About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

This Valentine's Day make every moment count. Enjoy our special 3-course and 4-course menu. See time options for each menu. A la carte menu, Classics menu and Happy Hour will not be available on Feb 14th. Special menu along with regular menus will be available from Feb 11th - Feb 13th

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Waterfront (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My family and I went for a birthday (min ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

My family and I went for a birthday (mine) dinner. We arrived one hour early from our reservation time and was able to take us in since the restaurant was not busy. The waiter brought the steak and it was nice and sizzling hot. Half way through my steak, my plate broke. I summoned Todd (our waiter) and he stated it has happened before. I just want to bring this to your attention so it won't happen to another guest.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was outstanding as always. The ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was outstanding as always. The best birthday dinner yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy, kids working the front desk ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very noisy, kids working the front desk could have been working at Landry's, that kind of professionalism. Food was ok, it's been better here. Must have been a bad night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Buen lugar, tuve que regresar mi corte p ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Buen lugar, tuve que regresar mi corte por qué estaba muy seco y sin sabor ( muy raro de este restaurante) inmediatamente vino El Capitan y me cambio mi corte por uno bastante mejor. El servicio excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a perfect menu for New Year's Eve. T ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a perfect menu for New Year's Eve. The filet sliced like butter. Food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined on New Years Eve. Prix Fixe menu w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined on New Years Eve. Prix Fixe menu which was excellent. Filet cooked perfectly. Appetizer, salad and sides were excellent. It was too bad that the restaurant rushed the courses to the extent that one course was delivered before the previous was finished. Entire family four course dinner with desert and champagne toast had us in and out of the restaurant in an hour and a half. So much for a memorable night in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Great service. Prices are hi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great service. Prices are high but worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WAY overpriced NYE menu. Take it down a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

WAY overpriced NYE menu. Take it down a few dollars and you might have had a full house. Will not do that again! Spending $600 for 4 people was stupid of us to do in the first place, but your website stated it would be $65, not $99.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our food was cooked to perfection! Raym ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food was cooked to perfection! Raymond, our waiter, was very good. He kept an eye on us and did not continually come by our table. He knew when we needed something. We have been to other Ruth's Chris restaurants and this is the best. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual Ruth's Chris was excellent we h ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As usual Ruth's Chris was excellent we have been coming here before the Alamo Bowl game for many years and we have never been disappointed with the food, service and atmosphere. Definitely will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was great!!! The food was very delici ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was great!!! The food was very delicious. Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. I would highly recommend it to everyone I know.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was great. Had my wedding ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The experience was great. Had my wedding reception there on christmas day. Everything taste good and the waitress did a great job and was nice. Very happy with our choice and thankful that it was open on christmas day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Ruth's fault, but there was a squawk ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not Ruth's fault, but there was a squawking baby next to us...the parents did nothing. Rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was sub par. Never returning to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was sub par. Never returning to that venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The exceptional quality of your food mad ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The exceptional quality of your food made this a very special Christmas Eve dinner to eat on the Riverwalk of San Antonio. Our server Jorge was an absolute treat to banter with as he recovered nicely from your bar not having anymore of a listed wine (Stags Leap). I have never had a steak of this quality (ribeye with the blue cheese topper), flavor, fork-cutting tenderness and cooked to perfection. We will return and in the interim we shall tout your restaurant as the place to go if ever in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and service everyone was nice ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Food and service everyone was nice and helpfull

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience, great service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was a great experience, great service and great food. I just didn't appreciate having the steak sizzling next to my husband shirt. He had to get the napkin to cover up his shirt so he wouldn't get the grease onto his shirts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awesome

