Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ryan Duffy's

Located near the Saint John waterfront at 1 Market Square, at Ryan Duffy's we strive to be your restaurant of choice and your favorite steakhouse. It is our great pleasure to offer you our renowned on-site dry aged Alberta AAA steaks, cut and weighed table-side, fresh local seafood that will inspire your pallet, and… Caesar salads perfectly prepared table-side. Allow our knowledgeable servers to delight you in our comfortable contemporary decor with their ability to anticipate your every dinning need. Or perhaps it is a lively social atmosphere you seek, in which case our bar or lounge might be your destination to enjoy one of our famous martinis with our delicious Burgers or Fish & Chips. Be wined, dined, and dazzled with an explosion of flavours.
Join us for lunch and dinner 7 days a week

1 Market Sq.
Saint John, NB E2L 4Z6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(506) 642-5586

Website:
http://www.ryanduffys.ca/

Executive Chef:
Matt Costain

Private Party Facilities:
Our Boardroom can accommodate 20 guest for dining and presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (506) 642-5586

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Ryan Duffy's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
See All
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
77 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very adaptable to our demands seeing we were quite a large group

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great steak, sides and appies. Had a great experience and our server Joanne was attentive, not overbearing, and knowledgeable. Great spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 15, 2017

There as a group of friends / crew the night before the Saint John to Digby Race.
The food and service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was our second time at Ryan Duffy's. Our first experience was excellent but this time was different. The kitchen seemed to be swamped. It took us 1.5hrs to receive our meal. We were given fresh baked buns to get us through until our meal arrived. Server didn't check in to see if we needed more drinks. Again - I don't think they were prepared for the Tall Ship festival and therefore did not have the staff required. Poor plating by the chef. One of the two steaks were cooked too well and the lobster tail was chewy due to overcooking. Not a great experience at all.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

They claimed to be very busy but the place was not full. Service was ok. Food was average and a bit bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and prices!
Loved the location and the scallops were awesome !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The service and amenities were deplorable. The server was rude and inattentive. The washrooms were so small, you couldn't turn around and they were dirty. There was also no way to accommodate someone with a physicsl disability due to several stairs at the entrance of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Used our Groupon and LOVED the meal! Everything was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! And what a deal! Will definitely be going back :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was yummy. Fantastic customer service....had a minor incident with a red wine spill by server on my husband....staff was very apologetic. Owner was fantastic and very apologetic. Incidents happen anywhere but it is how owner/staff responded so positively that we will definitely be back to the Saint John Ryan Duffys location!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was extraordinarily slow. Our crackers and antipasto (nothing cooked) took 30 minutes to arrive. Was and hour and 15 minutes for the main. I ordered an hamburger ($18) , should be easy enough, it was dry as gunpowder and burnt around the edges, could not finish it, at least they did not charge me for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was certainly not up to my standards of quality and presentation for this so called upscale eatery. I was embarrassed to have my guests eat here. The caesar salad was not fresh and the "drop off the bone" rib was as tough as leather. Service was good but just getting water for the table was 10 minutes. We arrived at 5:30 and they were not busy at all. Management has to keep kitchen staff, dressed in poor taste, out of the guest area.

I would avoid this place unless they lowered their prices greatly or separated the pub food from fine dining. I had a 1/2 price groupon and thankfully i did even though it still cost 60$ in a proper tip.

Overall, did the chef not see or review the food before it leaves the kitchen? I don't think so or he was off that day. It was embarrassing for the owner.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Tremendously overpriced for the quality of the food, they were also out of our selection of wine and all others were overpriced. Not worth the $300 plus spent for our 45th Anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food! Great service. There was a guy also playing a guitar when we left, it was really nice!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went to Ryan Duffys for a birthday dinner. We had a reservation but our table wasn't ready so we had to stand around for a bit in the entry way as others were seated. We got a few appetizers and the Burger week special. The apps were good and the burger was okay but not what we expected at all. The server was very friendly but she forgot our drinks twice, some dipping sauce twice and didn't bring extra aoli like requested. The meal was $150 for two which is pretty high for what we got compared to other local apors. Overall the experience was okay but likely won't return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was very good. Service was excellent. Only issue was that just before finishing the main course, we saw a mouse scurrying around the floor about 15 to 20 feet away from where we were sitting. Told server and the comment received was that they were normally not seen that early in the evening, but rather late at night. We know that the building in which the restaurant was housed is old and in an older part of the city, none the less, it was not a pleasant experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Sadly, was disappointed with last visit. Went for Valentine's day supper. Food was good, but server completely messed up our orders (even though she wrote them down). Restaurant wasn't even half full.

Order #1: Lobster Mac n Cheese. Was served lobster chowder (she doesn't like chowder). We politely asked for it to be sent back. Lobster mac n cheese came out in ~5 min. Kudos on quick recovery. It was very delicious.

Order #2: steak (medium rare) with side of garlic mashed potatoes. The steak was cut in front of me beside the table, but the scale didn't work (I think it was out of batteries). Was served the following: steak (medium, sadly) with fries, plus sides of mushrooms, asparagus, and gravy. Was so confused, literally thought I had another person's order. Politely told server I didn't order any of this and was missing garlic mashed. Server only took away the mushrooms, came back a couple minutes later with a small bowl of plain (not garlic) mashed potatoes. Server then disappeared for a while. After contemplating what to do, we were so hungry we just started to eat.

