About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond. Enjoy generous cuts of USDA Prime Midwestern beef, custom-aged to the peak of flavor, broiled to order at 1800 degrees & served sizzling. Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers a variety of exquisite dishes including live Maine lobster, the freshest seafood, chicken & lamb chops. An extensive wine list & private dining rooms are also available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.sizzlingsteak.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: 8043780600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond, Midlothian, VA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Serving our regular dinner menu from 4:00 - 8:00pm.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Serving our regular dinner menu from 4:00 - 10:30pm.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia
Steakhouse
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
5 More
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Historic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (3)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LOVE their lunch in December! I have boo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

LOVE their lunch in December! I have booked 5 times this month!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great Thanksgiving with family ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was a great Thanksgiving with family and friends. The meal was awesome, as usual. The Service was terrific. Love going there for all special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food delicious as ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service and food delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb, in every respect! Wonderful ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Superb, in every respect! Wonderful service provided by Andre and fellow associates. The clam chowder was "to-die-for", followed by a rib-eye prepared to perfection. All those in my party agreed, including two birthday celebrants who were made to feel extra-special by all those serving the meal, that it doesn't get any better than this! Tell "Ruth" we'll be returning real soon.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced steakhouse. It's for people t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overpriced steakhouse. It's for people that have simple tastes and enjoy a steak cooked with a lot of butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We just love Ruth's Chris and the OpenTa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We just love Ruth's Chris and the OpenTable reservation made it super easy. Wonderful night! Can't wait to go again in the future. The waiter was great and the food even better.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal & service as usual! It was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great meal & service as usual! It was our first time trying the Creamed Spinach which will be our last -- it was not good. We did find out that if you call 24 hours ahead of your reservation, they will prepare their delicious Onion Rings for you (no longer on the menu). Otherwise, a spectacular evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. I've been a patron ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent as always. I've been a patron of Ruth's Chris at various locations in the U.S. for about 25 years and find that they offer consistent service and quality. Cicily was our waitperson and did a fine job. All of the staff are very professional and courteous and efficient. We had ribeye and filet, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere, service everything incredibl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Atmosphere, service everything incredible. Loved it!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience. It is ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a fantastic experience. It is our go to place for celebrations or just to relax in the bar with a glass of wine or two. You can order the full menu in the bar too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at RC before and the meal sim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have eaten at RC before and the meal simply did not meet my memories or our expectations. I honestly cannot remember eating anything from the entree, sides to the desert that stood out as anything I would call "an experience."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

SERVER (TIM) NEEDS TRAINING IN QUEST REL ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

SERVER (TIM) NEEDS TRAINING IN QUEST RELATIONS,ETIQUE AND PROTOCOL.

WE ASKED FOR ADDITIONAL SLICES OF CUCUMBERS AND HE RETURNED WITH A PLATE OF CUCUMBERS THAT HE INFORMED US THAT HE HAD TO CUT UP AN ENTIRE CUCUMBER AND IF WE WANTED MORE WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY. I WAS THERE CELEBRATING MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY AND FELT INSULTED BY HIS REMARKS. WE EXPLAINED THAT WE HAD NOT ASKED FOR AN ENTIRE CUCUMBER TO BE SLICED BUT ONLY A FEW MORE EXTRA SLICES FOR MY DRINK OF WATER. HE LATER MADE AN IMPROPER COMMENT WHEN WE ASKED FOR A CLEAN PLATE FOR OUR SIDES. HE RETURNED WITH SEVERAL ADDITIONAL PLATES AND ASKED US TO CHOOSE WHICH ONE WE WANTED WHILE COMMENTING THAT ALL OF THE PLATES ARE AND WERE CLEANED.

WITH ALL OF THIS NONSENSE BEING HURLED AT US WHILE TRYING TO CELEBRATE MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY, WE OVERLOOKED HIS FOOLISHNESS AND STILL LEFT A GENEROUS TIP.

WILLIAM W

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter, Dustin was outstanding! Made ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our waiter, Dustin was outstanding! Made our evening and enjoyed our dining. Please commend him for his exceptional service.

Thanks, Dustin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time experience was extremely good ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

First time experience was extremely good. Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. Defintely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Manager made my niece's birthday very sp ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Manager made my niece's birthday very special - thank you so much! Food was delicious. service was excellent, and the piano music was the perfect addition to the evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Great service. This is a fa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great meal! Great service. This is a fantastic place for dinner for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very enjoyable evening. Great service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

