About Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan

Ruth’s Chris Steak House is the largest fine-dining steak house group in the world, with over a 100 restaurants around the world; we serve only the finest Midwestern corn-fed beef available. When you visit Ruth's Chris, you soon understand that this is no ordinary restaurant. From the U.S. Prime steaks, broiled to perfection, to the expertly executed seafood, New Orleans-inspired appetizers, unforgettable desserts and award winning wine list, this is a steakhouse to which others aspire. Our experienced kitchen and service teams are still inspired by Ruth’s legendary dedication to her guest. So relax and enjoy our warm hospitality. Make it Ruth's Chris for your next meeting, party or family gathering. You will agree that there is no better place to dine with family, friends, and associates that Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Visit us and prepare to taste the greatest steak you've ever eaten. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, then welcome back.

5961 Isla Verde Avenue
Carolina, PR 00979
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sundays Lunch Hours: 11:30am - 3:00pm & Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 253-1717

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/3838/San-Juan

Parking Details:
Ruth's Chris Steak House is pleased to provide their guests with complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House San Juan currently has two private dining rooms and several semi-private areas for meetings, cocktail parties or dinners ranging from 10-260 people. Our larger room, The Borinquen Room has accommodations for as many as 80 guests seated, or 150 cocktail receptions. This room can be divided into two others separate rooms, The Flamboyán Room and The Coquí Room. Our Flamboyán Room is perfect for events up to 40 guests for dinner and up to 65 for cocktails. Our beautiful Coquí Room is ideal for events up to 35 guests for dinner and up to 45 for cocktails. Our intimate Garita Room can seat up to 20 guest, or 35 for a cocktail reception; is ideal for smaller events.
During the day, the entire restaurant is available for your exclusive use for breakfast, brunch or Lunch with a capacity of 260 guests. Whichever room you decide on, be assured, it will be an affair to remember for a long time!

Private Party Contact:
Wilmarie Robles: (787) 253-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - San Juan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort by
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

The food was fantastic but the restaurant is screaming for renovations. The background music was also terrible. Some bellydancing music. Service was great. But when they ask you to choose your knife we all cracked. So tacky. Cocktails and dessert were also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ruth Chris es mi restaurante favorito no importa la.ocasion, todo es.exelente desde su personal hasta la comida , el ambiente todo es espectacular y por eso siempre que pueda haré mi día especial allí, todo AAA+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was awesome and impecable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

They dropped our food upon bringing it out and no one came to us to explain the hold up with our meal. We waited an hour to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food. Service was okay. Not the best ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Juan was a professional he handles.the table.like a surgeon doing intricate brain surgery

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The service and food was exceptional. We were on vacation and went as a family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious starters and steaks. The veal oso buco ravioli was terrific.
Dining experience was very consistent with Ruth's Chris high standards.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I took my father for his birthday. This was his first time at Ruth's Chris and had a great time. He liked the ambiance and especially the food. Our waiter Ivan was great. He explained everything to my father and made it a great night for him. I would definitely be back. I don't know why this place has bad reviews if everything couldn't of been any more prefect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

OVER RATED, OVER PRICED

Have been to Ruth's Chris at locations in the US but first time here. Have never been a big fan of this restaurant but I gave it another try. Big mistake. Ordered Filet Mignon and it came out undercooked for my order and the piece was terrible. When you have a hard time cutting it with a knife you kind of know. For the prices it hardly worth it. Went to a BLT that was at the Ritz Carlton and it was so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

decor was shabby, needed a facelift......i ordered a petite filet for $50 which was way out of line price wise..........it wasn't cooked correctly and i had to send it back....this is unforgivable for a steak place, especially ruth's chris..........i eat in ruth's chris in new york all of the time and i was very disappointed in the one in san juan!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We love Ruth. Chris
The entire meal was delicious
sirloin Steak on bone. Cooked perfect
Chopped salad my favorite
Cocktails yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I generally love Ruth Chris' but this was bad. 2 of us ordered filet medium and it was raw. Sent it back twice as it was purple inside. When it came back it was not edible it was so well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great steaks. Okay service. Very pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiter was amazing and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding steaks, if you are a meat lover there is no place better for steaks of all cuts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Claudia was outstanding and made our special gathering even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love the Lobster Mac & cheese . Service was A plus

