About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
10 More
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (59)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always, really great food and c ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great as always, really great food and concept

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! We were traveling, and so nic ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious! We were traveling, and so nice to find real food, well prepared. Definitely recommend and will return when in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were knocked over by how good everyth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were knocked over by how good everything was. We had wahoo with clams and spicy shrimp served over corn, pork belly and grits with accompaniments, and a marrow bone. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience far exceeded our expectat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our experience far exceeded our expectations! Our waitress Sarah was wonderful as were all others who brought food and checked on us.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffalo pig ears, pork belly, and cr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The buffalo pig ears, pork belly, and crispy flounder were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, even the cornbread, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, even the cornbread, biscuits and wings.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service from the moment we walke ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome service from the moment we walked in til when we walked out. So glad we chose this restaurant for dinner on our first date since the baby was born almost 7 months ago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As first experience, Craig was a host. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

As first experience, Craig was a host. It was great for birthday celebration

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here twice. Although locatio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have eaten here twice. Although location is not ideal, superb food both times. Nothing around here compares to the unique dishes offers. Will certainly be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We received a gift certificate to this r ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We received a gift certificate to this restaurant and decided to use it for our anniversary. We brought a special bottle of wine and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The server was quite attentive but not intrusive. We shared the pork belly appetizer which was delicious. I enjoyed the duck- very tender and flavorful and perfectly balanced- and my husband had the trigger fish - a delicacy not often available. I highly recommend Rx!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Rx. Nice size..not too big....lo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love Rx. Nice size..not too big....local ingredients...great flavors..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally amazing! Nice atmosphere, very f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Totally amazing! Nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and delicious food and drinks. My girlfriend took me there for my birthday and we had the best experience at a restaurant in Wilmington. The waiter was the best server I have ever been waited on by. They were very good about making a substitution for food allergies. I will say the food was fantastic but because the menu changes I can't recommend a dish, but that is a good thing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was present very well and was a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was present very well and was a very interesting twist on southern cooking. Very enjoyable. The service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful service and really fresh food. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful service and really fresh food. Wonderful dinning experience. A little pricey, but worth the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Wilmington, NC hands ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best restaurant in Wilmington, NC hands down. It is good and unique food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a tasty dining experience? R ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Looking for a tasty dining experience? Rx offers locally sourced meats, seafood and vegetables prepared with a southern flair. Specialty cocktails and a decent wine list complement the varying menu offerings. Vibrant atmosphere featuring local artist's works. Be aware...noise levels can be daunting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Rx was outstanding. Very in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food at Rx was outstanding. Very interesting menu.

The service was also excellent.

However, the noise level was so high that we had a problem carrying on a conversation. Some noise abatement measures should be tried. Because of this we will not be returning.

It was so loud that after we finished our main course we immediately left and went to Star Bucks for coffee and conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Rx is truly a gem. We had a lovely meal ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Rx is truly a gem. We had a lovely meal filled with local ingredients and attended to by a lovely server. Highly recommend Rx.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second trip to Rx in the last few we ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our second trip to Rx in the last few weeks. Emerging as one of the hot spots in Wilmington with an innovative farm to table concept, but also traditional favorites to make everyone happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a group of 6 and everyone loved t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a group of 6 and everyone loved the food and service. We started with the Pig Ears and were assured by our server that people tried them and then made special trips back for them. Despite the trepidation of several members of our party, they were AMAZING. The entrees did not disappoint either! From the Tile Fish to the Pork Chop, luckily we all shared. In addition, the small plates were a hit and the pork belly and clams were spectacular.

WE will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was simply amazing. Tried very diff ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was simply amazing.

Tried very different foods and loved the flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We go to RX about every month and always ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We go to RX about every month and always find the food to be uniquely good. We usually rely on recommendations of the servers who in most cases are very knowledgeable and hold informed opinions. This evening's meal was very good except for the pork chop was a bit chewy.

