About Saddle Peak Lodge

419 Cold Canyon Rd.
Calabasas, CA 91302
View Larger Map

Saddle Peak Lodge, where rustic ambiance meets a sophisticated palate.

The former hunting lodge maintains a warm and rustic décor, featuring two fireplaces, outdoor dining, and views from the second- and third-floor rooms.

Chef Christopher Kufek prepares contemporary American comfort food with an emphasis on hearty wild game, fish, & seasonal ingredients, and welcomes you to try the 7 course Chef's Tasting menu, with optional hand-selected wine pairings.

To complement the food, the wine list includes American boutique wines difficult to find on many other lists. Our bartenders prepare classic and old-fashioned cocktails as well as modern versions of the classics. We invite you to come to our wine and scotch dinners and beer luncheons, which have received rave reviews.

Whether you are a meat eater, fish lover, beer drinker, wine aficionado or a Scotch enthusiast, Saddle Peak Lodge is just minutes away, but a world apart.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Happy Hour 5-6 PM, Dinner 6-9 PM
Saturday: Dinner 5-10 PM
Sunday: Brunch 10:30 AM - 2 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM

Cross Street:
Piuma Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 222-3888

Website:
http://www.saddlepeaklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kufek

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful and secluded location, paired with our award-winning cuisine, service, and rustic decor make Saddle Peak Lodge an ideal venue for any occasion. Pricing is based on a site fee and food and beverage minimum which vary depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Tade : 8182223888x14

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer four unique private rooms and three lush patios including our wedding ceremony site overlooking the canyon hills. Our distinctive menu choices and unique decor make our restaurant the perfect location for your next special event.

Restaurant Photos

New Zealand Elk Tenderloin
Pear and apple endive salad, Shaft blue cheese vinaigrette
butternut squash agnolotti
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Wrapped Bratwurst
Chocolate Molton Cake With Guiness Ice Cream
Trio Of Meats, Elk, Venison And Buffalo
Veal
Cereal Crusted Ahi Tuna W Walnut Powder, Dill Creme Fraiche, Orange Soy Reduction, Grilled Asaragus
Rabbit Saddle
Beignets
Racks Of Lamb
Elk/buffalo/antelope

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saddle Peak Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Romantic
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Special Occasion
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
1 More
American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Calabasas ›

special occasion (96)
romantic (82)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
great for outdoor dining (55)
scenic view (44)
great for brunch (37)
neighborhood gem (32)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was terrible, we didn't get ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was terrible, we didn't get everything ordered. The food was bad (we were sick for 24 hours following the meal). They thanked us for our patience, as they were "smoothing out the edges", but didn't attempt to compensate us by picking up dessert, etc.

I have previously had great experiences here but will likely not return after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Service has declined markedly! Did not g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service has declined markedly! Did not get second order of drinks, food not delivered together for all at table, never checked back that food was ok, water glasses empty--not refilled. Changed menu --removed biscuits unfortunately, Brussels sprouts not as much flavor. Food more bland. Told server we were there for a birthday but never was acknowledged as a birthday for my friend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I haven't been here for years and it is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I haven't been here for years and it is still as wonderful as it was! We were with some friends who had never been there and they loved it! My favorites are the Buffalo short rib, Elk and Emu tenderloin, Mushroom pasta and the sorbet. It is such a unique place and special. Maria, our server was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything unique and delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant with a unique menu. W ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome restaurant with a unique menu. We totally enjoyed our experience and will return next time we're in town. Loved it! The service was good it just seemed like it took longer than necessary but was well worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Six of us celebrated two birthdays, sitt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Six of us celebrated two birthdays, sitting outside on a pleasant summer evening.

The food was very good ranging from the tasting dinner menu for one birthday

member to the trio of meats to varied entrees. The meats were excellent. The

service was really excellent. We enjoyed it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

NICE SERVICE WITH FUNNY LOST WAITER. EM ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

NICE SERVICE WITH FUNNY LOST WAITER.

EMPTY ON THE WEEKDAYS.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

So nice. My older teenage boys and I we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

So nice. My older teenage boys and I were in town and wanted a special dinner. This was perfect. The ride up through the canyon is gorgeous and the restaurant itself is really atmospheric. Beware there are animal heads mounted on the walls, but even this vegetarian was OK with that. The service was tremendous. There was a seasonal tasting menu that both of the boys had - 3 courses. Very reasonable in price, great selection and tasty food.

The wines by the glass were a good selection and I tried one of their special cocktails.

While the menu is predominately meat - focused, there were additional choices and I had no trouble putting a few sides and appetizers together for a satisfying vegetarian alternative.

We sat inside, but the patio looked gorgeous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, although extremely pleasant, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server, although extremely pleasant, was almost incompetent. We had to ask for items repeatedly because she couldn't remember our requests.

