About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: 8655464696x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ribeye
Calamari
Three Cheese Potatoes Au Gratin
Crimini Mushrooms
Lobster Bi
 Filet And Twin Lobster Tails
Petite Filet And Lobster Tail Rockefeller
Arugula & Crispy Prosciutto Salad
Bread Pudding
Petite Filet Mignon & Shrimp

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
7 More
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Romantic
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

special occasion (36)
scenic view (28)
romantic (22)
See All
notable wine list (14)
fit for foodies (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
good for groups (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I've dined here many times and have neve ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've dined here many times and have never had a bad steak -- until our last visit. It was a special Father's Day dinner and my husband ordered the ribeye. Ribeyes should be marbled with fat which gives it extra flavor and juiciness. My husband's ribeye was unusually thick and a good third of it was hard gristle. There was no marbling -- just a huge portion of hard gristle and the rest of the piece was just okay. My filet and my daughter's filets were good and cooked to proper temps. The service was very friendly but very slow-- it took a long time to get our cocktails and courses. We didn't mind this too much as the dinner was our only obligation for the night. My husband tried his best with the steak and after the bill was presented, the mgr inquired about our meals. My husband nicely told him that his cut was not very good. The manager said he was sorry to hear that and asked about the rest of the table and we told him our meals were good. That seemed to be the end of discussion. I think a gesture, such as a free dessert (we would've declined) would have made us feel better about the whole thing but nothing was offered but a quick smile and he was off to the next table. My husband swears he will never go back -- but I'm hoping he'll change his mind.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is expensive but in my opinio ...

Dined 7 days ago

This place is expensive but in my opinion is worth it. My family likes to go there for birthdays and other special occasions. The steaks are superb, as you would expect, but don't overlook the stuffed chicken!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Food was tasty an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was tasty and plentiful. Definitely the best experience in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Outstanding

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner to celebrate a special occasion. This is the perfect place to do that. Great service by Chadwick-he knew the menu by heart and was able to help us make decisions based on his knowledge. The timing for food arriving was excellent. I would highly recommend a list to Ruth Chris.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service, as usual

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined at Ruth Chris several times over the last year and have always found the service and food to be impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Superb steak. Best value for money on m ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Superb steak. Best value for money on menu is "Ruth Classics".

food2
ambience1
service1

Been here many times with a great experi ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Been here many times with a great experience. Choose RC for our sons graduation dinner. Service was terrible. I mean terrible. Could have done about the same at McDonalds. My wife tried to order two different meals but they were out if tomatoes and mushrooms. Steaks were ordered medium and came out well done. Server did not check back for 20 mins. By that time we had waited over an hour for our meal and did not want to wait longer. This experience and $600 did not come close to meeting our expectation and Ruth's Chris brand was completely let down this night.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was just great! Especially the servic ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was just great! Especially the service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The night was perfect for celebrating my ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The night was perfect for celebrating my daughters 18th birthday. The hostess, Autumn, made us feel special immediately and the waiter, Steve, made great suggestions and was perfectly attentive. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the sides and deserts were delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We selected to have Mother's Day at Ruth's Chris because it is top flight food and service. We found our expectations easily met in the service, food, beverage choices and getting roses for the Moms was nice and unexpected. We recommend Ruth's Chris for just such an occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Mother's Day meal in Ktown

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have dined at this Ruth's Chris many times. This time we took my mother for the holiday brunch. We all had salads and steaks. Service was very good and food quality was excellent as always. Since it was brunch, we kept it pretty basic, no alcohol or dessert. They do get quite busy on the few Sundays they are open for brunch, so reserve early! It's a nice Mother's Day treat and good value for the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day Out

Dined on May 6, 2016

We took mom out to dinner for Mothers Day. We a fantastic dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the mananger Roland he' topnotch. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the mananger Roland he' topnotch. Food isgreat

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great evening...good food, good ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great evening...good food, good service. Not much more to say!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The appetizer seafood tower was a hit, b ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The appetizer seafood tower was a hit, but my NY Strip was very mediocre. Great service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

50th Birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband was born in Knoxville TN and had never been to Ruth Chris. It was his 50th birthday and the experience was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best for steak

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our wedding anniversary date to Ruth's Chris was over the top. Thank you to Paul and staff for making this experience one we will never forget. We will miss our designated waiter, Steve, as he will be moving to Nashville soon. Sad to see him go as our visits to the Knoxville location will never be the same. Fuel the G6 because a trip(s) to the Music City Ruth's Chris is definitely in our future!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

London group

Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice evening...great food, ambience & Darlene was a terrific server!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best steak I've ever put in ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The absolute best steak I've ever put in my mouth!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good

Dined on April 9, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. It had a great view and great service to go with it. My steak was wonderful, I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistent and Comfortable

