About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (32)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Historic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Organic (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding restaurant! This was quite p ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding restaurant! This was quite possibly the best meal I've had in months. After a very long day in training, I had dinner to enjoy. The sweet potato soup was velvety and served piping hot. The farm egg and farro with butternut squash, mushrooms, carrots and kale was filling, nutritious and so very good. The salted caramel mousse was rich yet light. And, the staff was very warm and polite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The clams with pork belly, tomatoes and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

The clams with pork belly, tomatoes and kale were so exquisite that I could have eaten two bowls of them and called it a day. My daughters loved the sheepshead with grilled romaine, baby carrots and beets and the beet salad. We shared the warm apple pie with ice cream, more like a crumble tart than a pie, but delicious.

Our waiter was attentive, but apparently untrained. He didn't know where to place the flatware, failed to open the wine, and was slow to remove plates. He was pleasant and I'm sure he will learn. It certainly wouldn't deter me from going again to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wow! I was really impressed with the dri ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Wow! I was really impressed with the drinks and food here. I almost never order cocktails, but the Rx Old Fashioned was spot on. The starters were very good, but the entrees were over the top excellent! I had the mahi-mahi and shrimp on a risotto, my son had the sheepshead on grilled romaine. Both had very adequate portions, delicious fresh sauces . I really like sheepshead and it is great to see restaurants use this locally caught option. The cornbread was delicious too and GF! We didn't find the noise level high and I really liked the way the tables were staggered so that there was not someone at your elbow! Great service. I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good local place to eat with locally sou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Good local place to eat with locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The wine was exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The wine was excellent. The staff was excellent. The only downside was that the space was a little noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

By far one of the best restaurants in th ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far one of the best restaurants in the Wilmington area. We frequent this restaurant several times a quarter and each time The service, Food, and quality is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit. Will definitely return. Atm ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First visit. Will definitely return. Atmosphere could be more cozy and intimate, but the food

was outstanding!!!! Equally healthful and delicious!! Love that the ingredients are locally sourced!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Location is not optimal, but the food is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Location is not optimal, but the food is creative and fresh, and the service excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

RX always comes through for a Sunday pre ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

RX always comes through for a Sunday pre-Valentine brunch. Shrimp & Grits and trout were hot items at our table. Highly recommend for Sunday Brunch as well as Dinner.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We found RX last minute for an early Val ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We found RX last minute for an early Valentine's Day and weren't sure what to expect. The ambiance was casual and the servers were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We tried pig ears, which doesn't initially sound appetizing, but they were great! The duck was also amazing. RX did not disappoint. We are looking to return in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our go to restaurant for special ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions or just want a great meal. You must try the pigs ears.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an amazing experience celebrating ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I had an amazing experience celebrating my birthday.

Tags: , Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was fantastic and the food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was fantastic and the food was delicious! I especially liked the local art decor. Very yummy brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rx Restaurant is a very unique dining ex ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Rx Restaurant is a very unique dining experience in the quaint downtown of Wilmington, NC. The food is fresh and the chefs at Rx are very creative and talented. The smoked wings are amazing as was the entrees. Highly recommend. The cost is a little on the high side, but is great for special occasions and first impressions.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service were both very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and the service were both very good! Wine was reasonably priced and good. My husband enjoyed one of there special cocktails. We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good service with Rick the good us ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good service with Rick the good us sometimes sketchy but tonight the entries were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Rx is a very popular and hip restaurant ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Rx is a very popular and hip restaurant in the city of Wilmington, slightly off the beaten path but worth the drive. Great "farm to table" preparation, an innovative menu, and excellent craft cocktails --- totally aligned with what's great about today's fine dining cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Pig ears a must. Serv ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fantastic meal. Pig ears a must. Service was great and the food was delicious. Always a consistent spot for business meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply the BEST meal I have enjoyed in m ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Simply the BEST meal I have enjoyed in months! From start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great Sunday brunch. Eclectic, de ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch. Eclectic, delicious menu choices. We're gluten and dairy free and found many options. Make your own mimosas were a win!!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Rx and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our second visit to Rx and the food was as great as we remembered with seasonal specialties. Service was prompt and very informational. We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Being new to Wilmington we had heard rav ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Being new to Wilmington we had heard rave reviews of Rx Restaurant and Bar. Being a fan of local farm to table and fresh ingredients we were excited to find this restaurant. We decided to try it for New Years Eve. Usually not a great night for restaurants since they are usually very busy and quality sometimes is lacking.....Well, let me tell you that WAS NOT the case at Rx! The food and the service WAS OUTSTANDING!!! They offered a fixed price menu as well as their regular menu. The drinks and the food we both creative and delicious....We will be back soon! And, highly recommend this small quaint restaurant and bar off the beaten track....you won't be sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our special occasion New Years ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our special occasion New Years Eve dinner, first time eating at RX. Overall, we we're disappointed for the prices are high and servings are small. Ordered the sirloin medium and came out very rare. They we're very accommodating on taking it back to the cook, but one would think a restaurant with high menu prices would get that on point the first time. For the four of us, and our teenage daughters split a plate bill came to $162. Service was on point, but for us food was not anything tasty enough to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Our waiter Rick was great. Very friendly ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter Rick was great. Very friendly and the service was excellent. Loved the sweet potato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, generous Main courses and wo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, generous Main courses and wonderful flavors. Excellent service, good wine list with a superb small vineyard Pouilly Fuisse

