Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Glacier BrewHouseGlacier BrewHouse
(3132)
Seafood | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
ORSOORSO
(2047)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Haute Quarter GrillHaute Quarter Grill
(633)
Contemporary American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
49th State Brewing Company Anchorage49th State Brewing Company Anchorage
(1)
Brewery | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
GingerGinger
(651)
Pan-Asian | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Marx Bros CafeMarx Bros Cafe
(659)
Contemporary American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain CookCrow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook
(717)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Fat PtarmiganFat Ptarmigan
(197)
Pizzeria | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Simon & Seafort'sSimon & Seafort's
(2995)
Steak | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Sullivan's Steakhouse - AnchorageSullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage
(1124)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Solstice Bar & GrillSolstice Bar & Grill
(1)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
MuseMuse
(80)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Hard Rock Cafe - AnchorageHard Rock Cafe - Anchorage
(14)
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
Benihana - AnchorageBenihana - Anchorage
(408)
Japanese | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now
The PubhouseThe Pubhouse
(63)
Gastro Pub | Anchorage, Anchorage
Reserve Now

About Sacks Cafe and Restaurant

328 G Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Sacks Cafe and Restaurant is an American restaurant that offers a café atmosphere. Drop in and order a delicious coffee, like a café au lait or a cappuccino, and stay to take a look at the decadent menu. Created with local fare in mind, the menu features a wide variety of items that contain local ingredients, like fresh produce and seafood. Try the ham and marinated olive sandwich, crab and scallop cakes, duck leg confit or the fresh Alaska halibut.

Lunch and dinner are served all week long at Sacks Cafe and Restaurant, with a delicious brunch menu that is served on Saturday and Sunday. You can even stop in for a quick dessert. Try the apple spice cake, gateau au chocolate or ask about the dessert special of the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 9 am to 2:30 pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-4022

Website:
http://sackscafe.com/

Catering:
Sacks is available for off site catering. Please see our web site for our catering menu. Sacks is also avaiable for private parties.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking on the streets. There is a paid parking behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Lukas Doherty

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant may be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Smith: 907-334-9700x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon Rice Bowl - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Lemon Pot De Creme - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Poached Eggs on Crab And Scallop Cakes - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Ginger crème brûlée - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Caprese Omlette - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Red Salmon - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Vegetarian Tart - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Tiger Prawn And Avocado Sandwich - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Fish Taco - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Oysters - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Lunch Special Sandwich - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
House Salad - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Chocolate Creme Brulee - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Sacks Burger - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Chicken Curry - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Eggs Benedict - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Wild Alaskan Silver Salmon - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Bacon And apple Salad - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Silver Salmon - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Wild Prawn Risotto - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Russian Creme - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Port Creme Caramel - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Chicken Entree - Sacks Cafe and Restaurant
Sort By:
Newest
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best kept non-secret

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I am always amazed when I get to tell an Anchorage local about Sacks. It is obviously a secret to some of your residents. What a great place in Downtown. I am slowly working to get the word out about this gem that is hidden in plain sight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really bad night at Sacks. Surprising.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Really bad night at Sacks. Surprising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Noise level was high due to small childr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Noise level was high due to small children, but this isn't really a place for children. But he staff did their best of a loud situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, usually great service.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

I have been twice, first time was great food and exceptional service. The second time was still amazing food, but the waitress was not so great. It could have just been an off day for her, so I will definitely go back, but she had to be asked for everything and didn't check on us unless waved down. Since we had to flag her down for everything, she started to get a little bit of an attitude. Again, it may have been a bad day, but it was just as busy the first time I went and our waiter then, was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Both my girlfriend & I had the salmon. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Both my girlfriend & I had the salmon. Both servings (an ample amount & beautifully presented) arrived too undercooked for our palates. The situation was immediately & courteously remedied and the result was a tasty treat indeed. Thank you to both the chef & our server for a lovely meal & evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Dining Experience

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Great menu, fabulous meals complimented by very attentive, knowledgable and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Birthday Brunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

In years past, I've picked Sacks for my birthday brunch and it was lovely. After this year, I won't be going back. The food was nothing special when in the past it truly was good, even great. I didn't mind the prices when the food and service was great. The service was poor at my birthday brunch. We had to repeatedly flag down the waiter for a second drink, for coffee, for more water and the restaurant wasn't busy. It was noisy because a large family came with their toddler, who they ignored or were so used to his volume they didn't notice. I'm sorry to say that Sacks is just not what it used to be. I wish I had selected a different place for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

consistently excellent

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

the pork keeps getting reinvented - surprising and delicious, textures, visual and taste all working together. love the green ice under the oysters - surprising!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We normally LOVE Sacks..

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

....but didn't realize it was going to be a preset menu for New Year's Eve. When we made the reservations, that was not made known at that time. We normally love the Sacks menu but didn't care for this particular mix.

