Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

4.6
681 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef John Haddad
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking
What 681 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

This was our first time to the Sage Room and we will definitely make it a regular event from now on. The service was beyond impeccable. Teddy was amazing. We felt like royalty. It was our 16th wedding anniversary and Teddy has made it one we will never forget.

We both had the filet and it could not have been cooked better. My steak melted in my mouth, the flavors complex and warm. I didn’t need the béarnaise sauce, but even that was amazing. I highly recommend this place for memorial events.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The food is excellent and service exceptional. The restaurant itself needs updated.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We have dinned here for over 50 years and never once been disappointed. Fantastic food,fanastic service. One of the best in the nation. If you haven't dined at the Sage room ,you haven't dined.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Disappointed. It was loud crowded and not romantic. While its is kind of neat to see certain dishes prepared in front of you, it isn't worth the price. Steak was mediocre and poorly seasoned. Vegetables were almost raw and potatoes were burned. This place is not made for younger audiences, wr felt out of place as well. This classic restaurant is sorely in need of an update and new energy. Go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Servers were excellent in moving our table to a quieter one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent food, service, surroundings. We have dinner at least 4 to 6 times a year and always enjoy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

GREAT STEAKS AND CAESAR'S SALAD MADE AT THE TABLE. ASK FOR TEDDY AS HE HAS BEEN
THERE 31 YEARS AND HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY. HIS APPRENTISE BO COULD NOT BE NICER.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

I have been here 3 times and can’t wait to come back for my birthday. The food is always great and the service is outstanding! When you walk in, lift your left arm that is the side of the room that is more quite (open ceilings let’s voices move upward not over to another table). Also ask for Teddy as your sever he makes that place for me! We had Hal as are server this last time and he is good but he is no Teddy! Teddy has a way of making everyone feel like a millionaire, and the price you pay there that is how you should feel. There was some larger bigger $ tables on Hal’s side and I felt that we were being forgotten among them by Hal. So go there eat great and ask for Teddy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Service and the food is always amazing here! We stop here on every trip to Tahoe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Always a good place for steaks and drinks. I love this spot. I always go out of my way to eat here when in Tahoe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I love the Sage Room. I can always count on great food, great service and great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Fabulous evening with our friends! Dinner was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Excellent food, great service. Will definitely visit again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The service was incredible. I felt the ribeye could have had a bit more flavor but it was cooked perfectly. I can't say enough about how great the service was from our two waiters.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We’ve tried all of the other steakhouses in the area and this is the best. My husband likes steak and I go for the seafood. The blackened Chilean bass with mango salsa was delicious. They also put on some great shows with select table side made to order salads, entrees, and a Cafe Diablo that is a must try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Amazing service. Amazing food. Great for date night out !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

My only negative is that the lights in their booths need dimmers or less wattage bulbs. The brightness of the overhead booth light is surprisingly bright, which caused us to separate in the booth to avoid the glare, rather than sitting together, side by side. In my opinion, that’s a big flaw.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

An old fashioned restaurant, decor is 50 years old.
Filet was tough. I ordered the larger size but wore out chewing and could not finish.
The New York steak texture was ok but no flavor.

Service was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

This for my wife's birthday. We love traditional old time steakhouses. Sage is one if the best ever. Atmosphere is dark wood, great low lighting. The steaks were great cooked exactly correctly. Our servers Teodoro and Sharon are wonderful. Started with drink orders and let us know they wanted us to take all the time we wanted. And we enjoyed just that. It was old time fine dining we grew up on in New Orleans. We will be back many more times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Always great service! We love the food. Never had a problem with anything. Have to make reservations ahead of time though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very very good food and service. Love this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

My husband and I went here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary the service was outstanding and the food was phenomenal the presentation was on point and the atmosphere was just right . Would highly recommend to anyone and would definitely revisit again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our reservation was at 730 and we went at 8 pm which is late, they were very accommodating , seated us in a private room
Which is perfect for us! Our server I can’t remember his name ,he was very nice attended to our needs. We will definitely go back when we are in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The Sage Room continues to remain my favorite restaurant of all time. I make sure I book it every time I visit South Tahoe.

