Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Romantic (40)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

The food was fantastic the service was exceptional. Josh made us feel more than comfortable and welcome. Huge fan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, great drinks, and fantastic steaks as always. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Ruth's Chris is not cheap. Prepare to spend roughly $300 (inc. tip) if you get steaks and adult beverages. Of which I highly recommend both of these things. My lady got the blackberry venison which was to die for. Key Lime Pie Martini was excellent as well. Steaks really are top notch. While the price is steep, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

If you're looking for the best steak of your life...look no further. The staff at Ruth's Chris are friendly, attentive, and professional. The ambiance is also wonderful for a relaxed, enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing - the service was spectacular! Frasier was our waiter - he made sure it was a fantastic experience for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed. We have been to many Ruth Chris and this one let us down. We went for my birthday. First they got our steak temperature for half our orders wrong. They corrected them. They never asked my wife for additional drinks and we had to keep asking staff for help. Then finally they forgot the plate and candle. Instead it was a joke and they gave me my daughters dessert on a birthday plate after I had eaten half my dessert with my son. No apology. Just really disappointing and upsetting for my wife who wanted a special night out with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Ruth's Chris is always incredible no matter what state we are in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

WE HAD DINNER W OUR SON AND ENJOYED THE APPEARANCE OF THIS RESTAURANT. WE FREQUENTLY DINE @ RUTH'S CHRIS AT OUR HOME BASE @ SARASOTA, FLORIDA. THE WAIT STAFF WAS EXCELLENT AND THE FOOD WAS EXCEPTIONAL; SERVED AT THE RIGHT HEAT AND THE SALAD WAS ALSO GREAT. WE LEFT WITH PART OF OUR MEAL WHICH WE HAD THE NEXT EVENING. I WOULD RECOMMEND YOUR RESTAURANT TO ANYONE WE COME IN CONTACT WITH WHEN EITHER WE OR THEY ARE IN SALT LAKE CITY.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Seated as we entered per our reservation, noted many times for our special visit. Food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is our go to Resturant when we are in the city.. Normally excellent service and food, but this night was not ... The filet had grizzle throughout and we had to ask twice for wine and coffee.. We will try again and hope for the best..

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We like to eat dinner at Ruth's Chris in SLC on our way to the airport for the overnight flight back to Boston...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

G
FOOD GREAT.ATSOMPHERE GREAT.service great for the WAITER.he made a mistake on our drinks twice. He made a mistake on our order of two filet steaks as we ordered two OUTER AND WERE GIVEN TWO MEDIUM WHICH WERE TWO MUCH MEAT FOR MY WIFE AND I AND ALSO THAT MADE A $30.00 DIFFRENCE IN OUR BILL????

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It was a totally delightful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food is always excellent.. staff is hospitable and welcoming..

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We always have a lovely experience at Ruth's Chris. Our servers Alan and Connor made this birthday occasion particularly special with their friendly and attentive service. We enjoyed Alan's passion and knowledge of wine! We will be back again and again for the incredible food and welcoming service. Thanks to all at Ruth's Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I enjoyed coming here for my 18th birthday I am unsure how it compares to Park City Location, guess I'll find out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Celebrating losing weight

