About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Executive Chef:
Tim Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Private Room (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Historic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Family Style (7)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always Excellent

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Always Excellent

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Every time I have been here ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Every time I have been here it has been an amazing experience! Definitely a must eat

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Romantic, Healthy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Ruth's Tenderloin rolls yum y ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the Ruth's Tenderloin rolls yum yum yum. Our servers yes servers SG and Bob is the best. We requested a very special drink and Bob studied our moods and made the perfect drink we both enjoyed. Bob , What a valuable employee.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent. Had a slight prob ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was excellent. Had a slight problem with the temperature of the steak (it was still raw) but the staff bounced back very promptly. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Savannah area. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always enjoyed Ruth's Chris in the ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

I've always enjoyed Ruth's Chris in the past, but it was a huge disappointment on Valentine's Day. Even though the restaurant wasn't packed, the service was excruciatingly slow. I ordered a glass of wine to drink with my dinner and it didn't arrive until I was finished eating. Not wanting to slug down a glass of wine and then drive home, I left the entire glass on the table although I paid for it. Additionally, I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass with green beans as my side (in an attempt to choose healthy options), but both were terrible and I didn't really even eat them. The salad and bread were good, though. Our reservation was at 7:00. By 9:00 pm we were past ready to go, so we got our desserts to go and left. Our waiter didn't bother to question the uneaten food or the untouched glass of wine. We didn't say anything because we just wanted to get out of there without any further delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great place for a steak. We had the toma ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a steak. We had the tomahawk ribeye 40 oz. And split it. Unbelievable. Great service also.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak is consistently good, but they hav ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steak is consistently good, but they have to learn how to serve food HOT....for the second time

everything brought to the table (with the exception of the steak) was room temperature. We had to send the soup back. It is as though the kitchen dishes it up as soon as the order is put in and then it just spends time on a warming tray or under warming lights. This issue needs to be

addressed. We have friends who have also commented on this shortcoming. They are going to

lose patrons unless they do something about this in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best meal I've ever had at Ruth's Chris. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best meal I've ever had at Ruth's Chris. The food was phenomenal and the service from our waiter, Christopher, was better. Great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christopher was the best waiter we have ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Christopher was the best waiter we have ever had and he shares our wedding anniversary which earned him bonus points. Food and wine was outstanding. But the service was what made it wonderful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never miss place

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never miss place

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff. Sean was amazing. Food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great wait staff. Sean was amazing. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had! Richard m, our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best steak I've ever had! Richard m, our waiter, was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service and ambiance. Molten ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Impeccable service and ambiance. Molten lava chocolate cake was amazing. Steak good but for the money expected more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Chris our waiter was great. The food was ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Chris our waiter was great. The food was really good as usual. A really good night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very delicious and our server was ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was very delicious and our server was amazing! It was a great way to celebrate our engagement!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week so the three-cour ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was restaurant week so the three-course meal was $30 and is always outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my mothers birthday during Re ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated my mothers birthday during Restaurant Week and it was phenomenal! The food, service, everything was great from start to finish. Our server Richard was excellent! Very attentive with a warm personality. He went above and beyond anything I have ever received at another restaurant. Will definitely be going back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Sports, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. They prepared my foo ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great. They prepared my food custom to accommodate my food allergy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful from start to ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our dinner was wonderful from start to finish. Excellent service, mouth watering food, delicious dessert. We had been told that it could be expensive but in our experience certain menu options were surprisingly affordable making it an excellent dining experience at a fair price. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a consistently great meal and exc ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a consistently great meal and excellent service. We had a party of 4 and took advantage of the restaurant week menu, which is such a great deal! Our server, Chris, was fantastic and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner! Enjoyed myself but it j ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday dinner! Enjoyed myself but it just took to long to get our food. We sat down at 9 & didn't eat until 11:30pm

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was good but my chicken was over ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was good but my chicken was over cooked. It took a long time to come out. Usually the food is good maybe they were busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Ruth's seldom fails to please. Our serv ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ruth's seldom fails to please. Our server, Mimi, was pleasant and efficient. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu and got much better than average value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant with wonderful st ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A beautiful restaurant with wonderful staff. The food was delicious and exceeded my expectations. This was our first visit and the staff made us feel welcome and gave good recommendations for wine and entrees.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Wonderful service.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited for Restaurant Week and were ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We visited for Restaurant Week and were delighted that our food was paced perfectly and arrived to our table as flawless as when we dine at Ruths Chris normally.

