About Ryan's Grill

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ahi Loco Moco
Baby Back Ribs with Guava BBQ Sauce
Classic Ahi Poke
Korean  Style Beef
Kim Chee Burger
Hurricane Edamame
Lilikoi Margarita
Thai Style Poke
Ube Pancakes
Fresh Island Fish
Bacon Brie Burger
Shrimp Marsala
Kalbi Bowl with Kim Chee Fried Rice
Tomato Bisque
Hot Crab & Artichoke Sandwich
Faccacia Bread
Fried Calamari
edamame
5 Spice Roast Duck With Sreamed Buns
Three Salad Sampler
Crab & Artichoke Dip
Li Hing Mui Margarita
Widmer Hefeweizen
Haupia Creme Brulee
Grilled Herb Chicken & Pesto Penne
hot crab and artichoke dip
Kobe Style Burger
Domaine Ste Michelle Brut
Buffalo chicken wings
Ryan's Island Style Kobe Loco Moco
Kalbi Beef Rice Bowl
Li Hing Mui Margarita and Lychee Martini
3-in-1 Salad Combo
Kobe Beef Sliders
Kalua Pork Sliders
King Crab and Artichoke Dip
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Foccacia Bread
Rigatoni alla Bolognese
Ahi Linguine
Mango Stack Salad
Mochico Fried Chicken
Hawaiian Island Ahi Poke
Fish Sliders
Duck
French Onion Soup
Sesame Chicken Salad
amaretto and coke
Guinness
Kalua Pork Quesadilla
Focaccia
Mango greens salad
Ginger Ice Cream
Spicy Grilled Thai Chicken Sandwich
Sweet potato fries
Buffalo Chicken Fingers
Lava Flow
Cajun Chicken Fettuccine
Nutella Mousse Cake
Ribeye and bacon wrapped scallops
mochiko chicken
Sausage And Mushroom Pizza
Li Hing Mui Rita
Banana Lumpia Special
Kaka`ako Chicken Salad
Kobe Beef Burger With Sweet Potato Fries
Chocolate Lava Cake
banana lumpia

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Good for Groups (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Kid-friendly (18)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Scenic View (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Waterfront (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice family meal. Kids eat free on Sunda ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Nice family meal. Kids eat free on Sundays, too. Consistent service and good food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ryan is a nice place to have a causal me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Ryan is a nice place to have a causal meal with a menu selection that cover much of my tastes. This restaurant is also a gathering place to meet friends unexpectedly, very nice.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been waiting so long for the Opah ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had been waiting so long for the Opah to be offered on the menu, and FINALLY, they had it in. The meal was superb, with the fish grilled to perfection. With grilled eggplant and mashed potatoes to complement the entree, I nearly licked my plate clean. I will be BAAAAACK soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Happy Hour crowd at 4pm was in full ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The Happy Hour crowd at 4pm was in full swing and very lively. I was there for a late lunch. Was very disappointed with the size of the Big Caesar Salad. I expected bigger since it was labeled "Big". The romaine was more yellow than green and the dressing was diluted and so watery that the croutons got soggy before I finished. The picture windows with a view of the park are nice but not much view of the ocean. The Long Island Iced Tea was okay.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to Ryan's often. It's a great plac ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We go to Ryan's often. It's a great place to meet friends, or to take family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I haven't been there for awhile the menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I haven't been there for awhile the menu certainly changed. The food was good but the service from my server was over the top. I had two little ones that kept me occupied so I didn't get his name but I did leave him a 25% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My favorites are the three salad sampler ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorites are the three salad sampler and buffalo wings. Blended margaritas are yummy. Great selection of appetizers and entrees!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was not a good value for your ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This place was not a good value for your money. We were disappointed in the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great fun, great ribs with good service. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great fun, great ribs with good service. This was a fun night had with traveling buddies. Relaxed atmosphere & excellent value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ryan's never fails to please! Our food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ryan's never fails to please! Our food was delicious, the service was excellent, and we sat roomy table with a great view of Ala Moana Beach Park. This restaurant is one of those rare spots where you can feel just as comfortable grabbing an after-work drink with friends or going on a date as you would enjoying beer and pupus while watching a football game or celebrating a family member's birthday. We'll definitely visit again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was outstanding! I love ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! I love the bread and Maytag Blue Cheese salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and we always leave hap ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We love the food and we always leave happy, especially if we have our favorite server, Judy!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been to Ryan's for over 5 year ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I haven't been to Ryan's for over 5 years. I was kind of surprised that it wasn't that busy on this day. Haven't missed very much. The food has become very average. It was much better before. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We usually love going to Ryan's. This t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We usually love going to Ryan's.

