About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis

6120 Poplar Avenue, Regalia Shopping Center
Regalia Shopping Center
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (901) 761-0055 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Memphis, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ridgeway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-0055

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/memphis

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Memphis, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available adjacent to the restaurant including handicap accessible.

Executive Chef:
Tim Rouzier

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Flournoy: (901) 359-6506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our first time here We really enj ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

It was our first time here We really enjoy our self the food was good the only thing that I would like yall to add is have frozen daiquiris or something on the menu for us ladys

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good but not great. We have be ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but not great. We have been eating here for years and we were disappointed. Service was great as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service is what makes this place stand o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Service is what makes this place stand out above other fine dining restraunts

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found Ruth Chris's to be a very enjoya ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I found Ruth Chris's to be a very enjoyable eating experience. The greeting from the staff was warm and cordial. Everyone was very well informed about everything from wines to food preparation. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the BEST steak I have ever had! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is the BEST steak I have ever had! The staff were extremely accomodating and provided great service! I would definitely recommend Ruth's Chris Steakhouse to any and all of my friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and food.

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience and food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at this Ruth's location w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience at this Ruth's location was top notch. From the moment we entered the restaurant, our experience was just great. Desiree, who had called to confirm our reservation, came to the table after we were seated. She noticed my husband was deaf and began speaking to us in American Sign Language (ASL). Though we are not fluent in ASL, this meant the world to us. She also told us to let her know if we needed anything at all. Then, our server, Chris, was amazing. He provided exceptional service without being overbearing. To top it all off, at the very end he informed us that another table had paid for our meal! Apparently, someone had paid for their meal and they wanted to pay it forward! We were so grateful and decided to use our gift card (which was going to pay for our meal) to pay for another table's meal. The entire experience, from start to finish, was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I frequently eat at Ruth' ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I frequently eat at Ruth's Chris Memphis. This is our optimal setting to celebrate special occasions such as anniversaries and Valentine's Day. Each memory is a very good one. Regardless of how many times we visit and despite the fact that we have been visiting for years, the service and the cuisine keeps becoming even more impressive. Continue the nice work!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a great dinner!! Great staff ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We enjoyed a great dinner!! Great staff and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last year, February 2016, was our first ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Last year, February 2016, was our first time at this restaurant. We loved it! This year we decided to go back because it was so romantic last year. This year we got a booth by the freezing door! We could not eat in peace because people were standing around our table waiting on their table! Our steaks were over cooked! It was a really rushed feel last night. This is our last time spending my hard earned money in this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The service was excellent and the food d ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was excellent and the food delicious .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was wonderful. The food w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful. The food was good, as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant with authentic New ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with authentic New Orleans dishes. We are from New Orleans so we especially enjoy things like shrimp remoulade, crawfish bisque, etc. Always a pleasurable experience at Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful! I had the bone-i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our food was wonderful! I had the bone-in ribeye and my wife had the petite filet. Best steaks we've ever had!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was great and the food even ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was great and the food even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was the first time back in quite so ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was the first time back in quite some time. I was quickly reminded of why this is one of the best restaurants in Memphis. Our server was Logan, and he was flawless. Great mixture of professionalism and personality to make the night that much more enjoyable. The manager in charge was Cody Hulsey, and he made sure every last detail of the evening was perfect! We were there to celebrate a successful procedure that I had done that morning. When our desert was brought out, the extra detail of a "congratulations" was written in chocolate across the plate. Although this was not requested, it capped off what truly was a great evening. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a great meal, or place to celebrate any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was outstanding as always! The su ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dinner was outstanding as always! The surf and turf was delicious and impeccable service as always with Sonia. Thanks for an excellent dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Think the food was overpriced compared t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Think the food was overpriced compared to other restaurants. Food was good, ambiance was lacking.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our waitress Michelle was awesome gave g ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress Michelle was awesome gave great recommendations in food drinks and dessert. The food was excellent and service outstanding. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My parents brought me for my Birthday! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My parents brought me for my Birthday! Sonya our server and everyone else we came into contact with were Amazing. Kevin, I believe the manager was also Amazing. Service was quick and efficient and all were very observant. Thank you so much for the experience and the hand written Birthday card. I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our evening at RC. Th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at RC. The steak was cooked perfectly, the service was attentive and friendly without overkill, a value menu is available for those on a budget, valet parking is available. We are not wine experts, but found a familiar one that we know we enjoy. Our request for a quiet spot was accommodated cheerfully. We would recommend for date or special occasion evening.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks are great! Really need more wine ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Steaks are great! Really need more wine choices! Need to enforce a better dress code. One woman was sitting in a booth wearing a ball cap.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was perfect, the waiter Shay w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The steak was perfect, the waiter Shay was very good, not overbearing yet very accommodating. It was our 46th anniversary and the choice was a good one. We said we will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate at Ruth's every NYE's and t ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrate at Ruth's every NYE's and this year was one of our best years. RC really got it right this year. We were seated on time for our reservation, our service was good, and our food was excellent! they did an excellent job this year managing crowd control and reducing the appearance of chaos. Cheers RC crew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for New Years Eve and had a fantast ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve and had a fantastic waitress. Sweet, attentive, and personable. She didn't rush us out. Have eaten there before but don't know if new manager or not but food was hot, good, and cooked correct,y. Delicious. Great night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic!.....as usual.

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!.....as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My entire family enjoyed our New Year's ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My entire family enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner! Although the specials were smartly limited to the more expensive items, everything tasted outstanding. As always, the service was great as well. Thanks for all the great dinners this year and look forward to many more in 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our beverage server was excellent as wel ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our beverage server was excellent as well as the entree servers. Good food as always. Very atttentive

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I decided celebrate my birthday here and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I decided celebrate my birthday here and I enjoyed every minute of it. My food as well as the drinks were great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. They acknowledged that we were celebrating my birthday and had the table set up just for me. I enjoyed that very much.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reserved a table and was on time for the ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Reserved a table and was on time for the reservation and didn't get seated until a hour later or more. I was and still upset about the whole situation. And after the wait the waiter was horrible. Make a bad day worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Ruth's Chris is always a great experienc ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ruth's Chris is always a great experience. Christmas Dinner was awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry the manager was terrific and kind. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Jerry the manager was terrific and kind. We had just return from a trip out of state to attend my father's funeral, and it was important for us to have a relaxing, private dining experience. Jerry, the servers Janine, and Connor were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, overall, was good, but no wher ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food, overall, was good, but no where near "great". I can consistently prepare a better steak at home on my charcoal grill than the national chain steakhouses, which all cook meat the same way- in an oven. And without the Midtown Manhattan "expense account" check. Nice for a change if you're trying to impress someone who's not very discerning, but there are many better, more interesting, restaurants in Memphis than Ruth's Chris, Fleming's, Capital Grille, etc. But hey! No surprises.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the few restaurants open on Chris ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the few restaurants open on Christmas that lives up to its everyday food & service! Thank you Ruth's Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service was absolutely amazin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner and service was absolutely amazing. Thanks for a wonderful Christmas dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Ruth Chris. Merry Christ ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We always enjoy Ruth Chris. Merry Christmas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sadly, the filet had no taste whatsoever ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sadly, the filet had no taste whatsoever. We were disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome as always!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Literally everything was just perfect. F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Literally everything was just perfect. From the friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive service to the outstanding food. Our first time at this location, and it absolutely lived up to or exceeded Ruth's Chris' reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.