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I'm celebrate my daughter birthday. They put conffeti in the table, and write in the plate of the dessert happy birthday, all of these if I didn't ask.
The flavor of the food are out of this world, and the desserts, um, um, um.
All the employees works for bring the best service, and attention.
My satisfaction with the service is 100%.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a great experience. This was our second visit to the San Juan Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2016

2nd time we've received bad lobster at this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was a little pricey for the value of it....ive had way better filet mignon at other restaurants that was way cheaper! Also other places didn't charge if you wanted sides or a salad, they came with the meal. I mean come on $10 for a side salad thats just rediculous! Then our service wasn't that great an thats coming from one server to another...he got us our first drinks, someone else brought our food out an our server never checked on us again! We even had to ask someone else for our second drinks! For $200 plus for 2 people to eat I would at least expect better service. :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good food and wait staff was good. However because I was dining alone I could not have my preferred seating of a booth. I was therefore seated at a table in a secluded area along with families of small children. The babies were crying and the parents did what they could to console them. I, however, cut my dining experience short and took dessert to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was ok but not a 5, different from other ocassions. Either the staff was short that evening, or our server was not concentrated. He forgot to serve the wine in three ocassions and our friend at the table served it. This time we also notice that the petit filets were not of the quality, tendeness and flavor from other ocassions. Still our favorite restaurant in San Juan, but...get yourself together.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2016

As usual in this restaurant, service was great and food excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection and so were the asparagus and potatoes. Impeccable service provided by Jordan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was spot on. Food was good, but a bit rich for me with butter on everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Not memorable as the steak wasn't up to the high standard I was expecting for the $$ paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for steak in San Juan. My daughter's favorite is the chicken!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Not as good as Ruth's Chris in the states, but still enjoyed it. The food is prices significantly higher than in the states. I paid about $50-60 more than normal. The restaurant was small but quiet and the server was great. The good was good; my only complaint is I found several shells in my crab cakes. At this price point, I shouldn't have to pick things out my food. Overall it was okay.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service + great food! This is our favorite location + we can't wait to go back! Javier + Steven Alexander were great!:-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2016

If you are looking for true 5 star dining, this is the place to go. The food was was outstanding, both in taste and presentation. The service was on a par with the food - outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant, if you live or visit San Juan, Puerto Rico, a must try. You won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Food was bland, wife had barbecued chicken, pale and tasteless. My filet Mignon was like cardboard. Obviously previously frozen. Staff was very nice offering helpful local advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 15, 2016

The waitress wasn't welcoming or friendly enough , she didn't go over the menu and didn't offer any options for cocktails or food. We felt uncomfortable with the service ( except for the guy that served the water)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We always try to have a nice meal the last night of our vacation. We have been to Ruth's Chris in cities all over the U.S. This had to be one of the best ever meals at Ruth's Chris. From the bread to the salad to the dessert. We are still talking about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2015

we were provided with wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2015

The food and service were consistent with the Ruth's Chris quality that we expect and appreciate!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The porterhouse steak for 2 melted in our mouths! The creamed spinach and three cheese potatoes were delicious. And the best was the bread pudding dessert and coffee was amazing. What made our evening extra special was the rose petals put on the table for our anniversary. We can't wait to come back next year to celebrate again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Despite my wife recommendation to go to Mortons as we usually due for Big family events I convinced her to celebrate my 50 year old birthday at Ruth’s Chris at Isla Verde, PR. I frequent that restaurant as a medical speaker at several small medical conferences.

I called the day before to make the reservation & mentioned I was going to try the Summer Classic Dinner special ($43.95 to 54.95) mentioned at the Web site which I got a positive confirmation.

At arrival & mentioning the Web dinner special the waiter at the table was not aware of such dinner special. Later the manager came to our table to tell us they (Puerto Rico) was not participating on such a deal & that they have other deals at a higher price (we got charged $59.95 each for their promotion). She was not aware of the Web site dinner promotion so that I had to even pull a copy of the promotion to her. That discussion & overall confusion killed my birthday dinner & we felt being treated as “second class citizen”. Nobody came later to apologize for the confusion.

I will never go back or recommend that restaurant to any of my friends.
Dr. Carlos Jimenez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.