Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: (865) 546-4696

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Waterfront (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Scenic View (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Worst experience. Sat at the bar for almost 15 minutes before getting a drink or even water. Then moved to outside table where the linens while clean were stained in two places so felt dirty. The server was excellent and was the only thing that made the night bearable. I had fish that was cooked and sitting in a puddle of butter. The sides were good. The desserts were terrible. We had cheesecake that looked like a child made it and bread pudding that was like mush. This is a terrible review but only being honest. I used to like this restaurant and don't know that I'd ever go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our seventh anniversary and were extremely pleased by the food and service. My wife's steak was not cooked to her expectation and the server insisted he take it back because it was not exactly what she asked for. Every restaurant in town should offer the same service. It takes no more energy to provide great service than it does poor service. It is a matter of choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Madison was our server and she was absolutely amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 year wedding anniversary. Ruth's Chris Knoxville will continue to be our go to celebration destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband loved dining at Ruth Chris and the Knoxville location is particularly nice with its location looking out on the Tennessee River and downtown Knoxville. The food,at all Ruth Chris's has always been consistently good and predictable. This particular evening my medium rare steak was closer to medium well, so it was replaced happily, but the delay in my meal arrival diminished our dining experience since my husband was almost finished when my steak arrived. Our waiter and the service could not have been better and overall we had a very good experience. We will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We choose this restaurant for celebrating special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, XMAS eve and including an engagement and a retirement in past visits) . Ambiance/excellent, food/very good, service/usually excellent and fun people. Unfortunately our server this past visit was way below what we usually experience and not up to Ruth Chris's standard for sure. Restaurant is "expensive" but generally worth it given a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Brian our waiter was superb! The food was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

What a great location and view to eat and see Knoxville adjacent to the Tennessee River!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I love this place!!!! The outside seating is HEAVEN

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner with great service from Kohl and Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our Father's Day Lunch was spectacular in every way.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful Father's Day lunch at Ruth's Chris! Truman was our server and he was wonderful, I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Knoxville, Tennessee was fantastic. Both the food and the wait staff were excellent. We always try to find a Ruth's Chris when traveling. Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, in Knoxville, Tennessee will be a definte when we return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Staff was awesome. Bartender made some interesting cocktails. We sat outside-all by ourselves. Great location on the river and the ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The setting was comfortable, the service was excellent and thoughtful and the filet mignon was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Daughters graduation and dining at R/C was the ending to a perfect day!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! We always love eating at Ruth's Chris, Darlene made my grandmother's birthday very special!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ruth's is always terrific. Although our favorite Server (Darlene), had the evening off, her colleagues we very good. Super wine choices. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful meal and service for our anniversary. Enjoyed the Raspberry cocktail and would come for appetizers and drinks when downtown - just to enjoy a relaxing and pleasant venue.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Server was good. Food was good but not comparable to the farm to table high end resturants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My steak was well done, and i ordered medium rare. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High School Graduation celebration

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was terrific and the food was wonderful. They do give you plenty so either share the sides or be prepared to take some home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This has been our 'go-to' fine dining restaurant for the past 4 years; however, no longer the case. The past 2 visits were fraught w/ inattentive, slow service. Having to ask repeatedly for tea refills ( only 1 of 6 had tea). The rest drank only water. Missed items upon food delivery. Not sure if kitchen or general management has changed, but if so, not for the better. At $100/person ,one should expect better service. Service trumps food in my book! Ruth, you should have a serious talk w/ Chris!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been Ruth's Chris customers for well over 15+ years (less than 8 at this location. For us, Ruth's Chris is THE PERFECT restaurant for special occasions. Excluding value, there is nothing negative to be said about this restaurant. In fact, I was both surprised (and very pleased) to learn that they maintain a file on our personal likes/favorites including servers. If your want a combination of exceptional quality in food and in service, this is one of the TOP restaurants to visit. (The only reason for less that a 5 star food rating was my steak. My definition of "medium" is a slightly pink to pink center. Mine was definitely well done; but was immediately corrected.)

