Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (901) 761-0055 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Memphis, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

6120 Poplar Avenue, Regalia Shopping Center
Regalia Shopping Center
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ridgeway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-0055

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/memphis

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Memphis, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available adjacent to the restaurant including handicap accessible.

Executive Chef:
Tim Rouzier

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Flournoy: (901) 359-6506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Private Room (6)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was hot, sizzling and seasoned. The service was great and the atmosphere was great. Our server was kind and friendly and ready whenever we needed him. I'll definitely go back and I recommend the cocktails!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. We came for a date night and it was lovely. My husband had the T-bone steak and I had the lamb chops. We ordered the trio sauces ( fabulous). The lobster mac and cheese was okay. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We prefer non-chain restaurants but gave this a try. Very pricey. We typically spend $100-$125 for a nice dinner once a week, but this was way beyond that and not as good as locally owned restaurants we frequent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The steaks were pretty good. They have been better here. The sides came out cold. They are too pricey for what you get and how you get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, wonderful food and dining experience-- Service was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good dining experience. Server was extremely efficient and quick witted.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My steak over cooked but tasted great so I didn't complain
They've redecorated and it's very nice
I'd definitely go back...great service
One other problem...yikes it's expensive

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I took several friends there to celebrate a business deal and we had an excellent time. We were treated well, the manager was very friendly and we enjoyed a great evening and terrific food...Lobster Mac and Cheese is awesome..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very fine steak place. I enjoyed the bone-in filet; The regular filet may be as good, though. We chose potatoes au-gratin this time along with the cream spinach. The cheesecake is delicious - perhaps too large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Husbands Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The steaks were excellent, Trisha ate her complete steak . This not usual for her at all, she always takes a doggie bag.

Great place & location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary. Ruth Cris helped make our day special. Our wait person was Desiree. Focused, organized and attentive. She lifted the experience to a very happy time. Loved the meal as always. But Desiree and her assistant were great.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was amazing. Our steaks were okay not worthy of the price. The sweet potato casserole was by far the best thing I've had to eat in a long time. If we come back, i hope the steaks are better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was our first time here We really enjoy our self the food was good the only thing that I would like yall to add is have frozen daiquiris or something on the menu for us ladys

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good but not great. We have been eating here for years and we were disappointed. Service was great as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service is what makes this place stand out above other fine dining restraunts

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I found Ruth Chris's to be a very enjoyable eating experience. The greeting from the staff was warm and cordial. Everyone was very well informed about everything from wines to food preparation. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is the BEST steak I have ever had! The staff were extremely accomodating and provided great service! I would definitely recommend Ruth's Chris Steakhouse to any and all of my friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience and food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience at this Ruth's location was top notch. From the moment we entered the restaurant, our experience was just great. Desiree, who had called to confirm our reservation, came to the table after we were seated. She noticed my husband was deaf and began speaking to us in American Sign Language (ASL). Though we are not fluent in ASL, this meant the world to us. She also told us to let her know if we needed anything at all. Then, our server, Chris, was amazing. He provided exceptional service without being overbearing. To top it all off, at the very end he informed us that another table had paid for our meal! Apparently, someone had paid for their meal and they wanted to pay it forward! We were so grateful and decided to use our gift card (which was going to pay for our meal) to pay for another table's meal. The entire experience, from start to finish, was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I frequently eat at Ruth's Chris Memphis. This is our optimal setting to celebrate special occasions such as anniversaries and Valentine's Day. Each memory is a very good one. Regardless of how many times we visit and despite the fact that we have been visiting for years, the service and the cuisine keeps becoming even more impressive. Continue the nice work!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We enjoyed a great dinner!! Great staff and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Last year, February 2016, was our first time at this restaurant. We loved it! This year we decided to go back because it was so romantic last year. This year we got a booth by the freezing door! We could not eat in peace because people were standing around our table waiting on their table! Our steaks were over cooked! It was a really rushed feel last night. This is our last time spending my hard earned money in this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was excellent and the food delicious .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We celebrated a late Christmas dinner during the month of January 2017 and we were so pleased with our waiter and the entire staff. Great teamwork and great attitude! We were impressed with the size of filet we had as well as the scalloped potatoes! Side dishes are big enough for two, the bread was definitely a great treat! The atmosphere is more vibrant rather than some of the dark places that serve high end steaks around Memphis Tennessee. The wine list and cocktails were reasonably priced as well. Friends have recommended going to dinner at this restaurant during Happy Hours to get the best food and drinks for your money. It's nice to be able to dine at such a nice place and get a great deal. We went on a Weekend night so we did not take advantage of the Happy Hour specials but we will definitely remember the friends recommendations. The other customers seemed to be in a great mood as well and were talking with us about what food we had on our table as well as giving us suggestions on their favorite dishes. That was a bright part of our evening as well. It is important to me that others around me are happy and having a good time. When you are surrounded by people who complain about everything and then they spread out their dissatisfaction with everyone else they ruin your evening and dinner. Of course that is something that bothers me but maybe not everyone feels that way.

