About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00

Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 6, 2017 - Aug 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Summer Grill Menu featuring new items like the Heart of Rib Eye a 12oz Center-Cut, tender like a filet; a crisp BLT Salad and our refreshing key lime pie!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Book your Private Dining event through July 30 & hold it between July 3 & September 3 and earn a $50 gift card for every $500 spent! Inquire about availability today! Food and beverage minimum must exceed $500, tax & gratuity additional. Excludes Tax and Tip. Events must be held in private dining room or catered offsite, subject to change. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Oct 20, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00

Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for our World's Best Champagnes Dinner featuring a 4-course dinner!. Special valid on Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 20 hours ago

Staycation without kids here in Charlotte. Perfect dinner. Michael W. was absolutely wonderful as our server! Meal was awesome. Best steak in Charlotte, hands down! Manager stopped by several times to check on things. . Great & fun experience! Would request Michael W again next time we come ... can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was just perfect! Enjoyed Paul (PSM) and the martini at the bar waiting for Crystal's phenomenal service! Excellent, friendly staff all around. See you next weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Service and excellent food!! We had a wonderful meal there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I thought this would be a perfect place for my birthday but I was wrong. Rhe valet and hostess were very nice,my waiter was ok but didn't see her much. Now the food😐 the ribeye was good but rather go to Texas Roadhouse for my steak. The Brussel sprouts were burnt and potatoes were nasty. I want be returning but its pretty inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I made a dinner reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. We were warmly greeted by the host, and sat quickly.
This was our first time coming to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and Steve took really good care of us. He explained the menu selections, briefly how it was prepared and served, and helped my boyfriend select a wine.
I got the petite filet which was great, perfectly seasoned and cooked to my liking. My boyfriend ordered the bone in filet and he really enjoyed it! We went with the creamed spinach and sweet potato dish for the sides, good choices!
Steve even brought us out a complimentary dessert for the birthday celebration.
Everyone there was so friendly and made our first experience a joy. It's definitely a place we'd only come to for special occasions, but looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

What an experience! The meal we had today was top notch! From the service to the food to the restaurant in general, everything was amazing! We were lucky enough to be able to chat with the GM Chris and the Beverage Manager Dan who both were truly hospitable. We split the tomahawk ribeye and all I can say is WOW! The glasses of Burly paired with it were perfect! We are already planning our next trip when we come back to Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner at Ruth's Chris. We were there to celebrate my son's academic achievements and the dinner went perfectly. From the spectacular service to the excellent food, everything was outstanding. Suzanne (the floor manager) even came by and congratulated my son! Thank you Ruth's Chris team for an unforgettable dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Food and service were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

In town for a business lunch and came by our favorite spot! The Ahi Tuna salad is my go-to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Quick bite with the boyfriend. Everything from start to finish was amazing. Love the new bone in filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always a wonderful time from start to finish at this Uptown Charlotte location. Reason why we come back! Ricardo was amazing. Glad we took his recommendations on the Cowboy Ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

So amazing!!! Brandon was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always when I dine at Ruth's it's only the best. We sat in the bar and had nothing but impeccable service. Slate is an amazing bartender with great wine knowledge. The food was absolutely astounding. We will definitely be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had fantastic service from Vanessa. We celebrated my father-in-law's 80th birthday. She brought champagne for all at the table. The food was phenomenal. We will definitely go back for other special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the second time in a month that we had lunch here. It is consistently very good, service is impeccable and it is quiet enough to have a business lunch.
I would not say I am 'a regular' at this restaurant but would certainly say I return time and time again. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We frequently visit Ruth's Chris. We even got engaged there. This is the first time I've been unhappy and displeased here. Our server set an unpleasant mood from the moment she walked up. Very unpersonable as if we were an inconvenience being there. Only checked on us twice. I could never get a refill on my sweet tea. Very forgetful and disappeared for long periods of time without being seen on the floor. We had to wait more than 20 minutes for the check after asking for it and the table had been cleared. It was also my daughters first time dining there, who is completing her hours in the Hospitality and Finance Academy and DECA for customer service and restaurant service and she was very disappointed that she was not receiving good customer service. We have considered going to the South Park location instead for future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

First time here. Average food, not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have been disappointed the last several times I have visited this particular Ruth's Chris. This past visit, however, was the worst to date. I requested a booth in my reservation. Upon arrival there were none available but I was given the option to sit in bar area where there was a booth available and I agreed. It took the server 10 minutes to even come to our table. The bar area was not busy, as a matter of fact there was another couple along with us sitting in the whole area along with one woman sitting at the actual bar. The server brought us water and was gone again for another 10 or so minutes, he then came back with bread and took our order. During that time we decided on drinks. We sat there literally for 20 plus minutes before he came back with my husband's drink and I didn't even get mine (I ordered a coke, how difficult is it to get that?). I then had to go and speak to a manager about the situation, one I got back to my table it took an additional 5 minutes to get my coke. About 5 minutes later our food came. My steak was ordered medium and I could barely cut it. The meat was well overcooked and tough. The manager came and had a new steak prepared (however the sides were cold by now) and then he comped the meal. The whole experience just left a bad taste in my mouth. I expect excellent food and customer service especially for the price, this is the third time a row I've had a poor experience with this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was wonderful, our server was very nice but everything took a very very very long time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had our semi-annual lunch with friends yesterday. We CONTINUE to have this luncheon at Ruth Chris' as we love the food (consistently very good) and the service and we can all hear each other with minimal noise level. Great place to meet with friends!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Overall experience was good as it normally is when I visit. Two friends catching up and leisurely hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone due to experience I had for my 17th Year Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Quality Food and Customer Service. The Best Charlotte NC has to offer!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always great service and excellent food. The staff is very attentive to your needs.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I absolutely love Ruth Chris!! Our waiter was AWESOME!! Everyone was awesome that we came in contact with and very respectful and knew their job and the menu as well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My son and his girlfriend took us to Ruth Chris for Father's Day. The service, the food, the seafood tower, the steaks and the sides --everything was worthy of "writing home about." We had never been to Ruth Chris before and really appreciated that our son took us there for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beth and the service team did a fabulous job and didn't rush us out the door. We always enjoy our dinners at RC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love everything about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great experience! Love the lunch service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had an awesome experience. Woodie and Jonathan made our experience a memorable one. Thanks guys.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

After a perfect record of great experiences we were disappointed during this visit. The service was not on point as there were excessive delays in follow up throughout dinner. Steak was good but not as requested and overall food quality was good, not the great you would expect from Ruth's Chris. Will consider other options first in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome as always. Ruth Chris never disappoint and the atmosphere is great

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very special evening thanks to our server, Erin, and the manager, Chad. It was our 31st anniversary and they really made a fuss over us. Always great food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ruth's Chris uptown is always a delight. Daniel was a wonderful, thoughtful, professional waiter. The food was even better than the last time we are there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Grad party, table for 12. Very attentive service from Erin and Steve, two pros who knew how to handle large groups. We were on bit of tight schedule but they handled it well. Kitchen back up gave our grad only 10 minutes to wolf down a filet before he had to get to location. Thought pricing was a bit stiff for actual quality of meat, sides, etc so I give lower value score. Sides and steaks were nicely prepared and tasty but didn't quite match up to over-the-top price levels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We came here for our anniversary on a busy weekend, service and food was great. The restaurant was filled with screaming kids but the large crowds cleared out by the time our main course came. Jonathan our waiter was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food very slow getting food location is great noise level was fine.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Tip top service. Steve our server. Is the best there is. Knowledgeable on wine!!!!! Treated us like rock stars. We will be back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.