About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House at Mohegan Sun serves up exceptional service & sizzling taste. Our signature steaks are seared to perfection at 1800° & topped with fresh butter so they sizzle all the way to your table.
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth’s Chris & treat your special guests to unforgettable dining for your next business gathering, family celebration and all your holiday needs .
From our humble beginnings on Broad Street in New Orleans to our current position as the world's largest fine dining company, Ruth's Chris Steak House has come quite a long way in its first four decades. In 2015, we celebrated our 50th anniversary, & we consider it a celebration of the life of a woman who broke the mold - our founder, Ruth Fertel.

COME JOIN US & EXPERIENCE PERFECTION YOURSELF!!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon : 12pm - 10pm


Tues : 12pm - 10pm


Wed : 12pm - 10pm


Thurs : 12pm - 11pm


Fri : 12pm - 12:30am


Sat : 12pm - 12:30am


Sun : 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 208-2266

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/22489/Wilkes-Barre

Entertainment:
Monday : Live Solo Performers 6pm - 8:30pm


Tuesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Wednesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Thursday : Music for Models 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Friday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Saturday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 8pm - 11pm

Parking Details:
Mohegan Sun Casino parking. Valet parking also available.

Executive Chef:
John Gorrick

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kathi Bankes: 5702082266x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch plus Bloody Mary Bar from 12-3.

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (78)
Romantic (53)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The wait staff a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious. The wait staff are exceptional. I would definitely recommend this place to come for a special occasion, fine dining, or just for an excellent meal. We came for dinner on our 40 anniversary. I am very happy that we picked Ruth Chris for our meal. Thanks so much !!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was great, first time for porterhou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

food was great, first time for porterhouse. Only problem was very long wait for salad even though we asked several times where it was

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was not our first time for dinner. Y ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was not our first time for dinner. Yes it was my birthday and we wanted it to be special. I must say the food, service and ambiance was also special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. The food and ambien ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic as always. The food and ambience was terrific. We love the renovations. The music was amazing too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth Chris at Pocono Downs is always con ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ruth Chris at Pocono Downs is always consistently good. Food and ambiance are great. Service

Is excellent and the food is always cooked just right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. Food value was goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good experience. Food value was good. I would expect to pay for a good steak.

Wine by the glass prices seem to be a little steep.

Overall excellant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Notes on reservation that we would be ce ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Notes on reservation that we would be celebrating my wife's birthday this evening and not a mention of this during our meal. Would have expected at least a happy birthday for the note and price of meals.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

well worth the additional amount charged ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

well worth the additional amount charged because the food is delicious. The service was extremely questionable. I think they must be short handed. Wrong dinners placed in front of us for at least 5 minutes, then taken away. I hope the other patrons didn't receive them.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service and food was delicious

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service and food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The price was very high. I know you have to pay to get the best and our meal was the best. Since we are senior citizens on a fixed income it would be nice to receive a discount so we would be able to go more often. We live approximately 8 miles away and this was the first time we were able to afford to go to dinner there. Thank you for my opinions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was our 33rd wedding anniversary. What a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Was our 33rd wedding anniversary. What a great way to celebrate it. Great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was excellent. Enjoyed our dinner ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Steak was excellent. Enjoyed our dinner! Will go back again when at Mohegun Sun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations for 4. A fifth perso ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I made reservations for 4. A fifth person joined us and the staff was very accommodating to seat all 5 of us. The steaks were perfect, the sides were great and we loved the wine. Our wait person was Victoria. She was never intrusive yet always seemed to be there when we wanted something. Friendly, funny, she made the dining experience complete.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality is excellent. Staff is well ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food quality is excellent. Staff is well trained. We have eaten here numerous times and never had a bad meal. Worth the cost.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live music there was nice, but diferent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Live music there was nice, but diferent music also being played in speakers made it just noisey. Turn off house music when an artist is there?

I answered "yes" to the drink menu but didn't get it.

Both of our side dishes were room temp, my mashed potatoes were soo old and cold they were almost solid again.

The pepper shaker was useless, same as can be found in any dive. Why not a pepper grinder on the table?

I had expected great food, atmosphere, and service. What we recieved was not equal to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A very inviting room. Very good food ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very inviting room. Very good food served at a nice pace-- not too fast or too slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a great evening and the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a great evening and the food was excellent. Two of us had the sea bass and it was 'to die for'. The service was just right. Attentive and experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What an exceptional dining experience! T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What an exceptional dining experience! The service was pleasant and attentive. We were celebrating a birthday and our server took a photo and gave us three copies! I have dined at RuthChris locations over the years. Hiwever, it has been a while since I visited. The steak was absolutely amazing, perfectly seasoned and cooked to order! We were a party of 6 and every one of us could not stop raving about the great tasting steak. The entire dinner could not have been more perfect! Try the fried calamari when you visit - you will not be disappointed.

Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were perfection! Lo ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service and food were perfection! Loved the added touch of surprising us with a dessert wishing us a Happy Anniversary!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to go to in the Wilkes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My favorite place to go to in the Wilkes-Barre area. The service is always fantastic and so is the food. I've never walked out of here disappointed. The best filet and creamed spinach I've ever had. Would easily recommend this restaurant to anyone who doesn't mind spending some money on a nice, relaxing dinner once in a while. Sitting at the booths is much more relaxing than sitting at the tables in the center of the restaurant. Would recommend asking for a booth while booking, it seems almost like you're own private restaurant in a booth.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks; attentive, pleas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food, drinks; attentive, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flawless. My wife and I shared a cowbo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Flawless. My wife and I shared a cowboy ribeye. Perfectly prepared to our request! Personal service! We were checked on numerous times by our waitress and management. One of the most tasty and tender steaks I have ever had! I would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect! Can't wait to di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was perfect! Can't wait to dine at Ruth Chris Steakhouse- Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs again. June, our server, did an excellent job waiting on us and had a great and friendly personality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great staff and food. It is pricey, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

great staff and food. It is pricey, but it is a casino. We go there before walking over to the racetrack. It makes for a fun night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

From the start all was perfect my wife a ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

From the start all was perfect my wife and Iwe're treated great. The food was outstanding as was service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just going out for a bite before the sho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

just going out for a bite before the show. a little more upscale than our usual. lobster app was yummy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried Calamari was tender and tossed wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fried Calamari was tender and tossed with a tasty glaze. New York strip was cooked perfect. Chilean sea-bass was outstanding. We look forward to dining here when visiting Mohegan Sun Pocono.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

T-bone steak was very fatty had much bet ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

T-bone steak was very fatty had much better T-bone steaks elsewhere for far less money

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I went there to celebrate my birthday. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went there to celebrate my birthday. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. We were treated very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Table wasn't ready on time as usual. Service and food were good but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have always wanted to go to Ruth Chris's. The meal we had was by far the absolute best meal either one of us has ever had! From start to end the food was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A fantastic meal. We enjoyed some excellent cocktails to start. The calamari appetizer was very good as well with wonderful, delicate flavors. The 40 oz 'tomahawk' rib-eye served on a sizzling plate was exceptional. It was perfect for sharing. We somehow kept room for the Cheesecake with mixed and fresh berries and the Creme Brulee which were amazing.

Kyra our server was thoughtful and engaging without being obtrusive.

Easily one of, if not the best restaurant in the region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience at Ruth Chris ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always a great experience at Ruth Chris at Mohegan. The staff and quality of food is always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for a nice Ribeye steak and was not disappointed. Cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were excellent. I am a r ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food & service were excellent. I am a repeat diner & always have a great diner.

My reservation was for 7:30, I arrived at 7:22 & was not seated until 7:40. My husband & I always try to arrive promptly for a reservation & appreciate when we are seated on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Ste ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined at several Ruth's Chris Steak Houses in several different cities and we regularly go to the Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, however, this was only the second time we dined here. We had a 7:15 reservation and arrived around 7:05. Our table was not ready, however, the young man at the front (Michael) was somewhat condescending and not sincerely welcoming. He greeted us with a fake smile, we waited a bit while he checked our reservation and said, "yeah, it's going to be closer to 7:15, when your reservation is." I was almost offended by his demeanor. We walked back into the casino and returned promptly at 7:15 when he told us once again, the table was not quite ready, we waited about 5 more minutes and then we were finally seated. I don't mind waiting if a table isn't ready, but it was the attitude of this young man that really turned me off. Our waiter (another Michael) arrived, he was polite & friendly and my bad feelings went away. We placed our order and waited for the food to arrive. The salads arrived, the waiter checked on us & that was the last time we saw him until it was time to deliver our check (actually we saw him spend virtually all of his time at a different table). Our steaks were delivered by a different person and then no one else ever came back to ask if the steaks were cooked satisfactorily or if everything was ok. My steak was ordered rare-med rare it arrived almost well done. It was a filet and was dried out. I ate half of it and then I tracked down another server and asked to send over the waiter as my steak was overcooked. A manager arrived. She was extremely nice, very helpful and very accommodating. She offered to get me a new steak, but I said no as I had eaten half of it already & my husband was done eating. She did take the meal off the bill and I was very grateful for that, it was not what I expected but it was very appreciated. The manager was really the only bright point of this meal and this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love coming to eat at ruth chris' and almost always get the chef's choice menu. I think you should offer a choice of two desserts. The last few times the dessert has been a cheesecake, I'm lactose intolerant and do not eat cheesecake. you should give a seasonal choice, like strawberries this time of year. Other than this complain, I have my choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our server June as well as the staff wer ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

our server June as well as the staff were wonderful and very nice and courtesy just awesome a pleasure

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We like to go there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. We like to go there on a special occasion. You must have their shoestring

fries.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! This is how dinner should be!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.