About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House at Mohegan Sun serves up exceptional service & sizzling taste. Our signature steaks are seared to perfection at 1800° & topped with fresh butter so they sizzle all the way to your table.
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth’s Chris & treat your special guests to unforgettable dining for your next business gathering, family celebration and all your holiday needs .
From our humble beginnings on Broad Street in New Orleans to our current position as the world's largest fine dining company, Ruth's Chris Steak House has come quite a long way in its first four decades. In 2015, we celebrated our 50th anniversary, & we consider it a celebration of the life of a woman who broke the mold - our founder, Ruth Fertel.

COME JOIN US & EXPERIENCE PERFECTION YOURSELF!!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon : 12pm - 10pm


Tues : 12pm - 10pm


Wed : 12pm - 10pm


Thurs : 12pm - 11pm


Fri : 12pm - 12:30am


Sat : 12pm - 12:30am


Sun : 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 208-2266

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/22489/Wilkes-Barre

Entertainment:
Monday : Live Solo Performers 6pm - 8:30pm


Tuesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Wednesday : Phil Hinton 6pm - 8:30pm


Thursday : Music for Models 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Friday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 6:30pm - 9:00pm


Saturday : Ruth's Chris Jazz Trio 8pm - 11pm

Parking Details:
Mohegan Sun Casino parking. Valet parking also available.

Executive Chef:
John Gorrick

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kathi Bankes: 5702082266x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch plus Bloody Mary Bar from 12-3.

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Tomatoe And Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Cheesecake
Scallops
USDA Prime Ribeye
Fresh Baked Bread
Steak and Shrimp
Fillet And Lobster Tail
Green beans
Au Poive Sauce
Mashed Potatoes
Creme Brulee
Iceberg Wedge With Bacon
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Fingerling Potatoes In Dijon Mustard
Chorizo And Bean Soup
Sweet Squash
Baby Spinach Salad w/ Poached Pears, Carmelized Walnuts & Feta Cheese in vinaigrette
Molten Chocolate Cake
Ahi tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
11 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (51)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
great for lunch (20)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakh ...

Dined 6 days ago

My best friend loves Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, so every year on her birthday we try out another one of the restaurants. Our favorite main course is the chicken breasts stuffed with cheese. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is excellent.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We have gone to your restaurant several ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have gone to your restaurant several times this time was very disappointing. It was our wedding anniversary we were very rushed there wasn't any time between courses. We were in a very crowded room very close to the next table . Had to ask three times to three different wait staff for a bread refill and a glass of ice. It just wasn't what are experience had been in the past . In fact we may consider not going back after this past Saturday . The food was excellent but we usually enjoy the entire experience. In fact last year when we celebrated our anniversary they took a cute picture of us and gave us a Ruth Chris memento frame none of that happened this time either .

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The service was excellent, however the f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent, however the food was very disappointing. My wife ordered the filet, medium well, came out medium rare, I ordered the NY strip, medium and it came out well done and dried out. The lettuce wedge was very watery and tasteless, the stuffed baked potato was dry and hardly "stuffed".

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten here a few times for both lun ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've eaten here a few times for both lunch and dinner. Exceptional service and the food is just fabulous. The bar area is fun and often has live music. They have a 'bistro' menu offered in the bar area along with the main dinner menu. The prices are in the higher range, but so worth it! The white sangria is great :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Ruth's Chris is expensive. All steakhous ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Ruth's Chris is expensive. All steakhouses are. But excellent service usually is the norm. Not so at Ruth's Chris - Mohegan Sun Poconos. We were seated promptly but then waited more than 20 minutes to receive service. In fact to receive service it was necessary for me to track down the manager on duty. His explanation; "sorry but you slipped between the cracks". No one had been assigned to our table. Unacceptable anywhere but especially so when steaks are sold at $85 per pound.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I probably consider us regulars here as ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I probably consider us regulars here as we have been here at least 15 times. Need I say more. The food is consistenly good and the service is very pleasant. It was our anniversay and they were very nice to bring out a special dessert and did not charge us for it. Really like this place. The casino is right outside of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Ruth's Chris Steak House to cel ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We chose Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate two anniversaries and also because one of the couples had never been there. It didn't disappoint. The food and the service were exceptional and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our sixth visit to this restaura ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is our sixth visit to this restaurant this year. We have never been disappointed. The food and the service are over the top. Our food is always perfectly prepared and expertly served. The entire staff is friendly and very accommodating. We always have cocktails at our table before dinner and are given time to enjoy them before our meal is served. This has become our favorite restaurant for all of our special occasions and any time we want to enjoy a very special meal. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Jenn was excellent.. Food a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our waitress Jenn was excellent.. Food and wine were exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our food came to the table in a timely fashion. Everything was prepared to our liking. As usual, the cheesecake was out of this world!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dress Code

