About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Colby & Megan Garrelts

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Private Party Contact:
Susan Kane: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Apple Fritters
Rye Breakfast
Mac & Cheese with Crispy Bacon
Burnt End Hash
Spring Shrub Cocktail
Sazerac
Hanger Steak
Gnoochi
Pimm's Punch
Smoked Brisket
Deviled Free Range Eggs with Fresh Horseradish
Chicken Fried Steak
Burnt Ends With Brussel Sprouts
Lemon Meringue
Burnt ends
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Coffee & Cigarettes Cocktail
Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie
Fried Chicken & Mashep
Mokan Nut Pie
Burnt End Chili
Lemon Mirange
Burnt ends with fries
Almond Layer Cake
Walleye
Sweet Corn Fizz
Smoked Chicken Wrap

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
American
Kansas City, KS
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

Fit for Foodies (117)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Special Occasion (81)
See All
Great for Lunch (71)
Good for Groups (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Great for Brunch (60)
Hot Spot (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Romantic (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Kid-friendly (24)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Scenic View (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Local ingredients, imaginative menu, gen ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Local ingredients, imaginative menu, generous portions, service attentive but not overbearing.

My wife tried the fried chicken, while I ordered the pork chops. Both were excellent. Desserts Key lime Tart and Peanut butter chocolate pie were also very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a dinner with friends at Rye to ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Enjoyed a dinner with friends at Rye to treat a friend from out of town to an alternative to BBQ. Rye did not disappoint and served up reasonable portions of comfort cuisine with a creative twist. Don't baulk at the Serrano peppers and buttermilk sauce and be sure to leave room for a piece of lemon meringue with a topping you might mistake for toasted marshmallow. Absolutely delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been several times and had great ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have been several times and had great meals. Pork chops were not good. Very fatty and not flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

I had expected more based on reviews I h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had expected more based on reviews I had read. Fried chicken was OK, mashed potatoes were runny with a teaspoon of brown gravy and greens turned out to be salad. My friend's bacon sandwich was OK. Ambience was OK. Service was OK.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my second visit and the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my second visit and the service was just as good as it was the first time as well as the food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer mussels were tiny but had many ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Appetizer mussels were tiny but had many and a great broth for dipping bread. Had crab ball appetizers (fried) had good flavor. Ordered the fried chicken - both dark pieces very good - 3rd piece was breast so it was a bit drier. All sides are al la carte so it can get a little pricey. Had layered peach cake for dessert and I'd recommend since it was moist and good size. Pie is good but small slices. Service was great and nice relaxed ambiance. Patio is large an very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb fried chicken as I had heard and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Superb fried chicken as I had heard and other entree looked delectable. Nice place for special occasion. The unique side order choices were a nice change and one of the best house salads I have ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always consistently great! Salads are gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always consistently great! Salads are great. Love the philly, evening menu gives me the best fried chicken livers. Drinks are made with care and top ingredients

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Order Fish (menu read white fish from L ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Order Fish (menu read white fish from Lake Superior) never will I Oder fish with no name .Fish was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We started at the bar with clever cockta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We started at the bar with clever cocktails. Our sever was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was outstanding!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food @ Rye is always good & service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food @ Rye is always good & service superior. However, I don't feel that the food value is worth the price paid. $16 for a side of "hand sourced" mushrooms??!!! I chose to pass on that special!! don't enjoy most of the pairings so end up settling & eating 1-2 of the items & leaving the rest on my plate. HIGHLY recommend the goat cheese & honey appetizer. YUMM-O!!! The hanger steak w/chimicurri sauce was good but the sauce was lacking in flavor. The side of fries had a wonderful garlic flavor but, alas, they were so limp that It spoiled the effect. 😕 The side salad was so-so. See what I mean re: entree pairings?? The banana cream pie had a strong taste of artificial banana (not one bite of real banana), it was over chilled, (would prefer it to not be chilled @ all but this was arctic cold!), & it had a dark layer on the crust (chocolate??), overall= 👎🏼👎🏼. The cappuccino was heavenly!! Should have let that serve as dessert. Looking 4rd to the fall selections (butternut squash, pumpkin, etc).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful day, great patio. We had a goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Beautiful day, great patio. We had a good experience. Some drinks a little slow to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Came for a fun night out with the family ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Came for a fun night out with the family. Being outside was nice. Waiter did a wonderful job timing when food was brought to us. First time to try the Prime Rib - very delicious. Others at our table chose the chicken - can never go wrong with that plate. Look forward to next visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful. I want to try everything. Del ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful. I want to try everything. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

