About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Triple Chocolate Cake
Filet
Creme Brulee
Macademia Crusted Chicken
Carrot Cake
Pretzel Rolls
Blackened Red Fish
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Grilled Cheese
Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (138)
romantic (113)
scenic view (106)
See All
notable wine list (64)
fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (45)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great setting, exceptional service and d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great setting, exceptional service and delicious food! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent beef! A bit disappointed that ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent beef! A bit disappointed that they only serve prime rib on Fridays and Saturdays, but the Ribeye was excellent. Service was great. Interior could use an update but it doesn't bother me as much if the meal is very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything we had was just great. Our w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything we had was just great. Our waiter was a super nice guy who took care of everything. My steak was done just the way I like and my wife's grouper was outstanding as well. It was our anniversary and totally enjoyed this occasion. Thanks for a great meal and the complimentary desserts.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my husbands birthday...perfe ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Celebrating my husbands birthday...perfect! Thanks so much for providing such a lovely spot for a quiet dinner with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always awesome experience. Best steaks ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always awesome experience. Best steaks in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well I asked for my steak to medium well ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Well I asked for my steak to medium well, but it was well done and burnt. Then our friends that were dining with us ordered a pork chop anand it wasn't done, and had to be cooked more. The Chef did cook me another steak, and offered deserts, but the good dining experience was out the door after that. The meal cost way to much to encounter those types of obstacles.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

We had visited Ryan's on a previous trip ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had visited Ryan's on a previous trip to the Winston Salem area and thought it was outstanding. We were anxious to go back and have the same experience, but we were disappointed in our dining experience.

The server was more interested in his table of six than our table for two. The salad was warm and not chilled. The filet did was not up to the standard we expect from a fine dining establishment. The baked potato was the highlight of the meal. It was hot and encrusted with salt.

It was not busy at all, so maybe the locals already know what we found out on our visit on Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and great service. Hit a home ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and great service. Hit a home run with this choice for my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Ryan's! The service was great ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We loved Ryan's! The service was great and the food was exceptional. We will definitely be returning everytime we are in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's has the best steaks in WS. Wait s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ryan's has the best steaks in WS. Wait staff is very attentive. Ryan's is consistently an excellent dining experience. Also has great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sirloin was on par with the best ste ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sirloin was on par with the best steak I had ever had in my life. Right up there with Telluride, Colorado's Chop House. I was impressed. We were seated in the back along with a large party when there were other seats available in the main two "rooms" of the restaurant - had speak up to be heard with all of the hard surfaces in the back room. That was the only knock. Dessert was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience in a casual sett ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dining experience in a casual setting. Great menu selection and offers a large selection of wines. Great choice for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brian was our server, he was wonderful! ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Brian was our server, he was wonderful! New the menu well and provided excellent service! The bacon wrapped appetizer was delicious She crab soup was one of the best I've had. We both had the prime rib and it was tender juicy and cooked to perfection.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's steakhouse was a fantastic experi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ryan's steakhouse was a fantastic experience. Food was exceptional and the ambiance was amazing for a first date/anniversary. The Hostess station was not as receptive to requested seating, however the overall experience was amazing! Highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been here for many y ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant has been here for many years but it never disappoints. Our server was very busy so another server would fill in & help so that was great. Food was exceptional. Appetizers was a crab cake, salad & she crab bisque to die for. I2 of our 4 had steak & said it was perfect. We don't get that often. My friend had Mahi Mahi & said was wonderful. I had sea bass & it was perfect. It was pricey so we will probably go for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

John-Earl, our server, was not only very ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

John-Earl, our server, was not only very efficient and knowledgable, but was a superb entertainer. We will certainly request him as a server the next time.

Th food is always outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always has been a great dining place for ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always has been a great dining place for special occasions or a date night. Excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting for good food and atmosphe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great setting for good food and atmosphere. A nice surprise off the beaten path. Don't confuse it with the chain of. A similar name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What a great experience! It was a lovel ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

What a great experience! It was a lovely evening; food was exceptional; service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nothing but excellence can be said about ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

nothing but excellence can be said about the whole experience Can't wait to go again

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an ann ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an anniversary and were seated by a window with a lovely view. The oysters were outstanding. The crab cake, just ok. It contained beautiful lumps of meat but the cake itself had too much going on. At $33/#, the enormous Maine lobsters made for expensive entrees but they were delicious and expertly prepared. Absolutely no regrets. The asparagus was perfect, the starches (gouda grits and pommes frites) were fine. I would try different sides next time. The service was efficient and courteous but perhaps not as elegant or sophisticated as I would have expected to compliment the high menu prices. I would go again to try the steak au poive, the weekend prime rib, or just to have a martini and oysters. Ryan's might become our anniversary spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent. Not cheap but c ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was excellent. Not cheap but considering the quality it is a good value.

We found it to be truly the best so far in Winston Salem area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The bread was just so. Steak was pretty ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The bread was just so. Steak was pretty good but not worth the price. Seafood was marginal. Salad was very good and the waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

A special place for a special 42th anniv ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A special place for a special 42th anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible grouper entree and wonderful ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Incredible grouper entree and wonderful appetizers. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night out, the food was fantas ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful night out, the food was fantastic, and the view from our table was superb.

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quintessential atmosphere for celebratin ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Quintessential atmosphere for celebrating my 5 year wedding anniversary. Our waiter was well versed in the menu. I will definitely recommend Ryan's to all my friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Earl was a fantastic waiter! He was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

John Earl was a fantastic waiter! He was not only humorous, but also assured we had everything we needed. The food was top notch, and a good value for the money! The atmosphere was very pleasing for a gathering with relatives for a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Dean, our server, made our anniversary very special. The menu is always tasty. Excellent for making memories. ES

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have not been in a while and had a ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have not been in a while and had a very enjoyable night. Professional staff and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overhyped. Nothing special. Bland. Dr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Overhyped. Nothing special. Bland. Dryed out bread made me sad. Outdated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Always good food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The quality of the food is always very good. The menu has something that everyone can enjoy. As for the price, you get what you pay for. the ambiance is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, beautiful view of woods out ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food, beautiful view of woods out the window, and very nice service. We had a wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappointed

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always a good experience. Dean, our waiter was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special night to celebrate my h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a special night to celebrate my husbands 73rd birthday. We had a great night with friends too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Ryan's many times and it ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to Ryan's many times and it's always been great. This visit was as anticipated. The food and service were excellent. Mark did an outstanding job at taking care of us all evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious she-crab soup! perfectly cooke ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Delicious she-crab soup! perfectly cooked steak and fantastic cut of meat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find on TripAdvsior. The seating a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great find on TripAdvsior. The seating area is unique and everyone gets a great view. View of the woods is nice and it feels secluded. Would happily go again when I I'm back in town. Great wait staff and delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choose Ryan's when we're seeking a pe ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We choose Ryan's when we're seeking a perfect dining experience—and they never disappoint. Superlative service, exceptional food, excellent cocktails, a stellar wine list and attention to detail across the board. These are the least common denominators when you dine at Ryan's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday dinner with friends

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Ryan's has a wonderful dining room overlooking a quaint forest/garden scene with little while lights in the trees. Even though they are positioned as an upscale steakhouse, my vegetarian friend found lots of good options in the list of sides. I ordered the filet which was delicious and our other friend got the prime rib which was also outstanding. Since it was a special occasion, I elected to bring a special bottle of wine from home - corkage policy is $15 per regular 750ml bottle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.