About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown
Chocolate Walnut Cookie
Filet Mignon
Cappuccino
Chopped Salad
Chef's Special Dessert Trio
Steak and Shrimp
Crabcakes
Petite Filet Mignon
pomme frittes
Broiled Tomato
BBQ Shrimp
Chocolate Espresso Cake

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jul 22, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Summer Private Dining Incentive

Special valid Jul 4, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $95.00

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jul 22, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Summer Private Dining Incentive

Special valid Jul 4, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $95.00

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (70)
romantic (50)
notable wine list (33)
See All
good for groups (29)
fit for foodies (27)
great for lunch (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice experience will go back

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

Nice experience will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was not impressed again, everything was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was not impressed again, everything was just OK. Would expect more for the cost, our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Everything was AmazING. We celebrated my ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was AmazING. We celebrated my birthday. We are never disappointed with the food or service

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Ruth's Chris did not disappoin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, Ruth's Chris did not disappoint. I made a reservation for my husband's birthday. It just so happened to be the first night of the Queen's Feast too. This is by far our favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Amazing steaks, sides, wine, and service. They also upgraded my husband's dessert for his birthday as the King's Feast he ordered had a certain dessert with the menu. Thank you for another wonderful meal and evening. We will definitely be back as we always purchase gift cards when you sell them at discount once a year!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find for a reasonably price ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a great find for a reasonably priced lunch in Uptown! My guests and I had the burger, ahi tuna salad (both part of the $15 menu!) and the black and blue salad. All were delicious and prepared to perfection! We started the meal with calamari to share and finished with the bread pudding which were both amazing! Our server Ian was efficient and pleasant and managed to be attentive without being overbearing. The managers Greg and Frannie both stopped by to welcome us and make sure everything was perfect. The southern hospitality is evident at this location and we will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was there between lunch and dinner hou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was there between lunch and dinner hours but the full menu was still available. Amazing from start to finish, steak was cooked to perfection and stayed warm to the very last bite on the sizzling plate. Make sure to save room for the white chocolate bread pudding! The manager Tim was extremely pleasant and made me feel very welcome! The bartender Erin was very friendly and attentive! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a special occasion for us, so I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was a special occasion for us, so I did not want to give up easily. I am also not a person that gets ill or queazy or otherwise put off from food. It has rarely happened in my life.

I ordered a blue-cheese wedge salad with crab cakes as the entree. The salad was served on a bed of bitter arugula that did NOT go well with iceberg lettuce and blue cheese dressing at all. Had to carefully pick out the leaves to eat and even that was not that great. A mediocre salad at best.

Next came the crab cakes served on a 500+ degree plate (their description) This was honestly revolting. The very pungent smell of day old fish and burning butter was more than I could stand. The cakes were wet, and looked like 3 mounds of tunafish served with an ice cream scoop. No garnish, just three smelly plops of goo. I summoned my gastric strength and took a small bite, but almost had to give it back into the plate. Just not good in any way. Taste, appearance, texture all Grade F. Although I did not want to, I just had to have it removed and after a stay in the restroom, I came back to the table to see the manager at my table with my wife.

