Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Leave it to the Mother of Steak to PERFECT the Mother's Day Steak
Open early at 11 AM

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Waterfront (29)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Scenic View (14)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I have not been to Ruth's Chris steakhouse in a number of years. Since this restaurant was in our hotel we decided to try it.

Where we were initially seated was too cold as the air conditioning ducks blew directly on the first row of tables by the window. We asked to be seated on the second row from the windows but we're still cold. When the manager stop by we asked if he could do something and he change the thermostat which was a big help for about 30 minutes. The air-conditioner then started again and we were told.

The Caesar salad's we're good, as were the steaks. The cream corn and the desserts were great. And, the service was also very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service as one would expect at an above average restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very enjoyable meal for Easter dinner! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to several Ruth's Chris's and jabber never been disappointed with the food until now. Food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch - OUTSTANDING! The Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Contrary to some recent visitor's remarks, we found the setting to be quiet and the service absolutely impeccable. There were no whining and undisciplined children to ruin our conversation in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. However, the restaurant has very large windows with the necessity of pulling down the shades just as the sun is setting, so it somewhat spoils the pretty river view. The seating area was TOO BRIGHTLY LIT, so much so that we asked them to turn down the lights just a bit ,but were told they could not dim the lights. The wait staff were perfectly on time with everything. It was my husband's 75th birthday so it was a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

While the food was exquisite, the service was by far the best in town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went during Wilmington Restaurant Week and it was great as usual! The quality and preparation of the steaks and fillets cannot be duplicated at home. Usually the restaurant is quiet and intimate and has a nice view of the sunset over the Cape Fear River. However, this time we were seated next to a table with young, noisy children.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very enjoyable meal here. The Petite Filet was scrumptious, Chocolate Sin Cake was delicious.

The service was impeccable! No less than four separate people checked on me throughout my meal; even the manager stopped by to chat. My waitress Olivia was so friendly and welcoming. Hope to visit again. Thank you all!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very good steak from the Restaurant Week menu which included a salad, a main entree, and dessert for $35. Sides and appetizer were extra, but discounted. I love the bread they serve which has raisins in it. They have the best coffee which is French pressed. The Chocolate Sin dessert is very dense, very chocolate, and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They have the most amazing steaks ! I go here every restaurant week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ruth Chris, as always, has amazing food (especially the steak). It is on the pricey side, so it's not a place we go to very frequently.. But when we do go, we always enjoy ourselves. This weekend we were served by Veda who was very attentive and friendly. But we've never had nothing less than an extraordinary service experience at Ruth Chris.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always good for a special night out. The macaroni and cheese was so good. Steak was perfectly cooked. Service was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've been to this Ruth's Chris Steakhouse several times and have always had exceptional service and an excellent meal. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our server, Gray, took good care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Warning! Ruth Chris had a wedding booked that took up the entire dining and bar area of the restaurant. When we made our reservation, this was not disclosed to us. Upon arrival, we were taken to an event room at the hotel and served there on temporary tables and chairs. We stayed because we were celebrating a special occasion for our son and he specifically requested Ruth Chris. However, when we dine, I pay for three things- food quality, service, and atmosphere and we had zero atmosphere and no warning of this in advance. Very annoying and disappointing given our expectation for the evening.

This is our second very disappointing experience at a Ruth Chris and will think twice before booking them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our dinner at Ruth Chris' was great! 500 degree plate with my stake was fun! Everything tastes great and service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dinner and service. A little expensive but the food is well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had an evening out with friends. The food was excellent and the service was even better. Overall the ambiance is a little dated and could be updated but it was comfortable. As with all Ruth's Chris steak houses, it is expensive but the food was worth it. Try the Blueberry mojito, it was fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Ryan was great. Answered every and all questions. Had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was great but we took the dessert home instead of eating at the restaurant. When I opened up one of the boxes their was a piece of hair sitting on top of the desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service is always great and the view is extra special from a window view table. The sunset is amazing over a nice dinner , friends and a glass of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love eating at all the different Ruth Christ restaurants. Great food, drinks and atmosphere and excellent wait staff

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible meal, outstanding service & fantastic ambiance. Definitey try the brussel sprouts and sweet potato casserole! Can't wait to return. Wow.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is usually delicious, however, the chef may have had an off night. We ordered our steaks to be cooked medium with a warm pink center, however they were rare. We don't like to complain or send food back so we managed. It wasn't bad and will not keep us from going back but was disappointing none-the-less.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The steaks are great. However, I would prefer a cheaper steak from another steak house then deal with the price at this place. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the staff. Reliably great steaks every time. Solid cocktails. Great for a date.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A worthy restaurant to enjoy a superb steak and generous and well-prepared side dishes.
The wine list was expansive and the wine by the glass pours were generous.
Beautiful view looking across at the battleship USS North Carolina.
The service was friendly and prompt.
A minor note was the pushing of bottled water and the most expensive menu items.
Overall a fine evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience just as we always do when we choose Ruth's Chris for our special occasions. Food is always hot and cooked to perfection; service is always very professional.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lobster bisque was lackluster, the house salad was just spring mix, croutons, and 3 cherry tomato halves, and my husband had a pice of plastic packaging on his steak. The elaborate the bisque was just bland, nothing remarkable and I would've expected a little pizzazz for the salad. At Port City Chop House in town they have quite an array of toppings that come on their house salad and they are about $30 per plate cheaper for a comparable meal we've had while dining there. And as far as the plastic I wouldn't even expect that from a Texas Roadhouse. I held Ruth's Chris to a higher standard and was disappointed. Will stick with Port City Chophouse or Bonefish Grill for our fancy nights out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great service. A little pricey and laid out weird. Great experience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ruth's Chris is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington, NC . We only go on special occasions and well worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I love to eat at Ruth's! It's our favorite steak restaurant! I'm in love with the Brussels sprouts

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner with my husband. Our first visit to Ruth's Chris. The dining room has a nice view of the river and battleship, but otherwise the decor is dated and kind of shabby. The service was excellent, although every single item we ordered was met with "excellent choice." The same waiter said the exact same thing to every item ordered by the table beside us. Just sayin. We both ordered the 11 oz. filet medium well. The steak was delivered in a pool of sizzling oil - not butter - greasy oil and it was medium rare. The baked potato was pethy. The roasted brussel sprouts were dripping in bacon fat. So if you like a lot of fat/grease with your undercooked steak, please try Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service was great 👍🏼
We went there for our 29th wedding anniversary and it was really outstanding

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Gray and his team did an amazing job helping us enjoy our Valentine's celebration. Everything was amazing and we felt very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time eating at Ruth's. It was more than a dining experience. It was an evening of culinary delight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I only eat steak (filet) at Ruth's Chris, no matter how infrequently, and no where else. I don't even eat steak at home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Ruth Chris experience ever. Food was delicious and fast and the service was excellent. The only complaint I have is that the tables were a bit too close so I could hear everyone's conversations around us.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.