Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

El VezEl Vez
(3095)
Mexican / Southwestern | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Little Nonna'sLittle Nonna's
(1123)
Italian | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
IndeBlue - PhiladelphiaIndeBlue - Philadelphia
(653)
Indian | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Bud & Marilyn'sBud & Marilyn's
(604)
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Double KnotDouble Knot
(201)
Sushi | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Barbuzzo RestaurantBarbuzzo Restaurant
(3108)
Mediterranean | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
1225Raw Sushi And Sake Lounge1225Raw Sushi And Sake Lounge
(510)
Japanese | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Vintage Wine Bar & BistroVintage Wine Bar & Bistro
(95)
French American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Caribou CafeCaribou Cafe
(471)
French | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Franky Bradley’sFranky Bradley’s
(54)
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Cibo Ristorante ItalianoCibo Ristorante Italiano
(741)
Italian | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Aki SushiAki Sushi
(9)
Japanese | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
ValanniValanni
(1903)
Mediterranean | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
More Than Just Ice CreamMore Than Just Ice Cream
(3)
Dessert | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Charlie was a sinner.Charlie was a sinner.
(373)
Tapas / Small Plates | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now

About Saffron Indian Cuisine

1214 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

An Indian restaurant in Philadelphia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Indian, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
12 and 13 walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-2009

Website:
http://www.saffronwalnutst.com/

Entertainment:
weekend live music soon

Catering:
minimum catering 25 people

Parking Details:
Across the street, additional street parking along the road.

Public Transit:
13 walnut bus stop 12 market train station

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Friday . Saturday and sunday special menu 25 per persion five course

Sort By:
Newest
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good in a crunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

If you are hungry and want quick, hot good food this is the right place for you. But if it's cold outside you will get a cold breeze throughout

your meal as people come in and out. The items on the buffet were good but limited. The waitress was pleasant but never brought my mango lassi, even after being asked twice. Also didn't pick up used plates in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I've been eating Indian food now for a f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I've been eating Indian food now for a few years and must say this restaurant really adds to their great culture of food. Not only was the food great, but overall the place is very nice-well kept & the staff was extremely kind. I took my girlfriend there on Vday where the setting was charming, but it can also be the perfect casual grab a bite to eat spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

This spot was a last minute valentines day find and it was great the owner checked up on me and my date during the night the staff was great and the food was good overall we had a good time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The lamb was very delicious and very ten ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The lamb was very delicious and very tender.

Unfortunately the staff was overwhelmed by the amount of guest (but it was on Valentine's Day) so I would give them a mulligan and try them again on a non-holiday.

But I would recommend trying the restaurant out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Disappointing

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We went before a show on Valentine's Day. The service was awful; no water, no menus, and the food came very, very slowly. Plus the vegetable soup and chicken masala were way too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

The best

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

Best chicken tikka masala of my life. Very attentive service. I debate driving into Philly just to get it as takeout. Amazing. BYOB but that's OK

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Close to theatres

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

Went to Saffron before a show. The service was good, menu offered a great selection of dishes.

Would recommend before going to the theatre as it is very close.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Buffet

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

The buffet at Saffron was great, it provided a wide variety of high quality choices. I always have trouble deciding at Indian restaurants, and I didn't have to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Saffron is the best Indian restaurant in ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

Saffron is the best Indian restaurant in the area (of which there are many). Their food is always great and the service prompt and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucky Find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2014

My colleague and I were in town for a meeting and we were looking for something different for dinner beyond American Cuisine. We found Saffron via Open Table -- the reviews looked good. We were not disappointed. We didn't know it was BYOB - the owner directed us to a State Store 2 blocks away. The service was outstanding--- very attentive. The place settings - white china, nice flatware; dishes arrive in traditional pots. My colleague had a vegetarian dish with lentils - delicious. I had a traditional chicken dish - with the red sauce - incredibly flavorable. The rice was done just right. The decor is clean and fresh - high ceilings gives it an airy feel. We would definitely go again --

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Ambler fave

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2014

We've been regulars here since Saffron opened & once again were not disappointed. Will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

So-so experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

I think the food was reasonable. However, the service was poor. They never asked us if we wanted dessert, tea or coffee or anything after our meal. Our check just showed up before we even had a chance to talk about it. The place was empty, so it wasn't like they were trying to rush us out to seat anyone else. There are better Indian restaurants in town - both in terms of food and service. I don't think we'll be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Tasty food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 10, 2014

Food was fresh, hot, tasty. Naan was actually quite good as was malai chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I came not too long ago, and

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 8, 2014

I came not too long ago, and decided to come back for my birthday! Once again, I was not disappointed. I enjoyed my birthday here at Saffron Indian Cuisine. I decided to bring my group of friends to celebrate and they also loved it as well. The relaxation of this place brought peace and comfort to all of us. The dishes were marvelous. We ordered chicken makhani with just the right spice level and others at the table ordered tandoori mixed grill! It came out with a perfection look to it. We all loved the staff and how they welcomed me with a candle and sang happy birthday! The service was well-timed and everything was affordable. I would definitely return not one more time but many more times after.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While only open a few months,

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

While only open a few months, the food was very good. Our host (and owner) was very attentive and made some great suggestions for us.

Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2014

When I think of authentic Indian food I think of Saffron Indian Cuisine. My husband and I were craving some Indian food but were afraid that we were going to be let down, however, that was not the case! I had the best experience ever here. The food was perfectly displayed and tasted so delicious. I definitely recommend the chicken tikka masala. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. It is completely affordable and has a beautiful interior design. I definitely recommend this place!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Indian food locally!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 16, 2014

Saffron Indian Cuisine turned out to be a real surprise! We have a

need for authentic Indian food in the neighborhood, and Saffron doesn't disappoint. Sandra, the owner, is incredibly accommodating and friendly, but it's the food that is the real champion here. I've tried the buffet on one occasion and ordered a la carte on a second occasion. The food is fresh, authentic, and delicious. I really recommend a visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Limited Menu

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We ate at Saffron the day after Valentine's Day, yet the only menu available was the limited special menu.

The garlic naan was some of the best we have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Basic Food for Great Price

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

This restaurant is average.You can substitute tofu for meat, which is unique for Indian restaurants, awesome! The samosas were dry and dull. The mango lassi was excellent,a true lassi compared to other restaurants that serve "mango juice" or "mango smoothie" instead. Overall, this restaurant offers food that is good enough for those looking to try Indian.

I went on Valentine's Day for their 5-course dinner mainly because it was only $25. The service was pretty bad. It was the first day for all three waiters. We didn't get plates or silverware to spoon out the entrees for many minutes, and had to send back our naan because it had gotten cold. The waiters were very nice, but not knowledgeable about Indian cuisine or how it is to be eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Happy accident

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 12, 2014

We arrived looking for a Mexican restaurant that used to be in the same space..... lucky us, the food was even better! The dinner buffet is $9.99 and is an amazing deal full of really delicious choices. The staff is friends and accommodating and it was a lovely evening, all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.