Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond. Enjoy generous cuts of USDA Prime Midwestern beef, custom-aged to the peak of flavor, broiled to order at 1800 degrees & served sizzling. Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers a variety of exquisite dishes including live Maine lobster, the freshest seafood, chicken & lamb chops. An extensive wine list & private dining rooms are also available.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.sizzlingsteak.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: (804) 378-0600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Historic (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Private Room (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fireplace (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was ok but didn't blow us away given the price. I had a gift card otherwise I would not pay for this food at this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

My family of three adults enjoyed our annual birthday dinner at Ruth's Chris. The food was prepared as ordered (steaks), and the sides (potatoes, lobster mac, and mushrooms) were plentiful and delicious. The cocktails were delightful, including our dessert choices (grasshopper and toasted almond). The wedge salad was enough for all three of us. Two of us shared the creme brulee, which is always over the top. Only food disappointment was the missing prime rib (they took it off the menu!). Lovely piano music in background, but beware, it is noisy with the tables situated close together. It was a busy Saturday night (March 18th). My only complaint about this visit was our waiter. We have always had positive experiences with the wait staff. Always cordial, helpful, and attentive until this evening. We were disappointed that Dustin did not check on us more frequently, and even after asking for lemon for my entree, he never appeared with it. His helper was most attentive, and did bring the lemon quickly. Dustin seemed to disappear quite a bit, and again, his helper was there quickly to assist us. We have had James in the past, and will request him again next time. Ruth's Chris is an expensive night out, but again we go for special occasions, and drive 60 miles one way for the experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

I always love dining at Ruth Chris for special occasions! This visit was outstanding, as always. Our service was very attentive and my steak was cooked perfectly and was so flavorful. I wanted to savor every bite! The piano playing in the main dining room adds to the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful meal with s pleasant ambiance and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Ruth Chris is one of my favorite restaurants me & my friends eat there often which led me to open my open table account. This is the worse location I've been to. The service was very bad and quit frankly I feel the staff was very prejudice. Never checked up me didn't box my food up for me overall awful experience the food was the save of course the dishes are always excellent but the ambiance made it an unenjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Usually a dessert is provided for special occasions. I did make them aware that the special occasion was my birthday. But no dessert was presented.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We visited for my wife's 35th birthday dinner, of which I had notified the restaurant in advance. Unfortunately, not a single member of the staff acknowledged her special occasion which was rather disappointing. We frequent Ruth's Chris several times a year and the hostess always asks "are you celebrating anything special tonight" however this time she didn't say a word and just showed us to our table. Our waiter while friendly and prompt lacked the attention to detail we have grown accustomed to at a restaurant the caliber of Ruth's Chris; the best example of this would be the waitstaff's failure to clear our appetizer and salad plates prior to the arrival of our main course, in fact I had to stop them from serving the entrées and ask that they clear the table which is completely unacceptable. Dessert menus were offered and presented without any mention of my wife's birthday, so I decided upon the waiters return to take our desert order that I would mention to him that it was my wife's birthday and she would make the selections for the table, to which he replied "oh her birthday I had no idea". The clumsy service continued as the dessert was brought to the table but the coffee was forgotten which had been ordered and then the coffee came and the creamer and the sugar was forgotten and had to be requested on two occasions. Overall this was a very sloppy evening of service at a restaurant that is well known for fine dining and exceptional food, we will be back but this experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I found Ruth's Chris Steak House by googling best resteraunts in Midlothian so I could have somewhere to celebrate Valentine's Day with my fiancé. I have to say I was more than impressed, the live piano helped set the tone for the elegant yet family friendly restaurant. The staff was personable and knowledgeable as he gave us a brief history on the origins of the restaurant. As far as actually dining the wine list was very impressive and the menu was well thought out and offered a variety of delicious meals. Everything we had was incredible and if I had the opportunity to I would go back multiple times. Fantastic food, wait staff, and atmosphere I highly recommend celebrating your special occasion here and can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great service, incredible food. Upgraded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My partner and I enjoyed a quiet, cozy romantic night together. With our hectic schedules and jobs this was a welcome respite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

In a world of "alternative facts," it's good to know there are some things that you can count on to be honest, forthright, and true to its nature. Whether it's Valentine's Day, or some other special occasion, you know when you walk in the door at this is not intended to be an ordinary meal. There are too many other places where you can get that. An evening at Ruths Chris in the Belgrade is not intended to be simply a meal. It is pure, and away, a setting for the evening. You know it's going to be good when any level of hostess, host, serving staff, even the piano player, greet you and wish you a wonderful evening. And that is exactly what we had. One of us had the bone in cowboy ribeye, other had a fillet and lobster. Both were requested medium, Pittsburgh-style (a char on the outside). That is exactly how they came and I would recommend always ordering this way. On a final note, for a steak place, the lobster has never been off target.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a first time for my wife and she was very much pleased with the atmosphere and the food was fantastic. We both had rib-eyes and the sweet potato casserole and it was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous meal--we had been looking forward to a night out with friends for quite a while--in the fact we live two hours away it is indeed worth the drive for such a special meal. We wrapped our dinner into a day trip to Richmond for the car show. The meal itself did not disappoint. Neither did the customer service. Our server mistakenly served my wife the wrong steak. They immediately took measures to get the right one. While this may have been a big deal for some, for us it was no bother. When the right steak did come, it was prepared perfectly, as we expected. The manager and server took care of us by going to the measure that the steak was on them, since we all couldn't eat at the same time. Fantastic customer service, and we will most definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steak House is always a special place to indulge one's self for dinner. The food is always prepared excellently and the service is top notch. While not inexpensive, this restaurant is on par with many highly rated (4-5 Diamonds) restaurants and worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The only small complaint is the noise level. It was a little too noisy. I was looking for a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we felt like we were the most-valued customers in the room. Awesome staff! Perfect meals! Perfect ambience! If in Richmond, this is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a marvelous experience to make it short. Best restaurant!

