Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Ryan's Grill

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (37)
Happy Hour (30)
Scenic View (26)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Waterfront (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Live Sports (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

The server was friendly, however the food was unappetizing - both the fish and chips that my husband ordered and burger that I ordered were overly greasy. Neither of us finished our entrees. Overall, would probably not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday lunch for my sister with our mom. Looks like some positive cosmetic changes have been made. Used to look a bit worn out so the improvement is a plus. Staff is friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience with really great value as always!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food and service was very good but it still takes much too long to get served a piece of pie. I won't order dessert next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great serving person NATALIE who will be leaving soon. We will try to get back to Ryan's to see Natalie one more time before she goes off to the mainland to join her boyfreind and adorable looking Staffordshire dog and continue grad work. The food was very tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It would have been excellent, except they seated our party of 4 by the bar and it was way too loud and noisy for us to have a nice conversation and to enjoy ourselves at dinner. Not sure if I would ask my friends to dinner there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always good when Aaron is the server. We happened to go when it was a limited menu due to some refrig problem, which was a bit disappointing but we still enjoyed our food and had a nice time.
I love pea salad but wish it wasn't made with onions, not everyone likes onions. Something to consider, onions can always be added if desired.

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

we celebrated a young man's birthday and he got all the attention he deserved. He even happened to arrive late, but it was not a problem. Waiter was very attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. We had appetizers and entres but had no room for dessert. A great, laid back restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

the food was just ok, nothing really stand out, but definately a place to sit down and chitchat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went to Ryan's based on the availability to book a reservation in advance. When we were finished we were pleasantly surprised.

We sat within 20 seconds of arrival and were greeted at the front door by several employees.

We were sat at a table and it had plenty of room to maneuver around as we had two little ones with us. We were not crammed in with 30 of our closest strangers.

The food was very good, but the service was outstanding. Our server, Darrell, was extremely attentive and checked on us several times during appetizers and entrees.

I ordered the full rack of ribs and didn't leave one for doggy bag and and my wife had a salad which she craved as getting salad on the island is hard to come by.

At one point in the evening, our three year old needed to use the restroom and we were walked to the door of the restroom. Most restaurant employees normally just point and leave you to it.

The genuine desire for exceptional customer service was evident and we will definitely be returning

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I have a few food allergens and mentioned it to the waitress so that she could recommend a salad dish to me. She quickly consulted with the chef and provided a number of options. The chef personally came to us to confirm my food allergies. He also delivered our food to us and presented a few salad dressings. Thank you very much! The extra care you gave really made the lunch extra special! Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Usually good service but today seemed to have only one waitress who was focused on the bar area Patrons. She did not pay much attention to us - did not check on us often - food took long to arrive after our order & waited a long time for the check to come

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Happy to see some Kincaids menu options at Ryan's. I miss Kincaids.
Also great server, I remember her from Kincaids. Rhonda is a great server...good customer service and just the right amount of attention and very aware.
It was a great evening visiting with relatives from the mainland.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Enjoyed the food as usual. Only issue I has was one of my favorite appetizers was changed and removed from the menu. The Buffalo chicken tenders were amazing and I'm sad to see it go. I asked my waiter if they still had it and she said yes but when it arrived the chicken tenders looked like frozen store bought not the Katsu style they used previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service from seating us to serving of food was outstanding. Very accommodating and friendly. Food always good and menu offers great variety.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

クラブとアーティチョークのディップと、カルアポークのケサディーヤが美味しい!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great place for happy hour, lunch or dinner. Food is always good but a little pricey for what you get. The dessert offerings could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We go to Ryan's about once a month and always enjoy ourselves. We first went to Ryan's in about 1980, so we must enjoy it!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service from Darryl and Rae--it was good seeing old friends from Kincaid's. Relaxing view overlooking Ala Moana Park. There was a salad served at Kincaid's that had spring rolls with the salad--would recommend adding that to Ryan's menu. Parking stalls at Ward Center are a little too tight. I miss Kincaid's ambience, but overall Ryan's is a good substitute.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

First time to dine here. We had been frequent patrons of the now closed Kincaid's. It seems Ryan's incorporated some of the art work, furnishings and has included some of the Kincaid's menu items on their menu.

We first sat in the bar area and had a drink and appetizer. The service was incredibly slow. The crab and artichoke dip appetizer was overcooked. The bar area seemed lively and busy for a Tuesday evening.

