About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House was founded May 1965 in New Orleans by Ruth Fertel. Enjoy award-winning cuisine and gracious hospitality.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, a delicious breakfast is offered 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Paul Makar

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: 2102278847x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk
Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (26)
great for outdoor dining (14)
notable wine list (14)
See All
good for groups (13)
great for lunch (13)
romantic (13)
scenic view (10)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The first fillet was so salty I couldn't ...

Dined 4 days ago

The first fillet was so salty I couldn't eat. Second still salty, but better. However it was not tender & hard to cut so only had a few bites. Cream spinach also too salty & did not eat. Kale salad very good. The mgmt did not charge for steak or side. Waiter tried first steak & admitted way too salty. I use salt in cooking & probably use more than recommended so it isn't like I don't use salt. Very disappointing . Jaci

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This restaurant was my second choice. Th ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was my second choice. The first one did not open until 5 PM and we had had poor service at this ones Concord Plaza location. We had eaten here twice before, in the even and had a good experience. With the completion of road construction it is much easier to get to using the IH 37 S Commerce Street exit and turning immediate left on Bowie and going to the valet Parker (drive slowly so yo can make of the right turns), which the Restaurant paid for up to 4 hours, in case you want to enjoy the River Walk, easily accessed from their patio entrance. Service was very slow and the area were seated in only had five tables in use by the time we left. When the cleared our plates between courses (three, plus bread and butter to start) it was at least 20 minutes until the next on arrived, with no updates as to the delay. We both ordered the Father's Day special for $99.00 each: Soup or salad (chose Wedge), entree (19 oz ribeye with bones in which were hard to remove and the meat on those edges was tough), mushrooms and Brussels sprouts sides (we did not order the potatoes). All these portions were too large and we had them boxed to eat at home. The dessert was a bread pudding with a sauce, a small, but size we could eat with comfort. I was amazed that the bill included a $6.00 charge for our two ice teas in a package deal. I gave less than a Dollie below 20% time, but That was too much. Everyone who waited on us was pleasant, but there was nothing outstanding about the service and there was no management presence to apologize for the long waits between courses. We will not be returned to any of this restaurants locations anywhere!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding price fixe dining special. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding price fixe dining special. Very personable waitstaff, particularly Adam. Very enjoyable evening with spectacular food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. Ambia ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and excellent service. Ambiance can use some work enforcing some type of dress code. Too many folks with shorts, tank tops and flip flops from the bar area passing through the dining area to the bathrooms.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing!!! My wife and I ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was amazing!!! My wife and I were celebrating our 2nd Anniversary and it was a very great experience

food3
ambience5
service4

The staff was very courteous our waiter ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The staff was very courteous our waiter tended to all our needs. There was a problem with our order and the manager handled our concerns to our satisfaction.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic dinner!!

Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I have a tradition of eating at Ruth's Chris in every town we visit. This one in the lower level of The Grand Hyatt did not disappoint and none of them ever do. Wonderful service, very good wine and a steak that I'm still thinking of 4 days later. Simply the best!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and easy access for seniors w ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and easy access for seniors with walker. Food was excellent, but remember to ask the prices of the suggested menu items, as 'up-selling' is the norm. We went at lunch had a wonderful variety of selections at various price points. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I have eaten at Ruth Chris Steakhouses i ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I have eaten at Ruth Chris Steakhouses in many other cities so I do have a basis for my comments. The restaurant was typically nice, the server was outstanding, however, my ribeye was not great, good, but again for $50+ not great. I truly make better tasting steaks at home. Not sure why the lack of quality and why such a thin cut but it was noticed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent as the waiter ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent as the waiter worked with me to provide a great wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Over priced and over buttered

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was for Mother's day and we were looking forward to a brunch. Online menu was not clear about not having a brunch menu but only Mother's day set menu with a few options. Food from menu was not really special. My kale salad had too much dressing mixed in. Every side and the main dishes were soaked in butter. It seemed like butter was there only ingredient. My Chilean sea bass had a scope of butter on top while seating on top of grilled vegetables soaking in butter. For the price , it was highly disappointing . Overpriced and food was not good. Services was acceptable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is always good here. I don't think that I have ever had bad food or service here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was great. But my steak w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere was great. But my steak was to fatty and did not have a great taste.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

