About Sabrosa

3200 Fillmore St.
San Francisco, CA 94123
View Larger Map

Sabrosa's kitchen offers guests the opportunity to enjoy recipes rooted in culture and brimming with authentic Mexican flavors. Influenced by Jose's experience growing up on his family’s farm in Guanajuato, Mexico, each dish is prepared with ingredients derived from the organic and sustainable agricultural bounty of Northern California.

From the bar guests can indulge in simple and seasonal cocktails made to compliment Jose's dishes. Sabrosa's bar program is lead by mixology veteran Matt Stanton, and offers a variety of hand crafted cocktails and margaritas, an expansive beer and wine list, and over 24 thoughtfully selected tequilas and mezcals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday, 12pm to 3:30pm
Limited Menu: Monday-Sunday, 3:30pm to 5:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday, 5:30pm to 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday and & Saturday, 5:30pm to 11pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 3:30pm
Bar: Monday, 4pm to 2am & Tuesday-Sunday, 12pm to 2am

Cross Street:
Greenwich

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 638-6500

Website:
http://www.sabrosasf.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available. Parking garage located off Webster and Lombard enter off Webster.

Executive Chef:
Jose Ramos

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sabrosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.1

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

62% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
97 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3

First of all, my margarita and my friend ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

First of all, my margarita and my friends' drinks were delicious. However, I ordered the pollo and chorizo tacos and was not impressed. I can handle somewhat spicy foods and I order chorizo often...but these tacos were so spicy! I couldn't even finish my meal. The atmosphere was cute and we were seated on time for our reservation.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great spot for dining with friends!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a group brunch with 8 friends to celebrate a birthday. Food was terrific. For how many people were (or weren't) in there, the service could have been better--but all around it was a good choice for the group for an easygoing Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not impressive

Dined on March 20, 2016

We must have been there the wrong day and time. What we read about at Thrill SF website was not at all what we experienced. It was dead, the food was super mediocre and the service spotty. Had to ask for things over and over again. Unimpressive in a city full of great places!

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and underwhelming

Dined on February 27, 2016

A Mexican restaurant that serves poor guacamole and pico de gallo alongside overpriced cocktails. Better to enjoy Mexican food in the Mission. Not worth the price of admission.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed.

Dined on January 24, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with Sabrosa. We went there for a bachelorette party looking for a fun environment with good food. Unfortunately, we did not get any of that, the service was terrible, the food was bland and we could not hear one another over the extremely loud music. Our waiter was more concerned with chatting with the people at the table next to us, then actually serving us. We had to constantly ask for water and forgotten orders. The food was also disappointing, a few of the girls ordered salads that did not come with ingredients listed on the menu and the tacos were bland. Overall disappointing experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails here are amazing! So is the food :)

Dined on January 10, 2016

Very unique and tasty cocktails and food. Mexican with a spin - Guac had strawberries on top, which were a great touch, and my favorite cocktail was like a margarita with almond liqueur and strawberries.. Very very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Guacamole is awesome!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Guacamole is awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, super tasty!

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

I came here on a Sunday night with some family and friends. We sat around the bar and had some delicious drinks and food! I LOVED the spicy margarita as well as the tacos dorados (The rolled tacos on the app menu). The staff was friendly and the bartender was super attentive (not to mention attractive). I can't wait to go back for the brunch, I've heard it was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

tasty menu, very expensive, should have another $

Dined on November 23, 2015

The food was good but the pitchers of margaritas were small. We had a last minute birthday dinner here for 11 people. The chairs for the big table were not comfortable. Should add another $.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Ceviche was excellent! Good tacosat leas ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Ceviche was excellent! Good tacosat least what we tried : pork, beef, chicken, shrimp, veggie. We all loved the foodNoise level was not conducive to any conversation. We opted to eat outside. Thanks gosh for the heaters.

food1
ambience1
service1

disco and not a restaurant

Dined on October 12, 2015

We arrived at Sabrosa at 7:15 PM for a nice quiet dinner after a memorial. We were met with a crazy loud something disco scene with sports on all TVs. Not a single table set for dinner. Hostess nowhere to be seen in the noise level was off the charts. I called the manager over and explain they should've called us to let us know it was not a restaurant but a blaring disco. Extremely disappointed

food3
ambience3
service1

Bad Service

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

The service took forever and they didn't get our order correct. The food was alright, but I think do to the bad service we were already upset with the place.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch. Their drinks are STROOOOOO ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Great brunch. Their drinks are STROOOOOONG

food2
ambience3
service1

There was a large group for my birthday, ...

