Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

$49.95 Prime Rib Special

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$49.95 Prime Rib Special

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday FUNDAY at Ruth's Featuring $49.95 Prime Rib Special, served with choice of baked or mashed potato Served on Sunday's only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 4, 2017 - Oct 1, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Waterfront (30)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Scenic View (15)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately, we did not have a good dining experience. Seated at 6:35, entree order taken at 7:00, food did not come out until 8:25. Asked the server and he said food was coming out shortly. Spoke with the manager and he said shortly.Still 1 hour and 25 minutes to get food. Letterly, people came in behind us ordered, ate, and left before we had entree. they offered us a upgrade on desert. what a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We arrived at 6 p,m and we're promptly seated. Our waiter was great. He explained the menu and gave Me a tip on the cooking temp of My stake .I love rare beef but not raw. The food arrived and My Wife and I enjoyed every bite. MY stake was the best ever ! You folks made My wife's birthday the most memorable one in many years together. Thank You , Joe and Nancy Beckley.
.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

AMAZING FOOD AMAZING SERVICE!! Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual and everyone made a special point to wish my husband Happy Fathers Day. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We always enjoy dining here and absolutely find a consistently superb meal and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best steak ever!! We loved our server. Do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 6, 2017

best steak that i have ever had. my wife's steak was a little overdone. the sides were good but not great. the dessert was really good. overall was a good meal. could have done something complimentary, unexpected for couple having 30 yr anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! Made reservations and everything was on time and did not have to wait for a table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server Gray went out of his way to explain the menu and deliver a wonderful meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Wilmington continues to deliver outstanding food and service. Steaks cooked to perfection as always, but salads and side dishes that exceed expectations. The lobster mac has large chunks of lobster meat, and they've figured out how to make decadent brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ruth Chris never disappointe me as they have mastered the art of a good steak. I have to get my monthly fix.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Ambiance --- rose petals on the table, and special congratulatory note on dessert plate added to our enjoyment of our anniversary dinner. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was fantastic, up to the Ruth's Chris standard we have come to expect. Our waiter, Kyle, was professional and friendly, and made the experience even better. The ambiance is not as nice as other RC locations, and it's a little loud and crowded, but overall, I'll not be deterred from going again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went for our sons graduation. The food and service were outstanding. The only complaint I have is it was chilly in there. They did adjust the temperature. I would not recommend sitting by the windows if you get chilled easily.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was good, until they were more than two tables. Then the waiter was busy and we had to wait several times to get either food or a bill. The augratin potatoes were terrible. For the amount of money you're paying I expected them to be baked better, the potatoes were almost raw. My husband asked for steak medium it was rare at best. He refused to send it back, I would've. Wait staff was very friendly and accommodating, again until they were more than two tables in the restaurant. Steak was good but not worth the money. Overall very disappointed

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I have not been to Ruth's Chris steakhouse in a number of years. Since this restaurant was in our hotel we decided to try it.

Where we were initially seated was too cold as the air conditioning ducks blew directly on the first row of tables by the window. We asked to be seated on the second row from the windows but we're still cold. When the manager stop by we asked if he could do something and he change the thermostat which was a big help for about 30 minutes. The air-conditioner then started again and we were told.

The Caesar salad's we're good, as were the steaks. The cream corn and the desserts were great. And, the service was also very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service as one would expect at an above average restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very enjoyable meal for Easter dinner! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to several Ruth's Chris's and jabber never been disappointed with the food until now. Food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch - OUTSTANDING! The Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Contrary to some recent visitor's remarks, we found the setting to be quiet and the service absolutely impeccable. There were no whining and undisciplined children to ruin our conversation in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

While the food was exquisite, the service was by far the best in town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went during Wilmington Restaurant Week and it was great as usual! The quality and preparation of the steaks and fillets cannot be duplicated at home. Usually the restaurant is quiet and intimate and has a nice view of the sunset over the Cape Fear River. However, this time we were seated next to a table with young, noisy children.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very enjoyable meal here. The Petite Filet was scrumptious, Chocolate Sin Cake was delicious.

The service was impeccable! No less than four separate people checked on me throughout my meal; even the manager stopped by to chat. My waitress Olivia was so friendly and welcoming. Hope to visit again. Thank you all!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very good steak from the Restaurant Week menu which included a salad, a main entree, and dessert for $35. Sides and appetizer were extra, but discounted. I love the bread they serve which has raisins in it. They have the best coffee which is French pressed. The Chocolate Sin dessert is very dense, very chocolate, and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They have the most amazing steaks ! I go here every restaurant week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've been to this Ruth's Chris Steakhouse several times and have always had exceptional service and an excellent meal. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our server, Gray, took good care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Warning! Ruth Chris had a wedding booked that took up the entire dining and bar area of the restaurant. When we made our reservation, this was not disclosed to us. Upon arrival, we were taken to an event room at the hotel and served there on temporary tables and chairs. We stayed because we were celebrating a special occasion for our son and he specifically requested Ruth Chris. However, when we dine, I pay for three things- food quality, service, and atmosphere and we had zero atmosphere and no warning of this in advance. Very annoying and disappointing given our expectation for the evening.

This is our second very disappointing experience at a Ruth Chris and will think twice before booking them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our dinner at Ruth Chris' was great! 500 degree plate with my stake was fun! Everything tastes great and service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dinner and service. A little expensive but the food is well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had an evening out with friends. The food was excellent and the service was even better. Overall the ambiance is a little dated and could be updated but it was comfortable. As with all Ruth's Chris steak houses, it is expensive but the food was worth it. Try the Blueberry mojito, it was fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Ryan was great. Answered every and all questions. Had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was great but we took the dessert home instead of eating at the restaurant. When I opened up one of the boxes their was a piece of hair sitting on top of the desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service is always great and the view is extra special from a window view table. The sunset is amazing over a nice dinner , friends and a glass of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love eating at all the different Ruth Christ restaurants. Great food, drinks and atmosphere and excellent wait staff

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible meal, outstanding service & fantastic ambiance. Definitey try the brussel sprouts and sweet potato casserole! Can't wait to return. Wow.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The steaks are great. However, I would prefer a cheaper steak from another steak house then deal with the price at this place. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the staff. Reliably great steaks every time. Solid cocktails. Great for a date.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience just as we always do when we choose Ruth's Chris for our special occasions. Food is always hot and cooked to perfection; service is always very professional.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.