Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Richmond, VA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

11500 Huguenot Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge opens daily at 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Robious

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 378-0600

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/restaurant-locations/richmond-midlothian/

Entertainment:
Pianist Darryl L. Emerson performs live, every Friday and Saturday, in our main dining room from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available Tuesday - Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Jon Olinger

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond offers three distinctive private dining rooms. The Woolfolk Room for up to 14 and the Garden Rooms for up to 100 guests seated and 150 reception style.

Private Party Contact:
Robin T. Sorensen: (804) 378-0600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Private Room (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 10 hours ago

Lovely dinner. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

It was wonderful as usual and a great way to celebrate Father's Day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot. It's a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the steak was fantastic, but we ordered escargot and fried oysters. Escargot was sandy, oysters so/so almost broke a tooth on a pearl left in the oyster. There was also a billing error

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always great food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Delightful dinner on the patio. Service impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the best Ruth's Chris restaurant on the East Coast!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Celebrated two birthdays for an early Sunday dinner. Steaks were cooked to perfection and tender. Accompanied by excellent side dishes and salad. Topped off by dessert of the day with a candle and Happy Birthday written in chocolate.

Server was right on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Ruth's Chris in Richmond is the best of all the Ruth's Chris that we have gone to.
Everything there is exceptional. We go to Ruth's Chris on our way down to Naples, Florida for the season and we go back on our way home to New England in May.

The staff are wonderful and they always make our dining experience very special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall dinner was just so-so... Been here before and the steaks were much better. This was my choice for our anniversary dinner. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food.!! Excellent service. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, the food was delectable and the service outstanding! I wish a dress code was reinforced. Too nice of a restaurant for the "overly casual dress" of some of its patrons!!!!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good and we appreciate them opening early for Mother's Day. Service was initially fast, but it took as long to checkout and leave as it did to order and eat our meals. It was just the two of us; and, as happened in December, the staff caters to the larger groups and leaves those in small groups waiting. Will probably return, but only with six or more people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Every visit to Ruth's Chris is a treat. Today, I took my mother there in honor of Mother's Day and we had a great time, probably overstaying our welcome but you'd never know it based on the staff's reception. We each had the petite filet and shared the potatoes au gratin and roasted Brussels sprouts. And, since it had been a while, each had a bowl of lobster bisque. One of my favorite things is that they allow you to customize how much sherry is included - none, a brief drizzle, or a long pour. Since to us, seafood bisque just isn't seafood bisque without sherry, we each had a generous dollop added.

Our server, Cicily, was great. Kind and attentive, but unobtrusive. We also had a chuckle with Stephen over coffee: we were hemming and hawing over a second pot, and he said to my mother, "I can see in your eyes you'd like some more. I'll be right back." I'm sure it's a commonly used line, but we all had a laugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

From the Civil War history of the location to the superb service and food, Ruth's Chris represents one of the best dining experiences in Richmond. Their subtle recognition of my wife's birthday was perfect, and the food and service was just fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the most special restaurants in Richmond! Excellent menu -- and although pricey -- great value for the $ spent! Would make time for the Happy Hour -- patio is awesome!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The steak was outstanding. The scallops were succulent. The wine was wonderful. Service did a great job of being somewhat formal while not being a robot during service. The wife's birthday dinner was a big success. We sat outside on a beautiful day and didn't have one complaint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our visit was very nice, the food was great and resturant' s atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very crowded on Saturday night which slowed down the service to unusually long period before we got our drink order,~30 minutes and almost an hour before we got our appetizers. Diner was served almost 90 minutes after being seated.......not indicative of Ruth's Chris past service experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Ruth's Chris is always excellent. If you'd rather have seafood than steak, the crabcakes are especially good. Our server was able to describe each cut of steak so that folks could order according to their preference. Our server was also great about discussing wine pairings. Ruth's Chris has an extensive collection of wines. They also make folks celebrating special occassions feel extra special. They decorate the table and provide wonderful desserts to the celebrants. We love coming here to celebrate major milestones.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were there to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary for my parents. The food and services were fantastic. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant décor and atmosphere were lovely. Great wine list both by the bottle and by the glass. All the food was delicious!

