About Ryan Duffy's

1 Market Sq.
Saint John, NB E2L 4Z6
View Larger Map

Located near the Saint John waterfront at 1 Market Square, at Ryan Duffy's we strive to be your restaurant of choice and your favorite steakhouse. It is our great pleasure to offer you our renowned on-site dry aged Alberta AAA steaks, cut and weighed table-side, fresh local seafood that will inspire your pallet, and… Caesar salads perfectly prepared table-side. Allow our knowledgeable servers to delight you in our comfortable contemporary decor with their ability to anticipate your every dinning need. Or perhaps it is a lively social atmosphere you seek, in which case our bar or lounge might be your destination to enjoy one of our famous martinis with our delicious Burgers or Fish & Chips. Be wined, dined, and dazzled with an explosion of flavours.
Join us for lunch and dinner 7 days a week

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(506) 642-5586

Website:
http://www.ryanduffys.ca/

Executive Chef:
Matt Costain

Private Party Facilities:
Our Boardroom can accommodate 20 guest for dining and presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 5066425586

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Ryan Duffy's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Brunswick
Best Restaurants in Saint John ›

special occasion (7)
romantic (5)
fit for foodies (3)
See All
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (2)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice cozy place

Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was good, very flavorful. My pork was cooked perfectly. Atmosphere was good, low light. Not too busy or crowded, which is always a bonus. I find it can be a bit on the pricey side, but they have some reasonably priced items. Good wine/beer selection as well. I like Ryan Duffys.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was not the best

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was a little disappointing, more fat and grissle than meat. Other than that the food was great. A little pricey for an everyday thing. Special occasions only. The staff was awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

With the exception of the service, I would go back. The ambiance and food were great. Even though it appeared the restaurant was understaffed there were more than a few bothersome service issues. We were not informed that the displayed Sandwich board advertising a Valentines 3 course meal had a deadline of 6:30, we arrived at 6 and ordered at 6:35. We were informed we would not be able to have that choice. A wrong appetizer was delivered and yet there was no apology or offer to correct the error. Our wine bottle was on ice at such a distance that it required us to leave our seats. This was necessary as we seldom saw the waitress. I choose this restaurant for ourselves and two friends based on a wonderful dining experience that I had in Halifax. I was embarassed and disappointed.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food, quality of service an issue

Dined on February 6, 2016

As a family of 5 we were excited to celebrate our daughters accomplishments. We were greeted by a not overly friendly host and taken to our table. But then had to wait for 25 minutes for our drink order to be taken, as we watched the lone waitress look after the desserts and final payment of a table near us. No water or bread was provided while we waited. There seemed to be No multi tasking. The meal came within a reasonable time. It took long to get drink refills, and a dessert. Basic etiquette for serving did not seem present. More training needed. The food was good but the lack of service took away from the whole experience. Unfortunately, Not worth the over 300 dollar bill. Disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great meal

Dined on February 5, 2016

Ryan Duffy's in Halifax was always a great place for steak and the Saint John location maintains this consistency. The steak was perfectly cooked and the sides were excellent. The halibut was very flavourful but a bit dry. The escargot and coconut shrimp appetizers were both very good and the deep fried cheesecake was exceptionally decadent. The interior of the restaurant is quite rustic, similar to other restaurants in that historic building, so not as refined as the Halifax location, but it was warm and cozy on a cold winter's night. All in all a very good addition to the downtown Saint John restaurant scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Night out

Dined on January 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Ryan Duffys. We enjoyed dinner, and ambiance was good. We suggest possible fireplace, more romantic setting ;) Food was great, Steak perfect (and my favorite Fish) To make visit more personal they should offer to make fresh ceasar salad table side (with fresh shaved parmesan) Limited drink menu, I'd suggest blended drinks (was looking forward to Margaritas) Overall nice restaurant, for special occasion as prices are higher than the norm

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Special occasion

Dined on January 9, 2016

The negative: our app was cold when it should have been hot. The kitchen just reheated in the microwave. They brought out the wrong dessert. The positive: our server was friendly and accommodating. The main dish was lovely. Over all our meal would have been $160 + tip. I would say the entire experience was not worth that, due to the lack of effort on making the food perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed our meal!

Dined on December 31, 2015

The menu was a bit pricey but the food and service was excellent. Great variety on the menu. We went with a group for New Year's Eve. The waiter really focused on making our meal enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Birthday meal

Dined on November 18, 2015

My wife, using my money of course, took me to dinner at Ryan Duffy's in St John for my 69th Birthday. Great meal, great service. We have been coming to Ryan Duffy's ever since they arrived in Saint John and we have never had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2

Food was not plated nice nor did it tast ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was not plated nice nor did it taste very good. Fries where so salty they could not be eaten. Steak was tough, we were a party of four and all members feel the same.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always!!!

