About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC, Wilmington, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Valentine's Weekend
February 10th - 14th
Make your Reservation Today

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests
Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests
Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests
Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests
Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Waterfront (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Scenic View (16)
Romantic (14)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, memorable meal

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, memorable meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. But very expensive. Definit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food. But very expensive. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and atmosphere Highly re ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere Highly recommend Food and staff were great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service. Phi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Consistently great food and service. Philip and Grey are phenomenal servers that make your dining experience complete!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good food, great service, and a g ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always good food, great service, and a great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was looking forward to a special dinner ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Was looking forward to a special dinner to celebrate a birthday but the dim lights made it very difficult to read the menu let alone order what we wanted to. A small table lamp would not take away from the ambiance setting. Also the bread pudding was a disappointment with a very bland taste that we did not finish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

My wife and I recently went to Ruth's Ch ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I recently went to Ruth's Chris for her birthday. She ordered the $59 meal and her steak came back over seared to the point of burning. I mentioned it to the waiter and he proceeded to take her steak and get her a new one-the second steak was excellent. Then he did something amazing and took her entire meal off of the check which saved me $60. They're not just masquerading as a high-class restaurant with high-priced meals they also walk the walk. Very impressed with their professionalism and in the end the meals were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality meal, a little over priced, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 25, 2016

High quality meal, a little over priced, service was good, drinks were a good size. Restaurant is noisy but comfortable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Did not appreciate the basement seating ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Did not appreciate the basement seating down stairs at all. No view. Might as well have been part of the hotel's breakfast area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience on Christmas Eve at Rut ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience on Christmas Eve at Ruth's Chris. Our service was excellent and steak arrived sizzling. Had the NY Strip Steak and it was very good as well as the tomatoe and mozzerella salad. House wine was excellent. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is my birthday dinner locat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris is my birthday dinner location and has been for the last 5 years. This was our first lunch time visit, and it was special as always. quiet and nearly had the place to our selves. Hunter was our server and was great. I look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a table by the window and were ab ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a table by the window and were able to enjoy a beautiful sunset. We took advantage of their $39.99 special for an entree, salad, side and dessert. We both enjoyed the filet with shrimp, had the Harvest salad, spinach, and potatoes au-gratin. The special comes with an apple cheesecake which we got to go, and upgraded the other dessert to cream brulee, which was very good and enjoyed with their delicious French-pressed coffee. Everything was delicious and I really enjoyed a bread with raisins they serve in their bread basket. We also added a sauce trio of black truffle butter, shiitake demi-glace, and honey soy glaze; they were good but unneeded. I could not eat all of my steak and we took home the spinach and potatoes as we could not eat all of those. We had very good attentive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. Well worth the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing food and service. Well worth the splurge. You can't go wrong with their filet.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to celebrate our 30th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The service was excellent and they did a nice job of recognizing the occasion. The food was delicious. Best steak we have had in a long time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the service was superb. Food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always, the service was superb. Food excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary last night at Ruth's Chris Steak House. We had requested a booth with a little privacy and got exactly that, with the table covered with rose petals, which was a very nice touch. Food and drinks were outstanding, service was excellent. Harrison was our waiter, and he was wonderful, even taking our picture when we asked him. This is a place we can only afford to go for a very special occasion, but it was worth every penny. Thank you for making our anniversary so special.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. Ther ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and service was excellent. There was an obnoxious table of very loud people sitting right next to us.

We should have moved!

Ruined the whole evening for me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Enjoyed meal and time with wife and daug ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoyed meal and time with wife and daughter. We will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is the BEST steak house in Wilmington ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It is the BEST steak house in Wilmington. I have tried the other 2 or 3 and find this reliably the best cut, cooked to perfection, presented very well and great value for what you are getting. You can order a la carte or from a fixed price menu with 4 items, so it is up to you what you wish to invest.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always! We love coming here ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent as always! We love coming here for special occasions!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is always FABULOUS!!!!!! Th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Ruth's Chris is always FABULOUS!!!!!! The service, the food, the wait staff, everything was top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Ruth Chris. While pricey, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always enjoy Ruth Chris. While pricey, you get what you pay for. We did the $59.99 option which included salad, entrée, side and dessert. Plenty of food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice for a special get together. I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very nice for a special get together. I like when they are open for lunch during the holidays serving lighter fare (and non-steak options). They also have a great happy hour. Their cocktails are special and they also serve lighter fare during the happy hour.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 4th visit, always great; food, servi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our 4th visit, always great; food, service and cocktails. Decor could use a little more pop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We spent our anniversary dinner here and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We spent our anniversary dinner here and it was wonderful! The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We will definitely return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great eating experience at Rut ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always a great eating experience at Ruth Chris. It is pricey but you get what you pay for every time. Our waiter was excellent and very accommodating. We live 2 hours away and my husband and I feel that it is worth the trip.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; table ready upon arri ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service; table ready upon arrival; great food; great view/location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate there on a Monday night so it was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We ate there on a Monday night so it was pretty quiet, only 4 other people the whole time we were there. The salad was good, the steak was delicious, the sides are limited...2 out of 3 sides were potatoes, the desert was no big deal.

Come on now, maybe the price is why it was so slow....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was incredible wine was great ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The steak was incredible wine was great they even have my favorite bourbon basil Hayden

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey but worth it. Delicious food and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Delicious food and great for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go every year for our anniversary and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We go every year for our anniversary and they treat you very special!!! The food is always amazing as is the service!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse is quit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Going to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse is quite a treat. The steaks are excellent. The server, Philip, was superb, providing expert recommendations for the wine and food. We chose our traditional sides of broccoli and sweet potato casserole. Both are delicious. The casserole is sweet enough to count as dessert. Still, we had the bread pudding and creme brulee for dessert. The ambiance and food are perfect for a special dinner for two.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have lived in the Wilmington area for f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Have lived in the Wilmington area for four years now and this by far was the best meal we have had. It was on the occasion of our 40th wedding anniversary. The service is what you would expect at a Ruth Chris, professional well trained waitstaff, something we have found sorely lacking in every restaurant we have frequented. I enjoyed the restaurant week 35 dollar three course meal, the petit filet you could cut with a fork. Can't wait for restaurant week again...we'll be back...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great . The free valet parking wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was great . The free valet parking was and is a wonderful bonus considering parking can be a problem

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, excellent meal, great service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As always, excellent meal, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked the choice of a prix fix menu. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I liked the choice of a prix fix menu. There were 2 different price points and the menu helped to narrow down the choice of entree. Delicious perfectly prepared steak!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal!!! Eat here very oft ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always a great meal!!! Eat here very often and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall Ruth Chris Steakhouse is a lovel ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall Ruth Chris Steakhouse is a lovely venue. I ordered the 6 oz. filet and it was delicious. My husband ordered the sea bass and he was not overly impressed. My disappointment in this restaurant stems from the fact that you get no sides with your order (my whole plate as ordered had a little piece of steak 2" x 3"). Everything is additional right down to $10.50 for a pile of string potatoes. My biggest disappointment was in the fact that I ordered an Appletini and asked for a little Triple Sec to be added. I expect cocktails to be expense in such an establishment, but an additional $8.50 added on to the already expensive cost for a dash of Triple Sec? Come on! That is a very inexpensive liquor. Although the food is quite good, be aware, they will charge for every little thing. By the way, our waiter, Charles, was outstanding!!!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was for a surprise birthday. they we ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 3, 2016

It was for a surprise birthday. they were very accommodating. Family was late and they sat us at a table for two til they arrived and when they did they resat us at a larger table. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Food was delicious. The service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.