Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Ryan Duffy's

3.5
98 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Cozy
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Located near the Saint John waterfront at 1 Market Square, at Ryan Duffy's we strive to be your restaurant of choice and your favorite steakhouse. It is our great pleasure to offer you our renowned on-site dry aged Alberta AAA steaks, cut and weighed table-side, fresh local seafood that will inspire your pallet, and… Caesar salads perfectly prepared table-side. Allow our knowledgeable servers to delight you in our comfortable contemporary decor with their ability to anticipate your every dinning need. Or perhaps it is a lively social atmosphere you seek, in which case our bar or lounge might be your destination to enjoy one of our famous martinis with our delicious Burgers or Fish & Chips. Be wined, dined, and dazzled with an explosion of flavours.
Join us for lunch and dinner 7 days a week
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(506) 642-5586
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Costain
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our Boardroom can accommodate 20 guest for dining and presentations.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Manager: (506) 642-5586
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
What 98 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.7
service
3.7
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent food and service. A bit surprised by the lack of customers on a Friday night .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I have only dined at Ryan Duffy’s on 4 occasions, but I have never been disappointed. I enjoy the atmosphere, decor and staff. Staff are kind, caring and you can trust their recommendations on food and beverages. Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I’ve been at the Halifax location numerous times service quality always top notch. First time here was greatly disappointed. We ordered steak and it was poorly cooked, crazy amount of grizzle, peppercorn sauce was virtually tasteless. Service was good, place was tidy and clean with the exception of the bathrooms were terrible. I have high expectations considering our meal and one glass of wine each was about $130. Very disappointed that I chef or a cook Knowingly put that piece of meat on my plate and send it out

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

It was Chop Chop week in Saint John and we decided to go out. I made reservations on Monday for Saturday evening. We arrived on time the restaurant was a little busy but not crazy busy. We were seated in a cold back room away from everything and everyone. We asked to move! Given new seats all was good! Our waitress then insisted we place our food order and drink order at the same time. We did and then it just felt like we were on some kind of assembly line we were in and out from a three course meal in an hour. The food was again okay but not great. We have eaten here a few times in the past and it has been amazing so in future I would eat here again but avoid Chop Chop week.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We ate at Ryan Duffy’s for the first time during Chop Chop week. I was super excited to try the food out. I did enjoy the atmosphere and the our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. I do have to say, the food was just okay, especially for the price. Neither my husband, nor myself, was blown away. The mashed potatoes seemed gummy almost like instant potatoes and the beef Wellington was a bit tuff. The roasted veggies were also a bit bland. I don’t think this would a place I went again on an everyday basis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

I have only been to Ryan Duffy’s twice, but both experiences were great! The staff are very friendly. They keep composure during peek busy times as well. Great atmosphere and a menu that never disappoints. Beer selection is awesome and staff are able to make clear recommendations.
Will be back !!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 22, 2018

ChopChop Supper Fourth time at this restaurant. First time disappointed. The beef wellington was tough, the pastry soggy, the potatoes watery and cool. The server was not attentive and the location of our table was poor. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great Service, server had a good sense of humour.

Food was delicious and creative. Nice atmosphere. Good for a special occasion.

A little on the expensive side makes it for special occasions only. But a great meal overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

It had a Great environment and ambiance. It was quiet and not crowded. Our server was so friendly. We enjoyed our conversation with her.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Way too expensive for what it was, good food (not great) and poor service. Drinks brought early when we specifically asked for them with our main meal, waitress asking a question then walking away whilst we tried to answer (must’ve been really interested in our opinion) and the bill was probably twice what it should have been.

Unless you’ve recently come into some money, don’t eat here. We won’t be returning. Well done the chef(s), shame on everyone else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Great spot and great service. Got food promptly especially given it was a business meeting.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Poor slow service over priced food. Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 11, 2017

Food was mediocre took an hour for it to arrive .price was very high for the quality of the food .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Great food, service and location. Lunch menu is so affordable and unbelievable for the quality and quantity of food you receive. A nice environment is good for a special occasion , a business lunch or just a quick bite as service was very fast. Indoor parking is also a plus.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

It was OK. Server only greeted two of three of us, which was weird and when she asked us what we wanted to drink, she didn't take my husband's order and had to wait for her to return to tell her, he wanted a drink also. Overall, been to worse places but nothing stuck out about this place either. Looking for a cheap and lukewarm meal, go here for lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Our waitress saw to every need quickly and pleasantly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Very happy with all 3 courses. The appetizer was fantastic! Atmosphere was wonderful. Very impressed with the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

We went for the Chop Chop menu. Appatizer and desert we're amazing. Main dish was good. Service was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Came to have a nice Friday lunch with co-workers. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Good food but over priced. It needs to be excellent if you are charging $100 per person and it was not. Service a bit slow. Could not taste the crab in the crab cakes. Steak was 8 out of 10 but if you are charging $30 to $50 it needs to be 10 out of 10. Ceaser salad advertised as table side prepared and it was not.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 22, 2017