We then moved to dining area adjacent to bar. Nice view of Ala Moana Park. Service was good and not overly attentive. Our two entrée items were profoundly disappointing. Seafood fettucine sauce was watery and bland, and its shrimp was overcooked and rubbery. The bottom roll of the French dip sandwich was soaked in au jus and completely wet, mushy
and had lost all semblance of once being a roll.

We left half the meal, tipped our server who did a good job, paid the bill and walked out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Ryan's is working to attract customers of the now-closed Kincaid's by offering some of Kincaid's specials. This July, it is Prime Rib on Wednesdays.

Unfortunately, Ryan's is not doing a very good job of giving the Kincaid's experience. We arrived on time for our OpenTable reservation, but had to wait 15-20 minutes for our table. I thought that was what OpenTable was supposed to prevent.

After being seated, our waitress greeted us promptly, but an elderly couple immediately behind us was grumbling about not seeing their server after 20 minutes of being seated.

We placed drink orders and our food order all at once (we wanted the Kincaid's style Prime Rib). We asked for a salad as a starter. Within 3 minutes, our entrees were delivered - even before the drinks. I ordered an old fashioned, which was large, but very watered-down. The waitress soon arrived with the salad, and nicely comped it for us without our asking because the entrees had already been served. The prime rib had clearly been pre-carved/pre-plated and plates held in a warming oven. It was definitely not as good as Kincaid's.

I heard the manager talking to the elderly couple about their bad experience, and he gave them a free dinner. He did apologize to us about the poorly timed salad and entree, but I wasn't going to bring up any other issues after his experience with the neighboring table.

After dinner, the waitress asked if were were interested in dessert or coffee. I said I would like to see the dessert menu. A few minutes later, she brought the check, having forgotten the dessert
menu request. I didn't bother to remind her, paid the bill with a 17% tip, and left.

Ryan's is a fun, spirited place for happy hour and I highly recommend it then. The dining room is just OK - if you can get a deal (like happy hour, the prime rib offer, or a coupon), it's usually quite good. At full price, it is not so good a value. It makes me miss Kincaid's closing all the more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Restaurant was recently painted/updated. Prime Rib that supposedly was from Kincaid's was very tough. Will go back, but not ordering prime rib again.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good food; excellent service and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is varied and quite good. My favorite is the Rigatoni Bolognese.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This was our first time here. My husband and I are on the search for restaurants to add to our list of regulars. The restaurant has an extensive menu so it will please anyone. It is fun, casual, easy dining with good food in a great atmosphere. Our waitress was OUTSTANDING and gave us good suggestions. A casual mention that my entree was a bit salty got management's attention right away. Thank you to the GREAT management there! They really want to make sure you have a good experience. Will definately come back again. It is a great lunch/dinner place and the pricing was very reasonable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We've been eating at Ryan's since 1991...while we miss some people and food items that have come and gone, it's still a comfortable place for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

37th Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Consistently good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The New England Clam Chowder was excellent. The renovations were lovely. The server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food & service every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very easy to bring a wheelchair bound person to their restaurant tables. Beautiful view of the park and the open air kitchen. Great service and hostess greetings.

I enjoy the rich sausage rigatoni pasta in their creamy sauce. Their combo lunch specials are equally tasty with their salad, sandwich or soup combos. Love the creamy crunchy pea salad. They have a $30 3 tiered appetizer plate with sweet teri tidbits, marvelous prawn on caper mashed potato and a decadent fresh crab artichoke dip with focaccia bread. Dependable place to go with patrons who seem to be friends having a get together or a business lunch. Quite classy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great service by Jordan as usual. The new walls in the dining area does not look good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not as good as it used to be and way overpriced. Went during lunch, tables were not cleared, flies buzzing around, restaurant was close to empty and food was too salty .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Favorite eatery in the Ward Centre. Now that renovations are complete restaurant looks a little different. Food great, staff excellent! Great place for business Dining, special occasion or just to catch a casual meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It had been a while since we were there last and I was a little disappointed that they no longer have onion rings. Their's we're the best! But, everything else we ordered was awesome, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal with wonderful service!
They offer a nice selection of appetizers, salads, entrees, and desserts plus a great drink menu.......will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great staff and we were all happy of ur food. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a special menu so can't give an accurate rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waitress was efficient, professional and pleasant. All of the staff from the door and manager was pleasant too. Awesome job Ryan's.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.