About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Stree Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (92)
neighborhood gem (81)
special occasion (59)
See All
romantic (38)
great for brunch (34)
good for groups (29)
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

WHILE WE ARE AND WILL BE FANS, OUR DINNE ...

Dined 6 days ago

WHILE WE ARE AND WILL BE FANS, OUR DINNER LAST WEEKEND WAS DISAPPOINTING. FIRST, THE MENU SEEMED VERY LIMITED AND UNIMAGINATIVE. CAN'T BE SPECIFIC BUT IT APPEARED SUB-PAR. SECONDLY, OUR DUCK DINNER WAS OVER COOKED AND DRY. BUT, AS USUAL, SERVICE WAS FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT. WE WILL RETURN.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. I had the duck and i ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was good. I had the duck and it was the best I gave ever had. My wife had the shrimp and grits. She said it was just ok kind of bland. Dessert was a great topper. The highlight for us was Lisa our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant was hyped by many. I did not ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant was hyped by many. I did not care for it at all. portions are very small for the $. Meat was overdone. Took forever to get our food. Not impressed.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Same ol

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had not eaten at RX in months and felt the place was still a little noisy. the food wasn't bad but still concentrated on pork. We ate there about 5 days ago and I can't remember what we ordered. Thought drinks were expensive. There are some great restaurants in the area; unfortunately, I think RX is not one of them.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

So disappointed!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to the RX several times for dinner and we're looking forward to having Mothers Day Brunch there. There were 5 of us and we had a 2:00 reservation. We were seated on time and our waiter quickly brought us our drinks. So far, so good. My mojito was delicious. However it went downhill from there. They were out of the starter that 3 of us wanted. Then we were told as we were placing our order that they were out of the fried chicken entree. So I ordered the monte cristo instead after our waiter told us how great it was. A few minutes later he returned and said they were out of that too. I got back my menu and tried to order the pork cheeks, but they were also out of that! I had to settle for the shrimp and grits which I really didn't want. I expect that when I make a reservation at a restaurant that they will have the food that is listed on the website!!!! It was so embarrassing to bring our family here to celebrate the day!!! Really put a damper on our day.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed having Mother's Day Brunch here - the food was very good and very reasonable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding daily menu. Wonderful service (Lisa is superb!). Great, vibrant ambiance. My new favorite restaurant in Wilmington.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved every aspect of this dining and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved every aspect of this dining and culinary experience. Including the friendly and expert wait staff. The pigs ears are amazing !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect choice for grad school graduatio ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Perfect choice for grad school graduation dinner. 4 of us all got apps and dinners...all different...and all exceptional. Portions aren't huge but appropriate. Would recommend to anyone looking for an upscale dining experience.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 6, 2016

The goal of using sustainable food is admirable, but the menu was very limited. Two of the four in our group were lactose intolerant, and there was almost nothing without milk or cheese. The duck was sinewy and tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tops in Wilmington

Dined on May 4, 2016

RX is our favorite, go-to place in Wilmington. The food is delicious, the menu creative, and the service and attentiveness of staff is top-notch. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wife and I had a very enjoyable evening meal Saturday. We were not disappointed as the offering was great. Great thing about this restaurant is that the menu will change each day. The chef always uses locally procured items which ensures freshness. We highly recommend this establishment for a great dining experience. It is "kid friendly" which is plus to parents who just want to have a night out. Thumbs Up!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Pembroke's went beyond my expectations and wow'd us with their amazing, fresh, farm-to-table experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wilmington restaurant!

Dined on April 28, 2016

I have been to Rx many times and I am always pleased the food and service. They do a wonderful job of getting local and fresh items when possible. Just try it, you will love it. If you happen to be in the area on Tuesday nights, wine is 1/2 price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, simple, elegant

Dined on April 24, 2016

The brunch menu at Rx is limited and we like that because it simplifies choices while providing something for everyone. Every dish has its own special Rx twist and the prices at brunch are reasonable (although the fresh squeezed, DELICIOUS orange juice is worth its weight in gold - true everywhere). Friends who enjoy coffee said it was very good. Remember that no alcohol is served before noon if you are looking for mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Brought 6 of us there f ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food. Brought 6 of us there for brunch on Sunday and everyone was happy with the food. I don't think that you can do wrong coming to this place.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

RX is great.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful farm-to table food and great service. In addition, they have a great craft beer list and and cocktails along with some decadent desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the fresh, local ingredients here ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I love the fresh, local ingredients here and the chef's creativity with the menu. The food is absolutely delicious from start to finish and the service is always great!