Dined on May 31, 2016

I was very disappointed to have some people in the restaurant dining with baseball caps and t shirts. Most people were dressed in proper attire. It took away from the ambiance to see you do not enforce any kind of dress code. They also put a table of 8 men in the room where the rest of the tables were for 4 people. It made for a very noisy room. The food was very good and the wait staff were very nice and helpful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & Service

Dined on May 29, 2016

Waiters were very professional and also extremely friendly. Will definitely come back .

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Highlight of a birthday weekend!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Thanks so much to the manager and the staff who made this dinner such a wonderful experience for my boyfriend's birthday!!! My requests and so much more were met with excellence. My bf is active military (nearly 20 years), and they treated us with even greater hospitality on top of an amazing birthday dessert treat. I will definitely consider taking him back for his retirement event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Not really worth the steep price

Dined on May 22, 2016

The meal was good, but not great. I've had the same quality steak at half the price elsewhere. Small portions on the sides, but tasty. Room was very dark and relatively loud. The best part of the experience was the staff at the reception area. They were friendly and very helpful. I really wanted to like the restaurant, but it fell far short of my expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steaks great crab cakes and a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent steaks great crab cakes and a fine chicken dish for non red meat eater made for an overall great time for all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Everything.

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was an excellent experience. The food, service, ambiance, everything was great. If you want the best experiece, go there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dustin was a great server. We have enoj ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Dustin was a great server. We have enojoyed his service before. A visit to Ruth Chris at Mohegan Sun Pocono is definitely a sepecial event and one we look forward to a couple of times per year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak H ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First time to visit Ruth's Chris Steak House - truly the very best meal we have ever experienced. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dinner with family

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly, prompt and courteous. The food was outstanding, not an issue with any of the entree's ordered. Modifications/Substitutions were made for items that the party did not particularly care for. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My waiter was amazing. He provided a hap ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My waiter was amazing. He provided a happy Birthday desert and even took a picture of me and my boyfriend and had it printed immediately! I'll definitely be going back for my birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience at this ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at this restaurant. Sure the food was pricey but we certainly got what we paid for. And the staff was incredible, they treated us like we were the only people there & went out of their way to help my parents celebrate their anniversary. I can't say enough good about this place. Just do yourself a favor & try it, you'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

busy

Dined on May 8, 2016

this was our first time we were ever disappointed. it was mothers day and I know it was hectic for the workers. but it took over 1.5 hrs. to get our meal and when we got our steak it was overdone. this being our anniversary I didn't complain. but I did email the manager at ruth chris and suggest when it is a busy day to please put more staff on. we will go again but I hope it was a one time thing

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been there many times very good but Mothers Day 4 of us got the surf and turf steak was medium well on the inside but was burned on the outside very disappointed !

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Experience

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a nice dinner for a special occasion. Everything was perfect. I would recommend for your special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I classify Ruth Chris as an upscale rest ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I classify Ruth Chris as an upscale restaurant. For the prices I spend when dining I expect that the restaurant be playing its part. As I understand peoples appearances are not to be discriminated against, there is no difference than going to TGIFridays and seeing the same people in jeans and baseball hats other than the higher cost value. My waitress Joan was great; never pushy or intrusive. The drinks were delightful. The food was hot, the wait time was minimal and my friend and I enjoyed ourselves.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The music is too loud in the bar. We sat next to the band on Thursday and we couldn't hear ourselves think. We came to have a relaxing dinner and talk and we couldn't hear each other. Also a lot of people were really not paying attention to the band and when they got finished with one song the man playing the organ said "Don't everybody clap at once". I thought that was pretty rude. Even if the whole bar didn't hear him we did since we were sitting right next to them. I thought it was really unprofessional. The music is really not needed they have great back round music that is just the right volume and people come there to relax and enjoy each others company not wanting to scream at each other to be heard.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris is our favorite restaurant.

Dined on April 26, 2016

We have been to locations all around the United States and always have a great meal with great service. Can't beat the food served hot and sizzling in hot butter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

should know how to cook a steak to perfection

Dined on April 23, 2016

I ordered a medium well filet, I cut into it and it was rare....didn't see our waitress for 5-7 minutes, my husband had to eat without me while they were recooking it. I wasn't even offered something...a free glass of wine, dessert, etc..... $140 bill , I would like to think everything would be perfect, left there not happy!!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience!

