Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Richmond, VA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/restaurant-locations/richmond-midlothian/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

we had a party of 12 for a Christmas business lunch - food was very good as was the service - LOVE the LUNCH in December!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect evening! Entertaining daughter and boyfriend. Steaks and shrimp were divine and atmosphere was lovely. Courteous and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

as always, great food and service, steaks are always cooked perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Lovely annual lunch for our friends' Christmas get together! For several years we have been celebrating Christmas together at Ruth Chris!! Unfortunately, this year we were minus two, who were sick, but our expectations of the restaurant, as usual exceeded our expectations!!!From the time we entered the restaurant, we were treated as old friends, experienced terrific service, and presented with fantastic food!!!! Count on us returning next year as a group, and before that individually!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

From start to finish our experience was magnificent!! We were celebrating my birthday and requested a cozy romantic table. Well they sure did deliver!! We were seated in the Anniversary Room, very private and extremely romantic! Jordyn was a our server. She was very knowledgeable and had many helpful recommendations to make our evening that much more special. The food was absolutely delicious, from the seafood tower appetizer to the cowboy rib-eye. Even the sides were out of this world!! We enjoyed a personal history lesson of the restaurant by the manager, who was also very gracious and accommodating. We both agree this was our best dining experience ever!! And, we dine out quite frequently here in Richmond and throughout our travels. We have been raving ever since!!! Thanks Ruth's Kris for a magical evening!!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Love the Christmas season when you have your lunch - prices did go up this year with no substitutions but the hamburger was very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Exquisitely prepared food and warning the wedge salad is massive and should be shared! My daughter and I had wonderful meal together with top notch staff and service. Pricing is high end of spectrum for Richmond especially in my opinion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Tim was our waiter and he did a fantastic job. Steaks were good, fries were soggy and awful. Salad was not as described on the menu. But all in all we had a good time.

Been going here for years - off and on. Many items no longer on the menu - that makes it hard to return very often. What a shame.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Dinner and service was outstanding, had the filet and lobster special and it melted in our mouths. Our waitress Ciseley was wonderful and the service was the BEST.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Wonderful food and excellent personal service!!! Our server was fantastic! We love Ruth Chris and try to go there for most of our celebratory experiences.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

This was our first time to the restaurant. We were a little disappointed in our service. Our waiter Mark did not tell us about specials that we heard other waiters tell their tables that we would have ordered instead of ordering what we did. He was also not familiar with what beers y’all carry and had to check with the bar to see if y’all carried Amstel light. I️ also asked him what cheese came in the lobster Mac and cheese and he told us the wrong ones.. to spend 200.00 on a dinner for two we were not very happy when we left..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We were here for Thanksgiving and my birthday (they were the same day this year) and waited an hour to be seated after our reservation. The manager at the front seemed to have an attitude that people were getting frustrated. We didn't complain but the other customers definitely had valid complaints about waiting so long and the staff should have been apologetic. Any other day, we would have gone somewhere else. Not a lot of options on Thanksgiving.

They seemed really short staffed and service was really not good. We waited forever to get our drinks and food. Empty plates were left on our table and drinks and requests were simply forgotten. I really expect a lot more for this scale of restaurant. Probably one of the worst restaurant experiences we have ever had considering the price that we were paying - unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Best Turkey dinner we have ever had for Thanksgiving. Great service and a classy atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit - can’t wait til next time. Great food! Piano was a treat too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

As always a GREAT meal in a GREAT setting. Wonderful service and great attention to detail.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Great as usual. Never disappointed at Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Lighting was way to low causing everyone to feel sluggish, tired, low energy, not fun... Maybe ok if you were on a date and trying to hide something. However, for a business meal or family night you want to be able to see everyone clearly and have some energy in the room. The amount of food per plate was adequate and flavorful. The prices were too high for the amount of food each person received.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Food and service was lgreat. The steak was cooked to Perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel so welcome and all wished us a happy anniversary which we thought was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Always enjoy the great food and attentive service. Whether it's a business or just a get together with friends, I always enjoy the service and great steaks No need to request a specific server, since everyone is top notch. Paul, Robin, and their staff do a wonderful job.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2017

love ruth's chris food as usual excellent saturday service was a bit off
drinks a bit off

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2017

noise level, put in side room packed, hot, food quality low

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved all the attention to details. Special occasion for our family and they exceeded my requests, near piano area for dining and even wrote congratulations on my sons dessert plate. It was the first time visit for my son and daughter.. they raved about the place. They are real foodies. Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The waiter tried hard to upsell us to the bone in steaks. It was then he explained that the regular filet was a choice steak and not prime. Did I miss the memo? I thought Ruth’s Chris was always prime. The steaks were all over cooked slightly which was a bummer but we did not send them back. The creme brûlée and bread pudding were excellent. Definitely the most expensive choice steak in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Side dishes were not hot. Steak was OK but not exceptional considering it was a fifty dollar steak. Service was excellent though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great 72nd Birthday Dinner for my wife! Looking forward to our 50th Wedding Anniversary dinner there in December.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Oops We did it again! We went to our favorite resturant Ruth’s Chris in Richmond on our way to Naples. We just love this restaurant, the staff is wonderful and from the time we come in the front door until the time we leave, we feel so welcomed.
My husband and I have been stopping at Ruth’s Chris for many years now. We never even consider dining at another restaurant in Richmond.
Our server was James and he was very patient with us as far as letting take our time ordering our dinner. After driving for many hours we just like to relax and enjoy a cocktail before ordering dinner. James gave us that time so it is always a wonderful dining experience.
The food is outstanding and the steaks are awesome. We have never had a bad meal there.
We now look forward to stopping at Ruth’s Chris on our way back to New England after we leave Naples after the winter season.
Also, a thank you goes out to Danielle the manager for coming over to our table and welcoming us again to the restaurant.

See y’all in May!
Paula

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic perfectly cooked steaks. All of the food was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Incredible food and service. The steak was cooked by a true chef and even though it was a thick cut, it was not butterflied and was exactly as I ordered it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Richmond never fails to deliver an outstanding experience, start to finish. The food is fantastic, the service terrific, the atmosphere gorgeous. One of the more beautiful spots (inside and out). Already looking forward to our next "special occasion" to celebrate there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding! The food was very good. I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent food! Perfect steak. Calamari was delicious. Took my grandchildren. She's 6 and 13. They loved it. Will go back again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great meal with a attentive wait staff. Steaks and appetizers are well prepared. Deserts are to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here and I must say it was absolutely wonderful. Will definitely visit again for another special occasion!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and a great atmosphere. Sometimes you shake your head and wonder, because it's not exactly cheap eats. But afterwards, you smile and know there is a difference. Did learn, or at least confirm, that the ribeye is the most flavorful steak. Ask for it as "Pittsburgh medium," and you will have the best of all possible temperatures. Slightly pink on the inside and yet a nice crispy coating. I find this especially helpful for a very fatty pieces like the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best steak, wine list, service, and ambiance in Richmond. Also the best bar and bartender. 5 stars doesn't seem like enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As always, Ruth Chris didn't disappoint. Everything was awesome from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have celebrated many birthdays, anniversaries, and New Year's Eves with either family or good friends. It is a very special place for our good friends and family, and we will continue to enjoy all that this restaurant has to offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have been to this particular Ruth Chris and it has always been excellent. The food is prepared as you request and the wait staff have always been some of the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.