Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (41)
GoodForDates (29)
Romance (28)
See All
Anniversaries (21)
NotableWineList (18)
QuietConversation (13)
Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (11)
Foodies (10)
PrePostTheatre (7)
CreativeCuisine (7)
BusinessMeals (7)
WorthTheDrive (7)
Historic (6)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Groups (5)
ComfortFood (4)
BarSeating (4)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
HotSpot (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
Seasonal (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
GlutenFree (1)
LocalIngredients (1)
TastingMenu (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
HappyHour (1)
LateNightFind (1)
Waterfront (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Underwhelming just so so tableside service was cool but the food wasn't great

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was overall delicious though bake potatoes not steaming . Staff was friendly . Room was rustic, cozy and fairly noisy. Make sure
To bring your confirmation as we needed to prove we had a reservation to the host. Nice option for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

A friend recommended the Sage Room! Don't let the location in the middle of Harvey's Casino fool you! It is awesome once you enter the doors! Service and food is exceptional! Get the Sage Signature steak! Awesome! The Spinach Salad 🥗 was awesome! Definitely get the after dinner FIRE coffee!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful time here! We enjoyed the ambiance and the service equally as the meal. We celebrated our 30th anniversary in South Lake Tahoe. Made dinner reservations at The Sage restaurant before going to a magic show at Harrahs. This restaurant came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. The best anniversary dinner experience we've had in a long time. The steak Diane was fabulous! Hubby had the ribeye steak and it was very tender and flavorful. We shared Oyster Rockefeller appetizer. It was the best oysters we've had. You must try them if you love oysters. They were delicious. Truly an amazing experience! We will definitely dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This restaurant is very expensive. Presentation and service were very good and we enjoyed the evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Dinner at Harvey's "Sage Room". Old school recipes and classic preparations.

A restaurant critic says
"Old dishes don’t fade away – they retire to steakhouse menus. But that’s not always a bad thing as the Sage Room proves .... Never miss the opportunity for a tableside flambé, done here with both Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee."

Well, being firm proponants of tableside flambé we had three flambéd dishes. Spinach salad with warm bacon vinigrette, Steak Diane, and Cafe Diablos for desert. We just didn't have room for Bananas Foster.

We still couldn't get the low ceiling to ignite! 😅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service, excellent food, wonderful ambiance, would highly recommend it to everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere was very, very good. I had the Rib Eye Steak and my wife had the Beef Wellington. Our waiter was trying way too hard to be funny, he ignored our table for most of our meal and he missed most of the basic things you expect a waiter to do.

Luckily, the food is so good that we will be back....the weak service won't be enough to keep us away.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The ambience was absolutely wonderful! The meal was delicious! The service was impeccable!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We enjoyed dinner here prior to a show and were not disappointed. The service was wonderful, through Mark and Sharon. We shared the spinach salad for two and it was prepared tableside - wonderful. The meal we shared was filet mignon and jumbo shrimp and was excellent. We were too full to sample any dessert. Prices are high, so I would save this for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The Sage Room is a restaurant we go to every time we come to South Lake Tahoe. The food is great and the service is also. My wife loves the table side prepared Steak Diane. We also usually get the table side prepared Spinach Salad for two.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were overjoyed at our decision to eat at Sage Room.
First off the food was excellent! The waiters were attentive and knowledgeable about the specials and the menu. They came back to the table several times to ask if we needed anything and how we liked our selection.
The atmosphere was nice.
We never felt rushed even though the restaurant was busy.
Definitely one of the hi lights of our stay at Harvey's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Would definitely return. Service friendly- Teddy was great!
The decor is a little worn.
Food was good - had Caesar salad for 2 made tableside. Split the porterhouse. Added an extra baked potato and veggies. All good.
Next time I will definitely try the Vietnamese coffee - Teddy is quite an artiste! 😀

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food is fantastic! Staff is efficient and attentive. Love the Sage Room!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My meal was not prepared as I wanted. And when they brought my new meal I wasn't in the mood to eat it

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 29, 2017

There are many steak house options in the South Lake Tahoe/Stateline area. I reviewed menus and prices before picking Sage. I feel pricing is appropriately set for the excellent service, menu and quality of dishes. Our wedge and Caprese salads were about the best we've had. My guy's rib eye melted in his mouth. I saw several men eye it as they walked past our table. One stopped to verify which steak he chose and ordered it for himself. My Beef Wellington was plated beautifully and very tasty.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Second time dinning here, why I gave it a second chance is beyond me! First time I had the Prime Rib so tough you could not chew it when I complained I was told I shouldn't have ordered such a thick cut of meat! My question was then why do you serve it?
Second chance the wife and I had the Chateaubriand so tough I was done after two bites! They won't get a third chance I have learned my lesson.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Heard that the steaks were excellent and was not disappointed. I order the Beef Wellington and it was truly fantastic. Great atmosphere and service although my one comment was the waiter was a little aloof and not really personable. Didn't really affect our meal just noticed it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food definitely go back again had a great time with friends and family