Dined on April 20, 2016

It was a great experience!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great Service, room air temp was cold

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great Food and Service. Room air temp was too cold and blowing directly above our heads making our food get cold quickly. eventually server was able to turn down fans. Server said casino controls the air handler. Why??

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 1, 2016

We ordered 2 appetizers, the chicken entrée, Chilean sea bass, 1 cocktail and 1 bottle of white - all for $164!! Great food and great value!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Our server, Dawn, was excellent. Her ass ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Our server, Dawn, was excellent. Her assistant was equally as great! However, we feel that the manager on duty at the time was awful. His name is Dominick. We asked our server to get a slot host to talk to us. They said they were contacted and would be there shortly. After waiting for 45 minutes and after we had our coffee and dessert, there was still no sign of the slot host. We asked again. This time the manager, Dominick, came back to let us know that the slot host on duty said they cannot do anything further on comp. We asked the name of the slot host and he said "i am not sure of her name. she said nothing could be done." We asked for a specific name and then minutes later he came back stating that Wayne was the slot host on tonight. Wayne is not a she, so we believe that Dominick did not even speak to anyone the first time. Secondly, he gave us the same bill AGAIN that we had in our hand saying there's nothing he could do. I feel that it was very unacceptable that he was not able to get a slot host to talk to us directly on a Tuesday night at 11 p.m. secondly, he took the "no" as a final answer. We eat here often and have never experienced service like this. If it were any other manager, such as Kim, or server, such as Dustin, they would not have accepted that answer. I do hope that someone reaches out to us about our experience tonight because it was not pleasant. We also were there celebrating my partner's 30th birthday and I feel bad that we had to wait over an hour to leave because we were getting the run around. Very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5

Located in casino with lots of smoking. ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Located in casino with lots of smoking. Good was good but not great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, as expected at any ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food was amazing, as expected at any Ruth's Chris. I have been to the one in Philly, AC and both in Vegas. Did not think it would hold up to normal standards since in Wilkes-Barre, but it did. Since was my fiancé's first time had the Filet and it was spot on. The wait staff including our main server was professional and knowledgable, being available for our every need while not being intrusive or overbearing. Overall a wonderful experience and if looking for a great steakhouse in that area you will find none better.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was great as always; food was amiss this time however. My wife's steak was under cooked and when the manager brought it back over, he was disingenuous and never followed up to make sure she was happy/satisfied. The mashed potatoes were cold as well. The toasted almond came straight up rather than on the rocks and was completely watered down with too much cream. The green beans were bland as well. That said, my meal was great and had the manager paid a little more attention, perhaps my wife's meal wouldn't have been a travisity.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food is amazing and same as the service!! Don't expect to pay $25 per person. It's pricey but it's worth it!! Make reservations a week ahead of time. One complaint is to the table of morons who were drinking and extremely loud and disruptive. Wishing the manager would have told them to shut up. But oh well.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was our first time at Ruth Chris'. We were extremely impressed. Food was delicious. The food was nice and hot. Service was great. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to everyone. We will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

every thing was perfect from appetizers to desert!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant never fails to deliver. This is my at least fiftieth trip to Ruth's Chris Wilkes-Barre. I have NEVER had a bad meal not a bad experience. Birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine's day or just a romantic interlude this is the spot to go is you want to impress someone or is you are in the mood for an incredible steak and killer seafood! I often find myself trying to re create recipes when I get home because they are all incredible and delicious. No other recipe and no other restaurant compares. I would highly recommend the Calamari and do yourself a favor: get the blue cheese crust when you order your steak! You will thank me later. If your feeling a bit decadent order the berries and cream for dessert and prepare to be amazed! Bon Appetit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Scallops disappoint, shrimp cocktail was supurb.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I thought I'd try the scallops as my entrée. I was very disappointed as they were lacking in any definitive flavor. I ended up leaving 2 of the 4 on my plate. The shrimp cocktail and sauce were excellent, should have doubled down on this. Next time I will order my favorite, the Cowboy Rib eye, Lent or otherwise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service

Dined on February 12, 2016

I LOVE coming to Ruth's Chris. The staff there is extraordinary. They are extremely knowledgable and friendly. The food is plated so beautifully and is delicious. We brought our 9 month old baby to dinner and the waitstaff was playing with her and making sure she was taken care of all throughout dinner. Everything about this meal was amazing and I cannot wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.