About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service . Great dinner items and d ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service . Great dinner items and dessert .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is quite nice. We had a rese ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The service is quite nice. We had a reservation and they took us in immediately. The waiters are nice.

The food is overall OK. I ordered scallop and was disappointed. Somehow the scallop tastes bitter. My husband ordered stake and it was not that impressive either. One thing bothered me the most is the dish we ordered for my son. It was said kids sized pasta but what we got was a huge bowl. He finished maybe 1/5 of it and it was such a waste. Considering the food quality, the price is way too high. We have had many expensive dinners before. With $200+, I expect much higher quality.

I have seen some people ordered desert and it looks really good. Not sure how good they taste though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The entire experience was exquisite. The ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The entire experience was exquisite. The staff are top notch...elegant, but not snobby. We had the Steak Diane and Beef Wellington. Both were expertly prepared and melt-in-your-mouth scrumptious. The Steak Diane was flambéed table-side. Perfection! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While staying in Lake Tahoe for vacation ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

While staying in Lake Tahoe for vacation, we celebrated my sons 22nd birthday with a memorable dinner at the Sage Room. Enjoyed a prime rib dinner with baked potato, vegetables and a desert of Bananas Foster. Did not disappoint with excellent service, Frank Sinatra-dimly-lit ambiance and delicious melt-in-your-mouth steak. The desert gets prepared at your table by the waiter- with more flames than a Hawaiian fire dance. A slice of chocolate cake with a lighted candle and a cheer of "happy birthday" made the evening complete.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was as to be expecteded for the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was as to be expecteded for the price range, excellent steak cooked perfectly with solid sides. One in our party ordered the elk chop which was extremely tender and well prepared. The highlight of the meal was our waiter Hal and his assistant who prepared our desert, both were very professional and attentive. The table side prep they do for the deserts is top notch! There was a couple who came in just to order desert (they mentioned they were having dinner there the following g night), that says a lot in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was not very attentive. We ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The server was not very attentive. We had to ask for certain things that were automatically give to other guest/tables. We asked for our steaks to be medium and we got medium rare. The servers helper did not know approximately how many glass of wine are in a half bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I originally booked for wrong night, the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I originally booked for wrong night, they graciously found us a table even though they were busy. We had salmon, sea bass and lamb. All were cooked to perfection. I have dined here numerous times in the past. We have also enjoyed the table side preparation of some of their flaming steak and deserts, its a neat visual treat if you are in the mood for that particular menu item. Lighting is dark and can be quiet and romantic depending on which table you are seated at.

As good as the food/atmosphere are, its only topped by Evan (our food server) that we request each time we go. He is the consummate professional who is very knowledgeable in regards to wine and food. However, if you are in the mood for some levity and wit, he is your guy. He is the jewel of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would never go back... the food was awfu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Would never go back... the food was awful and service was less than ideal! Steak was tough, mashed potatoes came from a box, their wine selection is poor for a high end restaurant. Overall, I'd give it a 1 star. $350 for 2 people.. I'd rather eat at Ruth's Chris or any other chain steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I've eaten there twice before and was ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've eaten there twice before and was very satisfied, but this time, not so much....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Favorite place to go every time. Amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Favorite place to go every time. Amazing food and service. Filet and lobster... my go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reunion with childhood friends

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Reunion with childhood friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took 50 minutes to get our order. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It took 50 minutes to get our order. It was just two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Made reservations for free but had to le ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Made reservations for free but had to leave father in law home! Ah! Too bad, wife and I had a great time at our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner with another couple on Chr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had dinner with another couple on Christmas...expensive but quite a treat,especially since we ordered both the Caesar Salad and Spinach Salad, prepared table side... and the cherries jubilee, also table side, flambe and all! Great filet and Outstanding French Onion Soup!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I decided to treat myself on Christmas t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I decided to treat myself on Christmas to dinner here! fantastic! Service and ambiance wonderful. INhad the scallops as appetizer, and the twin lobster tails as the main course. Also, korbel champagne from the wine list. Everything delicious,. It is pricey. You only get 2 scallops for the 18$. Delicious but not worth that price tag. But if you want to splurge this is the place! I definately will go back on an important occasion!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to the Sage Room for a dinner an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We came to the Sage Room for a dinner and a show. I had the Beef Wellington, which melted in my mouth and my wife had the Steak and Lobster and enjoyed it immensely. They accommodated my 5 year old son with pasta with Alfredo sauce. The show included the wonderful warm spinach salad and and the bananas fosters dessert prepared at our table with a nice fire show (alcohol induced flame from the gas stove). The service was spectacular and much better than a number of Michelin rated restaurants I've been to before [they even added more of a fire show to impress my son]. Cost is $$$ but I wouldn't hesitate to come back for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing tableside and team service - we ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing tableside and team service - we have. Even coming here annually for 30 years! Worth the splurge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Service was on the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was on the slow side. The table next to us continued to video with their phone and the flash on which was right in our direct line of sight and at times blinding. For the setting of this restaurant and price, I'd hope that the staff could explain this is rude and disturbing to other patrons, since the patrons themselves cannot figure this out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was very good and food was good. ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was very good and food was good. Prices are highly inflated and poor value for the money. We made reservations more than a week in advance and expected a booth which was not available when we arrived. We do not plan to return unless prices are reduced by at least 30%.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

the food and service were great. we all ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 13, 2016

the food and service were great.

we all would return again.

most of us were returning customers to the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was not very good. I waited ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was not very good. I waited ten minutes to ask for a drink and in the middle of dinner I ran out of water not to get a refill until I was finished with my meal 15 minutes later. The drink I finally ordered came 15 minutes after I ordered it as well.