ASTOUNDING customer service. Made a rese ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

ASTOUNDING customer service. Made a reservation for 8:45 and due to traffic was not able to make it. Called to cancel and they offered to move my reservation all the way to 10pm when they closed. I declined at first but they insisted it would be fine. Was promptly sat and served in a timely manner. The food was delicious as always. The only reason it was a bit noisy was Spurs playoff win sweeping the Grizzlies but it was hardly noticeable. 10/10

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Decent food; Non-stop upselling by servers

Dined on April 16, 2016

I don't think I've ever written a truly negative review but needed to add a few notes on this one. I've eaten at many high end restaurants including several Ruth's Chris as I travel for business. I've had many servers try to upsell me and my guests on food and wine but I've never experienced anything quite as intrusive as my recent meal at this Ruth's Chris location. We practically had to argue with the server to bring us the $50 bottle of wine while he told us that we needed the $80 wine. One of my co-workers ordered the $44 steak but was bullied into getting the $70 bone-in steak. When he asked for a steak knife to try a sample of another person's steak, the manager brought out a 4-piece steak knife set and tried to sell it to him for $50--not kidding. For dessert, we ordered two desserts to share and the server told us that wasn't enough and talked our female guest into getting their "famous" bread pudding. I was exhausted by the end of the meal from arguing and getting corrected by the server. Please save yourself money and torment and try a place where they will serve you rather than approach you like another stiff with a corporate credit card.

food5
ambience5
service5

We sat on the patio for lunch & the atmo ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We sat on the patio for lunch & the atmosphere was great. Birds were a bit of a nuisance but everything else was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice place for Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

I tried Ruth Chris' for the first time for brunch. The menu looked appealing online; however, I specifically had to ask for the brunch menu as I was given the lunch menu upon arrival. We had reservations for Sunday brunch at 12:30 PM, so I knew that brunch should be available. When I initially asked the waiter, he signaled the hostess over to confirm is brunch was being served. He seemed short of assistance, but once we were given our menu's, things were great. The brunch did taste great, I had french toast with a side of bacon and grits. Reasonable pricing and not overly crowded.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside, casual environment

Dined on April 2, 2016

We sat outside, casual environment

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Better have hours to wait!

Dined on March 14, 2016

The service was very slow - long time for beverage orders and even longer for orders to be taken. Food delivery was slow, presentation inconsistent from plate to plate. Food ok, but not great for the exorbitant cost! Definitely would not go back if other choices available.

food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Horrible

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our steaks were over cooked, potato was over cooked! I kept wondering if a high school kid was cooking our food! Not what you expect to find at Ruth Chris steakhouse! They allowed a man to sit at the table across from us and use profanity while talking on his cell phone throughout our entire meal! A terrible dining experience!

food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was great. The food was very ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our waiter was great. The food was very good. Would not hesitate to return.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't do breakfast here

Dined on March 4, 2016

Was surprised that a Ruth Chris was open for breakfast, but as a hotel restaurant they were. Tried it and was very disappointed. The breakfast foods were cold, the beignets were horrendous, the service was slow, and the condiments for coffee were teeny. The omelet station was unmanned until we complained to management, then they were extremely attentive. Even the remade beignets were not up to par. Don't bother

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not up to par

Dined on March 4, 2016

We had a reservation and still had a wait. The server was not very attentive. We ordered 4 sides and not one was very good. Asparagus was overcooked, the French fries were doused in pepper, the spinach was cold and the au gratin potatoes did not have any flavor just a thick layer of cheese. We sent the 2 back that were the worst. Server still tried to charge for 3 and charged us $10 more that the market price he had given us for the lobster.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth does it right on Riverwalk

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Great for taking customers to for lunch or dinner. Good food, great service and nice setting for business meals or romantic dinners

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service team. Very attentive.

