About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House at Mohegan Sun serves up exceptional service & sizzling taste. Our signature steaks are seared to perfection at 1800° & topped with fresh butter so they sizzle all the way to your table.
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth’s Chris & treat your special guests to unforgettable dining for your next business gathering, family celebration and all your holiday needs .
From our humble beginnings on Broad Street in New Orleans to our current position as the world's largest fine dining company, Ruth's Chris Steak House has come quite a long way in its first four decades. In 2015, we celebrated our 50th anniversary, & we consider it a celebration of the life of a woman who broke the mold - our founder, Ruth Fertel.

COME JOIN US & EXPERIENCE PERFECTION YOURSELF!!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon : 12pm - 10pm


Tues : 12pm - 10pm


Wed : 12pm - 10pm


Thurs : 12pm - 11pm


Fri : 12pm - 12:30am


Sat : 12pm - 12:30am


Sun : 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 208-2266

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/22489/Wilkes-Barre

Entertainment:
Monday : Live Solo Performers 6pm - 8:30pm


Tuesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Wednesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Thursday : Music for Models 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Friday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Saturday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 8pm - 11pm

Parking Details:
Mohegan Sun Casino parking. Valet parking also available.

Executive Chef:
John Gorrick

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kathi Bankes: 5702082266x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch plus Bloody Mary Bar from 12-3.

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Tomatoe And Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cheesecake
Scallops
USDA Prime Ribeye
Fresh Baked Bread
Steak and Shrimp
Fillet And Lobster Tail
Green beans
Au Poive Sauce
Mashed Potatoes
Creme Brulee
Iceberg Wedge With Bacon
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Fingerling Potatoes In Dijon Mustard
Chorizo And Bean Soup
Sweet Squash
Baby Spinach Salad w/ Poached Pears, Carmelized Walnuts & Feta Cheese in vinaigrette
Molten Chocolate Cake
Ahi tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
13 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

special occasion (91)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (39)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went there to celebrate my birthday. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went there to celebrate my birthday. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. We were treated very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Service and food were good but nothing exceptional.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris's. The meal we had was by far the absolute best meal either one of us has ever had! From start to end the food was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excellent cocktails to start. The calamari appetizer was very good as well with wonderful, delicate flavors. The 40 oz 'tomahawk' rib-eye served on a sizzling plate was exceptional. It was perfect for sharing. We somehow kept room for the Cheesecake with mixed and fresh berries and the Creme Brulee which were amazing.

Kyra our server was thoughtful and engaging without being obtrusive.

Easily one of, if not the best restaurant in the region.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not disappointed. Cooked to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were excellent. I am a r ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food & service were excellent. I am a repeat diner & always have a great diner.

My reservation was for 7:30, I arrived at 7:22 & was not seated until 7:40. My husband & I always try to arrive promptly for a reservation & appreciate when we are seated on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Ste ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Steak Houses in several different cities and we regularly go to the Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, however, this was only the second time we dined here. We had a 7:15 reservation and arrived around 7:05. Our table was not ready, however, the young man at the front (Michael) was somewhat condescending and not sincerely welcoming. He greeted us with a fake smile, we waited a bit while he checked our reservation and said, "yeah, it's going to be closer to 7:15, when your reservation is." I was almost offended by his demeanor. We walked back into the casino and returned promptly at 7:15 when he told us once again, the table was not quite ready, we waited about 5 more minutes and then we were finally seated. I don't mind waiting if a table isn't ready, but it was the attitude of this young man that really turned me off. Our waiter (another Michael) arrived, he was polite & friendly and my bad feelings went away. We placed our order and waited for the food to arrive. The salads arrived, the waiter checked on us & that was the last time we saw him until it was time to deliver our check (actually we saw him spend virtually all of his time at a different table). Our steaks were delivered by a different person and then no one else ever came back to ask if the steaks were cooked satisfactorily or if everything was ok. My steak was ordered rare-med rare it arrived almost well done. It was a filet and was dried out. I ate half of it and then I tracked down another server and asked to send over the waiter as my steak was overcooked. A manager arrived. She was extremely nice, very helpful and very accommodating. She offered to get me a new steak, but I said no as I had eaten half of it already & my husband was done eating. She did take the meal off the bill and I was very grateful for that, it was not what I expected but it was very appreciated. The manager was really the only bright point of this meal and this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and almost always get the chef's choice menu. I think you should offer a choice of two desserts. The last few times the dessert has been a cheesecake, I'm lactose intolerant and do not eat cheesecake. you should give a seasonal choice, like strawberries this time of year. Other than this complain, I have my choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our server June as well as the staff wer ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

our server June as well as the staff were wonderful and very nice and courtesy just awesome a pleasure

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We like to go there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. We like to go there on a special occasion. You must have their shoestring

fries.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! This is how dinner should be!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable! The waiter a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The service was impeccable! The waiter and other service was excellent. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Three out of the last four times we went ...

vip
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Three out of the last four times we went here, our table was not ready at our reservation time. This time it was 15 minutes over, and two other times were longer. Either the tables have to allow more time for the reservations, or something goes wrong with the time the food is delivered. I don't like having to loiter around outside the restaurant waiting as we have no idea how much longer it will take. That is my main complaint. The food and service in the restaurant are good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was great. But my order was wrong. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was great. But my order was wrong. They sat us at a table parallel to a table less than 2 feet away. We were basically sitting with strangers and hearing their entire conversation. This is fine for subway, but not when you're paying $60+ per person. Servers were passing between the tables the whole time. At one point there were 5 staff members surrounding my seat talking to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

