About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bananas Fosters Cheesecake  - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Triple Chocolate Cake - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Filet - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Creme Brulee - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Macademia Crusted Chicken - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Carrot Cake - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Pretzel Rolls  - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Blackened Red Fish - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Prince Edward Island Mussels - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Grilled Cheese - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC
Salad - Ryan's Restaurant, Winston-Salem, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (71)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Scenic View (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
Business Meals (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Groups (20)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fireplace (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Historic (10)
Private Room (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just a great restaurant. Wonderful menu ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Just a great restaurant. Wonderful menu. There is something for everyone.

The prime rib on weekends is outstanding.

This is they way restaurants used to be. Not a chain.

Just good food, steaks, seafood, etc.

The prices are reasonable for the quality and variety.

Go. You will go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a nice little restaurant that my ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a nice little restaurant that my wife and I like to escape to for romantic evenings. The food is always great and the staff is very professional. We have always received top notch service.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to Ryan's for a special evening ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

We came to Ryan's for a special evening to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Halfway through the meal we were already planning our return. The atmosphere was cozy and romantic. The food (Bacon wrapped scallops, Panko crusted salmon, and Beef tenderloin tips) was absolutely divine and the evening was topped off by a surprise piece of birthday cake with candle. Netta, our server was outstanding and made the evening so special. Thanks Ryan's. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem. Would like prime rib offered every night again. Service was very friendly as usual, but a little slow this time.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Ryan's has one of the best Rockefeller O ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Ryan's has one of the best Rockefeller Oyster's around. My girlfriend enjoyed their oysters so much she is constantly saying we should go back as soon as possible. Their desert was beyond delicious as well. We will definitely recommend this restaurant to our friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always, Ryan's did not disappoint!! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As always, Ryan's did not disappoint!! Delicious! We shared two appetizers....Oysters Rockefeller (which we ALWAYS get) and we tried the bacon-wrapped scallops. Both were out-of-this-world good!!!

After appetizers and a salad, my wife wasn't too hungry so she had the beef tips, etc.....they were delicious!!!! Yes, she would get them again and again and again.....

Since it was our birthdays, we had the ice cream in the caramel shell........the "perfect" ending!!!

Can't wait to return!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had made the reservations about a mont ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had made the reservations about a month before for 2 people. At last minute friends were able to accompany us. When I called to see if the reservations could be increased to 4, I was told it probably couldn't be accomplished since it was New Years Eve, but he would try. The next day I received a call saying the reservation was now for 4. I was so thankful and appreciative of the dedicated work that needed to be done to change the reservation.

Thanks again, Ryan's

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! We had oysters on the half sh ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent! We had oysters on the half shell and fried brie as an appetizer and the quality of these selections set the tone for the remainder of the evening. This restaurant is located in a lovely wooded setting which makes for the perfect intimate evening. We will definitely return for any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Impeccable food and service. We had grou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Impeccable food and service. We had grouper which was prepared very well. Also started with spinach, crab, and artichoke dip plus she-crab soup. All was very good. For an upscale meal, this is a good choice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Service was superb, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Service was superb, the food was more than perfect and our server, Marcus, was on the ball, knowledgeable and friendly! The French onion soup was something I was CRAVING and it more than hit the spot along with the delicious and unique tuna tartare! My ribeye with the bearnaise literally made my mouth water! And the chocolate strawberry cake?! Heaven on a plate! I don't ever want to eat anywhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a special place t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you are looking for a special place to have a special evening- this is the place. Food is good- a little high in the price- but sometimes its worth it to go off the beaten path.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had dinner here last week and loved i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had dinner here last week and loved it. We both had the prime filet and it was one of the best steaks I've ever had. The scalloped potatoes were delicious; the pommes frites were even better. For dessert we had the chocolate cake and pecan pie, and both were delicious. The service was top notch. I would definitely recommend this for a fine dining night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Ryan's but c ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first visit to Ryan's but certainly won't be the last. Not only was the food excellent, our server Dean was made us feel our 49th anniversary was as special to him as it was to us. We'll make the 60 mile drive again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around and needs more expo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent all around and needs more exposure from the roadside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 5 stars in each category says it all. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My 5 stars in each category says it all. Have been eating here for over 25 years and have never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We wanted a special place to take our gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We wanted a special place to take our granddaughter to celebrate her graduation from college. We had taken our older granddaughter to Ryan's and it was a very enjoyable evening so we decided to go there again. Our granddaughter said that the evening made her feel very special, which was our intent. Our food and service were outstanding! Thanks for making this a memorable evening for all of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the food and service. They were ac ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the food and service. They were accommodating when asked to be seated with water view.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Great atmosp ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere. Great selection of wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary and could not have asked for a better experience. We were welcomed with a "Happy Anniversary" from our server upon arrival who was very attentive to our needs throughout the meal. The food was excellent! We both had the filet mignon and it was very tasty and perfectly cooked. We also were very pleasantly surprised by the complimentary "extras" for our celebration dinner and appreciated them very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal and the service ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was phenomenal and the service perfect. It is a keeper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Ryans many times over the years. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Been to Ryans many times over the years. It never disappoints. Our dining experience was excellent in every way. The Chilean Sea Bass was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like every other visit to Ryan's, absolu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Like every other visit to Ryan's, absolutely fantastic...terrific, friendly service and excellent food!!! The quiet ambiance is wonderful as well...not many places in W-S where you can actually have conversation with your date along with a terrific meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a visitor who was unfamiliar with qua ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As a visitor who was unfamiliar with quality restaurants in Winston Salem, NC, I had to rely on the internet rating I saw to select a good restaurant for our dinner with dear friends. Our group of four included one whose hobby is gourmet cooking. We had sea bass, swordfish, scallops and leg of lamb. The meals were delicious, prepared beautifully, and served hot. I highly recommend Ryan's Restaurant for anyone seeking a superb dining experience that isn't too expensive, nor too upscale. It has delightful ambiance and excellent, skilled servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go. Wheth ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Whether it's a special occasion or just a Monday night....we always love Ryan's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Christmas dinner

