About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: 8013632000x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Creme Brulee
  • Barbeque Shrimp With Mashers
  • Veal Chops With Blackberry
  • shrimp appetizer
  • porterhouse steak
  • T-Bone w/blue cheese
  • Banana Cream Pie
  • Chopped Salad
  • Petite Filet
Creme Brulee
Barbeque Shrimp With Mashers
Veal Chops With Blackberry
shrimp appetizer
porterhouse steak
T-Bone w/blue cheese
Banana Cream Pie
Chopped Salad
Petite Filet

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Steakhouse
Utah
5 More
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten here several times before and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Have eaten here several times before and have loved it every time. Originally made a reservation in Park City first but due to recent poor reviews opted for SLC. No regrets. Lots of places claim to have better food, but I am yet to find it at any price. Hard to try anywhere new when Ruth's Chris has been flawless. Filet, Ahi, Lobster bites all A ++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Away on business I was looking for a nic ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Away on business I was looking for a nice, quite and quality meal. Because Ruth's Chris was located right next door to my hotel, it was a convenient way of meeting this desire. Unfortunately, I was sat in a very small section of the restaurant next to a very large party of about 16 people. Rather than asking me if this was okay, I was not given any choices. The group was not overtly loud, but when you're paying $75++ for a meal, you expect to seated where other patrons understand manors and have a level of sophistication becoming a restaurant of this caliper. This large group did not have either. They were swearing and playing the Pokeymon video games on their cell phones while they talked over each other.

I ordered a New York Strip steak and cremini mushrooms for dinner. After waiting some time, I was served a steak. What I was served was not what I ordered. I received a Rib eye. At this point it was not worth saying something as it would have been another 15 minutes listening to the table next to me. The steak was good and the mushrooms were good, but the waiter tended to the much larger party rather than to insure my meal was what I expected. My water glass remained empty much of the meal.

This experience was disappointing and I'd be reluctant to go back to another Ruth's Chris Steakhouse because of this experience. I really hope they think about this before putting someone else in this situation in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the best service. We were celebratin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not the best service. We were celebrating our anniversary and we were overlooked for another couple celebrating their anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a lovely evening. The steaks were ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lovely evening. The steaks were awesome and the service was terrific.

Thank you Fraser

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very considerate of our 25th anniversary ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very considerate of our 25th anniversary. Wonderful rapport with Jocelaya our server. Fantastic quality of food and service. Great ambience. One of the best meals we have ever had together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but service less acceptab ...

 
 (Dubai)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good, but service less acceptable. Separate comments sent to the restaurant management directly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I ordered surf and turf. They try to sel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I ordered surf and turf. They try to sell you on the fact that they serve USDA Beef. I can get that from Smith's Grocery or Walmart for that matter. The food was flavorful but chewy. Not what I would expect for $80. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good service and food.

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent, the filet wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was excellent, the filet was perfect and they had the best calamari. Our server Zane was very helpful and attentive all night. Please send our thanks. It as an amazing night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zane was a great waiter. Gave us informa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Zane was a great waiter. Gave us information about the menu and helped us decide what to order. New York steak was flavorful and tender. Rib eye not as tender or marbled as I expected but had good flavor. Key lime martini out of this world and better than the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jake our server was GREAT, we talked win ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Jake our server was GREAT, we talked wine, food, single malts and we talked golf most of the night. We were in no hurry and that's the way the night went. We had people come and go while we leisurely had our wine, dinner, after dinner drink (Lagavulin) and conversation with Jake. Food was first rate as it always is at any Ruth's Chris, I had a stake and my wife had fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food was amazing!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service and the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Filets were tender and very flavorful. L ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Filets were tender and very flavorful. Loved the French onion soup and lobster bisque. The creme brulee for dessert was divine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the tomatoes and mozzar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the tomatoes and mozzarella as well as my steak which was cooked and prepared perfectly and my dessert which was the banana cream pie with caramelized bananas--everything was awesome--and the service was great, Frazier and the rest of the wait staff did an awesome job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dinner and service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey, but the most tender steak I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very pricey, but the most tender steak I have ever had. Go early for their Prix Fixe menu. 3 courses for $50!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there when visited Salt Lake City f ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went there when visited Salt Lake City for the first time. Great service. Great food. Well recommended. Brought two kids with us, and they had an inexpensive option for both of them.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a friends birthday. The Ruth ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Celebrated a friends birthday. The Ruth's Chris signature salad was big enough for at least 2 adults. We loved our filet mignon, it was cooked to perfection. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service as usual

