About Ryan Duffy's

1650 Bedford Row
Halifax, NS B3J 1T2
View Larger Map

Located near the Halifax waterfront, at Ryan Duffy's we strive to be your restaurant of choice and your favorite steakhouse. We proudly hand-cut and weigh our Alberta AAA steaks table-side, we also offer a selection of fresh local seafood that will inspire your palet. Caesar salads perfectly prepared table-side. Allow our knowledgeable servers to delight you in our comfortable contemporary decor with their ability to anticipate you’re every dinning need. Experience firsthand why have won the "Consumer Choice Awards Best Fine Dinning" for five consecutive years and 'Best Steakhouse Award". If it is a lively atmosphere you seek, join us at our bar or fireplace lounge – sit back relax and enjoy one of our carefully crafted martinis or a cold pint paired with a delicious burger or fish & chips. Be wined, dined, and dazzled with an explosion of flavours.
Join us for Lunch, Weekend Brunch and Dinner 7 days a week ....Let the dazzling begin!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Lunch:1130am-2pm. Dinner:5pm-10pm
Saturday-Sunday: Weekend Brunch 1130am-2pm. Dinner 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Sackville Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 421-1116

Website:
http://www.ryanduffys.ca/

Catering:
Ryan Duffys catering provides high quality, full service off-site catering in Halifax Regional Municipality and surrounding areas. We offer a complete off-site catering service specializing in new and innovative menu selections as well as classical favorites. Our wide range of menus will suit every occasion. We take pride in achieving and exceeding our clientele's expectations in every aspect of cuisine and service. Our dedicated team of professionals will work with you to visualize and execute every detail of your event, and guarantees that your event will be enjoyable and memorable.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on both Bedford Row and Sackville Street. Also Public lots are located on Hollis Street and Lower Water Street

Public Transit:
Within walking distance from Halifax Ferry Terminal.

Private Party Facilities:
Ryan Duffy"s is available for large functions, conferences, weddings or intimate gatherings in our welcoming, comfortable atmosphere in downtown Halifax. From 1 to 250 guests, let our dedicated team of professionals work with you to visualize and execute every detail of your event leaving you with memories that will last forever. Custom menus are available

Private Party Contact:
Heather Coffen: 9024211116x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

House-made Chocolate Pate
Panko Crusted Haddock
Annapolis Apple Crisp
Fish and Chips
Shrimp, Chicken & Bacon
Classic Burger
2PC Fish and Chips
Seafood Bounty
Chicken and Brie Wrap
Chicken Caesar Salad
Blackened Chicken Wrap
Plougham's Platter
Filet Mignon With Chorizo Fried Potatoes And Grilled Vegetables
T-Bone Steak And Chorizo Fried Potatoes
6oz Bacon wrapped  Tenderloin
The new Beef Fielt Neptune
Buttermilk Pancakes

Ryan Duffy's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
5 More
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (11)
romantic (9)
See All
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ordered wine by the bottle, used table w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Ordered wine by the bottle, used table wine glasses, were not switched out. Amuse-bouche (duck) tasty. Scallop appetizer x2 people, tasty but scallops over cooked. Raw osters great but no spoon for minioette. Steamed lobster perfect. Salmon slightly over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Our anniversary dinner was awesome!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband has just recently stopped being a vegetarian after 8 years. He was really craving a good steak. We had an amazing dinner! The lobster cakes and vegetables that came with it were really good. We also ordered the fried cheesecake. I'm still dreaming about that!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing, quality of food not ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very disappointing, quality of food not even comparable to that of chain steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

First time I visited. I know this resta ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

First time I visited. I know this restaurant has been in Halifax for years, I remember when it was on Spring Garden rd, and seeing Rod Stewart leaving. Friends have said it was much better in the day. I was a little disappointed, for what I paid.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I would recommend this place for special ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I would recommend this place for special occasions. I liked the presentation and quality of their food the best. We had their scallop and bacon appetizer as well as the baked brie appetizer. Both were very delicious and came in a timely manner. For our main dish, my date had the rib eye and I had the seafood spaghettini. The rib eye was cooked and seasoned very well and they offered many options for how it should be cooked and any extra sides that could be added. I enjoyed the spaghettini, it had a lot of seafood pieces in it and it was overall pretty tasty. The service was good, but not exceptional. Overall, a very nice ambience and I enjoyed the meal at Ryan Duffy's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was perfect We had the early ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was perfect

