About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Jewel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests
Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests
Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests
Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests
Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
10 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (47)
Scenic View (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dining and great food! Superb serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great dining and great food! Superb service to say the least!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First they sat us at a table where the c ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

First they sat us at a table where the ceiling ( not vent ) was leaking the waiter told my husband to slide to the left and it would miss him. They brought out the wrong salad to my husband then the wrong food . My filet and my brothers filet were supposed to be medium , they came out practically rare , they took them in the back and burnt the outside and it made the filets very tough . They did not offer to take my steak off of our bill and ate the 3 edible bites . They did upgrade our desserts at no charge . We will not go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The room we ate in has a view of the riv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The room we ate in has a view of the river, which is nice, but very hot this time of year, even with sunshades on the windows. I asked about the AC being turned cooler, but didn't notice that it was done. Noise level was high, but it's high in all restaurants now.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The waiter was probably the best one we ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The waiter was probably the best one we have ever had there before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a very enjoyable birthday night! It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Was a very enjoyable birthday night! It was my 60th and our server was Amanda, she was a delight to have serve us. She did not rush us at all! The sunset was not spectacular but was beautiful hidden behind the clouds. We got to sit at the window as requested. Love this place and the food was so delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great date night with my husban ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always a great date night with my husband! The food and wait staff is awesome. We enjoy being pampered and never rushed at RC

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Air conditioning was barely working. Din ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Air conditioning was barely working. Dining room much to warm to be able to enjoy what has always been great food. Considered leaving after initial drink order and wish we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Went for my birthday. Everyone was grea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Went for my birthday. Everyone was great. Very friendly and helpful. My husband's steak was cooked enough and the waiter took it back, then the manager came out and was very apologetic. The steak that came back to table was perfect. It was my birthday and I was given a piece of kielime pie on a very beautifully decorated plate. My whole experience was totally awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our anniversary, and it was a really lovely evening. We both had the Classic, which was 3-courses for a very reasonable $40. Great, fresh berry salad, petite filet with grilled shrimp and probably the most delicious little key lime cheesecake I've had. Even came with some chocolate brittle to satisfy and my ongoing chocolate craving. Great selection of after-dinner libations. The service was wonderful - everyone was extremely friendly. It was a great, leisurely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food , great view of the river a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food , great view of the river and battleship. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food, service, and view wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As always the food, service, and view was superb. My only complaint was the persons at the table next to us. We sat next to a table of eight that were drinking quite heavily. The more they drank the louder and more foul mouthed they became which disturbed us greatly.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service and attention to ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good, service and attention to details were great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My niece and were ending our vacation. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My niece and were ending our vacation. We stayed at Hilton wilmington Riverside where Ruth Chris is located. There were thunderstorms in the area so we decided to stay in and eat at Ruth Chris. Excellent choice. There were 2 groups of Classics meals which included appetizer, entree and dessert for one price. We decided in the 6 oz filet and the 16 oz ribeye. Excellent meal, excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was cooked to perfection. The table ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection. The table ordered seafood as well as steak. Everyone mentioned how much flavor there was and how well it was cooked. Too full to try anything for dessert though so no comment on that. Lobster mac and cheese is huge portion. Sides are good for splitting. Appetizers are good for small eater, it was plenty of food. Server was outstanding, friendly, helpful and attentive. View is great. ask for a window seat. Great place to watch the sun set.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

service was extremely slow; steaks were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

