Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Ryan Duffy's

4.0
285 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Quiet Conversation
Located near the Halifax waterfront, at Ryan Duffy's we strive to be your restaurant of choice and your favorite steakhouse. We proudly hand-cut and weigh our Alberta AAA steaks table-side, we also offer a selection of fresh local seafood that will inspire your palet. Caesar salads perfectly prepared table-side. Allow our knowledgeable servers to delight you in our comfortable contemporary decor with their ability to anticipate you’re every dinning need. Experience firsthand why have won the "Consumer Choice Awards Best Fine Dinning" for five consecutive years and 'Best Steakhouse Award". If it is a lively atmosphere you seek, join us at our bar or fireplace lounge – sit back relax and enjoy one of our carefully crafted martinis or a cold pint paired with a delicious burger or fish & chips. Be wined, dined, and dazzled with an explosion of flavours.
Join us for Lunch, Weekend Brunch and Dinner 7 days a week ....Let the dazzling begin!

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday: Lunch:1130am-2pm. Dinner:5pm-10pm
Saturday-Sunday: Weekend Brunch 1130am-2pm. Dinner 5pm-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 421-1116
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Ryan Duffy"s is available for large functions, conferences, weddings or intimate gatherings in our welcoming, comfortable atmosphere in downtown Halifax. From 1 to 250 guests, let our dedicated team of professionals work with you to visualize and execute every detail of your event leaving you with memories that will last forever. Custom menus are available
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Heather Coffen: (902) 421-1116
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Ryan Duffys catering provides high quality, full service off-site catering in Halifax Regional Municipality and surrounding areas. We offer a complete off-site catering service specializing in new and innovative menu selections as well as classical favorites. Our wide range of menus will suit every occasion. We take pride in achieving and exceeding our clientele's expectations in every aspect of cuisine and service. Our dedicated team of professionals will work with you to visualize and execute every detail of your event, and guarantees that your event will be enjoyable and memorable.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sackville Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available on both Bedford Row and Sackville Street. Also Public lots are located on Hollis Street and Lower Water Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Within walking distance from Halifax Ferry Terminal.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 285 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Quiet
69% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was excellent however my wife got the wrong steak and all our steaks were over cooked. Very over priced for the food quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My steak was amazing, our starter was good, however they were out of the oysters and only had 1 desert choice. Our waitress (although nice) really needed some proper training. Not really the service I would have expected at a high end restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

I have been here a couple times now. Great service. The food is quite overpriced but they offer a groupon once a year to save . The table side salad is tasty and entertaining. The 65.00 steak was huge (14 oz) but had lots of fat on it (more than “marbling”. I would recommend this place. Overall I give 4 stars and will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Sent in thru Open Table that it was our anniversary and they did not realize until we mentioned it at the very end. Steak was no better for flavour or amount of fat than any steak place we’ve ever had at half the price. Mostly disappointed that the dry aged steak was not available. Any high end steakhouse at $200+ for two should not run out of dry aged steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a great time @Ryan Duffy's for Mother's Day Brunch with my family!! The prices were amazing and our server Paul was very attentive and had a great sense of humor!! Loved every bite!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very enjoyable, our Servers Vince and Brandy were excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great location......a bit pricey.....dated ambience....great food and good service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great service and ambiance, but for a second time the medium-rare steak was over-cooked. For a "steakhouse" this shouldn't happen?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We were on a date. It was great!! Todd gave us excellent service, as per usual. He’s the reason we keep going back. We’ve been to Duffy’s every 2 weeks for about 8 months. Foods always great!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I was using a Groupon, otherwise, I probably would not have chosen this spot. A long-standing Halifax, Steak House institution sets your standards high. The server was very pleasant and greeting at the door was top notch. Given the prices, I was surprised when you share an appetizer, Caesar Salad, that we were not offered separate plates, and found it odd...if not uncomfortable eating salad from the same plate. The steak was tender and done as requested, but other than that, it did nothing to stand out to me. I guess, given the price, two people sharing an app and sharing a dessert I had expectations at I would be recommending "Duffy's" to everyone. I did not order the "Aged Steak" after reading other reviews and went the steak on the menu. I don't expect to return, even with a Groupon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was great but my aunt was upset that she requeted a special dessert/acknowlegement at the end becuase i was celebraing my bday and nothing was noted or given.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Our meal was delicious arrived hot and the table side Caesar was exceptional. Fantastic service by Paul!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent waiter

