Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: (865) 546-4696

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter at Ruth's! It’s the attention to detail that sets Ruth’s apart. Join us for an
Easter celebration that will be as memorable as it is flavorful.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mom always put you first. Time to return the favor. Celebrate Mother's Day at Ruth's, open early starting at 12pm.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (20)
Waterfront (19)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Scenic View (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Our table 56/1 on end of first row by windows was cold/drafty. Had to put sweater on. I think this table was under an air cond. vent.
Crabcakes are much better at Chesapeak's. Steaks were very good as well as the grouper. Our servers were attentive and the free desserts for the birthday people in our party was appreciated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Chadwick, our server was great and attentive. Steaks were prepared perfectly and sides were large and very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Dinner was good. Maybe even very good but pricey. Reserve for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were celebrating a family event. Mom, Dad, and two boys 18&22. Had a 7:45 open table. Arrived at 7:35 was seated at 8:10. The dining room was half full so that seemed odd they made us wait so long. We were the only 4 people in the lobby.

Bill was $250 and food was good. Good steaks and lamb chops. Wife said chicken dish was delicious. But the service was really off for a $250 meal. In fact they way Ruth Chris does it they have a main server and then underlings that clean up. We had to keep asking for refills and it was just out of sync. In fact one person handed me the bread instead of putting on the table.

3 on our party did the Ruth Classic $50 for Salad - Dinner - Side - Desert. When desert time came they were "out" of nearly everything so we just passed on it after paying for the special.

Lastly asked for coffee which they brought with cream and sugar but no spoons? LOL 😂 we stirred with our fingers and laughed about it.

Had better meals for $250 and definitely better service. The underlings were more attentive and on it more than the main waitress.

2 star experience with 3 star food. Felt gipped and short changed overall but food was good with no desert being a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was worth every penny. Drinks were fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went outside of the box and enjoyed only seafood, no red meat. The seafood tower and crab cakes were amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing as always! We love coming here for special occasions. ❤

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful service and everything was perfect when brought to the table. Looking forward to next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great dinner, our waiter Jeromy was excellent👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We've never had a bad experience at Ruth's Chris, the food is always wonderful, and the service impeccable. Jimi did a wonderful job and made our rare date night perfect. We love coming here and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ruth's Chris always offers prime cuts, delectable sides and salads, and to-die-for desserts -- every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We have dined there previously and always had an excellent experience. This occasion was no different. The hostess accommodated my request for a quiet window seat even though they were quite busy. The service continued to be outstanding throughout the evening. The food was prepared properly, the temperature and taste being perfect. I would recommend the restaurant for any occasion but especially, for that special occasion when one wants everything to be "special."

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN, consistently serves the finest USDA Prime beef, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. The appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts are superb. All this while enjoying the warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. Valentine’s was the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. It was a place where carnivores behaved carnivorously, in style. Brian, thanks for taking great care of us!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food as always. Tried Chilean sea bass and found very good and ample serving.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

THe food was amamzing, romantic atmosphere, very professional staff.. by far my favorite place to have date night..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrific meal with no food issues for two celiac people. The only issue was over cooked steak which was promptly corrected. Wife had the bone in ribeye while I had the ribeye and 2 lobster tails. The crab stack was a great appetizer and highly recommend. We spit the house chopped salad. Chris the server was excellent and would recommend him to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for an early Valentines dinner on Saturday. We were placed in a small dining room on the 2nd level (basically a banquet room) with live music (talented duo,but very loud and the music was circa 1970's). I kept waiting for bride and groom to arrive or awards to be given out. We did not know we were going to be put the B-room, if we had, we definitely would have opted out. Food was good and service was average. Probably won't be going back for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with courteous, professional wait staff. Steaks are what they are known for and you won't be disappointed. The chocolate duo desert was one the best deserts I have ever had. Ruth's Chris is my go to restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A great birthday celebration for my 16 yr old daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Waited 20 minutes for them to replace our steaks that were full of gristle and by that time our lobster (served with out the lemon squeeze that had to be asked for)and potatoes had been eaten. Waiter not too concerned. Bar manager took over, offered to replace the meal and to get my husband's beer he had ordered 20 minutes before. We declined both but let him comp a very disappointing meal and evening for our 42ond anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was excellent and food was good but price was exorbitant!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The wait staff, Madison, Jeremy and Alex were absolutely great. They were very attentive to our needs and food. The Steaks and lobster were severed hot and tasty. Excellent evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We love coming to Ruth Chris's for special occasions. Food is wonderful, and the service is very good. Very pricey but worth it once in awhile. Our children typically give us a Gift Certificate for Christmas, since they know we enjoy coming.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was wonderful! Service was a little slow but they did have several large parties so I understand!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was fair, but not up to standard for the price. We felt that it didn't live up to reputation. Not a restraunt to choose, if attending other events that same evening. It took two hours for just two people to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have always enjoyed eating at RC's. In recent years, this is our third time to spend New Year's Eve in Knoxville with dinner at RC's. Requested our favorite server and she was excellent; personable and professional (hard to pull-off both). The entire staff is friendly, accommodating, and professional. We plan to eat there more often in 2017. Thank you Darlene for making our meal the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Next level food and service as we have come to expect at this Ruth's Chris location. Stephanie and Jackie did an outstanding job on this busy New Years Eve attending to our dining needs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall good. Little loud. But then again it was New Years Eve. Other than that, the usual top notch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Not what it's cracked up to be, way over hyped. It was good and we had a great night but not worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at there this evening to celebrate my brother's birthday. We had great service and a fantastic meal!! 3 of us ordered the filet and one had the salmon. We sampled the mushrooms, asparagus, Brussels sprouts, and corn for the sides. It was all delicious. They gave my brother a complimentary dessert for his birthday. Great dinner in a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner on vacation in the Smoky Mountains. Nervous about being out on Christmas even with reservations, but they had the place working like clockwork. Seated immediately, service was great, food phenomenal as always at Ruth's Chris. Very enjoyable dinner and great view even at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exquisite service with Stephani.
Without a doubt the best petite filet I have enjoyed anywhere.
Extensive winelist.
Knowledgable servers.
Would dine again with this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, People Watching, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our reservation was for 12:15, but did not get seated until 12:35. The hostess basically ignore us and the few others who were waiting, until she finished fiddling with paperwork. We had a table with a view of the river and the restaurant was not crowded due to it being Christmas day. Service as excellent. We were Brian's only table and he spent some time chatting with us. My filet was not the best. It had a very tough tendon running through it and the brussel sprouts were under cooked. On the up side, the cream brulee was one of the best I have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was absolutely amazing. Best steak I ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We requested that the table be decorated for our daughter's graduation from Nursing School, but they did not do it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food! Not very impressed with service. Two hours to eat and had dinner reservations

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Steak and crab cake were great. Server was terrible. Maybe he was having a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our overall experience was fine, but our steaks were undercooked and the soup was luke warm. We were disappointed because it was the first time we have ever had this kind of experience at a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was as excellent as you would expect from Ruth's Chris steakhouse. The service was very personalized and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more for the birthday celebration. I would recommend it highly for anyone willing to pay a moderately strong price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.