About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - May 20, 2017 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

We will be open on Easter Sunday, April 16th from 11:30am-9pm featuring brunch items along with our signature favorites!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will be open on Mother's Day- Sunday, May 14th from 11:30am-9pm featuring brunch items along with our signature favorites! Let us help celebrate your mom this year!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat your dad to a steak with us on Sunday, June 18th. We will be open from 11:30am-9pm featuring brunch items until 3pm along with our signature favorites.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our $30 menu & celebrate prom & graduation- available for students only. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Romantic (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Private Room (14)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience, great service food was outstanding

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris downtown Charlotte is consistently the best restaurant in for food, service, quality of dining experience. My wife and i dine out often all over CLT and when we travel. RC is the best. Hands down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A nice treat for a special night out. Steak was delicious and the sides were great to share. Service was on point.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is where I go for steak and unique sides
I love the Brussels sprouts
I love the sizzling steaks
Love this place

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The experience was nice. We frequent Ruth Chris but this was our first time at this location. It was a nice experience and my wife enjoyed her birthday. Our waitress was a little weird but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My waiter William was excellent!!!! When my husband and I decide to go back, we will request William again!!!! He is a very positive asset to your restaurant!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Birthday dinner for my twins turning 18.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food, service ,ambiance. Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The 4 of us were there celebrating my girlfriend's and mine move. It was amazing! Chef Tim came out and greeted us and recommended steaks for the table. Everything was cooked perfectly. LB did a great job selecting wines for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They never let me down at Ruth's Chris. The food is always delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My nephew ordered a shot of expensive cognac and the waiter insulted him by inquiring if he knew the price...which of course he did. The food was okay bUT very overrated. It was my husband's birthday and we arrived by limo it was clear we could well afford our meal and beverages. We will NOT BE coming back. We were a very mixed race group and I hope this was not the reason for our not so pleasant experience and mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Slate, as usual was an exceptional server. Food and atmosphere is second to none. Always enjoy dining here when I'm in town

Roger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This visit was amazing. For the first time, I ordered the stuffed chicken breast over garlic mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus. The chicken breast was literally THE best piece of chicken I have EVER eaten in my life; juicy, tender and flavorful. The asparagus was cooked perfectly and the garlic potatoes were delicious as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was outstanding, greeted by name by our server. No pictures on walls made it much noisier than it should have been with the few people there, slightly hard to hear. Food was amazing, wine great, just a real nice expensive place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I was there celebrating my birthday with three other people from an hour away. This was not the experience I imagined. It was a mess of an experience I'd say. We didn't receive our water at the beginning of the meal. Then my husband ordered sweet tea and it came out unsweetened. Then 3 of us had under or overcooked steaks that we didn't complain about because it had taken so long to get our food out we didn't want to wait any longer. My husband ordered sweet potato casserole then our waitress came out and said they were out so they would be comping his side and bringing him out mash potatoes instead. Next thing we know they bring him out his original side he ordered as well. I ordered a salad that never made it to the table. By this time I'm ready to go because it had been one thing after another. Our nice and lovely waitress came out and said that she had kept the general manager in on our whole issue from the whole meal and that he was going to comp the whole tables bill. Yes I appreciated that but that would have been great to hear from the GM himself verses our waitress. He never came to the table to talk to us at any point that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for a celebratory dinner such as birthday or anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We consistently go back to Ruth's Chris. The food and service never disappoint. We especially like the one in Uptown Charlotte. We have had fantastic meals and service there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was amazing. If you get something other than a steak you're a fool. The sides were good as well. It's expensive but you know that going in. Great for anniversary or Valentine's Day or some other special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food consistently prepared to perfection. Service was definitely on point. Overall great dinner from bubbles to wine, appetizers, steak and seafood! We where too full to have dessert. Thanks Chad!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

For the Bill to be about 200.00 the Steak did not hold uo to the hype. I would like to have a juice cut like butter steak. It was a little tough for a Medium