food3
ambience3
service4

Did not appreciate menu. Waiter "over th ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Did not appreciate menu. Waiter "over the top" in his description of items.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Neighborhood Establishment

Dined on April 17, 2016

We decided to eat brunch at Rx. What a delightful place. It is kid-friendly and the perfect place for all ages. Our meal was very tasty and well prepared. We will be going back for an evening meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

The primary problem at RX was that the f ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The primary problem at RX was that the food was lukewarm at best rather than being hot when served. I sent my lamb back to be warmed but it still came back on a cold plate. This has more to do with the kitchen than the waiter as he did his best, given the situation. It would have helped, if the plates had been hot when they were served to the patrons. We probably will not go back given our experience.

food5
ambience4
service3

Service little slower than normal, but a ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Service little slower than normal, but all around good as usual....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite local sourced restaurant.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our favorite local-sourced restaurant. We came here because of the Our State article and return because of the high quality food and great service. From the biscuit amuse-bouche to the end of brunch, it's all great. Best ham and bacon around. I bet they know the pig by name. Nice decor, great recycled tables. Servers and hostess are friendly and competent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodies will love it.

Dined on March 31, 2016

Foodies will love it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yummy

Dined on March 27, 2016

food was very delicious, highly recommend to others

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant. Had a party of 5 and e ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Restaurant. Had a party of 5 and everyone gave it two thumbs up for their meals!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was amazing. Waiter was very helpful. Everything was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on March 24, 2016

This place is a MUST for a fabulous meal. Everything is fresh and local, the food is over the top good and very unique. The service is impeccable. I would highly recommend it for a unique dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Going away blast

Dined on March 23, 2016

I took my family of 8 and had an awesome dinner. The staff make the experience special and the food is awesome.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Wonderful service. Best rest ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food. Wonderful service. Best restaurant ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner at RX!

Dined on March 22, 2016

Our dinner was creative, it tasted wonderful and the presentation could not have been better. My favorite was the beet salad with the brown butter vinaigrette which was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food. Perhaps the best shrimp-and ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food. Perhaps the best shrimp-and grits ever! Forget the duck confit...pork fat does not make it work. We'll be back, again-and-again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I do not feel as if the value was good f ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

I do not feel as if the value was good for what we ordered. The food that we got was not that great either, not what was expected

food5
ambience5
service4

Went for Sunday brunch and ordered pork ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch and ordered pork tenderloin which was delicious. Love the rustic chic atmosphere. Will definitely try dinner next time we're in Wilmington.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great walkable location from historic downtown

Dined on March 6, 2016

Rx was recommended by fellow travelers at the B&B we were staying at, so we gave it a shot. A beautiful walk through restored neighborhoods worked up a great appetite, and the food did not disappoint us in the least! We ordered Shrimp & Grits, and the Duck dish; excellent on both counts! The service (Lisa) was outstanding. The noise level was a little louder than I had anticipated...some of which came from the bar where a basketball game was being televised. Overall we were very happy with the experience and will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Creative dishes, cozy atmosphere

Dined on March 2, 2016

Consistently good food, bar, service. Menu is always creative with freshest ingredients. My only suggestion would be in the area of prices. Consider a price fixe option, or specials, especially on weeknights because everything is so good, which would give diners a chance to sample more and keep prices a little more reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dinner! Southern gou ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner! Southern gourmet! Ordered the pigs ears as an appetizer just for fun. They were delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the wholesome, creatively prepared food.

Dined on February 22, 2016

The server, Travix, was just outstanding in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Salty

Dined on February 20, 2016

There is no excuse for VERY salty food even if the price were free. To be sure, the price was high. When we complained, no solution was offered beyond an explanation that the restaurant cured their own meat. By then, only water could fix the situation. I was unable to finish the very modest, shared serving. This experience showed me that high ratings and prices are no guarantee of eatable food.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Can't miss

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Working one week per month in Wilmington so I spent time looking for a great restaurant. Reviews for Rx were excellent but what caught my eye was the eclectic variety of menu items (don't worry there are some standard fare items if you don't try to go off grid). Tried the crispy pig ears and oysters on the half shell, both excellent. Followed up with the Trigger fish (never had it before) and loved it. Well I'm going back to try the duck sausage that the guys next to me at the bar suggested. The bar attendant also knew how to make a Vesper (James Bond Casino Royale) and had Lillet on hand to boot. So, you can't miss by going to Rx.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.