This time 2 out of our party of 4 got really sick. Going to the bathroom all night thru the next day, was NOT a fun experience. We both ate the same thing. Pea salad, kalbI beef bowl and key lime pie.

It might be a while before we venture back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

My experience at Ryan's has always been ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My experience at Ryan's has always been great one. I have always enjoyed the food, atmosphere and location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service excellent as always. Could impr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service excellent as always. Could improve the wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the daily special...the fish was ove ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Had the daily special...the fish was over cooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our third visit to Ryan's in the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is our third visit to Ryan's in the past 10 days per my grandchildren's request. They love the food, the setting and our server Nick! Nick has been exceptional. He has handled the special requests of some very picky eaters flawlessly. I can't compliment him enough. And as previously noted the Buffalo Wings, salads, Fish and Chips and yummy deserts have been spot on.

Ryan's has won us over with it's outstanding service and food...plus I love the availability of outstanding valet parking. What's not to like?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great friendly service, good recommendat ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

great friendly service, good recommendations on specialty drinks to go with good pupus. recommend poke from regular menu, not happy hour menu - big dif.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Got together for the 4th of July with fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Got together for the 4th of July with friends and family. We all enjoyed our entrées and those of us who ordered the key lime pie made the right choice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good, service was good, was abl ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was good, service was good, was able to have a decent conversation without raising voices....No complaints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Whenever we go to Honolulu we dine at Ry ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Whenever we go to Honolulu we dine at Ryan's. This time we took our grown daughter and hubby and it was still the best. Service is quick and friendly from the hostess to the servers. I had the special crusted ahi that was seared to perfection. My husband always goes for the Rigatoni Bolognese and as usual, it was the best. We usually sit outdoors but this time we sat inside. It was a bit too chilly for me but maybe because I just came from an AC environment. I will return when I go back to Honolulu. I'm from Maui.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and very good food. Quiet ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and very good food. Quiet enough to talk business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ryan's is a great restaurant to enjoy a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ryan's is a great restaurant to enjoy a casual lunch. My grandson finds the Buffalo Wings without compare. We often stop at Ryan's to satisfy his love of the wings. Whether a Club Sandwich, a burger or the Fish and Chips I never leave hungry. The hostess and waiters have been terrific in all aspects of their service.

There was a time in the recent past when Ryan's seemed to have lost their way. But, undeniably, there seems to be a resurgence of the "old" Ryan's where service is friendly and efficient and the food well prepared and delicious.

Once again I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Andrew, our server was so professional a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Andrew, our server was so professional and upbeat! we appreciate that kind of service, especially since we are retired flight attendants. we tend to see how much they enjoy what they are doing, and he certainly receives an A+!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good pupus, especially the crab and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very good pupus, especially the crab and artichoke dip. The daily specials, ahi on my last visit was very well prepared. I go to Ryans often when in Honolulu and have never been diappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The appetizers and Desserts are the bomb ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The appetizers and Desserts are the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had Father's Day brunch for my husban ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had Father's Day brunch for my husband. Everyone's order arrived quickly. I ordered a side of fruit salad. It was a glass cup of fruit cubes. I ate a total of 3 pieces of the cantaloupe and all 3 were sour and bitter. I moved a few pieces around in the glass and there was a white residue behind those pieces. I told the waitress and she did apologize and took it pack. She also offered to have the chef make another order for me, but I turned it down. I was a little sad as I come here as much as I can and never had a problem. Oh well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went for Father's Day brunch. I was h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day brunch. I was happy that it wasn't too crowded, and that the portions were quite sizable, but was disappointed when one of the drinks that was on the brunch menu wasn't available. The service was moderately attentive, although I feel that the server could have been a little more friendly and knowledgeable. She didn't seem to know the brunch menu well enough to answer simple questions such as the ingredients in a salad. Understandably it was a different menu, but I hoped one would be more prepared.

