About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: 8013632000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Steakhouse
Utah
6 More
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. We were ther ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. We were there for our anniversary and the staff went the extra mile to make it a special night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never lets us down. Food was out of this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Never lets us down. Food was out of this world delicious, we were treated like royalty, very clean comforting atmosphere. Love love love Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service thanks very muc ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food great service thanks very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got the Ruth Chopped Salad. It was not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Got the Ruth Chopped Salad. It was not fresh and tasted like it had been setting in the frig for the last couple hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

RC simply performs with elegance and pre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

RC simply performs with elegance and precision. Drinks are skinny and the sides could use more attention, but the overall experience is consistently top shelf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have dined at this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant many times and you cannot beat it for a simple steak dinner. I also think their lobster bisque soup and au gratin potatoes are outstanding. The greeting from the manager and the table service couldn't be nicer. My only suggestion is that the wine servers should be provided with better corkscrews that will handle well aged bottles better. They also need to learn how to properly decant old bottles which have sediment

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Surprisingly the best part was the banan ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Surprisingly the best part was the banana cream pie. Save room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as usual. Waitress was diffic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic, as usual. Waitress was difficult to hear, but was still a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seriously the best steaks! Also got the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Seriously the best steaks! Also got the lobster mac and cheese. Ridiculously good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was our second visit to Ruth Chris in Salt Lake City. As the first time, it was not a disappointment. Every aspect of the experience was superb. Service and the meal was impeccable. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff was already aware and prepared for our arrival. The table was decorated with accents and a card recognizing the occasion. Everyone of the staff for our table acknowledged the birthday. To make it even more of a special occasion, one of our family members made the arrangements to cover the bill for our meal. Again, the food was excellent and we will definitely return to Ruth Chris in the future. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to Ruth's Chris to cele ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took my family to Ruth's Chris to celebrate my husband's birthday. He was greeted with a birthday wish and our table was festive with a birthday card at the table. The service was incredible and the food amazing. Ended with a birthday dessert of choice that was complimentary. Great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake City f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Visited Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake City for my birthday. We were seated right away in a calm and luxury oriented atmosphere. Our Waiter promptly greeted us and was attentive throughout the entire experience. The problems arose when my $50 steak was put in front of me. I could tell just by looking at it that it was under cooked. When my waiter returned I voiced my concern and was told to cut into it. Sure enough it was rare not medium as ordered. At this (price) point I expected a new steak because anyone who knows jack about a good stake knows that after it is cut into it will not be the same if re fired. A few minutes later here comes the same steak. After cutting into it it was still under. I decided to just eat the thing and be done. By this time my wife was nearing the end of her overcooked steak. This is what I would expect from a place like Texas Roadhouse or other large chain, not Ruth's Chris. No discount or compensation was offered. I am not sure if I will return after this disappointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We are more familiar with the Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We are more familiar with the Ruth Chris in Park City which is a bit more casual. But we loved the city ambiance in this restaurant. The staff was excellent and the food was cooked to perfection. It was easy to valet park. We had an early dinner before attending the symphony. It was perfect walking distance. All-in-all, a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at this location a dozen ti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have eaten at this location a dozen times or so, but on this occasion, we were seated next to a family with a 10 month old. I had young children of my own several years ago and would not have dared taken young kids to Ruth's Chris. I know this is a very sensitive topic. How does the manager dare tell a family that an infant under 1 may not like the decorum a fine steak house provides? When do parents decide when a child is old enough to dine at a fine restaurant where people expect a certain decorum. The father of the infant spent the better part of the night quietly telling the 10-month old to hush after every outburst. Unfortunately, my son and I spent the entire evening watching this very awkward scene next to us. I guess I'm disappointed the restaurant did not accommodate the seating better for the "infant scene" given what appeared to be birthday, anniversary and special occasion guests near that table. I remember what it was like to bring infants to restaurants, but I would not have made the choice to bring an infant to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

I cannot describe how amazing the steaks ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I cannot describe how amazing the steaks are! They come out sizzling in butter and seriously melt in your mouth! I will dream about this experience for years to come and go back as soon as I can afford it again. Yes it is a bit pricey, but totally worth the cost! Best steak I have ever had!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This property lives up to the franchise ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This property lives up to the franchise reputation, except that service is much friendlier than NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was fantastic ...... I could cu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was fantastic ...... I could cut my sirloin with my fork !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time for my husbands birthda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Had a great time for my husbands birthday! Service was more than excellent

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate all our special occasions a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We celebrate all our special occasions at Ruths!! The food & service is consistently excellent & we love to finish dinner with the Banana Cream Pie. Thank you for always making our celebrations memorable!! Pam Norman

