Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 4pm - 10pm. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Private Dining Manager - Andrea Payne (apayne@serioussteaks.com)- 910.343.1818

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Opening early @ 3PM
Regular Dinner Menu available

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (16)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Waterfront (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Ruth’s Chris still serves the best steaks anywhere. They are not cheap but they are great. Been to a few around the country and other famous steakhouses but Ruth’s is our favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

as always great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Drinks, wine selection, salads and steak very good. Sides were ok but nothing special. They used to be better. Service was good and we enjoyed looking out over the USS NC on the Cape Fear River.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Our waiter James was Wonderful ! Food was just Perfect !
It was a birthday dinner .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

The steak was over cooked, actually it was burnt on the edges couldn't eat it, and when I'm paying that kind of money for a stake, I want to eat it All. I've been many times but very disappointed this visit

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2017

On the whole, our experience was a positive one. It was unfortunate that the attitude of our host and hostess were indicative their busy seating day as their attitudes were much less than pleasant. We had to wait 45 minutes even with a reservation. All of that was soon forgotten when Harrison, our waiter, helped out with great suggestions and unforced kindness. Food prep was perfect along with wine pairing. It was a stellar holiday meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Normally we have a great experience but the hostess was rude and miserable seating everyone. She didn’t sit us at a booth like we had requested in our reservation but instead mentioned we’ll youd have more room at a table. Implying my family wouldn’t fit (we’ve been here several times and have sat at booths just fine). Then she sat us a table scrunched up against the wall and the Christmas tree. Our server literally forgot everything we asked for and had to be reminded of everything we ordered or asked for. We were sat at 7:00 and we did not leave until 9:30 because she forgot to put in our starters after our appetizers and in turn delayed our entrees. On thanksgiving everyone is given a second meal to go and our waitress didnt even bother to bring any to our table. After asking another server if they were doing that again this year she embarrassingly told us yes and put the order in. We always enjoy the food but the service this go around left a bad taste in our mouths.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The only good part of the meal were the steaks that two of our party ordered. The featured turkey dinner and every one of the side dishes came out either lukewarm or downright cold, despite reassurance from the waiter regarding my concern that the party at the table next to us had already sent their Thanksgiving dinners back because theirs was not warm. Even after I sent mine back the replacement meal came back just as cold, if not colder. We had a bill of $240 for three people and were very disappointed that we spent this much money for an inferior meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

This was our last 3rd time eating Thanksgiving here. Not sure what happened. Even with a reservation our wait was long. Our server was already frazzled when she got our table . We were very disappointed with our dining experience this year. Not sure that we will pick Ruth Chris again for a special occasion .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving meal was great. Of course, the steak was perfect. We will go there again for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

From start to finish outstanding service food was excellent, will definitely try to make back to Ruth’s

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2017

good service and good food....nice atmosphere...definitely enjoyed.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Excellent classy establishment in downtown Wilmington. Great for a meal to impress, or for a special occasion. The meal is always outstanding, and the service is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Highly recommended. Steak was awesome

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food and service was top notch. Mandy our waitress was exceptional. Great place for an evening out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We enjoy going to Ruth Chris a few times a year and for Thanksgiving. They really try hard to make everything special and perfect, especially for special days like your birthday or anniversary. The only downside is the cost, but the food is sensational and the wait staff is incredible. Side note: we always ask Hunter. He’s by far the best server we’ve ever had. He goes above and beyond to make you evening special, but the best part is he remembers specific things you enjoyed from any previous visit. He even figured out how to get our favorite dessert that they no longer have on the menu (chocolate sin cake!)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We watched the Sunset and enjoyed a quiet relaxing dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Ruth's Chris always delivers an amazing steak- and this location is no exception. Filet always comes out cooked to the perfect temperature, great family sized sides (the sweet potato casserole is amazing!), and they always have a delicious bold cabernet to compliment our selections. Service is impeccable: waiters Philip and Gray are the best of the best. Their professionalism, knowledge, and timing is beyond compare.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Price are to high and not worth the money it overpriced for what you get

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Terrific evening! Great food (maybe best ever and we come here often ).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

It's best place for great steak. It was our 20th anniversary dinner she had the the Lamb Chops that were cooked to perfection I had Filet with Lobster Tail was perfect. Desert was the Banana Cream pie good but on the runny side not as Emerals. Overall great place for special times with great Steak & great view of the Cape Fear River.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our wait staff was great. Not too pushy by coming around too often. Kept tabs from afar.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Awesome experience as always. Quality food and service for an equal wise price, so definitely worth it and you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great experience! The food was outstanding as usual, and the service was exceptional!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Ruth's Chris is consistently outstanding. Of course the steaks are the best in town but the fish is always excellent and the side dishes are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Superb steak and salmon. Spinach and au gratin potatoes were great. Drinks were tasty, and dessert was a nice finishing touch. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food perfect as always. Service not as great as most locations.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great service and food. Celebrating neighbors retirement

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The meal was outstanding.
Our waiter Gray was wonderful, competent, knowledgeable and made sure our evening was perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

ALWAYS have a great experience at this Ruth's Chris. The wait staff, food, top notch!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great grown-up restaurant! Service is great-wait staff not overpowering. THE FOOD IS WONDERFUL!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

While traveling. Staying downtown Wilmimgton. Had to remember a special family members birthday who had passed. Her favorite meal was a great steak and Michelob Ultra. There wasn't a beer menu but the server made it available. Nice celebration. Great service and really awesome creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Dinner was very good and the service was excellent!
Hunter, our server was personable, informative and
Very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Made reservations for a birthday. Food was great, the waiter was excellent. Arrived to petals on the table for the occasion. We ordered our dessert to go but they still brought one out on a decorated plate with a candle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful including our server we just waited a long time for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

My favorite steakhouse chain in America but Wilmington's is consistently good. My son and I shared the Tomahawk rib-eye which was prepared perfectly. Blue Point oysters on the half-shell weren't also excellent and their Caesar salad never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I took my best friend to celebrate her birthday. She had mentioned to me that she had always wanted to go. I think that the experience exceeded her expectations. The service was without a doubt the best I've had in the area. Food exceptional with the exception of my filet, which I found just so so. Outside of that everything else was awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service and food were exceptional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our steaks were among the best we have ever had and cooked exactly to order. the eleven dollar baked potato was good but overpriced. Nice and quiet atmosphere. Recommended if you don't mind spending a lot of money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.