This was the most unpleasant part of the evening. His aggressive attitude was not in any way helpful as he went into great detail in explaining how our (my wife had tried the cakes and agreed with me) "old bay" taste buds were unable to appreciate the sophistication of the meal and the crab was just perfect to his taste. He preceded to shake my hand 5 different times. After this, he refused to give up and basically forced me to order something else (a ribeye) that he brought out and waited for me to try and say it was ok to get him to leave us alone. Mind you, I was in NO MOOD to eat by this point, but to move this along, I smiled and swallowed a few bites. The ribeye was cooked evenly, but was by no means a prime cut of meat. It was not particularly flavorful or tender. A very expensive mistake of a meal. Lesson learned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We asked the waiter to select a wine and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We asked the waiter to select a wine and I believe he went overboard.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was AWESOME. Our server Blak ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was AWESOME. Our server Blake made the visit well worth while. He was very informative and attentive. Blake was the best and the reason I will be returning outside of the good food. The atmosphere was delightful. And the manager Chad was extremely polite. They both made celebrating our kids birthday memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One Word Fantastic! Our waiter Steve wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One Word Fantastic! Our waiter Steve was the man! He gave us the best service I have ever had. If your into wine, he is very knowledgeable. He guided us through pre cocktails, paired wine perfectly with our meals which were ooked to perfection and serve on a sizzling plate. We were to full for dessert, but of course took a cheesecake home. Thanks for a great meal, we will be back. Ask for Steve!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service by our table team! The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service by our table team! The food was very delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was efficient and very respec ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our server was efficient and very respectful of our time. The lunch menu prices are reasonable, and the portions are generous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Ruth's Chris I have expe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of the best Ruth's Chris I have experienced in my travels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first of What I hope to be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first of What I hope to be many visits. I wanted to take my wife on our honey moon in Georgia but could not afford it at the time. So for our 5 year anniversary i decided it was time. Well worth the wait. Hands down the best service I have ever received . We have already made plans to visit again after we close on our new house this month. The owner clearly knows how to wow. The food was amazing. chef was on point. Thanks you so much and to our server William Who is the best of the best. He was more than amazing and even after dinner when we told him it was our 5 year, He brought a few flutes and some mini desserts to top off this amazing night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed with our meal at the Ru ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

So disappointed with our meal at the Ruth Chris given prior experiences at other locations, including the original one in New Orleans. Food was over-priced and not that exceptional.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

My wife and I went there Friday night fo ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I went there Friday night for a pre birthday dinner before The Wizard of Oz. the food was excellent and our waitress, Crystal, was delightful. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really don't like Ruth Chris, but go b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I really don't like Ruth Chris, but go because my partner loves this place. We go maybe 1-2 a month and the food is awful. For the price of the meal, the food should be prepared without incident and per your request. The chefs never cook the steaks to the correct temperature and we always have an issue with the food. Asking for extra seasoning salt/pepper is 50/50 and you never know if they will include on your steak.

The Managers go above and beyond when the kitchen makes errors, but would prefer they ask what we want before they start bringing complimentary dishes we ultimately waste.

The new waiters are rigid and if your request isn't on the menu, you have to remind them to ask the chef or bartender before they say no.

Most recently I ordered a lobster tail add on to my steak and the lobster had a foul odor, so we knew before it arrived at the table, that it was bad. Not sure how they missed this in the kitchen. This is never my first choice for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Lucian is a fabulous waiter and makes yo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lucian is a fabulous waiter and makes you feel so cared for and welcome! It was a real pleasure. We had a fabulous and enjoyable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible experience. Amazin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience. Amazing food, drinks, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent dining experience at R ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another excellent dining experience at Ruth's Chris uptown location! The bar staff, Kristen, Jessi, David and Vertin always provide top-notch service. The heart of ribeye entree was truly outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Vanessa was amazing!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waitress Vanessa was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Loved our server a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding service! Loved our server and will request him again next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently good food and servic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always consistently good food and service! The entire staff is what sets RC Uptown apart from the rest. Bravo....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Incredible service!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Incredible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was very pleasant and suggest ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The waiter was very pleasant and suggested a wine based on taste preference. We were happy with the suggestion and chose to purchase the bottle which was over $100. No worries, it was our 4 year anniversary and we wanted to celebrate. Then the wine expert come along and offers a wine that is double the cost and when we rejected, the man stated, I understand this is not up to your caliber which was a complete insult. When our Porterhouse was delivered it was over cook. Our request was medium well and it was well done. The wine expert offered to pay for our steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

This is my most favorite place to just r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This is my most favorite place to just relax, receive excellent service and eat fine food!

I feel special when I dine at Ruth's Chris.

