About Saddle Peak Lodge

419 Cold Canyon Rd.
Calabasas, CA 91302
View Larger Map

Saddle Peak Lodge, where rustic ambiance meets a sophisticated palate.

The former hunting lodge maintains a warm and rustic décor, featuring two fireplaces, outdoor dining, and views from the second- and third-floor rooms.

Chef Christopher Kufek prepares contemporary American comfort food with an emphasis on hearty wild game, fish, & seasonal ingredients, and welcomes you to try the 7 course Chef's Tasting menu, with optional hand-selected wine pairings.

To complement the food, the wine list includes American boutique wines difficult to find on many other lists. Our bartenders prepare classic and old-fashioned cocktails as well as modern versions of the classics. We invite you to come to our wine and scotch dinners and beer luncheons, which have received rave reviews.

Whether you are a meat eater, fish lover, beer drinker, wine aficionado or a Scotch enthusiast, Saddle Peak Lodge is just minutes away, but a world apart.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Happy Hour 5-6 PM, Dinner 6-9 PM
Saturday: Dinner 5-10 PM
Sunday: Brunch 10:30 AM - 2 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM

Cross Street:
Piuma Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 222-3888

Website:
http://www.saddlepeaklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kufek

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful and secluded location, paired with our award-winning cuisine, service, and rustic decor make Saddle Peak Lodge an ideal venue for any occasion. Pricing is based on a site fee and food and beverage minimum which vary depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Tade : 8182223888x14

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer four unique private rooms and three lush patios including our wedding ceremony site overlooking the canyon hills. Our distinctive menu choices and unique decor make our restaurant the perfect location for your next special event.

Restaurant Photos

New Zealand Elk Tenderloin
butternut squash agnolotti
Pear and apple endive salad, Shaft blue cheese vinaigrette
Pumpkin Pie
Bacon Wrapped Bratwurst
Chocolate Molton Cake With Guiness Ice Cream
Trio Of Meats, Elk, Venison And Buffalo
Veal
Cereal Crusted Ahi Tuna W Walnut Powder, Dill Creme Fraiche, Orange Soy Reduction, Grilled Asaragus
Rabbit Saddle
Beignets
Racks Of Lamb
Elk/buffalo/antelope

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saddle Peak Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Romantic
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Special Occasion
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
1 More
American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Calabasas ›

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (71)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Scenic View (33)
Great for Brunch (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Historic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Coolest restaurant in Southern Californi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Coolest restaurant in Southern California hands down!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Saddle Peak Lodge for specia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We love the Saddle Peak Lodge for special occasions and for their informal summer patio meals. Some may find the hunting lodge theme uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saddle Peak Lodge has been our #1 favori ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Saddle Peak Lodge has been our #1 favorite place to celebrate special occasions for over 20 years. If you are looking for a special place with an excellent menu that has emphasis on game meats (elk, venison, emu, buffalo, squab and others from time to time), you will not be unhappy with Saddle Peak. They do have regular steaks, fish, and a vegetarian option, so everyone is likely to find something yummy. It is expensive, but they deliver.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very beautiful mountain/canyon setting. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very beautiful mountain/canyon setting. Delightful wild game decor and menu selections.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointed in the restaurant. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very disappointed in the restaurant. The food was cold and rubbery with zero flavor. I really wanted to love it, but the curt service did not help their cause. Our server was short, clipped, and appeared bored when dealing with us. She wouldn't give any descriptions and nor did she really care if we were served or happy. The restaurant collected our chairs while several tables were still eating. A bummer to spend over $450 for three people and have poor food and bad service. The severs really just wanted the patrons to leave. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We absolutely love this place and have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We absolutely love this place and have recommended it to others .

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is quite simply my favorite r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This place is quite simply my favorite restaurant in the Greater LA metropolis, and is just the most splendid spot for a special occasion or celebratory dinner.

