About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House at Mohegan Sun serves up exceptional service & sizzling taste. Our signature steaks are seared to perfection at 1800° & topped with fresh butter so they sizzle all the way to your table.
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth’s Chris & treat your special guests to unforgettable dining for your next business gathering, family celebration and all your holiday needs .
From our humble beginnings on Broad Street in New Orleans to our current position as the world's largest fine dining company, Ruth's Chris Steak House has come quite a long way in its first four decades. In 2015, we celebrated our 50th anniversary, & we consider it a celebration of the life of a woman who broke the mold - our founder, Ruth Fertel.

COME JOIN US & EXPERIENCE PERFECTION YOURSELF!!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon : 12pm - 10pm


Tues : 12pm - 10pm


Wed : 12pm - 10pm


Thurs : 12pm - 11pm


Fri : 12pm - 12:30am


Sat : 12pm - 12:30am


Sun : 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 208-2266

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/22489/Wilkes-Barre

Entertainment:
Monday : Live Solo Performers 6pm - 8:30pm


Tuesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Wednesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Thursday : Music for Models 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Friday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Saturday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 8pm - 11pm

Parking Details:
Mohegan Sun Casino parking. Valet parking also available.

Executive Chef:
John Gorrick

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kathi Bankes: 5702082266x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch plus Bloody Mary Bar from 12-3.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
11 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

special occasion (86)
romantic (60)
notable wine list (38)
See All
fit for foodies (35)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Everything.

Dined 4 days ago

This was an excellent experience. The food, service, ambiance, everything was great. If you want the best experiece, go there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dustin was a great server. We have enoj ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Dustin was a great server. We have enojoyed his service before. A visit to Ruth Chris at Mohegan Sun Pocono is definitely a sepecial event and one we look forward to a couple of times per year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak H ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak House - truly the very best meal we have ever experienced. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dinner with family

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly, prompt and courteous. The food was outstanding, not an issue with any of the entree's ordered. Modifications/Substitutions were made for items that the party did not particularly care for. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My waiter was amazing. He provided a hap ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My waiter was amazing. He provided a happy Birthday desert and even took a picture of me and my boyfriend and had it printed immediately! I'll definitely be going back for my birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience at this ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at this restaurant. Sure the food was pricey but we certainly got what we paid for. And the staff was incredible, they treated us like we were the only people there & went out of their way to help my parents celebrate their anniversary. I can't say enough good about this place. Just do yourself a favor & try it, you'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

busy

Dined on May 8, 2016

this was our first time we were ever disappointed. it was mothers day and I know it was hectic for the workers. but it took over 1.5 hrs. to get our meal and when we got our steak it was overdone. this being our anniversary I didn't complain. but I did email the manager at ruth chris and suggest when it is a busy day to please put more staff on. we will go again but I hope it was a one time thing

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been there many times very good but Mothers Day 4 of us got the surf and turf steak was medium well on the inside but was burned on the outside very disappointed !

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Experience

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a nice dinner for a special occasion. Everything was perfect. I would recommend for your special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I classify Ruth Chris as an upscale rest ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I classify Ruth Chris as an upscale restaurant. For the prices I spend when dining I expect that the restaurant be playing its part. As I understand peoples appearances are not to be discriminated against, there is no difference than going to TGIFridays and seeing the same people in jeans and baseball hats other than the higher cost value. My waitress Joan was great; never pushy or intrusive. The drinks were delightful. The food was hot, the wait time was minimal and my friend and I enjoyed ourselves.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The music is too loud in the bar. We sat next to the band on Thursday and we couldn't hear ourselves think. We came to have a relaxing dinner and talk and we couldn't hear each other. Also a lot of people were really not paying attention to the band and when they got finished with one song the man playing the organ said "Don't everybody clap at once". I thought that was pretty rude. Even if the whole bar didn't hear him we did since we were sitting right next to them. I thought it was really unprofessional. The music is really not needed they have great back round music that is just the right volume and people come there to relax and enjoy each others company not wanting to scream at each other to be heard.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is our favorite restaurant.

