About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (41)
notable wine list (24)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to the Sage Room for ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have been going to the Sage Room for years and we have never been disappointed. We started with the spinach salad for two - 5 stars. I had the rack of lamb and would give it 4.5 stars. My wife had the bison again 4.5 stars. Great wine and our waiter Teodoro was 5 stars. We'll be back...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the ...

Dined 5 days ago

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the 60s - waiters in tuxes, food rolled out on carts, dim lighting and big portions. Had a fun time, but the menu is expensive, so unless you're flush with newly won cash, there are better restaurants in the area, especially at or below this price point.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were not greeted by the hostess. She ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were not greeted by the hostess. She simply looked at me ( dead pan). I told her we had a reservation, again nothing. I asked if she wanted my name, again no verbalization. She simply walked us to our table. I would hope someone trains the young lady quickly. Other circumstances I'd have walked out. Escargot had no garlic, lots of butter though. French onion soup delish! The porterhouse the best we've had in years. Banana's Foster, ambrosia!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A classic casino steak house with great ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

A classic casino steak house with great food and excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We lovetheSageRoom our favorite for 57 ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We lovetheSageRoom our favorite for 57 years, we celebrated 57 year anniversary at Sage Room, still try to make Sage Room at least once a year, it for sure is the best, hopefully will not change, we know what to expect are always pleased, thankyou

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was wonderful as well as the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was wonderful as well as the friendly staff. My friend from Florida always heard me talk about how much I enjoyed the Sage Room and he wanted to try it. After his dinner he said it was everything that I said it was. He ordered the Prime rib dinner and love it. :) Thank you Mark and Sharon for your great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First dinner here for our Anniversary. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

First dinner here for our Anniversary. We loved the old-fashioned dining experience where you are made to feel special by the wait staff. Our waiter "Cy" was very attentive and the table-side prepared dishes were superb. The table-side warm spinach salad was the best we have ever had My husband ordered the Cajun spiced rib steak and it was fabulous. Can't wait to come back with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I celebrated my birthday there it's one ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I celebrated my birthday there it's one of my favorite places to dine for special times worth the drive and make a whole weekend it's located in Harvey's in south shore. The service is always impeccable and so is the food. I had the steak Diane prepared at the table not only was it delicious but the dessert was out of this world also. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect meal in a fabulous at ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect meal in a fabulous atmosphere. Five star waiting for food served.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hal was our server. He had a sixth sense ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Hal was our server. He had a sixth sense and appeared with whatever was needed at exactly the right time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great dining experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Professional and friendly staff. Not rushed and, of course, the food is out of this world. Prices seem a little high, but not enough to stay away. For us, a once a year treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started with the oysters on the half ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We started with the oysters on the half shell as our app which were wonderful then had the tableside spinach salad with just the right amount of dressing. My husband had the sea bass special and I asked for the sage room shrimp to be prepared with the bbq rub and they were perfect! The Sage room is time tested and we will return for our next special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Teddy was an awesome waiter who took car ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Teddy was an awesome waiter who took care of us very well on our folks 35 wedding anniversary dinner. Food was perfect as always

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service, great ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, great bar and wine list. This is an old-fashioned steak house with top notch food, atmosphere and service. From our cocktails to appetizers to salad made at your table along with our entrees and the bananas foster dessert which was also prepared at our table, this is a must for special occasion dining. The menu may be pricier than some of the other restaurants around, but I guarantee that it is well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

charge

Dined on May 22, 2016

charged twice on my visa card, took 6 days to get charge reversed.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My daughter and I went for her 13th birt ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My daughter and I went for her 13th birthday and the food was fabulous! The service was phenomenal Teddy was our waiter and he is great. The noise level is pretty loud so if you want something more on the quiet side I would recommend another restaurant but other than that it can't be beat. You definitely need to get all the tableside preparations i.e., like bananas Foster , café Ole, and the Caesar salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

What a Disaster

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Sage Room is a restaurant that we have gone to many times in the past, although not recently. In the past, our family has enjoyed the food at this restaurant. We can no longer state that. When we requested "prime rib" for the three of us, the waiter suggested that we might want to order the rib eye steak instead, as we would like it much better. I ordered "Veal Oscar" and it was not good. The rib eyes that the other two ordered were good, but outrageous in price . I can only wonder what the prime rib would have been, as the waiter really discouraged us from ordering that item. We will never return to this over priced restaurant with mediocre food.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Sad! Would not recommend for any occasion!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Not the good place to eat that it once was. The rib eye steak was a mediocre cut of meat. The caesar salad was less than superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the loveliest views in Ta ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is one of the loveliest views in Tahoe. The food was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very small portions the soup was cold cold

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very small portions the soup is called the potato was cold! No lobster in the lobster best

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food great service

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

A friend recommended this and while it's a bit tired as far as décor goes and very dark inside so that it's hard to see very much. I can say however the service was outstanding. My wedge salad was one of the best I've ever had but my Sage steak although cooked to perfection had no taste. It was so weird I've never eaten a NY steak with no taste. The ones we bought from Safeway for dinner while we were here visiting had better flavor. Don't believe the meat was grass fed as that is what we usually eat at home and it is always tasty.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DELICIOUS!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Ordered the oysters rockafeller, shrimp cocktail and crab cake with an amazing cab wine!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not impressed

Dined on April 22, 2016

Have eaten at most of the Ceasars Steak Houses across the country . This was near the bottom of the list . French Onion soup was a decent serving , yet was not very tasty. Prime rib was not seadoned, and very chewy . Sure have had better prime across this country. Glad that we didn't have to pay for the meameal, since it was on Ceasars . Won't go back, even to use our celebration free dinners .

