Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Rx Restaurant

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (41)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Organic (13)
Authentic (13)
Historic (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Healthy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Cozy (10)
Great Beer (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my third time at RX. I have not been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The duck was fantastic! Paired with the sweet potatoes was scrumptious. My husband had the shrimp and grits- everything was fresh and flavorful. Had the spiced chocolate ice cream cake and lemon trifle for dessert both excellent choices. Overall a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful fresh local food. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We totally enjoyed our experience at RX. We have eaten here on numerous occasions and it has always been great! The farm to table concept always offers fresh local cuisine that never disappoints. We highly recommend Rx to any new diner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

LOVE RX! It's always a great meal and great service. They also have a great wine list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had the Pork Belly with an egg over easy on cheese grits and I would not order it again as only the grits did I like. My husband had French Toast and bacon; I tasted his toast and it was soggy and did not have much flavor, but the bacon was good.
It was very hard to find this restaurant as the writing on the front of the building in big letters says "Halls Drug Store"; we rode by it twice before we realized it was in that building. Service for brunch was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Brunch at Rx is always a pleasure. The menu options are so wonderful that it is often difficult to decide what to order, so yummy! I like that there is local art covering the walls and the bright atmosphere. The side dishes are dreamy and compliment the main dish so very well. I highly recommend Rx for any time of the day dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been here 20-30 times before and it has always been very good. The chef uses local ingredients and seasonal. I had the shrimp and grits entree, the Rx bologna appetizer (delicious and different). My wife had the sheepshead entree and Holly chicken appetizer. Dessert was a smore totally decadent and delicious. I would highly recommend Rx for any occasion. Service was, as usual, excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Found this restaurant after a search for farm to table restaurants in the area. We were in Wilmington for a visit and stopped in for dinner. Loved the cross use of an old pharmacy building (hence the name). Service was impeccable, food was delicious and atmosphere was ideal for a small casual meal with family. One family member has some dietary issues and the kitchen was very accommodating in meeting some demands. Would definitely recommend a meal if you are in Wilmington or plan on visiting. Will be going again the next time we are there.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Second time there. The food was great. Especially like the cheese board. Recommended wine paired very well. Vincent was our server and he was very attentive without being obtrusive and very accommodating. Definitely on our rotation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 29, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. Upscale southern, amazing cocktails, local ingredients. Kudos!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great restaurant,delicious food and super cool ambience. Unfortunately the night we were there we had an awful female waitress who's service was average. This was our first bad service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the area. Great food and drinks. Super service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was meh.. Food was delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and and wine. RX never disappoints m we will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We loved our experience at Rx. The service was fantastic - excellent recommendations and guidance, our wine and water glasses were never empty, and our waiter was friendly and fun. The food was so creative and flavorful. I had the Duck Confit and would recommend it to anyone. The Earl Grey Creme Brulee was the best thing I have ever tasted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really wonderful and the chef went above and beyond to handle my allergy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice meal, good food with a variety of menu options. Good wine list also. If you enjoy Southern Cuisine it's a must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

