Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR 3:00 - 6:30 pm EVERY DAY - Early Happy Hour only available at River Walk location
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our annual River Parade Dinner packages for Ford Holiday Parade and Cavaliers River Parade.

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Public Transit:
Available at E.Market Street

Executive Chef:
Craig Brewer

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Business Meals (15)
Waterfront (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

My brother and I decided to take my dad to Ruths Chris for father's day because he had never been before. He really enjoyed the new experience. Bruce was a great server.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

2nd time in a row that there was a problem with my order. The tenderloin sandwich didn't have the Bernaise sauce and when I brought it to their attention, they asked if I wanted it. I said yes, and they brought cold sauce. I ordered a salad to go for my sister with the balsamic dressing and didn't realize until she opened it that they put in a different dressing. I guess they rely on tourist to spend $$$$ and not worry about repeat business or quality of service/food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always great! Wonderful place to escape to if you've had enough Tex-Mex for a while!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a rather blah experience. It was our anniversary, and the location really does nothing special. Prices are very high. it was not clear that the dessert was several items; we only liked one of those. The server acted annoyed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was excellent! Our waiter Bruce was exceptional and suggested numerous wines for our occasion. I requested a riverside view and couldn't have asked for a better location.
A little overpriced, but the occasion was well worth it. I would return only in special occasions. I did need cash to tip the valet parkers, was told the bartenders would oblige, however they would not recognize me if only I was to sit down for a drink. The only negative about this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It is always a pleasure to sit on their patio and watch the river walk. Many improvements in the area make this place very special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It was "ok". Not the level of experience that i have had in the past at similar Ruth Chris'. Service was a bit on the novice side. Not planning on returning anytime in the near future. Might go back and revisit the Palm for my meat fix

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

when making a reservation for a business meal we were offered the private room for a relatively low price. it was the best decision. A great space- impressive for our business partners and good food/service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We were celebrating my grandson's graduation. It was the worsted dining experience I have ever had in a Ruth Chris. It was so noisy that I felt like we where eating in a gymnasium. We had to literally scream across the table to make conversation. I told the waiter three time about the noise. He just apologized. When I ask for the manager on my way out he said if I would have ask for he would have moved us to a private room. Why didn't the waiter tell him? It was a very uncomfortable celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We went for dinner for our 25th wedding anniversary. They seated us at a nice quiet table in the back. They were running a special with an appetizer, entree and dessert. The portions were generous and absolutely delicious. They made our time special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food was amazing, as always. The steak was perfectly cooked, the wine selection was great, and the apps and sides were very good.

The hostess wasn't great... Unwelcoming, and no sense of urgency as we waited for awhile at an empty host stand for awhile even though they weren't busy. Once at the table, the service was excellent... Waiter, Server, Busboy. All great!

The ambiance was a bit strange for a Ruth's Chris... I'm used to a relative level of elegance. But, folks were there is shorts, flip-flops, hats, t-shirts, etc. but, I suppose that is par for the course since it is in a Downtown Hotel on Memorial weekend.

Love Ruth's Chris, but for a special occasion in the future, I'll stick to the locations at Alamo Heights or La Cantera for a more appropriate ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Manager took such good care of us! Was dining with celebrities and they gave us special place in back. Waiter was amazing! Wine was amazing! Bread is amazing! The huge steak (think it was called cowboy) was amazing! Can't wait to go back! It's pricey as usual but well worth it. Bravo to the manager and his staff for a wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined on May 24, 2017