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

After a theater performance

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Bummer no oysters

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Steaks were great. Cook to exactly desired doneness. Calamari was tasty. Sweet potato side rivals my own version. Lobster mac and cheese was underwhelming. Asparagus was barely cooked and not easy to eat. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Cindy is one of the managers and I'm telling you, no body is better at making an event more special. The food is as always the best. Love this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The staff was awesome, food delicious as always!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was a very nice evening, and we especially enjoyed our waiter. He is very friendly, and helps understand the menu picks that make the meal unforgettable. His name is Frasier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Unfortunately, this was not the greatest experience we have had at Ruth's Chris. We save going here for special occasions only so it was disappointing that it left a little to be desired. We had to ask for refills on our drinks, one of the steaks was not cooked to specification (this was an error on the servers part, not the cooks), and in general our server was rarely around. When it came time to pay we had $450 in gift certificates. One of them was a $200 gc (with the rest being $50/each). We received our check after having them deducted and it was wrong by a $100.00. Our server tried to tell us that they were all for $50 each. We had the receipt to prove that one of them was a $200 gc. Our server finally came back and said he had finally located the $200 gift card and adjusted our bill to reflect this. However, I can't for the life of me figure out how he could mistake a $200 gift card for only $50 when he would obviously need to run each of them separately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall, the meal was very nice. We started with the lobster appetizer, which was good but could have just as well been shrimp, since it was fried and covered in sauce. I ordered my filet medium rare, but it came medium bordering on medium well. At a restaurant like Ruth's Chris, I expect my steak to be cooked perfectly. The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Perfect as always. Great food. It's pricy. But, cannot complain considering amazing food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

the service and management are beyond compare. they care and give you their all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

meals are always excellent and service fantastic. ambiance exceptional. quiet so you can converse with your party.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Perfect meal, great service, and dependable. You can always count on the great quality of food and high level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We were stranded for a night in Salt Lake City owing to the New York blizzard, but we had a good stay in Salt Lake City and enjoyed a delicious meal at Ruth Chris Steakhouse there. As always at Ruth Chris, the steak was outstanding and there was a decent wine list. Also the tomato basil mozzarella salad was very good and nicely split for us. The staff was friendly, so we had a very good meal and evening there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

After years of Fleming's dinners, I received a gift card for Ruth's Chris, so I thought I'd try it again.
Well, noisy, uncomfortable seating, cold food, poor service, and poor lighting were what I remembered, and what we got.
You know how way back when your steak would come out sizzling? Not anymore I guess.
And remember when medium wasn't dripping with blood?
How about when you could get a refill on a drink before waiting 10 minutes?

It seems like Ruth's Chris is the McDonald's of lower-end steakhouses. Great for those that have never been to a "proper'" steakhouse that want the illusion of getting a fancy higher-end dining experience, but not so if you know what real service and food preparation and servings are all about.

Pretty much disappointed in this dining experience. Maybe I'll try it again in the next few years...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The meat was amazing! We had the Porterhouse for 2. Had a gift card and decided to try Ruth's Chris Steakhouse out. Service was also amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Superb ribeye steak along with a side of sautéed mushrooms. Delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was phenomenal as usual, but the service was lacking this time. The majority of the people we interacted with were very kind and made our family feel welcome, but our server wasn't responsive, didn't explain the menu, got our order wrong twice and it felt like he wanted to rush us out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As usual Ruth Chris did not disappoint. The service was excellent and the food preparation was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was mixed. The steak was wonderful, as you would expect. The salad was also wonderful. The bread was surprisingly average. We shared the corn side dish. My friend really liked it but I thought it was ok so that could be a taste thing. It was far too noisy for my taste. I would go back if I had a wad of money to burn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had an early reservation for our 29th anniversary and were seated after just a couple minutes. Our server Luis was knowledgeable and attentive. Our food was cooked well and was pretty tasty. They made sure to acknowledge our special occasion. Overall, a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

They never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server Jacob and his team were awesome. Engaged and cared about our dinner experience. Hendricks Gin Cocktails were tasty as well as the Joel Goett Sauvignon Blanc. Food was exceptionable, piping hot steaks cooked to perfection. Josh the manager was very polite and professional as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

What a great restaurant! From the time we arrived until after we left, the service was fantastic!
We were arrived 30 minutes early because traffic was lighter than we expected, but they still seated us. The staff was welcoming, professional, and attentive. They made us feel as if we were their only customers. Food was great. And after we left, we weren't minute's drive away from the restaurant when they called me to let me know I had left my credit card. Superb service! They made a nice evening great.
For perspective first time clients: they have valet parking, so you don't have to worry about finding a place to park. We did not know that but we do now.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.