service was extremely slow; steaks were undercooked (not cooked to order), and we were given the incorrect food in our take home bag.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was very good. View was very nic ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was very good. View was very nice. Steaks came out not cooked correctly and sent back. When they came back one of them was burnt up on edges. I go to Ruth's Chris for a very good steak and was not satisfied with this one at all.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Definitely not a wow! This is a chain r ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Definitely not a wow! This is a chain restaurant and you are aware of that. The steak was good but not worth the price... very high for such a bland experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Normally we have A wonderful experience ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Normally we have A wonderful experience at Ruth Chris steakhouse. However we went there hoping to have our meal done in time to watch fireworks on the river. Our server was pleasant. But when all of the tables around us seemed to be getting their meals and we were still waiting, we knew something wasn't right. We asked our server and he said they were completely by soon. 20 minutes later, no dinners and our wine was done. Server brought us another bottle of which broke when decanting it. By this time we spoke with management and he had no answer for why our meals were not done. Third bottle of wine came out and the fireworks were starting. Then our food finally arrived. Close to 1 hr 15 minutes. Needless to say, our entire dinner was comped. Management did the right thing....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was by far one of the BEST dining e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was by far one of the BEST dining experiences my husband and I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 27th anniversary so we planned on pa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our 27th anniversary so we planned on paying up for a special meal; had done likewise in the past but this time we were disappointed. Long waits for service, although we were seated relatively early. Ran low on water, refills were rare, and refill on bread was not offered. Even ordered coffee at meals end, no offer for refill. Nice touches helped offset some, like rose petals on the table, but wife and I did feel less than satisfied upon leaving. Wish a manger would have stopped by to chick on satisfaction, but that too was missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Excellent food! A bit pricey. Great sel ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food! A bit pricey. Great selection. Comfortable atmosphere, distinguished waiters.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I were totally impress ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My girlfriend and I were totally impressed! Service and quality of food was great!! Would recommend everyone to try it out!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and I can honestly say that the steak I ordered was the best have I ever tasted in all of my 52 yrs! It was our 30th anniversary and the staff had two red roses on the table with the best view of the river in the whole restaurant. I want to thank the staff for making our visit, one that my wife and I, will remember forever!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was really nice she just seemed ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Waitress was really nice she just seemed to be stretched thin with large tables.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Omg. My hubby and I celebrated 5 years ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Omg. My hubby and I celebrated 5 years of marriage. And I'm telling this place was amazing. The food was the killer. In a awesome way. We're already making plans to go back with another couple in July. Stuffed chicken breast. Amazing! ! Great waitress named Mandy. She had the best customer service. 5stars

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful anniversary celebrat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a delightful anniversary celebration!

The service was impeccable and our food and drink selections were delicious! We are thankful to Tomil our waiter and to Eric the general manager who attended to every detail, including presenting a bottle of champagne and special appetizers that were arranged in advance by our daughter and our son-in-law. It all made for a most memorable dining experience!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, easy access, great servi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Beautiful view, easy access, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was perfect for celebrati ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was perfect for celebrating our 50th anniversary. Our waiter was cordial, informative,and his service was 5-star; an excellent place for top-shelf dining!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience. The food ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. The food is always great and such a wonderful atmosphere. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful as always. A great time was had and loved getting together with friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never a disappointment!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We LOVE Ruth's Chris. Fine dining at its best, especially if you are a steak lover. While it IS pricey, it is worth every penny for the quality of the food and service. This is our go-to restaurant for a special occasion. EVERYTHING is delicious, from the salads and appetizers all the way to the desserts. You can't go wrong dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Questionable Meal Quality

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Have eaten here 3 times in past two years and the quality of the Cowboy Ribeye has steadily declined. On this visit, I was actually served two pieces of steak, obviously not from the same cut. For the price, this is not even a

"good" value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was amazing!!! The service was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was amazing!!! The service was even better. We had an incredible view of the sunset over the water. The staff treated us with the upmost respect and treated us to a glass of free champagne and desserts. The outside dining area was very romantic. Since this was a very special occasion for my husband and me, we chose to dine at Ruth's Chris and will absolutely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Phillip was outstanding and w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter Phillip was outstanding and went above and beyond to make our night special.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday meal

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My son wanted Ruth's Chris for his birthday along with some friends. The table setup was great and the attention the staff gave him made him feel great. Also, the food and service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everytime im in wilmington i make it to ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everytime im in wilmington i make it to ruth's chris .... I don't know if people know this, but ruth's is a franchise and therefore it does differ from franchise to franchise. I love the ambience here, the attn to detail here and the cheesecake is still round as opposed to wedge shape!!!!:-)

Also it's really sweet that they always either send a card or a follow up phone call asking you how your visit went...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive yes but ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to celebrate my wife's sister's birthday and it felt festive start to finish. We went for the 3-course meal deals so the only additions were cocktails and a bottle of wine. Steaks were superb, everything was well worth the price. Sure it's expensive but if it's a special occasion you will have an experience to remember. The best feature is the enormous picture window that overlooks the Cape Fear river. This was my first time at any Ruth's Chris and I can say it will not be my last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Gray was amazing. He was know ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server Gray was amazing. He was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Ever!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I had heard a lot about Ruth's Chris and always wanted to go there. It turned out to be, perhaps the best meal I have ever had. I don't have the words to describe the food, but the steak turned out to be the best in 60 years of eating steak. The whole staff was great, professional and very knowledgeably. While the meal for three wasn't cheap, it was not as expensive as I had anticipated that it would be. Like my grandfather taught me, I got what I paid for. All in all, a great event and one I look forward to repeating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Philip our waiter was and always is outstanding. Always consistant in quality.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must have changed the time of the rese ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I must have changed the time of the reservations 5 times, but the woman who answered the phone was pleasant, patient, and wonderful! Our waiters were personable and attentive, and the food was unbelievable! I think it was the best meal my family had in years! A bit pricey but so well prepared. Our compliments to the chef!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.