About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: 2102278847x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk
Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great option for a special occasion or p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great option for a special occasion or patents night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When my son was little he always said he ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When my son was little he always said he wanted to go to Ruth's Chris for breakfast on his 21st birthday. He turned 21 August 13 so we went for our first breakfast experience. My son and husband had the prime steak and eggs and were pleased as expected and service was great. I got the buffet. We had reservations at 0930. They were out of grits which was one of the reasons I chose the buffet. The beignets were hard and flat and not edible. There were 3 in the chafing dish when I went through the line and they were never replenished. The omelet station "chef" seemed "put out" when customers ordered omelets. I was extremely disappointed with both the food and service in the buffet. Breakfast was served until 1100 so I'm baffled why they were out of items. I will never go there for breakfast/brunch again. Nor will I recommend. Guess I should have ordered off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was great!! Waiter: Raymond left a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great!! Waiter: Raymond left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

The best steak anywhere! I've been to Ru ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best steak anywhere! I've been to Ruth's Chris in at least 30 cities & everyone is wonderful !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to a Ruth's Chri ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my first visit to a Ruth's Chris Steak House and it was amazing! It definitely surpassed my expectations. I will be going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dining experience, completely sati ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great dining experience, completely satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I messed up and ordered my filet Medium ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I messed up and ordered my filet Medium instead of my normal "medium-rare". It came out light pink inside, but quite dry. I won't make that mistake again. "medium rare" for me from now on. Dry steaks are not so good - especially at an upscale place like this. Sides were delicious, but not as much of a portion as I had expected - are they getting smaller???

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

In my opinion this is not a quiet place ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

In my opinion this is not a quiet place to take a date. More like a good place to take a group for white tablecloth type dining. Its very loud in the dining area but as long as you know that going in this was a great place. The service was fantastic!!

Tip: order your steak under-cooked because they serve it on a 500 degree plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Such a disappointment... I have enjoyed ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Such a disappointment...

I have enjoyed Ruth Chris Steak House in two other cities and looked forward to it as I was treating two friends to what I assumed would be a great meal at a familiar chain, this however was not the case. Two filets were ordered at medium temperature and one medium rare. The medium filets came out well done and dry. The medium rare was medium well. One guest was hungry and settled for his filet and the other two were sent back.. no surprise they came out undercooked and one was sent back for more heat. A manager never came to the table to apologize and we didn't make a big deal out of it. While one guest ate his filet my other friend and I were left without entrees for over 15 minutes, this is awkward and unacceptable. Our tab came to $309 mind you. Nothing comped just two free desserts.

I will not return to Ruth Chris Steak House, and would not recommend the San Antonio Riverwalk location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was amazing and our waiter was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good steak and salmon but the servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good steak and salmon but the service was slow and we were sat next to a loud group of 16.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great!!!!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service for the meal. Irene wa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent service for the meal. Irene was very engaging.

The salad was particularly outstanding.

They had a chef's special pricing which made the visit all that much more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This RC certainly does not live up to th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This RC certainly does not live up to the brand. The steak was over cooked and tough. I was afraid to send it back because our server was so unapproachable to the point of being rude and arrogant. Totally a ruined special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food! Loved the steak and Port ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food! Loved the steak and Portabello salad!!! So yummy!

Our server was excellent and the rest of the wait staff were very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very upset with my waiter Luis Rey ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was very upset with my waiter Luis Rey and as a result I did not tip him very well like I normally tip. He was not attentive and made us feel like we were an inconvenience to him.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

I had seen an advertisement for an optio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had seen an advertisement for an option to get salad, steak and desert for $55. However, I didn't see this on the menu. Ordered regular steaks and a side that cost a lot more. Usually Ruth's Chris steaks sizzle on the plate throughout the entire meal. This plate wasn't that hot. After dinner I saw another table had an insert in their menu. I asked the manager and he confirmed the insert had the special I was looking for. The hostess flippantly responded by saying they had run out of the inserts so not all menus got them. The manager then said I should have asked. Won't be going back. Glad we have two other locations in SA that have great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We were really pleased with the service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were really pleased with the service the food & the atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first fillet was so salty I couldn't ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The first fillet was so salty I couldn't eat. Second still salty, but better. However it was not tender & hard to cut so only had a few bites. Cream spinach also too salty & did not eat. Kale salad very good. The mgmt did not charge for steak or side. Waiter tried first steak & admitted way too salty. I use salt in cooking & probably use more than recommended so it isn't like I don't use salt. Very disappointing . Jaci

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant was my second choice. Th ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant was my second choice. The first one did not open until 5 PM and we had had poor service at this ones Concord Plaza location.

We had eaten here twice before, in the even and had a good experience. With the completion of road construction it is much easier to get to using the IH 37 S Commerce Street exit and turning immediate left on Bowie and going to the valet Parker (drive slowly so yo can make of the right turns), which the Restaurant paid for up to 4 hours, in case you want to enjoy the River Walk, easily accessed from their patio entrance.

Service was very slow and the area were seated in only had five tables in use by the time we left.

When the cleared our plates between courses (three, plus bread and butter to start) it was at least 20 minutes until the next on arrived, with no updates as to the delay.

We both ordered the Father's Day special for $99.00 each: Soup or salad (chose Wedge), entree (19 oz ribeye with bones in which were hard to remove and the meat on those edges was tough), mushrooms and Brussels sprouts sides (we did not order the potatoes).

All these portions were too large and we had them boxed to eat at home.

