Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe

The Sage Room at Harvey's has been a Tahoe landmark since opening in 1947. An elegant Western-themed steak house, The Sage Room is popular with locals and guests alike.



The Sage Room’s décor includes original Native American lamps that were gifted to Harvey's from the Washoe Tribe, the original bar, and hand-hewn beams that were part of the original log cabin that housed Harvey's in 1944.



The Sage Room features unique appetizers and salads prepared table side, along with Black Angus steaks, poultry, veal, lamb, Beef Wellington and seafood. Dessert specialties include Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee, both prepared table side.

Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hwy 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday from 5:30pm-9:00 pm
Fiday, Saturday 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dark Tuesdays & Wednesdays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 588-2411 ext. 6210

Website:
http://www.harveystahoe.com/casinos/harveys-lake-tahoe/restaurants-dining/sage-room-steak-house-detail.html

Parking Details:
Harvey Hotel Parking and Valet

Public Transit:
Blue Go Transit - Corner of Stateline and Hwy 50 in Front of Embassy Suite across from Harveys

Executive Chef:
Chef John Haddad

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking

Sage Room - Harvey's Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Historic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Family Style (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 8 hours ago

The service was excellent. They were very prompt and helpful. Food was yummy. There was a set of diners who were complaining that they did not get a booth, and that did kill some of the quiet romantic vibe bc they kept whining each time a booth was open and someone had left.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food! Wish I could afford dining here more!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Banana's Flambe was not up to the standards we recall. There was too little sauce. Noise level increased significantly when what appeared to be a large group of local guests (Law Enforcement) arrived and garnered much of the staffs attention. Service was slow. No one came back to pick up our payment in a reasonable period of time, even though business appeared to be light. Had to take my bill to the Bar Tender for processing. Will be looking for a new Steak House in Tahoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have had many enjoyable meals at the Sage Room over the years and expect to pay a little more for a restaurant of this caliber. However, they have now raised their prices to such an exorbitant level that I fear we won't be returning anytime soon. Entrees are $50-$60 each so for the two of us to have a salad and an entree (no dessert), I had one glass of wine and my husband two scotches and the bill was $220! The steaks were good but outstanding, especially not at those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Sage Room is a lovely place to go for a special dinner. The service is impeccable and the staff so professional. Food very elegant. However the noise level from the small bar was ridiculous!!! A group of men, very loud and so out of place for this lovely restaurant. Why for the life of me, they have an open bar there, is beyond my imagination. This would be fine for people to sit while waiting for their tables but not for the guys having a good time. It totally ruined our dinner. We left half way through. We felt like we were dining at a pub. They should get rid of the open bar. There is another bar right outside the door of the restaurant, this one isn't necessary. Very, very disappointed as we have been there numerous times over the years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our family loves good food & an adventure. The 1940's authentic atmosphere & steak house fit the bill perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, great food & impeccable service. Hal (working there for 28yrs!) & Jose were our servers. They catered to our every need & picky teenage eaters. They made them feel special & of course, they loved the flambé desserts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Sage Room is amazing have been going there for 32 yrs! Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

the food and service was great. Ozi was, as always, wonderful. My whole family loves him. Who ever he assigns to our table does a great job, no matter if it is 2 of us or 20 of us. Thanks again for having such a great place to have great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great but too noisy. And the waiters cook for you next to your table for some of the dishes so get ready to get smelled :) food was awesome and I absolutely love the comp beads because they are so warm, soft and delicious. Great food great evening and great service. Definitely go back for next time soon. :) yay!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We've been to The Sage Room many times & it never disappoints!! Tonight though was exceptionally good. I finally had the beef Wellington & it was the best restaurant meal I've ever had. Not to mention the caeser salad we started with was amazing!! A++++++ meal. Thank you to the professional staff & top notch chefs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great old steakhouse decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to the Sage Room since 1960. It has been consistently outstanding over all of these years.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food here is not bad by any means but it is just not $50 per dish good. Maybe I have too much expectation, but I think their steak taste similar to what you would get from black angus or outback steak house with very little attention to detail. So it is huge disappointment for me personally. However, everything else is pretty good. Caesar salad is great and staff are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, great service, truly a gem! This is "old school" fine dining at its best!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We ordered Frogs' legs, the spinach salad served table side, the elk chop special and the ribeye special. Everything we ordered was outstanding. Temperature of both the elk chop and ribeye were a perfect medium rare. The service could not have been better. We visit Sage Room every trip to South Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food, service and presentation were all amazing. Tableside prep on several items (salad, steak Diane- yummy- and bananas foster--double yummy) was a lovely signature feature. Ahi tuna appetizer was superb, as was the onion soup. We are actually going back again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not really worth to price but you don't have many choices. Casino's once offered value but not any more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server was outstanding and humorous. We come here almost every visit to Lake Tahoe. Ive noticed the staff doesnt change much and I can see why. They love what they do and it shows thru their impeccable service. The tableside preparation of classic Caesar Salad takes you back to a different era when a meal was prepares with care. It was delicious. The Filet Mignon was juicy and tender. Wish this place was closer to where I live!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The prices are just too high for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great bone in cajun style rib eye steak.
Wait team of EVAN and PAUL were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Old school steak house in the Harvey's Casino. Cesar's salad made table side. Wait staff in tuxes. Steak was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was a lovely ambience , great friendly servers and great food. I had the elk it was on the special, it was great! We were their during winter storm so wine was limited selection as roads were closed. We were still able to get great wine with dinner. Thanks guys at sage room.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was wonderful and our server was awesome too!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was slow but friendly. Food was good but not the best ever. Huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for my dads birthday. Great wait staff and service! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere Ozzie and team are awesome

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our annual trip to Tahoe always includes dining at the Sage Room. They have been consist on every level for the past 12 years

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Attentive, well-paced service. Exceptional food and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Favorite spot in Lake Tahoe. Food, service and atmosphere is A+

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentines Day 2017. We had great service and a very nice dinner. The steak was good quality and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great will go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On vacation , My Husband and I went twice in three days because the food and service was so great! We needed to try more of their delicious food.

Can't wait til' we come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tahoe Gem Restaurant. Always enjoy fine food and bar. Great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We never venture elsewhere when looking for a wonderful dinner. We know that The Sage Room will not fail us. Excellent service and food every time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Most everything was good. The chocolate mousse left a lot to be desired though. Tasted like they went with a cheap chocolate, which would explain the poor taste. We only had a couple bites. One of the rare occasions I didn't finish my dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Haven't been in the Sage Room in years and was very happy with the food and service. We definitely won't wait so long next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best steak in Nevada. Blackened ribeye is amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Sage Room has excellent steaks and seafood, you will not be disappointed! I will return every time I am in Tahoe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

For the first time in many times dining here, we were disappointed. For a high end restaurant, we felt it did not meet our expectations this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Casual atmosphere restaurant serving great food and thus creating a memorable dining experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.