Dined on April 3, 2016

Always solid service and a great atmosphere. The food is excellent and the staff very professional. It is still a bit over-priced for my total comfort level, but it's worth it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on March 29, 2016

My wife and I both opted for the filet mignon and we were not disappointed. Cooked to perfection and hot plate kept the food warm throughout meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food, nice special ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great service, great food, nice special touches with the small happy birthday confetti on the table for my wife which I kept and taped in her birthday card. Great attention from server (Jimmy). Thank you, and will come back sooner than later.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steak and more in Knoxville

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We've dined here many times as we live nearby. For steak, it's hard to beat Ruth's Chris and the wine and cocktails are excellent as well. This time, we noticed they had stepped up their game on other menu entries, with some expanded fish and seafood offerings. My wife tried a fish main course, while I had a steak (filet). We started with cocktails and had a lovely Merlot to go with it as well. Service was great (thanks Steven) and both the steak and fish were wonderful. Kudos to the restaurant for looking at some other items to feature as well...we look forward to trying more of them. The Knoxville location (for those not familiar with it) has a nice river view as well.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sides could be better

Dined on March 4, 2016

Love the atmosphere and steak. The quality of side dishes could be much better considering the price. The spinach side dish does not compare to Calhoun's spanish maria next door. Both the spinach and potatoes did not taste freshly prepared.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing...

Dined on March 1, 2016

We have eaten here many times over the years and it still remains our favorite restaurant in Knoxville. This is the best filet you will ever have and serving it on the 500 degree plate ensures its always hot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Birthday dinner and first time ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Excellent Birthday dinner and first time visit for my kids who were very impressed with the excellent service and said they felt like they were in the Titanic dining room it was so fancy and formal. Always an incredible filet!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal

Dined on February 16, 2016

Ruth's Chris is our favorite steakhouse chain and Knoxville is one of the best. The staff is friendly and efficient, the food and service is always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great steak

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We've dined at the local Ruth's Chris many times and it always lives up to expectations. If you want a great steak, this is an excellent choice. The wine list is extensive, service is great, and the Knoxville location has a nice view of the river from most parts of the dining room. In our case, we had a late Valentine's Day dinner here, with cocktails, steak, sides, and wine. The food was excellent, service was wonderful as always, and we had a wonderful red wine to accompany it all. If you are looking for excellent steak in Knoxville in the downtown area, this is the place to get it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent. Service was great. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Service was great. What would have expected from Ruth's chris

food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible lamb chops! Try the crimini m ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Incredible lamb chops! Try the crimini mushrooms. Wonderful service, too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The consumate dining experience! First class!

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the ambiance to the meal, everything about the dining experience says "first class! The food was prepared beyond our satisfaction, and the service was impeccable! Our daughter graduates from UT this May, and we're planning to have her pre- graduation celebration dinner there!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

valentines day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything about the experience was great. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day at Ruth's Chris

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Even though it is a steak restaurant, we don't eat meat and still enjoy a great meal here. We do eat seafood, which is delicious, and they offer a vegetarian plate! Steve is the best server!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Typical Ruth Chris, meat lovers experien ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Typical Ruth Chris, meat lovers experience with very good service and an overpriced bar. The steaks come out grilled to perfection on a sizzling, buttery laden plate. Sides are sharing size. The only issue I have is the over priced drinks. Either cut the prices or increase the pour size. The river view tables unfortunately not only look at the river but the industrial complex on the other side of the river. Forgot to mention, the service is above average at all times. They were busy on 2/13 (day before Valentines), our table was ready when promised and with their team approach to service all our needs were fulfilled promptly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, including steak cooked t ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent meal, including steak cooked to perfection, great wine selection and Andy our server was on top of his game. My wife and I had a memorable night. Will be back again.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mostly great

Dined on February 12, 2016

We were looking forward to taking our daughter, who was in town for work, to Ruth's for a nice evening. We had 7:30 reservations, arrived early, enjoyed some cocktails while we waited, then at 7:45 went to the hostess to ask when we would be seated. They said they had looked for us, but evidently our table in the corner was out of their range because they never found us and stopped looking. When they seated us, they put our party of three at a round table set for six. How "cozie"? We requested another smaller table, which was accommodated. The meal and service was fine until the very end. All three of us had leftovers from our steaks that we wanted to take with us - two filets and one ribeye. Our take-home packages were never brought back to the table, which we didn't realize until after we left. It seems to me that, after a $400 dinner tab, I should have been able to count on the service staff remembering to bring our take home packages to us.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our second time visiting. The first time our service was better. Both times the food was cooked perfectly and tasted great. I would highly recommend this restaurant id you are looking for fine dining and excellent steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on January 20, 2016

We arrived on a cold snowy night to a warm wonderful atmosphere. We were welcomed by a friendly and very glad to see you face. The service , food, wine, and desert were all fantastic. No doubt we will include Ruth's Chris in our rotation.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.