Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted, served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Salt Lake is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

*Due to the type of liquor license we have the State of Utah requires that at least on person in the party be 21 years or older. Minors are always welcome in our family atmosphere as long as someone in the party is at least 21.


275 S. West Temple St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
300 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-2000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/

Parking Details:
Enjoy Valet Parking drop-off, just steps away from the front doors under our porte-cochere at the West Temple Street entrance. Street parking and Self-Park lots are also abundant next to restaurant.

Public Transit:
Take the Trax to the Gallivan Center stop on Main Street. Proceed on foot one half block south to 300 S. then turn right (west) and travel one block - you'll see Ruth's Chris Steak House ahead on the right.

Executive Chef:
Brett Bartholoma

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Salt Lake private dining is perfect for every occasion for groups of 8 - 100. Business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners or lavish receptions. We feature 5 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including:


-Built-in Large Screen HD-LCD TV’s


-Integrated Microphone system


-Satellite Broadcasting


-Webcasting


-Wireless Internet


-Telephone Conferencing


-Blue Ray DVD player


-MP3 Docking


-Direct connect from laptop to screens for Power Point presentations


-Direct TV Satellite

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Benson: (801) 363-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Romantic (39)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great. The waiter was nice. My complaint was that it was freezing cold. I was uncomfortable the entire time. At $400 for 4 people I would expect to be comfortable while I eat. We did tell them it was cold and they said they turned the air off on us. They definitely didn't because it was literally blowing right on me. My mom had to go get a coat out of the car. Not that it was a huge deal but for the money I just expect to be comfortable while I eat. If that table is in a spot where all the vents hit it then don't use it. Other than that it was great food and we enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for a delayed Mother's Day dinner and I am glad that we waited a week. The last time we went on the actual Mother's Day 2 years ago, we had a negative experience. This time we received excellent service from Terry and a fantastically prepared meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent steak and sides. Quality mixed drinks

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nearby clientele distracted from the dining experience with their fussing, crying children; young prom couples lacking dress and table manners; and an off-the-farm foursome appropraitely clad with jeans and hats. A big disappointment for a fine dining establishment with the reputation of Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Seating was not great. We sat by a wall near a large and loud table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. It was a very enjoyable evening, the food was excellent & the staff made her feel very special - thank you!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

ALAN🌳 knew everything about the cut of meat. Very professional and very friendly. And our water boy was a young kid who is the best water boy I have ever had. Every time he poured my water glass I would say thank you. He would say my pleasure. Wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Cesar salad was the best I've ever had. The steaks were very impressive. Cook to my liking and served on a hot sizzling plate. I had the shoe string potatoes and they were delicious. I will be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Superb food and service! Every time we've dined at Ruth's Chris, we are never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ruth's Chris is a reliable standard. Great food and (usually) great service, although not so great this visit. We come here for special dinners (and if you let them know in advance, they will decorate your table for you in honor of the occasion).

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was great. Our table was covered in rose petals and our waiter bought us dessert. Great food, great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great steak again! I started with an excellant shrimp cocktail and a good zinfandel, then had a perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked NY strip steak. I finished it with a great single malt and their apple crisp.
The only reason I didn't do 5 stars across theboard, and they may be a little picky, are these; the steak had a bit of gristle that made 10% uneatable, and the apple crisp crust wasn't crisp.
Otherwise perfect, especially the service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

- need more light - one can hardly read the menu (should be read before or to learn it by heart?)
- the Tomahawk Steak is unique, it's a pity we could not hare it this time too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner, Server and and Birthday Celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was fantastic the service was exceptional. Josh made us feel more than comfortable and welcome. Huge fan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff was cery friendly and made sure we a great anniversary and birthday date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our first time to Ruth Chris in Salt Lake, we always have gone to the Park City location. The food and service was incredible! We will definitely be going back to this location. The service was first rate and they all were very nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service, great drinks, and fantastic steaks as always. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ruth's Chris is not cheap. Prepare to spend roughly $300 (inc. tip) if you get steaks and adult beverages. Of which I highly recommend both of these things. My lady got the blackberry venison which was to die for. Key Lime Pie Martini was excellent as well. Steaks really are top notch. While the price is steep, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

