Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.

600 E Market St
Riverwalk
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sizzle,Swizzle, Swirl Happy Hour 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Every Day
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails

Cross Street:
Bowie Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-8847

Website:
http://www.ruthschrissa.com/

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

Private Party Facilities:
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (8)
Waterfront (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Asked for the best table so we can celebrate my wife birthday and got sits in a corner very close to the restrooms. Very disappointed as I had made the reservation one week in advance.
Our waiter was horrible completely forgot about us and overall the service was horrible. Food was cold and when asked for steak sauce was asked why? Avoid this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

One of two steaks under cook, waitress was hard to catch. This location does not represent the other RC's we dined before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Multiple problems with our order, slow service despite knowing we only had an hour for lunch. Chicken sandwich and burgers were over cooked. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

At lunch, is is not the typical service of what one may expect from Ruth Chris's. Could be due to the location (linked to a Convention Center). Many convention members attending could be in a rush. Service, was practically non existent. Crab cakes were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very disappointed the food was over cooked and blah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best meal and best service we have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Appetizers to main course was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have eaten at the Ruth Cris in Bev Hls. The San Antonio restaurant doesn't hold a candle to to it sorry to say. The filet was average- if not below average. Lacked a good flavor. The service was lack luster. Had to remind our server twice for one of our drinks.

And a comment on our times - All of the children in the restaurant were on their cellphones during their meals. Other patrons in old jeans and t-shirts.

We should have gone to a $9.99 steak special place instead. Perhaps this Ruth Cris relies on tourists and doesn't hold the same standard. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was perfect. It was my wife's birthday, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Bruce was fantastic. He greeted me, and he greeted my wife by wishing her happy birthday. The decorations sprinkled on the table were a nice touch. The food was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful birthday. She is still talking about it!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food. Great service. Are here twice during business trip.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Kitchen was insanely slow, it took 20 minutes to seat us despite having a reservation. The food came out wrong or late twice. In all, I will not be coming back since, for this money, I can get a better dining experience at a non-chain in San Antonio.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time to dine at a Ruth's Chris. We have dined at many upscale steak restaurants throughout the city and this was by far, the worst experience yet.

From the start, it wasn't a good night. I asked for reservations in a quiet part of the restaurant. Where do they put us, right in the middle. Yes the table was set nicely, with rose petals spread out, we were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary. Our waitress immediately took care of this and seated us at a more out of the way table. The noise was a little less in this area, but definitely not quiet enough for a nice romantic dinner.

We ordered our appetizer and it came out promptly. A couple minutes later, a young man came by and placed 2 more shrimp on the table. He apologized and said he was correcting a mistake.
Next we had soup and salad. Lobster bisque (very small pieces of lobster, no chunks at all) and caprese salad (ok). While we were finishing up this course, a gentleman came up with our main course (less than 5 minutes since we got our salad/soup). He immediately saw that we were still eating and asked if we would like for him to hold it in the kitchen while we finish. I said yes. Well, we finished a couple minutes later, but he never brought our food back. Instead, about 10 minutes passed and another person finally brings it. I cut into my steak and it looks to be cooked medium-well at best, I asked for medium-rare. While waiting for a refire, I tasted the asparagus (lukewarm, nothing spectacular) and the fingerling potatoes (warm and pretty good) and my wifes chicken, which was dry. The 2nd steak was cooked better, but still not up to par for a high-end restaurant.
Our waitress, Irene, apologized profusely and wouldn't let us pay for our cocktails (or anything).
In the end, we know bad nights happen, and we understand. I don't know if we will go back to this location, but we may try RC again, but I'm sure it will be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I usually avoid Ruth's Chris becaus it caters to tourists and its prices are inflated. But I was eating with a colleague as a tourist and we found the food - steak and sea bass - to be superb. So there's the tradeoff - simple a la carte dishes exorbitantly priced but executed really well.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good but when the waiter found out that the majority of the table was only going to order appetizers, he stopped checking on us. Had he done so, several of us were going to order off of the menu but after being "stiffed" decided not to. On a brighter note, making reservations on the internet was a great experience - super easy!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Brock was an amazing waiter. Made the night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One hour gap between appetizer and main course. Restaurant was full when we started but by the time our food arrived it was lass than 1/3 full. No excuse. Food, once it arrived, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Poor service for Texas standards which are usually very high, had to ask 3 times for an accompionment that was supposed to arrive with our steaks and the crab cake starter tasted like it was soaked in vinaigrette and lemon juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

