Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 2:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (21)
Casual (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I loved Sunday brunch at RX! Mimosas for the table and delicious food. Tasted the chili burger and it may be the best I have ever had! Already making plans to go back..btw the desserts were fabulous and our server was charming!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Meal and service was outstanding. Had a surprise Birthday Party for my wife, 6 people total and the staff, Christine and our server who's name eludes me, took care of all details extremely well. Very unique place and the food was memorable in a positive way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Locally sourced foods prepared and presented in a creative manner. Fabulous cocktails. Waitstaff was most pleasant and informative. ..appreciated the quieter noise level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner with friends before a local theater production- we had a wonderful time - great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Needs more choices on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Disappointing, just not as good as it was the first time we visited this past February. It was just my wife and I for the first visit. We though it was wonderful. Great food and ambiance and exceptional service. This time we brought 2 other couples after raving about the food. Unfortunately the food was just not the same. Bland duck and boring Tile fish. The Mackerel was just extremely "fishy" (I know it was Mackerel) and both friends that ordered it only ate a few bites. The service however was still exceptional! Hoping it was just a off night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. The pig ears were not what I had anticipated in a good way. They may have been my favorite part of the meal. Although my husband's duck was fabulous and the poulet rouge was outstanding too. The food was amazing! My husband and I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner! Our server was great and even though he was busy he took his time with us and made the night that more enjoyable. Delicious food! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent authentic southern cuisine. Yet a very eclectic menu!
Plenty of excellent first plate options to share with company. Main meals are so well prepared and tasty you won't want to share:-)

Service was superb! Very welcoming and professional. Recommendations are worth consideration.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We recently found RX and enjoyed our second trip there with friends. The service was superb, the food was wonderful. We will be back again and again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had a fantastic birthday meal at Rx. The waitstaff goes the extra mile to make your meal a special one. The food was outstanding, as always. Thanks, Rx!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We found this restaurant through another Yelp user. We like Catch a lot but wanted to try something different. One of the reviews of Catch headlined with "one of the three best restaurants in Wilmington, so I checked to see which other restaurants were highly rated by this Yelp user. His review of Rx convinced us to try it out. We were not disappointed. The food was locally sourced which is always a plus for getting the best flavor, and with great execution you get an awesome meal. The execution at Rx is top notch. Our server, Gretchen, provided helpful advice on ordering and also suggested other restaurants to try in Wilmington. We will definitely be back next time we are in Wilmington.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Consistently good fresh food and great service. Try the buffalo pigs ears. Top 3 restaurants in Wilmington

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

This is by far one of my new favorite restaurants. The cuisine was to die for and the service was impeccable!

I could not have been happier with our evening. Me and my fiancé celebrated her birthday and our engagement.

If you want to be treated like Kings and Queens then this is the restaurant to go to. I will absolutely be going back if for nothing other than the service. The door is opened for you upon coming in and leaving. The service at the table was superb. The food was simply fresh and amazing! We will be back again and again and again!

Thank you Rx for making our evening so very special!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

RX is hands down my favorite restaurant in wilmington. Always great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious! Especially liked the special touch of a personalized birthday menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great dinner and fun with Sarah and Christine Saturday night! Thanks!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We went on the Thursday night with a 7pm reservation and is was pretty empty. Being right before Labor Day weekend may have been a factor. The menu changes daily. Local, fresh ingredients are used. The food was very flavorful. We ordered a first course which had grilled peppers, peaches, basil and a delicious sauce. You wouldn't think those things would go together but it was delicious. Our main courses were shrimp and grits and fried chicken both of which were excellent. The wine list was extensive with a variety of prices to fit an budget. There is very interesting art work on the wall. There is a long bar and several patrons seemed to be just at the bar. The timing was perfect on delivery of the food and we never felt rushed. Service was excellent. All the food was delicious and we would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I absolutely adored this little place. My best friend and I went for brunch and enjoyed a really great meal. We started with a pimento cheese appetizer, followed by fresh biscuits and blueberry jam and bottomless mimosas. I then ordered the french toast which came dripping in compote and whipped cream and a side of bacon that was so good I moaned when I took the first bite. My best friend ordered a sausage dish and we ate until we nearly popped. I'm so pleased that we chose to come here because it was one of the best meals I've had in a while. This says a lot considering I live in a foodie city.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Appetizers rivaled best I've ever had from East to West coast. My husband and I thought the apps outshines the main course- but both were tasty. I'd definitely recommend- super fresh and flavorful, reasonably priced as well. Not crowded at all which was surprising for the quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Took my son and his two roommates here. They enjoyed the appetizers in the main dishes as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We loved RX. First visit and it was Sunday Brunch. Everything was good, the food, service, drink. We will go back. Great place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great different selection of food. Local and unique selection
Great wine list and mixed cocktails