After a long, work weekend, my wife and I decided on this restaurant, which looked great "online".
We made our reservation online, and after arriving on time to a not very busy at all establishment, waited for someone to sit us. Our server was polite, and sat us at a quiet booth with a view. The wine choices were good, and ordered a glass each, with the intent on having a single malt scotch after dinner.
The order was simple ,,, two, almost identical dishes. One having a six oz. steak, and the other an eight oz. The eight oz filet mignon was very tough, the vegetables were virtually tasteless, the crab cakes tasted as though they came out of the freezer section of your local grocer, the bread was stale, and the PEI garlic mashed potatoes were garlic less !!
The eight oz steak was replaced, but took forever to come to the table, and even then was still quite tough on the outsides, (although cooked properly on the inside), and not very flavourful as well.
Very disappointed with the food, after what we expected to be a great meal. The server was spot on however, and received a personal tip to represent that. So, after paying our bill of well over $100, not staying for a dessert or the scotch which I was so looking forward to, we left with a bitter taste in our mouth for any Ryan Duffy Steak House anywhere !!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Very adaptable to our demands seeing we were quite a large group

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Great steak, sides and appies. Had a great experience and our server Joanne was attentive, not overbearing, and knowledgeable. Great spot for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

There as a group of friends / crew the night before the Saint John to Digby Race.
The food and service is always great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 18, 2017

This was our second time at Ryan Duffy's. Our first experience was excellent but this time was different. The kitchen seemed to be swamped. It took us 1.5hrs to receive our meal. We were given fresh baked buns to get us through until our meal arrived. Server didn't check in to see if we needed more drinks. Again - I don't think they were prepared for the Tall Ship festival and therefore did not have the staff required. Poor plating by the chef. One of the two steaks were cooked too well and the lobster tail was chewy due to overcooking. Not a great experience at all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 1, 2017

They claimed to be very busy but the place was not full. Service was ok. Food was average and a bit bland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and prices!
Loved the location and the scallops were awesome !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2017

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2017

The service and amenities were deplorable. The server was rude and inattentive. The washrooms were so small, you couldn't turn around and they were dirty. There was also no way to accommodate someone with a physicsl disability due to several stairs at the entrance of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2017

Used our Groupon and LOVED the meal! Everything was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! And what a deal! Will definitely be going back :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was yummy. Fantastic customer service....had a minor incident with a red wine spill by server on my husband....staff was very apologetic. Owner was fantastic and very apologetic. Incidents happen anywhere but it is how owner/staff responded so positively that we will definitely be back to the Saint John Ryan Duffys location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was extraordinarily slow. Our crackers and antipasto (nothing cooked) took 30 minutes to arrive. Was and hour and 15 minutes for the main. I ordered an hamburger ($18) , should be easy enough, it was dry as gunpowder and burnt around the edges, could not finish it, at least they did not charge me for it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was certainly not up to my standards of quality and presentation for this so called upscale eatery. I was embarrassed to have my guests eat here. The caesar salad was not fresh and the "drop off the bone" rib was as tough as leather. Service was good but just getting water for the table was 10 minutes. We arrived at 5:30 and they were not busy at all. Management has to keep kitchen staff, dressed in poor taste, out of the guest area.

I would avoid this place unless they lowered their prices greatly or separated the pub food from fine dining. I had a 1/2 price groupon and thankfully i did even though it still cost 60$ in a proper tip.

Overall, did the chef not see or review the food before it leaves the kitchen? I don't think so or he was off that day. It was embarrassing for the owner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Tremendously overpriced for the quality of the food, they were also out of our selection of wine and all others were overpriced. Not worth the $300 plus spent for our 45th Anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food! Great service. There was a guy also playing a guitar when we left, it was really nice!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Went to Ryan Duffys for a birthday dinner. We had a reservation but our table wasn't ready so we had to stand around for a bit in the entry way as others were seated. We got a few appetizers and the Burger week special. The apps were good and the burger was okay but not what we expected at all. The server was very friendly but she forgot our drinks twice, some dipping sauce twice and didn't bring extra aoli like requested. The meal was $150 for two which is pretty high for what we got compared to other local apors. Overall the experience was okay but likely won't return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was very good. Service was excellent. Only issue was that just before finishing the main course, we saw a mouse scurrying around the floor about 15 to 20 feet away from where we were sitting. Told server and the comment received was that they were normally not seen that early in the evening, but rather late at night. We know that the building in which the restaurant was housed is old and in an older part of the city, none the less, it was not a pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Sadly, was disappointed with last visit. Went for Valentine's day supper. Food was good, but server completely messed up our orders (even though she wrote them down). Restaurant wasn't even half full.

Order #1: Lobster Mac n Cheese. Was served lobster chowder (she doesn't like chowder). We politely asked for it to be sent back. Lobster mac n cheese came out in ~5 min. Kudos on quick recovery. It was very delicious.

Order #2: steak (medium rare) with side of garlic mashed potatoes. The steak was cut in front of me beside the table, but the scale didn't work (I think it was out of batteries). Was served the following: steak (medium, sadly) with fries, plus sides of mushrooms, asparagus, and gravy. Was so confused, literally thought I had another person's order. Politely told server I didn't order any of this and was missing garlic mashed. Server only took away the mushrooms, came back a couple minutes later with a small bowl of plain (not garlic) mashed potatoes. Server then disappeared for a while. After contemplating what to do, we were so hungry we just started to eat.

Despite the mass confusion, the food was actually very delicious. Server appeared very stressed out and was apologetic. We were not rude and just said "no worries, mistakes happen / no big deal". Only paid for what we specifically ordered though had to ask server to remove a couple of the extra items off the check. Not sure where things with the order went wrong and we still had a good night, but honestly was somewhat disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The planko Brie was amazing! The grill menu adds a great twist on typical restaurant food. Would not recommend items on the formal menu they are a bit overrated.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3