About Saddle Peak Lodge

419 Cold Canyon Rd.
Calabasas, CA 91302
View Larger Map

Saddle Peak Lodge, where rustic ambiance meets a sophisticated palate.

The former hunting lodge maintains a warm and rustic décor, featuring two fireplaces, outdoor dining, and views from the second- and third-floor rooms.

Chef Christopher Kufek prepares contemporary American comfort food with an emphasis on hearty wild game, fish, & seasonal ingredients, and welcomes you to try the 7 course Chef's Tasting menu, with optional hand-selected wine pairings.

To complement the food, the wine list includes American boutique wines difficult to find on many other lists. Our bartenders prepare classic and old-fashioned cocktails as well as modern versions of the classics. We invite you to come to our wine and scotch dinners and beer luncheons, which have received rave reviews.

Whether you are a meat eater, fish lover, beer drinker, wine aficionado or a Scotch enthusiast, Saddle Peak Lodge is just minutes away, but a world apart.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Happy Hour 5-6 PM, Dinner 6-9 PM
Saturday: Dinner 5-10 PM
Sunday: Brunch 10:30 AM - 2 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM

Cross Street:
Piuma Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 222-3888

Website:
http://www.saddlepeaklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kufek

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful and secluded location, paired with our award-winning cuisine, service, and rustic decor make Saddle Peak Lodge an ideal venue for any occasion. Pricing is based on a site fee and food and beverage minimum which vary depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Tade : 8182223888x14

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer four unique private rooms and three lush patios including our wedding ceremony site overlooking the canyon hills. Our distinctive menu choices and unique decor make our restaurant the perfect location for your next special event.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saddle Peak Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Romantic
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Special Occasion
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
1 More
American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Calabasas ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (88)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
scenic view (53)
great for outdoor dining (44)
great for brunch (36)
neighborhood gem (33)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Friends told us they would never go back ...

Dined 3 days ago

Friends told us they would never go back due to bad service. They were correct. It use to be first class memorable restaurant. Food still good, but expensive

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I hate to give bad reviews, but this pla ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I hate to give bad reviews, but this place is terribly overpriced. I am all for an expensive meal, but we ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing and it came to $400. The food was mediocre at best. My husband and I love to cook and 90% of the meals we cook at home on a week night taste better than this dinner.

food3
ambience5
service4

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 medium ones with no size at all. Also was extremely salty - didn't taste fresh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stumbled upon this place by accident. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We stumbled upon this place by accident. The environment, ambiance, and food well exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Reservation for 5 listed but not communicated

Dined on May 9, 2016

We reserved for 4, then called later to request 1 more but were denied. When we arrived we were listed for 5 but no one told us so our 5th guest did not attend. There were multiple open tables that could have accommodated 5 inside and outside.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

No jam at brunch? Odd.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food mediocre but very expensive. An abundance of servers who still messed things up. Sadly disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there, the food ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first time there, the food was incredible, the location and ambience were amazing, and the servers couldn't of been more helpful and pleasant. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and the service was wonderful, food was great! We will be going back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu and wine pairing was a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The tasting menu and wine pairing was a very delightful experience. The elk tenderloin with cherries was one of the best dishes I have ever tasted and I am not a red meat eater! The staff and service was very attentive, knowledgable and friendly. The young chef has a gift for food prep and Saddle Peak remains at the top of my list for a place to go for the most special occasions.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was one of the most outstanding dining experiences my wife and I have ever had. The food was fantastic and the service matched. We would love to come back for our next special occasion although the price is a little high, but it is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The buffalo short ribs and potato purée ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The buffalo short ribs and potato purée are delicious! Wonderful selection of wines

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

If only

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This old dependable place let us down. The kitchen lost our order and no one, especially not our server, noticed that we had been sitting there for an hour without getting even our first course. We inquired, and an hour and half after we sat down, we got our food. Our server tried to make it up to us with a free second round of drinks, which we really didn't want. He also offered dessert but by that time, we just wanted to go home.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was right!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was right about my dining experience at Saddle Peak Lodge. I had heard a lot about it and - despite the fact that I live very close by - I had never dined there before. I am really glad that I didn't listen to the naysayers who think it's overpriced. Yes, the prices are upscale, but it's worth every penny - the food was perfect, service close to impeccable, the ambience was so pleasant that I felt like sitting in my own living room. We had a very memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Oozes Atmosphere, QUIET, Romantic and Great place to get engaged!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

All the Best

Dined on April 17, 2016

What a great treasure. The food is great, the ambiance is lovely, and the noise level is pleasant particularly compared to the noisy west side norm. It is not inexpensive, and I would recommend it to anyone. It is great to have this ongoing high quality place to consistently be there for a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Piece of Heaven

Dined on April 17, 2016

Saddle Peak Lodge provides rustic elegance in an historical setting. Nestled in a canyon, it is one of the most attractive and peaceful restaurants I have ever experienced. The food is outstanding and beautifully prepared. The staff are veterans who know their business and clearly love the Lodge. There is almost a pride of ownership that one detects as they tell you about the place, explain the menu choices and make recommendations. When my wife asked for the recipe for the dressing on their wonderful apple salad the manager made sure she had a copy before the valet had brought around our car. Whether you take a table inside the lodge or dine outdoors you will not be disappointed. There simply are no bad tables in Saddle Peak Lodge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best dining ever

