About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
11 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (81)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Rx. Nice size..not too big....lo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love Rx. Nice size..not too big....local ingredients...great flavors..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally amazing! Nice atmosphere, very f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

Totally amazing! Nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and delicious food and drinks. My girlfriend took me there for my birthday and we had the best experience at a restaurant in Wilmington. The waiter was the best server I have ever been waited on by. They were very good about making a substitution for food allergies. I will say the food was fantastic but because the menu changes I can't recommend a dish, but that is a good thing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was present very well and was a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was present very well and was a very interesting twist on southern cooking. Very enjoyable. The service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful service and really fresh food. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful service and really fresh food. Wonderful dinning experience. A little pricey, but worth the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Wilmington, NC hands ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best restaurant in Wilmington, NC hands down. It is good and unique food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a tasty dining experience? R ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Looking for a tasty dining experience? Rx offers locally sourced meats, seafood and vegetables prepared with a southern flair. Specialty cocktails and a decent wine list complement the varying menu offerings. Vibrant atmosphere featuring local artist's works. Be aware...noise levels can be daunting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Rx was outstanding. Very in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food at Rx was outstanding. Very interesting menu.

The service was also excellent.

However, the noise level was so high that we had a problem carrying on a conversation. Some noise abatement measures should be tried. Because of this we will not be returning.

It was so loud that after we finished our main course we immediately left and went to Star Bucks for coffee and conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Rx is truly a gem. We had a lovely meal ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Rx is truly a gem. We had a lovely meal filled with local ingredients and attended to by a lovely server. Highly recommend Rx.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second trip to Rx in the last few we ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our second trip to Rx in the last few weeks. Emerging as one of the hot spots in Wilmington with an innovative farm to table concept, but also traditional favorites to make everyone happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a group of 6 and everyone loved t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a group of 6 and everyone loved the food and service. We started with the Pig Ears and were assured by our server that people tried them and then made special trips back for them. Despite the trepidation of several members of our party, they were AMAZING. The entrees did not disappoint either! From the Tile Fish to the Pork Chop, luckily we all shared. In addition, the small plates were a hit and the pork belly and clams were spectacular.

WE will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was simply amazing. Tried very diff ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was simply amazing.

Tried very different foods and loved the flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We go to RX about every month and always ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We go to RX about every month and always find the food to be uniquely good. We usually rely on recommendations of the servers who in most cases are very knowledgeable and hold informed opinions. This evening's meal was very good except for the pork chop was a bit chewy.

The spicy flavors and vegetables accompanying it were very good. My partner very much enjoyed the red drum. Their seafood is almost always exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service, great food. Lots of fun.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service, great food. Lots of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and the "specialty" drinks were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and the "specialty" drinks were A+. Rick our server was wonderful, professional and efficient. Dining on a Wednesday celebratory dinner I wished I budgeted more than the typical 20% gratuity because Rick was well deserving of so much more. Rick, I will remember your kindness when I return with more $$ in my pocket. This was my friend's first time here and she was very impressed the food, the service, the ambiance so very on point. Did I mention this was on a Wednesday? Absolutely lovely, thank you to all the staff for making the Rx experience so Rx'ie! From the darling "Welcome" at the entrance, to the seating placement, the drinks, the food, the doggy bag and the "We'll see you next time" at the open door on the way out. Everything was on point and so very special. If you want a lovely experience, my prescription would be the "Rx". Thank you all for such a memorable time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience when I go ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a wonderful experience when I go to RX. Thank you for another wonderful night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous anniversary dinner, impeccable ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fabulous anniversary dinner, impeccable service, and over the top delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellent service!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheese Tray and Pig Ears were yummy! Por ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cheese Tray and Pig Ears were yummy!

Pork Belly was dry and uninspiring!

Creme Brûlée was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Best food I've had in Wilmington. Delici ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best food I've had in Wilmington. Delicious apps and entrees; fair prices. Great service. Fantastic cocktail. Great dessert. This place is a gem. Best duck I've ever had; and the pimento cheese app is just to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a picky foodie... This was easily o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I'm a picky foodie...

