About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: 8655464696x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Bone In Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Rcsh Tomahawk - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Crabstack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Fire-roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Calamari - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Three Cheese Potatoes Au Gratin - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Crimini Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Lobster Bi - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
 Filet And Twin Lobster Tails  - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Petite Filet And Lobster Tail Rockefeller - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Arugula & Crispy Prosciutto Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN
Petite Filet Mignon & Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville, Knoxville, TN

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Ruth used to say, “Life’s too short to eat anywhere else.” And Christmas is too special a day to just go anywhere. So we’re keeping our doors open on December 25th. Let us take care of all the details so all you have to do is sit back and enjoy a perfect day. Opening early at noon on Christmas Day.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Ruth used to say, “Life’s too short to eat anywhere else.” And Christmas is too special a day to just go anywhere. So we’re keeping our doors open on December 25th. Let us take care of all the details so all you have to do is sit back and enjoy a perfect day. Opening early at noon on Christmas Day.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
3 More
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (13)
Waterfront (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a fantastic experience! Every req ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a fantastic experience! Every request met from "birthday wishes" on the table to service that's top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually enjoy our local Ruth's Chris. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We usually enjoy our local Ruth's Chris. However, we took our family to this restaurant while we were in town for thanksgiving. Anything ordered from the regular menu was great. However, four of us ordered the thanksgiving menu and our food was lukewarm at best and the dressing was almost refrigerated as if it had been prepared ahead and not completely reheated. The flavor of all was fine but cold food is not. We had already been there 45 minutes so we didn't want to send it back. We also came for the river ambiance and ended up next to the kitchen with no view in spite of being there well ahead of other diners and booking months in advance. This restaurant hosted a party for us a few years ago and everything was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful as usual. We always enjoy Ruth ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful as usual. We always enjoy Ruth's Chris for special occasions. A little pricey for every day, but one of the best options around Knoxville for a special dinner or celebration. Wine list is good also!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was very nice as was service and ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner was very nice as was service and the food. Accolades to "Sam" who accommodated our last minute change to reservation. Much appreciated. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As one of the top upscale steakhouses in ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As one of the top upscale steakhouses in the area, we expected more. The service was excellent. No complaints. 4 of the 5 in our party had a filet. 2 of them had tendons running through them and probably 1/3 of the steak was sent back. When it was mentioned to the waiter, he shrugged and said "about 2 out of 10 filets are like that". Really not what I expected in restaurant of this quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I thought the prices were high but at th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I thought the prices were high but at the end of the night I felt I got my value great meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris steaks are fabulous! It is su ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ruth Chris steaks are fabulous! It is such a fancy atmosphere! Prices are kind of high but a nice special dinner restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We came to celebrate our 41st wedding an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We came to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. This is will be our annual destination. Wonderful service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Will eat there again ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Will eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and and food was excellent ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service and and food was excellent. Getting football games on television is bar area was a little challenging given that this is SEC land, it was after the Vols football game and there were several great games on the TV that night.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the very best restaraunts in Knox ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

One of the very best restaraunts in Knoxville!! Cant go wrong.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good steak was cooked perf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was very good steak was cooked perfectly. My lobster was a little over cooked and tough. Wife's steak and crab was excellent creamed spinach and mushrooms were very tasty. Waiter was very pushy trying to get us to order more almost obnoxious in the past always hadn't great waiters and waitresses but this one was not very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Three times to get a steak temperature r ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Three times to get a steak temperature right? Third time it was burnt. Medium plus is pink in center, not raw, not rare, not well done. I spent $300 on two people- aweful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Our server Madison and young lady assist ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our server Madison and young lady assisting (Rebekah) were great! We were able to eat outside which was very nice! One suggestion...have cushions! Those metal chairs are very hard and cold for us ladies in dresses/skirts! The crab cake appetizer was wonderful & fresh. My bone in fillet was outstanding and the fresh cream & berries was amazing! Thanks for a great experience and keep up the good work!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for a special occasion! O ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Perfect place for a special occasion! Our waiter (Andy) was great, explained the menu options well and made our 25th anniversary what it should be!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak never disappoints but when the bil ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Steak never disappoints but when the bill comes I always question was it worth it? Service could be a little more attentive. Just a little slow and non-responsive at times. They were nice and gracious but I've had much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent as always. Service w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Service was good, but very slow. Had reservations, but was seated near a loud table. Good food, but rather expensive for everyday eating. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Usually very satisfied. I purchased the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Usually very satisfied. I purchased the most expensive cut of beef on the menu, the bone in filet. The outside edge was ok but as I got in to the interior it literally smelled of rotted flesh. Even my date said "what is that smell". It was a special occasion and I did not want to interrupt my evening by sending my entre back, plus, we were already there on the later side of the evening. Now I wish I would have sent it back to the kitchen. Shameful what I paid for a piece of rotted beef. I would think the chef had to know. Everything else was delicious as usual.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

New York bone in steak very good Rib-eye ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

New York bone in steak very good

Rib-eye tasted and had more grizzle and fat than something you would get at Golden Corral

