About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: 8013632000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Creme Brulee
  • Barbeque Shrimp With Mashers
  • Veal Chops With Blackberry
  • porterhouse steak
  • shrimp appetizer
  • T-Bone w/blue cheese
  • Banana Cream Pie
  • Chopped Salad
  • Petite Filet
Creme Brulee
Barbeque Shrimp With Mashers
Veal Chops With Blackberry
porterhouse steak
shrimp appetizer
T-Bone w/blue cheese
Banana Cream Pie
Chopped Salad
Petite Filet

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Utah
Best Service
Utah
Steakhouse
Utah
5 More
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

special occasion (48)
romantic (29)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
notable wine list (22)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Filets were tender and very flavorful. L ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Filets were tender and very flavorful. Loved the French onion soup and lobster bisque. The creme brulee for dessert was divine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the tomatoes and mozzar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the tomatoes and mozzarella as well as my steak which was cooked and prepared perfectly and my dessert which was the banana cream pie with caramelized bananas--everything was awesome--and the service was great, Frazier and the rest of the wait staff did an awesome job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dinner and service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey, but the most tender steak I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very pricey, but the most tender steak I have ever had. Go early for their Prix Fixe menu. 3 courses for $50!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there when visited Salt Lake City f ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went there when visited Salt Lake City for the first time. Great service. Great food. Well recommended. Brought two kids with us, and they had an inexpensive option for both of them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a friends birthday. The Ruth ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Celebrated a friends birthday. The Ruth's Chris signature salad was big enough for at least 2 adults. We loved our filet mignon, it was cooked to perfection. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service as usual

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to numerous steak houses in ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have been to numerous steak houses in Salt Lake, and Ruth's Chris is definitely among the best. Our server (Sam) was fantastic, and was very attentive without being overbearing. The steaks are served on plates at 500 degrees, which keeps the meat hot, and even cooks it a little further once it is served. We were very impressed with the cuts of meat we ordered, and will return to Ruth's Chris for another special occasion in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were late getting into Salt Lake City ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were late getting into Salt Lake City, our dining reservation was for 10:15 pm. The restaurant was not crowded, only 4 other tables were being used......but yet they sat a guy and his two female friends at the table right next to us. To make things even better, the three seated next to us recognized another couple having dinner and decided to catch up on their social calendar while standing two feet away from us. When we were done with our meal I pointed out the issue to our waitress, she said "I should have moved you." A bit late on that thought. The decision on seating is always in the staffs control and they could have done a better job.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I chose to celebrate our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I chose to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary at Ruth's Chris. There is something about a nice restaurant with a staff that welcomes you to their restaurant and immediately says "Happy Anniversary we are so happy that you chose to spend the evening with us, along with white table cloths, waiters dressed in white shirts/ black pants and subdued lighting that set the stage for a nice evening with that special person in your life! We started with a signature martini along with wine with our dinner. We had wedge salads that were delicious and we both had filets done medium-rare ( I had Oscar style with lobster) and they were both done to perfection. We also had the au gratin potatoes and asparagus which were great. They offered a complimentary dessert of our choice which was unexpected and very much appreciated. Our waiter (Jared) was professional and very attentive! We left thinking that we will be back very soon and that we have found our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filet was fantastic. Ribeye was chewy. T ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Filet was fantastic. Ribeye was chewy. They did offer to replace it but by then its too late isnt it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris is exactly what it should b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ruth's Chris is exactly what it should be....wonderful food, a great environment and flawless staff. But, you pay a pretty penny for it. It's not the kind of place that I would eat more than once or twice a year, but it's a wonderful treat when I do.

