Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilmington is located inside the Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel in the heart of historic Downtown Wilmington. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business meeting, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs and our Wilmington steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere of casual elegance.

301 North Water St
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday 12PM to 9PM. Lounge opens at 3PM daily

Cross Street:
Grace St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 343-1818

Website:
http://www.ruthschris-wilmington.com/

Catering:
Featuring:
- Custom designed menus
- Open for lunch for private events
- Off-site catering for lunch or dinner
- Delivered boxed lunches
- Fully enclosed private dining rooms

Amenities
- 46’’ Plasma HD Flat Screen TV
- In room drop down screen
- LCD Overhead Projector
- Wireless Slide Advancers
- Hardwire & Wireless Internet
- Hardwire Phone Line
- Wireless Conference Phone
- Wi-Fi video calling (Skype)
- Sound System with microphone
- 24’’ Digital Photo Viewer
- Display Easels
- Complimentary Valet

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

$49.95 Prime Rib Special

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$49.95 Prime Rib Special

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday FUNDAY at Ruth's Featuring $49.95 Prime Rib Special, served with choice of baked or mashed potato Served on Sunday's only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 4, 2017 - Oct 1, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Cape Fear Room #1, can be reserved for up to 40 guests Cape Fear Room #2, can be reserved for up to 25 guests Azalea Room, can be reserved for up to 16 guests Cape Fear Rooms combined, can be reserved for up to 80 guests Main Dining Room, can be reserved for up to 100 guests

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Wilmington, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Waterfront (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Scenic View (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

ALWAYS have a great experience at this Ruth's Chris. The wait staff, food, top notch!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great grown-up restaurant! Service is great-wait staff not overpowering. THE FOOD IS WONDERFUL!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

While traveling. Staying downtown Wilmimgton. Had to remember a special family members birthday who had passed. Her favorite meal was a great steak and Michelob Ultra. There wasn't a beer menu but the server made it available. Nice celebration. Great service and really awesome creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Dinner was very good and the service was excellent!
Hunter, our server was personable, informative and
Very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Made reservations for a birthday. Food was great, the waiter was excellent. Arrived to petals on the table for the occasion. We ordered our dessert to go but they still brought one out on a decorated plate with a candle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful including our server we just waited a long time for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

My favorite steakhouse chain in America but Wilmington's is consistently good. My son and I shared the Tomahawk rib-eye which was prepared perfectly. Blue Point oysters on the half-shell weren't also excellent and their Caesar salad never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I took my best friend to celebrate her birthday. She had mentioned to me that she had always wanted to go. I think that the experience exceeded her expectations. The service was without a doubt the best I've had in the area. Food exceptional with the exception of my filet, which I found just so so. Outside of that everything else was awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service and food were exceptional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our steaks were among the best we have ever had and cooked exactly to order. the eleven dollar baked potato was good but overpriced. Nice and quiet atmosphere. Recommended if you don't mind spending a lot of money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was exceptional. Atmosphere was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We wanted to celebrate our anniversary at a special place and Ruth's Cris was our choice. We had a drink at the bar before dinner. I had the pomegranate martini- bar special - very good. Our dinner was from the prix fixe menu. It wAs delicious and well priced-generous portions. Our waiter,Philip, did a great job - attentive , pleasant . Looking forward to returning .

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ribeye great lobster bisque great, filets fair, nothing special. Disappointed
Spinach side tasted frozen re heated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Unfortunately, we did not have a good dining experience. Seated at 6:35, entree order taken at 7:00, food did not come out until 8:25. Asked the server and he said food was coming out shortly. Spoke with the manager and he said shortly.Still 1 hour and 25 minutes to get food. Letterly, people came in behind us ordered, ate, and left before we had entree. they offered us a upgrade on desert. what a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We arrived at 6 p,m and we're promptly seated. Our waiter was great. He explained the menu and gave Me a tip on the cooking temp of My stake .I love rare beef but not raw. The food arrived and My Wife and I enjoyed every bite. MY stake was the best ever ! You folks made My wife's birthday the most memorable one in many years together. Thank You , Joe and Nancy Beckley.
.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

AMAZING FOOD AMAZING SERVICE!! Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual and everyone made a special point to wish my husband Happy Fathers Day. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We always enjoy dining here and absolutely find a consistently superb meal and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love Ruth Chris...never lets us down...wonderful cuisine, and wine list. Awesome for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Met my son here for a weekend of fishing and decided we wanted a steak, we may have been a little underdressed, but were welcomed anyway. One of the best meals I've had and service was second to none!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best steak ever!! We loved our server. Do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 6, 2017

best steak that i have ever had. my wife's steak was a little overdone. the sides were good but not great. the dessert was really good. overall was a good meal. could have done something complimentary, unexpected for couple having 30 yr anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Steak, lobster Mac & cheese, cream corn were delicious. Potatos au gratin were terrible. Love this brand restaurant in every location I've visited. Don't know why they tell you business casual if people are seated in shorts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! Made reservations and everything was on time and did not have to wait for a table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server Gray went out of his way to explain the menu and deliver a wonderful meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Wilmington continues to deliver outstanding food and service. Steaks cooked to perfection as always, but salads and side dishes that exceed expectations. The lobster mac has large chunks of lobster meat, and they've figured out how to make decadent brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ruth Chris never disappointe me as they have mastered the art of a good steak. I have to get my monthly fix.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great atmosphere and great service! Very nice and quiet!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Ambiance --- rose petals on the table, and special congratulatory note on dessert plate added to our enjoyment of our anniversary dinner. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was fantastic, up to the Ruth's Chris standard we have come to expect. Our waiter, Kyle, was professional and friendly, and made the experience even better. The ambiance is not as nice as other RC locations, and it's a little loud and crowded, but overall, I'll not be deterred from going again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went for our sons graduation. The food and service were outstanding. The only complaint I have is it was chilly in there. They did adjust the temperature. I would not recommend sitting by the windows if you get chilled easily.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our table was at the window overlooking the Cape Fear River, what a wonderful location. Our waiter was Charles, because of knowledge of the menu and his friendly personality and his great service, it made our visit even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was good, until they were more than two tables. Then the waiter was busy and we had to wait several times to get either food or a bill. The augratin potatoes were terrible. For the amount of money you're paying I expected them to be baked better, the potatoes were almost raw. My husband asked for steak medium it was rare at best. He refused to send it back, I would've. Wait staff was very friendly and accommodating, again until they were more than two tables in the restaurant. Steak was good but not worth the money. Overall very disappointed

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The location of this Ruth Chris allowed me and my party to enjoy a walk by the water before dinner. The service was awesome! The food was good but I don't feel we got a good value for the whole experience based on the bill. If the food was to the standard of the service I would have nonissue paying to dollar. Food was underwhelming...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I have not been to Ruth's Chris steakhouse in a number of years. Since this restaurant was in our hotel we decided to try it.

Where we were initially seated was too cold as the air conditioning ducks blew directly on the first row of tables by the window. We asked to be seated on the second row from the windows but we're still cold. When the manager stop by we asked if he could do something and he change the thermostat which was a big help for about 30 minutes. The air-conditioner then started again and we were told.

The Caesar salad's we're good, as were the steaks. The cream corn and the desserts were great. And, the service was also very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very enjoyable meal for Easter dinner! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service as one would expect at an above average restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to several Ruth's Chris's and jabber never been disappointed with the food until now. Food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch - OUTSTANDING! The Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.