About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet
Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Triple Chocolate Cake
Creme Brulee
Macademia Crusted Chicken
Carrot Cake
Pretzel Rolls
Blackened Red Fish
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Grilled Cheese
Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (127)
romantic (95)
scenic view (94)
See All
notable wine list (55)
fit for foodies (55)
neighborhood gem (48)
good for groups (34)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always has been a great dining place for ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always has been a great dining place for special occasions or a date night. Excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great setting for good food and atmosphe ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great setting for good food and atmosphere. A nice surprise off the beaten path. Don't confuse it with the chain of. A similar name.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience! It was a lovel ...

Dined 6 days ago

What a great experience! It was a lovely evening; food was exceptional; service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an ann ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an anniversary and were seated by a window with a lovely view. The oysters were outstanding. The crab cake, just ok. It contained beautiful lumps of meat but the cake itself had too much going on. At $33/#, the enormous Maine lobsters made for expensive entrees but they were delicious and expertly prepared. Absolutely no regrets. The asparagus was perfect, the starches (gouda grits and pommes frites) were fine. I would try different sides next time. The service was efficient and courteous but perhaps not as elegant or sophisticated as I would have expected to compliment the high menu prices. I would go again to try the steak au poive, the weekend prime rib, or just to have a martini and oysters. Ryan's might become our anniversary spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. Not cheap but c ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was excellent. Not cheap but considering the quality it is a good value. We found it to be truly the best so far in Winston Salem area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

The bread was just so. Steak was pretty ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The bread was just so. Steak was pretty good but not worth the price. Seafood was marginal. Salad was very good and the waiter was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

A special place for a special 42th anniv ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

A special place for a special 42th anniversary

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible grouper entree and wonderful ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Incredible grouper entree and wonderful appetizers. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful night out, the food was fantas ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful night out, the food was fantastic, and the view from our table was superb. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quintessential atmosphere for celebratin ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Quintessential atmosphere for celebrating my 5 year wedding anniversary. Our waiter was well versed in the menu. I will definitely recommend Ryan's to all my friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Earl was a fantastic waiter! He was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

John Earl was a fantastic waiter! He was not only humorous, but also assured we had everything we needed. The food was top notch, and a good value for the money! The atmosphere was very pleasing for a gathering with relatives for a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Dean, our server, made our anniversary very special. The menu is always tasty. Excellent for making memories. ES

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We have not been in a while and had a ve ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

We have not been in a while and had a very enjoyable night. Professional staff and good food

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Overhyped. Nothing special. Bland. Dr ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Overhyped. Nothing special. Bland. Dryed out bread made me sad. Outdated.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always good food

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The quality of the food is always very good. The menu has something that everyone can enjoy. As for the price, you get what you pay for. the ambiance is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, beautiful view of woods out ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food, beautiful view of woods out the window, and very nice service. We had a wonderful dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointed

Dined on May 28, 2016

Always a good experience. Dean, our waiter was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special night to celebrate my h ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a special night to celebrate my husbands 73rd birthday. We had a great night with friends too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Ryan's many times and it ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to Ryan's many times and it's always been great. This visit was as anticipated. The food and service were excellent. Mark did an outstanding job at taking care of us all evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious she-crab soup! perfectly cooke ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious she-crab soup! perfectly cooked steak and fantastic cut of meat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find on TripAdvsior. The seating a ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great find on TripAdvsior. The seating area is unique and everyone gets a great view. View of the woods is nice and it feels secluded. Would happily go again when I I'm back in town. Great wait staff and delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choose Ryan's when we're seeking a pe ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We choose Ryan's when we're seeking a perfect dining experience—and they never disappoint. Superlative service, exceptional food, excellent cocktails, a stellar wine list and attention to detail across the board. These are the least common denominators when you dine at Ryan's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner with friends

Dined on May 21, 2016

Ryan's has a wonderful dining room overlooking a quaint forest/garden scene with little while lights in the trees. Even though they are positioned as an upscale steakhouse, my vegetarian friend found lots of good options in the list of sides. I ordered the filet which was delicious and our other friend got the prime rib which was also outstanding. Since it was a special occasion, I elected to bring a special bottle of wine from home - corkage policy is $15 per regular 750ml bottle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all the way around for a speci ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent all the way around for a special anniversary celebration. Food, service, atmosphere was all outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1s time at Ryan's even though I have liv ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

1s time at Ryan's even though I have lived in the area all my life. Great service and food. I highly recommend!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Steakhouse

Dined on May 19, 2016

We took my friend here for dinner before his bachelor party. We were looking for a traditional steakhouse, and this fit the bill perfectly. The dining area was upscale and had large windows with views of the wooded area behind the restaurant. Our party ordered a variety of dishes and everyone was satisfied. I was particularly satisfied with the gouda grits. Prices were on the higher end, but this was expected at an upscale establishment. The food was delicious and the steaks included one side, so I felt that the value was very good overall. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area, and will consider stopping by if I ever return to Winston-Salem again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful. Very expensive, Food was truly in ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awful. Very expensive, Food was truly inedible overpriced steak, could not cut or chew, nothing had any taste, not even the mashed potatoes. The fresh crab cocktail was fresh but also had no taste. $160.00 for 3 people, no drinks, total rip off for food that was inedible. They should be ashamed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Ryan's did not fail to impres ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, Ryan's did not fail to impress us. Their attention to quality and to service is second to none!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Sometimes restaurants don't live up to t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Sometimes restaurants don't live up to their rating. Ryan's absolutely does. We were there on a very busy graduation weekend. As busy as they were the service was great. We were seated within a few minutes of our reservation. Our waiter Graham was superb. Then there was the food. Not a negative word could have been said about the steaks, duck, and halibut consumed at our table. Then we finished with a dish of small chocolate morsels that was awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 13, 2016

Giant prime rib was spectacular. Service superb. Beautiful setting in the woods - very peaceful. Owner stopped by table and confirmed satisfaction - nice touch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent....We came in from out of town ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent....We came in from out of town. It was highly recommended on internet & by local people we were visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a great dining experience. We had our rehearsal dinner there 20 years ago & try to go every anniversary. We just went a couple of weeks ago but had to go back it was so good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was good, just took longer th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was good, just took longer than normal to get our food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had time with my family..the food was great and the dessert were amazingly to die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ryan's is our favorite restaurant in W-S. We've spent many special occasions here over the last 30+ years. Always reliable food, service and quality!! Loved that they opened for Mother's Day lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on May 8, 2016

It is not kid-friendly and most definitely not worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great prime rib on weekends

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great prime rib on weekends

food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent good, and a great wine ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Always excellent good, and a great wine list.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed Atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. We definitely will return, wasn't our first time. If you're wanting your meat (no matter what meat it is) completely well, make sure you tell your server that.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALMOST FIVE STAR!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant can be a great dining experience with selections galore to please your appetite. Everything ordered was excellent. Pricing of items goes along with five star dining and this last experience was close to five star except for the failure of the young man bringing us to the table and neglecting to hold the chair for a lady guest and his failure to place the napkin on the lap of the parties. This may not be necessary for some individuals but it does distinguish it from a five star dining experience. Flowers on each table and excellent service prevailed to make this restaurant a night to really enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.