About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
7 More
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Historic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thanksgiving is a tough holiday to eat a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving is a tough holiday to eat away from home, we had a party of five and wanted a traditional turkey dinner. For $48 a person we did expect a close to perfect traditional thanksgiving meal but it fell short by traditional standards. The turkey was a bit dry, mashed potatoes were hard and lacking creaminess. The sides were okay. The starter, corn chowder was the best course.

Sage room has amazing options on their regular menu that we should have opted for, however the experience was great, service was amazing and the ambiance was ideal.

Our choice of sparking wine was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We're sure to come here every time we fl ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We're sure to come here every time we fly to Tahoe. We've always had wonderful food and service. We were here for Thanksgiving and it was amazing. The Thanksgiving dinner tasted like it came right out of Grandma's kitchen. Sharon always serves us with impeccable professionalism. If this restaurant was on our coast, we would dine here at least twice a month. We love it here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, prestigious dining, very pric ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, prestigious dining, very pricey. It has been here for years. Not popular with locals but nice ambiance. And was available for thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a classic old style restaurant, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a classic old style restaurant, dark, romantic, with steak, lamb, fish, and chicken dishes, two waiters per table, etc. You would have seen Sinatra here back in the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

OVER THE YEARS THE "SAGE ROOM" HAS BEEN ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

OVER THE YEARS THE "SAGE ROOM" HAS BEEN VERY CONSISTANT. IF YOU WANT A GOOD MEAL WITH NO SURPRISES THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE. THE FOOD IS GOOD AND IT IS VERY RELAXING TO SIT BACK AND HAVE A QUIET CONVERSATION . WE HAVE NEVER BEEN DISSAPOINTED. OPEN TABLE MAKES THE RESERVATION PROCESS SO MUCH EASIER, SEE YOU NEXT MONTH.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Lobster bisque had chunks of white powde ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Lobster bisque had chunks of white powder, probably arrowroot powder. Not good at all. Steak was very good quality meat, but not cooked to order, it all seemed to be cooked the same. Disappointing. Restaurant did not live up to past experiences! This used to be the best steak house in the area, but no longer it seems. Very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I feel their meat quality has taken a di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I feel their meat quality has taken a dive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Had a wonderful romantic night with the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a wonderful romantic night with the hubby, ordered the beef wellington and filet mingon......waa absoutely delicious. Loved the staff. Definetly recommend and would go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive. When I spend that much on a m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Expensive. When I spend that much on a meal I'd rather go to a nice location rather then in the middle of a casino.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This restaurant is very pricy but worth ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is very pricy but worth it! Both my husband and I could not believe how excellent the food was! Very low lit and romantic. Also had great service! I highly recommend but make sure to make reservations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience. I would de ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Wonderful Dining Experience.

I would definitely recommend to Friends & Family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Ordered the beef Wellington medium rare. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Ordered the beef Wellington medium rare. It was perfectly cooked and the sides were great. We had the berry flambé for 2 for desert and it was amazing. The staff was very nice and always available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would go back in a second, even though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I would go back in a second, even though our waiter was kind of a jerk. The amazing lobster tail and filet made up for his poor table side service. I also thought the table side service was really neat, and I haven't experienced that to many times before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The sour dough bread was the best part o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The sour dough bread was the best part of our dinner along with the Lobster Bisque soup and side salad...we should have quit while we were ahead. My husband had the Bison Steak and it was dry even though it was cooked medium. I had the Sea Bass and the sauce had a curry flavor which I wasn't very fond of. I wouldn't say it was horrible but not what I would have ordered had I known. The staff and service was excellent, however that is what is expected when your bill with tip hits over the $200 mark for two people. (No dessert, 2 glasses of house wine and 1 cocktail.) Overall the ambiance was great, but the meal fell short to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The Sage room at Harvey's is absolutely ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Sage room at Harvey's is absolutely top-notch; excellent service, amazing food, terrific atmosphere. We saw several notable locals there as well, they seemed to be regular customers. The Caesar salad, prepared table-side, is absolutely delicious. Nice romantic choice.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host welcomed us with a warm greeting. N ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Host welcomed us with a warm greeting. Nice environment in the middle of Harvey's Casino with a good looking bar and seating arrangements. George was great introducing himself, providing water and checking on us time to time. Our team servers Mark and Sharon didn't welcome us once we sat down nor introduced themselves to us. They did not even convey what the daily specials were nor provide standard recommendations/suggestions of what they liked nor what was popular. Wife and I felt very secluded and cold by the service provided. We ordered the Sage Shrimp dish and Prime New York steak (most expensive item on menu). No one even asked if the steak was cooked to order. The food was great, chef to be commended. Wish the service was at least 1/4 as good as the food. Our tip reflected the service and NOT the food. Management must make note of this and improve accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food, first class service and grea ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food, first class service and great overall experience. See you next time we come to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