The menu was OK, but we liked previous ones better.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was fabulous with lots of interesti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was fabulous with lots of interesting items on the menu. I was disappointed with the service. for example the waitress walked by us several times and never asked if we wanted a refill on our drinks. Food took a while to come out. The outdoor area is beautiful for dining. Indoors needs a badly needed makeover. It's a bit stuffy, dusty and musky.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was very good as was the service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good as was the service. Only exception was the hostess who seemed a bit overwhelmed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my family's worst dining experi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was my family's worst dining experience at Saddle Peak Lodge. While the atmosphere is always pleasant and the food was good, the service was worse than we'd expect at a suburban Denny's let alone an upscale establishment like this. We certainly understand the difference between a leisurely, luxurious experience and one that is simply inattentive and slow. This meal was the latter.

It took a really long time after being seated just to be acknowledged by a member of the wait staff, let alone be able to place an order for drinks. That became the pattern--long waits to see anyone while glasses ran dry, needed accompaniments weren't provided, and no one even bothered to check how things were going. We had to wait a LONG time to even request our check, and then a long time again for the check to be adjusted (more on that in a moment).

My wife had ordered the waffle but our waitress told us, when the rest of the food was ready, that the kitchen was having trouble with the waffle machine so she could either continue to wait or order something else. She chose the basket of baked goodies, which was served promptly and was delicious. When the bill came, I saw that we had still been charged for the waffle and not the goodie basket so I pointed that out to the server. She apologized and said that we wouldn't be charged for either item to make up for their mistake. But then when she returned with the corrected bill, I saw that she had increased our beverage charges, adding $6 for my daughter's chocolate milk and two $5 charges for my other daughter's tiny glasses of regular milk. I certainly don't mind paying for children's beverages, but ten dollars for a really small amount of milk (especially when it seemed like it was added just to make up for the comped item) is too much.

This experience was so completely opposite our other times at Saddle Peak Lodge that we are willing to chalk it up to just a bad day. Hopefully future meals will be back to excellence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I have dined at the Saddle Peak Lodge se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have dined at the Saddle Peak Lodge several times. I have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly. I have never waited for my table, when I had a reservation. The food is delicious and the presentation wonderful. I have taken family, been on dates, and taken guest from out of town. Everyone has always been extremely happy with their experience. I can not recommend Saddle Peak Lodge highly enough.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the drive to get there. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I really enjoyed the drive to get there. It set the romantic mood. The restaurant is rustic. I liked the log cabin feel. There's a bar where you can have a drink while waiting for your table. The menu has interesting items like Emu, venison, buffalo, etc...

I thoroughly enjoyed the Mushroom agnotti! Yum!!!!

The meal took a while, but they comped my mushroom agnotti that I wanted to take home.

Overall, the last time I had been there was 25 years ago and this time I was just as pleased!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We've been patrons for over 35 years, th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We've been patrons for over 35 years, this last visit was horrible.

A ruined birthday celebration.

We were served bread, no water or menus, I had to request water.

Then after we finally ordered, one of our entrées (Elk) was undercooked, even after explicit instructions on how we wanted it prepared. Then to completely disregard us, our waiter assumed we didn't want a dessert we ordered.

If this is the new "Normal" we're never returning.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Had the Father's Day brunch menu. Everyt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had the Father's Day brunch menu. Everything was great from starter to dessert. The area where we sat was a little warm but the food and the service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went there for dinner, meal was WAY Over ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for dinner, meal was WAY Overpriced. Portions very small. On top of the high prices they charge you for parking. Not thrilled. Better or equal quality at other establishments.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Quiet place with balances menu that appe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Quiet place with balances menu that appeals to vegetarians and exotic meat eaters alike. The wine list was good although not as good as I would have expected from the imagination obvious in the food. I am already planning and looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was not prompt or attentive; dis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

service was not prompt or attentive; disappointing. Second time here and brought friends who were visiting from NJ for a special birthday celebration - food and service was very slow

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Superb ambiance, creative menu, excellen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Superb ambiance, creative menu, excellent service! We were allowed to sit undisturbed and talk for two hours after finishing our exquisite meal. What a delight to dine in such a comfortable relaxed fashion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An extraordinary setting, ambiance, deco ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

An extraordinary setting, ambiance, decor and a real treasure to make any occasion special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The ambiance is special inside and outside.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at Saddle Peak Lodge for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We are regulars at Saddle Peak Lodge for their Sunday brunch. It is hands down the best food for the best value in LA. You get award winning food and bottomless Mimosas in an unrivaled atmosphere. Special requests are accommodated without a blink of the eye and usually without an adjustment to the bill. The staff is friendly and professional. My husband and I are total fans of the eggs Benedict. I get them without potatoes and a side of salad. He gets them with salmon instead of the bacon and potatoes extra crispy. They come on a croissant which is so light and flaky. We save the top and ask for a side of the fruit compote and Nutella as a desert- delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ambiance -- part hunting lodge ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic ambiance -- part hunting lodge, part country oasis.

