About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: 5749689700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cowboy Ribeye Steak
  • Filet Minion w/Blue Cheese crust & Jumbo Shrimp
  • Crabtini
  • Caesar Salad
  • Lobster Voodoo
  • crab stuffed mushrooms
  • Warm molten chocolate fondant
Cowboy Ribeye Steak
Filet Minion w/Blue Cheese crust & Jumbo Shrimp
Crabtini
Caesar Salad
Lobster Voodoo
crab stuffed mushrooms
Warm molten chocolate fondant

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Indiana
Best Overall
South Bend
Best Food
South Bend
4 More
Best Service
South Bend
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Best Value
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in South Bend ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

everyone and everything fabulous, tend t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

everyone and everything fabulous, tend to visit The Grille and Mortons in Boston,MA never have been to your steak house in Boston, we will visit now and be back when in town visiting son at UND. Everyone and Everything was super.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was acceptable but not what ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was acceptable but not what I expected from this type of restaurant. Not only were our steaks not even close to properly cooked but neither were either of the tables to the sides of us. The waiter commented that it was clear the steaks were overdone as he set them down. Not sure why he would even carry them out when it was so obvious. Very disappointing for a $100 per person meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I dined for our 44th wedd ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I dined for our 44th wedding anniversary. From the moment we came in we were treated like we were special. As I sat at our table I picked up the menu and opened it. On the left side it said Happy Anniversary Mr and Mrs Marshall. I Thu that was awesome. I had lobster and filet . It was marvelous. We received chocolate covered strawberries and sorbet with a candle. I felt like I was on a cruise ship with everything so elegant. I would love too visit more often but it was very expensive, so we will save it for something special. Thank you.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for our 25th Anniversary and they m ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went for our 25th Anniversary and they made it a perfect evening. Tim the owner stopped by and our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Sent the Neal back 3 ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointing. Sent the Neal back 3 times. So bad they comped the dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Ruth's Mishawaka/Granger is a regular st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ruth's Mishawaka/Granger is a regular stop for our family. Whether it be drinks at the bar or an evening dinner with the family, Ruth's staff does an outstanding job and the food is always over the top. Tim and his staff are great and provide an exceptional night out!

Thanks,

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No peanut butter pie!!! NOOOOOOOO! Tha ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

No peanut butter pie!!! NOOOOOOOO! That's one of the reasons we chose Ruth's chris for our anniversary dinner. How disappointing but the filet and lobster were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for the best stakes in South ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place for the best stakes in South Bend with wonderful service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably our best meal ever at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was probably our best meal ever at Ruth's! We had our usual booth in the bar which is always great as bar is lively. Busy night, but food was perfect and took advantage of half price bottle of wine night! Filet mignons were cooked to perfection and wife's accompanying lobster tail was excellent! Lobster voodoo to start was delicious as always. This remains our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected expensive good experience. More ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Expected expensive good experience. More $$ than expected.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience, as always. We usually ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great experience, as always. We usually choose to eat in the bar - a little noisier, but more lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent and mouthwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is always excellent and mouthwatering. The times we have dined at this facility we were provided with great service. This time, John and Jori provided outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great.. I have dined at many ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was great.. I have dined at many Ruth's Chis and this one was terrible. My steak was tough and had an old smell and taste to it. Sent it back and the second one was like shoe leather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris locations I've dined at, this one is top drawer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best steak that i had in ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the best steak that i had in years and everything from waiters to servers where great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typically out of our price range. However, a generous gift card from a graduating former student, coupled with a desire to celebrate our sixteenth wedding anniversary enabled a wonderful evening sans children.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, our dining experience was mar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, our dining experience was marvelous! Each staff member was friendly and attentive, and we were even given our favorite booth - that's such a treat! We treasure our visits to the South Bend Ruth's Chris - they are always special occasions to us, and they are SO worth the 45-minute drive from our home in Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best food around! . We h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely the best food around! . We have tried other top-notch steakhouses both locally and other large cities, and they don't come close to Ruth Chris. Highly recommend their USDA Prime Filet & Lobster Voodoo. Our servers have always been very professional and attentive, prompt.

