About Saddle Peak Lodge

419 Cold Canyon Rd.
Calabasas, CA 91302
View Larger Map

Saddle Peak Lodge, where rustic ambiance meets a sophisticated palate.

The former hunting lodge maintains a warm and rustic décor, featuring two fireplaces, outdoor dining, and views from the second- and third-floor rooms.

Chef Christopher Kufek prepares contemporary American comfort food with an emphasis on hearty wild game, fish, & seasonal ingredients, and welcomes you to try the 7 course Chef's Tasting menu, with optional hand-selected wine pairings.

To complement the food, the wine list includes American boutique wines difficult to find on many other lists. Our bartenders prepare classic and old-fashioned cocktails as well as modern versions of the classics. We invite you to come to our wine and scotch dinners and beer luncheons, which have received rave reviews.

Whether you are a meat eater, fish lover, beer drinker, wine aficionado or a Scotch enthusiast, Saddle Peak Lodge is just minutes away, but a world apart.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Happy Hour 5-6 PM, Dinner 6-9 PM
Saturday: Dinner 5-10 PM
Sunday: Brunch 10:30 AM - 2 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM

Cross Street:
Piuma Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 222-3888

Website:
http://www.saddlepeaklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kufek

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful and secluded location, paired with our award-winning cuisine, service, and rustic decor make Saddle Peak Lodge an ideal venue for any occasion. Pricing is based on a site fee and food and beverage minimum which vary depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Tade : 8182223888x14

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer four unique private rooms and three lush patios including our wedding ceremony site overlooking the canyon hills. Our distinctive menu choices and unique decor make our restaurant the perfect location for your next special event.

Restaurant Photos

New Zealand Elk Tenderloin
Pear and apple endive salad, Shaft blue cheese vinaigrette
butternut squash agnolotti
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Wrapped Bratwurst
Chocolate Molton Cake With Guiness Ice Cream
Trio Of Meats, Elk, Venison And Buffalo
Veal
Cereal Crusted Ahi Tuna W Walnut Powder, Dill Creme Fraiche, Orange Soy Reduction, Grilled Asaragus
Rabbit Saddle
Beignets
Racks Of Lamb
Elk/buffalo/antelope

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saddle Peak Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Romantic
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Special Occasion
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
1 More
American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Calabasas ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (82)
fit for foodies (61)
See All
great for outdoor dining (51)
scenic view (49)
great for brunch (42)
neighborhood gem (33)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We've been patrons for over 35 years, th ...

Dined 6 days ago

We've been patrons for over 35 years, this last visit was horrible. A ruined birthday celebration. We were served bread, no water or menus, I had to request water. Then after we finally ordered, one of our entrées (Elk) was undercooked, even after explicit instructions on how we wanted it prepared. Then to completely disregard us, our waiter assumed we didn't want a dessert we ordered. If this is the new "Normal" we're never returning.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the Father's Day brunch menu. Everyt ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had the Father's Day brunch menu. Everything was great from starter to dessert. The area where we sat was a little warm but the food and the service is great.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Went there for dinner, meal was WAY Over ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for dinner, meal was WAY Overpriced. Portions very small. On top of the high prices they charge you for parking. Not thrilled. Better or equal quality at other establishments.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet place with balances menu that appe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Quiet place with balances menu that appeals to vegetarians and exotic meat eaters alike. The wine list was good although not as good as I would have expected from the imagination obvious in the food. I am already planning and looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

service was not prompt or attentive; dis ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

service was not prompt or attentive; disappointing. Second time here and brought friends who were visiting from NJ for a special birthday celebration - food and service was very slow

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb ambiance, creative menu, excellen ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Superb ambiance, creative menu, excellent service! We were allowed to sit undisturbed and talk for two hours after finishing our exquisite meal. What a delight to dine in such a comfortable relaxed fashion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

An extraordinary setting, ambiance, deco ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

