Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Casual (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Seasonal (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great Beer (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Organic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious options and so fresh! Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Five of us went for Father's Day. Everyone got something a little different and of course, we shared. Food was excellent and the build your own Mimosas were great at 20.00 for sparkling wine and fresh squeezed orange juice. I would do recommend RX!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful crispy spiced pigs ears shared as a starter. Great soft shell crab. Very attentive service. Hard surfaces do mean that it can get noisy -but worth putting up with for such fabulous food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Reserved a table and stated it was a 40th Anniversary celebration. When my wife and I arrived we were greeted with "Happy Anniversay". We sat down and the menus had "Happy 40th Anniversary" printed on the top. That was a great surprise and a very nice personal touch. Service outstanding and the food was excellent. We will be back and recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our server, Gretchen, was very in tune with our dining needs. And as always, the food and beverages were exceptional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This has to be one of Wilmington's best restaurant. We have dined at RX several times and never failed to be impressed by the food and the service. Wonderful atmosphere with local art displayed for purchase. We will be back for more delicious and creative meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We always have a wonderful experience at RX. We celebrated our anniversary this time. Our server, Rick, was very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Took my wife there, it was great and the server was amazing! From Chicago and would place that against any of the up and coming Restaurants!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent in every way. And I love how they use local ingredients in everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always RX is fantastic. Outstanding food, drinks, and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My fave restaurant in Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

From start to finish, everything was lovely. They even printed a personalized menu for my husband's birthday. While all the food was excellent, I think the starters were the most creative. We had the buffalo pig ears (as crazy as it sounds, this may have been my favorite), the pork belly with grits, followed by the pork shoulder and duck for entrees. We also enjoyed the chèvre cheesecake for dessert. Sarah took great care of us and gave wonderful service. Will definitely be back the next time we are in Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our absolute favorite spots! Loved that they had a vegetarian main dish this time and it was DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great dinner- in fact sent my sister there the following night while in town! Loved every course and dessert was amazing!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch was the meal, excellent food, good service and reasonable price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All around great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Again the service was impeccable but it seems there really isn't a manager at the restaurant

We had been at our table about an hour and a half and this guy comes up to us and says you have to leave this is my table

No manager no hostess just a nice friendly confrontation

Food is OK but they seem stuck on this North Carolina rural cuisine that quite honestly is not that appealing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

👍👍👍👍👍👍 We took friends there and everyone cleaned their plates. We'll all be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a group of 6 coke for my fiance's birthday because we knew it was delicious. Our waitress was great and the food was delicious. It was a busy night but they still got the food out in a reasonable time and was cooked as requested! Go if you get the chance! One of our favorite spots in town!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful good and staff.. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent farm to table fare. The fried green tomatoes with pimento cheese and bacon jam were to die for! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent service on top of a great meal! Thanks Rx!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was Superb! Every dish we had from the fried crab, butter leaf salad, pork and snapper was perfect! Everything is local fresh ingredients and you really could tell.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love it! Get the Burger. It was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great dining experience, attentive staff & excellently prepared delicious food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Rx is my wife's and my favorite Wilmington restaurant. The food is terrific (all ingredients are locally sourced), the waitstaff is wonderful, and with interesting artwork on the walls and the restaurant full of happy diners, the ambience is very, very nice. Rx has an excellent beer selection of mostly locally crafted beers, and the bartenders can fix any mixed drink one desires. This is a great restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington! Craft cocktails and creative fresh food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Trendy. Excellent local focused menu. Creative and diverse cocktail menu. We are excited to go back in early summer when local produce is at its peak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great, creative menu. Excellent cocktails. It's pricey, but worth the special occasion visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my third time at RX. I have not been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The duck was fantastic! Paired with the sweet potatoes was scrumptious. My husband had the shrimp and grits- everything was fresh and flavorful. Had the spiced chocolate ice cream cake and lemon trifle for dessert both excellent choices. Overall a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful fresh local food. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We totally enjoyed our experience at RX. We have eaten here on numerous occasions and it has always been great! The farm to table concept always offers fresh local cuisine that never disappoints. We highly recommend Rx to any new diner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

LOVE RX! It's always a great meal and great service. They also have a great wine list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had the Pork Belly with an egg over easy on cheese grits and I would not order it again as only the grits did I like. My husband had French Toast and bacon; I tasted his toast and it was soggy and did not have much flavor, but the bacon was good.
It was very hard to find this restaurant as the writing on the front of the building in big letters says "Halls Drug Store"; we rode by it twice before we realized it was in that building. Service for brunch was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Brunch at Rx is always a pleasure. The menu options are so wonderful that it is often difficult to decide what to order, so yummy! I like that there is local art covering the walls and the bright atmosphere. The side dishes are dreamy and compliment the main dish so very well. I highly recommend Rx for any time of the day dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been here 20-30 times before and it has always been very good. The chef uses local ingredients and seasonal. I had the shrimp and grits entree, the Rx bologna appetizer (delicious and different). My wife had the sheepshead entree and Holly chicken appetizer. Dessert was a smore totally decadent and delicious. I would highly recommend Rx for any occasion. Service was, as usual, excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Found this restaurant after a search for farm to table restaurants in the area. We were in Wilmington for a visit and stopped in for dinner. Loved the cross use of an old pharmacy building (hence the name). Service was impeccable, food was delicious and atmosphere was ideal for a small casual meal with family. One family member has some dietary issues and the kitchen was very accommodating in meeting some demands. Would definitely recommend a meal if you are in Wilmington or plan on visiting. Will be going again the next time we are there.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Second time there. The food was great. Especially like the cheese board. Recommended wine paired very well. Vincent was our server and he was very attentive without being obtrusive and very accommodating. Definitely on our rotation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 29, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. Upscale southern, amazing cocktails, local ingredients. Kudos!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.