About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
6 More
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Sage room in Harvey's casion is abou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Sage room in Harvey's casion is about as old school as you can get for a steakhouse. Lots of red meat, steak and lobster, and classic entrees make it seem like you're back in the mid 60s. Food is expensive, yet delicious. Appetizers run about $20 per; the GF and I split a wedge salad and my 12 oz. NY prime was $75. GF had petit filet and lobster for $85. Desserts are classic old-school; I hadn't seen cherries jubilee on a menu for at least 20 years. We had another classic for dessert, bananas Foster, prepared tableside with all the requisite whooshing flambé.

They have a full bar; drinks are good and strong. The wine list is good, but limited; if you're looking for a good Bordeaux to go with your carni-fest, there aren't a lot of options like you would find in newer steak houses, particularly in Vegas.

Ambience is understated; there's no music, live or canned, and it's very easy to have a conversation. Lighting is good and you feel intimate without thinking you're in a cave with a birthday cake candle.

Service is top-notch, as you would expect, not overly-zealous and very professional. I imagine the waitstaff and maître'd have been there forever.

It ain't cheap, but good casino restaurants rarely are. Yet if you're looking to pass a couple leisurely hours with good, high-style comfort food, this is as good a place as I've found.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You can't go wrong with either the steak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

You can't go wrong with either the steaks or seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual. Great food, service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as usual. Great food, service and ambiance. Celebrating a birthday and enjoyed a happy birthday chocolate mousse! Highly recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I'm in Tahoe (with family, fr ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Every time I'm in Tahoe (with family, friends or a get away with my wife) we always eat at the Sage Room. This was a special golf trip with my adult son, and it was GREAT as always.

We'll be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was much noisier than I expected. To ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was much noisier than I expected. To their credit there was no background music to make sound lives even higher. I was disappointed when they said they do not give Harrahs/Harvey's the locals 20% discount

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Jose was very good. Ho ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great. Jose was very good. However, once Hal the wait person knew we weren't going to have a HUGE bill, he was not very pleasant. THIS WAS OUR 44th Annivresary and his lack of attention and unpleasantness did NOT give us a memorable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Sage Room -- Where the Diners are on the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sage Room -- Where the Diners are on the Menu!

Special Birthday dinner for hubby.....traditional steakhouse menu sounded perfect, and the Sage Room delivered. Entertaining and well trained wait staff (one of the waiters has worked here 40 years) prepare Steak Diane and salads table-side, dress your baked potato when it's delivered, and the steaks were perfectly prepared. Wine list is adequate, could use some additions.

During the hour and a half of our enjoyable dinner, we were aware of the high noise level (perhaps some acoustic adjustments could help this?), but had no way of knowing we were actually part of the menu for the FLEAS living under our table. Wearing long slacks and sandals resulted in too many bites to count on both legs, all the way to my knees! Still itching, I phoned the hotel today to let them know, and the housekeeping department is asking Engineering to do something about it. I hope they do, but in the meantime, ladies, wear your tall boots to dinner here!

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Classic table side service; experienced ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Classic table side service; experienced waiters; old time ambience; great find

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sage Restaurant is great! We celebrated ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sage Restaurant is great! We celebrated birthdays and our waiter Mark made the dinner even better with his great attitude and jovial demeanor. I recommend the Sage for any occasion, but even better if planning a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been enjoying this staple of Sout ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been enjoying this staple of South Lake Tahoe for 45 years. It is the only fine-dining restaurant anywhere near Stateline that has remained in large part to its original concept. Always best if you can enjoy it when you can take a leisurely stroll "home" to a room in the hotel but a wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion or have a very romantic, "old-school" beautiful, classic experience. Now, if only they could bring back the Top of the Wheel, Ron Rose, ahhh, well, we have this .... Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little concerned about eating ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were a little concerned about eating at the Sage Room due to its location and dark ambiance! So glad we did! First, the service was amazing. The staff is expertly trained in unique table side delivery of salad, drinks and dessert. Very impressive and fun to watch. Our food was excellent. The historic interior - first casino on the strip - was beautiful. YOU should go! We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is our go to restaurant while in La ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our go to restaurant while in Lake Tahoe. The food is amazing. Steaks are always tender and cooked to perfection. The fish is fresh and wonderfully prepared. Banana Foster prepared table side, perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a really excellent meal. Every ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a really excellent meal. Everything was prepared properly, and the service was friendly and professional. The place is like a time warp to the cocktail era, in a good way, with all the table-side flambé preparations you could ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took our grand daughter, who just turned ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Took our grand daughter, who just turned 12 yrs. old to dinner. She is the 5th generation to dine at the Sage Room. Passing along the tradition! She was very impressed as we all were our first time :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome never a disappointment! Restaura ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome never a disappointment! Restaurant maitre d is the best he makes the Ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and ambiance for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance for a romantic evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have dined in this restaurant quite a fe ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Have dined in this restaurant quite a few times over a span of 38 years and have always loved it. My wife and I in fact worked and met at Harveys some 39 years ago (and were married at Edgewood). Which is why we look forward to celebrating our anniversary at the Sage Room. While we have always been aware that it is expensive to dine there, the quality of food and service always made the cost justifiable - especially for a special occasion. For the first time ever, this was certainly not the case! Our cocktails, salad, and both entrees were edible at best. The only bright stars were the escargot and crème brulee. We are not the type to complain so, no, we did not say anything. Also, since we informed them of the occasion and how long we've been dining here, we would have thought they would at least offer to treat us to a dessert. Needless to say, we were not pleased or impressed with our visit to the Sage Room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated my husband's birthday ther ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday there! Service by Diana and Mark was outstanding! Harvey's is blessed to have such awesome staff! The Beef Wellington was so good!!!!! We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here many times. The food is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been here many times. The food is always great and the setting is perfect. I don't continue to come back for value. While the food is excellent, the prices are very high but the experience is worth it for us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything except our baked pot ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We loved everything except our baked potatoes were under cooked, but the steaks were perfect !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not our first time here, rather ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was not our first time here, rather loved it so much have come back again and again.

