About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Triple Chocolate Cake
Filet
Creme Brulee
Macademia Crusted Chicken
Carrot Cake
Pretzel Rolls
Blackened Red Fish
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Grilled Cheese
Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (105)
Scenic View (86)
Romantic (82)
See All
Notable Wine List (54)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (40)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Cozy (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Fireplace (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went to Ryan's to celeb ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went to Ryan's to celebrate our birthdays and wedding anniversary (all on the same day), and our experience from the minute we walked in the door until the minute we left was wonderful. The hostess wished us happy birthdays and anniversary immediately. Our server, Daniel, took excellent care of us throughout our whole time at the restaurant (almost 2 hours). Our food was superb, and the price was very reasonable for the quality and quantity. Then to top it off, after our meal, Daniel brought us a delicious large piece of chocolate cake to share and two glasses of champagne. By far, the best dining experience we've had in a very long time. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dinner as always at Ryan's. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dinner as always at Ryan's. I recommend it highly. One of Winston Salem's best restaurants year after year.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed with Ryan's. Went the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappointed with Ryan's. Went there with some friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. Food was great, service was as well. Everyone said there food was perfect and with a large party (6 at our table) that's rare when dining out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not everyone goes to a restaurant like t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not everyone goes to a restaurant like this for th drinks, but they are great. Always love the 5 ounce prime filet, ryan salad, pomme frites and dessert was amazing-truffles.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal,the ambiance and the service wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The meal,the ambiance and the service was amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant if you wish to have a nice, romantic dinner. Graham our server took very good care of us. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan's is a favorite of mine. The food i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ryan's is a favorite of mine. The food is wonderful, service is outstanding, and they have an excellent wine list. It is not cheap but well worth the visit especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary and were sat on the upper level next to the kitchen right by the stairs... We could barely concentrate due to the high traffic. The service was slow. The food was mediocre. Is it too much to ask for food to be seasoned? All a steak needs is salt and pepper. They were nice to give us dessert to go since it was our anniversary. This is the second time we've been and I don't think we're going back. When paying $100 for a meal for 2 people, is it too much to ask for the food to be good?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Felt like my grandparents old country cl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Felt like my grandparents old country club, but the service was good. Food was fine, but couldn't cook a proper rare duck. My wife's steak was great!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and the service were both impec ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food and the service were both impeccable - as usual with Ryans! One of the top places to dine in Winston Salem!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dish-- duck breast and prime rib

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dish-- duck breast and prime rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome steak, definitely still lives up ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome steak, definitely still lives up to the "best steak in Winston-Salem" nickname. My parents got engaged here back in 1983 and my family has been celebrating special occasions here for years. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Ryan's for my wife's birthday. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Visited Ryan's for my wife's birthday. I had steak. She decided on a series of appetizers. Everything from cocktails to desert was first rate. Service was excellent. An overall outstanding experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You will never regret choosing Ryan's! W ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

You will never regret choosing Ryan's! We always have outstanding service and the best food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary. It was a gr ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went for our anniversary. It was a great experience. The food and service were top notch. Thanks so much!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to this restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This was my first visit to this restaurant and I will be visiting again very soon. The setting looks like you are in the middle of a forest. The restaurant itself is charming. The staff look and act as if they truly enjoy their work and this is reflected in the quality of the service. Oh, and the food is exquisite, both in appearance and taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a window seat, they did put us ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Asked for a window seat, they did put us in a back corner with just a side view, someone would have been facing a wall!! They moved us to a window that overlooked the brook, which I had asked for. Other than that the food was excellent and waitress very friendly.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and steady Ryan's never ceases to m ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good and steady Ryan's never ceases to make me and those I take there happy. Classic late 70's-1980's speak house with good classic favorites like French Onion Soup, Shrimp Cocktail, wedge salad, etc. There's also lobster tails, crab cakes, you name it..a classic steakhouse. A little pricey if compared to the average family restaurant in the area but for me worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were thoroughly pleased with the serv ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were thoroughly pleased with the service , quality of food and overall dining experience! We will definitely recommend to our family and friends!

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately, the tables are very close ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Unfortunately, the tables are very close together. Our waitress could bot get to our table due to the large yable of eight that was set up beside us. I that this was a problem in most of the area.

I a steak to be cookex with no pink. Although the outside was burnt it was pink on the inside. Our took so long to return O that it worth the wait to send it back my was done with his food.

I impressed for my first and last visit.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great! We had great service. No ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was great! We had great service. No complaints. I would recommend for date night:)

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's is the best restaurant in town an ...

vip
 (München)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ryan's is the best restaurant in town and have one of the best lobsters that i ate in my entire life.

