About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: 5749689700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cowboy Ribeye Steak
  • Filet Minion w/Blue Cheese crust & Jumbo Shrimp
  • Crabtini
  • Caesar Salad
  • Lobster Voodoo
  • crab stuffed mushrooms
  • Warm molten chocolate fondant
Cowboy Ribeye Steak
Filet Minion w/Blue Cheese crust & Jumbo Shrimp
Crabtini
Caesar Salad
Lobster Voodoo
crab stuffed mushrooms
Warm molten chocolate fondant

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Indiana
Special Occasion
Indiana
Best Overall
South Bend
5 More
Best Food
South Bend
Best Service
South Bend
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Best Value
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in South Bend ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (29)
notable wine list (18)
See All
good for groups (17)
fit for foodies (17)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always excellent and mouthwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is always excellent and mouthwatering. The times we have dined at this facility we were provided with great service. This time, John and Jori provided outstanding service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great.. I have dined at many ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was great.. I have dined at many Ruth's Chis and this one was terrible. My steak was tough and had an old smell and taste to it. Sent it back and the second one was like shoe leather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris locations I've dined at, this one is top drawer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best steak that i had in ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the best steak that i had in years and everything from waiters to servers where great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typically out of our price range. However, a generous gift card from a graduating former student, coupled with a desire to celebrate our sixteenth wedding anniversary enabled a wonderful evening sans children.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, our dining experience was mar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, our dining experience was marvelous! Each staff member was friendly and attentive, and we were even given our favorite booth - that's such a treat! We treasure our visits to the South Bend Ruth's Chris - they are always special occasions to us, and they are SO worth the 45-minute drive from our home in Michigan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best food around! . We h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely the best food around! . We have tried other top-notch steakhouses both locally and other large cities, and they don't come close to Ruth Chris. Highly recommend their USDA Prime Filet & Lobster Voodoo. Our servers have always been very professional and attentive, prompt.

You won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People, expect the basics in steakhouse ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

People, expect the basics in steakhouse food and treatment and you will have a fine experience. My steaks have always been great, sides good, drinks fantastic. Andrea is one of the greatest waitresses EVAH!! Expensive? Yeah, but make up your mind: have three "meh" meals at Logan's/Applebee's/Outback or one fabulous one here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meals were delicious, and the servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the service was outstanding! Our server was a doll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant purports to be upscale: ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant purports to be upscale: the prices are, the food and service are far from being so; do not waste money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Doesn't Disappoint!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have only been to a Ruth's Chris once before, and that was close to 20 years ago and in Chicago. It was a wonderful experience, and I'd been wanting to visit the one in South Bend for close to 10 years now, but have not been able to due to schedules. With all that anticipation, my wife and I finally got to go in this past weekend, and it was everything I'd hoped for. We had a wonderful time, great food, fantastic service, and a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience began with the online rese ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My experience began with the online reservation which was easy and accommodating. I appreciated the reminder and allowance to adjust my arrival time. I also appreciated having my special request honored with great dignity. You see my husband and I do not practice celebrating birthdays. However, for his 70th I wanted to let him know how thankful I am for his being alive and well every day of his life. When I expressed his feelings thru the reservation I was pleased when we arrived and the staff welcomed him with a simple "Happy Birthday John". He was pleasantly surprised. He ordered his favorite T Bone. When it was served it was not to his liking. Our waitress, Jessica, reassured him it would immediately be replaced and it was. It was excellent. Side order portions were enough for us to split with some to take home. Everything was delicious. The surprise dessert for John topped the evening off. I must give an extra thumbs up for our waitress Jessica and her assistant, Marrisol. They were excellent! Their pleasant conversation was encouraged. Their service was perfect. They made us want to stay and return. We enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Personalized evening smart server great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Personalized evening smart server great food and drink. We had a blast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievably, the broccoli (for which th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Unbelievably, the broccoli (for which they charge $10!) came out stone cold. Like, out of the refrigarator cold. They took not off our bill, but for $200, they could ensure the food is cooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

They really care about your experience here.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

They really care about your experience here. They went above and beyond to make sure to cook me food that met my allergies and picky needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New York strip ordered med rare and was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

New York strip ordered med rare and was served med well. Filt was ordered medium and was served well done. Very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Birthday

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My sister and I take our mother to Ruth's Chris several times a year. Mom loves their lamb chops so it's a must. Will was our server and he was nothing short of great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everrhing worked just like clockwork. The steak was outstanding and service was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service made personal. From th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service made personal. From the welcome at the front desk to the final goodbye, the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food for Thought

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was excellent, atmosphere was wonderful, the food was good but for $150.00 I expected it to be excellent as well and unfortunately the Steak and Crab Cakes were just pretty ordinary. Nothing to really set the restaurant apart from the other restaurants other than the décor and wine list.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

everything was great except the broken g ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

everything was great except the broken glass dropped on the table when we first got there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit lacking. Water glasses ran dry.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The salad and main entree were awesome. The dessert was just ok. Switched up servers mid stream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Anniversary dinner-date

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd anniversary and had an amazing experience at Ruth's Chris! The wait staff...actually all the staff were phenomenal. We felt like we were the King and Queen with the chocolate covered strawberries and desserts! Thank you for making our dinner anniversary so special.

