About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00

Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 6, 2017 - Aug 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Summer Grill Menu featuring new items like the Heart of Rib Eye a 12oz Center-Cut, tender like a filet; a crisp BLT Salad and our refreshing key lime pie!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Book your Private Dining event through July 30 & hold it between July 3 & September 3 and earn a $50 gift card for every $500 spent! Inquire about availability today! Food and beverage minimum must exceed $500, tax & gratuity additional. Excludes Tax and Tip. Events must be held in private dining room or catered offsite, subject to change. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Oct 20, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00

Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $115.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for our World's Best Champagnes Dinner featuring a 4-course dinner!. Special valid on Thursday Aug 17, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (33)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Russ was amazing - we had a wonderful meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The main things that really bothered me was the tables being left dirty for a long time. I understand it's restaurant week but come on. Another thing was dirty dishes and glasses. Other than that everything was great. Our server Marc was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Engagement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Best steak I've ever had. Awesome service! Defiantly will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were both fantastic! I would highly recommend this location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Ricardo was exceptional! Loved the place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Ruth's Chris is reliably good. I went with a friend for restaurant week. The steak was cooked to perfection. I thought the mushroom soup was just okay (tasted like it had been thickened by cornstarch too much?) and wished I had opted for the salad.

I was disappointed that the restaurant opted to give a substandard dessert option of "Duo of Mini Cheesecake and Chocolate Sincake Tarlets". I didn't bother to finish them although I'd classify myself as a sweets junkie.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The very best dinning experience every time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delicious and the service impeccable. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

After having a not so pleasant experience 2 weeks prior we were hesitant about going back to this location but we got engaged here 2 years ago and it was our wedding anniversary so we booked again and plus we've become somewhat regulars at this location. I have to say our server Patrice has renewed my faith in the Ruth's Chris brand. She was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We informed her manager how wonderful she was and he told us she was new. We never could have guessed that. I really think she best exemplifies what we have always loved about this particular location, quality and excellent customer service. Once again Patrice, you are Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful as always! Dined during restaurant week, and service/food was as excellent as it is during a slower night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Staycation without kids here in Charlotte. Perfect dinner. Michael W. was absolutely wonderful as our server! Meal was awesome. Best steak in Charlotte, hands down! Manager stopped by several times to check on things. . Great & fun experience! Would request Michael W again next time we come ... can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We took mom here for her 56th birthday and was disappointed in the service that we received from our waitress. The waitress didn't smile and wasn't personable at all. She really ruined our experience and celebration of life. My mother was even more upset about the service because we have always had a wonderful experience here. However, the food was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Recommended Wine on menu was not good and Ruth Chris normally has great wines. We were there during restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was just perfect! Enjoyed Paul (PSM) and the martini at the bar waiting for Crystal's phenomenal service! Excellent, friendly staff all around. See you next weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent Service and excellent food!! We had a wonderful meal there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I thought this would be a perfect place for my birthday but I was wrong. Rhe valet and hostess were very nice,my waiter was ok but didn't see her much. Now the food😐 the ribeye was good but rather go to Texas Roadhouse for my steak. The Brussel sprouts were burnt and potatoes were nasty. I want be returning but its pretty inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I made a dinner reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. We were warmly greeted by the host, and sat quickly.
This was our first time coming to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and Steve took really good care of us. He explained the menu selections, briefly how it was prepared and served, and helped my boyfriend select a wine.
I got the petite filet which was great, perfectly seasoned and cooked to my liking. My boyfriend ordered the bone in filet and he really enjoyed it! We went with the creamed spinach and sweet potato dish for the sides, good choices!
Steve even brought us out a complimentary dessert for the birthday celebration.
Everyone there was so friendly and made our first experience a joy. It's definitely a place we'd only come to for special occasions, but looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

