Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Ryan's Grill

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Happy Hour (26)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Comfort Food (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Quick Bite (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Waterfront (12)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Live Sports (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Tapas (8)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

It had been a while since we were there last and I was a little disappointed that they no longer have onion rings. Their's we're the best! But, everything else we ordered was awesome, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed a great meal with wonderful service!
They offer a nice selection of appetizers, salads, entrees, and desserts plus a great drink menu.......will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. Our waitress was efficient, professional and pleasant. All of the staff from the door and manager was pleasant too. Awesome job Ryan's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating a birthday, food and service was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Not sure why but the service was REALLY SLOW

We were there for a "Birthday" and the waiteress just dropped of the dessert & left with no "Happy Birthday Song by the Servers. The table next to us also had a birthday lunch and I swear the servers sang for that table

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our server was great but there was much delay in getting our drinks, then our food. Some of us got our food way earlier than the other half of the party. Our server apologized that they were shorthanded. We were extremely disappointed, as we've always enjoyed Ryan's and Kincaid's. ..and the fine service and celebrated most occasions there. We were celebrating two birthdays on this occasion. We appreciated the birthday desserts...mocha burnt cream, but unfortunately, the birthday gals didn't enjoy them at all...and neither did we when we tasted them. The dessert was mostly untouched, which is a shame, because we loved the original burnt cream dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had an out towner, so food was fabulous, Service just a little slow. Although it turned out grest.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was way too slow. It took a long time to get our food and drinks. The food was good except for the mocha creme brûlée. I would not recommend that.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good food in a convenient location and at a reasonable price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was good. Calamari was over fried however and service was very slow. We had to wait almost 30 min just to get order in and another 30 min to get our food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I requested a quiet table away from the crowd for a party of six so we could talk and hear the conversation. The quiet corner booth overlooking the park was perfect. Food was good and service was excellent. I highly recommend dining at Ryan's.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

It was a great place for happy hour. Only thing is, we don't like our server. She kind a slow to bring our order and she doesn't even check on us how we doing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Made area there since I cud not visit Kincaids b4 closure. Would like to see some of Kincaids flair when they merge

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Ryan's Grill just went through a renovation and the place look clean and lovely. Tried their La Prima Margarita for the first time and it was great! The pupu sampler was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fish specials were very good. Ubu cheesecake was not- texture not good. Coffee cream brulee was awful. Wrong texture, not caramelized on surface.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i made reservations for mothers day.I had my favorite french onion soup, sooo yummy! I also ordered the famous crab dip and lettuce wraps. All of my favorite foods! I can't go to Ryan's and not order my favorite foods.I definitley had a Happy Mothers Day!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a great Mother's day Lunch and the food & service was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was very good and server Kanai (Jordan) provided excellent service. We have dined here many times before and the only negative thing was the long wait for the desserts to be served. But this time, the desserts were served in a reasonable amount of time. Thank you to Kanai for taking good care of us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

前日がAlan Wongだったからかもしれないが、コストパフォーマンスが良いと感じました。1/3くらい。
料理は全て同時に出て来たので、そこは順番に出して欲しかった。
評判のカニとアーティチョークのディップはカニ味噌の風味が効いて味がしっかりしてて6歳の子供が「おいしい」と4ピースも食べてました。
サラダの味付けはシンプルで普通。
神戸牛のロコモコは焼き加減をミディアムにしたけど、他の料理を食べてる間に硬くなってしまって残念。

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I don't remember our server's name because I was not given a copy of my bill. Our server was wonderful. She was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good meal, friendly service, and pleasant atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and service ss always

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server Mackenzi (name on the receipt) was OUTSTANDING! She was attentive to refilling drinks, bread and making sure everything was okay. She was understanding to us wanting to move seats. Just a great personality!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great and so was our server. Our server took good care of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A favorite for me, family and friends for years ~ Consistent food quality, casual dining and great service ~

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Family Style, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The appetizers were really good. I wasn't too impressed with the presentation of the main courses. The dishes did not pass the eye-appeal test, just ordinary looking.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Appetizerwas excellent, but the eggs Benedict easter special was disappointing, served under cooked, barely warm, undertoasted bread, hardly any hollandaise and Canadian bacon was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ordered medium rare steak & got medium well & it was replaced. Long wait for the dessert to be served, as usual. Service is very good for everything else except the dessert, a recurring problem. If we don't have much time, we don't order dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with the specials. My friend ordered the poki and he said it was excellent. I had the Ahi Belly katsu and it was divine and cooked to perfection. It was fresh, moist and not overly cooked. It was also fileted with no bones.

Our server was very attentive and she was wonderful. It was the perfect meal.
Thank you, Ryan's Grill. Can always count on this place to be the right choice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was horrible. Food was ok. Not amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Outstanding menu with great service. Ordered strictly from the pupu menu. Family from California were very impressed with the menu!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Kudos to the great staff at Ryan's for making our dining a fine experience. Especially to our server Natalie and Cedric who made a cordial table side visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It's in a nice location, service and food was good but a little pricey.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wonderful, relaxing meal at Ryan's.
Andrew was a great server!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Dinner for two on a Monday night. The restaurant was relatively quiet, and we enjoyed the view of Ala Moana Beach Park from our indoor table. We tried the Crispy Pork Lambrusco, one of the chef's specials, and a half-sandwich/salad comb of Artichoke and Crab Sandwich and the Pea Salad. Both the food and service were great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Final Four!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great Jamaican Fries! Our server was nice and knowledgeable. We come back again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

always enjoy going to Ryan's. your staff are well trained, professional and friendly

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our out of town guests loved the view of the park as well as the delicious food. Our experience was very good EXCEPT the air conditioning was far too cold! Twice we asked our server to please adjust it, and the cold air never stopped. The other lady and I had to hold our napkins on our shoulders to keep warm. We would have stayed later for a post-dessert cocktail, but we had to go outside to warm up.

But the food was great and a good value. We'll definitely bring other guests because it is one of our favorite places. Will just hope it's warmer.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was great, but our server was terrible. I'm not sure if we caught him on a bad night, but his service was as slow as my grandmas driving. We were seated at 6:30 and was not greeted by our server a little after 7:00. Our guests and I were talking the whole time, but still, a half hour to acknowledge our presence is unacceptable in any restaurant setting. Strike 1! We ordered 3 beers and a glass of wine. He returned with 3 out of the 4 drinks. He asked what was the other beer we ordered because he couldn't read what he wrote down. Strike 2 buddy! Food arrived. Server didn't check back to see how our meals were or if we needed anything. Our guest had to ask a food runner for another drink. Didn't bother with dessert, and asked for the check. That was the fastest I've seen him move all night!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.