About Rye

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Colby & Megan Garrelts

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Private Party Contact:
Susan Kane: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Restaurant Photos

Apple Fritters
Rye Breakfast
Mac & Cheese with Crispy Bacon
Burnt End Hash
Sazerac
Spring Shrub Cocktail
Hanger Steak
Gnoochi
Pimm's Punch
Deviled Free Range Eggs with Fresh Horseradish
Smoked Brisket
Chicken Fried Steak
Burnt Ends With Brussel Sprouts
Lemon Meringue
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Burnt ends
Coffee & Cigarettes Cocktail
Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie
Mokan Nut Pie
Fried Chicken & Mashep
Burnt End Chili
Lemon Mirange
Burnt ends with fries
Almond Layer Cake
Walleye
Sweet Corn Fizz
Smoked Chicken Wrap

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
American
Kansas City, KS
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

fit for foodies (126)
neighborhood gem (103)
special occasion (89)
See All
great for lunch (85)
good for groups (77)
great for outdoor dining (74)
great for brunch (64)
romantic (34)
hot spot (34)
notable wine list (31)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (26)
scenic view (17)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have never had a disappointing meal at ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never had a disappointing meal at Rye, this is one of the top spots in this city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bar program, particularly the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent bar program, particularly the bourbon selection. Food and interaction was staff was also great. *Only* problem with the food was the pace of delivery. Appetizer and salad arrived within ~2 minutes of one another, and the entree/sides arrived within 15 minutes of that. We were literally at the table for less than 30 minutes when everything had arrived. That's somewhat frustrating. Will give it another shot the next time I'm through KC, but hesitant to recommend at this point.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food. No personal attention at all. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good food. No personal attention at all.

Will not make reservations via open table again - the special requests get lost. The restaurant did not get or did not care to follow the special request. And they acted "put out" when I asked about the special request. Not a big request - just wanted a quiet table for two and the flowers I ordered ahead of time to be brought to the table after we were seated.

There was no dining experience - If anyone is interested I would be glad to speak with them - either in person or on the phone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Hanger steak was, as always, top notch. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Hanger steak was, as always, top notch. Hard for me to order anything else. Wife ventured a bit and tried the shrimp and grits, but the pulled pork on the grits overwhelmed the grits and shrimp so it was more like a BBQ side dish, but it was still flavorful, but only if you like BBQ. Service was excellent as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my wife here for our 25th anniversa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Took my wife here for our 25th anniversary. The food was to die for. You have got to go here. The ambiance is casual, upbeat and fun. The service is prompt and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delivered super fast; faster th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delivered super fast; faster than some fast food restaurants. The fried chicken was cooked just the way you would want fried chicken to be and the pie was exceptional. The fried chicken portion was large.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very hot evening and the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very hot evening and the restaurant was way too warm inside. Our wedge salad was excellent but way too warm to eat our entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

My husband and I went to Rye for the fir ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My husband and I went to Rye for the first time last week and unfortunately it has resulted in our never going back. The service was extremely slow - entire meal took over 2 hours to get, and we spent a lot of time just WAITING for someone to help us. My husband's steak was completely black on the outside (he ordered rare) to the point that all he could taste was the char and none of the steak. The comment from the manager was "we cook on a wood grill, it happens." To top it off, we didn't even get the correct cut of steak!

