About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Colby & Megan Garrelts

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Private Party Contact:
Susan Kane: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Apple Fritters
Rye Breakfast
Mac & Cheese with Crispy Bacon
Burnt End Hash
Spring Shrub Cocktail
Sazerac
Hanger Steak
Gnoochi
Pimm's Punch
Smoked Brisket
Deviled Free Range Eggs with Fresh Horseradish
Chicken Fried Steak
Burnt Ends With Brussel Sprouts
Lemon Meringue
Burnt ends
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Coffee & Cigarettes Cocktail
Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie
Fried Chicken & Mashep
Mokan Nut Pie
Burnt End Chili
Lemon Mirange
Burnt ends with fries
Almond Layer Cake
Walleye
Sweet Corn Fizz
Smoked Chicken Wrap

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
American
Kansas City, KS
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

Fit for Foodies (129)
Neighborhood Gem (101)
Special Occasion (93)
See All
Great for Lunch (79)
Good for Groups (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Great for Brunch (64)
Hot Spot (40)
Romantic (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Kid-friendly (27)
Scenic View (15)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This wasn't our first time . We have ent ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

This wasn't our first time .

We have entertained friends befor.

This was our 22nd anniversary and Rye was our first choice .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow, particularly for a Fri ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slow, particularly for a Friday Happy Hour. We waited over 10 minutes before anyone greeted us at our table. Moscow Mules ordered were mostly vodka and water. Not enough ginger beer and very little ice. White wine was served in stemless glasses. These glasses are difficult to hold and wine was not adequately chilled. Serving it in these glasses decreased the chill as you had to hold the glass by the bowl instead of the stem as is preferred. Blue Crab hushpuppies were mostly corn bread and no crab. These were recommended by wait staff as the best appetizer on the menu. Not impressed. Caesar salad and wedge were good and entre of shrimp and grits was also good. We came for Happy Hour, but there is no Happy Hour menu which was disappointing. It is easy to see why Tavern does a lot more business than Rye. They have better service, better food offerings and know how to serve wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food and service were outstanding! Susa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Susan was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find. We really enjoyed Rye. On o ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a find. We really enjoyed Rye. On our list for next trip to KC and should be on your list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. However, this was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good. However, this was our 2nd visit and both times we had to send a steak back for further cooking. They seem to have problems getting it medium rare. Both visits, the steak was too much on the rare side. They corrected the issue both times and the steak had great flavor. I tried the fried chicken this visit, as that is what most people talk about. Very good chicken. But apparently you can only order as a meal with sides on Sundays so that adds to your cost any other night. Although the food and service is good, the additional wait for getting the steak correct and additional cost to have sides with the chicken will keep us from visiting again any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was fantastic, great variety on ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fantastic, great variety on the menu, great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our girls night out dinner at rye was su ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our girls night out dinner at rye was superb! And the food was awesome too! I would recommend the filet. Delicious! The fried chicken came in a close second.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I truly was disappointed in the service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I truly was disappointed in the service. Had no clue about the menu. Had to ask the special also asked his thoughts and did not say anything but said the special again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Everything was good. Waiter had a bit o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was good. Waiter had a bit of an attitude. He seemed bent out of shape when I asked him a question about the special. He also seemed to want to impress us with his golf knowledge.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food - Menu had comfort food, stand ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food - Menu had comfort food, standby favorites as well as gourmet flavors. Friendly staff. Manager made table stops to endure all was satisfactory. Tasty food included yummy desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was great, the Old Square wa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our service was great, the Old Square was awesome, the Walleye was very small, the wine selection is very good and the patio is a great place to eat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great high quality food, fantastic hand ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great high quality food, fantastic hand crafted drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. It''s nice to know you'r ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful food. It''s nice to know you're supporting local farmers and at same time enjoying top notch preparation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time to have lunch at this wonderf ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

First time to have lunch at this wonderful Resturant. We took another couple ; our close friends, and we all agreed this would be a place we will come back to more often. Just great food and very nice atmosphere throughout. Very clean, service was 10 stars......

