About Sabor Restaurant

10220 103 Street NW
Suite 109
Edmonton, AB T5J 0Y8
View Larger Map

SABOR Restaurant provides a rustic, yet elegant atmosphere and a menu rich in European tradition—Portuguese, Spanish, French & Italian—in the heart of Downtown. Ocean Wise certified, we promise Edmonton’s best, most-sustainable seafood menu as well as a meat & vegetarian options.

Combined with professional service, a trim but superlative wine list, and hand-crafted cocktails, SABOR’s menu and atmosphere will provide you with the perfect spot—be it in evening dress before the opera, a suit before the big meeting, or in jeans just hanging out with friends.

On Wednesday to Saturday evenings, join us for live music featuring one of Edmonton’s talented local musicians.

BODEGA Tapas & Wine Bar offers a more casual setting, is seated on a first-come, first-served basis only, and is the perfect stop before or after a movie or show at one of the nearby theatres. BODEGA offers authentic tapas, our signature Sangria, and superb wine & cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Spanish, Steak, Mediterranean, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Mon. - Fri., 11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m.
DINNER: Mon. - Sat., 5 p.m. - 10 p.m., Sun. 5 p.m. - 9 p.m.
BODEGA: Mon. - Fri. from 4:30 p.m., Sat. & Sun. from 5 p.m.

We are available for private events outside of regular hours. Please call the restaurant for details.

We are closed statutory holidays.

Cross Street:
103 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-1114

Website:
http://www.sabor.ca/

Entertainment:
Sabor Restaurant Presents live music on the Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Some of Edmonton's best musicians can be heard tickling the ivories or playing Classical or Jazz Guitar for your listening pleasure. Christian Mena (co-owner) has been known to croon on occasion.

Catering:
Sabor Divino can satisfy all your private function needs, from sit down multi-course dinners to tapas and hors d'oeuvres in one of our private rooms, Chef Lino can satisfy your every need. Contact Charlayne or Chris at (780) 757-1114 for more information.

Parking Details:
There are parkades located at every corner of the building as well as street parking directly in front of the restaurant. Heated parkades are located at the kitty corner underneath the YMCA and across the street in Edmonton City Centre.

Public Transit:
LRT Stops nearby: -The Bay -Central -Churchill Square Bus Stops nearby: 1, 2, 14, 8, 16, 17, 40, 41, 42, 45, 47, 50, 65, 68, 69, 71, 100, 104, 105, 106, 109, 111, 112, 116, 125, 140, 161, 162, 180, 197, 201, 211, 308, 309

Executive Chef:
Adelino Oliveira

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Pairings. Live Music.

Restaurant Photos

  • Port Cherry Cheesecake
  • steak tartare
  • Boar Done Three Ways
  • Sablefish And Lobster Risotto
  • Piri Piri And Garlic Chicken
  • Desserts
Port Cherry Cheesecake
steak tartare
Boar Done Three Ways
Sablefish And Lobster Risotto
Piri Piri And Garlic Chicken
Desserts

Private Dining

SABOR's private dining options provide guests with a variety of spaces for any occasion. Large and small weddings, pharmaceutical presentations, and corporate Christmas or client events are some of our specialties. From intimate dinners to networking receptions, we can find you the right space.

Sabor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (161)
fit for foodies (149)
good for groups (121)
See All
romantic (118)
notable wine list (67)
great for lunch (56)
neighborhood gem (50)
hot spot (41)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
business meals (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
outstanding value (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is good quality and the service ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is good quality and the service attentive. They are respectful of food allergies. Good value. Great for lunch or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and the service was great

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and the service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Went for my birthday with jus ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious! Went for my birthday with just my husband. Had looked on the menu ahead of time and decided what we had wanted but when we arrived, our server told us about the Family Style menu and we ditched our original plan for it. Great value! Came with two appetizers, one entree and a trio of desserts all to share. Everything was prepared perfectly and we left stuffed. Will definitely be back!

Ambiance was also good. It wasn't too quiet that you were afraid of talking but it also wasn't too loud that you were shouting. Great live background music as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I agree. The Piri Piri Shri ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I agree. The Piri Piri Shrimp was that best we have ever tasted. Great place to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had very good servers in the past , b ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had very good servers in the past , but the last waiter needs some more training and polishing. He was lacked of refinement and detailing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the quiet music. The staff are atte ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the quiet music. The staff are attentive, and the food is wonderful. Love that they change their menu from time to time. Keeps me coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is great. I am a vegetarian- an ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is great. I am a vegetarian- and the eggplant bundle was an amazing ooption. My husband ordered the vegetarian panani and the soup of the day and they were good too.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The shellfish trio was delicious!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The shellfish trio was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

fabulous food, great service, can't wait ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

fabulous food, great service, can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal and experience I ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was the best meal and experience I have had in years. UNREAL! Great service, food, and atmosphere. A million thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great service, and a won ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, and a wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this restaurant. Food is always ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love this restaurant. Food is always amazing. Our server was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always great this is the best place in E ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

always great this is the best place in Edmonton to eat, $ value is great for the dinner you receive