What was supposed to be a nice evening at a restaurant we had been waiting to try was actually a nightmare, and a pricey one at that. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Rye has been my go to restaurant for din ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Rye has been my go to restaurant for dining over the past few years when I have customers in town. On our last visit I was less than impressed, our steaks were tough and lacked flavor (2 at my table asked for different knives to cut their steaks) and our service was slow. The main issue was the temperature of the restaurant, I understand it was extremely hot outside but everyone at our table made numerous comments about the temp (this was beside the apparent beads of sweat on everyone's forehead), and when we mentioned it to a waiter the response was "its always warm in here". I will go back b/c I have had so many excellent experiences but I may wait until this fall or winter when I don't need to worry about the a/c keeping up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Should include a dessert for birthdays. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Should include a dessert for birthdays. Most restaurants do. Would like ice in water. Noise levels rather high.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was not very hot. The brunch po ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was not very hot. The brunch potatoes were actually cold, dry and hard . The service and ambience were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table ordered two different lunch en ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our table ordered two different lunch entrees. One was good and tasted just fine. The other meal was not so good and the quality of the meat and sauce was below average. This was disappointing and not what you would call a good or great meal. Not sure we will go back here for brunch on a Sunday.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I haven't been to many places in Kansas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I haven't been to many places in Kansas City, but this is the best thus far. The service was outstanding, and I liked the space. The food was great, but not stellar. The cocktail menu was fun, but my negroni wasn't perfect. I'm spoiled to live in a food town, so, if it were in Austin, I don't know that I'd seek it out when comparing similarly priced restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What I appreciated the most was the fact ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What I appreciated the most was the fact that we were served at a pace that did not make us feel rushed, which reminded me fondly of restaurants visited in Europe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat on the patio on a lovely night. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We sat on the patio on a lovely night. The setting was wonderful.

However, we ordered our steaks medium and when they came to us well done, the waiter told us they were actually done correctly, but they looked well done because we were outside and the "natural light" made them look grey. We sent the steaks back and the manager acknowledged that they were overdone. When the new steaks came out, they were underdone, but at that point I wasn't going to argue.

When I order two $50 steaks and a $225 bottle of wine, I expect a certain level of service. I don't expect to be asked if I want to keep my dirty knife from a previous course. Bring me a clean knife. And I shouldn't be expected to pour the wine for myself either.

Rye needs to decide if they are a high end steak restaurant or an upscale BBQ joint. So far they haven't figured out how to do both.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

A group of 10 for a birthday celebration ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A group of 10 for a birthday celebration and several out of town guests got their first exposure to RYE. We tried new items from the bar, the goat cheese was excellent and guests enjoyed chicken, shrimp and grits, pork chops and the special smoked beef ribs were a hit. Thumbs up by everyone!!!! A special thank you to Kelsey for her attentive and friendly service.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but it was very nois ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was great, but it was very noisy and hot inside. Had to leave because it became so uncomfortable. Will go again when it is cooler.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My steak was not cooked right and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My steak was not cooked right and it was like 90 degrees in the restaurant to hot to even eat my whole meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a great meal at Rye! Enjoyed my s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always a great meal at Rye! Enjoyed my shrimp and grits and the Mac and cheese. And the peach dessert was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my father there for his 70th birthd ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took my father there for his 70th birthday thinking the "famous" fried chicken would be something he'd enjoy. The chicken came out way over cooked, a little burnt in fact. I didn't make an issue of it. The other 5 members of my family that dined with us all enjoyed there meal, just the chicken was a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

First time dining here after hearing a l ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

First time dining here after hearing a lot about it and we were not disappointed. I had the hanger steak and it was flavorful and tender. One of the best steaks I've had. My wife had their famous fried chicken and it was as good as advertised. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was awesome!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we went early on a Friday evening at 5:4 ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

we went early on a Friday evening at 5:45 and the bar noise made the very good meal trying. Won 't go back - lots of other great places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We ate here on a recent Friday night. St ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We ate here on a recent Friday night. Started with the blue crab hush puppies. Yum. Both had the spinach salad and they were tasty. I had the walleye and my companion had the shrimp and grits. My walleye was really tasty and he liked his. We shared the peach cobbler with a sugar cookie crust. Very good. They make great cocktails and plenty of choices for wine by the glass. Our server was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and did a great job. As with so many other restaurants, the noise level can be loud, so take that into account if it's an issue for you. Parking is pretty easy, the lot is large.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The whipped goat cheese was out of this ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The whipped goat cheese was out of this world, but I found the crab hush puppies mediocre and bland. I ordered shrimp & grits, unfortunately they were not good as I had hoped. However my guests said they enjoyed their fried chicken.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a nice evening and the food was good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Had a nice evening and the food was good. A bit noisy, but we were seatedt in the middle of the restaurant. Service was good and food came out fresh and warm.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best coconut cream pie in America!!! no ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best coconut cream pie in America!!! no joke- and great beer selection for a local beer freak!-Eating local rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