If you're looking for the best steak of your life...look no further. The staff at Ruth's Chris are friendly, attentive, and professional. The ambiance is also wonderful for a relaxed, enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was amazing - the service was spectacular! Frasier was our waiter - he made sure it was a fantastic experience for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very disappointed. We have been to many Ruth Chris and this one let us down. We went for my birthday. First they got our steak temperature for half our orders wrong. They corrected them. They never asked my wife for additional drinks and we had to keep asking staff for help. Then finally they forgot the plate and candle. Instead it was a joke and they gave me my daughters dessert on a birthday plate after I had eaten half my dessert with my son. No apology. Just really disappointing and upsetting for my wife who wanted a special night out with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris is always incredible no matter what state we are in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

WE HAD DINNER W OUR SON AND ENJOYED THE APPEARANCE OF THIS RESTAURANT. WE FREQUENTLY DINE @ RUTH'S CHRIS AT OUR HOME BASE @ SARASOTA, FLORIDA. THE WAIT STAFF WAS EXCELLENT AND THE FOOD WAS EXCEPTIONAL; SERVED AT THE RIGHT HEAT AND THE SALAD WAS ALSO GREAT. WE LEFT WITH PART OF OUR MEAL WHICH WE HAD THE NEXT EVENING. I WOULD RECOMMEND YOUR RESTAURANT TO ANYONE WE COME IN CONTACT WITH WHEN EITHER WE OR THEY ARE IN SALT LAKE CITY.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Seated as we entered per our reservation, noted many times for our special visit. Food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is our go to Resturant when we are in the city.. Normally excellent service and food, but this night was not ... The filet had grizzle throughout and we had to ask twice for wine and coffee.. We will try again and hope for the best..

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We like to eat dinner at Ruth's Chris in SLC on our way to the airport for the overnight flight back to Boston...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

G
FOOD GREAT.ATSOMPHERE GREAT.service great for the WAITER.he made a mistake on our drinks twice. He made a mistake on our order of two filet steaks as we ordered two OUTER AND WERE GIVEN TWO MEDIUM WHICH WERE TWO MUCH MEAT FOR MY WIFE AND I AND ALSO THAT MADE A $30.00 DIFFRENCE IN OUR BILL????

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It was a totally delightful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food is always excellent.. staff is hospitable and welcoming..

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We always have a lovely experience at Ruth's Chris. Our servers Alan and Connor made this birthday occasion particularly special with their friendly and attentive service. We enjoyed Alan's passion and knowledge of wine! We will be back again and again for the incredible food and welcoming service. Thanks to all at Ruth's Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I enjoyed coming here for my 18th birthday I am unsure how it compares to Park City Location, guess I'll find out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Celebrating losing weight

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

After a theater performance

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Bummer no oysters

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Steaks were great. Cook to exactly desired doneness. Calamari was tasty. Sweet potato side rivals my own version. Lobster mac and cheese was underwhelming. Asparagus was barely cooked and not easy to eat. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Cindy is one of the managers and I'm telling you, no body is better at making an event more special. The food is as always the best. Love this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The staff was awesome, food delicious as always!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was a very nice evening, and we especially enjoyed our waiter. He is very friendly, and helps understand the menu picks that make the meal unforgettable. His name is Frasier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Unfortunately, this was not the greatest experience we have had at Ruth's Chris. We save going here for special occasions only so it was disappointing that it left a little to be desired. We had to ask for refills on our drinks, one of the steaks was not cooked to specification (this was an error on the servers part, not the cooks), and in general our server was rarely around. When it came time to pay we had $450 in gift certificates. One of them was a $200 gc (with the rest being $50/each). We received our check after having them deducted and it was wrong by a $100.00. Our server tried to tell us that they were all for $50 each. We had the receipt to prove that one of them was a $200 gc. Our server finally came back and said he had finally located the $200 gift card and adjusted our bill to reflect this. However, I can't for the life of me figure out how he could mistake a $200 gift card for only $50 when he would obviously need to run each of them separately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.