About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Grey Goose Cocktail Dinner

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Grey Goose Cocktail Dinner

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Join us for a 5-course dinner featuring handcrafted cocktails by Grey Goose. $95++ per person. Reservations are required. Call 704-556-1115 for reservations. Excludes Tax and Tip. $95 price does not include tax or gratuity. Special valid on Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
9 More
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

special occasion (61)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (39)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (31)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great night! The Gm Chris came o ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overall great night! The Gm Chris came out and was super friendly. He even brought out the chef who helped sell me on the cowboy, and I was not disappointed! I look forward to returning again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris went way out in helping us ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Ruth's Chris went way out in helping us celebrate our 53 Anniversary. Way beyond our expectations....and the service was nothing short of fantastic. In addition, the Manager made a personal effort to spend quality time speaking with use and making our evening experience an event to remember.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited for Father's Day a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I visited for Father's Day and we had a wonderful experience. Our meals were delicious -- and while my wife generally prefers other than steakhouse dining, she said she would have the filet anytime, it was that good (and my rib eye was fantastic, too, charred expertly on the outside yet juicy inside). We also had a terrific conversation with one of your hosts for the evening--I believe his name was Jeff--and his friendly, easy-going manner only added to our enjoyment of the evening. So I think you can say that, yes, we'll return to Ruth's Chris again sometime in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I have never been so disappointed in a R ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I have never been so disappointed in a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Granted I grew up in New Orleans and I am sure the franchise locations will never compare but the Uptown location comes pretty close. The salads were overdressed, the white wine was ice cold (and very late), the brussel sprouts and creme brulee overcooked and the bread was cold in the center. The server/ hostess were pleasant, my husband enjoyed his birthday steak (thank goodness), and my raspberry/ rosemary cocktail was good but overall I was NOT impressed with this location.

food4
ambience5
service5

The Cakebread wine was spectacular and a ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The Cakebread wine was spectacular and although the food was good, the steak was not as good as usual at RC. Apparently, with a group dinner/wine tasting, there is less attention to what I have been used to at RC. Normally, I think it is the best steak in town; this time it was on par with a regular steakhouse. They did not even ask us what temperature we wanted our steak. The lettuce wedge, shrimp were delicious, but the dessert was sub par.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Great for o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for our 45th Wedding Anniversary. Exc

food5
ambience5
service5

Chris the manager is outstanding!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Chris the manager is outstanding!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Good steaks and sides. Great service! - very attentive and checked on us throughout, including accommodating our boys and a vegetarian with us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner - AGAIN!

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary last Saturday night at Ruth's Chris. This location is our go-to place for any special evening - much better than ANY Ruth's Chris we have ever visited in our travels and moves around the country. We had experienced wonderful dinners here a few times previously and this time did not disappoint. Our server - Ruta - was delightful. She was clearly enthusiastic about providing us with an amazing experience. She gave smart recommendations and absolutely knew the menu - including the wines. Our chat with the manager made us feel like welcomed guests. Of course, the food was the star - everything from our spicy shrimp appetizer, our perfectly prepared, sizzling steaks, and our decadent dessert - all were fabulous. We have only lived in the Charlotte area for a year and we're hesitant about branching out to other restaurants as Ruth's Chris in South Park always gives us such a terrific experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Very Disappointed

Dined on June 4, 2016

Ruths Chris food quality has really gone down. We had a similar experience there 2 months ago but it just involved the appetizers this visit it was from the appetizer that was not made with made fresh pasta , to the spinach vegetable that was watery like had been frozen, to the upcharge supposedly Center Cut filet which it was not. A couple near our table was making similar comments so I knew it was not just our dinners. We and they are not complainers as it takes away from the moments together so we just paid and left after eating. Definitely not worth the price.. too many 1st class restaurants in Charlotte where you don't have to complain to get your moneys worth.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW, just awesome.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server Jonathan took special care to make sure every detail of our experience was spectacular, even lighting a candle in our dessert at the end of the night because he knew we were celebrating. Food was excellent and came out promptly but not too fast, and, I'm sure the most obvious, the steaks and food were just AMAZING. We look forward to booking again for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I was 20 minutes early but they still ha ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

I was 20 minutes early but they still had a table ready. The service was great and the food was wonderful. I can't wait until the next time.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner -First time visit

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been planning to visit Ruth's Chris for many years! We were celebrating our 44th Wedding Anniversary and I did indicate that on the reservation. Our expectations was high for both the food, and I was hoping they would have a small gesture acknowledging our Wedding Anniversary. It did not happen, and comparing it to our experience with The Capitol Grill and Del Frisco, this was a great disappointment! The steak, what they are famous for did disappoint as well, especially after the other two restaurants mentioned above.

food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great steak, but other items are overpriced

Dined on May 27, 2016

What I ordered: Medium-rare bistro filet with bleu cheese crust What my wife ordered: Medium 6 oz filet with peppercorns Our side: Lobster Mac n` Cheese. Appetizers: Lobster bisque, garden salad Drinks: some sort of raspberry Cosmo for her, a Bulliet rye manhattan for me Apps: Lobster bisque had a nice taste, a tad too creamy for my liking, but she enjoyed it. Had good chunks of Lobster in it. Was a tad pricey at 10 dollars a cup. Salad was good. Nothing memorable like a Paco's Taco's chopped salad, but it was good. Vinegrette was light and the salad was well dressed. I felt like it was overpriced for what you got. Dinner: I loved the simplicity of the steak. It was extremely tender, actually some of the most tender meat I have had. I took some home, and reheated it on a 200 degree toaster oven, and it was still tender after reheating. Crazy, that has never happened before on a steak I took home from a steakhouse. (Outback steakhouse, for contrast, if you try to reheat their steaks after taking them home, they will be tougher than shoe leather, even the filet ordered at medium-rare) It's definitely different though, from say a Sullivan's steakhouse, where they are known for that signature "crust" they put on the steak. Drinks: The wife really enjoyed the martini. She said they were "dangerous" (meaning she could have easily had 3 or 4 and not known the difference, haha!) My manhattan was OK, nothing memorable, and definitely had better at comparable restaurants, but it had enough alcohol in it, and it tasted like a manhattan. Worth the 16 bucks though? Probably not. Summary: Overall the steaks were great, and the apps were solid, service was what was expected for a place this caliber, but as you can tell I am very value-driven, and besides the steaks being fair-priced, I really didn't see a reason why some of their menu items were priced at what they were priced at. I get frustrated sometimes when restaurants just seemingly charge "whatever" for their items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great upscale dining in South Park!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great atmosphere only topped by the excellent service. Steaks and everything we ordered was super. Enjoyed celebrating a special occasion with the family. Would recommend to others for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service time after ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and great service time after time. The best steak ever!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12th wedding Anniversary Dinner and they ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

12th wedding Anniversary Dinner and they really took care of us. Consistent with quality and service. Highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ben was our bartender at Ruth’s. He was ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Ben was our bartender at Ruth’s. He was fabulous! He was training and mixing simultaneously. We enjoyed the ginger coconut lemon drop and the Royal Street Gin & Tonic (which is like Christmas in a glass). For happy hour snacks we enjoyed Ruth's Tenderloin Rolls and the Fried Calamari which as this amazing spicy thai chili sauce. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing time here and as always will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

RC overview

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant where the food and service are always consistently good across the franchise. I appreciated the attention that we got and the immediate service. Food was cooked to perfection and the manager ensured that we were satisfied with everything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great evening out!! My wife and I like t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great evening out!! My wife and I like to go out to a really nice place every now and then. Ruth's Chris was a really memorable experience. The staff was probably the biggest impact of the evening. Food was very good too!! I believe the manager brought out our bottle of wine, and his familiarity with the wine was awesome. My wife already knew, but his sharing the story behind the wine showed he really knew what he was talking about. Definitely be going back. :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Mother's Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife here for Mother's Day and didn't know what to expect with 3 kids, ages 6, 5, and 11 months in tow. This restaurant was amazing. Adequate kids menu (they figured out how to do a chocolate milk for the kids even though not something they would normally offer) and while I am not normally a steak person I ordered one as obviously, this is a restaurant famously known for their steaks. Not only was it good, but the leftovers were amazingly delicious even after being warmed up in the microwave the next day. Who makes a steak that can sit in the fridge 24 hours, get nuked in a microwave and still come out buttery tender? Ruth's Chris! That's who. You have to try it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best restaurant in Charlotte ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Charlotte. Michael was a great server. Very knowledgeable and helpful. The staff was kind and polite. The filet was tender and cooked to perfection. Highly recommended can't wait to come back.

food1
ambience3
service3

Steak 75% fat 25 % meat no good, server ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Steak 75% fat 25 % meat no good, server never asked how's my food even after I didn't eat

food5
ambience5
service5

Made my 29th wedding anniversary great. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Made my 29th wedding anniversary great. Power going out sporadically made it more romantic! Loyal fan!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ruta did an amazing job and provided us ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ruta did an amazing job and provided us with excellent service! We will come back and request her as our server. 👍🏼⭐️ Thanks, HS

food5
ambience4
service5

Hadn't been here in a while and we were ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Hadn't been here in a while and we were very pleasantly surprised. Thanks to Chris and Carol, we had a great evening. Food was excellent and the service was even better. Needless to say, we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I had an excellent experience at Ruth's Chris in South Park! Everyone was very nice and showed great hospitality from the moment we arrived. Our server Emily was great and had supreme knowledge of both the food and wine menus. The Tomahawk steak was delicious and mad our night extra special. Will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb! Quiet evening and a complementar ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Superb! Quiet evening and a complementary champagne for our table of 2!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Love Ruth Chris! Best steaks ever! Go as much as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I dined at the Ruth's Chris at South Park on a Saturday night. It was Prom season so we had to wait even though we had a confirmed reservation. The steak was amazing as usual and we had the BBQ Shrimp app and the tomato and moz salad. Tip you wont need dessert if you get the sweet potatoes!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a double birthday celebration las ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a double birthday celebration last night and decided to try Ruth's Chris in Southpark for the first time. This staff did not disappoint! From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcome. The host staff was lovely and seated us at our table quickly, Allen was our server for the evening and he was great! Very attentive, and knowledgable about the menu. Our steaks were cooked perfectly, and I highly recommend trying the Oscar style topping for your steak, it's amazing! We really enjoyed our experience, we will most definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

server forgot salads, wobbly table, no discount

Dined on April 16, 2016

server forgot our salads, wobbly table, no discount for their mistake. just took the salads off e bill. not what I would expect from a high end steak house. the did give my wife and I a small glass of Champaign for our anniversary.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always

Dined on April 12, 2016

The service was great from the moment you walk in the door. The food is always great.Everyone is always nice . I try to go at less every two months and always special occasion. It my favorite restaurant .Everywhere I go I always is there a ruth Chris there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Great for ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for a special occasion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Promotion Celebration

Dined on April 9, 2016

My family and I took my husband to Ruth's Chris-Southpark to celebrate his recent promotion at work. He had a wonderful time. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking to go out for that special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service, food, and drink recommendat ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The service, food, and drink recommendations were great.

food5
ambience5
service5

From seating to desert the experience wa ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

From seating to desert the experience was exceptional. Simply five star!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.