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

There was a large group for my birthday, 9 people. We went for brunch on a Sunday and the music was so loud we could only hear the person right next to you. We asked at least 4 times if they could turn it down a notch and was told they couldn't, they did, let me check, yet nothing changed. I'm all for a lively fun environment but it was absurd. The server was less than helpful and the food was subpar. It was really disappointing as I like the spot and I chose it and brought a large group.

food4
ambience5
service5

Reject the naysayers

Dined on August 4, 2015

Just don't get the negative reviews of Sabrosa. From service, to food, to drinks, can't say enough good things. First, we hit them with a last minute request for a party of 12. No problem. They have a massive wooden table perfect for a large group. While it was a quiet Monday night, we were easily accommodated. Service, absolutely no evidence of inattentive service noted in a couple of reviews. Our servers were on their A game. Funny, pleasant and attentive. Food was great. We had a lot of experienced palates at the table and they all raved about the food. Great fresh guacamole. I think 90% of us had one form of taco or another. They look small but they were actually the perfect serving size. Perfectly prepared and delicious. Drinks. What is not to like about a great beer selection and individually made margaritas. No blenders and margarita mix here. Each one hand shaken. Loved by all. Desserts. How good could a churro be, right? Well if there is Churro Nirvana, Sabrosa is the place. Fresh, warm, soft and chewy cinnamon goodness...with ice cream. If you are in he Marina District and want a really good fix of authentic Mexican...give Sabrosa a shot.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good

Dined on July 31, 2015

The cocktails are amazing and the tacos too. I'm definitely going back.!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

Overwhelmed staff

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

They were understaffed and the staff there was running around like crazy. They didn't get part of my order so I had to ask for it again once everyone already had their food. They gave us the wrong pitcher of drinks. No one checked in to make sure everything was ok. When we were served dessert, we weren't given silverware. When we wanted to pay the bill, we had to flag down the hostess because she was the only one near our table and no one came to take it. It all felt rushed and chaotic. It was also way too loud to hold a normal conversation. Too many big groups and really loud music. It's convenient and not nearly as crazy for brunch, but I have no desire to go back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and cocktails were outstanding, ...

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

The food and cocktails were outstanding, the service friendly. Overall, an excellent restaurant. We have been back several times and the food keeps getting better. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for groups

vip
Dined on June 14, 2015

Sabrosa has great food and is great at accommodating large groups. We had a post wedding brunch - 3 tables next to each other accommodating over 30 people.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Worst Service Ever

Dined on May 31, 2015

I was a few minutes late, but the rest of my group was on time. They got a drink at the bar first and said the bartender was great. Once they got seated at the table, they were given menus. I showed up right after they got seated and nobody came by to offer us water, take my drink order or our food order. The manager was busy chatting and flirting with a group of young girls that were about 20 years younger than him. The wait staff walked all around us and served other tables but never came to our table. After 30 minutes of trying to get their attention and failing, we left and got a way better meal at Alegrias 2 blocks away. I'll never step foot in Sabrosa again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Modern Mexican

vip
Dined on May 24, 2015

We had a really nice meal at Sabrosa! The food is very fresh and delicious, and the menu is really versatile for Mexican food. We had tacos, pozole, the sabrosoa salad (with steak), guacamole and margaritas. It was a lazy weekend late afternoon for us, and they seemed to be busier than they were staffed for. We were very impressed with the service team, as they kept their cool and remained gracious and attentive, even though it was clear that they were handling a lot. Kudos! We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

good hang out spot. drinks GREAT!

Dined on May 23, 2015

beans ok... I could of made the same exact ones @ home though... nothing special. rice... could of got same quality @ chevys. all other foods I tasted were great though.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

Marina scene

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

The food is good, but it's more of a bar/club scene than restaurant. Music is so loud you can't have a conversation, service is just ok due to how crowded it gets and the bartenders have attitude. Go for drinks at the bar and people watching, not dinner and you're fine.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Coming back for sure!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2015

This was my first time at this restaurant and it was a great experience. Since we had a reservation on Saturday I'm not sure how it would be during the week but it was VERY loud inside. There is outside seating so we sat outside- they had heat lamps and with the awning it was pleasant. The margaritas were great and strong and the food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

A generally mediocre experience - the st ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2015

A generally mediocre experience - the staff was inattentive bordering on rude, our table was ignored for most of the time we were there, and "new" menu is a huge step backwards. The $9 gauc is flavorless and the fish tacos are bland. The shrimp tacos were drowned in sauce. Margaritas are good but the bartender is rude. While the bartender and our waitress were rude, everyone else we encountered--particularly the hostess and runners--were great. I do not think we'll be back.

