About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond. Enjoy generous cuts of USDA Prime Midwestern beef, custom-aged to the peak of flavor, broiled to order at 1800 degrees & served sizzling. Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers a variety of exquisite dishes including live Maine lobster, the freshest seafood, chicken & lamb chops. An extensive wine list & private dining rooms are also available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.sizzlingsteak.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: 8043780600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia
Steakhouse
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
2 More
Best Food
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (27)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (17)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Andre was an amazing waiter. The entire ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Andre was an amazing waiter. The entire staff did a great job catering to us. The environment is romantic, but histrionic (it's a former plantation home) with a very interesting history prior to its plantation days. The food was amazing! Steaks are a must have, but the lobster mac & cheese and the pecan crust sweet potato are two sides you must try! Check this place out. You will not regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel was excellent with both recommend ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Daniel was excellent with both recommendations and service. Warm evening out however it was very pleasant sitting on the patio. Have been to this location twice and while we expect Ruth's Chris to be good, this was the better experience with food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive but unrushed service with grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Attentive but unrushed service with great timing made this evening a real pleasure as we dined on top notch food and beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming here is always a special treat - ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Coming here is always a special treat - the food and service are outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our 5th anniversary ce ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went there for our 5th anniversary celebration. I reserved the private dining room with a table for two. We were greeted by name and quickly seated. Lara, our server, also greeted us by name and allowed just the right amount of time for us to review the menu and make selections. Each course arrived appropriately time-spaced and hot. Lara checked on us often enough but never overburdening us - Her timing was just right! The food was tasty and hot. Beverages were kept filled. We split a desert and it was delicious too! My only minor complain was the music in the small dining room was a bit loud and could not be turned down. It was pretty much off or on. We left it on and just had to speak a bit louder to hear each other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time I've tried anything other than ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

1st time I've tried anything other than steak, which is always excellent - had salmon with crab and it was delicious. Very Very good service! Our go to steak restaurant in Richmond.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Father's Day Dinner; scrumptio ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful Father's Day Dinner; scrumptious lobster and filet mignon!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to many Ruth's Chris locatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to many Ruth's Chris locations, this was my favorite with regard to ambiance. It is in an old plantation home, which is a really beautiful piece of history. However, my steak was not so great. I had to really work to cut through it, which was very disappointing since their steaks usually melt in your mouth. This one was grisly. Our waiter did his job, but seemed stiff and snooty. We ordered an appetizer, salads, steak with sides, dessert. The appetizer was a spicy crab concoction (not my favorite). I had the fuji and arugula salad. It was good, but it had a granola bar crumbled in it...which was a little weird. I wish they had not taken the harvest salad off the menu. I prefer it. The sides and cream brulee were excellent as always. My mother-in-law had the bread pudding, which was good...but nothing to write home about...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

When you come here expect your bill to b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When you come here expect your bill to be high so don't complain when you see it lol. The server/bar tender was amazing, so friendly and attentive. The steaks were, oh my gosh, I don't think I can ever eat another steak somewhere else ever again.

We ate outside in the patio around 7pm and it was just so nice out, weather, not too noisy. The inside is a little more happening spot in seemed but we enjoy less people.

All in all we will go again. Just go have a good steak and don't look at prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A night at Ruth's Chris

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

As usual the restaurant was impeccable with food and service, 5 star experience in Midlothian Virginia. To find a jewel like Ruth's Chris one usually has to go to DC but we have it in our neighborhood. How lucky are we!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very special steak house

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Set in one of the more beautiful old homes in Richmond, Ruth's Chris is a gorgeous place to have an exceptional meal in.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classics Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday, and the table was decorated with "birthday confetti" when we arrived. We each had the complete meal that includes a starter, entrée, personal side dish and dessert for $44.95 per person. We both ordered a salad, 6 oz. filet mignon with three large broiled shrimp on top (delicious!), I had roasted fingerling potatoes, he had mashed potatoes, and we each had an espresso chocolate dessert. We also had two glasses of wine each. The bill with gratuity came to $165. It was a lovely meal with attentive but not overbearing service. Everything was seasoned nicely with no need for additional seasonings.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. Every detail is cared for and the food is phenomenal. Definitely worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth Every Penny

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The staff at this restaurant treats you like royalty from the front door to the table. The food is impeccable. I would recommend this place for any body who wants quality food and superior service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a consistent jewel

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambience-great service - attentive but not suffocating-house Cabernet is outstanding ,!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ruth's Chris always provides the best in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Ruth's Chris always provides the best in food, ambiance, and service. They changed their menu a little, so be sure to try the new dessert options. We liked the chocolate duo and bread pudding with your choice of sauce. The steaks are tender. Folks who had the scallops and crabcakes said they were equally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinner for Mother's Day

