About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Enjoy our Sping Holidays Menu

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We offer a $35 or $45 3-course dinner to celebrate Prom and Graduation. Special valid Mar 8, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Offering brunch and our signature favorites from 11am-10pm on Sunday, June 19th. Come celebrate your Dad!
Enjoy our Sping Holidays Menu

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for Mother's Day & Father's Day to celebrate your special occasion! We will be offering a limited brunch menu along with our signature favorites. Excludes Tax and Tip. We will be open from 11am-10pm on Sunday, May 8th & June 19th. Special valid Mar 27, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
9 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (93)
romantic (67)
notable wine list (46)
See All
good for groups (40)
fit for foodies (37)
hot spot (22)
great for lunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4

I ordered the Veggie Plate ( yes, I did) ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I ordered the Veggie Plate ( yes, I did). The green beans were too crunchy, the Brussels Sprouts were yummy, and the corn was tasty, all for $21. Too pricey in my opinion. My hubby ordered the NY Strip for $50. It was large and a bit too chewy. Another in our party ordered the stuffed chicken and loved it. Everything is ala carte.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined 4 days ago

Good location in downtown Charlotte. Great atmosphere. Our meals were prepared as requested however the overall flavor and quality was lacking. The lobster Mac and Cheese, always a favorite, was way off its mark. The apple crumble dessert was the best part of the meal and was very good. Overall disappointed with our dining experience as we were celebrating a special occasion. I've had much better experiences in other RC locations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our anniversary and it ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were there for our anniversary and it was delightful. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding, and the ambiance was wonderful and romantic. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here several times, primarily ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Have been here several times, primarily to meet clients or friends - food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here. It was my d ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time here. It was my dad's birthday and he LOVES steak and the steak that he had was AWESOME. I thought he would eat the bone. The service was GREAT. This was the best service that I've experienced in a while. We will definitely be coming back to dine here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The food was excellent ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great experience. The food was excellent and the service didn't disappoint! We felt very taken care of and I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter William and the manager, Timo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our waiter William and the manager, Timothy (I think) were delightful! They were very attentive and the manager came over to congratulate me on graduating from nursing school. We love this Ruth's Chris and we will continue to dine here! Thanks for the experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two Thumbs Up!!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I was treated to my Mother's Day dinner at Ruth's Chris (downtown Charlotte), and, as usual, everything was perfect, from the scrumptious Caesar Salad and Lobster Mac & Cheese to the sizzlingly delicious ribeye!! Service was impeccable, thanks to Meredith!! Two thumbs up!! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not Worth it

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived on time, they got us to our seats quickly, but thats where it ended. Our waiter got our drinks fairly quick, then we ordered Brunch. The order took approx 45min before we got our food. We ordered eggs Benedict, the eggs were overcooked and wasn't very hot. They must have forgot about us. The Place wasn't very busy, but there was plenty of staff. We just ate our meal and wanted to get out. Our Waiter was very pushy for us to have coffee and dessert. Then to top it off we waited around 30 Minutes to get our car from the valet. We have been to the Southpark Ruth Chris, and there service and professionalism were much better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dining experience I have ever h ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The best dining experience I have ever had, hands down the best meal and experience I have ever had in restaurant, I'm a frequent visitor and it just gets better because they remember you

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food quality was excepti ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service and food quality was exceptional.

food5
ambience3
service5

The food was excellent and Meredith was ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent and Meredith was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awed once again!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had the sirloin and stuffed chicken beast as our entrees. Our side choices were creamed spinach and au gratin potatoes. Every morsel was loved. The wait staff was nothing short of incredible. The wine selection spot on. Thank you Michael and Ruth Chris for making our night out so special!! WE will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service and excellent petite file ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Superb service and excellent petite filet mignon. Waiter was professional, courteous, and attentive. Great restaurant.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvin was awesome!

Dined on April 27, 2016

On top of having awesome steak that absloutly melts in your mouth and lobster mac and cheese that can only be a part of your dreams, our server Marvin was absloutly amazing. He greeted us by name and continued to do so all night and he was more tha knowledgeable about the menu and the cuts of meat! Marvin made our dinning experience beautifully romantic and special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flooring Mechanic

Dined on April 26, 2016

Fantastic. Great employees. Fantastic food. Thanks. J

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely Celebration

Dined on April 14, 2016

My husband and I used a gift card he received last Christmas to celebrate his passing a test with a dinner at Ruth's Chris. The food was awesome. We shared a fresh tomato salad with a light vinaigrette dressing. I highly recommend it. The pepper crusted filet was hot and cooked perfectly. I told our server that medium is sometimes too done for me, and she said they could make it a little "in-between". My husband had the blue cheese crusted Ribeye which was also delicious and perfectly cooked. In addition, we shared the au gratin potatoes. They were very cheesy and flavorful. We ended up with some miniature cheese cakes to take home...also fantastic. Thanks. Everyone who came to our table was polite and professional. Our server was very nice and informative as was the sommelier. (We tried our best to loosen them up a little.) The atmosphere was pretty relaxing. It was a Thursday and not too loud. My only complaint is that the restaurant was pretty empty, but we were seated right next to a couple of business men. I felt like we were listening in on their conversation. It ended up being about $300 with tip, but $100 of that was wine. The prices were as expected, and the experience was worth it for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye steaks were tender and delicious. ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Ribeye steaks were tender and delicious. The wedge salad and lobster bisque so satisfying. The dining room is warm, comfortable and relaxing. Service is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing

Dined on April 10, 2016

It was the first time me and the wife have been here. The service from start to finish was amazing!! The food was top notch and would recommend you check this place out. It is kinda pricey but I promise you get your money's worth. I would definitely go back. By the way I recommend you get the filet!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was amazing!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our waitress was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

The waitresses Ashley!!! 😘👊 She was AM ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The waitresses Ashley!!! 😘👊 She was AMAZING!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch Celebration

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

We were thrilled to find out that lunch is now being served at this special restaurant. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. I had the steak sandwich which was enriched with bernaise sauce. The sweet potato side with pecans was like a dessert. The salmon and chicken sandwich dishes were also delicious! The service was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For when we really need special treatment

Dined on April 2, 2016

When we really need special treatment, this is our first choice. Their extraordinarily attentive staff complements their extraordinary food. A beautiful spot for outdoor dining. Their sommelier is tops. Count on him to make wonderful recommendations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Disapppointed

Dined on March 31, 2016

This is a place I always wanted to try because everyone talked about the steaks being really good. I was very disappointed. My steak was not tasty. It was bland in flavor. It was no different from any other steak house steak and not as good as other places I've visited. The costs was also crazy. There is no reason they should not include a side item with the steak. I mean a baked potato should cost no more to prepare there than it does at Wendy's! It's just a potato. baked. Though the service and atmosphere were nice,. I will probably never visit again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. Great Service

Dined on March 28, 2016

I typically don't give a perfect ratings, because I feel that there's always something to improve upon. This restaurant was perfect. The service was FANTASTIC, our server was Slate, did an OUTSTANDING job. Food was AWESOME! Honestly, I can't think of one thing that I would have changed. Will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite

Dined on March 26, 2016

We visit Ruth Chris every year for our anniversary. We keep coming back not only for the perfectly cooked steaks but for the outstanding service. Going to Ruth Chris is a splurge for us but it is worth every penny. Everyone from the hostess to the manager treat you like you're a long time guest. We appreciate the welcoming atmosphere and the red carpet treatment. I've only experienced a problem once but it was quickly resolved and the issue has now turned into our favorite story to tell our friends about how Ruth Chris went above and beyond.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic service and amazing food

Dined on March 23, 2016

Our server Steven was great. Very attentive. The food was amazing. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been before, but went for an annive ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Have been before, but went for an anniversary dinner and was treated exceptionally well. I was very pleased!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 18, 2016

Simply AMAZING. The food, wine, and service was great

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Girl

Dined on March 16, 2016

It was my birthday and the servers treated me like I was family

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris always an excellent steak

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were in town for a few days, and celebrating a special birthday. Service and food was fantastic....Ashley was super attentive. We all had filet, and I had the au poive sauce with mine....excellent....cooked perfectly.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, RC has best steak in town. Fa ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

As always, RC has best steak in town. Fabulous service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Dining Spot

Dined on March 11, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots. I enjoy dining outside even though you occasionally get the crazzzy loud car or cycle. Was a beautiful night. The meal and service was great. Was accidently served a huge porterhouse steak for 2 but management immediately stopped by and adjusted price to a porter house for 1. Yeah for me...yummy leftovers. Both our steaks were cooked perfectly. My favorite veg is sautéed spinach.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Locked out and in the cold

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

I made reservations for 10 PM after the show. Open table showed that you could make reservations up until 11 PM. The show ran a little long. We rushed the three blocks to get to the restaurant, ativing at about 10:08 PM. The front door was locked, and we could not get in. We knocked several time but no answer. We could see a few people still in the bar. That left us on a Tuesday night at now approaching 10:30 PM. Hungry and in the cold with no place to eat. We rushed back to our hotel and just made it. Up until now Ruth's Chris had been a favorite that we always looked forward to having a fantastic meal. Now not so much. Good thing this was a pleasure dinner and not business. By the way, I checked open table after we got back to the hotel and ordered, it still had Ruth's Chris accepting reservations until 11PM, and had just left the locked front door.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks, great service.

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great steaks, great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris never disappoints

Dined on February 23, 2016

Start with a cocktail in the friendly bar. Their drinks are first class and they're not stingy with the liquor. The steak is always perfect and the sides are fine. But save room for a dessert! We had the warm chocolate cake with a side of chocolate pudding. OMG. I could have that for lunch with a cup of coffee! But that's just a girl-talking.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous as always!! Both the manager a ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Fabulous as always!! Both the manager and servers cater to our every whim. They are wonderful! And don't forget the fabulous chef! Food cooked to perfection this time and every visit. Always a pleasure to visit for a fantastic experience!

food3
ambience3
service5

Service was excellent and we got seated ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was excellent and we got seated right away. The restaurant was a little noisy and the food was ok. For the price I would have expected the food quality to be higher. My salmon was barely warm and the lobster was over cooked. Probably would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was delicious and the service was fantastic from entering. Olivia was very inviting and friendly, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Night Out--salmon & lobster & steak, Oh My!

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Our meal was fantastic! From the salmon, lobster, steaks, side items and specialty drinks---all were amazing and cooked perfectly! The Lobster Mac and Cheese was well worth the price, with huge chunks of lobster meat that really created an amazing flavor. Glad we didn't by pass that item tonight as we had so many times before! Our server was amazing and the manager checked on us often to make sure everything was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.