About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond. Enjoy generous cuts of USDA Prime Midwestern beef, custom-aged to the peak of flavor, broiled to order at 1800 degrees & served sizzling. Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers a variety of exquisite dishes including live Maine lobster, the freshest seafood, chicken & lamb chops. An extensive wine list & private dining rooms are also available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.sizzlingsteak.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: (804) 378-0600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Historic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Fireplace (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a unique Ruths’ Chris location! Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

What a unique Ruths’ Chris location! The Bellgrade Plantation house is a beautiful home and it makes a great setting for a fine dining restaurant. I enjoyed reading about the “Ghosts of Bellgrade”.

Our dinner was superb. The seared ahi tuna appetizer was delicious as always. I thoroughly enjoyed the crab cakes and my dining companion enjoyed the petite filet. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent experience and well ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Always an excellent experience and well worth the price! :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friday the 13th was my wife's birthday, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Friday the 13th was my wife's birthday, so I wanted to take her someplace special. Ruth's Chris was just what I had hoped for and my wife was delighted with the splurge. She is worth it and so was the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was celebrating with my daughter...it's ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Was celebrating with my daughter...it's our go-to special occasion spot and also fun to be casual and hang at the bar. Highly recommend everything about Ruth's!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris food is always excellent. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ruth's Chris food is always excellent. The Midlothian location has the finest ambiance of any of the Ruth's Chris locations, in my opinion. It was New Year's Eve. It was busy, but still the food and service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect! Food, service, and a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely perfect! Food, service, and ambience was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed another Christmas time dinner ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed another Christmas time dinner at Ruth Christ. The service and food was exceptional. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, wine, etc. The manager came around to see how we were doing and made further menu recommendations . The bar tender was very generous with the vodka and my Cosmo was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No question Ruth's Chris has great steak ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

No question Ruth's Chris has great steaks and versatile menu. While my wife and I have been many times our recent visit was with our 3 grand boys (age 21,19 and 16) for a special holiday dinner as they had not been to a "chophouse" before. So good start to evening - really cool place in the old plantation style manor, quite different from other steakhouses in Richmond. A very country club feel. Everyone was going to get steak so menu was not an issue. We got the escargot apply as the kids had not tried that before and it was very good. Now the main issue - service. Not sure why but service was very slow, 10 min after seating to get drink orders. I asked for a wine sample to try and that took another 10-15 min. Steaks took a while - they were excellent and pretty much everyone ate the entire steak (16 OZ,. Rib Eyes for all!) We all got baked potatoes and that is where things went wrong. They came out obviously precooked, all the toppings were cold. Then another huge lapse after dinner to get desert menu. The manager came by the table to ask about our dinner, we told her the steaks were excellent but the potatoes came out cold. IT took so long to get our waiter there we just ate them and went on with dinner. She said no problem, she would take care of the potatoes off our bill. Of course when the bill came they were not taken off. $20 plus for cold baked potatoes. When we finally got our desert menu we asked the waiter to please stay at the table and we would make a quick selection to go since we had already been there 2 hours.

Overall again great steaks which is expected but the slow service kind of made the evening not as special as we would have preferred.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and the atmosphere was great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service and the atmosphere was great, but the price for the quality of food was too expensive. I have had better for cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great meal!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They were our of porterhouse steaks! th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

They were our of porterhouse steaks! the most expensive item on the menu and they had none at a 5:45 pm seating. also the Caesar Salad dressing/flavor was very weak......have had much better. Steak was cooked well.........mushrooms were good. overall just ok...........capital grille if one was nearby is a much better value and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really no comparison when it comes to st ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really no comparison when it comes to steak. Expensive and worth every dollar

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was the absolute best!! Ther ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our server was the absolute best!! There were five of us, and three had excellent lunches. The two who ordered the crab cake sandwich were disappointed, as were those of us who shared a taste! Desserts were delicious! This is an annual get together, and we thoroughly enjoy our time for lunch. We have been fortunate enough to have Steve as our server for two years, and have requested him for our next get together! Thank you for a great time together!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

No matter how often I go, it never disap ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

No matter how often I go, it never disappoints..stuffed chicken is wonderful and of course so are the steaks. My husband says fried oysters are the best he's ever had.