The food is always impeccable!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my wife's birthday and had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and had a lovely meal. It was a Monday and there weren't many people and possibly only one server. A few times we could not get her attention.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Unfortunately, our server totally forgot ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Unfortunately, our server totally forgot to bring our side dishes with the meal, and when reminded, brought them as we were finishing our entrees. Because of this we were not charged for the side dishes. All dishes were excellently prepared. The ambience on the patio is lovely, and overall a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect 72nd Birthday celebration for ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Perfect 72nd Birthday celebration for our family. Wait staff couldn't have been more attentive and the ghost stories thoroughly captivated their imagination. Best birthday in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Unique menu items. Expen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good food. Unique menu items. Expensive. Apple salad a little salty. Other reviews said that service was not good. Our service was excellent. Good choice for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Felt right at home. Go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love this place. Felt right at home. Go and enjoy!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food in a very romantic atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic food in a very romantic atmosphere and our waiter, (Reilly), had us laughing all night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary here. It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here. It is definitely a special occasion type of restaurant and we enjoyed it very much. It is expensive, but the food, service and ambiance made it a wonderful choice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated 3 birthdays in our party at a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Celebrated 3 birthdays in our party at a nice table. The ambiance is amazing and a great conversation piece as it is an upscale hunting lodge. We had a variety of food - emu, venison, steak, pork chops, oysters, scallops - and they were all delicious. For the side, I recommend their mac & cheese. Good service, friendly waiters and staff.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant ambience is great. The me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The restaurant ambience is great. The menu on the website is not up to date. I could not order what I selected from the website menu. Ordered the filet mignonmedium rare but it was served very rare.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was good. But the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was good. But the restaurant was very warm. The menu was also limited unless you want a slab of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My trout was disappointing Very white a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My trout was disappointing

Very white and wiggley skin

Veggies were hard and inedible

My husband and son had pork and some venison

They liked their meals

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We haven't been to the saddle peak for s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We haven't been to the saddle peak for several years. The food was wonderful -perfectly prepared, beautiful, delicious. I had the game plate with emu, buffalo and elk. My husband had lamb. Best lamb I have ever had. BUT.... our service was just so-so. We waited forever for the wine list and had to remind the waitress a second time. Our appetizers came out after a long wait before cocktails and the bread came out after the cocktails. when you are paying so much for a dinner ( our bill with tip was $380) you expect to have the service be as good as the food. We will think twice before we go back. We were disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Food is outstanding - really unique menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is outstanding - really unique menu and always delicious!! Nice ambience. Service VERY slow though. This past visit we did not get our starter until an hour and 20 minutes after we sat down.

All in all, still one of my favorites. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic food that great location . I' ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic food that great location . I've been enjoying this restaurant for the past 15 years and this time I was very disappointed with the service . We ordered cocktails and waited 15 minutes and the wine that I ordered for dinner came before our cocktails . We were the first to be seated and the last to be served . This was my birthday and it was totally ruined for me and I guests by the service . I'm not so sure I'll be going back to Saddlepeak for quite a while .

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

My family celebrated our 20th wedding an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My family celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. We had our 11 and 15 year old children with us. We all enjoyed separate dinners. I had the salmon, my daughter the Mary chicken, husband the buffalo short rib and son the rib eye. We all enjoyed our meals. We also order the brussel sprouts and the macaroni and cheese. All was very good. We order one etoh mixed drink. We went on a Wednesday evening. The restaurant was quiet but a large party was arriving as we left. The restaurant was ready and over staffed for the occasion, so I believe our meals would have been just a good if we were served after the party.

We will go there again for a special occasion. This sort of restaurant is not the norm for our budget but worth the price if you are prepared to pay top dollar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the most amazing evening. The lod ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had the most amazing evening. The lodge is rustic and beautiful. The food was outstanding; loved the soup and the pasta with wild mushrooms. The very best part of the evening was when my future son-in-law proposed to my daughter. The wait staff helped him surprise her with the dessert menu printed requesting her hand. It was the proposal of every girl dreams. Thank you for making it a magical night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful setting in what looks like ( ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A beautiful setting in what looks like (but probably isn't) a hunting lodge. Much of the food matches the severed heads on the walls! Lots of game. I am not a huge game fan since it's usually dry. So I opted for the server's highly recommended rib-eye steak. What it was, was huge. What it wasn't was fabulous. No question it was a good cut of beef, but I've had far more succulent steaks at other places, such as Ruth's Chris. My dining partner, who doesn't eat meat, had the salmon and he said it was just ok. He was doing me a favor by coming along knowing that meat is the star. To start, we split a Caesar salad which was excellent and was split before it got to the table - something I always admire in a restaurant. Our sides were portobello fries (delicious - didn't even miss the fact that they weren't potatoes) and cider vinegar brussel sprouts which were undercooked and not interesting. We split the chocolate brownie with a small dollop of ice cream for dessert.

We accompanied the dinner with a glass of wine each.

