About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bananas Fosters Cheesecake  - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Triple Chocolate Cake - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Filet - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Creme Brulee - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Macademia Crusted Chicken - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Carrot Cake - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Pretzel Rolls  - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Blackened Red Fish - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Prince Edward Island Mussels - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Grilled Cheese - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Salad - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Romantic (59)
See All
Scenic View (58)
Good for a Date (50)
Notable Wine List (42)
Cozy (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (18)
Casual (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (9)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Historic (7)
Fireplace (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ribeye and Scalloped potatoes. Delicious ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Ribeye and Scalloped potatoes. Delicious ! Excellent red wine selection

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special place to meet family for holiday ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Special place to meet family for holidays! Convenient location and great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal at Ryans. Arrive ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Ryans. Arrived for reservations, and they were waiting with our table to celebrate my wife's birthday. Service and food were top shelf.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rustic setting, impeccable service, food ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Rustic setting, impeccable service, food that will exceed your expectations. Ryans was a culinary experienice I won't soon forget.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our visit did not disappoint. Had drink ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our visit did not disappoint. Had drinks by the fire in the bar before the meal where there was a decent cheese assortment to snack on. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the food and the wine. Service was excellent as was the food. Management was very involved and made the restaurant operate quite smoothly. Highly recommend and I don't do that often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Overall this restaurant w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great service. Overall this restaurant was amazing. Will be back for another visit soon!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed! Excellent service! L ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Never disappointed! Excellent service! Love the outdoor view... very private and quiet. The food... almost forgot, was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's was a perfect choice for our anni ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ryan's was a perfect choice for our anniversary! My wife and I both enjoyed our meals. The server could've been a bit more enthusiastic and personable but that's ok. Be careful going out on a weekday as soon as they open; we felt like everyone was staring at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I've been to Ryan's about 5 or 6 times n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I've been to Ryan's about 5 or 6 times now. This restaurant is always the best of the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best meals I've had. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is one of the best meals I've had. My wife got filet mignon which was the best she has ever had. My ribeye was extremely tender and I am very picky about my steaks. The waitress had an excellent knowledge of the wines. I cannot say enough good things about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan's is one of our standard "go-to" re ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Ryan's is one of our standard "go-to" restaurants when we want to eat good food in nice surroundings. We always ask for a table near the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan's is our go to special dining exper ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Ryan's is our go to special dining experience. You'll find yourself extremely well cared for and the food is always top notch. The prime steaks are worth the up charge and the new popcorn grits rival Mary's Gourmet Diner (that's saying something!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The staff was very f ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food was great. The staff was very friendly. The dining room was very nice and the outside view was just as nice .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my birthday at Ryan's and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We celebrated my birthday at Ryan's and I was very happy with our service as well as the outstanding steaks! They also took note of my seating request. It was my second time dining there and this visit was much more intimate than the last when I was with a large group, but it's just as great a place for a cozy evening for two as for a big party.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent however, we were seat ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent however, we were seated over 30 minutes after our reservation time. Staff did not apologize which I thought was not a good way to start off our first time at the restaurant. In restaurants of this caliber, they usually are very apologetic and acknowledge their error; not at Ryans.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant in North ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in North Carolina. Great food, great atmosphere, great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason our server was fabulous and attent ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Jason our server was fabulous and attentive! The food, as always, excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to eat at Ryan's. Food ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat at Ryan's. Food is always good, service is great and atmosphere can't be beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dinner. Great attentive service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfect dinner. Great attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food as always. We we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service and food as always. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The crabcake appetizer was amazing. The filet special with ghost pepper cream sauce was equally amazing and different. Would definitely return and recommend to friends or family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! You seem to be wanting ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great restaurant! You seem to be wanting an essay. This restaurant was very good. The beef was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delightful evening meal at Ryan' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Another delightful evening meal at Ryan's It is our favorite in Winston Salem and we have been dining there since 1998 when our son first was at Wake Forest University. We have not missed many years since then having at least one or two visits each year. The food is consistently delicious, well presented and servers are always so personable, well informed and very attentive. Heather served us on this Oct. 28th visit and was a delight!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a whim. Service was great. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went on a whim. Service was great. The server was attentive without being pushy. Food and beverage arrived promptly. The staff was attentive. The view was great

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been dining at Ryan's for over 30 ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I have been dining at Ryan's for over 30 years on my visits to Winston-Salem and will definitely not be going back after my experience last week. Notwithstanding my having made a reservation on Open Table, I was given one of the least desirable tables in the restaurant. I found the menu selections to be overpriced and the fact that all sides are extra adds to the unreasonable cost of the meal. For the price of the Maine lobster, they had to have been shipped in First Class of by private jet. The drink prices were also unreasonable based on the cost of the alcohol choices. The service was also inattentive and I reflected my displeasure with the amount of the tip. There are too many good restaurants in Winston-Salem to put up with what I experienced at Ryan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The perfect place for date or anniversar ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The perfect place for date or anniversary. Bring your wallet but it is worth every dime. Dress nice, wear a tie, and see fine dinning in Winston Salem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience. Amazing food. Se ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

A wonderful experience. Amazing food. Service was great. We eat out a lot and this is now one of our favorite spots. First time diners.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food as always. Knowledgeable ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent food as always. Knowledgeable and helpful server. Prices are not out of line given the quality of food and service, but I wish you had a couple more wines on the lower end of the price scale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Ryan's is always amazing. Ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food at Ryan's is always amazing. Our server, Jason made the visit even more enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent at Ryans. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is always excellent at Ryans. There are plenty of choices, but not overwhelming. The service is very personal and they were ready with a nice treat for our anniversary making the evening even more special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two of us ordered filets and backed pota ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Two of us ordered filets and backed potatoes and they came out luke warm. The quality was excellent but steaks should come out on hot plates right off the grill. Ours must have sat on the pickup area on unheated plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

From the time we walked in the front doo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

From the time we walked in the front door and all through out our meal it seemed as if we could ask for anything we wanted prepared. The only concern, was when the coffee was served it was cold. This came as a surprise. However, our waiter was right on it and corrected the problem and did not return until the coffee was fresh and hot. But our experience for fine dinning was the best in the area. It was a great way to continue our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Thanks so much for a job well done.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. Food and service ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding as always. Food and service consistent. Excellent Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some friends and I had a birthday dinner ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Some friends and I had a birthday dinner, and as always it was the perfect experience. Our server Dean, was awesome. Very friendly, and professional and was able to answer any questions we had. I've been here several times and it's always been a wonderful experience. The food is always perfectly prepared. Ryan's is one of the best in Winston Salem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Another great dinner experience!!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another great dinner experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Always a go-t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great food, great service! Always a go-to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service. Top Notch Food. Good Be ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great Service. Top Notch Food. Good Beer Menu! One of my very favorite restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steaks and Seafood...It was a busy ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great Steaks and Seafood...It was a busy night and the service suffered a bit...not bad -- just not what I would expect.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We drove one hour to the restaurant in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We drove one hour to the restaurant in the rains from Hurricane Matthew and it was all well worth the drive and the dining experience. We had the Key West Grouper and the Chilean Sea Bass and we were excellently pleased with the presentation, the proportion and the quality of the food. We will make the 2 hrs round trip again.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Ryan's was a great experience ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dining at Ryan's was a great experience for our family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.