About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Stree Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (87)
neighborhood gem (69)
special occasion (42)
See All
romantic (29)
great for brunch (29)
good for groups (26)
notable wine list (24)
hot spot (20)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork ...

Dined 3 days ago

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork, chicken,shrimp,fish) special. Presentation, seasonings and sauces not only looked delicious but entrees had that specialness of spices and sauces enhancing the meal without overwhelming and hiding the taste of the meat. Portions were just right, not too small and not leaving you stuffed. Our meal was worth every penny for taste and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a dining spot in Wil ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We were looking for a dining spot in Wilmington with a farm-to-table concept and Rx fit the prescription, pun intended! Innovative menu with great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Rx. M ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time dining at Rx. My boyfriend and I went here on our first date, and returned for our first year anniversary. Food is outstanding. I am a vegetarian and they have a Chefs choice entree which varies from plate to plate. Highly recommended to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us went to RX (first time) for ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Three of us went to RX (first time) for a special 70th birthday celebration. We were not disappointed. The menu is very unique and changes each day. We started with appetizers of the Crispy Buffalo Pigs Ears and the Hickory Smoked Chicken Wings. We just had to try the Pigs Ears—they reminded me of the side pork my grandma used to make. Both of the appetizers were unique and excellent. We also ordered a couple of the salads to share: Chicken Fried Egg Mixed Greens, and the Marinated Beets and Berries Salad—we enjoyed both. For the main course we each ordered something different: the Tuna, Pork Chop and Duck entrees—all were outstanding. We each tried them all. In addition to the great food and wine I have to mention the excellent service. Our waitress was superior—just the right amount of responsiveness, not over or under attention. This is a very unique restaurant and we celebrated a special birthday in the best possible manner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was delicious! Fresh food is a priority so expect a new money every day and meal. Wait staff was also very friendly and patient with our 2yo.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selection is always excellent, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu selection is always excellent, fresh and original. The yellow fin tuna was an excellent dinner dish with farro and fresh summer vegetables. Would highly recommend this dish. The blueberry dessert was a wonderful end to our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing fresh, truly farm to table. Our ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing fresh, truly farm to table. Our waiter could tell us where everything had come from and most of it was nearby. Creative dishes and Southern Charm.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Wilmington Terrific ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Best restaurant in Wilmington Terrific server

food5
ambience4
service5

One of best in Wilmington

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

One of best in Wilmington

food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Is "Southern with a twist" something you ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Is "Southern with a twist" something you'd like to try? If so, you should try Rx. Imagine low country comfort foods prepared by Peck's Bad Boy. The menu is interesting, decidedly unhealthy for the most part. The service is A+ -- articulate, intelligent, charming staff, all eager to please and delightful. My biggest complaint (other than the "Southern" part) is the noise. If I'm going to be in a restaurant this loud, let it be in Manhattan, please! But if you enjoy yelling at your companions (it does provoke an adrenaline rush), by all means make your reservations now for Rx. Oh, and be sure to enjoy one of their specialty cocktails. Or two, you big spender you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, gracious service

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We love Rx restaurant and usually go there whenever we're in town to visit our granddaughters. The staff is kind and accommodating, and the food is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MOB

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was excellent. The waiter took the time to explain the menu and described how the dishes were prepared. We actually tried a new dish I otherwise would not have tried upon his recommendation(pigs ears) and it was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a great dining experience -RX on Castle St

Dined on May 31, 2016

RX is that destination restaurant always serving up from local farms delicious food. My friends and I always come away talking about the duck or the flounder etc as the best we've ever had. The small quiet atmosphere is the icing on the cake!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic for Foodies

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The food here is amazing. I had heard about Rx from locals but had not had a chance to go. I live in another city but was spending memorial day in Wilm/WB. Made a res at Rx for a group of friends. We had a great experience. The cheese plate and smoked fish were great apps. Entrees we had duck, pork, shrimp/grits. All had amazing presentation and flavor. It's a great local farm to fork place. The space is an old pharmacy which gives it charm and a story. The actual visual appeal of the space is 'meh'. But when I evaluate a restaurant, i consider food, ambiance, lighting, music, service, etc. All of those items work here here of balance out. The food outshines any other aspect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time, but not the last!!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We had heard of Rx, but had not eaten there. When plans with friends changed, we decided to try Rx. We LOVED it! Great food, great flavors, great service and a great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

WHILE WE ARE AND WILL BE FANS, OUR DINNE ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

WHILE WE ARE AND WILL BE FANS, OUR DINNER LAST WEEKEND WAS DISAPPOINTING. FIRST, THE MENU SEEMED VERY LIMITED AND UNIMAGINATIVE. CAN'T BE SPECIFIC BUT IT APPEARED SUB-PAR. SECONDLY, OUR DUCK DINNER WAS OVER COOKED AND DRY. BUT, AS USUAL, SERVICE WAS FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT. WE WILL RETURN.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. I had the duck and i ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good. I had the duck and it was the best I gave ever had. My wife had the shrimp and grits. She said it was just ok kind of bland. Dessert was a great topper. The highlight for us was Lisa our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant was hyped by many. I did not ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant was hyped by many. I did not care for it at all. portions are very small for the $. Meat was overdone. Took forever to get our food. Not impressed.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Same ol

