About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: 2102278847x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy Christmas Eve Chef Features and a la carte menu. Open until 10:00 pm

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Open early Christmas Day with Chef Features and a la carte menu. 7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Waterfront (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Viandes excellentes comme toujours et ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Viandes excellentes comme toujours et carte de vins sans reproches ! Service sympa mais moins professionnel aux d'habitude... restaurant d'hôtel avec ambiance moins feutrée!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and great service by our serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and great service by our service Rupert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special thanksgiving meal in a private d ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Special thanksgiving meal in a private dining room with great food and great service. It was truly a feast! The turkey practically melted in our mouths and the sweet potatoes were the sweetest and best I have ever had. Their attention to detail made it a truly unforgettable experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but very overpriced. My son i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food but very overpriced. My son is in the military so I brought him there for Thanksgiving dinner. Sad that they offer no military discount.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service in at a private room, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service in at a private room, business meeting function.

Tags: Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. There was a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was delicious. There was a good selection on the menu. The atmosphere in the dining room was very relaxing. The service was great. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9, so we were given a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a party of 9, so we were given a private room, which was great for conversation. But service was slow, even though we were assigned 2 waiters, and 2 of the orders were mixed up and one cocktail was forgotten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Servers were very attentive and great as ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Servers were very attentive and great as always. Food was awesome. I get the stuffed chicken breast...amazing! Server suggested the shrimp appetizer (can't remember the exact name), it is now my new favorite and will definitely order it again next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very poor service, waiters on their phon ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very poor service, waiters on their phones more than

Attending to customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I was greeted with sincere professionali ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I was greeted with sincere professionalism, and we received Excellent service .. Mary did an exceptional job, and our entire party was very impressed with the restaurant overall .. I have eaten Ruth Chris many times in various parts of the United States, and would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and great service! Can't go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great meal and great service! Can't go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to this new loc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first visit to this new location. We have always loved Ruth's Cris restaurants and since we were staying at the Grand, it was very convenient. The food was okay. We remember the steak having more flavor in the past but the sides were excellent.

Originally, we had reservations for the restaurant but after walking through, decided we'd rather sit in the lounge/bar area (livelier atmosphere). They also have seating outside by river walk.

Our server, Nikki, was fantastic!

When we stay again at the Grand during the holidays, we will eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was just perfection, food was coo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner was just perfection, food was cooked just right. The service was attentive without hovering and there was just the right amount of questions and attention. Just could not have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are on a quest to visit all the Ruth' ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We are on a quest to visit all the Ruth's Chris restaurants in the country and maybe the world. While in SA on business, we were surprised to see such a small town with three Ruth's. This was walking distance from our hotel. Derrick was our server and was amazing. He was very attentive and did a great job. Very happy to see that we got this chance to knock another one off the list. Looked like you could also sit outside here, along the river. We were too warm and opted for inside seating. Excellent restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, The ambience ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was excellent, The ambience was great however the steak was just ok. I've had better at restaurants that charge less than half the cost I paid here. I wouldn't mind going here for happy hour but to spend what I spent just to have an ok steak. Yea I won't be visiting here for a meal any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Already sent GM a letter about our find ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Already sent GM a letter about our finding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Crabcakes are fantastic. The meat is per ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Crabcakes are fantastic. The meat is perfect in its flavour. They know how to manage the correct term of the cooking. And there is nothing nicer than eating in a hot dish!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced! You can get a better steak f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overpriced! You can get a better steak for a better price at Texas Roadhouse, no joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My husband and I usually love to visit R ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I usually love to visit Ruth Chris for special occasions. This was our first time at the location in the Hyatt Grand Hotel. It was too noisy and not the environment we usually enjoy when visiting Ruth Chris Steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The 11 oz filet was cooked medium and si ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The 11 oz filet was cooked medium and sizzling as advertised. Very tender, but flavor was not raving good. I have recently transitioned to grass fed beef and much prefer the difference. Have had grass fed in paleo restaurants that was less $$$ and better.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ty was an awesome server. He made sure o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Ty was an awesome server. He made sure our needs were met. We loved everything about the food and drinks and the atmosphere was amazing, right on the Riverwalk. Great place for our first dinner as husband and wife.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for a date nigh ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I dined here for a date night while I was attending a professional meeting. The setting is very nice - it is on a quieter section of the Riverwalk, but there is still enough foot traffic if you are into people-watching. We chose to dine outside, but there is an attractive inside dining room as well. Everything we ordered was delicious, and yes, we ate way too much - even though we split an appetizer and an entree. The crab cake appetizer was filled with lump crabmeat, and was not overpowered by breading. Our ribeye steak was cooked to perfection and was tender and full of flavor. The creme brulee was also a heavenly end to a wonderful meal. My review would not be complete without a word about our service experience. The hostesses were friendly and seated us promptly at a very desirable table (yes, we had reservations). Our waiter, Michael, was prompt and brought water and bread quickly. He was helpful with the menu and answered questions and even made some suggestions. He was not overbearing, but was very discretely attentive and friendly when we asked questions.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not up to par with most Ruth's Chris Ste ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Not up to par with most Ruth's Chris Steak House

