About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

special occasion (49)
romantic (39)
notable wine list (27)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated my husband's birthday ther ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated my husband's birthday there! Service by Diana and Mark was outstanding! Harvey's is blessed to have such awesome staff! The Beef Wellington was so good!!!!! We'll be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here many times. The food is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been here many times. The food is always great and the setting is perfect. I don't continue to come back for value. While the food is excellent, the prices are very high but the experience is worth it for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything except our baked pot ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved everything except our baked potatoes were under cooked, but the steaks were perfect !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not our first time here, rather ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was not our first time here, rather loved it so much have come back again and again.

This is an "old fashion" steakhouse...with all the best of a classic. Menu is excellent, service was focused on attention to details. A booth was requested on our reservations and was waiting for us when we arrived. I will say as a vegetarian, they did have something on the menu for me as well as steak and lobster for my hubby who enjoyed his quiet birthday celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cesar salad was a bit over powering. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Cesar salad was a bit over powering. All you could taste was the garlic. I've had better salads during my visit's, but this one was not up to par.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you want a great option for dinner bo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If you want a great option for dinner book it well in advance as walk ups are not to be expected. Worth every penny every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb and it was excellent. Th ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had the lamb and it was excellent. The service was great and the atmosphere was very good. I will eat there again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been at this restaurant many times, it n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Been at this restaurant many times, it never fails to impress me. From the menu, wine list, pre-dinner cocktail in the bar, and the excellent servers, everything was perfect. Anytime I get up to Lake Tahoe, I eat at the Sage Room--always special and never a disappointment! I'll be back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth chateaubriand with cl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Melt in your mouth chateaubriand with classic tableside presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the bone-in rib eye with Cajun seaso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had the bone-in rib eye with Cajun seasoning along with caprese salad... Fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great traditional steak house ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a great traditional steak house in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I come here for special occasions as it ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I come here for special occasions as it is a little pricey. But they continue to be the best place to have that special dinner. Our waiter was exceptional, always there when needed but not hovering. And the food is A+. I couldn't give it a higher rating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We requested a "quiet table for 2" and t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We requested a "quiet table for 2" and the Host tried to seat us at a table looking out into the casino and next to the bar. We asked if we could please have a different table and he informed us that all of the booths were reserved. Well....we didn't request a booth. He did "allow us" to pick a different table and we found a nice table for 2 that was further into the restaurant and very quiet. The wait staff were outstanding so that made up for the lousy treatment from the Host.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy our visits to the sage r ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to the sage room. It's hard to find fine dining anymore.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious but the service was n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious but the service was neglectful. It was obvious that once we said we were not there to gamble, we were pretty much ignored. Next time we will try a different seakhouse, we will not go back to The Sage Room again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been coming here for over fifty y ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have been coming here for over fifty years and was very disappointed. I have always enjoyed the prime rib but this time it was dry and appeared to have been heated in a micro wave. The salad consisted of wilted lettuce. We were very dsappointed and decided that this was are last trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Food and service was great, especially O ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service was great, especially Ozi and the orange peel coffee drink

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always cooked to perfection. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is always cooked to perfection. . If you like old-school dining -hot plates, child salad forks, table side service completed with an atmosphere of flambe's then look no further.. except if you want a high-stakes poker right out the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was not that good and the other ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was not that good and the other tables talking on there phones.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We have been going to the Sage Room for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have been going to the Sage Room for years and we have never been disappointed. We started with the spinach salad for two - 5 stars. I had the rack of lamb and would give it 4.5 stars. My wife had the bison again 4.5 stars. Great wine and our waiter Teodoro was 5 stars.

We'll be back...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A steakhouse that is a throwback to the 60s - waiters in tuxes, food rolled out on carts, dim lighting and big portions. Had a fun time, but the menu is expensive, so unless you're flush with newly won cash, there are better restaurants in the area, especially at or below this price point.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We were not greeted by the hostess. She ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were not greeted by the hostess. She simply looked at me ( dead pan). I told her we had a reservation, again nothing. I asked if she wanted my name, again no verbalization. She simply walked us to our table. I would hope someone trains the young lady quickly. Other circumstances I'd have walked out. Escargot had no garlic, lots of butter though. French onion soup delish! The porterhouse the best we've had in years. Banana's Foster, ambrosia!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A classic casino steak house with great ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A classic casino steak house with great food and excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We lovetheSageRoom our favorite for 57 ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We lovetheSageRoom our favorite for 57 years, we celebrated 57 year anniversary at Sage Room, still try to make Sage Room at least once a year, it for sure is the best, hopefully will not change, we know what to expect are always pleased, thankyou

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful as well as the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was wonderful as well as the friendly staff. My friend from Florida always heard me talk about how much I enjoyed the Sage Room and he wanted to try it. After his dinner he said it was everything that I said it was. He ordered the Prime rib dinner and love it. :) Thank you Mark and Sharon for your great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First dinner here for our Anniversary. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

First dinner here for our Anniversary. We loved the old-fashioned dining experience where you are made to feel special by the wait staff. Our waiter "Cy" was very attentive and the table-side prepared dishes were superb. The table-side warm spinach salad was the best we have ever had My husband ordered the Cajun spiced rib steak and it was fabulous. Can't wait to come back with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I celebrated my birthday there it's one ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I celebrated my birthday there it's one of my favorite places to dine for special times worth the drive and make a whole weekend it's located in Harvey's in south shore. The service is always impeccable and so is the food. I had the steak Diane prepared at the table not only was it delicious but the dessert was out of this world also. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect meal in a fabulous at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect meal in a fabulous atmosphere. Five star waiting for food served.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hal was our server. He had a sixth sense ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Hal was our server. He had a sixth sense and appeared with whatever was needed at exactly the right time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great dining experience.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Professional and friendly staff. Not rushed and, of course, the food is out of this world. Prices seem a little high, but not enough to stay away. For us, a once a year treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We started with the oysters on the half ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We started with the oysters on the half shell as our app which were wonderful then had the tableside spinach salad with just the right amount of dressing. My husband had the sea bass

special and I asked for the sage room shrimp to be prepared with the bbq rub and they were perfect! The Sage room is time tested and we will return for our next special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Teddy was an awesome waiter who took car ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Teddy was an awesome waiter who took care of us very well on our folks 35 wedding anniversary dinner. Food was perfect as always

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, great bar and wine list. This is an old-fashioned steak house with top notch food, atmosphere and service. From our cocktails to appetizers to salad made at your table along with our entrees and the bananas foster dessert which was also prepared at our table, this is a must for special occasion dining. The menu may be pricier than some of the other restaurants around, but I guarantee that it is well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

charge

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

charged twice on my visa card, took 6 days to get charge reversed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

My daughter and I went for her 13th birt ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My daughter and I went for her 13th birthday and the food was fabulous! The service was phenomenal Teddy was our waiter and he is great. The noise level is pretty loud so if you want something more on the quiet side I would recommend another restaurant but other than that it can't be beat. You definitely need to get all the tableside preparations i.e., like bananas Foster , café Ole, and the Caesar salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a Disaster

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Sage Room is a restaurant that we have gone to many times in the past, although not recently. In the past, our family has enjoyed the food at this restaurant. We can no longer state that. When we requested "prime rib" for the three of us, the waiter suggested that we might want to order the rib eye steak instead, as we would like it much better. I ordered "Veal Oscar" and it was not good. The rib eyes that the other two ordered were good, but outrageous in price . I can only wonder what the prime rib would have been, as the waiter really discouraged us from ordering that item. We will never return to this over priced restaurant with mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Sad! Would not recommend for any occasion!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Not the good place to eat that it once was. The rib eye steak was a mediocre cut of meat. The caesar salad was less than superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This is one of the loveliest views in Ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

This is one of the loveliest views in Tahoe. The food was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very small portions the soup was cold cold

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very small portions the soup is called the potato was cold! No lobster in the lobster best

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food great service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A friend recommended this and while it's a bit tired as far as décor goes and very dark inside so that it's hard to see very much. I can say however the service was outstanding. My wedge salad was one of the best I've ever had but my Sage steak although cooked to perfection had no taste. It was so weird I've never eaten a NY steak with no taste. The ones we bought from Safeway for dinner while we were here visiting had better flavor. Don't believe the meat was grass fed as that is what we usually eat at home and it is always tasty.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.