About Sagano Restaurant

2035 Kennedy Road
Scarborough, ON M1T 3G2
View Larger Map

Experience authentic Japanese cuisine at its finest in an intimate and elegant setting. Our expert chefs will delight your senses with centuries of Japanese culinary sophistication. Escape the ordinary, dine with style and admire a panoramic view while enjoying our fine Japanese cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
■Dinner: Tues – Sat from 5:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.
■Sunday from 5:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
401/Kennedy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 299-1500 ext. 6042

Website:
http://www.sagano.ca/

Entertainment:
visit us at www.sagano.ca

Parking Details:
Guest parking is available in our front and back parking lots. Parking rates are posed in the lots on the meters. It is pay parking system but when guest dine one of our outlets in the hotel, parking will be redeemed up to $6.00 equal to 2 hours.

Public Transit:
http://www.deltahotels.com/en/hotels/ontario/delta-toronto-east/directions-and-local-events/parking/

Executive Chef:
Chieh Huang

Private Party Facilities:
Sit back, relax & enjoy the panoramic view as we dazzle your taste buds with our authentic Japanese cuisine. Sagano will ensure you and your guests enjoy a truly special dining experience. Watch the sunset over Toronto with a relaxing dinner as our experienced staff help to create the perfect event.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8884870952

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SAGANO RESTAURANT is available for private parties and business meetings, Hold the perfect business lunch in a private dining setting. Inquires at www.deltatorontoeast.com

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Sagano Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Scarborough ›

Scenic View (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been going there for over 30 year ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I have been going there for over 30 years. Same staff. The food is much pricier, but the staff is really nice. Mary is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently celebrated our an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary here, the food and service was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view- took note of our special req ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great view- took note of our special requests in the reservation. Wonderful time and great food.

Just not good for those requiring a wheelchair or have mobility issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This top high level Japanese restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This top high level Japanese restaurant makes me very disappointed,this is my first time tried this restaurant , we ordered summerlicious menu, the food is not Japanese style at all! I ordered the chicken for main entrée, chicken taste not good ,especially very hard......and the candle Holder on the table is dirty......I won't come to this restaurant again for sure. Only good thing is the view and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I ordered misoyaki glazed salmon from th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I ordered misoyaki glazed salmon from the summerlicious entrée menu. The portion size was unexpected, the salmon turned out to be bigger than what i would imagine. The salmon was cooked just perfect as it wasn't too dry, but tender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Sagano is a slightly outdated Japanese r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Sagano is a slightly outdated Japanese restaurant located in the Delta hotel. I found the staff were very kind and attentive, however the food was lackluster and over priced. I ordered a sushi platter and the taste was underwhelming for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great place to celebrate birthday

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

My husband took me to Sagano to celebrate my birthday. We had the special menu that included soup, bento box with shrimp and veg tempura, chicken teriyaki skewer and beef teriyaki skewer, couple of California roll and two pieces each of salmon sashimi and tuna sashimi. It also included green tea ice cream for dessert. Excellent value with variety. It was really good value and nice to have a little of different items. Loved it. Would recommend this restaurant. Also service was quite good. Loved the view. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and food

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Service was good from start to finish. Waitress was very polite. We got a nice table by the window facing towards downtown Toronto. You could actually see the CN tower. We chose the Deltalicious option so it was $39.95 and it came with soup, salad, bento box (tempura shrimp and veggies, California roll, sashimi, rice, teriyaki chicken, teriyaki beef and sautéed veggies), ice cream and green tea. We couldn't finish it! You do have to grab a paper slip when you park but the restaurant will validate your parking and you won't have to pay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The quality of food and services is exce ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The quality of food and services is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner was delicious. Avocado salad devi ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Dinner was delicious. Avocado salad devine. Teriyaki beef tenderloin was flavourful and tender.

What we could have done without was the restaurants refusal to accept the OpenTable rewards cheque. First the server refused. Then the manager without an explanation - he simply stated that they don't accept any cheques. Apparently, they only accept reservations through OpenTable and nothing more. Left us with a bad taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our favourites

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Sagano has consistently great food and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Sushi

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We had the Bento Box which was plenty of food and provides a bit of everything. Definitely quality sushi. Very fresh! Only down side is it is a bit pricy. Slightly lower price would encourage me to make this a more regular thing instead of just a special occasion.

The view is lovely, especially at sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Over looking the city

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Over looking the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great venue, menu and service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Wonderful venue, menu and service. Staff were friendly in a very relaxed atmosphere. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced and limited selection

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

I took my family there for my partner's birthday partner but we were very disappointed by the limited menu items and what they did have was extremely overpriced. The view was not what I thought it would be as I was expecting a view of "Toronto skyline" but really it was a view of Hwy 401. The food was tasty but I wouldn't go there again for dinner. Perhaps lunch is more affordable. They charge downtown Toronto rates but are located in a Scarborough hotel.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good restaurant

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

We were the only ones in the restaurant so it was quiet (not always a good sign, however we were early). The food was very good, we had the bento box special the tempura was excellent very light and not greasy. The sushi and sashimi were fresh. The service was very good all were very polite.

