About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Executive Chef:
Tim Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Specials

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Oct 17, 2016 - Feb 17, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Mondays - Saturdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Oct 17, 2016 - Feb 17, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us on our Patio, Daily from 4:30 p.m. until close to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dog Friendly Patio! Bring you 4-legged friends!. Special valid Oct 17, 2016 - Feb 17, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us to celebrate Valentine's Day, 2017! We'll have a great pre-fixe menu from February 10th-14th and then a special dinner, Love Notes & Bubbles on February 15th! We'll feature live music and a special menu with wine pairings on the 15th!

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Mondays - Saturdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our Red Piano Lounge Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is daily from 4:30-6:30 in our Bar. Full menu also available. Special valid Oct 17, 2016 - Feb 17, 2017 on Mondays - Saturdays from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (17)
Private Room (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Historic (9)
Live Music (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful staff, outstanding service, an ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful staff, outstanding service, and amazing food

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and even better service ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meal and even better service. Richard did an outstanding job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful as always. Just cannot go wro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as always. Just cannot go wrong here. My husband got the shrimp cocktail appetizer served on a plate. The 4 shrimp were gi- normous! He could not finish his steak with those monsters. Sides of mashed potatoes and mushrooms were great. My appetizer tomato salad was also delicious. Our server, Sasha, was on top of things. And of course the steaks were wonderful! Treat yourself!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends and I sat in the bar with bar ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friends and I sat in the bar with bartenders Bob and Melissa, we had an awesome time! Food and service were excellent, as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is definitely what brings us ba ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is definitely what brings us back to Ruth's, but Sunday's brunch and jazz music was a real treat. The musicians were incredibly talented and the selections were great even for someone who isn't that familiar with jazz music. Sasha was a terrific server, very unobtrusive, yet always on the spot with what was needed. Everyone in our party ordered something different and we were all very satisfied. Thanks for a great afternoon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Ruth's Chris for their ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love coming to Ruth's Chris for their once a month Sunday brunch and concert series! Our servers are always attentive, and even though the menu is set, they always are able to accommodate food allergies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful eveinbg out at Ruth C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a wonderful eveinbg out at Ruth Chris. Robert our waiter was very good, the atmosphere perfect, and the food was great! Will do again. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere and service are all gre ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food, atmosphere and service are all great! However, $196.00 for 2 people is a bit much in my opinion. We only go to Ruths Chris about once a year because of this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointed their cappuccino machine wa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Disappointed their cappuccino machine was broken.

Christopher was a excellent server.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Visited for a quite evening out and our ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Visited for a quite evening out and our server Bob was amazing . Thanks Bob

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love my sever and the atmosphere was v ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I love my sever and the atmosphere was very pleasant and Eric was a great server. We enjoyed our time .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, , Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruths Chris Savannah never disappoints! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Ruths Chris Savannah never disappoints! I have had one cut of steak in all the years they've been open that I didn't really enjoy, and they took care of that promptly. Great seafood, salad, apps, but enough about that, if you like prime steak and phenomenal wine, this is the only place in Savannah worth your time. Yes it is a chain, but you would never know it. The staff is always accommodating and do a wonderful job for any occasion. Can't wait for the next reservation!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic, from the food ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything was fantastic, from the food to the service, Matty and James did great! Very relaxed and quiet dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience as usual, and the food ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great experience as usual, and the food is delicious. Speedy service. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knowledgeable staff, comfortable atmosph ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Knowledgeable staff, comfortable atmosphere. Superb food. And they laughed at bad jokes. Lovely time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OVERALL A GOOD EXPERIENCE. DINNER WAS G ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

