Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

4.7
1974 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 338-9444
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
B. Timothy Bowen
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E 4th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

View Private Dining Details
What 1974 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Service was fantastic. Carson and David waited on us and were impeccable. The steaks were incredible. Some of the sides were a little more bland than I expected (au gratin potatoes and lobster mac) except the sautéed cremini mushrooms, they were amazing. The creme brûlée was textbook perfect. Thank you for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great classic steakhouse experience. Manager Erik was great and so was our server. Very pleased

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

I was a bit disappointed in the food to be honest. Not like i remembered it. The steak was undercooked, and honestly not as flavorful as it was the last times at different locations. My Chilean sea bass was "ok" not great...
The at the table cooking to make the steak to my husbands liking took away from the overall experience. I was not thrilled with the brussel sprouts either.
The bill was compensated but still spending over $100 was not worth it for this past visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I previously had a bad experience at the restaurant but I decided to give it another try. I'm glad I did. This time it was wonderful. The service was amazing my food was cooked perfectly and it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day Celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Not one of our best visits but still good!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

we had a wonderful dinner and the service was outstanding.
Its a Great place to have a birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

All the way around a fabulous place for a nice dinner. Service was great and classic steak dinner was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

If you are looking for a traditional steak meal this is a great option in the heart of Uptown Charlotte! Service is fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

I went for a friends Birthday. Food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was good as usual. Carson was our server and couldn’t have been better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Mick was our waiter and he was outstanding. His back up was Mitch and he was great too! Mick made some great recommendations and we really enjoyed our meal. I’m still raving about it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Service was impeccable! Food was cooked to perfection. Ruth's Chris did not disappoint!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Our server Russ was outstanding and very helpful with the menu! Ben smith, the manger, was very welcoming as well, along with the whole staff, definitely will be back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It was very nice but was a little disappointed that they didn’t have the 2 for $ special like my Greensboro location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great service & food was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Everything was perfect, what a fantastic meal to share with family who was visiting Charlotte. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Went with my wife for our Anniversary, service and food were amazing. Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We had gotten away from Ruth's Chris for a while. We're back, and glad we are. The downtown location is now being managed by Ben Smith -- a fine, friendly fellow, who made us feel very welcome and who runs the show with an air of kindness and excellence.

Alina was our main server. She is gracious and pleasant -- attentive without being invasive. Very courteous and respectful. We like that.

Mic and Matthew were helping out, and were likewise courteous and attentive.

Not sure who was at the bar, but he made a perfect Aperol Spritz. The long peel of orange zest gave it a nice bit of pizzazz.

The steaks, perfect, but we take that for granted. ll the food is always good.

The bar patio is a favorite location. It's great for taking in street life and people watching. And, of course, for taking in the nutjobs that inhabit the downtown.

Kudos to Ben for handling a couple of VERY delicate situations (a vulgar street person, and an intoxicated and very hostile guest). Ben's calmness and patience served to keep the atmosphere what you want it to be when you are dining in a fine place like Ruth's Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Never disappoints! Our favorite place for a special occasion, splurge, or dinner before a show in uptown. This was for our anniversary. Our server was wonderful. Extremely friendly and outgoing. She was very sweet. Steaks are amazing as are the sides. We were given a free dessert for our anniversary. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was fantastic! The food was perfect and the whole night was A+

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My son and daughter-in-law took me out to dinner on mother's day. I ordered the stuffed chicken breast which presented very well, and looked very appetizing but had no stuffing. When I brought this to the waiter's attention, rather than offering to remake the dish, the manager brought out an overflowing bowl of the stuffing, which is not your typical stuffing but rather a creamy mixture. Upon tasting the stuffing mixture I realized that it was not meant to be eaten by itself but really needed to be diluted as it would have been if cooked inside the chicken. Being the person that I am, I asked the manager if we could have the dish remade (to go, as my family had already eaten their food) and he agreed. When I got home and opened the to-go box, I was not amused to find the chicken overflowing with stuffing. I am a quite disappointed with the lack of pride that was taken in preparing the initial meal, but what I found in the to-go box was truly unacceptable. It was as if the cook was offended at my request and wanted to let me know it. I am a faithful patron of Ruth's Chris, but based on this experience, I'm convinced that my money would be more appreciated and better spent elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fabulous food! Best filet mignon anywhere! Impeccable service! Only complaint is that the ambiance really suffered when the remodeling was done. The mirrored wall and soft chandeliers gave it sort of a Hollywood throw back feeling. All of the lighting was soft. Now the florescent or led lights on the tables are cold. And the wall that used to be mirrored is dark and ugly. We'll still keep going because the food is so good, but it's no longer our favorite restaurant because of the much diminished ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my mom for Mother’s Day. This was her and my sister’s first time at Ruth Chris (I’m a regular). They enjoyed everything from the food, to the hospitality to the amazing waiters we had (David & Mitchell). Everything was phenomenal and nothing bad to say. Will definitely be going back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Came for Mother's Day Brunch.
Delicious steak. Cooked exactly as we asked. Waiter was moderately nice. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We visited after church for Mother’s Day. The food was perfectly prepared, but what made it special was our wait staff(Erin B and Matt). Ruth’s Chris uptown has always been our go to for any occasion, but Erin B made it our best visit ever. Next time we come, I’ll ask for her. Thanks Erin!!!
The Lawlors

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This visit to Ruth Chris uptown, was in celebration of our wedding anniversary. Maya was our server and Jason was assistant server. Both were fabulous and Maya engineered us a melted butter pot warmer to help keep our butter warm for our lobster tails. In addition to excellent service the lobster tails were terrific. One of the managers, Ken, stopped and chatted with us to make sure we were doing well and loving our meal. He was very pleasant and attentive as were our servers. Chris the Ruth Chris regional manager also stopped by to make sure we were delighted with everything, service, food, ambiance, and in general. Thank you Maya, Jason, Ken, and Chris for helping to make the evening special!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was amazing! The Bar Manager helped me choose the right red wine for my meal and my taste. We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We had a wonderful meal. Our server, Erin B. was very kind and attentive. She was able to time out dinner out so we weren't rushed, but we also made our 8pm show. Very pleasant evening. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Michael was an amazing server and the whole team was extremely attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I can sum it up in one word FABULOUS!!! We celebrated mothers day early as our mom has to work in Sunday. She had a awesome time and we loved the food and our waiter. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Service was outstanding. Meal was excellent. Shoe string fries were a big hit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

There isn’t enough good things to say about this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great time on the patio! Rosè selection is wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our waiter Michael, and his team member Stephanie, were fabulous. Efficient, informative, pleasant and very attentive. The meal was superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Awesome dinner!! Never disappointed!! 🤗

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Amazing. Simply put !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Carson was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Waiter and manager were fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We were celebrating friends from New York, their 49th anniversary. As always, the food is always excellent and so is the service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
50