What an experience! The meal we had today was top notch! From the service to the food to the restaurant in general, everything was amazing! We were lucky enough to be able to chat with the GM Chris and the Beverage Manager Dan who both were truly hospitable. We split the tomahawk ribeye and all I can say is WOW! The glasses of Burly paired with it were perfect! We are already planning our next trip when we come back to Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner at Ruth's Chris. We were there to celebrate my son's academic achievements and the dinner went perfectly. From the spectacular service to the excellent food, everything was outstanding. Suzanne (the floor manager) even came by and congratulated my son! Thank you Ruth's Chris team for an unforgettable dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Food and service were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

In town for a business lunch and came by our favorite spot! The Ahi Tuna salad is my go-to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Quick bite with the boyfriend. Everything from start to finish was amazing. Love the new bone in filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always a wonderful time from start to finish at this Uptown Charlotte location. Reason why we come back! Ricardo was amazing. Glad we took his recommendations on the Cowboy Ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

So amazing!!! Brandon was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always when I dine at Ruth's it's only the best. We sat in the bar and had nothing but impeccable service. Slate is an amazing bartender with great wine knowledge. The food was absolutely astounding. We will definitely be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had fantastic service from Vanessa. We celebrated my father-in-law's 80th birthday. She brought champagne for all at the table. The food was phenomenal. We will definitely go back for other special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the second time in a month that we had lunch here. It is consistently very good, service is impeccable and it is quiet enough to have a business lunch.
I would not say I am 'a regular' at this restaurant but would certainly say I return time and time again. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal here at Ruth's Chris - The food was excellent (we did the Filet and a Rib Eye) which is to be expected, but what really set this experience apart was the service. I eat in some great restaurants very often, but I have never had better service than I did for this meal. I was dining with my (16 year old) little sister, who was on a vacation with us in the US, and our server made this a truly unforgettable experience with individual attention, friendliness and genuine care for how we were enjoying our time.

I will return, and I look forward to it. Thanks Ruth's Chris for making my sister's visit a special one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We frequently visit Ruth's Chris. We even got engaged there. This is the first time I've been unhappy and displeased here. Our server set an unpleasant mood from the moment she walked up. Very unpersonable as if we were an inconvenience being there. Only checked on us twice. I could never get a refill on my sweet tea. Very forgetful and disappeared for long periods of time without being seen on the floor. We had to wait more than 20 minutes for the check after asking for it and the table had been cleared. It was also my daughters first time dining there, who is completing her hours in the Hospitality and Finance Academy and DECA for customer service and restaurant service and she was very disappointed that she was not receiving good customer service. We have considered going to the South Park location instead for future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

First time here. Average food, not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have been disappointed the last several times I have visited this particular Ruth's Chris. This past visit, however, was the worst to date. I requested a booth in my reservation. Upon arrival there were none available but I was given the option to sit in bar area where there was a booth available and I agreed. It took the server 10 minutes to even come to our table. The bar area was not busy, as a matter of fact there was another couple along with us sitting in the whole area along with one woman sitting at the actual bar. The server brought us water and was gone again for another 10 or so minutes, he then came back with bread and took our order. During that time we decided on drinks. We sat there literally for 20 plus minutes before he came back with my husband's drink and I didn't even get mine (I ordered a coke, how difficult is it to get that?). I then had to go and speak to a manager about the situation, one I got back to my table it took an additional 5 minutes to get my coke. About 5 minutes later our food came. My steak was ordered medium and I could barely cut it. The meat was well overcooked and tough. The manager came and had a new steak prepared (however the sides were cold by now) and then he comped the meal. The whole experience just left a bad taste in my mouth. I expect excellent food and customer service especially for the price, this is the third time a row I've had a poor experience with this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was wonderful, our server was very nice but everything took a very very very long time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had our semi-annual lunch with friends yesterday. We CONTINUE to have this luncheon at Ruth Chris' as we love the food (consistently very good) and the service and we can all hear each other with minimal noise level. Great place to meet with friends!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Overall experience was good as it normally is when I visit. Two friends catching up and leisurely hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone due to experience I had for my 17th Year Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Quality Food and Customer Service. The Best Charlotte NC has to offer!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always great service and excellent food. The staff is very attentive to your needs.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.