Every dish of the mostly traditional Americana cuisine exceeded expectations, with the exception of the surprisingly pathetic cheese-less mac & cheese. Special mushroom & truffle pasta appetizer, amazing. Wood fire cooked bone-in rib eye, best one I know of in the LA area. The portabella mushroom fries, crazy good!

Service was very good, in that American style.

Was it expensive? Yes, total dinner bill with 20% tip was $300 for 2 people(!)

Was it worth it? Yes, for a special occasion.

Will I be returning. Absolutely, on future special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food Better Than Service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, the food was excellent but the service was sorely lacking. There seemed to be a lot of servers in our room; I can only gather that they operate inefficiently. I had to get up several times to tell someone what we needed. VERY frustrating and slow.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This place is a wow in all aspects, wond ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is a wow in all aspects, wonderful food, stunning dinning rooms, quiet and peaceful, good service.

Tags: brunch, romance, special occasions, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the ambiance was wonderful, all of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

While the ambiance was wonderful, all of our dinners were cold. The Emu and Elk, while cooked perfectly, arrived to the table cold. Cold to the touch. The mac and cheese I ordered for my grandson was excellent and served hot, as well as asparagus which the table shared. More than enough.

Expected more after hearing from others how great it was.

It turns out my son loved the Emu, and I loved the Elk even though it was cold.

I will try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Dollar driven and not worth it.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We've lived in the Valley for 50 years and have visited Saddle Peak Lodge several times for special occasions. This time was the 50th birthday of our youngest daughter and we wanted it to be special. The evening started off on a negative note when the parking attendant demanded $5 before he took our car. While waiting for our table I had a glass of wine at the bar. I asked to have it put on our tab and was told the bar was a concession and to pay now. It was a Santa Barbara Pinot Grigio of no particular distinction and cost $14...perhaps double the cost of the bottle itself. We ordered from the $35 meal menu but noted that two items on the menu were *Additional $7.00. The servers were well trained and attentive but didn't compensate for the fried chicken delivered to me. The crust was bone dry and the chicken was so well done it was like eating sawdust. My wife had the trout which was OK except for the vegetables. If there is a category between al dente and raw, that's what she was served. Didn't want to ruin our daughter's evening by sending them back but did complain to our waiter on leaving. He was apologetic and said he would tell the chef. Now I understand why the parking attendant wanted his $5 up front. We spent almost $250 for a meal that wasn't worth half that. Both my wife and I were so disappointed that we would probably taken it out on him. I am afraid we've made our last visit to The Saddle Peak Lodge. Makes us sad.

Louise and Ray DeTournay

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food but the service was so so. O ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food but the service was so so. Out of the wine I ordered, told "we only had one bottle". Had to ask for bread. The service was not up to what it has been in the past. Maybe just an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Fabulous place for brunch or dinner.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had Sunday brunch on a beautiful afternoon. The food was amazing! We split the banana foster french toast, goat cheese quiche and the game trio sausages! All fabulous. On top of that they have good coffee which is usually an afterthought at most brunch spots. The outdoor area is sweet, intimate and beautiful. The indoor dining area is better for dinner as its very dark.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a foodie heaven wrapped in an elegant rustic bow. My favorite dish and one I had never tried before was the Emu! It was amazing everyone at my table loved it's smoky flavor. My second favorite was the grilled octopus it was cooked perfectly. Also the cherry on top was the bread pudding served hot! Wish I could of done a wine pairing as well but I was pregnant but for the tasting menu while $60 seems steep when you see the pour and the caliber of wine it's actually a steal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Perfect to go on a Monday to Thursday for their special summer food price. Went on a Wed. night and the three course dinner was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saddle Peak Lodge is a very special plac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Saddle Peak Lodge is a very special place to go for any reason. the food was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Ambience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We really enjoyed sitting in the patio. However, the service and food was not what we expected from this expensive restaurant.

The steak was almost burnt and when we told our server, he just said sorry.

Also, we did not receive any bread and butter unlike the other tables and when we asked for it they gave us some. However, the didn't pay attention when our friend asked for more bread.

The portions are too small considering the very expensive prices!

This experience made us decide NOT to go there again!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Friends told us they would never go back ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Friends told us they would never go back due to bad service. They were correct. It use to be first class memorable restaurant. Food still good, but expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I hate to give bad reviews, but this pla ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I hate to give bad reviews, but this place is terribly overpriced. I am all for an expensive meal, but we ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing and it came to $400. The food was mediocre at best. My husband and I love to cook and 90% of the meals we cook at home on a week night taste better than this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Spent $42 for my scallop - there were 5 medium ones with no size at all. Also was extremely salty - didn't taste fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We stumbled upon this place by accident. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We stumbled upon this place by accident. The environment, ambiance, and food well exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation for 5 listed but not communicated

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We reserved for 4, then called later to request 1 more but were denied. When we arrived we were listed for 5 but no one told us so our 5th guest did not attend. There were multiple open tables that could have accommodated 5 inside and outside.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

No jam at brunch? Odd.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food mediocre but very expensive. An abundance of servers who still messed things up. Sadly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.