About Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange

20 City Blvd. West
Orange, CA 92868
View Larger Map

Saddle Ranch Chop House’s extensive and varied menu features everything from the most sensational filet mignon, prime rib, pork chops, ribs and seafood to mouth-watering fried chicken, pasta, burgers and sandwiches, plus several lighter options to choose from like chicken or fish tacos, salads, wraps and more. With everything from omelettes and pancakes to the highest quality steaks and chops, Saddle Ranch has something that everyone in your party will love. Finish off your meal with a huge slice of decadent, signature Candy Bar Ice Cream Pie or with s’mores you roast yourself at one of Saddle Ranch’s outdoor stone campfire pits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:30am
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am
Saturday: 9:00am - 2:00am
Sunday: 9:00am - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Chapman Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(657) 221-3136

Website:
http://www.thesaddleranch.com/

Entertainment:
A mechanical bull in the center of the dining room provides endless entertainment for riders and bystanders alike. Our outdoor patio features fire pits for roasting your own S'mores or enjoying a glass of wine by the fire and dozens of TV's are available for watching all of your favorite sporting events! We have everything from our Bull Contest on Mondays to Super Star Karaoke on Tuesday nights. Join us for bottomless Bloody Marys and Mimosas every day until 3:00pm or Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 4:00pm-6:30pm.

Catering:
Saddle Ranch Chop House offers a great catering menu for all occasions, parties, and events. Please contact us to find out more.

Parking Details:
There is a public lot with ample parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Mosquera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Macadamia Brownie - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Chicken Sliders - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Cinnamon Rum Raisin Bread Pudding - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Oatmeal - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Pepperoni Pizza - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Spin Dip - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Veggie Egg White Omelette - Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange
Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange

Saddle Ranch Chop House - Orange Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
People Watching (6)
Live Sports (6)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service but the breakfast was terr ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service but the breakfast was terrible. I ordered steak n eggs. My steak was okay but my eggs, hashbrowns and toast were terrible. Then I tried to order an Ice Tea and they didn't have tea. I've been to saddle ranch plenty of times for dinner and I've always walked away pleased except for my brunch experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy sitting on the patio enjoyi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy sitting on the patio enjoying friends and people watching. Food is good, a good selection of drinks and the waiters are always friendly. Plus, last time we were there they gave us a free dessert.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere casual country drinks are ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fun atmosphere casual country drinks are good and food is good our waiter I think his name was Jeff he was great too and at the end of the meal they brought a complantry cotton candy it was more then enough for the four of us. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday night Football was sooooo LOUD on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Sunday night Football was sooooo LOUD on about 50 TVs. It was cold in the restaurant, and the parking is ridiculous

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

service was horrible don't think i would ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

service was horrible don't think i would go back. we asked for a separate check and the girl told me we couldn't do it. we had to servers for our group(20) she said policy would not let them and at the end i find out the other half of our group got a separate check for each order. that's ridiculous.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We were a party of 8 it took over an hou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were a party of 8 it took over an hour to recieve our food.. it was not very busy.the people who got seated 30 min after us got there food around the same time we did. When getting our food two taco plates had cold tortillas.yes we recieved other plates to replace but that caused us to wait longer. We made reservations so we would not have to wait i can only imagine how much longer we would have waited without reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food at good prices. Our server J ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food at good prices. Our server Jessie R was amazing. Will ask for him whenever we visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow at first, then got bett ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was slow at first, then got better after we flagged down our server. Food was very good; steaks, tri tip & prime rib were very tasty and prepared exactly as ordered. Seemed like a lot of servers and managers roamed the floor with no idea of what they were doing. I hope the customer service improves, as this place could be a real gem.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Kind of loud inside, but the service was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Kind of loud inside, but the service was very friendly and our food was very fresh tasting. The menu had a lot of variety for a steakhouse.

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great, the table was re ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was great, the table was ready at the time of the reservation. Great place to watch football and eat good food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great staff. Everett was awe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food. Great staff. Everett was awesome and so friendly. He made my dads bday this past weekend great. Brought by a delicious piece of cake and a huge cotton candy swirly thing. Thanks. We will be back for special occasions .

