About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House at Mohegan Sun serves up exceptional service & sizzling taste. Our signature steaks are seared to perfection at 1800° & topped with fresh butter so they sizzle all the way to your table.
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth’s Chris & treat your special guests to unforgettable dining for your next business gathering, family celebration and all your holiday needs .
From our humble beginnings on Broad Street in New Orleans to our current position as the world's largest fine dining company, Ruth's Chris Steak House has come quite a long way in its first four decades. In 2015, we celebrated our 50th anniversary, & we consider it a celebration of the life of a woman who broke the mold - our founder, Ruth Fertel.

COME JOIN US & EXPERIENCE PERFECTION YOURSELF!!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon : 12pm - 10pm


Tues : 12pm - 10pm


Wed : 12pm - 10pm


Thurs : 12pm - 11pm


Fri : 12pm - 12:30am


Sat : 12pm - 12:30am


Sun : 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 208-2266

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/22489/Wilkes-Barre

Entertainment:
Monday : Live Solo Performers 6pm - 8:30pm


Tuesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Wednesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Thursday : Music for Models 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Friday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Saturday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 8pm - 11pm

Parking Details:
Mohegan Sun Casino parking. Valet parking also available.

Executive Chef:
John Gorrick

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kathi Bankes: 5702082266x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch plus Bloody Mary Bar from 12-3.

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Tomatoe And Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cheesecake
Scallops
Fresh Baked Bread
USDA Prime Ribeye
Steak and Shrimp
Fillet And Lobster Tail
Creme Brulee
Mashed Potatoes
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Au Poive Sauce
Green beans
Iceberg Wedge With Bacon
Chorizo And Bean Soup
Fingerling Potatoes In Dijon Mustard
Baby Spinach Salad w/ Poached Pears, Carmelized Walnuts & Feta Cheese in vinaigrette
Sweet Squash
Molten Chocolate Cake
Ahi tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
13 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and food was delicious

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was our 33rd wedding anniversary. What a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was our 33rd wedding anniversary. What a great way to celebrate it. Great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations for 4. A fifth perso ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I made reservations for 4. A fifth person joined us and the staff was very accommodating to seat all 5 of us. The steaks were perfect, the sides were great and we loved the wine. Our wait person was Victoria. She was never intrusive yet always seemed to be there when we wanted something. Friendly, funny, she made the dining experience complete.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality is excellent. Staff is well ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food quality is excellent. Staff is well trained. We have eaten here numerous times and never had a bad meal. Worth the cost.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live music there was nice, but diferent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Live music there was nice, but diferent music also being played in speakers made it just noisey. Turn off house music when an artist is there?

I answered "yes" to the drink menu but didn't get it.

Both of our side dishes were room temp, my mashed potatoes were soo old and cold they were almost solid again.

The pepper shaker was useless, same as can be found in any dive. Why not a pepper grinder on the table?

I had expected great food, atmosphere, and service. What we recieved was not equal to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A very inviting room. Very good food ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very inviting room. Very good food served at a nice pace-- not too fast or too slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a great evening and the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a great evening and the food was excellent. Two of us had the sea bass and it was 'to die for'. The service was just right. Attentive and experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What an exceptional dining experience! T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What an exceptional dining experience! The service was pleasant and attentive. We were celebrating a birthday and our server took a photo and gave us three copies! I have dined at RuthChris locations over the years. Hiwever, it has been a while since I visited. The steak was absolutely amazing, perfectly seasoned and cooked to order! We were a party of 6 and every one of us could not stop raving about the great tasting steak. The entire dinner could not have been more perfect! Try the fried calamari when you visit - you will not be disappointed.

Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were perfection! Lo ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service and food were perfection! Loved the added touch of surprising us with a dessert wishing us a Happy Anniversary!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to go to in the Wilkes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My favorite place to go to in the Wilkes-Barre area. The service is always fantastic and so is the food. I've never walked out of here disappointed. The best filet and creamed spinach I've ever had. Would easily recommend this restaurant to anyone who doesn't mind spending some money on a nice, relaxing dinner once in a while. Sitting at the booths is much more relaxing than sitting at the tables in the center of the restaurant. Would recommend asking for a booth while booking, it seems almost like you're own private restaurant in a booth.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks; attentive, pleas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food, drinks; attentive, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flawless. My wife and I shared a cowbo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Flawless. My wife and I shared a cowboy ribeye. Perfectly prepared to our request! Personal service! We were checked on numerous times by our waitress and management. One of the most tasty and tender steaks I have ever had! I would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect! Can't wait to di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was perfect! Can't wait to dine at Ruth Chris Steakhouse- Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs again. June, our server, did an excellent job waiting on us and had a great and friendly personality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great staff and food. It is pricey, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

great staff and food. It is pricey, but it is a casino. We go there before walking over to the racetrack. It makes for a fun night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

From the start all was perfect my wife a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

From the start all was perfect my wife and Iwe're treated great. The food was outstanding as was service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just going out for a bite before the sho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

just going out for a bite before the show. a little more upscale than our usual. lobster app was yummy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried Calamari was tender and tossed wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fried Calamari was tender and tossed with a tasty glaze. New York strip was cooked perfect. Chilean sea-bass was outstanding. We look forward to dining here when visiting Mohegan Sun Pocono.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

T-bone steak was very fatty had much bet ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

T-bone steak was very fatty had much better T-bone steaks elsewhere for far less money

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I went there to celebrate my birthday. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went there to celebrate my birthday. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. We were treated very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Service and food were good but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris's. The meal we had was by far the absolute best meal either one of us has ever had! From start to end the food was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excellent cocktails to start. The calamari appetizer was very good as well with wonderful, delicate flavors. The 40 oz 'tomahawk' rib-eye served on a sizzling plate was exceptional. It was perfect for sharing. We somehow kept room for the Cheesecake with mixed and fresh berries and the Creme Brulee which were amazing.

