Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR 3:00 - 6:30 pm EVERY DAY - Early Happy Hour only available at River Walk location
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy our annual River Parade Dinner packages for Ford Holiday Parade and Cavaliers River Parade.

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Public Transit:
Available at E.Market Street

Executive Chef:
Craig Brewer

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Waterfront (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Scenic View (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Steaks had to be sent back because they were too rare...very pricey for what you get

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, great food, great selection, friendly and courteous staff

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my wife and I second time coming and has not disappointed! Will definitely be coming back for future visits

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday celebrations with 9 people.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Simply Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Todd was an excellent waiter, our aged ribeye steaks were prepared to perfection and the Oregon Pinot Noir was superb. We had a delightful dining experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was our 54th wedding anniversary and they treated us royally! The food was magnificent, we both had the Spring thing where you chose an appetizer, an entrée and dessert for $55.95. We both had the roasted tomato crab soup, the 11 oz filet and the pineapple coconut bread pudding. We were just in San Antonio for a mini vacation before my wife's surgery and it was a wonderful time. We plan on visiting Ruth's Chris in Houston (close to here we live) sometime soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Have always loved Ruth's, but this time we were a bit disappointed with our steaks. They were ribeyes, but seemed to be cut more like NY strips, not much marbling and a little tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Yay, the River Walk finally has a great steak house! We had a special visit by 3 random Mallard ducks outside. Charming place. Great service. Wine was WAYYYY overpriced, but food was delicious. Overall happy and will go back when we visit San Antonio next month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Overpriced and overcooked steak. Creamed spinach was good but the medium rare steak should've been a lot juicier and pinker. I would recommend dining where $60 could get you a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service wasn't great and our food took forever to come out. My steak was undercooked also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have had good meals here before. this time I got the steak salad or whatever it was, took forever, one piece of meat was cold (ok it was touching salad but how long does it take for steak heat to transfer into cold salad. both pieces of meat were disasters. it was almost a choke that they asked how it was cooked. The server was a trainee and she was fine. Maybe it was a Monday and they got slammed but at 1300 even on a Monday without a full house the food should have been faster and not a disaster. I will go back but this time was a fail.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service and appetizers were ruined by overcooked and then blood raw steak. If you can't cook a steak to the correct temperature after two tries why are you calling yourself a steakhouse?

The view of the water is great as are the bar specials but don't waste your money on the poor cuts of incorrectly cooked beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Asked for the best table so we can celebrate my wife birthday and got sits in a corner very close to the restrooms. Very disappointed as I had made the reservation one week in advance.
Our waiter was horrible completely forgot about us and overall the service was horrible. Food was cold and when asked for steak sauce was asked why? Avoid this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of two steaks under cook, waitress was hard to catch. This location does not represent the other RC's we dined before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Multiple problems with our order, slow service despite knowing we only had an hour for lunch. Chicken sandwich and burgers were over cooked. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

At lunch, is is not the typical service of what one may expect from Ruth Chris's. Could be due to the location (linked to a Convention Center). Many convention members attending could be in a rush. Service, was practically non existent. Crab cakes were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very disappointed the food was over cooked and blah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best meal and best service we have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Appetizers to main course was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have eaten at the Ruth Cris in Bev Hls. The San Antonio restaurant doesn't hold a candle to to it sorry to say. The filet was average- if not below average. Lacked a good flavor. The service was lack luster. Had to remind our server twice for one of our drinks.

And a comment on our times - All of the children in the restaurant were on their cellphones during their meals. Other patrons in old jeans and t-shirts.

We should have gone to a $9.99 steak special place instead. Perhaps this Ruth Cris relies on tourists and doesn't hold the same standard. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was perfect. It was my wife's birthday, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Bruce was fantastic. He greeted me, and he greeted my wife by wishing her happy birthday. The decorations sprinkled on the table were a nice touch. The food was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful birthday. She is still talking about it!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food. Great service. Are here twice during business trip.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Kitchen was insanely slow, it took 20 minutes to seat us despite having a reservation. The food came out wrong or late twice. In all, I will not be coming back since, for this money, I can get a better dining experience at a non-chain in San Antonio.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time to dine at a Ruth's Chris. We have dined at many upscale steak restaurants throughout the city and this was by far, the worst experience yet.

