About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Grey Goose Cocktail Dinner

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Grey Goose Cocktail Dinner

Thursday Aug 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
11 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

special occasion (71)
romantic (46)
notable wine list (38)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
good for groups (28)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, as always, was excellent. They ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food, as always, was excellent. They do not disappoint! Unfortunately, the service this visit was sub par. We were not offered anything to drink besides water, we had to ask multiple times for dinner bread, and our server overall was a bit inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great restaurant week pick! The food was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant week pick! The food was great and the steaks were sizzlin' as always! Our server Alan was fabulous; always a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. The foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. The food and service were, as always, excellent. Our server, Ryan was top notch and a pleasure to have wait on us. The pace of the meal was just right and gave our group a chance to sit and enjoy and not worry about a thing. We always look forward to our visits here.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great as always. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great as always. I wish they would offer corn again on the restaurant week selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great meal at Ruth's Chris. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal at Ruth's Chris. Went during Restaurant Week and it was slightly frenetic. Server appeared slightly disinterested when she learned we were not interested in upgrades, wine, etc. Otherwise another great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love this restaurant - We were seated ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love this restaurant -

We were seated in a private corner of the bar area.

Our waiter was excellent - the food fabululous!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week in Charlotte. M ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for restaurant week in Charlotte. Menu was very good, as well as the quality. Definitely got bang for buck, and the best part is no one from waiter to cook skimped on service!! Only drawback..if you have leftovers, bag yourself or check the bag. Waiter left out or side, and really didn't bag to my discretion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall great experience.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food is always great but the last tw ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

the food is always great but the last two times that we've been there, service have been horrible.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A great place to find a good meal and re ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great place to find a good meal and relax after a long week at work. A very classy place to take a loved one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ryan was great, food was as well. Great ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Ryan was great, food was as well. Great anniversary date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ok service...food was marginal..nice bar ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Ok service...food was marginal..nice bar with good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

It was a very enjoyable evening at Ruth ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was a very enjoyable evening at Ruth Chris. Upon arrival the valet service was excellent, courteous, polite and welcoming. We spent approx. 45 min. at the Bar where the service and cocktail's were outstanding. We were led to a very nice table in the main dinning area where we finished our cocktail's and had a nice glass of wine. My wife and I both ordered from the special menu for Saturday she a filet and myself a Rib Eye. Both we cooked to perfection however the quality of the meat let a little to be desired and unfortunately we were both a little dissatisfied. In the past we have always had great stakes not sure what happened this time. The price of the stakes was equal if not more than what was shown on the regular menu so it was not like we were ordering something less expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great date on the patio.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great date on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and ambiance was perfect! ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food, service and ambiance was perfect! They ensured our dining experience was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience here at So ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always a wonderful experience here at SouthPark. Brought a date with me and decided to sit at the bar instead of the dining room. Travis and Ben who were the 2 bartenders are just awsome. Fully knowledgable with food and wine and spirits most of all. Great personalities to boot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner !!! Thank you Chris the ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner !!!

Thank you Chris the GM and our server Jamaar for making our dinner special.

Delicious food and perfect service. We love Ruth's Chris and will be back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not as good as several other high q ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food not as good as several other high quality steak houses in the Charlotte area for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Overall great night! The Gm Chris came o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall great night! The Gm Chris came out and was super friendly. He even brought out the chef who helped sell me on the cowboy, and I was not disappointed! I look forward to returning again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris went way out in helping us ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris went way out in helping us celebrate our 53 Anniversary. Way beyond our expectations....and the service was nothing short of fantastic. In addition, the Manager made a personal effort to spend quality time speaking with use and making our evening experience an event to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited for Father's Day a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I visited for Father's Day and we had a wonderful experience. Our meals were delicious -- and while my wife generally prefers other than steakhouse dining, she said she would have the filet anytime, it was that good (and my rib eye was fantastic, too, charred expertly on the outside yet juicy inside). We also had a terrific conversation with one of your hosts for the evening--I believe his name was Jeff--and his friendly, easy-going manner only added to our enjoyment of the evening. So I think you can say that, yes, we'll return to Ruth's Chris again sometime in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been so disappointed in a R ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I have never been so disappointed in a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Granted I grew up in New Orleans and I am sure the franchise locations will never compare but the Uptown location comes pretty close. The salads were overdressed, the white wine was ice cold (and very late), the brussel sprouts and creme brulee overcooked and the bread was cold in the center. The server/ hostess were pleasant, my husband enjoyed his birthday steak (thank goodness), and my raspberry/ rosemary cocktail was good but overall I was NOT impressed with this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The Cakebread wine was spectacular and a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Cakebread wine was spectacular and although the food was good, the steak was not as good as usual at RC. Apparently, with a group dinner/wine tasting, there is less attention to what I have been used to at RC. Normally, I think it is the best steak in town; this time it was on par with a regular steakhouse. They did not even ask us what temperature we wanted our steak. The lettuce wedge, shrimp were delicious, but the dessert was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Great for o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for our 45th Wedding Anniversary. Exc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chris the manager is outstanding!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Chris the manager is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Good steaks and sides. Great service! - very attentive and checked on us throughout, including accommodating our boys and a vegetarian with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great as always.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dinner - AGAIN!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary last Saturday night at Ruth's Chris. This location is our go-to place for any special evening - much better than ANY Ruth's Chris we have ever visited in our travels and moves around the country. We had experienced wonderful dinners here a few times previously and this time did not disappoint. Our server - Ruta - was delightful. She was clearly enthusiastic about providing us with an amazing experience. She gave smart recommendations and absolutely knew the menu - including the wines. Our chat with the manager made us feel like welcomed guests. Of course, the food was the star - everything from our spicy shrimp appetizer, our perfectly prepared, sizzling steaks, and our decadent dessert - all were fabulous. We have only lived in the Charlotte area for a year and we're hesitant about branching out to other restaurants as Ruth's Chris in South Park always gives us such a terrific experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Disappointed