Annie S

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Evening

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I make the 45-minute drive from Michigan to dine at Ruth's Chris when celebrating special occasions - it is indeed that special! Not only is the food marvelous, but the ambiance is lovely, quiet, and romantic. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff - they are friendly and attentive and make us feel as though they are glad we're there. Our superb waiter, Alan, even remembered a certain wine that I had hoped to try on an earlier "special occasion" visit (none was left), and he advised me that it was once again available and suggested that I order a glass (it was excellent). How many people would remember something like that?! We highly recommend Ruth's Chris in South Bend and will continue to make the trip as often as we can.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I took my grandmother here for her 67th Birthday. We absolutely enjoyed ourselves. Food was amazing! First time visiting.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It served some of the best food I've had ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It served some of the best food I've had in South Bend, if not the best! Liked the Price Fixe option because it is a very expensive restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome Steak!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We reserved a table for our 25th anniversary and the steak was awesome. Service was outstanding. They gave us a booth in the corner away from everyone, and it was a lovely quiet setting. We definitely plan on going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We were in town to attend a church conference but decided weeks ago that we'd rather have dinner at Ruth's Chris knowing we could have choosen to eat a delicious - free meal at the church where the conference was being held. It was worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks not good

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Neither steak was cooked properly and mine had a large amount of unmelted butter on it. The waiter even noted it to me and then walked away and did not come back for at least 10 minutes; we only ate a few bites of the steaks. The calamari was so greasy that we didn't eat it either. Also, I ordered creme brulee at the same time I ordered the meal and asked that he bring it out after we ate but instead I got the bill and had to RE-ask for the desert.

In the end, I ended up paying $150 plus a generous tip for steaks that taste like they came from Ryan's Steak house and uneatable calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

A very rich tasting dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My one request is that the restaurant offer more healthy choices. My family ordered steak and loved it but I ordered sea bass and although it tasted good it was too rich for me. I felt like it was soaked in butter . I like it when restaurants have the heart healthy options and usually seafood is a safe option but not in this case. I am not sure I would come back because of this.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eatser Sunday

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a very nice lunch for Easter. Our waiter was attentive & did a great job!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great except the crab wasn't fresh

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Went there for my husbands birthday and had crab stuffed mushrooms and had lump crab cake on my filet. The crab was so strong tasting, like it wasn't fresh at all. Almost sent it back but our waiter was a little nervous so we felt bad for him so we didn't, even though it had nothing to do with him. Everything else was really good though. Caesar salad was nothing special either

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first dining experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food is outstanding! Not only the taste, but presentation as well! Our waiter Wesley was great and explained everything, since it was our first time dining there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a Bad Meal

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always a great meal with attentive service. Mouth-watering steak. Pricey but the best in town hands down.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Amazing experience.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant and we had an amazing time. Our server Alan was the best. Food was out of this world. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend for dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

enjoyable meal in bar area with good selection of wine

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and surroundings

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was wonderful with steaks cooked perfectly. Ruth's has the most flavorful steak in the area - I tried the bone I strip steak for the first time, excellent. Lobster voodoo appetizer was excellent as usual. Service was good, but we poured our wine after initial pour which should never happen at a restaurant of this caliber. Highly recommend Ruth's and love sitting in the bar area where crowd is engaged.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Went to Ruth's for our 20th anniversary dinner, as usual, the food was outstanding. My wife loves the chicken on the prix fix (sp) dinner. I had the pork chop, if you like pork chops you need to try it. I am a big meat guy and don't normally turn down beef, but I think the pork chop exceeds the steaks here. Best I have had in any restaurant, hands down. They dropped the sauteed spinich from the menu and replaced it with roasted brussel sprouts, they are truly fantastic. As always, the wine list is great, but also very overpriced. If you like wine with your dinner go on Weds., its half price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always Wonderful

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was terrific. and the service was excellent. they treat you with great respect, and friendliness . requests are carried out without fuss. Always a pleasure dining there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.