About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Colby & Megan Garrelts

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Private Party Contact:
Susan Kane: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Apple Fritters
Rye Breakfast
Mac & Cheese with Crispy Bacon
Burnt End Hash
Sazerac
Spring Shrub Cocktail
Hanger Steak
Gnoochi
Pimm's Punch
Deviled Free Range Eggs with Fresh Horseradish
Smoked Brisket
Chicken Fried Steak
Burnt Ends With Brussel Sprouts
Lemon Meringue
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Burnt ends
Coffee & Cigarettes Cocktail
Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie
Mokan Nut Pie
Fried Chicken & Mashep
Burnt End Chili
Lemon Mirange
Burnt ends with fries
Almond Layer Cake
Walleye
Sweet Corn Fizz
Smoked Chicken Wrap

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
American
Kansas City, KS
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

fit for foodies (125)
neighborhood gem (102)
great for lunch (89)
See All
special occasion (88)
good for groups (74)
great for brunch (73)
great for outdoor dining (67)
romantic (32)
hot spot (32)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (24)
scenic view (16)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rye never ceases to impress! Brunch is ...

Dined 4 days ago

Rye never ceases to impress! Brunch is such a treat, the pancake is big enough to share and the burnt end hash is to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This past Saturday was our 1st time here ...

Dined 5 days ago

This past Saturday was our 1st time here. We are going back the following Sunday to introduce this place to others who've not been here! I don't know where to begin! There were 3 of us, our bill before tip was $77 approx., we ordered 2 appetizers, one salad, then 3entree's, teas, & a cinnamon roll. Fantastic food at fantastic prices! This will now be one of our top places to refer other to and to enjoy ourselves!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at the Rye before so that i ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I have eaten at the Rye before so that is why I came back. The only glitch this time was we sat talking for 8-10 minutes after being sitted before our server appeared. There were 6 other tables and so the restaurant was not busy, but I have no idea about staffing so maybe for their staffing they were busy. Any way after placing our order for drinks and lunch. It was seamless service. The chicken I have found to be excellent again. My companion ordered all white meat and this was not a problem either. Of course Cascone 's chicken is excellent so is Strouds but they are all different and excellent is their own individual way. The Rye does need to up date the prices on the web site.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Father's Day brunch took us to Rye this ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day brunch took us to Rye this year. I ordered the eggs Benedict with salmon. Terrific! My brother enjoyed the fried chicken. Unfortunately, my Dad's eggs Benedict was not so terrific. Eggs over cooked to solid yolk. My mother's shrimp and grits tasted great but was very soupy. I generally avoid shrimp and grits in KC, have never found a KC restaurant that does it justice. Exceptional service but food wasn't up to par this time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can you spell redemption!!! Suzann Titus ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Can you spell redemption!!! Suzann Titus Hayes and I had a bad experience at Rye in Leawood, KS a couple of months back. The management was gracious enough to accept responsibility and invited us back with a gratuity. This experience was a 5 out of 5!!!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

not impresed this time. Other 2 times go ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

not impresed this time. Other 2 times good. Waitress had no idea of one of the drink specials,very slow and when we arrived they could not find any menus which took awhile.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at Rye is ALWAYS the right answer ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Brunch at Rye is ALWAYS the right answer! Excellent and interesting menu, fantastic service. Took dad for Father's Day and it was honestly perfect. If you haven't experienced a meal at Rye (for whatever reason), just go! You will not regret it and will immediately look forward to your next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Family of 4 ate there for birthday dinne ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Family of 4 ate there for birthday dinner. Huge disappointment. We all agreed it was the most ho-hum, bland, flavorless steak, fried chicken, and salad we have ever had. The tables were crammed together like sardines and the restaurant was over 80 degrees inside. WILL NEVER GO BACK!!

food5
ambience4
service4

It was a nice experience. There were two ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was a nice experience. There were two things that caused me to not leave 5 stars. The waitress didn't bring refills out as quickly as our group would have liked and they would not prepare livers despite a food allergy making it hard for someone in our party to order safe meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The fried chicken was outstanding as was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The fried chicken was outstanding as was my wife's trout. The service was great. This was our second visit to Rye and we plan to go back again. It is definitely an excellent restaurant. One of the best in the KC area.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a casual work meeting over lunch, st ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Had a casual work meeting over lunch, stayed a long while but the service was outstanding, matched our meeting flow and was an excellent choice for our meeting! Great food selection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Rye! Our food was very tasty and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We love Rye! Our food was very tasty and innovative. Colorful and high quality. Always know we will be served and attended to with a caring staff. Love the gin seasonal drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Four of us gather to celebrate each othe ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Four of us gather to celebrate each others' birthdays. Sunday brunch was the best timing for the most recent celebration, and Rye was geographically the most desirable. I ordered the Chopped Salad, which was very tasty but overdressed. Everyone was happy with her choice, and we shared a big slice of your sublime peach cake with bourbon vanilla ice cream. The place wasn't jam-packed, but I wish the noise level could have been buffered a bit - one of my friends is losing the hearing in one ear and we had some difficulty communicating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always, great service and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food as always, great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks and service. The ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, drinks and service. The fried chicken was better than great grandma's! Can't wait to try it for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Too much garlic used in the food. Choice ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Too much garlic used in the food. Choices very limited for garlic allergy. People in group thought chicken was very good. Did not try desserts as too full.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 6, 2016

Dining experience was over-all good but I previously had a very good malbec with dinner and this time the one I ordered was sour. It was replaced with something different but I missed my original wine. Service was excellent, however.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

After church with family, perfect. Staff ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

After church with family, perfect. Staff was on point as always. Feels like they have been waiting on you. My kids try foods there they won't normally venture into. Win Win

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Mine was great. His was not

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was very slow. And place even packed. In fact there were several open tables in the area we were seated in. I hot the hanger steak, meduim. Which was great. My husband got a 10 oz filet medium. When he it it was warm but not hot and WELL done. We chose not to inform staff since it took over an hour just to get our mains. We go back based on this experience.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was okay but way overpriced! The s ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was okay but way overpriced! The shrimp and grits were not very good at all and the staff was not very friendly. This is completely different than the Rye we used to know. Not sure what has changed but probably won't be going back.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Try the chicken

Dined on May 31, 2016

My party got there at opening time and we had to wait about 3 minutes to be seated. However, the food was delicious and we were promptly served when we were seated.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Rye numerous times for ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten at Rye numerous times for brunch and it has always been excellent. We like the menu for its selection of both breakfast and lunch options. Service is exceptional, food is delicious, good value. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone. I had the chicken salad -- very good! My husband always gets the Rye breakfast, which is often more than he can eat. Fried chicken is also good, light, not greasy at all. One of our Top 5 restaurants for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Almost

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was decent, but it was not up to the quality standards that you would expect from a restaurant of this price point. The dishes were almost seasoned properly, but both of our dishes had us reaching for the salt grinder. Not a good sign at any restaurant. My food was warmed properly, but that was probably because it was in a broth. We ordered a pasta dish that was luke warm at best, and my girlfriends steak was cold. Very cool restaurant, but the quality of the food was not up to the price standards. Probably will not be revisiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent goat cheese appetizer.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent goat cheese appetizer.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my Faves!

