About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Prom/Grad Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy our $30 menu & celebrate prom & graduation- available for students only. Special valid Apr 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a variety of $9 appetizers & cocktails in our lounge!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 6, 2017 - Aug 6, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Summer Grill Menu featuring new items like the Heart of Rib Eye a 12oz Center-Cut, tender like a filet; a crisp BLT Salad and our refreshing key lime pie!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Earn a $50 Gift Card for Every $500 Spent!

Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Book your Private Dining event through July 30 & hold it between July 3 & September 3 and earn a $50 gift card for every $500 spent! Inquire about availability today! Food and beverage minimum must exceed $500, tax & gratuity additional. Excludes Tax and Tip. Events must be held in private dining room or catered offsite, subject to change. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Oct 20, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall experience was good as it normally is when I visit. Two friends catching up and leisurely hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone due to experience I had for my 17th Year Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Quality Food and Customer Service. The Best Charlotte NC has to offer!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always great service and excellent food. The staff is very attentive to your needs.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I absolutely love Ruth Chris!! Our waiter was AWESOME!! Everyone was awesome that we came in contact with and very respectful and knew their job and the menu as well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My son and his girlfriend took us to Ruth Chris for Father's Day. The service, the food, the seafood tower, the steaks and the sides --everything was worthy of "writing home about." We had never been to Ruth Chris before and really appreciated that our son took us there for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beth and the service team did a fabulous job and didn't rush us out the door. We always enjoy our dinners at RC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great experience! Love the lunch service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had an awesome experience. Woodie and Jonathan made our experience a memorable one. Thanks guys.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

After a perfect record of great experiences we were disappointed during this visit. The service was not on point as there were excessive delays in follow up throughout dinner. Steak was good but not as requested and overall food quality was good, not the great you would expect from Ruth's Chris. Will consider other options first in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome as always. Ruth Chris never disappoint and the atmosphere is great

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very special evening thanks to our server, Erin, and the manager, Chad. It was our 31st anniversary and they really made a fuss over us. Always great food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ruth's Chris uptown is always a delight. Daniel was a wonderful, thoughtful, professional waiter. The food was even better than the last time we are there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Grad party, table for 12. Very attentive service from Erin and Steve, two pros who knew how to handle large groups. We were on bit of tight schedule but they handled it well. Kitchen back up gave our grad only 10 minutes to wolf down a filet before he had to get to location. Thought pricing was a bit stiff for actual quality of meat, sides, etc so I give lower value score. Sides and steaks were nicely prepared and tasty but didn't quite match up to over-the-top price levels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We came here for our anniversary on a busy weekend, service and food was great. The restaurant was filled with screaming kids but the large crowds cleared out by the time our main course came. Jonathan our waiter was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food very slow getting food location is great noise level was fine.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Tip top service. Steve our server. Is the best there is. Knowledgeable on wine!!!!! Treated us like rock stars. We will be back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Outstanding Service and food! Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food and service were as usual!!! Love them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server kept getting our food wrong. Her assistant should have been the head server. Worse service ever at a Ruth's. We do not mind paying for a great meal just give me great service also!!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a waiter named Slate. He was great. The service was awesome. I had a rib eye and my girlfriend had the filet mignon. Very tasty. They didn't have the mashed potatoes I ordered but Slate brought potatoes with cheddar melted on top and it was a delicious substitute. The restaurant was located not even a block away from the hotel we stayed in, so convenient and am very happy we went.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic time (as always) at Ruth's Chris! We celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and loved every second of our experience. From the complimentary champagne, to the amazing service, to the delectable food, we couldn't go wrong. We left with full bellies and smiles on our faces.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

took wife for anniversary dinner. service was excellent and food was worth the price

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First rate from start to finish - waiter very knowledgeable and customer driven. When you make reservation at this location - ask for Dom. He and Chris took great care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Four steaks ordered - three filets medium and one medium rare. Somehow it was transposed so filets came out medium rare and other steak medium. For this price, expect things to be on the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ruth's Chris never disappoints! Erin Sullivan was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful service, delicious food and loved the prom/graduation specials offered!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our experience was great as always! It's always a pleasure dining here, especially when we get to see the Great Danko.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amber was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall great experience and service time after time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not the first time we have dined at Ruths Chris before.. and this time delivered again! Our server Ricardo was on point! His recommendations were great and conversation was pleasant. Fantastic job overall and we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Graduation dinner there was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

1st time at Ruth's uptown and definitely wasn't disappoint. Loved it just as much as the south park location. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter Jonathan was awesome! The food was great and the complimentary dessert and champagne for our anniversary was nice as well!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went slightly under dressed with a reservation. (No hats allowed in the main dining room). Jane our waitress was very kind & knowledgeable. The food was delish. I had the 16oz Ribeye with a side of sweet potato casserole Yummmy. Our cocktails were also very good. Two managers came by to check on us which I always love and the reason I made sure to give 5 stars. Woody and Chuck or Chad I believe were their names.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing experience! Be prepared to order all a carte however it was worth every penny!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Real classy staff and eloquent decorum. Food was prepared amazingly. The beef tastes fresh. They had the really nice Riedel stemware to complement the special white burgundy I brought in. The best place fun, professional, but not stuffy service. Genuine folks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Private Room, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Live Sports, Healthy, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.