About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Jewel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wine

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests
Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests
Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests
Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests
Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (39)
scenic view (34)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse ...

Dined 3 days ago

First time to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and I can honestly say that the steak I ordered was the best have I ever tasted in all of my 52 yrs! It was our 30th anniversary and the staff had two red roses on the table with the best view of the river in the whole restaurant. I want to thank the staff for making our visit, one that my wife and I, will remember forever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress was really nice she just seemed ...

Dined 4 days ago

Waitress was really nice she just seemed to be stretched thin with large tables.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omg. My hubby and I celebrated 5 years ...

Dined 6 days ago

Omg. My hubby and I celebrated 5 years of marriage. And I'm telling this place was amazing. The food was the killer. In a awesome way. We're already making plans to go back with another couple in July. Stuffed chicken breast. Amazing! ! Great waitress named Mandy. She had the best customer service. 5stars

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful anniversary celebrat ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a delightful anniversary celebration! The service was impeccable and our food and drink selections were delicious! We are thankful to Tomil our waiter and to Eric the general manager who attended to every detail, including presenting a bottle of champagne and special appetizers that were arranged in advance by our daughter and our son-in-law. It all made for a most memorable dining experience!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was perfect for celebrati ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was perfect for celebrating our 50th anniversary. Our waiter was cordial, informative,and his service was 5-star; an excellent place for top-shelf dining!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience. The food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. The food is always great and such a wonderful atmosphere. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful as always. A great time was had and loved getting together with friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never a disappointment!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We LOVE Ruth's Chris. Fine dining at its best, especially if you are a steak lover. While it IS pricey, it is worth every penny for the quality of the food and service. This is our go-to restaurant for a special occasion. EVERYTHING is delicious, from the salads and appetizers all the way to the desserts. You can't go wrong dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Questionable Meal Quality

Dined on May 28, 2016

Have eaten here 3 times in past two years and the quality of the Cowboy Ribeye has steadily declined. On this visit, I was actually served two pieces of steak, obviously not from the same cut. For the price, this is not even a "good" value

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!!! The service was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was amazing!!! The service was even better. We had an incredible view of the sunset over the water. The staff treated us with the upmost respect and treated us to a glass of free champagne and desserts. The outside dining area was very romantic. Since this was a very special occasion for my husband and me, we chose to dine at Ruth's Chris and will absolutely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Phillip was outstanding and w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter Phillip was outstanding and went above and beyond to make our night special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great birthday meal

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My son wanted Ruth's Chris for his birthday along with some friends. The table setup was great and the attention the staff gave him made him feel great. Also, the food and service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everytime im in wilmington i make it to ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everytime im in wilmington i make it to ruth's chris .... I don't know if people know this, but ruth's is a franchise and therefore it does differ from franchise to franchise. I love the ambience here, the attn to detail here and the cheesecake is still round as opposed to wedge shape!!!!:-) Also it's really sweet that they always either send a card or a follow up phone call asking you how your visit went...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive yes but ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to celebrate my wife's sister's birthday and it felt festive start to finish. We went for the 3-course meal deals so the only additions were cocktails and a bottle of wine. Steaks were superb, everything was well worth the price. Sure it's expensive but if it's a special occasion you will have an experience to remember. The best feature is the enormous picture window that overlooks the Cape Fear river. This was my first time at any Ruth's Chris and I can say it will not be my last.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Gray was amazing. He was know ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server Gray was amazing. He was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Ever!

Dined on May 11, 2016

I had heard a lot about Ruth's Chris and always wanted to go there. It turned out to be, perhaps the best meal I have ever had. I don't have the words to describe the food, but the steak turned out to be the best in 60 years of eating steak. The whole staff was great, professional and very knowledgeably. While the meal for three wasn't cheap, it was not as expensive as I had anticipated that it would be. Like my grandfather taught me, I got what I paid for. All in all, a great event and one I look forward to repeating.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Philip our waiter was and always is outstanding. Always consistant in quality.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I must have changed the time of the rese ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I must have changed the time of the reservations 5 times, but the woman who answered the phone was pleasant, patient, and wonderful! Our waiters were personable and attentive, and the food was unbelievable! I think it was the best meal my family had in years! A bit pricey but so well prepared. Our compliments to the chef!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal but pricing is reall ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Always a great meal but pricing is really high.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place has a nice feel to it. The ser ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The place has a nice feel to it. The service was good. The side dishes and desserts were great but what they are know for their steaks were just okay.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC

Dined on April 9, 2016

My waiter was amazing food exceptional I couldn't give a high enough review it was wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 27, 2016

We try to visit a Ruth's Chris when we travel and this has been one of the best ones yet. I got the Spicy Salmon and I highly recommend it. Cheesecake is always a great choice for dessert!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Sunday Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful evening of food and drink . The prices are steep but the quality is there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was good, but not great. Fix electrical!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was good, but not great. My waiter was seemed a little bumbling at times, and the lights kept flickering on and off in the dinning area. Needless to say I do not pay 200 dollars for a two course meal with for clumsy service and an electrical issue that ruins the atmosphere.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

No Scenic View for Us

Dined on March 16, 2016

We dined at Ruth Chris early mid week to accommodate a performance at CFCC. The restaurant is in the Hilton hotel along the Cape Fear River....the dining room overlooks the river, the bar does not. The dining toom blinds were closed the entire time we were there so we were unable to enjoy the river view. The dining room is darker and decorated in traditional steak house décor. While not horrible, the dining room could use a bit of a facelift....looks tired.The service was attentive but the servers had plenty of chance to stand around and talk with one another in the dining room while we and other were eating.....not terribly professional. The 11 ounce filets were excellent....both medium rare .... cooked perfectly. The creamed spinach was also very tasty. The lyonnaise potatoes looked somewhat overcooked and not particular appealing but tasted OK. The chocolate dessert was delicious, too and just the right size for ending the meal. We would go back to Ruth Chris in another city..........just probably not return to this one in Wilmington.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

Disappointing

Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was amazing, server was horrible! The pepper shaker didn't work. Server got mad when I asked for a new one. I watched him drop someone's credit card on the ground and didn't realize it and a guest brought it back to the owner. When he dropped the check off, he had left a credit card slip from the previous guest in there as well. Server was very scatter brained! Not very impressed, I'll take the 2 hour drive and go to Raleigh for now on!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two very special occasions well celebrated.

Dined on February 29, 2016

We were a group of six celebrating a 90th birthday and a 72nd wedding anniversary two very special occasions. The services performed were outstanding and the food even better. We enjoyed every bite. I strongly recommend Ruth Crist located in the Hilton Hotel in Wilmington, NC. You will enjoy every minute you're there and will be well taken care of by the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Everything was outstanding here, from the Service to the Food. We had Tamil for our server and he was so helpful, had a great sense of humor, but was very knowledgeable with the menu and always had a smile on his face. The Barbeque Shrimp was delicious!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was great.

Dined on February 24, 2016

Service and food was great.

food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great steaks but........

Dined on February 21, 2016

The restaurant looks very dated and the fabric on the chair backs were stained. The service was wonderful, our waiter was fantastic, and the steaks were delicious. The only two issues we had were: 1) The side dishes are not included in the price of your entrée. I would think that if you pay $14 for a mixed drink and $50 or more for a steak that it would at least include a vegetable or potato.......or even a sprig of parsley on the plate. 2) The thousand island salad dressing had so much hard boiled egg in it that it tasted like egg salad and not at all like thousand island dressing which was disappointing. This was a one time special occasion to this restaurant and we probably will never dine there again because it is so expensive but these were the most delicious steaks that my fiancé and I have ever had.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for fine dining

Dined on February 20, 2016

Elegant atmosphere and fine dining. I took my wife to Ruth Chris on 20 February 2016 to celebrate her birthday. Hostess was delightful! When we were seated we were greeted by Sy and he explained everything to us. Menu and recommendations. Definitely knew what he was talking about and was very helpful with the selection. Sy helped make my wife's birthday special. So, big thank you to Sy. He represented Ruth Chris with professionalism! Food preparation was outstanding and nothing was rushed hence our 2 hours of dining. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A2

Dined on February 16, 2016

As you have properly heard, it is terribly expensive. Every time I leave, I always say, "that sure was good,but so expensive!"

