About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (7)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food! Expensive but worth it f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic food! Expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!! Terry was our waiter again & ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Perfect!! Terry was our waiter again & he & his team made our Engagement Celebration as special as it needed to be!! Many thanks!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best steak house in Utah. I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is the best steak house in Utah. I am a Dan Diego guy that LOVES Flemings. However Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake absolutely destroys Flemings Salt Lake. Better ambiance and WAY BETTER FOOD!! 5 stars and a wonderful experience. We will be back next week. I'm going to try the Park City location next as I found that it is the same franchise group. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before a Jazz basketball game. E ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Dinner before a Jazz basketball game. Excellent and timely service. Enjoyed the salad and filet-- cooked to order.

Not cheap but worth the price for a good stake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service. The porterhouse for t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service. The porterhouse for two was DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years eve

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love Ruth's. Always a great c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always love Ruth's. Always a great choice for a special occasion. Everything was exceptional but my wife's filet. She asked for medium well and it arrived perhaps ever rarer than medium rare. Ruth's generally serves their steaks on the rare side but this one was just not correct. Everything else was fabulous and our server was fantastic. It was a bit crowded and noisy for my taste but it was also around holiday time and was to be expected. Will still go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed every aspect of our anniversa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed every aspect of our anniversary celebration---from the valet to the wait staff and management. The food was fabulous. We were there for the steak and Zinfandel. What a fabulous combo. Loved the fact that we could enjoy a complimentary dessert. The creme brûlée was out of this world. So was my cocktail---a Ruby (with ruby red grapefruit juice and vodka). Definitely enjoy spending a special night at Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had an amazing meal. We ar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As usual, we had an amazing meal. We are never disappointed by the amazing food and amazing service. Although it is expensive, it is worth every single penny!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I eat out frequently and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I eat out frequently and Ruth's Chris is our very favorite. THIS Ruth's Chris location in particular is our favorite, so it's 'the best of the best' to us.

We have been to many, many steakhouses, and we have pretty much stopped going to other places for steak--we are always disappointed with other places now that we have eaten here. It's that good.

The steaks are seared to perfection with a charred crust and tender center. They are served on a 500 degree plate that is still sizzling when it arrives at the table. It is absolute heaven to eat.

What is also wonderful is that it is not just the steak that is unbelievably good. The appetizers and desserts are all incredibly flavorful and prepared to perfection . The spicy lobster appetizer is delicious, as is the barbecued shrimp.

The sides are served family style and are also outstanding. Not to be missed are the potatoes au gratin, creamed spinach, bacon and maple glazed Brussels sprouts and of course, the sweet potato casserole which is more like a dessert.

The service is always top notch. There is a waiter and a waiters helper, plus a busboy. And they hustle. I think they must be taught to walk very fast at all times. It's fun to watch them busily whisking enormous trays of treacherously hot food in and out of the kitchen without crashing. They are a well-oiled machine and we are always impressed with their kind attentiveness.

I also personally adore the interior design of this restaurant. It is sleek and elegant, like a fine hotel, with a touch of glitz. It is gorgeous, in subtle hues of blue and gray mixed with neutrals, glass and iridescent tiles.

Yes, it's expensive. No getting around that. But if you are looking for a dining experience that is luxurious and delicious and unforgettable, you will get it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We were looking forward to dining at Rut ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were looking forward to dining at Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake after a good experience at their Park City location. The French onion soup was a bit too sweet and the cheese was a bit rubbery. Three of our group ordered the 11 oz filet. One was perfectly done, the other two were not very good cuts - a lot of tough, chewy pieces. My petite filet was perfect - maybe that's the secret - order the petite cut. The waite staff was great and the ambiance was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived before 6:30 and ordered off t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We arrived before 6:30 and ordered off the "Earlybird Menu" I was surprised they had one, but it was amazing food at a great value. Many options to chose from, and they allowed us to substitute for a few of our favorites for a few dollars more. Staff was great, food was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy coming here for special ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We always enjoy coming here for special occasions. But I was disappointed that my wife's request to swap rice for mashed potatoes in her shrimp entree could not be accommodated. In addition to salads we all wanted to try the scallop appetizer, so we ordered one for our party of 5, knowing that we'd each just have a small bite. The dish came with 4 scallops, so we split one in half. I thought it odd that a place like Ruth's wouldn't put 5 scallops on the plate, knowing we had 5 people. Our bill came to over $500, so id expect just a little more personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