Kyra our server was thoughtful and engaging without being obtrusive.

Easily one of, if not the best restaurant in the region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not disappointed. Cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were excellent. I am a r ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food & service were excellent. I am a repeat diner & always have a great diner.

My reservation was for 7:30, I arrived at 7:22 & was not seated until 7:40. My husband & I always try to arrive promptly for a reservation & appreciate when we are seated on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Ste ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Steak Houses in several different cities and we regularly go to the Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, however, this was only the second time we dined here. We had a 7:15 reservation and arrived around 7:05. Our table was not ready, however, the young man at the front (Michael) was somewhat condescending and not sincerely welcoming. He greeted us with a fake smile, we waited a bit while he checked our reservation and said, "yeah, it's going to be closer to 7:15, when your reservation is." I was almost offended by his demeanor. We walked back into the casino and returned promptly at 7:15 when he told us once again, the table was not quite ready, we waited about 5 more minutes and then we were finally seated. I don't mind waiting if a table isn't ready, but it was the attitude of this young man that really turned me off. Our waiter (another Michael) arrived, he was polite & friendly and my bad feelings went away. We placed our order and waited for the food to arrive. The salads arrived, the waiter checked on us & that was the last time we saw him until it was time to deliver our check (actually we saw him spend virtually all of his time at a different table). Our steaks were delivered by a different person and then no one else ever came back to ask if the steaks were cooked satisfactorily or if everything was ok. My steak was ordered rare-med rare it arrived almost well done. It was a filet and was dried out. I ate half of it and then I tracked down another server and asked to send over the waiter as my steak was overcooked. A manager arrived. She was extremely nice, very helpful and very accommodating. She offered to get me a new steak, but I said no as I had eaten half of it already & my husband was done eating. She did take the meal off the bill and I was very grateful for that, it was not what I expected but it was very appreciated. The manager was really the only bright point of this meal and this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and almost always get the chef's choice menu. I think you should offer a choice of two desserts. The last few times the dessert has been a cheesecake, I'm lactose intolerant and do not eat cheesecake. you should give a seasonal choice, like strawberries this time of year. Other than this complain, I have my choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our server June as well as the staff wer ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

our server June as well as the staff were wonderful and very nice and courtesy just awesome a pleasure

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We like to go there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. We like to go there on a special occasion. You must have their shoestring

fries.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! This is how dinner should be!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable! The waiter a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The service was impeccable! The waiter and other service was excellent. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Three out of the last four times we went ...

vip
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Three out of the last four times we went here, our table was not ready at our reservation time. This time it was 15 minutes over, and two other times were longer. Either the tables have to allow more time for the reservations, or something goes wrong with the time the food is delivered. I don't like having to loiter around outside the restaurant waiting as we have no idea how much longer it will take. That is my main complaint. The food and service in the restaurant are good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was great. But my order was wrong. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was great. But my order was wrong. They sat us at a table parallel to a table less than 2 feet away. We were basically sitting with strangers and hearing their entire conversation. This is fine for subway, but not when you're paying $60+ per person. Servers were passing between the tables the whole time. At one point there were 5 staff members surrounding my seat talking to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

This restaurant shouldn't be charging th ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant shouldn't be charging the prices it does. The food and service was sub-par. It was a joke. $200 for a meal that would have been only $50 at the diner or Johnny Rockets. Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We look forward to going to Ruth Chris s ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We look forward to going to Ruth Chris so much. It is like a vaction!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, so every year on her birthday we try out another one of the restaurants. Our favorite main course is the chicken breasts stuffed with cheese. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to your restaurant several ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have gone to your restaurant several times this time was very disappointing. It was our wedding anniversary we were very rushed there wasn't any time between courses. We were in a very crowded room very close to the next table . Had to ask three times to three different wait staff for a bread refill and a glass of ice. It just wasn't what are experience had been in the past . In fact we may consider not going back after this past Saturday . The food was excellent but we usually enjoy the entire experience. In fact last year when we celebrated our anniversary they took a cute picture of us and gave us a Ruth Chris memento frame none of that happened this time either .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Was my husband's birthday. Food was grea ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Was my husband's birthday. Food was great and service was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent, however the f ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent, however the food was very disappointing. My wife ordered the filet, medium well, came out medium rare, I ordered the NY strip, medium and it came out well done and dried out. The lettuce wedge was very watery and tasteless, the stuffed baked potato was dry and hardly "stuffed".

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I've eaten here a few times for both lun ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've eaten here a few times for both lunch and dinner. Exceptional service and the food is just fabulous. The bar area is fun and often has live music. They have a 'bistro' menu offered in the bar area along with the main dinner menu. The prices are in the higher range, but so worth it! The white sangria is great :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.