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food tasted very good. Everything , exce ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food tasted very good. Everything , except the salad, was soaked in butter. Unfortunately I'm not used to eating so much butter and salt. It made for a rough gastro night for my husband and I. We did go through sticker shock when we saw the bill. $238.00. (This was for 3 alcohol beverages, the cheapest steak and next to cheapest steak. Two salads, two potato dishes a side of corn and cheese cake for desert. ) You do get plenty of excellent food and excellent service. ( I took home half of my dinner.) Just be prepared to pay. We always wanted to try Ruth Chris now we can scratch it off our bucket list. I don't think we will go back since we really can not afford those prices, even for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our group were very happy with the servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our group were very happy with the service and the food. Downtown Parking was made easy by Ruth's.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in San Antonio and dine downtown ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We live in San Antonio and dine downtown at an upscale restaurant at least once a month. We are not tourists nor 1 time guests at the Grand Hyatt. We used the valet parking. We were not told when we dropped off the car that we had to go to another area to pick it up, nor were we asked at the restaurant if we used the service. Therefore, we did not know our valet ticket had to be stamped so we had to return to the restaurant to have this done. We chose Ruth's Chris River Walk to celebrate Christmas and enjoy the lights on the River. There were no holiday lights; had I known this I would have chosen another restaurant. We had a very nice table on the patio, where only 1 other couple was dining, in other words the patio was not busy. Our server was Mary. She was not personable, did not smile and did not make us feel welcome. We have eaten many times at other Ruth's Chris locations in San Antonio and have always been very pleased with the servers and service. To me, Mary was just going through the motions. and treated us as if we were diners only for the evening, never to be seen again. For a dining experience at Ruth's Chris, a server should at least appear to appreciate our business. Our meal was delicious and one of the best filets I've enjoyed in a long time. Our dessert was served and without asking if we wanted coffee, Mary disappeared. We had to ask another server for coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

They seated us on time and the staff was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They seated us on time and the staff was very pleasant.

We were right by kitchen entrance and the tables were very close together-

So it did not have the feel of a quite dinner more of a busy cafeteria!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Rare Rib-Eye came out raw. Two petit fil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Rare Rib-Eye came out raw. Two petit filet Oscar style came out without the Oscar style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The service was extremely slow. Food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service was extremely slow. Food was horrible.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Viandes excellentes comme toujours et ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Viandes excellentes comme toujours et carte de vins sans reproches ! Service sympa mais moins professionnel aux d'habitude... restaurant d'hôtel avec ambiance moins feutrée!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and great service by our serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and great service by our service Rupert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special thanksgiving meal in a private d ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Special thanksgiving meal in a private dining room with great food and great service. It was truly a feast! The turkey practically melted in our mouths and the sweet potatoes were the sweetest and best I have ever had. Their attention to detail made it a truly unforgettable experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but very overpriced. My son i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food but very overpriced. My son is in the military so I brought him there for Thanksgiving dinner. Sad that they offer no military discount.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service in at a private room, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service in at a private room, business meeting function.

Tags: Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. There was a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was delicious. There was a good selection on the menu. The atmosphere in the dining room was very relaxing. The service was great. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9, so we were given a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a party of 9, so we were given a private room, which was great for conversation. But service was slow, even though we were assigned 2 waiters, and 2 of the orders were mixed up and one cocktail was forgotten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Servers were very attentive and great as ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Servers were very attentive and great as always. Food was awesome. I get the stuffed chicken breast...amazing! Server suggested the shrimp appetizer (can't remember the exact name), it is now my new favorite and will definitely order it again next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very poor service, waiters on their phon ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very poor service, waiters on their phones more than

Attending to customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I was greeted with sincere professionali ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I was greeted with sincere professionalism, and we received Excellent service .. Mary did an exceptional job, and our entire party was very impressed with the restaurant overall .. I have eaten Ruth Chris many times in various parts of the United States, and would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and great service! Can't go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great meal and great service! Can't go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to this new loc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first visit to this new location. We have always loved Ruth's Cris restaurants and since we were staying at the Grand, it was very convenient. The food was okay. We remember the steak having more flavor in the past but the sides were excellent.

Originally, we had reservations for the restaurant but after walking through, decided we'd rather sit in the lounge/bar area (livelier atmosphere). They also have seating outside by river walk.

Our server, Nikki, was fantastic!

When we stay again at the Grand during the holidays, we will eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was just perfection, food was coo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner was just perfection, food was cooked just right. The service was attentive without hovering and there was just the right amount of questions and attention. Just could not have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are on a quest to visit all the Ruth' ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We are on a quest to visit all the Ruth's Chris restaurants in the country and maybe the world. While in SA on business, we were surprised to see such a small town with three Ruth's. This was walking distance from our hotel. Derrick was our server and was amazing. He was very attentive and did a great job. Very happy to see that we got this chance to knock another one off the list. Looked like you could also sit outside here, along the river. We were too warm and opted for inside seating. Excellent restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, The ambience ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was excellent, The ambience was great however the steak was just ok. I've had better at restaurants that charge less than half the cost I paid here. I wouldn't mind going here for happy hour but to spend what I spent just to have an ok steak. Yea I won't be visiting here for a meal any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Already sent GM a letter about our find ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Already sent GM a letter about our finding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.