About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Executive Chef:
Tim Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Restaurant Photos

  • Cowboy Ribeye
  • Biale Black Chicken Zinfandel
  • Lobster Roll and French Fries
  • Petite Filet Mignon
  • Pomegranate Martini
Cowboy Ribeye
Biale Black Chicken Zinfandel
Lobster Roll and French Fries
Petite Filet Mignon
Pomegranate Martini

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our Red Piano Lounge Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is daily from 4:30-6:30 in our Bar. Full menu also available. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us on our Patio, Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dog Friendly Patio! Bring you 4-legged friends!. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
8 More
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (61)
Fit for Foodies (48)
See All
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Groups (35)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can't miss

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined 8 hours ago

Can't miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were taken to the wine rack dining ar ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were taken to the wine rack dining area downstairs. The noise level was minimal compared to the main dining area. It was romantic, the ambiance was perfect! Food is always impeccable here, never disappointed. Steak were delicious, no extra seasoning required. It was cooked perfectly. We enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Matty is the best! Food was the best I'v ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 6 days ago

Matty is the best! Food was the best I've had in awhile and it's always good so you'd really outdone yourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic, food was just ok, ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was fantastic, food was just ok, steaks were both over cooked. Overall the meal was a good experience, probably not as good as we had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I had a get together with a few of my lo ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I had a get together with a few of my long time friends, and the overall dining experience was spectacular! Chris took amazing care of us and our food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time that my wife and ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was the first time that my wife and i had even been to the restaurant and we came in for our 4th anniversary. We could not have asked for a better experience and such a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not be more delighted with our din ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Could not be more delighted with our dinner at Ruth's Chris in Savannah. We were celebrating birthdays and the staff brought us champagne with dessert. Our server was very attentive and brought extra bread without our asking.

Love coming here !!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome ! I come here quite often and I ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome ! I come here quite often and I'm never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rest. Was great but the parking downtown ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rest. Was great but the parking downtown is very bad parking garage was full took 20 minutes to find a parking place 5 blocks away

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

we took advantage of restaurant week dis ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

we took advantage of restaurant week discount but have gone other times and the food and service is always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible front service. Refused to seat ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Terrible front service. Refused to seat my wife while I parked the car, and kept us waiting for 45 minutes after our reservation, though she had been there in plenty of time. We went to the bar, where the bartender was courteous, but the rest of the staff was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Absolutely delicious steaks, cooked to p ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely delicious steaks, cooked to perfection. Chris was our server and he was very professional, attentive but not intrusive, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The evening was a special occasion and e ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The evening was a special occasion and everyone in our party enjoyed the food, wine and the service we received at Ruth Chris. Thanks for the birthday card and the celebratory glass of champagne for my birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ruth's Chris is consistently one of our ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ruth's Chris is consistently one of our favorites. We have never been disappointed in food or service. We went on a night when they were particularly busy, and everything was still perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Savannah operation does a great j ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ruth's Savannah operation does a great job. We are not "big" eaters and the ability to share makes this a wonderful dining experience. I was a bit disappointed that for restaurant week portion sizes were reduced. It turned out OK but I wonder at the impression that new-to-Ruth's customers get. The only negative has been the lack of a decent fresh peppermill. I now bring my own.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I always enjoy doing at Ruth Chris. Foo ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I always enjoy doing at Ruth Chris. Food, service, etched is always great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was Restaurant Week with the special ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was Restaurant Week with the special menu but we were treated like any diners ordering off the full menu. It was an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had dinner during Savannah Restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had dinner during Savannah Restaurant Week. We invited another couple to celebrate the two men's birthdays. We all ordered from the Special Three Course menu. All had delectably delicious steaks, salads (two made special), and the wonderful desserts. It was truly a happy birthday's celebration. Richard served us very well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The staff is always s ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great experience! The staff is always so accommodating, especially the general manager, Tony Creed who ensure there was a gluten free dessert for my wife. Food was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food Savannah restaur ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service and food