A very enjoyable evening. Great service from

Lara.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was told about Ruth's Chris for quite a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Was told about Ruth's Chris for quite a while now - the delicious steaks, the wonderful dining experience. Well, the service was excellent - loved out waiter - so very professional. The restaurant was lovely, and we enjoyed that there was a little history to it. The side dishes were good, and the wine list and the dessert was great. However, the steaks . . . . the steaks, for us, didn't even compare to that we would get from Long Horn or Outback. We were surprised, and somewhat disappointed. We paid a great deal more at Ruth's Chris than we would have at either of those two restaurants. However, it was a special night, and the live piano music, the waiters professionalism, and the atmosphere of the restaurant did provide us with a lovely experience. Expensive. Somewhat special. All in all, a success.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

excellent, informed, pleasant, servers. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2016

excellent, informed, pleasant, servers. food choices varied and something for vegans, seafood, and beef lovers. quality of food preparation and presentation outstanding. asked for restaurant to recognize our daughter's 24th birthday. Done so with understated style and appropriate for 24 year old's celebrations. Management and servers assured the evening was a pleasant celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't go anywhere else for steak except ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Don't go anywhere else for steak except Ruth's Chris. The steak and sides are delicious and the service attentive and special. It is simply wonderful to eat there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually come here once a year for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We usually come here once a year for a birthday or anniversary. Our server this last visit was amazing. I believe she anticipated what we needed before we did. Thank you for a wonderful evening for our anniversary. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is fantastic. Great place to ce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food is fantastic. Great place to celebrate a special event. You can be close and intimate or with a whole group. Again, the food. To die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Private Room, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always consistently good. Pork ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is always consistently good.

Pork Chop was excellent. Salad was fresh and dressed perfectly. Service was also very good. Cecily did a great job.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always throughly enjoy our dinners at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We always throughly enjoy our dinners at Ruth Chris! It is our daughters' favorite place to go for a special occasion. Thank you for all you do to make it such a great place to frequent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 5th consecutive annual visi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our 5th consecutive annual visit to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The food is among the best 2 or 3 places in town. The service is #1. Our waiter, Zack, was attentive and helpful with news about changes in the menu since our last visit. He and his associates were never intrusive but also never far away if we needed something. The bone-in filet mignon was a new item and was sensational. My ribeye steak was as good as it always is. This is a 5-star place worthy of a visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The evening was nice, but honestly it is ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The evening was nice, but honestly it is over-priced . We ordered ( 2) 16 oz rib-eye steaks and they were tender but had some grizzle. Seasoned okay but not the best. Brocolli was fresh, french fries were ok but not special. We do not drink wine so the wine list is not important to us. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly. Water glasses were kept full but the meal we ordered was not worth the price of $115.00 before tip. I had a gift card of $100.00 so I don't feel that I am out that much but would I pick Ruth Chris for my next special evening - No.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was part of a party of 7. We had a gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I was part of a party of 7. We had a great time, but 4 of 7 of our steaks were over -done. Given the menu prices and reputation of the restaurant, I expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service great food and the waiter ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service great food and the waiter took the time to talk to us and make jokes which created an even better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service at Ruth's ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always the food and service at Ruth's Chris was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner. The service w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The service was excellent, everyone was friendly and smiling, the food was exquisite, and the company was perfect!! The steaks were cooked to a "T" and the sides were very, very good. I recommend this restaurant as a perfect place for ambiance and special occasions. It can be pricey though so be prepared.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always wonderful, and Dan made t ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food is always wonderful, and Dan made things perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was wonderful. My Filet was not the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

All was wonderful. My Filet was not the best cut but it happens. Done to perfection. Absolute the best of service. Great people!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual. We've never been di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent as usual. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Andre was an amazing waiter. The entire ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Andre was an amazing waiter. The entire staff did a great job catering to us. The environment is romantic, but histrionic (it's a former plantation home) with a very interesting history prior to its plantation days. The food was amazing! Steaks are a must have, but the lobster mac & cheese and the pecan crust sweet potato are two sides you must try! Check this place out. You will not regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel was excellent with both recommend ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Daniel was excellent with both recommendations and service. Warm evening out however it was very pleasant sitting on the patio. Have been to this location twice and while we expect Ruth's Chris to be good, this was the better experience with food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive but unrushed service with grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Attentive but unrushed service with great timing made this evening a real pleasure as we dined on top notch food and beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming here is always a special treat - ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Coming here is always a special treat - the food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our 5th anniversary ce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went there for our 5th anniversary celebration. I reserved the private dining room with a table for two. We were greeted by name and quickly seated. Lara, our server, also greeted us by name and allowed just the right amount of time for us to review the menu and make selections. Each course arrived appropriately time-spaced and hot. Lara checked on us often enough but never overburdening us - Her timing was just right! The food was tasty and hot. Beverages were kept filled. We split a desert and it was delicious too! My only minor complain was the music in the small dining room was a bit loud and could not be turned down. It was pretty much off or on. We left it on and just had to speak a bit louder to hear each other.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time I've tried anything other than ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 25, 2016

1st time I've tried anything other than steak, which is always excellent - had salmon with crab and it was delicious. Very Very good service! Our go to steak restaurant in Richmond.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.