About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Queen's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

King's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Queen's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Queen's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Upgrade to King's Feast with premium entree selections for $45. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate with your Valentine!

King's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

King's Feast Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. For Charlotte Restaurant Week Only Jan 20-29. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Family Style (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Private Room (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are regulars at Ruth's Chris. I alway ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We are regulars at Ruth's Chris. I always enjoy the food, service and ambience. That's why we keep returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always on point; Enthusiastic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Service is always on point; Enthusiastic very knowledgeable bartender, Ben, is our favorite. And the manager, Carol, was polite and sincere. Not to mention the fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a romantic experience, fantastic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a romantic experience, fantastic food & great service. Thank You!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated 40 minutes after our rese ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated 40 minutes after our reservation. Service was ok but we could tell they were trying to cram in as many people as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Aunts birthday

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Aunts birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Always reliable for the three ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice. Always reliable for the three S's ... steak, service, and sides. As Arnold says, "I'll be back"

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been to Ruth Chris Southpark severa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Have been to Ruth Chris Southpark several times. Very disappointed this time. Quality of my steak was marginal (for the price). 2 people in my group had to send their steaks back to be re-cooked and one of the steaks that came back the second time still did not meet expectations. So, my guest passed on the entree.

Service was great. Calamari was great. The steaks were very disappointing given the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding dinner at Ruths' Chris (Char ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Outstanding dinner at Ruths' Chris (Charlotte South Park). Everything you expect at Ruths' Chris from a food standpoint (exceptional), and the service was perfect. Rachael (server) was attentive without being intrusive, and made our daughter's birthday dinner unforgettable.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately we were given gift certifi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Unfortunately we were given gift certificates which we had to use. This is not Del Frisco's not even close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday We had heard great things but ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Birthday

We had heard great things but were disappointed with the service. Food was delicious. Probably won't go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

New Years' Eve dinner. The salmon and cr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years' Eve dinner. The salmon and crab cakes were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Requested a NY Steak medium well, receiv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Requested a NY Steak medium well, receive rare, rare steak. Was taken back to reheat. When I received the reheated steak, my wife's steak was getting cold during the waiting period for my reheated steak. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Had to wait 30 minutes past reservation ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had to wait 30 minutes past reservation time but everything else was perfect. Awesome friendly staff. The food was cooked perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good meal given it was NYE

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good meal given it was NYE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding. But the food wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was outstanding. But the food was okay at best. Corn was cold and mash potatoes were bland. I recommend Del Frisco's across the street!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The meal was excellent as was the overal ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The meal was excellent as was the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seems to have slipped a bit since our la ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Seems to have slipped a bit since our last few visits. New York strip was tough, although well done, but the filets were great as usual. Server disappeared for 30-40 minutes, but other staff were good. Other tables that arrived after us were served before us, no explanation ever provided. Our meal was simple, four steaks and two sides. We'll try it again but would expect a higher level of service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Cody was our server and made the experie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cody was our server and made the experience even better! Incredible food and even better service. Can't wait for our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good here. Great steaks, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is always good here. Great steaks, shrimp, and vegi's. Desserts were a treat as well. Server, John, was very attentive. $$$$

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I completed a reservation through Open T ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I completed a reservation through Open Table and when I arrived the hostess advised that there was not a reservation under my name. I advised that I completed it through Open Table and that I had a confirmation number. She stated that they do not used confirmation numbers. Interesting... So what is the point of taking the time to request a reservation. She also advised that they have been experiencing trouble with open table only after I was able to show an email regarding my reservation that included the confirmation number. Once I went into my purse and started to show my reservation she just decided to honor my reservation without confirming. While that happened two additional people came in, one she did not request anything from and another she sent out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We dine annually right before Christmas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We dine annually right before Christmas with our family and find it to be a valued tradition for us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Michael is hands down the best waiter we ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Michael is hands down the best waiter we have ever had at any fine dining restaurant. We always request him and he always makes our dining experience fabulous!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar atmosphere was great. We wished ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The bar atmosphere was great. We wished we had stayed there to eat. Our dining experience was very slow. No one checked on us after they placed our meals. We were finished before anyone came back. The steak was luke warm but served on a sizzling plate. Clearly it had been sitting out a while. Wasn't impressed and def not worth the $. This was our second attempt and it will be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We always have great food at Ruth's Chri ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We always have great food at Ruth's Chris. However, the Southpark Ruth's Chris location is always spot on and gives outstanding service each and every time we visit! Never disappointed!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good and the wait st ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was very good and the wait staff was very attentive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wifey and I love the stuffed chicken it' ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wifey and I love the stuffed chicken it's a hidden gem at a steakhouse! P.S. get the lobster Mac you won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always! Big fan of the Christ ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect as always! Big fan of the Christmas decor they put around the restaurant. Love the wicked weed beer they added to the list too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service...as always...from bar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic service...as always...from bartenders Ben and Travis. Management team is also a delight. The filet never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Everything we ordered was go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent. Everything we ordered was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Busy night with large crowd. Good food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Busy night with large crowd. Good food and service. Tip of 15% = good service and 20% = great service. Energetic crowd adjacent to our table made conversation very difficult. Reflection of comfortable atmosphere. Next visit will request quieter location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

From the valet service to the wine selec ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 12, 2016

From the valet service to the wine selection to the lobster and steak to the tableside service our entire experience was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual! I ordered a dish that wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great as usual! I ordered a dish that was not on the menu at this location but is served at their SC and GA locations. The chef obliged and it was wonderful! You can never go wrong with Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, excellent food and service.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent, excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I enjoyed ourselves while ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed ourselves while at Ruth's Chris, our drinks were really worth the high price (LOL), the food was awesome, the atmosphere was cozy. It really set the moment for the Will Downing concert we were headed to. The waitress was really helpful with his recommendations. Will definitely recommend this upscale restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. We had to w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service was outstanding. We had to wait about 40 minutes for a table after we arrived on time for our reservation. This wasn't a big deal, understandable because it was crowded because of the holiday season. The management gave us a comp appetizer. Very nice. The food and service were outstanding. The only thing was that the crab cakes were kind of wet/goopy. I've had better crab cakes from the grocery store.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my wife and I first time eating ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was my wife and I first time eating there and all I can say the food, service and the ambience was excellent!!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planned a nice date night with my husban ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Planned a nice date night with my husband. The restaurant was very empty, which killed the ambiance, but it is still a nice room. This was not our first visit, but everything was off. We each ordered a ribeye steak (different sizes). They were tender but overly salty. We also ordered the brussel sprouts. I specifically asked before ordering if they were crispy and was told yes. They were not . They brought us a second batch which were better, but still not great. The waiter was kind enough to bring us complimentary mashed potatoes, which were good and they gave us a free dessert to go--nice touch and much appreciated. This restaurant is very expensive and should have been much better for the price.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We just moved here from CT and it was my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We just moved here from CT and it was my boyfriend's birthday. It was an amazing experience. Everyone was very personable. The food was incredible and our server Jamaar gave us first class service. We will definitely return. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. If anything isn ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We love this restaurant. If anything isn't to your liking, they will immediately fix it.

Service is always spectacular. Took out of town friends here to celebrate their anniversary and had a great dinner and a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Great service for our first t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good food. Great service for our first time. Price was a bit steep though. Overall, very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.