Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (36)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (12)
Historic (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Organic (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Fun (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant,delicious food and super cool ambience. Unfortunately the night we were there we had an awful female waitress who's service was average. This was our first bad service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best restaurants in the area. Great food and drinks. Super service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was meh.. Food was delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and and wine. RX never disappoints m we will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We loved our experience at Rx. The service was fantastic - excellent recommendations and guidance, our wine and water glasses were never empty, and our waiter was friendly and fun. The food was so creative and flavorful. I had the Duck Confit and would recommend it to anyone. The Earl Grey Creme Brulee was the best thing I have ever tasted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really wonderful and the chef went above and beyond to handle my allergy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice meal, good food with a variety of menu options. Good wine list also. If you enjoy Southern Cuisine it's a must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

In general, this is a great place. Cool art on the walls. I had a vegetarian farro plate that was excellent. However my husband had the pork chop and his meal was overwhelmed by the salt level. So we suggest you ask them to hold the salt!
The only other problem was the noise level. It truly became unbearable---walking out into the quiet evening was an absolute relief!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first visit to RX.....We were greeted with big smiles and a welcome by the host and hostess.
The restaurant was nicely done and the seating was comfortable, not on top of the next table.
The appetizers were very good. The service was attentive and professional. Corking fee was fair at $15. Their wine list was pretty good.
The only downside to the meal was my wife ordered the special of the evening...sheep head fish.
The fish was way too salty and over cooked. For $27 it should have been much better. The wait staff did ask my wife if she would like something else but our meal was almost over and she wasn't up to waiting for a replacement dinner...The right thing to have done was take it off our bill. That gesture was never made and because of it, we will not be going back...
You should give RX a try....The menu is farm to table and had interesting menu items....
One bad entry shouldn't take this restaurant off your list....it is however off of ours....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Truly creative and absolutely delicious menu choices. Portion size and the taste of our various dishes (pork belly, beet salad, crispy, yet tender fried pig ears and country pate spread with pickled peppers etc) were all incredible. Service was quite good, and our waiter was very knowledgeable, runners and bussers were quick to remove dishes and used cutlery (almost too quick, had a beer and appetizer removed before we were finished with them!) Other than feeling a tad rushed, our dining experience was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who appreciates quality and creative dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I enjoyed our dinner!! The food was amazing and I loved the atmosphere!! It was my fiance's birthday and everyone wished him happy birthday!! We felt so welcomed and the waitstaff was amazing!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful all around!!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! This was quite possibly the best meal I've had in months. After a very long day in training, I had dinner to enjoy. The sweet potato soup was velvety and served piping hot. The farm egg and farro with butternut squash, mushrooms, carrots and kale was filling, nutritious and so very good. The salted caramel mousse was rich yet light. And, the staff was very warm and polite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The clams with pork belly, tomatoes and kale were so exquisite that I could have eaten two bowls of them and called it a day. My daughters loved the sheepshead with grilled romaine, baby carrots and beets and the beet salad. We shared the warm apple pie with ice cream, more like a crumble tart than a pie, but delicious.
Our waiter was attentive, but apparently untrained. He didn't know where to place the flatware, failed to open the wine, and was slow to remove plates. He was pleasant and I'm sure he will learn. It certainly wouldn't deter me from going again to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wow! I was really impressed with the drinks and food here. I almost never order cocktails, but the Rx Old Fashioned was spot on. The starters were very good, but the entrees were over the top excellent! I had the mahi-mahi and shrimp on a risotto, my son had the sheepshead on grilled romaine. Both had very adequate portions, delicious fresh sauces . I really like sheepshead and it is great to see restaurants use this locally caught option. The cornbread was delicious too and GF! We didn't find the noise level high and I really liked the way the tables were staggered so that there was not someone at your elbow! Great service. I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good local place to eat with locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The wine was excellent. The staff was excellent. The only downside was that the space was a little noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far one of the best restaurants in the Wilmington area. We frequent this restaurant several times a quarter and each time The service, Food, and quality is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First visit. Will definitely return. Atmosphere could be more cozy and intimate, but the food
was outstanding!!!! Equally healthful and delicious!! Love that the ingredients are locally sourced!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Location is not optimal, but the food is creative and fresh, and the service excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

RX always comes through for a Sunday pre-Valentine brunch. Shrimp & Grits and trout were hot items at our table. Highly recommend for Sunday Brunch as well as Dinner.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We found RX last minute for an early Valentine's Day and weren't sure what to expect. The ambiance was casual and the servers were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We tried pig ears, which doesn't initially sound appetizing, but they were great! The duck was also amazing. RX did not disappoint. We are looking to return in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions or just want a great meal. You must try the pigs ears.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I had an amazing experience celebrating my birthday.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was fantastic and the food was delicious! I especially liked the local art decor. Very yummy brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Rx Restaurant is a very unique dining experience in the quaint downtown of Wilmington, NC. The food is fresh and the chefs at Rx are very creative and talented. The smoked wings are amazing as was the entrees. Highly recommend. The cost is a little on the high side, but is great for special occasions and first impressions.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and the service were both very good! Wine was reasonably priced and good. My husband enjoyed one of there special cocktails. We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good service with Rick the good us sometimes sketchy but tonight the entries were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Rx is a very popular and hip restaurant in the city of Wilmington, slightly off the beaten path but worth the drive. Great "farm to table" preparation, an innovative menu, and excellent craft cocktails --- totally aligned with what's great about today's fine dining cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fantastic meal. Pig ears a must. Service was great and the food was delicious. Always a consistent spot for business meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Simply the BEST meal I have enjoyed in months! From start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch. Eclectic, delicious menu choices. We're gluten and dairy free and found many options. Make your own mimosas were a win!!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our second visit to Rx and the food was as great as we remembered with seasonal specialties. Service was prompt and very informational. We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Being new to Wilmington we had heard rave reviews of Rx Restaurant and Bar. Being a fan of local farm to table and fresh ingredients we were excited to find this restaurant. We decided to try it for New Years Eve. Usually not a great night for restaurants since they are usually very busy and quality sometimes is lacking.....Well, let me tell you that WAS NOT the case at Rx! The food and the service WAS OUTSTANDING!!! They offered a fixed price menu as well as their regular menu. The drinks and the food we both creative and delicious....We will be back soon! And, highly recommend this small quaint restaurant and bar off the beaten track....you won't be sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our special occasion New Years Eve dinner, first time eating at RX. Overall, we we're disappointed for the prices are high and servings are small. Ordered the sirloin medium and came out very rare. They we're very accommodating on taking it back to the cook, but one would think a restaurant with high menu prices would get that on point the first time. For the four of us, and our teenage daughters split a plate bill came to $162. Service was on point, but for us food was not anything tasty enough to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter Rick was great. Very friendly and the service was excellent. Loved the sweet potato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, generous Main courses and wonderful flavors. Excellent service, good wine list with a superb small vineyard Pouilly Fuisse

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Since this was our anniversary dinner, the staff called ahead and asked if I wanted anything special. When we arrived, the menu had our names on it with a Happy Anniversary message. The staff could not have been any friendlier and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another memorable meal at my favorite Wilmington restaurant. From the cocktails to dessert every bite was fabulous. Swiss card salad, shrimp & grits and a caramel chevre cheesecake. I had raved to my out of town guest and we were both very happy with our meals. My only criticism is the noise level can make conversation difficult. I will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, however there were two groups of extremely loud people. It was hard to tell if they were wasted or just obnoxious! I still will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.