Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Saffron Indian Cuisine

3.9
20 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Kid-friendly

Similar Restaurants

About

Saffron Indian Cuisine serves authentic, traditional Indian dishes in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It offers a lunch buffet throughout the week, making it a suitable spot for a break during a busy workday. The takeout and delivery options make it easy to enjoy these flavors at home, and catering services make planning private events convenient.

Saffron Indian Cuisine offers a full menu with plenty of favorites. Select from entrees like chicken malabar, lamb seekh kabob, fish Malabar and kadai chicken. For those guests who do not eat meat, there are also numerous vegetarian dishes available at Saffron Indian Cuisine. These include the bhindi masala, kadai paneer and vegetable jalfrezi, among many others.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 546-2009
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
minimum catering 25 people
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
12 and 13 walnut
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Across the street, additional street parking along the road.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
13 walnut bus stop 12 market train station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
weekend live music soon
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Friday . Saturday and sunday special menu 25 per persion five course
Additional
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access
What 20 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
4.1
food
3.7
service
3.6
ambience
2.0
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on February 13, 2016

If you are hungry and want quick, hot good food this is the right place for you. But if it's cold outside you will get a cold breeze throughout
your meal as people come in and out. The items on the buffet were good but limited. The waitress was pleasant but never brought my mango lassi, even after being asked twice. Also didn't pick up used plates in a timely fashion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2015

I've been eating Indian food now for a few years and must say this restaurant really adds to their great culture of food. Not only was the food great, but overall the place is very nice-well kept & the staff was extremely kind. I took my girlfriend there on Vday where the setting was charming, but it can also be the perfect casual grab a bite to eat spot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

This spot was a last minute valentines day find and it was great the owner checked up on me and my date during the night the staff was great and the food was good overall we had a good time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

The lamb was very delicious and very tender.
Unfortunately the staff was overwhelmed by the amount of guest (but it was on Valentine's Day) so I would give them a mulligan and try them again on a non-holiday.

But I would recommend trying the restaurant out!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We went before a show on Valentine's Day. The service was awful; no water, no menus, and the food came very, very slowly. Plus the vegetable soup and chicken masala were way too salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2014

Best chicken tikka masala of my life. Very attentive service. I debate driving into Philly just to get it as takeout. Amazing. BYOB but that's OK

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 12, 2014

Went to Saffron before a show. The service was good, menu offered a great selection of dishes.
Would recommend before going to the theatre as it is very close.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 7, 2014

The buffet at Saffron was great, it provided a wide variety of high quality choices. I always have trouble deciding at Indian restaurants, and I didn't have to!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2014

Saffron is the best Indian restaurant in the area (of which there are many). Their food is always great and the service prompt and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2014

My colleague and I were in town for a meeting and we were looking for something different for dinner beyond American Cuisine. We found Saffron via Open Table -- the reviews looked good. We were not disappointed. We didn't know it was BYOB - the owner directed us to a State Store 2 blocks away. The service was outstanding--- very attentive. The place settings - white china, nice flatware; dishes arrive in traditional pots. My colleague had a vegetarian dish with lentils - delicious. I had a traditional chicken dish - with the red sauce - incredibly flavorable. The rice was done just right. The decor is clean and fresh - high ceilings gives it an airy feel. We would definitely go again --

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2014

We've been regulars here since Saffron opened & once again were not disappointed. Will certainly be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 29, 2014

I think the food was reasonable. However, the service was poor. They never asked us if we wanted dessert, tea or coffee or anything after our meal. Our check just showed up before we even had a chance to talk about it. The place was empty, so it wasn't like they were trying to rush us out to seat anyone else. There are better Indian restaurants in town - both in terms of food and service. I don't think we'll be going back there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2014

Food was fresh, hot, tasty. Naan was actually quite good as was malai chicken.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2014

I came not too long ago, and decided to come back for my birthday! Once again, I was not disappointed. I enjoyed my birthday here at Saffron Indian Cuisine. I decided to bring my group of friends to celebrate and they also loved it as well. The relaxation of this place brought peace and comfort to all of us. The dishes were marvelous. We ordered chicken makhani with just the right spice level and others at the table ordered tandoori mixed grill! It came out with a perfection look to it. We all loved the staff and how they welcomed me with a candle and sang happy birthday! The service was well-timed and everything was affordable. I would definitely return not one more time but many more times after.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2014

While only open a few months, the food was very good. Our host (and owner) was very attentive and made some great suggestions for us.

Looking forward to returning soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2014

When I think of authentic Indian food I think of Saffron Indian Cuisine. My husband and I were craving some Indian food but were afraid that we were going to be let down, however, that was not the case! I had the best experience ever here. The food was perfectly displayed and tasted so delicious. I definitely recommend the chicken tikka masala. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. It is completely affordable and has a beautiful interior design. I definitely recommend this place!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2014

Saffron Indian Cuisine turned out to be a real surprise! We have a

need for authentic Indian food in the neighborhood, and Saffron doesn't disappoint. Sandra, the owner, is incredibly accommodating and friendly, but it's the food that is the real champion here. I've tried the buffet on one occasion and ordered a la carte on a second occasion. The food is fresh, authentic, and delicious. I really recommend a visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2014

We ate at Saffron the day after Valentine's Day, yet the only menu available was the limited special menu.
The garlic naan was some of the best we have ever had.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2014

This restaurant is average.You can substitute tofu for meat, which is unique for Indian restaurants, awesome! The samosas were dry and dull. The mango lassi was excellent,a true lassi compared to other restaurants that serve "mango juice" or "mango smoothie" instead. Overall, this restaurant offers food that is good enough for those looking to try Indian.
I went on Valentine's Day for their 5-course dinner mainly because it was only $25. The service was pretty bad. It was the first day for all three waiters. We didn't get plates or silverware to spoon out the entrees for many minutes, and had to send back our naan because it had gotten cold. The waiters were very nice, but not knowledgeable about Indian cuisine or how it is to be eaten.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 11, 2014

We arrived looking for a Mexican restaurant that used to be in the same space..... lucky us, the food was even better! The dinner buffet is $9.99 and is an amazing deal full of really delicious choices. The staff is friends and accommodating and it was a lovely evening, all around.

Report
Helpful