About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch: Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: (574) 968-9700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We've eaten at this location several times and we are never disappointed. The steaks are cooked to perfection and the service is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Jim was amazing. Loved how he said ladies and gentlemen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was just OK nothing too special. Ordered the bone in New York strip which was very fatty for a NYS. I would recommend ordering the steak one temperature lower than you would normally Because what's the excessively hot plates And sizzling butter My steak cooked From medium rare to medium fairly quick. The sweet potatoes were very good same for the Brussels sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The waitstaff was delightful and helpful, and the food was good. One steak was undercooked, but came back quickly cooked as ordered. We would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

My wife and I had an awesome experience here for our Anniversary. The staff from hostess, waiter, and manager were all extremely friendly and a pleasure to be around. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I have also left a review on Trip Advisor where I have over 200,000 readers. We LOVE going to Ruth Chris for any reason. We especially appreciate our server, Jim, who remembered us from last time and made our dinner special. Thank you, Jim! We hope to see him again next time we are there.
The food is always perfect and the service is impeccable. It is my favorite restaurant on Earth and we travel globally!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was excellent and the service superb. We had the Harvest Salad and Petite Filet. It was a perfect celebration of my friend's birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Allison was our server and she was awesome! They brought us a special treat for our anniversary and included a $25 gift certificate. How wonderful and totally surprised! Food was delicious as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We did the price fixed menu which was a great value and delicious! Although I couldn't get my hundred point table for OpenTable unless I sat in the dining room I could not sit in the bar area. my fillet with the horseradish crust was off the charts :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always Fantastic highly recommend to anyone wanting a great meal!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great steaks! Nice atmosphere. Exceptional service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our son gave us a gift certificate for our Anniversary and we finally were able to go. We were greeted warmly and shown immediately to our table. Our waiter, Jim, was very good and the meal was delicious. We enjoyed it immensely!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The staff was excellent which added to the perfect complimentary extras that made our anniversary dinner one to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service, table reserved on time, very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always love to dine here for special occasions and just special nights. Was very disappointed that we were seated ata two top outside next to a large group. The table was too small for dinner, it was too loud to have a conversation and there were a few bigger tables around us that would have been more comfortable. Kind of ruined the evening we anticipated. Food was great but overshadowed by e fact that our table was so crowded.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and service are always fantastic. I have never had a bad meal at Ruth's Chris

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was good. Lobster bisque tastes like it came from a bag. Steak and service were phenomenal, but the whole package, not really worth a $200 tab.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I were seated on the patio. It was ok but lacked the ambiance of the restaurant. It was a little chilly with the breeze which would have been easier to plan for had we known we would be on the patio from the reservation. My wife was cold for most of the dinner which made the night less pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and the service were great. I ordered the burger which came out perfect. My wife ordered the stuffed chicken breast quick was perfectly seasoned and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The place is amazing every part was incredible from the food to service they make you feel like your special. The was breathtaking I started with appetizer the voodoo lobster was 22 dollars but is worth it and literally came out with 5 minutes of ordering the steaks we order were made to perfection and tasted perfect I know they are expensive but it's worth what you pay.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and wait staff were great! We truly enjoyed the atmosphere. We plan on going back next week!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We took my mother in law out for her birthday. Everything was wonderful. Great service, Great food, and we all had a Great time!!! We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ruth's Chris puts butter on their steaks. Everything is delicious! Our server, however, only turned his head to me when speaking while I was ordering. I made the res. in my name. But, hubs got all the attention. Annoying...even to hubs.
Okay. Tomahawk rib eye was amazing, the dog chewed on the bone and loved that too. The veggies were delicious, and the fried lobster in a tangy sauce was of course, the best. We also had berries in cream for a light, sweet taste.
Everything was fine, except, I was non-existent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

A trendy spot in Granger. Friendly service, nice bar area and outdoor seating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Me and my wife went in to have lunch for our 2 year anniversary and we had an amazing experience. The service was great the whole time we where there from explaining entrees to helping to pick the perfect bottle of wine for the occasion. The place was very clean and there wasn't loud noise bothering us at all. We needed the experience that was provided from Ruth's Steakhouse. I will definitely go eat there again. I will also tell all my friend about it.Thank you very much

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday does not get any better than this! Food was great as usual, wine excellent, and Will, our server, was terrific! Also, kudos to Christian who assisted Will as he had a lot of personality and enthusiasm. Remains our favorite fine dining venues in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Visiting family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Outstanding Thursday Burger night! The best burger with the best service.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is the second time I have made reservations in advance and they seated us in a less than desirable table. The previous time we were seated in the basement dining room. During our most recent visit, they attempted to seat us at a dark booth in the bar area, but were moved to a brighter window table at our request, but still seated in the bar (and there appeared to be plenty of other table options).
The food is always delicious, which is why you can tolerate the expense, but ambiance is a big part of the experience too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Absolutely fabulous,,,,,,the food was exquisite .......the service was impeccable,,,,,

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have had better steaks at chain restaurants. In addition the staff removed my son's cocktail before he was even done with it without even asking and there still about 1/3 left. Not a good value.. way too expensive for what we got and way too much staff swarming around constantly. It was almost annoying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is the second time ive been there and they both have made me feel a little how do i say it scared. This time my fiancee ordered a dirty martini and i a bloody mary. The bar tender put the bill in a small shot glass in front of me. Almost $24 for two drinks? Are you serious! You would get double the business if you had a affordable menu for the common person. I spent in total $225 dollars for 3 hours of food and drinks. It takes me two days at work to make that. If it wasnt for my fiancee i would not be going back. Way out of my league price wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We drive about 45 minutes to Ruth's Chris when we are celebrating special occasions. The restaurant is lovely, the service is marvelous, and the food is divine! I would like to suggest, however, that when a couple is celebrating a special event, it might not be best to seat a family with a baby right next to them. We view Ruth's Chris as something above and beyond the usual family restaurant; that's why we are willing to drive 45 minutes and pay $200 for a special dinner for two. The mood definitely changed, and my very disappointed husband was ready to leave within a few minutes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This has gone down hill the manager does not know what med rare is. Plus they must have change meat houses the ribeye was tough fatty and that was never the case. Last three time very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A great setting for a quieter dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The service was excellent the food was wonderful all good

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Another great evening at Ruth's. Summer did a great job with service, very attentive and kept a perfect pace with our meals. The evening was very busy, so great service was excellent. Gave a four on food as lobster voodoo was slightly undercooked this time, same great flavor, and my filet mignon was slightly undercooked and an endcut versus centercut (I usually specifically ask for center cut, but failed to do so this time). Seating in the bar area is great, particularly in a booth.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Love it! My favorite place in SB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, good food,friendly service. Have eaten at one in Las Vegas, and one in Louisville and never had a bad meal.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always the lobster mac and cheese is too amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.