Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Richmond, VA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/restaurant-locations/richmond-midlothian/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: (804) 378-0600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Live Music (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Have celebrated many birthdays, anniversaries, and New Year's Eves with either family or good friends. It is a very special place for our good friends and family, and we will continue to enjoy all that this restaurant has to offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to this particular Ruth Chris and it has always been excellent. The food is prepared as you request and the wait staff have always been some of the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

bartender was great and hostess Paula was the absolute best!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Overall solid meal. Steaks were cooked to desired temperatures. Service attentive, not annoying. Everything you'd expect for what you are paying for and they executed it well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was great, the welcome at the door was very friendly the food was outstanding cook the way you wanted it. The wine was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Granddaughter is talking about the great time she had at this very "fancy " restaurant. We were celebrating her 18th birthday although she is now 19 and a 2nd year college student. The restaurant met the expectations we have come to expect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service by Civilly! She was great. Food was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were celebrating our 52nd anniversary.
Everything was great.
The Manager stopped by and we had a lovely conversation about good food and lots of discussion about wine. He was very knowledgeable.
All around, a perfect way for us to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was good. The server could have had more product knowledge. Steak was outstanding. Pianist knew every song we threw at him. He was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Steak was over cooked and tough. French fries tasted re-heated in grease. Brussells sprouts and corn were excellent. Bread was lukewarm. I dined at 530 right after opening. Server was prompt, professional and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I went for our 6th wedding anniversary and the food was excellent. Our server Brooks was also awesome and made great wine and food recommendations. They made it a special evening for us and even brought us a dessert to share! We will definitely go back for other special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service, food quality, and atmosphere all outstanding. One of the nicest Ruth's Chris in the country, being located in an historical Plantation House.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food is very good and the menu hasn't changed in many, many years. This is good in many ways. But I was hoping for some new takes on the sides and salads. I also think that other places now make wonderful steaks at a better price and often with more creativity on the menu. We went for the classic and got it. Very good. But maybe not quite the value. Service was superb, very attentive and helpful. This is a lovely location and appears to have nice outdoor dining. We had almost 100 degree heat and humidity, so we enjoyed the lovely indoors.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A lovely dining experience, perfect service, delicious dinner!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We hadn't been to Ruth's Chris in a long time - we mostly go to two of the other high end steak houses in town. We decided to give it a try again. It was fine, it wasn't quite what we like at the other places we go to but for the money its a very good meal - you really can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food! Waiter was a little too soft spoken to understand. No special acknowledgement of Anniversary or Birthday (e.g., piece of cake, confetti on table, etc.). Food was good, but husband had to have steak sent back (under some).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is a great special occasion spot. The food is always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great dinner. All the food and service were top shelf.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We've enjoyed dining at Ruth Chris Steak House for more than 20 years. One definitely gets value there: the meals are always memorable for taste, the service is impeccable (and tough to beat in Richmond). When we are in town, we know our anniversary dinner is there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful and they were great at explaining things and offering suggestions since it was our first time. Once they found out we were celebrating a birthday we got birthday confetti on our table and almost everyone that came by said happy birthday. The food was amazing. The barbecued shrimp (specifically that incredible sauce) and the crab cakes were definitely highlights. The steak was enjoyable too. We both got cocktails and they were delicious. Oh, and my boyfriend even got a free dessert for his birthday! The whole experience was great and definitely worth the money. I would definitely go back next time we have a special occasion to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

GREAT RESTAURANT. GREAT FOOD. WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the second time I've been to Ruth's Chris and it was just as good as the first, if not better. Everyone loved their food and drinks. The steaks are cooked absolutely perfectly (though some blasphemers at my table ordered a filet medium-well). I really wish I knew where they got their meat because I'd love to try and match the taste at home. Their drinks were fantastic as well - didn't go with beer this time but instead tried a few of their mixed drinks. God damn the Nola Mule was good.

Overall fantastic and will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Cozy atmosphere, amazing service! Steak was delicious. The bread pudding was the only thing that I would say had some room for improvement. Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always impressed by Ruth's Chris. Great food and service. Waiter was polite, attentive and entertaining (Stephen). Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Lovely dinner. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was wonderful as usual and a great way to celebrate Father's Day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great spot. It's a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always the steak was fantastic, but we ordered escargot and fried oysters. Escargot was sandy, oysters so/so almost broke a tooth on a pearl left in the oyster. There was also a billing error

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always great food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Delightful dinner on the patio. Service impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the best Ruth's Chris restaurant on the East Coast!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Celebrated two birthdays for an early Sunday dinner. Steaks were cooked to perfection and tender. Accompanied by excellent side dishes and salad. Topped off by dessert of the day with a candle and Happy Birthday written in chocolate.

Server was right on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Richmond is the best of all the Ruth's Chris that we have gone to.
Everything there is exceptional. We go to Ruth's Chris on our way down to Naples, Florida for the season and we go back on our way home to New England in May.

The staff are wonderful and they always make our dining experience very special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall dinner was just so-so... Been here before and the steaks were much better. This was my choice for our anniversary dinner. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food.!! Excellent service. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, the food was delectable and the service outstanding! I wish a dress code was reinforced. Too nice of a restaurant for the "overly casual dress" of some of its patrons!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Every visit to Ruth's Chris is a treat. Today, I took my mother there in honor of Mother's Day and we had a great time, probably overstaying our welcome but you'd never know it based on the staff's reception. We each had the petite filet and shared the potatoes au gratin and roasted Brussels sprouts. And, since it had been a while, each had a bowl of lobster bisque. One of my favorite things is that they allow you to customize how much sherry is included - none, a brief drizzle, or a long pour. Since to us, seafood bisque just isn't seafood bisque without sherry, we each had a generous dollop added.

Our server, Cicily, was great. Kind and attentive, but unobtrusive. We also had a chuckle with Stephen over coffee: we were hemming and hawing over a second pot, and he said to my mother, "I can see in your eyes you'd like some more. I'll be right back." I'm sure it's a commonly used line, but we all had a laugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good and we appreciate them opening early for Mother's Day. Service was initially fast, but it took as long to checkout and leave as it did to order and eat our meals. It was just the two of us; and, as happened in December, the staff caters to the larger groups and leaves those in small groups waiting. Will probably return, but only with six or more people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.