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great place to eat ! Great service friendly staff, food is over the top! Great drinks love this place!!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Celebrating our Anniversary! Food was a disappointment...lots of peppers & pepper sauce, small on fruit!
Dessert - peach tart. ALL CRUST, maybe a sliver of a peach...sooo disappointed!
We ate here was winter & had a delightful meal. Not the same at all this trip. Limited choices /variety of foods!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Once again, Rx did not disappoint. Friendly, helpful staff and delicious, innovative food selections that change frequently.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday and they printed special menu's for her wishing a happy birthday.
The service was great and the staff was attentive. The food was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food. Friendly staff. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fab restaurant great fresh food service is perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sunday Brunch before leaving town. Five stars. I enjoyed the clams, pig ears and sausage hash. Cool vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Did not expect to have a world-class meal in lil' ol' Wilmington but there it was! Made a reservation on late notice, found it on a corner in an older neighborhood, started ordering and then...amazing things began to appear. From the Fig Old Fashioned, to a clams appetizer and their cornbread (OMG!), and onto the entrees, we were all blown away. The tuna with veggies was exquisitely light, and their shrimp & grits was such a perfect combination of light but flavor-filled grits with perfectly steamed shrimp - and more tiny fresh veggies. I don't even know what the cheesecake was made of, but it was cosmic. We spent the summer dining in SF and Carmel and Marin and Annapolis, and this meal outranked them all.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The very best of the best. Absolutely GREAT Southern style cooking with an outstanding flair in terms of taste and presentation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent food and service! Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our first visit was to RX was a tasty surprise. With another couple we celebrated a special occasion ordering 2 appetizers and 4 meals. All was enjoyed and shared. The service was superb. We will return soon and will consider ordering a price fix meal with a bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I had heard about RX the past several times we were in the Wilmington area where we have been on a regular basis for the past ten years. It is a very cozy place, well laid out with good decor and local art work on the walls. The food is what I would call creative Southern taking classic dishes like shrimp and grits and adding some unique flavors. Cocktails were good and the wine selection was full of very unique choices but our shiraz blend was very good. It is located a little bit off the beaten path from the main downtown Wilmington area but definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

RX is a gem with fresh farm and sea to table dishes. The food is priced right and very tasty. You can share small plates and get full sized portions
Go and enjoy a nice supper here. RX printed custom made menus to celebrate our new house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had an outstanding time. It was our 10 year Anniversary and everyone made it wonderful. We will be going back.
The food was the best( really it was awesome) We had the orka fries, soft shell crab and clams!!! I would order all three again but can't wait to try more next visit. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

very pleased with our meal and service. Really perfect, just what we expect when spending the money to meet your expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Interesting and Accommodating
Had looked for a "trendy local restaurant" in Wilmington on the internet. This one came up as one of the top 10. The food was outstanding, and since we do not eat land animals, the server made sure our meals were prepared according to our restrictions. The cocktails were well prepared and delicious. We had fish dishes that were spiced nicely and had interesting flavor combinations. The prices were perhaps higher than we would have expected to pay (and we are used to Portland, ME, prices!). But farm-to-table are never particularly less expensive.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.