Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today
Special offers available. See details

Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk

4.2
583 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Ruth's Chris Steak House, River Walk is located in the Grand Hyatt hotel.
Sizzling morning, noon and night, with a delicious breakfast offered from 7:00AM daily. Enjoy an a la carte breakfast menu as well as an expansive Breakfast Buffet.
Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich.
Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list.
Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Monday-Sunday 7:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Lunch
Monday – Friday 11:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday + Sunday 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dinner
7 nights a week from 4:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
PRIME BAR 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR 3:00 - 6:30 pm EVERY DAY - Early Happy Hour only available at River Walk location
Enjoy 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(210) 227-8847
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Craig Brewer
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
With rooms to accommodate anything from cocktail parties to sit-down dinners, our dedicated event team strives to serve up the best in quality and service for you and your guests. Private Dining available for breakfast, lunch and dinner events of 10 - 200 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Keri Bauer: (210) 227-8847
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event Manager and a dedicated team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.
Please see website for more information www.ruthschrisSA.com Go to Private Dining Page
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bowie Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Valet Parking offered for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Available at E.Market Street
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy our annual River Parade Dinner packages for Ford Holiday Parade and Cavaliers River Parade.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
River Barge Dining Available. Take a tour on a river cruise barge and enjoy Ruth's Chris Cocktails and Appetizers. Enjoy a special River Barge menu package. Call Keri Bauer 210-227-8847 to reserve
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

From hand-crafted cocktails to Ruth’s signature bone-in cuts cooked to perfection, celebrate dad with a day that’s all about him (without having to turn a year older). Cheers to all the dads out there, for all you are and all you do.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 583 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Real good food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The server was excellent and the food was great. I definitely recommend this location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We took our son and a friend out for a graduation celebration. We were very well cared for by a great staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Everything was wonderful, we were very happy and so was my daughter as this was
her b'day celebration. Due to the price, this would only be a place that we could eat
at for very special occations.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Happy hour service at the bar was good. We sat at the patio and it took 1 hour to get our shrimp appetizer, then our salads and steaks arrived within minutes of the appetizer. The timing was completely wrong. I am used to top notch service at Ruth’s. There was one server no back up and service was slow and at the level I would expect at a lower end restaurant . Some of the food was really good, but the protein, what they’re known for was way off point. Chicken over cooked and dry, steaks that lacked seasoning and somehow a medium rare steak that was gray. I was embarrassed having talked up Ruth’s as my personal favorite, inviting my father in law for his first time and we could have had a better meal at a lower end restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Service poor
Delivery of food order poor- appetizer came out with salads- salads not fresh- appetizer shrimp thrown on a plate not cold
Steaks not cooked as requested- very late delivery to table- unusual amount of time to prepare and deliver
It was my Birthday- banana cheese cake and old stale ice cream delivered
Of the 30 plus Ruth Chris restaurants we dined at across the USA - this 200.00 meal fell way short of quality and service.
We demand a gift card.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I ordered medium plus but the middle of my fillet was rare. Oh well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was by far the worst dining experience we ever had at Ruth Chris.The service wa terrible and food delivered piece meal. In fairness the server indicated that the kitchen was understaffed. We have been to Ruth Chris all over the United States and as far away as Hawaii and by far this is the worst Ruth Chris. If you want to wait over 2 hours and get poor service and less then acceptable food and go here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 5, 2018

This is a lovely setting on the Riverwalk; the staff courteous and the service good. However, our VERY pricey food was most disappointing. Steaks were bland, broccoli was soggy, and garlic mashed potatoes were nothing particularly special, and for the price they should have been. This is my second disappointing experience at a Ruth's Chris and I will not be back. (fool me once...)
There used to be one in Kansas City, where we live, and it was very good back in the day but seemed to go downhill; it eventually closed, most likely due to better competition. Was hoping that we would find the original quality maintained here, but that was not the case. The convention center directly next door undoubtedly keeps it in business. Don't bother with Ruth's Chris; you can do better.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We arrived 30 min early for a 6:15 reservation and were seated early. We ordered quite quickly. The appetizer came right out and was nice. Dinner however..... didn’t arrive til 7:30 pm after asking multiple time for it as we had a game to attend at 8. Waitress tried hard and was apologetic saying things were just backed up. My husbands steak arrive raw and was sent back. Really sad as it was a beautiful cut of bone in filet. The crab cake that was to accompany it was the size of a golf,ball and the Brussels sprouts were cold. Thankfully he ate some appetizer. Fortunately they removed the steak from the bill. My sea bass was over salty and very very fishy. The sweet potatoe cubes under it were cold.