The wait staff was very attentive and the food was served in a timely manner. If I had to pick one drawback on the service, it would have to deal with the timing of the appetizers and salads. The appetizers were served quickly, but we had not yet gotten half way through them and the salads arrived. The timing between the salad and main entrees was perfect.

One note on the sides. They are abundant enough for 2-3 people to share and the selection was nice. 3 sides for a party of 5 was plenty to go around.

Would definitely recommend Ruth's Chris for a nice evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything from the greeting at the door through the presentation of the check was top-notch. Oh yes, the food was great too!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

A very nice place to go for a special meal. Excellent food and Service.
Yes, it's pricey, but it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service as usual!!! Travis was our server and he was awesome!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere for Easter lunch. Server Stephen was knowledgable, polite and attentive to our wine and food needs. Ribeye steak was perfectly cooked (medium rare) and served at 500 degrees so be careful with hot plate! Sweet potato casserole was best I've eaten. Took same order home for my wife who wasn't able to attend.

I would strongly recommend this location to friends and family without hesitation. One of the best restaurant in Bon Air!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

After dining at this Ruths Chris location (Richmond) for almost 25 years, I can honestly say it has always been a flawless dining experience. Wait staff are attentive without hovering, food is the highest quality and always perfectly prepared with a crisp presentation. The interior of this location is classically elegant, set an historic mansion. Whether you are celebrating an anniversary, attending a business dinner or a birthday celebration it the girls, Ruths Chris is always the right choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, way over-priced. Challenging to get out of there for less than $200 for two people. No food is that good. And the waiter continuously asking "is everything delicious?" got a little annoying.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We found the experience and the food to be wonderful. The wait staff is top notch and the food is ample and prepared very well.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I came to celebrate our anniversary. It was our first time and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It never fails to give great service and wonderful meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Maybe the best steak in Richmond. The service was 10/10 and the atmosphere was also worth the money. My family and I will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There was no wait to sit, the staff was pleasant and the food was as expected. We ordered the seafood tower as an app. Very good. Lobster and crab meat were better than the crab legs. My entree was the 40 oz tomahawk ribeye and my wife had the filet and shrimp special. My steak was amazing. Not sure it was worth $115 but it was excellent. My wife enjoyed her filet as well as the shrimp, which were very well prepared in my opinion. It was a good night for sure. We will return. The ambiance was perfect. I'd pay for the atmosphere alone. To not be surrounded by noisy patrons, screaming kids or ridiculously loud music was a treat in itself.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have been to several Ruth's Chris Steakhouse locations but this was our favorite one. It has a very interesting history (which made for a cool story) and the plantation house setting made it very special. James, our server, was extremely kind and knowledgeable. Our meal was well timed and delicious as always. Wonderful experience all together!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I felt like we were being rushed. I had barely taken a sip of my cocktail when the salad appeared. Before we were able to finish our salad the entre was served. Timing was very poor, my wife actually got indigestion from hurrying her meal. Dining at this restaurant should be leisurely. If I want feel like I am choking down a baloney sandwich, I can save my money and eat at home. Overall, a very, very wasteful evening for us.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service and staff from the front door to the server was most welcoming and kind. The food was fantastic as well. Lastly, the building, both inside and outside were lovely and most inviting.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I proposed to my future wife at this wonderful establishment. I was Refered by a buddy of mine who knew the original owner. My now fiancée, loves steak and she and I had never been. We will frequent, now!!! First class from the moment you walk in the door👌🏽

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, People Watching, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic night!! Travis was our server. He was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place awesome food the staff was awesome it a little pricey but for the quality of food well worth it. I will go back and visit again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.