About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Historic (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic meal. Pig ears a must. Serv ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic meal. Pig ears a must. Service was great and the food was delicious. Always a consistent spot for business meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply the BEST meal I have enjoyed in m ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply the BEST meal I have enjoyed in months! From start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great Sunday brunch. Eclectic, de ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch. Eclectic, delicious menu choices. We're gluten and dairy free and found many options. Make your own mimosas were a win!!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Rx and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our second visit to Rx and the food was as great as we remembered with seasonal specialties. Service was prompt and very informational. We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Being new to Wilmington we had heard rav ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Being new to Wilmington we had heard rave reviews of Rx Restaurant and Bar. Being a fan of local farm to table and fresh ingredients we were excited to find this restaurant. We decided to try it for New Years Eve. Usually not a great night for restaurants since they are usually very busy and quality sometimes is lacking.....Well, let me tell you that WAS NOT the case at Rx! The food and the service WAS OUTSTANDING!!! They offered a fixed price menu as well as their regular menu. The drinks and the food we both creative and delicious....We will be back soon! And, highly recommend this small quaint restaurant and bar off the beaten track....you won't be sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our special occasion New Years ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our special occasion New Years Eve dinner, first time eating at RX. Overall, we we're disappointed for the prices are high and servings are small. Ordered the sirloin medium and came out very rare. They we're very accommodating on taking it back to the cook, but one would think a restaurant with high menu prices would get that on point the first time. For the four of us, and our teenage daughters split a plate bill came to $162. Service was on point, but for us food was not anything tasty enough to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Our waiter Rick was great. Very friendly ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter Rick was great. Very friendly and the service was excellent. Loved the sweet potato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, generous Main courses and wo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, generous Main courses and wonderful flavors. Excellent service, good wine list with a superb small vineyard Pouilly Fuisse

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since this was our anniversary dinner, t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Since this was our anniversary dinner, the staff called ahead and asked if I wanted anything special. When we arrived, the menu had our names on it with a Happy Anniversary message. The staff could not have been any friendlier and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another memorable meal at my favorite Wi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another memorable meal at my favorite Wilmington restaurant. From the cocktails to dessert every bite was fabulous. Swiss card salad, shrimp & grits and a caramel chevre cheesecake. I had raved to my out of town guest and we were both very happy with our meals. My only criticism is the noise level can make conversation difficult. I will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service were impeccable, ho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, however there were two groups of extremely loud people. It was hard to tell if they were wasted or just obnoxious! I still will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been trying to get there since RX opened ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Been trying to get there since RX opened and finally made it. We won't be staying away, that's for sure. Had to have the Buffalo pig ears, great. Duck fabulous, never had better and I always go for duck when it is offered. Swiss roll for dessert, another hit! Super evening.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and drinks.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first experience at Rx and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first experience at Rx and we will DEFINITELY be back. And often. The food was creative and amazing. The cocktails were delicious and well thought out and it's a darling space in a cool, up and coming neighborhood. You'd be crazy not to try them out. Can't wait to go back and see what the daily menu holds in store next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always really enjoyed RX but the f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I've always really enjoyed RX but the food was really disappointing this time. Sort of uninspired and not particularly well-cooked. The food felt expensive as opposed to creative and inspired. I'm not giving up but I hope next time is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. We had an extra bonus as Tuesday was half price wine by the glass night. That was a pleasant surprise. I would recommend to anyone wanting great food. The noise level is a bit high but does not prevent conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious food well presented. Top notch service. A delightful evening with my sister and her husband who just moved to the area from PA. They will be back and we will too the next time we visit them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have visited this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have visited this restaurant many times and have rarely been disappointed with anything. The food is almost always amazing and the service has never been anything but spectacular. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is one of the best we ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best we have found in Wilmington. The food is absolutely wonderful and the atmosphere is quietly romantic. The service is terrific; our server was attentive, gracious and knowledgeable about the food choices. The menu changes daily based on the local available food. We will definitely be visiting the Rx Restaurant again soon.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great little restaurant! The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a great little restaurant! The food is excellent, creatively presented, and healthy "farm to table" fare. Go there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The food is consistently excellent. Knowledgeable staff. The drink menu is always fun to see and the seasonal libations are very original. Not a cheap place to go, but very much a value.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service great , noisy to the point of di ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service great , noisy to the point of distracting, streak could not eat it, their excuse it was free range, it was shoe leather, they have gone past the point of local farm and Carolina cuisine to inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

