Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Free Corkage

Special valid Aug 7, 2017 - Dec 7, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Free Corkage

Special valid Aug 7, 2017 - Dec 7, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. Special valid Aug 7, 2017 - Dec 7, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Birthdays (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Romantic (49)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (29)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 21 hours ago

AMY our server was tremendous! Great food and a fun birthday celebration for both me and my friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was good except the crab rice. Very romantic, service was great, and location was comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth's Chris is always exceptional. Food, service, and ambiance are as good as it gets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was great! Service was not. We still would go back but they were clearly understaffed. Waiter got our order wrong but it was handled easily, then it took 30 min to get our "to-go" dessert & the check. Just left a bad taste at the end.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

What a wonderful experience!! We were dining with our grown son with autism and the staff could not have been more lovely and accommodating! They seated us at a quiet table and were wonderful in every way! Jackie, Rebecca and Barbara -- all just gems!!! Our dinner and wine were exceptional as well!! We'll look forward to returning to this location as soon as possible!! A perfect dinner for all of us!! Thanks to a phenomenal staff who went above and beyond!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience with my bff. Amy provided great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food, great server! Always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Made reservations two weeks in advance for my brothers 49th birthday. Our third visit to this location. Table for 4 was the very first table right off the entrance and everyone coming and going has to go past you. Hard to believe that was the best table available two weeks in advance. My wife ordered bottled sparking water, it never came. At least it was not on the bill. My wife's Caesar salad was pathetic. Basically it was made from all the white core we usually throw in the trash at home. Only three of us wanted red wine and one of those only wanted a taste. Told our server this but that didn't stop her from pouring a huge second glass then asking me if I wanted another bottle as I told her that was wasted. The server brought me a free glass of wine to compensate. We ordered from the classic menu but everything was an up charge, salads, meal items, deserts.
The food was good but not worth the $430 I spent for the basic menu. We have had far better service and food for a lot less elsewhere. We are tired of being ripped off and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding service as always. Their "special" 3 course meal seems like an extension of Restaurant Week and is a very good value. Nice place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife and I have dined here multiple times. We will probably chose other restaurants based on our last couple of visits. Similar to the last visit, this time both of our steaks were the wrong temperature (her's was over cooked, mine was mostly under done), but fortunately by swapping portions of each we were able to salvage enough to not waste the meat as we like different temps, or wait even longer as our youngish waiter had a tendency to disappear for lengthy stretches of time (including over 20 minutes after our plates were taken before we were offered dessert). The manager who came to apologize for the steaks promised to check back later in the meal but didn't until after plates had been cleared. At the table next to us one of their steaks had to be redone as it was way under cooked. We also watched in wonder when a waitress was trying to show off her cocktail mixing skills for a nearby table and dropped the drink shaker on the floor, picked it up, proceeded to resume shaking it again and then poured the drink any way for the customer - who wisely refused the drink and asked for another.

When a steak house forgets how to correctly cook steaks and service markedly off, there are just better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

It was our anniversary and the staff repeatedly wished us a Happy Anniversary! The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I suppose you cannot go home, again. In April, my wife and I had such a great experience at this Ruth's Chris that we had planned for months to return for my August birthday dinner. Alas, so disappointed and so much money. Evidently, the management and team has changed over since our last visit and not for the better.

Poor service, confused and indifferent teamwork, a disaster for a supposedly high-end steakhouse. We will not return here. Food was okay, not great. Bad birthday present. I wish I had just burned $400 in the parking lot and grabbed some fish tacos, elsewhere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to this Ruth Chris steakhouse for 14 years that I can remember and the food and service is as good if not better than when we first came! The waiter we had Michael Miles I recognized from many years past, super good guy and professional made our night better!! Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was delicious as usual although originally overcooked. It was redone. Service by our server was poor for any level of restaurant but especially for a higher end dining place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Over cooked my steak, gave us desert for the error and the desert was mushy and definitely warmed up in a microwave. First time and probably the last, think will stick with Del friscos moving forward. Not reduction in the bill even after the manager was made aware only offered to make me a new steak 20 minutes into the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Another excellent meal at Ruth's Chris. Celebrated my birthday and I, my son an his girlfriend enjoyed our steaks and my wife loved her salmon. Excellent salads and bread, and appreciated the birthday treats. Great service from everyone--I particularly liked the young man serving bread and topping off water--he was very conversational and funny! All in all a fun birthday, and I appreciate Ruth's Chris as always!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding!!! Never had a bad experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner with friends. Our waitress, Amy, was awesome!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was amazing, service was fantastic, and management as always exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had some problems with 2 of our steaks being over cooked but Ruth Chris is NOT about to let a customer go away unhappy. They quickly agreed with our assessment, fixed it ASAP, and a free round of drinks and free deserts. That action made what could have been unhappy customers into happy customers.