Dined on August 29, 2015

This restaurant is our "go to" restaurant for any occasion, special or not. The food is always incredible and the staff has always been great! Thanks so much for this wonderful restaurant in our Port City!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Good atmosphere

Dined on July 18, 2015

My wife and I were celebrating our 46th anniversary with a long time friend from Ontario. Overall the atmosphere, service was excellent. If there was one flaw it was the Filet Oscar. The sauce was so spicy you couldn't taste the steak and the steak was dry. It was cooked properly but no internal juices at all and the sauce so spicy that it didn't help. The vegetables were excellent. The greens were cooked perfectly. My wife said it was the first time she had had vegetables at a restaurant that were not over cooked, bland and limp. They even offered up dessert as an anniversary gift. Silk Pie! Much appreciated. All in all an enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, and service were top notch as always!!!

Dined on June 5, 2015

The food, service and atmosphere are always incredible. We've been countless times over the last 18 months and it is hands down the most consistent restaurant in Saint John. And consistency is tough to do!!! We will continue to be back, again and again!!! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good services. We were 4 p ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2015

Good food and good services. We were 4 people's and we all enjoyed the dinner. They should order more good Italian wine

food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

Dined on May 4, 2015

We chose Ryan Duffy's because it was one of the few downtown Saint John restaurants which is open on Monday evenings. The service was friendly and much more efficient than the last time we ate here. Three of us ordered the dry aged fillet -- disappointing! I cook better fillet at home with supermarket meat. The corn, halibut and scallop chowder was barely OK. The garden salad with the house dressing was the best part of my meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and Meal

Dined on April 14, 2015

Our experience was wonderful from start to finish. Our waiter seated us at a table with a view of the boardwalk. Our drinks and meal came very quickly and our waiter gave us enough space to enjoy our conversation but wasn't too far away to notice that we needed a drink refill or a plate taken away. The ambience is very inviting and comfortable and the menu has items for every pallet. Thank you to our waiter Jason for wonderful service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A must visit restaurant!!!

Dined on April 11, 2015

We have eaten here MANY times and thoroughly enjoy it every time! The service is always top notch and the atmosphere is perfect! I would highly recommend Ryan Duffys to anyone who loves a great restaurant with lots of delectable food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

It's the price.

Dined on February 21, 2015

My wife and I went there to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed ourselves and the food was very good. We split a 16 oz Rib Steak and a desert. My wife had a draft beer and I had water. The total bill, including a 15% tip came to $98 and change. We enjoy our special nights out but this Steakhouse is too rich for our blood. Will only return if price's become more competitive to other local steakhouses of similar caliper.

food4
ambience4
service4

My third visit

Dined on January 30, 2015

I love the fish here, it is awesome and so reasonably priced!!! I always substitute for the sweet potato fries here and they are one of the best around. This visit, I tried the ceasar salad, I didn't love it. Wouldn't get it again. Overall love this place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great time as usual. Jason makes it a wo ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2015

Great time as usual. Jason makes it a wonderful experience & the food was top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

We found the ambiance very good, the foo ...

Dined on January 24, 2015

We found the ambiance very good, the food was good, however My husband did find his steak a little tuff, he asked for Medium well and it was more well. but other than that everything was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

great experience

Dined on January 24, 2015

my wife and i descided on ryan duffys for a date night its was very quiet great ambiance oir server was friendly and knowledgeable. the skillet scallop apt was amazing as well the ceasar salad made table side was fantastic the hallibut and haddock entres were also outstanding.Would definatley return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Thank you for making the evening perfect.

Dined on December 31, 2014

Fantastic foor , service and great atmosphere. It was my first of many visits

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Engagement

Dined on December 17, 2014

I decided to propose to my girlfriend of 6 years at Ryan Duffy's and it went perfectly. She said yes! The lovely staff gave us free champagne and chocolate cake to celebrate which was amazing. I had a very lovely experience and plan to go back again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was great

Dined on December 13, 2014

The food was great but a little expensive. We each had a fish dish, shared an appetizer,shared a caesar salad and dessert. A couple of beers and a cocktail - 160.00. They made the salad at the table and it was great. We didn't order beef but we saw that they actually cut the piece of raw meat at the table then took it away to cook. I would definitely recommend the restaurant for a special outing. They did have our reservation but did not acknowledge it with Open table so it appeared as a no show. Also the reservation was made in the bar but they found us a table in the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Food and Ambiance!

