Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: (865) 546-4696

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Father's Day at Ruth's. Show Dad you were listening all those years and treat him to something delicious he didn't have to grill. We're opening early starting at noon.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Waterfront (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Scenic View (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was good. Food was good but not comparable to the farm to table high end resturants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High School Graduation celebration

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was terrific and the food was wonderful. They do give you plenty so either share the sides or be prepared to take some home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This has been our 'go-to' fine dining restaurant for the past 4 years; however, no longer the case. The past 2 visits were fraught w/ inattentive, slow service. Having to ask repeatedly for tea refills ( only 1 of 6 had tea). The rest drank only water. Missed items upon food delivery. Not sure if kitchen or general management has changed, but if so, not for the better. At $100/person ,one should expect better service. Service trumps food in my book! Ruth, you should have a serious talk w/ Chris!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been Ruth's Chris customers for well over 15+ years (less than 8 at this location. For us, Ruth's Chris is THE PERFECT restaurant for special occasions. Excluding value, there is nothing negative to be said about this restaurant. In fact, I was both surprised (and very pleased) to learn that they maintain a file on our personal likes/favorites including servers. If your want a combination of exceptional quality in food and in service, this is one of the TOP restaurants to visit. (The only reason for less that a 5 star food rating was my steak. My definition of "medium" is a slightly pink to pink center. Mine was definitely well done; but was immediately corrected.)

The special occasion for this visit was mother's day. When we arrived at the restaurant, my wife confessed that she had already made a reservation for our wedding anniversary at this same restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, ( don't recall servers names)great food. Ken part of the management staff did a wonderful job making my son's celebration from medical school a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A disappointing experience on numerous fronts. Even with reservations, our table of six needed to wait well over 30 minutes before being seated. Once seated, server brought water, then did not return to the table for over 20 minutes. Overall service continued very slow throughout dinner, as attention was paid to an adjacent table from a local television station that numerous servers seemed to be more interested in accommodating.

Once the food arrive, my requested rare New York bone-in steak was well done, and one of our sides was cold. After cutting into my steak (the server did not ask us to check after delivering to the table), I asked to have a new steak. The replacement steak was the correct temperature, but was the wrong steak (not bone-in). When pointed out to the server, she apologized, said she would take care of it, and the final check was simply adjusted to show the price for the standard NY strip. My wife ordered the NY strip as well, and although her steak was cooked correctly, it was extremely tough, and certainly not up to Ruth's Chris standards.

I've had dinner at Ruth's Chris restaurants all over the US dozens of times over the years, and this was without a doubt the worst dining experience I've experienced. Given this experience, the next day my wife phoned to let the manager know of our experience, and he indicated he would "make it right". Today we received a gift card which provided credit for most of the cost of our two disappointing steaks - $100. Overall an inadequate response for a $600 check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was exceptional!! Will definitely visit Ruth's Chris again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always great. This location is the best in the country, have been to many in other cities!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Well worth the money i would fo again
Iam going to try to eat at every Ruth Chris in the country

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food, location, service an ambiance we all wonderful. They were able to help us finish on time as we were attending a play following dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Five of us went for Easter lunch and were excited about our reservations. Our server was good, however the steaks were not. I ordered a medium rare filet and got medium, almost medium well. Another ordered medium and got medium rare. All but one were cooked properly. I sent mine back since it was so off and waited while everyone else ate. When they brought me another filet, it was very rare. By this time, everyone was almost done and the sides were cold. I had them cook it longer and bag it to go. They did give me my two sides to go as well. The manager came out and was very apologetic, and they did not make me pay for my steak of course. However the whole lunch was ruined because everyone was upset to be eating their food while mine was not there. While I appreciate they took my meal off the bill, it does not make up for the disappointment of the entire outing. To spend that amount of money and have the quality of food be so bad is unacceptable. I was a big fan of Ruth's Chris having grown up in New Orleans and going numerous times, but will definitely not be going back anytime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a perfect experience from the Valet to the hostess to our wait staff. Ardon did a fabulous job! He was very efficient, genuine, and friendly. Thanks for a wonderful Easter lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always enjoy going to Ruth's Chris. The lakeside location is wonderful and we sat outside and enjoyed the weather and the wonderful meal. Really enjoyed the side dishes and the steak is always cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Hostesses and wait staff were fabulous. Very attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our table 56/1 on end of first row by windows was cold/drafty. Had to put sweater on. I think this table was under an air cond. vent.
Crabcakes are much better at Chesapeak's. Steaks were very good as well as the grouper. Our servers were attentive and the free desserts for the birthday people in our party was appreciated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Chadwick, our server was great and attentive. Steaks were prepared perfectly and sides were large and very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Dinner was good. Maybe even very good but pricey. Reserve for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were celebrating a family event. Mom, Dad, and two boys 18&22. Had a 7:45 open table. Arrived at 7:35 was seated at 8:10. The dining room was half full so that seemed odd they made us wait so long. We were the only 4 people in the lobby.