We had the early bird special and it was delicious

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our visit to Ryan Duffy's to celebrate our anniversary. The server was quite new to the restaurant but was very attentive and went our of her way to make our meal pleasant and relaxed. The food was delicious and they had a perfect, reasonably priced Malbec to go with my steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was staying at the hotel for 3 nights an ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Was staying at the hotel for 3 nights and had dinner there all 3 nights. I have to say the first 2 dinners were outstanding but the 3rd one wasn't on par. I ordered the seafood bounty which I had fell in love with the first night but this time it wasn't nearly the same portion and choice of seafood. The waitress was very kind and offered me a side if lobster since it was non-existent in my order. Overall still a lovely restaurant and service, food must depend on the chef working that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Food is delicious! I had the seafood bou ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Food is delicious! I had the seafood bounty and wow, you won't be hungry after this meal. Good service and fun ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Restaurant

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Great evening and great food. Our waiter was very attentive and provided exceptional service. Great date night. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really disappointed

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Unacceptable food for the price, would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Delish

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Everything was perfect.... Food and service. The food was delicious. Our server was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food was fabulous, st ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The quality of the food was fabulous, steak was tender and perfectly cooked, found it a little under-seasoned however. The smoked salmon app was great, although I actually found it a little too big for an app for one person. Dessert was fine, I had the crème brulee but felt it was nothing too special and was a little bland.

Overall a nice meal, but was a little pricey for what we received.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was amazing, and our waiter was even better. I wish I could remember his name, but he is definitely as asset to this restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening!!!! Food was fantastic an ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great evening!!!! Food was fantastic and Nancy was even better!!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening- will be back!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Spent our anniversary supper here- we are both 'foodies' to say the least and we often go to restaurants with no expectations to avoid disappointment! Everything at Ryan Duffy's was spot on. Decent wine, beer selection and the meat was cut table side. I had the Neptune (butter poached lobster tail and tenderloin) which nearly brought tears to my eyes it was so good! 6oz was plenty big with the lobby tail. BF had a sirloin and said his was great but the tenderloin was better. Small mix up with a side dish but the waiter was apologetic and he offered me a change free of charge. Service was excellent. Heater next to the table a bit warm but it was about -10 outside so understandable! All in all, I think we give it an A!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Had an enjoyable visit, great food, great service with a smile. Will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually better

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We usually give everything a 5/5 but this time the food wasn't as good. Service was still excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

this was the second time we have been there, great

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

both times we were there we had the same server , he awesome

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Place for an Incredible Steak Dinner

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

This place knows steak. Food is incredible, service is great and it's actually possible to have a conversation without shouting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey, but the food is worth it.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

One of the few places downtown i've eaten at that didn't make me regret my decision, good thing too, two people getting the cheapest steaks and 2 glasses of wine each was $130, no starters or desserts. I dont eat at fancy places very often, so for a once a year treat or so, it was different, in a very pleasant way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not coming back

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Service was outstanding, Ceasar salad, was outstanding, ambience was good, garlic mashed potatoes were bad, steaks were (I've DEFINITELY had better), Price was outlandish for what we received.

