Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (54)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Cozy (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (16)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were married in Lake Tahoe back in 1992 and dined at the Sage Room during our wedding weekend. We loved the experience and the food back then. We returned after 25 years to celebrate our 25th weeding anniversary and were not disappointed. The food was great, the service was top notch and loved the atmosphere. The only disappointment? When we arrived, the person at the front desk greeted us and wished us a Happy Anniversary. Unfortunately that was not passed onto the waiter, as he failed to acknowledge our anniversary. Other than that, we had a great time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was great until they brought the entrees out. The ribeye had no flavor and was a poor cut of meat. The rack of lamb was mushy, with poor taste. The blackened tuna and caesar salad appetizers were excellent. Service was great as well. Very disappointed with the entrees though. Will not be returning

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing! The best dinner I’ve ever had. 5 STARS! Will definatley be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Love this old style restaurant. Great atmosphere, service and food. First class place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Ask for maitre'd Ozzie and Bill at the bar.
I'll go again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again best restaurant for steaks and lobster old school traditional Tahoe tradition

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Awesome food and a great atmosphere. It's a steakhouse.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Food and service was exceptional. Good selection choices for appetizers, main course, and desserts. Price was a tad high but worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We came for our Anniversary and it was a WONDERFUL romantic setting with amazing food. I LOVE that the Sage room is still the same after all these years it feels like an old friend that I can visit from time to time so comforting :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We dined at the Sage Room this past Saturday evening. Service was really poor! We waited for a long time just to be noticed by our server. We ordered q pricey dinner and was so disappointed in the food quality! We will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went to the Sage Room to celebrate a special birthday and they treated us like royalty. The food and service was excellent. The restaurant is cozy, yet comfortable. Even though it is nestled in a casino, it is very quiet in the restaurant and you feel like you're somewhere else. I highly recommend this for a special night out as it is expensive.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always a special treat! You can always count on Sage to deliver perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I took my beautiful girlfriend out for a nice date. The Sage room was everything I was hoping for. The environment was romantic with the dim lights and glow candle at the table. The staff was so attentive and great. The food was amazing at every bite. I highly recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent service. The food was wonderful and everything came out in a timely manner. We will definitely been more next time we are in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was amazing and the wait staff was awesome and on point. Great wine list.
Awesome rib steak and sea bass.
Thanks for a great dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had eaten at the Sage Room previously and once again, they did not disappoint. My husband bravely tried the pepper and expresso crusted elk and it was delicious, cooked a perfect medium rare. My Beef Wellington was also great and cooked to perfection. Both came with generous vegetable sides which you don't always find at steak houses. Service was freindly and professional. We will return to Sage House on our next trip to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The service was good as was the food. The only thing we didn't come across in other reviews was that it is inside the Casino therefore there is not really any ambiance and the smell of thick cigarette smoke from the Casino is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

My porterhouse steak was done perfectly and delicious; and my wife’s beef Wellington was superb and could cut with a fork tender. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Truly amazing experience excellent meal and presentation special attentive service and enhanced my birthday celebration. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Impecabale service and great food. Menu had good variety. We found Historic old school steakhouse a nice surprise and would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Sage is such a special restaurant
waiters are very attentive, the food is wonderful
and the ambiance is outstanding

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

One of the favorite places for a great meal, quiet , nice break from Casino. We seem to always order their wonderful steaks. Enjoy the table side spinach salad , great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent food and a good wine list. The atmosphere is very pleasant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Sage Room was wonderful. The service and food were great. We had a wonderful time celebrating our 30th anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waiter did not come to table for 30 minutes. Steak undercooked. This place has gone downhill fast. Did not ask if we wanted to place an order until we asked to be served, did not mention the specials, and when told the martini was not drinkable, didn't even bother to replace it. Third time it's been bad, and customers should expect a little better service when spending that type of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were immediately greeted with hello and smiles. They also wished us a happy anniversary as well. The wait staff which was lead by Evan were awesome! We did not have to wait long for our drinks and the timing of the food was superb. Thank you Sage Restaurant for making our dining experience a memorable one. Also the complimentary dessert was delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Ambience very nice;. Romantic and a great place for our anniversary dinner.

