Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fun (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent! Service was great! We will be back again!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had the most wonderful dinning experience. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. Can not wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service and food was amazing. The only part of our meal that came from the kitchen was an outstanding wild mushroom ravioli with a portobello and black truffle marsala sauce. Caesar Salad and Steak Diane prepared tableside by our waiter and the best Cafe Diablo prepared by maitre de, Ozzie, was the best I have ever had anywhere. We will definitely return the next time we are in Lake Tahoe

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The Sage Room was amazing! A quaint atmosphere and attentive service were superb, and the food itself was even better. We really enjoyed the crab cake, the filet Wellington and the lamb chop Oscar style. We were so full that we skipped dessert but the food was enough!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Been coming here for 40+ years. It's always awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had an amazing meal amazing service and even tried something new. The spinach salad that they create at your table is out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

A great dining experience in Lake Tahoe. I've been several times and they always meet or exceed my expectations. The food is excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Super food, service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I had made reservations online and noted it was for a birthday, so when we got there they had special menus made with their name and Happy birthday on them. It was very nice and food was great, try the sea bass, yum~

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love the Sage Room. We have never had a bad meal or experience there. Customer satisfaction is #1 with them.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is the place for an old-style steak or prime rib dinner with fancy table-side preparation flourishes like Caffe Diablo, Cherries Jubilee, Caesar salad. Prices are high, meat is generally good, salads not bad but sides and sauces are straight out of the frozen food aisle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Been going to the Sage Room since 1958. Will continue to go as long as it remains. A true gem with wonderful history. My entire family worked for Harvey Gross since 1948. Wonderful man and wonderful company. We hope to continue enjoying this very special place for many years. Please keep it open!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Lake Tahoe. Second time we have been there and the food and service was excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Highly recommend. Moderate to high price, but expected at a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great overall experience. Our waiter lacked service skills. Seen him when we first sat, then when he took our order. Then again when he brought the check. His helper, (a female not sure her name) did all the work. She was very professional and did a great job waiting on us. She brought our appetizers, salads, refilled our drinks, brought out or dinners and cleared our dishes and ask about dessert. In my mind she was our server and our waiter was her helper. The food was great. Loved the onion soup, and prime rib was tender and juicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Over priced. Food was good, service was good, but much too expensive. $200+ with tip per couple.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A must if your at state line south shore Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Everything was fantastic! I most definitely will be returning

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

July 15, 2017 was our first time visiting this restaurant. Top notch service from Ozzie and Jeremy. The food was phenomenal. We recommend trying the frog legs appetizer, board side Cesar salads, the blackened sea bass, and the beef wellington. For dessert, bananas foster and coffee diablo are a nice finish with a great board side show.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Hidden gem that never dissapoints. Food and service is phenomenal. They have many dishes that are cooked tableside. One of the best meals in the country!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Other than the fact that the restaurant was a bit warm (no a/c apparently), the wait staff made us both feel very welcome and I couldn't imagine where we'd have our next anniversary dinner than at the Sage Room. The food that the chef and staff sent out was fabulous as always as well!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always a treat to have dinner at our favorite restaurant. We will be back next year

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was perfect from the personalized menu, warm bread, to the king crab appetizer and finally the steak! My husband gets his steak well done no pink whatsoever! It was not dry, still moist and very flavorful. Definitely would go the place again!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First disappointing meal I've had here. Noticed it had been slipping a bit the past couple times, but it seems to be decidedly diving now. Was a favorite, no more now! I hate what the Caesars and Total Rewards people are doing to this place. Evening started out poorly by being refused our booth request, maitre'd even argued with me on the matter. The couple right before us was a walk in and were seated at a booth. The food quality was poor, not what you'd expect of a place like this. The lobster in my bisque was not fresh. My filet mignon was a misshapen mess of a cut and lacked the expected tenderness. Additionally it had been thoroughly cut into in a strange fashion. I guess a rookie was working the grill tonight and needed to check his temps at my expense! I didn't send it back because we had a show to get to. Service left something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've ever been too. Table side cooking and amazing drinks. Cafe diablo was incredible for desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our entire meal was excellent! We began with the house mesclun salad followed by our entrees: Alaskan Salmon with a lemon caper beurre sauce & Steak Diane, prepared tableside with a tomato- mushroom sauce. The filet mignon was fork tender. For dessert we had bananas foster and Marion Berry Cheesecake. The service from the entire wait staff superb! The Sage Room is a definite must while in South Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We eat here every time we come to Lake Tahoe. They have the best steaks in town.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Whenever I am in Tahoe I go to the Sage room. Ozzie and his servers are great and work hard to take care of you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lack customer service. Servers paid attention to larger tables. We didn't get checked on. Food took over an hour to get to us. Overly priced, dark and not what we expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This place is amazing..it's inside Harvey's Hotel so there is no view but the walls are covered in original western art, like Remington's, and it's definitely a red meat place. Many of the dishes, including Steak Diane, Caesar Salad and various flaming desserts are prepared tableside and with great flair. Our waiters, Teddy and Jeromy were outstanding and you should request them.
This place is not inexpensive, but it is definitely fine dining at its best. It's worth the trip and you should make reservations a few days in advance to ensure a good table. For more privacy, request a banquette.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The dining experience was excellent. Server and atmosphere are great. Food is also excellent. Will come back again for trying other food. Thx Sage Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

When I entered the Restaurant the manager ran out of the restaurant, very strange. I waited about 10 minutes to check in. I explained I made a reservation on OpenTable and he did not even apply the reservation to my account. I was seated at a nice booth and was about to leave after being ignored by the sever for more that 20 minutes. Terrible experience and I will never return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The service couldn't have been better! The beef wellington-fabulous! Cheeries Jubilee-delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our anniversary the food and service was excellent, great social place! We look forward to returning in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely, well-prepared dinner with a dear friend before Paul Simon's concert at Harvey's. Service was VERY attentive & gracious, meal was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on June 23, 2017

Underwhelming just so so tableside service was cool but the food wasn't great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A friend recommended the Sage Room! Don't let the location in the middle of Harvey's Casino fool you! It is awesome once you enter the doors! Service and food is exceptional! Get the Sage Signature steak! Awesome! The Spinach Salad 🥗 was awesome! Definitely get the after dinner FIRE coffee!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was overall delicious though bake potatoes not steaming . Staff was friendly . Room was rustic, cozy and fairly noisy. Make sure
To bring your confirmation as we needed to prove we had a reservation to the host. Nice option for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful time here! We enjoyed the ambiance and the service equally as the meal. We celebrated our 30th anniversary in South Lake Tahoe. Made dinner reservations at The Sage restaurant before going to a magic show at Harrahs. This restaurant came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. The best anniversary dinner experience we've had in a long time. The steak Diane was fabulous! Hubby had the ribeye steak and it was very tender and flavorful. We shared Oyster Rockefeller appetizer. It was the best oysters we've had. You must try them if you love oysters. They were delicious. Truly an amazing experience! We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.