About Rx Restaurant

421 Castle St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Located in the Castle Street Art District in Wilmington, NC, Rx Restaurant and Bar is here to serve the best local ingredients around. Our chef is committed to bringing fresh food to your table, so the menu changes daily based on what he can find locally. Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the parking lot diagonal from us on 5th and Castle!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sun: 10:00am- 3:00 pm; 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
421 castle st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 399-3080

Website:
http://www.rxwilmington.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is free on Castle Street as well as in the large parking lot diagonal from the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
James Doss

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rx Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
8 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Creative Cuisine (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Historic (12)
Casual (11)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Organic (8)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been trying to get there since RX opened ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Been trying to get there since RX opened and finally made it. We won't be staying away, that's for sure. Had to have the Buffalo pig ears, great. Duck fabulous, never had better and I always go for duck when it is offered. Swiss roll for dessert, another hit! Super evening.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and drinks.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first experience at Rx and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first experience at Rx and we will DEFINITELY be back. And often. The food was creative and amazing. The cocktails were delicious and well thought out and it's a darling space in a cool, up and coming neighborhood. You'd be crazy not to try them out. Can't wait to go back and see what the daily menu holds in store next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always really enjoyed RX but the f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I've always really enjoyed RX but the food was really disappointing this time. Sort of uninspired and not particularly well-cooked. The food felt expensive as opposed to creative and inspired. I'm not giving up but I hope next time is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. We had an extra bonus as Tuesday was half price wine by the glass night. That was a pleasant surprise. I would recommend to anyone wanting great food. The noise level is a bit high but does not prevent conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent interesting menu. Delicious food well presented. Top notch service. A delightful evening with my sister and her husband who just moved to the area from PA. They will be back and we will too the next time we visit them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have visited this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have visited this restaurant many times and have rarely been disappointed with anything. The food is almost always amazing and the service has never been anything but spectacular. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is one of the best we ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best we have found in Wilmington. The food is absolutely wonderful and the atmosphere is quietly romantic. The service is terrific; our server was attentive, gracious and knowledgeable about the food choices. The menu changes daily based on the local available food. We will definitely be visiting the Rx Restaurant again soon.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great little restaurant! The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a great little restaurant! The food is excellent, creatively presented, and healthy "farm to table" fare. Go there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always enjoy our trips to Rx. The food is consistently excellent. Knowledgeable staff. The drink menu is always fun to see and the seasonal libations are very original. Not a cheap place to go, but very much a value.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service great , noisy to the point of di ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service great , noisy to the point of distracting, streak could not eat it, their excuse it was free range, it was shoe leather, they have gone past the point of local farm and Carolina cuisine to inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

This was a dinner that I set up for my p ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a dinner that I set up for my parents' 40th anniversary dinner and they said they were so pleased with everything. There was champagne waiting for them when they got there and they even printed up a special menu for them saying happy 40th anniversary at the top. They loved the food and said that all the employees in the restaurant knew it was their anniversary and made sure to congratulate them. Thanks for going above and beyond to make their day special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a friend as an exceptiona ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Recommended by a friend as an exceptional dining experience. The recommendation lived up to expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked for a Friday evening, for me an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I booked for a Friday evening, for me and my wife (it was her birthday). Was busy when we arrived for our table at 7.45pm. We were seated quickly but it took a few minutes for anyone to see us, take drink orders etc. No big problem. When service did start, it was laid back and friendly. Was an interesting choice of food, a good variety and all of what we had was good. Portions were not enormous, but not tiny either - this type of restaurant isn't one you pick if you want to stuff yourself! The location is a little outside downtown so you'll need another uber if you want to go to a bar downtown afterwards... In summary we had a good meal and enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

RX was a great dining experience.. The o ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 9, 2016

RX was a great dining experience.. The occasion was a birthday and they had a special note put on the menu and remembered to put a candle on the dessert. Service was fantastic, food was excellent! We all had a wonderful time and would definitely come back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an amazing night from start to fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was an amazing night from start to finish. The staff contacted me four hours ahead of time to offer suggestions for making the night more memorable. I opted to have our menu custom written to say "Happy Anniversary" to my girlfriend and I, and the food was amazing. The service was fantastic and personable. I will most certainly be returning to Rx again soon

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything from the time you walk in the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything from the time you walk in the door to eating to paying your bill. The unique flavors and helpful advice from the staff. Was one of my favorite meals I have ever had out. I would recommend RX to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was not our first visit to Rx and w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was not our first visit to Rx and will not be our last. The meal was outstanding from beginning to end. The wait staff was attentive but not hovering. Our waitress was very pleasant. We did have a couple of questions she could not answer but she did find the answer and get back to us very quickly. Rx is a little pricey but the overall quality of the cuisine was well worth it. Not a weekly stop for us but definitely great for a special occasion or business dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved the pigs ear and the pork belly ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved the pigs ear and the pork belly appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic! Menu, decor, service and foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic! Menu, decor, service and food quality was impeccable. Would recommend to all

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rx does duck entrees better than anyone ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Rx does duck entrees better than anyone else in this town! I'm always pleased with my selections and the bartenders do a great job on cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time and enjoyed great fo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great time and enjoyed great food as always. This is our go to restaurant when we have guests from out of town. Celebrated my grandparents 65th anniversary and my husbands' 38th birthday. Staff was wonderful and fun, food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rx is a wonderful restaurant with great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Rx is a wonderful restaurant with great service and farm to table products. Shrimp and grits are a classic and must have. They use fine Riedel glassware with their wine. A definite plus.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. It definitely w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first time. It definitely was wonderful for mine and my husband's 1 yr wedding anniversary. Highly recommended . We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, chicken good, duck awful, ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, chicken good, duck awful, grossly, noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Food and cocktails were amazing. The st ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and cocktails were amazing. The staff and environment were superb. We have already recommended RX to several friends.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a truly great meal! Loved their cocktail ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2016

a truly great meal! Loved their cocktails and the pastry chef outdid herself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food! Phenomenal service...ask ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Delicious food! Phenomenal service...ask for Rick (waiter)!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was outstanding with the nois ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant was outstanding with the noise level. Something should be done to dampen the noise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

all ways a good expereince and off the b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

all ways a good expereince and off the baeten path in wilmington that has most resturants focused downtown or over at landfall area. Close to downtown but nto congested, easy ride back to any club or theater in town.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. A must for anyone that enjoys ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Fantastic. A must for anyone that enjoys farm to table cuisine.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the time you enter until you leave, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 27, 2016

From the time you enter until you leave, the complete dining experience at Rx is absolutely unsurpassed by any supposed peer restaurant. It is THE BEST in Wilmington.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always, really great food and c ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great as always, really great food and concept

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great use of local ingredients. Well wor ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great use of local ingredients. Well worth the price. RX Butcher board was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We were traveling, and so nic ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Delicious! We were traveling, and so nice to find real food, well prepared. Definitely recommend and will return when in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were knocked over by how good everyth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were knocked over by how good everything was. We had wahoo with clams and spicy shrimp served over corn, pork belly and grits with accompaniments, and a marrow bone. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience far exceeded our expectat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our experience far exceeded our expectations! Our waitress Sarah was wonderful as were all others who brought food and checked on us.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffalo pig ears, pork belly, and cr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The buffalo pig ears, pork belly, and crispy flounder were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, even the cornbread, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, even the cornbread, biscuits and wings.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service from the moment we walke ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome service from the moment we walked in til when we walked out. So glad we chose this restaurant for dinner on our first date since the baby was born almost 7 months ago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.