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect dinner for Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris always delivers excellent f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ruth's Chris always delivers excellent food and usually delivers excellent service. We were disappointed on Mother's Day not by the food (top notch as we've come to expect) but by the service. We arrived on time for our reservation, waited for a while, then were led by the hostess on a parade around the dining room and back to the entryway. (Apparently the table was not set up correctly for our party.) We were then left in the entryway for 15 minutes... watching as other parties were seated. When we were finally seated the manager did take us to our table and apologize, which we appreciated. After we enjoyed our (delicious) entrees and wine and sides, we ordered several desserts to share plus one in our party requested a hot tea. Our server disappeared for 20 minutes; during that time two helpers brought the desserts but no tea. We were unsuccessful in flagging down anyone to ask about it. When our server finally reappeared she didn't seem concerned about the tea (giving us a throwaway "I thought my helpers had that covered") and then immediately handed us the check - that didn't even have the tea on it. Everyone makes mistakes, so if you forgot, just say so! It made an otherwise nice lunch end on a frustrating note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We had a lovely Mother's Day lunch. Unfo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely Mother's Day lunch. Unfortunately, it ended with the bill getting totally confused, and it took our very pleasant/cooperative server three tries to get it right. Just a little disconcerting at the end.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch for Mother's Day and the ste ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great lunch for Mother's Day and the steak was amazing! Service was excellent and really a great time out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the few classic adult restaurants left.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 11 people for Mothers Day three of whom were last minute add on. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and we had a memorable lunch. The service was excellent and the food was, as always, just perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was overcooked. My son's steak ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My steak was overcooked. My son's steak was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great but a bit disappointing this time

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have started to go to Ruth Chris's more often recently, and so far the food had been great...this trip the steak was mostly fat and way undercooked. It was disappointing but the rest of the meal was great....and don't miss the cocktails.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Treat

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Ruth's Chris is always our go to place for any special occasion. This time we had the opportunity to take our daughter who is a foodie. I actually snared a filet mignon full size even though I asked for petite - who am I to argue?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

lovely waitress..good steak but mostly fat

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

I ordered the larger ribeye but due to the sear on the outside I didn't realize it was mostly fat....only a small bit was actual steak....not great for a 54.00 steak. The sides were great though and the waitstaff was very nice. It is a shame since I counted on consistency but the taste as good as always...just a tiny portion was edible.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fine Dining

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dining at Ruth's Chris has become a family Easter tradition. Again this year, we were not disappointed. The food was excellent; service was on point and the atmosphere was enjoyable.

Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food always top rate

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

If you're looking for a quiet restaurant with ambiance and excellent food, this is the place. Be prepared for a long evening because nothing is rushed. The ahi tuna, crabmeat dip and oyster appetisers were simply scrumptious. Our steaks were perfectly prepared, the Lamb chops mouthwatering and the scallops quite delicious. You simply can't go wrong here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's always a lovely experience. Experie ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

It's always a lovely experience. Experienced, pleasant and attentive wait staff and management.

We just think the dining room is the most elegant of all the steakhouses in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Birthday Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband took me and my daughter to Ruths Chris to celebrate my birthday. Paula greeted us when we arrived, went to the bar and relaxedas always

David provided us with excellent drinks and conversation. Our server for the evening made wonderful pairing suggestions. Our meals were outstanding , the evening perfect. Getting older isn't so bad after all. You will have a perfect evening there too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When I arrived I noticed this was in a b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

When I arrived I noticed this was in a beautiful old white plantation home which doesn't fit the surrounding mall but is a very nice facility. Unfortunately while I generally like Ruth's Chris this one fell short of expectations I had the large T bone which was 24 ounces of chewiness and not much flavor. It was cooked a little bit too well for my taste. The service was very good and the waiter was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointing.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We went for our 39th anniversary, which I noted on the reservation. We normally go to Morton's, but we've moved close to Ruth Chris in Midlothian and decided to give it a try. Here's a comparison:

Mortons - For special events, gives you a special menu with your names on it, decorates the table, takes a picture, pulls out the table so you can sit, places your napkin, etc. Food is excellent. A class act.

Ruth Chris - Only the hostess noted the anniversary in passing. No other recognition. Waiter would walk occasionally with a "everything ok?". Food was mediocre. The lobster mac and cheese tasted like Kraft's with canned lobster-like meat. My filet had no flavor. My wife's pork chop was tough as shoe leather.

For the same price we could have gone to Morton's and had a wonderful evening.

Sorry Ruth, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner with my daughter!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Had a special event planned with my 6 yr old. The staff was very attentive to her and ensured that she had a wonderful evening. We had a most memorable time and delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and the manager was ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent service and the manager was very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fancy experience!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Definitely one of the best (if not the best) places to go for a special occasion. Super fancy, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating, which made my friends and me feel not as out of place. The food was delicious and we left with leftovers that could be lunch for days. Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Au Gratin potatoes arrived only partially cooked, waiter made mistake and brought gumbo with the entree and acted like it was perfectly acceptable. The waiter was overbearing, asking at every opportunity if we didn't want to add something else, appetizer, more shrimp to entree, two desserts. It was unpleasant, and he appeared to consider himself a diva. When you are paying $150 for 2 for dinner, you expect more. He ruined what could have otherwise been a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great atmosphere

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

From the hottess checking us in, to the wait staff to the food it was an awesome experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the steaks are fabulous....

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Lovely service and the ambiance is quiet and laid back...the food is always wonderful...great steaks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

best steaks

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

The steaks and sides are expensive, but their steaks are still the best around

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best steak in town or anywhere!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

If you are hungry for steak, go to Ruth's Chris. I had the steak & lobster tail and my friend the ribeye. We shared creamed spinach, mushrooms, and shoestring potatoes, equally delicious. Our server Tim was fabulous!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant, top notch all the way.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

In addition to a superb culinary experience that is Ruth Chris steakhouse, the wonderful history of the mansion is an added treat to the overall charm of Richmond

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.