Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Romantic (23)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 14 hours ago

We always have a wonderful experience at Ruth's Chris and tonight was no exception. We were greeted warmly on arrival and seated right away. Our server was friendly and helpful; and of course the food was excellent. We know we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first visit to Ruth's Chris. I was nervous spending so much on a meal but it was a special occasion. I wasn't disappointed. It was all delicious. The waitress was wonderful and kind. We really enjoyed the complimentary dessert for our anniversary it made the night even more special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and service! Love the steak here and the sweet potato casserole is to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was very pleasant. Great atmosphere to spend our anniversary.

Waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent Steak. Took business guest there and they were thoroughly impressed.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a great experience here. The food, drinks, atmosphere and service is second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Thanks for a great evening. John took fantastic care of us and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our server was exceptional! Two of the three steaks were over done. They were supposed to be medium and there was absolutely no pink in them at all they were at least medium well or even well done. The desserts were fabulous, however!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

What an amazing restaurant. The food was amazing and the restaurant had a nice ambiance. Both my wife and I were impressed by everything, and talked about it for days afterward. The lamb chops and filet mignon were good cuts and perfectly cooked. The sides were great (especially the fingerling potatoes). The desserts were delicious and they had a different variety from what I normally see...which was good. My wife had the bread pudding, and I had the banana custard. Both were delicious. My only complaint was the ridiculous markup on the bottle of prosecco ($20 bottle for $57). I'd definitely go back, but would forgo getting a bottle of prosecco. We usually go to Flemings, but will switch to Ruth's Chris. The food, service, and atmosphere is wayyy better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always a great time at Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake. Service was amazing. Atmosphere was wonderful. Food never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The steak was the best I've every had. It was served on a hot plate, but the potatoes were served on a cold plate and therefore were cold at the second bite. Dessert was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The service was great and the food arrived quickly. The food was outstanding and well presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Steaks, salads, side veggie, dessert----all superb! We ordered the petite filet and the cowboy ribeye, the caeser salad and the chop salad, the roasted corn and the banana cream caramelized pie!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Best steak hands down, beats Fleming and Daniels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good as usual. We were placed at a table by the bar, a little noisy. Waiter and food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was superb! The best steak I ever had! Great customer service ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and experience. They set our table up for my wife's birthday and have her a free desert. Classy and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant for a special occasion or date night. Consistently excellent food and (usually) excellent service. We had "Terry" as our server on this visit and he was a consummate professional. Call me an old fuddy duddy but I like servers that are knowledgable, know their product, and are present but unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Best Ruth chris ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Never disappointed when we dine at this location. We were warmly greeted by the maitre'd David, and served flawlessly by our server Brady.
We all ordered the cowboy ribeye coupled with a few sides. Hats off to the chef for the amazing consistency that we get on every visit at this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The only thing I would say was when we got there they said that men had to wear a collard shirt. I don't know if that is posted on the open table reservations site. If so I didn't look far enough to see it. If not you should add it to the site so that a man can dress accordingly. Fortunately they keep us for dinner without the collar. The service was great and the food was perfect as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was a great experience, food was very good not in love with the butter but it wasn't bad, I would come back great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The service was fine. I was turned off by all of the $3.00 upselling by the waiter. Nothing against him it was just tacky to me. Add a price and the options. I don't really njoy 10 minutes of salad, side dish and dessert upselling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Outstanding restaurant for that special occasion !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love the ribeye steak!! a must everytime we come. Delicious

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great Place to dine, food is always consistent. A little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

What a great restaurant. Everyone was so friendly and they let me eat at the bar. Great wine selection and the bartender was so so helpful. Totally recommend the establishment when you are in the area

Thanks

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went to Ruth's Chris for a late Father's Day celebration and the steak was EXCELLENT. The service was also top notch and the staff were so kind to wish my father a Happy Father's Day on our way in and out.

It's very pricey, but the pre-6:30 "Prime Time" dinner combinations make Ruth's Chris accessible for people who want to save up for a special occasion. I highly recommend going for the steak and sides at least once in your life.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and service as always. The steak is always delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As always, Ruth's Chris is a special place with extraordinary food. Worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was awful. Steaks overcooked. Service was snobbish and rude. Rugs had an awful design on them that looked like a stain. Would NOT recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Have yet to have a bad experience at a Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great steak, wonderful staff, and good wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent meal and great service. I think the only negative was that they maybe had too good of service. It seemed like we had someone at our table every 30 seconds. It would have been nice to be left alone a little bit but the food was amazing as always. We just tried to have a romantic night and it was a little too much with the 2 servers, the bussers and the bread guy coming by so much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was just "so-so"-- definitely not what I'm accustomed to in a restaurant of this caliber-- server might have been having a tough night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Celebrated our 24th Anniversary at Ruth's Chris and it was a wonderful experience. Ambiance was wonderful, they went all out with a card wishing us Happy Anniversary, rose petals on the table and a special desert concluding wonderful meal. The service was exceptional, just the correct amount without hovering or ignoring us.

Over all a wonderful experience that we will repeat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Ahi Tuna is to die for. Everything else was 5 star. They are expensive, but you get what you pay for. I have tried many places that claim to have the best steaks and I am yet to find one to beat Ruth's Chris. Keep coming back because they are consistent. It is fantastic every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were celebrating a month of birthdays in our family. Our table was in a secluded room for 8. The food was as usual excellent! Our waiter was outstanding!! The birthday deserets had happy birthday written on them with candles. It was an absolutely wonderful evening. We love the downtown location of Ruth Chris, it is a gem!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was phenomenal and our server Meghan did a great job!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.