Super fresh,catched alive in an aquarium and coocked at the perfect point. Great winelist, pricey,but very well choosed

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I both had steaks and they w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My wife and I both had steaks and they were excellent. They were aged certified angus and came from the midwest where we both grew up and know that they grow the best beef in the county. Service was superb (I was impressed that our server knew the details of all the menu items and their ingredients..some of which were not familiar to me. We had excellent wine and cocktails. We will come back to this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's birthday. From ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. From the time we arrived, the hostess wished him a happy birthday. Once seated, the waitress wished him a happy birthday. We did not have to wait at all. We had reservations for almost 45 minutes prior to our arrival so we had planned to go to the bar. The hostess went ahead and seated us a table. The service and food was outstanding. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love it, am planning to go back again wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love it, am planning to go back again when we are in Winston.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always has been one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

always has been one of my favorite restaurants and although expensive always worth it. the service is wonderful and as awesome as the food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We lived in Winston for 35 years and Rya ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We lived in Winston for 35 years and Ryans was always at the top of our list for special occasions. We now live in Charleston, SC and came back for our 40th anniversary and of course chose Ryans as out special night out. They had put us at a perfect table overlooking the woods and creek. Once the waiter found out we were not going to order drinks or appetizer, he pretty much did the minimum attention he could get away with.

We both ordered fish. I ordered the sea bass and my husband ordered the grouper. The grouper was a 7 out of ten but both my husband and I gave the sea bass a 3 to 4. It was very dry and had about a tablespoon of peach salsa. The sea bass had very little flavor. Maybe we are spoiled by the fish in Charleston but we were sad that it did not live up to our previous experiences.

That said, we would give it another try because of the previous times before that were outstanding and we would recommend friends to give it a try. We would probably recommend they not get fish.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Been here several times. Never disappoin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Been here several times. Never disappoints. Great food and service. Food comparable to places a lot more expensive.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, everything was great. Ryan's ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As usual, everything was great. Ryan's has Winston-Salem's best steak and Prime Rib. Nothing else is close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Winston Salem our first meal is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

When in Winston Salem our first meal is always at Ryans.

To start you can expect a basket with warm rolls served with a cheese spread and also butter. As a first course,the bacon wrapped scallops are delicious and while not very original- the jumbo lump crabmeat is fresh and served with a great cocktail sauce. I am partial to the classic onion soup.

When it comes to a main course we are quite predictable, Lobsters for our son and myself and steak for my husband- the side dishes are delicious- don't miss the brussels sprouts with caramelized onions with a touch of blue cheese and the garlic mashed potatoes!

Desserts are all very good but we are generally too full for any!

We are from New York City and have many good "Steakhouse" style restaurants to choose from...we rate Ryans high up for this style of restaurant.

You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for family member's birthday. All ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went for family member's birthday. All steaks were cooked to perfection. I got the NC trout that was on special and it was a little dry, but still had excellent flavor.

She crab is still the best in town and possibly the best I've ever had. Just amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Meal with great staff being ve ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent Meal with great staff being very attentive to our needs and wants during our meal.

Reservations were made and staff were very much prepared for our arrival. All requests made for reservation were detailed and ready as requested. Wonderful, wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Ryans and its one of our special pl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love Ryans and its one of our special places to go. My only objection is that people show up in shorts, ballcaps and shirt tales out more and more. There's nothing the restaurant can do about this poor upbringing but it's becoming more noticeable sadly and certainly not only at Ryans! Our fam and friends will continue to dress respectfully and appropriately for the special place Ryans is!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent. Owner ch ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Owner checked on us often to make sure all was good. Fantastic steak and special. She crab soup was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. Usually look for any " ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great as usual. Usually look for any "special occasion" to go there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Ryan's. The Filet was perf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great meal at Ryan's. The Filet was perfect with Bernaise sauce and a side of truffle fries. My sons enjoyed their meals as well. I hadn't been back to Ryan's since 1984, when I graduated from Wake and moved north. The food and service was just as good 30 years later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib is the best around. Also t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The prime rib is the best around. Also the creme brûlée is my wife's favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had a great experience ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My daughter and I had a great experience at Ryan's. Our waiter, Graham, was personable and professional. Our appetizers, dinner and dessert were all extremely good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, nice v ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, nice view in the woods of the stream and wildlife that pass through. Even nicer in the winter with the snow. Service was excellent. Had the filet mignon and you could cut it with a butter knife. Really tender and juicy. Had dessert to go as we were both full from dinner. Couple behind our table were celebrating 42 years of marriage. Terrific evening at Ryan's Steaks and Chops.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "SPECIAL OCCASION" was having dinner ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our "SPECIAL OCCASION" was having dinner with our Daughter and our Grandchildren. Our family had Steak & Seafood; "thumbs-up" from everyone in our family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal. The best place to e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a great meal. The best place to eat in Winston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.