About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Celebrate Your Mother at Ruth's Chris Uptown!

Sunday May 14, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Celebrate Dad at Ruth's Chris Uptown on June 18th!

Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - May 20, 2017 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will be open on Mother's Day- Sunday, May 14th from 11:30am-9pm featuring brunch items along with our signature favorites! Let us help celebrate your mom this year!

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our $30 menu & celebrate prom & graduation- available for students only. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 6, 2017 - Aug 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Celebrate Your Mother at Ruth's Chris Uptown!

Sunday May 14, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join Ruth's Chris Uptown on Sunday, 5/14 to celebrate Mom! We will be open 11:30am-9pm offering an early brunch selection as well as our signature favorites. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mom will receive a $25 gift card good for her next visit!. Special valid on Sunday May 14, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Celebrate Dad at Ruth's Chris Uptown on June 18th!

Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

We will be open early on Sunday, June 18th to celebrate Father's Day! We will offer early brunch options and our signature favorites. Excludes Tax and Tip. We will be open 11:30am-9pm. Special valid on Sunday Jun 18, 2017 from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (30)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Private Room (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
People Watching (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Our experience was great as always! It's always a pleasure dining here, especially when we get to see the Great Danko.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Amber was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall great experience and service time after time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not the first time we have dined at Ruths Chris before.. and this time delivered again! Our server Ricardo was on point! His recommendations were great and conversation was pleasant. Fantastic job overall and we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Graduation dinner there was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

1st time at Ruth's uptown and definitely wasn't disappoint. Loved it just as much as the south park location. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter Jonathan was awesome! The food was great and the complimentary dessert and champagne for our anniversary was nice as well!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went slightly under dressed with a reservation. (No hats allowed in the main dining room). Jane our waitress was very kind & knowledgeable. The food was delish. I had the 16oz Ribeye with a side of sweet potato casserole Yummmy. Our cocktails were also very good. Two managers came by to check on us which I always love and the reason I made sure to give 5 stars. Woody and Chuck or Chad I believe were their names.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing experience! Be prepared to order all a carte however it was worth every penny!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Real classy staff and eloquent decorum. Food was prepared amazingly. The beef tastes fresh. They had the really nice Riedel stemware to complement the special white burgundy I brought in. The best place fun, professional, but not stuffy service. Genuine folks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Private Room, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Live Sports, Healthy, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We visit Ruth Chris every year for our anniversary. We continue to come because of the tremendous service. This year the food was delicious as usual but we didn't get the over the top service we have become accustomed to. In years past we were treated to a complimentary glass of champagne. One year our table was decorated with anniversary confetti. Along with that the atmosphere was different due to the many high schools celebrating prom. We will try again next year but we didn't feel the same romantic dinner vibe we have felt in years past. Just a note not to go during prom season

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We love to go early and sit in the bar for a cocktail. The cocktails at R.C. are delicious, they use fresh limes & lemons and other ingredients and the service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was good. Not the best meal I've had, but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was subpar. We have been to several locations and this one could ruin the reputation for food quality. We got steaks that were not seasoned and the texture for mine was below tenderness I had switch with my husband. The wait staff were kind and friendly.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I have made an annual "trek" to a Ruth's Chris' 5 of our last 8 anniversaries. And there is always a noticeable "gap" the years we didn't go. Whether it's been here or in Virginia where the tradition first started, we've always had exceptional food and service. It already feels like a special occasion to go, but they make it a special event for us with the complimentary champagne toast and dessert. Also no less than four employees which included the manager and hostess congratulated us on our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing experience, great service food was outstanding

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was subpar for the lavish prices. Waiter was exceptional. Drinks were pretty terrible. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First table seating was in high traffic noisy area...asked to be seated some where else. Accommodation was made. Service and food choices were outstanding. Wait staff were professional and met our needs. We had a pleasurable dining experience and would visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris downtown Charlotte is consistently the best restaurant in for food, service, quality of dining experience. My wife and i dine out often all over CLT and when we travel. RC is the best. Hands down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A nice treat for a special night out. Steak was delicious and the sides were great to share. Service was on point.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is where I go for steak and unique sides
I love the Brussels sprouts
I love the sizzling steaks
Love this place

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The experience was nice. We frequent Ruth Chris but this was our first time at this location. It was a nice experience and my wife enjoyed her birthday. Our waitress was a little weird but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Waiter, Dominic, was great. He made our day special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My waiter William was excellent!!!! When my husband and I decide to go back, we will request William again!!!! He is a very positive asset to your restaurant!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Birthday dinner for my twins turning 18.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food, service ,ambiance. Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The 4 of us were there celebrating my girlfriend's and mine move. It was amazing! Chef Tim came out and greeted us and recommended steaks for the table. Everything was cooked perfectly. LB did a great job selecting wines for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They never let me down at Ruth's Chris. The food is always delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My nephew ordered a shot of expensive cognac and the waiter insulted him by inquiring if he knew the price...which of course he did. The food was okay bUT very overrated. It was my husband's birthday and we arrived by limo it was clear we could well afford our meal and beverages. We will NOT BE coming back. We were a very mixed race group and I hope this was not the reason for our not so pleasant experience and mediocre food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Slate, as usual was an exceptional server. Food and atmosphere is second to none. Always enjoy dining here when I'm in town

Roger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This visit was amazing. For the first time, I ordered the stuffed chicken breast over garlic mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus. The chicken breast was literally THE best piece of chicken I have EVER eaten in my life; juicy, tender and flavorful. The asparagus was cooked perfectly and the garlic potatoes were delicious as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was outstanding, greeted by name by our server. No pictures on walls made it much noisier than it should have been with the few people there, slightly hard to hear. Food was amazing, wine great, just a real nice expensive place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I was there celebrating my birthday with three other people from an hour away. This was not the experience I imagined. It was a mess of an experience I'd say. We didn't receive our water at the beginning of the meal. Then my husband ordered sweet tea and it came out unsweetened. Then 3 of us had under or overcooked steaks that we didn't complain about because it had taken so long to get our food out we didn't want to wait any longer. My husband ordered sweet potato casserole then our waitress came out and said they were out so they would be comping his side and bringing him out mash potatoes instead. Next thing we know they bring him out his original side he ordered as well. I ordered a salad that never made it to the table. By this time I'm ready to go because it had been one thing after another. Our nice and lovely waitress came out and said that she had kept the general manager in on our whole issue from the whole meal and that he was going to comp the whole tables bill. Yes I appreciated that but that would have been great to hear from the GM himself verses our waitress. He never came to the table to talk to us at any point that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for a celebratory dinner such as birthday or anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We consistently go back to Ruth's Chris. The food and service never disappoint. We especially like the one in Uptown Charlotte. We have had fantastic meals and service there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was amazing. If you get something other than a steak you're a fool. The sides were good as well. It's expensive but you know that going in. Great for anniversary or Valentine's Day or some other special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food consistently prepared to perfection. Service was definitely on point. Overall great dinner from bubbles to wine, appetizers, steak and seafood! We where too full to have dessert. Thanks Chad!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

For the Bill to be about 200.00 the Steak did not hold uo to the hype. I would like to have a juice cut like butter steak. It was a little tough for a Medium

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time to this location, very nice, service was good and the pre-fix menu was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.