Savannah restaurant week specials are wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak you'll ever have!!! Great fr ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best steak you'll ever have!!! Great friendly service!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was at Ruth-Chris for my birthday and ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was at Ruth-Chris for my birthday and restaurant week. It was a great evening, with great friends and great food. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and very friendly. The manager came out to ensure that we had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melt in your mouth corn-fed filet mignon ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Melt in your mouth corn-fed filet mignon. Mimi and Francisco made sure we had a pleasurable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always enjoyed Ruth's Chris each vi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Have always enjoyed Ruth's Chris each visit has been great service is excellent

food is awesome especially the Ribeye

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambiance were all that ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were all that we had anticipated--A-one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything, the food was perfect. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Loved everything, the food was perfect. The steaks were absolutely mouth watering .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is a fantastic dining exper ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ruth's Chris is a fantastic dining experience! If you are in for a steak, they are TOPS! A little pricey, so we go when we can splurge or a special occasion. It would be nice if they added the Three Course Meal Classics to the regular menu. Steaks are always cooked to perfection, so tender and brought out on a very hot plate. The sides are just as nice. The creamed spinach and mushrooms are to die for! We really look forward to every visit the this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Service was superb ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a great time. Service was superb. The food was amazing. It was an amazing birthday and a memorable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always and our server, Ma ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Outstanding as always and our server, Matt, delivers impeccable service time after time. He makes the already perfect food even better with his level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite steak place in the Savannah ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My favorite steak place in the Savannah / Hilton Head area. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took a friend out for a birthday dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Took a friend out for a birthday dinner with a group of our friends. We had a fantastic evening! The food was spectacular. Service by Eric was stellar and attentive, despite us being a larger group. Overall everything was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening at Ruth's Chris S ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great evening at Ruth's Chris Savannah. We decided to do n all seafood dinner and we were overly inpressed, considering they are a steak house. Started with the seafood tower which was delicious with beautiful presention. Impressive wine list with many options of every varietal. Staff was very hospitable and friendly. Would recommend for a special night out or any special occasion .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the center cut ribeye and it was t ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the center cut ribeye and it was tough to cut and tough to chew. Flavor was alright but certainly nothing special. I did not send it back since the other folks seemed to enjoy their meal and I didn't want to spoil the occasion..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was amazing. Service was good. It g ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was good. It got considerably louder as the evening went on and the drinks were flowing, but other than that, it was a great experience as always. Randi is great for event planning as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ruth Chris was perfect in every way. Ste ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ruth Chris was perfect in every way. Steaks were flavorful, tender and delicious and the au poivre sauce was perfect. The wedge salad was delicious and the cheesecake was a perfect ending. Dinner was great. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here on many occasions. Th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have dined here on many occasions. The food on this visit just didn't impress me. We sent a NY strip back to be cooked further. One of the rib eyes was over cooked. We also ordered 2 rib eyes. One MW and the other medium. We believe the chef cooked both at MW and the strip at MR. We hate to send food back because we are not "those kind of people", however, next time we will caution our waiter beforehand to make sure our food is properly prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great. It would be nice ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was great. It would be nice if they could have parking more convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The consistency of Ruth's Chris that the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The consistency of Ruth's Chris that they are notable for. Only recommendation for management is when the table next to us decided to face time with their daughter in CA and pass the phone around (on speaker) they should have been asked to go outside if they wished to talk on speaker. I personally think it's rude to talk on the phone at the dinner table and especially in a fine dining venue. But to use speaker is just ignorant and should not have been overlooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Sean took great care of us and dinner wa ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Sean took great care of us and dinner was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. My wife had the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was excellent. My wife had the filet--she really enjoyed it, although it was over cooked slightly. I had the ribeye. Basically no flavor at all and very tough--not what I expect from Ruth's Chris.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.