About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown
Filet Mignon
Chocolate Walnut Cookie
Cappuccino
Chopped Salad
Chef's Special Dessert Trio
Steak and Shrimp
Crabcakes
Petite Filet Mignon
pomme frittes
Broiled Tomato
BBQ Shrimp
Chocolate Espresso Cake

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Summer Private Dining Incentive

Special valid Jul 4, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jul 22, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $95.00

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Riedel Glassware Seminar

Tuesday Sep 13, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We offer a $35 or $45 3-course dinner to celebrate Prom and Graduation. Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.
Summer Private Dining Incentive

Special valid Jul 4, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Book your private dining event by July 31st and hold it between July 4th & September 4th and you will earn a $50 Gift Card for every $500 Spent!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Book between June 13th & July 31st and the event must be held between 7/4 & 9/4. Special valid Jul 4, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jul 22, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our Summer Restaurant Week for $35 or $45 depending on entrée selected. Special valid Jul 22, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $95.00

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $95.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for our Grey Goose Dinner! Menu to come... Special valid on Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Riedel Glassware Seminar

Tuesday Sep 13, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Take home a set of four core Restaurant Series Riedel glasses along with a tasting of four featured wines. A great opportunity to learn about stemware!. Excludes Tax and Tip. $60++. Special valid on Tuesday Sep 13, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
9 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (31)
See All
good for groups (23)
fit for foodies (22)
great for lunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service!

Dined 2 days ago

Incredible service!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The waiter was very pleasant and suggest ...

Dined 3 days ago

The waiter was very pleasant and suggested a wine based on taste preference. We were happy with the suggestion and chose to purchase the bottle which was over $100. No worries, it was our 4 year anniversary and we wanted to celebrate. Then the wine expert come along and offers a wine that is double the cost and when we rejected, the man stated, I understand this is not up to your caliber which was a complete insult. When our Porterhouse was delivered it was over cook. Our request was medium well and it was well done. The wine expert offered to pay for our steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my spouse and it was t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I went there with my spouse and it was the best experience ever! William was our server and he treated us with the upmost respect!! I will definitely be returning to Charlotte to have him as my server as he was prompt; courtesy; and just an all around gentlemen. The food was great but he totally made the experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our waiter, Blake. He ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our waiter, Blake. He was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and wine list! He was attentive without being overbearing. The managers even came by to make sure we were happy with the service! We will be back and will recommend this location to others!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing. Very quiet. Th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place was amazing. Very quiet. The wait staff were wonderful and had several recommendations, based on what you like. Dress code was enforced - we witnessed the hostess asking a gentleman to remove his hat. The food was out of this world. The sides are definitely large enough for 2-4 people. They had a 6 oz filet for $37. (I believe that was the price) or you could get an 11 oz filet for $44. So obviously we chose to split the 11 oz filet. The sweet potato casserole was out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Will not go back, waiter priced a bottle ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Will not go back, waiter priced a bottle of wine incorrectly, New York strip was a tough end cut. Free desert was nice. Over all meal was to expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I don't get a chance to s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I don't get a chance to spend a lot of time together, he travels for a living. We decided to come to Ruth Chris for a Pre-Happy Father's Day dinner on Saturday, June 18th. We were shown to our table and our waiter was the BEST. In addition, his name is the same as my husband (Luchin) that was the joke of the evening. Luchin was so knowledgeable on the entire menu / wine list as well. My dinner (sea bass) was absolutely the most divine dish I have had in quite some time. We even had a young man who boxed up our takeaway meal, I think his name was Max, he was so nice and courteous. I am sorry I can't remember the Manager who came around to see how our dinner was and if we were enjoying our dining experience, we both answered YES, we are!!! We will be back again and again. Luchin, if you get to read this, please don't change a thing, you are truly the BEST. Please tell Max, (I hope that is / was his name) we really appreciate him too.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Overall the experience was better than t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall the experience was better than the last experience we had at a Ruths Chris when the steak was grisly and the house wine was a little vinegary with service stiff like we were out of place and didn't belong. Service this time was excellent, food was tasty, can't mess up salt, pepper, and butter. For the price I can take my children and their spouses to a very nice resturant and still have money left over, all twelve of them. If you are on an expense account then eat here, otherwise grill it yourselve and save a ton of money.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Michael was awesome

