About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
John Brogan

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mac & Cheese with Crispy Bacon - Rye, Leawood, KS
Burnt End Hash - Rye, Leawood, KS
Spring Shrub Cocktail - Rye, Leawood, KS
Sazerac - Rye, Leawood, KS
Hanger Steak - Rye, Leawood, KS
Gnoochi - Rye, Leawood, KS
Pimm's Punch - Rye, Leawood, KS
Smoked Brisket - Rye, Leawood, KS
Deviled Free Range Eggs with Fresh Horseradish - Rye, Leawood, KS
Chicken Fried Steak - Rye, Leawood, KS
Burnt Ends With Brussel Sprouts - Rye, Leawood, KS
Lemon Meringue - Rye, Leawood, KS
Burnt ends - Rye, Leawood, KS
Pulled Pork Sandwich - Rye, Leawood, KS
Coffee & Cigarettes Cocktail - Rye, Leawood, KS
Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie - Rye, Leawood, KS
Apple Fritters - Rye, Leawood, KS
Fried Chicken & Mashep - Rye, Leawood, KS
Mokan Nut Pie - Rye, Leawood, KS
Burnt End Chili - Rye, Leawood, KS
Lemon Mirange - Rye, Leawood, KS
Burnt ends with fries - Rye, Leawood, KS
Rye Breakfast - Rye, Leawood, KS
Almond Layer Cake - Rye, Leawood, KS
Walleye - Rye, Leawood, KS
Sweet Corn Fizz - Rye, Leawood, KS
Smoked Chicken Wrap - Rye, Leawood, KS

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (64)
Good for a Date (55)
Local Ingredients (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (43)
Casual (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Authentic (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Cozy (29)
Fun (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Romantic (21)
Family Style (16)
Seasonal (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great Beer (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fireplace (3)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best meals we've had in a lon ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 8 hours ago

One of the best meals we've had in a long time. Everything tasted amazing, looked wonderful, and the drinks were incredible. We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great meal and loved our server. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 10 hours ago

Had a great meal and loved our server. She was friendly, had a great wine suggestion, and lovely service in total.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant Week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was excellent. Food was bey ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was excellent. Food was beyond great. Huge pieces of fried chicken. Caesar salad was the best I have ever had. Amazing place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and Meryl the serve ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was outstanding and Meryl the server was also outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome menu, and sitting at the "chef's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome menu, and sitting at the "chef's table" was really fun watching all the meals be prepared. Went during Restaurant Week, and prix fix menu was a good value.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Service was good.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've been to Rye multiple times and I ab ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to Rye multiple times and I absolutely adore it. It's a great date night place and/or a place to meet the girls for a bottle of wine and comfort food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Met friends for restaurant week lunch. F ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Met friends for restaurant week lunch. Fried chicken was great and the portions were generous. Chose desert instead of salad, and I'm glad I did! I had the lemon meringue pie, and that meringue was probably the best I've ever had! Delish!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lunch meeting was great, food and servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Lunch meeting was great, food and service were excellent and the noise level was moderate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was all around great and portions a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was all around great and portions are large (could be shared by two). Good comfort food like fried chicken and mashed potatoes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the atmosphere and food! Had the fr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Love the atmosphere and food! Had the fried chicken for restaurant week lunch special - yum!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Rye for KC Restaurant Week. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went to Rye for KC Restaurant Week. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were generous. We had a good experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. We o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Restaurant Week menu was delicious. We ordered the hanger steak and gnocchi as our main entrees. Service was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Dessert pies were the perfect finish to a perfect dinning experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Rye many times. Food is al ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to Rye many times. Food is always great, but this time I had the BEST hanger steak I've ever had ANYWHERE! We stuffed ourselves silly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried chicken, service and overall ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great fried chicken, service and overall I would certainly recommend RYE !