Dined on April 26, 2016

We have been to locations all around the United States and always have a great meal with great service. Can't beat the food served hot and sizzling in hot butter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

should know how to cook a steak to perfection

Dined on April 23, 2016

I ordered a medium well filet, I cut into it and it was rare....didn't see our waitress for 5-7 minutes, my husband had to eat without me while they were recooking it. I wasn't even offered something...a free glass of wine, dessert, etc..... $140 bill , I would like to think everything would be perfect, left there not happy!!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience!

Dined on April 20, 2016

It was a great experience!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great Service, room air temp was cold

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great Food and Service. Room air temp was too cold and blowing directly above our heads making our food get cold quickly. eventually server was able to turn down fans. Server said casino controls the air handler. Why??

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 1, 2016

We ordered 2 appetizers, the chicken entrée, Chilean sea bass, 1 cocktail and 1 bottle of white - all for $164!! Great food and great value!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Our server, Dawn, was excellent. Her ass ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Our server, Dawn, was excellent. Her assistant was equally as great! However, we feel that the manager on duty at the time was awful. His name is Dominick. We asked our server to get a slot host to talk to us. They said they were contacted and would be there shortly. After waiting for 45 minutes and after we had our coffee and dessert, there was still no sign of the slot host. We asked again. This time the manager, Dominick, came back to let us know that the slot host on duty said they cannot do anything further on comp. We asked the name of the slot host and he said "i am not sure of her name. she said nothing could be done." We asked for a specific name and then minutes later he came back stating that Wayne was the slot host on tonight. Wayne is not a she, so we believe that Dominick did not even speak to anyone the first time. Secondly, he gave us the same bill AGAIN that we had in our hand saying there's nothing he could do. I feel that it was very unacceptable that he was not able to get a slot host to talk to us directly on a Tuesday night at 11 p.m. secondly, he took the "no" as a final answer. We eat here often and have never experienced service like this. If it were any other manager, such as Kim, or server, such as Dustin, they would not have accepted that answer. I do hope that someone reaches out to us about our experience tonight because it was not pleasant. We also were there celebrating my partner's 30th birthday and I feel bad that we had to wait over an hour to leave because we were getting the run around. Very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5

Located in casino with lots of smoking. ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Located in casino with lots of smoking. Good was good but not great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, as expected at any ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was amazing, as expected at any Ruth's Chris. I have been to the one in Philly, AC and both in Vegas. Did not think it would hold up to normal standards since in Wilkes-Barre, but it did. Since was my fiancé's first time had the Filet and it was spot on. The wait staff including our main server was professional and knowledgable, being available for our every need while not being intrusive or overbearing. Overall a wonderful experience and if looking for a great steakhouse in that area you will find none better.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was great as always; food was amiss this time however. My wife's steak was under cooked and when the manager brought it back over, he was disingenuous and never followed up to make sure she was happy/satisfied. The mashed potatoes were cold as well. The toasted almond came straight up rather than on the rocks and was completely watered down with too much cream. The green beans were bland as well. That said, my meal was great and had the manager paid a little more attention, perhaps my wife's meal wouldn't have been a travisity.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food is amazing and same as the service!! Don't expect to pay $25 per person. It's pricey but it's worth it!! Make reservations a week ahead of time. One complaint is to the table of morons who were drinking and extremely loud and disruptive. Wishing the manager would have told them to shut up. But oh well.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was our first time at Ruth Chris'. We were extremely impressed. Food was delicious. The food was nice and hot. Service was great. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to everyone. We will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

every thing was perfect from appetizers to desert!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant never fails to deliver. This is my at least fiftieth trip to Ruth's Chris Wilkes-Barre. I have NEVER had a bad meal not a bad experience. Birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine's day or just a romantic interlude this is the spot to go is you want to impress someone or is you are in the mood for an incredible steak and killer seafood! I often find myself trying to re create recipes when I get home because they are all incredible and delicious. No other recipe and no other restaurant compares. I would highly recommend the Calamari and do yourself a favor: get the blue cheese crust when you order your steak! You will thank me later. If your feeling a bit decadent order the berries and cream for dessert and prepare to be amazed! Bon Appetit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Scallops disappoint, shrimp cocktail was supurb.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I thought I'd try the scallops as my entrée. I was very disappointed as they were lacking in any definitive flavor. I ended up leaving 2 of the 4 on my plate. The shrimp cocktail and sauce were excellent, should have doubled down on this. Next time I will order my favorite, the Cowboy Rib eye, Lent or otherwise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service

