About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. New Year's Eve Pre-Fixed Menu. Upgraded $90 option available. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Start the Fireworks Well Before Midnight!!
Join us on New Year's Eve for dinner featuring a 3-course Pre-Fixed Meal for $75 and $90.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Private Room (10)
Family Style (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my wife and I first time eating ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my wife and I first time eating there and all I can say the food, service and the ambience was excellent!!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planned a nice date night with my husban ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Planned a nice date night with my husband. The restaurant was very empty, which killed the ambiance, but it is still a nice room. This was not our first visit, but everything was off. We each ordered a ribeye steak (different sizes). They were tender but overly salty. We also ordered the brussel sprouts. I specifically asked before ordering if they were crispy and was told yes. They were not . They brought us a second batch which were better, but still not great. The waiter was kind enough to bring us complimentary mashed potatoes, which were good and they gave us a free dessert to go--nice touch and much appreciated. This restaurant is very expensive and should have been much better for the price.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We just moved here from CT and it was my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We just moved here from CT and it was my boyfriend's birthday. It was an amazing experience. Everyone was very personable. The food was incredible and our server Jamaar gave us first class service. We will definitely return. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. If anything isn ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We love this restaurant. If anything isn't to your liking, they will immediately fix it.

Service is always spectacular. Took out of town friends here to celebrate their anniversary and had a great dinner and a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Great service for our first t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good food. Great service for our first time. Price was a bit steep though. Overall, very nice!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and great service! We alway ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great dinner and great service! We always love the food and never get anything bad!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food, enjoyable and t ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Consistently great food, enjoyable and tranquil atmosphere, experienced and educated staff -- all which makes for a wonderful dinner! The seafood tower is fabulous!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had dinner at several of the bett ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have had dinner at several of the better steak houses in the area and the steaks at Ruth Chris are the best. Since the reason to go to a steak house is for the steaks, Ruth Chris is family favourite.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is extremely good but it is ver ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food is extremely good but it is very expensive. They were very busy and the service suffered slightly. Will definitely return for special occasions in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortnately it was the worse dinner. S ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Unfortnately it was the worse dinner. Service was impeccable as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent food and service once again. O ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food and service once again. Our server, Christopher, was very knowledgable of the menu and wine list, made great recommendations and was most accommodating of our requested substitutions. He went above and beyond in providing a much appreciated extra side dish. He never left us waiting, either. He was always there to tend to our next need before we had to look for him. Ruth would be proud!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Family Style, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can we say it's always an experienc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

What can we say it's always an experience that leaves us wanting to come back time and time again. The service was wonderful from our server Emily. She was sweet, attentive and all around knowledgeable of the menu. Luckily, so are we and it worked cohesively. We even had the manager Karen come and greet and congratulate us on our celebration and ended up having a lovely conversation as we had ended all being from California and having recently moved out to Charlotte. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful evening. Look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great- food , service, dr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was great- food , service, drinks; unfortunately everyone in the dining room had to wear their coats due to the freezing cold temperatures. Doesn't make for an enjoyable meal freezing and wearing a coat. It really took away from a pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Great experience! Food was delicious.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great experience! Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing....Steaks are phenom ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was amazing....Steaks are phenomenal...my parents 31st anniversary. Very pleasant and happy experience for them...no complaints

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent wine list! Mic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and excellent wine list! Michael was our server and was attentive yet allowed us to pace our meal to enjoy the food and conversation!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i think our waiter must have run away, r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

i think our waiter must have run away, really I was about to go back to the bar to get a drink, our meal lasted for a while m but seems like after the food was dropped off he disappeared.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We won't be back. The chopped salad was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We won't be back. The chopped salad was primarily iceberg lettuce only had two cherry tomatoes, and two small bacon bits. Of course there were plenty croutons and fried onions...seriously! A tiny amount of heart of palm. Both steaks were over cooked and had to be sent back. The meat was extremely tough (ribeyes). No discount for wasting our time. We even had to pour our own Silver Oak (best part of the meal).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I had a wonderful time at Ruth's Chris i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I had a wonderful time at Ruth's Chris in South Park! Miles our server made sure that myself and my date had a wonderful experience. It was my dates last day in America and she was leaving for Japan. The staff Including the manager Dan made sure we had a memorable experience. My friend had a great last meal in America. Our food came out on sizzling 500 degree plates and everything had an amazing flavor.

