About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - Close Daily
Happy Hour Menu available 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday - Friday
Live Music Thursday - Saturday

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day

Reservations are recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800.

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Executive Chef:
Michael Romano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.
For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 today!

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunch Seminars, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions or Team Get-Togethers, count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration! Bring your family & friends together for a delicious occasion they'll always remember.

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner or Wedding more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Join us in our Red Piano Lounge Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is daily from 4:30-6:30 in our Bar. Full menu also available. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Dad, Grandpa and your Uncles with one of their favorites, a sizzling steak! We will be opening at 11 a.m. Enjoy a 40 oz. Tomahawk Ribeye or a 19 oz. Bone in Ribeye
Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us on our Patio, Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dog Friendly Patio! Bring you 4-legged friends!. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
8 More
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

special occasion (90)
romantic (64)
notable wine list (57)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (39)
vibrant bar scene (19)
hot spot (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I came for his birthday d ...

Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I came for his birthday dinner and sat in the bar. The server, Kate, was very friendly and helpful. The entire bar staff were all very attentive to our needs and made this a wonderful experience for us. Our food was cooked perfectly, and everything came out exactly how we ordered it. We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our wedding anniver ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond. From the quaint alcove seating to outstanding service from Kari we had a wonderful evening that was topped off by personal cheesecake that was a surprise gift.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Steaks done right.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Steaks done right.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening

Dined on May 16, 2016

I took my mother to dinner, and we sat in the bar. Everything was delightful! Kate gave us amazing service and was charming throughout dinner. Our seafood tower was both beautiful and delicious, and the steaks are like none other. We wished we could have sat there until it was time to eat again! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal - Terrific service!

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband took me there for my Mother's Day dinner a week after. We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Matt, our server, was great. The food, as always was delicious. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated MOTHER'S day wit friends and had good service and great food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole staff truly impressed us. It w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The whole staff truly impressed us. It was worth every penny and if will be our number one place to visit monthly. Thanks so much for helping me celebrate with my wife on her day on Mother's Day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thanks again for another great meal and awesome service from Tony, Luke, Bethany and Randi. Ruth's never disappoints and our friends were truly impressed. We will all be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special Mother's Day. The food and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very special Mother's Day. The food and service was nothing but first class.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you need a break from Low Country goodies...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Once you get your fill of fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits and the other low country delicacies, it's good to know that delicious meat-centric entrees beckon from Ruth's Chris. Located on West Bay Street in the historic district, it's a quick and easy walk from many of the hotels on or near River Street. The steaks, chops and seafood are all excellent here, and the variety of starters and side dishes never disappoint. We've dined in many Ruth's Chris locations on multiple occasions across the US and the Savannah restaurant is now one of our favorites. We enjoyed a kumato and mozzarella salad, ribeye, petite filet and lobster tail, and asparagus with hollandaise sauce - everything was prepared to our specifications (medium rare steaks and lightly seasoned lobster tail) and tasted wonderful. The wine selection is quite nice, and there are several price points to purchase wine by the glass or by the bottle. We will most definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's Ruth's Chris!

Dined on April 30, 2016

What can I say? They do everything right. Reservation ... Right on time. Great table, great server, great wine and great steak . One of the better Ruth's Chris I have been to.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

This was my first trip to Ruth's. I've ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This was my first trip to Ruth's. I've been to Morton's and Hall's Chop House in Charleston. I have to say I was disappointed in Ruth's Chris. The lobster mac and cheese was nothing special, they even used plain old elbow macaroni, I had a chef's special filet medallions and it was a little tough and too spicy. The desserts were ok but overall it was a mediocre meal extremely overpriced. If I order a $60 steak, I expect to be able to cut it with a butter knife

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at this excellent restaur ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Our experience at this excellent restaurant was outstanding. Service undertaken by Tanya was superb. Management was in evidence throughout our dining experience to ensure all our needs were met. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and sides, including the asperagus was cooked al dente. Again, Tanya is a absolutely a bright superstar and it was a most memorable experience because of the outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently Good

Dined on April 27, 2016

Ruth Chris always seems to bring great food no matter what state you find them in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Waitress got hung up talking to a 4 top ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Waitress got hung up talking to a 4 top for way too long. Left my table with poor service.,

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and outstanding service b ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious food and outstanding service by Matt, as always! Matt is wonderfully knowledgeable and attentive!

food5
ambience5
service5

From the wine to the steak to the atmosp ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the wine to the steak to the atmosphere it was all amazing , can't wait to go back , can't believe it took me this long to try it . A must have !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was even better! I can't wait to go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Ruth's Chris steakhouse ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have eaten at Ruth's Chris steakhouse in various cities across the country and Canada. Savannah was indeed a treasure. Across the street from our hotel on the river it could not have been more convenient. The staff and our waiter were very friendly and attentive. The food was fantastic. The lobster appetizer was perfectly presented, the steaks are always the best and the lobster mac and cheese definitely more than child's fare. A do not miss when visiting Savannah!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating my daughter's best friend bi ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Celebrating my daughter's best friend birthday and decided on Ruth's Chris. The meal and service was exceptional.

food4
ambience5
service4

The taste of the steak

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The taste of the steak

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Steaks are excellent, lobster bisque-yum! Steaks and Shrimp was great and crab stuffed mushrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's portions are LARGE.

