About Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend

Visit Ruth’s Chris Steak House in South Bend, Indiana. You will discover an inviting atmosphere of warm sunset-tones throughout a cascading waterfall, intimate private dining rooms, a dine-in wine room and a fireplace in the main dining area. The bar area boasts 4 flat-screen TVs along with private booth seating with personal TVs, never missing a chance to watch your favorite team! Host your next special event in the lower level banquet area, equipped with A/V, drop down screens and wireless internet. Savor sizzling, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood and other famous New Orleans-inspired specialties. Join Ruth's Chris for a romantic dinner for two, an important business meeting or a private party.

902 E University Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm -11:00pm Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch: Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Grape Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-9700

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissouthbend.com/

Catering:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House can offer our delicious award-winning cuisine at your home, office or special event. From small, intimate dinner parties to large corporate outings, we make sure to include every detail for your off-site special event. Our catering professionals arrange set-up, décor, event design and of course a delicious Ruth’s Chris menu executing the perfect event. We present the same mouthwatering New Orleans taste you expect from Ruth’s Chris…all priced to fit your budget.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
The Regis Room named after Notre Dame Alum, Regis Philbin, seats up to 20. Dine in style in the Regis Room surrounded by a collection of fine wine. The Coaches Room honoring past and present Notre Dame coaches is an intimate private room and seats up to 16. The Malpass Room named after Scott Malpass, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, University of Notre Dame, seats up to 12. Upper level also offers a larger private dining area seating up to 80. The lower level private dining rooms can accommodate up to 150. All rooms have A/V capability, drop-down screens and wireless internet. Please call us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Beth Mumford: (574) 968-9700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - South Bend Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was good. Lobster bisque tastes like it came from a bag. Steak and service were phenomenal, but the whole package, not really worth a $200 tab.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service are always fantastic. I have never had a bad meal at Ruth's Chris

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I were seated on the patio. It was ok but lacked the ambiance of the restaurant. It was a little chilly with the breeze which would have been easier to plan for had we known we would be on the patio from the reservation. My wife was cold for most of the dinner which made the night less pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and the service were great. I ordered the burger which came out perfect. My wife ordered the stuffed chicken breast quick was perfectly seasoned and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The place is amazing every part was incredible from the food to service they make you feel like your special. The was breathtaking I started with appetizer the voodoo lobster was 22 dollars but is worth it and literally came out with 5 minutes of ordering the steaks we order were made to perfection and tasted perfect I know they are expensive but it's worth what you pay.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and wait staff were great! We truly enjoyed the atmosphere. We plan on going back next week!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We took my mother in law out for her birthday. Everything was wonderful. Great service, Great food, and we all had a Great time!!! We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ruth's Chris puts butter on their steaks. Everything is delicious! Our server, however, only turned his head to me when speaking while I was ordering. I made the res. in my name. But, hubs got all the attention. Annoying...even to hubs.
Okay. Tomahawk rib eye was amazing, the dog chewed on the bone and loved that too. The veggies were delicious, and the fried lobster in a tangy sauce was of course, the best. We also had berries in cream for a light, sweet taste.
Everything was fine, except, I was non-existent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

A trendy spot in Granger. Friendly service, nice bar area and outdoor seating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Me and my wife went in to have lunch for our 2 year anniversary and we had an amazing experience. The service was great the whole time we where there from explaining entrees to helping to pick the perfect bottle of wine for the occasion. The place was very clean and there wasn't loud noise bothering us at all. We needed the experience that was provided from Ruth's Steakhouse. I will definitely go eat there again. I will also tell all my friend about it.Thank you very much

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday does not get any better than this! Food was great as usual, wine excellent, and Will, our server, was terrific! Also, kudos to Christian who assisted Will as he had a lot of personality and enthusiasm. Remains our favorite fine dining venues in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Visiting family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Outstanding Thursday Burger night! The best burger with the best service.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is the second time I have made reservations in advance and they seated us in a less than desirable table. The previous time we were seated in the basement dining room. During our most recent visit, they attempted to seat us at a dark booth in the bar area, but were moved to a brighter window table at our request, but still seated in the bar (and there appeared to be plenty of other table options).
The food is always delicious, which is why you can tolerate the expense, but ambiance is a big part of the experience too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Absolutely fabulous,,,,,,the food was exquisite .......the service was impeccable,,,,,

