Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more. For more information please feel free to email salesknoxville@ruthschris.com

Private Party Contact:
Shawna Frazier: (865) 546-4696

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Waterfront (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary.
Our table was ready with cute "Happy Anniversary" confetti. It was so nice to be dressed up for dinner. Most Knoxville restaurants are too casual for my tastes.
The wait staff were very friendly but professional. The food was delicious with special anniversary desserts.
We were visiting family and will definitely return on our next visit. I wish they were open for lunch - maybe next trip. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My family and I were celebrating a birthday and chose Ruth Chris's to celebrate. Jacob our server was amazing. He could not have made us feel more welcome. We invited his suggestions and had a marvelous meal. It was a delightful time and we certainly will return soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Darlene was wonderful! We had such a relaxing time and will be back very soon! This is the best Ruth's Chris we've eaten at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Was very dissatisfied with the service. Extremely long wait to place an order and get a glass of wine. Our appetizer arrived and still no wine - had to ask the food runner to check as our server and his assistant was no where to be found. It did not appear to be busy. When dinner costs over $100 per person the service should wow you. We love fine dining and liked the food tonight, but service tonight was awkward at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been to Ruth's Chris in Knoxville several times. This was not one of the best. While the server was fine, the service was incredibly slow. We did have reservation, so we were not walk ins on a busy Friday night. Unfortunate as the food is good/consistent....but was really disappointed in the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Took my husband for his 21st birthday, first time for both us, and it was the best dinner we have ever had. Very amazing experience from the bar to the server to the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great Food, Great Service I will be back for more!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waiter was awesome and service excellent
Two issues: asked them to turn on overhead fans 3 times. Sitting out side was great but hot! They never did it!
The table was unsteady and annoying when trying to cut a steak!
Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Markisa was the highlight of our night. The setting is wonderful. A great setting for an elegant and romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food, as always, was outstanding. The service, ambiance, and overall experience was great. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Worst experience. Sat at the bar for almost 15 minutes before getting a drink or even water. Then moved to outside table where the linens while clean were stained in two places so felt dirty. The server was excellent and was the only thing that made the night bearable. I had fish that was cooked and sitting in a puddle of butter. The sides were good. The desserts were terrible. We had cheesecake that looked like a child made it and bread pudding that was like mush. This is a terrible review but only being honest. I used to like this restaurant and don't know that I'd ever go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our seventh anniversary and were extremely pleased by the food and service. My wife's steak was not cooked to her expectation and the server insisted he take it back because it was not exactly what she asked for. Every restaurant in town should offer the same service. It takes no more energy to provide great service than it does poor service. It is a matter of choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Madison was our server and she was absolutely amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 year wedding anniversary. Ruth's Chris Knoxville will continue to be our go to celebration destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband loved dining at Ruth Chris and the Knoxville location is particularly nice with its location looking out on the Tennessee River and downtown Knoxville. The food,at all Ruth Chris's has always been consistently good and predictable. This particular evening my medium rare steak was closer to medium well, so it was replaced happily, but the delay in my meal arrival diminished our dining experience since my husband was almost finished when my steak arrived. Our waiter and the service could not have been better and overall we had a very good experience. We will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We choose this restaurant for celebrating special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, XMAS eve and including an engagement and a retirement in past visits) . Ambiance/excellent, food/very good, service/usually excellent and fun people. Unfortunately our server this past visit was way below what we usually experience and not up to Ruth Chris's standard for sure. Restaurant is "expensive" but generally worth it given a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Brian our waiter was superb! The food was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

What a great location and view to eat at and see Knoxville adjacent to the Tennessee River!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I love this place!!!! The outside seating is HEAVEN

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner with great service from Kohl and Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our Father's Day Lunch was spectacular in every way.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful Father's Day lunch at Ruth's Chris! Truman was our server and he was wonderful, I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Knoxville, Tennessee was fantastic. Both the food and the wait staff were excellent. We always try to find a Ruth's Chris when traveling. Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, in Knoxville, Tennessee will be a definte when we return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Staff was awesome. Bartender made some interesting cocktails. We sat outside-all by ourselves. Great location on the river and the ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The setting was comfortable, the service was excellent and thoughtful and the filet mignon was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Daughters graduation and dining at R/C was the ending to a perfect day!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! We always love eating at Ruth's Chris, Darlene made my grandmother's birthday very special!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ruth's is always terrific. Although our favorite Server (Darlene), had the evening off, her colleagues we very good. Super wine choices. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful meal and service for our anniversary. Enjoyed the Raspberry cocktail and would come for appetizers and drinks when downtown - just to enjoy a relaxing and pleasant venue.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Server was good. Food was good but not comparable to the farm to table high end resturants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My steak was well done, and i ordered medium rare. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High School Graduation celebration

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was terrific and the food was wonderful. They do give you plenty so either share the sides or be prepared to take some home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This has been our 'go-to' fine dining restaurant for the past 4 years; however, no longer the case. The past 2 visits were fraught w/ inattentive, slow service. Having to ask repeatedly for tea refills ( only 1 of 6 had tea). The rest drank only water. Missed items upon food delivery. Not sure if kitchen or general management has changed, but if so, not for the better. At $100/person ,one should expect better service. Service trumps food in my book! Ruth, you should have a serious talk w/ Chris!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been Ruth's Chris customers for well over 15+ years (less than 8 at this location. For us, Ruth's Chris is THE PERFECT restaurant for special occasions. Excluding value, there is nothing negative to be said about this restaurant. In fact, I was both surprised (and very pleased) to learn that they maintain a file on our personal likes/favorites including servers. If your want a combination of exceptional quality in food and in service, this is one of the TOP restaurants to visit. (The only reason for less that a 5 star food rating was my steak. My definition of "medium" is a slightly pink to pink center. Mine was definitely well done; but was immediately corrected.)

The special occasion for this visit was mother's day. When we arrived at the restaurant, my wife confessed that she had already made a reservation for our wedding anniversary at this same restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, ( don't recall servers names)great food. Ken part of the management staff did a wonderful job making my son's celebration from medical school a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A disappointing experience on numerous fronts. Even with reservations, our table of six needed to wait well over 30 minutes before being seated. Once seated, server brought water, then did not return to the table for over 20 minutes. Overall service continued very slow throughout dinner, as attention was paid to an adjacent table from a local television station that numerous servers seemed to be more interested in accommodating.

Once the food arrive, my requested rare New York bone-in steak was well done, and one of our sides was cold. After cutting into my steak (the server did not ask us to check after delivering to the table), I asked to have a new steak. The replacement steak was the correct temperature, but was the wrong steak (not bone-in). When pointed out to the server, she apologized, said she would take care of it, and the final check was simply adjusted to show the price for the standard NY strip. My wife ordered the NY strip as well, and although her steak was cooked correctly, it was extremely tough, and certainly not up to Ruth's Chris standards.

I've had dinner at Ruth's Chris restaurants all over the US dozens of times over the years, and this was without a doubt the worst dining experience I've experienced. Given this experience, the next day my wife phoned to let the manager know of our experience, and he indicated he would "make it right". Today we received a gift card which provided credit for most of the cost of our two disappointing steaks - $100. Overall an inadequate response for a $600 check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was exceptional!! Will definitely visit Ruth's Chris again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always great. This location is the best in the country, have been to many in other cities!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Well worth the money i would fo again
Iam going to try to eat at every Ruth Chris in the country

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.