About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and is al ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and is always worth every penny. The cowboy ribeye is always the tastiest and most flavorful ribeye in town. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Service was la ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great as always. Service was lacking this time, but it's cool, still better than 98% of other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The staff was very friendly and courteou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The waiter was excellent; very kind and personable. It was Valentines Day and our anniversary. We were given the dessert of our choice on the house. When the dessert was served, "Happy Anniversary" was written on the plate in chocolate sauce. We were delighted. All of the food was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first experience and I absolut ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first experience and I absolutely loved it! Amazing staff and mouth watering food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and even better experience! T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and even better experience! The steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris always delights! The food an ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Ruth Chris always delights! The food and staff are great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the best steak I've ever had eve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the best steak I've ever had ever. Meghan and Rob were fantastic servers and the complementary key lime pie for dessert just made our 25th anniversary meal over the top great. Thanks Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, great atmosphere and the s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great atmosphere and the service was top notch. I recommend to anyone looking for a delicious steak dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, personable and friendly custo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent, personable and friendly customer service. I'm assuming it was the manager who even came to our table to inquire how our dinner and service was. Steak was perfectly cooked and amazing!! Looking forward for our next dinner here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NEVER disappointed.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

NEVER disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, Great service, Very Go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent steaks, Great service, Very Good Luxurita Margarita!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food, and consistent nationw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional food, and consistent nationwide. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and amazing food! Our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful service and amazing food! Our server was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and wonderful service. Very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful service. Very expensive but worth it! Steak was cooked to perfection and the apple dessert was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Ruth's Chris. It is my favorite r ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Ruth's Chris. It is my favorite restaurant and last week's reservation did not disappoint.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Ok service. We've dined at t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food. Ok service. We've dined at this restaurant in California, first time visiting the SLC location. Didn't get seated until 15 min after our reservation time. After being seated it was close to 10 minutes until we even got water, despite multiple servers telling us they would get us some. And that was just kind of how the service went for the rest of the night. Slow to get orders, slow to refill water, nobody asking how our meal was, etc. Great food as always, just not great service here. Might have been just an off night. But $200 in food for two people, I expect better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing food and fantastic service! We ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and fantastic service! We attended prior to a theater event and loved it. We come often and will be back.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service- we love it here

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and service- we love it here

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time when we dine ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We always have a great time when we dine here. The steaks are amazing as well as the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitstaff was running around like ch ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitstaff was running around like chickens with their heads cut off. They were arguing with each other in the middle of the restaurant floor. Hard to enjoy dinner with constant distraction from the wait staff. Pure chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was wonderful as always. We arr ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was wonderful as always. We arrived before 6:30 and were able to order the special which is a great value. Had the key line lime martini for dessert - it's better than the pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tamahawk steak was one of the 3 best ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Tamahawk steak was one of the 3 best steaks I've had in the last 5 years! Cooked perfectly! I was surprised a chain could cook steak this well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was done in a timely, very pl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was done in a timely, very pleasing manner. Waitress was perfect. Food was beyond good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great , service was just fine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dinner was great , service was just fine.

i am from the Salinas valley, and

i thought your salad was just so-so.

Maybe put some time into making a real Caeser salad ! The steak was very flavorful, hot and cooked to perfection ! Overall a great experience ! Thank you Ruth Chris' !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my birthday and I couldn't h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for my birthday and I couldn't have been happier with the service. Initially we were by the kitchen and next to a loud table but with a quiet and quick request from my husband we were quickly moved to a quiet table with the BEST server, Julia. Spectacular night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is top notch, and food is excell ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service is top notch, and food is excellent. While the tables are fairly close together, the acoustics of the room still make personal conversation audible. This is a first class establishment, expensive but reliable for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic food! Expensive but worth it f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic food! Expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!! Terry was our waiter again & ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Perfect!! Terry was our waiter again & he & his team made our Engagement Celebration as special as it needed to be!! Many thanks!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best steak house in Utah. I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is the best steak house in Utah. I am a Dan Diego guy that LOVES Flemings. However Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake absolutely destroys Flemings Salt Lake. Better ambiance and WAY BETTER FOOD!! 5 stars and a wonderful experience. We will be back next week. I'm going to try the Park City location next as I found that it is the same franchise group. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before a Jazz basketball game. E ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Dinner before a Jazz basketball game. Excellent and timely service. Enjoyed the salad and filet-- cooked to order.