Miles our server even gave us a great idea to save our cork to our Bottle of wine as a keepsake where we could write a note to remember such a joyous occasion. I would recommend this location for anyone who wants something to remember a special occasion for. I know we sure did. Dan the manager even offered to take our picture together as our last time together in front of the amazing wine feature in the middle of the restaurant.

Thank you so much South Park Ruth's Chris

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for my sons 16th birthday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We dined here for my sons 16th birthday and everything was wonder as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 24th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was our 24th wedding anniversary and we wanted to make it special. The steaks were great. Mathew was our waiter and made us feel right at home along with the rest of the staff . The green beans were terrible and had to send them back twice, but the sweet potato casserole was to die for I just wish we had asked for the recipe card. Overall we had a great time, looking forward to another year together !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was wonderfully patient and k ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waiter was wonderfully patient and kind with our large family. He helped make it a great evening for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We eat there pretty often but they were ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We eat there pretty often but they were just having an off night I guess. My husband's and my steak were both very grisly. I ordered medium rare plus and the first steak came and was so over cooked I couldn't hardly cut into it. I sent it back (which I don't think I've ever done anywhere) and the second one wasn't much better but I ate as much as I could. It was 8:30 so maybe it was because it was the end of the night but the food was just off (sides were cold, etc). Hopefully this was an isolated incidence and not a trend but we will come back and try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Food and service was awesome! Steak was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service was awesome! Steak was so full of flavor with excellent sides. A little costly, but was worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth Chris is now a casual blue jean res ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ruth Chris is now a casual blue jean restaurant with high pricing. Very disappointed, had to send my steak back for further cooking. This should not happen for the price charged, it should be perfect however the server told me this is how they protect themselves, I wanted it medium not rare. This is Ruth Chris not Outback Steakhouse. I would not recommend Ruth Chris again anytime in the near future or go there myself for that matter in fact I will do just the opposite and discourage others from going to Ruth Chris. Thank you

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a very relaxed evening, with wond ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a very relaxed evening, with wonderful food and top service. The entire staff treated us like a royal couple.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Organic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for night out with friends. We ha ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great for night out with friends. We had great table in the front dining room celebrating friends from out of town and another couple who observed a 25th anniversary. The food was fantastic, service was on point. Nice wine list, great tasting steaks. The shrimp appetizer and calamari were the best. Highly recommend.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night to celebrate birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great date night to celebrate birthday. Disappointed in limited parking close to entrance. Caesar salad not very tasteful. Sorry to learn no banana foster on desert menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

From the onset the entire experience was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

From the onset the entire experience was outstanding. Beginning w/the young gent at the valet, 2 the young lady that seated my guest and I followed up by the exceptional wait staff Alan. Then there were the menu items suggested n selected all top shelf. Lastly the Matrie D Chris was most certainly the most posited n gracious I've ever met. I most Definitely will return 2 the south park location in Charlotte NC

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Every was perfect with the So ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent. Every was perfect with the South Park location as usual. Great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Matthew, was excellent. Ask ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server, Matthew, was excellent. Ask for him for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an awesome time. Would recommend ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had an awesome time. Would recommend placing plates on wooden platers, so diners could maneuver them when they want. SHEESH, they're HOT!!! Habits of moving around plate accidentally kicked in. 😞

But, that sweet potato casserole... 💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our filet was excellent, however the gar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our filet was excellent, however the garlic mashed potatoes were from a box, not real. The creamed spinach was bland. They knew it was our 36th anniversary, however did nothing to make the evening special for us. Not even a $10 dessert. However the service was amazing! Unfortuately we will not come again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was outstanding, food was excell ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was outstanding, food was excellent, atmosphere was perfect. I felt like a guest from the moment I was greeted at the door until walking out with a positive comment and smile from the hostess. I would highly recommend Ruth's Chris Steak House to anyone who would like a memorable meal in a comfortable atmosphere with outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The caesar salad was extremely limp and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The caesar salad was extremely limp and over-dressed with dressing. The rest of our meals were delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints! Prices ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place never disappoints! Prices are a little outside the norm for our standard type of restaurant, but every time we come here, we are always glad we did! It is great for special occasions. The food is always outstanding, the wait staff is always very accommodating, the bar is always friendly, and the ambiance is amazing! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service as always! Best ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awesome food and service as always!

Best steaks ever!

Thanks Chris and Michael!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 34th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary. Every celebration is shared at Ruth's Chris for great service, food, atmosphere and the attention to detail. I LOVE THEM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great and service awesome ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food is always great and service awesome. We always request the same waiter since he's the best and our favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.