Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a very nice evening, and we especially enjoyed our waiter. He is very friendly, and helps understand the menu picks that make the meal unforgettable. His name is Frasier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately, this was not the greatest experience we have had at Ruth's Chris. We save going here for special occasions only so it was disappointing that it left a little to be desired. We had to ask for refills on our drinks, one of the steaks was not cooked to specification (this was an error on the servers part, not the cooks), and in general our server was rarely around. When it came time to pay we had $450 in gift certificates. One of them was a $200 gc (with the rest being $50/each). We received our check after having them deducted and it was wrong by a $100.00. Our server tried to tell us that they were all for $50 each. We had the receipt to prove that one of them was a $200 gc. Our server finally came back and said he had finally located the $200 gift card and adjusted our bill to reflect this. However, I can't for the life of me figure out how he could mistake a $200 gift card for only $50 when he would obviously need to run each of them separately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, the meal was very nice. We started with the lobster appetizer, which was good but could have just as well been shrimp, since it was fried and covered in sauce. I ordered my filet medium rare, but it came medium bordering on medium well. At a restaurant like Ruth's Chris, I expect my steak to be cooked perfectly. The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect as always. Great food. It's pricy. But, cannot complain considering amazing food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

the service and management are beyond compare. they care and give you their all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

meals are always excellent and service fantastic. ambiance exceptional. quiet so you can converse with your party.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We were stranded for a night in Salt Lake City owing to the New York blizzard, but we had a good stay in Salt Lake City and enjoyed a delicious meal at Ruth Chris Steakhouse there. As always at Ruth Chris, the steak was outstanding and there was a decent wine list. Also the tomato basil mozzarella salad was very good and nicely split for us. The staff was friendly, so we had a very good meal and evening there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

After years of Fleming's dinners, I received a gift card for Ruth's Chris, so I thought I'd try it again.
Well, noisy, uncomfortable seating, cold food, poor service, and poor lighting were what I remembered, and what we got.
You know how way back when your steak would come out sizzling? Not anymore I guess.
And remember when medium wasn't dripping with blood?
How about when you could get a refill on a drink before waiting 10 minutes?

It seems like Ruth's Chris is the McDonald's of lower-end steakhouses. Great for those that have never been to a "proper'" steakhouse that want the illusion of getting a fancy higher-end dining experience, but not so if you know what real service and food preparation and servings are all about.

Pretty much disappointed in this dining experience. Maybe I'll try it again in the next few years...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The meat was amazing! We had the Porterhouse for 2. Had a gift card and decided to try Ruth's Chris Steakhouse out. Service was also amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Superb ribeye steak along with a side of sautéed mushrooms. Delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was phenomenal as usual, but the service was lacking this time. The majority of the people we interacted with were very kind and made our family feel welcome, but our server wasn't responsive, didn't explain the menu, got our order wrong twice and it felt like he wanted to rush us out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As usual Ruth Chris did not disappoint. The service was excellent and the food preparation was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was mixed. The steak was wonderful, as you would expect. The salad was also wonderful. The bread was surprisingly average. We shared the corn side dish. My friend really liked it but I thought it was ok so that could be a taste thing. It was far too noisy for my taste. I would go back if I had a wad of money to burn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had an early reservation for our 29th anniversary and were seated after just a couple minutes. Our server Luis was knowledgeable and attentive. Our food was cooked well and was pretty tasty. They made sure to acknowledge our special occasion. Overall, a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

They never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server Jacob and his team were awesome. Engaged and cared about our dinner experience. Hendricks Gin Cocktails were tasty as well as the Joel Goett Sauvignon Blanc. Food was exceptionable, piping hot steaks cooked to perfection. Josh the manager was very polite and professional as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

What a great restaurant! From the time we arrived until after we left, the service was fantastic!
We were arrived 30 minutes early because traffic was lighter than we expected, but they still seated us. The staff was welcoming, professional, and attentive. They made us feel as if we were their only customers. Food was great. And after we left, we weren't minute's drive away from the restaurant when they called me to let me know I had left my credit card. Superb service! They made a nice evening great.
For perspective first time clients: they have valet parking, so you don't have to worry about finding a place to park. We did not know that but we do now.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Consistently incredible steaks nationwife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our servers were fantastic, very attentive and professional. The steak was one of the best I've ever eaten. I've read other reviews that said the noise was a problem but I didn't notice it, my wife and I were able to have a quiet conversation. This was my valentines gift to my wife and your restaurant helped make it a very special night. This was our first time, we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Normally the service is very good. Throughout the evening I had to ask for our waiter several times. It may have been an off night, however it looked like service protocols have changed recently. The maître d' made an attempt to resolve the issues with several tables however he made us feel uncomfortable with awkward pauses and starring episodes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was the best we have ever had, loved every bite, especially the lobster tail (husband would say stake)! Thought is was so incredible to have HEATED PLATES, so your food is warm the entire time you eat (still blows my mind) Also loved the lemonade pomegranate drink 🍹 (a little too much $40 later in refills ha)!! Not at all impressed with our waitress🙄!! And didn't love our table location, but my company and food made up for it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very nice and satisfying to go to such an elegant place to eat before going to the symphony. I have recommended this place to many of my family and friends. Everything about it was nice...

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fun, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant for fine dining! The service was superb!The food is outstanding! It is a little pricey but it's worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and is always worth every penny. The cowboy ribeye is always the tastiest and most flavorful ribeye in town. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was great as always. Service was lacking this time, but it's cool, still better than 98% of other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The waiter was excellent; very kind and personable. It was Valentines Day and our anniversary. We were given the dessert of our choice on the house. When the dessert was served, "Happy Anniversary" was written on the plate in chocolate sauce. We were delighted. All of the food was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was my first experience and I absolutely loved it! Amazing staff and mouth watering food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and even better experience! The steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ruth Chris always delights! The food and staff are great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed the best steak I've ever had ever. Meghan and Rob were fantastic servers and the complementary key lime pie for dessert just made our 25th anniversary meal over the top great. Thanks Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere and the service was top notch. I recommend to anyone looking for a delicious steak dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent, personable and friendly customer service. I'm assuming it was the manager who even came to our table to inquire how our dinner and service was. Steak was perfectly cooked and amazing!! Looking forward for our next dinner here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

NEVER disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent steaks, Great service, Very Good Luxurita Margarita!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional food, and consistent nationwide. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful service and amazing food! Our server was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful service. Very expensive but worth it! Steak was cooked to perfection and the apple dessert was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Ruth's Chris. It is my favorite restaurant and last week's reservation did not disappoint.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food. Ok service. We've dined at this restaurant in California, first time visiting the SLC location. Didn't get seated until 15 min after our reservation time. After being seated it was close to 10 minutes until we even got water, despite multiple servers telling us they would get us some. And that was just kind of how the service went for the rest of the night. Slow to get orders, slow to refill water, nobody asking how our meal was, etc. Great food as always, just not great service here. Might have been just an off night. But $200 in food for two people, I expect better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and fantastic service! We attended prior to a theater event and loved it. We come often and will be back.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.