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lots to catch up on and kept putt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had lots to catch up on and kept putting off looking at the menu...no problem for our waitress. One of my friends asked for something already on the table and our waitress graciously went off to get it without a question, or without pointing out that it was right in front of her. Our waitress was extremely nice and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the shrimp and grits with a bloody ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Loved the shrimp and grits with a bloody Mary at a booth by the window!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our new favorite places a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is one of our new favorite places and we particularly loved sitting on the patio catching up with friends over wine and appetizers. The inside is charming, but if the weather is nice, the outside is comfortable with less noise. The appetizers were fantastic, especially the whipped goat cheese, which is simple but really amazing with a glass of wine. The fried chicken is a must - and get the mashed potatoes to go with it. You won't regret the choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good experience. Our waitress ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall good experience. Our waitress had too many tables and we had to ask the person refilling our water to provide drinks and take our orders. For the price 15-minutes is too long to wait for the server to take an initial drink/ appetizer order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice interior, little too dark. Very lou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice interior, little too dark. Very loud with bad acoustics. Not worth the wait/$.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We have dined at rye several times. Som ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have dined at rye several times. Sometimes it's better than others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the best places to eat in KC. Go ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of the best places to eat in KC. Go here frequently for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a disappointing meal at ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have never had a disappointing meal at Rye, this is one of the top spots in this city.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bar program, particularly the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent bar program, particularly the bourbon selection. Food and interaction was staff was also great. *Only* problem with the food was the pace of delivery. Appetizer and salad arrived within ~2 minutes of one another, and the entree/sides arrived within 15 minutes of that. We were literally at the table for less than 30 minutes when everything had arrived. That's somewhat frustrating. Will give it another shot the next time I'm through KC, but hesitant to recommend at this point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hanger steak was, as always, top notch. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Hanger steak was, as always, top notch. Hard for me to order anything else. Wife ventured a bit and tried the shrimp and grits, but the pulled pork on the grits overwhelmed the grits and shrimp so it was more like a BBQ side dish, but it was still flavorful, but only if you like BBQ. Service was excellent as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my wife here for our 25th anniversa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Took my wife here for our 25th anniversary. The food was to die for. You have got to go here. The ambiance is casual, upbeat and fun. The service is prompt and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delivered super fast; faster th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delivered super fast; faster than some fast food restaurants. The fried chicken was cooked just the way you would want fried chicken to be and the pie was exceptional. The fried chicken portion was large.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very hot evening and the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very hot evening and the restaurant was way too warm inside. Our wedge salad was excellent but way too warm to eat our entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

My husband and I went to Rye for the fir ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My husband and I went to Rye for the first time last week and unfortunately it has resulted in our never going back. The service was extremely slow - entire meal took over 2 hours to get, and we spent a lot of time just WAITING for someone to help us. My husband's steak was completely black on the outside (he ordered rare) to the point that all he could taste was the char and none of the steak. The comment from the manager was "we cook on a wood grill, it happens." To top it off, we didn't even get the correct cut of steak!

What was supposed to be a nice evening at a restaurant we had been waiting to try was actually a nightmare, and a pricey one at that. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Rye has been my go to restaurant for din ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Rye has been my go to restaurant for dining over the past few years when I have customers in town. On our last visit I was less than impressed, our steaks were tough and lacked flavor (2 at my table asked for different knives to cut their steaks) and our service was slow. The main issue was the temperature of the restaurant, I understand it was extremely hot outside but everyone at our table made numerous comments about the temp (this was beside the apparent beads of sweat on everyone's forehead), and when we mentioned it to a waiter the response was "its always warm in here". I will go back b/c I have had so many excellent experiences but I may wait until this fall or winter when I don't need to worry about the a/c keeping up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Should include a dessert for birthdays. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Should include a dessert for birthdays. Most restaurants do. Would like ice in water. Noise levels rather high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was not very hot. The brunch po ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was not very hot. The brunch potatoes were actually cold, dry and hard . The service and ambience were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table ordered two different lunch en ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our table ordered two different lunch entrees. One was good and tasted just fine. The other meal was not so good and the quality of the meat and sauce was below average. This was disappointing and not what you would call a good or great meal. Not sure we will go back here for brunch on a Sunday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I haven't been to many places in Kansas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I haven't been to many places in Kansas City, but this is the best thus far. The service was outstanding, and I liked the space. The food was great, but not stellar. The cocktail menu was fun, but my negroni wasn't perfect. I'm spoiled to live in a food town, so, if it were in Austin, I don't know that I'd seek it out when comparing similarly priced restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What I appreciated the most was the fact ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What I appreciated the most was the fact that we were served at a pace that did not make us feel rushed, which reminded me fondly of restaurants visited in Europe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat on the patio on a lovely night. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We sat on the patio on a lovely night. The setting was wonderful.

However, we ordered our steaks medium and when they came to us well done, the waiter told us they were actually done correctly, but they looked well done because we were outside and the "natural light" made them look grey. We sent the steaks back and the manager acknowledged that they were overdone. When the new steaks came out, they were underdone, but at that point I wasn't going to argue.

When I order two $50 steaks and a $225 bottle of wine, I expect a certain level of service. I don't expect to be asked if I want to keep my dirty knife from a previous course. Bring me a clean knife. And I shouldn't be expected to pour the wine for myself either.

Rye needs to decide if they are a high end steak restaurant or an upscale BBQ joint. So far they haven't figured out how to do both.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

A group of 10 for a birthday celebration ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A group of 10 for a birthday celebration and several out of town guests got their first exposure to RYE. We tried new items from the bar, the goat cheese was excellent and guests enjoyed chicken, shrimp and grits, pork chops and the special smoked beef ribs were a hit. Thumbs up by everyone!!!! A special thank you to Kelsey for her attentive and friendly service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but it was very nois ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was great, but it was very noisy and hot inside. Had to leave because it became so uncomfortable. Will go again when it is cooler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My steak was not cooked right and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My steak was not cooked right and it was like 90 degrees in the restaurant to hot to even eat my whole meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a great meal at Rye! Enjoyed my s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always a great meal at Rye! Enjoyed my shrimp and grits and the Mac and cheese. And the peach dessert was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my father there for his 70th birthd ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took my father there for his 70th birthday thinking the "famous" fried chicken would be something he'd enjoy. The chicken came out way over cooked, a little burnt in fact. I didn't make an issue of it. The other 5 members of my family that dined with us all enjoyed there meal, just the chicken was a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.