About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park

6000 Fairview Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across from SouthPark Mall

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 556-1115

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Catering:
Please call for details. 704.556.1115

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary, and located at our entrance. Also offered is a private lot and a covered parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Chase Gomez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Riedel "Why Glassware Matters" Seminar

Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Burly Wine Dinner Hosted by Hank McCrorie

Friday Mar 24, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Tastemaker's Dinner Series - Prisoner Wine Dinner

Thursday Feb 23, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Tastemaker's Dinner Series - Daou Vineyards Dinner

Thursday Mar 30, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Prom/Graduation 3 Course Prix Fixe Dinner

Special valid Mar 3, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Riedel "Why Glassware Matters" Seminar

Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Experience a unique wine tasting & glassware seminar hosted by Danny Sanford of Fine Wine Trading featuring 5 different wines served in Riedel glassware. Each guests will receive 4 souvenir Riedel glasses valued at $100. $55 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Burly Wine Dinner Hosted by Hank McCrorie

Friday Mar 24, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a 5-course dinner designed by Executive Chef, Chase Gomez, paired with the perfect Burly wines chosen by winemaker, Hank McCrorie. $115 per guest. Reservations required. Excludes Tax and Tip. Call 704-556-1115 for reservations. Special valid on Friday Mar 24, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Tastemaker's Dinner Series - Prisoner Wine Dinner

Thursday Feb 23, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

This evening we will pair each of these wines (The Prisoner, Saldo, Cuttings, Thorn, and Blindfold) with a beautiful 5 course Napa Valley inspired menu. It will be an unforgettable evening. Excludes Tax and Tip. $100 per guest. Call 704-556-1115 for reservations. Special valid on Thursday Feb 23, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Tastemaker's Dinner Series - Daou Vineyards Dinner

Thursday Mar 30, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Two Brothers: One Dream! Growing up in France, The Daou brothers appreciate great wines. They are committed to producing collectible, world-class Bordeaux style wines to rival those of the most respected appellations in the world. Excludes Tax and Tip. $100 per guest. Special valid on Thursday Mar 30, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Prom/Graduation 3 Course Prix Fixe Dinner

Special valid Mar 3, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Prom/Graduation 3 Course Prix Fixe Dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offered to students ONLY. $40.00 premium menu also available. Special valid Mar 3, 2017 - Jun 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Ruth's Chris - Charlotte offers private dining space for parties of 10 to 100 guests. State of the art AV equipment, including flat screen TVs and all necessary components, are available and included in the cost of your event. Custom event planning, prefix or a la carte menus, personal logos printed

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte - South Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (22)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonder experience.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 19 hours ago

Wonder experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food could not have ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and the food could not have been better. Both the server and manager were very attentive but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for a quiet d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went here for a quiet dinner the day after Valentine's Day and it did not disappoont. We were early and went to the bar for a cocktail before dinner and were blown away by the bar staff. Travis and Ben were attentive and knowledgeable. Travis made fantastic drinks. Ben suggested the spicy shrimp as an appetizer and when it was served he paired it with a delicious white wine. These guys know their stuff. Dinner was great, service was ok, our server Emily was attentive but not very personable. Overall an amazing experience and we will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris is a staple. I used to eat ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth's Chris is a staple. I used to eat here often when there was still a location near Cleveland, Ohio. Well worth the price always. I would recommend to anyone that can afford it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice date night spot. The servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a nice date night spot. The service was quick and the dining was delicious

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Another amazing meal at Ruth's Chris! G ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Another amazing meal at Ruth's Chris! Great personalized service on a packed Valentine's Day. Thoroughly enjoyable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks and food hot, hot, hot! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent steaks and food hot, hot, hot! as always! But we were very disappointed in our server - pleasant, but very perfunctory - no warmth or engagement at all with us as diners. She didn't follow-up with us about how we were enjoying the meal, did we want another glass of wine, those kind of simple overtures. Overall it was not the great dining "experience" we have come to expect at Ruth Chris, especially considering the special occasion - Valentine's Day - and the dollars involved.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Food and Service-prices are a bit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food and Service-prices are a bit high for food but overall great experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Steaks and sides were amazing as always. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Steaks and sides were amazing as always. The filet was cooked just right and the potatoes au gratin were delicious! Good wine selection as well. We went for Valentine's day and ordered off the Valentine's Day menu. While the Champagne toast was a very nice addition, the dessert (a small bread pudding and chocolate cheese cake) left something to be desired felt very premade without much flavor. Packed up the dessert and brought home so we could heat the bread pudding and add raspberries which made it much better. Next time would probably just order off the menu rather than doing the special. Service was very good and accommodating!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everyone was superb. Allan Collins is ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone was superb. Allan Collins is our new favorite waiter. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Wait staff was very atte ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service. Wait staff was very attentive. Food quality was excellent. Terrific meal.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the restaurant is great! The foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall the restaurant is great! The food, service and environment are all well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to say our waiter was terrific. W ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have to say our waiter was terrific. We couldn't have asked for anyone better. The filet was not very good. It was very chewy. There are much better fine dining restaurants in Charlotte for the amount of money you spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was delicious. However, I co ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was delicious. However, I confirmed my reservation and reminded them we were celebrating my husband's birthday. The hostess said she would make a note and could offer a complimentary dessert. Our server also was told we were celebrating a birthday. Huge disappointment when they completely forget at the dessert course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Classic steakhouse with excellent seafoo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Classic steakhouse with excellent seafood and beef choices. Service always exceptional, new GM, Karen, welcoming and anxious to please. Will continue to be patrons. Thanks for a great date night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not great. I have eaten at many of the c ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not great. I have eaten at many of the chains places. This one is average at best. Does not really compare to alot of the others. In Charlotte Capitol Grill much better choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Lovely experience as it always is, even ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely experience as it always is, even on a busy night. We LOVED our server, Matthew, so sweet and attentive. And the manager, Timothy, seemed so genuinely invested in providing a memorable experience for us, as we were celebrating a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu was outstanding great variety and s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Menu was outstanding great variety and service was very good,prices very expensive, a good once or twice a year or special occasion type restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris has always been one of our ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Ruth's Chris has always been one of our favorites for special occasions. It's expensive but the food, service, and atmosphere make for a wonderful evening. I got the filet. It was delicious served sizzling in hot butter. Perfection.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal from top to bottom. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Outstanding meal from top to bottom. We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday so I requested a cozy, out-of-the-way table. They delivered that and more. Service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. Even on a Wednesday night the atmosphere was lively and fun. It was a very enjoyable meal and they made my son feel special. At the end they brought his dessert with a candle in it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris is our one MUST GO TO for e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Ruth's Chris is our one MUST GO TO for every Charlotte Restaurant Week. The food is always tasty and served perfectly. The service is spot on and it's always a nice treat to spend time with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful dinner for 7 during Res ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had wonderful dinner for 7 during Restaurant Week. Everyone was very pleased - a tremendous value!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is infamous for its sizzlin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ruth's Chris is infamous for its sizzling hot steaks, straight from the oven and they didn't disappoint. My husband had salmon and he said it was the best he's ever had. Our waiter, Jonathan, was attentive, professional and polite. Check in was a bit disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On this visit, we were taking my mother ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