An extraordinary setting, ambiance, decor and a real treasure to make any occasion special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The ambiance is special inside and outside.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at Saddle Peak Lodge for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We are regulars at Saddle Peak Lodge for their Sunday brunch. It is hands down the best food for the best value in LA. You get award winning food and bottomless Mimosas in an unrivaled atmosphere. Special requests are accommodated without a blink of the eye and usually without an adjustment to the bill. The staff is friendly and professional. My husband and I are total fans of the eggs Benedict. I get them without potatoes and a side of salad. He gets them with salmon instead of the bacon and potatoes extra crispy. They come on a croissant which is so light and flaky. We save the top and ask for a side of the fruit compote and Nutella as a desert- delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Fantastic ambiance -- part hunting lodge ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic ambiance -- part hunting lodge, part country oasis. Every dish of the mostly traditional Americana cuisine exceeded expectations, with the exception of the surprisingly pathetic cheese-less mac & cheese. Special mushroom & truffle pasta appetizer, amazing. Wood fire cooked bone-in rib eye, best one I know of in the LA area. The portabella mushroom fries, crazy good! Service was very good, in that American style. Was it expensive? Yes, total dinner bill with 20% tip was $300 for 2 people(!) Was it worth it? Yes, for a special occasion. Will I be returning. Absolutely, on future special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food Better Than Service

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, the food was excellent but the service was sorely lacking. There seemed to be a lot of servers in our room; I can only gather that they operate inefficiently. I had to get up several times to tell someone what we needed. VERY frustrating and slow.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a wow in all aspects, wond ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is a wow in all aspects, wonderful food, stunning dinning rooms, quiet and peaceful, good service.

Tags: brunch, romance, special occasions, lunch
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

While the ambiance was wonderful, all of ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

While the ambiance was wonderful, all of our dinners were cold. The Emu and Elk, while cooked perfectly, arrived to the table cold. Cold to the touch. The mac and cheese I ordered for my grandson was excellent and served hot, as well as asparagus which the table shared. More than enough. Expected more after hearing from others how great it was. It turns out my son loved the Emu, and I loved the Elk even though it was cold. I will try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Dollar driven and not worth it.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We've lived in the Valley for 50 years and have visited Saddle Peak Lodge several times for special occasions. This time was the 50th birthday of our youngest daughter and we wanted it to be special. The evening started off on a negative note when the parking attendant demanded $5 before he took our car. While waiting for our table I had a glass of wine at the bar. I asked to have it put on our tab and was told the bar was a concession and to pay now. It was a Santa Barbara Pinot Grigio of no particular distinction and cost $14...perhaps double the cost of the bottle itself. We ordered from the $35 meal menu but noted that two items on the menu were *Additional $7.00. The servers were well trained and attentive but didn't compensate for the fried chicken delivered to me. The crust was bone dry and the chicken was so well done it was like eating sawdust. My wife had the trout which was OK except for the vegetables. If there is a category between al dente and raw, that's what she was served. Didn't want to ruin our daughter's evening by sending them back but did complain to our waiter on leaving. He was apologetic and said he would tell the chef. Now I understand why the parking attendant wanted his $5 up front. We spent almost $250 for a meal that wasn't worth half that. Both my wife and I were so disappointed that we would probably taken it out on him. I am afraid we've made our last visit to The Saddle Peak Lodge. Makes us sad. Louise and Ray DeTournay

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food but the service was so so. O ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food but the service was so so. Out of the wine I ordered, told "we only had one bottle". Had to ask for bread. The service was not up to what it has been in the past. Maybe just an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place for brunch or dinner.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We had Sunday brunch on a beautiful afternoon. The food was amazing! We split the banana foster french toast, goat cheese quiche and the game trio sausages! All fabulous. On top of that they have good coffee which is usually an afterthought at most brunch spots. The outdoor area is sweet, intimate and beautiful. The indoor dining area is better for dinner as its very dark.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magical

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a foodie heaven wrapped in an elegant rustic bow. My favorite dish and one I had never tried before was the Emu! It was amazing everyone at my table loved it's smoky flavor. My second favorite was the grilled octopus it was cooked perfectly. Also the cherry on top was the bread pudding served hot! Wish I could of done a wine pairing as well but I was pregnant but for the tasting menu while $60 seems steep when you see the pour and the caliber of wine it's actually a steal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance

Dined on June 2, 2016

Perfect to go on a Monday to Thursday for their special summer food price. Went on a Wed. night and the three course dinner was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saddle Peak Lodge is a very special plac ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Saddle Peak Lodge is a very special place to go for any reason. the food was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice Ambience

Dined on May 29, 2016

We really enjoyed sitting in the patio. However, the service and food was not what we expected from this expensive restaurant. The steak was almost burnt and when we told our server, he just said sorry. Also, we did not receive any bread and butter unlike the other tables and when we asked for it they gave us some. However, the didn't pay attention when our friend asked for more bread. The portions are too small considering the very expensive prices! This experience made us decide NOT to go there again!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Friends told us they would never go back ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Friends told us they would never go back due to bad service. They were correct. It use to be first class memorable restaurant. Food still good, but expensive

