Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined a day ago

Ruth Chris never disappoints. The steaks are perfect, the service is top notch. It is my go to place for a perfect steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good. I ordered the bone in ribeye lobster Mac & cheese. Desert was also good. I ordered the cheesecake. Which was on them for our anniversary. Which was so nice!! Yummy food but be prepared to pay the price!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went here for the first time and it was an amazing experience! It was easily the best steak I’ve ever had, if not the best meal I’ve ever had. Service was excellent and the dining experience overall was something we will always remember. We wanted to go back the very next day! And the dessert we took home extended our wonderful experience to later that night when we enjoyed it.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

They nailed it again. I love Ruth’s Chris. Exceptional every time!!! I’ve tried many places that tout the best steak, but no one does it better than Ruth’s Chris.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Hard to go wrong here. Great food, though a bit pricey. Would not recommend the Brussels sprouts. Dry and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Arthur Rio one of the best servers in the Biz. If you are sitting in the main dining room, a complete different experience than the back overflow rooms. Request main dining and Mr Arthur Rio for your 5star overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2017

AMAZING as always. Our steaks were perfect and the lobster special was to die for. They made my husbands birthday extra special by reserving a table, a special note, flower pedals and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We have birthday celebration here every October for three years. It's a very nice place for such occasion. The steak always tastes great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

We always have a great experience at this Ruth's Chris location

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always the best steak in town!! It was my wife's birthday. I had a great steak and my wife had the tuna. The service was spot on and dinner was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

So good!! Can't go wrong with the filet. Service is always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have eaten at Ruth's Chris a number of times. And especially in the Salt Lake City restaurant it is always a wonderful dining experience. However, this time was an exception. The service was really slow. The food just okay.
I know this can happen so it won't deter me from coming back to SLC Ruth's Chris again, hopefully on a better night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Did not disappoint!! Our meals (all 4) were exceptionally wonderful as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good. You pay for it. But overall worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great time! We went for our 16th anniversary and could not have been happier. The staff was very attentive. Talked to us by name throughout the night. Delicious drinks and incredible filet. We will be back and would recommend it to anyone

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Ruth's Chris is not an inexpensive venture. But the food, the service is always perfect.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

There are a couple of things that could be improved-the size of the sides were small and the desserts were not anything extraordinary. The steak was incredible and perfect, the best thing about going. Our server was also wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Delicious food, but wasn't our best experience there. Water glasses went low/empty too often, forgot important elements of the order (put shrimp on steak when we requested on the side because of allergies), remade steak came back under cooked, and we asked for bread and it was forgotten by 2 different people twice. We've had excellent experiences here in the past, but it just wasn't their night tonight. Left disappointed and when you pay that much for a meal it sours the experience for the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent food and impeccable service. This was my first time at Ruth's Chris and I wasn't disappointed. I will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I’ve always had a phenomenal dining experiences while here. I enjoy taking business meeting over dinner here especially. The ambiance is very intimate and inviting. The steak is outstanding. The lobster is a nice additional to any meal. The creme brûlée is the best in Utah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place to enjoy during the dine o round!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a 5:15 reservation. When we arrived there were only two to three other parties seated; however, we were shown to a small two-seater table in the corner of a room at the back. We asked for a booth and after a trip back to the front for an OK we were shown to a booth. We ordered the before-6:30 special of appetizer, entrée, side and dessert for a reduced price (still $49.95!). My so-called prime filet mignon must have been an end-cut, as it consisted of gristle and connective tissue, and was uneatable. I pointed this out to our waiter and that was the last we saw of him until we finished and he brought the bill. I mentioned the steak to the manager and he graciously offered to replace it with a center cut - I refused, as by that time we had already made a meal from my wife's crab cakes and didn't want to start over on another steak. Nevertheless he insisted and brought a new steak which I again refused, and told him it should have been a decent piece of meat to begin with. I guess the "specials" get the end-cuts and the ala carte orders get the center-cuts. Never mind, we are not from SLC and will never return to this Ruth's, but will keep this in mind next time we go to a Ruth's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our dining experience was excellent! The dirty martinis were the best we've had. Our only negative comment is that your dinner plates are so small and the entree over powers the plate. Really for the prices you charge, larger plates would be warranted and then one would have someplace to put all the ala cartel items that are so yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Zane was fabulous. He made it a lovely evening anticipating everything we might enjoy. Thank you to him.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always a great meal here. Especially like to come when it is Salt Lake City's Dine O'Round week.
Superb steak and wonderful attentive service by many employees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

No where near as good as they used to be. Food is OK but not better than average. The Lamb Chops, which I had, were the worst I have ever had by a mile. So much grizzle there was hardly any meat to eat. Service is good and attentive. Manager or who ever was constantly monitoring the room was an annoyance. Overall, an OK experience, but at their prices, a lot better choices.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great dinner. One steak was originally presented undercooked and the staff was quickly able to remedy. Great food, as always at Ruth's Chris. Our dinner partners were comparing the experience very favorably to their recent meal at the Park City location. Will be back again very soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff made our anniversary a great experience and made us fill appreciated. The waiter paid attention to the details of the reason we were there even stating the number of years.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent services wait staff was very helpful with his knowledge of the menu and recommendations. As always the food was top shelf both in quality and portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent! Great portion size and dessert was delicious as well. My first time there was will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was mediocre. Pricey for what it is. Fish and steak was a little over cooked. Garlic mashed potatoes werent very garlicy and spinach wasn't very flavorful. Server was nice and attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

5 star meal. Reliable. Great service. Great steak.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Greatest experience ever. Thank you for making our anniversary so special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We love Ruth's Chris. The food, atmosphere and service is great. It's quite expensive though.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We closed on our house today and our relator treated us to Ruth Chris! It was my first time and my husband and I had a blast! What a great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always good with excellent service. It is our go-to place when we are in Salt Lake City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place is amazing. Steaks were delicious, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was perfect! The service, the food, the ambience, even the valet went above and beyond! I would definitely come here again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.