The very best Waiter is Marc - so friendly, so efficient, and always seems to know exactly what I want to make my evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This was the nicest and the best dinner we have ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

One of the three finest restaurants in So. Lake Tahoe, NV.! Incredible service, awesome food and appetizers, and don't miss the deserts prepared live at your table! Not for those on a budget, but if you don't mind paying for quality and the experience, make a reservation and have fun!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Steaks were very forgettable, not worth cost.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Had a nice dinner until the table next to us was loud. Apparently one of the customers worked there and had the whole work place around their table, as they were in and out. I understand that you want to take your girlfriend to a nice dinner (being your work place) but have some consideration for others around you. Also, one of the staff members that sat with them was talking about other workers there and was being rude and disrespectful about them using foul language, I do understand that you cannot control others, but just thought it was very disrespectful to point out how others don’t do their job right. Other than that, my wife and I have been here before and love the food. Except for Thursday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

First let me say the food and service on our visit to the Sage on April 16th was excellent. The chateaubriand, was cooked to perfection and the service provided by Evan was great.

Unfortunately I cannot say the same for our visit April 19th. My dinner of Steak and Shrimp was, on average, fine. The filet was fine but the accompanying shrimp were small/tough/rubbery. The real disaster was the Steak Diane my husband ordered. The meat was way overcooked (at the table) and he said all he could taste was salt. I tried a bite but all I could taste was Worcestershire sauce, or something similar, which totally overpowered the dish.

I would still recommend the Sage and would return myself. I would however stick to beef dishes prepared by the chef in the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We eat at the Sage Room every time we come to Tahoe. We love the food. I always get lobster and my husband gets different things. We are never disappointed.
Awesome food .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Overpriced cafeteria style food. Nothing special. Will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food great service, best in Tahoe

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We always enjoy the Sage Room. The service is excellent, although we didn't feel that the food was as superb as we have had in the past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Girls night out, Teddy was our fabulous waiter....Cafe Diablo Teddy made was a fantastic show and a great way to end the evening at the Sage room

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

My husband and I split the $55 16 oz ribeye. It had to be a low grade piece of meat. It didn't even look like a ribeye but more like a New York cut. He asked for a new one and got the same, if not worse piece of meet. It was a tough piece of meat at that.

Mind you the staff is amazing and very accommodating and my husband, who grew up on a dairy farm and knows cuts of meat, felt very bad to send food back (and our guests were mortified that he dared to criticize - which was no help) however the excuse was that it was the "end piece." Maybe if my husband wore a suit, he would have got a top grade rib-eye - you know, with marbling in it. For $55 an "end piece" should not even be in the building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

This is a great classic old style steakhouse, and a special occasion favorite for us. Ambiance, food and service all outstanding. Expensive, but totally worth it! Ask for Teddy’s table, he’s been there over 30 years, you won’t be disappointed. It’s nice there is still a restaurant with table side preparation of some dishes and special desserts. Definitely try the Caesar salad or the spinach salad, both prepared at table for two, and just delicious. We all had steaks, they were all prepared perfectly and served beautifully with just enough accompaniments. Sides are available but we passed. Bananas foster, prepared table side again, and we were happy campers! Definitely worth the price, overall!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We were in Tahoe for 4 days and ate there 2 of them!!!! Evan our waiter was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Once again the sage room surpassed my expectations. Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Cherished venue. Hope it lasts another 60 years as it was 1958 when I first experienced this classic gem. I live an hour away and welcome the beautiful drive just to have a fabulous dinner; served with genuine, experienced staff; all in a spectacular atmosphere. Do not miss this experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Teddy and Hal were our servers for perhaps the most romantic meal we’ve had in Lake Tahoe. Don’t miss the Steak Diane which they prepare to your liking right in front of your table. Simply amazing!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18