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment to come to Ruth's ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Never a disappointment to come to Ruth's Chris. Best steak ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The petit filet, lobster bisque, and app ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The petit filet, lobster bisque, and apple dessert were outstanding! The staff were so nice and welcoming!! This is my new favorite restaurant I can't believe I have never eaten here before.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is simply the best chain I've ever ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is simply the best chain I've ever eaten at. The food and the service are always exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good as usual. We have ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was very good as usual. We have eaten at many of the Ruth's Chris restaurants and found the service a little lacking. Our server seemed distracted and while everyone was cordial and responsive it didn't seem to be up to par.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wow. It was amazing.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wow. It was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience at Ruth ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience at Ruth's Chris. The food in general was very good and the steak was absolute perfection. It's not often that I rave about a restaurant steak, but these were just wonderful. And, the service was as good as the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was visibly disappointed when ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The waiter was visibly disappointed when I asked about the dine o round menu, I was given a different menu when I called the week before. The salad we where served was limp and wilted. Others where served the same house salad which did not look like it was yesterdays and left out over night. The service was not what I have been accustomed to at Ruth's Chris. The rest of the food was amazing as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful, attentive service and good fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful, attentive service and good food make this a place at which we enjoy dining on those special occasions when we want to splurge.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fantastic restaurant. Love th ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a fantastic restaurant. Love the food, the staff and the all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, it was my mother's ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful experience, it was my mother's birthday and it was her first time here. They decorated the table for her and left a card. Very welcoming, the service was excellent. The food was beautiful tasting and the presentation was spot on.

They gave my mom a dessert of her choice at the end with a candle. There was so much food we had to have so many to-go boxes.

Can't wait to dine there again, it is always A+ every time my wife and I dine there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have the best french onion soup (ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

They have the best french onion soup (every time spot on)

Ruth's Cris is where I go when I want a perfectly done steak and I can enjoy every bite.

My favorite side-dish is the sweet potato casserole!! and MUST

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary. We were sea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for our anniversary. We were seated at a table with rose petals and a Happy Anniversary card. The food was great, and the dessert was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times before and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have eaten here several times before and have loved it every time. Originally made a reservation in Park City first but due to recent poor reviews opted for SLC. No regrets. Lots of places claim to have better food, but I am yet to find it at any price. Hard to try anywhere new when Ruth's Chris has been flawless. Filet, Ahi, Lobster bites all A ++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Away on business I was looking for a nic ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Away on business I was looking for a nice, quite and quality meal. Because Ruth's Chris was located right next door to my hotel, it was a convenient way of meeting this desire. Unfortunately, I was sat in a very small section of the restaurant next to a very large party of about 16 people. Rather than asking me if this was okay, I was not given any choices. The group was not overtly loud, but when you're paying $75++ for a meal, you expect to seated where other patrons understand manors and have a level of sophistication becoming a restaurant of this caliper. This large group did not have either. They were swearing and playing the Pokeymon video games on their cell phones while they talked over each other.

I ordered a New York Strip steak and cremini mushrooms for dinner. After waiting some time, I was served a steak. What I was served was not what I ordered. I received a Rib eye. At this point it was not worth saying something as it would have been another 15 minutes listening to the table next to me. The steak was good and the mushrooms were good, but the waiter tended to the much larger party rather than to insure my meal was what I expected. My water glass remained empty much of the meal.

This experience was disappointing and I'd be reluctant to go back to another Ruth's Chris Steakhouse because of this experience. I really hope they think about this before putting someone else in this situation in the future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the best service. We were celebratin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not the best service. We were celebrating our anniversary and we were overlooked for another couple celebrating their anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a lovely evening. The steaks were ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lovely evening. The steaks were awesome and the service was terrific.

Thank you Fraser

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very considerate of our 25th anniversary ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very considerate of our 25th anniversary. Wonderful rapport with Jocelaya our server. Fantastic quality of food and service. Great ambience. One of the best meals we have ever had together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but service less acceptab ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good, but service less acceptable. Separate comments sent to the restaurant management directly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I ordered surf and turf. They try to sel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I ordered surf and turf. They try to sell you on the fact that they serve USDA Beef. I can get that from Smith's Grocery or Walmart for that matter. The food was flavorful but chewy. Not what I would expect for $80. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good service and food.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent, the filet wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was excellent, the filet was perfect and they had the best calamari. Our server Zane was very helpful and attentive all night. Please send our thanks. It as an amazing night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.