About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown

Visit Ruth's Chris Steak House in Charlotte, North Carolina. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business luncheon, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Uptown Charlotte steakhouse features a warm cherry wood design, luxurious private dining rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment, 2 exciting Tryon street patios and a vibrant bar scene with the best happy hour in Charlotte.

Our beef is USDA Prime and it is cooked the way Ruth intended it to be, in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates. The salads, side dishes and desserts are inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage.

For romantic private dinners for two, specify your request for our famous dinner for two wine cellar, shown in photo. Call us to guarantee this room and to add special touches like champagne or flowers. We look forward to serving you!

222 South Tryon
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 338-9444

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event! Lunch or dinner, let us bring the sizzle to you!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available beginning at 6:00 PM Monday through Friday and at 5:00 PM Saturday and Sunday. Self parking is available at the daily rate in a covered deck directly behind the restaurant at all other times.
Valet may not be offered during Panther's home games, festivals, and other events uptown.

Public Transit:
Lynx Light Rail
Stop number 25660 at Tryon Street & 3rd Street

Executive Chef:
B. Timothy Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95

Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Step into Summer with our New Chef's Features

Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Summer Grill Menu featuring new items like the Heart of Rib Eye a 12oz Center-Cut, tender like a filet; a crisp BLT Salad and our refreshing key lime pie!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 6, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

30 Minute Lunch for $15

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch Monday-Friday starting at 11:30 am. Choose from a variety of entrée salads, soups, salads and more! 222 South Tryon Charlotte, NC 28202 (704) 338-9444. Excludes Tax and Tip. http://www.ruths-chris.com/lunch-at-uptown. Special valid Jun 20, 2017 - Oct 20, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95

Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Classics Menu is back for a limited time starting at just $44.95!. Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Oct 15, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

3 elegant dining rooms with complete built-in audio visual services including flat screen TVs for computer and DVD presentations with no charge. Free of room fee or minimums Sunday-Thursday!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Romantic (36)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We always have great service and even better food when we come here!!! Tonight was no different

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing from start to finish; drinks, appetizers, entrees. Not one negative to note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Was not typical Ruth Chris. Had waiter drop glass bottle in bar area and he was mad and cleaned up and did not even ask if OK or anything and drinks got on at least 3 people including me. Dinner was great, waiter spilled the hot butter on wife and friend and table beside us was very loud and cussing every other word and no one says anything. For an $1,000.00 dinner I expected more and will go Flemmings next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

As always, the food was delicious, and the service was exceptional. Everyone was great - our waiter was very personable and attentive enough to provide excellent service without being intrusive. The Sommelier as well as two managers stopped by to chat and make sure we were pleased. They go above and beyond to ensure a great overall experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The staff were all so friendly and attentive. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were guests for the PGA golf tournament and took our hosts and friends to Ruth's Chris. We made the reservation there because you are always safe having a special occasion at Ruth's Chris. They are always consistently excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Outstanding filet, salads and beverages. Service excellent.
Baked potato advertised as "1 pound", no way it was. And it was cold. This in contrast thebthe waiter advertised "500 degree plate, don't touch"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was very good and every dish was prepared properly. I was also pleased with the service. It was very attentive with multiple servers assisting our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everyone talks about the outstanding steaks.....but the Calamari was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food is excellent. Great choice for queens feast week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I didn't care for Aaron our waiter not the most friendliest and I felt he acted as if we should not have been there.. Idk
Never experience that before there.. Maybe it was a bad night for him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Hands down the most consistent steak restaurant. I have been into several Ruth's over the past few years and its always been a good experience. This time in particular it was our anniversary so we were even greeted with a free bottle of wine. Servers are educated on the menu and can talk intelligently about the wines. Steak was cooked to perfection! Would highly recommend this Charlotte, NC location as well as any other Ruth's Chris you see in your travels.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great experience. And, valet parking is a definite plus.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Much rather prefer the SouthPark location. Food is 100% better as well as the customer service. It was restaurant week but that to me means the service should've been better then any other day.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I asked for a rib eye well done but not charred. Cut into my meat and blood was still coming out of it. I do not like medium rare that's why I specifically asked for well done. Service was great but my food could have been better. It was my 17th wedding anniversary and I was looking forward to my steak.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely great service and food. I am never disappointed when I leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Erin was awesome! She took great care of us and I look forward to requesting her in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been to this location several times now. The service is always great and the food is fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Three friends and I dined at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse during the Queen's Feast Restaurant Week. The mushroom soup appetizer was great! Two of us had the petite filet, one had the filet medallions, and one had the crab cakes from the King's Feast menu. Both filet entrees were wonderful! The crab cakes were tasty. We each ordered a different side so that each of us could taste each of them. All of the sides were yummy, but the creamed spinach and green beans were particularly good. The food was great, and the service was good. The cheesecake dessert was great.
A few problems we encountered: The soup appetizer was served to one friend considerably after the other three received their salads. We felt somewhat rushed so the table could be turned. We also had to ask if we could order drinks at the table since we couldn't get anyone's attention to order them in the bar beforehand.
However, I do believe this is a good value during Restaurant Werk.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was great and my family had a wonderful time! Great Food and Great Atmosphere. The service was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Russ was amazing - we had a wonderful meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The main things that really bothered me was the tables being left dirty for a long time. I understand it's restaurant week but come on. Another thing was dirty dishes and glasses. Other than that everything was great. Our server Marc was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Engagement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Best steak I've ever had. Awesome service! Defiantly will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food and service were both fantastic! I would highly recommend this location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Ricardo was exceptional! Loved the place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Ruth's Chris is reliably good. I went with a friend for restaurant week. The steak was cooked to perfection. I thought the mushroom soup was just okay (tasted like it had been thickened by cornstarch too much?) and wished I had opted for the salad.