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time to this location, very nice, service was good and the pre-fix menu was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fiancee and I were both tremendously taken aback the entire evening at how the staff [as a whole] went above-and-beyond to ensure an phenomenal dining experience. Complementary valet to start. The hostesses offered warm greetings, kindly took our coats, and retrieved us from the cocktail bar when our table was ready. Chad Tucker, the human resources manager, warmly greeted us at the start of our meal with overwhelming sincerity and graciously helped us select a wonderful bottle of wine. He opened and served our wine with phenomenal professionalism. Brian, the another on-floor manager, also kindly greeted us and inquired if there was anything at all he could do for us this evening. Slate, our server, was exceptionally welcoming/attentive/pleasant from start to end with exceptional menu and product knowledge that made our dining experience unlike any other. At the closing of the meal, he even ensured our car with valet was pulled up front and center to the restaurant with Chad Tucker warmly shaking our hand as we exited the restaurant. Outstanding customer service to accompany a wonderfully delicious meal - unlike any other dining experience I have had in Charlotte. There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back very soon! A sincere thank you with heartfelt appreciation to the staff at Ruth Chris.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I love Ruth Chris. It's my favorite steakhouse. I go to everyone of the cities that I go to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great wait staff and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had a nice date night here on Saturday 2/4/17. Ricardo was our server and he was outstanding! 5 stars. Made the evening special for us. The food was superb. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our sever, Blake, was attentive and respectful of our time. We mentioned we were going to a show beforehand and he moved our service along perfectly. Food was great EXCEPT for the mashed potatoes. They were 100% made from a box. Very disappointing. Calamari was great and the steaks were superb, but the mashed potato fake out left us dissappointed. I would consider coming back for apps or just steaks in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wow! Wow! Wow! Incredible meal and service! Petit Filet was like butter! Stuffed chicken breast was rich and delicious! Whole meal was perfect. Service was exceptional. Great place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

2/11/17 UPDATE: After this prior dining experience, we were promptly contacted by the human resources manager, Chad Tucker. He was tremendously empathetic, customer-service forward and invited us back in to Ruth Chris with all costs covered and the promise of demonstrating a dining experience that was truly reflective of the restaurant's standards - I can certainly assert they MORE than delivered. We were both tremendously taken aback the entire evening at how the staff as a whole went above-and-beyond to ensure an phenomenal dining experience. The hostesses offered warm greetings, kindly took our coats, and retrieved us from the cocktail bar when our table was ready. Chad Tucker greeted us at the start of our meal with overwhelming sincerity and graciously helped us select a wonderful bottle of wine. Brian, the other on-floor manager, also kindly greeted us and inquired if there was anything at all he could do. Slate, our server, was exceptionally welcoming/attentive/pleasant from start to end with exceptional menu and product knowledge that made our dining experience unlike any other. At the closing of the meal, he ensured our car with valet was pulled up front and center to the restaurant with Chad Tucker warmly shaking our hand as we exited the restaurant. Outstanding customer service to accompany a delicious meal - unlike any experience I have had in Charlotte - there is no doubt in my mind that we will be back very soon.

1/29/17 PRIOR: I regretfully write that this review with disappointment for what would have been outstanding if not for poor service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The steaks were excellent cuts of meat and were cooked perfectly. The recent renovation made a huge improvement to the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The steak was the best I've eaten in the last 10 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Queen Feast is always a delight Lucas and Robert we're great. Steaks were amazing. Can't wait to next year

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I frequent Ruth's Chris and generally have a pleasant experience. This time around we celebrated my sisters 40th b-day and we all suffered from some type of stomache bug. We were unable to go to work the next day. I contacted the restaurant and left a message with for the manager, no one returned my message.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service from Aaron was great. We asked about the wines and Aaron made the perfect recommendation for the taste we were looking for and to pair with our meal. The steaks were perfectly cut and seasoned. However, I had to give four stars on the food for the side of creamed spinach and garlic mashed potatoes as they were both fairly bland. We don't eat a lot of salt in the family, however, these needed a pinch or two. However, not going to deter me from going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server was FANTASTIC and made the night extra special for us. Great food too!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the steaks! We were there for restaurant week. It's a great value!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was delicious!!!! My friend had a great time, and it was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice. First time going and loved it. Food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ruth's Chris has never disappointed! It is always soooo delicious accompanied by outstanding service. Dined during restaurant week, during this time some nicer restaurants treat you with a little lower quality, Ruth's Chris went above and beyond! Will continue to dine here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely Amazing!!! This is without a doubt the best Ruth's Chris we ever been too. Top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.