Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR 3:00 - 6:30 pm EVERY DAY - Early Happy Hour only available at River Walk location
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our annual River Parade Dinner packages for Ford Holiday Parade and Cavaliers River Parade.

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Public Transit:
Available at E.Market Street

Executive Chef:
Craig Brewer

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

This Thanksgiving join us at Ruth's Chris and enjoy our 3-course Turkey Dinner for $39.95 (Kids $12.95) includes a Starter, Entree, Side, and Dessert!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Waterfront (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Took an hour to get our food after we ordered. Maybe they were short kitchen staff. My sister didn't like her lamb chops at all but the seafood rice was amazing! 3 out of 4 of us enjoyed our food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an enjoyable meal. It would have been much better if we (and the ladies at a table in front of me) weren't having to shoo flies during the whole meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was a bit lacking for a Rush's Chris and the price point. The restaurant wasn't prepared for the number of guests following a trade show at the convention center. We had reservations but most guests just showed up and were seated. We were seated quickly but after that service was slow. We weren't in a rush but had they brought our wine in a timely fashion it would not have mattered. They were out of the one we ordered and the waiter came back to us with no alternative offer. After I asked about it he then said he would go to the manager. Then it was another 10 mins. I finally got up to check on it and the manager finally appeared at the front desk with a substitution. Food was great and the staff was nice but just not prepared to handle a crowd (and it wasn't a large crowd).

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Conference aapa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing food! Everyone at the restuarant wished us a happy anniversary and did everything they could to make it a special occasion. Will come back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We have been to 2 other Ruth's Chris Steakhouses and not been impressed. We thought that we might just try it one more time in a different location and see if it were all that it is hyped to be. We have friends that just lovt it and thought to try it again....UNIMPRESSIVE...still....Service was good...food was ok...definitely NOT the best steakhouse experience at all. Whoever owns this restaurant should try Delmonico's for excellent steak, delightful ambiance and true value for an exceptional meal then they should try to attain that level of food and service.
NOT going to another Ruth's....they are all disappointing.
Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fabulous salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was excellent, food was delicious and cooked just as we ordered it, and the price was just right during restaurant week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have dined at all 3 Ruth Chris SA locations and the quality of the steak and sides were not up to par......fell far short of expectations. I guess since we went during restaurant week and ordered from the "PreFixe" menu......we received an inferior cut from the RC quality prime steak that we were expecting. As other reviewers have stated, go for HH, not the steak. Go to Bohannon's steakhouse and get what you pay for.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary and the reservation from the hotel room went well. The staff was pleasant and friendly.
Our waiter was humorous and professional. The meal was exceptionally tasty.
We look forward to visiting again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We came for our anniversary...our first time to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The location was great...directly across the street from our hotel, and right on the Riverwalk. We were greated with a smile upon entering and our waiter Bruce was excellent. He answered all our questions and went over the menu with us telling us how the salad was big enough to share, etc. They asked if we were celebrating a special occasion upon being seated and we said yes. After dinner, we were surprised with a beautiful apple streudel like dessert with ice cream and "congratulations" written in chocolate on the plate. It was delicious and very unexpected. Our food was wonderful...I had the lamb chops and my husband had the NY strip. His steak practically melted in his mouth and my lamb chops were very thick and tender. The sweet potato casserole was unbelievable...more like a dessert than a side dish. This was a great experience and we will definitely be back again!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of the best dining experience one could ask for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very noisy. Service started off good but then went down. Food was good not spectacular for Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Steak was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always fantastic food at Ruth's Chris. The waiter was excellent and our food was served promptly. We always enjoy eating here.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I've been to Ruth's Chris many times at different locations, and each visit the food is always delicious and prepared the way it was ordered. It is pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Orders were all Messed up. Main course came out but sides came after main course was almost done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great dining experience! The usual Ruth's Chris dining experience. Always good and very dependable. Have eaten at this restaurant for the past 3 years and the food was the best I've had there ever on this visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Todo muy bien, lamentablemente regrese 2 veces la cerveza en draft o vaso ya que el sabor era como de trapo viejo , termine ordenando de botella .......