Dined on December 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here for the first time this weekend, and needless to say we have a new favorite restaurant! The food was to die for, the service was fantastic and the restaurant is very cozy and overlooks the boardwalk! We are going back for our 6 year anniversary in a couple weeks and I am so excited!! I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4

Over priced and not top quality

Dined on November 7, 2014

There was too much dressing on the salad, so much so, that I couldn't finish it. It was just drowning in it. The smoked salmon was dry and the bread that it came on tasted stale. My boyfriend had the steak and he said it was overcooked on the outside (nearly burnt) and the garlic mashed potatoes were anything but creamy. They were super dry. The steak, for 12 ounces, ended up costing $70 because of four dollars for a sauce. Ridiculously overpriced for the entire meal. I expected a lot more from Duffy's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience4
service2

Just ok

Dined on October 23, 2014

The food wasn't all that I had hoped for. I had a 12oz New York strip loin ($40) it came with a hand full of baked potatoes and two small carrots (cut lengthwise) and a little piece of broccolini. The steak was cooked just right and the sides were ok. For 40 bucks I expected the steak to be much more tender. When there was only a bite left the waitress came over to as how everything was. For three people our bill was just under $200. For the price I just expected more quality.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food but overpriced

Dined on October 13, 2014

At $28 for a steak I would have expected to not have my mother having to discretely spit out gristle. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. The creme brulee was the best I have ever had. $10 for a cocktail is too much. Our dinner was good but I wouldn't be running to go back. I also will not refuse to go back. There did not seem to be tableside prep despite the online menu description (we had a caesar salad). In summary, the good evened out the bad. Some things are spot on fabulous. Some things need improvement.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

dining with visitors

Dined on October 4, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Ryan Duffy's and our out-of-town visitors were very impressed with both food and location. This new restaurant showcases Maritime food, architecture and hospitality!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on September 27, 2014

we drove down from Sussex to have a quiet dinner. We weren't disappointed. Good food, good service, good atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on September 23, 2014

The food here is some of the best in town and well worth the price, will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on September 20, 2014

From making a reservation, to service, to food quality and wine list, the whole experience was excellent. Hard to find in Saint John. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

The food was good but the service was ve ...

Dined on August 27, 2014

The food was good but the service was very slow. We got drinks within ten minutes but our appetizers were almost 45 minutes after ordering before we were No in between checkup visits to the table and we weren't asked if we wanted a second drink.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice spot!

Dined on August 23, 2014

First time at Ryan Duffy's. The restaurant decor is very nice. Service staff are very friendly & professional. We were a party of six and we were all served on time and the food hot. We were not rushed and the timing between courses is appropriate to a fine dining experience. I would return to try other menu items.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3

Very noisy the night we were in. We wer ...

Dined on August 13, 2014

Very noisy the night we were in. We were next to a large table with a very young child who cried and cried. Why people would bring a child of that age to what is supposed to be a fine dining experience is beyond me. I thought the food was OK. Roast beef special was overcooked. No complaints about the service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, Great service

Dined on July 18, 2014

It was our 45th anniversary. When I told our waitress they immediately brought us a couple of flutes of champagne. Food was excellent, service friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!!!!!

Dined on July 9, 2014

This was our second visit and just as the first visit, we left the restaurant talking about everything we had loved about the meal. Will definitely return for our next special occasion. My boyfriend insists that Ryan Duffy's is the best restaurant in SJ.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1

Food, meh; service, terrible

Dined on June 29, 2014

This restaurant has been open for some time now and I've been meaning to try it for a while. I finally did, but I won't be going back. On their Boardwalk patio there were not many tables filled, and that should have been a clear sign. Despite the lack of other customers, it took forever for the waitress to take our order. Then it took forever for the drinks to arrive. The food took an average amount of time to arrive and was just average. Our waitress didn't ask how our meal was until we were nearly finished eating. It then took forever to be able to get our bill and pay. Overall, it was an unpleasant experience. If you're going to the Boardwalk, consider any of the far better options like the Ale House or Peppers.

food3
ambience4
service4

Not bad, but could be better

Dined on June 6, 2014

The appetizer (lobster and crab cakes) tasted good, but was a bit cold. Mustard chicken was interesting but some strange flavors. Special steak and scallops was good deal and well cooked. Cocktails: Hers was missing the apple slice, no biggie. His was supposed to be made with ginger beer (that has a fairly strong kick to it!) but tasted like it was made with ginger ale. Loved the pretzel buns! For the price paid, food and drinks should have been better.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.