This is an "old fashion" steakhouse...with all the best of a classic. Menu is excellent, service was focused on attention to details. A booth was requested on our reservations and was waiting for us when we arrived. I will say as a vegetarian, they did have something on the menu for me as well as steak and lobster for my hubby who enjoyed his quiet birthday celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cesar salad was a bit over powering. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Cesar salad was a bit over powering. All you could taste was the garlic. I've had better salads during my visit's, but this one was not up to par.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you want a great option for dinner bo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If you want a great option for dinner book it well in advance as walk ups are not to be expected. Worth every penny every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb and it was excellent. Th ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had the lamb and it was excellent. The service was great and the atmosphere was very good. I will eat there again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been at this restaurant many times, it n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Been at this restaurant many times, it never fails to impress me. From the menu, wine list, pre-dinner cocktail in the bar, and the excellent servers, everything was perfect. Anytime I get up to Lake Tahoe, I eat at the Sage Room--always special and never a disappointment! I'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth chateaubriand with cl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Melt in your mouth chateaubriand with classic tableside presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the bone-in rib eye with Cajun seaso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had the bone-in rib eye with Cajun seasoning along with caprese salad... Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great traditional steak house ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a great traditional steak house in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I come here for special occasions as it ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I come here for special occasions as it is a little pricey. But they continue to be the best place to have that special dinner. Our waiter was exceptional, always there when needed but not hovering. And the food is A+. I couldn't give it a higher rating.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We requested a "quiet table for 2" and t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We requested a "quiet table for 2" and the Host tried to seat us at a table looking out into the casino and next to the bar. We asked if we could please have a different table and he informed us that all of the booths were reserved. Well....we didn't request a booth. He did "allow us" to pick a different table and we found a nice table for 2 that was further into the restaurant and very quiet. The wait staff were outstanding so that made up for the lousy treatment from the Host.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy our visits to the sage r ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to the sage room. It's hard to find fine dining anymore.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious but the service was n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious but the service was neglectful. It was obvious that once we said we were not there to gamble, we were pretty much ignored. Next time we will try a different seakhouse, we will not go back to The Sage Room again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been coming here for over fifty y ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have been coming here for over fifty years and was very disappointed. I have always enjoyed the prime rib but this time it was dry and appeared to have been heated in a micro wave. The salad consisted of wilted lettuce. We were very dsappointed and decided that this was are last trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Food and service was great, especially O ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service was great, especially Ozi and the orange peel coffee drink

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always cooked to perfection. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is always cooked to perfection. . If you like old-school dining -hot plates, child salad forks, table side service completed with an atmosphere of flambe's then look no further.. except if you want a high-stakes poker right out the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was not that good and the other ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was not that good and the other tables talking on there phones.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We have been going to the Sage Room for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have been going to the Sage Room for years and we have never been disappointed. We started with the spinach salad for two - 5 stars. I had the rack of lamb and would give it 4.5 stars. My wife had the bison again 4.5 stars. Great wine and our waiter Teodoro was 5 stars.

We'll be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the 60s - waiters in tuxes, food rolled out on carts, dim lighting and big portions. Had a fun time, but the menu is expensive, so unless you're flush with newly won cash, there are better restaurants in the area, especially at or below this price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We were not greeted by the hostess. She ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were not greeted by the hostess. She simply looked at me ( dead pan). I told her we had a reservation, again nothing. I asked if she wanted my name, again no verbalization. She simply walked us to our table. I would hope someone trains the young lady quickly. Other circumstances I'd have walked out. Escargot had no garlic, lots of butter though. French onion soup delish! The porterhouse the best we've had in years. Banana's Foster, ambrosia!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A classic casino steak house with great ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A classic casino steak house with great food and excellent service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.