About Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan

5961 Isla Verde Avenue
Carolina, PR 00979
View Larger Map

Ruth’s Chris Steak House is the largest fine-dining steak house group in the world, with over a 100 restaurants around the world; we serve only the finest Midwestern corn-fed beef available. When you visit Ruth's Chris, you soon understand that this is no ordinary restaurant. From the U.S. Prime steaks, broiled to perfection, to the expertly executed seafood, New Orleans-inspired appetizers, unforgettable desserts and award winning wine list, this is a steakhouse to which others aspire. Our experienced kitchen and service teams are still inspired by Ruth’s legendary dedication to her guest. So relax and enjoy our warm hospitality. Make it Ruth's Chris for your next meeting, party or family gathering. You will agree that there is no better place to dine with family, friends, and associates that Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Visit us and prepare to taste the greatest steak you've ever eaten. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, then welcome back.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sundays Lunch Hours: 11:30am - 3:00pm & Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 253-1717

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/3838/San-Juan

Parking Details:
Ruth's Chris Steak House is pleased to provide their guests with complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House San Juan currently has two private dining rooms and several semi-private areas for meetings, cocktail parties or dinners ranging from 10-260 people. Our larger room, The Borinquen Room has accommodations for as many as 80 guests seated, or 150 cocktail receptions. This room can be divided into two others separate rooms, The Flamboyán Room and The Coquí Room. Our Flamboyán Room is perfect for events up to 40 guests for dinner and up to 65 for cocktails. Our beautiful Coquí Room is ideal for events up to 35 guests for dinner and up to 45 for cocktails. Our intimate Garita Room can seat up to 20 guest, or 35 for a cocktail reception; is ideal for smaller events.
During the day, the entire restaurant is available for your exclusive use for breakfast, brunch or Lunch with a capacity of 260 guests. Whichever room you decide on, be assured, it will be an affair to remember for a long time!

Private Party Contact:
Wilmarie Robles: 7872531717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan, Carolina, PR

Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Caribbean
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Ruth. Chris The entire meal was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We love Ruth. Chris

The entire meal was delicious

sirloin Steak on bone. Cooked perfect

Chopped salad my favorite

Cocktails yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I generally love Ruth Chris' but this wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I generally love Ruth Chris' but this was bad. 2 of us ordered filet medium and it was raw. Sent it back twice as it was purple inside. When it came back it was not edible it was so well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great steaks. Okay service. Very pricey ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great steaks. Okay service. Very pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding steaks, if you are a meat lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding steaks, if you are a meat lover there is no place better for steaks of all cuts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Claudia was outstanding and made our spe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Claudia was outstanding and made our special gathering even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Lobster Mac & cheese . Service ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love the Lobster Mac & cheese . Service was A plus

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm celebrate my daughter birthday. They ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I'm celebrate my daughter birthday. They put conffeti in the table, and write in the plate of the dessert happy birthday, all of these if I didn't ask.

The flavor of the food are out of this world, and the desserts, um, um, um.

All the employees works for bring the best service, and attention.

My satisfaction with the service is 100%.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience. This was our ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a great experience. This was our second visit to the San Juan Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time we've received bad lobster at t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2016

2nd time we've received bad lobster at this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was a little pricey for the val ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was a little pricey for the value of it....ive had way better filet mignon at other restaurants that was way cheaper! Also other places didn't charge if you wanted sides or a salad, they came with the meal. I mean come on $10 for a side salad thats just rediculous! Then our service wasn't that great an thats coming from one server to another...he got us our first drinks, someone else brought our food out an our server never checked on us again! We even had to ask someone else for our second drinks! For $200 plus for 2 people to eat I would at least expect better service. :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very good food and wait staff was good. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good food and wait staff was good. However because I was dining alone I could not have my preferred seating of a booth. I was therefore seated at a table in a secluded area along with families of small children. The babies were crying and the parents did what they could to console them. I, however, cut my dining experience short and took dessert to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was ok but not a 5, different fr ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was ok but not a 5, different from other ocassions. Either the staff was short that evening, or our server was not concentrated. He forgot to serve the wine in three ocassions and our friend at the table served it. This time we also notice that the petit filets were not of the quality, tendeness and flavor from other ocassions. Still our favorite restaurant in San Juan, but...get yourself together.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2016

As usual in this restaurant, service was great and food excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection and so were the asparagus and potatoes. Impeccable service provided by Jordan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was spot on. Food was good, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was spot on. Food was good, but a bit rich for me with butter on everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not memorable as the steak wasn't up to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Not memorable as the steak wasn't up to the high standard I was expecting for the $$ paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for steak in San Juan. My daughter's favorite is the chicken!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as Ruth's Chris in the states

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Not as good as Ruth's Chris in the states, but still enjoyed it. The food is prices significantly higher than in the states. I paid about $50-60 more than normal. The restaurant was small but quiet and the server was great. The good was good; my only complaint is I found several shells in my crab cakes. At this price point, I shouldn't have to pick things out my food. Overall it was okay.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service + great food! This is our ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service + great food! This is our favorite location + we can't wait to go back! Javier + Steven Alexander were great!:-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

“Great Service- Great Food”