food3
ambience3
service5

noise level

vip
Dined on March 29, 2015

The music was so loud we could hardly talk.Asked if it could be turn a little lower and was told NO We may think twice about going back.We were there very early

food5
ambience4
service4

excellent taco's

Dined on March 18, 2015

It was our first trip to the restaurant and it turned out to be taco tuesday (all taco's $3). We tried a number of different taco's and there were all delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Food is alright. Service is variable, pl ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2015

Food is alright. Service is variable, place can get rowdy and crowded so definitely a very casual dining experience. This is your backup restaurant when you've failed to make reservations elsewhere :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Overall Excellent Restuarant

vip
Dined on January 2, 2015

The food was excellent. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Sabrosa is OK

Dined on November 20, 2014

This restaurant is nicely packaged and comfortable initially. But once inside you immediately get the sense that it's catering to a 25 to 30-somethings crowd based on the large area taken up by the bar. The bartender mixed a nice cocktail. I ordered the rib-eye steak that was well prepared and seasoned. It was flavorful along with the mashed plantain. Although the brussel sprouts were bland, they did add a nice texture to the food. It went quite well with the wonderful flavor of the steak. My dining companions did not enjoy their ceviche selection. They found them overly sour. Otherwise, this is a great place for after-work bonding with your co-workers over drinks and tapas but not for intimate dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

A bit loud but I would go back

vip
Dined on November 10, 2014

A bit loud but I would go back. Food was good and with a large group might be better. We went with older parents and it was too hard to hear each other

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Was very disappointed that it took nearl ...

Dined on November 9, 2014

Was very disappointed that it took nearly 45 minutes to receive our breakfast orders - a frittata and carnitas/egg dish - especially since the restaurant was nearly empty when we were there. The food was good. Not outstanding. But good.

food4
ambience2
service4

Good Mexican food!

Dined on November 3, 2014

We go to Sabrosa every time we get the urge for Mexican food. Delicious dishes, good service and reasonable prices. Why look anywhere further when we have great Mexican restaurant right here in Cow Hallow / Marina. We recommend this restaurant and we will be going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4

Great Food Lackluster Ambiance

Dined on November 2, 2014

(This review is for Brunch) The food was delicious, everyone enjoyed their meals. The service was also attentive despite reviews we read. The ingredients were fresh and the flavors were abundant yet well balanced. The ambiance, however was lackluster. It was a lovely Sunday morning and even though we were sitting outside the music was blaring at a decibel that was far too high for Sunday morning brunch (and I'm not 72, I'm 27, there's a time and place for very loud music and brunch ain't it). The music choice also left something to be desired: they were playing skillex, Bassnectar and the like for the entire meal which just felt out of place. If they are trying to be hip they missed the mark.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Good Food

vip
Dined on September 20, 2014

We were impressed with the quality and flavor of the dishes and of the cocktails also. We tried the aguachile ceviche, the calamari tacos and the Carnitas entree and all were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Good Ambiance; Food Could be Better

Dined on August 21, 2014

The decor is super cute. You feel like you are in a fancy, but chill Mexican restaurant. That being said, the food is only OK, is kinda pricey, and they give you small portions. This was my second time there, and I had the same opinion both times. Certain items were good, others were a miss. How do you get guac wrong? By adding strawberries and only seasoning with jalapeno? I probably won't go again unless I were just going for drinks.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Relly great food and drinks

vip
Dined on August 14, 2014

My family came here for dinner and we were all impressed by the quality of the food and cocktails. Coming back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and drinks

vip
Dined on August 9, 2014

We had a terrific experience at Sabrosa. The tacos and ceviches are the best we have had anywhere in San Francisco and the cocktails are fresh and outstanding as well. Attentive, friendly service. Highly recommend Sabrosa.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Underwhelmed

vip
Dined on July 22, 2014

The ambiance of Sabrosa is welcoming and marries a traditional Spanish and Latin American elements with a fresh and modern feel. Unfortunately, the beautiful ambiance was not matched by the quality of food. The food was poorly seasoned (some underseasoned and some overseasoned). We ordered the ceviche con fruta, kale & beet ensalata, pescado, pollo pipian and seafood stew. The ceviche had very little fish. The pescado was listed on the menu as featuring halibut however when the dish arrived the kitchen had replaced the halibut with overcooked salmon. Our server had not informed the table of the substitution and appeared to be unaware that the kitchen had even replaced the halibut with the salmon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love Sabrosa

Dined on July 18, 2014

Tina was a great server. nice table, accommodating..great food. friendly bar staff. we loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.