About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: 5749689700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in South Bend ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service are 5 stars at this ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service are 5 stars at this restaurant. My first complaint is that we were hoping for nice and quiet dinner, and we were seated between a large party of 12, the swinging kitchen door, and the servers station. This dinner was not the quiet special occasion place that we expected. My second complaint is that the servers scrape then stack the dirty dishes table side as they clear the table. This is done right in front of customers still trying to eat dinner. Disgusting! The servers should quietly clear the table and do the scraping back in the kitchen area away from the diners. For the price we paid to eat here, I expected finer service.

The steaks are perfection! I had the smaller rib-eye and it was amazing. Our server was so friendly and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Sorry I heard a lot about this place was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Sorry I heard a lot about this place was came away less than impressed. For $48 for each 16oz Ribeye steak(we each had one) and $12 for potatoes, $9 for a bowl of spinach and $13 for a really poor Tomato/Mozzerella salad that we shared(Au Gratin potatoes were not very good) I was disappointed. I guess I expected for $145 for a meal (without alcohol) to be impressed, I could have gotten the same meal at Outback for $50 or really enjoyed a meal with dessert for $80 - $90 at Yesterdays (and had a better steak). The steak was cooked fine but it wasn't anything to get giddy about. I expected a bigger cut of meat for $48 a steak. Like I said I was expecting to be blown away. Disappointed is not saying enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We like the Ruth's Chris at South Bend. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We like the Ruth's Chris at South Bend. Susan always orders the veal osso buco ravioli. The calamari is also excellent. I like the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic dining experience and a cele ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A fantastic dining experience and a celebration to remember. Excellence is part of the tradition of Ruth Chris and the Granger location has indeed met those expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris South Bend OUTDID themselve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ruth's Chris South Bend OUTDID themselves beyond our imagination ... celebrating 25 and 50 yr anniversaries! THANK YOU THANK YOU! From the personalized menu and rose petals at seating, it never stopped! Yes, we'll be back, oh yes.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner and great food. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and great food. Our server, Summer, was very attentive and friendly. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was phenomenal, ambiance was great, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was phenomenal, ambiance was great, but all of that was secondary to the professional, welcoming, and warm attitude of your manager Tim. The reason I go to this Ruth's Chris is because of Tim ... absolutely the best !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service dessert was inc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food great service dessert was incredible. Large drink menu. Just an overall excellent experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service. Inviting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Inviting atmosphere. Well worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris has a really worthy prix fixe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ruth Chris has a really worthy prix fixe menu that I encourage you to try. Excellent food, cooked exactly as ordered. My only quibble this Sunday was that service, although attentive, was a bit slow and I suppose a staff shortage was the cause.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is consistently very good . Go to R ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is consistently very good . Go to Ruth Chris frequently when in South Bend area.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated in the bar area. Nice are ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We were seated in the bar area. Nice area for drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Host fulfilled my request for a secluded ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Host fulfilled my request for a secluded booth for a romantic meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was not very tender and the ma ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The steak was not very tender and the mashed potatoes were not hot. The salads, bread and cocktails were very good. The lobster was not flaky.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our Anniversary dinner which co ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was our Anniversary dinner which could not have been better - food was outstanding, table perfect (booth in the bar, our favorite), great service, and wondrperful bottle of wine! We go here relatively often, and were pleasantly surprised with the considerate gift of chocolate covered strawberries and signed card from management! Thanks to all foe another great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the few restaurants that always r ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of the few restaurants that always receives a unanimous "thumbs up" when anyone in the group suggests it.