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2016

If you are looking for true 5 star dining, this is the place to go. The food was was outstanding, both in taste and presentation. The service was on a par with the food - outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant, if you live or visit San Juan, Puerto Rico, a must try. You won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go someplace else - disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Food was bland, wife had barbecued chicken, pale and tasteless. My filet Mignon was like cardboard. Obviously previously frozen. Staff was very nice offering helpful local advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Cold service

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 15, 2016

The waitress wasn't welcoming or friendly enough , she didn't go over the menu and didn't offer any options for cocktails or food. We felt uncomfortable with the service ( except for the guy that served the water)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We always try to have a nice meal the la ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We always try to have a nice meal the last night of our vacation. We have been to Ruth's Chris in cities all over the U.S. This had to be one of the best ever meals at Ruth's Chris. From the bread to the salad to the dessert. We are still talking about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were provided with wonderful service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2015

we were provided with wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW!!! Describes it all!!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2015

The food and service were consistent with the Ruth's Chris quality that we expect and appreciate!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The porterhouse steak for 2 melted in ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The porterhouse steak for 2 melted in our mouths! The creamed spinach and three cheese potatoes were delicious. And the best was the bread pudding dessert and coffee was amazing. What made our evening extra special was the rose petals put on the table for our anniversary. We can't wait to come back next year to celebrate again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 50 year old birthday dinner

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Despite my wife recommendation to go to Mortons as we usually due for Big family events I convinced her to celebrate my 50 year old birthday at Ruth’s Chris at Isla Verde, PR. I frequent that restaurant as a medical speaker at several small medical conferences.

I called the day before to make the reservation & mentioned I was going to try the Summer Classic Dinner special ($43.95 to 54.95) mentioned at the Web site which I got a positive confirmation.

At arrival & mentioning the Web dinner special the waiter at the table was not aware of such dinner special. Later the manager came to our table to tell us they (Puerto Rico) was not participating on such a deal & that they have other deals at a higher price (we got charged $59.95 each for their promotion). She was not aware of the Web site dinner promotion so that I had to even pull a copy of the promotion to her. That discussion & overall confusion killed my birthday dinner & we felt being treated as “second class citizen”. Nobody came later to apologize for the confusion.

I will never go back or recommend that restaurant to any of my friends.

Dr. Carlos Jimenez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Not exceptional but OK

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2015

I've experienced this restaurant on the mainland and was expecting the same service. The service wasn't very personalized as I would expect. The food was good, the desert menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great place

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 17, 2015

Great food ambience and service. A winning combination.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2015

Our waiter Gian was the absolute BEST!! He went above and beyond to make our dining experience a memorable one. He made sure we enjoyed ourselves. Everything he recommended was delicious. He really took care of us. The meal was absolutely amazing. The steaks were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good as expected from Ruth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2015

Food was very good as expected from Ruth Chris the wait staff were best we've had on our trip always checking on us never had to wait for anything. Only complaint was not with the restaurant but with other guests they first should have some sort of a dress code I know where at a beach resort area but dress better than your going out for fast food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best meal in PR!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2015

After trying many other restaurants in San Juan, my mom and I settled on Ruth's Chris for our final meal during our stay. The service was great, our food was fresh, hot and delicious, and the restaurant is lovely. I highly recommend this location for anyone seeking fine dining and top-notch service in San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wow It was Great

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2015

I t was excellent as usual...I could go on forever but why if you have dine there then you already know...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris is a great restaurant!!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2015

This restaurant is amazing if you're looking for a great fresh perfect cooked meat. We had the petite filet and the porterhouse, great choices! The service is very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite San Juan restaurant never disappoints!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2015

Ruth’s Chris in San Juan is one of my top three restaurants anywhere. Nothing happened on this visit to change that.

I had the NY Strip; it was as close to a perfect steak as you can get!

Pecan pie was back for desert; my favorite at Ruth’s Chris.

Their single malt Scotch selection included my favorite.

The wine was wonderful!

The service was, as always, perfect.

Whenever you’re in San Juan, you must eat at Ruth’s Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

consistently good

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Still like this chain that doesn't feel like a chain. Went there twice in the last 2weeks

Sevice with Claudia was excellen . Ask for her.

The have Caymus 40 year anniversary for $95. Saw it at I'l Mulino for $300 which was an outrageous price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great steak! Very pricy...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2015

Great steak! Very pricy...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent food and service as always. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2015

Excellent food and service as always. Typical prices. On Holidays they should have one side of the restaurant reserved for parties with kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As good as any Ruth's Chris I've ever be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2015

As good as any Ruth's Chris I've ever been to. Never less then amazing at a Ruth's Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best of the Best

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 27, 2015

Gets better with every visit. No contest Morton's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

diners know more than you think

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 22, 2015

The steak as always was excellent. I mean as good as it gets. The server was nice, however I could easily tell that he and the busser were not gelling. Firstly, my wife ordered pinot noir, got grigio, no biggie. He made an interesting and somewhat bold decision to serve the wedge salad along with the appetizers. Not a big fan of that move. When the amazing crusty bread hadn't arrived and the shrimp remoulade and crab cakes, and wedge had, he almost seemed puzzled. A ten minute wait for A-1 and a $3.25 upcharge for about 2 tablespoons of Häagen-Dazs to go along with our bread pudding, which was decadent, by the way. An off- putting lecture about how steak comes from a cow, and I'd had just about enough. Thank goodness for their great steaks. And the Butta oh the Butta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.