Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Ryan's Grill

In 1983, Ryan's changed the look of restaurants in Hawaii forever. Our signature open kitchen offers guests a view of the chef and his team preparing island favorites and American classics. Our mirrored bar is stocked with a hundred variations of elixirs used to create a variety of delectable cocktails. With our diverse menu, vibrant atmosphere and top-notch service team, Ryan's is a renowned favorite for not just locals, but military and mainland visitors alike.

1200 Ala Moana Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Kamakee St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 591-9132

Website:
http://ryansgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Covered parking garage with valet available

Executive Chef:
Eli Low

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Serving Easter Brunch and Dinner Sunday, April 16th. Book your holiday table today.

Ryan's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Happy Hour (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Scenic View (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Family Style (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Live Sports (7)
Tapas (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (5)
Waterfront (5)
Authentic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (2)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy this place for great food; this is one of my favorite places.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had a great family lunch with Judy our server was very attentive..my husband loves the salmon kalbi. I had the combo half sandwich and salad, love their souos too. Family had fish, ribs and steak...all were pleased. Happy Hour is also a value and not to allow ...enjoy the outdoor and waterfront seating...enjoy the chefs specials...always too many choices for one meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Tapas, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always good. We often go to Ryan's for a casual meal and we usually enjoy it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

the service was excellent and the food was perfect

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Got there a little early but we got seated after a few minutes. Our waitress Natalie was awesome. Kept coming back to make sure everything was okay. We ordered 2 appetizers and 1 one burger and that was very filling, actually took the burger home. The dessert was to die for. Thanks Natalie, it was a wonderful date!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waitress was very nice and friendly. She checked on us several times. I wish I was better in remembering names so i could give her a great review but I have to work on that. Even the hostess was very nice and accommodating. Very good staff. Our food came very timely and what we ordered was very tasty. We shared the three salad sampler and the lettuce cups and it was more then enough. We were very happy with our selection. I would order that again. And the happy hour house red wine was very easy to drink, very nice especially at happy hour. We will definitely return to Ryan's!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Judy is an excellent server. Hope she serves us the next time we dine at Ryan's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent Food , service was satisfactory would highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was excellent. Attentive but very aware we had a business meeting going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was great except, as usual, it took a long time to get served a piece of pie that is already made. This happens all the time so I told my family not to order dessert but they did not listen. So we waited and waited until the server brought the dessert plates, then we told him to cancel the pie order since it took too long and asked for the check. Manager came by, apologized and offered the pie at no charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loren is an excellent server, and food is always delicious at Ryans Grill.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was in the mood for French Onion Soup. Ryan's soup is pretty good. They also have a lot of small dishes to go along with the soup. We shared a Chopped salad, Crap/Artichoke dip and roasted duck with bun. Something was wrong with the A/C so it was getting warm until our server (Judy, who was excellent) asked someone to turn on the ceiling fan. We enjoyed our lunch and would go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Plates were full and attractive, prices good. Would recommend them for small groups as our party of 9 was not able to hear each other talk.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Variety on menu for all food likes. Loved their salad sampler. Good value. Nice atmosphere. We had a mini reunion of old work friends, they didn't rush us, service was great. Would return again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was really good except for some over-salted poke. Our waiter was very good. Good ambiance, nice crowd, but not too noisy. The air conditioning was too cold. I was shivering by the end of the meal and I saw a girl at another table use her napkin like a blanket pulled up to her chin. The people next to us asked to move to another table because it was too cold. Overall a great place. I would come back with a thick jacket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

20.17 great value . Chicken was very tender and tasty . Kalbi bowl was very good except Kalbi meat was a little hard to bite into .Overall the meal was great .