If you plan to have a Very Good Hamburger in a Premium Steak House and they can't deliver. It's a Bad Experience.
Overcooked Burger very hard ,dry and compact .
The irony I payed to eat that.
It's my personal Opinion, and Im a VIP OpenTable user.
Wow.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This was part of our 50th wedding anniversary. We chose Ruth's because our family have dined at one in North Carolina and raved about it. Our waiter Chris was very attentive to our needs. The food was well presented and was top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our time spent at Ruth's Chris Steak House was very memorable, thanks to the staff and the great atmosphere. I took my wife here for our one year anniversary, and the staff made us feel like we were the only people there (very attentive). They sprinkled rose petals on our table as we were sat which was a nice touch. My wife ordered the Surf and Turf which looked beautiful. My Filet was cooked to a beautiful Medium Rare and the whole plate was literally sizzling. The patio atmosphere was perfect, even though it had been raining on and off throughout the day (we were under a massive umbrella just incase it rained again). I will say that because Ruth's Chris is connected to the Grand Hyatt, the other clientele did not really seem to be dressed appropriately for fine dining (flip flops, blue jean shorts, etc.). That kind of took away from the atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding filet. Say on the outside deck looking over the river walk. Great! !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This Ruth's Chris can certainly deliver the steak. The quality in the meat products was amply on display. Having said that - the other positive is the friendly and young staff who are all pleasant and engaging - which is a feature all over San Antonio. The sophistication of this branch, however, clearly lags behind bigger cities - and for that reason I feel the value is less. Prices were way above normal for the region and the finer points of a dining experience were just not there. For example; we dined in five other well known restaurants in San Antonio were not served anything in the way of quality baked bread - Ruth's' Chris was no exception. In a way, I'm grateful that this restaurant was serving our hotel because I feel we had dining options for lunch, and for breakfast, that did not seem available elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This Ruth's Chris location has a beautiful view of the River Walk in San Antonio. They have great options for indoor or outdoor dining, depending on the weather. Front desk staff was very friendly. When you go to a steak house like this, you know you are going to pay a premium price for your meal, so the level of service often 'makes' the meal. Michael, the server, was a real "pro" He knew when to show up, but did not rush anyone. He knew the menu, and kept the evening going at a relaxed pace. Kollin, who assisted at the table, was understated yet very effective. A very good selection of wines by the glass. I did not have room for dessert!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was quick but did not feel forced.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not a lot of choices for kids, I know we were at a Steakhouse, but they could have offered chicken or pork! Side dishes were cold, no sweet tea in Texas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was not that great for the price....specially the steak

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

No value for your dollar. I've had better steaks at cheaper restaurants. The 500 degree plate is no reason to pay $42 for an 8 ounce steak.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was top notch, host was terrible . Food was not the usual quality, but it was a special brunch and we will always come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Reservation for Mother's Day Brunch. What a mistake. It's a hotel breakfast buffet. Guests wearing typical San Antonio tourist wear like workout shorts etc (totally fine, but we dressed up thinking it was a nice place/special occasion). Buffet was very small/sparse so ordered off the menu. Big mistake, food took forever and was average at best (and two of us had filet with eggs). Service was NOT good.
I never leave bad reviews but this was so lame I felt compelled to. Just in case you think you're getting something special - it was an expensive crappy breakfast. My mistake.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food and service. However the patio is a thoroughfare for hotel guests and is open to foot traffic from outside the hotel. This was a negative to have people travel behind me to get to the river.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The staff and management were great to our family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Brock and Dimas were amazing! They took of every detail and made sure I had a lovely dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Steak was burned & fries were cold..I know I said well done but not burnt. I was so disappointed

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waitress tried to give us dirty glasses. Her excuse was that she didn't want us to wait any longer for water. The steak was burnt, in spots. I asked for well done and it was bloody in the middle. For $200 dollars the service and food should have been better. The best part of the expierence was that they did valid for parking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went for Sunday morning brunch and the service was super slow and management ended up discounting most patrons food. Food was good though but would be nice if they had a little steak on the brunch buffet since it's a steak house and it costs $21.95.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As far as the dinner, it was fantastic. A perfectly cooked steak so tender you barely needed a knife to cut it. The service was great and the waiter very helpful in picking a dinner as well as wine to go with it.

As a guest staying in the hotel I went back and tried the breakfast. And while I would gladly recommend this place for dinner, the breakfast was terrible. It was cold, the bacon very tho. And extremely salty. For the money and the expectation I was highly disappointed. So save yourself some cash and skip the breakfast.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

me encanto su servicio, ideal para salida de parejas, muy moderno, un ambiente muy movido, definitivo regreso cuando este en san antonio

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ruth's Chris is an excellent steak house. They have an excellent wine list and the food is magnificent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Steaks had to be sent back because they were too rare...very pricey for what you get

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, great food, great selection, friendly and courteous staff

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my wife and I second time coming and has not disappointed! Will definitely be coming back for future visits

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday celebrations with 9 people.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Simply Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Todd was an excellent waiter, our aged ribeye steaks were prepared to perfection and the Oregon Pinot Noir was superb. We had a delightful dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was our 54th wedding anniversary and they treated us royally! The food was magnificent, we both had the Spring thing where you chose an appetizer, an entrée and dessert for $55.95. We both had the roasted tomato crab soup, the 11 oz filet and the pineapple coconut bread pudding. We were just in San Antonio for a mini vacation before my wife's surgery and it was a wonderful time. We plan on visiting Ruth's Chris in Houston (close to here we live) sometime soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.