About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: (865) 546-4696

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Bone In Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Rcsh Tomahawk - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Crabstack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Fire-roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Calamari - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Three Cheese Potatoes Au Gratin - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Crimini Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Lobster Bi - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
 Filet And Twin Lobster Tails  - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Petite Filet And Lobster Tail Rockefeller - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Arugula & Crispy Prosciutto Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Petite Filet Mignon & Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fair, but not up to standard fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was fair, but not up to standard for the price. We felt that it didn't live up to reputation. Not a restraunt to choose, if attending other events that same evening. It took two hours for just two people to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We have always enjoyed eating at RC's. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have always enjoyed eating at RC's. In recent years, this is our third time to spend New Year's Eve in Knoxville with dinner at RC's. Requested our favorite server and she was excellent; personable and professional (hard to pull-off both). The entire staff is friendly, accommodating, and professional. We plan to eat there more often in 2017. Thank you Darlene for making our meal the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Next level food and service as we have c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Next level food and service as we have come to expect at this Ruth's Chris location. Stephanie and Jackie did an outstanding job on this busy New Years Eve attending to our dining needs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. Little loud. But then agai ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall good. Little loud. But then again it was New Years Eve. Other than that, the usual top notch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We dined at there this evening to celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at there this evening to celebrate my brother's birthday. We had great service and a fantastic meal!! 3 of us ordered the filet and one had the salmon. We sampled the mushrooms, asparagus, Brussels sprouts, and corn for the sides. It was all delicious. They gave my brother a complimentary dessert for his birthday. Great dinner in a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter, great service, great food!

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas dinner on vacation in the Smok ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner on vacation in the Smoky Mountains. Nervous about being out on Christmas even with reservations, but they had the place working like clockwork. Seated immediately, service was great, food phenomenal as always at Ruth's Chris. Very enjoyable dinner and great view even at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite service with Stephani. Withou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exquisite service with Stephani.

Without a doubt the best petite filet I have enjoyed anywhere.

Extensive winelist.

Knowledgable servers.

Would dine again with this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, People Watching, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was for 12:15, but did n ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our reservation was for 12:15, but did not get seated until 12:35. The hostess basically ignore us and the few others who were waiting, until she finished fiddling with paperwork. We had a table with a view of the river and the restaurant was not crowded due to it being Christmas day. Service as excellent. We were Brian's only table and he spent some time chatting with us. My filet was not the best. It had a very tough tendon running through it and the brussel sprouts were under cooked. On the up side, the cream brulee was one of the best I have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was absolutely amazing. Best steak I ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was absolutely amazing. Best steak I ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We requested that the table be decorated ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We requested that the table be decorated for our daughter's graduation from Nursing School, but they did not do it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food! Not very impressed with serv ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food! Not very impressed with service. Two hours to eat and had dinner reservations

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Steak and crab cake were great. Server w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Steak and crab cake were great. Server was terrible. Maybe he was having a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our overall experience was fine, but our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our overall experience was fine, but our steaks were undercooked and the soup was luke warm. We were disappointed because it was the first time we have ever had this kind of experience at a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was as excellent as you would e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was as excellent as you would expect from Ruth's Chris steakhouse. The service was very personalized and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more for the birthday celebration. I would recommend it highly for anyone willing to pay a moderately strong price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had great experience great food great se ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had great experience great food great service only complaint was wait time to be seated with reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sam at front desk is great.

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sam at front desk is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visit here at least every year on our ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We visit here at least every year on our anniversary, and have always enjoyed everything. We particularly enjoy the steak and shrimp.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fantastic experience! Every req ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always a fantastic experience! Every request met from "birthday wishes" on the table to service that's top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually enjoy our local Ruth's Chris. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We usually enjoy our local Ruth's Chris. However, we took our family to this restaurant while we were in town for thanksgiving. Anything ordered from the regular menu was great. However, four of us ordered the thanksgiving menu and our food was lukewarm at best and the dressing was almost refrigerated as if it had been prepared ahead and not completely reheated. The flavor of all was fine but cold food is not. We had already been there 45 minutes so we didn't want to send it back. We also came for the river ambiance and ended up next to the kitchen with no view in spite of being there well ahead of other diners and booking months in advance. This restaurant hosted a party for us a few years ago and everything was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful as usual. We always enjoy Ruth ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful as usual. We always enjoy Ruth's Chris for special occasions. A little pricey for every day, but one of the best options around Knoxville for a special dinner or celebration. Wine list is good also!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was very nice as was service and ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner was very nice as was service and the food. Accolades to "Sam" who accommodated our last minute change to reservation. Much appreciated. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As one of the top upscale steakhouses in ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As one of the top upscale steakhouses in the area, we expected more. The service was excellent. No complaints. 4 of the 5 in our party had a filet. 2 of them had tendons running through them and probably 1/3 of the steak was sent back. When it was mentioned to the waiter, he shrugged and said "about 2 out of 10 filets are like that". Really not what I expected in restaurant of this quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I thought the prices were high but at th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I thought the prices were high but at the end of the night I felt I got my value great meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris steaks are fabulous! It is su ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ruth Chris steaks are fabulous! It is such a fancy atmosphere! Prices are kind of high but a nice special dinner restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We came to celebrate our 41st wedding an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We came to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. This is will be our annual destination. Wonderful service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Will eat there again ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Will eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and and food was excellent ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service and and food was excellent. Getting football games on television is bar area was a little challenging given that this is SEC land, it was after the Vols football game and there were several great games on the TV that night.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the very best restaraunts in Knox ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

