About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond. Enjoy generous cuts of USDA Prime Midwestern beef, custom-aged to the peak of flavor, broiled to order at 1800 degrees & served sizzling. Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers a variety of exquisite dishes including live Maine lobster, the freshest seafood, chicken & lamb chops. An extensive wine list & private dining rooms are also available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.sizzlingsteak.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: 8043780600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95

Special valid Mar 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$9 Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95

Special valid Mar 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $44.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
$9 Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Enjoy premium hand-crafted cocktails and delicious menu items like our Prime Sliders and Seared Ahi Tuna. To view the full menu visit www.sizzlingsteak.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limited to our bar and patio. Special valid Mar 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
1 More
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (37)
romantic (30)
notable wine list (18)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a consistent jewel

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambience-great service - attentive but not suffocating-house Cabernet is outstanding ,!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris always provides the best in ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Ruth's Chris always provides the best in food, ambiance, and service. They changed their menu a little, so be sure to try the new dessert options. We liked the chocolate duo and bread pudding with your choice of sauce. The steaks are tender. Folks who had the scallops and crabcakes said they were equally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dinner for Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect dinner for Mother's Day

food5
ambience4
service2

Ruth's Chris always delivers excellent f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ruth's Chris always delivers excellent food and usually delivers excellent service. We were disappointed on Mother's Day not by the food (top notch as we've come to expect) but by the service. We arrived on time for our reservation, waited for a while, then were led by the hostess on a parade around the dining room and back to the entryway. (Apparently the table was not set up correctly for our party.) We were then left in the entryway for 15 minutes... watching as other parties were seated. When we were finally seated the manager did take us to our table and apologize, which we appreciated. After we enjoyed our (delicious) entrees and wine and sides, we ordered several desserts to share plus one in our party requested a hot tea. Our server disappeared for 20 minutes; during that time two helpers brought the desserts but no tea. We were unsuccessful in flagging down anyone to ask about it. When our server finally reappeared she didn't seem concerned about the tea (giving us a throwaway "I thought my helpers had that covered") and then immediately handed us the check - that didn't even have the tea on it. Everyone makes mistakes, so if you forgot, just say so! It made an otherwise nice lunch end on a frustrating note.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely Mother's Day lunch. Unfo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely Mother's Day lunch. Unfortunately, it ended with the bill getting totally confused, and it took our very pleasant/cooperative server three tries to get it right. Just a little disconcerting at the end.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch for Mother's Day and the ste ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great lunch for Mother's Day and the steak was amazing! Service was excellent and really a great time out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few classic adult restaurants left.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 11 people for Mothers Day three of whom were last minute add on. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and we had a memorable lunch. The service was excellent and the food was, as always, just perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

My steak was overcooked. My son's steak ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My steak was overcooked. My son's steak was perfect.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great but a bit disappointing this time

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

I have started to go to Ruth Chris's more often recently, and so far the food had been great...this trip the steak was mostly fat and way undercooked. It was disappointing but the rest of the meal was great....and don't miss the cocktails.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Treat

Dined on April 11, 2016

Ruth's Chris is always our go to place for any special occasion. This time we had the opportunity to take our daughter who is a foodie. I actually snared a filet mignon full size even though I asked for petite - who am I to argue?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

lovely waitress..good steak but mostly fat

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

I ordered the larger ribeye but due to the sear on the outside I didn't realize it was mostly fat....only a small bit was actual steak....not great for a 54.00 steak. The sides were great though and the waitstaff was very nice. It is a shame since I counted on consistency but the taste as good as always...just a tiny portion was edible.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dining at Ruth's Chris has become a family Easter tradition. Again this year, we were not disappointed. The food was excellent; service was on point and the atmosphere was enjoyable. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food always top rate

Dined on March 25, 2016

If you're looking for a quiet restaurant with ambiance and excellent food, this is the place. Be prepared for a long evening because nothing is rushed. The ahi tuna, crabmeat dip and oyster appetisers were simply scrumptious. Our steaks were perfectly prepared, the Lamb chops mouthwatering and the scallops quite delicious. You simply can't go wrong here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always a lovely experience. Experie ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

