Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Historic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Fun (6)
Family Style (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, service and presentation were all amazing. Tableside prep on several items (salad, steak Diane- yummy- and bananas foster--double yummy) was a lovely signature feature. Ahi tuna appetizer was superb, as was the onion soup. We are actually going back again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Not really worth to price but you don't have many choices. Casino's once offered value but not any more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server was outstanding and humorous. We come here almost every visit to Lake Tahoe. Ive noticed the staff doesnt change much and I can see why. They love what they do and it shows thru their impeccable service. The tableside preparation of classic Caesar Salad takes you back to a different era when a meal was prepares with care. It was delicious. The Filet Mignon was juicy and tender. Wish this place was closer to where I live!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The prices are just too high for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great bone in cajun style rib eye steak.
Wait team of EVAN and PAUL were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Old school steak house in the Harvey's Casino. Cesar's salad made table side. Wait staff in tuxes. Steak was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was a lovely ambience , great friendly servers and great food. I had the elk it was on the special, it was great! We were their during winter storm so wine was limited selection as roads were closed. We were still able to get great wine with dinner. Thanks guys at sage room.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was wonderful and our server was awesome too!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was slow but friendly. Food was good but not the best ever. Huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for my dads birthday. Great wait staff and service! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere Ozzie and team are awesome

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our annual trip to Tahoe always includes dining at the Sage Room. They have been consist on every level for the past 12 years

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Attentive, well-paced service. Exceptional food and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Favorite spot in Lake Tahoe. Food, service and atmosphere is A+

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentines Day 2017. We had great service and a very nice dinner. The steak was good quality and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great will go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On vacation , My Husband and I went twice in three days because the food and service was so great! We needed to try more of their delicious food.

Can't wait til' we come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tahoe Gem Restaurant. Always enjoy fine food and bar. Great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We never venture elsewhere when looking for a wonderful dinner. We know that The Sage Room will not fail us. Excellent service and food every time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Most everything was good. The chocolate mousse left a lot to be desired though. Tasted like they went with a cheap chocolate, which would explain the poor taste. We only had a couple bites. One of the rare occasions I didn't finish my dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Haven't been in the Sage Room in years and was very happy with the food and service. We definitely won't wait so long next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best steak in Nevada. Blackened ribeye is amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Sage Room has excellent steaks and seafood, you will not be disappointed! I will return every time I am in Tahoe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

For the first time in many times dining here, we were disappointed. For a high end restaurant, we felt it did not meet our expectations this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Casual atmosphere restaurant serving great food and thus creating a memorable dining experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had the Chateaubriand for 2, excellent. Also had the onion soup, one of the best I have had. Dinner for 2 with a cocktail each bill was $150 with tip, thought the price was OK for a special occasion (birthday). Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service . Great dinner items and dessert .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service is quite nice. We had a reservation and they took us in immediately. The waiters are nice.

The food is overall OK. I ordered scallop and was disappointed. Somehow the scallop tastes bitter. My husband ordered stake and it was not that impressive either. One thing bothered me the most is the dish we ordered for my son. It was said kids sized pasta but what we got was a huge bowl. He finished maybe 1/5 of it and it was such a waste. Considering the food quality, the price is way too high. We have had many expensive dinners before. With $200+, I expect much higher quality.

I have seen some people ordered desert and it looks really good. Not sure how good they taste though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The entire experience was exquisite. The staff are top notch...elegant, but not snobby. We had the Steak Diane and Beef Wellington. Both were expertly prepared and melt-in-your-mouth scrumptious. The Steak Diane was flambéed table-side. Perfection! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love the Sage Room. We've been dining there since the early 70"s. Many good memories. The service, the food , the ambiance, OUTSTANDING!!! Love the maitre D, he was so gracious, and seated me immediately -- & we were 1/2 an hr. late. (however I called, we were stuck in snow traffic) My husband & brother -in-law, Ralph Barsi are Craps champions! Love all of you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 14, 2017

While staying in Lake Tahoe for vacation, we celebrated my sons 22nd birthday with a memorable dinner at the Sage Room. Enjoyed a prime rib dinner with baked potato, vegetables and a desert of Bananas Foster. Did not disappoint with excellent service, Frank Sinatra-dimly-lit ambiance and delicious melt-in-your-mouth steak. The desert gets prepared at your table by the waiter- with more flames than a Hawaiian fire dance. A slice of chocolate cake with a lighted candle and a cheer of "happy birthday" made the evening complete.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was as to be expecteded for the price range, excellent steak cooked perfectly with solid sides. One in our party ordered the elk chop which was extremely tender and well prepared. The highlight of the meal was our waiter Hal and his assistant who prepared our desert, both were very professional and attentive. The table side prep they do for the deserts is top notch! There was a couple who came in just to order desert (they mentioned they were having dinner there the following g night), that says a lot in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The server was not very attentive. We had to ask for certain things that were automatically give to other guest/tables. We asked for our steaks to be medium and we got medium rare. The servers helper did not know approximately how many glass of wine are in a half bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I originally booked for wrong night, they graciously found us a table even though they were busy. We had salmon, sea bass and lamb. All were cooked to perfection. I have dined here numerous times in the past. We have also enjoyed the table side preparation of some of their flaming steak and deserts, its a neat visual treat if you are in the mood for that particular menu item. Lighting is dark and can be quiet and romantic depending on which table you are seated at.

As good as the food/atmosphere are, its only topped by Evan (our food server) that we request each time we go. He is the consummate professional who is very knowledgeable in regards to wine and food. However, if you are in the mood for some levity and wit, he is your guy. He is the jewel of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Would never go back... the food was awful and service was less than ideal! Steak was tough, mashed potatoes came from a box, their wine selection is poor for a high end restaurant. Overall, I'd give it a 1 star. $350 for 2 people.. I'd rather eat at Ruth's Chris or any other chain steak house.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've eaten there twice before and was very satisfied, but this time, not so much....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Favorite place to go every time. Amazing food and service. Filet and lobster... my go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Reunion with childhood friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It took 50 minutes to get our order. It was just two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Made reservations for free but had to leave father in law home! Ah! Too bad, wife and I had a great time at our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.