This was easily one of my top 10 meals ever! Everything my fiancé and I got was amazing - and we each had 3 courses and 2 drinks. Plus, the services was great. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second trip was a great evening for two ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second trip was a great evening for two couples that don't get to see each other very often. Wonderful friendly, knowledgeable service, and a varied menu and lovely wine list. Highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting the best food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was great and food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The dining experience was great and food was delicious! Also, our server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I dined with a group of 8 family and fri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I dined with a group of 8 family and friends. Overall, the portions were on the small side. Two members of our party ordered the fried chicken. Both orders arrived overcooked, to the point where the skin was very difficult to cut through and the meat beneath was dry and shriveled. This meal came with blackberries coated in pepper jelly. The blackberries would have been great just by themselves. The pepper jelly coating only made them too spicy to eat. We let the waitress know about the problems and she took the fried chicken meals off of our bill. The other reviews of this restaurant are great so our experience might be an isolated incident. I'm willing to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Rick was a great server, made the evenin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Rick was a great server, made the evening! Fried tomatoes with pimento cheese are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at RX and I'll ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second time at RX and I'll have to say, it was better than the first. The wait staff was attentive, the food was delicious and the wine recommendation was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork, chicken,shrimp,fish) special. Presentation, seasonings and sauces not only looked delicious but entrees had that specialness of spices and sauces enhancing the meal without overwhelming and hiding the taste of the meat. Portions were just right, not too small and not leaving you stuffed. Our meal was worth every penny for taste and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were looking for a dining spot in Wil ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were looking for a dining spot in Wilmington with a farm-to-table concept and Rx fit the prescription, pun intended! Innovative menu with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining at Rx. M ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our second time dining at Rx. My boyfriend and I went here on our first date, and returned for our first year anniversary. Food is outstanding. I am a vegetarian and they have a Chefs choice entree which varies from plate to plate. Highly recommended to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us went to RX (first time) for ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Three of us went to RX (first time) for a special 70th birthday celebration. We were not disappointed. The menu is very unique and changes each day. We started with appetizers of the Crispy Buffalo Pigs Ears and the Hickory Smoked Chicken Wings. We just had to try the Pigs Ears—they reminded me of the side pork my grandma used to make. Both of the appetizers were unique and excellent. We also ordered a couple of the salads to share: Chicken Fried Egg Mixed Greens, and the Marinated Beets and Berries Salad—we enjoyed both. For the main course we each ordered something different: the Tuna, Pork Chop and Duck entrees—all were outstanding. We each tried them all. In addition to the great food and wine I have to mention the excellent service. Our waitress was superior—just the right amount of responsiveness, not over or under attention. This is a very unique restaurant and we celebrated a special birthday in the best possible manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was delicious! Fresh food is a priority so expect a new money every day and meal. Wait staff was also very friendly and patient with our 2yo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The menu selection is always excellent, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu selection is always excellent, fresh and original. The yellow fin tuna was an excellent dinner dish with farro and fresh summer vegetables. Would highly recommend this dish. The blueberry dessert was a wonderful end to our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing fresh, truly farm to table. Our ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing fresh, truly farm to table. Our waiter could tell us where everything had come from and most of it was nearby. Creative dishes and Southern Charm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Wilmington Terrific ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Best restaurant in Wilmington

Terrific server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of best in Wilmington

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of best in Wilmington

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Is "Southern with a twist" something you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Is "Southern with a twist" something you'd like to try? If so, you should try Rx. Imagine low country comfort foods prepared by Peck's Bad Boy. The menu is interesting, decidedly unhealthy for the most part. The service is A+ -- articulate, intelligent, charming staff, all eager to please and delightful. My biggest complaint (other than the "Southern" part) is the noise. If I'm going to be in a restaurant this loud, let it be in Manhattan, please! But if you enjoy yelling at your companions (it does provoke an adrenaline rush), by all means make your reservations now for Rx. Oh, and be sure to enjoy one of their specialty cocktails. Or two, you big spender you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Excellent food, gracious service

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We love Rx restaurant and usually go there whenever we're in town to visit our granddaughters. The staff is kind and accommodating, and the food is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

MOB

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was excellent. The waiter took the time to explain the menu and described how the dishes were prepared. We actually tried a new dish I otherwise would not have tried upon his recommendation(pigs ears) and it was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a great dining experience -RX on Castle St

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

RX is that destination restaurant always serving up from local farms delicious food. My friends and I always come away talking about the duck or the flounder etc as the best we've ever had. The small quiet atmosphere is the icing on the cake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic for Foodies

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food here is amazing. I had heard about Rx from locals but had not had a chance to go. I live in another city but was spending memorial day in Wilm/WB. Made a res at Rx for a group of friends. We had a great experience. The cheese plate and smoked fish were great apps. Entrees we had duck, pork, shrimp/grits. All had amazing presentation and flavor. It's a great local farm to fork place. The space is an old pharmacy which gives it charm and a story. The actual visual appeal of the space is 'meh'. But when I evaluate a restaurant, i consider food, ambiance, lighting, music, service, etc. All of those items work here here of balance out. The food outshines any other aspect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First time, but not the last!!

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had heard of Rx, but had not eaten there. When plans with friends changed, we decided to try Rx. We LOVED it! Great food, great flavors, great service and a great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.