About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Colby & Megan Garrelts

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Private Party Contact:
Susan Kane: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
American
Kansas City, KS
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

fit for foodies (134)
neighborhood gem (98)
special occasion (94)
See All
great for lunch (83)
good for groups (69)
great for brunch (67)
great for outdoor dining (54)
hot spot (47)
romantic (39)
vibrant bar scene (33)
notable wine list (31)
kid-friendly (17)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

GOOD FOOD, VERY LOUD WHEN BUSY

Dined on May 16, 2016

Dined with a group of 6 on Steak Night, which is a good value for what you get. Food was solidly good and well prepared; would have preferred different pie selections for the steak night special, but you get what you get. My only complaint was the restaurant was pretty busy, so it was VERY loud, which made it hard to hear conversations at the table. I may be back, but probably not for a special occasion with more than one or two others.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Spectacular evening with outstanding foo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Spectacular evening with outstanding food and beverage.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was very good. We had burnt en ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was very good. We had burnt ends and pickled Vegas appetizers. Unfortunately they were immediately followed by our entrees. But entrees were very good....fried chicken, shrimp and grits, and pork chops. Fun atmosphere. The problem here was service that started and ended with manager. In between we had a server who asked "want something to drink?" "Ready to order?" and "need some boxes?". Never introduced himself, didn't tell about specials, follow up to check on food.....plus previously mentioned timing problem between apps and entrees. Manager was at host station when we arrived, very slow to greet and then didn't display courtesy with seating. At end of meal my daughter, long time worker in hospitality, spoke to same manager to point out problems we had experienced. He was abrupt and dismissive including standing with arms across chest while listening. Food was very nice, the rest of the experience was subpar.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, however, we were there f ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great, however, we were there for my mother's 78th birthday. The waitress inquired whose birthday it was and at the end of dinner said "what dessert would you like for your birthday?" My mother ordered pie which they brought with a candle in it to celebrate. I was shocked when the bill came and we were charged for the dessert. I did not say anything so as to not embarrass my mother. The next day, I was sharing my experience with a friend who said the same thing had happened to her at Rye and like me, she had not said anything so as to avoid embarrassment of her daughter. Servers should not imply that the dessert is a birthday "gift" as I am certain my mom would not have ordered it had it not been presented as such.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I have had two business lunches at Rye a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have had two business lunches at Rye and have been very pleased both times. I am excited to give the patio a try for happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Surprised to have been disappointed. Exp ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Surprised to have been disappointed. Expected to be wowed. House salad had just the bitter greens and little dabs of goat cheese but it was a big serving. Mussels were gritty. The odd pieces of bacon/fat in the sauce were incompatible with my idea of a good mussel sauce. Restaurant is noisy even when not packed. Lighting so dark we had to use cell phone lights to read menus at 8:30. Service was professional. The goat cheese appetizer came in a tiny cup with huge slices of Texas toast type bread. Odd, again. I guess chef is trying for unique. Mission accomplished but at what expense?

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food and service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything from the home made rolls and corn muffins to the mouthwatering entrees and outstanding deserts was flawless. Rye buys from local farmers and serves up flavorful, creative dishes with style. If background noise is a problem for you, ask to be seated in the back dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu was not what I hoped for. Noise lev ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Menu was not what I hoped for. Noise level was too high. Food itself was good. Don't plan to come back.

food4
ambience4
service3

I love the salmon & Indian rice. I devia ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I love the salmon & Indian rice. I deviated & tried the hangar steak, which came under cooked based on what I ordered. It was average. Desserts are amazing, but would love to see them add more GF options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second luncheon here with friends and en ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Second luncheon here with friends and enjoyed by all. Our server, Dave, took great care of us as we caught up with busy lives. We recommend "The Old Square" for fun memories!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have great service and this ex ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We always have great service and this experience was no different! The trout my husband had was fantastic, my salmon was delicious (the rice & fennel salad paired with it is perfection)! Our whole party was pleased all around.

food5
ambience5
service5

Legit across the board. Just go.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Legit across the board. Just go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and had never been there before but the food and service was excellent. Monday night is steak night so we felt like we got a great value in the 3 course meal. The presentation of the food was also very well done. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken is so good! Love the lemo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fried chicken is so good! Love the lemon pie!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but slow.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff got overwhelmed by full crowd on outside deck. Took nearly two hours for our group to be served dinner. Ran out of fried chicken so go early if you want their specialty. Never offered anything to our group to make up for the slow service and long wait. Just regrets. So will stick to just brunch in the future.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Rye never disappoints because their mana ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Rye never disappoints because their management always has an eye for details and the kitchen turns out phenomenal food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Menu diversity was good their specialty ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Menu diversity was good their specialty cocktail menu was excellent. Two of us had chicken&dumplings in a herb broth which was great. Two of us had the trout which was also excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4

The shrimp was awesome! Surprised at the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The shrimp was awesome! Surprised at the $4 up charge for substituting a side for salad/soup with entree (they are same price on the menu) loved our little table in the corner though!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

sSoup kept it from being a 5!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My lunch and dessert were excellent. However my onion soup was full of chewy onions. Not tender at all. Even after telling the waiter (Alex) he did nothing. That's why the 4 for him, for overall, and for food. Everything else was great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food! Everything, and we tried qui ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food! Everything, and we tried quite a few different meals, tasted delicious!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty good

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

It was good overall. I think I missed because I did the fried chicken and that was ok. The others in our party had a good meal as well but there were no moments of wow. I'd definitely go back and try other items. The banana cream pie was phenomenal

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good

Dined on April 27, 2016

Have eaten here several times, for both lunch and dinner and with party sizes of 2-16. The food is always great and servers are always very attentive. Prices are a little higher than most but you get what you pay for with the freshest farm-to-table ingredients. I'm glad to have it in my neighborhood!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our go to spots

Dined on April 26, 2016

I've been in Rye several times for business and personal meals. The food, wine list and service have been outstanding. They are able to handle larger parties and do so well. I highly recommend this restaurant. Their steaks are killer!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Overpriced average food, great drinks though!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there over 2 hours for dinner. Our service was sub par, I could tell our waitress was more interested in the table of 10 next to us then us as we had a coupon. Food was good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent. We were here celebrating a birthday and everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service at Rye was Excellent

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The service at Rye was excellent. My friend and I changed our minds several times as to where we wanted to sit and the host was very gracious and accommodating. This was our second visit. The food was good but I thought it was better on our first visit. Our main disappointment was the size of the to-go pieces of pie that we received. We ordered to-go pie slices on our first visit and they were generous slices. The slices we received this time were very small. I don't think they were worth the price. Thank you.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Salad greens and chicken cubes

Dined on April 19, 2016

My Cobb Salad was disappointing. Hard lettuce spines chopped up with perfectly cubed chicken that just didn't match the rest of the quality of the meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

lovely scene for brunch celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

my wife has been wanting to try Rye's brunch for a while now. It was a great place to enjoy a leisurely brunch after a weekend of performances with Owen/Cox Dance Group. From the cocktails to the home made pastries & food, it was a delightful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing from start to finish. Great star ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing from start to finish. Great start with a cucumber ginger gimlet (I did mine with cucumber vodka instead of gin) and spinach salad (who doesn't love bacon on a salad?!). Our table had fried chicken, shrimp and grits, filet, and scotch salmon. All were excellent. Strong cappuccinos with a slice of each strawberry rhubarb and banana cream pie was the perfect ending. Nice location, great staff!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, server friendly ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was excellent, server friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The shrimp and grits were delicious. The lemon meringue pie was excellent. The fried chicken being delivered to neighboring tables looked fantastic. We will definitely be returning.

food4
ambience4
service4

The eggs Benedict is very good and the c ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The eggs Benedict is very good and the cottage potatoes are outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Brunch Spot

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time having brunch at Rye and again we had a great time. The coffee was great and our servers (yes, we got more than one) kept it hot & fresh. The food was delicious as always and the portions were generous. We'll definitely come back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We all really enjoyed our dinner! Thank ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We all really enjoyed our dinner! Thanks for a great girls night

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious and heart felt dining

Dined on April 9, 2016

Rye has a very comfortable feel and fantastic food. From the unique to comfort food, the menu is very complete without overwhelming you with too many choices. And, save room for dessert!! Delicious pies!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday's with friends

Dined on April 3, 2016

Decided to visit Rye again and were very pleased with our meal. Special on Sunday is the prime rib, which half of us had and it was large and wonderful. The shrimp and grits also was wonderful and will be back for that again! Our server was funny and delightful. Fun was had by all

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Enjoyed our family brunch

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We were having brunch with our daughter, her husband and 2 grandchildren, ages 10 and 6. All of us enjoyed our food, especially our daughter who is gluten sensitive and loves Rye's shrimp and grits. We all enjoyed our food and the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly so everyone feels comfortable. I would have given Rye higher ratings for food and service if my chicken livers had not been lukewarm when they were served -- and the handful of lettuce on top of them was just weird. I had to remove it to start eating which didn't help with the dish's temperature.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent brunch‼delicious Bloody Mary & ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent brunch‼delicious Bloody Mary & nice dining experience !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've eaten at Rye several times and have always had a wonderful dining experience. Everything about Rye is top notched! I've recommended to several people and everyone has the same experience, an incredible dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits = lifechanging. Order i ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Shrimp and grits = lifechanging. Order it.

food4
ambience5
service5

We've had dinner here twice and had very ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We've had dinner here twice and had very good to excellent meals. The service has been fantastic with knowledgeable, professional and pleasant staff. Both nights we sat outside near the fire pit for a drink and it is cozy and comfortable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.