The dessert was a bread pudding with a sauce, a small, but size we could eat with comfort.

I was amazed that the bill included a $6.00 charge for our two ice teas in a package deal.

I gave less than a Dollie below 20% time, but That was too much.

Everyone who waited on us was pleasant, but there was nothing outstanding about the service and there was no management presence to apologize for the long waits between courses.

We will not be returned to any of this restaurants locations anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding price fixe dining special. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding price fixe dining special. Very personable waitstaff, particularly Adam. Very enjoyable evening with spectacular food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. Ambia ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Ambiance can use some work enforcing some type of dress code. Too many folks with shorts, tank tops and flip flops from the bar area passing through the dining area to the bathrooms.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing!!! My wife and I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was amazing!!! My wife and I were celebrating our 2nd Anniversary and it was a very great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very courteous our waiter ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The staff was very courteous our waiter tended to all our needs. There was a problem with our order and the manager handled our concerns to our satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Another fantastic dinner!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I have a tradition of eating at Ruth's Chris in every town we visit. This one in the lower level of The Grand Hyatt did not disappoint and none of them ever do. Wonderful service, very good wine and a steak that I'm still thinking of 4 days later. Simply the best!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and easy access for seniors w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and easy access for seniors with walker. Food was excellent, but remember to ask the prices of the suggested menu items, as 'up-selling' is the norm. We went at lunch had a wonderful variety of selections at various price points. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have eaten at Ruth Chris Steakhouses i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I have eaten at Ruth Chris Steakhouses in many other cities so I do have a basis for my comments. The restaurant was typically nice, the server was outstanding, however, my ribeye was not great, good, but again for $50+ not great. I truly make better tasting steaks at home. Not sure why the lack of quality and why such a thin cut but it was noticed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The service was excellent as the waiter ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent as the waiter worked with me to provide a great wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced and over buttered

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was for Mother's day and we were looking forward to a brunch. Online menu was not clear about not having a brunch menu but only Mother's day set menu with a few options. Food from menu was not really special. My kale salad had too much dressing mixed in. Every side and the main dishes were soaked in butter. It seemed like butter was there only ingredient. My Chilean sea bass had a scope of butter on top while seating on top of grilled vegetables soaking in butter. For the price , it was highly disappointing . Overpriced and food was not good. Services was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is always good here. I don't think that I have ever had bad food or service here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere was great. But my steak w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere was great. But my steak was to fatty and did not have a great taste.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

ASTOUNDING customer service. Made a rese ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

ASTOUNDING customer service. Made a reservation for 8:45 and due to traffic was not able to make it. Called to cancel and they offered to move my reservation all the way to 10pm when they closed. I declined at first but they insisted it would be fine. Was promptly sat and served in a timely manner. The food was delicious as always. The only reason it was a bit noisy was Spurs playoff win sweeping the Grizzlies but it was hardly noticeable. 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food; Non-stop upselling by servers

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I don't think I've ever written a truly negative review but needed to add a few notes on this one. I've eaten at many high end restaurants including several Ruth's Chris as I travel for business. I've had many servers try to upsell me and my guests on food and wine but I've never experienced anything quite as intrusive as my recent meal at this Ruth's Chris location. We practically had to argue with the server to bring us the $50 bottle of wine while he told us that we needed the $80 wine. One of my co-workers ordered the $44 steak but was bullied into getting the $70 bone-in steak. When he asked for a steak knife to try a sample of another person's steak, the manager brought out a 4-piece steak knife set and tried to sell it to him for $50--not kidding. For dessert, we ordered two desserts to share and the server told us that wasn't enough and talked our female guest into getting their "famous" bread pudding. I was exhausted by the end of the meal from arguing and getting corrected by the server. Please save yourself money and torment and try a place where they will serve you rather than approach you like another stiff with a corporate credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We sat on the patio for lunch & the atmo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We sat on the patio for lunch & the atmosphere was great. Birds were a bit of a nuisance but everything else was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place for Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I tried Ruth Chris' for the first time for brunch. The menu looked appealing online; however, I specifically had to ask for the brunch menu as I was given the lunch menu upon arrival. We had reservations for Sunday brunch at 12:30 PM, so I knew that brunch should be available. When I initially asked the waiter, he signaled the hostess over to confirm is brunch was being served. He seemed short of assistance, but once we were given our menu's, things were great. The brunch did taste great, I had french toast with a side of bacon and grits. Reasonable pricing and not overly crowded.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We sat outside, casual environment

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We sat outside, casual environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better have hours to wait!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The service was very slow - long time for beverage orders and even longer for orders to be taken. Food delivery was slow, presentation inconsistent from plate to plate. Food ok, but not great for the exorbitant cost! Definitely would not go back if other choices available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Our steaks were over cooked, potato was over cooked! I kept wondering if a high school kid was cooking our food! Not what you expect to find at Ruth Chris steakhouse! They allowed a man to sit at the table across from us and use profanity while talking on his cell phone throughout our entire meal! A terrible dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Our waiter was great. The food was very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Our waiter was great. The food was very good. Would not hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Don't do breakfast here

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Was surprised that a Ruth Chris was open for breakfast, but as a hotel restaurant they were. Tried it and was very disappointed. The breakfast foods were cold, the beignets were horrendous, the service was slow, and the condiments for coffee were teeny. The omelet station was unmanned until we complained to management, then they were extremely attentive. Even the remade beignets were not up to par. Don't bother

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.