No one was disappointed! Great meal and great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and attentive service Th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very good food and attentive service They even let me change my reservation from 6 to 7 people at the last minute and handled it with aplomb. I was surprised when we arrived that they were very busy but had been so accommodating. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was outst ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. Menu choices were great and waitress was very helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everyone and everything fabulous, tend t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

everyone and everything fabulous, tend to visit The Grille and Mortons in Boston,MA never have been to your steak house in Boston, we will visit now and be back when in town visiting son at UND. Everyone and Everything was super.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was acceptable but not what ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was acceptable but not what I expected from this type of restaurant. Not only were our steaks not even close to properly cooked but neither were either of the tables to the sides of us. The waiter commented that it was clear the steaks were overdone as he set them down. Not sure why he would even carry them out when it was so obvious. Very disappointing for a $100 per person meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I dined for our 44th wedd ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I dined for our 44th wedding anniversary. From the moment we came in we were treated like we were special. As I sat at our table I picked up the menu and opened it. On the left side it said Happy Anniversary Mr and Mrs Marshall. I Thu that was awesome. I had lobster and filet . It was marvelous. We received chocolate covered strawberries and sorbet with a candle. I felt like I was on a cruise ship with everything so elegant. I would love too visit more often but it was very expensive, so we will save it for something special. Thank you.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for our 25th Anniversary and they m ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went for our 25th Anniversary and they made it a perfect evening. Tim the owner stopped by and our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Sent the Neal back 3 ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointing. Sent the Neal back 3 times. So bad they comped the dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Our service was very good. We were disap ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our service was very good. We were disappointed in the food. Our first Ruth Chris experience was in Savannah, GA and was phenomenal, the food was so flavorful. The food at South Bend was a great disappointment to us, not much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Ruth's Mishawaka/Granger is a regular st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ruth's Mishawaka/Granger is a regular stop for our family. Whether it be drinks at the bar or an evening dinner with the family, Ruth's staff does an outstanding job and the food is always over the top. Tim and his staff are great and provide an exceptional night out!

Thanks,

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No peanut butter pie!!! NOOOOOOOO! Tha ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

No peanut butter pie!!! NOOOOOOOO! That's one of the reasons we chose Ruth's chris for our anniversary dinner. How disappointing but the filet and lobster were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for the best stakes in South ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place for the best stakes in South Bend with wonderful service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably our best meal ever at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was probably our best meal ever at Ruth's! We had our usual booth in the bar which is always great as bar is lively. Busy night, but food was perfect and took advantage of half price bottle of wine night! Filet mignons were cooked to perfection and wife's accompanying lobster tail was excellent! Lobster voodoo to start was delicious as always. This remains our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected expensive good experience. More ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Expected expensive good experience. More $$ than expected.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience, as always. We usually ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great experience, as always. We usually choose to eat in the bar - a little noisier, but more lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent and mouthwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is always excellent and mouthwatering. The times we have dined at this facility we were provided with great service. This time, John and Jori provided outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place. Great food. Great service.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely place. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great.. I have dined at many ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was great.. I have dined at many Ruth's Chis and this one was terrible. My steak was tough and had an old smell and taste to it. Sent it back and the second one was like shoe leather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As with all of the other Ruth's Chris locations I've dined at, this one is top drawer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a Thursday night get-together w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a Thursday night get-together with girlfriends, even though more showed than I RSVP'd for, Tim made us feel comfortable and pulled everything together for us at a table in the bar. Service is always spot on and the food is incredible.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best steak that i had in ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the best steak that i had in years and everything from waiters to servers where great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As a school teacher, Ruth's Chris is typically out of our price range. However, a generous gift card from a graduating former student, coupled with a desire to celebrate our sixteenth wedding anniversary enabled a wonderful evening sans children.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, our dining experience was mar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, our dining experience was marvelous! Each staff member was friendly and attentive, and we were even given our favorite booth - that's such a treat! We treasure our visits to the South Bend Ruth's Chris - they are always special occasions to us, and they are SO worth the 45-minute drive from our home in Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best food around! . We h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely the best food around! . We have tried other top-notch steakhouses both locally and other large cities, and they don't come close to Ruth Chris. Highly recommend their USDA Prime Filet & Lobster Voodoo. Our servers have always been very professional and attentive, prompt.

You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People, expect the basics in steakhouse ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

People, expect the basics in steakhouse food and treatment and you will have a fine experience. My steaks have always been great, sides good, drinks fantastic. Andrea is one of the greatest waitresses EVAH!! Expensive? Yeah, but make up your mind: have three "meh" meals at Logan's/Applebee's/Outback or one fabulous one here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.