None of the above categories quite fit. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

None of the above categories quite fit. I have been dining at The Sage Room for 40 years. The ambiance, wonderful service and fabulous food are why I return. I lived at Lake Tahoe many years ago and loved The Sage Room then. Now I visit annually and dining at The Sage Room is always the highlight of my trips with my daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always great.....the food.....servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 11, 2016

It's always great.....the food.....service.....excellent and enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent wait staff. Ve ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great food and excellent wait staff. Very quiet booth, classy surroundings...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anytime you're in Stateline, NV you've g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Anytime you're in Stateline, NV you've got to make a rez and have a meal in The Sage Room at Harveys. It's still original. Opened in the late '40's, and puts you back in time with the service. Many table side preparations, which you should experience. Their Ceasar salad is absolutely the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sage Room is a Lake Tahoe classic. I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Sage Room is a Lake Tahoe classic. If you enjoy good food, good service and a very nice atmosphere this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic setting fit for the high qualit ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Romantic setting fit for the high quality food, wine and special service. One of the best restaurants. If you like the VIP treatment, this is the place for you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good and Jose was wonde ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was very good and Jose was wonderful.. food was good and there was plenty.. thanks..

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We stay at Harvey's often and this is on ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We stay at Harvey's often and this is one of our favorite "special occasion" restaurants (expect to spend a few extra $$$'s). It's warm and beautiful inside, the atmosphere is very "casual/elegant"... the service is outstanding and the food is delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good. Service(Cy)/server was te ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was good. Service(Cy)/server was terrible I.e. No personality, not attentive, not much conversation nor explanation on the menu, he started our steak Diane prep and then vanished. Another server took over the steak prep.

We waited much to long for coffee and dessert so we asked for our bill and left.

We have dined here in the past and we were very satisfied. Perhaps the poor experience was due to having Cy as our server.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Had to wait to long after appointment t ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had to wait to long after appointment time

And steak was cold , tasted fine but cold

And im not one to send back food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious. Can ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious. Can't recommend enough!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great old school with table side Caesar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great old school with table side Caesar salad and attentive service. The atmosphere is original but kept in top condition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for me. I have had a lot b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Too expensive for me. I have had a lot better steaks for less money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seven of us were together to celebrate a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Seven of us were together to celebrate an 80th, 60th and a 21stbirthday. Our waiter Hal was exceptionally rude. His assistants fumbled everything. Gave the wrong food, gave my sister a cold fork for herlobster bisque and a steak knife for her salmon. We had to refill our own wine glasses. Pretty sureHal rolled his eyes when no one ordered dessert. Then he refused to take a group photo. The food was excellent but we all left with a bitter taste in our mouths after dropping $650 on dinner andgetting such poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

In my opinion, the Sage Room is the best ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2016

In my opinion, the Sage Room is the best place for a steak in Tahoe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The prices are way too high for the food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The prices are way too high for the food...my prime rib was totally mediocre...it was a pale, grayish pink, mostly fat (I had ordered medium rare).. the waiter forgot to bring my wife's entree, thought she just wanted salad...

This restaurant has gone downhill...we had been here many times in the past!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Simply outstanding, service was great an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Simply outstanding, service was great and the table side preparation is always entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cozy with excellent food and servic ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very cozy with excellent food and service. Great place to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the overall experience was very good. th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

the overall experience was very good. the server Mark and I believe Shannon were on top of things, the busser also. the only complaint was the busser made the tableside

Caesar and it was not very good. did not understand why!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was exceptional. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steakhouse. Many of the entree ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent steakhouse. Many of the entrees and appetizers are prepared table side and it's a really fun thing to watch. The food is very very good. My only negative is the prices. Most entrees are $55-$65 each. Knock off $20 on every entree and I'd give it another star. I also think they should have a dress code and enforce it. No shorts or flip-flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Excellent preparation. Table ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food. Excellent preparation. Table side service impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.