I also noticed that the hostesses at the front seemed bored. One was checking their phone, the other was looking at the menu. I hope that was only because the trickle of guests were slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was super delicious. Appetizers wer ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was super delicious. Appetizers were great. Will come back for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server told me he could not add the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The server told me he could not add the points to my Ryan's card, after the check had been closed. The manager overheard, and offered to do it, because they can in fact do it. The entire experience from start to finish leads me to believe he was just being lazy. My iced tea glass sat empty for 1/4 of the ending portion of our time there. 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Good place for a Business Meeting

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We picked Ryan's Grill for the location as well as for the food. The Location is at Ward Village in Kakaako area of town, parking is adjacent to the restaurant. I arrived early so I had my choice of parking spaces at 11:15 am.

I arrived early at the restaurant and had my choice of tables. I ordered the Kalbi hamburger and fries. My lunch mates enjoyed their meals as did I.

Don't forget that there is a nice view duriing the day so try to get a window seat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan's never disappoints!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Ryan's is a great place for any occasion: family meals, dates, parties, etc. The service is relaxed and friendly, and the food is always delicious. There are separate areas for outdoor dining, bar patrons, and lunch or dinner guests, so there's plenty of room for everyone to have a good time. They also have a quality kids' menu that will please even the pickiest of eaters. Both my kids ordered the salmon and ate everything that came with it, including the lovely wedge of pineapple. My husband chose one of Ryan's famous Kobe burgers, which was accompanied by a mountain of sweet potato fries. He's a hearty eater, but even he couldn't finish all of his fries! I opted for a crab and artichoke sandwich and Caesar salad combo, and was very pleased by the flavor and quality of both. We were so full that we didn't have room for dessert! Next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PULEHU RIB EYE STEAK A LITTLE TOO SALTY

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food rating would be outstanding if the Pulehu Rib Eye steak had less salt, a little too salty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly. Not too busy on a Sunda ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Seated promptly. Not too busy on a Sunday night. Waitress was very friendly. Food is good but they changed some of the recipes recently. Not sure if I liked the new sauce with the calamari. Otherwise it was a pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We shared pupus and bonded over old time ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We shared pupus and bonded over old times. A wonderful night out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and good value! We bro ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent service and good value! We brought friends from the mainland. Loved the fact that the fish & chips didn't have excessive batter....will order it again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Andrew was patient and excell ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server Andrew was patient and excellent! We particularly were amused with him calling each of us "miss." He brought us a basket of bread while we deciding what to order. We went to Ryan's Grill for the $3.33 crab & artichoke dip special, which was my favorite when I used to eat out more. Haven't been there for ages and was looking forward to having that crab dip. Unfortunately, the dip was dry and oily, kind of burnt. My pizza tasted great, but it too was a bit burnt. My friend's pizza wasn't burnt though. She was shocked that her ice was $4. I did see that price on the menu. It was a nice time getting together with an old friend, and we didn't feel rushed. The prices were reasonable to a little high. I would go there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ryan's always has great food. We all enj ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Ryan's always has great food. We all enjoyed our dinner. My favorite is the guava pork ribs. Oh so ono! The service was outstanding, as usual. Friendly wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service and great food for a busy day. Would definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.