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to numerous steak houses in ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have been to numerous steak houses in Salt Lake, and Ruth's Chris is definitely among the best. Our server (Sam) was fantastic, and was very attentive without being overbearing. The steaks are served on plates at 500 degrees, which keeps the meat hot, and even cooks it a little further once it is served. We were very impressed with the cuts of meat we ordered, and will return to Ruth's Chris for another special occasion in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were late getting into Salt Lake City ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were late getting into Salt Lake City, our dining reservation was for 10:15 pm. The restaurant was not crowded, only 4 other tables were being used......but yet they sat a guy and his two female friends at the table right next to us. To make things even better, the three seated next to us recognized another couple having dinner and decided to catch up on their social calendar while standing two feet away from us. When we were done with our meal I pointed out the issue to our waitress, she said "I should have moved you." A bit late on that thought. The decision on seating is always in the staffs control and they could have done a better job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I chose to celebrate our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I chose to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary at Ruth's Chris. There is something about a nice restaurant with a staff that welcomes you to their restaurant and immediately says "Happy Anniversary we are so happy that you chose to spend the evening with us, along with white table cloths, waiters dressed in white shirts/ black pants and subdued lighting that set the stage for a nice evening with that special person in your life! We started with a signature martini along with wine with our dinner. We had wedge salads that were delicious and we both had filets done medium-rare ( I had Oscar style with lobster) and they were both done to perfection. We also had the au gratin potatoes and asparagus which were great. They offered a complimentary dessert of our choice which was unexpected and very much appreciated. Our waiter (Jared) was professional and very attentive! We left thinking that we will be back very soon and that we have found our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filet was fantastic. Ribeye was chewy. T ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Filet was fantastic. Ribeye was chewy. They did offer to replace it but by then its too late isnt it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris is exactly what it should b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ruth's Chris is exactly what it should be....wonderful food, a great environment and flawless staff. But, you pay a pretty penny for it. It's not the kind of place that I would eat more than once or twice a year, but it's a wonderful treat when I do.

My only concern this time was that I was bombarded with noise from a table on the other side of the wall from us. It was really distracting....and it was odd because they were on the other side of the wall, but a hole in the wall near the ceiling piped their conversation over to us like we were sitting next to them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak and salad and sweet potatoes ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The steak and salad and sweet potatoes where great the Au gratins and asparagus where average for $175 I would expect perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary and were very pleased with the experience we had. Great food and wonderful service. We loved the experience...thanks

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Definitely what you expect at Ruth's Chr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Definitely what you expect at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Lovely atmosphere and excellent food. My husband and son shared the two person variety of steak and it could have fed the four of us at the table. The chicken was moist and delicious. Our order of cauliflower was cooked perfectly and we recommend it. The banana cream pie was a solid 10!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate our anniversary. It was very romantic. We told them ahead of time and they had rose petals on our table and a Happy Anniversary card, as well. We received a complimentary dessert to celebrate. The service was friendly and kind and very professional. Thank you, Ruth's Chris! We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall but be prepared ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great experience overall but be prepared to pay an arm and maybe both legs for the experience...high-end pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice touch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. When we arrived with our dining partners, rose petals were on the table. They also offered a dessert "on the house", which we gladly shared among the four of us. We really like the food and ambiance. Thank you for a memorable anniversary celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The BEST!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic experience from start to finish! Loved the scallop appetizer and veal ravioli, bone-in filet, venison, chocolate duo and more. Check out their cocktail and wine selections, too. Impeccable, professional yet truly friendly and personalized service. Kudos to Zane, Jucelea and their team.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just exp ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just expected more than what we got - Both steaks tasted so much of butter and the flavor of the steak was gone. The food took some time to be delivered to the table.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Was disappointed with how slow our service was.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Aside from the service, our food arrived hot and flavorful. Best steaks in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Fra ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Frazier is the best server in America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World-class Dining Experience!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the opportunity to treat my in-laws to dinner. They said it was in the top 3 places they have eaten in the world! My husband and I have gone here several times before and we are always pleased. We look forward to another visit and we HIGHLY recommend them. Don't forget to make a reservation ;)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For special occasions

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food It was a birthday for a son. We found the occasion enjoyable

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful serv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful server. Great experience, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak So Good You Want to Die!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The steak really lived up to it's hype, so delicious! Tender, wonderful, just amazing.

The seafood was not so impressive. Spend your money on other menu items.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is amazing. The food is delicious and always prepared to your liking. And the staff is very professional. Definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.