About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: 8655464696x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville
Ribeye
Calamari
Three Cheese Potatoes Au Gratin
Crimini Mushrooms
Lobster Bi
 Filet And Twin Lobster Tails
Bread Pudding
Petite Filet And Lobster Tail Rockefeller
Arugula & Crispy Prosciutto Salad
Petite Filet Mignon & Shrimp

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
8 More
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Romantic
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Special Occasion (23)
Scenic View (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Waterfront (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New York bone in steak very good Rib-eye ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

New York bone in steak very good

Rib-eye tasted and had more grizzle and fat than something you would get at Golden Corral

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our steaks were good. Our service starte ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our steaks were good. Our service started off pretty good. We ordered a bottle of wine and was brought the wrong bottle twice. The waitress did not understand the differences in what she was bringing us and what we ordered off the wine list. The manager very abrupt came over to the table and tried to educate us on why this bottle they were bringing us was better than the one we're ordered ( come to find out they did not have the bottle we ordered from the wine list). The abrupt man tried his hardest to convince us he was much more educated on California wines. Almost to the point of belittling. Maybe he really believes what he was trying to sell us. But I love my Napa wines and I know what I like. I know what year I feel was successful and what years I feel were not so hot. We quickly realized this guy was not going to listen to what we had to say and went along with his opinion to stop from drawing attention to our table. After that the service was terrible! From waiting, attitudes, our check having a 200.00 mistake. It was bad! No way I would ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Seafood tower was brought out with the c ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Seafood tower was brought out with the crab legs frozen. Had to send back 2 bone in filets since they were served very rare instead of medium as ordered. Nothing exceptional about this restaurant..average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The cocktails, food, and wine here never ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The cocktails, food, and wine here never disappoint. The service is also consistently good and often exceptional. However, the experience is being diminished by the atmosphere lately. Seems to be no dress code and the noise level can get quite loud. I wish Knoxville would keep at least a few places where a certain level of dress is expected and enforced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite place to dine! Food and servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Favorite place to dine! Food and service are always outstanding!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent pair with a great Cab ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was excellent pair with a great Cabernet. The ambiance and the weather helped to make it a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely one of the best!! Always hig ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely one of the best!! Always high quality food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are two of "Ruth's Regulars", dining ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We are two of "Ruth's Regulars", dining at Ruth's Chris in many cities. Consistently good. One glitch this time. We asked for some lightly sauteed spinach (not on the menu), was told "absolutely", but a steamed (watery, pretty much tasteless) dish was served. The steak (Filet) was prepared perfectly and was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Try the lobster Mac. Seems like a full l ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Try the lobster Mac. Seems like a full lobster is in the mac

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always consistently good. A bit pricey b ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always consistently good. A bit pricey but great for an occasional special dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting overlooking the river ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice setting overlooking the river . Everything about our evening was perfect. Would highly recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was wonderful and service was exce ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Steak was wonderful and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was very positive. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our dining experience was very positive. The wit staff was knowledgeable, helpful and very pleasant. The food was among the best we have had in a long time. I enjoyed being able to have a conversation with my wife at the table and not having problems hearing her due to excess background noise (this is a major issue for me as it constitutes a large part of enjoying the meal). The view was also nice. I look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The signature cocktails are outstanding. ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The signature cocktails are outstanding. The service professional, attentive, and friendly. The food beautifully prepared and the calamari appetizer and main course entrees we ordered were perfection!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All aspects are excellent. Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

