktail is also the best anywhere. Highly recommend the Sage if you are in the Eagle Pass area. What a treat to eat here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing and not just for Eagle Pass

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The food was so good. The chef is extremely talented! We went for a special occasion and it was such a breath of fresh air. Our waitress went above and beyond to make sure everything we needed was taken care of and that our night went good. From the Kobe beef slider appetizers to the applewood smoked bacon macaroni and cheese the sides couldn't of been any better. The steak melted in your mouth. Both the center cut sirloin and filet mignon were cooked to perfection. I would recommend Sage to anyone and everyone!! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy dining there, steaks are delicious!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

My wife and I have been going there for several years and always make reservations to dine there. You have never disappointed us...Michael served us and remembered us from a couple of weeks ago. It's a great place to have a quiet dinner after playing the slots and energize us to continue...Thank You!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great great great

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Had a perfect rib-eye with sautéed mushrooms as a side. Perfect with a glass of Pinot noir. The creme brûlée was excellent and our server was knowledgeable and unobtrusive. Perfect for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is tough for me to say, but this ma ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

This is tough for me to say, but this may have been one of the best prepared steaks I have ever had. My wife's was as well. There is also a salad that has fruit and greens that was very, very well done.

Now the bad news.

Everything else, including the glasses of iced tea, is so over thought, over the top, overwhelmingly bad that I don't k is how I could recommend it.

The waitress while personable was unable to answer a single question regarding any of the unusual flavors we were experiencing. Look, to be fair, this casino is devoid of anything close to food. So order a steak, take a chance on a salad, and don't ask too many questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

The service was great, all staff very attractive, main course and dessert was amazing only thing was that the Calamari was greasy, under cooked, chunks were extremely big and not crunchy at all with the crust would come of ever piece as we got them. I would recommend the beef ribs and shrimp penne along with the Creme Brule and cinnamon latte. .. Over all Sage was fast and efficient and food was tasty. Just hope they would cook the Calamari longer for my taste.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food but I felt a bit rushed at times

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Overall the food was good. The shrimp cocktail appetizer was very good so I thought we were off to a good start. I clearly told our waiter that we were in no hurry and not to put our steak order in until after we had completed our salads. Half way through our salads out come the steaks of course. I sent them back and when they were returned it was obvious that they had just been placed under a heat lamp. Our waiter apologized for this and I knew it was the managers direction and not his.

Overall a good meal though a bit pricey. Attentive server but pushy manager.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Oasis

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Sage is an oasis tucked inside a noisy, bustling casino! Appetizers were a disappointment but the rest of the meal sure made up for it! Calamari was heavily breaded and greasy. Our wait person took it back and brought another choice - crab cakes. When they were delivered they were cold but she took them back again and brought a new order. Service was great and the manager apologized for the appetizers and even sent us desert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Royal Flush Dining

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

The Sage. Is an experience worth waiting for at the Lucky Eagle. It is truly a surprise in all aspects of a pleasurable dining experience .

I highly recommend the Sage.

Eduardo was the proper combination of being attentive yet not hovering over the diners.

Will always eat at the Sage when in Eagle Pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner before heading home

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

The day before our trip I made reservations for an early dinner at the Sage Steakhouse in Kickapoo Casino. After a day at the Casino with parents/in-laws we sat down to a nice quiet dinner before heading home. The food is a little on the expensive side but it was very delicious which made it worth the price. The service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to a friend/relative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The three of us each had rib-eye steak a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

The three of us each had rib-eye steak and we all agreed it was one of the best meals we had any where!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Food was amazing. Server was knowledgeable and efficient. We took our food to go which they box for you in the kitchen. Somebody in the back inadvertently threw away my wife's food so they cooked up a brand new entire dish to go for free. It was my wife's birthday and they also comped her dessert for the inconvenience. Which it was an honest mistake. I would go back to this restaurant 100 times.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Sage Steakhouse

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

We had a table for 4 reserved and had two friends arrive unexpectedly. The hostess was accommodating and changed our reservation to a table for 6.

All of us enjoyed our meals. I ordered the Chef's Special, which was a marinated ribeye with a reduction sauce, mashed potatoes and greens. The steak was probably one of best ribeye's I've ever eaten.

Our waiter, Eduardo, was spot on! Any time a plate was empty, it was removed immediately. Drinks never were less than 1/2 empty. He gave us our space, but was always attentive to our needs.

We will definitely be dining there again when we are in the area. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sage Steak House is the Best!!!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

The Sage Steak House at the Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino Hotel will not only provide you with a five star meal, but they will also provide you with a five star experience. I am from San Antonio and in my home city we have The Tower of the Americas and at the top is a Chart House "Landry's Steak House". The Chart House was my personal highest rating steak house until I shared a meal with my girlfriend at The Sage Steak House this past weekend. Every aspect of this restaurant is what you would want in a steak house and is well worth the price for the experience. The atmosphere is romantic with the feeling of exclusivity fit for a king. The food is delicious and the side item portions are huge, so if you dine with more than just yourself it is highly recommended that you all choose a medley of side items to sample more of what The Sage Steak House has to offer. The wine list is extensive and the restaurant staff is proficient in flavors and taste pallets so as to provide you with the most complimentary wine for your meal.

After a long day of driving and playing a great game of poker; my experience at The Sage Steak House closed one of the greatest days that I have ever had the pleasure of living on Earth. Thank you Sage Steak House staff. You have given me a most joyous memory that I will cherish forever. I won't be able to visit again until July, but I promise you I will be setting a dinner reservation before I even book my hotel.

Than You!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.