Dined on June 17, 2016

Michael was awesome

food4
ambience4
service5

Our waitress Venessa was outstanding. Kn ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waitress Venessa was outstanding. Knowledgeable, funny, and extremely accommodating.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always the steaks were cooked to perf ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As always the steaks were cooked to perfection. However the lamb chops were very under cooked and needed to be sent back, but on the second go round, they were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely everything about our experien ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely everything about our experience at Ruth Chris Uptown was perfection as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and exactly what you expect ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great place and exactly what you expect when visiting.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Service started well but turned "glacial".

Dined on June 8, 2016

Restaurant was not busy but service nearly disappeared after our appetizer. They knew it was an anniversary dinner, in advance, but there was nothing special, unlike the Capital Grill which goes out of its way for such an event.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first experience at Ruth's ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our first experience at Ruth's Chris, and it was better than we had anticipated. The service was excellent as was the food. Our server, Meredith, was very knowledgeable about the menu and able to recommend good wines to pair with the meal. She was very courteous and helpful, without being intrusive. I have to give kudos to the entire staff - they were attentive and professional and took good care of us. The food lives up the service as well. We started with the crab stuffed mushrooms, the best we've had anywhere, then salads, and my wife had the NY Strip steak and I had a chef's feature, a petite filet with Creole BBQ shrimp, and for the sides, fingerling potatoes, mashed potatoes, and fire roasted corn. Our steaks were cooked to order perfectly, and the sides were exquisite. We're looking forward to going back and trying some of the other sides and entrées. If youre going out for a special occasion or just very good food, you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere better than here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consitently Great!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food here is ALWAYS great! I ordered a 16 oz NY strip steak. And it was cooked to perfection. Unfortunately, I didn't heed the warning of the 500 degree plate. Which meant that the steak was hot as well. And needless to say, my mouth found out the hard way. Anyway, it's also a very CASUAL atmosphere. The first time we patronized the restaurant (Valentine's Day), I arrived in a suit. And I could count on one hand, how many men were in suits. So this time, I came in a nice shirt and slacks. And it was appropriate. I'n not saying come in jeans and flip flops. But just don't come overdressed! Also, the management team and the servers are OUTSTANDING! Everyone (not just your server) lends a hand, in ensuring your dining experience is memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse in Charlotte

Dined on May 26, 2016

The new bread pudding is amazing. The large bar is great

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 23, 2016

I love the new Spicy Shrimp appetizer. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

I requested a booth and the restaurant w ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I requested a booth and the restaurant was empty, but they would not seat me in the booth.

food2
ambience4
service4

I ordered the Veggie Plate ( yes, I did) ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I ordered the Veggie Plate ( yes, I did). The green beans were too crunchy, the Brussels Sprouts were yummy, and the corn was tasty, all for $21. Too pricey in my opinion. My hubby ordered the NY Strip for $50. It was large and a bit too chewy. Another in our party ordered the stuffed chicken and loved it. Everything is ala carte.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good location in downtown Charlotte. Great atmosphere. Our meals were prepared as requested however the overall flavor and quality was lacking. The lobster Mac and Cheese, always a favorite, was way off its mark. The apple crumble dessert was the best part of the meal and was very good. Overall disappointed with our dining experience as we were celebrating a special occasion. I've had much better experiences in other RC locations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our anniversary and it ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were there for our anniversary and it was delightful. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding, and the ambiance was wonderful and romantic. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here several times, primarily ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Have been here several times, primarily to meet clients or friends - food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here. It was my d ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time here. It was my dad's birthday and he LOVES steak and the steak that he had was AWESOME. I thought he would eat the bone. The service was GREAT. This was the best service that I've experienced in a while. We will definitely be coming back to dine here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The food was excellent ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great experience. The food was excellent and the service didn't disappoint! We felt very taken care of and I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter William and the manager, Timo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our waiter William and the manager, Timothy (I think) were delightful! They were very attentive and the manager came over to congratulate me on graduating from nursing school. We love this Ruth's Chris and we will continue to dine here! Thanks for the experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two Thumbs Up!!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I was treated to my Mother's Day dinner at Ruth's Chris (downtown Charlotte), and, as usual, everything was perfect, from the scrumptious Caesar Salad and Lobster Mac & Cheese to the sizzlingly delicious ribeye!! Service was impeccable, thanks to Meredith!! Two thumbs up!! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Food and Amazing Service. I ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Phenomenal Food and Amazing Service. I will be back on our Anniversary!

