About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis

6120 Poplar Avenue, Regalia Shopping Center
Regalia Shopping Center
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (901) 761-0055 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Memphis, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Ridgeway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-0055

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/memphis

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Memphis, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available adjacent to the restaurant including handicap accessible.

Executive Chef:
Tim Rouzier

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Flournoy: 9013596506x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis
Walnut & Blue Cheese Salad
Barbecued Fish
Lobster Mac And C
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Blackberry Sidecar
Broad Street Hurricane
Bananna Creme Pie
Filet With Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Steak and Shrimp
seafood gumbo
Apple Pie
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
9 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (26)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very attentive and gracious service prov ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very attentive and gracious service providers. All staff were pleasant and extremely responsive. Steak was perfectly cooked and so tender you could have cut it with your fork. Fries were soggy when they got to the table from steam coming up under a cloth napkin in which they were enclosed. I love crispy shoestring fries and got the steak just for that reason. Will go with another side next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good and service were outstanding.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This evening was another excellent dinne ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

This evening was another excellent dinner with outstanding food and service. Once again, I look forward to many more future visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time !

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great time !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have an excellent server. She patient ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have an excellent server. She patiently waited on us as a few people ordered late and stayed with us until each check was closed as we were the last people there. She was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This visit was just as outstanding as al ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This visit was just as outstanding as all my previous visits! Sonia is one of the best servers in the industry. Thanks for a great dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the placed u ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was great except the placed us in a booth at the entrance to the bar, which had no doors to abate the noise. We were there to celebrate out 47th anniversary and it was anything but quite and romantic (and yes we are still very romantic at our age). Overall great experience except for the noise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak at Ruth's Chris is always the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The steak at Ruth's Chris is always the best!! It's an expensive piece of meat, but well worth it. I ordered the vegetarian plate, as I don't eat meat, and I thought $25 was a bit pricey for linguine and veggies with marinara sauce-. Oh well- They should add a few more deserts- like a good key lime pie.

Our server forgot to apply our $100 gift card- she did reconcile this at the end.

We went here as this is my hubby's favorite place to get a steak in town and so I wasn't expecting much from the vegetarian offering- but maybe prices next to the item. I never complain about paying for quality food with a nice dining ambiance, however, this was a bit expensive- I mean it was noodles and sauce with some undercooked fresh veggies- they could take a lesson from Season's 52. ..They have an AMAZING and very creative vegetarian sampling plate...just saying.

Overall it was great and they have THE BEST coffee in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was another outstanding dinner with ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was another outstanding dinner with incredible service. Sonia is a gem of a waitress. I will be back for many more visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fabulous. Our waiter, Sh ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was fabulous. Our waiter, Shea, was fantastic and attentive. Food was delicious. What a great place for our anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David was an awesome waiter as well as t ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

David was an awesome waiter as well as the support team. Every thing was delicious!!! Thanks !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food good selection very quiet ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food good selection very quiet hostess server very attentive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Desirea was an exceptional waiter. We ha ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Desirea was an exceptional waiter. We had a fabulous time with amazing food. A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was fantastic, and the ambiance was perfect for a nice quiet dinner for my wife and I to celebrate our 28th wedding Anniversary! Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was another outstanding family dinn ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was another outstanding family dinner with great service and food. I noticed on this particular evening that no managers were monitoring the dining room and checking how dinner was for each table even though it was not overly crowded. In any case, Ruth's Chris continues to be outstanding and one of the best high-end restaurants in Memphis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were traveling and knew we could depe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were traveling and knew we could depend on RC for a nice dinner. Typical Ruth's Chris. Never disappoints with no surprises. Paul, our waiter, was gracious and attentive. Steak was delicious and came out sizzling. Noise level was high, but we had a booth which helped to decrease it considerably.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Perfectly cooked foo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Impeccable service. Perfectly cooked food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was another outstanding dinner, and ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was another outstanding dinner, and Ruth's Chris continues to be one of the best dining locations in all of Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter David R. was outstanding ! Hi ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waiter David R. was outstanding ! His attention to the table was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner was excellent. The entire st ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The dinner was excellent. The entire staff was very friendly and professional. Really outstanding wait staff... very attentive but not too much. As always, the total experience at Ruth's Chris was very positive. This restaurant is one of the great establishments in Memphis.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely horrible. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was absolutely horrible. We waited almost an hour before we received our appetizers. Our dinner did not come out for close to 2 hours, mainly because the kitchen messed up one of the orders. I have had much better experiences at other Ruth's Chris but the Memphis location left a lot to be desired, especially for a $200 meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our 15th anniversary and it was an amazing experience from the moment we walked through the door. Our table was decorated with roses petals and everyone that came to our table wished us happy anniversary. Food was amazing. Service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ive been to Ruth's Chris before and love ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Ive been to Ruth's Chris before and loved it. My husband had never been, so we decided to try it for our 20th anniversary. When reserving through OpenTable, I let them know it was our Anniversay, and that we liked to eat quickly and didn't like slot of chit chat. It kind of backfired, because they hardly stopped by to check on us. We did have a card and rose petals on the table waiting for us, as well as a free dessert that was delicious.