The bill was $180 + tip. It wasn't worth that. I'd give the place an A for ambiance and a B to B- for food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

In the past we have loved the food and s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

In the past we have loved the food and service. We were disappointed this time. The bar was slow (only one bar tender on a Saturday). We had the Chefs tasting menus with wine pairing. The timing was off and the food was only okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Elegant and romantic atmosphere and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Elegant and romantic atmosphere and ambiance, delightfully attentive and knowledgeable service, and an exquisite tasting menu with superbly paired wines!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant appears to be living on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant appears to be living on the coat tails of a bygone era... disappointing brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

First, the bartenders here are very acco ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First, the bartenders here are very accommodating, thank you for making my special cocktail. The Tasting Menu is done right. Each course was excellent and the perfect amount of food on each plate. The gazpacho and the foie gras mouse were my favorite small plates. The elk is a favorite entree. Our server, Danielle, was really delightful. The tasting menu was served at the right pace with each plate being explained by the server. We were not rushed, enjoyed the dining experience. We love Sunday Brunch here as well - it is relaxing, nice menu, nicely priced and always prepared and served to meet or exceed expectations. The tasting menu at dinner is a total treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love this place. We were celebrating a g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love this place. We were celebrating a graduation with a table of 7. The place is just so different. The ambiance alone let's everyone know that the evening is special. We missed having the 3 course prix fix option available during our last visit, but we powered through the regular menu

The dining pace seemed a little slow, but we had such nice company it wasn't a huge issue

I highly recommend this as a place that feels a million miles from la!

As for food, my kids pine for the Mac and cheese between visits. The vegetarian selections are few, but we made it work with the mushroom angiolotti and a salad. While meat is king, one of our party ordered the trout and another salmon and both were satisfied

We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The service was terrible, we didn't get ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was terrible, we didn't get everything ordered. The food was bad (we were sick for 24 hours following the meal). They thanked us for our patience, as they were "smoothing out the edges", but didn't attempt to compensate us by picking up dessert, etc.

I have previously had great experiences here but will likely not return after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Service has declined markedly! Did not g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service has declined markedly! Did not get second order of drinks, food not delivered together for all at table, never checked back that food was ok, water glasses empty--not refilled. Changed menu --removed biscuits unfortunately, Brussels sprouts not as much flavor. Food more bland. Told server we were there for a birthday but never was acknowledged as a birthday for my friend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Absolutely loved this place. Took advan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Absolutely loved this place. Took advantage of the DineLA offering and every dish was delicious, especially since I did the wine pairing as well. It's always a good sign when hours pass and it feels like minutes. The experience couldn't have been better. The service and staff were excellent and the food was even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I haven't been here for years and it is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I haven't been here for years and it is still as wonderful as it was! We were with some friends who had never been there and they loved it! My favorites are the Buffalo short rib, Elk and Emu tenderloin, Mushroom pasta and the sorbet. It is such a unique place and special. Maria, our server was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything unique and delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant with a unique menu. W ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome restaurant with a unique menu. We totally enjoyed our experience and will return next time we're in town. Loved it! The service was good it just seemed like it took longer than necessary but was well worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Six of us celebrated two birthdays, sitt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Six of us celebrated two birthdays, sitting outside on a pleasant summer evening.

The food was very good ranging from the tasting dinner menu for one birthday

member to the trio of meats to varied entrees. The meats were excellent. The

service was really excellent. We enjoyed it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

NICE SERVICE WITH FUNNY LOST WAITER. EM ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

NICE SERVICE WITH FUNNY LOST WAITER.

EMPTY ON THE WEEKDAYS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

So nice. My older teenage boys and I we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

So nice. My older teenage boys and I were in town and wanted a special dinner. This was perfect. The ride up through the canyon is gorgeous and the restaurant itself is really atmospheric. Beware there are animal heads mounted on the walls, but even this vegetarian was OK with that. The service was tremendous. There was a seasonal tasting menu that both of the boys had - 3 courses. Very reasonable in price, great selection and tasty food.

The wines by the glass were a good selection and I tried one of their special cocktails.

While the menu is predominately meat - focused, there were additional choices and I had no trouble putting a few sides and appetizers together for a satisfying vegetarian alternative.

We sat inside, but the patio looked gorgeous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, although extremely pleasant, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server, although extremely pleasant, was almost incompetent. We had to ask for items repeatedly because she couldn't remember our requests.

The menu was OK, but we liked previous ones better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was fabulous with lots of interesti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was fabulous with lots of interesting items on the menu. I was disappointed with the service. for example the waitress walked by us several times and never asked if we wanted a refill on our drinks. Food took a while to come out. The outdoor area is beautiful for dining. Indoors needs a badly needed makeover. It's a bit stuffy, dusty and musky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.