Tags: Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food as always. The shrimp and file ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food as always. The shrimp and filet were delicious and just enough for lunch before Christmas shopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice evening with attentiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a very nice evening with attentive staff and a very good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the month of December a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the month of December at Ruth Chris with the lunch specials! I think I have booked 4 or 5 times this month. The seafood salad is great as well as the burgers and desserts! Coffee is excellent as well!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had two children in our party & had t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had two children in our party & had to request a childrens menu. We received a menu after a 30 minute wait. Ordered 2 glasses of Moscato wine, waiter came back apologized that there wasn't any Moscato but we could try another wine. We tasted Reisling wine & proceeded to keep the bottle. Our bill was charged for the glasses of Moscato that we never received & the bottle of Reisling . Ordered two beverages & waiter didn't bring. We ended up flagging the waiter down to remind him of the beverages we didn't receive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This was a birthday dinner for me. I ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for me. I have been to several Ruth Chris Steak houses however, this was my first time at the Richmond, VA location. Our food took too long to come out both tables received their food before us. Our Waiter was great! The Manager asked us how was things going. I told him, I was cold and he turned up the heat for me, I really appreciated that. The food was great. I order fried calamari for appetizer. Crab cakes, asparagus and 1/2 bake potato for my meal. My boyfriend had New York strip( bone) Cesar salad, 1/2 bake potato. If you like coffee you want to order it too. They have some of the best Colombian Coffee, this was a real treat. I didn't have any room left for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a special anniversary for us an ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a special anniversary for us and the dining experience could not have been more enjoyable. From the lovely ambiance to the excellent food and service, it was close to perfection. The steaks were perfectly done, the lobster mac and cheese was the best--and we go to Maine every year--, and the chocolate lava cake, pot de creme combination brought tears to my eyes! The only quibble was the Caesar salad was a little too "chopped" for my taste and a bit overdressed. Good garlic-y flavor, though. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is the best steakhouse, wit ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Ruth's Chris is the best steakhouse, with superb food, exemplary customer service, and the perfect ambiance in which to enjoy your food and wine. It is a little pricey, but if you are looking for a special place, this is it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food cooked to perfection. Won ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious food cooked to perfection. Wonderful waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of ten, food was great, s ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a group of ten, food was great, service was a little slow but we were talking so it was fine. Love having a special place to go to during the holidays.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Steaks were perfect. Side dishes always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Steaks were perfect. Side dishes always well prepared. Waitress was outstanding. Service could not have been better. Great evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE their lunch in December! I have boo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2016

LOVE their lunch in December! I have booked 5 times this month!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great Thanksgiving with family ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was a great Thanksgiving with family and friends. The meal was awesome, as usual. The Service was terrific. Love going there for all special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food delicious as ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service and food delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb, in every respect! Wonderful ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Superb, in every respect! Wonderful service provided by Andre and fellow associates. The clam chowder was "to-die-for", followed by a rib-eye prepared to perfection. All those in my party agreed, including two birthday celebrants who were made to feel extra-special by all those serving the meal, that it doesn't get any better than this! Tell "Ruth" we'll be returning real soon.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced steakhouse. It's for people t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overpriced steakhouse. It's for people that have simple tastes and enjoy a steak cooked with a lot of butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We just love Ruth's Chris and the OpenTa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We just love Ruth's Chris and the OpenTable reservation made it super easy. Wonderful night! Can't wait to go again in the future. The waiter was great and the food even better.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal & service as usual! It was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great meal & service as usual! It was our first time trying the Creamed Spinach which will be our last -- it was not good. We did find out that if you call 24 hours ahead of your reservation, they will prepare their delicious Onion Rings for you (no longer on the menu). Otherwise, a spectacular evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. I've been a patron ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent as always. I've been a patron of Ruth's Chris at various locations in the U.S. for about 25 years and find that they offer consistent service and quality. Cicily was our waitperson and did a fine job. All of the staff are very professional and courteous and efficient. We had ribeye and filet, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere, service everything incredibl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Atmosphere, service everything incredible. Loved it!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience. It is ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a fantastic experience. It is our go to place for celebrations or just to relax in the bar with a glass of wine or two. You can order the full menu in the bar too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at RC before and the meal sim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have eaten at RC before and the meal simply did not meet my memories or our expectations. I honestly cannot remember eating anything from the entree, sides to the desert that stood out as anything I would call "an experience."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

SERVER (TIM) NEEDS TRAINING IN QUEST REL ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

SERVER (TIM) NEEDS TRAINING IN QUEST RELATIONS,ETIQUE AND PROTOCOL.

WE ASKED FOR ADDITIONAL SLICES OF CUCUMBERS AND HE RETURNED WITH A PLATE OF CUCUMBERS THAT HE INFORMED US THAT HE HAD TO CUT UP AN ENTIRE CUCUMBER AND IF WE WANTED MORE WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY. I WAS THERE CELEBRATING MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY AND FELT INSULTED BY HIS REMARKS. WE EXPLAINED THAT WE HAD NOT ASKED FOR AN ENTIRE CUCUMBER TO BE SLICED BUT ONLY A FEW MORE EXTRA SLICES FOR MY DRINK OF WATER. HE LATER MADE AN IMPROPER COMMENT WHEN WE ASKED FOR A CLEAN PLATE FOR OUR SIDES. HE RETURNED WITH SEVERAL ADDITIONAL PLATES AND ASKED US TO CHOOSE WHICH ONE WE WANTED WHILE COMMENTING THAT ALL OF THE PLATES ARE AND WERE CLEANED.

WITH ALL OF THIS NONSENSE BEING HURLED AT US WHILE TRYING TO CELEBRATE MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY, WE OVERLOOKED HIS FOOLISHNESS AND STILL LEFT A GENEROUS TIP.

WILLIAM W

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter, Dustin was outstanding! Made ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our waiter, Dustin was outstanding! Made our evening and enjoyed our dining. Please commend him for his exceptional service.

Thanks, Dustin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time experience was extremely good ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

First time experience was extremely good. Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. Defintely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Manager made my niece's birthday very sp ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Manager made my niece's birthday very special - thank you so much! Food was delicious. service was excellent, and the piano music was the perfect addition to the evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Great service. This is a fa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great meal! Great service. This is a fantastic place for dinner for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.