Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Business Meals (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service as always. The steak is always delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Ruth's Chris is a special place with extraordinary food. Worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was awful. Steaks overcooked. Service was snobbish and rude. Rugs had an awful design on them that looked like a stain. Would NOT recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great steak, wonderful staff, and good wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent meal and great service. I think the only negative was that they maybe had too good of service. It seemed like we had someone at our table every 30 seconds. It would have been nice to be left alone a little bit but the food was amazing as always. We just tried to have a romantic night and it was a little too much with the 2 servers, the bussers and the bread guy coming by so much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was just "so-so"-- definitely not what I'm accustomed to in a restaurant of this caliber-- server might have been having a tough night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Celebrated our 24th Anniversary at Ruth's Chris and it was a wonderful experience. Ambiance was wonderful, they went all out with a card wishing us Happy Anniversary, rose petals on the table and a special desert concluding wonderful meal. The service was exceptional, just the correct amount without hovering or ignoring us.

Over all a wonderful experience that we will repeat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ahi Tuna is to die for. Everything else was 5 star. They are expensive, but you get what you pay for. I have tried many places that claim to have the best steaks and I am yet to find one to beat Ruth's Chris. Keep coming back because they are consistent. It is fantastic every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were celebrating a month of birthdays in our family. Our table was in a secluded room for 8. The food was as usual excellent! Our waiter was outstanding!! The birthday deserets had happy birthday written on them with candles. It was an absolutely wonderful evening. We love the downtown location of Ruth Chris, it is a gem!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was phenomenal and our server Meghan did a great job!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Love it! My favorite all time place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Family dinner celebrating our sons graduation from Josh school.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great early bird dinnner menu. Lots of choices. The petite filet was 8 oz! Still had some for a doggy bag.
Loved the salad, so fresh and steak was very tasty and served to perfection.
Great wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went for a date and absolutely loved it, living south of Salt Lake in a foodies "no man's land" I went to Ruth's Chris cause I needed something really good to eat and it's one of the few options in Utah, didn't disappoint, we both LOVED it from the Ahi Tuna appetizer to the Caramelized Banana Cream Pie desert and of course the amazing steaks they are known for in between.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Service was best I've ever had! Waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ruth's Chris delivered again. Dinner was amazing. It is difficult for me to try anywhere else when I know I will receive exactly what I want at Ruth's Chris. Will be returning time and time again. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was great. The waiter was nice. My complaint was that it was freezing cold. I was uncomfortable the entire time. At $400 for 4 people I would expect to be comfortable while I eat. We did tell them it was cold and they said they turned the air off on us. They definitely didn't because it was literally blowing right on me. My mom had to go get a coat out of the car. Not that it was a huge deal but for the money I just expect to be comfortable while I eat. If that table is in a spot where all the vents hit it then don't use it. Other than that it was great food and we enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for a delayed Mother's Day dinner and I am glad that we waited a week. The last time we went on the actual Mother's Day 2 years ago, we had a negative experience. This time we received excellent service from Terry and a fantastically prepared meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent steak and sides. Quality mixed drinks

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have eaten here various times. This time was no different... Exceptional service and the food was great. The steaks were cooked perfectly. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nearby clientele distracted from the dining experience with their fussing, crying children; young prom couples lacking dress and table manners; and an off-the-farm foursome appropraitely clad with jeans and hats. A big disappointment for a fine dining establishment with the reputation of Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Seating was not great. We sat by a wall near a large and loud table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. It was a very enjoyable evening, the food was excellent & the staff made her feel very special - thank you!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

ALAN🌳 knew everything about the cut of meat. Very professional and very friendly. And our water boy was a young kid who is the best water boy I have ever had. Every time he poured my water glass I would say thank you. He would say my pleasure. Wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Cesar salad was the best I've ever had. The steaks were very impressive. Cook to my liking and served on a hot sizzling plate. I had the shoe string potatoes and they were delicious. I will be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Superb food and service! Every time we've dined at Ruth's Chris, we are never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ruth's Chris is a reliable standard. Great food and (usually) great service, although not so great this visit. We come here for special dinners (and if you let them know in advance, they will decorate your table for you in honor of the occasion).

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was great. Our table was covered in rose petals and our waiter bought us dessert. Great food, great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great steak again! I started with an excellant shrimp cocktail and a good zinfandel, then had a perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked NY strip steak. I finished it with a great single malt and their apple crisp.
The only reason I didn't do 5 stars across theboard, and they may be a little picky, are these; the steak had a bit of gristle that made 10% uneatable, and the apple crisp crust wasn't crisp.
Otherwise perfect, especially the service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

- need more light - one can hardly read the menu (should be read before or to learn it by heart?)
- the Tomahawk Steak is unique, it's a pity we could not hare it this time too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner, Server and and Birthday Celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was fantastic the service was exceptional. Josh made us feel more than comfortable and welcome. Huge fan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff was cery friendly and made sure we a great anniversary and birthday date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our first time to Ruth Chris in Salt Lake, we always have gone to the Park City location. The food and service was incredible! We will definitely be going back to this location. The service was first rate and they all were very nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service, great drinks, and fantastic steaks as always. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ruth's Chris is not cheap. Prepare to spend roughly $300 (inc. tip) if you get steaks and adult beverages. Of which I highly recommend both of these things. My lady got the blackberry venison which was to die for. Key Lime Pie Martini was excellent as well. Steaks really are top notch. While the price is steep, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

If you're looking for the best steak of your life...look no further. The staff at Ruth's Chris are friendly, attentive, and professional. The ambiance is also wonderful for a relaxed, enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was amazing - the service was spectacular! Frasier was our waiter - he made sure it was a fantastic experience for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very disappointed. We have been to many Ruth Chris and this one let us down. We went for my birthday. First they got our steak temperature for half our orders wrong. They corrected them. They never asked my wife for additional drinks and we had to keep asking staff for help. Then finally they forgot the plate and candle. Instead it was a joke and they gave me my daughters dessert on a birthday plate after I had eaten half my dessert with my son. No apology. Just really disappointing and upsetting for my wife who wanted a special night out with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.