The food at Rye is amazing. The service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food at Rye is amazing. The service is wonderful. If you are going for conversation this isn't the place. It's terribly noisy. I couldn't hear the person across the table from me. Other than than that it is wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have only had great experiences at thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have only had great experiences at this restaurant. This time I started with one of Rye's cocktails, the Old Square, which is a wonderful combo of dark horse rye, cognac, dolin vermouth rouge and Benedictine. I had the deviled eggs and open-faced burnt ends sandwich which were truly top notch. My wife had the gazpacho (delicious) and the BBLT. She gave me a bite of her sandwich and It was as good as my burnt ends. She had coconut cream pie for dessert and relished every bite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rye was really nice after a disappointin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Rye was really nice after a disappointing dinner at Story the night before. Upscale comfort food prepared very well. I'm not a fan of fried chicken but that's the star here - my wife loved hers and it seems others around us agreed. Attentive service without being intrusive. Very good wine list with a lot of choices at all price points. A bit loud but conversation was easy. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant with awesome food and s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great restaurant with awesome food and service. He'd a business meeting with a client for brunch and absolutely loved it. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Loved sitting on the patio and the food was amazing as always. Thank you for a great start to a great day! I'll definitely be bringing more guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Waterfront, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fireplace, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fried chicken and sides were all goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The fried chicken and sides were all good - the main problem is the size of the tables! It was difficult to get all required table items on the table (there was 4 of us). Unfortunately, the actual eating experience was not as relaxing and pleasant as it could be if there was just a bit more room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have been wanting to go to The Rye for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have been wanting to go to The Rye for quite some time. For some reason I got on the email list and was looking forward to this restaurant. However, I was actually very disappointed and I really wanted and tried to like it. But, honestly I walked away thinking it was just ok. It wasn't bad, just ok. Everything from the bread, appetizer, main dish and dessert were just ok. That would be ok, if I were paying a relatively speaking ok price. But, I paid over $100 for dinner for 2. At that price, I expect better than ok. I can appreciate the use of local ingredients, midwest cooking and comfort food. I just think the meal was boring, bland - ok.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Always on point.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was great ,service very good restau ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

food was great ,service very good

restaurant compared to other like restaurants is rather expensive...

drink menu is a bit over priced.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent locally raised food. One of ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent locally raised food. One of our favorite KC places.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Definitely will be ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was amazing. Definitely will be back. We had a great server who was very knowledgeable about menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rye is always fabulous from the food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Rye is always fabulous from the food and drinks to the service. It is one of my favorites in Kansas City.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding wait staff and young people ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding wait staff and young people at the front greeting. Rylan helped my mother with a walker in the pouring rain wait outside with an umbrella while I got the car .He made sure she was safely in the car before returning to the restaurant. Food was good and hot. Only complaint - we were seated immediately, but it took awhile before a waiter came. Too much time lapsed from ordering our wine and its arrival.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The patio is wonderful for most of the y ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The patio is wonderful for most of the year! The food is fabulously prepared with local great ingredients! And don't forget desert...it's always fabulous!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Especially enjoyed the chicken salad. Ot ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Especially enjoyed the chicken salad. Others enjoyed the shrimp and grits and the hash. Energetic vibe. Professional wait staff. My Bloody Mary was a bit too spicy.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This wasn't our first time . We have ent ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This wasn't our first time .

We have entertained friends befor.

This was our 22nd anniversary and Rye was our first choice .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow, particularly for a Fri ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was slow, particularly for a Friday Happy Hour. We waited over 10 minutes before anyone greeted us at our table. Moscow Mules ordered were mostly vodka and water. Not enough ginger beer and very little ice. White wine was served in stemless glasses. These glasses are difficult to hold and wine was not adequately chilled. Serving it in these glasses decreased the chill as you had to hold the glass by the bowl instead of the stem as is preferred. Blue Crab hushpuppies were mostly corn bread and no crab. These were recommended by wait staff as the best appetizer on the menu. Not impressed. Caesar salad and wedge were good and entre of shrimp and grits was also good. We came for Happy Hour, but there is no Happy Hour menu which was disappointing. It is easy to see why Tavern does a lot more business than Rye. They have better service, better food offerings and know how to serve wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food and service were outstanding! Susa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Susan was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find. We really enjoyed Rye. On o ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a find. We really enjoyed Rye. On our list for next trip to KC and should be on your list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. However, this was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good. However, this was our 2nd visit and both times we had to send a steak back for further cooking. They seem to have problems getting it medium rare. Both visits, the steak was too much on the rare side. They corrected the issue both times and the steak had great flavor. I tried the fried chicken this visit, as that is what most people talk about. Very good chicken. But apparently you can only order as a meal with sides on Sundays so that adds to your cost any other night. Although the food and service is good, the additional wait for getting the steak correct and additional cost to have sides with the chicken will keep us from visiting again any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was fantastic, great variety on ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fantastic, great variety on the menu, great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our girls night out dinner at rye was su ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our girls night out dinner at rye was superb! And the food was awesome too! I would recommend the filet. Delicious! The fried chicken came in a close second.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I truly was disappointed in the service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I truly was disappointed in the service. Had no clue about the menu. Had to ask the special also asked his thoughts and did not say anything but said the special again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Everything was good. Waiter had a bit o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was good. Waiter had a bit of an attitude. He seemed bent out of shape when I asked him a question about the special. He also seemed to want to impress us with his golf knowledge.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food - Menu had comfort food, stand ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food - Menu had comfort food, standby favorites as well as gourmet flavors. Friendly staff. Manager made table stops to endure all was satisfactory. Tasty food included yummy desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was great, the Old Square wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our service was great, the Old Square was awesome, the Walleye was very small, the wine selection is very good and the patio is a great place to eat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great high quality food, fantastic hand ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great high quality food, fantastic hand crafted drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.