Love it!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice menu, great service, ample s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Really nice menu, great service, ample servings, and delicious dishes. My date and I opted for the chef's tasting menu after hearing the waiter's description. I also asked the waiter to recommend a wine, which he did deftly and confidently. We we're very pleased with the freshness, high quality, and great flavor balances. Everything was cooked right with perfect seasoning. The serving sizes were much larger than we're used to -- our waiter said the chef is generous and also thinks everyone eats like he does!

The decor is cozy, romantic, and welcoming, with a great vibe. A few larger tables near us were a bit loud, but we still felt we had a fairly private experience. Everyone seemed to be having a fantastic evening out.

I'd go back any time. I'm sure you can't go wrong with anything from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

While I didn't find the octopus plate I ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

While I didn't find the octopus plate I was looking for, I took the advice of my waiter and was not disappointed! I'll be returning again, for certain.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The gentleman at the door seems dressed ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The gentleman at the door seems dressed addis our server. When we asked for a wine pairing for our meal (which was chef selection) our server just picked her favourite wine. I was expecting higher level of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The best seafood in Edmonton!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The best seafood in Edmonton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice restaurant with excellent c ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It is a nice restaurant with excellent choice of seafood and land food. Waitress was accommodating and friendly. White sangria:delicious. Ordered family style and it was plenty for 3 people but halibut had bones and was under cooked. They took off the cost of one meal ($55) which was very kind of them. Oodles of dessert in family style (5 choices for 3 people). Lobster risotto was yummy, large pieces of lobster.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the fourth time I and my wife ha ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is the fourth time I and my wife have been to Sabor over the last 3 years. The first two times the food was superb. The last time, about a year ago, only one of our meals was good, and this time both were very poor, and certainly not worth the high price tag. The only exception was a terrific and fresh caesar salad. Otherwise, the fish, which should be light and delicious, was mushy and overcooked, and COMPLETELY overpowered by the huge mound of awful lobster risotto it was served on. The server was very good, but when she asked how the food was and my wife replied "okay", the server sent her manager over, who was very confrontational. The whole experience was unpleasant and then topped of with a whopping price tag. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We had the family style meal which was d ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had the family style meal which was delicious and more than the 3 of us could eat. The server was very helpful, with just the right amount of advice given and attention paid to us. Great experience for a treat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Sabor Restaurant could ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our experience at Sabor Restaurant could not have been any better!

The food was exceptional, we enjoyed the family style dinner which included appetizers of Calamari and Piri Piri Prawns, Halibut and Bream Fish served over Lobster Risotto and three different nicely sized desserts to share, it was all excellent!

But what really made this experience exceptional was our server Shannon! This lovely lady is truly the best server I have experienced in a very long time. She was very attentive but not overly attentive, greeted us with a smile and even found time to tell us the story of the Chef and his partner and the evolution of the restaurant which was quite interesting.

All in All a Great Experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a few minutes late arriving, and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a few minutes late arriving, and the host was very understanding. I wish I knew the server's name- he was just the right mix of friendly and professional. And the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sabor is that "go to" restaurant when yo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Sabor is that "go to" restaurant when you want great food and a good ambiance.

The live music is a plus. I love, love, love their lobster bisque and piri piri prawns.

My only "issue" if one could even call it that is that they don't extend the entire menu to Bodego. Sometimes I would like to sit facing the street in a more casual setting but still enjoy my bisque.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service consistentl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding food and service consistently. Great place to take a date !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is the best I have had in Edmon ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is the best I have had in Edmonton so far!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and enjoyed the rom ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was amazing and enjoyed the romantic ambiance. The scallops were delicious and we can't wait to come back to Sabor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again, the service, the incredible ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Once again, the service, the incredible food and ambiance is second to none! This is my favorite place to impress my customers. See you next week and the the week after that... :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the lunch specials not as fresh ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I found the lunch specials not as fresh - particularily the specials while good just not great the dinner I had here several months ago was great which is why I came back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not overly impressed. In part it could ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Not overly impressed. In part it could be from the higher expectations I had going in so I may not be giving it a fair shake.

The waiter was very pleasant and seemed to know wheat he was talking about (when he was paying attention to us).

As far as food goes, I had the sablefish with lobster risotto and found it to be quite watery and not very flavourful. The pork trio was okay but nothing more. It fell apart which was great but seemed a little dry.

Ambiance was great!