The spicy flavors and vegetables accompanying it were very good. My partner very much enjoyed the red drum. Their seafood is almost always exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service, great food. Lots of fun.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service, great food. Lots of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and the "specialty" drinks were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and the "specialty" drinks were A+. Rick our server was wonderful, professional and efficient. Dining on a Wednesday celebratory dinner I wished I budgeted more than the typical 20% gratuity because Rick was well deserving of so much more. Rick, I will remember your kindness when I return with more $$ in my pocket. This was my friend's first time here and she was very impressed the food, the service, the ambiance so very on point. Did I mention this was on a Wednesday? Absolutely lovely, thank you to all the staff for making the Rx experience so Rx'ie! From the darling "Welcome" at the entrance, to the seating placement, the drinks, the food, the doggy bag and the "We'll see you next time" at the open door on the way out. Everything was on point and so very special. If you want a lovely experience, my prescription would be the "Rx". Thank you all for such a memorable time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience when I go ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a wonderful experience when I go to RX. Thank you for another wonderful night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous anniversary dinner, impeccable ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fabulous anniversary dinner, impeccable service, and over the top delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellent service!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheese Tray and Pig Ears were yummy! Por ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cheese Tray and Pig Ears were yummy!

Pork Belly was dry and uninspiring!

Creme Brûlée was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Best food I've had in Wilmington. Delici ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best food I've had in Wilmington. Delicious apps and entrees; fair prices. Great service. Fantastic cocktail. Great dessert. This place is a gem. Best duck I've ever had; and the pimento cheese app is just to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a picky foodie... This was easily o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I'm a picky foodie...

This was easily one of my top 10 meals ever! Everything my fiancé and I got was amazing - and we each had 3 courses and 2 drinks. Plus, the services was great. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second trip was a great evening for two ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second trip was a great evening for two couples that don't get to see each other very often. Wonderful friendly, knowledgeable service, and a varied menu and lovely wine list. Highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting the best food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was great and food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The dining experience was great and food was delicious! Also, our server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I dined with a group of 8 family and fri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I dined with a group of 8 family and friends. Overall, the portions were on the small side. Two members of our party ordered the fried chicken. Both orders arrived overcooked, to the point where the skin was very difficult to cut through and the meat beneath was dry and shriveled. This meal came with blackberries coated in pepper jelly. The blackberries would have been great just by themselves. The pepper jelly coating only made them too spicy to eat. We let the waitress know about the problems and she took the fried chicken meals off of our bill. The other reviews of this restaurant are great so our experience might be an isolated incident. I'm willing to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Rick was a great server, made the evenin ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Rick was a great server, made the evening! Fried tomatoes with pimento cheese are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at RX and I'll ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second time at RX and I'll have to say, it was better than the first. The wait staff was attentive, the food was delicious and the wine recommendation was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The chefs at Rx made everyday food (pork, chicken,shrimp,fish) special. Presentation, seasonings and sauces not only looked delicious but entrees had that specialness of spices and sauces enhancing the meal without overwhelming and hiding the taste of the meat. Portions were just right, not too small and not leaving you stuffed. Our meal was worth every penny for taste and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were looking for a dining spot in Wil ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were looking for a dining spot in Wilmington with a farm-to-table concept and Rx fit the prescription, pun intended! Innovative menu with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining at Rx. M ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our second time dining at Rx. My boyfriend and I went here on our first date, and returned for our first year anniversary. Food is outstanding. I am a vegetarian and they have a Chefs choice entree which varies from plate to plate. Highly recommended to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us went to RX (first time) for ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Three of us went to RX (first time) for a special 70th birthday celebration. We were not disappointed. The menu is very unique and changes each day. We started with appetizers of the Crispy Buffalo Pigs Ears and the Hickory Smoked Chicken Wings. We just had to try the Pigs Ears—they reminded me of the side pork my grandma used to make. Both of the appetizers were unique and excellent. We also ordered a couple of the salads to share: Chicken Fried Egg Mixed Greens, and the Marinated Beets and Berries Salad—we enjoyed both. For the main course we each ordered something different: the Tuna, Pork Chop and Duck entrees—all were outstanding. We each tried them all. In addition to the great food and wine I have to mention the excellent service. Our waitress was superior—just the right amount of responsiveness, not over or under attention. This is a very unique restaurant and we celebrated a special birthday in the best possible manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day brunch and it was delicious! Fresh food is a priority so expect a new money every day and meal. Wait staff was also very friendly and patient with our 2yo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.