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our meal and service was top notch. The staff was absolutely fantastic. I had the Lobster Bisk to start and it rivaled anything I have had in New Orleans. Had the Filet & Lobster Tail for my meal, the steak was perfectly cooked and the Lobster Tail melted in your mouth.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I have been dining at the Sage Room for 40 years. I used to live in South Lake Tahoe but still come back at least once a year...usually to celebrate my birthday. Caesar salad is fantastic. Lobster is unbelievably good. Great martinis! Wonderful service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A wonderful restaurant with impeccable service and extremely good food. We were never hurried and were waited on by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very quiet atmosphere and a wonderful wine list. Strongly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Way over priced for food and service was unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

3 words only: never never again

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was excellent. They were very prompt and helpful. Food was yummy. There was a set of diners who were complaining that they did not get a booth, and that did kill some of the quiet romantic vibe bc they kept whining each time a booth was open and someone had left.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food! Wish I could afford dining here more!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Banana's Flambe was not up to the standards we recall. There was too little sauce. Noise level increased significantly when what appeared to be a large group of local guests (Law Enforcement) arrived and garnered much of the staffs attention. Service was slow. No one came back to pick up our payment in a reasonable period of time, even though business appeared to be light. Had to take my bill to the Bar Tender for processing. Will be looking for a new Steak House in Tahoe

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have had many enjoyable meals at the Sage Room over the years and expect to pay a little more for a restaurant of this caliber. However, they have now raised their prices to such an exorbitant level that I fear we won't be returning anytime soon. Entrees are $50-$60 each so for the two of us to have a salad and an entree (no dessert), I had one glass of wine and my husband two scotches and the bill was $220! The steaks were good but outstanding, especially not at those prices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Sage Room is a lovely place to go for a special dinner. The service is impeccable and the staff so professional. Food very elegant. However the noise level from the small bar was ridiculous!!! A group of men, very loud and so out of place for this lovely restaurant. Why for the life of me, they have an open bar there, is beyond my imagination. This would be fine for people to sit while waiting for their tables but not for the guys having a good time. It totally ruined our dinner. We left half way through. We felt like we were dining at a pub. They should get rid of the open bar. There is another bar right outside the door of the restaurant, this one isn't necessary. Very, very disappointed as we have been there numerous times over the years!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our family loves good food & an adventure. The 1940's authentic atmosphere & steak house fit the bill perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, great food & impeccable service. Hal (working there for 28yrs!) & Jose were our servers. They catered to our every need & picky teenage eaters. They made them feel special & of course, they loved the flambé desserts!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Sage Room is amazing have been going there for 32 yrs! Love it!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

the food and service was great. Ozi was, as always, wonderful. My whole family loves him. Who ever he assigns to our table does a great job, no matter if it is 2 of us or 20 of us. Thanks again for having such a great place to have great food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great but too noisy. And the waiters cook for you next to your table for some of the dishes so get ready to get smelled :) food was awesome and I absolutely love the comp beads because they are so warm, soft and delicious. Great food great evening and great service. Definitely go back for next time soon. :) yay!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We've been to The Sage Room many times & it never disappoints!! Tonight though was exceptionally good. I finally had the beef Wellington & it was the best restaurant meal I've ever had. Not to mention the caeser salad we started with was amazing!! A++++++ meal. Thank you to the professional staff & top notch chefs

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great old steakhouse decor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to the Sage Room since 1960. It has been consistently outstanding over all of these years.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food here is not bad by any means but it is just not $50 per dish good. Maybe I have too much expectation, but I think their steak taste similar to what you would get from black angus or outback steak house with very little attention to detail. So it is huge disappointment for me personally. However, everything else is pretty good. Caesar salad is great and staff are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, great service, truly a gem! This is "old school" fine dining at its best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We ordered Frogs' legs, the spinach salad served table side, the elk chop special and the ribeye special. Everything we ordered was outstanding. Temperature of both the elk chop and ribeye were a perfect medium rare. The service could not have been better. We visit Sage Room every trip to South Lake.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food, service and presentation were all amazing. Tableside prep on several items (salad, steak Diane- yummy- and bananas foster--double yummy) was a lovely signature feature. Ahi tuna appetizer was superb, as was the onion soup. We are actually going back again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.