Dined on May 23, 2016

I have eaten at Rye twice at it was fabulous on both occasions. the food is absolutely delicious and the service was professional and attentive but not too stiff or formal. The wine selection is superb. Only negative is that the food is so good that I eat more than I should!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

GOOD FOOD, VERY LOUD WHEN BUSY

Dined on May 16, 2016

Dined with a group of 6 on Steak Night, which is a good value for what you get. Food was solidly good and well prepared; would have preferred different pie selections for the steak night special, but you get what you get. My only complaint was the restaurant was pretty busy, so it was VERY loud, which made it hard to hear conversations at the table. I may be back, but probably not for a special occasion with more than one or two others.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Spectacular evening with outstanding foo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Spectacular evening with outstanding food and beverage.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was very good. We had burnt en ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was very good. We had burnt ends and pickled Vegas appetizers. Unfortunately they were immediately followed by our entrees. But entrees were very good....fried chicken, shrimp and grits, and pork chops. Fun atmosphere. The problem here was service that started and ended with manager. In between we had a server who asked "want something to drink?" "Ready to order?" and "need some boxes?". Never introduced himself, didn't tell about specials, follow up to check on food.....plus previously mentioned timing problem between apps and entrees. Manager was at host station when we arrived, very slow to greet and then didn't display courtesy with seating. At end of meal my daughter, long time worker in hospitality, spoke to same manager to point out problems we had experienced. He was abrupt and dismissive including standing with arms across chest while listening. Food was very nice, the rest of the experience was subpar.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, however, we were there f ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great, however, we were there for my mother's 78th birthday. The waitress inquired whose birthday it was and at the end of dinner said "what dessert would you like for your birthday?" My mother ordered pie which they brought with a candle in it to celebrate. I was shocked when the bill came and we were charged for the dessert. I did not say anything so as to not embarrass my mother. The next day, I was sharing my experience with a friend who said the same thing had happened to her at Rye and like me, she had not said anything so as to avoid embarrassment of her daughter. Servers should not imply that the dessert is a birthday "gift" as I am certain my mom would not have ordered it had it not been presented as such.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I have had two business lunches at Rye a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have had two business lunches at Rye and have been very pleased both times. I am excited to give the patio a try for happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Surprised to have been disappointed. Exp ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Surprised to have been disappointed. Expected to be wowed. House salad had just the bitter greens and little dabs of goat cheese but it was a big serving. Mussels were gritty. The odd pieces of bacon/fat in the sauce were incompatible with my idea of a good mussel sauce. Restaurant is noisy even when not packed. Lighting so dark we had to use cell phone lights to read menus at 8:30. Service was professional. The goat cheese appetizer came in a tiny cup with huge slices of Texas toast type bread. Odd, again. I guess chef is trying for unique. Mission accomplished but at what expense?

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food and service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything from the home made rolls and corn muffins to the mouthwatering entrees and outstanding deserts was flawless. Rye buys from local farmers and serves up flavorful, creative dishes with style. If background noise is a problem for you, ask to be seated in the back dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu was not what I hoped for. Noise lev ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Menu was not what I hoped for. Noise level was too high. Food itself was good. Don't plan to come back.

food4
ambience4
service3

I love the salmon & Indian rice. I devia ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I love the salmon & Indian rice. I deviated & tried the hangar steak, which came under cooked based on what I ordered. It was average. Desserts are amazing, but would love to see them add more GF options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second luncheon here with friends and en ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Second luncheon here with friends and enjoyed by all. Our server, Dave, took great care of us as we caught up with busy lives. We recommend "The Old Square" for fun memories!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have great service and this ex ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We always have great service and this experience was no different! The trout my husband had was fantastic, my salmon was delicious (the rice & fennel salad paired with it is perfection)! Our whole party was pleased all around.

food5
ambience5
service5

Legit across the board. Just go.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Legit across the board. Just go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and had never been there before but the food and service was excellent. Monday night is steak night so we felt like we got a great value in the 3 course meal. The presentation of the food was also very well done. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken is so good! Love the lemo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fried chicken is so good! Love the lemon pie!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but slow.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff got overwhelmed by full crowd on outside deck. Took nearly two hours for our group to be served dinner. Ran out of fried chicken so go early if you want their specialty. Never offered anything to our group to make up for the slow service and long wait. Just regrets. So will stick to just brunch in the future.

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.