About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: 3367246132x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Triple Chocolate Cake
Filet
Creme Brulee
Macademia Crusted Chicken
Carrot Cake
Pretzel Rolls
Blackened Red Fish
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Grilled Cheese
Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (123)
Scenic View (96)
Romantic (96)
See All
Notable Wine List (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Groups (44)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food was excellent. Owner ch ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food was excellent. Owner checked on us often to make sure all was good. Fantastic steak and special. She crab soup was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. Usually look for any " ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great as usual. Usually look for any "special occasion" to go there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Ryan's. The Filet was perf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal at Ryan's. The Filet was perfect with Bernaise sauce and a side of truffle fries. My sons enjoyed their meals as well. I hadn't been back to Ryan's since 1984, when I graduated from Wake and moved north. The food and service was just as good 30 years later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib is the best around. Also t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

The prime rib is the best around. Also the creme brûlée is my wife's favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had a great experience ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My daughter and I had a great experience at Ryan's. Our waiter, Graham, was personable and professional. Our appetizers, dinner and dessert were all extremely good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, nice v ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, nice view in the woods of the stream and wildlife that pass through. Even nicer in the winter with the snow. Service was excellent. Had the filet mignon and you could cut it with a butter knife. Really tender and juicy. Had dessert to go as we were both full from dinner. Couple behind our table were celebrating 42 years of marriage. Terrific evening at Ryan's Steaks and Chops.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "SPECIAL OCCASION" was having dinner ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our "SPECIAL OCCASION" was having dinner with our Daughter and our Grandchildren. Our family had Steak & Seafood; "thumbs-up" from everyone in our family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal. The best place to e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a great meal. The best place to eat in Winston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There are a lot of reasons this place ha ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There are a lot of reasons this place has thrived for so many years: the food, the service and the ambiance. Whether in Winston-Salem or just about anywhere else, you won't find a finer steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Kristina was very helpful a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress Kristina was very helpful and a delite to meet. She was ver helpful with my husband who is blind. Also it was nice to have Kelly come over and talk to us. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to go to for quiet dinner a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place to go to for quiet dinner and conversation. Food always very good and consistent. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant, but the prime rib ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, but the prime rib was sub par. Order was placed as medium rare but when received temperature was closer to medium .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

entrees (Halibut and Lobster Tails) were ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

entrees (Halibut and Lobster Tails) were good, but the oysters Rockefeller left something to be desired.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Can't wait to go back!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous as always, my favorite Winston ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fabulous as always, my favorite Winston Salem restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit to Ryan's. They ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Ryan's. They have great food and when we want steak, this is the place to go! The service was excellent, the waitress was helpful and attentive. Our table had a lovely view and we enjoyed the evening with visiting family very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dining experience! Thank you ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding dining experience! Thank you!😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Completely delicious dinner (not surpris ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Completely delicious dinner (not surprisingly--going to Ryan's has been a treat all my many years in Winston-Salem). Server was friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. We were happy to have a table by the window to watch the birds and enjoy the trees and stream. Delighted to have not one but two free desserts for our anniversary--just perfect because my husband doesn't like chocolate and I love it. The chocolate cake was amazing. (As was his cinnamon ice cream.)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely. Our waitress,Victoria, was helpful,attentive, and generally complimented a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting, exceptional service and d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great setting, exceptional service and delicious food! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent beef! A bit disappointed that ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent beef! A bit disappointed that they only serve prime rib on Fridays and Saturdays, but the Ribeye was excellent. Service was great. Interior could use an update but it doesn't bother me as much if the meal is very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything we had was just great. Our w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything we had was just great. Our waiter was a super nice guy who took care of everything. My steak was done just the way I like and my wife's grouper was outstanding as well. It was our anniversary and totally enjoyed this occasion. Thanks for a great meal and the complimentary desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my husbands birthday...perfe ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Celebrating my husbands birthday...perfect! Thanks so much for providing such a lovely spot for a quiet dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always awesome experience. Best steaks ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always awesome experience. Best steaks in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well I asked for my steak to medium well ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Well I asked for my steak to medium well, but it was well done and burnt. Then our friends that were dining with us ordered a pork chop anand it wasn't done, and had to be cooked more. The Chef did cook me another steak, and offered deserts, but the good dining experience was out the door after that. The meal cost way to much to encounter those types of obstacles.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

We had visited Ryan's on a previous trip ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had visited Ryan's on a previous trip to the Winston Salem area and thought it was outstanding. We were anxious to go back and have the same experience, but we were disappointed in our dining experience.

The server was more interested in his table of six than our table for two. The salad was warm and not chilled. The filet did was not up to the standard we expect from a fine dining establishment. The baked potato was the highlight of the meal. It was hot and encrusted with salt.

It was not busy at all, so maybe the locals already know what we found out on our visit on Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and great service. Hit a home ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and great service. Hit a home run with this choice for my birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Ryan's! The service was great ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We loved Ryan's! The service was great and the food was exceptional. We will definitely be returning everytime we are in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's has the best steaks in WS. Wait s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ryan's has the best steaks in WS. Wait staff is very attentive. Ryan's is consistently an excellent dining experience. Also has great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sirloin was on par with the best ste ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sirloin was on par with the best steak I had ever had in my life. Right up there with Telluride, Colorado's Chop House. I was impressed. We were seated in the back along with a large party when there were other seats available in the main two "rooms" of the restaurant - had speak up to be heard with all of the hard surfaces in the back room. That was the only knock. Dessert was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience in a casual sett ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dining experience in a casual setting. Great menu selection and offers a large selection of wines. Great choice for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brian was our server, he was wonderful! ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Brian was our server, he was wonderful! New the menu well and provided excellent service! The bacon wrapped appetizer was delicious She crab soup was one of the best I've had. We both had the prime rib and it was tender juicy and cooked to perfection.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's steakhouse was a fantastic experi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ryan's steakhouse was a fantastic experience. Food was exceptional and the ambiance was amazing for a first date/anniversary. The Hostess station was not as receptive to requested seating, however the overall experience was amazing! Highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been here for many y ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant has been here for many years but it never disappoints. Our server was very busy so another server would fill in & help so that was great. Food was exceptional. Appetizers was a crab cake, salad & she crab bisque to die for. I2 of our 4 had steak & said it was perfect. We don't get that often. My friend had Mahi Mahi & said was wonderful. I had sea bass & it was perfect. It was pricey so we will probably go for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

John-Earl, our server, was not only very ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

John-Earl, our server, was not only very efficient and knowledgable, but was a superb entertainer. We will certainly request him as a server the next time.

Th food is always outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always has been a great dining place for ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always has been a great dining place for special occasions or a date night. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting for good food and atmosphe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great setting for good food and atmosphere. A nice surprise off the beaten path. Don't confuse it with the chain of. A similar name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What a great experience! It was a lovel ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

What a great experience! It was a lovely evening; food was exceptional; service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nothing but excellence can be said about ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

nothing but excellence can be said about the whole experience Can't wait to go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an ann ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Dined at Ryan's for first time on an anniversary and were seated by a window with a lovely view. The oysters were outstanding. The crab cake, just ok. It contained beautiful lumps of meat but the cake itself had too much going on. At $33/#, the enormous Maine lobsters made for expensive entrees but they were delicious and expertly prepared. Absolutely no regrets. The asparagus was perfect, the starches (gouda grits and pommes frites) were fine. I would try different sides next time. The service was efficient and courteous but perhaps not as elegant or sophisticated as I would have expected to compliment the high menu prices. I would go again to try the steak au poive, the weekend prime rib, or just to have a martini and oysters. Ryan's might become our anniversary spot.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.