Not cheap but worth the price for a good stake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service. The porterhouse for t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service. The porterhouse for two was DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years eve

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love Ruth's. Always a great c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always love Ruth's. Always a great choice for a special occasion. Everything was exceptional but my wife's filet. She asked for medium well and it arrived perhaps ever rarer than medium rare. Ruth's generally serves their steaks on the rare side but this one was just not correct. Everything else was fabulous and our server was fantastic. It was a bit crowded and noisy for my taste but it was also around holiday time and was to be expected. Will still go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed every aspect of our anniversa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed every aspect of our anniversary celebration---from the valet to the wait staff and management. The food was fabulous. We were there for the steak and Zinfandel. What a fabulous combo. Loved the fact that we could enjoy a complimentary dessert. The creme brûlée was out of this world. So was my cocktail---a Ruby (with ruby red grapefruit juice and vodka). Definitely enjoy spending a special night at Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had an amazing meal. We ar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As usual, we had an amazing meal. We are never disappointed by the amazing food and amazing service. Although it is expensive, it is worth every single penny!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I eat out frequently and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I eat out frequently and Ruth's Chris is our very favorite. THIS Ruth's Chris location in particular is our favorite, so it's 'the best of the best' to us.

We have been to many, many steakhouses, and we have pretty much stopped going to other places for steak--we are always disappointed with other places now that we have eaten here. It's that good.

The steaks are seared to perfection with a charred crust and tender center. They are served on a 500 degree plate that is still sizzling when it arrives at the table. It is absolute heaven to eat.

What is also wonderful is that it is not just the steak that is unbelievably good. The appetizers and desserts are all incredibly flavorful and prepared to perfection . The spicy lobster appetizer is delicious, as is the barbecued shrimp.

The sides are served family style and are also outstanding. Not to be missed are the potatoes au gratin, creamed spinach, bacon and maple glazed Brussels sprouts and of course, the sweet potato casserole which is more like a dessert.

The service is always top notch. There is a waiter and a waiters helper, plus a busboy. And they hustle. I think they must be taught to walk very fast at all times. It's fun to watch them busily whisking enormous trays of treacherously hot food in and out of the kitchen without crashing. They are a well-oiled machine and we are always impressed with their kind attentiveness.

I also personally adore the interior design of this restaurant. It is sleek and elegant, like a fine hotel, with a touch of glitz. It is gorgeous, in subtle hues of blue and gray mixed with neutrals, glass and iridescent tiles.

Yes, it's expensive. No getting around that. But if you are looking for a dining experience that is luxurious and delicious and unforgettable, you will get it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We were looking forward to dining at Rut ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were looking forward to dining at Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake after a good experience at their Park City location. The French onion soup was a bit too sweet and the cheese was a bit rubbery. Three of our group ordered the 11 oz filet. One was perfectly done, the other two were not very good cuts - a lot of tough, chewy pieces. My petite filet was perfect - maybe that's the secret - order the petite cut. The waite staff was great and the ambiance was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived before 6:30 and ordered off t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We arrived before 6:30 and ordered off the "Earlybird Menu" I was surprised they had one, but it was amazing food at a great value. Many options to chose from, and they allowed us to substitute for a few of our favorites for a few dollars more. Staff was great, food was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy coming here for special ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We always enjoy coming here for special occasions. But I was disappointed that my wife's request to swap rice for mashed potatoes in her shrimp entree could not be accommodated. In addition to salads we all wanted to try the scallop appetizer, so we ordered one for our party of 5, knowing that we'd each just have a small bite. The dish came with 4 scallops, so we split one in half. I thought it odd that a place like Ruth's wouldn't put 5 scallops on the plate, knowing we had 5 people. Our bill came to over $500, so id expect just a little more personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

We love Ruth's Chris. Best restaurant pe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love Ruth's Chris. Best restaurant period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.