About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Open Early Easter Sunday
Celebrating noon - 7PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Leave it to the Mother of Steak to PERFECT the Mother's Day Steak
Open early at 11 AM

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Waterfront (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Scenic View (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner at Ruth Chris' was great! 500 degree plate with my stake was fun! Everything tastes great and service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner and service. A little expensive but the food is well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had an evening out with friends. The food was excellent and the service was even better. Overall the ambiance is a little dated and could be updated but it was comfortable. As with all Ruth's Chris steak houses, it is expensive but the food was worth it. Try the Blueberry mojito, it was fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Ryan was great. Answered every and all questions. Had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was great but we took the dessert home instead of eating at the restaurant. When I opened up one of the boxes their was a piece of hair sitting on top of the desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service is always great and the view is extra special from a window view table. The sunset is amazing over a nice dinner , friends and a glass of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love eating at all the different Ruth Christ restaurants. Great food, drinks and atmosphere and excellent wait staff

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible meal, outstanding service & fantastic ambiance. Definitey try the brussel sprouts and sweet potato casserole! Can't wait to return. Wow.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is usually delicious, however, the chef may have had an off night. We ordered our steaks to be cooked medium with a warm pink center, however they were rare. We don't like to complain or send food back so we managed. It wasn't bad and will not keep us from going back but was disappointing none-the-less.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The steaks are great. However, I would prefer a cheaper steak from another steak house then deal with the price at this place. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A worthy restaurant to enjoy a superb steak and generous and well-prepared side dishes.
The wine list was expansive and the wine by the glass pours were generous.
Beautiful view looking across at the battleship USS North Carolina.
The service was friendly and prompt.
A minor note was the pushing of bottled water and the most expensive menu items.
Overall a fine evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience just as we always do when we choose Ruth's Chris for our special occasions. Food is always hot and cooked to perfection; service is always very professional.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lobster bisque was lackluster, the house salad was just spring mix, croutons, and 3 cherry tomato halves, and my husband had a pice of plastic packaging on his steak. The elaborate the bisque was just bland, nothing remarkable and I would've expected a little pizzazz for the salad. At Port City Chop House in town they have quite an array of toppings that come on their house salad and they are about $30 per plate cheaper for a comparable meal we've had while dining there. And as far as the plastic I wouldn't even expect that from a Texas Roadhouse. I held Ruth's Chris to a higher standard and was disappointed. Will stick with Port City Chophouse or Bonefish Grill for our fancy nights out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great service. A little pricey and laid out weird. Great experience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ruth's Chris is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington, NC . We only go on special occasions and well worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I love to eat at Ruth's! It's our favorite steak restaurant! I'm in love with the Brussels sprouts

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner with my husband. Our first visit to Ruth's Chris. The dining room has a nice view of the river and battleship, but otherwise the decor is dated and kind of shabby. The service was excellent, although every single item we ordered was met with "excellent choice." The same waiter said the exact same thing to every item ordered by the table beside us. Just sayin. We both ordered the 11 oz. filet medium well. The steak was delivered in a pool of sizzling oil - not butter - greasy oil and it was medium rare. The baked potato was pethy. The roasted brussel sprouts were dripping in bacon fat. So if you like a lot of fat/grease with your undercooked steak, please try Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service was great 👍🏼
We went there for our 29th wedding anniversary and it was really outstanding

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Gray and his team did an amazing job helping us enjoy our Valentine's celebration. Everything was amazing and we felt very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time eating at Ruth's. It was more than a dining experience. It was an evening of culinary delight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I only eat steak (filet) at Ruth's Chris, no matter how infrequently, and no where else. I don't even eat steak at home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Ruth Chris experience ever. Food was delicious and fast and the service was excellent. The only complaint I have is that the tables were a bit too close so I could hear everyone's conversations around us.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Table we had was awful, only one of us got to enjoy the sunset, I request my steak medium and it was rare so they had to take it back and let it cook more which in a 5 star place that shouldn't happen, wife got medium well and her's was medium rare, once cooked right the steaks were good, but for the money, nah.
Texas road house where you can walk in and pick your steak is really just as good if not better. If you have more money than you know what to do with, then go ahead and go to ruth Chris steak house, but if you work hard for you money and don't want to blow it go ton Texas roadhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Unfortunately, I forgot our waitress name but he was phenomenal. I love the atmosphere and the food can not be explained. IT IS GREAT FOOD.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very Nice restaurant. Great food and service. We will repeat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food my wife and I enjoyed was amazing. The steak is so flavorful and perfectly prepared. The best part of the evening was the wait staff, headed by Gray. They were very attentive to our needs and spot on with recommendations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Really good food and service amazing. Their cheesecake is a delight. Veggies fresh and their set classic menu is super with the $4 swap option.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great time, as usual! Good food, excellent service. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely great meal and superior service! Celebrated our Wedding anniversary and had their lobster and steak. Food was outstanding! Service was great! Our server was friendly, professional and attentive. Looking forward to our next dining experience there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I went for our 6th wedding anniversary. The food was amazing. We ordered a steak a piece and they were both cooked to perfection. We ordered two sides, each. Given the size of the sides, one each would have probably been enough for each of us. The room we ate in was a little chilly, but that could have just been a fluke. The Restaurant is located inside the Hilton Hotel in downtown Wilmington, if you use the valet service, it is free as long as you get your ticket validated by the hostess inside the restaurant.
Overall, amazing experience. Be prepared to spend money. It was a big occasion, so we planned to spend big, but to give you an idea: 2 x Steaks, 4 x sides, 1 x dessert, 1 x bottle of wine, 1 x espresso.....$275, with tip it put us well over $320. All that said, if you asked me to pay that again tomorrow for the same food and service, I'd do it in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My steak was ordered medium and came out over well done. I sent it back and got a rare steak the next time. I ate it by myself being my guest had already eaten their food. I feel it's a poor value at $160 for two people who drank water and didn't get appetizers. you'd expect a $60 steak to be cooked right the second time around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

great service and food and the rose petals on the table were a nice touch

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Exceptional food as always at Ruth's Chris. There quality control across the chain is remarkable.
Everything is ala carte so it is expensive but for special occasions it is a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, memorable meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food. But very expensive. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere Highly recommend Food and staff were great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Consistently great food and service. Philip and Grey are phenomenal servers that make your dining experience complete!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always good food, great service, and a great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Was looking forward to a special dinner to celebrate a birthday but the dim lights made it very difficult to read the menu let alone order what we wanted to. A small table lamp would not take away from the ambiance setting. Also the bread pudding was a disappointment with a very bland taste that we did not finish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.