About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Waterfront (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Scenic View (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One hour gap between appetizer and main ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

One hour gap between appetizer and main course. Restaurant was full when we started but by the time our food arrived it was lass than 1/3 full. No excuse. Food, once it arrived, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

On the basis of their reputation and wit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

On the basis of their reputation and with the benefit of a gift card, we went to Ruth's Chris while vacationing in San Antonio. Our server - Irene - was exceptional. The Bleu cheese and garlic encrusted filet was one of the BEST I had EVER had ANYWHERE. MY wife's crab stuffed lobster and filet were equally outstanding. We would return again anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris has never disappointed.....ou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Ruth Chris has never disappointed.....outstanding outstanding outstanding....from the valet parking....to checking in....service and food...total experience was awesome...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced for the set menu that night. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Over priced for the set menu that night. My steak was dry and the dessert was a bite sized cheese cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

They got everything right, then it was a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

They got everything right, then it was all wrong. I don't plan on coming back to this location for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took wifey there for our 19th anniversar ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wifey there for our 19th anniversary. We both had the filet mignon with lobster. Our steaks were prepared exactly as we ordered, and in a timely manner. The lobsters, it had been quite a while since we had perfectly prepared lobster like those, delicious. Our waiter Bruce was knowledgeable helpful and attentive. Couldn't have asked for a better dining experience. Location is along the Riverwalk and is within walking distance of any of the Riverwalk hotels.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, , Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap, so good for special occasions ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not cheap, so good for special occasions. The filet and shrimp combo was a great choice and not overly filling. Mine came sizzling! A couple of Manhattans makes the night chill go away. River front view great for people watching but not so busy and bustling that conversation is impossible. Wait staff was excellent. Come hungry!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday birthday

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Birthday birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered drinks and got them, but that ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered drinks and got them, but that was it. Our waitress ignored us after we moved tables because of stuff falling from above. We sat there for Thirty to Forty Five minutes before a waiter asked if we had been helped. It was the worst service I received from this restaurant since I know they have great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Our server Raymond did a fantastic job o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server Raymond did a fantastic job of fulfilling our needs. I ordered the Lamb Chops: absolutely delicious. My date had the fillet and lobster. She totally enjoyed every bite. We sat outside and experienced a perfect River walk evening. Low lighting and low noise levels made for a very romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great Came for happy hour s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was great

Came for happy hour specials.

Got the burger.

Meat was good, cheese great, bacon was gross not even thick slab like a steakhouse should have and fries were cold and soggy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We (10 colleagues) and I had a GREAT lun ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We (10 colleagues) and I had a GREAT lunch both days of our conference. The online reservation was super easy and efficient. Very convenient and Jerreth was an outstanding wait person along with the others who assisted him. Jerreth was attentive, personal (called us by our names i.e. Mrs Turner how would you like that cooked...etc., and very efficient.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the hotel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this was my 2nd visit to Ruth C ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Although this was my 2nd visit to Ruth Chris in a month, I will not be returning for a while

It was over 40 min between salads to entree

My wife's shrimp was overcooked

Steak came out on sizzling plate however was cold in center

Waiter was no where to be found for long periods

Overall pretty unhappy with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food and fun place for date night. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and fun place for date night. Huge wine selection too

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, food was excellen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was excellent, food was excellent. Ambiance was great, very satisfied with everything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Riverwalk location is convenient if ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Riverwalk location is convenient if staying on Riverwalk, but the restaurant was so loud and noisy it was almost not enjoyable for a date. The staff/service was outstanding and our waiter was GREAT!! He made very good wine recommendations. The food was phenomenal and consistent with Ruth Chris' reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overall quality of the food was fair. F ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall quality of the food was fair.