My only concern this time was that I was bombarded with noise from a table on the other side of the wall from us. It was really distracting....and it was odd because they were on the other side of the wall, but a hole in the wall near the ceiling piped their conversation over to us like we were sitting next to them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak and salad and sweet potatoes ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The steak and salad and sweet potatoes where great the Au gratins and asparagus where average for $175 I would expect perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd weddin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary and were very pleased with the experience we had. Great food and wonderful service. We loved the experience...thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Definitely what you expect at Ruth's Chr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Definitely what you expect at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Lovely atmosphere and excellent food. My husband and son shared the two person variety of steak and it could have fed the four of us at the table. The chicken was moist and delicious. Our order of cauliflower was cooked perfectly and we recommend it. The banana cream pie was a solid 10!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate our anniversary. It was very romantic. We told them ahead of time and they had rose petals on our table and a Happy Anniversary card, as well. We received a complimentary dessert to celebrate. The service was friendly and kind and very professional. Thank you, Ruth's Chris! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall but be prepared ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great experience overall but be prepared to pay an arm and maybe both legs for the experience...high-end pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice touch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. When we arrived with our dining partners, rose petals were on the table. They also offered a dessert "on the house", which we gladly shared among the four of us. We really like the food and ambiance. Thank you for a memorable anniversary celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The BEST!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic experience from start to finish! Loved the scallop appetizer and veal ravioli, bone-in filet, venison, chocolate duo and more. Check out their cocktail and wine selections, too. Impeccable, professional yet truly friendly and personalized service. Kudos to Zane, Jucelea and their team.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just exp ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It wasn't bad, it wasn't good - just expected more than what we got - Both steaks tasted so much of butter and the flavor of the steak was gone. The food took some time to be delivered to the table.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Was disappointed with how slow our service was.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Aside from the service, our food arrived hot and flavorful. Best steaks in town!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Fra ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Phenomenal meal and perfect service. Frazier is the best server in America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World-class Dining Experience!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the opportunity to treat my in-laws to dinner. They said it was in the top 3 places they have eaten in the world! My husband and I have gone here several times before and we are always pleased. We look forward to another visit and we HIGHLY recommend them. Don't forget to make a reservation ;)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For special occasions

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food It was a birthday for a son. We found the occasion enjoyable

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful serv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic food. Kyle is a wonderful server. Great experience, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak So Good You Want to Die!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The steak really lived up to it's hype, so delicious! Tender, wonderful, just amazing.

The seafood was not so impressive. Spend your money on other menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is amazing. The food is delicious and always prepared to your liking. And the staff is very professional. Definitely worth every penny.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service and Food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was top notch the minute we entered the main door. We were greeted by friendly and smiling staff who were excited to serve us. Ordered two steaks and it did not disappoint. We ordered two medium-rare steaks and it came out the way we wanted it; succulent and tender in the middle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Delicious and Savory

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Ruth's Chris Salt Lake City provides just the right amount of ambiance along with great food and wonderful service. We are always impressed with the friendly and attentive service and of course the terrific food found at all of the Ruth's Chris locations that we have visited throughout the country. A can't miss for special occasions or just a special evening out with your loved one.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks prepared exactly as ordered. Hig ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Steaks prepared exactly as ordered. Highest quality. Service was tops.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a business dinner

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I was in town for a convention at the Salt Palace. I took a customer here for a dinner meeting. Our server was attentive - but not intrusive. Food was excellent as it is at every Ruth's I've visited.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Serious Steak

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

had made a reservation and had to change times due to late flight arrival...and it was quick and painless and the staff were very easy going and offered amazing customer service. Great food, great drink and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebration

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We celebrated my retirement here and we were not disappointed! Please go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Two of ate there 3/7

My friend ordered venison chops which thought were great

I ordered ribeye

My steak was tough and stringy and not very good

I had steak two days later at good local and it was much better

Service and ambiance excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

A great restaurant in Salt Lake

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We were delighted with RC in Salt Lake. Every single detail was perfect and our waiter was one of the best we have ever had. We took advantage of the prime time meal which was moderately priced and oh so good. The waiter treated us to a full dessert as it was my birthday, a most generous creme brulee on the house. I probably would go every week if they were closer to our home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in the area.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Best steak in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Too many waiters

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was amazing even with the price as high as it was still worth it. Did not like all the of waiters standing there just waiting to fill your glass as soon as you drank the water. Over service. Sometimes would like to talk with my wife and not have five to eight waiters watching from less then ten feet away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food but bring your wallet!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Ruth Chris never disappoints. Top notch steaks and classic ambiance. A bit pricey but if that isn't an issue you can't go wrong.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Ruth's Chris and have made it a t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I love Ruth's Chris and have made it a tradition to eat there for my birthday every year (even though I'll go 1-2 more times through the year. The cowboy ribeye has great flavor and is arguably the best steak I've ever had. If you think your Ruby River or Texas Roadhouse steak is great, come here and you'll experience another level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.