About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Celebrate Dad at Ruth's Chris Uptown on June 18th!

Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $125.00

Thursday Jun 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our $30 menu & celebrate prom & graduation- available for students only. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 6, 2017 - Aug 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Celebrate Dad at Ruth's Chris Uptown on June 18th!

Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

We will be open early on Sunday, June 18th to celebrate Father's Day! We will offer early brunch options and our signature favorites. Excludes Tax and Tip. We will be open 11:30am-9pm. Special valid on Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $125.00

Thursday Jun 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $125.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for our Chateau Montelena Wine Pairing Dinner- $125 plus tax & gratuity. Special valid on Thursday Jun 15, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We came here for our anniversary on a busy weekend, service and food was great. The restaurant was filled with screaming kids but the large crowds cleared out by the time our main course came. Jonathan our waiter was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food very slow getting food location is great noise level was fine.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Tip top service. Steve our server. Is the best there is. Knowledgeable on wine!!!!! Treated us like rock stars. We will be back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding Service and food! Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food and service were as usual!!! Love them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server kept getting our food wrong. Her assistant should have been the head server. Worse service ever at a Ruth's. We do not mind paying for a great meal just give me great service also!!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a waiter named Slate. He was great. The service was awesome. I had a rib eye and my girlfriend had the filet mignon. Very tasty. They didn't have the mashed potatoes I ordered but Slate brought potatoes with cheddar melted on top and it was a delicious substitute. The restaurant was located not even a block away from the hotel we stayed in, so convenient and am very happy we went.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic time (as always) at Ruth's Chris! We celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and loved every second of our experience. From the complimentary champagne, to the amazing service, to the delectable food, we couldn't go wrong. We left with full bellies and smiles on our faces.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

took wife for anniversary dinner. service was excellent and food was worth the price

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First rate from start to finish - waiter very knowledgeable and customer driven. When you make reservation at this location - ask for Dom. He and Chris took great care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Four steaks ordered - three filets medium and one medium rare. Somehow it was transposed so filets came out medium rare and other steak medium. For this price, expect things to be on the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ruth's Chris never disappoints! Erin Sullivan was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful service, delicious food and loved the prom/graduation specials offered!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our experience was great as always! It's always a pleasure dining here, especially when we get to see the Great Danko.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amber was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall great experience and service time after time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not the first time we have dined at Ruths Chris before.. and this time delivered again! Our server Ricardo was on point! His recommendations were great and conversation was pleasant. Fantastic job overall and we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Graduation dinner there was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

1st time at Ruth's uptown and definitely wasn't disappoint. Loved it just as much as the south park location. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter Jonathan was awesome! The food was great and the complimentary dessert and champagne for our anniversary was nice as well!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went slightly under dressed with a reservation. (No hats allowed in the main dining room). Jane our waitress was very kind & knowledgeable. The food was delish. I had the 16oz Ribeye with a side of sweet potato casserole Yummmy. Our cocktails were also very good. Two managers came by to check on us which I always love and the reason I made sure to give 5 stars. Woody and Chuck or Chad I believe were their names.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing experience! Be prepared to order all a carte however it was worth every penny!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Real classy staff and eloquent decorum. Food was prepared amazingly. The beef tastes fresh. They had the really nice Riedel stemware to complement the special white burgundy I brought in. The best place fun, professional, but not stuffy service. Genuine folks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Private Room, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Live Sports, Healthy, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We visit Ruth Chris every year for our anniversary. We continue to come because of the tremendous service. This year the food was delicious as usual but we didn't get the over the top service we have become accustomed to. In years past we were treated to a complimentary glass of champagne. One year our table was decorated with anniversary confetti. Along with that the atmosphere was different due to the many high schools celebrating prom. We will try again next year but we didn't feel the same romantic dinner vibe we have felt in years past. Just a note not to go during prom season

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We love to go early and sit in the bar for a cocktail. The cocktails at R.C. are delicious, they use fresh limes & lemons and other ingredients and the service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was good. Not the best meal I've had, but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was subpar. We have been to several locations and this one could ruin the reputation for food quality. We got steaks that were poorly seasoned and the texture for mine was below tenderness. I had to switch with my husband. The wait staff were kind and friendly.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I have made an annual "trek" to a Ruth's Chris' 5 of our last 8 anniversaries. And there is always a noticeable "gap" the years we didn't go. Whether it's been here or in Virginia where the tradition first started, we've always had exceptional food and service. It already feels like a special occasion to go, but they make it a special event for us with the complimentary champagne toast and dessert. Also no less than four employees which included the manager and hostess congratulated us on our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing experience, great service food was outstanding

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was subpar for the lavish prices. Waiter was exceptional. Drinks were pretty terrible. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First table seating was in high traffic noisy area...asked to be seated some where else. Accommodation was made. Service and food choices were outstanding. Wait staff were professional and met our needs. We had a pleasurable dining experience and would visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris downtown Charlotte is consistently the best restaurant in for food, service, quality of dining experience. My wife and i dine out often all over CLT and when we travel. RC is the best. Hands down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A nice treat for a special night out. Steak was delicious and the sides were great to share. Service was on point.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is where I go for steak and unique sides
I love the Brussels sprouts
I love the sizzling steaks
Love this place

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The experience was nice. We frequent Ruth Chris but this was our first time at this location. It was a nice experience and my wife enjoyed her birthday. Our waitress was a little weird but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Waiter, Dominic, was great. He made our day special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My waiter William was excellent!!!! When my husband and I decide to go back, we will request William again!!!! He is a very positive asset to your restaurant!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.