About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Valet Service begins at 4:30 p.m. across the street at the Bohemian Hotel - Card only- for $10 per vehicle. Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour. On street parking is free after 5 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Richard Hattaway

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Specials

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our Red Piano Lounge Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is daily from 4:30-6:30 in our Bar. Full menu also available. Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us on our Patio, Daily from 4:30 p.m. until close to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dog Friendly Patio! Bring you 4-legged friends!. Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (55)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Private Room (16)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Family Style (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Live Music (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Modern Decor (7)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The bread was not hot and the lamb chops and asparagus were overcooked. The service is extremely slow although the waitress was very nice. This was my second attempt here in two weeks. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Food came out super late, had to wait for over 20 min to be seated when I already MADE RESERVATION!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great great and great .Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food here at Ruth Chris is always good. The staff is very well trained and they bend over backwards to please you. Ruth Chris is my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Steaks were perfect. Wait staff did their jobs to the highest standards. The side dishes are good size and enough to share. Lobster Mac n Cheese very dry. Overall experience Superb.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I have eaten at many Ruth's Chris Restaurants all over the US. We also frequent this particular restaurant regularly; however, on this special occasion we received the worst service ever. Our waiter had our table of 4 and a large family group of 10-12 and we were simply forgotten. We asked for drinks and condiments and it definitely did not come in a timely manner. Our food was cold because it sat too long in the kitchen waiting for someone to bring it to our table. Very disappointing indeed!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We enjoyed it. Food was delicious. Service was good

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My server Eric was great. The food was amazing.. He gave a perfect wine recommendation that was fitting for the occasion.. We will definitely come back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent excellent excellent. .thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was amazing! From the moment we walked in the door, we knew the dining experience would exceed our expectations in a positive way! Well done to the kitchen staff! Very delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesone as always very gracious staff food exceptional thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is my second visit to a Ruths Chris, however, my first to the Savannah location. Our server was top notch and did a fantastic job. I had ordered the bone in filet however I received the regular filet. The presentation was less than I expected, with the plate being covered with spatter marks that had not been wiped clean before arrival to the table. My steak was not particularly flavorful (in fact the choice grade I regularly buy and prepare had more flavour) however the most disappointing thing was that the filet was dry. It was a disappointment. However, my son had a porterhouse to himself and he reported that it was juicy and flavourful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Jill and Lissa were awesome eye candy in the bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Dinner was fabulous as expected. Sean's presence and attention to detail made for a great dinner with my daughter. The creme brûlée we always share for dessert was out of this world. Thanks Ruth's Chris for a great night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of the best steak I ever had (strip steak/medium rare). Cooked perfectly. Seated near entry entry-way from downstairs kitchen so a little distracting, and my sons fries were very greasy, but the outstanding service was more than enough to make up for those small issues. Yes the prices are high but the quality of the steak is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Attended the Hill Family wine dinner, and it was fantastic! They were accommodating to my dietary needs which was wonderful. The food by Chef Hattaway was on point, and the service by Bethany was perfect--attentive but not obtrusive. Would definitely dine again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Authentic, Fun, Great Beer, Business Meals, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Dancing, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a party of 3, three sisters. We had one of the best meals of our lives. Peppercorn crusted filet, au gratin potatoes, bread pudding, YUM! All of the staff was very friendly, including the singer in the lounge! Prices are a bit high, so this was a splurge for us but worth every penny. Thank you to everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

French Fries soggy not crisp, bone in NY strip weak in size and flavor, service was great

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Showed up right on time for my 8:45 reservation for three on a Friday night and the restaurant was about half full, yet we were asked to sit and wait on the bench by the host stand looking at empty tables for at least 15 minutes before finally being seated. I'll never understand that. Once seated, it was another ten minutes of various servers & server assistants passing by our table with no acknowledgement until we were finally greeted by the one who, judging by the look of everyone's lack of desire to take a table after 9:00 with which I revert back to our speedy seating process, must've been the server to draw the short straw and who's name I didn't even pay attention to because at that point I just wanted to eat. He was a nice guy, and I'll say he certainly does know the place because he gave a very long, thorough and detailed menu and restaurant concept description which really is great for first time diners to hear, except for the fact that prior to his spiel when he asked us if we all had dined at a RCSH before, we all affirmed we had been many times. From then on everything was on point, but the managers can use a lesson on training the staff to make people feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 21, 2017

