About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours:
Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - Close Daily
Happy Hour Menu available 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday - Friday
Live Music Thursday - Saturday

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Christmas & New Year's Day

Reservations are recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800.

Parking Details:
Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.
For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 today!

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunch Seminars, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions or Team Get-Togethers, count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration! Bring your family & friends together for a delicious occasion they'll always remember.

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner or Wedding more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Restaurant Photos

  • Cowboy Ribeye
  • Biale Black Chicken Zinfandel
  • Lobster Roll and French Fries
  • Petite Filet Mignon
  • Pomegranate Martini
Cowboy Ribeye
Biale Black Chicken Zinfandel
Lobster Roll and French Fries
Petite Filet Mignon
Pomegranate Martini

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
7 More
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Service
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (44)
notable wine list (35)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the center cut ribeye and it was t ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I had the center cut ribeye and it was tough to cut and tough to chew. Flavor was alright but certainly nothing special. I did not send it back since the other folks seemed to enjoy their meal and I didn't want to spoil the occasion..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was amazing. Service was good. It g ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was good. It got considerably louder as the evening went on and the drinks were flowing, but other than that, it was a great experience as always. Randi is great for event planning as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ruth Chris was perfect in every way. Ste ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ruth Chris was perfect in every way. Steaks were flavorful, tender and delicious and the au poivre sauce was perfect. The wedge salad was delicious and the cheesecake was a perfect ending. Dinner was great. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here on many occasions. Th ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have dined here on many occasions. The food on this visit just didn't impress me. We sent a NY strip back to be cooked further. One of the rib eyes was over cooked. We also ordered 2 rib eyes. One MW and the other medium. We believe the chef cooked both at MW and the strip at MR. We hate to send food back because we are not "those kind of people", however, next time we will caution our waiter beforehand to make sure our food is properly prepared.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great. It would be nice ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was great. It would be nice if they could have parking more convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The consistency of Ruth's Chris that the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The consistency of Ruth's Chris that they are notable for. Only recommendation for management is when the table next to us decided to face time with their daughter in CA and pass the phone around (on speaker) they should have been asked to go outside if they wished to talk on speaker. I personally think it's rude to talk on the phone at the dinner table and especially in a fine dining venue. But to use speaker is just ignorant and should not have been overlooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Sean took great care of us and dinner wa ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Sean took great care of us and dinner was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. My wife had the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was excellent. My wife had the filet--she really enjoyed it, although it was over cooked slightly. I had the ribeye. Basically no flavor at all and very tough--not what I expect from Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

My parents were in town, it was my mothe ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My parents were in town, it was my mother in law's birthday as well and the night was great overall at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Tanya provided outstanding service to us and the food was amazing. The steaks are still sizzling when they are brought to the table as they are placed on 500 degree hot plates so you have to be careful! We had delicious crab stuffed mushrooms for appetizers. The Ribeye was very juicy and flavorful, probably should have gotten a bigger size because it was delicious. We can't say enough how professional everyone was with us and the ambient here is fantastic! Thank you so much to Tony the General Manager and the crew for a wonderful night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Ruth's Chris Savannah s ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have eaten at Ruth's Chris Savannah several times. This was a rare occasion we had issues but it happened. The food was overall good, not great, but the service was not so great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Had not been to the Aavannah Ruth Chris' ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had not been to the Aavannah Ruth Chris' but fund it to be the best so far.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Luke and Matt were so wonderful as alway ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Luke and Matt were so wonderful as always. We celebrated some wedding anniversary's and had a wonderful time. Ruth's is exceptional is both service and food and my son commented that his steak was "life changing". We love Ruth's and the commitment to outstanding service as well as personal touch on regular customers. Thank you again for an amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will not be disappointed celebrating ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

You will not be disappointed celebrating at Ruth Chris. The steaks are outstanding and the lobster mac and cheese is a bomb. We were celebrating my daughters birthday. She was presented with two mini cheesecakes with candles. Nice touch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overuse of butter on both the steak and ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Overuse of butter on both the steak and fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Thank you for valuing our opinion. We v ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Thank you for valuing our opinion. We visited Ruth Chris on Father's Day. The overall experience and lunch was wonderful!!! Richard was our server and did a great job! We dine out very often and even though the food is delicious, often times the service will be lacking and therefore takes away from the experience. Not the case at Ruth Chris. Thank you Richard!!! We look forward to visiting again and have already "bragged" to many about where we spent our Father's Day!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress was wonderful and very help ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The waitress was wonderful and very helpful with explaining the menu. The Calamari was Delicous😋 and the Lump CrabCakes were full real crab meat very DeliciousDelicious

The Steaks were cooked to Perfection!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect! Everything we had ...