The service was on point, but we did feel a tad bit rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It took 10 min for the server to acknowledge us.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

But this delay is unusual at Sack's and the rest of the experience was really good. Innovative New Year's Eve menu with choices for vegetarians. All the options we chose were satisfying. Service was attentive for the rest of the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

This was the worst dining experience I have had in Anchorage. I made the reservation well in advance to let the chef know that I am vegan and would be coming for brunch at 10 am. There were no options on the menu for me other than a salad (it was 10 am and I didn't want to eat a salad!). I made the reservation many days in advance, there was more than enough time to create something for me. What I got was a cold and burnt (don't ask me how that happened) huge bowl of oatmeal and a small plate of very dry fruit. The oatmeal was a last minute thought and I could certainly tell.

Sacks has a reputation for being a great restaurant that works with different dietary needs. I fully expected a wonderful experience, instead I ended up being extremely disappointed. I will NEVER return and will tell my story to all of my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Cozy restaurant that provided creative tasty meal!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Though it was a nice restaurant that provided great food. Small and cozy place to dine with friends. No alcohol, but has an adequate wine list.

Food preparation was good and two first time diners with me said they would be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dinner before a show.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We were going to a concert at the PAC and went to Sacks for dinner. Our evening began well with us getting an excellent window table that offered a little more privacy than the majority of tables. Our server, Ernest, was excellent but he had to relay bad news that my choice of beverage (Midnight Sun IPA) was apparently not ordered (strange since this was a Saturday night) and, while the other two tap offerings were adequate, they were not as desirable. My wife did enjoy her wine selection so I guess all was well. Our two main dishes, the fresh Cod and the steak were wonderfully prepared, each with a variety of flavors to be enjoyed. We were pleased with our experience but after returning home I discovered that we apparently were overcharged by $6.50 on the final bill. If we decide to return I will certainly be more observant when the bill arrives prior to payment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious, fresh and original food $

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Delicious, fresh and original food $

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sack's has great food, service, and wine ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Sack's has great food, service, and wine, and a nice quiet ambiance. It's a delightful and reliable choice in downtown, easy walking distance to the Performing Arts Center.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

I love Sacks. It's always in my list of top 5 restaurants in Anchorage. And my out-of-towns guests really seem to love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Happy Diner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

Great food, excellent service, clean, affordable, walking distance to my house. My pick every day if I could get away with it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sacks an Anchorage Favorite

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Sacks offers excellent cuisine in a serene setting. It is one of the finest Anchorage restaurants, reliably serving downtown customers for many years. We were satisfied with a quiet, enjoyable evening and recommend Sacks to others looking for a fine meal downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Atmosphere and Service much better than the food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We have gone to Sacks quite a few times, mostly for dinner and its usually just fine. While I have mostly been happy with dinner, that has slid in recent years as well. This most recent time, I needed a place where I could make a brunch reservation for a larger group so I chose them. While the atmosphere was good and the service friendly, the food was not great at all.

Many of us had eggs Benedict which had well poached eggs but lacked in all other areas. The potatoes were dry and WAY overcooked. As in some of them were dark dark brown and totally crunchy, not even chew-able. The English muffins were also very tough. Like they had been toasted long before then left under a heat lamp to become hard and rubbery. The sauce wasn't that great either. It lacked richness, and depth of flavor.

The food seems to have gone downhill a lot recently. I wont be going back unless its the only place I can get a reservation. The reservation factor is definitely a plus. It helps with a larger group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Good eats before the show

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We planned to attend the Cabaret at Snowgoose ballroom but they weren't serving food at the event. The food at Sacks is better than the affiliated restaurant and close by so we reserved our spot to dine there before the show and arrived just as the doors opened. While waiting to be seated two regular customers offered us a seat and amiable conversation. The interior is small enough that the din of many diners doesn't impede communication. In a few minutes we were seated. As a light eater I loved the Caesar salad but the duck butter appetizer was very small. We shared the lemon custard dessert. Really liked the tartness of it. Service was excellent. Price is moderate. We paid our bill and went off to our event with time to spare.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and great service!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

I love this restaurant. They always have great food, service is excellent. I love the fresh fish and the soup of the day is always excellent. A great choice for dining in downtown Anchorage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for special night out

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Always enjoy the food here. They take care to design dishes that are unique. I really appreciate the vegetarian options that are always available. I also enjoy being able to enjoy a meal without the alcoholic beverages being pushed. They are offered but as a non wine drinker I don't feel pressured.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Friday night lights in Anchorage AK. 1st visit.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We really like the food, from the appetizers to the entrees. We only skipped deserts due to other plans, but we are sure that it would have been wonderful as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The duck breast was wonderful. We both ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

The duck breast was wonderful. We both ordered it. Our waiter/server Frank was friendly, personable, & good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with friends.

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

Great food with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One for all, all for one

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

A small restaurant that provides great food, service, ambiance.

