About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
13 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (166)
romantic (130)
scenic view (99)
See All
fit for foodies (78)
notable wine list (68)
neighborhood gem (63)
good for groups (50)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner with friends

Dined 4 days ago

Ryan's has a wonderful dining room overlooking a quaint forest/garden scene with little while lights in the trees. Even though they are positioned as an upscale steakhouse, my vegetarian friend found lots of good options in the list of sides. I ordered the filet which was delicious and our other friend got the prime rib which was also outstanding. Since it was a special occasion, I elected to bring a special bottle of wine from home - corkage policy is $15 per regular 750ml bottle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all the way around for a speci ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent all the way around for a special anniversary celebration. Food, service, atmosphere was all outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1s time at Ryan's even though I have liv ...

Dined 5 days ago

1s time at Ryan's even though I have lived in the area all my life. Great service and food. I highly recommend!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Steakhouse

Dined 6 days ago

We took my friend here for dinner before his bachelor party. We were looking for a traditional steakhouse, and this fit the bill perfectly. The dining area was upscale and had large windows with views of the wooded area behind the restaurant. Our party ordered a variety of dishes and everyone was satisfied. I was particularly satisfied with the gouda grits. Prices were on the higher end, but this was expected at an upscale establishment. The food was delicious and the steaks included one side, so I felt that the value was very good overall. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area, and will consider stopping by if I ever return to Winston-Salem again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful. Very expensive, Food was truly in ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Awful. Very expensive, Food was truly inedible overpriced steak, could not cut or chew, nothing had any taste, not even the mashed potatoes. The fresh crab cocktail was fresh but also had no taste. $160.00 for 3 people, no drinks, total rip off for food that was inedible. They should be ashamed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Ryan's did not fail to impres ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, Ryan's did not fail to impress us. Their attention to quality and to service is second to none!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Sometimes restaurants don't live up to t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Sometimes restaurants don't live up to their rating. Ryan's absolutely does. We were there on a very busy graduation weekend. As busy as they were the service was great. We were seated within a few minutes of our reservation. Our waiter Graham was superb. Then there was the food. Not a negative word could have been said about the steaks, duck, and halibut consumed at our table. Then we finished with a dish of small chocolate morsels that was awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 13, 2016

Giant prime rib was spectacular. Service superb. Beautiful setting in the woods - very peaceful. Owner stopped by table and confirmed satisfaction - nice touch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent....We came in from out of town ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent....We came in from out of town. It was highly recommended on internet & by local people we were visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a great dining experience. We had our rehearsal dinner there 20 years ago & try to go every anniversary. We just went a couple of weeks ago but had to go back it was so good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was good, just took longer th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was good, just took longer than normal to get our food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had time with my family..the food was great and the dessert were amazingly to die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ryan's is our favorite restaurant in W-S. We've spent many special occasions here over the last 30+ years. Always reliable food, service and quality!! Loved that they opened for Mother's Day lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on May 8, 2016

It is not kid-friendly and most definitely not worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great prime rib on weekends

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great prime rib on weekends

food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent good, and a great wine ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Always excellent good, and a great wine list.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed Atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. We definitely will return, wasn't our first time. If you're wanting your meat (no matter what meat it is) completely well, make sure you tell your server that.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALMOST FIVE STAR!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant can be a great dining experience with selections galore to please your appetite. Everything ordered was excellent. Pricing of items goes along with five star dining and this last experience was close to five star except for the failure of the young man bringing us to the table and neglecting to hold the chair for a lady guest and his failure to place the napkin on the lap of the parties. This may not be necessary for some individuals but it does distinguish it from a five star dining experience. Flowers on each table and excellent service prevailed to make this restaurant a night to really enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Oysters I have had in North Carolin ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Best Oysters I have had in North Carolina! Lamb was cooked perfectly and Vodka Martini was awesome!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a birthday dinner

Dined on April 27, 2016

Had a great meal from the beef side of the menu. Good wine list, had a nice red. Collards were prepared in a little different way, nicely done. Caesar salad can be ordinary, but this one was spot on, including the anchovies. The service was timely and friendly. Barely has room for dessert, but had a piece of cake with candle for the birthday girl. Ending espresso was perfect. We had not eaten here before, (we live on the NC coast) but anytime we are in the Winston Salem area around dinner time, we will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I take three generations of family to Ryan's when I'm visiting Winston-Salem. This last time was one of the best experiences we've had. The food was exquisitely prepared, and Dean's professionalism was exceptional. We had a variety of steaks , chops and fish, all of which was expertly prepared, and accompanied by creative and tasty sides. The caesar and wedge salads are awesome. Finally, the desserts are rich and come in generous portions. It's not an inexpensive place, but the ambience, the service and the food will make your meal an enjoyable experience for your entire party.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. Very busy n ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Our server was outstanding. Very busy night but she was on top of her game.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was wonderful & our waitress was fabulous