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always, great food and service. Keep it up RC!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went here for a birthday dinner. Great experience, great staff & excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a great time at Ruth Chris steak house our waiter Brock was very polite and attended to all our needs called me by my last Name he was awesome. Need to hang on to him. Keep up the great work.😀👍

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Was celebrating our 2nd anniversary. Service was excellent but paid 160$ for better food that I've had elsewhere. I expected more -food wise from this place. My filet was about a 5/10. It was my side orders I was extremely disappointed in. I ordered lobster mac n cheese and asparagus. Both were horrible. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Beautiful venue--we sat outdoors--the glass doors were opening making the air conditioning evident even on the patio. The service was little to be desired--long waits. Inconsistencies with what was on the menu and what was actually available. The steak was merely mediocre--not at all consistent with the quality of previous experiences at Ruth's Chris restaurants. We would not return to this location.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We enjoyed Ruth Chris for the past 30 years on our anniversary. Again on our 50th you did not disappoint but made it special. No matter what location your restaraunts are our choice, thank you for quality and superior service

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Way overpriced for both quality and selection (the wine pairing was magnificent, though). Although beautifully presented and cooked as asked, there was surprisingly little flavor (petite filet and shrimp). The roasted brussel sprouts were tough and chewy; extremely disappointing. The caesar salad was swimming in dressing. The service was great, but I felt rushed. For a $150 per person meal - which I expected and was prepared to pay - it was a disappointing meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First time we ate at the one off the river walk. It's more relaxed attire which helps if you have children tagging along. Liked that I can wear shorts with nice top and feel I fit right along with everyone else. The fillet mignon is awesome. It's the most tender of steaks. Best I've ever had and I'm usually more of a ribeye person. It's the only place I'll have the fillet mignon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My brother and I decided to take my dad to Ruths Chris for father's day because he had never been before. He really enjoyed the new experience. Bruce was a great server.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 16, 2017

2nd time in a row that there was a problem with my order. The tenderloin sandwich didn't have the Bernaise sauce and when I brought it to their attention, they asked if I wanted it. I said yes, and they brought cold sauce. I ordered a salad to go for my sister with the balsamic dressing and didn't realize until she opened it that they put in a different dressing. I guess they rely on tourist to spend $$$$ and not worry about repeat business or quality of service/food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always great! Wonderful place to escape to if you've had enough Tex-Mex for a while!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a rather blah experience. It was our anniversary, and the location really does nothing special. Prices are very high. it was not clear that the dessert was several items; we only liked one of those. The server acted annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was excellent! Our waiter Bruce was exceptional and suggested numerous wines for our occasion. I requested a riverside view and couldn't have asked for a better location.
A little overpriced, but the occasion was well worth it. I would return only in special occasions. I did need cash to tip the valet parkers, was told the bartenders would oblige, however they would not recognize me if only I was to sit down for a drink. The only negative about this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It is always a pleasure to sit on their patio and watch the river walk. Many improvements in the area make this place very special.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It was "ok". Not the level of experience that i have had in the past at similar Ruth Chris'. Service was a bit on the novice side. Not planning on returning anytime in the near future. Might go back and revisit the Palm for my meat fix

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

when making a reservation for a business meal we were offered the private room for a relatively low price. it was the best decision. A great space- impressive for our business partners and good food/service.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We were celebrating my grandson's graduation. It was the worsted dining experience I have ever had in a Ruth Chris. It was so noisy that I felt like we where eating in a gymnasium. We had to literally scream across the table to make conversation. I told the waiter three time about the noise. He just apologized. When I ask for the manager on my way out he said if I would have ask for he would have moved us to a private room. Why didn't the waiter tell him? It was a very uncomfortable celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We went for dinner for our 25th wedding anniversary. They seated us at a nice quiet table in the back. They were running a special with an appetizer, entree and dessert. The portions were generous and absolutely delicious. They made our time special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was amazing, as always. The steak was perfectly cooked, the wine selection was great, and the apps and sides were very good.

The hostess wasn't great... Unwelcoming, and no sense of urgency as we waited for awhile at an empty host stand for awhile even though they weren't busy. Once at the table, the service was excellent... Waiter, Server, Busboy. All great!

The ambiance was a bit strange for a Ruth's Chris... I'm used to a relative level of elegance. But, folks were there is shorts, flip-flops, hats, t-shirts, etc. but, I suppose that is par for the course since it is in a Downtown Hotel on Memorial weekend.

Love Ruth's Chris, but for a special occasion in the future, I'll stick to the locations at Alamo Heights or La Cantera for a more appropriate ambiance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 28, 2017

What a great location on the river walk in San Antonio. Only 2 entrees to choose from$45-$60, it came with a tiny dessert that not even worth mentioning. Everything else sold as a la carte. Steaks range from $45-$60 each. Then sides are an additional$10. We ordered filet and rib eye steak that were cooked incorrectly. You would think at a steak house that sells $60 steaks would not have to send them back due to being under cooked. I was actually disappointed. We have ate many times at Logan's roadhouse, and when steaks are incorrectly cooked a manager comes to check with customers. Not at Ruth's, the manager on duty was more interested in hanging out with the lady's at the check in than managing. The manager did not even addrress us on the way out. I think he's to comfortable and needs a new job. We will not return.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.