I was disappointed that the restaurant opted to give a substandard dessert option of "Duo of Mini Cheesecake and Chocolate Sincake Tarlets". I didn't bother to finish them although I'd classify myself as a sweets junkie.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The very best dinning experience every time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service impeccable. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After having a not so pleasant experience 2 weeks prior we were hesitant about going back to this location but we got engaged here 2 years ago and it was our wedding anniversary so we booked again and plus we've become somewhat regulars at this location. I have to say our server Patrice has renewed my faith in the Ruth's Chris brand. She was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We informed her manager how wonderful she was and he told us she was new. We never could have guessed that. I really think she best exemplifies what we have always loved about this particular location, quality and excellent customer service. Once again Patrice, you are Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful as always! Dined during restaurant week, and service/food was as excellent as it is during a slower night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Staycation without kids here in Charlotte. Perfect dinner. Michael W. was absolutely wonderful as our server! Meal was awesome. Best steak in Charlotte, hands down! Manager stopped by several times to check on things. . Great & fun experience! Would request Michael W again next time we come ... can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We took mom here for her 56th birthday and was disappointed in the service that we received from our waitress. The waitress didn't smile and wasn't personable at all. She really ruined our experience and celebration of life. My mother was even more upset about the service because we have always had a wonderful experience here. However, the food was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Recommended Wine on menu was not good and Ruth Chris normally has great wines. We were there during restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was just perfect! Enjoyed Paul (PSM) and the martini at the bar waiting for Crystal's phenomenal service! Excellent, friendly staff all around. See you next weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent Service and excellent food!! We had a wonderful meal there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I thought this would be a perfect place for my birthday but I was wrong. Rhe valet and hostess were very nice,my waiter was ok but didn't see her much. Now the food😐 the ribeye was good but rather go to Texas Roadhouse for my steak. The Brussel sprouts were burnt and potatoes were nasty. I want be returning but its pretty inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I made a dinner reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. We were warmly greeted by the host, and sat quickly.
This was our first time coming to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and Steve took really good care of us. He explained the menu selections, briefly how it was prepared and served, and helped my boyfriend select a wine.
I got the petite filet which was great, perfectly seasoned and cooked to my liking. My boyfriend ordered the bone in filet and he really enjoyed it! We went with the creamed spinach and sweet potato dish for the sides, good choices!
Steve even brought us out a complimentary dessert for the birthday celebration.
Everyone there was so friendly and made our first experience a joy. It's definitely a place we'd only come to for special occasions, but looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.