You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People, expect the basics in steakhouse ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

People, expect the basics in steakhouse food and treatment and you will have a fine experience. My steaks have always been great, sides good, drinks fantastic. Andrea is one of the greatest waitresses EVAH!! Expensive? Yeah, but make up your mind: have three "meh" meals at Logan's/Applebee's/Outback or one fabulous one here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meals were delicious, and the servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the service was outstanding! Our server was a doll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant purports to be upscale: ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant purports to be upscale: the prices are, the food and service are far from being so; do not waste money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Doesn't Disappoint!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have only been to a Ruth's Chris once before, and that was close to 20 years ago and in Chicago. It was a wonderful experience, and I'd been wanting to visit the one in South Bend for close to 10 years now, but have not been able to due to schedules. With all that anticipation, my wife and I finally got to go in this past weekend, and it was everything I'd hoped for. We had a wonderful time, great food, fantastic service, and a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience began with the online rese ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My experience began with the online reservation which was easy and accommodating. I appreciated the reminder and allowance to adjust my arrival time. I also appreciated having my special request honored with great dignity. You see my husband and I do not practice celebrating birthdays. However, for his 70th I wanted to let him know how thankful I am for his being alive and well every day of his life. When I expressed his feelings thru the reservation I was pleased when we arrived and the staff welcomed him with a simple "Happy Birthday John". He was pleasantly surprised. He ordered his favorite T Bone. When it was served it was not to his liking. Our waitress, Jessica, reassured him it would immediately be replaced and it was. It was excellent. Side order portions were enough for us to split with some to take home. Everything was delicious. The surprise dessert for John topped the evening off. I must give an extra thumbs up for our waitress Jessica and her assistant, Marrisol. They were excellent! Their pleasant conversation was encouraged. Their service was perfect. They made us want to stay and return. We enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Personalized evening smart server great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Personalized evening smart server great food and drink. We had a blast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievably, the broccoli (for which th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Unbelievably, the broccoli (for which they charge $10!) came out stone cold. Like, out of the refrigarator cold. They took not off our bill, but for $200, they could ensure the food is cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

They really care about your experience here.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

They really care about your experience here. They went above and beyond to make sure to cook me food that met my allergies and picky needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New York strip ordered med rare and was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

New York strip ordered med rare and was served med well. Filt was ordered medium and was served well done. Very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Birthday

 
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My sister and I take our mother to Ruth's Chris several times a year. Mom loves their lamb chops so it's a must. Will was our server and he was nothing short of great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everrhing worked just like clockwork. The steak was outstanding and service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service made personal. From th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service made personal. From the welcome at the front desk to the final goodbye, the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food for Thought

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was excellent, atmosphere was wonderful, the food was good but for $150.00 I expected it to be excellent as well and unfortunately the Steak and Crab Cakes were just pretty ordinary. Nothing to really set the restaurant apart from the other restaurants other than the décor and wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

everything was great except the broken g ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

everything was great except the broken glass dropped on the table when we first got there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit lacking. Water glasses ran dry.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The salad and main entree were awesome. The dessert was just ok. Switched up servers mid stream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Anniversary dinner-date

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd anniversary and had an amazing experience at Ruth's Chris! The wait staff...actually all the staff were phenomenal. We felt like we were the King and Queen with the chocolate covered strawberries and desserts! Thank you for making our dinner anniversary so special.

Annie S

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Evening

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I make the 45-minute drive from Michigan to dine at Ruth's Chris when celebrating special occasions - it is indeed that special! Not only is the food marvelous, but the ambiance is lovely, quiet, and romantic. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff - they are friendly and attentive and make us feel as though they are glad we're there. Our superb waiter, Alan, even remembered a certain wine that I had hoped to try on an earlier "special occasion" visit (none was left), and he advised me that it was once again available and suggested that I order a glass (it was excellent). How many people would remember something like that?! We highly recommend Ruth's Chris in South Bend and will continue to make the trip as often as we can.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I took my grandmother here for her 67th Birthday. We absolutely enjoyed ourselves. Food was amazing! First time visiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It served some of the best food I've had ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It served some of the best food I've had in South Bend, if not the best! Liked the Price Fixe option because it is a very expensive restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome Steak!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We reserved a table for our 25th anniversary and the steak was awesome. Service was outstanding. They gave us a booth in the corner away from everyone, and it was a lovely quiet setting. We definitely plan on going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We were in town to attend a church conference but decided weeks ago that we'd rather have dinner at Ruth's Chris knowing we could have choosen to eat a delicious - free meal at the church where the conference was being held. It was worth every penny!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.