we loved the goat cheese and honey appet ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

we loved the goat cheese and honey appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our 2nd time here, 2 weekends i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our 2nd time here, 2 weekends in a row. The 1st one was so much better. our '2nd' server was unfriendly, stuck to business, got the answers, moved on, no smiles, etc... I once again ordered the Chicken livers/grits. The 2nd time the onions were NOT caramelized, just sautéed. The grits were 1/2 the amount as the 1st time & tasteless. The Chicken was on the verge of dry. The atmosphere was a lot less friendly than our 1st visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

We had your fried chicken and asparagus, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had your fried chicken and asparagus, phenominal!!

As well as the chocolate peanutbutter pie...super tasty!!

Prices are tooooo high!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I like a lot of things about Rye, but on ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I like a lot of things about Rye, but one big drawback is their $25 corkage fee if you bring your own wine. Most restaurant I choose for a special occasion charge $15, some even have no charge. I will be going somewhere else for my next special occasion. I like to have a wine that I am familiar with on those occasions, but a $25 charge for opening and pouring a bottle seems excessive to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Rye never ceases to impress! Brunch is ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Rye never ceases to impress! Brunch is such a treat, the pancake is big enough to share and the burnt end hash is to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This past Saturday was our 1st time here ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This past Saturday was our 1st time here. We are going back the following Sunday to introduce this place to others who've not been here! I don't know where to begin! There were 3 of us, our bill before tip was $77 approx., we ordered 2 appetizers, one salad, then 3entree's, teas, & a cinnamon roll. Fantastic food at fantastic prices! This will now be one of our top places to refer other to and to enjoy ourselves!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at the Rye before so that i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have eaten at the Rye before so that is why I came back. The only glitch this time was we sat talking for 8-10 minutes after being sitted before our server appeared. There were 6 other tables and so the restaurant was not busy, but I have no idea about staffing so maybe for their staffing they were busy. Any way after placing our order for drinks and lunch. It was seamless service. The chicken I have found to be excellent again. My companion ordered all white meat and this was not a problem either. Of course Cascone 's chicken is excellent so is Strouds but they are all different and excellent is their own individual way. The Rye does need to up date the prices on the web site.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Father's Day brunch took us to Rye this ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day brunch took us to Rye this year. I ordered the eggs Benedict with salmon. Terrific! My brother enjoyed the fried chicken. Unfortunately, my Dad's eggs Benedict was not so terrific. Eggs over cooked to solid yolk. My mother's shrimp and grits tasted great but was very soupy. I generally avoid shrimp and grits in KC, have never found a KC restaurant that does it justice. Exceptional service but food wasn't up to par this time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Can you spell redemption!!! Suzann Titus ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Can you spell redemption!!! Suzann Titus Hayes and I had a bad experience at Rye in Leawood, KS a couple of months back. The management was gracious enough to accept responsibility and invited us back with a gratuity. This experience was a 5 out of 5!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

not impresed this time. Other 2 times go ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

not impresed this time. Other 2 times good. Waitress had no idea of one of the drink specials,very slow and when we arrived they could not find any menus which took awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Brunch at Rye is ALWAYS the right answer ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Brunch at Rye is ALWAYS the right answer! Excellent and interesting menu, fantastic service. Took dad for Father's Day and it was honestly perfect. If you haven't experienced a meal at Rye (for whatever reason), just go! You will not regret it and will immediately look forward to your next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family of 4 ate there for birthday dinne ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Family of 4 ate there for birthday dinner. Huge disappointment. We all agreed it was the most ho-hum, bland, flavorless steak, fried chicken, and salad we have ever had. The tables were crammed together like sardines and the restaurant was over 80 degrees inside. WILL NEVER GO BACK!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

It was a nice experience. There were two ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was a nice experience. There were two things that caused me to not leave 5 stars. The waitress didn't bring refills out as quickly as our group would have liked and they would not prepare livers despite a food allergy making it hard for someone in our party to order safe meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.