For the price, I would try other high end restaurants in the area. We were able to reserve a table with no wait on a busy Friday night when other restaurants were booked...that alone should have clued us in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Have eaten at the different locations mu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have eaten at the different locations multiple times. This time was a big disappointment! Bar was packed- had to go upstairs to the hotel for a drink before dinner. We had a show to go to so made a reservation at 8pm. After prodding we were finally seated at 8:20 after arriving at 7:40. The waiters did a good job but our original waiter disappeared. They informed us that they were overbooked and running behind. At 9:20 we still had not received our food. Another couple with children sitting beside us was forced to wait even longer. We finally said we have to get our food and a check. No time for dessert! At I high end restaurant you should never have to rush through the main course. This is the first negative review I have written but felt I had to speak up. Manager never came out and it was a very poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Jorge was Great and the food ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our Server Jorge was Great and the food was amazing. I had several coworkers from all over the world and wanted to give them a great dinning experience with the San Antonio flare. You guys hit it out of the park. We were able to take advantage of the Restaurant Week menu and that was perfect for our early dinner. The restaurant was moderate noise as we were there early but it made for a great opportunity for lots of talk. Thank you for a great time!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Ruth's Chris, but not the Riverw ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love Ruth's Chris, but not the Riverwalk location. Save your time and money and go to the one on Jones Maltsberger or La Cantera. This place wasn't busy tonight and yet it took an hour from the time we arrived to the time we got our entrees, and that was after they somehow messed up an order for two garden salads bringing us a Caesar instead. This was our second visit, and lamentably, it wasn't any better than the first. We won't be back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and atmosphere!! The service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!! The service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Business Meals, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 10th year anniversary ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We celebrated our 10th year anniversary at Ruth's Chris and it was an amazing experience. The environment was quiet and romantic (candlelight & roses petals on the table). The servers were welcoming and friendly. A+ for overall experience! Thanks for an anniversary that we'll NEVER forget :)

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for a business meeting with ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I went here for a business meeting with my advisor. The food was extraordinarily delicious. We went during restaurant week in San Antonio so it was a great deal for all of the food we got. I had the filet mignon with potatoes and mushrooms and it was just to die for. It was a bit loud for a business oriented meeting, but it was a very nice environment still. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I went for a birthday (min ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My family and I went for a birthday (mine) dinner. We arrived one hour early from our reservation time and was able to take us in since the restaurant was not busy. The waiter brought the steak and it was nice and sizzling hot. Half way through my steak, my plate broke. I summoned Todd (our waiter) and he stated it has happened before. I just want to bring this to your attention so it won't happen to another guest.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was outstanding as always. The ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was outstanding as always. The best birthday dinner yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy, kids working the front desk ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very noisy, kids working the front desk could have been working at Landry's, that kind of professionalism. Food was ok, it's been better here. Must have been a bad night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Buen lugar, tuve que regresar mi corte p ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Buen lugar, tuve que regresar mi corte por qué estaba muy seco y sin sabor ( muy raro de este restaurante) inmediatamente vino El Capitan y me cambio mi corte por uno bastante mejor. El servicio excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a perfect menu for New Year's Eve. T ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a perfect menu for New Year's Eve. The filet sliced like butter. Food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined on New Years Eve. Prix Fixe menu w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined on New Years Eve. Prix Fixe menu which was excellent. Filet cooked perfectly. Appetizer, salad and sides were excellent. It was too bad that the restaurant rushed the courses to the extent that one course was delivered before the previous was finished. Entire family four course dinner with desert and champagne toast had us in and out of the restaurant in an hour and a half. So much for a memorable night in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Great service. Prices are hi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great service. Prices are high but worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WAY overpriced NYE menu. Take it down a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

WAY overpriced NYE menu. Take it down a few dollars and you might have had a full house. Will not do that again! Spending $600 for 4 people was stupid of us to do in the first place, but your website stated it would be $65, not $99.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our food was cooked to perfection! Raym ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food was cooked to perfection! Raymond, our waiter, was very good. He kept an eye on us and did not continually come by our table. He knew when we needed something. We have been to other Ruth's Chris restaurants and this is the best. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual Ruth's Chris was excellent we h ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As usual Ruth's Chris was excellent we have been coming here before the Alamo Bowl game for many years and we have never been disappointed with the food, service and atmosphere. Definitely will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was great!!! The food was very delici ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was great!!! The food was very delicious. Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. I would highly recommend it to everyone I know.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was great. Had my wedding ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The experience was great. Had my wedding reception there on christmas day. Everything taste good and the waitress did a great job and was nice. Very happy with our choice and thankful that it was open on christmas day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Ruth's fault, but there was a squawk ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not Ruth's fault, but there was a squawking baby next to us...the parents did nothing. Rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was sub par. Never returning to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was sub par. Never returning to that venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The exceptional quality of your food mad ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The exceptional quality of your food made this a very special Christmas Eve dinner to eat on the Riverwalk of San Antonio. Our server Jorge was an absolute treat to banter with as he recovered nicely from your bar not having anymore of a listed wine (Stags Leap). I have never had a steak of this quality (ribeye with the blue cheese topper), flavor, fork-cutting tenderness and cooked to perfection. We will return and in the interim we shall tout your restaurant as the place to go if ever in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and service everyone was nice ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Food and service everyone was nice and helpfull

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.