About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Rose & Filet Summer Promotion

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Fritz Estates Underground Winery Dinner

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

5-course Burly Wine Dinner

Fridays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Rose & Filet Summer Promotion

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

6 oz. Filet topped with 3 shrimp, paired with a glass of Jean-Luc Colombo, Rose’, “Cape Bleue”, Provence, France for $30++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available Sunday through Friday in the Bar only. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Up to 50% off SELECT wines. Offer is available in the bar, patio or dining room. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Fritz Estates Underground Winery Dinner

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

5-Course Wine Dinner - $89.00 Hosted by Fritz Estates Winemaker, Andrew Raifaisen. Excludes Tax and Tip. $89 per person. Price does not include tax or gratuity Reservations required. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

5-course Burly Wine Dinner

Fridays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Five Course Burly Dinner with Winemaker Hank McCrorie. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations are required. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Nov 4, 2016 on Fridays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
9 More
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love coming here! We always sit in t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love coming here! We always sit in the bar area and the staff always recommends a killer bottle of wine to go with our amazing steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruths Chris is normally my go to and I'v ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ruths Chris is normally my go to and I've been to this location several times, but the food this time around was disappointing. To start the wedge salad I had was devoid of flavor. Even slathered in blue cheese there was nothing going on. The heart of ribeye that was listed as "chef recommends" was a very disappointing cut of meat. It tried to be the best of both worlds...kind of like a filet but with the added ribeye flavor. This one failed miserably. It lacked the flavor of a ribeye and added the toughness of a NY strip. I was very disappointed with myself for not asking what this steak was before I ordered it. It was prepared to the right temperature but again lacked any real flavor. The asparagus was also extremely disappointing. Tiny, flimsy pieces that really were not worthy of a high end steakhouse. That said they had a great local double IPA on tap that I enjoyed and the service was top notch. The problem was I was let down with every food item I ordered this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was well prepared and the waite ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was well prepared and the waiter was well versed with the menu. The only complaint was with a mediocre dessert at best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We consider Ruth Chris one of Americas g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We consider Ruth Chris one of Americas great steakhouses. We have consistently had outstanding quality steaks at every Ruth Chris restaurant we have visited including New York City, Birmingham, AL, Charlotte, NC, Greenville, SC, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal at Ruth Chris last w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great meal at Ruth Chris last weekend. Here are my likes and dislikes:

LIKES

- Food and drinks are absolutely incredible.

-Service is top of the line

-Nice location, didn't need to valet (although they have valet)

DISLIKES

-Our table was right on top of another table and there were many open tables they could have put us at that would have been more comfortable. Last time I used Open Table we had the same experience at a different restaurant.......just bad luck? We were sat at the worst table in the restaurant. :(

-Prices. We are used to paying a lot of money, but it seems Ruth Chris keeps pushing the prices up. We could have eaten at an equivalent restaurant for 20% less. It was borderline rude....pricing is just outrageous. They are making the restaurant too exclusive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

As usual, had a great meal - and the se ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As usual, had a great meal - and the services was fantastic, could not have asked for more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for awesome services and great fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Thanks for awesome services and great food. All myfriends enjoyed restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're not sitting in the bar with Si ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

If you're not sitting in the bar with Simone and Big Ben, you're cheating yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks of course but as usual the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great steaks of course but as usual the sides, chiplotle potatoes and mushrooms left something to be desired.

Ahi tuna appetizer was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter kept calling us the Bradleys, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The waiter kept calling us the Bradleys, but we were fine with it. The food didn't seem to be as good this time. My steak and lobster both were overcooked. Usually they are not. We had a great bottle of Moscato, and the salads were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was exceptional from the mome ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was exceptional from the moment we stepped out of the car. Valet was quick and courteous, we were met my the hostess at the door and seated upon arrival. Our server Timothy showed great southern hospitality and gave us a night to remember with his fantastic service and knowledge in both food and wine .. We couldn't have asked for better! Both managers, Chris and Chris, were very friendly and hospitable and made us feel very welcome and at home. I don't know how I will ever justify going anywhere else! We stopped for a drink at the bar on our way out and Ben was the icing on the cake. He gave great suggestions for after dinner drinks and I couldn't have made a better decision! Thanks to all for a fantastic night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were excellent. The lobster ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The steaks were excellent. The lobster macaroni and cheese was not hot enough and runny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never a disappointment! Thank you again ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Never a disappointment! Thank you again for a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Restaurant Week on the last ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week on the last day. There was a mistake made with the reservations, the young ladies at the front were very nasty, rude and not accommodating. The manager Chris came and worked things out, which we appreciated very much. The Stuffed Chicken Breast and all the steaks were very good (even without the familiar sizzle when the food is set in front of you.) The sides were cold (they were corrected), they ran out of bread (hard cold rolls). Sad was the Brussel sprouts I waited 2 months for were NOT how I remembered them. Simone our waitress was AMAZING and her care overshadowed everything that was not pleasant. Chris she needs a special gift, without her consumers would have been lost Sunday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The food (stuffed chicken & salmon) was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food (stuffed chicken & salmon) was excellent but our garlic potatos came out barely warm. Our server Emily was amazing, so attentive and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They had the absolute best service of an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

They had the absolute best service of any restaurant we have dined in for quite some time. Their food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ruth Chris is always a hit. My favorite ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ruth Chris is always a hit. My favorite steak house and restaurant for a special occasion. The service and food are always outstanding. Steaks are cooked to perfection and your food stays hot through the entire meal. A great wine selection too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted by the staff when we ar ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were greeted by the staff when we arrived and while walking to/from our table. We dined early, with a reservation, but they took us to a table next to staff's prep/pick-up area. They were kind to put us at a different table upon our request. Our Server, Alan did an outstanding job. We will request him when we make a reservation again.