The only issue we had was there was a set of stairs we were not aware of which was not great for my mother who has a walker. And when we tried to use our open table cheque to pay they would not accept it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was quaint. Family friendly. The food ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

It was quaint. Family friendly. The food was good to better than expected, but not exceptional. We have had better but it would be unfair to compare. We liked the service and the attention given to us.

Not the best but we would come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Lovely night out at the Sagano

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

We found the atmosphere to be best part of our experience. It is quiet with Japanese music playing in the background. All the staff were friendly and accommodating The layout of the restaurant creates spaces that allow you to have an intimate dining space. The food is reasonably priced and fresh.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

serene

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

I spent a year in Japan and this place brought me back. The server was dressed in a yukata, japanese music played in the background, and the courses were filling and tasty! My only complaint would be that the meat portion was small. Otherwise a great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good set dinner menus. It's diffic ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 12, 2015

Very good set dinner menus. It's difficult to get a window seat. Nice view of the 401.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Disappointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2015

Compare to the previous visits, it was a disappointing experience. The service was untimely, food quality not up to par, maybe just equivalent to some of the all-you-can eat establishments. The only bright spot was the black cod. A total waste of the ambience and the view of this once fine dining spot.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2015

The food was great and service was also great!! Would go back again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always enjoyable

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

truly enjoy trips to Sagano. the food is top notch and the staff go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying your evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great ambience and excel ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Delicious food, great ambience and excellent service!! Tasted sake for the first time. Loved the overall dining experience while watching the beautiful sunset!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable hidden delight

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

We had an very enjoyable meal and experience at Sagano once we reached it. It would be very beneficial to other diners to indicate at the parking meters that guests do not have to pay and to increase the signage in the hotel on how to reach the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food quality and Service below par

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 24, 2015

We went to Sagano in Vancouver before, service there was much better. No one greet us when we arrived, we need to find our table since our friends arrived first. No one ever ask us to register our car for parking there. The wait staffs are not attentive, our teas were never refill throughout the dinner. The wait staff who serve our soup almost soap her thumb inside. Salad and main courses presentation looks like fast food style. Quality is definitely not match such pricey Japanese restaurant. The only pros is we have a window seats table

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Window view is stunning. Fish is fresh. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

Window view is stunning. Fish is fresh. Had the AAA beef stripe and salmon entree and both are delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was disappointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

After reading all the positive reviews about this place, I thought that I'd give it a try. For me, the food was mediocre and overpriced. The view of the 401 is hardly "romantic" as some might claim. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Beautiful Place, Outstanding Service, Ok food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 2, 2015

Sagano provides you with romantic setting and great service, very appropriate for a couple's night out. However the food wasn't very special, the plates presentation was sub-par and its taste was at times a bit blend. Would recommend it for the view, not the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Sushi with a view

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

I'll keep it simple and sweet; food and service was above par. If you like semi-fine dining Japanese restaurants this one is extra special because it has a great view as well. It is also good because they are in collaboration with Group-on, so if you're looking to save look no further!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The way they serve the customers need to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The way they serve the customers need to be improved. Every single dishes that the waiters put it down to the table need to be soften. We were having conversation. All a sudden I heard is the dish hitting the table glass. Not only my table. Even my neighbors' tables. How hard to put down the dishes softly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good But Not Great

 
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The food was good without being distinguished or excellent. The service ranged from poor to fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good Japanese Restaurant but need service improved

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

I brought my girl friend there to surprise her for both her birthday and Valentine's day. The food served was good but not the best. The atmosphere was romantic and the rooftop view of the Highway 401 was fantastic. I was glad to have the window table as requested. The worst thing was the service. I told the manager in person to bring up the birthday cake after we finished the last dish. No waiter did it but just passed me the bill as not requested at that moment. I felt very disappointed for such a service in a hotel restaurant even there was no one lining up. Also, bringing us the cake without candle light on and without a knife. They even did not help us to pack the leftover cake back to the cake box. I only can give 3 stars to them.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

Food was great! Just the right amount of serving for a 5 course meal. The whole experienced was complimented by the nice view. (ask for the corner seating).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

this is second time to have dinner there ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

this is second time to have dinner there, the first time was good service, this time is not so good, they rush you, they want you quickly to be finish the dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Excellent service. Fantastic view. Tem ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

Excellent service. Fantastic view. Tempura shrimp and vegetabe was excellent but beef was so so. A bit pricy but will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

Four family members went for supper to Sagano's. Great food and great service made my husband's Birthday Supper a great event. We thoroughly enjoyed all the food selections made. Something for every taste. We have never been didappointed at this restaurant and recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of MSG, lack of servie. Have to ca ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Lots of MSG, lack of servie. Have to call waitress whenever needs something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

bad food quality,sashimi cutting skill really BAD

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Bad Food Quality, not professional chef especially sashimi , cutting not up to normal standard. overcharged due to bad food quality for this kind of upscale fine dining restaurant. chef is the weakness link. please hire or repair a good chef to your restaurant i will not recommend to all my friends, family and colleagues. pls hire A professional chef!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

It was worth it!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

I had a coupon for 5 courses dinner and what I received was what I expected.

The place is a little bit far to the east from downtown, but it was worth it to come all the way there.

Not much to say, but I recommend this place, especially for romantic dinner and a small group of 6-8.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.