Despite the mass confusion, the food was actually very delicious. Server appeared very stressed out and was apologetic. We were not rude and just said "no worries, mistakes happen / no big deal". Only paid for what we specifically ordered though had to ask server to remove a couple of the extra items off the check. Not sure where things with the order went wrong and we still had a good night, but honestly was somewhat disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The planko Brie was amazing! The grill menu adds a great twist on typical restaurant food. Would not recommend items on the formal menu they are a bit overrated.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service was excellent, but be prepared to pay $$$ for it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had family from N.S. for a Christmas get together. Awesome all around and very pleased that there was a kids menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Yummy food and our server was very attentive and a great personality

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. However the food was expensive... Worth it but would not be a place I could go often because of the cost. I will go again but probably only for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We went for a girlfriend lunch date during Chop Chop week. Happy to say that the service was good and so was the food. Will definitely give them a try for dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had 4 appetizers instead of entrees. All 4 were fantastic ( coconut shrimp lollipops, calamari, crab cakes & maple glazed scallops). All 4 were yummy. Hot, fresh. Service was excellent. Will recommend. We are visiting on holiday in Saint John and very pleased with our meal , ambiance at Ryan Duffy's.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Cold food , empty restaurant, no reason for cold food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our server brought our rolls after our entrees were almost gone. Our proteins were great. Potatoes not so good

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was good, very flavorful. My pork was cooked perfectly. Atmosphere was good, low light. Not too busy or crowded, which is always a bonus. I find it can be a bit on the pricey side, but they have some reasonably priced items. Good wine/beer selection as well. I like Ryan Duffys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was a little disappointing, more fat and grissle than meat. Other than that the food was great. A little pricey for an everyday thing. Special occasions only. The staff was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 13, 2016

With the exception of the service, I would go back. The ambiance and food were great. Even though it appeared the restaurant was understaffed there were more than a few bothersome service issues. We were not informed that the displayed Sandwich board advertising a Valentines 3 course meal had a deadline of 6:30, we arrived at 6 and ordered at 6:35. We were informed we would not be able to have that choice. A wrong appetizer was delivered and yet there was no apology or offer to correct the error. Our wine bottle was on ice at such a distance that it required us to leave our seats. This was necessary as we seldom saw the waitress. I choose this restaurant for ourselves and two friends based on a wonderful dining experience that I had in Halifax. I was embarassed and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 6, 2016

As a family of 5 we were excited to celebrate our daughters accomplishments.
We were greeted by a not overly friendly host and taken to our table. But then had to wait for 25 minutes for our drink order to be taken, as we watched the lone waitress look after the desserts and final payment of a table near us. No water or bread was provided while we waited. There seemed to be No multi tasking. The meal came within a reasonable time.
It took long to get drink refills, and a dessert. Basic etiquette for serving did not seem present. More training needed. The food was good but the lack of service took away from the whole experience. Unfortunately, Not worth the over 300 dollar bill. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Ryan Duffy's in Halifax was always a great place for steak and the Saint John location maintains this consistency. The steak was perfectly cooked and the sides were excellent. The halibut was very flavourful but a bit dry. The escargot and coconut shrimp appetizers were both very good and the deep fried cheesecake was exceptionally decadent. The interior of the restaurant is quite rustic, similar to other restaurants in that historic building, so not as refined as the Halifax location, but it was warm and cozy on a cold winter's night. All in all a very good addition to the downtown Saint John restaurant scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Ryan Duffys. We enjoyed dinner, and ambiance was good. We suggest possible fireplace, more romantic setting ;)
Food was great, Steak perfect (and my favorite Fish) To make visit more personal they should offer to make fresh ceasar salad table side (with fresh shaved parmesan)

Limited drink menu, I'd suggest blended drinks (was looking forward to Margaritas)

Overall nice restaurant, for special occasion as prices are higher than the norm

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 9, 2016

The negative: our app was cold when it should have been hot. The kitchen just reheated in the microwave. They brought out the wrong dessert.
The positive: our server was friendly and accommodating. The main dish was lovely.

Over all our meal would have been $160 + tip. I would say the entire experience was not worth that, due to the lack of effort on making the food perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2015

The menu was a bit pricey but the food and service was excellent. Great variety on the menu. We went with a group for New Year's Eve. The waiter really focused on making our meal enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 18, 2015

My wife, using my money of course, took me to dinner at Ryan Duffy's in St John for my 69th Birthday. Great meal, great service. We have been coming to Ryan Duffy's ever since they arrived in Saint John and we have never had a bad experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was not plated nice nor did it taste very good. Fries where so salty they could not be eaten. Steak was tough, we were a party of four and all members feel the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 29, 2015

This restaurant is our "go to" restaurant for any occasion, special or not. The food is always incredible and the staff has always been great! Thanks so much for this wonderful restaurant in our Port City!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 18, 2015

My wife and I were celebrating our 46th anniversary with a long time friend from Ontario. Overall the atmosphere, service was excellent. If there was one flaw it was the Filet Oscar. The sauce was so spicy you couldn't taste the steak and the steak was dry. It was cooked properly but no internal juices at all and the sauce so spicy that it didn't help.
The vegetables were excellent. The greens were cooked perfectly. My wife said it was the first time she had had vegetables at a restaurant that were not over cooked, bland and limp.
They even offered up dessert as an anniversary gift. Silk Pie! Much appreciated.
All in all an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.