Permanently Closed - Ryan's Grill

4.0
772 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
  • Scenic View

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday-Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 11:00am-12:00am

Holiday Hours 2017
11/23/17 Thanksgiving 11:00am-9pm
11/24/17 Black Friday 11:00am-10:00pm
12/24/17 Christmas Eve 11:00am-9:00pm
12/25/17 Christmas Day 2:00pm-8:00pm
12/31/17 New Year's Eve 11:00am-9:00pm
1/1/18 New Year's Day 11:00am-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 591-9132
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kristopher Fleming
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kamakee St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Covered parking garage with valet available
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 772 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Wonderful dinner on Ryan’s last night of service. Thank you for many great and memorable meals, special occasions, and good times with friends and family. You will be missed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great friends, great food! Sad they are closing. I hope they will find a new location in the near future!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We have been loyal customers of Ryans for 34 years & are so, so sad it is closing. Wish they would have opened at an alternate location so we could patronize for another 34 years.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Sad that Ryan's Grill is closing. One of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Sorry to see it is coming to an end. Can't get the Cajun Chicken Fettuccine and Pea Salad anywhere else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Our server, Ronnie, did an excellent job at making us feel welcome and comfortable. Darryl, another server was equally accommodating. We are very sad that this gem is closing and still hoping for a last minute change of mind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

We were celebrating our Anniversary and the food & service were Excellent. Our waiter, Von, made our experience very special. We are so sorry that you will be closing soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

10歳と7歳の子連れ。ロコモコが美味しいとの紹介をハワイの本(本田直之さんの「ハワイを極める50の法則」)を読み最初はOpen Tableで予約して来店。アラモアナパークを眺められる窓際の席を案内してもらえました。17:30の予約でしたが、バーのゾーンはハッピーアワーの客で満席。ディナー席はハッピーアワー対象外でしたが、お料理はどれも美味しくコストパフォーマンスが高かったです。ロコモコも美味しかったですがハンバーガーが絶品でした。6日後、ハッピーアワーを狙い再び来店。16時過ぎだと待ち時間なく入れました。17時には満席になっていましたね。ハッピーアワーはドリンクだけでなく食事のメニューもあり、低コストで美味し食事ができました!カクテルも美味しかった〜。日本人の観光客はほとんど見かけず地元や外国人観光客で賑わっていました。我が家は子連れなので食事を済ませたら直ぐに出ましたが、長居できる感じだったのでバー席の待ち時間は長いかもしれません…。お料理は注文すると直ぐに出てきます。ハッピーアワー狙いなら16時台の入店がおすすめですが、他店に比べると普通席でも十分満足できるので時間を節約するならOpen Tableの予約も良い手段ですね。

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Definitely time to close and move on!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Hate to have you close. We are with you every Sunday after church. Mahalo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Great food excellent service Judy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We enjoyed dining at Ryan's Grill. We're so sorry that they're closing. I was able to use my birthday gift card and the points that I have accumulated and part of a gift card that I purchased. My friend and I celebrated our birthdays and we were pleasantly surprised with the delicious key lime pie, complimentary for our birthdays. Thank you very much. We'll miss Ryan's Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The Crab and Artichoke dip is a must. Also, love their French Onion soup.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Still a good vslue

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

First time and I loved it! Food was delicious and service was superb. Judy was our server, very friendly and courteous! She checked on us all the time. Love everything! Bravo!!! I'm sorry to hear that your doors are closing...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Sorry to see them close, they were one of the better restaurants in this area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Our waitress Judy was very friendly and attentive. So sad that Ryan's will be closing after 34 years.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Sad to hear that Ryan's Grill is closing. One of my favorite restaurants. Wish they would reopen at another location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Sorry they're closing. So sad. Going to miss the food and friendly folks there

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Been a regular customer since 1991 and so I think it's a shame that Ryan's will be closing down soon...it was an unusually busy and noisy night, even had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated even though we had reservations...if you do go before they close their doors, do a sunset meal, and consider eating family style.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Enjoyable environment. Sad that they're closing shortly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Servers were very attentive. We waited a little while, but they paid attention to use.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The food is still very good but the menu items are shrinking. They don't have much on their menu now. And the restaurant isn't as busy as it used to be, even during Happy Hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Great as usual!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Menu and wine list are a bit limited but the location of the restaurant and friendly servers make it a place I will return to.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The menu could have been better, i.e., more fresh local fish (refrigerator problems, apparently). The table top was sticky: old varnish? The server was exceptionally good. It would be nice to have happy hour prices at the table!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