It's always a lovely experience. Experienced, pleasant and attentive wait staff and management. We just think the dining room is the most elegant of all the steakhouses in Richmond.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband took me and my daughter to Ruths Chris to celebrate my birthday. Paula greeted us when we arrived, went to the bar and relaxedas always David provided us with excellent drinks and conversation. Our server for the evening made wonderful pairing suggestions. Our meals were outstanding , the evening perfect. Getting older isn't so bad after all. You will have a perfect evening there too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

When I arrived I noticed this was in a b ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

When I arrived I noticed this was in a beautiful old white plantation home which doesn't fit the surrounding mall but is a very nice facility. Unfortunately while I generally like Ruth's Chris this one fell short of expectations I had the large T bone which was 24 ounces of chewiness and not much flavor. It was cooked a little bit too well for my taste. The service was very good and the waiter was pleasant.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing.

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went for our 39th anniversary, which I noted on the reservation. We normally go to Morton's, but we've moved close to Ruth Chris in Midlothian and decided to give it a try. Here's a comparison: Mortons - For special events, gives you a special menu with your names on it, decorates the table, takes a picture, pulls out the table so you can sit, places your napkin, etc. Food is excellent. A class act. Ruth Chris - Only the hostess noted the anniversary in passing. No other recognition. Waiter would walk occasionally with a "everything ok?". Food was mediocre. The lobster mac and cheese tasted like Kraft's with canned lobster-like meat. My filet had no flavor. My wife's pork chop was tough as shoe leather. For the same price we could have gone to Morton's and had a wonderful evening. Sorry Ruth, we won't be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with my daughter!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Had a special event planned with my 6 yr old. The staff was very attentive to her and ensured that she had a wonderful evening. We had a most memorable time and delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the manager was ve ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent service and the manager was very helpful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy experience!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Definitely one of the best (if not the best) places to go for a special occasion. Super fancy, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating, which made my friends and me feel not as out of place. The food was delicious and we left with leftovers that could be lunch for days. Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 16, 2016

Au Gratin potatoes arrived only partially cooked, waiter made mistake and brought gumbo with the entree and acted like it was perfectly acceptable. The waiter was overbearing, asking at every opportunity if we didn't want to add something else, appetizer, more shrimp to entree, two desserts. It was unpleasant, and he appeared to consider himself a diva. When you are paying $150 for 2 for dinner, you expect more. He ruined what could have otherwise been a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

From the hottess checking us in, to the wait staff to the food it was an awesome experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

the steaks are fabulous....

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Lovely service and the ambiance is quiet and laid back...the food is always wonderful...great steaks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

best steaks

Dined on January 25, 2016

The steaks and sides are expensive, but their steaks are still the best around

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best steak in town or anywhere!

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

If you are hungry for steak, go to Ruth's Chris. I had the steak & lobster tail and my friend the ribeye. We shared creamed spinach, mushrooms, and shoestring potatoes, equally delicious. Our server Tim was fabulous!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, top notch all the way.

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

In addition to a superb culinary experience that is Ruth Chris steakhouse, the wonderful history of the mansion is an added treat to the overall charm of Richmond

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steak

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was great and the service was also good. It was my second time eating here and I will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Ruth's Chris

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great service from the moment we entered, until leaving. Manager even came by, very personable. Unfortunately my prime rib was very 'fatty' with lots of gristle, and my wife's lobster tail was very salty. On the upside, her filet mignon was very good. Everything else (sides/bread) was excellent, and the bottle of Moet & Chandon served us a nice 'happy' demeanor, which took away any disappointment in the main course items.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best

Dined on January 15, 2016

I love Ruth's Chris Steak House. As usual, our steaks were delicious! The atmosphere was wonderful and the service was outstanding. Our Server (Brooks) was absolutely superb and made our dining experience extra special. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Not the best, but not the worst.