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Enjoyed ourselves as usual, we've been coming since 1991.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Staff was warm, friendly, and even entertaining. Food was as expected.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lauren, our server, was top notch and very pleasant. We went for the special menu and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Love Ryan's; but I think we had a new/inexperienced waiter. He tried hard; but not seasoned so he lapsed on memorizing the specials, refilling drinks. Polite and nice though; didn't make excuses. Everyone has to start of somewhere right? Overall, great food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Spicy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, generous portions, friendly wait staff. We love Ryans!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Ryan's is a very comfortable place, with great food and ambiance. The servers were very nice, but seemed short-staff for the evening; there was a large party as well. My wife and I enjoyed our meal and desert. While the menu is loaded with lots of good food, it seems to be the same menu that has been around for a long time--that is both good and bad. Overall, we enjoyed our meals and the unhurried dining. I would recommend it as a place to hang out, eat good food, and catch up with a friend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The restaurant was not busy when we were seated and yet took almost 10 minutes before a waiter came by. Our food was okay. My fish was good but wife's kalbi bowl food was not hot when served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Came here for dinner for my birthday. Our host/hostess, waiter, and everyone was so friendly. The food was amazing, and I especially enjoyed the drinks. Bartender's Pomegranate Lemonade was my favorite, I'd recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very basic mall bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Perfect for happy hour, dinner or Sunday lunch. Much improved!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

War gut, ordentliche Portionen. Ambiente nicht schlecht, aber für ein Candle Light Dinner nichts richtiges. Liegt in einer Mall, also kann man es mit Shoppen verbinden.

Tags: Live Sports, Cozy, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We usually rate Ryan’s Grill very good to excellent but not this time. It was not crowded when we arrived but no one came to wait on us & we wondered who our server was. After 15 minutes Nicholas (Nick) came by. He walked by our table several times & did not acknowledge us so we thought we must have another server. When Nicholas finally came he did not apologize for the wait. He took our order & got it wrong so we had to correct him. By the time our drinks came from the bar it was watered down. We requested bread with our drinks but it came well after our drinks, again no apology. During the diner we had to constantly remind Nicholas to get things, he is forgetful. We ordered pie for dessert and waited 15 minutes before it came. We like to dine at Ryan’s Grill & will return but if Nicholas is our server, we will ask to change tables and we will not order dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas Eve dinner. Food was good and service very good considering we had 8 in our party and it was a busy night. Waiter Ikaika was attentive and we were well served. Great place for casual dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and greeting, friendly throughout the whole dining experience. Food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Andrew was a great server. He was so nice, friendly and fun. He brought me surprises on my birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We go to Ryan's every few weeks and always enjoy it for what it is - casual, reasonably priced dining.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took the family to Ryan's for wife's birthday. We had early evening reservation (5:30), arrived on time and were seated by 5:35. Waitress was friendly and helpful, but from management perspective I couldn't understand why it seemed like her tables were spread all over different sections of restaurant because time between her stopping by was significant. To make long story short, it took 45 minutes from time we ordered until we received food. (Order was not complex: pepperoni pizza, fish sandwich w/fries, fish filet w/mashed potatoes and a chicken salad). We could see the kitchen so I know the pizza was done in 20 and under heat lamp for 20.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Cheap meal. Waitress took a while to get to us, a manager stepped in and helped her out. It's a cheap option while you're on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our waitress must have been new - while she was a sweet girl - she did not offer any comp bread & the wait was very long for the food to come - she did not stop by to check on us or give any explanation why the delay - when we asked if we were being served soon - she apologized & said soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great spot for lunch. Burgers, wings, salads and several other selections are perfect noon time entrees. Service was prompt and professional. Atmosphere is casual and inviting. Perhaps most of all the location is perfect and with readily available parking (including valet with additional car washing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This restaurant has consistently good service and delicious food!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Showed up at reserved time and went in immediately. Haven't been there is a few years but noticed that they still had a lot of the good ole favorites like the pea salad, French onion soup, hot Dungeness crab & artichoke dip appetizer. Their focaccia bread is still awesome! The interior looks different too. They removed the Hawaiian memorabilia and nautical/country flags. It looks sleek and more open and modern. Still a good place to gather with friends for pau hana after work or to just to have a nice meal/drinks. Always been a favorite and still is!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They had a nice special with ribs, fish and chips. Three of the four people at my table had this and loved it. Pleasant Sunday lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I asked hostess to call for my husband instead of me 3 times, didn't happen.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.