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner Terrific, Bar Drinks Not So

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent service and food. Checked in 20 minutes early for a 7:30 pm reservation as it was Valentine's Day...lots of walk-ins waiting for a table but we were taken to ours exactly on time. Food, presentation, table setting, service were all in keeping with Ruth's Chris high standards. Only downside were the two cocktails at the bar we ordered while waiting...they just didn't taste right.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Never to Return

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was a disaster! We had a 7 pm reservation and were seated at 7:50. We requested the main dinning room and were placed in a second dinning room downstairs which was a bad hotel meeting room with a few pictures on the wall. The seating was in bad meeting room chairs. The food was adequate but not what one should expect from a high end steak house where the average tab for two may exceed $200, certainly we had better steaks at Texas Road House and you are out for less than $80 for two. The wait staff did their best under tough conditions. Overall this appears to be a mis managed restaurant. The maitre d' did comp our meal but management had him in a tough spot. Never to return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good restaurant but don't go on Valentine's Day.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation that was confirmed. Arrived on time to an overflowing waiting area filled with other reservation holders. The restaurant consciously overbooked. After a 30 minute wait we were seated in a separate overflow area that was part of the hotel. Not a particularly lovely spot. Service was ok given the crowd. Fully priced. Ruth's Chris is basically a good spot but they were abusing their customers on Valentine's Day. People paying those prices deserve better.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service and tremendous menu.

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I spent our Valentine's Day evening at Ruth Chris and had a tremendous experience. The food was as it always is at most Ruth Chris facilities - excellent and delicious. The wait staff did a fantastic job of making sure our glasses were always full and that the table was bussed very quickly. The wait staff also was very knowledgeable and were able to make menu recommendations which turned out to be absolutely wonderful. The red rose given to my wife at the close of dinner was a real touch of class. Thank you Ruth Chris for making our special night a memorable one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Morgan

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our server Morgan. She was superb. She was kind and attentive just the right amount.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my first time here and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed. From vallet parking to the greeters that showed us to our table and most of all our waiter Harrison. Harrison was polite , friendly and made sure we were satisfied. The food was amazing and of great quality and quantity. I love it and I will visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband and I dined at Ruth's Chris i ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I dined at Ruth's Chris in Wilmington on Valentine's Day, which was also our one year wedding anniversary. We thought this would be a great place to celebrate. We were horribly mistaken. I requested a table with a view of the waterfront when I made the reservation online, but we were stuffed in the tiniest corner jammed against a wall which was our only view besides the back of someone's head. There were several tables by the windows with a view like I requested. Other patrons that arrived after we did were able to order their food and drinks, receive their meals, eat, and leave before we received anything. Our server didn't seem particularly interested in helping us. We were made to feel as though we weren't supposed to dine there. All the other servers gave complimentary roses and gift cards to their guests, but we were not offered the same. The food, when we finally received it, wasn't much better. It was lukewarm at best. the steak was leathery. The lobster was like a rubber tire. This was the worst experience I've had at any establishment. I have dined at other Ruth's Chris restaurants, and never had any issues. I will never dine at the Wilmington location again. I've received better service at Waffle House and McDonald's drive thrus.

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Return to Ruth's Chris

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our third visit to Ruth's Chris, each time at a different location. The ambiance at this location, though very quiet, was not up to the previous two in Northern Virginia. The server, Veda, was very professional, attentive, and friendly. Her support staff, not so much. We had to ask for bread twice. The server finally brought it herself. The staff delivering the food was, on several occasions, confused and either tried to deliver dishes to the wrong table, or returned to the kitchen with the dishes. The food was up to Ruth's standards. The Classic specials were very good with the perfect amount of food. The alcohol was, in my opinion, priced too high. That left us a bit annoyed in retrospect. Although the food and the professionalism of the server were up to the Ruth's standards, the dining room and support staff were not.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal of perfectly cooke ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a wonderful meal of perfectly cooked steak, sides, and desert. The service was impeccable as always!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.