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have had better steaks at chain restaurants. In addition the staff removed my son's cocktail before he was even done with it without even asking and there still about 1/3 left. Not a good value.. way too expensive for what we got and way too much staff swarming around constantly. It was almost annoying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is the second time ive been there and they both have made me feel a little how do i say it scared. This time my fiancee ordered a dirty martini and i a bloody mary. The bar tender put the bill in a small shot glass in front of me. Almost $24 for two drinks? Are you serious! You would get double the business if you had a affordable menu for the common person. I spent in total $225 dollars for 3 hours of food and drinks. It takes me two days at work to make that. If it wasnt for my fiancee i would not be going back. Way out of my league price wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We drive about 45 minutes to Ruth's Chris when we are celebrating special occasions. The restaurant is lovely, the service is marvelous, and the food is divine! I would like to suggest, however, that when a couple is celebrating a special event, it might not be best to seat a family with a baby right next to them. We view Ruth's Chris as something above and beyond the usual family restaurant; that's why we are willing to drive 45 minutes and pay $200 for a special dinner for two. The mood definitely changed, and my very disappointed husband was ready to leave within a few minutes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This has gone down hill the manager does not know what med rare is. Plus they must have change meat houses the ribeye was tough fatty and that was never the case. Last three time very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A great setting for a quieter dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The service was excellent the food was wonderful all good

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Another great evening at Ruth's. Summer did a great job with service, very attentive and kept a perfect pace with our meals. The evening was very busy, so great service was excellent. Gave a four on food as lobster voodoo was slightly undercooked this time, same great flavor, and my filet mignon was slightly undercooked and an endcut versus centercut (I usually specifically ask for center cut, but failed to do so this time). Seating in the bar area is great, particularly in a booth.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Love it! My favorite place in SB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, good food,friendly service. Have eaten at one in Las Vegas, and one in Louisville and never had a bad meal.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always the lobster mac and cheese is too amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a great experience at Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We eat at this restaurant an average of twice per year. As expected, the steaks are excellent. The calamari is perhaps the best in the world. Unfortunately, I ordered the seared ahi tuna, which was not acceptable. Rather than slices with the skin totally removed, it was served in "chunks" and difficult to cut through the attached skin - even with the provided steak knife. This was a "special" on the menu, but a clue should have been the price 29.99 instead of >40.00 for a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I try and make it to a Ruth's Chris for our anniversary occasionally. This was our 30th and we were treated like royalty! Another great experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Jim did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday, and we ate in the bar w a party of 6.
The service was great and our meals and cocktails were the usual outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Outstanding service and food quality. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
We recommend the wine room for small special occasions like an anniversary.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Bar experience was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think...
Won't do the bar again...way too noisy...I'll do dining room where it's quieter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went out for my sister in laws birthday. We all had a great time. The service and food was amazing like it always is. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not sure it was worth the money. The steak was tough, too much seasoning on the vegetables and we were always waiting for our waiter to come back to the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was a very nice restaurant and the staff was amazing Michael did a great

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Organic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Casual, Late-night Find, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals, Spicy, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Vegan, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My husband and love this place. We relive our first dates,anniversaries,special days, holidays down to just a simple date night ! Every time it's been 100% ! Great staff! Host are very attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

2nd visit in a row our reservation for "lost". Mgr made it up buying drinks for the table. Hostess claimed they overbooked & " lots of people had to wait an hour plus" because of it. I might expect this at a TGI Fridays but not here

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I live in Chicago, so have been to many great steakhouses in my life. Ruth's Chris in South Bend did not disappoint. The food was delicious and the the wait staff were very friendly/attentive. They made our double birthday/anniversary celebration a joy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

There were four of us in the bar area for dinner which is our favorite place for a table - love the ambiance of the bar. Everything was very good, BBQ shrimp and lobster voodoo appetizers, salads, and steak. Only issue was my steak was very over cooked, asked for med rare, got med to med well. Our server, Shea, immediately took it back which was good. However, it took a while before it was replaced (rest of group was almost done with their meal), and it was delivered on a ridiculously hot plate. So hot I had to take steak, which was cooked perfectly, off the plate and put into bread plate or it would over cook on the plate; and when Shea tried to remove the plate after I finished, she had to tear it off of the tablecloth as it was burned into it. This was really over the top, and frankly, a bit disturbing to me. I will never send something back to the kitchen again. Shea did an excellent job, thanks to her!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great dinner on our anniversary. We always enjoy going to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and this time was just as great as all the others. Great food, drinks, and great service. Thank you for a great night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.