About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
7 More
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

Special Occasion (79)
Romantic (58)
Notable Wine List (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious. Can ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious. Can't recommend enough!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great old school with table side Caesar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great old school with table side Caesar salad and attentive service. The atmosphere is original but kept in top condition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for me. I have had a lot b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Too expensive for me. I have had a lot better steaks for less money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seven of us were together to celebrate a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Seven of us were together to celebrate an 80th, 60th and a 21stbirthday. Our waiter Hal was exceptionally rude. His assistants fumbled everything. Gave the wrong food, gave my sister a cold fork for herlobster bisque and a steak knife for her salmon. We had to refill our own wine glasses. Pretty sureHal rolled his eyes when no one ordered dessert. Then he refused to take a group photo. The food was excellent but we all left with a bitter taste in our mouths after dropping $650 on dinner andgetting such poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

In my opinion, the Sage Room is the best ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

In my opinion, the Sage Room is the best place for a steak in Tahoe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The prices are way too high for the food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The prices are way too high for the food...my prime rib was totally mediocre...it was a pale, grayish pink, mostly fat (I had ordered medium rare).. the waiter forgot to bring my wife's entree, thought she just wanted salad...

This restaurant has gone downhill...we had been here many times in the past!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Simply outstanding, service was great an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Simply outstanding, service was great and the table side preparation is always entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cozy with excellent food and servic ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very cozy with excellent food and service. Great place to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the overall experience was very good. th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

the overall experience was very good. the server Mark and I believe Shannon were on top of things, the busser also. the only complaint was the busser made the tableside

Caesar and it was not very good. did not understand why!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was exceptional. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steakhouse. Many of the entree ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent steakhouse. Many of the entrees and appetizers are prepared table side and it's a really fun thing to watch. The food is very very good. My only negative is the prices. Most entrees are $55-$65 each. Knock off $20 on every entree and I'd give it another star. I also think they should have a dress code and enforce it. No shorts or flip-flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Excellent preparation. Table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food. Excellent preparation. Table side service impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived before our scheduled time, an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We arrived before our scheduled time, and decided to just sit at the bar and dine. Good choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go to the Sage Room every ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I go to the Sage Room every time we are in Tahoe and for the last 6 years, it never disappoints! The food is incredible, the entire staff is great but if you get the chance, request Teddy! He will take a great dining experience to the next level! Highly recommend the steak Diane !

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Wasn't our first time ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great restaurant. Wasn't our first time and definitely will not be our last! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old fashioned steak house with great ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

An old fashioned steak house with great food and service.

Dinner for a couple would normally be $100 to $200.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food and the atmosphere ar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

As always the food and the atmosphere are outstanding. Having been a patron for many years, the restaurant never fails to call me back for another round of great food and extremely friendly and caring staff. They are masters of their craft.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is noise and crowded for an u ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Atmosphere is noise and crowded for an upscale restaurant. Food was decent over priced and over cooked. Service was very poor. We finished our meal with out drinks. Had to ask for waiter twice. 30 min after we finished we finally flagged or waiter down for our check.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I hate to say but I will never go back t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I hate to say but I will never go back to the sage Room. They were so busy that it took over one hour for the waiter to take our order. When we complained they said sorry but we took 220 reservations today and we are slammed. That should not be my problem that your staff can't keep up with all the people you said you would accommodate. Our reservation was at 8 and we got our food at 9:40. We were so disappointed. The food was good but not worth waiting that long nor worth the price. We had to send a cocktail back twice to be made correctly and that even took 20 mins. This was the worst ever and even when we complained the server could have cared less. NOT WORTH THE $$$ you have to pay at this place. The waiter dropped off the check and we had to go track him down to pay it. AWFUL!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was horrible!!! Lobster was unde ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was horrible!!! Lobster was under cooked. There's no excuse for a steakhouse not to get it right all the time! Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

As always, Hal, was the best. It was an ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As always, Hal, was the best. It was an early evening dinner before a concert. Nothing too special, but the food and drink make it seem that way!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sage room has been one of my favorit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Sage room has been one of my favorites since the 1980's. the food and service has remained excellent from day one.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sage room in Harvey's casion is abou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Sage room in Harvey's casion is about as old school as you can get for a steakhouse. Lots of red meat, steak and lobster, and classic entrees make it seem like you're back in the mid 60s. Food is expensive, yet delicious. Appetizers run about $20 per; the GF and I split a wedge salad and my 12 oz. NY prime was $75. GF had petit filet and lobster for $85. Desserts are classic old-school; I hadn't seen cherries jubilee on a menu for at least 20 years. We had another classic for dessert, bananas Foster, prepared tableside with all the requisite whooshing flambé.

They have a full bar; drinks are good and strong. The wine list is good, but limited; if you're looking for a good Bordeaux to go with your carni-fest, there aren't a lot of options like you would find in newer steak houses, particularly in Vegas.

Ambience is understated; there's no music, live or canned, and it's very easy to have a conversation. Lighting is good and you feel intimate without thinking you're in a cave with a birthday cake candle.

Service is top-notch, as you would expect, not overly-zealous and very professional. I imagine the waitstaff and maître'd have been there forever.

It ain't cheap, but good casino restaurants rarely are. Yet if you're looking to pass a couple leisurely hours with good, high-style comfort food, this is as good a place as I've found.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You can't go wrong with either the steak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

You can't go wrong with either the steaks or seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual. Great food, service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent as usual. Great food, service and ambiance. Celebrating a birthday and enjoyed a happy birthday chocolate mousse! Highly recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I'm in Tahoe (with family, fr ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Every time I'm in Tahoe (with family, friends or a get away with my wife) we always eat at the Sage Room. This was a special golf trip with my adult son, and it was GREAT as always.

We'll be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was much noisier than I expected. To ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was much noisier than I expected. To their credit there was no background music to make sound lives even higher. I was disappointed when they said they do not give Harrahs/Harvey's the locals 20% discount

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Jose was very good. Ho ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great. Jose was very good. However, once Hal the wait person knew we weren't going to have a HUGE bill, he was not very pleasant. THIS WAS OUR 44th Annivresary and his lack of attention and unpleasantness did NOT give us a memorable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Sage Room -- Where the Diners are on the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sage Room -- Where the Diners are on the Menu!

Special Birthday dinner for hubby.....traditional steakhouse menu sounded perfect, and the Sage Room delivered. Entertaining and well trained wait staff (one of the waiters has worked here 40 years) prepare Steak Diane and salads table-side, dress your baked potato when it's delivered, and the steaks were perfectly prepared. Wine list is adequate, could use some additions.

During the hour and a half of our enjoyable dinner, we were aware of the high noise level (perhaps some acoustic adjustments could help this?), but had no way of knowing we were actually part of the menu for the FLEAS living under our table. Wearing long slacks and sandals resulted in too many bites to count on both legs, all the way to my knees! Still itching, I phoned the hotel today to let them know, and the housekeeping department is asking Engineering to do something about it. I hope they do, but in the meantime, ladies, wear your tall boots to dinner here!

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Classic table side service; experienced ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Classic table side service; experienced waiters; old time ambience; great find

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sage Restaurant is great! We celebrated ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sage Restaurant is great! We celebrated birthdays and our waiter Mark made the dinner even better with his great attitude and jovial demeanor. I recommend the Sage for any occasion, but even better if planning a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been enjoying this staple of Sout ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been enjoying this staple of South Lake Tahoe for 45 years. It is the only fine-dining restaurant anywhere near Stateline that has remained in large part to its original concept. Always best if you can enjoy it when you can take a leisurely stroll "home" to a room in the hotel but a wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion or have a very romantic, "old-school" beautiful, classic experience. Now, if only they could bring back the Top of the Wheel, Ron Rose, ahhh, well, we have this .... Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little concerned about eating ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were a little concerned about eating at the Sage Room due to its location and dark ambiance! So glad we did! First, the service was amazing. The staff is expertly trained in unique table side delivery of salad, drinks and dessert. Very impressive and fun to watch. Our food was excellent. The historic interior - first casino on the strip - was beautiful. YOU should go! We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is our go to restaurant while in La ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our go to restaurant while in Lake Tahoe. The food is amazing. Steaks are always tender and cooked to perfection. The fish is fresh and wonderfully prepared. Banana Foster prepared table side, perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a really excellent meal. Every ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a really excellent meal. Everything was prepared properly, and the service was friendly and professional. The place is like a time warp to the cocktail era, in a good way, with all the table-side flambé preparations you could ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took our grand daughter, who just turned ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Took our grand daughter, who just turned 12 yrs. old to dinner. She is the 5th generation to dine at the Sage Room. Passing along the tradition! She was very impressed as we all were our first time :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome never a disappointment! Restaura ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome never a disappointment! Restaurant maitre d is the best he makes the Ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and ambiance for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance for a romantic evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have dined in this restaurant quite a fe ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Have dined in this restaurant quite a few times over a span of 38 years and have always loved it. My wife and I in fact worked and met at Harveys some 39 years ago (and were married at Edgewood). Which is why we look forward to celebrating our anniversary at the Sage Room. While we have always been aware that it is expensive to dine there, the quality of food and service always made the cost justifiable - especially for a special occasion. For the first time ever, this was certainly not the case! Our cocktails, salad, and both entrees were edible at best. The only bright stars were the escargot and crème brulee. We are not the type to complain so, no, we did not say anything. Also, since we informed them of the occasion and how long we've been dining here, we would have thought they would at least offer to treat us to a dessert. Needless to say, we were not pleased or impressed with our visit to the Sage Room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated my husband's birthday ther ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday there! Service by Diana and Mark was outstanding! Harvey's is blessed to have such awesome staff! The Beef Wellington was so good!!!!! We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.