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was mediocre, service was good overall. Thank god for the Groupon, other than that it would have been a total waste. Even with the Groupon we had it was almost 200$ (groupon for 2, wine and extras)... At that price range they are way better options in Halifax.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Ordered beef tenderloin medium rare, arrived blue rare, was returned and brought back rare; returned and back to medium rare. By the time got the steak (soaked in gravy) the potatoes and asparagus were cold and my partner had already finished his meal. Not expected to have to eat alone.
My partner ordered a striploin arrived over cooked but he didn’t return it.
It was our 3rd. time at Ryan and the food is getting worse time after time; so, we are done, not going there anymore . For the price, they should hire a good chef who knows how to cook steak properly.
What made us stayed, was our apologising
our young Lady server....not the food .
Done, done, done with you Ryan Duffy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Business Lunch went long. Service was slow. My burger was delicious (even with processed cheese?) but the salad was wilted and soggy. One of our clients was served beer in a broken glass.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Much more casual than I would have thought so it was a pleasant setting to have dinner and relax with friends. Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to provide attentive service. We all enjoyed our steaks - one couple split the strip loin. Nice bottle of wine at a reasonable cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We had a lovely 40th birthday dinner date at Ryan Duffy's. We used a Groupon to help offset the cost of the meal which was pricey, but typical for a steakhouse. The service was excellent. We were offered a free desert or two glasses of Nova 7 as a birthday treat on the house. The table side ceaser salad was wonderful and the meal was delicious. We couldn't eat it all and leftovers were taken home to enjoy later. After our meal we sat in the comfy chairs in front of the fire and enjoyed a glass of port. A wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2018

We enjoyed the nacho appetizer very much, although we thought it should be renamed potato skins. We ordered the dry-aged steak and unfortunately did not enjoy it as much as your other steaks. Oh well, it's good to try new things. Service was wonderful as usual.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The steaks were absolutely perfect: incredibly tender, flavorful and cooked perfectly. Also, my side of shrimp and Bernaise sauce were very good.
However the rest of the food was disappointing to adequate. My mussels were a good quantity but not only tasteless, they were fresh-tasting, like they had been rinsed in hot fresh water prior to service. Very disappointing! The garlic mashed potatoes were alright and the baked cheesecake was also, just alright. Given the price of the outing for the two of us, well over $200, we're very disappointed and not likely to return...even for an Anniversary. It should be noted our server, Vince, was excellent and catered to us very professionally and courteously, as well as Todd, a host.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This restaurant is very overpriced relative to the quality of food and overall service level. It is supposed to be known for dry aged beef however quite honestly it is not worth the price difference. I ordered an 80 dollar steak med rare and it came well done. They did offer me a desert for no charge however when you are paying that level of price for 10 oz of beef you dont expect it to be charcoal burnt and overcooked . I would not go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The best meal we’ve had in a long time. Only problem was that my “anniversary” was actually in April. Couldn’t have had a better date. Thanks Duffy’s for another magical evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Waiter was personable, but forgetful. He failed to deliver ordered items and couldn't remember where food was to be delivered. Steaks were good, garlic mashed potatoes were tasteless.

Overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Had wonderful service, fast, efficient. Great atmosphere and comfort. Awesome food done to perfection. An evening to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was fantastic as usual. The staff go out of their way to provide exceptional service. The chef is truly an artist and the dry aged meats are perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Excellent meal, excellent service. The steaks were cooked perfectly. It was expensive but good for a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

I thought that the food was a bit overpriced, but delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great value ....very good food....service was attentive

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Terrible service, from beginning to end. Entrees and apps over priced for the quality and taste. Terrible experience for everyone at our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Thank you for a wonderful dining experience! Warm, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere! Table overlooking the street with a view of the glowing fireplace was wonderful on a cold night! Corky our server and Bev (Val?) or host made us feel special! Thank you!

Deb & Paul

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

We had a lovely evening celebrating our anniversary. Great ambience and food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Service great, meals great, room cold, mouse running in dining area several times.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The prices were extremely high. The steak wasn’t very flavourful. Caesar salad was good and the deep fried cheesecake.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Of 9 orders of steak, 4 were either under cooked or over cooked. One steak order was medium well, came out blue, came out the second time rare and third time was very well done. No discount offered and it took three tries to get the bill correct.

For a high priced steak house it was very disappointing, no plans to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 12, 2017

This restaurant was a big disappointment. Our server was scattered and forgetful despite the place being almost empty. The food is seriously overpriced for the quality. You can get way better food much cheaper at many other places in Halifax. To top it off, a mouse ran across the floor twice!!! Won’t be back. Halifax has amazing food, but this place needs to close its doors or find new management/chefs.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Made a reservation for lunch on Saturday, when we arrived we had to wait around before being seated as there was only one waitress on who seemed completely overwhelmed despite there being only two other tables with people at them. We were given a brunch menu, when I mentioned we were there for lunch the server was unsure if they could do that, and went to check with the kitchen. Due to speed of service (this whole thing took about 20 minutes) we decided to go elsewhere for our meal. We have been to Ryan Duffy's before and have enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the friendliness and knowledge of the staff. All these things were missing on our most recent visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Our server, Vince, provided excellent service and is always most accommodating to our needs. We were treated like we are "very special" and our guests always come away most appreciative. Many thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Wonderful dinner from the start to finish. Friendly welcome greeting upon arrival. Service was excellent and genuine. Food was outstanding. The steak was perfect. Food was served in a timely manner and delicious! Great experience, we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Had a great time with my wife on date night. Wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Great Food & Service....great value with Groupon, for sure !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by Ryan Duffy's