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great service team. Very attentive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Kitchen Overwhelmed

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

The kitchen was overwhelmed by a rush of customers who had just let out of a convention. It took more than 30 minutes for the food to be delivered, and once it came out it was cold; however, the manager apologized for the delay and mistake, corrected and offered to provide a discount for the inconvenience.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Came in for a LARGE convention and hosted our team dinner. We felt that the service was unable to accommodate multiple tables of customers. Often times we were left w empty drinks, cold food, no decanter for wine (this all comes AFTER we requested fixes to these). We were only a table of 7 and felt very ignored for the price we paid for supper.

food4
ambience3
service3

Surprised to find they had a reasonably ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Surprised to find they had a reasonably priced dinner special with a salad, entree, side, and dessert. Good spot if you're headed to a show at Lila Cockrell Theatre. But, you have to keep reminding them you need to make the show.

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was the best but went for the steak and it just had to much fat on it and was a little chewy

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

We were not very pleased with the menu. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were not very pleased with the menu. When we made the reservation, we assumed you would have a full menu. But only to be notified one hour prior of a set menu at 100 per person left us no choice. Need more specific or training on staff on how to describe desert. Chocolate cake had too much of a coffee taste. For the price we paid, it was below of what we expected for Valentines. Hard earned money just didn't feel as happy as we normally are visiting your restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was ok. Went on Valintines day, specials were not out we had to order from lunch menu. Seemed to not have enough waiters on staff, never receiver our bread after asking twice and was without a drink for the remaining 45 mins of service. Food was ok, steak was great, salmon was dry and tasteless. It will be a long time before I return to that place and spend that type of money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly outstanding....awesome food and se ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Truly outstanding....awesome food and setting. :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time 😊

Dined on February 13, 2016

Bread was great. Rest of the meal was even better! I Suggest the rib eye and filet mignon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1

Very poor service. Waited an hour from w ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Very poor service. Waited an hour from when our reservation was to start until we got drinks. Server was almost hostile and ignored us all evening. Took nearly 3 hours and we had soup and salads (and one steak) with dessert.

food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

1. If it weren't for the hot plate, the steak would have been cold. In fact, the plate actually burned the steak because it sat their a while. 2. Creamed Spinach was not finished. 3. Ignored drinks for most of the meal.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Ruth Chris On The River

Dined on February 6, 2016

The restaurant was very pretty and clean but the food is not as good as the old restaurant on Jones-Maltsberger. I was very excited to eat at the river walk restaurant but was disappointment with the food. Maybe it was an off night.

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff exerts Attention to detail and ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

The staff exerts Attention to detail and it is an enjoyable dining experience.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Punished for reserving on Open Table

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

While walking to the restaurant, I was looking up the reservation for 2 people. My friend asked inside about wait time. He was told 8:30pm while I was making the reservation with OpenTable at 6:45pm. The Hostess literally said that because we reserved on OpenTable we needed to wait an additional 15 min, until 7pm. When we were seated, there were 5 other tables in the room vacant and ready. There was no need to make us wait, aside from that she was irritated that I reserved on OpenTable. She gave a very poor customer experience, and very poor customer service. Our server was great and the food was reasonable. It was only the irritable hostess that made the night less a bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife there for our 43rd Weddin ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

I took my wife there for our 43rd Wedding Anniversary and the service was outstanding and the food was out of this world, we had the Mix Grill plate and it was hot and so good! We both enjoyed this special day! Thank you very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great HH known as Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl

Dined on January 17, 2016

Had drinks and an appetizer during their Happy Hour, aka Sizzle, Swizzle and Swirl. Enjoyed cocktails at half price and a delicious appetizer of spicy lobster before heading to the dining room for dinner. For dinner, we split everything from the salad, one 16oz. Ribeye (medium rare, of course!), sautéed spinach and potatoes lyonnaise. Everything was fabulous and plenty for two of us. Lovely meal.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.