We love Ruth's Chris. Best restaurant pe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love Ruth's Chris. Best restaurant period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family enjoyed a very special meal f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed a very special meal for Christmas Eve. The food was outstanding as was our service. What a special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service. Food was perfect. Th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Incredible service. Food was perfect. The lobster mac is rich and creamy- a definite treat. Our steaks were done exactly as ordered and very tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great French style steak sauteed in bu ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A great French style steak sauteed in butter... lots and lots of butter. No wonder it's so yummy. The bartender needs to learn how to make an Old Fashioned... no bitters, a slice of orange and one shot of whiskey and 6 ounces of tonic...I don't think it's up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service. Pricey, bu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best blue cheese dressing I've ever had. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Best blue cheese dressing I've ever had. The steaks were perfect. Our waitress was outstanding. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, , Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the steaks were not very good. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I thought the steaks were not very good. The meat was a bit fatty. My wife's portion was much smaller than every one else's. I had better steaks at Flemming's and Texas Road House. The side dishes were both cold. Overall the experience was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Warm and welcoming environment... Presen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Warm and welcoming environment... Presentation of staff food and wine, all excellent...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Ruths Chris's all over t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have eaten at Ruths Chris's all over the country. The Salt Lake City establishment is my favorite. The staff is excellent. The food is spectacular. The setting is stunning. The manager Josh makes every guest fell like they are a the most important person there. We cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were top notch as alway ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food and service were top notch as always. We have dined here for several special occasions, and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Petite Filet and it was Scrump ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I had the Petite Filet and it was Scrumptious! The sides and salads were all very good too. Most of us can't afford to go there very often, but boy, it was a memorable, delicious meal. I Never eat red meat leftovers, but I sure enjoyed my steak the next day warmed up in my toaster oven. :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was very tough, for the price I ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My steak was very tough, for the price I paid, I was left dissatisfied.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

So... they brought the petit filet surf ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

So... they brought the petit filet surf and turf special out late and the steak was way over cooked (ordered medium rare) and not great quality meat. Then forgot our lobster Mac and cheese that was one of our parties entree so she waited at least ten minutes. Honestly for a $400 meal I would have rated the experience on the 2 or 3 side of ten let alone 5. Our server was cordial but the dropped balls etc it was disappointing to say the least. Free birthday desserts was kind but didn't ice the bad experience. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Jake our server and the bus boy remember ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Jake our server and the bus boy remembered us from our first time at this location right down to my after dinner drink. As always the food is so good and the service is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We were ther ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were there for our anniversary and the staff went the extra mile to make it a special night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never lets us down. Food was out of this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Never lets us down. Food was out of this world delicious, we were treated like royalty, very clean comforting atmosphere. Love love love Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service thanks very muc ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food great service thanks very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got the Ruth Chopped Salad. It was not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Got the Ruth Chopped Salad. It was not fresh and tasted like it had been setting in the frig for the last couple hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

RC simply performs with elegance and pre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

RC simply performs with elegance and precision. Drinks are skinny and the sides could use more attention, but the overall experience is consistently top shelf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have dined at this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant many times and you cannot beat it for a simple steak dinner. I also think their lobster bisque soup and au gratin potatoes are outstanding. The greeting from the manager and the table service couldn't be nicer. My only suggestion is that the wine servers should be provided with better corkscrews that will handle well aged bottles better. They also need to learn how to properly decant old bottles which have sediment

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Surprisingly the best part was the banan ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Surprisingly the best part was the banana cream pie. Save room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as usual. Waitress was diffic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic, as usual. Waitress was difficult to hear, but was still a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seriously the best steaks! Also got the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Seriously the best steaks! Also got the lobster mac and cheese. Ridiculously good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was our second visit to Ruth Chris in Salt Lake City. As the first time, it was not a disappointment. Every aspect of the experience was superb. Service and the meal was impeccable. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff was already aware and prepared for our arrival. The table was decorated with accents and a card recognizing the occasion. Everyone of the staff for our table acknowledged the birthday. To make it even more of a special occasion, one of our family members made the arrangements to cover the bill for our meal. Again, the food was excellent and we will definitely return to Ruth Chris in the future. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to Ruth's Chris to cele ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took my family to Ruth's Chris to celebrate my husband's birthday. He was greeted with a birthday wish and our table was festive with a birthday card at the table. The service was incredible and the food amazing. Ended with a birthday dessert of choice that was complimentary. Great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake City f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Visited Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake City for my birthday. We were seated right away in a calm and luxury oriented atmosphere. Our Waiter promptly greeted us and was attentive throughout the entire experience. The problems arose when my $50 steak was put in front of me. I could tell just by looking at it that it was under cooked. When my waiter returned I voiced my concern and was told to cut into it. Sure enough it was rare not medium as ordered. At this (price) point I expected a new steak because anyone who knows jack about a good stake knows that after it is cut into it will not be the same if re fired. A few minutes later here comes the same steak. After cutting into it it was still under. I decided to just eat the thing and be done. By this time my wife was nearing the end of her overcooked steak. This is what I would expect from a place like Texas Roadhouse or other large chain, not Ruth's Chris. No discount or compensation was offered. I am not sure if I will return after this disappointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We are more familiar with the Ruth Chris ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We are more familiar with the Ruth Chris in Park City which is a bit more casual. But we loved the city ambiance in this restaurant. The staff was excellent and the food was cooked to perfection. It was easy to valet park. We had an early dinner before attending the symphony. It was perfect walking distance. All-in-all, a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.