On this visit, we were taking my mother out for her birthday. I have been to this location many times and always been pleased overall. The normal GM is amazing, polite and extremely hospitable. On this occasion, however, the manager (a lady) did not meet what I would deem to be an appropriate response from this level of establishment. The server was excellent and did all he could, however, our night was significantly impacted in that when our food was being brought to the table the entire tray was dropped and all of the food was ruined. This led to a nearly 30 minute wait for everything to be remade after we had already been waiting for a hour for our meal. All in all it took over two and a half hours for dinner and we were very late returning to relieve our sitter with the kids. I know accidents and mistakes happen but with such an impact the norm from an establishment of this caliber would be to provide some form of significant compensation for the impact. Instead my mom was given a free birthday dessert and no other items were offered or adjusted. To say that was disappointing would be an understatement in the least.

A comparison to this is that on a previous trip the steaks were significantly overcooked and served well done. No time impact and they were still delicious but Chris, the GM when he came by and checked on us noted how overdone they were and his exact quote was "that's the way you might order a burger not your steaks". Without asking for anything from our end we were pleasantly surprised that he comped our entire meal. We were eager to tell everyone we know how exceptional the service and treatment was and we returned very soon after and were also pleased. This treatment was a great example of how a 5 star establishment should be treating its customers and with so much less impact actually occurring the response was a level of quality expectation that sets a great standard and is worthy of the cost. I am disappointed in the reaction from this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Restaurant week 2017

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Restaurant week 2017

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Ruth Chris multiple time, b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I've been to Ruth Chris multiple time, but this time was horrible. Our waiter only came by our table one time to take our order and never came back. I dropped my fork on the floor it took me twenty minutes to flag down someone to get a new one. Service was horrible. The food was mediocre. The Restuarant was super loud and I could not enjoy the conversation at the table. I never write a bad review. But I will not be going back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The restaurant looked great. The wait s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The restaurant looked great. The wait staff was excellent! The food was delicious😀

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great visit during Charlotte Restaurant ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great visit during Charlotte Restaurant Week. Only reservation available on Thursday was at 4:45 PM but we took it. Restaurant Week is a great opportunity to visit new spots. We were very impressed with the special food offerings. The service by our waiter Jamaar Valentine was truly exceptional. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not great at all, i asked f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was not great at all, i asked for a medium well steak and it came out bleeding on my plate. The service was very slow for the restaruant not being that busy. i just got the feeling that because it was Queens Feast, hey did not care about the experience as much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I have been to Ruth Chris more times tha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have been to Ruth Chris more times than I can count. I have also been to every other nice steakhouse restaurant in Charlotte and hands down prefer Ruth Chris because quiet frankly its the best steak in my humble opinion. The service is outstanding, the food consistently great and you are actually able to hear conversation at your table.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great ewe had a long wait to g ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was great ewe had a long wait to get desert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The meal was delicious. The restaurant w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The meal was delicious. The restaurant was running a little late with reservations and after 10 minutes we were each brought champagne. The manager jokingly promised us shots if they were 30 minutes late. He kept his word and brought those also without being asked. They made sure we were comfortable even though our reserved time was missed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Excellent except the loud ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything was Excellent except the loud group next to us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had not been to Ruth Chris for a while a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had not been to Ruth Chris for a while and decided to go there doing restaurant week. Had a great time, food was terrific and the ambiance was excellent. Will not be waiting so long to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. First time eati ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service and food. First time eating here and Manager Timothy was very accommodating when he told us they accidentally threw away our leftovers. He sent us home with 2 new meals to go. Wonderful ambience as we celebrated my husbands birthday. Attire is business casual/dressy. The coconut ginger martini is to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great evening with great food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was a great evening with great food and service.The best meal we have had at an upscale restaurant in a long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as well as Simone our wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great as well as Simone our waitress. We had a reservation for 6:30 and were seated promptly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Cody was excellent. His wine ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our waiter Cody was excellent. His wine and entree recommendations were awesome. My friend and I both agree that he should teach professional wait staff. He was attentive and friendly.

The food was awesome! The best ribeye I have had in a long time.

Thank you for the amazing service and exquisite meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was below the standard I am used to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was below the standard I am used to at Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.