Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (865) 546-4696 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Knoxville, TN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

950 Volunteer Landing Lane
Knoxville, TN 37915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Neyland Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 546-4696

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/knoxville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Knoxville, TN - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available curbside & there is an additional self parking lot located just outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Terry Saunders

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Knoxville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Waterfront (20)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent every time, well managed. Consistent high quality food and top notch service

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great meal and a great time!!!!! Never miss an opportunity when I'm in K'Town!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a delicious post-game dinner there after visiting Neyland Stadium. Everything was perfect. Great service, great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

While we enjoyed the usual fine service and ambiance, this was the first time I have had issues with the food. The steak I had was quite chewy and fatty in a portion of it. I did not eat about 1/3 of it. Also, the side dishes were not as hot as expected. On a positive note, our server Matthew was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The waiter, Jeremy, treated us like second class citizens. We have eaten at Ruth’s Chris in Knoxville and elsewhere, not to mention nicer places, and have been treated with more respect. Drinks took 20+ mins to get and appetizer came before our first round of drinks. Will not be back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We were visiting Knoxville for a USC Gamecocks football game. They handled the crowd really well and we felt very welcome in the restaurant. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Good food and pretty atmosphere. Had some trouble with service in the past, but management made it right. Jacob is an excellent server. We are very pleased with him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great food and great service. Location is great as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Dinner was terrific and so was our server Debra. Will be back soon. Thanks to Ken for assistance with last minute changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Brian was our server and he was attentive and timely. Tomahawk ribeye outstanding. Cooked perfect and tender. Shoestring fries could have been a little crisper.
Never disappointed here.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. It's hard to find a better steak anywhere. They also made our daughter's birthday very special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

very nice and something different, waiting staff was excellent....wished I remembered her name and her assistant

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful food. Great service. Happy hour one of the best bargains in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful evening at Ruth's Chris in Knoxville! Food and service were amazing! We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service excellent. Steak not cooked to order. Felt food was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was attentive. The dinner of filet mignon for myself and a petite filet for my daughter was a little on the small side and a little overcooked. My filet was suppose to be a pre-weight of 11 oz. It looked smaller than my daughter's petite filet when served. The potato au-gratin and lobster mac and cheese were a little to saucy for my taste but my wife liked it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Anniversary.
Our table was ready with cute "Happy Anniversary" confetti. It was so nice to be dressed up for dinner. Most Knoxville restaurants are too casual for my tastes.
The wait staff were very friendly but professional. The food was delicious with special anniversary desserts.
We were visiting family and will definitely return on our next visit. I wish they were open for lunch - maybe next trip. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My family and I were celebrating a birthday and chose Ruth Chris's to celebrate. Jacob our server was amazing. He could not have made us feel more welcome. We invited his suggestions and had a marvelous meal. It was a delightful time and we certainly will return soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Darlene was wonderful! We had such a relaxing time and will be back very soon! This is the best Ruth's Chris we've eaten at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Was very dissatisfied with the service. Extremely long wait to place an order and get a glass of wine. Our appetizer arrived and still no wine - had to ask the food runner to check as our server and his assistant was no where to be found. It did not appear to be busy. When dinner costs over $100 per person the service should wow you. We love fine dining and liked the food tonight, but service tonight was awkward at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been to Ruth's Chris in Knoxville several times. This was not one of the best. While the server was fine, the service was incredibly slow. We did have reservation, so we were not walk ins on a busy Friday night. Unfortunate as the food is good/consistent....but was really disappointed in the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Took my husband for his 21st birthday, first time for both us, and it was the best dinner we have ever had. Very amazing experience from the bar to the server to the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great Food, Great Service I will be back for more!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waiter was awesome and service excellent
Two issues: asked them to turn on overhead fans 3 times. Sitting out side was great but hot! They never did it!
The table was unsteady and annoying when trying to cut a steak!
Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Markisa was the highlight of our night. The setting is wonderful. A great setting for an elegant and romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food, as always, was outstanding. The service, ambiance, and overall experience was great. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Worst experience. Sat at the bar for almost 15 minutes before getting a drink or even water. Then moved to outside table where the linens while clean were stained in two places so felt dirty. The server was excellent and was the only thing that made the night bearable. I had fish that was cooked and sitting in a puddle of butter. The sides were good. The desserts were terrible. We had cheesecake that looked like a child made it and bread pudding that was like mush. This is a terrible review but only being honest. I used to like this restaurant and don't know that I'd ever go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our seventh anniversary and were extremely pleased by the food and service. My wife's steak was not cooked to her expectation and the server insisted he take it back because it was not exactly what she asked for. Every restaurant in town should offer the same service. It takes no more energy to provide great service than it does poor service. It is a matter of choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Madison was our server and she was absolutely amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 year wedding anniversary. Ruth's Chris Knoxville will continue to be our go to celebration destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband loved dining at Ruth Chris and the Knoxville location is particularly nice with its location looking out on the Tennessee River and downtown Knoxville. The food,at all Ruth Chris's has always been consistently good and predictable. This particular evening my medium rare steak was closer to medium well, so it was replaced happily, but the delay in my meal arrival diminished our dining experience since my husband was almost finished when my steak arrived. Our waiter and the service could not have been better and overall we had a very good experience. We will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We choose this restaurant for celebrating special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, XMAS eve and including an engagement and a retirement in past visits) . Ambiance/excellent, food/very good, service/usually excellent and fun people. Unfortunately our server this past visit was way below what we usually experience and not up to Ruth Chris's standard for sure. Restaurant is "expensive" but generally worth it given a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Brian our waiter was superb! The food was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

What a great location and view to eat at and see Knoxville adjacent to the Tennessee River!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I love this place!!!! The outside seating is HEAVEN

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner with great service from Kohl and Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our Father's Day Lunch was spectacular in every way.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful Father's Day lunch at Ruth's Chris! Truman was our server and he was wonderful, I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Knoxville, Tennessee was fantastic. Both the food and the wait staff were excellent. We always try to find a Ruth's Chris when traveling. Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, in Knoxville, Tennessee will be a definte when we return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.