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Rye is always a great option for a great ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Rye is always a great option for a great meal. A fantastic, creative menu and everything is excellent! I've never had a bad meal and the staff is knowledgeable, courteous, engaging and attentive to your needs. I would highly recommend RYE to anyone that is looking for a great meal in a fun and energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere, great service and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, great service and knowledgeable wait staff. The beet salad I had was excellent as was the dessert. The ribs and Brussels sprouts were good, but nothing out of the ordinary. The dressings and sauces were excellent, authentic and fresh because they are homemade. It's too pricey for us to eat there often, but once a year for an anniversary dinner we wouldn't hesitate because our evening there was made very enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I enjoyed the great food, se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the great food, service and overall experience! You can't beat the fried chicken!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Comfort Food, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was excellent. Cinnamon rolls and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch was excellent. Cinnamon rolls and fried chicken were wonderful. Server was very well informed on the menu and the food preparation. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food as always was incredible! Atmospher ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food as always was incredible! Atmosphere was outstanding as normal. I go here all the time! However this time, the service was one of the worst that I have had there. The waitress was definitely rushing our dinner, drinks, and dessert during the entire time. Comments were not the greatest either from the wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was awesome!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Everything was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always been impressed by my experie ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I've always been impressed by my experiences at Rye. Everything I've ever tried there is great and I'm always trying to convince myself to try new things, which can be difficult because I love so many options on the menu that I've already tried.

DON'T FORGET TO SAVE ROOM FOR PIE.

Tags: Great Beer, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rye has a great Monday night steak speci ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Rye has a great Monday night steak special for those who love steak. A salad, steak 8-12oz., a side, and a piece of pie for 25-30 dollars. Large portions!

It can be a little noisy and the servers can be a little hurried....but the food is wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Rye is reliably outstanding. There is s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Rye is reliably outstanding. There is something for everyone .

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I have eaten here and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Second time I have eaten here and it was wonderful again! We will definitely be back to try more of the items on the menu. Everything looked so good it is hard to choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service. The waiter had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great customer service. The waiter had an excellent knowledge of all the items on the menu. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. Really made New Year ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service. Really made New Year's eve special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was dissapoined with the KC strip I orde ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was dissapoined with the KC strip I ordered, did not seem to have enough seasoning and did not taste that good. Appatizer was very good as was the salad. May try again but will not order the KC strip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The Host was very nice. We arrived prio ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Host was very nice. We arrived prior to our reservation date and the dinner menu was not yet available so suggested we sit in the bar area which we did. The experience we had with the bartenders was the only negative experience we had with the evening. The bartender was rude and not friendly. When trying to decide what drink we would like, we felt like we had to hurry up and decide, no suggestions etc. There were at least 4 individuals behind the bar and we were never asked if we wanted another drink or how we were doing. When our reservation time came,we tried to advise the bartender that we would like our bill to go with our dinner check but they ignored us. We advised our waitress and she was extremely nice. The rest of our experience was good and we would visit Rye again for dinner but not for drinks. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was solid. Had the salmon and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was solid. Had the salmon and quinoa salad. It is a great lunch salad and I recommend it. Rye is very reliable in all respects. Also a pretty good value. The front part of restaurant has the good feel and atmosphere of a farmhouse/roadhouse sort of place. The back half is more forgettable in terms of atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

You will not regret dining here!!

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

You will not regret dining here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server wasn't very friendly, kind of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server wasn't very friendly, kind of curt. Nice beer selection. Good drinks. Appetizers just so-so.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

very good as always, but very noisy too. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

very good as always, but very noisy too...chicken is wonderful and their filet mignon is always tasty

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food were awesome.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service and food were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited many times and always a wonderfu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Visited many times and always a wonderful experience. From the friendly, helpful staff to the amazing food options. I get excited during my meal for the next days left overs. Can't go wrong with Rye.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were outstanding, the serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The cocktails were outstanding, the service was phenomenal, the food was outstanding and we were able to have a conversation easily at our table. We are looking forward to going back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Rye delivers. We go back for fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual Rye delivers. We go back for food, service, creative custom cocktails and the expansive local beer menu. Everything about dinner was wonderful. Fried chicken, savory bread pudding, salmon and beef tartare were our choices this night but don't miss the shrimp and grits my usual choice. Thanks Rye for a memorable evening once again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Love the fried chicken and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place! Love the fried chicken and lemon meringue pie!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious (my friend and I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was delicious (my friend and I split the fried chicken sandwich and the chicken salad sandwich - both were fantastic). I was nervous about ordering the fried chicken sandwich because I rarely eat fried food. The fry on the chicken was light and perfect (not greasy at all). Our server, Brook W. was very attentive and personable without being overwhelming. She had just the perfect balance. I highly recommend this place and will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.