About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: 8013632000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Steakhouse
Utah
5 More
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (39)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (3)
 (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic experience from start to finish! Loved the scallop appetizer and veal ravioli, bone-in filet, venison, chocolate duo and more. Check out their cocktail and wine selections, too. Impeccable, professional yet truly friendly and personalized service. Kudos to Zane, Jucelea and their team.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just exp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just expected more than what we got - Both steaks tasted so much of butter and the flavor of the steak was gone. The food took some time to be delivered to the table.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Was disappointed with how slow our service was.

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Aside from the service, our food arrived hot and flavorful. Best steaks in town!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Fra ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Frazier is the best server in America!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World-class Dining Experience!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the opportunity to treat my in-laws to dinner. They said it was in the top 3 places they have eaten in the world! My husband and I have gone here several times before and we are always pleased. We look forward to another visit and we HIGHLY recommend them. Don't forget to make a reservation ;)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

For special occasions

Dined on April 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food It was a birthday for a son. We found the occasion enjoyable

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful serv ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful server. Great experience, as usual!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Steak So Good You Want to Die!

Dined on March 29, 2016

The steak really lived up to it's hype, so delicious! Tender, wonderful, just amazing. The seafood was not so impressive. Spend your money on other menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is amazing. The food is delicious and always prepared to your liking. And the staff is very professional. Definitely worth every penny.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Impeccable Service and Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was top notch the minute we entered the main door. We were greeted by friendly and smiling staff who were excited to serve us. Ordered two steaks and it did not disappoint. We ordered two medium-rare steaks and it came out the way we wanted it; succulent and tender in the middle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Delicious and Savory

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Ruth's Chris Salt Lake City provides just the right amount of ambiance along with great food and wonderful service. We are always impressed with the friendly and attentive service and of course the terrific food found at all of the Ruth's Chris locations that we have visited throughout the country. A can't miss for special occasions or just a special evening out with your loved one.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks prepared exactly as ordered. Hig ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Steaks prepared exactly as ordered. Highest quality. Service was tops.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a business dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

I was in town for a convention at the Salt Palace. I took a customer here for a dinner meeting. Our server was attentive - but not intrusive. Food was excellent as it is at every Ruth's I've visited.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Serious Steak

Dined on March 16, 2016

had made a reservation and had to change times due to late flight arrival...and it was quick and painless and the staff were very easy going and offered amazing customer service. Great food, great drink and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration

Dined on March 13, 2016

We celebrated my retirement here and we were not disappointed! Please go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Ruth Chris

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Two of ate there 3/7 My friend ordered venison chops which thought were great I ordered ribeye My steak was tough and stringy and not very good I had steak two days later at good local and it was much better Service and ambiance excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant in Salt Lake

Dined on February 29, 2016

We were delighted with RC in Salt Lake. Every single detail was perfect and our waiter was one of the best we have ever had. We took advantage of the prime time meal which was moderately priced and oh so good. The waiter treated us to a full dessert as it was my birthday, a most generous creme brulee on the house. I probably would go every week if they were closer to our home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Best steak in the area.

Dined on February 23, 2016

Best steak in the area.

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Too many waiters

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was amazing even with the price as high as it was still worth it. Did not like all the of waiters standing there just waiting to fill your glass as soon as you drank the water. Over service. Sometimes would like to talk with my wife and not have five to eight waiters watching from less then ten feet away.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food but bring your wallet!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Ruth Chris never disappoints. Top notch steaks and classic ambiance. A bit pricey but if that isn't an issue you can't go wrong.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Ruth's Chris and have made it a t ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

I love Ruth's Chris and have made it a tradition to eat there for my birthday every year (even though I'll go 1-2 more times through the year. The cowboy ribeye has great flavor and is arguably the best steak I've ever had. If you think your Ruby River or Texas Roadhouse steak is great, come here and you'll experience another level.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