The food was great! Oysters were amazing. Over all for the price the service was poor. We had dinner here for our wedding and came back for outlet anniversary. We will not be coming back next year or to the sage room if at all again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

As always, the food at the Sage Room was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, the food at the Sage Room was amazing. I had the special which was a Cajun spiced steak and it was delicious. I have food allergies and usually end up with a meal that is missing all the "good" stuff on the plate. But the staff made sure I had an excellent meal. It was for my birthday and the dinner made the day even more special. My husband always orders the French onion soup as it is probably the best he has ever had. It is a great atmosphere for a special event and a quieter more dignified atmosphere. The staff is extra friendly and helpful and really goes out of their way to make you feel special . We had Teddy and Cy and we give them two thumbs up for being top notch waiters. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10oz filet mignon expensive - very dry a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 10, 2016

10oz filet mignon expensive - very dry and fatty. veggies were cold. excellent waiter.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been here many times for our fin ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We have been here many times for our fine food binning and never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing, along with the ser ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was amazing, along with the service. They had a great wine list and the classic menu items were all tempting. Love the Bananas Foster!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving is a tough holiday to eat a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving is a tough holiday to eat away from home, we had a party of five and wanted a traditional turkey dinner. For $48 a person we did expect a close to perfect traditional thanksgiving meal but it fell short by traditional standards. The turkey was a bit dry, mashed potatoes were hard and lacking creaminess. The sides were okay. The starter, corn chowder was the best course.

Sage room has amazing options on their regular menu that we should have opted for, however the experience was great, service was amazing and the ambiance was ideal.

Our choice of sparking wine was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We're sure to come here every time we fl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We're sure to come here every time we fly to Tahoe. We've always had wonderful food and service. We were here for Thanksgiving and it was amazing. The Thanksgiving dinner tasted like it came right out of Grandma's kitchen. Sharon always serves us with impeccable professionalism. If this restaurant was on our coast, we would dine here at least twice a month. We love it here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, prestigious dining, very pric ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, prestigious dining, very pricey. It has been here for years. Not popular with locals but nice ambiance. And was available for thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a classic old style restaurant, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a classic old style restaurant, dark, romantic, with steak, lamb, fish, and chicken dishes, two waiters per table, etc. You would have seen Sinatra here back in the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

OVER THE YEARS THE "SAGE ROOM" HAS BEEN ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

OVER THE YEARS THE "SAGE ROOM" HAS BEEN VERY CONSISTANT. IF YOU WANT A GOOD MEAL WITH NO SURPRISES THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE. THE FOOD IS GOOD AND IT IS VERY RELAXING TO SIT BACK AND HAVE A QUIET CONVERSATION . WE HAVE NEVER BEEN DISSAPOINTED. OPEN TABLE MAKES THE RESERVATION PROCESS SO MUCH EASIER, SEE YOU NEXT MONTH.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Lobster bisque had chunks of white powde ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Lobster bisque had chunks of white powder, probably arrowroot powder. Not good at all. Steak was very good quality meat, but not cooked to order, it all seemed to be cooked the same. Disappointing. Restaurant did not live up to past experiences! This used to be the best steak house in the area, but no longer it seems. Very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I feel their meat quality has taken a di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I feel their meat quality has taken a dive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Had a wonderful romantic night with the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a wonderful romantic night with the hubby, ordered the beef wellington and filet mingon......waa absoutely delicious. Loved the staff. Definetly recommend and would go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive. When I spend that much on a m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Expensive. When I spend that much on a meal I'd rather go to a nice location rather then in the middle of a casino.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This restaurant is very pricy but worth ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is very pricy but worth it! Both my husband and I could not believe how excellent the food was! Very low lit and romantic. Also had great service! I highly recommend but make sure to make reservations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience. I would de ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Wonderful Dining Experience.

I would definitely recommend to Friends & Family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I would go back in a second, even though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I would go back in a second, even though our waiter was kind of a jerk. The amazing lobster tail and filet made up for his poor table side service. I also thought the table side service was really neat, and I haven't experienced that to many times before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Ordered the beef Wellington medium rare. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Ordered the beef Wellington medium rare. It was perfectly cooked and the sides were great. We had the berry flambé for 2 for desert and it was amazing. The staff was very nice and always available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sour dough bread was the best part o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The sour dough bread was the best part of our dinner along with the Lobster Bisque soup and side salad...we should have quit while we were ahead. My husband had the Bison Steak and it was dry even though it was cooked medium. I had the Sea Bass and the sauce had a curry flavor which I wasn't very fond of. I wouldn't say it was horrible but not what I would have ordered had I known. The staff and service was excellent, however that is what is expected when your bill with tip hits over the $200 mark for two people. (No dessert, 2 glasses of house wine and 1 cocktail.) Overall the ambiance was great, but the meal fell short to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The Sage room at Harvey's is absolutely ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Sage room at Harvey's is absolutely top-notch; excellent service, amazing food, terrific atmosphere. We saw several notable locals there as well, they seemed to be regular customers. The Caesar salad, prepared table-side, is absolutely delicious. Nice romantic choice.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.