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I hate to give bad reviews, but this pla ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I hate to give bad reviews, but this place is terribly overpriced. I am all for an expensive meal, but we ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing and it came to $400. The food was mediocre at best. My husband and I love to cook and 90% of the meals we cook at home on a week night taste better than this dinner.

food3
ambience5
service4

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 medium ones with no size at all. Also was extremely salty - didn't taste fresh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stumbled upon this place by accident. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We stumbled upon this place by accident. The environment, ambiance, and food well exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Reservation for 5 listed but not communicated

Dined on May 9, 2016

We reserved for 4, then called later to request 1 more but were denied. When we arrived we were listed for 5 but no one told us so our 5th guest did not attend. There were multiple open tables that could have accommodated 5 inside and outside.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

No jam at brunch? Odd.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food mediocre but very expensive. An abundance of servers who still messed things up. Sadly disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there, the food ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first time there, the food was incredible, the location and ambience were amazing, and the servers couldn't of been more helpful and pleasant. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and the service was wonderful, food was great! We will be going back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu and wine pairing was a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The tasting menu and wine pairing was a very delightful experience. The elk tenderloin with cherries was one of the best dishes I have ever tasted and I am not a red meat eater! The staff and service was very attentive, knowledgable and friendly. The young chef has a gift for food prep and Saddle Peak remains at the top of my list for a place to go for the most special occasions.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was one of the most outstanding dining experiences my wife and I have ever had. The food was fantastic and the service matched. We would love to come back for our next special occasion although the price is a little high, but it is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The buffalo short ribs and potato purée ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The buffalo short ribs and potato purée are delicious! Wonderful selection of wines

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

If only

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This old dependable place let us down. The kitchen lost our order and no one, especially not our server, noticed that we had been sitting there for an hour without getting even our first course. We inquired, and an hour and half after we sat down, we got our food. Our server tried to make it up to us with a free second round of drinks, which we really didn't want. He also offered dessert but by that time, we just wanted to go home.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was right!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was right about my dining experience at Saddle Peak Lodge. I had heard a lot about it and - despite the fact that I live very close by - I had never dined there before. I am really glad that I didn't listen to the naysayers who think it's overpriced. Yes, the prices are upscale, but it's worth every penny - the food was perfect, service close to impeccable, the ambience was so pleasant that I felt like sitting in my own living room. We had a very memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Oozes Atmosphere, QUIET, Romantic and Great place to get engaged!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

All the Best

Dined on April 17, 2016

What a great treasure. The food is great, the ambiance is lovely, and the noise level is pleasant particularly compared to the noisy west side norm. It is not inexpensive, and I would recommend it to anyone. It is great to have this ongoing high quality place to consistently be there for a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Piece of Heaven

Dined on April 17, 2016

Saddle Peak Lodge provides rustic elegance in an historical setting. Nestled in a canyon, it is one of the most attractive and peaceful restaurants I have ever experienced. The food is outstanding and beautifully prepared. The staff are veterans who know their business and clearly love the Lodge. There is almost a pride of ownership that one detects as they tell you about the place, explain the menu choices and make recommendations. When my wife asked for the recipe for the dressing on their wonderful apple salad the manager made sure she had a copy before the valet had brought around our car. Whether you take a table inside the lodge or dine outdoors you will not be disappointed. There simply are no bad tables in Saddle Peak Lodge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best dining ever

Dined on April 14, 2016

we loved every minute of our supper; the ambience, the food, the service, and the food again. it was a very memorable experience for us and we cannot wait to come again. thanks so very much for this wonderful place. we appreciate it so very much, especially realizing how much care, know-how and love goes into keeping a wonderful place like that going. we are business people ourselves and appreciate the extraordinary high quality we were able to enjoy. thanks again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the atmosphere, and the f ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Really enjoyed the atmosphere, and the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food in hunting lodge restaurant

Dined on March 30, 2016

Cosy atmosphere with low lights and roaring fire. We went on a Tues night when they run a special 3 course supper for $35 p.p. Much better value than choosing from the a la carte menu. All three courses, especially the filet mignon (tender meat and lots of it) and banana bread pudding were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was amazing.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the nicest waitress and she was very attentive. Refilled beverages, checked on us, etc. The food was amazing. Brunch menu was very good and the portions were perfect. We wasted nothing! Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.