If I had to say anything that could be improved with Ruths' Chris it would have to be the wait for our table. We had reservations made and we still had to wait for the table. Our reservation didn't seem to get us in any quicker. The service seemed to make up for that shortfall at the front.
The best part about ou visit was that we did feel important and seemed to be a priority at the table. With all of the different restaurants in the area like Flemmings, Stoney River. I would have to say that this is now my preferred place to go in the area of Poplar Avenue and 240. Great!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful. The food was good, as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with authentic New Orleans dishes. We are from New Orleans so we especially enjoy things like shrimp remoulade, crawfish bisque, etc. Always a pleasurable experience at Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our food was wonderful! I had the bone-in ribeye and my wife had the petite filet. Best steaks we've ever had!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was great and the food even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was the first time back in quite some time. I was quickly reminded of why this is one of the best restaurants in Memphis. Our server was Logan, and he was flawless. Great mixture of professionalism and personality to make the night that much more enjoyable. The manager in charge was Cody Hulsey, and he made sure every last detail of the evening was perfect! We were there to celebrate a successful procedure that I had done that morning. When our desert was brought out, the extra detail of a "congratulations" was written in chocolate across the plate. Although this was not requested, it capped off what truly was a great evening. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a great meal, or place to celebrate any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dinner was outstanding as always! The surf and turf was delicious and impeccable service as always with Sonia. Thanks for an excellent dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Think the food was overpriced compared to other restaurants. Food was good, ambiance was lacking.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress Michelle was awesome gave great recommendations in food drinks and dessert. The food was excellent and service outstanding. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My parents brought me for my Birthday! Sonya our server and everyone else we came into contact with were Amazing. Kevin, I believe the manager was also Amazing. Service was quick and efficient and all were very observant. Thank you so much for the experience and the hand written Birthday card. I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at RC. The steak was cooked perfectly, the service was attentive and friendly without overkill, a value menu is available for those on a budget, valet parking is available. We are not wine experts, but found a familiar one that we know we enjoy. Our request for a quiet spot was accommodated cheerfully. We would recommend for date or special occasion evening.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Steaks are great! Really need more wine choices! Need to enforce a better dress code. One woman was sitting in a booth wearing a ball cap.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The steak was perfect, the waiter Shay was very good, not overbearing yet very accommodating. It was our 46th anniversary and the choice was a good one. We said we will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrate at Ruth's every NYE's and this year was one of our best years. RC really got it right this year. We were seated on time for our reservation, our service was good, and our food was excellent! they did an excellent job this year managing crowd control and reducing the appearance of chaos. Cheers RC crew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve and had a fantastic waitress. Sweet, attentive, and personable. She didn't rush us out. Have eaten there before but don't know if new manager or not but food was hot, good, and cooked correct,y. Delicious. Great night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.