About Ryan's Grill

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Dad! Everyone dining on Father's Day Weekend - Saturday, June 18th and/or Sunday June 19th - will receive a special gift.

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

good for groups (59)
great for lunch (57)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
special occasion (22)
kid-friendly (20)
scenic view (20)
vibrant bar scene (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (18)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared pupus and bonded over old time ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We shared pupus and bonded over old times. A wonderful night out!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and good value! We bro ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent service and good value! We brought friends from the mainland. Loved the fact that the fish & chips didn't have excessive batter....will order it again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Andrew was patient and excell ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server Andrew was patient and excellent! We particularly were amused with him calling each of us "miss." He brought us a basket of bread while we deciding what to order. We went to Ryan's Grill for the $3.33 crab & artichoke dip special, which was my favorite when I used to eat out more. Haven't been there for ages and was looking forward to having that crab dip. Unfortunately, the dip was dry and oily, kind of burnt. My pizza tasted great, but it too was a bit burnt. My friend's pizza wasn't burnt though. She was shocked that her ice was $4. I did see that price on the menu. It was a nice time getting together with an old friend, and we didn't feel rushed. The prices were reasonable to a little high. I would go there again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan's always has great food. We all enj ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Ryan's always has great food. We all enjoyed our dinner. My favorite is the guava pork ribs. Oh so ono! The service was outstanding, as usual. Friendly wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service and great food for a busy day. Would definitely return again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mom for Mother's Day brunch. They promised something special for mothers, nothing. Char sui pork chop over cooked, tough. Kalbi donburi, fried rice soggy, Portagee sausage eggs benedict bun not fully thawed. Ordered espresso and it was served COLD.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3

What stood out? Most notable would be th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

What stood out? Most notable would be that for the first time everyone at the table agrees that we should never return here. Food was horrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

I like the food, service at the Ryan's G ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I like the food, service at the Ryan's Grill and I really enjoying going to Ryan's!

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Used to be better

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was decent but oily! The dessert came about 10-15 mins after we ordered it! Service was ok but we seemed to be on a table that was really short and very uncomfortable! The food was better before and now it's just OK!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our family enjoyed the 3 Salad Sampler a ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our family enjoyed the 3 Salad Sampler and the crab artichoke sandwich

food4
ambience4
service4

The furikake crusted salmon was very goo ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The furikake crusted salmon was very good. It was seared very nicely with the center practically rare...'ono! The Kobe sliders are always good. We like the sauce they put on the burger. The service is also consistently good and friendly whenever we go.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food came on a reasonable time. Waitress kept our ice tea full. Food was good. Dessert was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and True

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service is consistently good at Ryan's. I can attest to their consistency because I order the same appetizer, entree and dessert on every visit. They have other tempting offerings, but the crab dip appetizer, pasta and key lime pie is just the best. I've been there many times and Ryan's has never disappointed. Our server, as in past visits, was very personable and attentive. The food came quickly and delivered hot. I recommend Ryan's to anyone looking for a restaurant with a relaxing ambiance, good food and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal

Dined on April 4, 2016

This place has been around forever and their menu hasn't changed a lot, which is exactly why I love this place. Knowing exactly what you are going to get every time you come here is quite a comfort. The crab/artichoke dip was as rich and wonderful as I remember and the rigatoni bolognese was delicious!

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2

the tables were spacious & the view was ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

the tables were spacious & the view was relaxing. the food was OK.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our 2nd Easter here. Love the atmosphere was relaxing and the service was awesome!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Great seating! Very accommodating to our ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great seating! Very accommodating to our party's request. March Madness was in play and we had wanted to watch a specific teams game, and the hostess had no problem switching the channel for us. Great happy hour selection, definitely get the Gorgonzola cheese fries and spinach crab dip. Nice beer selection for happy hour including my favorite beer, Blue Moon. Oh and the lychee martinis are dangerous! Goes down quick and smooth. Delicious! Thanks Ryan's!

food5
ambience3
service1
value5

FOOD & VALUE OUTSTANDING BUT SERVICE WAS POOR

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Food and value was outstanding but service was poor although the dining area was not crowded. Service was slow and our server was not attentive but he always looked busy as another employee appeared to be constantly giving him things to do. It took a while for our entrees to arrive but at least it was served hot. The dessert took even longer to arrive, how long does it take to cut & serve a piece of pie? We have dined here numerous times and service has always been outstanding so the poor service was disappointing, perhaps they were short of staff.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I'm sorry that I do have any positive th ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I'm sorry that I do have any positive things to say about the food. The taste was not good. Strange seasoning on fried sweet potatoes and ribs. Ambiance was very nice. Server was attentive and pleasant. Dinner overpriced for a not-so-good dinner. Try Haleiwa Joe's.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Good fish tacos and fresh catch.

