About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis

6120 Poplar Avenue, Regalia Shopping Center
Regalia Shopping Center
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (901) 761-0055 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Memphis, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ridgeway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-0055

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/memphis

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Memphis, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available adjacent to the restaurant including handicap accessible.

Executive Chef:
Tim Rouzier

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Flournoy: 9013596506x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Walnut & Blue Cheese Salad
Barbecued Fish
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Lobster Mac And C
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Blackberry Sidecar
Broad Street Hurricane
Bananna Creme Pie
Filet With Garlic Mashed Potatoes
seafood gumbo
Steak and Shrimp
Apple Pie
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
9 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

special occasion (42)
romantic (32)
notable wine list (19)
See All
good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our ...

Dined 4 days ago

We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our 15th anniversary and it was an amazing experience from the moment we walked through the door. Our table was decorated with roses petals and everyone that came to our table wished us happy anniversary. Food was amazing. Service was top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Ive been to Ruth's Chris before and love ...

Dined 5 days ago

Ive been to Ruth's Chris before and loved it. My husband had never been, so we decided to try it for our 20th anniversary. When reserving through OpenTable, I let them know it was our Anniversay, and that we liked to eat quickly and didn't like slot of chit chat. It kind of backfired, because they hardly stopped by to check on us. We did have a card and rose petals on the table waiting for us, as well as a free dessert that was delicious. The biggest disappointment was the food, especially the steaks. They were served on the sizzling plates, but had no flavor. The veal osso bucco ravioli appetizer was delicious, but our sides (fire roasted corn & lobster mac & cheese) were over-salted.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They need to bring back the banana cream ...

Dined 7 days ago

They need to bring back the banana cream pie for sure. Brussels sprouts were a little tuff but they removed them from the bill. The rest of the meal was outstanding. Service was great as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful evening! From being gr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

What a wonderful evening! From being greeted at door, seated at the table, serving the meal, pouring the wine, and checking on us. Every minute at Ruth Cris was special. And I consider myself a regular.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

We hadn't been here for several years, but the food and service is still as wonderful as always. It is an expensive place to eat, but the quality is excellent, and you won't be disappointed. Specialty drinks were great, and the filet was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My view was beautifulc,& nice view coming,&going..

Dined on May 31, 2016

Me,& my husband will be back real soon,& we are going to pick a guest, or some friends .. This place is the best for us...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had barely mentioned my girls graduati ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had barely mentioned my girls graduation when changing a reservation time , when we arrived the table was beautifully created with "Congrats" all over. It was such a welcome surprise that made our night even more special. We were there with 3 teens and one young teen, they treated them with respect which they greatly appreciated. Was an amazing night with great food, drinks and service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Went specifically for the bread pudding. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went specifically for the bread pudding. They replaced it with a bland substitution. Very disappointed

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful way to celebrate Mother's Da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful way to celebrate Mother's Day. Mothers received a red rose at diner's end. Nice touch. Food quality and level of service worth the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service were outstanding as usual. Our favorite restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service2

I have given this restaurant several cha ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I have given this restaurant several chances and will finally not be going back again. The servers lack professionalism and the food quality is poor. My steak was either veiny or overcooked or way undercooked in 4 of the past 5 visits. There seems to be no true concern from management.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best place to order steak overall in Mem ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Best place to order steak overall in Memphis in my opinion (always cooked exactly how I ordered unlike some other steak houses in the area). The side potatoes and cream spinach lack seasoning, but the calamari appetizer makes up for it

food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice EXPENSIVE dining experience. I ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very nice EXPENSIVE dining experience. I enjoyed my first time. The food was good. Everything is a la cart however.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was very good and the food was great. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak dinner in Memphis!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazing experience from start to finish! Attentive waitstaff, hot and delicious food. We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to Detail

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

I believe this restaurant staff pays the most attention to detail of any restaurant I have visited in a long time. The general manager roams the dining room to be sure all the guests are getting everything they need. The food is outstanding and the servers are very attentive. Ruth Chris Memphis sets the bar very high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual

Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent as usual

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

It took over an hour for our entrees to be served while tables around us who arrived later got their food! However, manager apologized profusely, and offered free desserts and paid for our appetizer. Food was excellent when it arrived.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing! We tried everything ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food is amazing! We tried everything written in red. It did not disappoint.

food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak not of good grade for the price.