Dined on April 9, 2016

We split an 11oz filet, baked potato, chop salad. Add a beer and glass of wine and two ate for $94, including tip. Great steak and value for lighter eaters.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining with friend

Dined on April 4, 2016

Treated my friend and her son for the first time to Ruth's Chris ever. Overall, she was incredibly impressed. Bright and cheerful Maisy, the hostesses, was especially welcoming upon entry and once seated in the lounge, we were greeted by the astonishingly magnificent Melissa, who took great care of us throughout the night. The manager, Tanya, even stopped by to make sure everything was prepared perfectly. Overall, we had a fantastic night filled with great food, wine, conversation, and spectacular service!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Prompt seating. Friendly Service. Best steaks we have eaten in a long time. Definitely coming back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This reservation was for a couple going ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

This reservation was for a couple going to prom. They said they had a really great time at prom but the favorite part of the evening was the time spent at Ruth's Chris. Nice to know teenage customers can go to a fine dining establishment and receive quality service Thank you Randi. You always take care of us and any one we send your way.

food5
ambience5
service5

Seated right on time. Bone-in filet was ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Seated right on time. Bone-in filet was expensive and soooo worth it. Had black pants on so the server switched my linen from white to black. We like little touches like that. Highly recommend. Wine by the glass had a fairly nice selection compared to some higher end restaurants.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience at Ruth's Chris

Dined on March 29, 2016

Return visit to Savannah Ruth's Chris...same result. Excellent food and service. Everything is top notch and very classy. Servers are very attentive without being bothersome and go out of their way to please you in any way possible. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Great location. I have always enjoyed Ru ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great location. I have always enjoyed Ruth Chris and have been to numerous locations across the country. Our waiter tried his very best and was professional, knowledgable about the menu and courteous. The food was below what you would expect. My husbands filet was full of fat and the Brussels sprouts were cold very hard and definitely under cooked. My filet was prepared perfectly and was very tasty and I very much enjoyed the chopped salad. We started with the seared tuna and the crab stack. They were both average. Overall it did not meet what I had previously known or expected from a Ruth chris. The manager Lindsey was on top of things. She noticed the steak was a bad cut and the Brussels sprouts. She immediately tried to fix the situation and she brought out new brussel sprouts and offered to make another steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always

Dined on March 27, 2016

I have eaten at Ruth's Chris on several occasions and it is always a treat. The steaks are amazing, the sides are filling and the white bread pudding is to die for :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

not a good experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

The steak was way overcooked, burnt on top, not enjoyable to eat. I would suggest that the sides would be smaller portions, so you could have broccoli and mashed potatoes with your steak. The waitress was more interested in a party instead of taking care of us. I hardly had any tea to drink. The hostess was alright but not personable at all. The manager never said her name and seemed too busy to appreciate the customers and they did not pay for the parking.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy family

Dined on March 27, 2016

We always love dining at Ruth Chris of Savannah. We are never disappointed by the food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chilled Seafood Tower was to die for ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Chilled Seafood Tower was to die for! It had fresh, succulent shellfish that was beautifully presented. A feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. Will definitely order it again.

food3
ambience4
service4

The service was quite good. The sides we ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was quite good. The sides were good, but my NY strip was a bit chewy.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Still good, but not what it used to be

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The good news is that the food at Ruth's Chris is pretty consistent across the board so if you have a favorite, you can probably get it at any of their locations. And the service is almost always top quality. Ruth's Chris Savannah was no different. But we were very disappointed to see that at this location, they've really let the dress code go. No longer is this a place where you need to make any effort to look nice. We saw plenty of men in shorts, collarless shirts, jeans, untucked shirts, even baseball caps. The hostess said that their only rule of dress was that men could not wear hats in the dining room. How disappointing, then, that we sat across from two clueless chumps: one in a baseball cap and one in a visor. (Amazingly, they were both adults.) The restaurant management did nothing. We will not return to this Ruth's Chris for that reason but for anyone out there who feels burdened by having to meet minimum dress requirements, this is your place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a family dinner.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great place for a family dinner.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fantastic food less than fantastic service

Dined on March 24, 2016

Took 3 business associates for dinner hoping to impress them with great service and fantastic steaks. Got the great steaks but the service was lacking. We waited to have our order taken, never asked if we'd like anything else to drink, dessert took along time then longer to get the bill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

William

Dined on March 22, 2016

Great steak and side dishes are excellent. No need for a reservation as they take walk ins before reservations.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as expected!

Dined on March 21, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner immensely. It was for our anniversary and it was worth traveling 45 minutes to get there for this meal. A surprising element of the meal was actually the mushroom side! It was in a veal demi sauce - awesome! We ate every mushroom and then dipped our fries in what was left of the sauce...yumm. The steak my wife ordered was a little over done but that was rectified quickly and to her satisfaction. This is definitely one of the top must-return to restaurants on our list.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

One of my favorites

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.