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, our dinner experience was wonderful. The food is amazing. We eat gluten free and have no trouble finding plenty of options. The service is wonderful. It is pricey but worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I took my wife their for Valentines day and knew ahead of time from previous visits that I would be paying a lot for our dinner. My wife ordered off of the Classic menu which allows for a 6oz. steak, choice of 3 sides, choice of 3 different salads, and dessert. I had the Gluten Free menu and my classic option were the same steak but only one potato side and 2 salads and no dessert. Since my menu didn't allow for me to order the same thing that my wife was getting I just ordered basically what she had but al la carte, my meal ended up being almost double the price without the dessert. We both ordered Medium steaks and mine was perfect, but hers was burnt on the ends and medium rare in the middle. The server tried telling us that was normal, which of course it is not. My baked potato was so cold it couldn't melt butter so I had to send it back. this is NOT the type of service or food you should expect to receive when paying $150 for two.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Unbelievably decadent and delicious! Everyone was friendly, the waitress was knowledgeable and the food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a wonderful meal and the customer service was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Did have to send the creamed spinach back as it was a bit cold. Waitress (who think was new) didn't show up that much but she was nice. Other than that, as normal, food was great, drinks were great and always a great place to enjoy a great dinner for special occasions, family time and that special someone.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was excellent as usual and perfect for a special occasion. I do think it is tacky (and Ruth's Chris is not tacky) to be charged for Bernaisse sauce separately to go on a very expensive steak. To me this is like ordering a salad and being charged for the dressing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Ruth's Chris is a one of a kind. My wife and I could not have enjoyed the evening more given it was hard to decide on what to order given that there were so many excellent menu selections.
The meal was incredible, sumptuous and tastefully appointed. The service and attention by all of the staff really made the entire evening a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service and food was outstanding. I will definitely be returning in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Outstanding service as soon as you enter. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Shared an enjoyable dinner at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse with a friend Saturday evening. The escargot (a special) and crab stuffed mushrooms were a delight. We both had the Petite Filet. Mine was a special with Lobster Tail and my friend's steak was accompanied by jumbo shrimp. Both were generous in size and we opted for the Bearnaise sauce which was delicious! The Caesar and Chopped Salads were huge.. I recommend sharing a salad. The creamed spinach arrived lukewarm but was quickly replaced by a piping hot one by our waiter. I particularly liked the Escalloped potatoes say gratin. They were creamy and to die for! Our meal wasn't perfect but our waiter, Steve, provided excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was my first time dining at Ruth Chris. The moment I walked in, I felt welcomed. I was greeted with warm smiles and how may I serve you. The atmosphere was great. Our waiter and food were excellent. The dining experience was one to remember.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The filets were delicious! One person shared their ribeye (never tried this there) and it was out of this world amazing! Will get that on the next visit. Our table tried 3 different desserts, cheesecake, bread pudding, and one other (can't remember). All were fantastic. Service was great, as usual!
Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris is probably my grandsons' favorite steak house and we have never been disappointed. We have always enjoyed everything about each one that we've tried in various locations across the US.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a unique Ruths’ Chris location! The Bellgrade Plantation house is a beautiful home and it makes a great setting for a fine dining restaurant. I enjoyed reading about the “Ghosts of Bellgrade”.

Our dinner was superb. The seared ahi tuna appetizer was delicious as always. I thoroughly enjoyed the crab cakes and my dining companion enjoyed the petite filet. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Friday the 13th was my wife's birthday, so I wanted to take her someplace special. Ruth's Chris was just what I had hoped for and my wife was delighted with the splurge. She is worth it and so was the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always an excellent experience and well worth the price! :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Was celebrating with my daughter...it's our go-to special occasion spot and also fun to be casual and hang at the bar. Highly recommend everything about Ruth's!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ruth's Chris food is always excellent. The Midlothian location has the finest ambiance of any of the Ruth's Chris locations, in my opinion. It was New Year's Eve. It was busy, but still the food and service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely perfect! Food, service, and ambience was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed another Christmas time dinner at Ruth Christ. The service and food was exceptional. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, wine, etc. The manager came around to see how we were doing and made further menu recommendations . The bar tender was very generous with the vodka and my Cosmo was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

No question Ruth's Chris has great steaks and versatile menu. While my wife and I have been many times our recent visit was with our 3 grand boys (age 21,19 and 16) for a special holiday dinner as they had not been to a "chophouse" before. So good start to evening - really cool place in the old plantation style manor, quite different from other steakhouses in Richmond. A very country club feel. Everyone was going to get steak so menu was not an issue. We got the escargot apply as the kids had not tried that before and it was very good. Now the main issue - service. Not sure why but service was very slow, 10 min after seating to get drink orders. I asked for a wine sample to try and that took another 10-15 min. Steaks took a while - they were excellent and pretty much everyone ate the entire steak (16 OZ,. Rib Eyes for all!) We all got baked potatoes and that is where things went wrong. They came out obviously precooked, all the toppings were cold. Then another huge lapse after dinner to get desert menu. The manager came by the table to ask about our dinner, we told her the steaks were excellent but the potatoes came out cold. IT took so long to get our waiter there we just ate them and went on with dinner. She said no problem, she would take care of the potatoes off our bill. Of course when the bill came they were not taken off. $20 plus for cold baked potatoes. When we finally got our desert menu we asked the waiter to please stay at the table and we would make a quick selection to go since we had already been there 2 hours.
Overall again great steaks which is expected but the slow service kind of made the evening not as special as we would have preferred.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service and the atmosphere was great, but the price for the quality of food was too expensive. I have had better for cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.