I do not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Great but Expensive

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

From the time we arrived we were treated to a wide array of personalities, from the greeter to the server. They were friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive. The food was fantastic and prepared exactly as we had ordered it. The final bill hurt a bit, but it won't stop us from going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

A birthday supper for my hubby and was excellent. Todd, our waiter, perfectly timed each course and brought us extra rolls as they were exceptional, warm and gooey and oh so awesome! I had the $25 dinner special of Caesar salad - exceptional - with salmon entree and lemon cheesecake for dessert. It was all delicious. Hubby had a large steak, perfectly cooked with baked potato. Both delicious and steak cooked to a perfect medium. As it was his birthday, he was presented with a gratis piece of chocolate silk pie - holy goodness! Since we dined early, drinks were happy hour priced, a bonus we were not expecting. Yes, it is a pricey restaurant, but well worth it for special occasions. We will be back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

enjoyed our meal great service and good ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

enjoyed our meal great service and good food all at a reasonable price.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

cold food

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

the wait staff was top notch, but the main entree was served cold, it was cooked correctly but served cold and the desert was poorly prepared. the wait staff did pick up on this.

for a premium resturant with premium prices, not the standards you expect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

My husband and I decided to have dinner at Ryan Duffy's to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We have been to the restaurant recently for the $25 three-course menu and enjoyed our meal, so decided to return and treat ourselves. Unfortunately, this dinner wasn't as impressive. We started with the table-side caesar, which was very good but not as flavourful as we've had before. We each ordered a steak for our mains - my husband went with the 16 oz. ribeye with fries and asparagus, and I ordered the 6 oz tenderloin (wet-aged) cut tableside. Our meals arrived, and we were both disappointed - my steak was overcooked (ordered medium, and there was no pink to be found). The garlic mash I had as a side was also disappointing - it had the consistency of boxed mashed potatoes, so I believe the potatoes were just very overworked and turned into glue.

My husband cut into his steak and was immediately presented with blood - not undercooked steak (he ordered his medium-rare) but a bloodline. He flagged down our waiter who was as confused as we were and returned the plate to the kitchen. He came back with the explanation that the steak was "bruised", and they were preparing a new steak. His new plate arrived (after I had finished eating) and he was even more disappointed. His steak looked more like a striploin than a ribeye, and although cooked properly, was extremely tough and very grisly. The fat was very hard, and there were sections in the middle of the steak that his steak knife couldn't get though because of tendons - certainly not what we were expecting for a $45 steak. He ended up eating less than half of it. Our waiter noticed we were disappointed and offered free dessert to make it up to us. My husband had the creme brule and I had the silk pie, which were both delicious. After we paid Vince returned with complimentary champagne (he knew it was our anniversary) which was also a nice touch. Even with free dessert, it was a very expensive and disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Very disappointing

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Well, this was very disappointing as other reviews were really very good so we were looking forward to it! First of all, the service was some of the worst I've seen. There were 3 of us for dinner, we were seated right away but weren't even approached for a drink for almost 10 minutes and at that time, was told - I need to see to another table I will be right back. Another 10 minutes, and after our drink told "I will take your order as soon as I give my other guest their check". We saw 2 other tables get served before he came back. Anyway, that was the night, but usually I overlook that if the food is great. We ordered steak and all 3 steaks (over $45 each) were very over done and actually barely warm. I think that's all I need to say - it was a very disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Special meal

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

We went for the Special (3 course meal) for the price we thought we would get very little food .we got plenty of food also had a good selection to choose from. our server Vince was great looked after all our needs all the time we were there he treated us like we ordered from the big menu we will go back again for the special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable evening at Ryan Duffy's!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Ryan Duffy's is my favourite restaurant to take business partners for a quiet business dinner ... and it is also my favourite place to take family and friends for a quiet and relaxing evening out.

Friday evening was another perfect dining experience with friends! Their Supper Club Menu was/is perfect (every evening from 5:00 - 6:30)! On this occasion ... as on every other occasion, staff were so welcoming and attentive. The service was exceptional ... allowing us time to chat prior to ordering ... and allowing us time between courses to just relax and enjoy ... and the food was great!

An exceptionally relaxing setting with such ambiance ... Thank you once again Ryan Duffy's. I so look forward to my next visit! Linda

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I used to go to Duffy's a lot when I wor ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

I used to go to Duffy's a lot when I worked down town. Now that I've retired, I only go on special occasions. I must say that this visit was very disappointing. Service was great, but the steak was dry and tasted burnt. They served the steak on top of fries that were wet for the most part. The house wine was bitter and was only given a small half glass.

