About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Executive Chef:
Tim Bowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (57)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Business Meals (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (18)
Private Room (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Historic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (8)
Live Music (8)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely great service ordered the 6 ounce as we were not that hungry. The steak needed no sauce just Great
Randi was excellent we did not wait long for anything can't wait to get desert we were just too full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Randi and Anna made sure we had an awesome meal. Loved the wine cellar!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and services was extraordinary. Thanks to Randi Hempel for providing a wonder evening of celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

An excellent decision when looking for a restaurant when celebrating an occasion. It is also an excellent decision anytime because the food is so good and very well prepared. Service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The Dinner with The Chef meal was amazing! Every course was perfectly executed for us and all of the questions we had were answered. Great night out

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service is fantastic and the food is great! You pay for what you get! High quality restaurant!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a great steak! Never disappoints! Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I ordered the grilled salmon with broccoli. The salmon was overcooked and had a ridiculous amount of salt. They topped it with butter and that made it worse! The broccoli was overcooked as well. I gave 2 stars for the salad. I should have stopped with the salad. I was very disappointed because with the price point, the salmon should have been awesome. There are a lot of places to dine in Savannah and I wished I had gone to "The old pink house" because they are ALWAYS consistent. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing as always great food great sevice,only place to go for steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We can always count on delicious food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very disappointed,food cooked opposite of order. Small table for all the things we were ordering, sat closer to other patrons than I would've like.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband and our friends ate dinner in the bar. The musicians were really great, as was the food. The bartenders Bob & Nikki were incredibly helpful, and our server Lissa was super! Everyone was so accommodating, and made our evening out a memorable experience. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is the second time that my wife has eaten in your Savannah Restaurant in the last nine months and both times her filet was ordered medium rare and came medium (the waiter agreed each time). The first time she sent it back and received a properly cooked filet, however, her dining companions at that point had finished their meals. This second time, she declined to have it sent back as it had taken a long time to be served and she did not want to wait. You comped her meal which was very nice. Her question is "steak is your thing, why can't you get it right?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful experience. Will return when visiting Savannah GA again. Our server, Sasha, was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fireplace, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived for our reservation on time. We asked to be seated in the bar area for our dining which was accomplished with no problem. We were told our server would be Melissa. After a while we noted that others who were seated after us were being attended and we were not. A person from the hostess staff passed by and I mentioned to her we were not being served. Immediately, she had server Bob who was attending nearby customers come to our assistance. Bob was great and the rest of our meal was problem free. Kudos to Bob ...he was GREAT !! BOO to Melissa who we saw in the area but she never acknowledged us or apologized for the slight. At the prices Ruth's Chris charges, we believe the service should be spot-on at all times and Bob met that standard. Our fair rating for service is directed at Melissa and NOT Bob.

Our meal was outstanding !! We both had salads and filets with a side order of French Fries. The salads were very good and the filets were cooked perfectly, as always.

We dine often at the Ruth's Chris locations in Chicago and Cabo and the experiences are always great. Our experience at Savannah got off to a rough start but Bob turned it into another great experience. Thanks , Bob !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great steak but other items where not extraordinary esp for price

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Still one of the best dining options in Savannah. Wait staff is attentive, efficient and obviously well trained. Prices are on par with any great steak house. We have never been disappointed in the quality of food or service. It remains one of our favorite "special occasion" choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I usually love Ruth's Chris, but our trip in Savannah was awful. My steak was cooked wrong not once, but twice. Half of our sides came to the table cold. It took over 30 minutes for them to replace the food after we'd already waited the normal time frame to get it :( so disappointed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 4, 2017

a little bit pricey, our waitress was fantastic, my wifes steak was over $50, and the meat tasted a little old. otherwise a very nice time.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time with our friends. Great food, a wonderful wait staff and fabulous drink selection!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Vegan, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Me and my wife both had the filet. Fantastic!! Great service by Jaime!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was excellent. Food was very good, steak was seasoned very well and tender.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were celebrating a friends birthday. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always love our Ruth's Chris dining experience! The food was awesome and the service Eric gave us was above and beyond!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As usual Ruth's Chris was excellent. We went with other aficionados and everyone enjoyed themselves. The manager didn't come around and harass us with stupid questions either.
I would recommend the brand to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great steaks, good service, doesn't have Bananas Foster on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Unbelievably good. Best Ruth's Chris experience yet.

Tags: Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always Excellent

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I visited on Saturday to celebrate her birthday and the food was absolutely incredible. The steaks were delicious and cooked perfectly. I was extremely pleased by the service provided by Chris and Derrick. They were very professional, attentive and polite. Chris described the special Valentines menu and was able to answer questions about it, even discussing options if we wanted to substitute side dishes. A special thank you to Randi for helping make our night special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! Every time I have been here it has been an amazing experience! Definitely a must eat

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Romantic, Healthy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had the Ruth's Tenderloin rolls yum yum yum. Our servers yes servers SG and Bob is the best. We requested a very special drink and Bob studied our moods and made the perfect drink we both enjoyed. Bob , What a valuable employee.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful post-Valentines Day menu was offered. Everything was delicious, including dessert and a post dinner champagne toast.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Had a slight problem with the temperature of the steak (it was still raw) but the staff bounced back very promptly. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Savannah area. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've always enjoyed Ruth's Chris in the past, but it was a huge disappointment on Valentine's Day. Even though the restaurant wasn't packed, the service was excruciatingly slow. I ordered a glass of wine to drink with my dinner and it didn't arrive until I was finished eating. Not wanting to slug down a glass of wine and then drive home, I left the entire glass on the table although I paid for it. Additionally, I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass with green beans as my side (in an attempt to choose healthy options), but both were terrible and I didn't really even eat them. The salad and bread were good, though. Our reservation was at 7:00. By 9:00 pm we were past ready to go, so we got our desserts to go and left. Our waiter didn't bother to question the uneaten food or the untouched glass of wine. We didn't say anything because we just wanted to get out of there without any further delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place for a steak. We had the tomahawk ribeye 40 oz. And split it. Unbelievable. Great service also.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, service ambiance. Server was courteous, timely and knowledgeable. Valentines day celebration. Had the 40 oz. Tomahawk. Tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steak is consistently good, but they have to learn how to serve food HOT....for the second time
everything brought to the table (with the exception of the steak) was room temperature. We had to send the soup back. It is as though the kitchen dishes it up as soon as the order is put in and then it just spends time on a warming tray or under warming lights. This issue needs to be
addressed. We have friends who have also commented on this shortcoming. They are going to
lose patrons unless they do something about this in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best meal I've ever had at Ruth's Chris. The food was phenomenal and the service from our waiter, Christopher, was better. Great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.