About Sabrosa

3200 Fillmore St.
San Francisco, CA 94123
View Larger Map

Sabrosa's kitchen offers guests the opportunity to enjoy recipes rooted in culture and brimming with authentic Mexican flavors. Influenced by Jose's experience growing up on his family’s farm in Guanajuato, Mexico, each dish is prepared with ingredients derived from the organic and sustainable agricultural bounty of Northern California.

From the bar guests can indulge in simple and seasonal cocktails made to compliment Jose's dishes. Sabrosa's bar program is lead by mixology veteran Matt Stanton, and offers a variety of hand crafted cocktails and margaritas, an expansive beer and wine list, and over 24 thoughtfully selected tequilas and mezcals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday, 12pm to 3:30pm
Limited Menu: Monday-Sunday, 3:30pm to 5:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday, 5:30pm to 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday and & Saturday, 5:30pm to 11pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 3:30pm
Bar: Monday, 4pm to 2am & Tuesday-Sunday, 12pm to 2am

Cross Street:
Greenwich

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 638-6500

Website:
http://www.sabrosasf.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available. Parking garage located off Webster and Lombard enter off Webster.

Executive Chef:
Jose Ramos

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sabrosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WWAAYYY TOO LOUD. WILL NOT RETURN

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WWAAYYY TOO LOUD. WILL NOT RETURN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Food tasty however expensive for portion ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food tasty however expensive for portion size. Way too noisy inside to enjoy a relaxing Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall good experience. We walked into ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall good experience. We walked into the restaurant with a big party and a reservation at 8:30PM. Our table was set and ready. However, the music inside was SO loud. For reference, I am 28 years old... and it was way too loud even for me! We asked if they could turn it down, and they said they could not. Rubbed us the wrong way BUT they set up a beautiful table for us outside and we really enjoyed the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food and atmosphere was great! Awesome H ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food and atmosphere was great! Awesome Halloween decorations. Service could be better, our waitress seemed annoyed at our big party the whole time.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This particular Sunday, it was not a goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This particular Sunday, it was not a good place to bring kids. There was a DJ and the noise level was deafening. I had even called ahead asking if they had a childrens' menu. I could have used a warning.

Otherwise, I've been here on several other occasions and it's always been a relaxed, comfortable environment. The food is satisfying although on the pricey end. My son was disappointed that we had to purchase chips and salsa for $6.

I will be back - great location, good food, (typically) relaxing environment and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One thing there was a women that work th ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One thing there was a women that work there , that was super rude ! I think she was the manager.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Sabrosa was fine. There was nothing exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sabrosa was fine. There was nothing exceptional there and I had expected more out of the experience. The one real detractor was the club music blaring. Okay, this is Sunday brunch, it might be 11:00am, but people are still waking up and don't want to feel like they're trapped in a club. The service was definitely the high point and I have no complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Great for groups! Classic Marina spot wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great for groups! Classic Marina spot with fun drinks and good food. Big screen (projector) when games are on including Sunday football. Reliable!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Portions big enough for two. Nice marghe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Portions big enough for two. Nice margheritas. Child's menu, but more a bar for drinks with dj during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Sabrosa accomodated our 20 guests on a S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sabrosa accomodated our 20 guests on a Saturday night. We all had a great time, food was good, dj was good. Overall fun birthday dinner experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I got severe food poisoning after eating ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2016

I got severe food poisoning after eating here!! The service absolutely sucked and i was sick for two days. Will not go again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A Lazy Boozy Brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

And when I say "lazy" I'm referring to the service, which was lackluster. The omelet de queso was perfectly nice, with chile verde salsa whisked in with the egg mixture. The trouble was the distracted servers, plagued with the ennui that comes from tumbling out of a bed to wait on mere mortals on a quiet Sunday morning. As is typical in the area, the cocktail list was long but reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

First of all, my margarita and my friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

First of all, my margarita and my friends' drinks were delicious. However, I ordered the pollo and chorizo tacos and was not impressed. I can handle somewhat spicy foods and I order chorizo often...but these tacos were so spicy! I couldn't even finish my meal. The atmosphere was cute and we were seated on time for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great spot for dining with friends!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a group brunch with 8 friends to celebrate a birthday. Food was terrific. For how many people were (or weren't) in there, the service could have been better--but all around it was a good choice for the group for an easygoing Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Not impressive

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

We must have been there the wrong day and time. What we read about at Thrill SF website was not at all what we experienced. It was dead, the food was super mediocre and the service spotty. Had to ask for things over and over again.