Our server, Christopher, was wonderful - anticipating our needs, being sure our requests for items on the side, or extra something were carried out to our satisfaction.

It was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous!!! Filet mignon exquisitely te ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous!!! Filet mignon exquisitely tender and flavorful. Steamed broccoli, sautéed mushrooms also. Fantastic Burly Cabernet Sauvignon . All went together so well. Do it again in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was outstanding! Jaime was w ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our service was outstanding! Jaime was wonderful but the food was terrible. I ordered the filet mignon with garlic mashed potatoes and my steak had no flavor and was not cooked properly. I had to send it back to get recooked and it still wasn't done so I sliced it up and cooked it on the hot plate it was served on. The garlic mashed potatoes tasted like minute potatoes. This place is highly overrated. There are many other places in downtown Savannah to get a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

We returned for restaurant week, and it ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We returned for restaurant week, and it was fantastic. They had taken the Crabtini off the current menu, but they made it for me anyway. Thanks to the great staff. We really enjoyed the table in the Bar. I think I prefer the bar! A perfect evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Restaurant week and were ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went during Restaurant week and were so impressed with the selection of entrees. The steak was cooked to perfection and the desert was wonderful. It was truly a bargain during this week. The service was also top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for birthday celebration during ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went for birthday celebration during restaurant week. Food was outstanding as always. Matt is best waiter in Savannah.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went here for restaurant week in SAVA ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went here for restaurant week in SAVANNAH. Had to change reservation from 6people to 4. I called and it was easily switched. We ate in the wine cellar which was perfect, quiet and comfortable.. Our wait staff was very attentive and informative. All our meals were delicious and nicely presented. The dessert was scrumptious!! I would recommend Ruth Chris to all my friends. We will definitely return once again and maybe next time grab a before dinner drink in the bar area which looked inviting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Great quality food ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great quality food and outstanding service

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a double date night wit ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went here for a double date night with some friends we hadn't seen in a while. We did get seated a bit late (about 15-20 minutes past) for our reservation, but the food and staff made up for the delay. The wait staff were incredibly friendly and provided amazing service. Our food was absolutely delicious - the steaks were amazing (as they should be for their prices). The only thing that really bothered me is that all sides and such are a la carte and pretty expensive, but weren't really anything too special from what we experienced (I had the potatoes, and my husband had the sautéed mushrooms).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time eating at Ruth Chris and I ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time eating at Ruth Chris and I have to say it was fantastic. Service was excellent and steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of my friends and I came out for ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A group of my friends and I came out for Restaurant Week. I understand the stress and business of restaurant week in Savannah, but one of our servers (Chris) was rude. His condescending remarks were uncalled for and unappreciative. As far as the food, I ordered a steak medium rare and it came well done. We will most likely not be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a 6pm reservation and were not se ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a 6pm reservation and were not seated until 6:10pm. That is the only negative though. Christopher was our server and did a phenomenal job. He was pleasant and available when needed, but was not overbearing at all. The food was excellent as always - I had the 11 oz. Filet Mignon and my wife had the salmon. Both were prepared as ordered and were served perfectly cooked and pleasantly displayed. We had the Brancia Tre Super Tuscan, which was an excellent value. The manager was pleasant and apologized for the wait that we experienced. Ruth Chris is one of my very favorite restaurants. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular patrons. Great food, as usual, b ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Regular patrons. Great food, as usual, but service was slower than we expected or are accustomed to. Even on crowded nights like last night we typically don't have to wait as long.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding as usual!

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Outstanding as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.