All in all I don't think I'll go back, too many other places in the city to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I took my girlfriend here for a nice dat ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a nice date, and I was not disappointed. We had the 'family style' meal, as recommended by our excellent waiter, and it was fantastic. He was very on point, had lots to tell us about, and never had us waiting for long. The food took almost no time at all to arrive, and was one of the most delicious things I've ever had. The scallops and fish were cooked perfectly, and the desert was amazing. I will absolutely be coming back here when I can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried the Family Style Dinner which c ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We tried the Family Style Dinner which consisted of three courses. I also tried the Caldo Verde which I am sorry to say needs work. It was thin and watery with only a couple thin slices of chorizo. On the plus side, it had lots of kale.

The appetizers were both very good, especially the piri piri prawns which were plump, succulent and grilled perfectly. The other appetizer had scallops with a cucumber salsa. My dining partner and I were divided over the salsa. I felt it was too sweet and unnecessary, my partner found it okay in small doses. Scallops were also very plump and seared properly - nice to see having experienced boiled scallops at some restaurants.

The main course consisted of grilled Kuterra salmon and halibut over a bed of lobster risotto. I found the lobster risotto to be tasty with a few good sized pieces of lobster. The rice was a bit too al dente. The salmon and the halibut were both nicely seasoned and cooked perfectly, however, I still prefer wild salmon even though Kuterra is miles beyond the pallid, tasteless Atlantic salmon on offer at most restaurants. Kuterra just doesn't have the flavor of wild salmon although it's the best farmed salmon I've tasted and has a meaty texture.

Lastly, dessert was three smaller sized servings of a chocolate mouse with cayenne (couldn't really taste the pepper - just a slow burn at the end), a very tasty cherry cheesecake, and a Crème brûlée .

Our server was helpful and efficient and seemed to know the menu and specials quite well. Course after course came out piping hot so I was pleased my food wasn't sitting under a heat lamp. If anything, the pacing between courses could have been a little slower - I felt a bit rushed.

Overall, I will be back as this restaurant seems to have the best seafood selection in town and they know how to cook it. No tilapia, basa or other garbage fish on the menu. Also, plenty of delicious sounding options for carnivores. I plan to try the pork trio next time I go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic and unique. They ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was fantastic and unique. They do wonderful things with seafood and desserts. The tables were comfortably spaced and the chairs were comfortable to sit on for 2 hours. Parking was convenient and inexpensive for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversaries (32 yrs for us & 42 yrs for my sister). The food was excellent and the seafood was cook just prefect. The manager gave us free desserts to help us celebrate this milestone in our lives. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sabor Divino is my favourite restaurant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Sabor Divino is my favourite restaurant in Edmonton. Varied menu and excellent food that is well-priced. Management and staff are welcoming and friendly. Pleased that this restaurant is gaining national recognition.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had dinner at Sabor to celebrate my w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had dinner at Sabor to celebrate my wife's birthday and were completely knocked out by the food, drinks, and service. Because we were new to Sabor and to Portuguese cooking, we tried the three-course prix fixe meal for two. In short, it was exquisite. From appetizers (grilled scallops, prawns in a celery and garlic salsa) to mains (sea bass, lobster risotto) to desserts ("temptation sized" tasters of tiramisu, cheesecake, and a divine chocolate cayenne mousse), everything was outstanding. We had cocktails as well, which were unusual and delectable. Everything was made fresh and served with care, and our server made the occasion feel even more special. We will definitely return to Sabor and also want to try their sister tapas restaurant, Bodega.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and attentive server. Gre ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful food and attentive server. Great wine. An excellent evening overall !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was fabulous!! Our daughter ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous!! Our daughter is vegan so he made a special effort to inform her of the appropriate food choices for her. Overall the food was excellent and we enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for my boyfriend's birthday. The me ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for my boyfriend's birthday. The menu is outstanding with lots of choices. The food was wonderfully prepared. We had the squid and prawns for an appetizer and it was delicious. I had rack of lamb. It was probably the best lamb I have ever had in a restaurant. It was cooked exactly as I ordered it and it had an amazing sauce/reduction. My boyfriend ordered sable fish (black cod) with lobster risotto. He said the risotto was to die for and that the fish was perfectly moist and tender. He had room to order cherry cheesecake for dessert. It was excellent. The food is very pricy as are the drinks. However, it was a great experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

A great family style meal, served by an ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A great family style meal, served by an excellent server. Enjoyed every moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My sons Birthday and his first time dini ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My sons Birthday and his first time dining at Sabor , he loved his entree ( lamb) I however chose the steak

Although the steak was perfect , everything else on the plate was sub standard, asparagus & tomato over cooked , smashed potatoes bland & dry .. not something that one would expect from a finer dining establishment.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.