Dined on April 14, 2016

we loved every minute of our supper; the ambience, the food, the service, and the food again. it was a very memorable experience for us and we cannot wait to come again. thanks so very much for this wonderful place. we appreciate it so very much, especially realizing how much care, know-how and love goes into keeping a wonderful place like that going. we are business people ourselves and appreciate the extraordinary high quality we were able to enjoy. thanks again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the atmosphere, and the f ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Really enjoyed the atmosphere, and the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food in hunting lodge restaurant

Dined on March 30, 2016

Cosy atmosphere with low lights and roaring fire. We went on a Tues night when they run a special 3 course supper for $35 p.p. Much better value than choosing from the a la carte menu. All three courses, especially the filet mignon (tender meat and lots of it) and banana bread pudding were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was amazing.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the nicest waitress and she was very attentive. Refilled beverages, checked on us, etc. The food was amazing. Brunch menu was very good and the portions were perfect. We wasted nothing! Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent overall dining experience.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We discovered Saddle Peak Lodge from an online list of interesting dining places, and decided to check it out to celebrate a small victory in our lives. The drive was nice, and the restaurant exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was prepared and served with great care, the staff were friendly and professional (we are huge fans of Alfonso/Fonzie), and the atmosphere compliments the menu of wild meats and side dishes. We enjoyed the lamb, venison, hoecake, and more. A return visit is definitely on our restaurant to-do list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My #1

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Never disappoints! Can't find another restaurant where my husband can't & won't complain about the amount of the bill. I cannot find another place with cleaner food,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Not So Great Anymore

Dined on March 13, 2016

As customer over 30 years we're disappointed by the salt based food from potato leek (overpowered the leek) simple salad dressing, squash soup, puree salt potato, etc, etc. Drank water all night. Menu selections seemed less of an assortment. If the kitchen staff doesn't have a prior or current history with tobacco, damaged taste buds, perhaps they should taste while they prep and cook. Saving grace was the usually well trained staff, most especially Dave.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing with low light

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great and romantic dining experience for our 5 year wedding anniversary. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a fancy restaurant with good food. My only complaint would be the low light in the dining room. I like a romantic candle-lit dinner as much as anyone, but it seemed like the power went out and we were all conserving and rationing the candles for extended use. I am young (28 years old), with good vision, and I had a hard time reading the menu. I couldn't even see the meat I was eating. I saw two different people at two different tables pull out their smart phones with the flashlight app to see the menu. Great food at a reasonable price.... fantastic service in a romantic atmosphere... just turn up the lights a click and this would be a 100% amazing experience in my book.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always one of our favorite places. Servi ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Always one of our favorite places. Service was excellent. The rustic nature of the interiors always makes our trips there memorable. They now have sone very reasonably priced complete specials on Monday's and Tuesday's. Very good value. Food was, as usual, excellent. We are going to return here more often.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time! Loved it!!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

First time! Loved it!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a perfect dining experience in ce ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a perfect dining experience in celebrating my fiancé's birthday. Your serving staff was impeccably attentive and treated us as if we were royalty. It's a place that will "lodge" in your heart.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Service was outstanding. The place is charming and beautiful. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best Elk and Emu I've ever had

Dined on February 28, 2016

The chef prepared each of our meat selections perfectly. You could cut everything with a butter knife.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Escape the city

Dined on February 28, 2016

Here is a romantic, elegant, hidden mountain lodge that will take you away from the city for a fabulous meal. Service is amazing - including valets, hosts and all servers. Menu is unique with game or alternatives for those not crazy for game. Yes it is expensive - but the ample servings allow people to share or split. Definitely a special place for a special meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on February 21, 2016

I love this place - a great lodge-y feel, fantastic food and service. It's definitely an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

One of a kind. A temple for meat eaters.

Dined on February 20, 2016

One of a kind. A temple for meat eaters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never a bad experience

Dined on February 16, 2016

We have been going to Saddlepeak for years. Often when we have out of town guests we will take them their for dinner. Always a great experience. The food is wonderful and the service attentive without being intrusive. You are still in Los Angeles but you feel like you are a thousand miles away and visiting many years in the past. Very nice break for the standard routine. My wife's favorite it the elk but when dining with first timers we generally get the Chef's Tasting Menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very well run restaurant from top to bottom, beginning to end. Delicious appetizers and main dishes. The cost seemed exorbitant but the experience was top rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

Went there for the outdoor seating as th ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went there for the outdoor seating as the reviews raved about. Upon arrival, the waiter said there was no outside seating? The seats inside are uncomfortable. Hearing waiters and staff joke around cursing at one another ruined the vibe and atmosphere. The dinner experience was definitely not worth the money and unlike what I imagined he restaurant to have been like through the reviews I read prior.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Valentine's Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

We recently moved into the area and were delighted to find this hidden gem. Nestled between Topanga and Malibu yet feels a million miles from LA chaos. We had been here for an amazing dinner last summer and sat inside the rustic lodge...had been wanting to come back during daylight hours to sit outside on the romantic patio. Valentine's Day was the perfect opportunity to do so for brunch. Lovely, quiet, perfect atmosphere and truly memorable menu options...Bananas Foster french toast and a lamb and goat cheese sandwich were our selections. <3

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great valentine's day brunch/lunch ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great valentine's day brunch/lunch. Server was excellent and made us feel very welcome. High quality food and a charming location.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was very slow and unfriendly. D ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was very slow and unfriendly. Did not seem welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lovely day great table, food outstanding,attentive service.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

There was no valentine decorations this ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

There was no valentine decorations this year. The dining room was full and the music was very low and everyone could hear everyone else talking. They only had one waiter for the whole dining room we have to find him several times to get our drinks. We felt that we were over charged. Not like it used to be??

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.