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

not quiet or intimate

Dined on April 10, 2016

We came for our anniversary and because of the reviews we figured it would be a perfect place. Boy were we wrong! It was loud and the service was just "ok." Unfortunately we got sat next to a group of guys who were loudly spouting off vulgar things. The whole restaurant could hear them. We told our waiter about it and he shrugged it off, without offering to move us or asking them to stop with the obscenities. For a bill that was around $170 for 2 people, I expected more.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server and busser was very attentive throughout the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 10th year.

Dined on April 3, 2016

On par with four star steakhouses in any major city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Frozen in time, and not aging well

Dined on April 1, 2016

This restaurant has special memories for me from 22 years ago, but unfortunately the memories aged better than the restaurant did. The service was incredibly slow and the wait staff looked unhappy to be there. They seemed to be going through the motions and not enjoying their work very much. The ambiance and decor were quite old and not well maintained. The food was just not good. The best caesar salad that I've ever had was prepared tableside in 1994, but something got lost along the way and this food this time was just boring and in dire need of an introduction to the 21st century with fresh ingredients. I had the Chilean Sea Bass, and it was too large and too thick and cooked until achieving the texture of leather.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Our waiters were absolutely wonderful and the food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a steak house should be

Dined on March 28, 2016

This is the kind of steak house Sinatra would have loved. The tableside prep service is excellent. The wine list extensive. The food is delicious. Makes me think "Classic"

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been dinning at the Sage Room fo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have been dinning at the Sage Room for 25 years or more. It's always an amazing dinner and great service. They always treat us like we are special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite Classic That Still Shines!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Sage room décor and ambience goes back decades, and it still stands as one of the best upscale dining experiences around Lake Tahoe. From the tuxedo clad waiters, to the flaming dishes prepared tableside, the entire experience screams out class. The food selection, preparation and service are all excellent...as they should be, the price is not cheap, but very reasonable for what you get! Our Bay area friends will think this is quite the deal...and it is!Sage

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining experience!

Dined on March 25, 2016

We have gone to the Sage Room every time we are in Tahoe and it is always a highlight of our trip. Great service and exceptional food. The Steak Diane is to die for! As is the Banana Foster for two.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the absolute best restaurant in ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is the absolute best restaurant in south Lake Tahoe. I've been coming here from the Bay Area for over 25 years and it is by far the best meal and service you will get

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Slooow Service

Dined on March 18, 2016

We eat here almost every time we're in Tahoe. This Thursday evening it was a relatively light crowd but it took an hour to get 5 steaks. This despite other later arrivals at tables around us getting served first. The kids were getting impatient and hungrier. Servers were very nice and accomodating as usual. Not returning if these lengthy delays become a trend.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

BEST Rib Eye!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Sage Room is a wonderful restaurant with a great menu and exceptional service. While a tax pricey, I suggest one get the french onion soup and the mesculin salad table side and share an entree. The shrimp with mushroom risotto is awesome and there Rib Eye is out of this world good. Again, expensive but if it's a special occasion, go for it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great old-school steakhouse

Dined on March 8, 2016

If you long for old-school steakhouse atmosphere and classic dishes like oysters Rockefeller and table-side Caesar salad then the Sage a Room is for you. On this night they had a bone-in ribeye that was to die for! Service is attentive and professional. My only complaint is they seem to be trying to modernize the menu (blackberry demiglace?) Just tell them to hold the sauce and go for all that beef taste!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The dinner was great and the service was excellent! We had Thomas as our waiter and he was awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Not what we expected

Dined on March 5, 2016

Three people, no drinks and bill was over 400. Ordered med rare porterhouse, came med well. Lobster had no taste. This place used to be the place for steak in Tahoe, 20 years ago, not any more. I do not mind paying 400 dollars for dinner for three people, but would expect much better food. Will not go again, very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sage Room old school steakhouse

Dined on March 4, 2016

Whenever we are in Tahoe and want a special meal we go to the Sage room. It's the last piece of the Harvey gross error that has been unchanged all these years. Do not go if you are concerned about cost this is all about the food. Our service was a bit lacking this trip due to a large group that showed up just after we arrived. My wife's main course had to be sent back because it had been prepared incorrectly. The problem was fixed quickly and both our meals were fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

***FABULOUS***

Dined on February 28, 2016

From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty. The drinks were perfect. The spinach salad made at tableside was the best I've ever had. Best of all were the scallops. All was prepared perfectly with a 2012 St. Francis Cabernet. We can't wait to return for another experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.