One of the very best restaraunts in Knoxville!! Cant go wrong.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good steak was cooked perf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was very good steak was cooked perfectly. My lobster was a little over cooked and tough. Wife's steak and crab was excellent creamed spinach and mushrooms were very tasty. Waiter was very pushy trying to get us to order more almost obnoxious in the past always hadn't great waiters and waitresses but this one was not very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Three times to get a steak temperature r ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Three times to get a steak temperature right? Third time it was burnt. Medium plus is pink in center, not raw, not rare, not well done. I spent $300 on two people- aweful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Our server Madison and young lady assist ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our server Madison and young lady assisting (Rebekah) were great! We were able to eat outside which was very nice! One suggestion...have cushions! Those metal chairs are very hard and cold for us ladies in dresses/skirts! The crab cake appetizer was wonderful & fresh. My bone in fillet was outstanding and the fresh cream & berries was amazing! Thanks for a great experience and keep up the good work!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for a special occasion! O ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Perfect place for a special occasion! Our waiter (Andy) was great, explained the menu options well and made our 25th anniversary what it should be!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak never disappoints but when the bil ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Steak never disappoints but when the bill comes I always question was it worth it? Service could be a little more attentive. Just a little slow and non-responsive at times. They were nice and gracious but I've had much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent as always. Service w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Service was good, but very slow. Had reservations, but was seated near a loud table. Good food, but rather expensive for everyday eating. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Usually very satisfied. I purchased the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Usually very satisfied. I purchased the most expensive cut of beef on the menu, the bone in filet. The outside edge was ok but as I got in to the interior it literally smelled of rotted flesh. Even my date said "what is that smell". It was a special occasion and I did not want to interrupt my evening by sending my entre back, plus, we were already there on the later side of the evening. Now I wish I would have sent it back to the kitchen. Shameful what I paid for a piece of rotted beef. I would think the chef had to know. Everything else was delicious as usual.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

New York bone in steak very good Rib-eye ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

New York bone in steak very good

Rib-eye tasted and had more grizzle and fat than something you would get at Golden Corral

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our steaks were good. Our service starte ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our steaks were good. Our service started off pretty good. We ordered a bottle of wine and was brought the wrong bottle twice. The waitress did not understand the differences in what she was bringing us and what we ordered off the wine list. The manager very abrupt came over to the table and tried to educate us on why this bottle they were bringing us was better than the one we're ordered ( come to find out they did not have the bottle we ordered from the wine list). The abrupt man tried his hardest to convince us he was much more educated on California wines. Almost to the point of belittling. Maybe he really believes what he was trying to sell us. But I love my Napa wines and I know what I like. I know what year I feel was successful and what years I feel were not so hot. We quickly realized this guy was not going to listen to what we had to say and went along with his opinion to stop from drawing attention to our table. After that the service was terrible! From waiting, attitudes, our check having a 200.00 mistake. It was bad! No way I would ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Seafood tower was brought out with the c ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Seafood tower was brought out with the crab legs frozen. Had to send back 2 bone in filets since they were served very rare instead of medium as ordered. Nothing exceptional about this restaurant..average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The cocktails, food, and wine here never ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The cocktails, food, and wine here never disappoint. The service is also consistently good and often exceptional. However, the experience is being diminished by the atmosphere lately. Seems to be no dress code and the noise level can get quite loud. I wish Knoxville would keep at least a few places where a certain level of dress is expected and enforced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.