Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

4.6
539 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.
*Guests 21+ that would like to reserve a table in the bar must call the restaurant to reserve. Limited availability.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch: Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(574) 968-9700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ivan Cruz
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mary Beth Mumford: (574) 968-9700
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grape Rd
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 539 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a great birthday dinner for Mom. Was her first time. Food was great. Our waiter was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Nice ambiance and friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary and chose Ruth's Chris Steak House from recommendations from my co workers who live in the South Bend area.
My must say we were more than impressed with the service and taste of the food.
The service was outstanding and the staff was very pleasant and informative.
The food was exceptionally good.
This was a true dining experience and can not wait to dine again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great service, beautiful dining room

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food is always good. Drinks & Wine are always good. The Staff is amazing!!
But this particular time - we had a vegetarian with us and she ordered a salad with no meat. The salad came piled with meat and nothing was done, other than a "I'm sorry". Extremely disappointed for a very loyal customer!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Another great evening at Ruth’s, Service was quite good, but not very personable, and food tasted great (as always) but both steaks were overcooked (med versus med rare). This the reason for 4 stars on food instead of 5, and troubling was this was second visit where steaks were overcooked by one step. Love the extensive wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excellent as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

ALWAYS A FAVORITE. NOW MAKING IT A FAVORITE OF OUR GRAND DAUGHTERS

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

THE BEST filet ever!! Cooked to perfection and seasoned very well. Very attentive and prompt service. Go Ashley!! Timing between courses was spot-on. Caesar salad was delicious and well dressed. The loaded baked potato was very good - only suggestion is to use room temp butter rather than chilled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My husband and I were having a date night. We had a fabulous meal, lamb chops. Our service service could not have been better. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The steaks were not cooked to the order. One steak was cooked too well and when asked for medium plus it came out rare. Just not what you’d expect from Ruth’s Chris

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Andrea our wait staff was AWESOME!!! This is the third time she has waited on us and gave us excellent service each and every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great as always....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Predictably good food and excellent service. If that's what you're in the mood for, this is your place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Had a great time like always! I have been going here for years and it never disappoints! Staff is amazing and the management is unmatched!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

RC seems over-rated and over-priced (my opinion). The dimly lit room, décor and temperature of the dining room was very nice. Service was quick, cordial and outwardly professional. When it was time to order, I asked the waiter if I could expect a medium-well steak to be prepared through - with a thin strip of pink in the middle. He assured me it would be. My rib eye, however, was a perfect medium-rare. When the waiter asked me about my steak, I told him it was shy of being medium-well. So, I lied a little bit. There was a time when I would have returned the steak to be cooked longer, but I believe it is no longer a good idea to do that anymore. The garlic mashed potatoes tasted good, but they were only slightly better than room temperature when they reached the table. The salad was excellent. We did not order dessert or any alcoholic beverages. The tab, including a respectable tip for a friendly (although somewhat over-confident) waiter... was over $150. I am glad I went there at least once, but that will by my first and last trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very enjoyable. Steaks were perfect. Server(Jessica) excellent . Winter Mule tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We love coming here for all occasions. It is our favorite restaurant in the US. The food is always superb. The service is always perfect. We travel 40 miles to have dinner, so that says a lot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great service with excellent food. Timing was perfect and let us talk while we ate without interruption.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our daughter’s 13th Birthday! It was wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Probably the best steak I've ever had. The baked potato however was not good, especially when you consider the price I was charged. Our server promptly removed it from bill after offering a replacement. ( which was refused, it was that bad) lovely place though and good for special occasions even if a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

We celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was wonderful the drinks, food, service, everything. We can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Everything here was absolutely amazing. Only criticisms I can really give to them is their poor plating. It was dull with no care on how it appears. My date ordered a petite fillet, and it arrived on a very large plate, alone making it look insignificant and sad. However, the cook on all the food was stunning and everything was flavorful with great service. I will, for sure, be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We usually Dine at the Ruth Chris Downtown Chicago so we're very skeptical about going to any other one but the food was as amazing as I remembered the staff were very nice the atmosphere was amazing as well our waiter was very helpful and our service was pretty fast we had a reservation but got there kind of earlier and we got right to our seats I will definitely be back to this establishment

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great environment, I’ve had better service at a much lower tier restaurant. Steak was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful service! We appreciate being called by our names !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our Waiter is the Best! He is an old fashion waiter with skill, respect and class. He is half of the reason we visit Ruth's Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

We enjoyed the ambiance and the music in the bar. The food was excellent, especially enjoyed the seafood ice tower. Server was well trained. Noise level was perfect for a normal conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Probably one of the only good steak places around for such a small area

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We thought we would give this location another try since the last time we came our service was poor but food was good. Unfortunately it was the same thing. Our apps came out in a timely manner and were very tasty, however it took our dinner much longer to come out. And when it did come out my much awaited ribeye was not served. The server said it was on its way... 10 minutes later when everyone at the table was well into their dinner my steak arrived. It arrived undercooked. Goes to tell you that they forgot the order and tried to rush to cook it! I sent it back as it was not eatable and the server agreed. The manager and chef were notified however no one came out to apologize for their incompetence. I guess this was normal for them. We proceeded to order dessert trying to make the best of our family dinner. Well they got that wrong too and had to remake it. In the end I would not go there on a weekend night. Maybe under staffed and under trained. Sadly They just don’t have their stuff together. Not expected at a restaurant of this caliber. Good luck! We will NOT be returning!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. Staff and accommodations were just perfect for my Fathers 81st Birthday dinner. Thank you Tim and your entire staff John and Terrel for a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

I love this place - not pretentious at all. Hanging with customers at the bar during Happy Hour or dining in the private dining room, all is great - food, service and ambiance! Hope I can schedule many more evenings here!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We were a party of two that was sat in a small room with a very large party! When we asked to be seated somewhere else. The manager was very rude! We were told all the tables were full. But we could be seated at a high top table in the bar. We said NO. We are out for an expensive meal that will not be eaten in the bar. 30 minutes into our meal he offered us a more appropriate table for two if we still wanted to move. He never comp’ed anything to offer as an apology.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The food was great as always. However, we made our reservations through the open table app. When we got there we let them know we had a reservation. I pulled the reminder up on my phone as we were not on their reservation list. One employee working the front said “They look like honest people.” Which just came off as weird. They found that we did have a reservation, they just didn’t get it on their list for the night. We got a table with minimal wait time, but at a restaurant like Ruth’s Chris, I would expect if I make a reservation they would be prepared with a table when we got there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Love this restaurant. Amazing steaks and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Thanks to Open Table we had the best seats in the house. 😎

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

This was our friends Holiday get together, finally, which we were very much looking forward to. As usual, our food was great: shrimp and lobster appetizers perfect, steaks cooked to perfection and very tasty, and wine and drinks excellent. Ruth’s wine list is the best in the area. Unfortunately, the service we received was the worst we have experienced since they opened. Plates were not cleared before next course was delivered, Wine was not poured after first glass and was suspect whether he was going to pour the first round. We will make sure we request anyone else as server our next visit. Service put a bit of a damper on the evening for us which we simply do not experience at Ruth’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Food was great!! My daughter recommended this restaurant, but our waiter “Jim” never brought us the lobster voodoo we ordered only the crab cakes and other food we ordered and left us waiting over 10 mintues for my husbands second beer and my water! But other then that everything was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve! Wonderful meal with friends. Great service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend