About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.95

Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Sunday Oct 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Join us for Home Football Games!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Oct 20, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.95

Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our Classics Menu for a limited time!. Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Sunday Oct 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join Ruth's Chris Uptown for our Antinori Wine Dinner! $120++ more details soon. Special valid on Sunday Oct 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Join us for Home Football Games!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

We will open at 10am for all home football games. Enjoy a bottle of Wycliff with 3 carafes of juices or our Touchdown Bloody Mary with 4oz Prime Filet & 3 Jumbo Shrimp both for $25!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Home Football Games: 9/24/17 11/5/17 12/10/17 12/17/17 12/24/17. Special valid Sep 24, 2017 - Dec 24, 2017 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Romantic (35)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a delicious meal and enjoyed the quiet setting of the side wine room. We had a slight wait at times for our server to return to our table with food and drinks, but that was ok. What wasn't so ok was that he returned at one point to inform us that our wine selection that we had been enjoying was no longer in supply and recommended another wine selection (by the glass). We took his recommendation only to later discover that it was three times the price of the wine we had previously ordered. Lesson learned should we return....if a wine selection runs out, ask to see the wine list again with prices listed and choose from there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Our steaks were done exactly as requested and were delicious as were the sides and salads. The server was very much on his game and the manager checked with us and seemed genuinely interested in our experience. If you're looking for wild innovation, you probably won't find it here, but you will always find consistently great food and service. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The experience was good though felt a little rushed at times. We were there 2 hours so was a perceived rush since there we had an extra coarse. The was very good and we ended up with a free glass of wine which was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was wonderful. The service was not the best but not bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed a nice romantic dinner here on Friday night , the food and service was phenomenal! Beth gave us great advice from the wine to the dessert menu! Great place and highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch was excellent. Service was outstanding. The waitstaff took care of all our needs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Waiter ignored us, worst experience at a Ruth's Chris. Never checked in to see how our food was. The one time he asked if we needed more drinks it took 20 minutes for him to bring back the wine. The place was empty so no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent as always! We are never disappointed and will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Exceptional service and even better food. Thanks for making our evening special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always dependable and you know what you are going to get ! Very professional and in a great setting!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Total overall experience was exceptional. The food was excellent, although the lobster mac & cheese wasn't as creamy as I'd had before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was excellent and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was good
Shoestring fries are not a good menu option

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The meal recommendations and food were perfect. The only issue that I had, was that the area in which were seated was too small for our liking and the dessert given for our take home enjoyment was dissapointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Just as expected-food was exceptional and the wait staff was spot on.
The only reason I did not give five stars was because of an obnoxious couple who were outside with us and were very loud and inappropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our first time at Ruth Chris. The ribeye steak was average. The salad was great and the scalloped potatoes were ok. I was hoping it would all be amazing, but the food was average.
The service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Birthday dinner was very pleasant. I love the upbeat jazz music that was playing. The lantern on our table was flickering and the waiter immediately exchanged it. The crab cakes were ok, a remoulade would have made it absolutely delicious. The lamb was cooked to perfection, very hearty pieces. Mashed potatoes were creamy and yummy. Even the complimentary berry cheesecake was tasteful but the chocolate cake was very bitter. Ordered two apple crumble desserts to go and unfortunately, they didn't include our vanilla ice creams in the bags. Overall it was a good birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing place
This Ruth Chris is the best in the company

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great portabella mushroom sandwich for lunch! The service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Explained when making reservation, upon arrival to hostesses and to wait staff the importance of the dinner.
In spite of making my point, the service at best was disjointed. For example, uncomfortably long wait between salad and entrees to the point that drinks were reordered. My clients commented that the restaurant wait staff was running up the wine bill.
When dinner finally arrived one of meal was missing, raising confusion and a brief spat with my MOST important client.over whether or not he got the meal he ordered. We were.told the missing entree went to a different table.
This place was not busy for a Wednesday night, which was a point of discussion after the meal between ourselves.
Of the 10 in our party 6 work in downtown Charlotte for a major utility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We received a cold baked potato although the Waiter replaced the potato it put a damper on the rather great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time with friends here; the service (Jonathan was our waiter) and food were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We always have great service and even better food when we come here!!! Tonight was no different

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing from start to finish; drinks, appetizers, entrees. Not one negative to note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Was not typical Ruth Chris. Had waiter drop glass bottle in bar area and he was mad and cleaned up and did not even ask if OK or anything and drinks got on at least 3 people including me. Dinner was great, waiter spilled the hot butter on wife and friend and table beside us was very loud and cussing every other word and no one says anything. For an $1,000.00 dinner I expected more and will go Flemmings next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

As always, the food was delicious, and the service was exceptional. Everyone was great - our waiter was very personable and attentive enough to provide excellent service without being intrusive. The Sommelier as well as two managers stopped by to chat and make sure we were pleased. They go above and beyond to ensure a great overall experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The staff were all so friendly and attentive. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were guests for the PGA golf tournament and took our hosts and friends to Ruth's Chris. We made the reservation there because you are always safe having a special occasion at Ruth's Chris. They are always consistently excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Outstanding filet, salads and beverages. Service excellent.
Baked potato advertised as "1 pound", no way it was. And it was cold. This in contrast thebthe waiter advertised "500 degree plate, don't touch"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was very good and every dish was prepared properly. I was also pleased with the service. It was very attentive with multiple servers assisting our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everyone talks about the outstanding steaks.....but the Calamari was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food is excellent. Great choice for queens feast week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I didn't care for Aaron our waiter not the most friendliest and I felt he acted as if we should not have been there.. Idk
Never experience that before there.. Maybe it was a bad night for him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Hands down the most consistent steak restaurant. I have been into several Ruth's over the past few years and its always been a good experience. This time in particular it was our anniversary so we were even greeted with a free bottle of wine. Servers are educated on the menu and can talk intelligently about the wines. Steak was cooked to perfection! Would highly recommend this Charlotte, NC location as well as any other Ruth's Chris you see in your travels.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great experience. And, valet parking is a definite plus.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Much rather prefer the SouthPark location. Food is 100% better as well as the customer service. It was restaurant week but that to me means the service should've been better then any other day.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I asked for a rib eye well done but not charred. Cut into my meat and blood was still coming out of it. I do not like medium rare that's why I specifically asked for well done. Service was great but my food could have been better. It was my 17th wedding anniversary and I was looking forward to my steak.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely great service and food. I am never disappointed when I leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Erin was awesome! She took great care of us and I look forward to requesting her in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been to this location several times now. The service is always great and the food is fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.