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands-down one of the best meals we've h ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Hands-down one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The waitstaff was phenomenal the food was even better. I highly recommend this place for special occasions or romantic date nights.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Great barten ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Great bartender. A great family dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food outstanding as usual. Consistently ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food outstanding as usual. Consistently good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience for 35th Weddi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Awesome dining experience for 35th Wedding Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan's is a standby. Always good food a ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Ryan's is a standby. Always good food and good service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's was the perfect restaurant to cel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ryan's was the perfect restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary, after all this is where I gave my special lady her engagement ring 34 years ago. We loved the ambiance. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. And the complimentary chocolate dessert topped off a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryans has never disappointed us. Food is ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ryans has never disappointed us. Food is always on point and the ambiance is perfect. The only downer is we do not get to dine there enough. We will improve that. Thank you chef and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks are the reason for going to R ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The steaks are the reason for going to Ryan's. And, they were very good. However, the seating was uncomfortable and the waiter could not serve individually. The scalloped potatoes were cold and the service was just ok. Will not go back during a holiday even though we were celebrating an anniversary, not Christmas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Classic 1978 through 1986 style fine din ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Classic 1978 through 1986 style fine dining restaurant. I come back here often because the menu and ambience is what makes my experience. They do make one of the best steaks in the Triad area, not the best, but definitely in the top five. They have a really good wine list, and all of the classic menu items like French onion soup, oysters Rockefeller, and the wedge salad. My wife and I simply love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food; Great Service; but 5 people ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great Food; Great Service; but 5 people sitting at a table for 4 at 5:30pm was unacceptable. Reservations were made several days in advance so this was very disappointing to be seated at a table for four. Next time I will make reservations for 6 if I have 5 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Ryan's never fails to please. They are c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Ryan's never fails to please. They are consistent with the quality and the creativity of their food. The service is professional and attentive. My father is in a wheelchair and they always accommodate him comfortably. Obviously, the restaurant is not inexpensive, but for a special occasion, it's well worth the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my mother's 96th birthday ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We celebrated my mother's 96th birthday by treating her to a couple of her favorite things: a good gin martini (stirred, not shaken) and oysters Rockefeller. She will tell you that her long life and good health has been enhanced by enjoying these and similar treats especially at a fine restaurant like Ryan's. She can't wait to do it again. Also, the rest us enjoyed the outstanding food and service at Ryan's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as excellent and our waiter was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food as excellent and our waiter was fabulous...We are going back in May when we are thier for my son graduation at Wake Forest school of divinity.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyed Ryan's food and it was gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always enjoyed Ryan's food and it was great, as usual. Good service, too. Felt like we were put in a closet or unwanted. We were put at everyone's entrance, jammed into a corner. We always liked the views and windows, but could see none of that.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining experience was excellent over ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our dining experience was excellent overall as we were celebrating a birthday. The ambience presented a warm atmosphere and the decorations for the holidays added to this very well.

The food quality and preparation was excellent, and the waiting staff were all personable and courteous.

My only complaint was the location of our table as it was in the corner and felt cramped. The view of the restaurant was obstructed somewhat, and with a reservation, I had hoped for a better location. That said, Ryan's is an excellent place to go for a special occasion and we will return in the future.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.