Unimpressive in a city full of great places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Overpriced and underwhelming

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

A Mexican restaurant that serves poor guacamole and pico de gallo alongside overpriced cocktails. Better to enjoy Mexican food in the Mission. Not worth the price of admission.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with Sabrosa. We went there for a bachelorette party looking for a fun environment with good food. Unfortunately, we did not get any of that, the service was terrible, the food was bland and we could not hear one another over the extremely loud music. Our waiter was more concerned with chatting with the people at the table next to us, then actually serving us. We had to constantly ask for water and forgotten orders. The food was also disappointing, a few of the girls ordered salads that did not come with ingredients listed on the menu and the tacos were bland. Overall disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The cocktails here are amazing! So is the food :)

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Very unique and tasty cocktails and food. Mexican with a spin - Guac had strawberries on top, which were a great touch, and my favorite cocktail was like a margarita with almond liqueur and strawberries.. Very very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guacamole is awesome!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Guacamole is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance, super tasty!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2015

I came here on a Sunday night with some family and friends. We sat around the bar and had some delicious drinks and food! I LOVED the spicy margarita as well as the tacos dorados (The rolled tacos on the app menu). The staff was friendly and the bartender was super attentive (not to mention attractive). I can't wait to go back for the brunch, I've heard it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

tasty menu, very expensive, should have another $

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2015

The food was good but the pitchers of margaritas were small. We had a last minute birthday dinner here for 11 people. The chairs for the big table were not comfortable. Should add another $.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Ceviche was excellent! Good tacosat leas ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Ceviche was excellent! Good tacosat least what we tried : pork, beef, chicken, shrimp, veggie. We all loved the foodNoise level was not conducive to any conversation. We opted to eat outside. Thanks gosh for the heaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

disco and not a restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2015

We arrived at Sabrosa at 7:15 PM for a nice quiet dinner after a memorial. We were met with a crazy loud something disco scene with sports on all TVs. Not a single table set for dinner. Hostess nowhere to be seen in the noise level was off the charts. I called the manager over and explain they should've called us to let us know it was not a restaurant but a blaring disco. Extremely disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Bad Service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2015

The service took forever and they didn't get our order correct. The food was alright, but I think do to the bad service we were already upset with the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great brunch. Their drinks are STROOOOOO ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Great brunch. Their drinks are STROOOOOONG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

There was a large group for my birthday, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2015

There was a large group for my birthday, 9 people. We went for brunch on a Sunday and the music was so loud we could only hear the person right next to you. We asked at least 4 times if they could turn it down a notch and was told they couldn't, they did, let me check, yet nothing changed. I'm all for a lively fun environment but it was absurd. The server was less than helpful and the food was subpar. It was really disappointing as I like the spot and I chose it and brought a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Reject the naysayers

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2015

Just don't get the negative reviews of Sabrosa. From service, to food, to drinks, can't say enough good things.

First, we hit them with a last minute request for a party of 12. No problem. They have a massive wooden table perfect for a large group. While it was a quiet Monday night, we were easily accommodated.

Service, absolutely no evidence of inattentive service noted in a couple of reviews. Our servers were on their A game. Funny, pleasant and attentive.

Food was great. We had a lot of experienced palates at the table and they all raved about the food. Great fresh guacamole. I think 90% of us had one form of taco or another. They look small but they were actually the perfect serving size. Perfectly prepared and delicious.