Dined on April 21, 2016

My family went to Ryan's to celebrate two birthdays. We enjoyed the food and time we got to spend together.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine in Winston Salem

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent service and food always delicious and love the atmosphere!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to dine

Dined on April 16, 2016

Ryan's is always a great place for my wife and I to get away for some quiet time together over an enjoyable dinner. We always love the selection and have never had a bad experience. Highly recommended for those that would like a nice long dinner with your significant other or a group of friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great all the way around!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great all the way around!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best evening ever!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We have always had a wonderful evening at Ryan's! The ambience, the food, the service are superb-you couldn't ask for a better way to spend an evening. We will be returning soon. Our visits have always been for dinner--have not had a chance to try brunch or lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent 7 the service is 5 star

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food, preparation, and presentation is as fine as in any 5 star restaurant. The service was the finest I have experienced other that in the best of the 5 star restaurants. Everyone was pleasant, the decor nicely understated, and the view from the natural serene view from the windows is truly special. The management team deserves special credit for the attention they pay to the little/ finer details.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with oysters Rockefeller: wel ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We started with oysters Rockefeller: well balanced with cream, spinach, cheese and fresh oyster. We also had the seasonal salad which was delicious, the spiced pears added a great depth of flavor. The French onion soup was the only disappointment. It's usually spot on during my previous visits. Very salty, had to add ice cubes to be able to eat it. Didn't want to complain because the it was still edible after diluting it a bit. My girlfriend had the duck which was perfectly cooked. The risotto pancake was tasty, slightly oily for me but great flavor. I had the steak poivre. Steak perfectly cooked and good quality cut. Sauce was tasty, slightly salty but balanced the steak well. The wine was ok. If you like Chardonnay, go with the Kistler. Overall great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graham is a superstar

Dined on April 8, 2016

I travel for a living and spend 200+ days on the road and in resturants. Food and atmosphere were great and Graham my server was fantastic. The food was enough to bring me back but Graham will now make this a regular stop on my travels to the Piedmont triad area!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner with outstanding beef

Dined on April 8, 2016

Four of us had dinner on April 8 and the menu is very extensive and the place is known for the beef. On Friday and Saturday you can get prime rib, yum. Two in our group had seafood (?) and two had steak. A lady said her ribeye was fantastic and my prime rib was great. The waitress and I got off to a rough start but she worked hard and did a good job. special place, something for everyone. And a good value pricewise for what you get

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service.

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan's always meets and exceeds expectations

Dined on April 2, 2016

Known locally as one of "the places" in the Piedmont to go for getting engaged, celebrating wedding or work anniversaries or milestone birthdays, Ryan's has always delivered when I was either the host or the guest for dinner. The wrap-around layout provides most diners with a panoramic view of forest greenery in the midst of metropolitan Winston-Salem. The menu and beverage options are more up-scale, but still offer enough variety for everyone that has budgeted for that 'special event' or suit and dress candlelight dinner. The wait-staff is attentive and eager to provide you with an all-around dining experience, down to the last detail. I dare you to try to get your water glass down to half-full... they see it heading towards half-empty and just won't allow it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took friends out for a special occasi ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

We took friends out for a special occasion. We were seated as requested - by a window. We had a leisurely meal - were not rushed. Waitress anticipated our needs. Meal was excellent as expected. Atmosphere was such that we could have a nice conversation. Our favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Hidden Gem in Winston Salem.

Dined on March 31, 2016

Some Family stopped in and I wanted a Great Dinner Experience. What we got far exceeded my hopes. Vast Choices on the Wine List. A broader than expected selection of Entrees and Sides. A Dessert Menu to spoil even the choosiest diners. Our Gentleman Waiter was perfect . . . anticipating our needs, answering any questions, patiently taking our order and keeping our beverages filled. Our meals were cooked to absolute perfection, my guests said the meat was very tender and flavorful. The sides were delicious and complemented the meal. I had a Prime Filet with Asparagus and Squash. ABSOLUTELY THE BEST steak I've had in years, and the Veggies were loaded with flavor and tender. Dessert was a perfect end to a wonderful dining experience, although my guests were too full to have any. Add a full Bar, warm atmosphere and scenic wooded views and you have Dining Ecstasy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryans

Dined on March 28, 2016

Highly recommend the prime filet, along with the Chilean sea bass.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always

Dined on March 26, 2016

Ryan's never fails to be one of the best. The food was impeccable, the service attentive but not overbearing. The value for the overall quality is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistency is the key!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Ryans is always a pleasurable experience. The food is consistently good, and the service is always outstanding. We've been eating there well over 20 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Surprise

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was excellent as always, and the 1/2 price wine on Mondays was a pleasant surprise!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on March 18, 2016

My husband and I were wanting a new restaurant to celebrate my birthday. I found Ryan's and read all of the reviews. And they were all excellent. I know why now. We loved the food and the service was excellent too. Will definitely done at Ryan's again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.