On the basis of their reputation and with the benefit of a gift card, we went to Ruth's Chris while vacationing in San Antonio. Our server - Irene - was exceptional. The Bleu cheese and garlic encrusted filet was one of the BEST I had EVER had ANYWHERE. MY wife's crab stuffed lobster and filet were equally outstanding. We would return again anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ruth Chris has never disappointed.....outstanding outstanding outstanding....from the valet parking....to checking in....service and food...total experience was awesome...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Over priced for the set menu that night. My steak was dry and the dessert was a bite sized cheese cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They got everything right, then it was all wrong. I don't plan on coming back to this location for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wifey there for our 19th anniversary. We both had the filet mignon with lobster. Our steaks were prepared exactly as we ordered, and in a timely manner. The lobsters, it had been quite a while since we had perfectly prepared lobster like those, delicious. Our waiter Bruce was knowledgeable helpful and attentive. Couldn't have asked for a better dining experience. Location is along the Riverwalk and is within walking distance of any of the Riverwalk hotels.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not cheap, so good for special occasions. The filet and shrimp combo was a great choice and not overly filling. Mine came sizzling! A couple of Manhattans makes the night chill go away. River front view great for people watching but not so busy and bustling that conversation is impossible. Wait staff was excellent. Come hungry!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Birthday birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered drinks and got them, but that was it. Our waitress ignored us after we moved tables because of stuff falling from above. We sat there for Thirty to Forty Five minutes before a waiter asked if we had been helped. It was the worst service I received from this restaurant since I know they have great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server Raymond did a fantastic job of fulfilling our needs. I ordered the Lamb Chops: absolutely delicious. My date had the fillet and lobster. She totally enjoyed every bite. We sat outside and experienced a perfect River walk evening. Low lighting and low noise levels made for a very romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was great
Came for happy hour specials.
Got the burger.
Meat was good, cheese great, bacon was gross not even thick slab like a steakhouse should have and fries were cold and soggy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We (10 colleagues) and I had a GREAT lunch both days of our conference. The online reservation was super easy and efficient. Very convenient and Jerreth was an outstanding wait person along with the others who assisted him. Jerreth was attentive, personal (called us by our names i.e. Mrs Turner how would you like that cooked...etc., and very efficient.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the hotel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Although this was my 2nd visit to Ruth Chris in a month, I will not be returning for a while

It was over 40 min between salads to entree

My wife's shrimp was overcooked

Steak came out on sizzling plate however was cold in center

Waiter was no where to be found for long periods

Overall pretty unhappy with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and fun place for date night. Huge wine selection too

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was excellent, food was excellent. Ambiance was great, very satisfied with everything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Riverwalk location is convenient if staying on Riverwalk, but the restaurant was so loud and noisy it was almost not enjoyable for a date. The staff/service was outstanding and our waiter was GREAT!! He made very good wine recommendations. The food was phenomenal and consistent with Ruth Chris' reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall quality of the food was fair.
For the price, I would try other high end restaurants in the area. We were able to reserve a table with no wait on a busy Friday night when other restaurants were booked...that alone should have clued us in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have eaten at the different locations multiple times. This time was a big disappointment! Bar was packed- had to go upstairs to the hotel for a drink before dinner. We had a show to go to so made a reservation at 8pm. After prodding we were finally seated at 8:20 after arriving at 7:40. The waiters did a good job but our original waiter disappeared. They informed us that they were overbooked and running behind. At 9:20 we still had not received our food. Another couple with children sitting beside us was forced to wait even longer. We finally said we have to get our food and a check. No time for dessert! At I high end restaurant you should never have to rush through the main course. This is the first negative review I have written but felt I had to speak up. Manager never came out and it was a very poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our Server Jorge was Great and the food was amazing. I had several coworkers from all over the world and wanted to give them a great dinning experience with the San Antonio flare. You guys hit it out of the park. We were able to take advantage of the Restaurant Week menu and that was perfect for our early dinner. The restaurant was moderate noise as we were there early but it made for a great opportunity for lots of talk. Thank you for a great time!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love Ruth's Chris, but not the Riverwalk location. Save your time and money and go to the one on Jones Maltsberger or La Cantera. This place wasn't busy tonight and yet it took an hour from the time we arrived to the time we got our entrees, and that was after they somehow messed up an order for two garden salads bringing us a Caesar instead. This was our second visit, and lamentably, it wasn't any better than the first. We won't be back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!! The service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Business Meals, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We celebrated our 10th year anniversary at Ruth's Chris and it was an amazing experience. The environment was quiet and romantic (candlelight & roses petals on the table). The servers were welcoming and friendly. A+ for overall experience! Thanks for an anniversary that we'll NEVER forget :)

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I went here for a business meeting with my advisor. The food was extraordinarily delicious. We went during restaurant week in San Antonio so it was a great deal for all of the food we got. I had the filet mignon with potatoes and mushrooms and it was just to die for. It was a bit loud for a business oriented meeting, but it was a very nice environment still. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.