Drinks. What is not to like about a great beer selection and individually made margaritas. No blenders and margarita mix here. Each one hand shaken. Loved by all.

Desserts. How good could a churro be, right? Well if there is Churro Nirvana, Sabrosa is the place. Fresh, warm, soft and chewy cinnamon goodness...with ice cream.

If you are in he Marina District and want a really good fix of authentic Mexican...give Sabrosa a shot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2015

The cocktails are amazing and the tacos too.

I'm definitely going back.!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overwhelmed staff

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2015

They were understaffed and the staff there was running around like crazy. They didn't get part of my order so I had to ask for it again once everyone already had their food. They gave us the wrong pitcher of drinks. No one checked in to make sure everything was ok. When we were served dessert, we weren't given silverware. When we wanted to pay the bill, we had to flag down the hostess because she was the only one near our table and no one came to take it. It all felt rushed and chaotic. It was also way too loud to hold a normal conversation. Too many big groups and really loud music. It's convenient and not nearly as crazy for brunch, but I have no desire to go back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The food and cocktails were outstanding, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2015

The food and cocktails were outstanding, the service friendly. Overall, an excellent restaurant.

We have been back several times and the food keeps getting better. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for groups

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Sabrosa has great food and is great at accommodating large groups. We had a post wedding brunch - 3 tables next to each other accommodating over 30 people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Worst Service Ever

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2015

I was a few minutes late, but the rest of my group was on time. They got a drink at the bar first and said the bartender was great. Once they got seated at the table, they were given menus. I showed up right after they got seated and nobody came by to offer us water, take my drink order or our food order. The manager was busy chatting and flirting with a group of young girls that were about 20 years younger than him. The wait staff walked all around us and served other tables but never came to our table. After 30 minutes of trying to get their attention and failing, we left and got a way better meal at Alegrias 2 blocks away. I'll never step foot in Sabrosa again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Modern Mexican

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2015

We had a really nice meal at Sabrosa! The food is very fresh and delicious, and the menu is really versatile for Mexican food. We had tacos, pozole, the sabrosoa salad (with steak), guacamole and margaritas. It was a lazy weekend late afternoon for us, and they seemed to be busier than they were staffed for. We were very impressed with the service team, as they kept their cool and remained gracious and attentive, even though it was clear that they were handling a lot. Kudos! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

good hang out spot. drinks GREAT!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2015

beans ok... I could of made the same exact ones @ home though... nothing special.

rice... could of got same quality @ chevys.

all other foods I tasted were great though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Marina scene

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2015

The food is good, but it's more of a bar/club scene than restaurant. Music is so loud you can't have a conversation, service is just ok due to how crowded it gets and the bartenders have attitude. Go for drinks at the bar and people watching, not dinner and you're fine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Coming back for sure!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2015

This was my first time at this restaurant and it was a great experience. Since we had a reservation on Saturday I'm not sure how it would be during the week but it was VERY loud inside. There is outside seating so we sat outside- they had heat lamps and with the awning it was pleasant. The margaritas were great and strong and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A generally mediocre experience - the st ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2015

A generally mediocre experience - the staff was inattentive bordering on rude, our table was ignored for most of the time we were there, and "new" menu is a huge step backwards.

The $9 gauc is flavorless and the fish tacos are bland. The shrimp tacos were drowned in sauce. Margaritas are good but the bartender is rude.

While the bartender and our waitress were rude, everyone else we encountered--particularly the hostess and runners--were great.

I do not think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

noise level

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2015

The music was so loud we could hardly talk.Asked if it could be turn a little lower and was told NO We may think twice about going back.We were there very early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

excellent taco's

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2015

It was our first trip to the restaurant and it turned out to be taco tuesday (all taco's $3). We tried a number of different taco's and there were all delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is alright. Service is variable, pl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2015

Food is alright. Service is variable, place can get rowdy and crowded so definitely a very casual dining experience.

This is your backup restaurant when you've failed to make reservations elsewhere :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.