About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah

This is How It's Done! Quality Is Not A Trend. It's Our Signature.
The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Which is why we use only the freshest and finest ingredients, like USDA Prime steaks, fresh-squeezed juices and locally sourced produce.

Quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle - it's what we're passionate about.

Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for two, an important business dinner, or a private party, Ruth's Chris Steak House can accommodate your needs. Our Savannah steakhouse provides guests with a warm, comfortable atmosphere and impeccable service.

111 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Hours:
Sunday - 5pm - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge: 4:30pm - close
Happy Hour 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Patio: Happy Hour - 4:30 - close
Brunch & Lunch - Large parties contact 912-660-0079

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Closed on Labor Day, Christmas & New Year's Day
Thanksgiving, Easter, Mother's Father's Days - Open at 11 a.m.

Reservations Recommended

Cross Street:
Whitaker

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 721-4800

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/savannah

Entertainment:
Ruth's Red Piano Lounge:

Live Music Thursday - Saturday

Live Entertainment Thursday - Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Ruth's Chris Event Managers deliver the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather to enjoy.

From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, the Ruth's Chris Sales team looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

For Information on having your event catered by Ruth's Chris Steak House, contact our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or 912-660-0079 or at rhempel@rcsavannah.com

Parking Details:
Valet Service begins at 4:30 p.m. across the street at the Bohemian Hotel - Card only- for $10 per vehicle. Whitaker Street Parking Garage is available directly behind the restaurant at a cost of $2.00 per hour. On street parking is free after 5 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Richard Hattaway

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Private Dining Rooms add an air of celebration to any event.
From Cocktail Parties to sit-down Dinners, we'll treat you and your guests to the highest quality of service and incredible food.

For more information, call our Sales & Marketing Manager at 912.721.4800 or rhempel@rcsavannah.com

CORPORATE EVENTS & MEETINGS
Lunches, Awards Ceremonies, Networking Receptions - Our built-in plasma screens make giving presentations easy!

CONVENTION GROUP EVENTS
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner Meetings, Cocktail Receptions & more - count on an expertly organized event that everyone will want to be a part of!

SOCIAL EVENTS
Birthdays, Anniversaries, Graduations … we love a celebration!

WEDDINGS
Let us help you make your Engagement Party, Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, & more than an elegant affair, but a truly once-in-a-lifetime moment.

Specials

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

SSS Happy Hour in the Red Piano Lounge

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our Red Piano Lounge Daily from 4:30-6:30 p.m. to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is daily from 4:30-6:30 in our Bar. Full menu also available. Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Happy Hour All Night Long on the Patio!

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us on our Patio, Daily from 4:30 p.m. until close to enjoy our $9 SSS, Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl Happy Hour items! Enjoy signature cocktails, wine and great food; Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Steak Sandwiches, USDA Prime Burgers, Calamari & More!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dog Friendly Patio! Bring you 4-legged friends!. Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 28, 2017 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

We have three Private Dining Rooms; two with built in plasma screens - perfect for Corporate Presentation events. Our working Wine Cellar is great for that client or the friends and family you want to wow! We also have an outdoor patio and lounge/bar that can be reserved for private events.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Scenic View (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (6)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Waterfront (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect Selection for our Anniversary! We were seated in a quiet side table by a window, with a bud vase on the table and a lovely card signed by the staff wishing us a Happy Anniversary! This whole evening was OUTSTANDING! Our steaks were cooked to perfection (as usual, so tender and as always very hot!) Our sides, mashed potatoes and sauted mushrooms were delicious! For our anniversary we were given a lovely small cheescake with a side of fresh berries and cream (perfect for 2, especially when you have already over ate!)We couldn't resist ordering a creme brulee to share! PERFECT! What a wonderful selection! We would recommend Ruth's Chris to anyone who really wants Great Service and exceptional food, that is not like any other Steak house! By the way, Mimi was so attentive and her service was TOP NOTCH! She was fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very poor for a Ruth Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great! Thank you Ruth's Chris!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The steaks were perfect! the Au gratin potatoes could have been baked a little more. Dessert was outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Our server was a short girl with glasses, dont remember her name but she as well as the SA and everyone else who attended to our table did an exceptional job. Thank you

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Mike was a Fantastic server and our meal was to die for! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had the best time at your location! Service and food were amazing!! We will defiantly be back for your $9 happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Like always it's a great place to eat. Love the all around vibe of the restaurant. My wife and I always go to this restaurant (Ruth Chris) for all of our special occasions. One of the things that stand out is the fact that whenever there is a problem the manager handles it personal. Overall I give it 5 stars