OVERALL A GOOD EXPERIENCE. DINNER WAS GOOD, WAIT STAFF WAS ATTENTIVE. IT WAS WHAT WE EXPECTED, NO SURPRISES

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated New Years at Ruth Chris, my h ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Years at Ruth Chris, my husband met me there and was parking while our table was called. The hostess asked if I would like to wait for him and I asked if I would loose our table. She assured us we wouldn't and what do you know.... they gave our table away! My husband walked in 5mins after I spoke to her and we had to wait another 25 minutes for a table . Moral of the story, don't trust the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was ok. Our steaks were initially ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok. Our steaks were initially cooked wrong, sent steaks back . When brought out second time, steaks were over cooked. Ruined our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband said it was the best steak he ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband said it was the best steak he has ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took half an hour for the drinks to ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It took half an hour for the drinks to arrive. No apology from the waitress. When I asked her what went wrong she shrugged her shoulders & said the bar was busy! The restaurant was only a third filled.

We had two young children with us. We asked for more bread. That also took 30 minutes to arrive. I've been to several Ruth Chris in NYC & NJ. The service at those other restaurants was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The server was pleasant but they did not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The server was pleasant but they did not have enough service to keep up. Our meal came up before we finished our salad courses and we did not get our drinks until after our entrees. We were celebrating a birthday and it was known but no dessert or anything special offered despite our $500 tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

In all of our travels around the world, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

In all of our travels around the world, wherever there is a Ruth's Chris (Aruba & Mexico) we would dine there because the food is so consistent. The only problem I have with the staff is that they are always trying to upsell more products. The quality of our meal last Saturday night was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The apperance of the resturant was very ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The apperance of the resturant was very festive the staff went out of there way to make our 30th wedding anniversary very special the food and the presentation was outstanding. The staff was very professional I would go back just thought the food was a little expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Would recommend ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance at Ruth Chris has ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and ambiance at Ruth Chris has always been " exceed your expectations", this eveing out was not exception. I would recomend Ruth Chris to anyone, who enjoys a fine dining expierence.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful evening with good wine, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a wonderful evening with good wine, fabulous steaks and a fun wait staff, from the bartender to our waitress. We were visiting Savannah for the weekend and this dinner was definitely a highlight.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter and busser were excellent. Thanks ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter and busser were excellent. Thanks again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have dined at Ruth's Chris many times ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We have dined at Ruth's Chris many times without a notable problem. This time, the service was terrible. We had to wait for our reserved table to be ready. One of the drinks ordered [a draft beer] took 20 minutes to arrive. It took more than 2-1/2 hours to finish, most of which was spent waiting for drinks, food or the bill.

We'll be back and hope that this was a one-time lapse.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

One of our favorites. We always know we ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of our favorites. We always know we will get superior service and food. I cannot recommend this location enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tanya was incredible and the food and ex ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Tanya was incredible and the food and experience was wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the steaks and the service was spec ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love the steaks and the service was special. Mat was our server and he was so observant and pick up on a birthday celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I wish we could eat at Ruth's Chris ever ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I wish we could eat at Ruth's Chris every night. There really is no better place if you love steak done perfectly. We came to celebrate my husband's birthday with another couple and truly enjoyed our meal. Tania and James met our every need and we can't wait to come back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was delicious and ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious and Matty, our server, was impeccable! We celebrated our daughter's 24th birthday and enjoyed every bite and every minute. Perfect as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nicely appointed space with outstan ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Very nicely appointed space with outstanding service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening. Sasha was our waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent evening. Sasha was our waiter and he did a superb job.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sucked! Stingy on turkey and stuffing. A ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Sucked! Stingy on turkey and stuffing. Avoid this place. Major rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Delicious and service was perfect!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious and service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Libby the manager was amazing!!! What a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Libby the manager was amazing!!! What a great person and very helpful. The Thanksgiving meal was horrible. I love Ruth Chris but was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

We chose to have our Thanksgiving meal t ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We chose to have our Thanksgiving meal the evening before, to take advantage of a full menu. As usual we split the entree - 8 oz filet and two lobster tails. Steak was, as always outstanding and the lobster was excellent. Split a chop salad and b-sprouts, both excellent. Service et al were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.