Dined on March 14, 2016

For a steak place at that price, the ribeye was dry, a little burnt and chewy. I would say medium quality not marbled enough for USDA Prime.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Pleasant Atmosphere

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our first time at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The wait staff was very friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable about the food and restaurant. The food was very good and service time was good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Absolutely the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as usual with excellent food ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding as usual with excellent food, service, management, and overall experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Meal

Dined on February 27, 2016

As a vegetarian I was happily surprised at the meal I was able to have while my husband enjoyed the best steak he has ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Steakhouse

Dined on February 24, 2016

Appetizers a bit wanting, mostly standard fare, not much creativity. Good steaks, not necessarily outstanding. Excellent service makes for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service. Best food.

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We had an absolute amazing experience at Ruth Chris. The portion size of the food was great, and the food was cooked to perfection. We were absolutely impressed with the wait staff, especially Trevor and Logan. They paid attention to every detail, and we were never left wanting for anything. We will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

it was okay......

Dined on February 20, 2016

Don't get me wrong, we had a great time, but I ordered an 11 oz filet for $49 bucks and it was just a bad cut of meat. My husband got the same thing and thank goodness he shared his with me. Mine was so tough I couldn't chew it and I let everyone at the table try it and all agreed. The couple that was with us took it home for their dog, so I am sure he was a happy camper. All in all the food was good. Brussels spouts needed salt and flavor (garlic maybe) and to cook a little more. I was disappointed in the asparagus, while I know they are not to be mushy, they were so crunchy and tough It was like they were raw. Mac and cheese was a hit though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Reastaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was a great dining experience, our reservations were for 9:30 pm but they were able to seat us at 8:30 pm. The food was absolutely delicious from the wine to the entrée. Our waiter did an outstanding job also, Ruth Chris gets 10 stars from me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was yet another outstanding Ruth's ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

This was yet another outstanding Ruth's Chris experience for Valentine's Day lunch. I would love to compliment both the hostess / management staff who don't even need to ask my name upon arrival. Also, our waitress Linda was superb as always. Most importantly, the food was delicious. I will continue to return here as my favorite overall restaurant experience in Memphis.

food4
ambience1
service1

Hostess was great! Waiter's assistant w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Hostess was great! Waiter's assistant was very attentive. Waiter was not good; he was either pushing us to order more quickly or was not to be found. Ruth's Chris has been our favorite restaurant in Memphis for years -- but not anymore.

food4
ambience4
service3

As usual, the steaks were great. This ti ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

As usual, the steaks were great. This time, however, the service was not up to standard. Michelle was our server and she was just fair. When we first were seated, she asked us if we have been to the restaurant before. We answered that we had. She took the bottle of wine we brought with us and asked if we wanted it decanted. Again, we said yes. When Michelle returned with the wine, she again asked if we had been to Ruth's and after we answered yes, she asked us if we wanted the wine decanted - even though she had the decanter on her tray. Again, the steaks were perfectly prepared but the service fell short.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first time here. We were ce ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our first time here. We were celebrating our 11th anniversary. We loved the service! I think it was well worth the money we spent. Managers came over to the table twice to see if everything was alright. They also left their cards just in case we had any comments or questions. This is our new favorite restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinning experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was outstanding the filet mignon was cooked exactly the way I ordered it.....perfect! Large wine selection with recommendations from the waiter who did an excellent job. Everything was great I definitely plan to return when in Memphis!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Not as good as it once was. The last tim ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Not as good as it once was. The last time we were here the service and food were not good. Worst this time. Server was new and awkward. Too expensive for what you get.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was outstanding. When our waiter ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Service was outstanding. When our waiter, Trevor, was unavailable Jerry came over to check on us. We took our time and were not pushed to hurry.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fit for Celebration

Dined on January 29, 2016

This was our first trip to Ruth's Chris. Our daughter had given us a gift card and we saved it to use for our anniversary/birthday celebration. When we told our server, Desiree, about our celebration, she returned with rose petals and confetti to put on our table. Well, that was certainly an added treat! My husband ordered the filet and I ordered the salmon...both EXCELLENT choices. Our entire evening was spectacular and definitely worthy of celebrating two special occasions. The ambiance was perfect. When you go, do yourself a favor and ask to be seated so that Desiree is your server!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was another perfect dinner from sta ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

This was another perfect dinner from start to finish from the greeting with the hostess, interaction with management, outstanding food and dinner service with Sonia. I will obviously keep returning regularly. Thank you Ruth's Chris for always taking care of me and my family!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy it

Dined on January 19, 2016

Totally happy with our food. Our waitress was Desiree and she was both very helpful and a delight !!! Thank you to her !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Usually excellent Ribeye... This time, not so much

Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I always dine at Ruth Chris... Tonight my ribeye steak was not as good.. It wasn't juicy or seasoned as well as it is typically... Also the service from our waiter was bland and it felt rushed... He was like a "forced courtesy"...Not the typical experience I've come to expect from Ruth Chris.. Will definitely return, but I would not have the same waiter & the next time I would send the steak back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.