Very disappointed with this and definitely not the high quality I've experienced in the past. This was not a great outing to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

It was OK

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

The overall experience was fine. While we were there the restaurant was not very busy. Our server was pleasant and professional, but not overly engaging. We initially felt a bit rushed and had to ask our server to slow things down. We order a shared salad and shared lobster/crab cakes to start and assumed the salad would have come first and then the crab cakes. Guess we should have specified, but they came out one after the other. One of us ordered the Surf & Turf special which indicated it included 1/2 of a 1.5 lb lobster. I have had many 1.5 lb lobsters and I question whether it was that big. Steaks were well prepared. Potato was dry. All and all it was just OK for the price.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Second time in a few months

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

second time in a few months I have taken guests there and have been disappointed. The steaks that were ordered Pittsburg rare came our medium-well - same as last time. service was slow and it was not a busy night. they did offer to get us new steaks, but we had plated our veggies, etc by that point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

IThe warm pretzel buns and jar of freshl ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

IThe warm pretzel buns and jar of freshly pickled vegetables made for a great start to our dinner! We purchased a tasting dinner paired with wine in a silent auction (thanks for supporting Easter Seals Ryan Duffy's!) and enjoyed both - great work on the pairings! Highlights of our meal were the steak (excellent!0 and the desserts. We each ordered a different dessert so we could taste more of them - the favorites were the chocolate pate and the fried cheesecake. Service was excellent!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time there. Enjoyed the meal immen ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

First time there. Enjoyed the meal immensely, service was good, not too pricey. All in all, a good experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, service and ambiance!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2015

Excellent Early Evening Dinner Special!

This is my favourite restaurant to go to after work with a client for a quiet dinner meeting. It is also my favourite place to meet up with my girlfriends for a relaxing and enjoyable dinner.

The early evening three course dinner is perfect. A terrific and affordable price for a lovely meal!

The staff are very professional and so welcoming. Such a pleasure!

I will continue retuening to this fine dining establishment!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced for quality of food

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

We were very disappointed. Our steak was over cooked, the mushrooms and onions were very bland and tasted mostly of cooking oil. The garlic mashed potatoes tasted as though they were made from a box. Had this meal been purchased at a diner we would would not have been shocked but when you spend 200.00 on a meal you expect it to taste like a 200.00 meal. We had mixed reviews from friends before making the reservation...only one person had recommended this restaurant...others had said to go to The Keg for better quality....however we had tickets for a show and did not want to risk being late...The wait at The Keg for a table would have been too long. We didn't bother to complain at the table because as I said we were on a time line and didn't have time for the chef to re cook the meal...we also felt we were well warned of the food quality and should have taken the advice of our friends.

On a positive note our server was fantastic. Quick and friendly. The rolls were great and we loved the pickled starters. The scallops and lobster tail seemed a little under cooked but had great flavor. The bloody ceaser was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

If only the food was like the service ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

My brother recommended this restaurant for a good place for steak and dinner. My girlfriend & I made a reservation and arrived about 5minutes before 7pm. Apon arriving, we were greeted very quickly and were sitting at our table beside the window in less than 2minutes. The server was fantastic and gave is adequate time to decide on what we were going to eat.

When we finally ordered I was 'up-sold' to this 28 day old aged steak that this place "specializes" in. I ordered medium, as I always do & was looking forward to it!

The food arrived, her salmon rice and scallops looked good, my steak looked better.

As I cut my steak it was very undercooked, no flavour, and very dry... Not sure if this is what they were going for, but that's not my idea of good tasting meat.

The potato were good and hot very small portion.

Overall very disappointed with the food

Very happy with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Overall a great dining experience!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Ryan Duffy's is a terrific restaurant!

The food is delicious and very well presented.

The service is outstanding from the second you walk through the door until you leave !

A very welcoming establishment !

This is a consistent operation- highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was mine and my boyfriend's first t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

This was mine and my boyfriend's first time in your restaurant and we very much enjoyed it. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We would recommend it to anyone. We didn't have to wait very long at all for our food to come.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.