This restaurant shouldn't be charging th ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant shouldn't be charging the prices it does. The food and service was sub-par. It was a joke. $200 for a meal that would have been only $50 at the diner or Johnny Rockets. Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We look forward to going to Ruth Chris s ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We look forward to going to Ruth Chris so much. It is like a vaction!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, so every year on her birthday we try out another one of the restaurants. Our favorite main course is the chicken breasts stuffed with cheese. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to your restaurant several ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have gone to your restaurant several times this time was very disappointing. It was our wedding anniversary we were very rushed there wasn't any time between courses. We were in a very crowded room very close to the next table . Had to ask three times to three different wait staff for a bread refill and a glass of ice. It just wasn't what are experience had been in the past . In fact we may consider not going back after this past Saturday . The food was excellent but we usually enjoy the entire experience. In fact last year when we celebrated our anniversary they took a cute picture of us and gave us a Ruth Chris memento frame none of that happened this time either .

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Was my husband's birthday. Food was grea ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Was my husband's birthday. Food was great and service was terrific.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent, however the f ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent, however the food was very disappointing. My wife ordered the filet, medium well, came out medium rare, I ordered the NY strip, medium and it came out well done and dried out. The lettuce wedge was very watery and tasteless, the stuffed baked potato was dry and hardly "stuffed".

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I've eaten here a few times for both lun ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've eaten here a few times for both lunch and dinner. Exceptional service and the food is just fabulous. The bar area is fun and often has live music. They have a 'bistro' menu offered in the bar area along with the main dinner menu. The prices are in the higher range, but so worth it! The white sangria is great :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris is expensive. All steakhous ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ruth's Chris is expensive. All steakhouses are. But excellent service usually is the norm. Not so at Ruth's Chris - Mohegan Sun Poconos. We were seated promptly but then waited more than 20 minutes to receive service. In fact to receive service it was necessary for me to track down the manager on duty. His explanation; "sorry but you slipped between the cracks". No one had been assigned to our table. Unacceptable anywhere but especially so when steaks are sold at $85 per pound.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I probably consider us regulars here as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I probably consider us regulars here as we have been here at least 15 times. Need I say more. The food is consistenly good and the service is very pleasant. It was our anniversay and they were very nice to bring out a special dessert and did not charge us for it. Really like this place. The casino is right outside of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Ruth's Chris Steak House to cel ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We chose Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate two anniversaries and also because one of the couples had never been there. It didn't disappoint. The food and the service were exceptional and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our sixth visit to this restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is our sixth visit to this restaurant this year. We have never been disappointed. The food and the service are over the top. Our food is always perfectly prepared and expertly served. The entire staff is friendly and very accommodating. We always have cocktails at our table before dinner and are given time to enjoy them before our meal is served. This has become our favorite restaurant for all of our special occasions and any time we want to enjoy a very special meal. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Jenn was excellent.. Food a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our waitress Jenn was excellent.. Food and wine were exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our food came to the table in a timely fashion. Everything was prepared to our liking. As usual, the cheesecake was out of this world!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dress Code

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I was very disappointed to have some people in the restaurant dining with baseball caps and t shirts. Most people were dressed in proper attire. It took away from the ambiance to see you do not enforce any kind of dress code. They also put a table of 8 men in the room where the rest of the tables were for 4 people. It made for a very noisy room. The food was very good and the wait staff were very nice and helpful.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food & Service

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Waiters were very professional and also extremely friendly. Will definitely come back .

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highlight of a birthday weekend!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Thanks so much to the manager and the staff who made this dinner such a wonderful experience for my boyfriend's birthday!!! My requests and so much more were met with excellence.

My bf is active military (nearly 20 years), and they treated us with even greater hospitality on top of an amazing birthday dessert treat.

I will definitely consider taking him back for his retirement event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not really worth the steep price

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The meal was good, but not great. I've had the same quality steak at half the price elsewhere. Small portions on the sides, but tasty. Room was very dark and relatively loud. The best part of the experience was the staff at the reception area. They were friendly and very helpful. I really wanted to like the restaurant, but it fell far short of my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent steaks great crab cakes and a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent steaks great crab cakes and a fine chicken dish for non red meat eater made for an overall great time for all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Everything.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was an excellent experience. The food, service, ambiance, everything was great. If you want the best experiece, go there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dustin was a great server. We have enoj ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Dustin was a great server. We have enojoyed his service before. A visit to Ruth Chris at Mohegan Sun Pocono is definitely a sepecial event and one we look forward to a couple of times per year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak H ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak House - truly the very best meal we have ever experienced. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dinner with family

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly, prompt and courteous. The food was outstanding, not an issue with any of the entree's ordered. Modifications/Substitutions were made for items that the party did not particularly care for. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waiter was amazing. He provided a hap ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

My waiter was amazing. He provided a happy Birthday desert and even took a picture of me and my boyfriend and had it printed immediately! I'll definitely be going back for my birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience at this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at this restaurant. Sure the food was pricey but we certainly got what we paid for. And the staff was incredible, they treated us like we were the only people there & went out of their way to help my parents celebrate their anniversary. I can't say enough good about this place. Just do yourself a favor & try it, you'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

busy

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

this was our first time we were ever disappointed. it was mothers day and I know it was hectic for the workers. but it took over 1.5 hrs. to get our meal and when we got our steak it was overdone. this being our anniversary I didn't complain. but I did email the manager at ruth chris and suggest when it is a busy day to please put more staff on. we will go again but I hope it was a one time thing

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.