Love RC...will be back again as soon as I can afford it.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Kenneth was our server. He was excellent in every way. Informative and friendly. Great evening. Food was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Ruth's Chris is my son's favorite restaurant so for a send off to college we had dinner there on Tuesday night. I was disappointed in the food but I must say the wine list was top notch. The Southpark location is a franchise so the Summer tasting menu was not available that was advertised on the RC website but that was ok. What was disappointing was my NY Strip. It was not trimmed very well and for $50 plus the $15 for Oscar style it should have been perfect. It had a vein of very tough tendon running from one end up almost to the middle of the steak. The other major disappointment was the lobster mac and cheese. That was quite bad actually and for $22 you would expect more. They used elbows with some type of cheese melted on top and then tossed very small chunked lobster on top. It was not good at all. My wife's tenderloin was also not trimmed very well but only the very end had an issue. My daughters two filet pieces were done properly as was my son's steak. What was unforgivable was our waiter disappeared about 2/3's through dinner knowing that my wife was out of water and that we want one more glass of Cabernet. He popped out of the back chewing so we knew he was taking a break in the kitchen so he could eat. It was about 7:30 pm. At one point he literally hit me in the back of the head with his elbow while taking an order from the table behind us. He apologized in passing but at least he said something. The calamari was good as was the stuffed mushrooms. The best side was the potatoes au gratin. That was well done. Overall, it was very overpriced ($370 w/ tip for the entire dinner with only one glass of wine; we brought a bottle of our favorite).

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Yummy & always the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and service was outstanding although the price is high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great management staff. Each visit is great. Professional, great quality, everything is very well done.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was delicious as always although we had to send our very rare steaks back to be cooked to the medium temp we ordered... service wasn't on par nor sure if we had a new server or not! Took several attempts to get our check right

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was excellent, food was very good. Not amazing but certainly not bad in any way. The dining room is very open and not very intimate. It is also quite loud.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We loved everything about our experience tonight, especially our server Amy! You just can't beat a steak on a 500 degree plate! We love our steak continuously cooking while on our table. Amy recommended a martini that wasn't on the menu and I loved it! The rest of the staff was all great too. We really appreciate being checked on by the manager. RC will probably become our regular steak place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Not a great steak and the worst cold mess of fries ever. Will not go to
This location again

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went here with two "first time" Ruth's Chris Steak House diners. Ken, our server, was excellent and very accommodating - especially with our guests that got to experience fine dining and excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

All patrons were in the same room, which was packed. Hurried service made the experience less than memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The only problem that I had with the meal was that some of the iceberg lettuce was brown around around the edges in the Steakhouse Salad. For the price I don't think I should get brown lettuce ever. Steak was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Steaks are usually terrific and lightly salted and peppered. Ordered 2 medium rare. Both arrived medium to medium well and over peppered. Overcooking was acceptable to us but we brought the overseasoning to our waiter's attention. He acknowledged the visible abundance of pepper but countered that variances occur but it appeared to be within an acceptable range visually. What about not within an acceptable range of taste? Wish I had thought to take a picture if it. We never requested a price adjustment nor received one. This place has spoiled us but we won't be back for awhile. Disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I can always count on a wonderful meal at Ruth's Chris. The calamari was amazing and the filet is so good. The sweet potato casserole is a must; it's almost good enough to be dessert. The valet was so nice and personable. Excellent service all around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent, professional service. Attentive but not hovering around you. The food was awesome, fresh and flavorful. The ultimate comfort food, in that you look forward to each bite. Very upscale restaurant where you can relax and enjoy a perfect evening. First time visitor but I will return when searching for that special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Superb cuisine & great service! I would return to either this location or the Uptown restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Carol was amazing. Food was delicious! Will be returning there as soon as possible. Thank you for everything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I was trying to find a place were we could set back and relax and enjoy one another
company without a lot of noise. We enjoyed the food and the relaxing atmosphere thanks again for the service that was great and the friendliness well done.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.