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

It had been a couple years since my last visit to Ruth's Chris. Steak was still well done, and the lobster mac and cheese was excellent. Service seemed a little slow, and the bar doesn't know how to make a Moscow mule at all. Drinks also seemed weak, more juice than anything. Also, might not be a problem for some, but the seating was uncomfortable. Chairs seemed short and narrow and tables seemed low. I am a tall guy, but I haven't ever noticed this elsewhere before. Wasn't a bad experience, but there are other steakhouses in Richmond that are better, especially for the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Annual New Years Eve tradition for over 12 years.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was just "ok" - this was the first time we have ever experienced slow and non- attentive service. Food was wonderful as usual. Very disappointed in wait staff - they seemed very SHORT handed; we were hearing the same complaints from other tables as well. Additionally, the bar is a great space HOWEVER, on a busy holiday like New Years Eve the bar should be for cocktails and light bar snacks ONLY. There were people taking up multiple bar tables in the BAR (large groups) eating a full dinner which hindered the available tables for those patrons who had "RESERVATIONS" for a dining room meal. It was also a blocked flow which meant tables didn't turn as quickly and the wait staff was having a difficult time navigating large trays through cramped bar. Again.. other patrons agreed the bar on a holiday should be for Cocktails ONLY not serve as the area for full dinner orders.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Dining Experience

Dined on December 27, 2015

Quiet Elegance! Loaded with ambiance..the service was impeccable; the food was delicious. The prices are on the high end but definitely worth it for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Had a reservation but still waited 40 mi ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Had a reservation but still waited 40 minutes for table. Waited an hour for food and none of our steaks were cooked as we'd ordered. Too much money for a lackluster experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Late

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

our reservation was at 7 but we were not seated until 730. The great food and service made up for that however.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not great!

Dined on December 24, 2015

We have eaten at this Ruth's Chris many, many times in the past and have always enjoyed it. We still enjoyed it this time but they did fall down on a few items. We weren't seated until almost 30 minutes after our reservation time. My son ordered blue cheese toping on his steak that didn't happen. They took it back and added it quickly but we were well into our meals before it got back. We ordered a bottle of wine and we were halfway through our meal before it came. Just not top of their game!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Holiday lunch in bar

Dined on December 23, 2015

We decided to have our annual holiday lunch in the bar, because of the warm decor and additional food choices. Being a weekday, we had the room almost to ourselves and it was quiet. We received excellent service and recommendations from the bartender/waiter. Following a shared Ahi tuna appetizer, which was tasty, we both had excellent Caesar salads with anchovies. For our entrees, I had the mixed grill and my wife the tenderloin filet. While the steaks came out hot and were tender, the doneness was Medium rather than Medium Rare, as we both requested. We thought the filets had a slightly mealy texture, which we assumed may be the result of freezing; honestly, the tenderloin that we grill at home never has that texture. The chicken on my mixed grill was large, tasty, but slightly dry; the crab cake was firm, but lacking in any flavor. While the service and ambiance were very good, our entrees were only average. Given the cost, it will be difficult to justify returning any time soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love having lunch there during the Chris ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

Love having lunch there during the Christmas season! What a treat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love having lunch there during the Chris ...

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

Love having lunch there during the Christmas season! What a treat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lunch in December!

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

Wish lunch was every month! It was wonderful! The lobster bisque was very good as was the caesar salad. My friend had the hamburger which was awesome as well!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Girls Night Out

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

Three of us met to kick off the holidays, beginning at the bar where we enjoyed nice glasses of Happy Hour wine & complimentary chips. The server was very prompt and efficient, even though the Bar was pretty crowded for a Tuesday night. In the dining room, Brigitta was our server and she and her staff were excellent. Water glasses never went below half full. Two of us ordered from the 4-course menu and the sides were ample to share three ways. The wine complimented our dinners nicely. The dessert that accompanied the 4-course menu was a disappointment. Not sure what it was, but one taste was enough to say it wasn't worth the calories. Overall, though, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.