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had not eaten at RX in months and felt the place was still a little noisy. the food wasn't bad but still concentrated on pork. We ate there about 5 days ago and I can't remember what we ordered. Thought drinks were expensive. There are some great restaurants in the area; unfortunately, I think RX is not one of them.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

So disappointed!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to the RX several times for dinner and we're looking forward to having Mothers Day Brunch there. There were 5 of us and we had a 2:00 reservation. We were seated on time and our waiter quickly brought us our drinks. So far, so good. My mojito was delicious. However it went downhill from there. They were out of the starter that 3 of us wanted. Then we were told as we were placing our order that they were out of the fried chicken entree. So I ordered the monte cristo instead after our waiter told us how great it was. A few minutes later he returned and said they were out of that too. I got back my menu and tried to order the pork cheeks, but they were also out of that! I had to settle for the shrimp and grits which I really didn't want. I expect that when I make a reservation at a restaurant that they will have the food that is listed on the website!!!! It was so embarrassing to bring our family here to celebrate the day!!! Really put a damper on our day.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed having Mother's Day Brunch here - the food was very good and very reasonable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding daily menu. Wonderful service (Lisa is superb!). Great, vibrant ambiance. My new favorite restaurant in Wilmington.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved every aspect of this dining and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved every aspect of this dining and culinary experience. Including the friendly and expert wait staff. The pigs ears are amazing !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect choice for grad school graduatio ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Perfect choice for grad school graduation dinner. 4 of us all got apps and dinners...all different...and all exceptional. Portions aren't huge but appropriate. Would recommend to anyone looking for an upscale dining experience.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 6, 2016

The goal of using sustainable food is admirable, but the menu was very limited. Two of the four in our group were lactose intolerant, and there was almost nothing without milk or cheese. The duck was sinewy and tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tops in Wilmington

Dined on May 4, 2016

RX is our favorite, go-to place in Wilmington. The food is delicious, the menu creative, and the service and attentiveness of staff is top-notch. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wife and I had a very enjoyable evening meal Saturday. We were not disappointed as the offering was great. Great thing about this restaurant is that the menu will change each day. The chef always uses locally procured items which ensures freshness. We highly recommend this establishment for a great dining experience. It is "kid friendly" which is plus to parents who just want to have a night out. Thumbs Up!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Pembroke's went beyond my expectations and wow'd us with their amazing, fresh, farm-to-table experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wilmington restaurant!

Dined on April 28, 2016

I have been to Rx many times and I am always pleased the food and service. They do a wonderful job of getting local and fresh items when possible. Just try it, you will love it. If you happen to be in the area on Tuesday nights, wine is 1/2 price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, simple, elegant

Dined on April 24, 2016

The brunch menu at Rx is limited and we like that because it simplifies choices while providing something for everyone. Every dish has its own special Rx twist and the prices at brunch are reasonable (although the fresh squeezed, DELICIOUS orange juice is worth its weight in gold - true everywhere). Friends who enjoy coffee said it was very good. Remember that no alcohol is served before noon if you are looking for mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Brought 6 of us there f ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food. Brought 6 of us there for brunch on Sunday and everyone was happy with the food. I don't think that you can do wrong coming to this place.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

RX is great.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful farm-to table food and great service. In addition, they have a great craft beer list and and cocktails along with some decadent desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the fresh, local ingredients here ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I love the fresh, local ingredients here and the chef's creativity with the menu. The food is absolutely delicious from start to finish and the service is always great!

food3
ambience3
service4

Did not appreciate menu. Waiter "over th ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Did not appreciate menu. Waiter "over the top" in his description of items.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Neighborhood Establishment

Dined on April 17, 2016

We decided to eat brunch at Rx. What a delightful place. It is kid-friendly and the perfect place for all ages. Our meal was very tasty and well prepared. We will be going back for an evening meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

The primary problem at RX was that the f ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The primary problem at RX was that the food was lukewarm at best rather than being hot when served. I sent my lamb back to be warmed but it still came back on a cold plate. This has more to do with the kitchen than the waiter as he did his best, given the situation. It would have helped, if the plates had been hot when they were served to the patrons. We probably will not go back given our experience.

food5
ambience4
service3

Service little slower than normal, but a ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Service little slower than normal, but all around good as usual....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite local sourced restaurant.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our favorite local-sourced restaurant. We came here because of the Our State article and return because of the high quality food and great service. From the biscuit amuse-bouche to the end of brunch, it's all great. Best ham and bacon around. I bet they know the pig by name. Nice decor, great recycled tables. Servers and hostess are friendly and competent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodies will love it.

Dined on March 31, 2016

Foodies will love it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yummy

Dined on March 27, 2016

food was very delicious, highly recommend to others

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.