All aspects are excellent. Ruth's Chris is a pricey restaurant, yet quality is outstanding. For sure not a restaurant you can afford often, yet for special occasions, it's the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Ruth's several time but t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to Ruth's several time but the steak was just not as good as usual this time , I am not sure what happened maybe a new cook.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I've dined here many times and have neve ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've dined here many times and have never had a bad steak -- until our last visit. It was a special Father's Day dinner and my husband ordered the ribeye. Ribeyes should be marbled with fat which gives it extra flavor and juiciness. My husband's ribeye was unusually thick and a good third of it was hard gristle. There was no marbling -- just a huge portion of hard gristle and the rest of the piece was just okay. My filet and my daughter's filets were good and cooked to proper temps. The service was very friendly but very slow-- it took a long time to get our cocktails and courses. We didn't mind this too much as the dinner was our only obligation for the night. My husband tried his best with the steak and after the bill was presented, the mgr inquired about our meals. My husband nicely told him that his cut was not very good. The manager said he was sorry to hear that and asked about the rest of the table and we told him our meals were good. That seemed to be the end of discussion. I think a gesture, such as a free dessert (we would've declined) would have made us feel better about the whole thing but nothing was offered but a quick smile and he was off to the next table. My husband swears he will never go back -- but I'm hoping he'll change his mind.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This place is expensive but in my opinio ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is expensive but in my opinion is worth it. My family likes to go there for birthdays and other special occasions. The steaks are superb, as you would expect, but don't overlook the stuffed chicken!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always wanted to go here but found out ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I always wanted to go here but found out it is pricey. When you order a filet for $44 you assume sides come with it but I quickly found out not at this place. You pay for every single item , Nothing is included. I will be eating at places like Texas Roadhouse from now on. The food is better and a whole lot cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Service was excellent. Food was tasty an ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was tasty and plentiful. Definitely the best experience in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner to celebrate a special occasion. This is the perfect place to do that. Great service by Chadwick-he knew the menu by heart and was able to help us make decisions based on his knowledge. The timing for food arriving was excellent. I would highly recommend a list to Ruth Chris.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service, as usual

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined at Ruth Chris several times over the last year and have always found the service and food to be impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb steak. Best value for money on m ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Superb steak. Best value for money on menu is "Ruth Classics".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Been here many times with a great experi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Been here many times with a great experience. Choose RC for our sons graduation dinner. Service was terrible. I mean terrible. Could have done about the same at McDonalds. My wife tried to order two different meals but they were out if tomatoes and mushrooms. Steaks were ordered medium and came out well done. Server did not check back for 20 mins. By that time we had waited over an hour for our meal and did not want to wait longer. This experience and $600 did not come close to meeting our expectation and Ruth's Chris brand was completely let down this night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

It was just great! Especially the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was just great! Especially the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The night was perfect for celebrating my ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The night was perfect for celebrating my daughters 18th birthday. The hostess, Autumn, made us feel special immediately and the waiter, Steve, made great suggestions and was perfectly attentive. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the sides and deserts were delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mother's Day

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We selected to have Mother's Day at Ruth's Chris because it is top flight food and service. We found our expectations easily met in the service, food, beverage choices and getting roses for the Moms was nice and unexpected. We recommend Ruth's Chris for just such an occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Mother's Day meal in Ktown

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have dined at this Ruth's Chris many times. This time we took my mother for the holiday brunch. We all had salads and steaks. Service was very good and food quality was excellent as always. Since it was brunch, we kept it pretty basic, no alcohol or dessert. They do get quite busy on the few Sundays they are open for brunch, so reserve early! It's a nice Mother's Day treat and good value for the meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Out

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We took mom out to dinner for Mothers Day. We a fantastic dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the mananger Roland he' topnotch. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the mananger Roland he' topnotch. Food isgreat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a wonderful night!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

It's a wonderful night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening...good food, good ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great evening...good food, good service. Not much more to say!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The appetizer seafood tower was a hit, b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The appetizer seafood tower was a hit, but my NY Strip was very mediocre. Great service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

50th Birthday

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband was born in Knoxville TN and had never been to Ruth Chris. It was his 50th birthday and the experience was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best for steak

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our wedding anniversary date to Ruth's Chris was over the top. Thank you to Paul and staff for making this experience one we will never forget. We will miss our designated waiter, Steve, as he will be moving to Nashville soon. Sad to see him go as our visits to the Knoxville location will never be the same. Fuel the G6 because a trip(s) to the Music City Ruth's Chris is definitely in our future!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

London group

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice evening...great food, ambience & Darlene was a terrific server!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The absolute best steak I've ever put in ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

The absolute best steak I've ever put in my mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. It had a great view and great service to go with it. My steak was wonderful, I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent and Comfortable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always solid service and a great atmosphere. The food is excellent and the staff very professional. It is still a bit over-priced for my total comfort level, but it's worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.