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not Worth it

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived on time, they got us to our seats quickly, but thats where it ended. Our waiter got our drinks fairly quick, then we ordered Brunch. The order took approx 45min before we got our food. We ordered eggs Benedict, the eggs were overcooked and wasn't very hot. They must have forgot about us. The Place wasn't very busy, but there was plenty of staff. We just ate our meal and wanted to get out. Our Waiter was very pushy for us to have coffee and dessert. Then to top it off we waited around 30 Minutes to get our car from the valet. We have been to the Southpark Ruth Chris, and there service and professionalism were much better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dining experience I have ever h ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The best dining experience I have ever had, hands down the best meal and experience I have ever had in restaurant, I'm a frequent visitor and it just gets better because they remember you

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food quality was excepti ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service and food quality was exceptional.

food5
ambience3
service5

The food was excellent and Meredith was ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent and Meredith was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awed once again!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had the sirloin and stuffed chicken beast as our entrees. Our side choices were creamed spinach and au gratin potatoes. Every morsel was loved. The wait staff was nothing short of incredible. The wine selection spot on. Thank you Michael and Ruth Chris for making our night out so special!! WE will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service and excellent petite file ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Superb service and excellent petite filet mignon. Waiter was professional, courteous, and attentive. Great restaurant.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvin was awesome!

Dined on April 27, 2016

On top of having awesome steak that absloutly melts in your mouth and lobster mac and cheese that can only be a part of your dreams, our server Marvin was absloutly amazing. He greeted us by name and continued to do so all night and he was more tha knowledgeable about the menu and the cuts of meat! Marvin made our dinning experience beautifully romantic and special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flooring Mechanic

Dined on April 26, 2016

Fantastic. Great employees. Fantastic food. Thanks. J

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse Uptown Charlotte ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse Uptown Charlotte is consistently amazing when it comes to food quality and always the best service around!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always great to see Armando and all ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

It's always great to see Armando and all of the amazing staff at uptown! This is my favorite downtown Charlotte restaurant by far!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely Celebration

Dined on April 14, 2016

My husband and I used a gift card he received last Christmas to celebrate his passing a test with a dinner at Ruth's Chris. The food was awesome. We shared a fresh tomato salad with a light vinaigrette dressing. I highly recommend it. The pepper crusted filet was hot and cooked perfectly. I told our server that medium is sometimes too done for me, and she said they could make it a little "in-between". My husband had the blue cheese crusted Ribeye which was also delicious and perfectly cooked. In addition, we shared the au gratin potatoes. They were very cheesy and flavorful. We ended up with some miniature cheese cakes to take home...also fantastic. Thanks. Everyone who came to our table was polite and professional. Our server was very nice and informative as was the sommelier. (We tried our best to loosen them up a little.) The atmosphere was pretty relaxing. It was a Thursday and not too loud. My only complaint is that the restaurant was pretty empty, but we were seated right next to a couple of business men. I felt like we were listening in on their conversation. It ended up being about $300 with tip, but $100 of that was wine. The prices were as expected, and the experience was worth it for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye steaks were tender and delicious. ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Ribeye steaks were tender and delicious. The wedge salad and lobster bisque so satisfying. The dining room is warm, comfortable and relaxing. Service is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.