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our steaks were good. Our service starte ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our steaks were good. Our service started off pretty good. We ordered a bottle of wine and was brought the wrong bottle twice. The waitress did not understand the differences in what she was bringing us and what we ordered off the wine list. The manager very abrupt came over to the table and tried to educate us on why this bottle they were bringing us was better than the one we're ordered ( come to find out they did not have the bottle we ordered from the wine list). The abrupt man tried his hardest to convince us he was much more educated on California wines. Almost to the point of belittling. Maybe he really believes what he was trying to sell us. But I love my Napa wines and I know what I like. I know what year I feel was successful and what years I feel were not so hot. We quickly realized this guy was not going to listen to what we had to say and went along with his opinion to stop from drawing attention to our table. After that the service was terrible! From waiting, attitudes, our check having a 200.00 mistake. It was bad! No way I would ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Seafood tower was brought out with the c ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Seafood tower was brought out with the crab legs frozen. Had to send back 2 bone in filets since they were served very rare instead of medium as ordered. Nothing exceptional about this restaurant..average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The cocktails, food, and wine here never ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The cocktails, food, and wine here never disappoint. The service is also consistently good and often exceptional. However, the experience is being diminished by the atmosphere lately. Seems to be no dress code and the noise level can get quite loud. I wish Knoxville would keep at least a few places where a certain level of dress is expected and enforced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite place to dine! Food and servic ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Favorite place to dine! Food and service are always outstanding!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent pair with a great Cab ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was excellent pair with a great Cabernet. The ambiance and the weather helped to make it a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely one of the best!! Always hig ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely one of the best!! Always high quality food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are two of "Ruth's Regulars", dining ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We are two of "Ruth's Regulars", dining at Ruth's Chris in many cities. Consistently good. One glitch this time. We asked for some lightly sauteed spinach (not on the menu), was told "absolutely", but a steamed (watery, pretty much tasteless) dish was served. The steak (Filet) was prepared perfectly and was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Try the lobster Mac. Seems like a full l ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Try the lobster Mac. Seems like a full lobster is in the mac

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always consistently good. A bit pricey b ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always consistently good. A bit pricey but great for an occasional special dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting overlooking the river ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice setting overlooking the river . Everything about our evening was perfect. Would highly recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was wonderful and service was exce ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Steak was wonderful and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was very positive. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our dining experience was very positive. The wit staff was knowledgeable, helpful and very pleasant. The food was among the best we have had in a long time. I enjoyed being able to have a conversation with my wife at the table and not having problems hearing her due to excess background noise (this is a major issue for me as it constitutes a large part of enjoying the meal). The view was also nice. I look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The signature cocktails are outstanding. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The signature cocktails are outstanding. The service professional, attentive, and friendly. The food beautifully prepared and the calamari appetizer and main course entrees we ordered were perfection!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All aspects are excellent. Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2016

All aspects are excellent. Ruth's Chris is a pricey restaurant, yet quality is outstanding. For sure not a restaurant you can afford often, yet for special occasions, it's the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Ruth's several time but t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to Ruth's several time but the steak was just not as good as usual this time , I am not sure what happened maybe a new cook.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I've dined here many times and have neve ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've dined here many times and have never had a bad steak -- until our last visit. It was a special Father's Day dinner and my husband ordered the ribeye. Ribeyes should be marbled with fat which gives it extra flavor and juiciness. My husband's ribeye was unusually thick and a good third of it was hard gristle. There was no marbling -- just a huge portion of hard gristle and the rest of the piece was just okay. My filet and my daughter's filets were good and cooked to proper temps. The service was very friendly but very slow-- it took a long time to get our cocktails and courses. We didn't mind this too much as the dinner was our only obligation for the night. My husband tried his best with the steak and after the bill was presented, the mgr inquired about our meals. My husband nicely told him that his cut was not very good. The manager said he was sorry to hear that and asked about the rest of the table and we told him our meals were good. That seemed to be the end of discussion. I think a gesture, such as a free dessert (we would've declined) would have made us feel better about the whole thing but nothing was offered but a quick smile and he was off to the next table. My husband swears he will never go back -- but I'm hoping he'll change his mind.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This place is expensive but in my opinio ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is expensive but in my opinion is worth it. My family likes to go there for birthdays and other special occasions. The steaks are superb, as you would expect, but don't overlook the stuffed chicken!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always wanted to go here but found out ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 14, 2016

I always wanted to go here but found out it is pricey. When you order a filet for $44 you assume sides come with it but I quickly found out not at this place. You pay for every single item , Nothing is included. I will be eating at places like Texas Roadhouse from now on. The food is better and a whole lot cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Service was excellent. Food was tasty an ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was tasty and plentiful. Definitely the best experience in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner to celebrate a special occasion. This is the perfect place to do that. Great service by Chadwick-he knew the menu by heart and was able to help us make decisions based on his knowledge. The timing for food arriving was excellent. I would highly recommend a list to Ruth Chris.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.