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The rustic atmosphere

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The rustic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As my party was seated, we were able to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

As my party was seated, we were able to order our drinks. I had ordered a mojito and my boyfriend ordered a beer. His beer came out with about five minutes. I had waited for 20 minutes and the only reason I had received my mojito was because I had to ask the server about my order. He comes back five minutes later with my drink to tell me that one of the bars didn't have mint or limes. He didn't bother to check on my drink in the first place and just said "oh". When my drink did come to me it just tasted like watered down vodka. Worst mojito I have ever tasted. I still had to pay for my drink and was just disappointed for the lack of communication, I understand that it does get busy, however that day it was pretty slow for the 4:30pm happy hour.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I had a reservation, even called the mor ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had a reservation, even called the morning of to confirm. I had to wait 45 minutes for the table to be ready, I was forced to sit outside and was never asked for a preference when making or confirming reservation. When I arrived I said inside, only to wait 15-20 minutes to be told I had to sit outside. Never was there courtesy from the host or an apology for the wait and outside seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I have only been to Saddle Ranch for Sun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have only been to Saddle Ranch for Sunday brunch and the bottonless mimosas and bloody marys were the huge original draw for me. My daughter loves the eggs Benedict for the chipoltle hollendaise sauce. The chicken was a bit dry on the chicken and biscuits. I loved the huevos Ranchero nice and spice. The beans were very yummy also. LOVE the cotton candy.

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great happy hour with friends. The food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great happy hour with friends. The food was amazing for the value - we all loved the variety and our ability to try many dishes for great prices. Definitely eat there again!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service the host and other serv ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Horrible service the host and other servers will look straight at you and ignore you even though it was a slow night the bar takes forever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

the service was terrible. they took long ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

the service was terrible. they took long time to check on us to see if we need something.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We were greeted right away and taken to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We were greeted right away and taken to a table promptly. The server was great and took great care of us. Didn't really have to ask for anything as he was always right there. Foods was great as usual. One of the best BBQ spots in Orange County. Enjoy the casual atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had reserved a week prior to the day i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I had reserved a week prior to the day i went and i only got one table for 10 also my waitress took 40 minutes to bring out two of my friends food.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Slow service and beyond slow

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Slow service and beyond slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Service was outstanding. Complimentary t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was outstanding. Complimentary treats for special occasions is very generous. Food was only okay...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, complimentary chocola ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service, complimentary chocolate chip pozookie with ice cream and whipped cream. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating a dear friend retiri ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were celebrating a dear friend retiring. We enjoyed the ambiance the food and the service was attentive. We were pleasantly surprised when we received 2 delightful cotton candy vases and the delicious chocolate dessert with ice cream!! It was a perfect way to celebrate!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was horrible. Food cold and not ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was horrible. Food cold and not great either. They told us it would take 15 minutes for the cotton candy tower and 45 minutes later we were still waiting and had to get a manager. The succotash was so spicy that I felt sick and when I told them it was bad the server said, "Well, you will know better than to order it next time!". Overall a really, really terrible experience. Not going back there for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

First, we had reservations but the staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

First, we had reservations but the staff sat folks on a first come, first serve basis. Then we were immediately greeted with the beer taps weren't working. Lastly, they screwed up two ribeye entrees. Medium is not medium rare and medium is not rare to medium rare. And how one screws up the sides after writing them down (loaded mash potatoes isn't hard to remember nor is mash potatoes instead of fries) is beyond my understanding. Spend your money elsewhere, the place isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We have been here several times and alwa ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been here several times and always had fun but this time it was awful. The food was okay but the service was horrible. The poor waitress in our area had six large tables. Our table was the smallest with six. She tried as hard to keep up as she could but we had to wait 45 minutes for our food, 30 minutes for our check and then another 30 minutes to get the bill back to sign my card. We were not happy campers when we left. Plus, and this is no fault of the restaurant, but the parking was horrible with the construction. We will probably be back but not until the construction is over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I was completely disappointed from the m ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I was completely disappointed from the moment we arrived our tables were not ready. When I spoke to a manager he was of no help nor did he apologize for us being seated 45 after our reservation. Overall a horrible way to spend my wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a VERY bad experience. I went th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was a VERY bad experience. I went there to celebrate my birthday with family & friends. i made a reservation 4 days before. when i got there they still had me wait about 25 mins. Once we ordered, almost everyone received their food except for 4 of us which when i got my food, it was cold but i was very hungry so i didnt want it to be reheated or wait another 40 mins. We had so many issues with the table kegs & we were charged for a tall beer because the manager decided to pour some out before complaining to us that he would have to charge a drink because it was too low for him to replace it without charging. Again, we didnt argue because we just wanted a good night. So throughout the night there were many little mistakes. The big one that totally put the cherry on top was the fact that all of my 20 guests had their meal on one check when we asked for it to be split. we were told to just circle what belonged to who & they would take care of it. so when my boyfriend paid our bill, he ended up paying 160 for a 60$ tab. Why? because the cashier told everyone to just circle their meal and everything else is taken care of. so of course my boyfriend, 3 of my friends & i stayed about 40 mins after everyone left. the only thing they told us they can do was charge everyone again but i would have to call all 20 guests back & go through it again. I was not about to have my guests who were probably already home come back. The only thing that the manager kept repeating was that he cant do anything & he cant afford of losing money. You cannot tell that to a party that just finished receiving a tab of about close to 500$. After getting no where with the manager, my boyfriend just decided to pay for all the taxes and extra charges that were not split up evenly between everyone because we were told that it would get taken care of. Obviously it wasnt & no one even bothered to try to actually help out. I would definitely not recommend anyone with a party bigger than 2. VERY BAD!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Food is always good but the signature bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is always good but the signature burger was the bomd can't wait till Sundaybrunch and football