The special occasion for this visit was mother's day. When we arrived at the restaurant, my wife confessed that she had already made a reservation for our wedding anniversary at this same restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, ( don't recall servers names)great food. Ken part of the management staff did a wonderful job making my son's celebration from medical school a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A disappointing experience on numerous fronts. Even with reservations, our table of six needed to wait well over 30 minutes before being seated. Once seated, server brought water, then did not return to the table for over 20 minutes. Overall service continued very slow throughout dinner, as attention was paid to an adjacent table from a local television station that numerous servers seemed to be more interested in accommodating.

Once the food arrive, my requested rare New York bone-in steak was well done, and one of our sides was cold. After cutting into my steak (the server did not ask us to check after delivering to the table), I asked to have a new steak. The replacement steak was the correct temperature, but was the wrong steak (not bone-in). When pointed out to the server, she apologized, said she would take care of it, and the final check was simply adjusted to show the price for the standard NY strip. My wife ordered the NY strip as well, and although her steak was cooked correctly, it was extremely tough, and certainly not up to Ruth's Chris standards.

I've had dinner at Ruth's Chris restaurants all over the US dozens of times over the years, and this was without a doubt the worst dining experience I've experienced. Given this experience, the next day my wife phoned to let the manager know of our experience, and he indicated he would "make it right". Today we received a gift card which provided credit for most of the cost of our two disappointing steaks - $100. Overall an inadequate response for a $600 check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was exceptional!! Will definitely visit Ruth's Chris again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always great. This location is the best in the country, have been to many in other cities!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Well worth the money i would fo again
Iam going to try to eat at every Ruth Chris in the country

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food, location, service an ambiance we all wonderful. They were able to help us finish on time as we were attending a play following dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Five of us went for Easter lunch and were excited about our reservations. Our server was good, however the steaks were not. I ordered a medium rare filet and got medium, almost medium well. Another ordered medium and got medium rare. All but one were cooked properly. I sent mine back since it was so off and waited while everyone else ate. When they brought me another filet, it was very rare. By this time, everyone was almost done and the sides were cold. I had them cook it longer and bag it to go. They did give me my two sides to go as well. The manager came out and was very apologetic, and they did not make me pay for my steak of course. However the whole lunch was ruined because everyone was upset to be eating their food while mine was not there. While I appreciate they took my meal off the bill, it does not make up for the disappointment of the entire outing. To spend that amount of money and have the quality of food be so bad is unacceptable. I was a big fan of Ruth's Chris having grown up in New Orleans and going numerous times, but will definitely not be going back anytime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a perfect experience from the Valet to the hostess to our wait staff. Ardon did a fabulous job! He was very efficient, genuine, and friendly. Thanks for a wonderful Easter lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always enjoy going to Ruth's Chris. The lakeside location is wonderful and we sat outside and enjoyed the weather and the wonderful meal. Really enjoyed the side dishes and the steak is always cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Hostesses and wait staff were fabulous. Very attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our table 56/1 on end of first row by windows was cold/drafty. Had to put sweater on. I think this table was under an air cond. vent.
Crabcakes are much better at Chesapeak's. Steaks were very good as well as the grouper. Our servers were attentive and the free desserts for the birthday people in our party was appreciated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Chadwick, our server was great and attentive. Steaks were prepared perfectly and sides were large and very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Dinner was good. Maybe even very good but pricey. Reserve for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were celebrating a family event. Mom, Dad, and two boys 18&22. Had a 7:45 open table. Arrived at 7:35 was seated at 8:10. The dining room was half full so that seemed odd they made us wait so long. We were the only 4 people in the lobby.

Bill was $250 and food was good. Good steaks and lamb chops. Wife said chicken dish was delicious. But the service was really off for a $250 meal. In fact they way Ruth Chris does it they have a main server and then underlings that clean up. We had to keep asking for refills and it was just out of sync. In fact one person handed me the bread instead of putting on the table.

3 on our party did the Ruth Classic $50 for Salad - Dinner - Side - Desert. When desert time came they were "out" of nearly everything so we just passed on it after paying for the special.

Lastly asked for coffee which they brought with cream and sugar but no spoons? LOL 😂 we stirred with our fingers and laughed about it.

Had better meals for $250 and definitely better service. The underlings were more attentive and on it more than the main waitress.

2 star experience with 3 star food. Felt gipped and short changed overall but food was good with no desert being a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.