Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 2:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (26)
Authentic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Seasonal (15)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great Beer (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was excellent from the minute we arrived… Storm approaching and the hostess had the door open for us so that we could run in quickly. That high level of service continued through to our departure. Food was delightful - fresh, flavorful and clever (cheese pairings are perfect!). Nice wine selection, with a range of options by the glass. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It has been amazing every time we go! Never disappoints!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were blown away by the creativity and quality of our dinner. The blending of unusual ingredients led to some incredible tastes. This is a perfect model for farm to table excellence. (even the basil was extraordinary!!) We shared several small plates and then had two awesome desserts. The nightly cocktail special was off the charts good. Our waitress was incredibly friendly and gave us some excellent advice on ordering. She too clearly has a love of food and her service style was attentive without being overbearing. We live in NY and are looking to possibly relocate to Wilmington over the next few years. We cant wait to go back and eat at RX again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Introducing potential new Wilmingtonians to one of our fav local resturants! We started with the Pigs Ears and they were hooked from there. Everything is unique and beautifully prepared and served by professional and knowledgable staff. No way to go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service and experience. Y the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is by far one of the best restuarants in the Wilmington area The menu is original The food is local and outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food here is always great! And I love that it is locally sourced, so meals are often creative improvements on familiar themes. Portions are satisfying and the service is very accommodating.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Tastes like Thailand! Can't wait to go back and great service

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food. Daily menu changes that allow for some staples and others that revolve around all local ingredients. Service was professional and excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant in Wilmington. he food is always excellent. The drinks are delicious. It is a great place for a special occasion or just to hand out with friends. The appetizers are great. The food is always fresh and local.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food great service good value have eaten here multiple times and will continue to go back

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Had heirloom tomatos and soft shell crab. Both very good as expected. Server was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere is the hallmark in my opinion. Price might have exceeded value this time by a bit, but no complaints.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I love RX. Unique dining atmosphere and great food! The service is phenomenal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went to Rx for anniversary dinner and had a wonderful time. They made a customized menu for us to take home. Their cocktails were delicious start to meal. A wonderful place to celebrate or just have a great meal. "Farm to table" in the most authentic way without the pretense that often comes with that term. The staff was friendly and the interior was nicely decorated with pieces by local artists.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had our 10th wedding anniversary dinner there and were very pleased. It was our first time to this restaurant.
The service was excellent as was the food. I called for reservations and was asked if it was a special occasion so when I told them it was our wedding anniversary they presented us with a menu with our names and how many years we were celebrating.
Very nice touch.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Order away. The kitchen has really presented and prepared a tip top menu. I can't come up with anything to nitpick. Absolutely amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delicious, local ingredients make for delicious, top-notch meals. We loved our dining experience and will definitely return. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Rx is fast becoming one of our go-to places for special occasions. The food is always creative and makes extensive use of locally sourced ingredients. Service is excellent. Cocktails are delicious. All our visits here have been terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious options and so fresh! Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Five of us went for Father's Day. Everyone got something a little different and of course, we shared. Food was excellent and the build your own Mimosas were great at 20.00 for sparkling wine and fresh squeezed orange juice. I would do recommend RX!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great time and great staff. Food certainly didn't disappoint. Went there for Father's Day and couldn't have found a better place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Tried this place while on a visit to Wilmington. Food and service were good, and concept of small plates to share is great. Food was generally very heavy and not carefully presented. Interesting place, but seems more like the efforts of an average cook rather than a creative chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful crispy spiced pigs ears shared as a starter. Great soft shell crab. Very attentive service. Hard surfaces do mean that it can get noisy -but worth putting up with for such fabulous food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Reserved a table and stated it was a 40th Anniversary celebration. When my wife and I arrived we were greeted with "Happy Anniversay". We sat down and the menus had "Happy 40th Anniversary" printed on the top. That was a great surprise and a very nice personal touch. Service outstanding and the food was excellent. We will be back and recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our server, Gretchen, was very in tune with our dining needs. And as always, the food and beverages were exceptional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This has to be one of Wilmington's best restaurant. We have dined at RX several times and never failed to be impressed by the food and the service. Wonderful atmosphere with local art displayed for purchase. We will be back for more delicious and creative meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We always have a wonderful experience at RX. We celebrated our anniversary this time. Our server, Rick, was very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Took my wife there, it was great and the server was amazing! From Chicago and would place that against any of the up and coming Restaurants!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent in every way. And I love how they use local ingredients in everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always RX is fantastic. Outstanding food, drinks, and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My fave restaurant in Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

From start to finish, everything was lovely. They even printed a personalized menu for my husband's birthday. While all the food was excellent, I think the starters were the most creative. We had the buffalo pig ears (as crazy as it sounds, this may have been my favorite), the pork belly with grits, followed by the pork shoulder and duck for entrees. We also enjoyed the chèvre cheesecake for dessert. Sarah took great care of us and gave wonderful service. Will definitely be back the next time we are in Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our absolute favorite spots! Loved that they had a vegetarian main dish this time and it was DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great dinner- in fact sent my sister there the following night while in town! Loved every course and dessert was amazing!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch was the meal, excellent food, good service and reasonable price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All around great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Again the service was impeccable but it seems there really isn't a manager at the restaurant

We had been at our table about an hour and a half and this guy comes up to us and says you have to leave this is my table

No manager no hostess just a nice friendly confrontation

Food is OK but they seem stuck on this North Carolina rural cuisine that quite honestly is not that appealing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

👍👍👍👍👍👍 We took friends there and everyone cleaned their plates. We'll all be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a group of 6 coke for my fiance's birthday because we knew it was delicious. Our waitress was great and the food was delicious. It was a busy night but they still got the food out in a reasonable time and was cooked as requested! Go if you get the chance! One of our favorite spots in town!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful good and staff.. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.