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was perfect! Everything we had was delicious and our server, Katy, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is AWESOME! The Server wa ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

All I can say is AWESOME! The Server was exceptional, very attentive, Food simply DIVINE!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet and ribeye steaks were amazing ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The filet and ribeye steaks were amazing, the filet melted in your mouth. Crab cakes were goodsize, but very bland tasting. Service wasgreat.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was good but got off to a sl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was good but got off to a slow start. We were there several minutes before being asked for our drink order. Then it took a while to get the drinks. The waiter was not aware of their graduate special which was $45.95 off your bill for any graduate as long as you ordered four additional entrees. We ordered two bowls of Lobster Bisque that did not have a bit of lobster in it. We brought it to the waiters attention, he acted surprised but did not offer to switch it for another order and did not take it off of our bill. I ordered a 11oz Filet but it came out the same size of the other three 8 oz Filets that we ordered. We did get two free desserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

More and more, we just can't stay away f ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

More and more, we just can't stay away from this location of Ruth's Chris. Every time we come we leave raving about the excellence in food, service, and ambience. This time was no exception. We sat in the bar for dinner, and Rita anticipated our every need with a smile. There are a few changes that we have noticed lately. The additions of some low country specials were a pleasant surprise, and the shrimp and grits could compete with any that I have had from Charleston to New Orleans. A couple at the table next to us was talking about how much they had enjoyed the live blues guitarist/singer on the previous weekend, and we can't wait to check it out ourselves. Someone mentioned that Ruth's Chris was stuffy, and we just had to laugh. Even though we only come a few times a year, we are always made to feel like regulars. We find the atmosphere elegant but still comfortable and welcoming. We just might turn out to be regulars after all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. Below average steak.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very good. The waitress was nice and very informative about the menu. Baked potato and salad were good. Nothing spectacular. Steak was below average. Poor quality of meat. Steak was very fatty and a lot of gristle. Would not recommend to anyone even if the price was cut in half. Very disappointing.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall experience was OK. Have had bet ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Overall experience was OK. Have had better meals at other Ruth Chris locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great as usual. The staff is great, food ...

 
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great as usual. The staff is great, food is wonderful. Ask for Matt he does a fantastic job . I recommend the Lobster Mac & Cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hit the mark!

vip
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I have dined at this location many times before and the service is always good, but the food is hit or miss. Well, tonight was a hit. Steak was FINALLY cooked perfect!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bad experience

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything was good except the food. I went there to get a good steak and frankly I have had better at the Golden Corral. The steak was tough and chewy with lots of gristle. I would chew and chew and still have to spit the chewed steak out which was embarrassing. The sad thing is that I dined at a Ruth Chris in San Antonio a couple of months before and my experience was similar. I don't mind spending a lot of money on a good meal but to me, 2 strikes and your out. I don't see myself eating at Ruth Chris again, Thank you - TJ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Graduation Party

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The steaks when they came out were not HOT, but rather warm. We had a large group. Our female waitress was good, but there was some contention between her and another waiter. . . don't know what, however. It took a long time to get the two ordered desserts and when our bill came, the "graduation gift" promotion was not on it, even though it was offered and accepted when we checked in. I think it was the kitchen that was slow, not our server. We thought she was doing the best she could. This is our favorite place in Savannah to take our granddaughter. When it is just the 3 or 4 of us, things are fine, but with a party of nine. .. . . not so good. A bit disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was really good but the service was ...

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was really good but the service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious steaks and an overall fantasti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Delicious steaks and an overall fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This wasn't our first time eating at a Ruth’s Chris’ Steak House, but we were on vacation and wanted to have a lovely meal on our last night and this place knocked it out of the park. Beautiful restaurant. Stellar service. Excellent food. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Took my father who was visiting from out of town to dinner. Our server, Katy, was wonderful, attentive, and knowledgable about the menu. The food was top notch--steaks cooked perfectly, sides delicious. The atmosphere was wonderful, as well. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Reliably delicious and always fine service.

Finding the above pretty rare in Savannah!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and the wait staff wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was delicious and the wait staff was amazing making it very memorable for our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed another great meal at Ruth's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We enjoyed another great meal at Ruth's Chris. We dined at Ruth's Chris last night for our wedding anniversary. As usual the service was outstanding and everything was perfectly prepared. We loved the Anniversary Card at our table which was signed by all the staff members. Nice Touch. Thanks again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came for his birthday d ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I came for his birthday dinner and sat in the bar. The server, Kate, was very friendly and helpful. The entire bar staff were all very attentive to our needs and made this a wonderful experience for us. Our food was cooked perfectly, and everything came out exactly how we ordered it. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience with excellent f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great dining experience with excellent food, service and atmosphere. They really pay attention to details and strive to not disappoint. The seafood Tower was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to celebrate our wedding anniver ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond. From the quaint alcove seating to outstanding service from Kari we had a wonderful evening that was topped off by personal cheesecake that was a surprise gift.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filet was amazing absolutely melted in m ...

 
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Filet was amazing absolutely melted in my mouth. Highly recommend

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steaks done right.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Steaks done right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent evening

 
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I took my mother to dinner, and we sat in the bar. Everything was delightful! Kate gave us amazing service and was charming throughout dinner. Our seafood tower was both beautiful and delicious, and the steaks are like none other. We wished we could have sat there until it was time to eat again! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.