Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Ryan's Grill

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Happy Hour (17)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Family Style (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Waterfront (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great Beer (6)
Authentic (5)
Tapas (5)
Live Sports (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fish specials were very good. Ubu cheesecake was not- texture not good. Coffee cream brulee was awful. Wrong texture, not caramelized on surface.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i made reservations for mothers day.I had my favorite french onion soup, sooo yummy! I also ordered the famous crab dip and lettuce wraps. All of my favorite foods! I can't go to Ryan's and not order my favorite foods.I definitley had a Happy Mothers Day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was very good and server Kanai (Jordan) provided excellent service. We have dined here many times before and the only negative thing was the long wait for the desserts to be served. But this time, the desserts were served in a reasonable amount of time. Thank you to Kanai for taking good care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

前日がAlan Wongだったからかもしれないが、コストパフォーマンスが良いと感じました。1/3くらい。
料理は全て同時に出て来たので、そこは順番に出して欲しかった。
評判のカニとアーティチョークのディップはカニ味噌の風味が効いて味がしっかりしてて6歳の子供が「おいしい」と4ピースも食べてました。
サラダの味付けはシンプルで普通。
神戸牛のロコモコは焼き加減をミディアムにしたけど、他の料理を食べてる間に硬くなってしまって残念。

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I don't remember our server's name because I was not given a copy of my bill. Our server was wonderful. She was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good meal, friendly service, and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and service ss always

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server Mackenzi (name on the receipt) was OUTSTANDING! She was attentive to refilling drinks, bread and making sure everything was okay. She was understanding to us wanting to move seats. Just a great personality!!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great and so was our server. Our server took good care of us.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A favorite for me, family and friends for years ~ Consistent food quality, casual dining and great service ~

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Family Style, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The appetizers were really good. I wasn't too impressed with the presentation of the main courses. The dishes did not pass the eye-appeal test, just ordinary looking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Appetizerwas excellent, but the eggs Benedict easter special was disappointing, served under cooked, barely warm, undertoasted bread, hardly any hollandaise and Canadian bacon was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ordered medium rare steak & got medium well & it was replaced. Long wait for the dessert to be served, as usual. Service is very good for everything else except the dessert, a recurring problem. If we don't have much time, we don't order dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with the specials. My friend ordered the poki and he said it was excellent. I had the Ahi Belly katsu and it was divine and cooked to perfection. It was fresh, moist and not overly cooked. It was also fileted with no bones.

Our server was very attentive and she was wonderful. It was the perfect meal.
Thank you, Ryan's Grill. Can always count on this place to be the right choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was horrible. Food was ok. Not amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Outstanding menu with great service. Ordered strictly from the pupu menu. Family from California were very impressed with the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Kudos to the great staff at Ryan's for making our dining a fine experience. Especially to our server Natalie and Cedric who made a cordial table side visit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It's in a nice location, service and food was good but a little pricey.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wonderful, relaxing meal at Ryan's.
Andrew was a great server!!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Dinner for two on a Monday night. The restaurant was relatively quiet, and we enjoyed the view of Ala Moana Beach Park from our indoor table. We tried the Crispy Pork Lambrusco, one of the chef's specials, and a half-sandwich/salad comb of Artichoke and Crab Sandwich and the Pea Salad. Both the food and service were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Final Four!

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great Jamaican Fries! Our server was nice and knowledgeable. We come back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

always enjoy going to Ryan's. your staff are well trained, professional and friendly

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our out of town guests loved the view of the park as well as the delicious food. Our experience was very good EXCEPT the air conditioning was far too cold! Twice we asked our server to please adjust it, and the cold air never stopped. The other lady and I had to hold our napkins on our shoulders to keep warm. We would have stayed later for a post-dessert cocktail, but we had to go outside to warm up.

But the food was great and a good value. We'll definitely bring other guests because it is one of our favorite places. Will just hope it's warmer.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was great, but our server was terrible. I'm not sure if we caught him on a bad night, but his service was as slow as my grandmas driving. We were seated at 6:30 and was not greeted by our server a little after 7:00. Our guests and I were talking the whole time, but still, a half hour to acknowledge our presence is unacceptable in any restaurant setting. Strike 1! We ordered 3 beers and a glass of wine. He returned with 3 out of the 4 drinks. He asked what was the other beer we ordered because he couldn't read what he wrote down. Strike 2 buddy! Food arrived. Server didn't check back to see how our meals were or if we needed anything. Our guest had to ask a food runner for another drink. Didn't bother with dessert, and asked for the check. That was the fastest I've seen him move all night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We haven't been to Ryan's Grill for a while. Our service this time around was much better thanks to Chef Chris. There were a few changes to the menu, but Chef Chris was very accommodating. Food came out great! We'll be back again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very annoying to book a reservation and be greeted by a young lady who didn't verbally greet me or acknowledge my reservation! Instead she stared at her podium and another older gentleman came and asked me how many in your party and sat us in the bar seating. what is the point if booking and this was a business meeting then not being acknowledged then seated in the bar area which is noisy. The restaurant area was not busy.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Always enjoy this place for great food; this is one of my favorite places.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had a great family lunch with Judy our server was very attentive..my husband loves the salmon kalbi. I had the combo half sandwich and salad, love their souos too. Family had fish, ribs and steak...all were pleased. Happy Hour is also a value and not to allow ...enjoy the outdoor and waterfront seating...enjoy the chefs specials...always too many choices for one meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Tapas, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always good. We often go to Ryan's for a casual meal and we usually enjoy it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

the service was excellent and the food was perfect

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Got there a little early but we got seated after a few minutes. Our waitress Natalie was awesome. Kept coming back to make sure everything was okay. We ordered 2 appetizers and 1 one burger and that was very filling, actually took the burger home. The dessert was to die for. Thanks Natalie, it was a wonderful date!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waitress was very nice and friendly. She checked on us several times. I wish I was better in remembering names so i could give her a great review but I have to work on that. Even the hostess was very nice and accommodating. Very good staff. Our food came very timely and what we ordered was very tasty. We shared the three salad sampler and the lettuce cups and it was more then enough. We were very happy with our selection. I would order that again. And the happy hour house red wine was very easy to drink, very nice especially at happy hour. We will definitely return to Ryan's!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Judy is an excellent server. Hope she serves us the next time we dine at Ryan's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent Food , service was satisfactory would highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was excellent. Attentive but very aware we had a business meeting going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was great except, as usual, it took a long time to get served a piece of pie that is already made. This happens all the time so I told my family not to order dessert but they did not listen. So we waited and waited until the server brought the dessert plates, then we told him to cancel the pie order since it took too long and asked for the check. Manager came by, apologized and offered the pie at no charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Came here to celebrate dad's birthday. Food was ok and service was friendly but slow. Didn't expect to spend 2 hrs here because of slow service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loren is an excellent server, and food is always delicious at Ryans Grill.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was in the mood for French Onion Soup. Ryan's soup is pretty good. They also have a lot of small dishes to go along with the soup. We shared a Chopped salad, Crap/Artichoke dip and roasted duck with bun. Something was wrong with the A/C so it was getting warm until our server (Judy, who was excellent) asked someone to turn on the ceiling fan. We enjoyed our lunch and would go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.