Bill was $250 and food was good. Good steaks and lamb chops. Wife said chicken dish was delicious. But the service was really off for a $250 meal. In fact they way Ruth Chris does it they have a main server and then underlings that clean up. We had to keep asking for refills and it was just out of sync. In fact one person handed me the bread instead of putting on the table.

3 on our party did the Ruth Classic $50 for Salad - Dinner - Side - Desert. When desert time came they were "out" of nearly everything so we just passed on it after paying for the special.

Lastly asked for coffee which they brought with cream and sugar but no spoons? LOL 😂 we stirred with our fingers and laughed about it.

Had better meals for $250 and definitely better service. The underlings were more attentive and on it more than the main waitress.

2 star experience with 3 star food. Felt gipped and short changed overall but food was good with no desert being a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was worth every penny. Drinks were fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went outside of the box and enjoyed only seafood, no red meat. The seafood tower and crab cakes were amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing as always! We love coming here for special occasions. ❤

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful service and everything was perfect when brought to the table. Looking forward to next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great dinner, our waiter Jeromy was excellent👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We've never had a bad experience at Ruth's Chris, the food is always wonderful, and the service impeccable. Jimi did a wonderful job and made our rare date night perfect. We love coming here and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ruth's Chris always offers prime cuts, delectable sides and salads, and to-die-for desserts -- every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We have dined there previously and always had an excellent experience. This occasion was no different. The hostess accommodated my request for a quiet window seat even though they were quite busy. The service continued to be outstanding throughout the evening. The food was prepared properly, the temperature and taste being perfect. I would recommend the restaurant for any occasion but especially, for that special occasion when one wants everything to be "special."

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN, consistently serves the finest USDA Prime beef, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. The appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts are superb. All this while enjoying the warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. Valentine’s was the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. It was a place where carnivores behaved carnivorously, in style. Brian, thanks for taking great care of us!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food as always. Tried Chilean sea bass and found very good and ample serving.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

THe food was amamzing, romantic atmosphere, very professional staff.. by far my favorite place to have date night..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner. Second yr in a row. Perfect dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrific meal with no food issues for two celiac people. The only issue was over cooked steak which was promptly corrected. Wife had the bone in ribeye while I had the ribeye and 2 lobster tails. The crab stack was a great appetizer and highly recommend. We spit the house chopped salad. Chris the server was excellent and would recommend him to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for an early Valentines dinner on Saturday. We were placed in a small dining room on the 2nd level (basically a banquet room) with live music (talented duo,but very loud and the music was circa 1970's). I kept waiting for bride and groom to arrive or awards to be given out. We did not know we were going to be put the B-room, if we had, we definitely would have opted out. Food was good and service was average. Probably won't be going back for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with courteous, professional wait staff. Steaks are what they are known for and you won't be disappointed. The chocolate duo desert was one the best deserts I have ever had. Ruth's Chris is my go to restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A great birthday celebration for my 16 yr old daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Waited 20 minutes for them to replace our steaks that were full of gristle and by that time our lobster (served with out the lemon squeeze that had to be asked for)and potatoes had been eaten. Waiter not too concerned. Bar manager took over, offered to replace the meal and to get my husband's beer he had ordered 20 minutes before. We declined both but let him comp a very disappointing meal and evening for our 42ond anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was excellent and food was good but price was exorbitant!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The wait staff, Madison, Jeremy and Alex were absolutely great. They were very attentive to our needs and food. The Steaks and lobster were severed hot and tasty. Excellent evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.