Each member of my family prefers a different type of food. And this restaurant has it all ..from fresh fish, burgers, seafood, steak and gourmet salad. The meal was enjoyed by 3 generations ..ages from 11-75. The service was excellent and even on an extremely busy night. We got in time to attend the Pink Martini Concert. The harpist (Maureen Love) of this talented group was one of the family member who joined us for dinner.

She was also impressed of the great food and service . Thank you again for an enjoyable preshow dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sacks rises to the occasion!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We allowed two hours before a show so we wouldn't have to be rushed, and it was just right. Our server was extremely conscientious about our time frame and stayed on top of our table.

Our food was delicious and fresh, although my fiancées duck was a tad salty at first. He reported it got better in later bites.

The finale, the gateau, was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I have dined at Sacks many t ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife and I have dined at Sacks many times and the food and service have always been excellent. This past Friday evening, however, left us disappointed. It appeared as though the restaurant was understaffed. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, but he was covering a lot of tables. Our food arrived after a long wait, and it was not as hot as it should have been. Just an off night I suspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Inventive dishes- the asian influenced d ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Inventive dishes- the asian influenced dishes are full of flavor and whimsy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Light & flavorful lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

I was impressed with the presentation of the food we ordered. The lunch was just the right amount and perfectly seasoned. The soup of the day that we ordered was an added bonus.

We were seated quickly and our server was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great staff

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

I had stopped going to this restaurant a couple of years ago when we got the rude treatment by the waitress who clearly did not want to be there. Luckily, two years later, when I finally decided to try it again, I found to my delight that the waiting staff had been replaced with a lovely crew who seem to enjoy what they are doing. The waitress actually remember what I had for dinner three weeks ago when I was here the last time. Great place! Highly recommended for food and friendly staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Sacks is always a delicious treat

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

I'm not sure how long I've been going to Sacks, but I would guess at least 25 years. It continues to be excellent food and a pleasant atmosphere. I've never had a meal that wasn't excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great as Usual

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

One of the many reasons we go to Sacks is that they are consistantly great so we know that every time there will be very nice. No guessing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad service from owner!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

We were extremely disappointed with how we were treated by the owner. After complaining about a neighboring table that was FaceTiming, we were re-seated. The owner proceeded to tell us that there was nothing that she could do about the situation other than re-seat us in the bar area. She was very condescending and treated us as if we did something wrong. Other patrons complained to the owner and wait staff and multiple wait staff acknowledged the situation but also did nothing to intervene. I have never encountered a situation like that where someone yelled into their phone as opposed to going outside, wait staff did nothing to intervene, and an owner of the restaurant said that she had no control of the situation and told us it was our issue because we were the ones making the decision to relocate. I have always like this restaurant but I will not return because of how the owner spoke to us and made us feel like we were in the wrong. To make matters worse, it was my girlfriend's birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Sacks restaurant a bit disappointing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

I have been eating at Sacks for 20 plus years. It is one of my favorite restaurants. I was disappointed at my last visit. I brought my mother who is visiting from out of state. We made a reservation on open table, we were placed in the bar at a very small high table with stools , which was difficult for my 75 year old mother. We were told there were no tables in the dining room (which didn't seem to be true because I saw open tables). My meal was good, but mother's halibut was very dry and overcooked; she was quite disappointed. I was very sad because Sacks is one of my favorite restaurants in town. It was not my typical experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Disappointing and annoying lunch.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

I have eaten brunch, lunch, and dinner at Sacks many times over many years. It is usually a good experience, or I would not keep coming back. It is my "go to" place to meet friends for meals. This lunch was to celebrate the birthday of a friend and it was not a good experience. Our waiter showed up at the table constantly to see what we wanted to order, including immediately after my guest was seated. She had not even looked at the menu. This, despite the fact that I had 1) told him when I arrived (well in advance of our reservation time) that we would need some time before we ordered; 2) the restaurant was far from full and remained so for some time. We specifically asked that our orders (soup and a main course) be served sequentially, yet the waiter served us our main items before we had finished the soup. He presented us the bill before asking if we wanted dessert or showed us a dessert menu, and in fact we did want to order a dessert to share, for my friend'd birthday. I ordered the avocado sandwich and it arrived unadorned on a plate. Every salad item had the apparently ubiquitous kale in it. The music was so loud we could barely talk over it or hear one another, so I had to ask that it be turned down. It will be a long time before/if I come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The Menu

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

The salmon tacos were fantastic! So glad you had the chocolate creme brule, a favorite of mine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visitors

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

We took our friends here for brunch. They were up from Nashville and were extremely impressed with everyone and everything at Sack's. This is one of the places we like to take visitors to let them know how much Alaska has to offer. Great job again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliable

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

Always reliable. Menu and kitchen have improved this spring and summer. Service always friendly and comfortable. A great 1-2x a week meal and a good place to bring seasonal visitors. Great downtown location, easy walkabout before or after. Good wines, desserts, and prices. Easy reservation or easy access bar seating and pub tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The best fresh food in Acnhorage

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

Consistently great service and fresh food make Sacks the best lunch place in Anchorage - hands down.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.