We eat at Ruth’s CHRIS in honolulu often and have a great experience every time. San Antonio’s, however, was a terrible experience. We will not return and I don’t recommend people go there in busy weekends as they can’t handle the load.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Fun atmosphere for ncaa championship
Staff seemed overwhelmed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Food good as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Final Four with my son.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The Easter Brunch Buffet was delicious! Our waiter Leopold was Great! Although, I felt like the restaurant was a little understaffed. The salad & dessert bar were a little messy. Other than that we had a delightful lunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter - buffet style dining - food was great, but service was a bit lacking. Nothing horrible, just what comes along with your typical holiday dinners. Lots of people, servers seemed a bit overwhelmed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were are at Ruth Chris three times over three days. Two times for breakfast. Once for dinner. We were disappointed that they do not offer egg whites with their Buffett. The general Buffett was average. There Easter Buffett was much better with more selection. Dinner was good but we had to wait forever to be served. The noise level was almost to the point of not being able to stay in the room. You could not hear others speak. I know they were busy but for the standard that Ruth Chris claims to have, and the prices these types of issues should not occur.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Restaurant was not clean. Top of coffee pot was dirty. Plates and silverware were dirty. It was Easter Brunch. Server said it was the restaurant's first brunch. Food selection was good. We expect great things from Ruth's Chris and are willing to pay for it, but this was not a great experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Horrible attention by hostess, did not want to receive us even when we reserved by open table because there where a lot a people at bar for a basketball game. Had to ask for manager and they put us in a table next to restrooms even if place was half empty. Only stayed because kids where very hungry.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Very noisy and service was slow

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Fantastic service! Food was prepared perfectly. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Worst Drinks ever!! I don't understand how such a top rated restaurant on the San Antonio River Walk can't make a decent margarita. My Husband ordered a regular margarita on the rock and I ordered one off the specialty drink menu the "Rosarita" Save your money and go to The Palm for Amazing drinks.
So Disappointed

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Steak was not good quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great Lunch and couldn't be anything wrong with food choice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

An amazing experience. We had a very minor issue with the appetizers, (lobster bisque) not being hot enough. But they quickly rectified it and brought out fresh hot dishes. Our server, Brock was on point, and very patient on getting the orders correct within our party. I recommend this restaurant off you want a great meal and a good time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Wonderful food and service. Staff is very friendly and prompt with service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Wonderful dinner! The lamb chops were excellent! Our server was knowledgeable, cordial, and attentive. My only complaint is that our table was very dark. We needed our phone flashlights to read the menu. Also I had trouble seeing my chips to cut them. We were in the back corner which seemed particularly dark.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 5, 2018

The only thing worse than the service (over an hour’s wait for salads and light lunch) was the manager’s attitude. I would suggest a hotdog stand before this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Overall, a wonderful evening. We truly enjoyed dining experience with Ruth Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Just perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Ruth's Chris was a great night out with friends and family. We added two people at the last minute and they were very accomodating. The only complaint is the difficulty with parking and getting inside the hotel to get to dinner. Traffic was atrocious and the parking was just as bad. We did not let that spoil the night. Our waitress was wonderfully patient and kind and there were no mistakes. We were a party of 12 and everyone walked away with a smile!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wait wasn’t long as we had a reservation. Waiter was super nice and professional. Appetizers came out quickly but main meal took forever and one of the steaks was over cooked. Side dishes were excellent as well as dessert. No music playing so ambiance was definitely a little off. Waiter’s attitude made up for mishaps and overall was enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Our first visit. Not sure it measured up to the hype, but it was quite good. Steak was tender and delicious. The server seemed a bit disinterested. The next night we visited a local spot that provided a more intimate experience. I would choose the small venue over the "name brand" but both were enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

They were very busy. We had to ask for everything twice, and they didn’t have the menu item I wanted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentines Dinner while in San Antonio for a conference. Of course easy access from the convention center and consistent with other Ruth’s Chris restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The cuisine at Ruth Chris was beautiful and scrumptious, with much ambiance. Our waiter Nicholas was phenomenal! There was one discrepancy. The message on the Valentine Special menu communicating the price was $89-99 per person was VERY, VERY small and we did NOT notice it whatsoever. We thought that the $99 was for two people. Thus, there was confusion upon payment for the bill. Ethan, the Manager did talk to us, and explained, mentioning the small print, however, in a rather curt manner. I called him over a while later and expressed my displeasure, mixed with compliments regarding the meal. He was apologetic, and stated that he was misunderstood. We returned for brunch throughout our stay. I would say that Ruth Chris should be certain that stipulations about a meal are presented in bold, clear print from now on! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Very romantic, perfect for a date night or special occasion. We were pleased with every bite, and the service was outstanding. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Amazing place... the food was excellent and the service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Birthday dinner ! It was a great experience! Will return !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We took our nephew to Ruth’s to celebrate his graduation from the Air Force basic training, excellent location on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. Restaurant was excellent and a nice atmosphere. Food and service was superb as expected! The beef filets were awesome, my mouth is watering just thinking back on the meal! Great place to celebrate life’s precious moments with family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Perfect restaurant and delicious food (steak of course!) for a special occasion. Our waiter/bartender in the bar area was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Great service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - River Walk