NIce meal and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris for the first time to celebrate Valentine's Day. The food was very good, the service great. I was surprised it didn't feel more private although we were in a booth. Also, the noise level was higher than expected and took away form the intimacy we sought. Still, the menu, food and service were outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines date with my wife.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great experience for Valentines. Food and service couldn't be better. Price is a bit on high side as compared to similar food choices, quality of food was awesome though.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing steak and sides!! Especially lov ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing steak and sides!! Especially loved their desserts! Everything was beautiful, definitely great for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nobody does the overall experience bette ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Nobody does the overall experience better than Ruth's Chris. If I could have one meal before I died, it would be their Roasted Stuffed Chicken.

food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Best steak in town

Dined on February 7, 2016

Ruth's Chris is very classy with exceptional prime steaks. I highly recommend "oscar style" to accompany any steak order. Most menu items are ala carte. Highly priced but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Zane was an excellent server & the food ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Zane was an excellent server & the food was amazing as usual! Made our anniversary very special! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on February 1, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's 74th birthday and we were pleasantly surprised when they seated us in a private room. Everything about the evening was fantastic from the food, to the awesome service, to the privacy of the room. The staff made my mom feel like a million dollars. A great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

We were hosting a 100th birthday party; ...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

We were hosting a 100th birthday party; Lily worked to arrange menus without prices and a quieter space. When we arrived we were given a private room that made everyone feel special. Kelsey and her serving team were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Went for our anniversary; we were treated like royalty (been to Ruth's before, but never this location) gave us a great booth, a card wishing us happy anniversary on table, as well as rose petals. Very impressive. At the end of the meal, they told us we could have a free dessert...and then they stressed it was a dessert for each of us AND it they suggested we have one there and take the other home. Like I said, a memorable experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Our steaks were a little undercooked whi ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Our steaks were a little undercooked which was a first.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience.

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Thank you for making my daughters birthday so special. The steaks were cook perfectly and the desserts were yummy. Our server Jake was the best! He was friendly, very helpful and took great care of us. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish!!!

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a very, very nice bottle of wine recommended especially for us by a staff member after he came and personal discussed our tastes in wine!! The staff was amazing and the food was perfect. I'm just so impressed that your steak is hot, juicy and delish from the first bite to the last one. I would highly recommend this as a special occasion dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for my birthday and it was so de ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

We came for my birthday and it was so delicious. I got the petit filet Oscar style and never want to eat a steak any other way. It was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing. My husband got the regular filet and it came out a little under done but they fixed it, no problem. The table was decorated and we got a free dessert too! This is definitely the best steakhouse downtown, in my opinion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent and the service w ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Waiter and servers were very attentive and prompt to take care of any needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service! It is definitely ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food and service! It is definitely a great place to go to celebrate a special evening.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Exceptional Food - Noisy Ambiance

Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined at Ruth's Chris for New Year's Eve and it was busy as expected. When we were seated we instantly noticed how loud it was in the room we were seated. We mostly attribute it to the table behind us, but it was still a little loud after they left - making it difficult for us to talk to each other. Our server was great, she was friendly and helpful, but a large party of people demanded her attention and therefore our meal was a little slower-paced than desired. Ultimately, we really enjoyed our meal and will definitely go back. The holiday simply created a rare environment which created less-than-perfect conditions.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service2

New Years Eve was really busy, which res ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

New Years Eve was really busy, which resulted in poor service.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite things about RC is th ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

One of my favorite things about RC is the service. The staff is very attentive and they pay attention to detail. Our table was ready at the moment we arrived and it had a birthday card for my wife. Secondly, I love the food. The lobster mac was phenomenal. And of course, the steak is so good. Cooked perfectly. Thanks, RC!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on December 27, 2015

We were immediately taken even with us arriving before our reservation time. Everyone greeted us. Our server explained everything and provided a helpful tip to protect my dress since it was my first time. The food was so delicious. Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.