Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR 3:00 - 6:30 pm EVERY DAY - Early Happy Hour only available at River Walk location
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our annual River Parade Dinner packages for Ford Holiday Parade and Cavaliers River Parade.

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Public Transit:
Available at E.Market Street

Executive Chef:
Craig Brewer

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (18)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Waterfront (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Scenic View (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This Ruth's Chris can certainly deliver the steak. The quality in the meat products was amply on display. Having said that - the other positive is the friendly and young staff who are all pleasant and engaging - which is a feature all over San Antonio. The sophistication of this branch, however, clearly lags behind bigger cities - and for that reason I feel the value is less. Prices were way above normal for the region and the finer points of a dining experience were just not there. For example; we dined in five other well known restaurants in San Antonio were not served anything in the way of quality baked bread - Ruth's' Chris was no exception. In a way, I'm grateful that this restaurant was serving our hotel because I feel we had dining options for lunch, and for breakfast, that did not seem available elsewhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

This Ruth's Chris location has a beautiful view of the River Walk in San Antonio. They have great options for indoor or outdoor dining, depending on the weather. Front desk staff was very friendly. When you go to a steak house like this, you know you are going to pay a premium price for your meal, so the level of service often 'makes' the meal. Michael, the server, was a real "pro" He knew when to show up, but did not rush anyone. He knew the menu, and kept the evening going at a relaxed pace. Kollin, who assisted at the table, was understated yet very effective. A very good selection of wines by the glass. I did not have room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was quick but did not feel forced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not a lot of choices for kids, I know we were at a Steakhouse, but they could have offered chicken or pork! Side dishes were cold, no sweet tea in Texas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

No value for your dollar. I've had better steaks at cheaper restaurants. The 500 degree plate is no reason to pay $42 for an 8 ounce steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was top notch, host was terrible . Food was not the usual quality, but it was a special brunch and we will always come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Reservation for Mother's Day Brunch. What a mistake. It's a hotel breakfast buffet. Guests wearing typical San Antonio tourist wear like workout shorts etc (totally fine, but we dressed up thinking it was a nice place/special occasion). Buffet was very small/sparse so ordered off the menu. Big mistake, food took forever and was average at best (and two of us had filet with eggs). Service was NOT good.
I never leave bad reviews but this was so lame I felt compelled to. Just in case you think you're getting something special - it was an expensive crappy breakfast. My mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food and service. However the patio is a thoroughfare for hotel guests and is open to foot traffic from outside the hotel. This was a negative to have people travel behind me to get to the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The staff and management were great to our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Brock and Dimas were amazing! They took of every detail and made sure I had a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Steak was burned & fries were cold..I know I said well done but not burnt. I was so disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waitress tried to give us dirty glasses. Her excuse was that she didn't want us to wait any longer for water. The steak was burnt, in spots. I asked for well done and it was bloody in the middle. For $200 dollars the service and food should have been better. The best part of the expierence was that they did valid for parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went for Sunday morning brunch and the service was super slow and management ended up discounting most patrons food. Food was good though but would be nice if they had a little steak on the brunch buffet since it's a steak house and it costs $21.95.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As far as the dinner, it was fantastic. A perfectly cooked steak so tender you barely needed a knife to cut it. The service was great and the waiter very helpful in picking a dinner as well as wine to go with it.

As a guest staying in the hotel I went back and tried the breakfast. And while I would gladly recommend this place for dinner, the breakfast was terrible. It was cold, the bacon very tho. And extremely salty. For the money and the expectation I was highly disappointed. So save yourself some cash and skip the breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

me encanto su servicio, ideal para salida de parejas, muy moderno, un ambiente muy movido, definitivo regreso cuando este en san antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ruth's Chris is an excellent steak house. They have an excellent wine list and the food is magnificent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Steaks had to be sent back because they were too rare...very pricey for what you get

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, great food, great selection, friendly and courteous staff

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my wife and I second time coming and has not disappointed! Will definitely be coming back for future visits

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday celebrations with 9 people.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Simply Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Todd was an excellent waiter, our aged ribeye steaks were prepared to perfection and the Oregon Pinot Noir was superb. We had a delightful dining experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was our 54th wedding anniversary and they treated us royally! The food was magnificent, we both had the Spring thing where you chose an appetizer, an entrée and dessert for $55.95. We both had the roasted tomato crab soup, the 11 oz filet and the pineapple coconut bread pudding. We were just in San Antonio for a mini vacation before my wife's surgery and it was a wonderful time. We plan on visiting Ruth's Chris in Houston (close to here we live) sometime soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Have always loved Ruth's, but this time we were a bit disappointed with our steaks. They were ribeyes, but seemed to be cut more like NY strips, not much marbling and a little tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Yay, the River Walk finally has a great steak house! We had a special visit by 3 random Mallard ducks outside. Charming place. Great service. Wine was WAYYYY overpriced, but food was delicious. Overall happy and will go back when we visit San Antonio next month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Overpriced and overcooked steak. Creamed spinach was good but the medium rare steak should've been a lot juicier and pinker. I would recommend dining where $60 could get you a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service wasn't great and our food took forever to come out. My steak was undercooked also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have had good meals here before. this time I got the steak salad or whatever it was, took forever, one piece of meat was cold (ok it was touching salad but how long does it take for steak heat to transfer into cold salad. both pieces of meat were disasters. it was almost a choke that they asked how it was cooked. The server was a trainee and she was fine. Maybe it was a Monday and they got slammed but at 1300 even on a Monday without a full house the food should have been faster and not a disaster. I will go back but this time was a fail.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service and appetizers were ruined by overcooked and then blood raw steak. If you can't cook a steak to the correct temperature after two tries why are you calling yourself a steakhouse?

The view of the water is great as are the bar specials but don't waste your money on the poor cuts of incorrectly cooked beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Asked for the best table so we can celebrate my wife birthday and got sits in a corner very close to the restrooms. Very disappointed as I had made the reservation one week in advance.
Our waiter was horrible completely forgot about us and overall the service was horrible. Food was cold and when asked for steak sauce was asked why? Avoid this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of two steaks under cook, waitress was hard to catch. This location does not represent the other RC's we dined before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Multiple problems with our order, slow service despite knowing we only had an hour for lunch. Chicken sandwich and burgers were over cooked. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

At lunch, is is not the typical service of what one may expect from Ruth Chris's. Could be due to the location (linked to a Convention Center). Many convention members attending could be in a rush. Service, was practically non existent. Crab cakes were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very disappointed the food was over cooked and blah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best meal and best service we have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Appetizers to main course was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have eaten at the Ruth Cris in Bev Hls. The San Antonio restaurant doesn't hold a candle to to it sorry to say. The filet was average- if not below average. Lacked a good flavor. The service was lack luster. Had to remind our server twice for one of our drinks.

And a comment on our times - All of the children in the restaurant were on their cellphones during their meals. Other patrons in old jeans and t-shirts.

We should have gone to a $9.99 steak special place instead. Perhaps this Ruth Cris relies on tourists and doesn't hold the same standard. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was perfect. It was my wife's birthday, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Bruce was fantastic. He greeted me, and he greeted my wife by wishing her happy birthday. The decorations sprinkled on the table were a nice touch. The food was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful birthday. She is still talking about it!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food. Great service. Are here twice during business trip.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Kitchen was insanely slow, it took 20 minutes to seat us despite having a reservation. The food came out wrong or late twice. In all, I will not be coming back since, for this money, I can get a better dining experience at a non-chain in San Antonio.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.