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food is always excellent and Matt as well as the rest of the wait staff are just fantastic!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Took some friends out for a night in the town. Ruth's was our first spot. We sat in the bar and it was perfect. Music was amazing and the service by Lissa and Robert was exceptional. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I love this place! Sat at the bar and had a great time. The bartenders are so friendly and helpful. Food was great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great as always!! My favorite place in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our family had dinner to celebrate our son's 30th birthday on July 2nd and our 41st anniversary on July 4th. The entire experience was excellent. Service and attention was excellent, food was absolutely fabulous and the entire evening was great! Couldn't have asked for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent service.We are so grateful with the people in the restaurant, they provided us everything to be comfortable. The food was very good, meats, asparagus , bisque lobster, outstanding , thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great filet and a solid scotch selection. We enjoyed the creme broke and chocolate sin cake. They have an extensive wine list and the service we got from Matt was exceptional. Ruths Chris never disappoints.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was a special occasion that we had dinner at Ruth Chris, it was my husband birthday. We enjoy the live music, food, flowers on the table, birthday card, that is the service Ruth Chris has to offer. Our food was outstanding, petite steak, mashed potatoes, asparagus, crab, all cook to perfection. Then we enjoyed a cup of coffee with the birthday sweets that Ruth Chris offered. It was a relaxing and enjoyable evening.
Thank You Ruth Chris and Mimi

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Ruth's Chris. The food is always exceptional with service to match. Very few locations in Savannah can match the quality of service and none can match their steaks! We had a cocktail at the bar prior to seating which was our first time to try that option. We plan to do that again next time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The service and food were amazing as usual!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband & I celebrated our wedding anniversary here. The ambiance was great! And the food was superb.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Really good atmosphere as usual. We had a bit of slow service but that was only because a 20-top table was seated 10 min after us. Great job Ruth's Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful experience, as always. Mike took excellent care of us. We enjoyed two bottles of wine from their list (which is awesome), and all our food was perfect. Always worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Melissa at the bar was great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Awesome ,Matty and Melissa were great thanks again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We love going to eat here. Also the one in Asheville N.C. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and Service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Dinner was great! My steak was amazing and the fire roasted corn was a wonderful side that packed a great punch. My server Matty was super attentive, friendly and knew the menu and wine list very well. He gave great suggestions and I would definitely visit again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Q took great care of us last night. He really knows his stuff and made some great recommendations. My steak was perfect and the Blue cheese crust was a great compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Fantastic service and food would one hundred percent be Making a trip back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very disappointing!!
1) finger prints on wine glasses
2) air conditioner dripped on me twice then I moved
3) wife's steak over cooked, new steak took 20 minutes
4) my MR steak was R
5) Told Lindsey Hattaway (GM) the situation and offered a free desert. Really, the bill was $238. A comp of desert?
6) We are Savannah locals not a tourist and not returning to RC.
7) Very Very Disappointing for a Fathers Day and 44th Anniversary.
8) Sorry RC, NO MORE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our first time at Ruth's Chris. It was a very enjoyable experience as we celebrated Father's Day. The service was wonderful. From entering the restaurant to leaving, it was delightful. The food was so delicious. Our waiter/server, Kenny, was super great. We plan to return...

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Heart of Ribeye was on the special menu. I had never had that before but have had ribeye many times before. I expected it not to be as tender as the regular ribeye without the extra fat around it, but I expected it to be the center of the ribeye, more tender than a sirloin and a NY strip. I ordered it Pittsburgh style, medium rare inside. The temperature was perfection but it was tougher than a burnt sirloin, I even had to change the grip of the knife to successfully cut it. Needless to say, I would not suggest that cut no matter how you may prefer your steak. If you do like your steak more on the rare side and tender, the petite filet my family member ordered was AMAZING. I definitely recommend the restaurant, just not the Heart of Ribeye.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had our 36th wedding anniversary and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Thank you very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We share a wedding anniversary with another couple. Our 56th! Our dinner was delicious and the restaurant gave us complimentary desserts to celebrate. You can take your own bottle of wine and the corking charge is $10. Our wait staff Jill and Kenney were very pleasant and efficient. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent! Service was good...not great. Service was actually very good until the desert...took a long time to order and even a longer time to come...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome service from entire staff and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Took my dad out for an early Father's Day celebration. Food was fantastic, they even catered very well to my dietary restrictions offering all kinds of options. Wine list is great, and the service by Chris was impeccable. Noticed they also had great live music in their lounge. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, People Watching, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We can always count on Ruth's Chris for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Experience was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent service; great menu; outstanding preparation and presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.