In general, this is a great place. Cool art on the walls. I had a vegetarian farro plate that was excellent. However my husband had the pork chop and his meal was overwhelmed by the salt level. So we suggest you ask them to hold the salt!
The only other problem was the noise level. It truly became unbearable---walking out into the quiet evening was an absolute relief!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first visit to RX.....We were greeted with big smiles and a welcome by the host and hostess.
The restaurant was nicely done and the seating was comfortable, not on top of the next table.
The appetizers were very good. The service was attentive and professional. Corking fee was fair at $15. Their wine list was pretty good.
The only downside to the meal was my wife ordered the special of the evening...sheep head fish.
The fish was way too salty and over cooked. For $27 it should have been much better. The wait staff did ask my wife if she would like something else but our meal was almost over and she wasn't up to waiting for a replacement dinner...The right thing to have done was take it off our bill. That gesture was never made and because of it, we will not be going back...
You should give RX a try....The menu is farm to table and had interesting menu items....
One bad entry shouldn't take this restaurant off your list....it is however off of ours....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Truly creative and absolutely delicious menu choices. Portion size and the taste of our various dishes (pork belly, beet salad, crispy, yet tender fried pig ears and country pate spread with pickled peppers etc) were all incredible. Service was quite good, and our waiter was very knowledgeable, runners and bussers were quick to remove dishes and used cutlery (almost too quick, had a beer and appetizer removed before we were finished with them!) Other than feeling a tad rushed, our dining experience was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who appreciates quality and creative dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I enjoyed our dinner!! The food was amazing and I loved the atmosphere!! It was my fiance's birthday and everyone wished him happy birthday!! We felt so welcomed and the waitstaff was amazing!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful all around!!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! This was quite possibly the best meal I've had in months. After a very long day in training, I had dinner to enjoy. The sweet potato soup was velvety and served piping hot. The farm egg and farro with butternut squash, mushrooms, carrots and kale was filling, nutritious and so very good. The salted caramel mousse was rich yet light. And, the staff was very warm and polite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The clams with pork belly, tomatoes and kale were so exquisite that I could have eaten two bowls of them and called it a day. My daughters loved the sheepshead with grilled romaine, baby carrots and beets and the beet salad. We shared the warm apple pie with ice cream, more like a crumble tart than a pie, but delicious.
Our waiter was attentive, but apparently untrained. He didn't know where to place the flatware, failed to open the wine, and was slow to remove plates. He was pleasant and I'm sure he will learn. It certainly wouldn't deter me from going again to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wow! I was really impressed with the drinks and food here. I almost never order cocktails, but the Rx Old Fashioned was spot on. The starters were very good, but the entrees were over the top excellent! I had the mahi-mahi and shrimp on a risotto, my son had the sheepshead on grilled romaine. Both had very adequate portions, delicious fresh sauces . I really like sheepshead and it is great to see restaurants use this locally caught option. The cornbread was delicious too and GF! We didn't find the noise level high and I really liked the way the tables were staggered so that there was not someone at your elbow! Great service. I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good local place to eat with locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The wine was excellent. The staff was excellent. The only downside was that the space was a little noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far one of the best restaurants in the Wilmington area. We frequent this restaurant several times a quarter and each time The service, Food, and quality is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First visit. Will definitely return. Atmosphere could be more cozy and intimate, but the food
was outstanding!!!! Equally healthful and delicious!! Love that the ingredients are locally sourced!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Location is not optimal, but the food is creative and fresh, and the service excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

RX always comes through for a Sunday pre-Valentine brunch. Shrimp & Grits and trout were hot items at our table. Highly recommend for Sunday Brunch as well as Dinner.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We found RX last minute for an early Valentine's Day and weren't sure what to expect. The ambiance was casual and the servers were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We tried pig ears, which doesn't initially sound appetizing, but they were great! The duck was also amazing. RX did not disappoint. We are looking to return in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions or just want a great meal. You must try the pigs ears.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I had an amazing experience celebrating my birthday.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was fantastic and the food was delicious! I especially liked the local art decor. Very yummy brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Rx Restaurant is a very unique dining experience in the quaint downtown of Wilmington, NC. The food is fresh and the chefs at Rx are very creative and talented. The smoked wings are amazing as was the entrees. Highly recommend. The cost is a little on the high side, but is great for special occasions and first impressions.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and the service were both very good! Wine was reasonably priced and good. My husband enjoyed one of there special cocktails. We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good service with Rick the good us sometimes sketchy but tonight the entries were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Rx is a very popular and hip restaurant in the city of Wilmington, slightly off the beaten path but worth the drive. Great "farm to table" preparation, an innovative menu, and excellent craft cocktails --- totally aligned with what's great about today's fine dining cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.