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since this was our anniversary dinner, t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Since this was our anniversary dinner, the staff called ahead and asked if I wanted anything special. When we arrived, the menu had our names on it with a Happy Anniversary message. The staff could not have been any friendlier and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another memorable meal at my favorite Wi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another memorable meal at my favorite Wilmington restaurant. From the cocktails to dessert every bite was fabulous. Swiss card salad, shrimp & grits and a caramel chevre cheesecake. I had raved to my out of town guest and we were both very happy with our meals. My only criticism is the noise level can make conversation difficult. I will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service were impeccable, ho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food and service were impeccable, however there were two groups of extremely loud people. It was hard to tell if they were wasted or just obnoxious! I still will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been trying to get there since RX opened ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Been trying to get there since RX opened and finally made it. We won't be staying away, that's for sure. Had to have the Buffalo pig ears, great. Duck fabulous, never had better and I always go for duck when it is offered. Swiss roll for dessert, another hit! Super evening.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and drinks.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first experience at Rx and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first experience at Rx and we will DEFINITELY be back. And often. The food was creative and amazing. The cocktails were delicious and well thought out and it's a darling space in a cool, up and coming neighborhood. You'd be crazy not to try them out. Can't wait to go back and see what the daily menu holds in store next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always really enjoyed RX but the f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I've always really enjoyed RX but the food was really disappointing this time. Sort of uninspired and not particularly well-cooked. The food felt expensive as opposed to creative and inspired. I'm not giving up but I hope next time is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. We had an extra bonus as Tuesday was half price wine by the glass night. That was a pleasant surprise. I would recommend to anyone wanting great food. The noise level is a bit high but does not prevent conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious food well presented. Top notch service. A delightful evening with my sister and her husband who just moved to the area from PA. They will be back and we will too the next time we visit them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have visited this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have visited this restaurant many times and have rarely been disappointed with anything. The food is almost always amazing and the service has never been anything but spectacular. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is one of the best we ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best we have found in Wilmington. The food is absolutely wonderful and the atmosphere is quietly romantic. The service is terrific; our server was attentive, gracious and knowledgeable about the food choices. The menu changes daily based on the local available food. We will definitely be visiting the Rx Restaurant again soon.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great little restaurant! The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a great little restaurant! The food is excellent, creatively presented, and healthy "farm to table" fare. Go there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The food is consistently excellent. Knowledgeable staff. The drink menu is always fun to see and the seasonal libations are very original. Not a cheap place to go, but very much a value.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service great , noisy to the point of di ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service great , noisy to the point of distracting, streak could not eat it, their excuse it was free range, it was shoe leather, they have gone past the point of local farm and Carolina cuisine to inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

This was a dinner that I set up for my p ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a dinner that I set up for my parents' 40th anniversary dinner and they said they were so pleased with everything. There was champagne waiting for them when they got there and they even printed up a special menu for them saying happy 40th anniversary at the top. They loved the food and said that all the employees in the restaurant knew it was their anniversary and made sure to congratulate them. Thanks for going above and beyond to make their day special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.