This was a dinner that I set up for my p ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a dinner that I set up for my parents' 40th anniversary dinner and they said they were so pleased with everything. There was champagne waiting for them when they got there and they even printed up a special menu for them saying happy 40th anniversary at the top. They loved the food and said that all the employees in the restaurant knew it was their anniversary and made sure to congratulate them. Thanks for going above and beyond to make their day special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a friend as an exceptiona ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Recommended by a friend as an exceptional dining experience. The recommendation lived up to expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked for a Friday evening, for me an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I booked for a Friday evening, for me and my wife (it was her birthday). Was busy when we arrived for our table at 7.45pm. We were seated quickly but it took a few minutes for anyone to see us, take drink orders etc. No big problem. When service did start, it was laid back and friendly. Was an interesting choice of food, a good variety and all of what we had was good. Portions were not enormous, but not tiny either - this type of restaurant isn't one you pick if you want to stuff yourself! The location is a little outside downtown so you'll need another uber if you want to go to a bar downtown afterwards... In summary we had a good meal and enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

RX was a great dining experience.. The o ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 9, 2016

RX was a great dining experience.. The occasion was a birthday and they had a special note put on the menu and remembered to put a candle on the dessert. Service was fantastic, food was excellent! We all had a wonderful time and would definitely come back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an amazing night from start to fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was an amazing night from start to finish. The staff contacted me four hours ahead of time to offer suggestions for making the night more memorable. I opted to have our menu custom written to say "Happy Anniversary" to my girlfriend and I, and the food was amazing. The service was fantastic and personable. I will most certainly be returning to Rx again soon

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything from the time you walk in the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything from the time you walk in the door to eating to paying your bill. The unique flavors and helpful advice from the staff. Was one of my favorite meals I have ever had out. I would recommend RX to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was not our first visit to Rx and w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was not our first visit to Rx and will not be our last. The meal was outstanding from beginning to end. The wait staff was attentive but not hovering. Our waitress was very pleasant. We did have a couple of questions she could not answer but she did find the answer and get back to us very quickly. Rx is a little pricey but the overall quality of the cuisine was well worth it. Not a weekly stop for us but definitely great for a special occasion or business dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved the pigs ear and the pork belly ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved the pigs ear and the pork belly appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic! Menu, decor, service and foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic! Menu, decor, service and food quality was impeccable. Would recommend to all

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rx does duck entrees better than anyone ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Rx does duck entrees better than anyone else in this town! I'm always pleased with my selections and the bartenders do a great job on cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time and enjoyed great fo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great time and enjoyed great food as always. This is our go to restaurant when we have guests from out of town. Celebrated my grandparents 65th anniversary and my husbands' 38th birthday. Staff was wonderful and fun, food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rx is a wonderful restaurant with great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Rx is a wonderful restaurant with great service and farm to table products. Shrimp and grits are a classic and must have. They use fine Riedel glassware with their wine. A definite plus.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. It definitely w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first time. It definitely was wonderful for mine and my husband's 1 yr wedding anniversary. Highly recommended . We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, chicken good, duck awful, ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, chicken good, duck awful, grossly, noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Food and cocktails were amazing. The st ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and cocktails were amazing. The staff and environment were superb. We have already recommended RX to several friends.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a truly great meal! Loved their cocktail ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2016

a truly great meal! Loved their cocktails and the pastry chef outdid herself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food! Phenomenal service...ask ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Delicious food! Phenomenal service...ask for Rick (waiter)!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was outstanding with the nois ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant was outstanding with the noise level. Something should be done to dampen the noise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.