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere ...celebrated my birthd ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great atmosphere ...celebrated my birthday but waiter never brought out my bday dessert :(...but still had a great time drinks are awesome

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went with a group of 12 for my sons 20th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went with a group of 12 for my sons 20th birthday. They had no problem sitting our large group, gave great service, food was great and my son got to ride the bull for free. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everyone enjoyed their meal. slightly sl ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

everyone enjoyed their meal. slightly slow to get the food however very accommodating server. inconvenient parking situation and outdoor dining due to construction right outside the establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an extremely unfortunate experien ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had an extremely unfortunate experience while celebrating two birthday lunches at the Chop House. We had a group of 12 and the service was so slow that two people had to go back to work before we got our food which took close to an hour. It felt like we were hostages. We had to practically beg the manager to take an item off our bill for the person who could not stay to eat. Another did not get her food with the first group (again an hour later) and was still waiting. They had taken her food back to the kitchen because they originally gave it to the wrong person . 20 minutes later they brought her that same sandwich that was now dried out from being on the line. Then we waited another 15 minutes for our bill and the waiter came to complain that management had not planned for the day and they were short staff. S So, it was a big birthday fail!!!

I understand having a bad day but the apology could have been much more sincere and so I give the overall experience a one star. We had a reservation at 11:45a.m. and got back to the office, 5 minutes away at 2p.m.. Not o.k. on any level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

What a fun, friendly restaurant. We had ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a fun, friendly restaurant. We had a group of 7 people and made reservations with open table. We were greeted by smiling hostesses and seated promptly. Our server was very kind, courteous and always smiling. The drinks were a bit pricey, but our occasion of getting together made it all worth it. We were there in the early evening time and the food was good. All the employees there were very friendly. It was nice that they kept checking to see if we needed anything more.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated right away, of course we ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were seated right away, of course we had reservations just in case. There seem to be some confusion on who was serving our table, but eventually after 5 servers passed our table we asked someone if there was a waiter/waitress for our table. We then were sent a nice waitress who served us well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were early for a 12:30pm reservation ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were early for a 12:30pm reservation and were greeted promptly and seated immediately. One of the managers even greeted us at the door.

Our server, Alex, was exceptional! He was attentive, made recommendations, and even took pictures for us! He suggested the overflowing mimosas with brunch entree. Great bargain! I especially enjoyed the strawberry and mango mimosas. I also had the steak and eggs and split a buttermilk pancake. Solid for a brunch with friends. Everything was delicious and well prepared. To top things off, our table was treated to a cotton candy tower with cookie a la mode! We had to roll ourselves out of there as the portions are quite filling, despite, splitting an entree. Needless to say, the experience at Saddleback Ranch, Orange was wonderful, particularly due to the great service that was above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good and best mashed potatoe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was good and best mashed potatoes I've ever had! Company was nice and area was sat at was nice and not noisy !

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One word, "amazing!" Definitely plan to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One word, "amazing!"

Definitely plan to come back. Friendly staff and such a fun atmosphere. The bf and I loved it. Next time we will ride the bull!!

Thank you Saddle Ranch for a fun, memorable time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was great. Only reason I didn't give ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

All was great. Only reason I didn't give 5 star on food was because my ribs were to well done. They were a little burnt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.