Unfortunately, about 45 min after being seated a large party of 50 or more were seated in the middle of the dining room. It got extremely loud and the few staffers were literally running around to cover their section and the very large party.

We felt somewhat neglected once they started taking orders for the large party. Our server was no longer able to prepare/demonstrate and serve our chateaubriand for two and cherries jubilee at the table, so the back up server did.

The back up server didn't quite seem to be as knowledgeable with the preparation or demonstration of the cherries jubilee (flambé).
There were hardly any cherries in our servings and a huge bowl of them were remaining on the prep cart. One of the liqueurs was never added and the preparation steps were not being shared like our server did earlier (and with gusto) with the salad preparation at the table. We had to keep asking what was being added.

Don't get me wrong, what was on our plate was delicious but the main ingredient of the dessert was lacking which made it very disappointing, especially for the price!

Our server and back up server were both extremely nice but we're dealing with a very difficult task to the best of their abilities for such a huge crowd, which is why I gave 4/5 stars. We tipped very well knowing it wasn't the servers fault.

The restaurant manager should have planned better when bringing in such a large party at prime time dinner time. And, a better seating arrangement for such a large party could have been figured out to help reduce the noise level for the rest of those trying to have an enjoyable dining experience at a high end restaurant.

I felt bad for the back up server who was trying to pick up where the server could not without thorough training before being on their own.

As for the chateaubriand for two; extremely tender but lacking in flavor. Everything else tasted exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I would highly recommend this place over and above any others around.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, and great experience! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always outstanding. Have never been disappointed. Cannot say the same of other restaurants at Harvey's or Harrahs Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our food came out and sat for 5 minutes before we were served. Turned warm, not hot like we expected. Restaurant did nothing but apoligize. Too expensive for such a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Really enjoyed our time st Sage. The manager and host were so nice and seated you within a short time to your table. Our waiter was Teddy and he was wonderful. Very attentive. Made us a wonderful Caesar salad right at our table. Additionally, I had the sea bass and my husband had Prime Rib. Both were outstanding! I highly recommend Sage. Tnink you will enjoy your visit.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always love coming to the Sage Room. The quiet ambiance, sitting in a booth (tip a little, get a booth) and of course the dinner. We had oysters on the half shell and they were creamy, salty and tasted like the ocean. Steaks were cooked to perfection and the creamed spinach is always a favorite. After dinner came the Cherries Jubilee complete with tableside flames while the dessert was made in front of us. Always a treat! We come here once or twice a year. The Sage Room is expensive, but worth it in every sense.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Terrific steakhouse. We are always pleased. There is attention to detail with scaring attitude. Cy was a great waiter. We celebrated a belated 25th Anniversary and we're not disappointed. We will continue to come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best place ever... food and service were spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We went for a birthday. Staff was super nice. Special menu printed for the occasion, super nice touch. GREAT table made Cesar's salad. Love their ribeye and chateaubriand, always good. Waiters are always top notch here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Love the Sage room have been coming here for years. Food and the service is the best.. thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The Sage Room is a staple for my husband and I any time we go to Tahoe. The food and service are fantastic. Love the tableside Caesar salad and the filet mignon is killer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We love the Sage Room. The food and service is excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or just for an amazing meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were on our annual labor day trip from Livermore and met up with our brother and sister in law so I recommended Sage for dinner. We had an 845 reso, got there 10 min early and were seated right away. We were taken care of from beginning to end. The scallops were cooked perfectly the Ribeye was delicious and cooked exactly medium rare. My brother in law had shrimp and he never orders shrimp. Said they were the best he has had. The lobster bisque was creamy and had chunks of sweet lobster. My sister in law had the salmon and cooked to perfection .
I wished we had room for dessert, they are cooked table side and looked fun and delicious.
I thought the meals were priced exactly how a 5 star restaurant should be. You get what you pay for .
I would highly recommend Sage to everyone. Thank you for a great time., excellent service and amazing food.
Sincerely,
The Joiners
Livermore, CA

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Every time my husband and I are in Tahoe we always have a date night at Sage Room. The steak Diane is AMAZING!! The service is phenomenal. Never disappoints!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.