From the start, it wasn't a good night. I asked for reservations in a quiet part of the restaurant. Where do they put us, right in the middle. Yes the table was set nicely, with rose petals spread out, we were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary. Our waitress immediately took care of this and seated us at a more out of the way table. The noise was a little less in this area, but definitely not quiet enough for a nice romantic dinner.

We ordered our appetizer and it came out promptly. A couple minutes later, a young man came by and placed 2 more shrimp on the table. He apologized and said he was correcting a mistake.
Next we had soup and salad. Lobster bisque (very small pieces of lobster, no chunks at all) and caprese salad (ok). While we were finishing up this course, a gentleman came up with our main course (less than 5 minutes since we got our salad/soup). He immediately saw that we were still eating and asked if we would like for him to hold it in the kitchen while we finish. I said yes. Well, we finished a couple minutes later, but he never brought our food back. Instead, about 10 minutes passed and another person finally brings it. I cut into my steak and it looks to be cooked medium-well at best, I asked for medium-rare. While waiting for a refire, I tasted the asparagus (lukewarm, nothing spectacular) and the fingerling potatoes (warm and pretty good) and my wifes chicken, which was dry. The 2nd steak was cooked better, but still not up to par for a high-end restaurant.
Our waitress, Irene, apologized profusely and wouldn't let us pay for our cocktails (or anything).
In the end, we know bad nights happen, and we understand. I don't know if we will go back to this location, but we may try RC again, but I'm sure it will be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I usually avoid Ruth's Chris becaus it caters to tourists and its prices are inflated. But I was eating with a colleague as a tourist and we found the food - steak and sea bass - to be superb. So there's the tradeoff - simple a la carte dishes exorbitantly priced but executed really well.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good but when the waiter found out that the majority of the table was only going to order appetizers, he stopped checking on us. Had he done so, several of us were going to order off of the menu but after being "stiffed" decided not to. On a brighter note, making reservations on the internet was a great experience - super easy!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Brock was an amazing waiter. Made the night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One hour gap between appetizer and main course. Restaurant was full when we started but by the time our food arrived it was lass than 1/3 full. No excuse. Food, once it arrived, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Poor service for Texas standards which are usually very high, had to ask 3 times for an accompionment that was supposed to arrive with our steaks and the crab cake starter tasted like it was soaked in vinaigrette and lemon juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

On the basis of their reputation and with the benefit of a gift card, we went to Ruth's Chris while vacationing in San Antonio. Our server - Irene - was exceptional. The Bleu cheese and garlic encrusted filet was one of the BEST I had EVER had ANYWHERE. MY wife's crab stuffed lobster and filet were equally outstanding. We would return again anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ruth Chris has never disappointed.....outstanding outstanding outstanding....from the valet parking....to checking in....service and food...total experience was awesome...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Over priced for the set menu that night. My steak was dry and the dessert was a bite sized cheese cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They got everything right, then it was all wrong. I don't plan on coming back to this location for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wifey there for our 19th anniversary. We both had the filet mignon with lobster. Our steaks were prepared exactly as we ordered, and in a timely manner. The lobsters, it had been quite a while since we had perfectly prepared lobster like those, delicious. Our waiter Bruce was knowledgeable helpful and attentive. Couldn't have asked for a better dining experience. Location is along the Riverwalk and is within walking distance of any of the Riverwalk hotels.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not cheap, so good for special occasions. The filet and shrimp combo was a great choice and not overly filling. Mine came sizzling! A couple of Manhattans makes the night chill go away. River front view great for people watching but not so busy and bustling that conversation is impossible. Wait staff was excellent. Come hungry!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Birthday birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered drinks and got them, but that was it. Our waitress ignored us after we moved tables because of stuff falling from above. We sat there for Thirty to Forty Five minutes before a waiter asked if we had been helped. It was the worst service I received from this restaurant since I know they have great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server Raymond did a fantastic job of fulfilling our needs. I ordered the Lamb Chops: absolutely delicious. My date had the fillet and lobster. She totally enjoyed every bite. We sat outside and experienced a perfect River walk evening. Low lighting and low noise levels made for a very romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was great
Came for happy hour specials.
Got the burger.
Meat was good, cheese great, bacon was gross not even thick slab like a steakhouse should have and fries were cold and soggy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.