COMPLETELY enjoyed our time at Chris' Steakhouse! I have eaten at the Chris' Steakhouse near our home in Fayetteville, NC . Truly LOVE the food at both locations; IF I had only one problem: the Chris' in Fayetteville have butterflied grilled pork chops on their menu. The Steak Oscar that I had was SUPERIOR, but I DO LOVE THOSE BUTTERFLIED CHOPS!!!! Thanks again for a special meal in a special place!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fantastic as usual!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Private Room, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always exceptional. There were a few extra items on the menu for Easter brunch; an unusual move for Ruth's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at Ruth's and Sasha was our server. His Russian accent was great and all the girls were swooning. The food was amazing as usual and the service was impeccable. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Ruth's Chris doesn't disappoint no matter what City you enjoy their services/foot in. Loved experiencing fine dinning in Savannah with them!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Absolutely a great place. Atmosphere, food and service first class. Just what one would from a great restaurant. Our group of 10 were all expecting to return

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A fantastic meal. The only thing keeping this review from a perfect score was our table. We were seated at a horrible location right inside the patio door. Everytime anyone went in or out, we were blasted with cold rushing air. The food and service were meticulous. We are coming back with our pooch to sit on the patio and enjoy happy hour.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I had a steak sandwich in the bar and the doneness of the steak ranged from nearly raw to well done. The manager took it off my bill. I did enjoy the ambience in the bar. We were there on a Friday night and the bass player and piano player were quite good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great job as to be expected the service and food are the most consistent in town top of the line

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our waiter ( Kenny ) was outstanding . The best steak ever. My wife and I come to Savannah every April for our anniversary ( 17 years) . We try to find restaurants we get excited about revisiting . This will be one of our next years stops. Thanks for everything, including the anniversary cup cakes. How special was that. Have a blessed day.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Server Christopher was great, but the kitchen and the manager were something to be desired. Our venison ravioli had to be sent back because there was no sauce on it - not served by Chris. Moreover, our steak plates came out cold and our steaks were not hot - almost as if they had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while, which were served to us not by Chris but by the manager. Perhaps the manager needs to undergo quality assurance training along with his staff. We are frequent guests of the Savannah Ruth's Chris, certainly an upscale restaurant. One would expect, upscale service for a $450 meal for two and not cold steaks, cold plates, and an incorrectly prepared ravioli appetizer. Disappointing is the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Went for dinner tonight and everything was amazing. My steak was cooked perfectly and the sides and creme brûlée was outstanding. Not to mention the service by Christopher was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Dinner was amazing as usual. From the ambiance to the service and the food. 5 stars as always. Thanks again for a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing service and food! Robert was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is always cooked perfect. ! Taste great !! We have never had anything bad there

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service was fine. Food was not. Open face steak sandwich (bar menu) was TEPID. Shoestring potatoes were squishy. My wife's stuffed chicken was underdone (blood at the bone), Brussels's sprouts over soaked with oil.

We sat at the bar. Bartender was helpful, cut a bit from the bill.

We are very familiar with Ruth's Chris. This one, after several visits, has the smell of failure. We visit Savannah about twice a year. This Ruth's Chris will NOT be on our go to list again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Absolutely great service ordered the 6 ounce as we were not that hungry. The steak needed no sauce just Great
Randi was excellent we did not wait long for anything can't wait to get desert we were just too full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Randi and Anna made sure we had an awesome meal. Loved the wine cellar!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and services was extraordinary. Thanks to Randi Hempel for providing a wonder evening of celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

An excellent decision when looking for a restaurant when celebrating an occasion. It is also an excellent decision anytime because the food is so good and very well prepared. Service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.