Nice place for a quiet lunch with friends and family. Nice variety on the menu, as well as the long time favorites of clam chowder, french onion soup, crab dip, and key lime pie. Yum! Time to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving dinner was fine, except too much meat and too few veggies and too little cranberry sauce. Good margaritas. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Food was very good overall for the price. The waitress, after the initial order came back once to check on how we were doing then, never came back to check on drink refills, or if we wanted dessert or anything else, she just came back with our check!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We ventured out to Ryan's for Thanksgiving, with some trepidation and low expectations due to mixed reviews and the transition going on at Ward Center. At 130 pm Ryan's was moderately busy and reasonably quiet. Our server Jasmine was very accommodating and responded positively to each of our various special requests. This made a big difference and made our experience very enjoyable. Prime rib Kincaid's style is still worth a visit if that's what you crave. The Thanksgiving special turkey was tasty and a good value. The restaurant itself is understandably dated and feels a bit run down and starved for capital. Go casual and with the right server, it can still be worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

I went for Thanksgiving lunch and it was really good. They had the best crunchy pumpkin pie. Now I am thinking to reserve for Christmas lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We dine at Ryan's a lot because we really like this restaurant. The only consistent negative is the amount of time it takes for them to serve the dessert. We ordered the key lime pie and pumpkin crunch & it took 20 minutes for it to be served. We keep hoping it will improve but it does not so we will continue to dine at Ryan's but we have to remember not to order dessert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Our family had our Thanksgiving lunch on Thursday. Server was polite and attentive. There was nothing that I could mention that stood out. We had a good, pleasant time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The wait was long, it took almost an hour for the appetitizer plate to be served. The disappointment was the roast vegetables, which were pale and limp, with mostly squashes for the vegetable combo. There was only one choice on the roast beef which was a 12 oz cut. We did anticipate a long wait as it was Thanksgiving, but this was just a little too long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Although I made reservation in advance for Thanksgiving brunch, I was told to wait to be seated. While others without reservation were seated first. In addition, I did not appreciate to be seated by the bar since we had advance reservation. Informed the hostess, we had advance reservation and I would like to be seated in the dining section for my 11:00 am reservation vs being seated by the bar. My family and I were finally seated at 11:20 am at a table way in the back corner. There were other tables that were available by the window with a better view and setting. Once seated, one of the table setting had a foul (foot odor) smelling napkin and one glass had lipstick on it. The whole ambiance was disappointing since we were celebrating Thanksgiving. This Thanksgiving brunch experience was different from our last visit at Ryan's, being more pleasant. I would rate Ryan's a "C" due to inconsistent service.

Improvement Item: Hostess should seat those with reservation first, especially when the restaurant just opened with table available for those who made advance reservation. Glass and setting (e.g. napkin) should be inspected to ensure cleanliness.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Always such a pleasure going to Ryan's - great food, good ambiance, and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Ryan’s Grill isn’t like it used to be. I was disappointed this time. Food isn’t near as good as it was several years ago. Service was slow (maybe it was our particular server because the hostess even checked on us).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Wait help, Rosalie seemed off and a bit inattentive, always making an excuse when asked a question. She made a mistake with drink order, had to send it back. Found a dirty utensil, she grabbed it and rubbed the area on it and said it was just “oldness!” It was clearly dirty with food on it!! Appetizer came out last, but only after we asked about it. She said sometimes things don’t come out in correct order, or something in those words and gave other reasons why it took so long. We mentioned we made Rez because of the Jo Koy promo. She looked at the ticket my guest attempted to show her and she quickly cut us off by saying, she will handle it ! She didn’t listen to our complete sentence and then failed to give us the promo discount! She was very unprofessional and when she came to look for the bill folio and couldn’t find it ( my guest was so irritated by that time, she walked the bill to the bar for a managers assistance), she stood at our table and began asking what was wrong. We proceeded to tell her. Then she commented that she’s not “hovering” but clearly that’s exactly what she was doing!! Waiting for my guest to return, so she could ask her what was wrong! She began apologizing but by that time we were done with confrontations and listening to her excuses! We understand she has been with the company a long time, but I too work in the hospitality industry and have never experienced a wait help conduct herself in the manner that she did. The restaurant was very slow that night but yet she seemed a little overwhelmed. I can only imagine what service would be like if there was a full house!! But I know everyone has their days. And although my guest was very upset and walked out we still left a 10% tip. It could have been worse if not for the manager coming to our aid. be back because we know that overall, one incident cannot and will not ruin Ryan’s reputation. We enjoy happy hour and the friendly staff and bartenders on our Friday night pau Hana visits!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

I like the food and atmosphere at Ryan's, but there was a live singer and the music was just too loud. We could not hear ourselves across the table.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Very good service. Wide variety on menu : burgers,steak, fish,salads, chicken and pasta. Had trio salad; best was blue cheese. Chicken salad was ok. Too much dressing on pea salad for my taste. Rigatoni with meat sauce was good and a better choice.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Permanently Closed - Ryan's Grill