Dined on February 12, 2016

I LOVE coming to Ruth's Chris. The staff there is extraordinary. They are extremely knowledgable and friendly. The food is plated so beautifully and is delicious. We brought our 9 month old baby to dinner and the waitstaff was playing with her and making sure she was taken care of all throughout dinner. Everything about this meal was amazing and I cannot wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent, prices were very high.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Overall, the evening was wonderful. The price of the meal with sides, and salads were high. Appetizer- scallops were excellent! Salads were very good. Steak- we had the bacon and blue cheese special- I thought there would be more bacon and less blue cheese, but overall all the other food was much better than the steak.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

I thought for a famous "streak house" worst

Dined on February 6, 2016

I only eat my steak medium rare everyone else got there's medium. Mine the the worst overdone of all I couldn't even it it for the price...and the holandise sauce had no flavor. Thank Goodness I had a gift card otherwise it would have bee a total waste of $150.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic food and service. Alwa ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Always fantastic food and service. Always..

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

food review

Dined on January 24, 2016

I found my steak to not be up to typical ruth chris standards

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Everytime we go here to the butter capit ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Everytime we go here to the butter capital ..we order filet medium and it comes rare. So they take it back, recook the same piece of meat snd returns well and dry. The so called chefs don't know what to do when an order comes in that says no butter. They took steak off our bill but my husband basically left hungry.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, as usual, from Ruth Chris'

Dined on January 20, 2016

Outstanding food and service from the staff at the Ruth Chris' here. Michael, our server, was prompt, courteous and did not hover. The location is perfect for a good night out and then hitting the slots (located inside the Casino).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was served really hot and was delic ...

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

Food was served really hot and was delicious. Table felt a little cluttered, as we were seated at a table for four, but were only two of us. The extra table settings were not removed prior to eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Service

Dined on January 10, 2016

Surf and Turf was excellent along with the service and the bar atmosphere was great for a Saturday night. Our party of 4 all had great meals which should come as no surprise to any Ruth Chris costumer. If you don't mind paying top dollar for a great meal, this is your place. Perfect for that special occasion you've been saving for.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Good quality food

Dined on January 10, 2016

waitress was very slow taking orders. didn't ask me if I wanted special sauce with my steak so I forgot. finally did order it and all was good. medium well steak had NO pink in the middle. last time when I ordered medium there was blood on the plate. how do I get a steak with a little pink in the middle. in the end all quality meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak

Dined on January 6, 2016

Ate there three times. Thought I would probably get a bad steak on the third try, but was wrong! Everything was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and great service as usual.

Dined on January 3, 2016

Ruth Chris made my hubbys birthday complete. I sent a message thru open table to please bring my hubby a piece of his fav cake. I was hoping they still had it on their menu as it came up online. The waitress didnt say a word and came out with cake and a candle! She even asked if we wanted a picture taken. Ruth CHris never disappoints!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Fabulous Dinner !

Dined on January 2, 2016

Lobster & Steak Fillet was Perfection ... Loaded Potato was out of this world. Dessert : Creme Brulee. Ruth Chris Steakhouse is the place to go for a social occasion dinner if you are looking for superior food, romantic atmosphere & incredible service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

FANTASTIC FOOD AND WONDERFUL SERVICE. C ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

FANTASTIC FOOD AND WONDERFUL SERVICE. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK FOR ANOTHER DELICIOUS MEAL.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall, very good-but...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Overall our dining experience was very good, but there were a few little minor problems. We ordered a bottle of prosecco, which was good-but not chilled enough. It seemed to be a bit below room temperature. Our starter was very good-the scallops were perfectly seasoned and cooked. My wife asked for her filet to be cooked to medium, and it was more medium rare. I asked for mine to be medium-rare, and it was probably more rare than medium-rare-but it was delicious nonetheless... We ordered mushrooms and lobster mac and cheese as our sides and they were delicious! For dessert we both ordered creme brulee, and it was excellent. We do eat frequently at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, and the experience is very good more often than not...

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service2

First time visiting this establishment. ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

First time visiting this establishment. I won't be returning. Food was highly overpriced. Potatoes and vegetable we ordered were cold when received. Steak was supposed to be superb--not in my book. I've had better steaks for a lot less of a charge! Service was good, but that's about it. Don't waste your time or hard earned money here!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.