Our salads were fresh and the homemade dressing was good. I would have preferred my blue cheese dressing with chunks of cheese instead of smooth. Both of our filet's were perfectly prepared. My husband's additional shrimp were very good. The mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms were very good. The bread was fresh. We brought our own wine and Alan offered to decant it for us. We each had the small cheese cake and bread pudding. I was not found of the bread pudding, and our server, Alan was quick to rectify that.

I would have given an outstanding rating if it had not been for the few things I mentioned. There may be many people who would differ from my opinion of the dressing and bread pudding; thus, I would highly recommend Ruth Chris' Steak House to anyone reading this.

We look forward to out next visit, and thank everyone at Ruth Chris' Steak House for an outstanding evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Our table w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our table was ready and everyone was courteous and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was wonderful!!!! All of the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was wonderful!!!! All of the servers, the food, everything! Wonderful choice for Restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I realize we went during restaurant week ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I realize we went during restaurant week and they were trying to get as many people in and out as possible, but we had barely been seated at our table and the waiter was right on us to order drinks . We were celebrating my friend's birthday and catching up and were constantly being interrupted by the wait staff. Even though it was restaurant week it would have been nice to be given the time to eat out meal leisurely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I have been to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I have been to Ruth Chris several times.We normally go to the uptown location.However, opted for Southpark. Food has always been excellent. My steak was cook perfect. The service was good but Uptown service is excellent in comparison. Overall , everything was good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

So I was at this same location on Saturd ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

So I was at this same location on Saturday and tonight the service and food was totally night and day. Saturday, I was with my best friend and her family (first time there), the waiter didn't engage with us as all; he did with other tables around us but not us. Tonight, I was with my sister and her family, the service was exceptional and it was an extremely special treat. I hope I can talk my friend and her family into coming back because I know they would enjoy the usual extraordinary service that happens at Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food quality never disappoints. From th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food quality never disappoints. From the hostesses to the wait staff, all are very professional and customer friendly. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 25th Anniversary and we didn' ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was our 25th Anniversary and we didn't realize it was Charlotte restaurant week. It was very loud and not as romantic as it usually is. But don't get me wrong the food was amazing, service was excellent and the manager was AWESOME. We will definitely be back but not during a busy event. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a very enjoyable meal!!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food. Enjoyed the evening. Love d ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food. Enjoyed the evening. Love d the food. The filet was cooked perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 7 year wedding anniversary! It was w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our 7 year wedding anniversary! It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took advantage of restaurant week so rea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Took advantage of restaurant week so reasonable priced for the meal. The food was great and the service was excellent this particular evening as well. Food was prepared exactly as requested and arrived well before expected. Based on this experience will definitely return for both personal visits and also business if the situation arises...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, as always, was excellent. They ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent. They do not disappoint! Unfortunately, the service this visit was sub par. We were not offered anything to drink besides water, we had to ask multiple times for dinner bread, and our server overall was a bit inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I always enjoyed my experience at Ruth's ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I always enjoyed my experience at Ruth's Chris in the past. However, I was pretty disappointed with the food and service this time at this location.

Services: It took the waiter a long time to come to our table throughout the dinner. He did not come to our table to check how the food was prepared. We had to ask the hostess to get our waiter. After the filet was redone, he didn't come to check with us either.

Food: We asked for the filet to be prepared medium. It came as rare.

There are a few things that are good. The vodka was tasty. The hostesses were good. The girl who helped the waiter was really good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great restaurant week pick! The food was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great restaurant week pick! The food was great and the steaks were sizzlin' as always! Our server Alan was fabulous; always a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. The foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. The food and service were, as always, excellent. Our server, Ryan was top notch and a pleasure to have wait on us. The pace of the meal was just right and gave our group a chance to sit and enjoy and not worry about a thing. We always look forward to our visits here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great as always. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service was great as always. I wish they would offer corn again on the restaurant week selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great meal at Ruth's Chris. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great meal at Ruth's Chris. Went during Restaurant Week and it was slightly frenetic. Server appeared slightly disinterested when she learned we were not interested in upgrades, wine, etc. Otherwise another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love this restaurant - We were seated ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love this restaurant -

We were seated in a private corner of the bar area.

Our waiter was excellent - the food fabululous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week in Charlotte. M ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went for restaurant week in Charlotte. Menu was very good, as well as the quality. Definitely got bang for buck, and the best part is no one from waiter to cook skimped on service!! Only drawback..if you have leftovers, bag yourself or check the bag. Waiter left out or side, and really didn't bag to my discretion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My favorite place for steak! It isseason ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My favorite place for steak! It isseasoned well. My petite filet was perfect! My mom stated her Filet was a bit tough. I told next time mention it. Overall thing was good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.