About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Join us for Home Football Games!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Join us for Home Football Games!

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

We will open at 10am for all home football games. Enjoy a bottle of Wycliff with 3 carafes of juices or our Touchdown Bloody Mary with 4oz Prime Filet & 3 Jumbo Shrimp both for $25!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Home Football Games: 9/24/17 11/5/17 12/10/17 12/17/17 12/24/17. Special valid Sep 24, 2017 - Dec 24, 2017 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Spend your holiday with us, we will be open from 4pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Spend New Year's Eve with us, we will be open 4pm-11pm.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Romantic (33)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We ordered porterhouse steak for two. The steak was dripping in butter. We'd expect some butter, but this was served as if it were a lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Quality was not up to the Ruth Chris standard. Steak was good but not mouth watering.
Service was good, but but a bit spotty. Bread was not hot.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This particular Ruth's Chris is a very casual location. I was very surprised at the way diners were dressed. We did not have the best service. We had to continually remind our waitress of everything as well as ask for updates. It was not my favorite Ruth's experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fantastic!! Can't wait to come back again for the Tomahawk Ribeye!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent business dinner,food was exceptional service was on point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We are long time fans of Ruth Chris. We usually go on special occasions. The food is always good, good service and very nice ambience! Can’t go wrong with Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Had a wonderful and fun evening with our family. Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great place for a weekend date with your significant other! This location was accommodating to our requests for seating.

Few important topics I will cover here: Food, Ambiance, and Service.

Food was delicious. For our starters, we had the lobster bisque, jumbo shrimp cocktails, and a steak salad. We ordered the 6 oz. filet (medium) and lobster as well as the 12 oz. ribeye (medium rare) for our entrees. We ended off with their signature Apple crumble pie dessert. I would give all items a 5/5 but they did mix up our temperature on the filet and ribeye and had cooked the ribeye medium while the filet was medium rare.

The ambiance was nice, but the age of people who were there are typically older. As a younger couple, people did tend to stare which could be uncomfortable but nothing that the staff can really do.

Finally, service was impeccable. They were fun, and did consistently check up.

Overall, I loved the place and am definitely more than happy to come here again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday and virtually everyone at the restaurant we came into contact with wished me a happy birthday. They even presented a wonderful birthday dessert plate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This location is always good, but this visit in particular stands out. We chose to dine outside on the first cool evening of the season. Our server, Jonathan, was just perfect! He was attentive, knowledgeable, and gracious without being insincere. We both agreed we would request him on future visits. There is a special right now that we were unaware of until it was pointed out--for $45-55 you can enjoy salad, entree, a side and dessert. That's a tremendous bargain for the best steak (and creamed spinach) in town! It was my wife's birthday, and she was presented with a special birthday dessert in addition to our included dessert. The ambiance of the bustle of Uptown just added to a perfect evening. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The staff was very attentative and professional. They made my wife feel very special on her birthday and the food was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The service and food was excellent. Couldn't have ask for more.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The steaks are always amazing. The summer classics menu was a great way to have a 3 course meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

food and service is always on point. Never dissapointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a delicious meal and enjoyed the quiet setting of the side wine room. We had a slight wait at times for our server to return to our table with food and drinks, but that was ok. What wasn't so ok was that he returned at one point to inform us that our wine selection that we had been enjoying was no longer in supply and recommended another wine selection (by the glass). We took his recommendation only to later discover that it was three times the price of the wine we had previously ordered. Lesson learned should we return....if a wine selection runs out, ask to see the wine list again with prices listed and choose from there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our steaks were done exactly as requested and were delicious as were the sides and salads. The server was very much on his game and the manager checked with us and seemed genuinely interested in our experience. If you're looking for wild innovation, you probably won't find it here, but you will always find consistently great food and service. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The experience was good though felt a little rushed at times. We were there 2 hours so was a perceived rush since there we had an extra coarse. The was very good and we ended up with a free glass of wine which was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was wonderful. The service was not the best but not bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a nice romantic dinner here on Friday night , the food and service was phenomenal! Beth gave us great advice from the wine to the dessert menu! Great place and highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Lunch was excellent. Service was outstanding. The waitstaff took care of all our needs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Waiter ignored us, worst experience at a Ruth's Chris. Never checked in to see how our food was. The one time he asked if we needed more drinks it took 20 minutes for him to bring back the wine. The place was empty so no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent as always! We are never disappointed and will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Exceptional service and even better food. Thanks for making our evening special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always dependable and you know what you are going to get ! Very professional and in a great setting!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Total overall experience was exceptional. The food was excellent, although the lobster mac & cheese wasn't as creamy as I'd had before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was excellent and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was good
Shoestring fries are not a good menu option

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was only ok for the price. Other steakhouses in Charlotte at same price point were significantly better all around (quality of food, service, menu options).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The meal recommendations and food were perfect. The only issue that I had, was that the area in which were seated was too small for our liking and the dessert given for our take home enjoyment was dissapointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Just as expected-food was exceptional and the wait staff was spot on.
The only reason I did not give five stars was because of an obnoxious couple who were outside with us and were very loud and inappropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our first time at Ruth Chris. The ribeye steak was average. The salad was great and the scalloped potatoes were ok. I was hoping it would all be amazing, but the food was average.
The service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Birthday dinner was very pleasant. I love the upbeat jazz music that was playing. The lantern on our table was flickering and the waiter immediately exchanged it. The crab cakes were ok, a remoulade would have made it absolutely delicious. The lamb was cooked to perfection, very hearty pieces. Mashed potatoes were creamy and yummy. Even the complimentary berry cheesecake was tasteful but the chocolate cake was very bitter. Ordered two apple crumble desserts to go and unfortunately, they didn't include our vanilla ice creams in the bags. Overall it was a good birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing place
This Ruth Chris is the best in the company

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great portabella mushroom sandwich for lunch! The service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Explained when making reservation, upon arrival to hostesses and to wait staff the importance of the dinner.
In spite of making my point, the service at best was disjointed. For example, uncomfortably long wait between salad and entrees to the point that drinks were reordered. My clients commented that the restaurant wait staff was running up the wine bill.
When dinner finally arrived one of meal was missing, raising confusion and a brief spat with my MOST important client.over whether or not he got the meal he ordered. We were.told the missing entree went to a different table.
This place was not busy for a Wednesday night, which was a point of discussion after the meal between ourselves.
Of the 10 in our party 6 work in downtown Charlotte for a major utility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We received a cold baked potato although the Waiter replaced the potato it put a damper on the rather great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time with friends here; the service (Jonathan was our waiter) and food were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We always have great service and even better food when we come here!!! Tonight was no different

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing from start to finish; drinks, appetizers, entrees. Not one negative to note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.