Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Richmond, VA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/restaurant-locations/richmond-midlothian/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: (804) 378-0600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Historic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall dinner was just so-so... Been here before and the steaks were much better. This was my choice for our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food.!! Excellent service. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, the food was delectable and the service outstanding! I wish a dress code was reinforced. Too nice of a restaurant for the "overly casual dress" of some of its patrons!!!!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good and we appreciate them opening early for Mother's Day. Service was initially fast, but it took as long to checkout and leave as it did to order and eat our meals. It was just the two of us; and, as happened in December, the staff caters to the larger groups and leaves those in small groups waiting. Will probably return, but only with six or more people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Every visit to Ruth's Chris is a treat. Today, I took my mother there in honor of Mother's Day and we had a great time, probably overstaying our welcome but you'd never know it based on the staff's reception. We each had the petite filet and shared the potatoes au gratin and roasted Brussels sprouts. And, since it had been a while, each had a bowl of lobster bisque. One of my favorite things is that they allow you to customize how much sherry is included - none, a brief drizzle, or a long pour. Since to us, seafood bisque just isn't seafood bisque without sherry, we each had a generous dollop added.

Our server, Cicily, was great. Kind and attentive, but unobtrusive. We also had a chuckle with Stephen over coffee: we were hemming and hawing over a second pot, and he said to my mother, "I can see in your eyes you'd like some more. I'll be right back." I'm sure it's a commonly used line, but we all had a laugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

From the Civil War history of the location to the superb service and food, Ruth's Chris represents one of the best dining experiences in Richmond. Their subtle recognition of my wife's birthday was perfect, and the food and service was just fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the most special restaurants in Richmond! Excellent menu -- and although pricey -- great value for the $ spent! Would make time for the Happy Hour -- patio is awesome!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The steak was outstanding. The scallops were succulent. The wine was wonderful. Service did a great job of being somewhat formal while not being a robot during service. The wife's birthday dinner was a big success. We sat outside on a beautiful day and didn't have one complaint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our visit was very nice, the food was great and resturant' s atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very crowded on Saturday night which slowed down the service to unusually long period before we got our drink order,~30 minutes and almost an hour before we got our appetizers. Diner was served almost 90 minutes after being seated.......not indicative of Ruth's Chris past service experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Ruth's Chris is always excellent. If you'd rather have seafood than steak, the crabcakes are especially good. Our server was able to describe each cut of steak so that folks could order according to their preference. Our server was also great about discussing wine pairings. Ruth's Chris has an extensive collection of wines. They also make folks celebrating special occassions feel extra special. They decorate the table and provide wonderful desserts to the celebrants. We love coming here to celebrate major milestones.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were there to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary for my parents. The food and services were fantastic. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant décor and atmosphere were lovely. Great wine list both by the bottle and by the glass. All the food was delicious!

The wait staff was very attentive and the food was served in a timely manner. If I had to pick one drawback on the service, it would have to deal with the timing of the appetizers and salads. The appetizers were served quickly, but we had not yet gotten half way through them and the salads arrived. The timing between the salad and main entrees was perfect.

One note on the sides. They are abundant enough for 2-3 people to share and the selection was nice. 3 sides for a party of 5 was plenty to go around.

Would definitely recommend Ruth's Chris for a nice evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything from the greeting at the door through the presentation of the check was top-notch. Oh yes, the food was great too!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

A very nice place to go for a special meal. Excellent food and Service.
Yes, it's pricey, but it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service as usual!!! Travis was our server and he was awesome!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere for Easter lunch. Server Stephen was knowledgable, polite and attentive to our wine and food needs. Ribeye steak was perfectly cooked (medium rare) and served at 500 degrees so be careful with hot plate! Sweet potato casserole was best I've eaten. Took same order home for my wife who wasn't able to attend.

I would strongly recommend this location to friends and family without hesitation. One of the best restaurant in Bon Air!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

After dining at this Ruths Chris location (Richmond) for almost 25 years, I can honestly say it has always been a flawless dining experience. Wait staff are attentive without hovering, food is the highest quality and always perfectly prepared with a crisp presentation. The interior of this location is classically elegant, set an historic mansion. Whether you are celebrating an anniversary, attending a business dinner or a birthday celebration it the girls, Ruths Chris is always the right choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, way over-priced. Challenging to get out of there for less than $200 for two people. No food is that good. And the waiter continuously asking "is everything delicious?" got a little annoying.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We found the experience and the food to be wonderful. The wait staff is top notch and the food is ample and prepared very well.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It never fails to give great service and wonderful meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Maybe the best steak in Richmond. The service was 10/10 and the atmosphere was also worth the money. My family and I will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There was no wait to sit, the staff was pleasant and the food was as expected. We ordered the seafood tower as an app. Very good. Lobster and crab meat were better than the crab legs. My entree was the 40 oz tomahawk ribeye and my wife had the filet and shrimp special. My steak was amazing. Not sure it was worth $115 but it was excellent. My wife enjoyed her filet as well as the shrimp, which were very well prepared in my opinion. It was a good night for sure. We will return. The ambiance was perfect. I'd pay for the atmosphere alone. To not be surrounded by noisy patrons, screaming kids or ridiculously loud music was a treat in itself.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have been to several Ruth's Chris Steakhouse locations but this was our favorite one. It has a very interesting history (which made for a cool story) and the plantation house setting made it very special. James, our server, was extremely kind and knowledgeable. Our meal was well timed and delicious as always. Wonderful experience all together!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I felt like we were being rushed. I had barely taken a sip of my cocktail when the salad appeared. Before we were able to finish our salad the entre was served. Timing was very poor, my wife actually got indigestion from hurrying her meal. Dining at this restaurant should be leisurely. If I want feel like I am choking down a baloney sandwich, I can save my money and eat at home. Overall, a very, very wasteful evening for us.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service and staff from the front door to the server was most welcoming and kind. The food was fantastic as well. Lastly, the building, both inside and outside were lovely and most inviting.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I proposed to my future wife at this wonderful establishment. I was Refered by a buddy of mine who knew the original owner. My now fiancée, loves steak and she and I had never been. We will frequent, now!!! First class from the moment you walk in the door👌🏽