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Dinner was great, I've been to Ruth Chri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Dinner was great, I've been to Ruth Chris many of times here in Chicago, but your waiter once friendly at all , I also had to ask her for your packages and when doing so she act as if what do you know about them. Didn't like her attitude. Sorry.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Excellent service and food. My favorite ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent service and food. My favorite restaurant

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very happy with the ease of making ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was very happy with the ease of making reservations with Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Riverwalk.

We were welcomed nicely upon entering the restaurant, our server was professionally nice. The food was served hot, it was what we ordered and very good. We didn't like the music selection. It was specific for a lower age group than what we enjoy personally. I think Michael Buble' range of classy music is a better choice even for the Riverwalk restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris has always been a favorite! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ruth's Chris has always been a favorite! Great steak, great sides and first class service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

90 mins for 4 burgers and 2 ahi tuna sal ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

90 mins for 4 burgers and 2 ahi tuna salads was ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Special was offered with ahi tuna and lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Special was offered with ahi tuna and lobster. The Tuna came back ice cold and when sent back it was over cooked. No offer to comp the $100 meal. Instead we were offered a free dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service with good but it was the onl ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service with good but it was the only thing that was. Several items arrived at the table either under cooked, over cooked or just cold. The food just was not worth the money we spent. We will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Dined during Restaurant Week - special m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Dined during Restaurant Week - special menu for $35.00. Offered choice of two salads, three entrees (we all had the 6oz filet), three sides and two petite desserts. I do not eat salad (my food eats salad for me) and you are not allowed substitutions, so I enjoyed their bread during that course. The filet was excellent and just the right size. The mashed potatoes were too mushy, but had great flavor and were eaten in entirety. The key lime pie was delicious, but small. Overall the meal was very good!

I had read horror stories about the Ruth Chris Riverwalk waitstaff and the delay in serving food between courses. Our waiter, Dimas, was excellent!! The food was served promptly and and at the right temperature. Dimas was very friendly and engaging in our conversations with him; I highly recommend him.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dependably excellent food. The Ruth's C ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dependably excellent food. The Ruth's Chris in our Miami area closed and we've missed it. This was as good as we remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was extremely inattentive. Waite ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waiter was extremely inattentive. Waited 10 minutes to bring our drinks. Found hair on dessert (can happen anywhere), no offer to comp it. Tea was awful.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great option for a special occasion or p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great option for a special occasion or patents night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When my son was little he always said he ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

When my son was little he always said he wanted to go to Ruth's Chris for breakfast on his 21st birthday. He turned 21 August 13 so we went for our first breakfast experience. My son and husband had the prime steak and eggs and were pleased as expected and service was great. I got the buffet. We had reservations at 0930. They were out of grits which was one of the reasons I chose the buffet. The beignets were hard and flat and not edible. There were 3 in the chafing dish when I went through the line and they were never replenished. The omelet station "chef" seemed "put out" when customers ordered omelets. I was extremely disappointed with both the food and service in the buffet. Breakfast was served until 1100 so I'm baffled why they were out of items. I will never go there for breakfast/brunch again. Nor will I recommend. Guess I should have ordered off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was great!! Waiter: Raymond left a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great!! Waiter: Raymond left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

The best steak anywhere! I've been to Ru ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best steak anywhere! I've been to Ruth's Chris in at least 30 cities & everyone is wonderful !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to a Ruth's Chri ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my first visit to a Ruth's Chris Steak House and it was amazing! It definitely surpassed my expectations. I will be going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dining experience, completely sati ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great dining experience, completely satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I messed up and ordered my filet Medium ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I messed up and ordered my filet Medium instead of my normal "medium-rare". It came out light pink inside, but quite dry. I won't make that mistake again. "medium rare" for me from now on. Dry steaks are not so good - especially at an upscale place like this. Sides were delicious, but not as much of a portion as I had expected - are they getting smaller???

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.