Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Richmond, VA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/restaurant-locations/richmond-midlothian/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic perfectly cooked steaks. All of the food was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Incredible food and service. The steak was cooked by a true chef and even though it was a thick cut, it was not butterflied and was exactly as I ordered it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Richmond never fails to deliver an outstanding experience, start to finish. The food is fantastic, the service terrific, the atmosphere gorgeous. One of the more beautiful spots (inside and out). Already looking forward to our next "special occasion" to celebrate there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding! The food was very good. I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent food! Perfect steak. Calamari was delicious. Took my grandchildren. She's 6 and 13. They loved it. Will go back again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great meal with a attentive wait staff. Steaks and appetizers are well prepared. Deserts are to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here and I must say it was absolutely wonderful. Will definitely visit again for another special occasion!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and a great atmosphere. Sometimes you shake your head and wonder, because it's not exactly cheap eats. But afterwards, you smile and know there is a difference. Did learn, or at least confirm, that the ribeye is the most flavorful steak. Ask for it as "Pittsburgh medium," and you will have the best of all possible temperatures. Slightly pink on the inside and yet a nice crispy coating. I find this especially helpful for a very fatty pieces like the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best steak, wine list, service, and ambiance in Richmond. Also the best bar and bartender. 5 stars doesn't seem like enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As always, Ruth Chris didn't disappoint. Everything was awesome from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have celebrated many birthdays, anniversaries, and New Year's Eves with either family or good friends. It is a very special place for our good friends and family, and we will continue to enjoy all that this restaurant has to offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have been to this particular Ruth Chris and it has always been excellent. The food is prepared as you request and the wait staff have always been some of the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

bartender was great and hostess Paula was the absolute best!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Overall solid meal. Steaks were cooked to desired temperatures. Service attentive, not annoying. Everything you'd expect for what you are paying for and they executed it well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was great, the welcome at the door was very friendly the food was outstanding cook the way you wanted it. The wine was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Granddaughter is talking about the great time she had at this very "fancy " restaurant. We were celebrating her 18th birthday although she is now 19 and a 2nd year college student. The restaurant met the expectations we have come to expect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service by Civilly! She was great. Food was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were celebrating our 52nd anniversary.
Everything was great.
The Manager stopped by and we had a lovely conversation about good food and lots of discussion about wine. He was very knowledgeable.
All around, a perfect way for us to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was good. The server could have had more product knowledge. Steak was outstanding. Pianist knew every song we threw at him. He was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Steak was over cooked and tough. French fries tasted re-heated in grease. Brussells sprouts and corn were excellent. Bread was lukewarm. I dined at 530 right after opening. Server was prompt, professional and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I went for our 6th wedding anniversary and the food was excellent. Our server Brooks was also awesome and made great wine and food recommendations. They made it a special evening for us and even brought us a dessert to share! We will definitely go back for other special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service, food quality, and atmosphere all outstanding. One of the nicest Ruth's Chris in the country, being located in an historical Plantation House.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food is very good and the menu hasn't changed in many, many years. This is good in many ways. But I was hoping for some new takes on the sides and salads. I also think that other places now make wonderful steaks at a better price and often with more creativity on the menu. We went for the classic and got it. Very good. But maybe not quite the value. Service was superb, very attentive and helpful. This is a lovely location and appears to have nice outdoor dining. We had almost 100 degree heat and humidity, so we enjoyed the lovely indoors.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A lovely dining experience, perfect service, delicious dinner!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We hadn't been to Ruth's Chris in a long time - we mostly go to two of the other high end steak houses in town. We decided to give it a try again. It was fine, it wasn't quite what we like at the other places we go to but for the money its a very good meal - you really can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food! Waiter was a little too soft spoken to understand. No special acknowledgement of Anniversary or Birthday (e.g., piece of cake, confetti on table, etc.). Food was good, but husband had to have steak sent back (under some).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is a great special occasion spot. The food is always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great dinner. All the food and service were top shelf.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We've enjoyed dining at Ruth Chris Steak House for more than 20 years. One definitely gets value there: the meals are always memorable for taste, the service is impeccable (and tough to beat in Richmond). When we are in town, we know our anniversary dinner is there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful and they were great at explaining things and offering suggestions since it was our first time. Once they found out we were celebrating a birthday we got birthday confetti on our table and almost everyone that came by said happy birthday. The food was amazing. The barbecued shrimp (specifically that incredible sauce) and the crab cakes were definitely highlights. The steak was enjoyable too. We both got cocktails and they were delicious. Oh, and my boyfriend even got a free dessert for his birthday! The whole experience was great and definitely worth the money. I would definitely go back next time we have a special occasion to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the second time I've been to Ruth's Chris and it was just as good as the first, if not better. Everyone loved their food and drinks. The steaks are cooked absolutely perfectly (though some blasphemers at my table ordered a filet medium-well). I really wish I knew where they got their meat because I'd love to try and match the taste at home. Their drinks were fantastic as well - didn't go with beer this time but instead tried a few of their mixed drinks. God damn the Nola Mule was good.

Overall fantastic and will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

GREAT RESTAURANT. GREAT FOOD. WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Cozy atmosphere, amazing service! Steak was delicious. The bread pudding was the only thing that I would say had some room for improvement. Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always impressed by Ruth's Chris. Great food and service. Waiter was polite, attentive and entertaining (Stephen). Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Lovely dinner. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was wonderful as usual and a great way to celebrate Father's Day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great spot. It's a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.