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, People Watching, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic night!! Travis was our server. He was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place awesome food the staff was awesome it a little pricey but for the quality of food well worth it. I will go back and visit again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My wife and I was celebrating our 11th anniversary. I wanted to take her someplace nice for dinner . I enjoyed watching my wife enjoy the atmosphere and the food . It was worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Don't wear any jeans with any kind of holes or rips in it, they will not allow you to dine in only can stay in the bar area. Wish I would of known that first, the drive is a 40 minute ride from where we live and we all had to sit at the bar area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was ok but didn't blow us away given the price. I had a gift card otherwise I would not pay for this food at this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family of three adults enjoyed our annual birthday dinner at Ruth's Chris. The food was prepared as ordered (steaks), and the sides (potatoes, lobster mac, and mushrooms) were plentiful and delicious. The cocktails were delightful, including our dessert choices (grasshopper and toasted almond). The wedge salad was enough for all three of us. Two of us shared the creme brulee, which is always over the top. Only food disappointment was the missing prime rib (they took it off the menu!). Lovely piano music in background, but beware, it is noisy with the tables situated close together. It was a busy Saturday night (March 18th). My only complaint about this visit was our waiter. We have always had positive experiences with the wait staff. Always cordial, helpful, and attentive until this evening. We were disappointed that Dustin did not check on us more frequently, and even after asking for lemon for my entree, he never appeared with it. His helper was most attentive, and did bring the lemon quickly. Dustin seemed to disappear quite a bit, and again, his helper was there quickly to assist us. We have had James in the past, and will request him again next time. Ruth's Chris is an expensive night out, but again we go for special occasions, and drive 60 miles one way for the experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I always love dining at Ruth Chris for special occasions! This visit was outstanding, as always. Our service was very attentive and my steak was cooked perfectly and was so flavorful. I wanted to savor every bite! The piano playing in the main dining room adds to the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful meal with s pleasant ambiance and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Ruth Chris is one of my favorite restaurants me & my friends eat there often which led me to open my open table account. This is the worse location I've been to. The service was very bad and quit frankly I feel the staff was very prejudice. Never checked up me didn't box my food up for me overall awful experience the food was the save of course the dishes are always excellent but the ambiance made it an unenjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Usually a dessert is provided for special occasions. I did make them aware that the special occasion was my birthday. But no dessert was presented.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We visited for my wife's 35th birthday dinner, of which I had notified the restaurant in advance. Unfortunately, not a single member of the staff acknowledged her special occasion which was rather disappointing. We frequent Ruth's Chris several times a year and the hostess always asks "are you celebrating anything special tonight" however this time she didn't say a word and just showed us to our table. Our waiter while friendly and prompt lacked the attention to detail we have grown accustomed to at a restaurant the caliber of Ruth's Chris; the best example of this would be the waitstaff's failure to clear our appetizer and salad plates prior to the arrival of our main course, in fact I had to stop them from serving the entrées and ask that they clear the table which is completely unacceptable. Dessert menus were offered and presented without any mention of my wife's birthday, so I decided upon the waiters return to take our desert order that I would mention to him that it was my wife's birthday and she would make the selections for the table, to which he replied "oh her birthday I had no idea". The clumsy service continued as the dessert was brought to the table but the coffee was forgotten which had been ordered and then the coffee came and the creamer and the sugar was forgotten and had to be requested on two occasions. Overall this was a very sloppy evening of service at a restaurant that is well known for fine dining and exceptional food, we will be back but this experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I found Ruth's Chris Steak House by googling best resteraunts in Midlothian so I could have somewhere to celebrate Valentine's Day with my fiancé. I have to say I was more than impressed, the live piano helped set the tone for the elegant yet family friendly restaurant. The staff was personable and knowledgeable as he gave us a brief history on the origins of the restaurant. As far as actually dining the wine list was very impressive and the menu was well thought out and offered a variety of delicious meals. Everything we had was incredible and if I had the opportunity to I would go back multiple times. Fantastic food, wait staff, and atmosphere I highly recommend celebrating your special occasion here and can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.