The biggest disappointment was the food, especially the steaks. They were served on the sizzling plates, but had no flavor. The veal osso bucco ravioli appetizer was delicious, but our sides (fire roasted corn & lobster mac & cheese) were

over-salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

They need to bring back the banana cream ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

They need to bring back the banana cream pie for sure. Brussels sprouts were a little tuff but they removed them from the bill. The rest of the meal was outstanding.

Service was great as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful evening! From being gr ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a wonderful evening! From being greeted at door, seated at the table, serving the meal, pouring the wine, and checking on us. Every minute at Ruth Cris was special. And I consider myself a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We hadn't been here for several years, but the food and service is still as wonderful as always. It is an expensive place to eat, but the quality is excellent, and you won't be disappointed. Specialty drinks were great, and the filet was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My view was beautifulc,& nice view coming,&going..

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Me,& my husband will be back real soon,& we are going to pick a guest, or some friends .. This place is the best for us...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had barely mentioned my girls graduati ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had barely mentioned my girls graduation when changing a reservation time , when we arrived the table was beautifully created with "Congrats" all over. It was such a welcome surprise that made our night even more special. We were there with 3 teens and one young teen, they treated them with respect which they greatly appreciated. Was an amazing night with great food, drinks and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went specifically for the bread pudding. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went specifically for the bread pudding. They replaced it with a bland substitution. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

A wonderful way to celebrate Mother's Da ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful way to celebrate Mother's Day. Mothers received a red rose at diner's end. Nice touch. Food quality and level of service worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service were outstanding as usual. Our favorite restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have given this restaurant several cha ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I have given this restaurant several chances and will finally not be going back again. The servers lack professionalism and the food quality is poor. My steak was either veiny or overcooked or way undercooked in 4 of the past 5 visits. There seems to be no true concern from management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Best place to order steak overall in Mem ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Best place to order steak overall in Memphis in my opinion (always cooked exactly how I ordered unlike some other steak houses in the area). The side potatoes and cream spinach lack seasoning, but the calamari appetizer makes up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice EXPENSIVE dining experience. I ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very nice EXPENSIVE dining experience. I enjoyed my first time. The food was good. Everything is a la cart however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great food

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was very good and the food was great. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak dinner in Memphis!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazing experience from start to finish! Attentive waitstaff, hot and delicious food. We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to Detail

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I believe this restaurant staff pays the most attention to detail of any restaurant I have visited in a long time. The general manager roams the dining room to be sure all the guests are getting everything they need. The food is outstanding and the servers are very attentive. Ruth Chris Memphis sets the bar very high.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter Sunday

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It took over an hour for our entrees to be served while tables around us who arrived later got their food! However, manager apologized profusely, and offered free desserts and paid for our appetizer. Food was excellent when it arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food is amazing! We tried everything ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food is amazing! We tried everything written in red. It did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.