About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: (574) 968-9700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and love this place. We relive our first dates,anniversaries,special days, holidays down to just a simple date night ! Every time it's been 100% ! Great staff! Host are very attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

2nd visit in a row our reservation for "lost". Mgr made it up buying drinks for the table. Hostess claimed they overbooked & " lots of people had to wait an hour plus" because of it. I might expect this at a TGI Fridays but not here

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I live in Chicago, so have been to many great steakhouses in my life. Ruth's Chris in South Bend did not disappoint. The food was delicious and the the wait staff were very friendly/attentive. They made our double birthday/anniversary celebration a joy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

There were four of us in the bar area for dinner which is our favorite place for a table - love the ambiance of the bar. Everything was very good, BBQ shrimp and lobster voodoo appetizers, salads, and steak. Only issue was my steak was very over cooked, asked for med rare, got med to med well. Our server, Shea, immediately took it back which was good. However, it took a while before it was replaced (rest of group was almost done with their meal), and it was delivered on a ridiculously hot plate. So hot I had to take steak, which was cooked perfectly, off the plate and put into bread plate or it would over cook on the plate; and when Shea tried to remove the plate after I finished, she had to tear it off of the tablecloth as it was burned into it. This was really over the top, and frankly, a bit disturbing to me. I will never send something back to the kitchen again. Shea did an excellent job, thanks to her!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great dinner on our anniversary. We always enjoy going to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and this time was just as great as all the others. Great food, drinks, and great service. Thank you for a great night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolute amazing service, everyone was very friendly and welcoming, waiters even sang some of the tunes being played....food was really fresh, and the portions were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic food which offsets the higher pricing. Great special occasion dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We arrived early and started with cocktails in the bar. The signature Nice Spice cocktail is a conforting bourbon, apple shrub and spice concoction. The meal was excellent we started withe seafood tower which had generous portions of crab in addition to lobster and shrimp. The steak with crab cake was very good. The crab cake was almost all lump crab with the minimum of binding to keep it together. The desserts were generous and the creme brulle was expertly made. We were also celebrating an anniversary and they made it feel truly special with one small gesture after another that made us feel special from the time we sat down to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great as always. Kim took great care of us. Early so it was very quite. Food was very good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Relaxing cozy waitress was great in xplaning everything about the steak house.Food was great .

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Grandpa's 82 bday bday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, service, surroundings. Just an overall perfect place. Beat restaurant i have ever been to. Dont change a thing. I wish i could remember the name of the waitress. She was outstanding. As was the wonderful young lady that met me at the door.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

When you want the Food and Service to be PERFECT, (knocks your socks off, sure to impress).....This IS the place to go....

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First experience with Ruth's Chris that would not be considered positive. When spending $200 for 2 people is South Bend, IN, nothing should be less than good and most should be excellent. Wife's filet was great. Waiter did well except for serving baked potato with cheese and bacon, when it was made quite clear that we wanted all of the potato's condiments on the side and that cheese and bacon were not to be among those condiments. My strip was cooked perfectly, but the quality of the meat was such that A-1 sauce was requested, which should be a no-no for a quality steak house. Chop salad was good , but not great. Wine was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very good meal. Most appetizers are seafood so that part wasn't my favorite. Meat selection was great, drinks were great, dessert and sides were great, all in all great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

From the service to the menu, everything was outstanding. Our server Jim did an outstanding job and made sure that we were well taken care of. I was impressed with how good everything tasted. Well done and I look forward to my next visit!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed the seasonal prix fixe menu this time; I don't recall it being offered before. I ordered my ribeye medium rare and it was closer to medium; others ordered medium and theirs were closer to medium well. Waitstaff was attentive and patient. Bonus for a celebrity sighting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great good and steaks. Wonderful atmosphere for dining. Super professional service. Our favorite restaurant for all occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. My only complaint is that they seated another couple right next to us in a booth/chair. Plenty of room in restaurant but I think they try to keep everyone in one area. I felt like I was eavesdropping on the conversation next to me though I was trying to block them out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Soups were cold but got replaced My husbands rib eye was grissly Servers were attentive but too much trying to sell more I would visit with business travel on someone else's dime experience was inferior to two other locations we have visited

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always a great dining experience. You come for the steaks, but everything is outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Ruth Chris on New Year's Eve because my parents had never been there. My dad is a big steak lover and I was very excited for him to try the best steak in town. Overall the experience was pretty good, however we did get put in the lower level of the restaurant since it was a busy night. The server was pleasant but seemed to be new and didn't speak clearly. The most disappointing part of the evening was my dads steak which was ordered medium rare was very rare. My medium rare steak which had a warm red center as the server described was perfect. Unfortunately I actually saw my dad using his 500 degree plate to "cook" his rare steak. He would never complain or send a steak back. It's not the end of the world but I was disappointed that he didn't have a more positive experience for his first Ruth Chris steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

4 oysterockerfeller for $ 20 was excessive. Meal was also over priced. Had jalapeño peppers in vegetables Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Year's eve meal at Ruth Chris was one of our best in 2016. The service was the best of the year and executed in a seamless teamwork manner. Our waiter, Leroy, was outstanding and made the evening a memorable one

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve celebration with my husband. Beautiful setting. Good service. My husband had filet that was wonderful. I had salmon that was good around the edge and raw otherwise. I did not order sushi and was very disappointed to leave much of my fish on the plate. I did tell the manager who did nothing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The lobster voodoo was particularly good tonight! The fixed prix menu are great and provide an excellent value. Service was extremely good with just the right amount of attention and personality from Will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The experience was wonderful as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We just went for a date night. We had a great dinner and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had their filet. Almost melts in your mouth.