Thank you,

Beth

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my spouse and it was t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I went there with my spouse and it was the best experience ever! William was our server and he treated us with the upmost respect!! I will definitely be returning to Charlotte to have him as my server as he was prompt; courtesy; and just an all around gentlemen. The food was great but he totally made the experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our waiter, Blake. He ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our waiter, Blake. He was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and wine list! He was attentive without being overbearing. The managers even came by to make sure we were happy with the service! We will be back and will recommend this

location to others!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing. Very quiet. Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place was amazing. Very quiet. The wait staff were wonderful and had several recommendations, based on what you like. Dress code was enforced - we witnessed the hostess asking a gentleman to remove his hat. The food was out of this world. The sides are definitely large enough for 2-4 people. They had a 6 oz filet for $37. (I believe that was the price) or you could get an 11 oz filet for $44. So obviously we chose to split the 11 oz filet. The sweet potato casserole was out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not go back, waiter priced a bottle ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Will not go back, waiter priced a bottle of wine incorrectly, New York strip was a tough end cut.

Free desert was nice. Over all meal was to expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

My husband and I don't get a chance to s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I don't get a chance to spend a lot of time together, he travels for a living. We decided to come to Ruth Chris for a Pre-Happy Father's Day dinner on Saturday, June 18th. We were shown to our table and our waiter was the BEST. In addition, his name is the same as my husband (Luchin) that was the joke of the evening. Luchin was so knowledgeable on the entire menu / wine list as well. My dinner (sea bass) was absolutely the most divine dish I have had in quite some time. We even had a young man who boxed up our takeaway meal, I think his name was Max, he was so nice and courteous. I am sorry I can't remember the Manager who came around to see how our dinner was and if we were enjoying our dining experience, we both answered YES, we are!!!

We will be back again and again. Luchin, if you get to read this, please don't change a thing, you are truly the BEST. Please tell Max, (I hope that is / was his name) we really appreciate him too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was better than t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall the experience was better than the last experience we had at a Ruths Chris when the steak was grisly and the house wine was a little vinegary with service stiff like we were out of place and didn't belong. Service this time was excellent, food was tasty, can't mess up salt, pepper, and butter. For the price I can take my children and their spouses to a very nice resturant and still have money left over, all twelve of them.

If you are on an expense account then eat here, otherwise grill it yourselve and save a ton of money.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Michael was awesome

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Michael was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Venessa was outstanding. Kn ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waitress Venessa was outstanding. Knowledgeable, funny, and extremely accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As always the steaks were cooked to perf ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always the steaks were cooked to perfection. However the lamb chops were very under cooked and needed to be sent back, but on the second go round, they were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely everything about our experien ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely everything about our experience at Ruth Chris Uptown was perfection as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and exactly what you expect ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great place and exactly what you expect when visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service started well but turned "glacial".

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Restaurant was not busy but service nearly disappeared after our appetizer. They knew it was an anniversary dinner, in advance, but there was nothing special, unlike the Capital Grill which goes out of its way for such an event.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This was our first experience at Ruth's ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our first experience at Ruth's Chris, and it was better than we had anticipated. The service was excellent as was the food.

Our server, Meredith, was very knowledgeable about the menu and able to recommend good wines to pair with the meal. She was very courteous and helpful, without being intrusive. I have to give kudos to the entire staff - they were attentive and professional and took good care of us.

The food lives up the service as well. We started with the crab stuffed mushrooms, the best we've had anywhere, then salads, and my wife had the NY Strip steak and I had a chef's feature, a petite filet with Creole BBQ shrimp, and for the sides, fingerling potatoes, mashed potatoes, and fire roasted corn. Our steaks were cooked to order perfectly, and the sides were exquisite. We're looking forward to going back and trying some of the other sides and entrées.

If youre going out for a special occasion or just very good food, you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere better than here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consitently Great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food here is ALWAYS great! I ordered a 16 oz NY strip steak. And it was cooked to perfection. Unfortunately, I didn't heed the warning of the 500 degree plate. Which meant that the steak was hot as well. And needless to say, my mouth found out the hard way. Anyway, it's also a very CASUAL atmosphere. The first time we patronized the restaurant (Valentine's Day), I arrived in a suit. And I could count on one hand, how many men were in suits. So this time, I came in a nice shirt and slacks. And it was appropriate. I'n not saying come in jeans and flip flops. But just don't come overdressed! Also, the management team and the servers are OUTSTANDING! Everyone (not just your server) lends a hand, in ensuring your dining experience is memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.