Dined on March 3, 2016

Good fish tacos and fresh catch.

food2
ambience4
service4

It was a late Sunday evening & very few ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

It was a late Sunday evening & very few patrons. Food was definitely not as good as it usually is. When brought to the attention of management, they kindly comped our meals -- very professional! We forgave & will return.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Slightly Disappointed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our server, Mckenzi, was pleasant enough. She did not introduce herself, had to remind her of our soup order and she didn't check back periodically to refill hot water for tea. It almost seemed as if she was having a bad day.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5

Open area with nice, strategically set ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Open area with nice, strategically set tables. I didn't feel cramped as with some other restaurants. The drink menu is awesome, with a variety of choices. Definitely chrck out the pomegranate mojito if you dig tarty drinks.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service wasn't so good this time

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We've been getting great service whenever we come here but this time, it wasn't that good. The waiter was fine but usually, the appetizer would come before the meal. This time, our meals came before the appetizer, due to another waiter taking our appetizer and giving it to another table, according to our waiter. So, we ended up taking the appetizer home in a doggie bag. It's not so good cold or heated up in the microwave..

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure during pau hana hour

Dined on February 25, 2016

I had a great experience. They had the type of happy hour menu I was looking for that had both drinks AND food (and good food at that). My only critique is that I wish the multiple tv screens they had were showing different sports instead of the same sports program on every screen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food Good Value

Dined on February 23, 2016

It was a great spot for lunch. Cost is reasonable and food was tasty.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a great place to get together w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was a great place to get together with bunch of friends on a Saturday afternoon Happy Hour - very casual but upbeat and you don't get the same kind of 'crazy traffic' as you would during a late night happy hour. I would definitely go back and would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Placen

Dined on February 18, 2016

I went on a date her and must say that it was an enjoyable experience. The food was tasty and the staff was great. I'll definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

Limited menu - Maximum kids

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went on Valentine's Day to escape the pre fixe glut of menus elsewhere only to find they were running a limited menu. Nothing on Opentable or their website indicated this, and the goal of just having burger and beers was shot down. Strange for a casual "sports bar-like" establishment to have a limited menu. The place was half full the whole time we were there...not surprising given the limited menu. They wouldn't even make one burger...how hard is that?! Food was decent, not great. If you are looking for a place where families bring their loud kids playing cartoons and games on their iPads and iPhones...then this is your spot!!!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I wouldn't recommend for specal occasio ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I wouldn't recommend for specal occasions, we went there for Valentine's Day and we had a set menu which was very dissapointing because the food selection was not that great. I wish they would have had an open menu to enjoy with the family. Staffs are all friendly but food that day was not that great and too pricey for that amount.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Not so special Valentine's

Dined on February 15, 2016

Ryan's is normally great, but their "special" Valentine's Day menu was anything but that. Very limited selection and what we ordered wasn't all that great anyways. I had the shrimp scampi, and I was disappointed with only 4 pieces of shrimp. The portion size was not to my liking. The taste was decent, but overall, I was disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Server Sean was awesome & food & drinks ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Server Sean was awesome & food & drinks never disappoint!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good Happy Hour Deals

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We had girls night out and this was a great place to dine. The have happy hour on drinks and a lot of pupus until 7pm. Will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's Grill

Dined on January 29, 2016

My classmates and I really enjoyed Ryan's Grill. They have a variety of selections on their menu. The lunch special, Miso Salmon, was outstanding. It was cooked to perfection, not overdone. Several of us had that and enjoyed it. July, our server, was very accommodating. I was able to use gift cards, including a bonus $20, that I received when I purchased gift cards worth $100 in December.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4

Loud, large party immediately adjacent t ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Loud, large party immediately adjacent to us. No offer to reseat us farther away. Food was average.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DEAL!

Dined on January 17, 2016

We took advantage of the January Deal and it was delicious! $50 for 2 dinner + a bottle of house wine!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks and food!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great drinks and food!

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Sad to say, on this visit, we found the ...

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

Sad to say, on this visit, we found the food quality had gone down. The Cajun chicken fettuccine was okay, but nothing to write home about. I think I could have done a better job cooking the meal myself. My husband also said the quality had gone down. We were served by a newbie, who initially got our order wrong.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

Enjoyed a pre-concert dinner. Waiter ensured we were served quickly to ensure we could make our show. The service was fast and friendly, and the food was of high quality, tasted great, and of generous portions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good find

Dined on January 12, 2016

We were looking for a new place to eat before going to the theater. My girlfriend's order came out wrong. They quickly started it again. Offered her a salad or soup while waiting... Came out fairly quickly, than they didn't charge her for the meal. Impressed with they way they handled it :) Good food, super service. Great place to watch sports!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.