A little on the expensive side and not a restaurant most people can afford to eat at often.

Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Unfortunately some incredibly inattentive service made for an overall poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the whole experience, we would recommend and return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Three of our four steaks did not have the lovely "char" on the outside - they were cooked to the correct temperature, but missed that extra flavor. Also missed potato layonaise (sp?) on your menu. Why take off such a perfect potato dish? The hash browns were good, but hardly a substitute. The three layer chocolate cake was absolutely divine!

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Everything went well for the evening until I was billed twice on my card. The manager states the extra billing will be removed this evening by my bank.

Still this is an inconvenience to have to monitor my bank statement to see if a double billing will come off! The bill should be done right the first time. I'm glad I did not have a bill for a thousand dollars, otherwise I would be down a grand until it "falls off".

Not A Happy Customer Ruth Chris, and NOT premier customer service experience.

QLM

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is one of my favorite places for a wonderful dinner. I love the food, ambiance and service. It is almost an hour from my home, but it is worth the drive and traffic. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. I always feel happy when I leave there and can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Spicy, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

my steak was completely wrong in temperature from what I ordered. they took back but by the time they brought replacement my guests were done with their dinner and we had business to conduct. the restaurant made it up to me by letting me take home the new steak and offering me two new side complimentary. What an inadequate response. How does a premium steak house with premium prices botch the cooking of a steak? How is the response to only give me two sides. disgusted with RC although the servers, host staff etc. were all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love to dine at Ruth's Chris but Thanksgiving was not a good day. I think they were trying to serve too many people with out a proper wait staff. Our steaks must have been sitting around for a while since they were not "sizzling" when they arrived at the table. We had ordered "medium rare" and these steaks were well done. They did bring us new steaks cooked correctly. It was a disappointing holiday meal but they are typically top notch. We will go back but not for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ordered the Thanksgiving meal and was not impressed. Everything needed seasoning. Cranberry sauce was way too sweet. Ordered appetizers off the menu and those were good. Should have stuck to what they do best. Trying to conform did not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have been to many 5 star restaurants including places like Chicago, New York, Vegas and A few others in different parts of the. US. I'm not sure if the expectations are lower in South Bend, however I would have received the same steak at Texas Roadhouse. We ordered the filet. Filets are suppose to be one of the leanest cuts of beef. However there was fat on mine. Not just a few pieces, but chunks. I would have complained, had the service, bread and butter, not been so good. Oh and the iced tea was good as well. I asked for a medium steak and got a well done steak. I have had steaks that have ranged from $50-$80. These steaks were thick and you could cut them with a butter knife. The potatoes were about the same quality of microwaveable potatoes and the asparagus tasted as if the were boiled, thrown on a plate, and served with a side of mayo. If you are looking for some great warm bread, with great butter, somewhat good clam chowder and amazing ice tea that cost $140 for two people, then this is definitely the place to eat. I suggest sticking to big cities where the expectations are a little higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We go every year after a day of shopping. We have the prix fix menu and a martini and it never disappoints. Our server and the food fabulous. A must do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had dined before for our 10th anniversary and we dined again for our 18th on this visit. The service was excellent. The food was the absolute best. And when the manager came to our table with the chocolate dipped fresh strawberries that he delivered himself,

I thought we were finished with the best. But then, our waiter brought us raspberry sorbet, apple crumb cake, and dark chocolate. Amazing. Thank you to all at Ruth's Chris for making our 18th anniversary very enjoyable and memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Probably our fourth or fifth anniversary dinner in a row at Ruth's Chris. Never fails to impress. Service was customarily outstanding, but even more so as it seemed the entire staff made a point to congratulate us. Some bonus, complimentary desserts were both welcome and delicious. We are already looking forward to our next anniversary - but I'm quite sure we'll be visiting Ruth's Chris a few times between now and then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service and food were incredible. All needs were taken care of. Received special dessert due to birthday compliments of restaurant. Steaks were truly perfect and delightful. Wine pourings were much larger than most restaurants. Restaurant is pricey but I think worth it for special occasions.

My only complaint would be that we were not told the Panna water was extra. Would not have ordered had we known. We only drank about half a glass from bottle and were not given the remainder.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant was amazing! From the wait staff to the people that greeted us at the door. Our waiter, John was absolutely outstanding and went out of his way to make our evening special!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A disappointing experience. Not up to the level that one would expect at a $100 a plate restaurant. The side dishes were mediocre. The Potatoes au gratin were the worst I've ever had. Our server was attentive. We were seated downstairs in what looked like a converted ballroom. Would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great location near univ of Notre Dame. Excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We should have asked to be seated next to a wall, too many people walking past our table, but the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food & service was excellent!! Thank you for bringing a classy eating establishment to South Bend

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Everything I expect when eating at a good steak house.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Highest quality in the area

Delicious meals and

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.