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Ruths Chris food quality has really gone down. We had a similar experience there 2 months ago but it just involved the appetizers this visit it was from the appetizer that was not made with made fresh pasta , to the spinach vegetable that was watery like had been frozen, to the upcharge supposedly Center Cut filet which it was not. A couple near our table was making similar comments so I knew it was not just our dinners. We and they are not complainers as it takes away from the moments together so we just paid and left after eating. Definitely not worth the price.. too many 1st class restaurants in Charlotte where you don't have to complain to get your moneys worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

WOW, just awesome.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server Jonathan took special care to make sure every detail of our experience was spectacular, even lighting a candle in our dessert at the end of the night because he knew we were celebrating. Food was excellent and came out promptly but not too fast, and, I'm sure the most obvious, the steaks and food were just AMAZING. We look forward to booking again for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was 20 minutes early but they still ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I was 20 minutes early but they still had a table ready. The service was great and the food was wonderful. I can't wait until the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Dinner -First time visit

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been planning to visit Ruth's Chris for many years! We were celebrating our 44th Wedding Anniversary and I did indicate that on the reservation. Our expectations was high for both the food, and I was hoping they would have a small gesture acknowledging our Wedding Anniversary. It did not happen, and comparing it to our experience with The Capitol Grill and Del Frisco, this was a great disappointment! The steak, what they are famous for did disappoint as well, especially after the other two restaurants mentioned above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great steak, but other items are overpriced

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

What I ordered: Medium-rare bistro filet with bleu cheese crust

What my wife ordered: Medium 6 oz filet with peppercorns

Our side: Lobster Mac n` Cheese.

Appetizers: Lobster bisque, garden salad

Drinks: some sort of raspberry Cosmo for her, a Bulliet rye manhattan for me

Apps:

Lobster bisque had a nice taste, a tad too creamy for my liking, but she enjoyed it. Had good chunks of Lobster in it. Was a tad pricey at 10 dollars a cup.

Salad was good. Nothing memorable like a Paco's Taco's chopped salad, but it was good. Vinegrette was light and the salad was well dressed. I felt like it was overpriced for what you got.

Dinner:

I loved the simplicity of the steak. It was extremely tender, actually some of the most tender meat I have had. I took some home, and reheated it on a 200 degree toaster oven, and it was still tender after reheating. Crazy, that has never happened before on a steak I took home from a steakhouse. (Outback steakhouse, for contrast, if you try to reheat their steaks after taking them home, they will be tougher than shoe leather, even the filet ordered at medium-rare)

It's definitely different though, from say a Sullivan's steakhouse, where they are known for that signature "crust" they put on the steak.

Drinks: The wife really enjoyed the martini. She said they were "dangerous" (meaning she could have easily had 3 or 4 and not known the difference, haha!) My manhattan was OK, nothing memorable, and definitely had better at comparable restaurants, but it had enough alcohol in it, and it tasted like a manhattan. Worth the 16 bucks though? Probably not.

Summary:

Overall the steaks were great, and the apps were solid, service was what was expected for a place this caliber, but as you can tell I am very value-driven, and besides the steaks being fair-priced, I really didn't see a reason why some of their menu items were priced at what they were priced at. I get frustrated sometimes when restaurants just seemingly charge "whatever" for their items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great upscale dining in South Park!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great atmosphere only topped by the excellent service. Steaks and everything we ordered was super. Enjoyed celebrating a special occasion with the family. Would recommend to others for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service time after ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and great service time after time. The best steak ever!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12th wedding Anniversary Dinner and they ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

12th wedding Anniversary Dinner and they really took care of us. Consistent with quality and service. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ben was our bartender at Ruth’s. He was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Ben was our bartender at Ruth’s. He was fabulous! He was training and mixing simultaneously. We enjoyed the ginger coconut lemon drop and the Royal Street Gin & Tonic (which is like Christmas in a glass). For happy hour snacks we enjoyed Ruth's Tenderloin Rolls and the Fried Calamari which as this amazing spicy thai chili sauce. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing time here and as always will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

RC overview

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant where the food and service are always consistently good across the franchise. I appreciated the attention that we got and the immediate service. Food was cooked to perfection and the manager ensured that we were satisfied with everything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening out!! My wife and I like t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great evening out!! My wife and I like to go out to a really nice place every now and then. Ruth's Chris was a really memorable experience. The staff was probably the biggest impact of the evening. Food was very good too!! I believe the manager brought out our bottle of wine, and his familiarity with the wine was awesome. My wife already knew, but his sharing the story behind the wine showed he really knew what he was talking about. Definitely be going back. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Happy Mother's Day!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife here for Mother's Day and didn't know what to expect with 3 kids, ages 6, 5, and 11 months in tow. This restaurant was amazing. Adequate kids menu (they figured out how to do a chocolate milk for the kids even though not something they would normally offer) and while I am not normally a steak person I ordered one as obviously, this is a restaurant famously known for their steaks. Not only was it good, but the leftovers were amazingly delicious even after being warmed up in the microwave the next day. Who makes a steak that can sit in the fridge 24 hours, get nuked in a microwave and still come out buttery tender? Ruth's Chris! That's who. You have to try it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.