Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

4.6
555 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.
*Guests 21+ that would like to reserve a table in the bar must call the restaurant to reserve. Limited availability.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch: Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(574) 968-9700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ivan Cruz
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mary Beth Mumford: (574) 968-9700
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grape Rd
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 555 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Food is always great as expected.



The hostess at the front desk (Sarah) was very friendly and has excellent customer service skills though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Perfection!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Wait staff was wonderful. We were there for our anniversary, every person in the place knew that and made it feel extra special right down to personalized placards in our menus. Phenomenal experience and I can’t imagine we’ll be spending any other anniversaries anywhere else. Thanks Greg and the entire staff!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The food was fantastic. Pricey but worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

This was our first time trying Ruth’s Chris. It definitely was worth all the hype I’ve been hearing over it. Everything was amazing!!! This is definitely an added fave. We will be back! Can’t wait.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We have been to this location several times. My husband goes there regularly for business meetings. The server was awesome and very friendly. My husband's steak was undercooked, and although they took it back to cook it more, I was nearly done with my meal when he got it back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We love it. It's expensive. 10 dollars for broccoli. But still great service, great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Andrea has a gift for customer service. She was always there when we needed her, and everyone's wine glass was always full. She paid attention to the small things, which go a long way with me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day far from my home but near hers! Last here on Thanksgiving. Just first rate!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We were seated in a booth in the bar... so loud that it was difficult to carry on a conversation. My medium well steak was well done. F

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We visit quite often. I do believe the quality of the steaks have gone done some. Something is different. The meat i just do not seem to have as much flavor. I always get the bone in rib-eye.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Very good food but dining room was a bit loud for a business discussion. Service was great - friendly and prompt. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Jim is an excellent waiter, and I would recommend him to anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We selected Ruth Chris for our 36th anniversary and we very pleased we did. We were greeted by name at the front desk, shown to our table on schedule and presented with a personalized menu for our event. Our server, Mike, and all of the wait staff were outstanding. The meal was the best we have had at any Ruth Chris. Our thanks go out the management and staff of such and excellent restaurant. Jim

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had a great evening out and our dinner was wonderful. Kim did an excellent job and the food and drinks were wonderful. We had the filet and it was cooked perfectly. The creme brûlée for dessert was fantastic. We also have a great time when we go to Ruth’s Chris for dinner. I can’t wait for our next date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Had a great birthday dinner for Mom. Was her first time. Food was great. Our waiter was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Nice ambiance and friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary and chose Ruth's Chris Steak House from recommendations from my co workers who live in the South Bend area.
My must say we were more than impressed with the service and taste of the food.
The service was outstanding and the staff was very pleasant and informative.
The food was exceptionally good.
This was a true dining experience and can not wait to dine again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great service, beautiful dining room

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food is always good. Drinks & Wine are always good. The Staff is amazing!!
But this particular time - we had a vegetarian with us and she ordered a salad with no meat. The salad came piled with meat and nothing was done, other than a "I'm sorry". Extremely disappointed for a very loyal customer!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Another great evening at Ruth’s, Service was quite good, but not very personable, and food tasted great (as always) but both steaks were overcooked (med versus med rare). This the reason for 4 stars on food instead of 5, and troubling was this was second visit where steaks were overcooked by one step. Love the extensive wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excellent as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

ALWAYS A FAVORITE. NOW MAKING IT A FAVORITE OF OUR GRAND DAUGHTERS

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

THE BEST filet ever!! Cooked to perfection and seasoned very well. Very attentive and prompt service. Go Ashley!! Timing between courses was spot-on. Caesar salad was delicious and well dressed. The loaded baked potato was very good - only suggestion is to use room temp butter rather than chilled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My husband and I were having a date night. We had a fabulous meal, lamb chops. Our service service could not have been better. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The steaks were not cooked to the order. One steak was cooked too well and when asked for medium plus it came out rare. Just not what you’d expect from Ruth’s Chris

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Andrea our wait staff was AWESOME!!! This is the third time she has waited on us and gave us excellent service each and every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great as always....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Predictably good food and excellent service. If that's what you're in the mood for, this is your place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Had a great time like always! I have been going here for years and it never disappoints! Staff is amazing and the management is unmatched!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

RC seems over-rated and over-priced (my opinion). The dimly lit room, décor and temperature of the dining room was very nice. Service was quick, cordial and outwardly professional. When it was time to order, I asked the waiter if I could expect a medium-well steak to be prepared through - with a thin strip of pink in the middle. He assured me it would be. My rib eye, however, was a perfect medium-rare. When the waiter asked me about my steak, I told him it was shy of being medium-well. So, I lied a little bit. There was a time when I would have returned the steak to be cooked longer, but I believe it is no longer a good idea to do that anymore. The garlic mashed potatoes tasted good, but they were only slightly better than room temperature when they reached the table. The salad was excellent. We did not order dessert or any alcoholic beverages. The tab, including a respectable tip for a friendly (although somewhat over-confident) waiter... was over $150. I am glad I went there at least once, but that will by my first and last trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very enjoyable. Steaks were perfect. Server(Jessica) excellent . Winter Mule tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We love coming here for all occasions. It is our favorite restaurant in the US. The food is always superb. The service is always perfect. We travel 40 miles to have dinner, so that says a lot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great service with excellent food. Timing was perfect and let us talk while we ate without interruption.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our daughter’s 13th Birthday! It was wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Probably the best steak I've ever had. The baked potato however was not good, especially when you consider the price I was charged. Our server promptly removed it from bill after offering a replacement. ( which was refused, it was that bad) lovely place though and good for special occasions even if a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was wonderful the drinks, food, service, everything. We can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Everything here was absolutely amazing. Only criticisms I can really give to them is their poor plating. It was dull with no care on how it appears. My date ordered a petite fillet, and it arrived on a very large plate, alone making it look insignificant and sad. However, the cook on all the food was stunning and everything was flavorful with great service. I will, for sure, be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We usually Dine at the Ruth Chris Downtown Chicago so we're very skeptical about going to any other one but the food was as amazing as I remembered the staff were very nice the atmosphere was amazing as well our waiter was very helpful and our service was pretty fast we had a reservation but got there kind of earlier and we got right to our seats I will definitely be back to this establishment

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend